## As Adopted by the Senate

# 131st General Assembly Regular Session 2015-2016

S. R. No. 142

#### Senators LaRose, Sawyer

### **ARESOLUTION**

Honoring Summit County on its One Hundred Seventy-fifth Anniversary.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 131st General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate Summit County on the auspicious occasion of its One Hundred Seventy-fifth Anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Recognition of this prestigious milestone is a fitting tribute to Summit County. Formed from parts of Portage, Medina, and Stark counties, Summit County was officially created by state legislation signed into law on March 3, 1840, and since its inception, it has become known for its residents' cooperation, integrity, and willingness to work hard-exemplary qualities that are still manifested by its citizens today; and

WHEREAS, Over the past one hundred seventy-five years, Summit County has enjoyed the benefits of a generous and civic-minded population, and those who currently make it their home take great pride in their communities and their rich heritage. Their efforts have certainly made the area a pleasant and friendly place in which to live and work; and

WHEREAS, America is only as strong as her individual communities, which are unique and which make a significant contribution to the culture of our state and nation. The anniversary of Summit County offers its citizens the

#### S. R. No. 142 As Adopted by the Senate

opportunity to share their memories and experiences and to reflect on the benefits of life in their close-knit communities, for they have built on the best traditions of the past to ensure a future filled with hope and promise; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 131st General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend Summit County on its One Hundred Seventy-fifth Anniversary and extend best wishes for peace and prosperity in the years to come; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Summit County.