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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Ohio1 Provisional educator 
license for teaching in 
a STEM school 

Yes Bachelor’s degree in a 
field related to the subject 
to be taught 

No Examination 
prescribed by the 
State Board of 
Education 

No $80 2 years $80 

 Alternative resident 
educator license – 
Montessori 

Yes Bachelor’s degree from an 
accredited institution of 
higher education 

Successful completion of a 
teacher education 
program offered by the 
American Montessori 
Society, the Association 
Montessori Internationale, 
or an institution 
accredited by the 
Montessori Accreditation 
Council for Teacher 
Education 

No No *See note $160 4 years $160 

                                                      
1 R.C. 3301.071, 3319.22, 3319.26, 3319.261, 3319.262, 3319.28, 3319.301, and 3319.303; Ohio Administrative Code 3301-23-41, 3301-23-44, 3301-24-05(E) and (I), and 3301-27-01; fees available 
at http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Additional-Information/Complete-List-of-Applications. 

http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Additional-Information/Complete-List-of-Applications
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Adult education 
teaching permit 

Yes High school diploma No No No $25 (1 year) 

$100 
(4 years) 

1 year or 
4 years 

$25 
(1 year) 

$100 
(4 years) 

 Nonpublic school 
teacher or 
administrator 
certificate 

Yes For a certificate to teach 
foreign language, music, 
religion, computer 
technology, or fine arts at 
a nonpublic school, either 
(1) specialized knowledge, 
skills, or expertise that 
qualifies the individual to 
provide instruction, (2) at 
least three years of 
teaching experience in a 
public or nonpublic 
school, or (3) completion 
of a teacher training 
program 

For all other teacher 
certificates for teaching at 
nonpublic schools, a 
bachelor’s degree from a 
college or university 
accredited by a national or 
regional association in the 
United States or, at the 
discretion of the State 

No No No $200 Not specified $200 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Board, an equivalent 
degree from a foreign 
college or university of 
comparable standing 

For teacher certificates for 
teaching at nonchartered, 
nontax-supported schools, 
either (1) a bachelor’s 
degree from a college or 
university accredited by a 
national or regional 
association in the United 
States or, at the discretion 
of the State Board, an 
equivalent degree from a 
foreign college or 
university of comparable 
standing or (2) a diploma 
from a Bible college or 
Bible institute  

 Temporary teaching 
license for military 
science 

Yes No No No No $40 Not specified $40 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Pupil activity program 
permit 

Yes Completion of the 
National Federation of 
State High School 
Associations’ 
fundamentals of coaching 
course 

May satisfy the 
requirement to possess a 
substantive knowledge of 
the applied for pupil 
activity program with 
successful completion of a 
college or university 
course related to the 
applied for pupil activity 
program, as determined 
by the hiring authority in 
the applied for pupil 
activity program 

Completion of an 
approved training course 
in all of the following: 
(1) CPR, (2) brain trauma 
injury management, 
(3) sudden cardiac arrest, 
and (4) first aid training 

May satisfy the 
requirement to 
possess a 
substantive 
knowledge of the 
applied for pupil 
activity program 
with successful 
work experience, 
as determined by 
the hiring 
authority in the 
applied for pupil 
activity program 

No Maintenance of an 
approved training 
course in all of the 
following: (1) CPR, 
(2) brain trauma 
injury 
management, 
(3) sudden cardiac 
arrest, and (4) first 
aid training 

Completion of a 
training program in 
recognizing the 
symptoms of 
concussions and 
head injuries 

$45 
(3 years) 

$60 
(4 years) 

$75 
(5 years) 

3 years, 
4 years, or 
5 years 

$45 
(3 years) 

$60 
(4 years) 

$75 
(5 years) 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Associate license Yes Associate degree 

Either (1) completion of an 
approved program of 
preparation in 
prekindergarten associate, 
educational 
paraprofessional (denoted 
as ESEA qualified), and 
interpreter for the hearing 
impaired or (2) a current 
license to practice issued 
by the Ohio Occupational 
Therapy, Physical Therapy, 
and Athletic Trainers 
Board as an occupational 
therapy assistant or 
physical therapy assistant 

No No Either 6 semester 
hours of 
coursework or 
18 continuing 
education units 
(180 contact 
hours), which must 
be related to 
classroom teaching 
and/or the area of 
licensure as 
approved by the 
local professional 
development 
committee of the 
employing school 
or school district 

$200 5 years $200 

 Forty-hour STEM 
school teaching 
permit 

Yes Bachelor’s degree or 
higher, or evidence of 
significant experience, as 
verified by the employing 
district, in the subject to 
be taught 

Yes, if no college 
degree (see 
previous column) 

No No Not 
specified 

1 year Not 
specified 

 Early college high 
school educator 
license 

Yes Graduate or terminal 
degree from an accredited 
institution of higher 
education in a field 
related to the subject area 

Experience 
teaching students 
at any grade level 

Examination in 
the subject area 
to be taught, as 

No Not 
specified 

4 years N/A 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

to be taught, as 
determined by the 
Department of Education 

prescribed by the 
State Board 

Indiana2 N/A         

Kentucky3 Certification for 
Foreign Teachers 
Serving Under the 
Teacher Exchange 
Program4 

Yes Credentials or other legal 
authorization for teaching 
in teachers’ native 
countries 

At least 1 year of 
teaching 
experience 

No No $85 1 year  Not 
specified 

 Professional 
Certificate for 
Interdisciplinary Early 
Childhood5 

Yes Bachelor’s degree in 
approved preparation 
program 

OR 

Completion of the 
specified requirements to 
transition from a 
probationary certificate to 
a professional certificate 

Working under 
probationary 
certificate for at 
least one year 

Completion of the 
Kentucky Teacher 
Internship 
Program (KTIP)  

The required 
assessments 
prescribed by the 
Education 
Professional 
Standards Board 
(EPSB)6 

For first renewal: 
completion of 
15 hours of 
approved fifth-year 
graduate 
preparation 
program or 
completion of 
required 
components of 

$85 5 years $85 

                                                      
2 Indiana does not appear to be issuing any new specialty licenses. 
3 Certification fees for all certificates: 16 Kentucky Administrative Regulations (K.A.R.) 4:040 and the rules governing professional certificate renewals, unless otherwise specified, are found in 
16 K.A.R. 4:060.  
4 16 K.A.R. 4:070.  
5 16 K.A.R. 2:040.  
6 16 K.A.R. 6:010.  
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

continuation 
education option 
for initial 
certificate renewal 

For second 
renewal: 
Completion of 
approved fifth-year 
graduate 
preparation 
program or 
successful 
completion of 
continuing 
education option 

For each 
subsequent 
renewal: 3 years of 
successful teaching 
experiences and at 
least 6 semester 
hours of credit or 
equivalent in 
professional 
development 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Certificate for Junior 
Instructor, Junior 
Reserve Officers 
Training Corps 
(JROTC)7 

Yes High school diploma or 
equivalent 

Recommendation by 
appropriate military 
service branch 

Contract for employment 
by a local school district 

Recommendation for 
certification by local 
school district 
superintendent 

DD214 documenting 
honorable service 

No No For initial renewal: 
2 years’ experience 
as a JROTC 
instructor at a local 
school district. 

24 clock hours of 
district-approved 
professional 
development, 
annually or 
6 semester hours 
from an institution 
of higher education 
in specified courses 

If individual 
receives an 
associate’s degree, 
renewals require 
2 years teaching 
experience 

$85 2 years for 
initial 
certificate 

5 years if 
individual 
receives 
associate’s 
degree  

$85 

                                                      
7 16 K.A.R. 2:100, Section 2.  



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office 

 

P a g e  | 9  Specialty Licenses 
 

Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

 Certificate for Senior 
Instructor, JROTC8 

Yes Bachelor’s degree 

Official recommendation 
from appropriate military 
service branch 

Contract for employment 
by a local school district 

Recommendation for 
certification by the local 
school district 
superintendent 

DD214 documenting 
honorable service 

Service in a 
military branch 

No For initial renewal, 
a recommendation 
from the school 
district 
superintendent 
and 9 semester 
hours from an 
institution of 
higher education 

Subsequent 
renewals require 
2 years of 
teaching 
experience 

$85 2 years for 
initial 
certification; 
5 years for 
subsequent 
renewals 
once an 
associate 
degree has 
been 
attained 

$85 

 Professional 
Certification of Blind 
and Visually Impaired 
Students9 

Yes Valid teaching certificate 

Demonstrated 
competence in reading 
and writing Braille, and in 
use of appropriate 
instructional methods for 
teaching Braille 

No Those prescribed 
by the EPSB, 
which must be 
consistent with 
the guidelines 
adopted by the 
National Library 
Services for the 
Blind and 

No $85 5 years $85 

                                                      
8 16 K.A.R. 2:100, Section 1.  
9 K.R.S. 161.051.  
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

Physically 
Handicapped 

Michigan10 N/A         

Pennsylvania11 English as a second 
language program 
specialist 

Yes If the individual holds an 
instructional I or II 
certificate, completion of 
a state-approved 
certification program 

If the individual holds a 
valid out-of-state ESL 
certificate, a 
state-approved 
instructional ESL 
certification program that 
meets the Pennsylvania 
ESL specific program 
guidelines 

An instructional I 
or II certificate or 
a valid  
out-of-state ESL 
certificate  

No Completion of one 
of the following 
within a 5-year 
period: 

1. 6 credits of 
collegiate study; 

2. 6 credits of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses; 

3. 180 hours of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
programs, 
activities, or 

$200 5 years Not 
specified 

                                                      
10 Michigan does not appear to be issuing any new specialty licenses. 
11 22 Pa. Code §§ 49.62a, 51.34, 53.21, 53.22, 55.11, 57.11, 59.11, and 63.11; additional requirements available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PAEducators/ 
Pages/ESLProSpec.aspx, https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG67.aspx, https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/ 
Pages/ESL.aspx, https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/PrivateAcademicCertification.aspx, and https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PA 
Educators/Pages/Private-Academic.aspx; fees available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx.  

https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PAEducators/Pages/ESLProSpec.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PAEducators/Pages/ESLProSpec.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG67.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/ESL.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/ESL.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/PrivateAcademicCertification.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PAEducators/Pages/Private-Academic.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/PAEducators/Pages/Private-Academic.aspx
https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

learning 
experiences; or 

4. Any combination 
of collegiate 
studies, 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses, or other 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences 
equivalent to 
180 hours 

 Military science 
certificate 

Yes No No No Completion of one 
of the following 
within a 5-year 
period: 

1. 6 credits of 
collegiate study; 

2. 6 credits of 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses; 

3. 180 hours of 
continuing 

Not 
specified 

5 years Not 
specified 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

professional 
education 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences; or 

4. Any combination 
of collegiate 
studies, 
continuing 
professional 
education 
courses, or other 
programs, 
activities, or 
learning 
experiences 
equivalent to 
180 hours 

 Private academic 
teaching certificate 

Yes A bachelor’s degree 

For an elementary 
teaching certificate, one of 
the following: (1) a 
Pennsylvania teaching 
certificate in elementary 
education to teach grades 
K through 6 or a 
Pennsylvania early 

If applicable, 
documentary 
evidence of past 
teaching 
experience 

No N/A $175 99 years N/A 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

childhood certificate to 
teach grades nursery 
through 3, (2) 18 semester 
hours in the theory of 
elementary education, or 
(3) 2 years of successful 
teaching experience in a 
public, nonpublic 
nonlicensed, or accredited 
elementary school 

For a secondary education 
certificate, either 
(1) graduation from an 
approved 4-year college or 
university with a 
Pennsylvania teaching 
certificate in the subject in 
which the instruction is or 
will be rendered, or 
(2) graduation from an 
approved 4-year college or 
university, 18 semester 
hours in the subject 
matter field in which 
instructional service is or 
will be rendered, and 
either (a) 6 semester 
hours in the theory of 
secondary education or 
(b) 1 year of successful 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

teaching experience in a 
public, nonpublic 
nonlicensed, or accredited 
secondary school 

For a general business 
education, 
nursery/kindergarten, 
special education, psycho-
educational testing, or 
reading educational 
testing certificate, *see 
note 

 Private academic 
assistant teaching 
certificate (for 
nursery/kindergarten) 

Yes One of the following: 
(1) graduation from an 
approved 2-year college or 
university having 
specialized in child 
development, early 
childhood, or elementary 
education, (2) graduation 
from an approved 2-year 
college or university and 
24 semester hours in the 
theory of child 
development, early 
childhood, or elementary 
education, or 
(3) completion of 2 years 
of college or university 

If applicable, 
documentary 
evidence of past 
teaching 
experience 

No *See note $175 1 year Not 
specified 
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

credit (60 credits) in an 
approved institution and 
24 semester hours in the 
theory of child 
development, early 
childhood, and 
elementary education 

 Private academic 
temporary approval 
certificate (for 
applicants who are 
denied a private 
academic teaching 
certificate) 

Yes Graduate of an approved 
degree granting institution 

Any other conditions 
established by the State 
Board of Private Academic 
Schools 

Any requirements 
established by the 
State Board of 
Private Academic 
Schools 

Any 
requirements 
established by 
the State Board 
of Private 
Academic Schools 

Satisfaction of 
requirements 
established by the 
State Board of 
Private Academic 
Schools 

$175 1 year Not 
specified 

West Virginia Initial Adult License 
Endorsed for Adult 
Education12 

Yes Minimum of a bachelor’s 
degree from an accredited 
institution of higher 
education with a 2.5 GPA 

No No Completion of the 
following:  

-6 semester hours 
of coursework at a 
college/university 
related to public 
school 
programming with 
a 3.0 GPA or 
related to basic 
skills content or 

*See note 
regarding 
initial 
licensure 
fees; fees 
range 
between 
$35-$50 

Valid for up 
to 5 years, 
expires on 
June 30th of 
the last year 
of its validity 

*See note 
regarding 
renewal 
fees 

                                                      
12 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.8.c: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF. 

http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

e-Learning courses 
through WVDE; or 

-If the applicant 
has reached 60 
years of age or 
older, completion 
of adult education 
professional 
learning activities 
and the 
recommendation 
of the county 
superintendent 

 Initial Adult Permit 
Endorsed for Areas of 
Career Technical 
Education (for a 
part-time teaching 
position)13 

Yes Minimum of a high school 
diploma or a 
state-approved equivalent 

Additional 
experience may 
be required 
dependent upon 
content area to be 
taught 

Content exams 
may be required 
dependent upon 
subject area to 
be taught 

Completion of the 
following:  

-6 semester hours 
of coursework at a 
college or 
university related 
to public school 
programming with 
a 3.0 GPA;  

-An industry 
recognized 
credential; and  

*See note Valid for up 
to 5 years 

*See note 

                                                      
13 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.8.e: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF. 

http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF
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Specialty licenses 

State License 
License 

required? 
Education or training Experience Exam 

Continuing 
education 

Initial 
licensure fee 

License 
duration 

Renewal 
fee 

-The 
recommendation 
of the county 
superintendent 

 Initial Authorization 
for JROTC14 

Yes JROTC instructor 
certification awarded by a 
branch of the U.S. military 

No No No *See note Not specified *See note 

 

*Notes 

Ohio – After teaching for two years under a provisional educator license for teaching in a STEM school, the license holder may receive a five-year professional educator 
license in the same subject area named in the provisional educator license if the license holder (1) completes a structured apprenticeship program provided by an 
educational service center or a teacher preparation program, in partnership with the STEM school that employs the license holder, that satisfies specified requirements, 
(2) receives a positive recommendation indicating that the applicant is an effective teacher from the chief administrative officer of the STEM school that most recently 
employed the license holder as a classroom teacher and the educational service center or teacher preparation program administrator in charge of the apprenticeship 
program completed by the license holder, and (3) meets all other requirements for a professional educator license. 

An individual who holds an alternative resident educator license – Montessori is required, in order to qualify for a professional educator license, to complete (1) four years 
of teaching under the alternative license, (2) either (a) 12 additional semester hours of college coursework in the principles and practices of teaching in such topics as 
student development and learning, pupil assessment procedures, curriculum development, classroom management, and teaching methodology or (b) professional 
development provided by a teacher preparation program that has been approved by the Chancellor, (3) an assessment of professional knowledge (that is required to be 
taken in the second year of teaching under the license), (4) the Ohio teacher residency program, and (5) all other requirements for a professional educator license. The 
alternative resident educator license may be renewed for reasons specified by the State Board of Education. Additionally, the State Board may extend the license’s duration 
as necessary to enable the license holder to complete the Ohio teacher residency program. 

The duration of a pupil activity program permit depends on whether or not the individual applying for the permit also holds a current license, permit, or certificate issued 
by the State Board of Education. If an individual holds such a license, the permit is valid for the same duration as the license, permit, or certificate. An individual hired to 

                                                      
14 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.9.h: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF. 

http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=52986&Format=PDF
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direct, supervise, or coach a pupil activity program that does not involve athletics or routine or regular physical activity or health and safety considerations is not required 
to hold a pupil activity program permit if that individual holds a current valid educator license issued by the State Board of Education. 

An early college high school educator license is valid for teaching only at the school district that employs the license holder. An individual who holds an early college high 
school educator license may apply for a renewable five-year professional educator license in the same subject area named in the early college high school educator license. 
In order to receive the professional license, the license holder must attain a passing score on an assessment of professional knowledge prescribed by the State Board of 
Education. 

Pennsylvania – Private academic teaching certificates may also be issued for general business education, nursery/kindergarten, special education, psycho-educational 
testing, and reading educational testing. The education requirements for those certificates are as follows: 

 For a general business education certificate, both (1) 18 semester hours in business education (6 hours in accounting, 3 hours in data processing, 3 hours in typing, 
and 6 hours in business education electives) and (2) either (a) 6 semester hours in the theory of secondary education or (b) 1 year of successful teaching experience in 
a public, nonpublic nonlicensed, or accredited secondary school; 

 For a nursery/kindergarten certificate, one of the following: (1) graduation from an approved 4-year college or university with a Pennsylvania teaching certificate in 
early childhood education, (2) graduation from an approved 4-year college or university and 24 semester hours in the theory of child development, early childhood, or 
elementary education, or (3) graduation from an approved 4-year college or university and 2 years successful experience as a teacher in a public, nonpublic nonlicensed, 
or accredited nursery or kindergarten school; 

 For a special education certificate, either (1) graduation from an approved 4-year college or university with a Pennsylvania teaching certificate in the exceptionalities 
in which the instruction is or will be rendered or (2) graduation from an approved 4-year college or university with 24 semester hours in the theory of special education 
(6 semester hours of basic courses, 6 semester hours of courses directly applicable to the exceptionality in which instruction is or will be rendered, and 12 semester 
hours of elective courses); 

 For a psycho-educational testing specialist, either (1) graduation from an approved college or university and a Pennsylvania professional school psychologist 
certificate or (2) a master’s degree in psychology with 40 credits of graduate course work in psychology, a core concentration of psychology work appropriate to 
professional work with school-age children, and licensure from the Pennsylvania Board of Psychologist Examiners as a psychologist; 

 For a reading educational testing specialist, either (1) graduation from an approved college or university and a Pennsylvania professional reading specialist certificate 
or (2) graduation from an approved college or university with 30 semester hours in reading, tests and measurements, and related areas. 

The holder of a private academic assistant teaching certificate may become certificated as a teacher upon submitting documentary evidence of the completion of 2 years 
of teaching on the assistant teacher certificate in a nonpublic nonlicensed, licensed, or accredited nursery school or kindergarten, and a minimum of an additional 24 
semester hours in the theory of child development, early childhood, and elementary education at an approved college or university. In order for the certificate to be 
renewed, the certificate holder must complete 6 of the semester hours required for full certification. 
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West Virginia – All applicants seeking an initial licensure or certificate are responsible for paying fees associated with state and federal criminal history background checks15 
and other fees for application processing. For a full list of fees please see the following link: https://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/forms/ProcessingFees.html. 

Renewal fees, if any, are determined by the State Board of Education.16 
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15 West Virginia Code 18A-3-10. 
16 West Virginia Code 18A-3-7. 

https://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/forms/ProcessingFees.html

