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Subject: Surrounding state comparison of certain occupational regulations administered by 
the Department of Commerce 

This memorandum compares the law governing historical boiler operators, home 
inspectors, and ski tramways in Ohio and each of the surrounding states. It assesses whether an 
occupational license is required to engage in the profession and, if so, describes any 
(1) education and training requirements, (2) experience requirements, (3) exam requirements, 
(4) continuing education requirements, (5) initial licensure fees, (6) the duration of the license, 
and (7) renewal fees. In Ohio, each of these professions is regulated by an independent board 
within the Department of Commerce. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 2  R-133-3523 

Historical Boiler Licensing Board 

Historical Boiler Operator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 
required? 

Yes, (R.C. 4104.32 
and 4104.35). 

No, boiler operators 
are not licensed; 
boilers are 
inspected.  
(I.C. 22-15-6-2).1 

No. Boiler 
operators generally 
required to be 
licensed. No 
specific license for 
historical or 
antique boiler 
operators. 
(KRS  236.210.) 

No. Boiler 
operators 
generally required 
to be registered. It 
does not appear 
that Michigan 
requires a distinct 
license for 
operating a 
historic or 
“antique” boiler. 
However, such 
boilers are 
required to be 
inspected 
annually, if used 
for a commercial 
purpose, or once 
every three years 
for all other 
antique boilers. 
(MCLS  339.5917.)  

No. Antique boilers 
are inspected. 
No specific license 
for antique boiler 
operators. (35 P.S. 
1330.3 and 1330.4.) 

No. Boilers are 
inspected. No 
operators license. 
(W.Va. Code 
21-3-7.) 

                                                      

1 https://faqs.in.gov/hc/en-us/articles/115005237508-What-are-the-licensing-requirements-for-boiler-operators-, accessed March 17, 2020. 

https://faqs.in.gov/hc/en-us/articles/115005237508-What-are-the-licensing-requirements-for-boiler-operators-
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Historical Boiler Operator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Yes, Board approved 
course 
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(2)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Yes, 100 hours 
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(4)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Yes 
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(3)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

No. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial 
licensure fee 

$50 (R.C. 4104.35(B)). N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License 
duration 

Infinite 
(R.C. 4104.35(C)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Ohio Home Inspector Board 

Home Inspector License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 
required? 

Yes (R.C. 4764.02). Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 
25-20.2-5-1). 

Yes 
(KRS 198B.712(1)). 

No2 No, though 
Pennsylvania does 
regulate the conduct 
of home inspectors 
(68 Pa.C.S. 7501 to 
7513). 

Yes (W. Va. CSR 
87-5-2(1)). 

Education or 
training 

Yes, a curriculum 
approved by the 
Board in addition to 
a high school 
diploma or GED 
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(5) 
and (8)). 

Yes, an Indiana 
Home Inspectors 
Licensing Board 
approved training 
program in addition 
to a high school 
diploma or GED 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-20.2-5-2(a)(1) 
and (3)). 

Yes, a Kentucky 
Board of Home 
Inspectors 
approved course in 
addition to a high 
school diploma or 
GED 
(KRS 198B.712(3)). 

No No Yes, 80 hours of 
instruction 
directly related 
to the 
performance of 
professional 
home inspections 
and a high school 
diploma or GED 
(W. Va. CSR 
87-5-4.1b and c).3 

                                                      

2 Michigan.gov, State License Search: Certified Home Inspector, available at https://www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch/0,4671,7-180-24786-

80983--,00.html (accessed April 15, 2020). 
3 A grandfather clause allows applicants to substitute three-years of experience for the instruction in specified circumstances.  

https://www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch/0,4671,7-180-24786-80983--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch/0,4671,7-180-24786-80983--,00.html
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Home Inspector License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Yes, either by 
completing 10 
inspections with a 
licensed home 
inspector or through 
a separate 
curriculum 
approved by the 
Ohio Home 
Inspector Board 
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(6)). 

No (Ind. Code Ann. 
25-20.2-5-2). 

No (See e.g., 831 
KAR 2:020). 

No No No (W. Va. CSR 
87-5-4). 

Exam Yes, the National 
Home Inspector 
Examination 
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(4)). 

Yes, the National 
Home Inspector 
Examination 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-20.2-5-2(3) and 
878 IAC 1-3-3). 

Yes, from a 
provider approved 
by the Kentucky 
Board of Home 
Inspectors (KRS 
198B.712(3) and 
831 KAR 2:020). 

No No Yes, the National 
Home Inspector 
Examination or 
an alternative 
approved by the 
State Fire 
Marshal (W. Va. 
CSR 87-5-4.1a ). 

Continuing 
education 

14 hours per year 
(R.C. 4764.08(A)). 

32 hours for 
renewal (878 IAC 
1-5-1(a)). 

14 hours per year 
of licensure (831 
KAR 2:040, Sec. 11). 

No No 16 hours per year 
(W. Va. CSR  
87-5-6.4). 
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Home Inspector License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial 
licensure fee 

$2354 $50 (878 IAC 1-3-1). $250 (831 KAR 
2:020, Sec. 1(1)(g)). 

No No $125 plus a $25 
application fee 
(W. Va. CSR 
87-5-7.1 and .3). 

License 
duration 

3 years 
(R.C. 4764.09). 

Generally, 2 years, 
though initial 
licenses may be for 
a shorter period 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-20.2-6-1). 

Generally, 2 years, 
though initial 
licenses may be for 
a shorter period 
(KRS 198B.722). 

No No Generally 
12 months, 
though initial 
licenses may be 
slightly longer 
(less than a 
month) (W. Va. 
CSR 87-5-6.1). 

Renewal fee $2355 $50 (878 IAC 1-3-1 
and 878 IAC 1-5-1). 

$200 per year of 
licensure (typically 
$400) (831 KAR 
2:020, Sec. 5). 

No No $100 (W. Va. CSR 
87-5-7.2). 

                                                      

4 Proposed Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 1301:17-1-03(A) (note: withdrawal has been suggested for this proposed rule). 
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rul

es/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E. 
5 Proposed O.A.C. 1301:17-1-03(B) (note: withdrawal has been suggested for this proposed rule). http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/ 
search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531

a511fb%3E. 

http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp:/www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp:/www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp:/www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp:/www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp:/www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E
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Ski Tramway Board 

Ski Tramways 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 
required? 

No. Businesses 
operating ski 
tramways apply for 
a business 
registration. It is not 
the same as an 
occupational 
license. For 
example, it does not 
give the holder of 
the license the right 
to operate any ski 
tramway anywhere 
in Ohio. There is no 
education 
requirement or 
experience 
requirement. The 
tramways are 
merely inspected. 
(R.C. 4169.03.)  

No. Ski lifts are 
included under the 
definition of 
“regulated 
amusement device.” 
Regulated 
amusement devices 
receive operating 
permits and are 
inspected and 
renewed annually. 
(Burns Ind. Code 
Ann. 22-12-1-19.1 
and 22-15-7-2.) 

No. There do not 
appear to be any 
ski lifts or 
tramways in 
Kentucky. 

No. Ski lifts are 
required to be 
inspected and 
permitted. 
(MCLS 408.329.) 

No. Ski lifts are 
inspected and 
permitted. (35 P.S. 
7210.105(C)(1) and 71 
P.S. 240.13A(a)(2)(C).) 

No. It does not 
appear that 
West Virginia ski 
lift operators are 
specifically 
required to 
conduct 
inspections. 
However, they are 
required to carry 
insurance and the 
insurer likely 
requires 
inspections. 
(W.Va. Code 
20-3A-6.) 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Ski Tramways 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial 
licensure fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License 
duration 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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