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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Ohio1 Initial 
career-technical 
workforce 
development 
license 

Yes High school diploma 

Enrollment in a 
career-technical 
workforce development 
educator preparation 
program that (1) is 
approved by the 
Chancellor of Higher 
Education, (2) provides 
classroom support to the 
candidate, (3) includes at 
least 3 semesters of 
coursework of the 
teaching of reading in the 
subject area, (4) is aligned 
with career-technical 
education and workforce 
development 
competencies developed 
by the Department of 
Education, (5) uses a 

5 years of work 
experience, or the 
equivalent, in the 
subject area in which 
the candidate will 
teach 

N/A No, but required to 
make sufficient 
progress in the 
educator 
preparation 
program in order to 
renew license  

Not specified 2 years Not 
specified 

                                                      
1 R.C. 3319.229; Ohio Administrative Code 3301-24-22; fees available at http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Additional-Information/Complete-List-of-Applications. 

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Additional-Information/Complete-List-of-Applications
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

summative 
performance-based 
assessment developed by 
the program and aligned 
to the competencies to 
evaluate the candidate’s 
knowledge and skills, and 
(6) consists of not less 
than 24 semester hours of 
coursework 

 Advanced 
career-technical 
workforce 
development 
license 

Yes High school diploma 

Successful completion of 
the career-technical 
workforce development 
educator program, as 
indicated by the 
program’s supervisor 

Demonstration of mastery 
of the applicable 
career-technical 
education and workforce 
development 
competencies, as 
indicated by the 
superintendent of the 
employing school district 

N/A N/A Yes Not specified 5 years Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Indiana2 Career specialist 
permit 

Yes Bachelor’s degree with at 
least a 3.0 GPA in a 
content area for which 
secondary licenses are 
issued 

6,000 clock hours of 
occupational 
experience within the 
last 5 years related to 
the specific licensing 
area 

Content area 
licensure 
assessments 
required by the 
Department to 
teach in the area 
the applicant 
intends to teach  

Professional growth 
plan documenting 
professional growth 
experiences, 
including a 
minimum of 
40 professional 
growth experience 
points (including 
in-service 
workshops, 
professional 
workshops, 
mentoring) 

$36.72 2 years $36.72 

 Workplace 
specialist I  

Yes High school diploma 

Be accepted for 
employment in the 
recognized content area 
on the license at a school, 
a cooperating school 
corporation for career and 
technical education, or an 
accredited education 

One of the following: 
(1) 6,000 clock hours 
in the past 5 years in 
the specific 
occupational area 
requested on the 
license,  
(2) 4,000 clock hours 
of occupational 
experience in the last 
10 years in an 

State-approved 
occupational 
competency exam 
in the occupational 
area is a 
component of one 
of the 
occupational 
experience 
pathways to a 

N/A $36.72 2 years 
(renewable 
only once for 
one year) 

$36.72 

                                                      
2 Burns Indiana Code Annotated § 20-28-2-6 (authority), 511 Indiana Administrative Code (IAC) 16-1-2, 511 IAC 16-4-6, and 511 IAC 16-4-7, 511 IAC 17-1-2, 511 IAC 17-2-2 through 511 IAC 17-3-3. 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

program offered by the 
Department of Correction 

Must include at least 
1 content area equivalent 
to the occupational 
experience requirements 
for a workplace specialist I 
license or to the career 
and technical education 
program subject areas 
approved by the Indiana 
State Board of Education 

occupational area 
AND completion of a 
competency exam, 
2 years associates 
degree OR completion 
of an approved 
apprenticeship 

workplace 
specialist license 

 Workplace 
specialist II 
license  

Yes A standard, provisional, 
professional, initial, 
proficient, or 
accomplished practitioner 
license or workplace 
specialist I license and 
completion of one of the 
following: (1) a workplace 
specialist teaching 
program, (2) a beginning 
teacher seminar, (3) a 
beginning workplace 
specialist teacher 
assessment, (4) a basic 
skills test, or (5) an 

Applicable experience 
for underlying license 

Applicable exam 
for underlying 
license 

Renewable only 
after the individual 
submits a 
professional 
development plan 
and obtainment of 
at least 
90 professional 
development points 
under certain 
timelines and 
criteria 

$36.72 5 years $36.72 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

approved professional 
development plan 

Kentucky3 Professional 
certificate in 
occupation-based 
career and 
technical 
education4 

Yes Recommendation from 
the Kentucky Department 
of Education (KDE) or the 
provider of an approved 
occupation-based 
educator preparation 
degree program 

An occupation-based 
degree or an approved 
occupation-based 
educator preparation 
degree 

Two years professional 
learning sponsored by 
KDE 

Completion of the 
Kentucky Teacher 
Internship Program 
(KTIP) 

For renewals: 3 years 
of teaching 
experience 

No 6 semester hours of 
credit or the 
equivalent in 
professional 
development 

$85 5 years $85 

 Provisional 
certificate for 
occupation-based 
career and 

Yes For those without at least 
an associate’s degree: a 
high school diploma, pass 
a background check, and 
demonstrate that the 

For those without at 
least an associate’s 
degree: candidate 
must have 
KDE-confirmed proof 

No For first renewal: 
completion of 
6 semester hours of 
academic credit or 
equivalent in 

$85 1 year; may 
only be 
renewed 
5 times 

$85 

                                                      
3 Certification fees for all certificates: 16 Kentucky Administrative Regulations (K.A.R.) 4:040. 
4 16 K.A.R. 2:020.  
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

technical 
education5 

local district, the KDE, or 
the Kentucky Community 
and Technical College 
system has made an offer 
of employment; 

OR 

An occupation-based 
degree or a degree from 
approved occupation-
based educator 
preparation degree 
program 

of at least 4 years of 
occupational 
experience in 
occupation in area for 
which certification is 
sought 

professional 
learning in specified 
areas, completion 
of the first year of 
professional 
learning, and a 
recommendation 
by the KDE or an 
accredited provider 
of occupation-based 
educator 
preparation program 
for enrollment in 
KTIP 

Subsequent 
renewals require 
recommendation 
from the KDE or the 
provider of an 
approved 
occupation-based 
educator 
preparation 
program, 
completion of 
6 semester hours of 

                                                      
5 16 K.A.R. 2:020 Section 2. 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

college credit, 
completion of 4 days 
of professional 
development 

Michigan Standard 
career-technical 
education (CTE) 
certificate6 

Yes A bachelor’s degree; 

A major or minor in the 
field of specialization in 
which the individual 
requests CTE certification; 

Completion of a minimum 
of 6 satisfactory college 
semester credit hours of 
professional or CTE 
education credit 

Individual has a 
minimum of 2 years 
of recent and relevant 
experience, as 
defined by the 
Superintendent of 
Public Instruction, in 
the occupational area 

Discipline area 
examinations, as 
defined by the 
Superintendent of 
Public Instruction, 
in the occupational 
area 

150 hours of 
education-related 
professional 
learning hours 

$160 for 
in-state 
applicant or 
$210 for 
out-of-state 
applicant 

5 years $160 

                                                      
6 Michigan Compiled Law Services (M.C.L.) 380.1531 and 380.1538 and Michigan Administrative Code (M.A.C.) R 390.1163.  
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Professional CTE 
certificate7 

Yes Met the requirements for 
a professional teaching 
certificate (see Standard 
Licenses table); 

Met certain statutory 
requirements regarding 
reading instruction; 

Either (1) an 
education-related 
master’s degree or higher, 
or (2) completed 150 hours 
of education-related 
professional learning 
hours 

N/A No 150 hours of 
education-related 
professional 
learning hours 

$160 for 
in-state 
applicant or 
$210 for 
out-of-state 
applicant 

5 years $160 

                                                      
7 M.C.L. 380.1531j and 380.1538 and M.A.C. R 390.1164a.  
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Annual 
authorization to 
provide 
instruction for 
industrial 
technology or 
CTE program8  

Yes A high school diploma or a 
high school equivalency 
certificate; 

For teaching in a subject 
matter or field in which a 
professional license or 
certification is required, 
either (1) holds a 
professional license or 
certification in that 
subject matter or field, or 
(2) previously held a 
professional license or 
certification in that 
subject matter or field and 
was in good standing no 
more than 2 years before 
being employed under the 
authorization; 

Is engaged to teach in an 
industrial technology 
education program or a 
career and technical 
education program 

Individual has at least 
2 cumulative years of 
professional 
experience in the 
same subject matter 
or field in the 
immediately 
preceding 10 years 

No N/A N/A Until the end 
of the year in 
which the 
authorization 
is issued 

N/A 

                                                      
8 M.C.L. 380.1233b(2)(b) and (5)(b) and M.A.C. R 390.116.  
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Pennsylvania9 Career and 
technical 
instructional I 
certificate 

Yes Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program 
approved by the 
Department of Education 

18 credit hours in an 
approved Pennsylvania 
career and technical 
teacher education 
program, including at 
least 3 credit hours 
regarding 
accommodations and 
adaptations for diverse 
learners in an inclusive 
setting 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of Pennsylvania, 
see Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program, 
2 years of 
wage-earning 
experience in addition 
to the learning period 
to establish 
competency in the 
occupation to be 
taught 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania 
teacher 
preparation 
program, 
occupational 
competency 
examination (or 
evaluation of 
credentials for 
occupations where 
examinations do 
not exist), or 
satisfactory 
achievement on an 
assessment of 
subject matter 
developed by the 
Secretary of 
Education 

If the individual 
completed a 

*See note 

Completion of one 
of the following 
within a 5-year 
period: 

1. 6 credits of 
collegiate study; 

2. 6 credits of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses; 

3. 180 hours of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences; or 

4. Any combination 
of collegiate 

$200 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
Pennsylvania) 

$260 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
another 
state) 

6 years Not 
specified 

                                                      
9 24 P.S. §§ 12-1204.2, 12-1205.2, and 12-1217; 22 Pa. Code §§ 49.11, 49.111, 49.131, 49.132, 49.142, 49.143, 49.151, 49.152, 49.153, 49.161, 49.163, 49.17, and 49.18; information about 
emergency permits available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG25.aspx, fees available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/ 
Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx. 

https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG25.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Pennsylvania 
teacher 
preparation 
program, 
satisfactory 
achievement on 
the assessment of 
basic skills 
developed by the 
Secretary of 
Education 

If the individual 
completed a 
teacher 
preparation 
program outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

studies, 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses, or other 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences 
equivalent to 
180 hours 

 Career and 
technical 
instructional II 
certificate 

Yes Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program 
approved by the 
Department of Education 

60 credit hours in an 
approved program of 
career and technical 
teacher education, 
including at least 6 credit 

3 years of satisfactory 
teaching while 
holding a career and 
technical instructional 
I certificate 

Completion of a 
Department-approved 
induction program 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania 
teacher 
preparation 
program, 
satisfactory 
achievement in 
assessments of 

Completion of one 
of the following: 

1. 6 credits of 
collegiate study; 

2. 6 credits of 
continuing 
professional 

$200 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
Pennsylvania) 

$260 (if 
teacher 
preparation 

5 years Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

hours regarding 
accommodations and 
adaptations for students 
with disabilities in an 
inclusive setting and at 
least 3 credit hours in 
teaching English language 
learners, in an approved 
program in the 
appropriate field of career 
and technical education 
(including hours that were 
used to obtain a career 
and technical instructional 
I certificate) 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of Pennsylvania, 
see Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

general knowledge 
and of professional 
knowledge and 
practice developed 
by the Secretary of 
Education 

If the individual 
completed a 
teacher 
preparation 
program outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

education 
courses; 

3. 180 hours of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences; or 

4. Any combination 
of collegiate 
studies, 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses, or other 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences 
equivalent to 
180 hours 

program is 
completed in 
another 
state) 

 Career and 
technical 

Yes If no evidence of 
satisfactory achievement 
in assessments of relevant 
subject matter developed 

At least 4 years of 
wage-earning 
experience in the 

If no evidence of 
satisfactory 
occupational 
competency, 

*See note 

Unclear if the 
individual is also 

$200 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 

The lesser of 
(1) the 
period of 
time needed 

Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

instructional 
intern certificate 

by the Secretary of 
Education, satisfactory 
occupational competency 
demonstrated by 
(1) successfully 
completing the 
occupational competency 
examination of the 
Department of Education, 
(2) securing recognition of 
occupational competency 
upon the basis of 
credentials review and 
adequate work 
experience beyond the 
learning period as 
established by the 
Department of Education 
in those competency 
areas where occupational 
examinations do not exist, 
(3) receiving state 
licensure or occupational 
accreditation by a board 
of examiners recognized 
by Pennsylvania, or 
(4) receiving certification 
from another state whose 
certification criteria are 

occupation to be 
taught 

satisfactory 
achievement in 
assessments of 
subject matter 
developed by the 
Secretary of 
Education 

required to 
complete the 
continuing 
education 
requirements 
described above; 
however, because 
the intern 
certificate’s 
duration is a 
maximum of 
3 years, it seems 
unlikely that an 
individual with an 
intern certificate is 
subject to the 
5-year continuing 
education 
requirement 

completed in 
Pennsylvania) 

$260 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
another 
state) 

for the 
individual to 
complete 
18 semester 
hours within 
the 
approved 
career and 
technical 
teacher 
preparation 
program or 
(2) 3 years 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

similar to those of 
Pennsylvania 

Acceptance for 
enrollment in a 
state-approved career and 
technical teacher 
preparation program at a 
Pennsylvania college or 
university 

 Supervision of 
career and 
technical 
education 
certificate 

Yes Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program 
approved by the 
Department of Education 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of Pennsylvania, 
see Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program, 
3 years satisfactory 
certified career and 
technical teaching 
experience 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania 
teacher 
preparation 
program, 
satisfactory 
achievement in 
assessments 
developed by the 
Secretary of 
Education 

If the individual 
completed a 
teacher 
preparation 
program outside of 

Completion of one 
of the following: 

(1) 6 credits of 
collegiate study; 

(2) 6 credits of 
continuing 
professional 
education courses; 

(3) 180 hours of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
programs, activities, 
or learning 
experiences; or 

(4) Any 
combination of 

$200 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
Pennsylvania) 

$260 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
another 
state) 

5 years Not 
specified 



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

 

P a g e  | 15  Career-Technical Education Licenses  

Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

collegiate studies, 
continuing 
professional 
education courses, 
or other programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences 
equivalent to 
180 hours 

 Career and 
technical 
administrative 
director 
certificate 

Yes Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program 
approved by the 
Department of Education 

Approved program of 
graduate study that 
satisfies certain standards 
specified in rule and 
prepares the individual to 
direct, operate, supervise, 
and administer the 
organizational and 
educational activities of a 
career and technical 
school or department 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania teacher 
preparation program, 
5 years successful 
teaching in career and 
technical education 

If the individual 
completed a teacher 
preparation program 
outside of 
Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

If the individual 
completed a 
Pennsylvania 
teacher 
preparation 
program, 
satisfactory 
achievement in 
assessments 
developed by the 
Secretary of 
Education 

If the individual 
completed a 
teacher 
preparation 
program outside of 

Completion of a 
program for school 
leaders designed by 
the Department of 
Education or an 
outside program 
approved by the 
Department that 
addresses certain 
core and corollary 
standards for 
leaders that are 
specified in law 

$200 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
Pennsylvania) 

$260 (if 
teacher 
preparation 
program is 
completed in 
another 
state) 

5 years Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

preparation program 
outside of Pennsylvania, 
see Appendix A 

Pennsylvania, see 
Appendix A 

 Emergency 
permit – type 01 
(vacant position 
with an 
educational 
obligation to 
pursue 
certification) 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Enrollment in a 
state--approved teacher 
certification program in 
the subject area(s) of the 
requested permit 

For a career and technical 
administrative director, if 
the individual does not 
hold a Pennsylvania 
certificate, a bachelor’s 
degree 

No  No For the first 
reissuance of the 
permit, credit 
requirements are 
based on the date 
the permit was 
initially issued, as 
follows: (1) August 
1 to November 30 – 
6 program credits, 
(2) December 1 to 
March 31 – 3 
program credits, or 
(3) April 1 to July 31 
– proof of program 
enrollment  

For the second 
reissuance and all 
subsequent 
reissuances of the 
permit, 9 program 
credits  

*See note 

$100 *See note Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Emergency 
permit – type 02 
(Act 97 waiver of 
certification) 

Yes 12 semester hours in the 
area for which the waiver 
is requested 

For a career and technical 
administrative director, if 
the individual does not 
hold a Pennsylvania 
certificate, a bachelor’s 
degree 

No No N/A Not specified 1 year Not 
specified 

 Emergency 
permit – type 04 
(long-term 
substitute) 

Yes For a career and technical 
administrative director, if 
the individual does not 
hold a Pennsylvania 
certificate, a bachelor’s 
degree 

No No N/A $100 *See note Not 
specified 

 Emergency 
permit – type 06 
(day-to-day 
substitute) 

Yes For a career and technical 
administrative director, if 
the individual does not 
hold a Pennsylvania 
certificate, a bachelor’s 
degree 

No No N/A $5 *See note Not 
specified 
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Career and 
technical 
day-to-day 
substitute permit 
(locally issued) 

Yes No No Occupational 
practitioner 

No $5 *See note Not 
specified 

West Virginia Initial career 
technical 
education 
certificate10 

Yes High school diploma or 
state-approved 
equivalency or a diploma 
from an accredited 
institution of higher 
education (IHE) 
dependent upon content 
area and either: 

Completion of an IHE’s 
state-approved CTE 
program with a minimum 
2.5 GPA;  

A valid WV Professional 
Teaching Certificate; or  

A valid out-of-state CTE 
Certificate in the 

Dependent upon 
content area for 
which the certificate 
is being sought, 
additional wage 
earning experience or 
training may be 
required  

Industry-recognized 
credential dependent 
upon content area 
being taught11 

Achieve certain 
scores on the 
California 
Achievement Tests 
in reading, writing, 
and math  

Content 
specialization 
exams 

6 semester hours of 
college/university 
coursework 
relevant to public 
school programming 
with a 3.0 GPA or 
e-Learning courses 
through the West 
Virginia 
Department of 
Education (can be 
waived if applicant 
holds a master’s 
degree or an 
MA+30 salary 
classification12 or is 

*See note 
regarding 
initial 
licensure 
fees, fees 
vary between 
$35-$50 

Valid for no 
more than 
5 years, 
expires on 
June 30th of 
the last year 
of its validity 

*See 
note 
regarding 
renewal 
fees 

                                                      
10 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 10.8.b: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF. 
11 West Virginia Career and Technical Education Endorsement and Testing Manual: https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual-Effective-20190411.pdf. 
12 West Virginia Code 18A-4-1(9). 

http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF
https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual-Effective-20190411.pdf
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Career-technical education licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

specialization for which 
the WV certificate is being 
sought and 3 years of 
teaching experience 

60 years of age or 
older) 

A valid 
industry-recognized 
credential 

 Permanent 
career technical 
certificate13 

Yes Hold or be eligible for the 
CTE Certificate valid for 5 
years; and  

A master’s degree related 
to public school 
programming; OR  

A CTE Certificate valid for 
5 years that has been 
renewed at least once 
based on the continued 
education requirements 
for that certificate 

5 years of educational 
experience, 2 of 
which completed in 
the specialization for 
which the certificate 
is being sought 

Same as exams 
required for initial 
licensure 

Not specified *See note Valid unless 
otherwise 
surrendered, 
suspended, 
or revoked 

*See 
note 

 

  

                                                      
13 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 10.8.d: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF. 

http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF
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*Notes 

Ohio – The initial career-technical workforce development license is valid only for teaching in the district that is hiring the license holder. 

Indiana – Out-of-state applicants must complete the same requirements as in-state applicants and are entitled to no reciprocity. 

A Workplace Specialist I license is valid for grades 5-12 in a career and technical education program and may be renewed one time for 1 additional year at the request of 
the area director. 

Pennsylvania – State statute refers to these permits as “career and technical” permits, but state administrative rules refer to these permits as “vocational” permits. The 
website of the Pennsylvania Department of Education uses the “career and technical” terminology when describing these permits, hence the use of that terminology on 
this table. 

An individual who holds a career and technical instructional I certificate must, while holding that certificate, complete the approved preparation program leading to the 
career and technical instructional II certificate. (The individual is also required to complete continuing education while holding the career and technical instructional I 
certificate, which has a duration of 6 years – see https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/ContinuinEd/Act%2048%20and%20PERMS/Pages/Act-48-Continuing-
Professional-Education-Requirements-FAQ.aspx.) 

An individual who holds a career and technical instructional intern certificate may receive a career and technical instructional I certificate upon presenting evidence of 
2 years of wage-earning experience, completion of an approved intern program, and satisfactory achievement on the assessment of basic skills. 

Emergency permits type 01, 04, and 06 expire upon the termination of any summer school conducted in the summer following the date the permit is issued. 

An emergency permit – type 01 (vacant position with an educational obligation to pursue certification) may be reissued one time after the teacher certification program is 
completed for testing purposes if the test(s) has been attempted in the previous year. 

An emergency permit – type 02 (Act 97 waiver of certification) may be requested by a public school for an individual facing furlough, or who has already been furloughed 
or demoted by that entity, so that an individual may work in areas in which the individual is not certified for one calendar year. As a condition of holding the permit, the 
permit individual must agree to complete an approved teacher preparation program to meet the requirements for certification in the new subject area(s). An emergency 
permit – type 01 may be issued if the individual is needed in subsequent school years and met the educational obligation of the emergency permit – type 01. 

An emergency permit – type 04 (long-term substitute) may be reissued one time in the same subject area. 

A locally issued career and technical day-to-day substitute permit is issued by the chief school administrator or career and technical school administrative director having 
jurisdiction over any approved career and technical education program to an individual when no properly certified teachers are available. This permit must be issued only 
in case of an emergency and may not exceed 20 consecutive school days. This permit may be renewed for an additional 20 school days upon the approval of the Secretary 
of Education. 

https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/ContinuinEd/Act%2048%20and%20PERMS/Pages/Act-48-Continuing-Professional-Education-Requirements-FAQ.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/ContinuinEd/Act%2048%20and%20PERMS/Pages/Act-48-Continuing-Professional-Education-Requirements-FAQ.aspx
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West Virginia – All applicants seeking an initial licensure or certificate are responsible for paying fees associated with state and federal criminal history background checks14 
and other fees for application processing. For a full list of fees please see the following link: https://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/forms/ProcessingFees.html. 

Renewal fees, if any, are determined by the State Board of Education.15 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

R-133-3519 - career-technical education licenses/rs 

                                                      
14 West Virginia Code 18A-3-10. 
15 West Virginia Code 18A-3-7. 

https://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/forms/ProcessingFees.html

