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How are e-bikes regulated under existing Ohio law? 

It not completely clear how e-bikes are regulated under existing laws in Ohio, though they are 

most likely considered to be “motorized bicycles,” which is a vehicle classification intended to 

regulate combustion-powered devices, a measure for gas-powered engines. It not clear whether 

e-bikes fit within that definition, and to the extent they do, they are subject to licensing, 

registration, operation, equipment, and manufacturing requirements that are inconsistent with 

federal law or inappropriate for the nature of the device. 

In contrast to bike riders, operators of “motorized bicycles” are required to carry licenses, and 
they are subject to equipment requirements that do not make sense for bicycles such as turn 
signals. It is also not clear whether important bicycle safety provisions, like the safe passing law, 
apply to e-bikes. 
 
What other states use the classification system in this bill? 

Tennessee, Arkansas, Colorado, Utah, and California. 

Is similar legislation being advanced elsewhere this year? 

Yes. Illinois, Michigan, New York, and Wisconsin. This session, the bill passed one chamber of 

the Arizona legislature.  

Why is the top speed for Class 3 e-bikes 28 MPH? 

In Europe, the classification that is equivalent to a class 3 e-bike is “speed pedelec.”  Under 

European rules, speed pedelecs are limited to a top assisted speed of 45 KPH, which is 

equivalent to 28 MPH. Therefore, these rules provide uniform product standards between the 

European and U.S. markets. 



I have read the federal definition of an e-bike and it says that the top speed is 20MPH.  

How are class 3 e-bikes legal given the federal definition? 

The federal definition uses very specific language to delineate the top speed of e-bikes. The 20 

MPH threshold applies when the e-bike is being operated “solely” under motor power.  

However, e-bikes are most commonly ridden under a combination of human and motor power. 

The federal definition does not provide a top speed for when an e-bike is being operated under 

combined human and motor power. The class 3 definition clarifies this ambiguity by specifying 

the maximum assisted speed for e-bikes at 28MPH. 

Can e-bikes be safely operated on bike paths? 

Yes. Researchers who have compared riders of e-bikes and regular bikes at the University of 

Tennessee observed that e-bikes riders exhibit similar safety behavior as riders of traditional 

bicycles. Perhaps most importantly, e-bike riders traveled at similar speeds to riders of human-

powered bicycles. They rode slightly faster when riding on the road (1.8 mph), but actually 

slower than regular bikes riders when on bicycle paths (1 mph).    

Why not regulate e-bikes at the federal level? 

E-bikes have been regulated federally since 2002. However, as with other consumer products, 

the federal regulations are limited to product safety. They do not specify where e-bikes may be 

ridden or what rules of the road govern their use. While the federal government can intervene in 

these matters in very rare situations, the rules of the road are generally a matter of state law.  

Other emerging technologies have followed the same path of creating new state traffic laws to 

address the use of these devices on our streets.  This includes segways, autocycles, and 

commercial quadricycles. 

How can anyone tell what an e-bike is? 

E-bikes are becoming more and more difficult to distinguish from regular bicycles. The labeling 

requirement in House Bill 250 is a proactive measure on behalf of the industry to ensure that 

law enforcement or land managers can easily tell that a bicycle is in fact an e-bike, and quickly 

asses which type of e-bike it is. 

Can people tamper with e-bikes? 

Like other mechanized or motorized devices, it possible that a user could tamper with an e-bike.  

We have inserted a tampering provision in House Bill 250 that will place the onus on the owner 

to have a properly labeled bike if that were to occur. If a someone was to tamper with an e-bike 

and create a machine that can travel faster than any of the specified classifications of e-bikes, 

they would presumably be operating an unlicensed and unregistered vehicle, and would be 

subject to any applicable penalties. 

 

 



Does the bill regulate e-bikes off-road? 

No. House Bill 250 only amends the traffic laws of Ohio located in the revised vehicle code. The 

bill will provide rules for the regulation of e-bikes on our streets and on bicycle paths. The bill 

does not address the use of e-bike on trails.  

Who is the typical purchaser of an e-bike? 

While all types of people purchase and use e-bikes, older, baby-boomer purchasers are the 

most common.   

How many e-bike are sold each year in the U.S.? 

While our data on this is imperfect, approximately 200,000 e-bikes are sold annually in the U.S.  

However, they are the fast growing segment of the bicycle sales. 

How much do e-bikes cost? 

Entry-level e-bikes are about $2,000. High-end e-bikes can cost $8,000 or more. 

Why distinguish between class 1 and class 2 e-bikes in the bill if the rules are the same? 

The distinction between these two types of e-bikes provides for greater local flexibility. Some 

municipalities have demonstrated an interest in prohibiting throttle-powered e-bikes from certain 

types of infrastructure, and this bill provides the flexibility to take those measures if they are 

desired on a local level.  

Does the rider have to be pedaling for the e-bike’s motor to be engaged? 

It depends on the type of e-bike. For Class 1 and Class 3 e-bikes, the rider must be pedaling for 

the motor to be engaged. For Class 2 e-bikes, the motor can propel the e-bike without the rider 

pedaling. 

 


