
 

Vern Riffe Center  ●  77 South High Street, Ninth Floor  ●  Columbus, Ohio 43215-6136  ●  Telephone (614) 466-3615 

OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION 
Wendy Zhan, Director 

Office of Research  
and Drafting www.lsc.ohio.gov 

Legislative Budget 
Office 

R-133-3522 

To: The Honorable Robert McColley 
 Ohio Senate 

From: Yosef Schiff, Attorney YS 

Date: March 27, 2020 

Subject: Multi-state survey – securities licenses 

You recently requested a survey of the laws in Ohio and surrounding states regarding securities licensing requirements. Please see the tables below. Note that the 
terminology may vary from one state to another, but the basic roles are very similar. For example, Ohio uses the term “dealer” while other states typically use the term “broker-
dealer.” Ohio also uses “salesperson” while other states typically use “broker-dealer agent.” The differences appear to be in terminology only. If you have any questions, please 
do not hesitate to reach out. 

Dealer in Securities License 

State License required? 
Education or 

Training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure fee License duration Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes (R.C. 1707.14) No No Yes unless grandfathered 
(R.C. 1707.15 and O.A.C. 
1301:6-3-15(B)) 

No $200 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$200 (R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana Yes (Ind. Code Ann. § 
23-19-4-1) 

No No Yes (710 IAC 4-7-2) No $250 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-10) 

1 year (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-6) 

$125 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-10) 
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Dealer in Securities License 

State License required? 
Education or 

Training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure fee License duration Renewal fee 

Kentucky Yes (KRS § 292.330) No No Yes (808 KAR 10:260) No $120 (KRS § 
292.335) 

1 year (KRS § 
292.331(2)) 

$120 (KRS § 
292.335) 

Michigan Yes (MCLS § 
451.2401) 

No No Yes (MICH. ADMIN. CODE R 
451.604.3) 

No $300 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

1 year (MCLS § 
451.2406) 

$300 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

Pennsylvania Yes (70 P.S. § 1-301) No No No1 No $350 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

1 year (70 P.S. § 1-
301) 

$350 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

West Virginia Yes (W. Va. Code § 
32-2-201) 

No No Yes, unless waived (W. Va. 
CSR § 111-1-11) 

No $300 (W. Va. Code 
§ 32-2-202) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code § 32-2-201) 

$300 (W. Va. Code 
§ 32-2-202) 

 

  

                                                      

1 An official from the Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities stated that there is no examination requirement for broker-dealers, as they are entities and not individuals. An 
individual would be required to take the broker-dealer agent exam. 
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Salesperson of Securities (Agent) License 

State License required? 
Education 
or Training 

Experience Exam 
Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes (R.C. 1707.01 and 
1707.15(D)) 

No No Yes (R.C. 1707.16 and 
O.A.C. 1301:6-3-16) 

No $60 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$60 (R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana Yes (Ind. Code Ann. § 23-
19-4-2) 

No No Yes (710 IAC 4-8-2) No $25 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-
10) 

1 year (Ind. 
Code Ann. § 23-
19-4-6) 

$25 (Ind. Code Ann. § 23-19-
4-10) 

Kentucky Yes (KRS § 292.330) No No Yes (808 KAR 10:260) No $50 (KRS § 
292.335) 

1 year (KRS § 
292.331(2)) 

$50 (KRS § 292.335) 

Michigan Yes (MCLS § 451.2402) No No Yes (Michigan 
Administrative Code R 
451.604.3) 

No $65 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

1 year (MCLS § 
451.2406) 

$65 (MCLS § 451.2410) 

Pennsylvania Yes (70 P.S. § 1-301) No No Yes (10 Pa. Code § 
303.031) 

No $80 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

1 year (70 P.S. 
§ 1-301) 

$80 (70 P.S. § 1-602(d.1)) 

West Virginia Yes (W. Va. Code § 32-2-
201) 

No No Yes, unless waived (W. 
Va. CSR § 111-1-11) 

No $66 (W. Va. 
Code § 32-2-
202) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code § 32-2-
201) 

$66 (W. Va. Code § 32-2-
202) 
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Investment Advisor License 

State License required? 
Education or 

Training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure fee License duration Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes (R.C. 1707.141) No No No if applicant holds specified 
credentials; otherwise, yes 
(R.C. 1707.151 and O.A.C. 1301:6-3-
15.1(C)) 

No $100 (R.C. 1707.17) 1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$100 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 
§ 23-19-4-3) 

No No Yes (710 IAC 4-9-6) No $100 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-10) 

1 year (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-6) 

$50 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-10) 

Kentucky Yes (KRS § 292.330) No No Yes unless registered in another 
state or holds specified credentials 
(808 KAR 10:260) 

No $100 (KRS § 
292.335) 

1 year (KRS § 
292.331(2)) 

$100 (KRS § 
292.335) 

Michigan Yes (MCLS § 
451.2403) 

No No Yes, if the investment advisor is a 
natural person (Michigan 

Administrative Code R 451.4.122) 

No $200 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

1 year (MCLS § 
451.2406) 

$200 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

Pennsylvania Yes (70 P.S. § 1-301) No No Yes unless grandfathered or waived 
(10 Pa. Code § 303.032) 

No $275 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

1 year (70 P.S. § 1-
301) 

$275 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

West Virginia Yes (W. Va. Code § 
32-2-201) 

No No Yes, unless waived (WV Securities 
Commissioner Order No. 99-1252, 
available at 
https://www.wvsao.gov/Securities/) 

No $200 (W. Va. Code § 
32-2-202) 

1 year (W. Va. Code 
§ 32-2-201)  

$200 (W. Va. Code 
§ 32-2-202) 

  

                                                      

2https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-
broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-
representative-examination-requirements. 

https://www.wvsao.gov/Securities/
https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
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Investment Advisor Representative License 

State License required? 
Education or 

Training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes (R.C. 1707.161) No No No, if applicant holds specified credentials; 
otherwise, yes (R.C. 1707.161 and 
O.A.C. 1301:6-3-16.1(B)) 

No $35 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$35 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana Yes (Ind. Code Ann. 
§ 23-19-4-4) 

No No Yes (710 IAC 4-9-6) No $25 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-
10) 

1 year (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-6) 

$25 (Ind. Code 
Ann. § 23-19-4-
10) 

Kentucky Yes (KRS § 292.330) No No Yes, unless registered in another state or 
holds specified credentials (808 KAR 
10:260) 

No $50 (KRS § 
292.335) 

1 year (KRS § 
292.331(2)) 

$50 (KRS § 
292.335) 

Michigan Yes (MCLS § 
451.2404) 

No No Yes (Michigan Administrative Code 

R 451.4.123) 

No $65 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

1 year (MCLS § 
451.2406) 

$65 (MCLS § 
451.2410) 

                                                      

3 See https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-
broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-
representative-examination-requirements. 

https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
https://casetext.com/regulation/michigan-administrative-code/department-licensing-and-regulatory-affairs/corporations-securities-and-commercial-licensing/securities/securities/part-4-broker-dealers-agents-investment-advisers-investment-adviser-representatives-and-federal-covered-investment-advisers/section-r-451412-investment-adviser-and-investment-adviser-representative-examination-requirements
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Investment Advisor Representative License 

State License required? 
Education or 

Training 
Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License duration Renewal fee 

Pennsylvania Yes (70 P.S. § 1-301) No No Yes, unless grandfathered or waived (10 Pa. 
Code § 303.032) 

No $80 (70 P.S. § 
1-602(d.1)) 

1 year (70 P.S. § 
1-301) 

$80 (70 P.S. § 1-
602(d.1)) 

West 
Virginia 

Yes (W. Va. Code § 
32-2-201) 

No No Yes (WV Securities Commissioner Order No. 
99-1252, available at 
https://www.wvsao.gov/Securities/) 

No $75 (W. Va. 
Code § 32-2-
202) 

1 year (W. Va. 
Code § 32-2-201) 

$75 (W. Va. Code 
§ 32-2-202) 

 
  

https://www.wvsao.gov/Securities/
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State Retirement System Investment Officer License 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or Training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes 
(R.C. 1707.162) 

No if applicant holds 
specified credentials; 
otherwise, a bachelor’s 
degree plus five years 
relevant experience, or a 
master’s or doctorate 
degree (O.A.C. 1301:6-3-
16.3) 

Five years if the only 
education/training 
requirement applicant 
meets is a bachelor’s 
degree; otherwise, none 
(O.A.C. 1301:6-3-16.3) 

No, if applicant holds 
specified credentials; 
otherwise, yes (O.A.C. 
1301:6-3-16.3) 

No $50 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$50 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Kentucky No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Michigan No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Pennsylvania No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

West Virginia No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Chief Investment Officer License 

State 
License 

required? 
Education or Training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial licensure 
fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal fee 

Ohio Yes 
(R.C. 1707.164) 

Must have been designated as a 
chartered financial analyst by the 
CFA Institute and in good standing. 
(O.A.C. 1301:6-3-16.5(B)) 

No No No $50 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

1 year 
(R.C. 1707.17) 

$50 (R.C. 1707.17) 

Indiana No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Kentucky No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Michigan No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Pennsylvania No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

West Virginia No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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