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Substitute licenses

E]

. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License . Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee
Ohio?! Substitute license Yes Postsecondary degree, but not | None No No, except $25 (fora | 1yearor Not
required for a substitute for 6 semester hours for | 1-year 5 years specified
career-technical education substitute licenses license)
classes if the individual holds a for intervention or $125
career-technical workforce specialist or early (fora
development license childhood 5-year
intervention license)

specialist long-term
substitute teaching

license
Indiana? Substitute teacher | Yes A high school diploma or high None No No $16.32 Indiana $16.32
permit school equivalency certificate; Administrative
Be 18 years or older, Meet the Code provides
. . that a
requirements set for in the i
. substitute
screening process of the school o
permitis a
employer
renewable

3-year license

1 R.C. 3319.226, 3319.229(F), 3319.29, and 3319.51(A); Ohio Administrative Code 3301-23-44(D); fees available at http://education.ohio.gov/Topics/Teaching/Licensure/Additional-
Information/Complete-List-of-Applications.

2 Burns Ind. Code Ann. § 20-28-2-6 (authority), 511 IAC 16-4-3, 511 IAC 16-4-4, 511 IAC 16-4-5. See also https://www.doe.in.gov/licensing/substitute-permits.
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License

License
required?

Education or training

Any holder of a valid Indiana
practitioner license, emergency
permit, visiting teacher permit,
adjunct teacher permit,
reciprocal permit, or transition
to teaching permit may serve
as a substitute teacher

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial
licensure
fee

License
duration

but the Indiana
Department of
Education
website says it
isa
nonrenewable
license

Renewal
{3]

Kentucky?

Certificate for
Substitute
Teaching®

Yes

Either a valid statement of
eligibility for a Kentucky
teaching certificate or a
Kentucky certificate for
classroom teaching for which a
teacher prep program and a
bachelor’s degree were
required

No

No additional
exams other
than those
required for a
teaching
certificate®

No

815

5 years

$15

3 Certification fees for all certificates: 16 Kentucky Administrative Regulations (K.A.R.) 4:040; Kentucky Teacher Internship Program 16 KAR 7:010.
416 K.A.R. 2:010 and 2:030.

> 16 K.A.R. 2:010.
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Substitute licenses

Initial

. License . . . . Continuing . License
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education duration
fee
Emergency Yes Completion of at least No No No $85 School year N/A
substitute teaching 64 semester hours at an for which the
certificate® institution of higher education license was
with minimum GPA issued
requirements
Emergency Yes A high school diploma or At least 4 years of No No $85 School year N/A
substitute teaching equivalent occupational for which the
certificate for experience in the license was
career and area to be taught issued
technical
education’
Michigan Full-year substitute | Yes Completion of at least N/A Yes, under some | For first renewal, a S45 Until the end N/A

60 semester hours of college
credit or an associate degree

permit®

6 Kentucky Revised Statutes (K.R.S) 161.100; 16 K.A.R. 2:120(7)(b).
7K.R.S. 161.100; 16 K.A.R. 2:120(7)(c).

8 Michigan Complied Law (M.C.L.) 380.1538 and 390.1233 and Michigan Administrative Code (M.A.C.) R 390.1141 and 390.1142.

circumstances

minimum of 1 formal
hour of observation
leading to a
comprehensive
evaluation rating of
effective or highly
effective and must be
enrolled in an
approved teacher
preparation program

of the school
year for which
the permit is
issued
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Substitute licenses

Initial

License Continuing License Renewal

. licensure .
education fee duration {3]

License . Education or training Experience
required?

that leads to an initial
teaching certificate
or an additional
endorsement on an
existing teaching
certificate

For a second and
third renewal, a
minimum of

6 additional
satisfactory college
semester credit
hours in the
approved program
and must have had a
minimum of 1 formal
hour of observation
leading to a
comprehensive
evaluation rating of
effective or highly
effective
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Initial

. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee
Full-year substitute | Yes *See note N/A Yes, for core For a renewal, S45 Until the end N/A
permit (shortage)® . academic 1 formal observation of the school
A professional or advanced o . .
. . disciplines if no | leadingto a year for which
professional teaching o . i
. major in the comprehensive the permitis
certificate, but does not hold . ) ) .
. subject evaluation rating of issued
an appropriate endorsement or i )
e effective or highly
grade level authorization; L
effective in the
Completion of an academic permitted discipline
major, or obtained a passing area and assignment
score on an appropriate during the validity of
examination, in a discipline the shortage full-year
area identified by the substitute permit
Superintendent of Public
Instruction
Daily substitute Yes Completion of at least No No N/A $45 Until the end N/A
permit'® 60 semester hours of college of the school
credit or an associate degree year for which
the permit is
issued
9M.C.L. 380.1538 and 390.1233 and M.A.C. R 390.1141 and 390.1142(3).
10 M.C.L. 380.1538 and 390.1233 and M.A.C. R 390.1141 and 390.1143. Michigan Department of Education guidance: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/

Permit_Overview_529841 7.pdf.
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Substitute licenses

Initial

. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee
Expert substitute Yes *See note Documented Yes, under One formal S45 Until the end N/A
permit - core A bachelor’s degree or higher expertise in the Cfartaln observation Ieadl.ng of the schoc.)I
academic . . area of the circumstances to a comprehensive year for which
N from a regionally accredited ) ; . i o

discipline . . assignment and at | (see Education evaluation rating of the permitis

college or university; ] ) .

least 5 years of column) effective or highly issued

Either (1) an academic majorin | successful work effective in the

the discipline area of the experience in the permitted discipline

assignment or a related area of the area and assignment

discipline as determined by the | assignmentora

Superintendent of Public similar area

Instruction; or (2) a passing

score on an appropriate

available discipline area

examination approved by the

Superintendent of Public

Instruction
Expert substitute Yes *See note No Yes One formal $45 Until the end N/A

permit —world

A bachelors’ degree or higher
language®? & '8

from a regionally accredited
college or university or
equivalent;

observation leading
to a comprehensive
evaluation rating of
effective or highly
effective in the

of the school
year in which
the permit is
issued

1 M.C.L. 380.1538 and 390.1233 and M.A.C. R 390.1141

Permit_Overview_529841 7.pdf.

12 M.C.L. 380.1538 and 390.1233
Permit_Overview_529841 7.pdf.

and M.A.C. R 390.1141

and 390.1145.

and 390.1145.

Michigan

Michigan

Department

Department of Education

of Education

guidance:

guidance:

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/
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License

License
required?

Education or training

Oral proficiency by passing an
oral exam approved by the
Superintendent of Public
Instruction; and

Written language proficiency
by passing a written
examination, if available,
approved by the
Superintendent of Public
Instruction

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

permitted discipline
area and assignment

Initial
licensure
fee

License
duration {3]

Renewal

Expert substitute Yes *See note Individual has a No One formal S45 Until the end N/A
permit — noncore . . documented observation leading of the school
. Either (1) a corresponding L . .
academic busi . . expertise in the to a comprehensive year for which
S 3 usiness or industry license and . . -
discipline area of the evaluation rating of the permit is
has completed at least . ) ) .
assignment and at effective or highly issued
60 semester hours of college L.
. . least 5 years of effective in the
credit or has an associate ) C
. successful work permitted discipline
degree from a regionally or ) . .
. ; experience in the area and assignment;
nationally accredited college or
. . , area of the and
university; or (2) a bachelor’s . ;
degree or higher from a a;qgnmen ora A valid business of
. . similar area . .
regionally or nationally industry license,
accredited college or university unless the individual
holds a bachelor’s
degree or higher
13 M.C.L. 380.1538 and 390.1233 and M.A.C. R 390.1141 and 390.1145. Michigan Department of Education guidance: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mde/

Permit_Overview_529841 7.pdf.
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Substitute licenses

Initial

. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee
Pennsylvanial* | Emergency Yes Bachelor’s degree If for a school No Completion of credits | $100 *See note Not
permit —type 01 nurse or dental in the teacher specified

Enrollment in a state-approved

(viﬁant position teacher certification program in hy(g;en::, a current certification program
W(; a: | the subject area(s) of the 2n va : . For the first
€ lfca !ona requested permit ennsy.vanla‘ reissuance of the
obligation to professional license . .

permit, credit
pursue

requirements are
based on the date
the permit was
initially issued, as
follows: (1) August 1
to November

30— 6 program
credits, (2) December
1toMarch31-3
program credits, or
(3) April 1 to

July 31 — proof of
program enrollment

certification)

For the second
reissuance and all
subsequent
reissuances of the

1424 pP5S. §12-1201.1, 12-1214, 12-1215; 22 Pa. Code §§ 49.31, 49.32, 49.33, 49.34; emergency permit information available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20
Guidelines/Pages/CSPG13.aspx,  https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/CertFAQs/Pages/EmergencyPermits.aspx, and  https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/
Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG14.aspx; fees available at https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/FeesForms/Pages/Application-Fees.aspx.
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https://www.education.pa.gov/Educators/Certification/Staffing%20Guidelines/Pages/CSPG13.aspx
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License

License
required?

Education or training

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial
licensure
fee

License
duration

permit, 9 program
credits
*See note
Emergency Yes Bachelor’s degree If for a school No N/A Not 1year Not
permit — ty.pe 02 12 semester hours in the area nurf,e c.)r dental specified specified
(Act 97 waiver of . hich the waiver is hygienist, a current
certification) orw and valid
requested .
Pennsylvania
professional license
Emergency Yes Bachelor’s degree If for a school No N/A $100 *See note Not
permit —type 04 nurse or dental specified
(long-term hygienist, a current
substitute) and valid
Pennsylvania
professional license
Emergency Yes Bachelor’s degree If for a school No N/A S5 *See note Not
permit —type 06 nurse or dental specified
(day-to-day hygienist, a current
substitute) and valid
Pennsylvania
professional license

Substitute Licenses
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Substitute licenses

. A Initial .
. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee
Emergency Yes Bachelor’s degree or its Certified to teach No N/A $100 *See note Not
permit —type 08 equivalent in another country specified
(teacher Participation in a If for a school
exchange/cultural teacher/cultural exchange nurse or dental
exchange) through a U.S. Department of hygienist, a current
State designated teacher and valid
exchange program sponsor Pennsylvania
professional license
Exceptional case Yes No No No No Not Not specified | Not
permit specified specified
Substitute teaching | Yes Current enrollment in a teacher | No No Completion of an Not 1 year Not
permit for preparation program in a additional fifteen specified specified
prospective Pennsylvania college or credit hours or
teachers university and accredited by a equivalent from a

regional accrediting agency
recognized by the United States
Department of Education

Completion of at least

60 semester hours or the
equivalent of courses at a
Pennsylvania college or
university and accredited by a
regional accrediting agency

Pennsylvania college
or university and
accredited by a
regional accrediting
agency

Continued
enrollmentina
Pennsylvania college
or university and
accredited by a
regional accrediting
agency
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Substitute licenses

. A Initial .
. License . . . . Continuing . License Renewal
License ; Education or training Experience . licensure .
required? education fee duration fee

Temporary Yes Approved teacher preparation | No Completion of No Not *See note Not
substitute teacher program the certification specified specified
Fertlflcate (locally Completion of all of the testlr.1g
issued) . . requirements

requirements for the awarding

of a bachelor’s degree on a

date certain
Day-to-day Yes Pennsylvania certificate or its No No No S5 3 years N/A
substitute permit equivalent from another state (consecutive)
(locally issued)

West Virginia | Initial Short-Term Yes Bachelor’s degree from an No No Completion of *See note | A short-term *See
Substitute Permit accredited institution of higher 12 clock hours of regarding | substitute is note
for teaching, education with a minimum in-service training initial for a position
support, and 2.0GPA provided/authorized | licensure | of 30 days or
admlnlstra;';lve 18 clock hours of training by the c0t.Jnty board fees, fees | fewer, ‘
personnel . of education or range however, this

authorized by the county board . .
. . offered through the from permit is valid
of education or e-Learning
o WVDE to at least $35-550 | for 3 school
through the West Virginia .
. include classroom years and
Department of Education t and .
(WVDE) that includes managemen an' expires on
teaching strategies; June 30 of the
classroom management, state .
- or last year of its
and local policies, state .y
validity

approved content standards,
and an overview of school law
to include reporting

Completion of
6 semester hours of
coursework from an

15 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.7.a.1: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?Docld=52986&Format=PDF.
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License

License
required?

Education or training

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial
licensure
fee

License
duration

Renewal
{3]

requirements for suspected accredited institution

child abuse, which must include of higher education

no more than 6 hours of related to public

classroom observation school programming

completed no more than 1 year

prior to the date of application
Restricted Yes *See note No No Continuing education | *See note | Valid for *See
ShortTTerm » A minimum of an Associate’s requirements for ‘re'gfa\rdmg 1 sc‘hool year, | note
Substitute Permit . . renewal the same as | initial expires on

degree with a 2.0 GPA and is at o .

for initial temporary licensure | June 30 may
least 21 years of age (other .
. . licensure fees, fees | be renewed
education requirements the
L range
same as for initial temporary
permit) from
$35-550

Long Term Yes A minimum of a bachelor’s An applicant that No Completion of *See note | Along-term *See
Substitute degree from an accredited holds an expired 12 clock hours of regarding | substituteisa | note
Teaching Permit for institution of higher education | WV Professional in-service training initial position of
teaching, support, with a minimum 2.0 GPA, a Certificate or a provided or licensure | more than 30
& administrative minimum of a Nursing valid or expired authorized by the fees, fees | days and is
personnel’ Diploma/a valid WV RN license | Out-of-state county board of range valid for

when applicable (further Professional education or offered | from 3 school years

exceptions for school nurse Teaching Student through the WVDE to | $35-$50 and expires on

applicants), and Support, or at least include June 30 of the

Administrative classroom

16 \West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.7.h: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?Docld=52986&Format=PDF.
17 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.7.c: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?Docld=52986&Format=PDF.
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License

License
required?

Education or training

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial
licensure
fee

License
duration

Renewal
{3]

18 clock hours of training Certificate management and last year of its
authorized by the county board | endorsed for the teaching strategies; validity
of education or e-Learning specialization for or
through the WVDE that which the long- .
. ) Completion of
includes classroom term substitute
o 6 semester hours of
management, state and local permit is requested
lici tat q that licant coursework from an
policies, state approve atapp |car) may accredited institution
content standards, and an use that expired . .
. . of higher education
overview of school law to licensure only one .
. . . . M related to public
include reporting requirements | time to obtain this .
- . . school programming
for suspected child abuse, that | permit, provided
include no more than 6 hours that the original
of classroom observation certificate has not
completed no more than 1 year | been expired for
prior to the date of application | more than 5 years
If applying for an elementary
endorsement training must
include teaching reading and
literacy
Initial Substitute Yes High school diploma or a Additional Content specific | 12 clock hours of *See note | Valid for *See
Career Technical state-approved equivalency. verification of prior | exams required | in-service training regarding | 3 school note
Education Permit!® Additional education required or current work dependent upon | provided or initial years, expires
dependent upon subject area'® | experience may be | subject being authorized by the licensure | onJune 30 of
required taught employing county, fees, fees

18 West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 11.7.f: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?Docld=52986&Format=PDF.
19 West Virginia Career and Technical Education Endorsement and Testing Manual: https://wvde.us/wp-content/uploads/2019/04/CTE-Endorsement-and-Testing-Manual-Effective-20190411.pdf.
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License

Education or training

Substitute licenses

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial
licensure
fee

License Renewal
duration {3]

18 clock hours of training
authorized by the county board
of education that includes
classroom management, state
and local policies, instructional
goals and objectives, and an
overview of school law to
include reporting requirements
for suspected child abuse, that
may include no more than 6
hours of classroom observation
completed no more than 1 year
prior to the date of application

Proof of any required industry
recognized credential
dependent upon subject area
being taught

dependent upon
the subject area
being taught

An applicant who
holds a valid WV
professional
certificate may be
granted a
substitute CTE
permit without
completing the
initial 18 clock hour
training
requirements

and includes
classroom
management and
teaching strategies;
or

A substitute renewal
e-Learning course; or

6 semester hours
from an accredited
institution of higher
education related to
public school
programming; and

A valid industry
recognized credential

range
from
$35-$50

the last year
of its validity
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*NOTES

Ohio — A substitute license is valid for (1) an unlimited number of school days if the license holder has a post-secondary degree in either education or a subject area directly
related to the subject of the class the license holder will teach or (2) one full semester if the license holder has a post-secondary degree in a subject area that is not directly
related to the subject of the class that the license holder will teach.

Applicants who hold a postsecondary degree in education are issued a substitute teaching license valid for teaching in all subject areas and teaching fields. Applicants who
hold a postsecondary degree in a subject area that aligns with a teaching field as determined by the Ohio Department of Education and aligns with the applicant’s
postsecondary degree are issued a license in that teaching field. Applicants who hold a postsecondary degree in a subject area that is unrelated to any teaching field are
issued a substitute license with a nondesignated teaching field.

Indiana — School districts may only substitutes when licensed teachers are not available.

Kentucky — The Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) issues a statement of eligibility to teacher candidates who have (1) successfully completed a traditional
initial preparation program that resulted in a B.A. or higher and who earns a passing score on all assessments required for certification as prescribed by the EPSB.

Michigan — For full-year substitute (shortage), expert substitute — core academic discipline, expert substitute — world language, and expert substitute — noncore academic
discipline permits, the assighnment must not exceed 1/2 of a full-time equivalency teaching position, defined in accordance with a local collective bargaining agreement.

Pennsylvania — Emergency permits type 01, 04, 06, and 08 expire upon the termination of any summer school conducted in the summer following the date the permit is
issued.

An emergency permit — type 01 (vacant position with an educational obligation to pursue certification) may be reissued one time after the teacher certification program is
completed for testing purposes if the test(s) has been attempted in the previous year.

An emergency permit — type 02 (Act 97 waiver of certification) | may be requested by a public school for an individual facing furlough, or who has already been furloughed
or demoted by that entity, so that an individual may work in areas in which the individual is not certified for one calendar year. As a condition of holding the permit, the
permit individual must agree to complete an approved teacher preparation program to meet the requirements for certification in the new subject area(s). An emergency
permit —type 01 may be issued if the individual is needed in subsequent school years and met the educational obligation of the emergency permit — type 01.

An emergency permit — type 04 (long-term substitute) may be reissued one time in the same subject area.
An emergency permit — type 08 (teacher exchange/cultural exchange) may be issued a total of three times.

An exceptional case permit is issued by the Pennsylvania Department of Education to an individual at the request of a public school entity upon receiving evidence of
exceptional conditions requiring Department resolution of the staffing problem.

A locally issued temporary substitute teacher certificate is issued by a public school entity. It may only be used for day-to-day assignments and expires upon the termination
of any summer school conducted in the summer following the date the certificate is issued or upon the individual’s receipt of an instructional | certification.
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A locally issued day-to-day substitute permit is issued by the chief school administrator of a public school entity if an appropriate certified individual is not able to fill the
substitute position. The individual for whom the permit is sought must consent to an assignment outside of the area of the individual’s certification. The permit is valid for
20 cumulative days of service in each certificate area. If renewal is necessary, the chief school administrator may request, within 30 days of the individual’s last day of
service, issuance of an emergency, long-term, or day-to-day substitute permit or an exceptional case permit by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

West Virginia — In the case of a severe shortage of educators or substitute teachers, a superintendent may request a waiver of requirements for substitute certification to
require only that an applicant complete 18 clock hours of training to be completed prior to issuance of the Substitute Permit.2°

All applicants seeking an initial licensure or certificate are responsible for paying fees associated with state and federal criminal history background checks?! and other fees
for application processing. For a full list of fees please see the following link: https://wvde.state.wv.us/certification/forms/ProcessingFees.html.

Renewal fees, if any, are determined by the State Board of Education.??

A restricted short-term substitute permit is only granted to an individual who is temporarily replacing an educator in a county in which the State Superintendent has
approved a substitute shortage waiver.

R-133-3519 - substitute licenses/mh

20 \West Virginia Board of Education Policy 5202 Section 14.2: http://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?Docld=52986&Format=PDF.
21 West Virginia Code 18A-3-10.
22 \West Virginia Code 18A-3-7.
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