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Physician license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4731.41) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-22.5-8-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.560) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17011) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 422.10) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3-13) 

Education or 

training 

Generally, hold a 

diploma from an 

accredited medical 

school and at least 

12 months of 

graduate medical 

education 

(R.C. 4731.09) 1 

Generally, possess 

the degree of 

doctor of 

medicine or 

doctor of 

osteopathy from 

an approved 

medical school 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-22.5-3-1) 

Generally, has 

graduated from 

an approved 

medical or 

osteopathic school 

and completed a 

prescribed course 

of postgraduate 

training (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.571) 

Possess a degree 

from an approved 

medical school 

and complete a 

minimum of 

2 years of 

postgraduate 

clinical training 

(Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.2423) 

Has received an 

academic degree 

in medicine and 

surgery from a 

medical college 

and at least 

2 years of 

approved 

postgraduate 

medical training 

(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 422.28 and 

422.29) 

Has received a 

doctor of 

medicine degree 

from a medical 

school and 

completed at least 

1 year of 

postgraduate 

clinical training 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

30-3-10) 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

                                                      

1 Ohio law provides for an expedited physician’s license by endorsement (R.C. 4731.299). This license is available to a physician who holds a 
current license to practice issued by another state. The licensure requirements are largely the same as the requirements described in this table.  
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Physician license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4731.09) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-22.5-5-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.571) 

Yes (Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.2423) 

Yes (63 P.S. 422.29) Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3-10) 

Continuing 

education 

50 hours every 

two years 

(R.C. 4731.282) 

None 60 hours every 

three years 

(201 KAR 9:310) 

150 hours every 

three years 

(Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.2441) 

100 hours every 

two years (49 Pa. 

Code 16.19) 

50 hours every 

two years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-12) 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$305 

(R.C. 4731.09) 

$250  

(844 IAC 4-2-2) 

$300 ($150 if a 

graduate of a 

Kentucky medical 

school remaining 

in Kentucky for 

postgraduate 

training)  

(201 KAR 9:041) 

$367.70 2 $35 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$400 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.1) 

License duration Two years 

(R.C. 4731.281) 

Two years 

(844 IAC 4-6-1) 

One year (201 

KAR 9:041) 

Three years  

(Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.2441) 

Two years (49 Pa. 

Code 16.13) 

Two years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-12) 

                                                      

2 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Licensing_Guide_654158_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Licensing_Guide_654158_7.pdf
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Physician license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $305 

(R.C. 4731.281) 

$200  

(844 IAC 4-2-2) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:041) 

$308.25 3 $360 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$400 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.4) 

 

Podiatrist license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4731.60) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-29-9-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.400) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.18011) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann.42.12) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3-13) 

Education or 

training 

Hold a degree 

from a college of 

podiatric 

medicine and 

surgery and 

complete 1 year 

of postgraduate 

training in a 

podiatric 

internship, 

Graduate with a 

degree of doctor 

of podiatric 

medicine from a 

college or school 

of podiatric 

medicine 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-29-3-1) 

Has completed a 

course in and 

graduated from a 

school or college 

of podiatry 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.420) 

Must have a 

degree as a doctor 

of podiatric 

medicine and 

complete a period 

of postgraduate 

education (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.18031) 

Must be a 

graduate of an 

accredited school 

of podiatric 

medicine and 

surgery.(63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

42.4) 

Has successfully 

completed at least 

1 year of graduate 

clinical training in 

an approved 

program (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-10) 

                                                      

3 Id. 
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Podiatrist license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

residency, or 

clinical fellowship 

program 

(R.C. 4731.52) 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4731.52) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-29-3-1 

and 25-29-3-4) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.420) 

Yes (Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.8104) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 42.8) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3-10) 

Continuing 

education 

50 hours every 

two years 

(R.C. 4731.282) 

30 hours every 

two years 

(845 IAC 1-5-1) 

20 hours every 

year (201 KAR 

25:031) 

150 hours every 

three years (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.18033) 

50 hours every 

two years (49 Pa. 

Code 29.61) 

50 hours every 

two years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-12) 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$305 

(R.C. 4731.52) 

$150  

(845 IAC 1-6-9) 

$250 (201 KAR 

25:011) 

$335.254  $30 (49 Pa. 

Code 29.13) 

$400 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.2) 

License duration Two years 

(R.C. 4731.281) 

Two years 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-29-6-1) 

One year 

(201 KAR 25:021) 

Three years (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.18033) 

Two years (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

42.9) 

Two years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-12) 

                                                      

4 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/POD_Licensing_Guide_654146_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/POD_Licensing_Guide_654146_7.pdf
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Podiatrist license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $305 

(R.C. 4731.281) 

$100 

(845 IAC 1-6-9) 

$175 (201 KAR 

25:021) 

$308.255  $395 (49 Pa. Code 

29.13) 

$400 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.4) 

 

Massage therapy  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes – license 
required to treat 
disorders of the 
human body using 
massage therapy (as 
opposed to massage 
for relaxation) and 
to use certain titles, 
including “massage 
therapist” and 
“licensed massage 
therapist” (R.C. 
4731.41, 4731.04, 
and 4731.15; Ohio 
Administrative Code 
(O.A.C.) 4731-1-05) 

Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-21.8-4-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 309.353) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.17957) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 627.14) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-37-1) 

                                                      

5 Id. 
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Massage therapy  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Must have a diploma 
or certificate from 
an approved school, 
college, or 
institution showing 
the completion of at 
least 750 hours, 
including 325 hours 
in anatomy and 
physiology, 
325 hours in 
massage therapy 
theory and practical, 
25 hours in ethics 
and 25 hours in 
business and law 
(R.C. 4731.19 and 
O.A.C. 4731-1-16) 

Has successfully 
completed a 
massage therapy 
school or 
program that 
requires at least 
500 hours of 
instruction 
(Ind. Code Ann.  
25-21.8-4-2) 

Has successfully 
completed an 
approved 
massage therapy 
training program 
consisting of at 
least 600 hours 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 309.358) 

Has successfully 
completed a 
massage therapy 
program 
consisting of at 
least 625 hours 
of classroom 
instruction 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.17959) 

Has completed an 
approved massage 
program of at least 
600 hours of 
in-class, 
postsecondary 
education 
instruction that 
includes training 
in the human 
immunodeficiency 
virus and related 
risks and training 
in 
cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation 
(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
Ann. 627.5) 

Has completed 
an approved 
massage 
education 
program  
(W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-37-7) 

Experience No No No No No No  

Exam Yes (R.C. 4731.19) Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-21.8-4-2) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 309.358) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.17959) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 627.5) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-37-1) 

Continuing 
education 

No 24 hours every 
four years (Ind. 
Code Ann. 
25-21.8-6-2) 

24 hours every 
two years 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 309.361) 

18 hours every 
three years 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.17965)  

24 hours every 
two years (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. Ann. 
627.6) 

25 hours every 
two years 
(W. Va. Code 
R. 194-1-3) 
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Massage therapy  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$150 (R.C. 4731.19) $100  
(847 IAC 2-1-1) 

$125 (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
309.357)6 

$95 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.16334) 

$100 (49 Pa. Code 
20.3) 

$350 (W. Va. 
Code R. 194-4-2) 

License duration 2 years 
(R.C. 4731.15) 

4 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-21.8-6-1) 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
309.357) 

3 years (Mich. 
Comp. Laws Ann. 
333.17965) 

2 years (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. Ann. 
627.6) 

2 years (W. Va. 
Code Ann.  
30-37-7) 

Renewal fee $150 
(R.C. 4731.15(C)(1)) 

$150  
(847 IAC.2-1-1) 

$100 (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
309.357)7  

$243.308 $125-$175 (49 Pa. 
Code 20.3) 

$200 (W. Va. 
Code R. 194-4-2) 

 

  

                                                      

6 Massage Practice Exams, Kentucky Massage Therapy Licensure Requirements and Examination, https://www.massage-exam.com/kentucky-
massage.php.  
7 Id.  
8 Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, License Renewal Fees, https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600-365326--
,00.html.  

https://www.massage-exam.com/kentucky-massage.php
https://www.massage-exam.com/kentucky-massage.php
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600-365326--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600-365326--,00.html
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Cosmetic therapy certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4731.41; see 

also R.C. 4731.15 and 

4731.17) 

No separate 

license; laser 

hair removal is 

included in the 

definition of 

the practice of 

medicine 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-22-5-1-1.1)9 

No separate 

license; there must 

be a physician 

responsible for 

each patient 

undergoing laser 

hair removal, a 

delegatee must 

undergo formal 

training to ensure 

competence and 

provide written 

documentation of 

training 

completion, and 

must recognize 

unexpected 

adverse reactions 

as part of an annual 

competence review 

No separate 

license; laser hair 

removal is 

included in the 

practice of 

medicine and may 

be delegated to a 

licensed or 

unlicensed 

individual under a 

physician’s 

supervision if 

certain conditions 

are met, including 

that the physician 

acknowledges that 

the delegatee has 

appropriate 

education, 

training, or 

No separate 

license; generally, 

physicians may 

delegate medical 

services if certain 

conditions are 

met, including 

that the physician 

has knowledge 

that the 

delegatee has 

education, 

training, 

experience, and 

continued 

competency to 

safely perform 

the medical 

service being 

delegated, 

No separate 

license; laser 

hair removal is 

considered 

surgery and 

may be 

delegated to 

nonphysician 

health 

practitioners 

with 

supervision if 

certain 

conditions are 

met, including 

physician 

assurance that 

the individual is 

appropriately 

trained, 

                                                      

9 See also IN.gov, Practice Related FAQ’s, https://www.in.gov/pla/2879.htm.  

https://www.in.gov/pla/2879.htm
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Cosmetic therapy certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

by the medical 

director10 

experience to use 

the laser11 

however, it does 

not appear 

cosmetic therapy 

is necessarily a 

medical service 

subject to these 

restrictions (Pa. 

Code 18.402)  

licensed by the 

state in which 

they practice, 

practicing 

within the 

scope of 

licensure, and 

provided 

written 

protocols12 

                                                      

10 Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure, Board Opinion Relating to Laser Surgery, https://kbml.ky.gov/board/Documents/Board%20 
Opinion%20Laser%20Surgery.pdf.  
11 Michigan.gov, Position Statement of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Use of Laser Equipment by Health 
Professionals, https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_laser_equipment_position_statement_477918_7.pdf; see also Mich. Comp. 
Laws. Ann. 333.16215 (regarding delegation).  
12 West Virginia Board of Medicine, Public Policy Statement on Surgery Using Laser, Pulsed Light, Radiofrequency Devices, or Other Techniques, 
available at: https://wvbom.wv.gov/Position_Statementsnew.asp (under Position Statements, select “The Use of Lasers in Surgery 5/10/2010”).  

https://kbml.ky.gov/board/Documents/Board%20Opinion%20Laser%20Surgery.pdf
https://kbml.ky.gov/board/Documents/Board%20Opinion%20Laser%20Surgery.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/lara_laser_equipment_position_statement_477918_7.pdf
https://wvbom.wv.gov/Position_Statementsnew.asp
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Cosmetic therapy certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

Must have a diploma 

or certificate from an 

approved school, 

college, or institution 

showing the 

completion of at least 

750 hours, including 

325 hours in anatomy 

and physiology, 

325 hours in cosmetic 

therapy theory and 

practical, 25 hours in 

ethics and 25 hours in 

business and law 

(R.C. 4731.19 and 

O.A.C. 4731-1-09) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4731.19) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

12 hours every two 

years 

(O.A.C. 4731-1-08) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $150 (R.C. 4731.19) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Cosmetic therapy certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration 2 years (R.C. 4731.15) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee $100 (R.C. 4731.15) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Physician training certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. A training 

certificate is 

required to 

pursue a medical 

residency, 

internship, clinical 

fellowship 

program, or 

elective clinical 

rotation. 

(R.C. 4731.291) 

Yes. A temporary 

medical permit is 

required to obtain 

postgraduate 

medical education 

or training in an 

Indiana medical 

education institution 

or hospital. 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-22.5-5-4(a)) 

Yes – must have 

either a residency 

training license or 

a fellowship 

training license 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.571) 

Yes – educational 

limited license 

(Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17012)  

Yes. A graduate 

license authorizes 

the holder to 

participate in a 

year of graduate 

medical training. 

(49 Pa. Code 17.5) 

Yes – educational 

permit (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-16) 
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Physician training certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

N/A Has completed the 

academic 

requirements for the 

degree of doctor of 

medicine or doctor 

of osteopathy from 

an approved medical 

school (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-22.5-5-4(a)) 

N/A N/A Have graduated 

from a medical 

college (49 Pa. 

Code 17.5) 

Have graduated 

from an allopathic 

or medical college 

or completed a 

recognized 

alternate pathway 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

30-3-16) 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A Yes. Must have 

completed 

specified 

examinations to 

participate in 

graduate medical 

education at the 

second-year level 

or higher. (49 Pa. 

Code 17.5) 

N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician training certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$130 

(R.C. 4731.291) 

$100 (844 IAC 4-2-2) $75 (201 KAR 

9:041 

$91.8513  $30 (accredited 

medical school 

graduate) or $85 

(unaccredited 

medical school 

graduate) (49 Pa. 

Code 16.13) 

$100 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.3) 

License duration Three years 

(R.C. 4731.291) 

One year (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-22.5-5-4(a)) 

One year (201 

KAR 9:051) 

One year (Mich. 

Comp. Laws 

Ann. 333.17012) 

One year (49 Pa. 

Code 17.5) 

One year (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-16) 

Renewal fee $100 

(R.C 4731.291) 

$50 (844 IAC 4-2-2) $65 (201 KAR 

9:041) 

$91.85  $15 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$100 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-2.3) 

 

  

                                                      

13 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Educational_Ltd_Licensing_Guide_654157_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Educational_Ltd_Licensing_Guide_654157_7.pdf
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Podiatrist training certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. A training 

certificate is 

required to 

pursue a 

residency, 

internship, or 

clinical fellowship 

program. 

(R.C. 4731.573) 

Yes. A limited license 

authorizes 

participation in a 

graduate training 

program. (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-29-5-3) 

No Yes. An 

educational 

limited license is 

required to 

participate in 

postgraduate 

education. 

(Mich. Admin. 

Code 

R. 338.8109) 

No No 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A Have graduated 

from an 

approved school 

of podiatric 

medicine (Mich. 

Admin. Code 

R. 338.8109) 

N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Podiatrist training certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$130 

(R.C. 4731.573) 

$50 (845 IAC 1-6-9) N/A $5414  N/A N/A 

License duration Three years Limited to the 

duration of the 

postgraduate 

education program in 

which the applicant is 

employed, assigned, 

or enrolled  

(845 IAC 1-8.1-2) 

N/A One year15  N/A N/A 

Renewal fee $100 

(R.C. 4731.573) 

N/A N/A $2716  N/A N/A 

 

  

                                                      

14 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/POD_ED_LTD_Licensing_Guide_654145_7.pdf. 
15 Id. 
16 Id. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/POD_ED_LTD_Licensing_Guide_654145_7.pdf
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Podiatrist visiting faculty certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. A visiting podiatric faculty certificate authorizes 

a podiatrist licensed in another state to practice 

podiatric medicine incidental to teaching duties at a 

podiatric medical college and affiliated hospital. 

(R.C. 4731.572) 

No No No No  No 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $125 (R.C. 4731.572) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration The shorter of one year or the duration of the 

holder’s appointment to the academic staff 

(R.C. 4731.572) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician clinical research faculty certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. A clinical 

research faculty 

certificate 

authorizes a 

physician licensed 

in another state 

to teach and 

perform research 

activities at a 

medical school. 

(R.C. 4731.293) 

Yes. A temporary 

medical teaching 

permit authorizes 

a physician 

licensed in 

another state to 

teach medicine at 

a medical 

educational 

institution. 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-22.5-5-4(b)) 

Special faculty 

license authorizes 

a physician 

licensed in 

another state to 

practice at a 

medical teaching 

institution and its 

affiliated hospitals. 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.571(6)) 

Clinical academic 

limited license 

authorizes a 

physician licensed 

in another state to 

teach or perform 

research at an 

academic 

institution. 

(Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.2435) 

Institutional 

license authorizes 

a physician 

licensed in 

another state to 

teach and practice 

medicine at a 

medical college, 

including its 

affiliates and 

hospitals. (49 Pa. 

Code 17.3) 

License to practice 

as medical school 

authorizes a 

physician licensed 

in another state to 

practice at a 

medical school’s 

medical center. 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

30-3-11a) 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

75 hours every 

three years 

(R.C. 4731.293) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician clinical research faculty certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure fee $375 

(R.C. 4731.293) 

$100  

(844 IAC 4-2-2) 

$300 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.571(6); 

201 KAR 9:041) 

$91.8517 $35 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$150 (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3-11a) 

License duration Three years 

(R.C. 4731.293) 

One year (Ind. 

Code Ann. 

25-22.5-5-4(b)) 

One year (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.571(6)) 

One year18 Three years 

(49 Pa. Code 17.3) 

One year (W. Va. 

Code Ann.  

30-3-11a) 

Renewal fee $375 

(R.C. 4731.293) 

$50  

(844 IAC 4-2-2) 

$150 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.571(6); 

201 KAR 9:041) 

$32.4019  N/A N/A 

 

  

                                                      

17 https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Clinical_Academic_Ltd_Licensing_Guide_654156_7.pdf. 
18 Id. According to the Michigan Bureau of Professional Licensing, an individual may not practice under a clinical academic limited license for 
more than five years. 
19 Id. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/MD_Clinical_Academic_Ltd_Licensing_Guide_654156_7.pdf
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Physician visiting clinical professional development certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. The certificate authorizes a physician licensed in 

another country to practice medicine as part of 

participation in a clinical professional development 

program conducted at a medical school or hospital. 

(R.C. 4731.298) 

No No No No No 

Education or 

training 

Is an international medical graduate who holds a 

medical degree from an institution listed in the 

international medical education directory 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Has practiced medicine for at least 5 years after 

completing graduate medical education 

(R.C. 4731.298) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $375 (R.C. 4731.298) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration The shorter of one year or the duration of the 

program in which the holder is participating 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician special activity certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 

required? 

Yes. The certificate 

authorizes a physician 

licensed in another state 

or country to practice 

medicine in conjunction 

with a special activity, 

program, or event. 

(R.C. 4731.294) 

Yes. A limited scope 

temporary medical 

permit authorizes a 

physician licensed in 

another state or 

jurisdiction to practice 

medicine as part of a 

specific activity, function, 

series of events, or 

purpose. 

(844 IAC 4-4.5-17) 

No No Yes. A temporary license 

permits a physician 

licensed in another 

jurisdiction to (1) teach 

and demonstrate 

advanced medical and 

surgical techniques, 

(2) participate in a 

procedure necessary for 

the well-being of a 

specified patient, 

(3) practice medicine in a 

camp or resort for no more 

than 3 months, (4) attend 

to the medical needs of a 

person visiting 

Pennsylvania, or (5) be a 

short-term replacement of 

a physician employed by 

the federal government in 

a National Health Service 

Corps Clinic, under Project 

U.S.A. arrangements. 

(49 Pa. Code 17.6) 

No 
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Physician special activity certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

Within 2 years before 

application, the applicant 

must have actively 

practiced medicine, have 

participated in 

accredited graduate 

medical education, or 

passed the federation 

licensing examination 

established by the 

Federation of State 

Medical Boards. 

(R.C. 4731.294) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience See above N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam See above N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$125 (R.C. 4731.294) $100 (844 IAC 4-2-2) N/A N/A $45 (49 Pa. Code 16.13) N/A 
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Physician special activity certificate 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 

duration 

The shorter of 30 days or 

the duration of the 

special activity, program, 

or event (R.C. 4731.294) 

No longer than 30 days 

(844 IAC 4-4.5-17) 

N/A N/A Not specified, duration 

depends on the reason 

for the license (49 Pa. 

Code 17.6) 

N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Physician volunteer license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes. The license 

authorizes a retired 

physician to provide 

services only to the 

indigent and 

uninsured. 

(R.C. 4731.295) 

Indiana’s health 

care volunteer 

registry authorizes 

licensed physicians 

to volunteer their 

services outside of 

traditional health 

care facilities. 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

34-30-13-1.2) 

No Yes. A special 

volunteer license 

authorizes a retired 

physician to treat 

indigent and needy 

individuals. (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.16184) 

Yes. A volunteer 

license authorizes a 

retired physician or a 

licensed physician 

who is not practicing 

to volunteer in 

approved clinics for 

the indigent or in 

medically 

underserved areas. 

(35 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 449.41 to 

449.53)  

Yes. The special 

volunteer license 

authorizes retired 

physicians to treat 

indigent and needy 

patients in free 

clinics (W. Va. 

Code Ann.  

30-3-10a) 
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Physician volunteer license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A If the applicant has 

been out of 

practice for 3 or 

more years, must 

have during the 

3 years immediately 

preceding the 

application, 

completed 

100 hours of 

continuing 

education. (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.16184) 

N/A N/A 

Experience Must have been 

licensed for at least 

10 years before 

retirement or 

practiced medicine 

in a branch of the 

U.S. armed services 

for at least 10 years 

before retirement. 

(R.C. 4731.295) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician volunteer license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

150 hours every 

three years 

(R.C. 4731.295) 

N/A N/A 150 hours every 

three years (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.16184, Mich. 

Admin. Code 

R. 338.2441) 

N/A 50 hours every 

two years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3-12) 

Initial licensure fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years 

(R.C. 4731.295) 

N/A N/A Statute provides for 

license renewals, 

but does not 

specify the license’s 

duration. (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.16184) 

Two years (49 Pa. 

Code 16.18) 

One year (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 

30-3-10a) 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Conceded eminence certificate20 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4731.297) None None None None None 

Education or 

training 

Must be an international medical graduate who holds 

a medical degree from an educational institution 

listed in the International Medical Education 

Directory. (R.C. 4731.297) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Must demonstrate having unique talents and 

extraordinary abilities not generally found within the 

applicant’s specialty by meeting specified criteria. 

(R.C. 4731.297) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

50 hours every two years (R.C. 4731.297 and 

4731.282) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $1,000 (R.C. 4731.297) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Two years (R.C. 4731.297) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

                                                      

20 It appears that just three other states – Maryland, New York, and Texas – along with the District of Columbia – have similar certificates. Note 
that Ohio’s certificate of conceded eminence authorizes its holder to practice medicine only within the clinical setting of an academic medical 
center. See https://med.ohio.gov/Apply/Special-Certificates/Certificate-of-Conceded-Eminence. 

https://med.ohio.gov/Apply/Special-Certificates/Certificate-of-Conceded-Eminence
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Conceded eminence certificate20 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $1,000 (R.C. 4731.297) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Medical marijuana 

 Ohio Indiana21 Kentucky22 Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Certificate to 

recommend23 

(R.C. 4731.22 and 

4731.30) 

N/A N/A While the use of marijuana 

for medical purposes is 

permitted under state law, it 

does not appear that a 

physician needs specific 

authority to recommend 

treatment. (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 333.26423)  

Practitioner 

registry (35 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

10231.401) 

Practitioner registry 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

16A-4-1) 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Must demonstrate by 

training or expertise 

being qualified to 

                                                      

21 Indiana law does not permit the use of marijuana for medical purposes. 
22 Kentucky law does not permit the use of marijuana for medical purposes. 
23 The certificate to recommend medical marijuana issued by the State Medical Board of Ohio is considered an addition to an existing physician 

license. See https://med.ohio.gov/Apply/Certificate-to-Recommend-CTR. 

https://med.ohio.gov/Apply/Certificate-to-Recommend-CTR
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Medical marijuana 

 Ohio Indiana21 Kentucky22 Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

treat the applicable 

serious medical 

condition and 

complete a 4-hour 

training course. 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

16A-4-1)24 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

Two hours every year 

(R.C. 4731.30) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 

fee 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

                                                      

24 The application and course for physicians is not yet available (https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Documents/MedicalCannabis/FAQ%20-

%20Physicians.pdf). 

https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Documents/MedicalCannabis/FAQ%20-%20Physicians.pdf
https://dhhr.wv.gov/bph/Documents/MedicalCannabis/FAQ%20-%20Physicians.pdf
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Physician assistant license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4730.02) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-27.5-4-1 

and 25-27.5-7-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.840 and 

311.844) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17011) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 422.36) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3E-4) 

Education or 

training 

Yes, certified by 

the National 

Commission on 

Certification of 

Physician 

Assistants 

(NCCPA) and a 

master’s degree 

or higher from an 

accredited 

program or a 

program with 

clinical relevance 

(R.C. 4730.11) 

Yes, complete an 

accredited 

educational 

program for 

physician 

assistants (Ind. 

Code Ann. 

25-27.5-4-1) 

Yes, graduate of 

an accredited 

educational and 

training program 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.844 and 

311.846) 

Yes, graduate of 

an accredited 

physician assistant 

educational 

program (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.17062 and 

Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.6201) 

Yes, graduate of a 

recognized 

physician assistant 

program (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

422.36 and 49 Pa. 

Code 18.131) 

Yes, certified by 

the NCCPA and 

obtain a 

baccalaureate or 

master’s degree 

from an accredited 

program (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3E-4 

and W. Va. Code 

R. 11-1B-3) 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Physician assistant license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes 

(R.C. 4730.11)25 

Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-27.5-4-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.844 and 

311.846) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17064 and 

Mich. Admin. 

Code R. 338.6301) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 422.36 

and 49 Pa. Code 

18.141) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-3E-4 and 

W. Va. Code 

R. 11-1B-3) 

Continuing 

education 

100 hours every 

2 years 

(O.A.C. 4730-1-06) 

100 hours every 

2 years26 

100 hours every 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.844) 

100 hours every 

2 years27 

100 hours every 

2 years as 

required by the 

NCCPA (49 Pa. 

Code 18.145)28 

100 hours every 

2 years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3E-6) 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$400 

(R.C. 4730.10) 

$100 

(844 IAC 2.2-2-8) 

$100 (201 KAR 

9:084) 

$50 plus a $30 

processing fee 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 

Ann. 333.16337) 

$30 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$250 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-3) 

                                                      

25 Ohio law does not expressly require an examination, but NCCPA certification requirements include an examination, NCCPA, 

https://www.nccpa.net/BecomingCertified. 
26 Indiana and Pennsylvania do not specify continuing education requirements in law, but both require physician assistants to provide evidence 
of current NCCPA certification when applying for license renewal (844 IAC 2.2-2-3). The NCCPA certification includes this requirement. See 
https://www.nccpa.net/continuingmedicaleducation.  
27 Michigan Academy of Physician Assistants, Categories of Continuing Medical Education, https://www.michiganpa.org/page/cmecategories. 
28 See supra note 8. 

https://www.nccpa.net/BecomingCertified
https://www.nccpa.net/continuingmedicaleducation
https://www.michiganpa.org/page/cmecategories
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Physician assistant license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration 2 years 

(R.C. 4730.14) 

2 years (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-27.5-4-5 

and 844 IAC 

2.2-2-3) 

2 years (201 KAR 

9:084) 

2 years (Mich. 

Admin. Code 

R. 338.6311) 

2 years (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

422.36 and 49 Pa. 

Code 18.145) 

2 years (W. Va. 

Code Ann. 30-3E-6 

and W. Va. Code 

R. 11-1B-3) 

Renewal fee $200 

(R.C 4730.14) 

$50 

(844 IAC 2.2-2-8) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:084) 

$50 per year 

(Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16337) 

$40 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$150 (W. Va. Code 

R. 11-4-3) 

 

Dietetics license  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4759.02) License required 
only to use certain 
titles, including 
“Certified Dietician” 
and “Licensed 
Dietician”; a 
dietician registered 
by the Commission 

Yes30 (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
310.070) 

No, licensure 
law repealed in 
2014. 

Dietitian-nutritionist 
license required only 
to hold self out as a 
licensed 
dietitian-nutritionist 
(P.S. 213.1) 

License required 
only to use titles 
“dietitian” and 
“licensed 
dietitian” 
(W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-35-1) 

                                                      

30 Kentucky has dual licensure for dieticians and nutritionists, as well as a certified nutritionist only certification. 
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Dietetics license  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

on Dietetic 
Registration may 
use the title 
“Registered 
Dietician” (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-14.5-7-1 and 
25-14.5-7-3)29 

Education or 
training 

Has received a 
baccalaureate or 
higher degree from 
an approved 
institution of 
higher education 
and has completed 
a program 
consistent with the 
academic 
standards for 
dietitians 
established by the 
Academy of 
Nutrition and 
Dietetics.31 
(R.C. 4759.06) 

Has received a 
baccalaureate or 
higher degree from 
an approved 
institution of higher 
education and has 
completed a major 
course of study in 
human nutrition, 
nutrition education, 
food and nutrition, 
and dietetics or 
food systems 
management 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-14.5-3-1 and 844 
IAC 19-1-3) 

Be a graduate 
of an approved 
baccalaureate 
or post-
baccalaureate 
degree 
program, with a 
major course of 
study in human 
nutrition, food 
and nutrition, 
dietetics, food 
systems 
management, 
or equivalent 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 310.021) 

N/A Has received a 
baccalaureate or 
higher degree from 
an approved college 
or university, 
including a major 
course of study in 
human nutrition, 
food and nutrition, 
dietetics, or food 
systems management 
(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
Ann. 216) 

Has completed a 
major course of 
study in human 
nutrition, 
dietetics, food 
systems 
management, or 
the equivalent 
thereof and 
possesses a 
baccalaureate or 
post-
baccalaureate 
degree.  
(W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-35-7) 

                                                      

29 See also IN.gov, Instructions & Application for Licensure, https://www.in.gov/pla/2412.htm. 
31 Education requirement may be waived if the applicant is a registered dietitian with the Commission on Dietetic Registration. 

https://www.in.gov/pla/2412.htm
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Dietetics license  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Has successfully 
completed an 
approved 
pre-professional 
dietetic 
experience32 
(R.C. 4759.06) 

The board may 
require an applicant 
to have completed a 
documented, 
supervised practice 
experience of at 
least 900 hours 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-14.5-3-3 and 844 
IAC 19-1-3) 

Have 
successfully 
completed a 
documented 
supervised 
practice 
experience 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 310.021) 

N/A Has completed a 
planned continuous 
pre-professional 
experience 
component in 
dietetic practice of at 
least 900 hours 
(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
Ann.216) 

Has completed a 
planned 
continuous 
professional 
experience 
component of at 
least 900 hours 
(W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-35-7) 

Exam Yes33 (R.C. 4759.06) Yes (Burns Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-14.5-4-1 and 
844 IAC 19-1-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
310.021) 

N/A Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 216) 

Yes34 (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 
30-35-7) 

Continuing 
education 

Yes, 75 units every 
five years 
(O.A.C. 4759-4-04) 

Yes, 30 hours every 
two years (844 IAC 
19-1-6)  

Yes, 15 hours 
annually 
(201 KAR) 
33:030)  

N/A Yes, 30 hours every 
two years (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. Ann. 221) 

Yes, 20 hours 
every two years 
(W. Va. Code 
R. 31-1-7) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$225 
(R.C. 4759.08(A)(1)) 

$20  
(844 IAC 19-3-1) 

$50 (201 KAR 
33:010) 

N/A $95 (49 Pa. Code 
21.705) 

$75 (W. Va. 
Code R. 31-1-4) 

                                                      

32 Experience requirement may be waived if the applicant is a registered dietitian with the Commission on Dietetic Registration. 
33 Exam requirement may be waived if the applicant is a registered dietitian with the Commission on Dietetic Registration. 
34 Exam requirement may be waived if the applicant is a registered dietitian with the Commission on Dietetic Registration. 
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Dietetics license  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration 2 years 
(R.C. 4759.06) 

2 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-14.5-6-3) 

1 year 
(KRS 310.050) 

N/A 2 years (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 221) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code Ann.  
30-35-8) 

Renewal fee $180 
(R.C. 4759.08(A)(2)) 

$20  
(844 IAC 19-3-1) 

$50 (201 KAR 
33:010)  

N/A $71 (49 Pa. Code 
21.705) 

$75 (W. Va. Code 
R. 31-1-4) 

 

Limited permit to practice dietetics  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 
required? 

A limited permit is for applicants 
who have applied to take 
dietetics licensing exam. It 
authorizes the holder to engage 
in the full scope of practice 

(R.C. 4759.06(G))35 

No No No No A provisional permit authorizes 
practice as a licensed dietitian for 
individuals who have completed 
education but not experience 
requirements (W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-35-6) 

Education or 
training 

Has received a baccalaureate or 
higher degree from an approved 
institution of higher education 
and has completed a program 
consistent with the academic 
standards for dietitians 

N/A N/A N/A N/A Has completed a major course of 
study in human nutrition, dietetics, 
food systems management, or the 
equivalent thereof and possesses a 
baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate 

                                                      

35 See also State Medical Board of Ohio, Dietitians FAQ, https://med.ohio.gov/FAQs/Dietitians-FAQs. 

https://med.ohio.gov/FAQs/Dietitians-FAQs
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Limited permit to practice dietetics  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

established by the Academy of 
Nutrition and Dietetics 
(R.C. 4759.06) 

degree. (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-35-6) 

Experience Has successfully completed an 
approved pre-professional 
dietetic experience 
(R.C. 4759.06) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A No36 

Exam No N/A N/A N/A N/A No 

Continuing 
education 

No N/A N/A N/A N/A 10 hours per year W. Va. Code 
R. 31-1-6) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$65 (R.C. 4759.08(A)(3)) N/A N/A N/A N/A $50 (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-35-6) 

License duration Expires the following October 31 
for those issued between April 1 
and September 30 and the 
following April 30 for those 
issued between October 1 and 
March 31 (O.A.C. 4759-4-08) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 1 year (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-35-6) 

                                                      

36 West Virginia Code states that a provisional permit may be issued to any person who has not met the experience requirements in Code; 
West Virginia rules state that the purpose of the provisional permit is to allow an individual who has not yet passed the required examination to 
practice dietetics after completing the education and post-graduate professional experience required in Code. (W. Va. Code R. 31-1-6). 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 36  R-133-3521 

Limited permit to practice dietetics  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $65 (R.C. 4759.08(A)(3)) N/A N/A N/A N/A $50 (W. Va. Code Ann. 30-35-6) 

 

Anesthesiologist assistant certificate to practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 

required? 

Yes (R.C. 4760.02) Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 

25-3.7-2-1 and 

25-3.7-3-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

311.862 and 311.844) 

No No No 

Education or 

training 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Be certified by the 

National Commission for 

Certification of 

Anesthesiologist 

Assistants (NCCAA) 

-- Complete a 

baccalaureate or higher 

degree program that 

includes specified 

courses (R.C. 4760.031) 

Meet all of the 

following: 

-- Be certified by the 

NCCAA 

-- Complete a 

bachelor’s degree 

-- Complete an 

accredited 

anesthesiologist 

assistant program  

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-3.7-2-1) 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Graduate from an 

approved 4-year 

program  

-- Graduate from a 

2-year approved and 

accredited program 

that consists of 

academic and clinical 

training in 

anesthesiology 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

311.862, 311.844, and 

311.846) 

N/A N/A N/A 
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Anesthesiologist assistant certificate to practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience No, but there are 

enhanced supervision 

requirements during the 

first four years of 

practice (R.C. 4760.08 

and O.A.C. 4731-24-02) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4760.03)37 Yes (Ind. Code. Ann. 

25-3.7-2-1)38 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

311.862, 311.844, and 

311.846)  

N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

Yes, 40 hours every 

2 years39 

Yes, 40 hours every 2 

years (Ind. Code Ann. 

25-3.7-2-2)40 

100 hours every 2 years 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. 

311.844) 

N/A N/A N/A 

                                                      

37 Ohio and Indiana law require that an anesthesiologist assistant hold a current certificate from the National Commission for Certification of 
Anesthesiologist Assistants. In addition to the licensing examination, NCCAA certification requires that a practitioner pass the examination for 
Continued Demonstration of Qualifications (CDQ) every six years, American Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants, 

https://www.anesthetist.org/assets/docs/factsheets/aa%20training%20and%20education%20fact%20sheet_no%20header_51317.pdf. 
38 See footnote 4. 
39 While Ohio and Indiana law do not specify continuing education requirements, the NCCAA requires that these requirements be completed to 
maintain certification, American Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants, https://www.anesthetist.org/assets/docs/factsheets/aa%20training% 

20and%20education%20fact%20sheet_no%20header_51317.pdf. 
40 See footnote 5. 

https://www.anesthetist.org/assets/docs/factsheets/aa%20training%20and%20education%20fact%20sheet_no%20header_51317.pdf
https://www.anesthetist.org/assets/docs/factsheets/aa%20training%20and%20education%20fact%20sheet_no%20header_51317.pdf
https://www.anesthetist.org/assets/docs/factsheets/aa%20training%20and%20education%20fact%20sheet_no%20header_51317.pdf
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Anesthesiologist assistant certificate to practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$100 (R.C. 4760.03) $100 (844 IAC 15-1-6) $100 (201 KAR 9:084 N/A N/A N/A 

License duration 2 years (R.C. 4760.04) 2 years (844 IAC 15-1-4) 2 years (201 KAR 9:084) N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee $100 (R.C. 4760.06) $50 (844 IAC 15-1-6) $150 (201 KAR 9:084 N/A N/A N/A 

 

Respiratory care  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4761.10) Yes (Ind. 
Code Ann. 25-
34.5-3-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 314A.110 
and 314A.990) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.18707) 

Yes41 (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. Ann. 
422.13a) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-34-1) 

                                                      

41 It appears respiratory therapists in Pennsylvania can be licensed by either the PA State Board of Medicine or the PA State Board of 
Osteopathic Medicine. The Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care indicates there is no substantive difference between the licensures. This 
table cites licensure by the PA State Board of Medicine. Pennsylvania Society for Respiratory Care, Obtaining An RT License In PA - Holders of Out 
of State RT License, https://www.psrc.net/obtaining-rt-license-for-out-of-state.  

https://www.psrc.net/obtaining-rt-license-for-out-of-state
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Respiratory care  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Has successfully 
completed an 
approved 
educational 
program that 
includes instruction 
in the biological 
and physical 
sciences, 
pharmacology, 
respiratory care 
theory, 
procedures, and 
clinical practice, 
and 
cardiopulmonary 
rehabilitation 
techniques 
(R.C. 4761.04) 

Has (1) graduated 
from a school or 
program of 
respiratory care 
that meets 
standards set by 
the board; 
(2) completed 
a U.S. military 
training program 
in respiratory 
care; or 
(3) completed 
sufficient 
postsecondary 
education to be 
credentialed by an 
approved national 
respiratory care 
practitioner 
organization.  
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-34.5-2-8) 

Must have a 
registered 
respiratory 
therapist (RRT) or 
certified 
respiratory 
therapist (CRT) 
credential issued 
by the National 
Board for 
Respiratory Care 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann.314A.110)42 

Must (1) complete 
an approved 
respiratory 
therapist training 
program; (2) have 
at least a 2-year 
associate’s 
degree; and 
(3) have a 
respiratory care 
credential from 
the National 
Board for 
Respiratory Care 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.18709) 

Has graduated 
from an approved 
respiratory care 
program (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. Ann. 
422.13a) 

Has completed an 
approved 
respiratory care 
educational 
program 
(W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-34-8) 

                                                      

42 See also The National Board for Respiratory Care, Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT), https://www.nbrc.org/examinations/crt/#admission-
requirements.  

https://www.nbrc.org/examinations/crt/#admission-requirements
https://www.nbrc.org/examinations/crt/#admission-requirements
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Respiratory care  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience No No No No No No 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4761.04) Yes (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-34.5-2-8) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 314A.110)43 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws Ann. 
333.18709) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. Ann. 
422.13a) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 
Ann. 30-34-8) 

Continuing 
education 

Yes, 20 hours every 
two years 
(O.A.C. 4761-9-02) 

An average of 
7.5 hours every 
two years (844 
IAC 11-5-3) 

Yes, 24 hours 
every two years 
(201 KAR 29:050) 

No44  Yes, 30 hours 
every two years 
(49 Pa. Code 
18.309a) 

Yes, 20 units 
every two years 
(W. Va. Code 
R. 30-3-3) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$75 
(R.C. 4761.07(A)(1)) 

$50 (844 IAC 
11-2-1.1) 

$150 (201 KAR 
29:015) 

$102.7045 $3046  $200 (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 
30-34-7) 

License duration 2 years 
(R.C. 4761.06) 

2 years (Ind. Code 
Ann. 25-34.5-2-10) 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 
314A.110)  

2 years47 2 years (49 Pa. 
Code 18.309) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 
30-34-7) 

                                                      

43 Id.  
44 See Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Respiratory Care FAQ, https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Respiratory_Care_FAQ__7-15-
2016_531047_7.pdf.  
45 Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Application for a Respiratory Therapist License, https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Application_ 
For_A_Respiratory_Therapist_License_530681_7.pdf.  
46 Department of State, application checklist >> State Board of Medicine >> Respiratory Therapist, https://www.pals.pa.gov/#. 
47 Respiratory Care FAQ.  

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Respiratory_Care_FAQ__7-15-2016_531047_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Respiratory_Care_FAQ__7-15-2016_531047_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Application_For_A_Respiratory_Therapist_License_530681_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Application_For_A_Respiratory_Therapist_License_530681_7.pdf
https://www.pals.pa.gov/
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Respiratory care  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $75 
(R.C. 4761.07(A)(2)) 

$50 
(844 IAC 11-2-1.1) 

$90 (201 KAR 
29:015) 

$15048 $2549 $65 (W. Va. Code 
R. 30-2-3) 

 

Limited permit to practice respiratory care 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 
required? 

Limited permit 
authorizes a student in 
good standing in a 
respiratory care 
educational program to 
provide respiratory care 
under the supervision of 
a licensed respiratory 
care professional 
(R.C. 4761.05) 

Student permit 
authorizes a 
student in good 
standing in a 
respiratory care 
school or program 
to perform certain 
respiratory care 
procedures 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-34.5-2-14) 

Limited mandatory 
certificate authorizes 
students actively 
enrolled in an 
accredited program to 
perform for 
compensation certain 
respiratory care 
procedures under the 
direct supervision of a 
respiratory therapist 
who holds a mandatory 
certificate (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 314A.110) 

No No Temporary student 
permit authorizes 
the practice of 
respiratory care for 
a period of up to six 
months by a student 
enrolled in a 
respiratory care 
educational program 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-34-9) 

                                                      

48 American Association for Respiratory Care, Respiratory Therapist State Licensure Information, https://www.aarc.org/advocacy/state-society-
resources/state-licensure-information/.  
49 Id.  

https://www.aarc.org/advocacy/state-society-resources/state-licensure-information/
https://www.aarc.org/advocacy/state-society-resources/state-licensure-information/
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Limited permit to practice respiratory care 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

Must be enrolled and in 
good standing in an 
approved respiratory 
care educational 

program (R.C. 4761.05)50 

Must be a student 
in good standing in 
an approved 
respiratory care 
school or program 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-34.5-2-14) 

Must be actively 
enrolled in an 
accredited respiratory 
care program (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. Ann. 314A.110) 

N/A N/A Must be enrolled in 
an approved 
respiratory care 
educational program 
(W. Va. Code Ann. 
30-34-9) 

Experience No (R.C. 4761.05) No No N/A N/A No 

Exam No No No N/A N/A No  

Continuing 
education 

10 hours per year 
(O.A.C. 4761-9-02) 

No No N/A N/A Nine satisfactory 
semester hours in 
respiratory care 
curriculum (W. Va. 
Code R. 30-9-2) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$20 (R.C. 4761.07(A)(3)) $25 
(844 IAC 11-2-1.1) 

$60 (201 KAR 29:015) N/A N/A $75 (W. Va. Code 
R. 30-9-2) 

License duration 1 year (R.C. 4761.06) Two years 
(Ind. Code Ann. 
25-34.5-2-14) 

Not to exceed three 
years (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 314A.110) 

N/A N/A Six months (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 30-34-9) 

                                                      

50 Ohio law regarding limited permits to practice respiratory care includes a grandfathering provision exempting from its educational requirements 
any person who, since at least March 14, 1984, has been employed as a provider of respiratory care in Ohio for at least 25 hours per week. 
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Limited permit to practice respiratory care 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $10 for the first three 
renewals, $35 for 
renewals thereafter 
(R.C. 4761.07(A)(4) and 
(C)) 

$25 
(844 IAC 11-2-1.1) 

Not renewable 
(201 KAR 29:015) 

N/A N/A $40 (W. Va. Code 
R. 30-9-2) 

 

Acupuncturist Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 

required? 

Yes (R.C. 4762.02) Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 

25-2.5-2-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.674) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16513) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 1803) 

Yes (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-36-1 and 

30-36-9) 

Education or 

training 

Be certified as a 

diplomate in 

acupuncture by 

the National 

Certification 

Commission for 

Be certified as a 

diplomate in 

acupuncture by 

NCCOAM, complete 

an accredited 3 year 

postsecondary 

Graduate from an 

approved 

program including 

at least 1,800 

hours of training, 

including at least 

TBD52 Complete an 

accredited 

acupuncture 

education program 

(49 Pa. Code 18.11 

and 18.13) 

Graduate from an 

approved program 

including at least 

1,800 hours of 

training, including 

300 clinical hours 

                                                      

52 A new law, effective March 4, 2020, changed the profession of acupuncture in Michigan from registration to a license. The Department of Licensing 
and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) has one year to develop licensure rules. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. 333.16525; LARA, Acupuncture Profession - Frequently 

Asked Questions, March 3, 2020, available at https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Acupuncture_FAQs_538258_7.pdf. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Acupuncture_FAQs_538258_7.pdf
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Acupuncturist Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Acupuncture and 

Oriental Medicine 

(NCCAOM) 

(R.C. 4762.03) 

training or 

acupuncture college 

program, and 

complete an 

approved clean 

needle technique 

course (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-2.5-2-1)51  

300 clinical hours 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.674) 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

30-36-10) 

Experience None specified53 

(R.C. 4762.03) 

None specified54 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-2.5-2-1) 

None specified TBD None specified Instead meeting 

education 

requirements, 

apprentice for 

2,700 hours within 

5 years (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-36-10) 

                                                      

51 The latter two requirements are likely duplicative of the NCCAOM’s certification requirements. https://www.nccaom.org/certification/ 

nccaom-certification-eligibility/. 
53 Ohio and Indiana acupuncturists are required to be certified by NCCAOM, which establishes education, experience, exam, and continuing 
education requirements for certification.  
54 Id. 

https://www.nccaom.org/certification/nccaom-certification-eligibility/
https://www.nccaom.org/certification/nccaom-certification-eligibility/


Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 45  R-133-3521 

Acupuncturist Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4762.03) Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 

25-2.5-2-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.674) 

TBD Yes (49 Pa. Code 

18.13) 

Instead of meeting 

education 

requirements, pass 

exam given by 

NCCAOM or 

equivalent (W. Va. 

Code Ann.  

30-36-10)55 

Continuing 

education 

Not specified in 

state law 

(R.C. 4762.06) 

Not specified in 

state law (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-2.5-2-5) 

30 hours every 

two years 

(Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.682) 

TBD; meeting 

NCCAOM 

requirements 

will satisfy the 

requirement 

(Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16517) 

2 hours of child 

abuse recognition 

and reporting 

training (23 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

6383) 

48 hours (W. Va. 

Code R. 32-9-7) 

Initial 

licensure fee 

$100 

(R.C. 4762.03) 

$150 

(844 IAC 13-2-6) 

$150 

(201 KAR 9:450) 

$200 (plus 

$75 application 

$30 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$425 (plus 

$75 application fee) 

                                                      

55 While examination is presented in the West Virginia Code as an alternate pathway to licensure, from a practical perspective, an applicant 
would not be eligible to take the NCCAOM examination without completing education requirements. https://www.nccaom.org/ 

certification/board-examination-process/. 

https://www.nccaom.org/certification/board-examination-process/
https://www.nccaom.org/certification/board-examination-process/
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Acupuncturist Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

processing fee) 

(Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16322) 

(W. Va. Code  

R. 32-4-3) 

License 

duration 

2 years 

(R.C. 4762.04) 

2 years 

(844 IAC 13-4-1) 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.674) 

Not specified 2 years (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

1803) 

2 years (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-4-3) 

Renewal fee $100 

(R.C. 4762.06) 

$100 

(844 IAC 13-2-6) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:450) 

$200 (Mich. 

Comp. Laws Ann. 

333.16322) 

$40 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13) 

$425 (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-4-3) 
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Oriental Medicine Practitioner Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License 

required? 

Yes (R.C. 4762.02) No56  No57  No (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16513(2)(d)) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 1803) 

Yes, within 

acupuncturist scope of 

practice (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-10-4.) 

Education 

or training 

Must be certified as a 

diplomate in oriental 

medicine or acupuncture 

and Chinese herbology 

by the NCCAOM and 

complete one course 

approved by the 

Commission on Federal 

Food and Drug 

Administration 

Dispensary and 

Compounding Guidelines 

and Procedures. 

(R.C. 4762.03) 

N/A N/A N/A In addition to 

meeting 

requirements that 

apply to 

acupuncturists, 

complete an 

education program 

that includes the 

study of Chinese 

herbology or be 

certified by NCCAOM 

in Chinese herbology 

or Oriental medicine 

(49 Pa. Code 18.13a) 

Graduate from an 

approved program 

including at least 

1,800 hours of training, 

including 300 clinical 

hours (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-36-10) 

                                                      

56 NCCAOM, States That Include Chinese Herbs in the Scope of Practice for Acupuncturists, available at https://www.nccaom.org/advocacy-

regulatory/state-relations/. 
57 Id. 

https://www.nccaom.org/advocacy-regulatory/state-relations/
https://www.nccaom.org/advocacy-regulatory/state-relations/
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Oriental Medicine Practitioner Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience None specified58 

(R.C. 4762.03) 

N/A N/A N/A None Specified Instead meeting 

education requirements, 

apprentice for 

2,700 hours within 

5 years (W. Va. Code 

Ann. 30-36-10) 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4762.03) N/A N/A N/A Yes (49 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 18.13a.) 

Instead of meeting 

education requirements, 

pass exam given by 

NCCAOM or equivalent 

(W. Va. Code Ann. 

30-36-10)59 

                                                      

58 Ohio oriental medicine practitioners are required to be certified by NCCAOM, which establishes education, experience, exam, and continuing 
education requirements for certification.  
59 While examination is presented in the West Virginia Code as an alternate pathway to licensure, from a practical perspective, an applicant 
would not be eligible to take the NCCAOM examination without completing education requirements. https://www.nccaom.org/ 

certification/board-examination-process/. 

https://www.nccaom.org/certification/board-examination-process/
https://www.nccaom.org/certification/board-examination-process/
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Oriental Medicine Practitioner Certificate to Practice 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 

education 

Not specified in statute60 

(R.C. 4762.06) 

N/A N/A N/A 2 hours of child abuse 

recognition and 

reporting training 

(23 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 6383) 

48 hours (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-9-7) 

Initial 

licensure 

fee 

$100 (R.C. 4762.03) N/A N/A N/A $30 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13.) 

$425 (plus 

$75 application fee) 

(W. Va. Code R. 32-4-3) 

License 

duration 

2 years (R.C. 4762.04) N/A N/A N/A 2 years (49 Pa. Code 

16.13.) 

2 years (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-4-3) 

Renewal 

fee 

$100 (R.C. 4762.06) N/A N/A N/A $40 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13.) 

$425 (W. Va. Code 

R. 32-4-3) 

 

  

                                                      

60 Id. 
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Radiologist assistant  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4774.02) No Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
Ann. 311B.090)61  

No No Yes, certification (W. Va. 
Code Ann. 30-3-7a; 
W. Va. Code R. 11-9) 

Education or 
training 

Have attained a baccalaureate 
degree or post-baccalaureate 
certificate from a recognized 
radiologist assistant program 
(R.C. 4774.03) 

N/A Yes62 N/A N/A Yes63 

                                                      

61 See also Kentucky Board of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy, Announcements:, https://kbmirt.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx. 
62 Kentucky law does not appear to specify education requirements, but it defines radiologist assistant as “an individual certified by the 
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) as a registered radiologist assistant (R.R.A.) who works under the supervision of a 
radiologist, in accordance with supervision guidelines jointly established by the American College of Radiology (ACR), the American Society of 
Radiologic Technologists (ASRT), and ARRT. ARRT has education requirements. 201 KAR 46:010; ARRT, REGISTERED RADIOLOGIST ASSISTANT 
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS, https://www.arrt.org/earn-arrt-credentials/requirements/r-r-a-requirements.  
63 West Virginia law does not appear to specify education requirements, but requires documentation that the applicant is currently certified by 
ARRT as a radiologic technologist and as a radiologist assistant. ARRT has education requirements. W. Va. Code R. 11-9-4; REGISTERED 
RADIOLOGIST ASSISTANT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.  

https://kbmirt.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.arrt.org/earn-arrt-credentials/requirements/r-r-a-requirements
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Radiologist assistant  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience Educational curriculum above 
must include a 
radiologist-directed clinical 
preceptorship (R.C. 4774.03) 

N/A Yes64 N/A N/A Yes65 

Exam Yes (R.C. 4774.03) N/A Yes66 N/A N/A Yes67 

Continuing 
education 

Yes, ARRT requirements 
(R.C. 4774.06) 

N/A Yes, likely 24 hours 

every two years68 
(201 KAR 46:060) 

N/A N/A 50 hours every two 
years (W. Va. Code 
R. 11-9-15) 

                                                      

64 Kentucky law does not appear to specify experience requirements, but ARRT requires clinical experience. REGISTERED RADIOLOGIST 
ASSISTANT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 
65 West Virginia law does not appear to specify experience requirements, but ARRT requires clinical experience. REGISTERED RADIOLOGIST 
ASSISTANT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.  
66 Kentucky law does not appear to specify exam requirements, but ARRT requires passage of an exam. REGISTERED RADIOLOGIST ASSISTANT 
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS. 
67 West Virginia law does not appear to specify exam requirements, but ARRT requires passage of an exam. REGISTERED RADIOLOGIST 
ASSISTANT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS.  
68 Kentucky law is not entirely clear regarding continuing education for radiologist assistants, but nationally, continuing education is required by 
ARRT. 
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Radiologist assistant  

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$200 (R.C. 4774.06) N/A $100 (201 KAR 
46:020) 

N/A N/A $100 (W. Va. Code 
R. 11-9-16) 

License duration 2 years (R.C. 4774.04 and 
4774.06) 

N/A 1 year (201 KAR 
46:020) 

N/A N/A 2 years (see W. Va. Code 
R. 11-9-15 and 16) 

Renewal fee $200 (R.C. 4774.06 and 
O.A.C. 4774-1-03) 

N/A $50 (201 KAR 
46:020) 

N/A N/A $100 (W. Va. Code 
R. 11-9-16) 

 

Genetic counselor license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan69 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4778.02) Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-1 

and 25-17.3-5-1) 

Yes (Ky. Rev. Stat. 

Ann. 311.691) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17093 and 

333.17095) 

Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 271.10c) 

No 

                                                      

69 Michigan’s law regulating genetic counselors was enacted in 2019 and requires LARA to adopt rules specifying standards for licensure of 
genetic counselors. To date, those rules have yet to be finalized. 
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Genetic counselor license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan69 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

Both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

from a genetic 

counseling 

graduate program 

accredited by the 

American Board of 

Genetic 

Counseling (ABGC) 

or a closely related 

field 

-- Be a certified 

genetic counselor 

(R.C. 4778.03) 

Either of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree from an 

accredited genetic 

counseling 

program  

-- Hold a doctoral 

degree from an 

accredited medical 

genetics program 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-17.3-4-1) 

Be certified by 

ABGC or ABMGG as 

a genetic counselor 

or medical 

geneticist (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 311.695) 

Be certified by a 

nationally 

recognized 

certifying agency 

as genetic 

counselor or 

medical geneticist 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 

Ann. 333.17092) 

Hold a master’s 

degree or higher in 

human genetics or 

genetic counseling 

from an accredited 

program (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 54  R-133-3521 

Genetic counselor license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan69 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes70 Yes (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-1) 

Yes71 Yes72 Yes (63 Pa. Cons. 

Stat. Ann. 271.10c) 

N/A 

Continuing 

education 

30 hours every 

2 years 

(R.C. 4778.06) 

50 hours or 

completion of a 

reading assignment 

and proctored 

exam every 

2 years (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-6) 

30 hours every 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.697) 

Not specified 30 hours every 

2 years (49 Pa. 

Code 18.709) 

N/A 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$200 

(R.C. 4778.03) 

$40  

(844 IAC 14-3-1 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:480) 

$284 (Mich. Comp 

Laws Ann. 

333.16338) 

$50 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13(m)) 

N/A 

License duration 2 years 

(R.C. 4778.05) 

2 years (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-5) 

2 years (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 311.697) 

Not specified 

(Mich. Comp. Laws 

Ann. 333.17096) 

2 years (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

N/A 

                                                      

70Ohio, Kentucky, and Michigan law require that a genetic counselor be certified. Both the ABGC ABMGG require that an applicant pass a 
national certifying examination. https://www.abgc.net/becoming-certified/ and http://www.abmgg.org/2021/cert_generalinfo.shtml. 
71 Id. 
72 Id. 

https://www.abgc.net/becoming-certified/
http://www.abmgg.org/2021/cert_generalinfo.shtml
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Genetic counselor license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan69 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $150 

(R.C. 4778.06) 

$30 

(844 IAC 14-3-1) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:480) 

$54 per year 

(Mich. Comp Laws 

Ann. 333.16338) 

$75 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13(m)) 

N/A 

 

Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan73 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4778.08) Yes, referred to as 

a temporary 

license (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-2) 

Yes, referred to as 

a temporary 

license (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.695) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17094) 

Yes, referred to as 

a provisional 

license (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

No 

                                                      

73 Michigan law, effective March 28, 2019, requires LARA to adopt rules specifying standards for licensure of genetic counselors, including 
temporary licenses. To date, those rules have yet to be finalized. 
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Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan73 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 

training 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

from a genetic 

counseling 

program  

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic counselor 

(R.C. 4778.08) 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

from a genetic 

counseling 

program  

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic 

counselor 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-17.3-4-2) 

Has been granted 

active candidate 

status by the 

ABGC (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.695) 

Not specified Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

in human genetics 

or genetic 

counseling 

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic 

counselor or 

medical geneticist 

(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 271.10c) 

N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$200 

(R.C. 4778.03) 

$10  

(844 IAC 14-3-1) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:480) 

$50 (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16338) 

$50 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13(m)) 

N/A 
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Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan73 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Valid for one year 

or until the holder 

receives a genetic 

counselor license, 

whichever is 

earlier 

(R.C. 4778.08) 

Valid until the 

earliest of the 

following: 

-- The date the 

holder receives a 

genetic counselor 

license; 

-- 30 days after 

the holder fails 

the certification 

exam; 

-- The date listed 

on the license 

expires (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-2) 

Valid until the 

earliest of the 

following: 

-- The date the 

holder receives a 

genetic counselor 

license; 

-- 30 days after the 

holder fails the 

certification exam; 

-- The date listed 

on the license 

expires (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 311.695) 

Not specified Valid until the 

holder is certified 

or two exam 

cycles have 

passed, whichever 

occurs first (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

N/A 

Renewal fee This license may 

not be renewed 

This license may 

not be renewed 

This license may 

not be renewed 

Not specified This license may 

not be renewed 

N/A 
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Genetic counselor special activity license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4778.09) No No No No No 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience Must be licensed 

to practice genetic 

counseling in 

another state, or 

if that state does 

not license genetic 

counselors, must 

be a certified 

genetic counselor 

-- Must have 

actively practiced 

genetic counseling 

for 2 years 

immediately 

preceding 

application 

(R.C. 4778.09) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Genetic counselor special activity license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $25 (R.C. 4778.09) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration The shorter of 

30 days or the 

duration of the 

genetic counseling 

associated with a 

rare disease for 

which the license 

was issued 

(R.C. 4778.09) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee This license may 

not be renewed 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan74 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4778.08) Yes, referred to as 

a temporary 

license (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-2) 

Yes, referred to as 

a temporary 

license (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.695) 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.17094) 

Yes, referred to as 

a provisional 

license (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

No 

Education or 

training 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

from a genetic 

counseling 

program  

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic counselor 

(R.C. 4778.08) 

Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

from a genetic 

counseling 

program  

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic counselor 

(Ind. Code Ann. 

25-17.3-4-2) 

Has been granted 

active candidate 

status by the 

ABGC (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 

311.695) 

Not specified Meet both of the 

following: 

-- Hold a master’s 

degree or higher 

in human genetics 

or genetic 

counseling 

-- Be in active 

candidate status 

for certification as 

a genetic 

counselor or 

medical geneticist 

(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 

Ann. 271.10c) 

N/A 

                                                      

74 Michigan law, effective March 28, 2019, requires LARA to adopt rules specifying standards for licensure of genetic counselors, including 
temporary licenses. To date, those rules have yet to be finalized. 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

P a g e  | 61  R-133-3521 

Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan74 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Experience N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A Not specified N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 

fee 

$200 

(R.C. 4778.03) 

$10 

(844 IAC 14-3-1) 

$150 (201 KAR 

9:480) 

$50 (Mich. Comp. 

Laws Ann. 

333.16338) 

$50 (49 Pa. Code 

16.13(m)) 

N/A 

License duration Valid for one year 

or until the holder 

receives a genetic 

counselor license, 

whichever is 

earlier 

(R.C. 4778.08) 

Valid until the 

earliest of the 

following: 

-- The date the 

holder receives a 

genetic counselor 

license; 

-- 30 days after 

the holder fails 

the certification 

exam; 

-- The date listed 

on the license 

expires (Ind. Code 

Ann. 25-17.3-4-2) 

Valid until the 

earliest of the 

following: 

-- The date the 

holder receives a 

genetic counselor 

license; 

-- 30 days after 

the holder fails 

the certification 

exam; 

-- The date listed 

on the license 

expires (Ky. Rev. 

Stat. Ann. 311.695) 

Not specified Valid until the 

holder is certified 

or two exam 

cycles have 

passed, whichever 

occurs first (63 Pa. 

Cons. Stat. Ann. 

271.10c) 

N/A 
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Genetic counselor supervised practice license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan74 Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee This license may 

not be renewed 

This license may 

not be renewed 

This license may 

not be renewed 

Not specified This license may 

not be renewed 

N/A 

 

Genetic counselor special activity license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License required? Yes (R.C. 4778.09) No No No No No 

Education or 

training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience -- Must be 

licensed to 

practice genetic 

counseling in 

another state, or 

if that state does 

not license genetic 

counselors, must 

be a certified 

genetic counselor 

-- Must have 

actively practiced 

genetic counseling 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Genetic counselor special activity license 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

for 2 years 

immediately 

preceding 

application 

(R.C. 4778.09) 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 

education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure fee $25 (R.C. 4778.09) N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration The shorter of 

30 days or the 

duration of the 

genetic counseling 

associated with a 

rare disease for 

which the license 

was issued 

(R.C. 4778.09) 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee This license may 

not be renewed 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

R-133-3521/mh 


