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Introduction 

This memorandum compares licensing requirements applicable to certain environmental professionals in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, and Pennsylvania. 

Ohio’s Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) exercises general supervision over the treatment and disposal of sewage and industrial wastes, as well as the operation 
of water supply works. It does so, in part, by certifying the following: five types of public water system professional operators (A, I, II, III, and IV certification), two types of water 
distribution professional operators (I and II certification), five types of treatment works professional operators (A, I, II, III, and IV certification), and two types of sewage system 
professional operators (I and II certification). 

OEPA also certifies professionals under the Voluntary Action Program. The Voluntary Action Program allows a person to investigate possible environmental 
contamination and remediate it, if necessary. OEPA-certified professionals are responsible for verifying that properties are cleaned pursuant to the Program’s requirements and 
may issue no-further-action letters. Illinois, Indiana, and Pennsylvania do not certify professionals in this manner. 

Additionally, OEPA has the authority to certify water quality professionals who prepare Section 401 Water Quality Certifications and engineers who conduct compliance 
reviews under environmental laws. OEPA has not yet formally adopted rules establishing either program. Thus, comparisons with other states are not possible regarding these 
two certifications. 

Finally, the memorandum compares the licensing requirements applicable to professionals implementing requirements associated with motor vehicle inspection and 
maintenance programs. 
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Drinking water and wastewater operator certification 

Below is a list of Ohio licenses pertaining to drinking water and wastewater, followed by lists of licenses issued by Indiana, Illinois, and Pennsylvania. Each state licensing 
scheme is different. Therefore, it is difficult to determine how the licenses from each state align with one another. As a result, the charts are organized by state rather than by 
license. 

Ohio 

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification1 

Type of certification 
Certification 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial certification 
fee 

Certification 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Public Water System 
Professional Operator 
A Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

520-1,040 hours of 
operating experience, 
depending on education. 

1-3 years of working 
experience, depending on 
education. 

Yes ($80 fee) 8 hours $45 2 years $25 

Public Water System 
Professional Operator 
I Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

1 year of working 
experience. 

Yes ($105 fee) 12 hours $45 2 years $35 

                                                      

1 R.C. 3745.11, 6109.04, and 6111.46; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-7-06, 3745-7-15, and 3745-7-20. 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification1 

Type of certification 
Certification 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial certification 
fee 

Certification 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Public Water System 
Professional Operator 
II Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($120 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $45 

Public Water System 
Professional Operator 
III Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

5 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($130 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $55 

Public Water System 
Professional Operator 
IV Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($145 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $65 

Water Distribution 
Professional Operator 
I Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

1 year of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($105 fee) 12 hours $45 2 years $35 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification1 

Type of certification 
Certification 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial certification 
fee 

Certification 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Water Distribution 
Professional Operator 
II Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($120 fee) 24 contact 
hours 

$45 2 years $45 

Treatment Works 
Professional Operator 
A Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

520-1,040 hours of 
operating experience, 
depending on education. 

1-3 years of working 
experience, depending on 
education. 

Yes ($80 fee) 8 hours $45 2 years $25 

Treatment Works 
Professional Operator 
I Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

1 year of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($105 fee) 12  hours $45 2 years $35 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification1 

Type of certification 
Certification 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial certification 
fee 

Certification 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Treatment Works 
Professional Operator 
II Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($120 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $45 

Treatment Works 
Professional Operator 
III Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

5 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($130 fee) 24  hours $45 2 years $55 

Treatment Works 
Professional Operator 
IV Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($145 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $65 

Sewage System 
Professional Operator 
I Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

1 year of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($105 fee) 12 hours $45 2 years $35 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification1 

Type of certification 
Certification 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial certification 
fee 

Certification 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Sewage System 
Professional Operator 
II Certification 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Completion of the “OEPA 
Professional Operator 
Certification Training” 
course. 

3 years of operating 
experience. 

Yes ($120 fee) 24 hours $45 2 years $45 

 

Illinois 

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification 2 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class A Drinking Water 
Operator Certification 

High school education and 
literacy in English is 
required. 

Educational hours may be 
counted toward 5,340 total 
experience hour 
requirement. 

5,340 total hours of study, 
training and hands-on 
experience in water supply 
operation or management of a 
Class A facility  

Yes ($10 exam fee) 30 hours every 
3 years 

$30 3 years $10 

                                                      
2 Title 35 of Illinois Administrative Code; see also “Illinois EPA Drinking Water Operator Certification” available at: https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/drinking-water/operator-
certification/2018_01_opcert_20handout.pdf and “WASTEWATER OPERATOR CERTIFICATION and STUDY GUIDE” available at: https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/water-quality/ 
wastewater/publications/operator-certification-guide.pdf.  

https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/drinking-water/operator-certification/2018_01_opcert_20handout.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/drinking-water/operator-certification/2018_01_opcert_20handout.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/water-quality/wastewater/publications/operator-certification-guide.pdf
https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/water-quality/wastewater/publications/operator-certification-guide.pdf
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification
 2

 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class B Drinking Water 
Operator Certification 

High school education and 
literacy in English is 
required. 

Educational hours may be 
counted toward 5,340 total 
experience hour 
requirement. 

5,340 total hours of study, 
training and hands-on 
experience in water supply 
operation or management of a 
Class B facility  

Yes ($10 exam fee) 30 hours every 
3 years  

$30 3 years $10 

Class C Drinking Water 
Operator Certification 

High school education and 
literacy in English is 
required. 

Educational hours may be 
counted toward 1,780 total 
experience hour 
requirement. 

1,780 total hours of study, 
training and hands-on 
experience in water supply 
operation or management of a 
Class C facility 

Yes ($10 exam fee) 15 hours every 
3 years 

$30 3 years $10 

Class D Drinking Water 
Operator Certification 

High school education and 
literacy in English is 
required. 

Educational hours may be 
counted toward 890 total 
experience hour 
requirement. 

890 total hours of study, 
training and hands-on 
experience in water supply 
operation or management of a 
Class D facility 

Yes ($10 exam fee) 15 hours every 
3 years 

$30 3 years $10 

Class 4 Wastewater Operator  High school education and 
literacy in English required. 

Education may be counted 
toward experience 
requirement. 

1 year of wastewater operator 
experience 

Yes, no fee 15 hours every 
3 years 

N/A 3 years N/A 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification
 2

 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class 3 Wastewater Operator  High school education and 
literacy in English required. 

Education may be counted 
toward experience 
requirement. 

2 years of wastewater operator 
experience 

Yes, no fee 15 hours every 
3 years 

N/A 3 years N/A 

Class 2 Wastewater Operator  High school education and 
literacy in English required. 

Education may be counted 
toward experience 
requirement. 

4 years of wastewater operator 
experience 

Yes, no fee 30 hours every 
3 years 

N/A 3 years N/A 

Class 1 Wastewater Operator  High school education and 
literacy in English required. 

Education may be counted 
toward experience 
requirement. 

6 years of wastewater operator 
experience 

Yes, no fee 30 hours every 
3 years 

N/A 3 years N/A 

Class K Wastewater Operator 
(facility specific) 

High school education and 
literacy in English required 

N/A Yes, no fee N/A N/A 5 years N/A 

Class R Wastewater 
Operator — General 
(water remediation) 

High school education and 
literacy in English required 

N/A Yes, no fee N/A N/A 5 years N/A 

Collection System Operator  High school education and 
literacy in English required. 

Education may be counted 
toward experience 
requirement. 

1 year of collection system 
operating experience 

Yes, no fee N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Indiana 

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification3 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Operator-in-Training for 
Class WT3, WT4, or WT5 
Water Treatment or Class 
DSL Water Distribution 
System 

Must do certain tasks, 
including multiplication and 
division 

N/A Yes4 N/A $30 N/A Cannot be 
renewed 

Class DSS (Distribution 
System Small) Water 
Distribution System Operator 
Certification 

High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Work experience in the field of 
water distribution 

Yes 10 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class DSM (Distribution 
System Medium) Water 
Distribution System Operator 
Certification 

High school diploma or 
equivalent 

1 or 2 years of acceptable work 
experience depending on level 
of class of water distribution 
system operation  

Yes 15 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class DSL (Distribution 
System Large) Water 
Distribution System Operator 
Certification 

High school diploma or 
equivalent 

1-5 years of acceptable work 
experience depending on level 
of class of water distribution 
system operation  

Yes 15 hours $30 3 years $30 

                                                      

3
 Title 327 Ind. Admin. Code. Indiana also has a Facility Specific Operator (FSO). An FSO may be given to systems that are NTNC, DSS, or WT1 small community systems with population of 100 or 

less. 327 Ind. Admin. Code 8-12-3.5 . 
4 If a third party administers the exam, an applicant must pay a third-party exam fee. Ind. Code Ann. 13-18-11-4(c) (LexisNexis 2019). 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification
3
 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class WT1 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Minimum of 1 year of 
acceptable work experience 

Yes 10 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class WT2 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Minimum of 1 or 2 years of 
acceptable work experience 

Yes 15 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class WT3 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent plus college-level 
courses in specified areas  

2 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 25 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class WT4 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent plus college-level 
courses in relevant areas 

2 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 30 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class WT5 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent plus college-level 
courses in specified areas 

3-5 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 30 hours $30 3 years $30 

Class WT6 Water Treatment 
Plant Operator5 

Unclear (qualifications 
determined on a case-by-case 
basis) 

Unclear (qualifications 
determined on a case-by-case 
basis) 

Yes 30 hours $30 3 years $30 

                                                      
5 A WT6 is a certified operator qualified to operate a Class WT6 water treatment plant that requires operator qualifications determined by the Commissioner of the Indiana Department of 
Environmental Management on an individual plant basis in response to the specialized nature of the water treatment plant. 327 Ind. Admin. Code 8-12-3.2(b)(6) (LexisNexis 2019). 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification
3
 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class I-SP (Stabilization Pond) 
Nonindustrial Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption 

6 months of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 5 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class I Nonindustrial 
Wastewater Treatment 
Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption  

1 year of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 10 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class II Nonindustrial 
Wastewater Treatment 
Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption 

3 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 10 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class III Nonindustrial 
Wastewater Treatment 
Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption  

3 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 20 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class IV Nonindustrial 
Wastewater Treatment 
Operator 

Applicable associate’s or 
bachelor’s degree 

5 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 20 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class A-SO Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption  

6 months of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 5 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class A Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption  

1 year of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 10 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class B Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption 

3 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 10 hours $30 2 years $30 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification
3
 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Class C Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

High school diploma or 
equivalent or experience 
exemption 

3 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 20 hours $30 2 years $30 

Class D Wastewater 
Treatment Operator 

Applicable associate’s or 
bachelor’s degree 

5 years of acceptable work 
experience 

Yes 20 hours $30 2 years $30 

Wastewater Treatment 
Apprentice for Class I-SP, I, II, 
III, or IV Nonindustrial 
Wastewater Treatment 
Operator  or Class A-SO, B, C, 
or D Wastewater Treatment 
Operator  

Ranges from high school 
diploma or equivalent (or 
experience exemption) to 
associate’s or bachelor’s 
degree 

6 months to 5 years of 
acceptable work experience 

Yes 5-20 hours $30 Up to 6 years N/A 
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Pennsylvania 

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Class A Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

1-4 years depending on 
education and experience 

General  water 
exam and at least 
1 water technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class B Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 3 years depending 
on education and experience 

General water 
exam and at least 
1 water technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class C Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 2 years depending 
on education and experience 

General water 
exam and at least 
1 water technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class D Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 1 year depending 
on education and experience 

General water 
exam8  

15 hours every 
3 years (8 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class Dc Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

No experience to 6 months 
depending on education and 
experience 

General water exam 
and groundwater 
source exam 

9 hours every 3 years 
(4 hours for first 
3 years) 

$100 3 years $60 

                                                      
6 25 Pa. Code Chapter 302. https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/025/chapter302/chap302toc.html. Also see operator application form: https://www.pwea.org/docs/DEP_Certification_ 
Exam_Registraton_Form_2017.pdf. 
7 Each exam fee (general exams and specific exams) is $35. 25 Pa. Code 302.202. 
8 No specific subclassification exam required. 25 Pa. Code 302.1002. 

https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/025/chapter302/chap302toc.html
https://www.pwea.org/docs/DEP_Certification_Exam_Registraton_Form_2017.pdf
https://www.pwea.org/docs/DEP_Certification_Exam_Registraton_Form_2017.pdf
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Class Dn Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

No experience to 6 months 
depending on education and 
experience 

General water 
exam and 
groundwater 
source exam 

6 hours every 3 years 
(3 hours for first 3 
years) 

$100 3 years $60 

Class E Drinking Water 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

No experience to 1 year 
depending on education and 
experience 

Distribution 
systems exam 

15 hours every 
3 years (8 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$100 3 years $60 

Subclassifications for Drinking Water Certification9 

Subclassification 1: 
Conventional Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Conventional 
filtration specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above  

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 2: 
Direct Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Direct filtration 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 3: 
Diatomaceous Earth 
Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Diatomaceous 
earth filtration 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

                                                      

9 Any person with a Class A, B, or C Drinking Water Certification must have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. Any person with a Class D or E Drinking Water Certification 
may have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. 25 Pa. Code 302.901. 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Subclassification 4: 
Slow Sand Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Slow sand filtration 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 5: 
Cartridge or Bag Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Cartridge or bag 
filtration specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 6: 
Membrane Filtration 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Membrane 
filtration specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 7: 
Corrosion Control and 
Sequestering 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Corrosion control 
and sequestering 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 8: 
Chemical Addition 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Chemical addition 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 9: 
Ion Exchange and 
Greensand 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Ion exchange and 
greensand specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 10: 
Aeration and Activated 
Carbon Adsorption 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Aeration and 
activated carbon 
adsorption specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Subclassification 11: 
Gaseous Chlorine 
Disinfection 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Gaseous chlorine 
disinfection specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 12: 
NonGaseous Chemical 
Disinfection 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Nongaseous 
chemical 
disinfection specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 13: 
Ultraviolet Disinfection 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Ultraviolet 
disinfection specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 14: 
Ozonation 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Ozonation specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Wastewater Certification 

Class A Wastewater 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

1-4 years depending on 
education and experience 

General wastewater 
exam and at least 
1 wastewater 
technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class B Wastewater 
Certification  

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 3 years depending 
on education and experience 

General wastewater 
exam and at least 
1 wastewater 
technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Class C Wastewater 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 2 years depending 
on education and experience 

General wastewater 
exam and at least 
1 wastewater 
technology 
subclassification 

30 hours every 
3 years (15 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class D Wastewater 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 1 year depending 
on education and experience 

General wastewater 
exam and at least 
1 wastewater 
technology 
subclassification 

15 hours every 
3 years (8 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$150 3 years $60 

Class E Wastewater 
Certification 

High school diploma or GED 
(or experience exemption) 

6 months to 1 year depending 
on education and experience 

Satellite collection 
system with pump 
station/single 
entity owner 
collection system 
exam 

15 hours every 
3 years (8 hours for 
first 3 years) 

$100 3 years $60 

Subclassifications for Wastewater Certification10 

Subclassification 1: 
Activated sludge 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Activated sludge 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

                                                      

10 Any person with a Class A, B, C, or D Wastewater Certification must also have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. 25 Pa. Code 302.902. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 18  R-133-2197 

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification6 

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam7 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Subclassification 2: 
Fixed Film Treatment 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Fixed film 
treatment specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 3: 
Treatment Ponds and 
Lagoons 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Treatment ponds 
and lagoons 
specific exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 

Subclassification 4: 
Single Entity Collection 
System 

See Class A through E above See Class A through E above Laboratory 
supervisor specific 
exam 

See Class A through E 
above 

See Class A 
through E above 

3 years See Class A 
through E 
above 
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Voluntary Action Program Professional Certification 

Voluntary Action Program Professional Certification 

State Type of certification 
License 

required? 
Education or 

training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Ohio11 Certified professional 
under the Voluntary 
Action Program 

Yes A bachelor’s 
degree 

8 years of relevant 
professional 
experience. 

Initial certification 
training. 

No 12 hours $2,500 1 year $2,000 

Illinois12 N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Indiana13 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Pennsylvania14 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

  

                                                      

11
 R.C. 3746.04; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-300-03 and 3745-300-05. 

12 There is no comparable license in Illinois. While Licensed Professional Engineers and Geologists may prepare a certification, only the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency issues “no 
further remediation letters.” 415 ILCS 5/57.10. 
13

 Indiana does not have an equivalent for a certified professional. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management performs the duties and responsibilities of a certified professional. 
Ind. Code Ann. 13-25-5-1 through 13-25-5-23 (LexisNexis 2019). 
14 There is no comparable license in Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection performs the duties and responsibilities of a certified professional. 35 P.S. § 6021.1 
through 6021.7. 
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Water Quality Professional Certification 

Certified Water Quality Professional Certification 

State Type of certification 
License 

required? 
Education or 

training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Ohio Certified water quality 
professional (Section 401 
Water Quality 
Certification)(rules are 
not formally adopted as 
of the completion date of 

this chart)
15

 

Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Illinois N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Indiana N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Pennsylvania N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

  

                                                      

15 R.C. 3745.114 and 6111.030; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-32-02 and 3745-32-03. This is a recent certification and not all rules have been adopted. 
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Certified Engineers 

Certified Water Quality Professional Certification 

State Type of certification 
License 

required? 
Education or 

training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Ohio Certified engineers (rules 
are not formally adopted 
as of the completion date 
of this chart)16 

Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Illinois N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Indiana N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Pennsylvania N/A  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

  

                                                      

16 R.C. 3745.14. 
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Motor vehicle inspection and maintenance professionals 

Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Inspector Certification 

State License required? Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 
Initial licensure 

fee 
License 

duration 
Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes17 Inspector training and 
certification that meets 
federal requirements18 

N/A Yes19 Recertification requires 
recertification course and 
test20 

N/A21 2 years22 N/A 

Illinois Yes23 Illinois Environmental 
Protection Agency 
(EPA)-approved training 
courses and 
certification24 

N/A Yes25 Refresher courses 
required every 2 years26 

N/A27 2 years28 N/A 

                                                      
17 Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 3745-26-13 and 40 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) § 51.367(b). 
18 O.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(1) and (2) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367. 
19 O.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(2) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367(a)(3). 
20 O.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(4). 
21 No fees per Mike Riggleman, Manager of Mobile Sources, Division of Air Pollution Control, OEPA (telephone call, October 7, 2019). 
22 O.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(4). 
23 Per Tom Panici, Field Manager, Illinois EPA (telephone call, October 8, 2019).  
24 Id. 
25 Id. 
26 Id. 
27 Id. 
28 Id. 
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Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Inspector Certification 

State License required? Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 
Initial licensure 

fee 
License 

duration 
Renewal fee 

Indiana Yes (falls under motor 
vehicle emission 
inspector 
certification)29 

Successful completion of 
department-approved 
training30 

N/A Yes31 Refresher training and 
testing required prior to 
renewal32 

N/A33 1 year34 N/A35 

Pennsylvania Yes (falls under 
emission inspector 
certification)36 

Department-approved 
training course37 

N/A Yes38 Refresher training course 
and test required every 
2 years39 

$59.99, plus any 
fees charged by 
the training 
school40 

2 years41 $79.99 for Emission Inspector 
Recertification; $59.99 for 
Northern Region Emissions 
Inspector Recertification42 

                                                      
29 326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367(b). 
30 326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and (b). 
31 326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019). 
32 326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(b). 
33 Per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019). 
34 326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(b). 
35 Per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019). 
36 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(a). 
37 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(3)(i). 
38 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(3)(ii) and (iii). 
39 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(4). 
40 Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, FAQs: Emission Inspector Certification and Recertification, http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions% 
20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf. 
41 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(4). 
42 Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, FAQs: Emission Inspector Certification and Recertification, http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions% 
20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf. 

http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf
http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf
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Waiver Repair Technician 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes43 Completes OEPA training 
curriculum concerning the 
methods used in repairing 
vehicles failing emissions 
tests. Can be waived by OEPA 
Director44  

Possesses 
Automotive 
Service 
Excellence (ASE) 
certification in 
Engine 
Performance, 
Electrical 
Systems, and 
Advanced Engine 
Performance. 
Can be waived by 
Director45  

Yes, but can be waived by 
Director46  

The Director may require 
training to maintain 
certification47  

N/A48 2 years49  N/A50 

                                                      
43 Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) § 3745-26-16(A). 
44 O.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(2). 
45 O.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(4). 
46 O.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(2) and (3). 
47 O.A.C. § 3745-26-16(E). 
48 Per telephone conversation with Gretchen Graycraft, Legislative Liaison for OEPA, October 10, 2019.  
49 O.A.C. § 3745-26-16(B). 
50 Per telephone conversation with Gretchen Graycraft, Legislative Liaison for OEPA, October 10, 2019. 
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Waiver Repair Technician 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Illinois No51 N/A52 Professionally 
engaged in 
vehicle repair; 

Employed by a 
going concern 
whose purpose is 
vehicle repair; or 

Possessing a 
nationally 
recognized 
certification for 
emission related 
diagnosis and 
repair.53  

N/A54 N/A55 N/A56 N/A57 N/A58 

                                                      
51 Per telephone conversation with Ken Beauvais, Program Executive Illinois Air Team, October 3, 2019. 
52 Id. 
53 35 Ill. Adm. Code 276.102.  
54 Per telephone conversation with Ken Beauvais, Program Executive Illinois Air Team, October 3, 2019. 
55 Id. 
56 Id. 
57 Id. 
58 Id. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 26  R-133-2197 

Waiver Repair Technician 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Indiana Yes59 Completes department 
approved emission and 
drivability program60  

Certification as 
an ASE L1 
(Advanced 
Engine 
Performance) 
technician61  

N/A62 Professionally engaged in 
emission/drivability 
repair and employed at a 
certified I/M emission 
repair facility.63  

Must keep ASE L1 
certification current to 
remain state certified.64 

N/A65 N/A66 N/A67 

                                                      
59 326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5). 
60 326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(B). 
61 326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(A). 
62 Per telephone conversation with Phil Doyle, IN Department of Environmental Management Official, October 10, 2019. 
63 326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(C) and (D). 
64 Per telephone conversation with Phil Doyle, IN Department of Environmental Management Official, October 10, 2019. 
65 Id. 
66 Id.  
67 Id.  
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Waiver Repair Technician 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam Continuing education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Pennsylvania Yes68 Complete an emission 
inspection course and 
On-board diagnostic system 
training.69 Must be an 
emission inspector prior to 
certification.70 

18+ years old 
and have a valid 
driver’s license71  

Required to obtain 80% 
passage rate on emission 
inspection course and 
On-board diagnostic 
system training test. And, 
if not automobile 
manufacturer or ASE 
certified regarding 
certifying emission 
control system evaluation 
and repair proficiency, 
then applicant must 
complete and pass an 
approved repair 
technician test.72 

The PA Department of 
Transportation may 
authorize periodic 
supplemental training to 
maintain certification.73  

Must keep emission 
inspector license 
current.74  

N/A75 N/A76 N/A77 

R-133-2197/rs 

                                                      
68 67 Pa. Code 177.275(a). 
69 67 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(3). 
70 Per telephone conversation with Diana Chu, Manager for Vehicle Emissions Hotline contact center, October 10, 2019. 
71 67 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(1) and (2). 
72 67 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(3). 
73 67 Pa. Code 177.275(d). 
74 Per telephone conversation with Diana Chu, Manager for Vehicle Emissions Hotline contact center, October 10, 2019. 
75 Id.  
76 Id. 
77 Id.  


