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This memorandum compares the law governing historical boiler operators, home
inspectors, and ski tramways in Ohio and each of the surrounding states. It assesses whether an
occupational license is required to engage in the profession and, if so, describes any
(1) education and training requirements, (2) experience requirements, (3) exam requirements,
(4) continuing education requirements, (5) initial licensure fees, (6) the duration of the license,
and (7) renewal fees. In Ohio, each of these professions is regulated by an independent board
within the Department of Commerce.
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Historical Boiler Licensing Board

Historical Boiler Operator License

Yes, (R.C. 4104.32
and 4104.35).

License
required?

No, boiler operators
are not licensed;
boilers are
inspected.

(1.C. 22-15-6-2).1

No. Boiler
operators generally
required to be
licensed. No
specific license for
historical or
antique boiler
operators.

(KRS 236.210.)

No. Boiler
operators
generally required
to be registered. It
does not appear
that Michigan
requires a distinct
license for
operating a
historic or
“antique” boiler.
However, such
boilers are
required to be
inspected
annually, if used
for a commercial
purpose, or once
every three years
for all other
antique boilers.
(MCLS 339.5917.)

No. Antique boilers
are inspected.

No specific license
for antique boiler
operators. (35 P.S.
1330.3 and 1330.4.)

No. Boilers are
inspected. No
operators license.
(W.Va. Code
21-3-7.)

L https://fags.in.gov/hc/en-us/articles/115005237508-What-are-the-licensing-requirements-for-boiler-operators-, accessed March 17, 2020.
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Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Education or | Yes, Board approved | N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
training course
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(2)).
Experience Yes, 100 hours N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(4)).
Exam Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
(R.C. 4104.35(A)(3)).
Continuing No. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
education
Initial $50 (R.C. 4104.35(B)). | N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
licensure fee
License Infinite N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
duration (R.C. 4104.35(CQ)).
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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Ohio Home Inspector Board

Home Inspector License

License
required?

Yes (R.C. 4764.02).

Yes (Ind. Code Ann.
25-20.2-5-1).

(KRS 198B.712(1)).

No, though
Pennsylvania does
regulate the conduct
of home inspectors
(68 Pa.C.S. 7501 to
7513).

Yes (W. Va. CSR
87-5-2(1)).

Education or
training

Yes, a curriculum
approved by the
Board in addition to
a high school
diploma or GED
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(5)
and (8)).

Yes, an Indiana
Home Inspectors
Licensing Board
approved training
program in addition
to a high school
diploma or GED
(Ind. Code Ann.
25-20.2-5-2(a)(1)
and (3)).

Yes, a Kentucky
Board of Home
Inspectors
approved course in
addition to a high
school diploma or
GED

(KRS 198B.712(3)).

No

No

Yes, 80 hours of
instruction
directly related
to the
performance of
professional
home inspections
and a high school
diploma or GED
(W. Va. CSR
87-5-4.1b and c).}

2 Michigan.gov, State License Search: Certified Home Inspector, available at https://www.michigan.gov/statelicensesearch/0,4671,7-180-24786-
80983--,00.html (accessed April 15, 2020).

3 A grandfather clause allows applicants to substitute three-years of experience for the instruction in specified circumstances.
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Home Inspector License

IERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Experience Yes, either by No (Ind. Code Ann. No (See e.g., 831 No No No (W. Va. CSR
completing 10 25-20.2-5-2). KAR 2:020). 87-5-4).
inspections with a
licensed home
inspector or through
a separate
curriculum
approved by the
Ohio Home
Inspector Board
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(6)).
Exam Yes, the National Yes, the National Yes, from a No No Yes, the National
Home Inspector Home Inspector provider approved Home Inspector
Examination Examination by the Kentucky Examination or
(R.C. 4764.07(D)(4)). | (Ind. Code Ann. Board of Home an alternative
25-20.2-5-2(3) and Inspectors (KRS approved by the
878 IAC 1-3-3). 198B.712(3) and State Fire
831 KAR 2:020). Marshal (W. Va.
CSR 87-5-4.1a).
Continuing 14 hours per year 32 hours for 14 hours per year No No 16 hours per year
education (R.C. 4764.08(A)). renewal (878 IAC of licensure (831 (W. Va. CSR
1-5-1(a)). KAR 2:040, Sec. 11). 87-5-6.4).
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IERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Initial $235% $50 (878 IAC 1-3-1). | $250 (831 KAR No No $125 plus a $25
licensure fee 2:020, Sec. 1(1)(g)). application fee
(W. Va. CSR
87-5-7.1and .3).
License 3 years Generally, 2 years, Generally, 2 years, | No No Generally
duration (R.C. 4764.09). though initial though initial 12 months,
licenses may be for | licenses may be for though initial
a shorter period a shorter period licenses may be
(Ind. Code Ann. (KRS 198B.722). slightly longer
25-20.2-6-1). (less than a
month) (W. Va.
CSR 87-5-6.1).
Renewal fee | $235° S50 (878 IAC 1-3-1 $200 per year of No No $100 (W. Va. CSR
and 878 IAC 1-5-1). | licensure (typically 87-5-7.2).
$400) (831 KAR
2:020, Sec. 5).

4 Proposed Ohio Administrative Code (0.A.C.) 1301:17-1-03(A) (note: withdrawal has been suggested for this proposed rule).
http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rul
es/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%3E.

> Proposed 0.A.C. 1301:17-1-03(B) (note: withdrawal has been suggested for this proposed rule). http://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/
search;jsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531a511fb%20%3Chttp://www.registerofohio.state.oh.us/rules/search%3bjsessionid=65c2467d833770a6c0a531
a511fb%3E.
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Ski Tramways

License No. Businesses No. Ski lifts are No. There do not No. Ski lifts are No. Ski lifts are No. It does not

required? operating ski included under the appear to be any required to be inspected and appear that
tramways apply for | definition of ski lifts or inspected and permitted. (35 P.S. West Virginia ski
a business “regulated tramways in permitted. 7210.105(C)(1) and 71 | lift operators are
registration. It is not | amusement device.” | Kentucky. (MCLS 408.329.) P.S. 240.13A(a)(2)(C).) | specifically
the same as an Regulated required to
occupational amusement devices conduct
license. For receive operating inspections.
example, it does not | permits and are However, they are
give the holder of inspected and required to carry
the license the right | renewed annually. insurance and the
to operate any ski (Burns Ind. Code insurer likely
tramway anywhere | Ann. 22-12-1-19.1 requires
in Ohio. Thereisno | and 22-15-7-2.) inspections.
education (W.Va. Code
requirement or 20-3A-6.)
experience
requirement. The
tramways are
merely inspected.
(R.C.4169.03.)

Educationor | N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

training

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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Ski Tramways

IERGE] Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia
Continuing N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
education
Initial N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
licensure fee
License N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
duration
Renewal fee N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
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