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Introduction
This memorandum compares licensing requirements applicable to certain environmental professionals in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, and Pennsylvania.

Ohio’s Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA) exercises general supervision over the treatment and disposal of sewage and industrial wastes, as well as the operation
of water supply works. It does so, in part, by certifying the following: five types of public water system professional operators (A, |, Il, lll, and IV certification), two types of water
distribution professional operators (I and Il certification), five types of treatment works professional operators (A, |, II, lll, and IV certification), and two types of sewage system
professional operators (I and Il certification).

OEPA also certifies professionals under the Voluntary Action Program. The Voluntary Action Program allows a person to investigate possible environmental
contamination and remediate it, if necessary. OEPA-certified professionals are responsible for verifying that properties are cleaned pursuant to the Program’s requirements and
may issue no-further-action letters. lllinois, Indiana, and Pennsylvania do not certify professionals in this manner.

Additionally, OEPA has the authority to certify water quality professionals who prepare Section 401 Water Quality Certifications and engineers who conduct compliance
reviews under environmental laws. OEPA has not yet formally adopted rules establishing either program. Thus, comparisons with other states are not possible regarding these
two certifications.

Finally, the memorandum compares the licensing requirements applicable to professionals implementing requirements associated with motor vehicle inspection and
maintenance programs.
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Drinking water and wastewater operator certification

Below is a list of Ohio licenses pertaining to drinking water and wastewater, followed by lists of licenses issued by Indiana, lllinois, and Pennsylvania. Each state licensing
scheme is different. Therefore, it is difficult to determine how the licenses from each state align with one another. As a result, the charts are organized by state rather than by

license.

Ohio

Type of certification

Certification

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Education or training

Experience

Continuing

Initial certification

Certification

Renewal fee

required? education {2 duration
Public Water System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($80 fee) | 8 hours $45 2 years $25
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
A Certification Certification Training”
course.
520-1,040 hours of
operating experience,
depending on education.
1-3 years of working
experience, depending on
education.
Public Water System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5105 fee) | 12 hours $45 2 years $35
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
| Certification Certification Training”
course.
1 year of working
experience.
1R.C. 3745.11, 6109.04, and 6111.46; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-7-06, 3745-7-15, and 3745-7-20.
Page |2 R-133-2197



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

e L. Certification . . . . Continuing | Initial certification Certification
Type of certification . Education or training Experience . . Renewal fee
required? education {2 duration
Public Water System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($120 fee) | 24 hours $45 2 years $45
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
Il Certification Certification Training”
course.
3 years of operating
experience.
Public Water System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5130 fee) | 24 hours S45 2 years $55
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
[l Certification Certification Training”
course.
5 years of operating
experience.
Public Water System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5145 fee) | 24 hours $45 2 years $65
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
IV Certification Certification Training”
course.
3 years of operating
experience.
Water Distribution Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($105 fee) | 12 hours $45 2 years $35
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
| Certification Certification Training”
course.
1 year of operating
experience.
Page |3 R-133-2197



Office of Research and Drafting

LSC

Legislative Budget Office

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

e L. Certification . . . . Continuing | Initial certification Certification
Type of certification . Education or training Experience . . Renewal fee
required? education {2 duration
Water Distribution Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($120 fee) | 24 contact $45 2 years $45
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator hours
Il Certification Certification Training”
course.
3 years of operating
experience.
Treatment Works Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (580 fee) | 8 hours S45 2 years $25
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
A Certification Certification Training”
course.
520-1,040 hours of
operating experience,
depending on education.
1-3 years of working
experience, depending on
education.
Treatment Works Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($105 fee) | 12 hours $45 2 years $35
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
| Certification Certification Training”
course.
1 year of operating
experience.
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

e L. Certification . . . . Continuing | Initial certification Certification
Type of certification . Education or training Experience . . Renewal fee
required? education {2 duration
Treatment Works Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($120 fee) | 24 hours $45 2 years $45
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
Il Certification Certification Training”
course.
3 years of operating
experience.
Treatment Works Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5130 fee) | 24 hours S45 2 years $55
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
[l Certification Certification Training”
course.
5 years of operating
experience.
Treatment Works Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5145 fee) | 24 hours $45 2 years $65
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
IV Certification Certification Training”
course.
3 years of operating
experience.
Sewage System Yes High school diploma or | Completion of the “OEPA | Yes ($105 fee) | 12 hours $45 2 years $35
Professional Operator equivalent Professional Operator
| Certification Certification Training”
course.
1 year of operating
experience.
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Type of certification

Sewage System
Professional Operator
I Certification

Certification

Yes

required?

equivalent

Education or training

High school diploma or

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Certification
duration

Initial certification
fee

Continuing

Experience .
education

Completion of the “OEPA | Yes (5120 fee) | 24 hours $45
Professional Operator
Certification Training”

course.

2 years

3 years of operating
experience.

Renewal fee

$45

Illinois

Type of certification

Class A Drinking Water
Operator Certification

Education or training

High school education and
literacy in English is
required.

Educational hours may be
counted toward 5,340 total
experience hour
requirement.

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification 2

Initial licensure
fee

Continuing

. License duration
education

Experience

5,340 total hours of study, Yes (510 exam fee) S30
training and hands-on
experience in water supply
operation or management of a

Class A facility

30 hours every
3 years

3 years

Renewal fee

$10

2 Title 35 of lllinois Administrative Code; see also “Illinois EPA Drinking Water Operator Certification” available at: https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/drinking-water/operator-
certification/2018_01_opcert_20handout.pdf and “WASTEWATER OPERATOR CERTIFICATION and STUDY GUIDE” available at: https://www2.illinois.gov/epa/Documents/iepa/water-quality/
wastewater/publications/operator-certification-guide.pdf.
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Type of certification

Education or training

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification 2

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial licensure
fee

License duration

Renewal fee

Class B Drinking Water High school education and | 5,340 total hours of study, Yes ($10 exam fee) | 30 hours every S30 3 years $10
Operator Certification literacy in English is training and hands-on 3 years

required. experience in water supply

Educational hours may be glpera:?n f)lzcmanagement ofa

counted toward 5,340 total ass blacility

experience hour

requirement.
Class C Drinking Water High school education and | 1,780 total hours of study, Yes (510 exam fee) | 15 hours every $30 3 years $10
Operator Certification literacy in English is training and hands-on 3 years

required. experience in water supply

Educational hours may be glp)eraél?n .cl).l;management ofa

counted toward 1,780 total ass L facility

experience hour

requirement.
Class D Drinking Water High school education and | 890 total hours of study, Yes (510 exam fee) | 15 hours every S30 3 years S10
Operator Certification literacy in English is training and hands-on 3 years

required. experience in water supply

Educational hours may be zlperal';lcf)n ﬁrtmanagement ofa

counted toward 890 total ass L facility

experience hour

requirement.
Class 4 Wastewater Operator | High school education and | 1 year of wastewater operator | Yes, no fee 15 hours every N/A 3 years N/A

literacy in English required. | experience 3 years

Education may be counted

toward experience

requirement.
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Type of certification

Class 3 Wastewater Operator

Education or training

High school education and

literacy in English required.

Education may be counted
toward experience
requirement.

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification 2

Experience

2 years of wastewater operator
experience

Yes, no fee

Continuing
education

15 hours every
3 years

Initial licensure

N/A

License duration

fee

3 years

Renewal fee

N/A

Class 2 Wastewater Operator

High school education and

literacy in English required.

Education may be counted
toward experience
requirement.

4 years of wastewater operator
experience

Yes, no fee

30 hours every
3 years

N/A

3 years

N/A

Class 1 Wastewater Operator

High school education and

literacy in English required.

Education may be counted
toward experience
requirement.

6 years of wastewater operator
experience

Yes, no fee

30 hours every
3 years

N/A

3 years

N/A

Class K Wastewater Operator
(facility specific)

High school education and
literacy in English required

N/A

Yes, no fee

N/A

N/A

5 years

N/A

Class R Wastewater
Operator — General
(water remediation)

High school education and
literacy in English required

N/A

Yes, no fee

N/A

N/A

5 years

N/A

Collection System Operator

High school education and

literacy in English required.

Education may be counted
toward experience
requirement.

1 year of collection system
operating experience

Yes, no fee

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A
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Indiana

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification’

Type of certification Education or training Experience Contmu-mg Initial licensure License duration | Renewal fee
education (=
Operator-in-Training for Must do certain tasks, N/A Yes? N/A S30 N/A Cannot be
Class WT3, WT4, or WT5 including multiplication and renewed
Water Treatment or Class division
DSL Water Distribution
System
Class DSS (Distribution High school diploma or Work experience in the field of | Yes 10 hours $30 3 years $30
System Small) Water equivalent water distribution
Distribution System Operator
Certification
Class DSM (Distribution High school diploma or 1 or 2 years of acceptable work | Yes 15 hours $30 3 years $30
System Medium) Water equivalent experience depending on level
Distribution System Operator of class of water distribution
Certification system operation
Class DSL (Distribution High school diploma or 1-5 years of acceptable work Yes 15 hours $30 3 years $30
System Large) Water equivalent experience depending on level
Distribution System Operator of class of water distribution
Certification system operation

3 Title 327 Ind. Admin. Code. Indiana also has a Facility Specific Operator (FSO). An FSO may be given to systems that are NTNC, DSS, or WT1 small community systems with population of 100 or
less. 327 Ind. Admin. Code 8-12-3.5.

*1f a third party administers the exam, an applicant must pay a third-party exam fee. Ind. Code Ann. 13-18-11-4(c) (LexisNexis 2019).
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Continuin Initial licensure . .
Type of certification Education or training Experience . g License duration Renewal fee
education fee
Class WT1 Water Treatment | High school diploma or Minimum of 1 year of Yes 10 hours $30 3 years $30
Plant Operator equivalent acceptable work experience
Class WT2 Water Treatment | High school diploma or Minimum of 1 or 2 years of Yes 15 hours S30 3 years $30
Plant Operator equivalent acceptable work experience
Class WT3 Water Treatment | High school diploma or 2 years of acceptable work Yes 25 hours $30 3 years $30
Plant Operator equivalent plus college-level | experience
courses in specified areas
Class WT4 Water Treatment | High school diploma or 2 years of acceptable work Yes 30 hours $30 3 years $30
Plant Operator equivalent plus college-level | experience
courses in relevant areas
Class WT5 Water Treatment | High school diploma or 3-5 years of acceptable work Yes 30 hours $30 3 years $30
Plant Operator equivalent plus college-level | experience
courses in specified areas
Class WT6 Water Treatment | Unclear (qualifications Unclear (qualifications Yes 30 hours S30 3 years $30
Plant Operator’ determined on a case-by-case | determined on a case-by-case
basis) basis)

> A WT6 is a certified operator qualified to operate a Class WT6 water treatment plant that requires operator qualifications determined by the Commissioner of the Indiana Department of
Environmental Management on an individual plant basis in response to the specialized nature of the water treatment plant. 327 Ind. Admin. Code 8-12-3.2(b)(6) (LexisNexis 2019).
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Rt . . . . Continuin Initial licensure . .
Type of certification Education or training Experience . g License duration Renewal fee
education fee

Class I-SP (Stabilization Pond) | High school diploma or 6 months of acceptable work Yes 5 hours S30 2 years $30
Nonindustrial Wastewater equivalent or experience experience
Treatment Operator exemption
Class | Nonindustrial High school diploma or 1 year of acceptable work Yes 10 hours S30 2 years $30
Wastewater Treatment equivalent or experience experience
Operator exemption
Class Il Nonindustrial High school diploma or 3 years of acceptable work Yes 10 hours $30 2 years $30
Wastewater Treatment equivalent or experience experience
Operator exemption
Class lll Nonindustrial High school diploma or 3 years of acceptable work Yes 20 hours $30 2 years $30
Wastewater Treatment equivalent or experience experience
Operator exemption
Class IV Nonindustrial Applicable associate’s or 5 years of acceptable work Yes 20 hours S30 2 years $30
Wastewater Treatment bachelor’s degree experience
Operator
Class A-SO Wastewater High school diploma or 6 months of acceptable work Yes 5 hours S30 2 years $30
Treatment Operator equivalent or experience experience

exemption
Class A Wastewater High school diploma or 1 year of acceptable work Yes 10 hours S30 2 years $30
Treatment Operator equivalent or experience experience

exemption
Class B Wastewater High school diploma or 3 years of acceptable work Yes 10 hours S30 2 years $30
Treatment Operator equivalent or experience experience

exemption
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience Contmu_mg TG License duration Renewal fee
education fee
Class C Wastewater High school diploma or 3 years of acceptable work Yes 20 hours S30 2 years $30
Treatment Operator equivalent or experience experience
exemption
Class D Wastewater Applicable associate’s or 5 years of acceptable work Yes 20 hours S30 2 years $30
Treatment Operator bachelor’s degree experience
Wastewater Treatment Ranges from high school 6 months to 5 years of Yes 5-20 hours $30 Up to 6 years N/A
Apprentice for Class I-SP, I, 1, | diploma or equivalent (or acceptable work experience
[1l, or IV Nonindustrial experience exemption) to
Wastewater Treatment associate’s or bachelor’s
Operator or Class A-SO, B, C, | degree
or D Wastewater Treatment
Operator
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Pennsylvania

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience Exam’ Contmu.mg Initial licensure Llcen.se Renewal fee
education fee duration

Class A Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | 1-4 years depending on General water 30 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for

1 water technology | first 3 years)

subclassification
Class B Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 3 years depending | General water 30 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for

1 water technology | first 3 years)

subclassification
Class C Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 2 years depending | General water 30 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for

1 water technology | first 3 years)

subclassification
Class D Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 1 year depending | General water 15 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam® 3 years (8 hours for

first 3 years)
Class Dc Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | No experience to 6 months General water exam | 9 hours every 3 years | $100 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) depending on education and and groundwater (4 hours for first
experience source exam 3 years)

® 25 Pa. Code Chapter 302. https://www.pacode.com/secure/data/025/chapter302/chap302toc.html. Also see operator application form: https://www.pwea.org/docs/DEP_Certification
Exam_Registraton_Form_2017.pdf.

7 Each exam fee (general exams and specific exams) is $35. 25 Pa. Code 302.202.

® No specific subclassification exam required. 25 Pa. Code 302.1002.
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Type of certification

Education or training

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Experience

Continuing
education

Initial licensure
fee

License
duration

Renewal fee

Class Dn Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | No experience to 6 months General water 6 hours every 3 years | $100 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) depending on education and exam and (3 hours for first 3
experience groundwater years)
source exam
Class E Drinking Water High school diploma or GED | No experience to 1 year Distribution 15 hours every $100 3 years $60

Certification

(or experience exemption)

depending on education and
experience

systems exam

3 years (8 hours for
first 3 years)

Subclassifications for Drinking Water Certification’

Subclassification 1: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Conventional See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Conventional Filtration filtration specific above through E above through E
exam above
Subclassification 2: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Direct filtration See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Direct Filtration specific exam above through E above through E
above
Subclassification 3: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Diatomaceous See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Diatomaceous Earth earth filtration above through E above through E
Filtration specific exam above

? Any person with a Class A, B, or C Drinking Water Certification must have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. Any person with a Class D or E Drinking Water Certification

may have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. 25 Pa. Code 302.901.
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience Contmu.mg [N Llcen.se Renewal fee
education fee duration
Subclassification 4: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Slow sand filtration | See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Slow Sand Filtration specific exam above through E above through E
above
Subclassification 5: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Cartridge or bag See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Cartridge or Bag Filtration filtration specific above through E above through E
exam above
Subclassification 6: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Membrane See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Membrane Filtration filtration specific above through E above through E
exam above
Subclassification 7: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Corrosion control See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Corrosion Control and and sequestering above through E above through E
Sequestering specific exam above
Subclassification 8: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Chemical addition | See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Chemical Addition specific exam above through E above through E
above
Subclassification 9: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above lon exchange and See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
lon Exchange and greensand specific | above through E above through E
Greensand exam above
Subclassification 10: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Aeration and See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Aeration and Activated activated carbon above through E above through E
Carbon Adsorption adsorption specific above
exam
Page |15 R-133-2197



Office of Research and Drafting

LSC

Legislative Budget Office

Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience Contmu.mg [N Llcen.se Renewal fee
education fee duration
Subclassification 11: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Gaseous chlorine See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Gaseous Chlorine disinfection specific | above through E above through E
Disinfection exam above
Subclassification 12: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Nongaseous See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
NonGaseous Chemical chemical above through E above through E
Disinfection disinfection specific above
exam
Subclassification 13: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Ultraviolet See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Ultraviolet Disinfection disinfection specific | above through E above through E
exam above
Subclassification 14: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Ozonation specific | See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Ozonation exam above through E above through E
above

Wastewater Certification

Class A Wastewater High school diploma or GED | 1-4 years depending on General wastewater | 30 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for

1 wastewater first 3 years)

technology

subclassification
Class B Wastewater High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 3 years depending | General wastewater | 30 hours every $150 3 years $60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for

1 wastewater first 3 years)

technology

subclassification
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience Contmu.mg [N Llcen.se Renewal fee
education fee duration
Class C Wastewater High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 2 years depending | General wastewater | 30 hours every $150 3 years S60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam and at least 3 years (15 hours for
1 wastewater first 3 years)
technology

subclassification

Class D Wastewater High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 1 year depending General wastewater | 15 hours every $150 3 years S60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience exam and at least 3 years (8 hours for

1 wastewater first 3 years)

technology

subclassification

Class E Wastewater High school diploma or GED | 6 months to 1 year depending Satellite collection | 15 hours every $100 3 years S60
Certification (or experience exemption) on education and experience system with pump | 3 years (8 hours for
station/single first 3 years)

entity owner
collection system

exam
Subclassifications for Wastewater Certification’
Subclassification 1: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Activated sludge See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Activated sludge specific exam above through E above through E

above

10 Any person with a Class A, B, C, or D Wastewater Certification must also have one or more of the following treatment subclassifications. 25 Pa. Code 302.902.
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Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification®

Type of certification Education or training Experience ContmL!mg [N Llcen.se Renewal fee
education fee duration
Subclassification 2: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Fixed film See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Fixed Film Treatment treatment specific | above through E above through E
exam above

Subclassification 3: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Treatment ponds See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Treatment Ponds and and lagoons above through E above through E
Lagoons specific exam above
Subclassification 4: See Class A through E above | See Class A through E above Laboratory See Class A through E | See Class A 3 years See Class A
Single Entity Collection supervisor specific | above through E above through E
System exam above
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Voluntary Action Program Professional Certification

Voluntary Action Program Professional Certification

Tvoe of certification License Education or Exoerience Continuing Initial licensure License Renewal
P required? training P education fee duration fee
Ohio™ Certified professional Yes A bachelor’s 8 years of relevant No 12 hours $2,500 1 year $2,000
under the Voluntary degree professional
Action Program experience.
Initial certification
training.
lllinois* N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Indiana®™ N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pennsylvania™ N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

1 R.C. 3746.04; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-300-03 and 3745-300-05.

12 There is no comparable license in lllinois. While Licensed Professional Engineers and Geologists may prepare a certification, only the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency issues “no
further remediation letters.” 415 ILCS 5/57.10.

13 |ndiana does not have an equivalent for a certified professional. The Indiana Department of Environmental Management performs the duties and responsibilities of a certified professional.
Ind. Code Ann. 13-25-5-1 through 13-25-5-23 (LexisNexis 2019).

¥ There is no comparable license in Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection performs the duties and responsibilities of a certified professional. 35 P.S. § 6021.1
through 6021.7.
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Water Quality Professional Certification

Certified Water Quality Professional Certification

License Education or Continuing Initial licensure License Renewal

Type of certification . - Experience . .
P required? training P education fee duration fee

Ohio Certified water quality Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
professional (Section 401
Water Quality
Certification)(rules are
not formally adopted as
of the completion date of
this chart)15

Illinois N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Indiana N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

15R.C. 3745.114 and 6111.030; Ohio Administrative Code 3745-32-02 and 3745-32-03. This is a recent certification and not all rules have been adopted.
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Certified Engineers

Certified Water Quality Professional Certification

License Education or Continuing Initial License Renewal

Type of certification . - Experience . . R
P required? training P education licensure fee duration fee

Ohio Certified engineers (rules | Yes N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
are not formally adopted
as of the completion date
of this chart)*®

Illinois N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Indiana N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

1 R.C. 3745.14.
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Motor vehicle inspection and maintenance professionals

Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Inspector Certification

Initial licensure License

License required? Education or training Experience Continuing education . Renewal fee
fee duration
Ohio Yes" Inspector training and N/A Yes® Recertification requires N/AZ 2 years? N/A
certification that meets recertification course and
federal requirements*® test®
lllinois Yes® lllinois Environmental N/A Yes®™ Refresher courses N/A% 2 years® N/A
Protection Agency required every 2 years26

(EPA)-approved training
courses and
certification®

7 Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) 3745-26-13 and 40 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) § 51.367(b).
¥ 0.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(1) and (2) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367.

' 0.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(2) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367(a)(3).

° 0.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(4).

’ No fees per Mike Riggleman, Manager of Mobile Sources, Division of Air Pollution Control, OEPA (telephone call, October 7, 2019).
2 0.A.C. 3745-26-13(B)(4).

2% per Tom Panici, Field Manager, lllinois EPA (telephone call, October 8, 2019).

*Id.

2 1d.

*Id.

" 1d.

% d.
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License required?

Enhanced Motor Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Inspector Certification

Education or training

Experience

Continuing education

Initial licensure
fee

License
duration

Renewal fee

Indiana Yes (falls under motor | Successful completion of | N/A Yes*! Refresher training and N/A® 1 year®
vehicle emission department-approved testing required prior to
inspector training30 renewal*
certification)®
Pennsylvania Yes (falls under Department-approved N/A Yes® Refresher training course | $59.99, plus any | 2 years* $79.99 for Emission Inspector

emission inspector
certification)®

training course®’

and test required every
2 years39

fees charged by
the training
school®

Recertification; $59.99 for
Northern Region Emissions
Inspector Recertification®

2326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and 40 C.F.R. § 51.367(b).
*%326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and (b).
31326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(a) and per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019).

32326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(b).

3 per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019).

34326 Ind. Admin. Code 13-1.1-15(b).

% per Jennifer Sanders, Public Information Manager, Indiana Clean Air Car Check (telephone call, October 7, 2019).

%% 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(a).
767 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(3)(i).
% 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(3)(ii) and (iii).

¥ 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(4).
40

20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf.

"1 67 Pa. Code § 177.408(c)(4).
42

20Inspectors%20Certification%20Recertification%20process%202018.pdf.

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, FAQs: Emission Inspector Certification and Recertification, http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, FAQs: Emission Inspector Certification and Recertification, http://www.drivecleanpa.state.pa.us/service/FAQs%20for%20Emissions%
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Waiver Repair Technician

Llce.nse Education or training Experience Continuing education Initial licensure Llcen_se Renewal fee
required? fee duration
Ohio Yes® Completes OEPA training Possesses Yes, but can be waived by | The Director may require | N/A* 2 years® N/A®
curriculum concerning the Automotive Director*® training to maintain
methods used in repairing Service certification”
vehicles failing emissions Excellence (ASE)
tests. Can be waived by OEPA | certification in
Director* Engine
Performance,
Electrical
Systems, and
Advanced Engine
Performance.
Can be waived by
Director®
** Ohio Administrative Code (0.A.C.) § 3745-26-16(A).
“0.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(2).
> 0.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(4).
® 0.A.C. § 3745-26-16(A)(2) and (3).
*70.A.C. § 3745-26-16(E).
*8 per telephone conversation with Gretchen Graycraft, Legislative Liaison for OEPA, October 10, 2019.
* 0.A.C. § 3745-26-16(B).
*% per telephone conversation with Gretchen Graycraft, Legislative Liaison for OEPA, October 10, 2019.
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Waiver Repair Technician

License . . . . .. . Initial licensure License
, Education or training Experience Continuing education . Renewal fee
required? fee duration

lllinois No>! N/A* Professionally N/A> N/A> N/A N/A®’ N/A®
engaged in
vehicle repair;
Employed by a
going concern
whose purpose is
vehicle repair; or
Possessing a
nationally
recognized
certification for
emission related
diagnosis and
repair.”

L per telephone conversation with Ken Beauvais, Program Executive lllinois Air Team, October 3, 2019.

> d.

>335 |Il. Adm. Code 276.102.

>* per telephone conversation with Ken Beauvais, Program Executive Illinois Air Team, October 3, 2019.

55

Id.

¢ d.

7 d.

2 1d.
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Waiver Repair Technician

r:;c:irr‘::? Education or training Experience Continuing education LiliiEL fl:::nsure dLl:crg:iZen Renewal fee
Indiana Yes™ Completes department Certification as N/A% Professionally engaged in | N/A® N/A%® N/AY
approved emission and an ASE L1 emission/drivability
drivability program® (Advanced repair and employed at a
Engine certified I/M emission
Performance) repair facility.®
technician™ Must keep ASE L1
certification current to
remain state certified.*
>%326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5).
%9326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(B).
®1326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(A).
%2 per telephone conversation with Phil Doyle, IN Department of Environmental Management Official, October 10, 2019.
%3326 IAC 13-1.1-10(a)(5)(C) and (D).
% per telephone conversation with Phil Doyle, IN Department of Environmental Management Official, October 10, 2019.
®d.
% d.
1d.
Page |26 R-133-2197



Office of Research and Drafting LSC Legislative Budget Office

Waiver Repair Technician

Llce.nse Education or training Experience Continuing education TG Llcen_se Renewal fee
required? fee duration
Pennsylvania | Yes®® Complete an emission 18+ years old Required to obtain 80% | The PA Department of N/A” N/A’ N/A”’
inspection course and and have avalid | passage rate on emission | Transportation may
On-board diagnostic system driver’s license” | inspection course and authorize periodic
training.*”® Must be an On-board diagnostic supplemental training to
emission inspector prior to system training test. And, | maintain certification.”
certification.” if not automobile

Must keep emission
inspector license
current.”*

manufacturer or ASE
certified regarding
certifying emission
control system evaluation
and repair proficiency,
then applicant must
complete and pass an
approved repair
technician test.”

R-133-2197/rs

%8 67 Pa. Code 177.275(a).

% 67 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(3).

0 per telephone conversation with Diana Chu, Manager for Vehicle Emissions Hotline contact center, October 10, 2019.
7167 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(1) and (2).

267 Pa. Code 177.275(b)(3).

73 67 Pa. Code 177.275(d).

"4 per telephone conversation with Diana Chu, Manager for Vehicle Emissions Hotline contact center, October 10, 2019.
”1d.

°1d.

7 1d.
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