As Introduced

132nd General Assembly Regular Session 2017-2018

H. B. No. 607

Representative Wiggam

A BILL

To amend section 1901.021 of the Revised Code to	1
eliminate the requirement that one of the judges	2
of the Wayne County Municipal Court sit within	3
the municipal corporation of Orrville.	4

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF OHIO:

Section 1. That section 1901.021 of the Revised Code be	5
amended to read as follows:	6
Sec. 1901.021. (A) Except as otherwise provided in	7
division (M) of this section, the judge or judges of any	8
municipal court established under division (A) of section	9
1901.01 of the Revised Code having territorial jurisdiction	10
outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation in	11
which it is located may sit outside the corporate limits of the	12
municipal corporation within the area of its territorial	13
jurisdiction.	14
(B) Two or more of the judges of the Hamilton county	15
municipal court shall be assigned by the presiding judge of the	16
court to sit outside the municipal corporation of Cincinnati.	17
(C) Two of the judges of the Portage county municipal	18
court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Ravenna, and	19

one of the judges shall sit within the municipal corporation of Kent. The judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Portage county.

(D) One of the <u>The</u> judges of the Wayne county municipal 23 court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Wooster_{au} and 24 one shall sit within the municipal corporation of Orrville. Both 25 judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Wayne county. 26

(E) The judge of the Auglaize county municipal court shall
27
sit within the municipal corporations of Wapakoneta and St.
28
Marys and may sit in other incorporated areas in Auglaize
29
county.

(F) At least one of the judges of the Miami county
municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of
Troy, Piqua, and Tipp City, and the judges may sit in other
incorporated areas of Miami county.

(G) The judge of the Crawford county municipal court shall
35
sit within the municipal corporations of Bucyrus and Galion and
36
may sit in other incorporated areas in Crawford county.
37

(H) The judge of the Jackson county municipal court shall
38 sit within the municipal corporations of Jackson and Wellston
and may sit in other incorporated areas in Jackson county.
40

(I) Each judge of the Columbiana county municipal court
may sit within the municipal corporation of Lisbon, Salem, or
East Palestine until the judges jointly select a central
location within the territorial jurisdiction of the court. When
the judges select a central location, the judges shall sit at
that location.

(J) In any municipal court, other than the Hamilton county47municipal court and the Montgomery county municipal court, that48

Page 2

20

21

22

has more than one judge, the decision for one or more judges to49sit outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation50shall be made by rule of the court as provided in division (C)51of sections 1901.14 and 1901.16 of the Revised Code.52

(K) The assignment of a judge to sit in a municipal corporation other than that in which the court is located does not affect the jurisdiction of the mayor except as provided in section 1905.01 of the Revised Code.

(L) The judges of the Clermont county municipal court may
 57
 sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory
 58
 within Clermont county.
 59

(M) Beginning July 1, 2010, the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in the same locations as the judges of the Montgomery county county court sat before the county court was abolished on that date. The legislative authority of the Montgomery county municipal court may determine after that date that the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory within Montgomery county.

(N) The judge of the Tiffin-Fostoria municipal court shall 68 sit within each of the municipal corporations of Tiffin and 69 Fostoria on a weekly basis. Cases that arise within the 70 municipal corporation of Tiffin and within Adams, Big Spring, 71 Bloom, Clinton, Eden, Hopewell, Liberty, Pleasant, Reed, Scioto, 72 73 Seneca, Thompson, and Venice townships in Seneca county shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the court located in the 74 municipal corporation of Tiffin. Cases that arise in the 75 municipal corporation of Fostoria and within Loudon and Jackson 76 townships in Seneca county, within Washington township in 77 Hancock county, and within Perry township, except within the 78

Page 3

53

54

55

56

60

61

62

63

64

65

66

67

municipal corporation of West Millgrove, in Wood county, shall 79 be filed in the office of the special deputy clerk located in 80 the municipal corporation of Fostoria. 81 Section 2. That existing section 1901.021 of the Revised 82 Code is hereby repealed. 83 Section 3. On the effective date of this act, all causes, 84 judgments, executions, and other proceedings pending in the 85 Wayne County Municipal Court located in the municipal 86 corporation of Orrville shall be transferred to and proceed in 87 the Wayne County Municipal Court located in the municipal 88 corporation of Wooster. 89