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To: The Honorable Robert McColley 
 Ohio Senate 

From: Nick Thomas, Research Analyst NT 

Date: April 13, 2020 

Subject: Multi-state survey: State Athletic Commission 

This memorandum is in response to your request for information on laws in Ohio and the surrounding states related to 
licensing bodies overseeing boxing and other forms of unarmed combat. Please see the tables below. The roles of these boards and 
the requirements related to unarmed combat from state to state appear to be largely the same. 

 

 Athletic Commission – Promoters License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 3773.32, 
3773.35, and 
3773.36) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-14 
and 4-33-22-17) 

Yes (KRS 229.025 
and 229.035) 

Yes (MCLS 
338.3630) 

Yes (5 Pa.C.S 902) Yes (W. Va. Code 
29-5A-3) 

Education or 
training 

No No No No No No 
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 Athletic Commission – Promoters License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Must be 
“knowledgeable 
of in the proper 
conduct of such 
matches or 
exhibitions” (R.C. 
3773.36) 

No No No No Requires 
applicants to 
possess the 
requisite “skill, 
knowledge, and 
ability to 
promote, hold, 
and conduct” an 
unarmed combat 
event (W. Va. 
Code 29-5A-8) 

Exam No No No No No No 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 

Initial licensure 
fee 

Boxing – $150 

Wrestling – $200 

MMA – $150 

Tough Person – 

$1501 

$300 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$300 (201 KAR 

27:008)2 

$300 or $800 

(MCLS 338.3633)3 

$100 (58 Pa. Code 
13.4) 

$125 (W. Va. Code 
29-5A-3) 

                                                      

1 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 
2 https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/201/027/008.pdf. 
3 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC050_7-19_-_new_format_662042_7.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/201/027/008.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC050_7-19_-_new_format_662042_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Promoters License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 
3773.36) 

1 year (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-14) 

1 year (201 KAR 
27:008) 

1 year (MCLS 
338.3633) 

Expires on the 31st 
of December after 
the license is 
issued (5 Pa.C.S. 
911) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code 29-5A-3) 

Renewal fee Boxing – $150 

Wrestling – $200 

MMA – $150 

Tough Person – 

$1504 

$300 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$300 (201 KAR 

27:008)5 

$300 or $830 

(MCLS 338.3633)6 

$100 (58 Pa. Code 
13.4) 

$125 (W. Va. Code 
29-5A-3) 

 

 Athletic Commission – Contestant’s License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 3773.32 
and 3773.41) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-28) 

Yes (KRS 229.025) Yes (MCLS 
338.3633a) 

Yes (5 Pa.C.S. 905) West Virginia 
gives its Athletic 
Commission the 
sole authority to 

                                                      
4 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 
5 https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/201/027/008.pdf. 
6 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC050_7-19_-_new_format_662042_7.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/kar/201/027/008.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC050_7-19_-_new_format_662042_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Contestant’s License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

regulate unarmed 
combat and 
authorizes the 
Commission to 
license individuals 
wishing to 
participate in such 
events. Unlike 
other states, it 
does not appear 
to explicitly 
prohibit 
individuals from 
engaging in such 
events without a 
license from the 
Commission, 
though this 
appears to be 
implied. (W. Va. 
Code 29-5A-3a 
and 29-5A-8) 

Education or 
training 

No No No No No No 
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 Athletic Commission – Contestant’s License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Yes (R.C. 3773.42) No No No No No 

Exam No No No No No No 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$407 $50 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

$45 for processing 
fee and $45 for 
license fee (MCLS 
338.3633a) 

$22 (58 Pa. Code 
13.4) 

Pro boxer – $25 

(W. Va. CSR 177-
1-4) 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 
3773.42) 

2 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-28) 

1 year, January 1 
to December 1 
(201 KAR 27:2008) 

1 year (MCLS 
338.3633a) 

December 31 in 
the year of 
issuance (5 Pa.C.S. 
911) 

1 year (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

Renewal fee $408 $50 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

$45 or $120 
(MCLS 338.3633a 

and 338.3633c)9 

$22 (58 Pa. Code 
13.4) 

$25 (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

 

 

                                                      
7 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf. 
8 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf. 
9 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC010_7-19_-_new_format_662035_7.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf
https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC010_7-19_-_new_format_662035_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Professional Boxer’s, Mixed Martial Artist, and Amateur Mixed Martial Artist License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? No separate 
license for 
professional 
boxer, mixed 
martial artists, 
and amateur 
mixed martial 
artists. All just 
receive 
contestant’s 
license. (R.C. 
3773.32 and 
3773.41) 

No separate 
license for 
professional 
boxer, mixed 
martial artists, 
and amateur 
mixed martial 
artists. All just 
receive 
contestant’s 
license. (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-28) 

No separate 
license for 
professional 
boxer, mixed 
martial artists, 
and amateur 
mixed martial 
artists. All just 
receive 
contestant’s 
license. (KRS 
229.025) 

No separate 
license for 
professional 
boxer, mixed 
martial artists, 
and amateur 
mixed martial 
artists. All just 
receive 
contestant’s 
license. (MCLS 
338.3633a) 

Pro mixed martial 
artists and 
kickboxers appear 
to receive a 
boxer’s license. 
Amateur mixed 
martial artists are 
licensed. Amateur 
kickboxers are 
not. (58 Pa. Code 
25.1, 27.2, 29.1, 
and 29.23) 

All forms of 
unarmed combat 
are defined as 
boxing, so all 
contestants 
receive a boxers’ 
license. The 
license fees for 
semi-pro and 
amateur boxers 
are lower, 
however. (W. Va. 
Code 29-5A-3) 

Education or 
training 

No No No No No No 

Experience Yes (R.C. 3773.42) No No No No No 

Exam No No No No No No 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 
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 Athletic Commission – Professional Boxer’s, Mixed Martial Artist, and Amateur Mixed Martial Artist License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$4010 No No No Same as boxer’s 
license for pro, 
$10 for amateur 
mixed martial 
artists. No fee for 
amateur kick 
boxers. (58 Pa. 
Code 25.1, 27.2, 
29.1, and 29.23) 

Pro boxer – $25 

Semi-pro boxer – 
$10 

Amateur boxer – 
$20 

(W. Va. CSR 177-
1-4) 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 
3773.42) 

No No No Expires December 
31 (5 Pa.C.S. 911) 

1 year (W. Va. CSR 

177-1-4)11 

Renewal fee $4012 No No No Same as license 
fee (58 Pa. Code 
25.1, 27.2, 29.1, 
and 29.23) 

Same as license 
fee (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

 

 

 

                                                      
10 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf. 
11 https://athleticcommission.wv.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/072419%20Athlete%20Form1%20-%20edited.pdf. 
12 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf
https://athleticcommission.wv.gov/SiteCollectionDocuments/072419%20Athlete%20Form1%20-%20edited.pdf
https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/pdf/BoxerMMAAppnew.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Judge, Matchmaker, Manager, Timekeeper, Trainer, or Second License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – essentially 
the same as 
contestant license 
(R.C. 3773.32, 
3773.41, and 
3773.42) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-17) 

Yes (KRS 229.025) Yes – participant’s 
license required 
(MCLS 338.3633b) 

Yes (5 Pa.C.S. 905) Yes (W. Va. Code 
29-5a-8) 

Education or 
training 

No No No No No No 

Experience Yes (R.C. 3773.42) No No No No No 

Exam No The Indiana 
Athletic 
Commission is 
authorized to test 
the qualifications 
of an applicant 
(Ind. Code Ann. 4-
33-22-29) 

No No No W. Va. Athletic 
Commission may 
require that the 
applicant establish 
that the applicant 
possesses the 
“requisite skill, 
knowledge, and 
ability” (W. Va 
Code 29-5A-8) 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 
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 Athletic Commission – Judge, Matchmaker, Manager, Timekeeper, Trainer, or Second License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$4013 Judge – $75 

Manager – $50 

Timekeeper – $30 

Trainer – $30 

Second – $25 

(68 IAC 24-3-2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

$30 processing 
fee and: 

Judge – $70 

Matchmaker – 
$150 

Timekeeper – $70 

(MCLS 338.3633b) 

Judge – $35 

Matchmaker – 
$50 

Manager – $35 

Timekeeper – $25 

Trainer – $20 

Second – $20 

(58 Pa. Code 13.4) 

Judge – $30 

Manager, pro – 
$50 

Manager, 
amateur – $0 

Timekeeper – $30 

Trainer – $20 

Second – $20 

Other official – 
$30 

(W. Va. CSR 177-

1-4)14 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 
3773.42) 

Judge – 2 years  

All others – 1 year 

(68 IAC 24-3-2) 

1 year, January 1 
to December 1 
(201 KAR 27:2008) 

1 year (MCLS 
338.3633b) 

Expires December 
31 (5 Pa.C.S. 911) 

Unclear, but likely 
1 year (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

                                                      
13 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 
14 https://athleticcommission.wv.gov/forms/Documents/090619%20Non-Athlete%20FormP.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
https://athleticcommission.wv.gov/forms/Documents/090619%20Non-Athlete%20FormP.pdf


Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 10  R-133-3520 

 Athletic Commission – Judge, Matchmaker, Manager, Timekeeper, Trainer, or Second License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $4015 Same as 
application fee 

(68 IAC 24-3-2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

Judge – $130 

Matchmaker – 
$210 

Timekeeper – 

$13016 

Same as initial fee 

(58 Pa. Code 13.4) 

Same as initial fee 
(W. Va. CSR 177-
1-4) 

 

 Athletic Commission – Referee 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 3773.32, 
3773.41, and 
3773.42) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-17 
and 4-33-22-29) 

Yes (KRS 229.025) Yes (referees 
receive 
participant 
licenses) (MCLS 
338.3633b) 

Yes (5 Pa.C.S. 905) Allows W. Va. 
Athletic 
Commission to 
issue license for 
referees (W. Va. 
Code 29-5A-8) 

Education or 
training 

Yes (R.C. 
3773.42(A)) 

No No No No No 

                                                      
15 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 
16 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC035_7-19_-_new_format_662037_7.pdf; https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/ 

UCC060_7-19_-_new_format_662043_7.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC035_7-19_-_new_format_662037_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/%20UCC060_7-19_-_new_format_662043_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/%20UCC060_7-19_-_new_format_662043_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Referee 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Yes (R.C. 
3773.42(B)) 

No No No No No 

Exam No Indiana Athletic 
Commission may 
test the 
qualifications of a 
referee applicant 
(Ind. Code Ann. 4-
33-22-29) 

No No No W. Va. Athletic 
Commission may 
establish that the 
applicant 
possesses the 
“requisite skill, 
knowledge, and 
ability” (W. Va 
Code 29-5A-8) 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$4017 $100 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

$30 processing 
fee and $150 
(MCLS 338.3633b) 

$35 (58 Pa. Code 
13.4) 

$30 (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 
3773.42) 

2 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 4-33-22-29) 

1 year, January 1 
to December 1 
(201 KAR 27:2008) 

1 year (MCLS 
338.3633b) 

Expires December 
31 (5 Pa.C.S. 911) 

Unclear, likely 1 
year (W. Va. CSR 
177-1-4) 

                                                      
17 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Referee 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $4018 $100 (68 IAC 24-3-
2) 

$25 (201 KAR 
27:2008) 

$21019 Same as initial 
license (58 Pa. 
Code 13.4) 

Same as initial 
license (W. Va. 
CSR 177-1-4) 

 

 Athletic Commission – Athlete Agent 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Athlete agents are 
required to 
register with the 
Ohio Athletic 
Commission (R.C. 
4771.02 and 
4771.06) 

Yes, athlete 
agents are 
required to 
register with the 
Attorney 
General’s Office 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-5.2-2-2) 

Athlete agents are 
required to 
register with the 
Kentucky 
Department of 
Professional 
Licensing, which is 
a separate entity 
from the Kentucky 
Boxing and 
Wrestling 
Commission, 
which oversees 
unarmed combat  
 

It does not appear 
that athlete 
agents are issued 
distinct licenses in 
Michigan (MCLS 
750.411e). They 
would likely be 
required to 
receive a 
“personnel agency 
license” issued by 
the Michigan 
Department of 
Licensing and  
 

Athlete agents are 
required to 
register with the 
State Athletic 
Commission (5 
Pa.C.S. 3301) 

Yes, athlete 
agents are 
required to 
register with the 
West Virginia 
Secretary of State 
(W. Va. Code 30-
39-4) 

                                                      
18 https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf. 
19 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC035_7-19_-_new_format_662037_7.pdf. 

https://aco.ohio.gov/Portals/0/LicAppnew2018.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/UCC035_7-19_-_new_format_662037_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Athlete Agent 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

events (KRS 
164.6907) 

Regulatory Affairs 
(MCLS 339.1003) 

Education or 
training 

Yes (R.C. 4771.07) Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-5.2-2-3) 

No No No No 

Experience Yes (R.C. 4771.07) No (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-5.2-2-3) 

No No No No 

Exam No No No Yes20 No No 

Continuing 
education 

No No No No No No 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$500 (O.A.C. 
3773-1-05) 

$700 (10 IAC 4-3-
1) 

$300 (KRS 
164.6915) 

$7021 $200 for 
individual agent; 
$400 for other 
legal entity (5 
Pa.C.S. 3308) 

$50 (W. Va. Code 
30-39-9) 

License duration 2 years (R.C. 
4771.08(C)) 

2 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-5.2-2-4) 

2 years (KRS 
164.6911) 

No 2 years (5 Pa.C.S. 
3306) 

2 years (W. Va. 
Code 30-39-6) 

                                                      
20 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf. 
21 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf
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 Athletic Commission – Athlete Agent 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $500 (O.A.C. 
3773-1-05) 

$700 (10 IAC 4-3-
1) 

$300 (KRS 
164.6915) 

$7022 Same as initial 
license (5 Pa.C.S. 
3308) 

$10 (W. Va. Code 
30-39-9) 
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22 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Personnel_Agency_517656_7.pdf

