As Adopted by the Senate

131st General Assembly Regular Session 2015-2016

S. R. No. 203

Senator Widener

ARESOLUTION

Honoring the Cedarville University robotics team as the 2015 Autonomous Robotics Competition champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 131st General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to commend the Cedarville University robotics team on placing first in the Autonomous Robotics Competition at the 2015 American Society of Engineering Education Conference; and

WHEREAS, All those associated with the Cedarville
University robotics team are deserving of praise for their
ability to excel in many pursuits and to meet challenges with
enthusiasm and confidence. Using science, math, technology, and
engineering skills and the expertise of their advisor, Dr.
Clinton Kohl, to design and construct a robot, members Matthew
Paulding, Kevin Bridgman, and David Tibbetts devoted countless
hours to rigorous training in order to be in peak mental
condition, and consequently, they earned 291.51 points to
secure the Autonomous Robotics Competition crown for the third
consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, Competitive spirit and innovative effort have played major roles in the development of our country. The drive to excel is best developed when youth are presented with trials that permit them to test their skills, knowledge, and strengths against their peers; and

WHEREAS, With their vitality, intelligence, and positive

outlook, the members of the Cedarville University robotics team have set an example worthy of emulation. We encourage these young individuals to continue to strive for excellence so that they may assume meaningful and productive roles in our complex society; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 131st General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the Cedarville University robotics team on its accomplishments and extend best wishes for the future; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Cedarville University robotics team.