As Reported by the House Criminal Justice Committee

132nd General Assembly

Regular Session 2017-2018

H. B. No. 607

Representative Wiggam

Cosponsor: Representative Manning

A BILL

То	amend section 1901.021 of the Revised Code to	1
	eliminate the requirement that one of the judges	2
	of the Wayne County Municipal Court sit within	3
	the municipal corporation of Orrville.	4

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF OHIO:

Section 1. That section 1901.021 of the Revised Code be	5
amended to read as follows:	6
Sec. 1901.021. (A) Except as otherwise provided in	7
division (M) of this section, the judge or judges of any	8
municipal court established under division (A) of section	9
1901.01 of the Revised Code having territorial jurisdiction	10
outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation in	11
which it is located may sit outside the corporate limits of the	12
municipal corporation within the area of its territorial	13
jurisdiction.	
(B) Two or more of the judges of the Hamilton county	15
municipal court shall be assigned by the presiding judge of the	16
court to sit outside the municipal corporation of Cincinnati.	17
(C) Two of the judges of the Portage county municipal	18

Page 2

court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Ravenna, and	19
one of the judges shall sit within the municipal corporation of	20
Kent. The judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Portage	21
county.	22
(D) One of the The judges of the Wayne county municipal	23
court shall sit within the municipal corporation of Wooster, and	24
one shall sit within the municipal corporation of Orrville. Both	25
judges may sit in other incorporated areas of Wayne county.	26
(E) The judge of the Auglaize county municipal court shall	27
sit within the municipal corporations of Wapakoneta and St.	28
Marys and may sit in other incorporated areas in Auglaize	29
county.	30
(F) At least one of the judges of the Miami county	31
municipal court shall sit within the municipal corporations of	
Troy, Piqua, and Tipp City, and the judges may sit in other	33
incorporated areas of Miami county.	34
(G) The judge of the Crawford county municipal court shall	35
sit within the municipal corporations of Bucyrus and Galion and	36
may sit in other incorporated areas in Crawford county.	37
(H) The judge of the Jackson county municipal court shall	38
sit within the municipal corporations of Jackson and Wellston	39
and may sit in other incorporated areas in Jackson county.	40
(I) Each judge of the Columbiana county municipal court	41
may sit within the municipal corporation of Lisbon, Salem, or	42
East Palestine until the judges jointly select a central	43
location within the territorial jurisdiction of the court. When	44
the judges select a central location, the judges shall sit at	45
that location.	46
(J) In any municipal court, other than the Hamilton county	47

municipal court and the Montgomery county municipal court, that
has more than one judge, the decision for one or more judges to
sit outside the corporate limits of the municipal corporation
shall be made by rule of the court as provided in division (C)
of sections 1901.14 and 1901.16 of the Revised Code.

- (K) The assignment of a judge to sit in a municipal corporation other than that in which the court is located does not affect the jurisdiction of the mayor except as provided in section 1905.01 of the Revised Code.
- (L) The judges of the Clermont county municipal court may 57 sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory 58 within Clermont county. 59
- (M) Beginning July 1, 2010, the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in the same locations as the judges of the Montgomery county court court sat before the county court was abolished on that date. The legislative authority of the Montgomery county municipal court may determine after that date that the judges of the Montgomery county municipal court shall sit in any municipal corporation or unincorporated territory within Montgomery county.
- (N) The judge of the Tiffin-Fostoria municipal court shall sit within each of the municipal corporations of Tiffin and Fostoria on a weekly basis. Cases that arise within the municipal corporation of Tiffin and within Adams, Big Spring, Bloom, Clinton, Eden, Hopewell, Liberty, Pleasant, Reed, Scioto, Seneca, Thompson, and Venice townships in Seneca county shall be filed in the office of the clerk of the court located in the municipal corporation of Tiffin. Cases that arise in the municipal corporation of Fostoria and within Loudon and Jackson townships in Seneca county, within Washington township in

H. B. No. 607 As Reported by the House Criminal Justice Committee	Page 4
Hancock county, and within Perry township, except within the	78
municipal corporation of West Millgrove, in Wood county, shall	79
be filed in the office of the special deputy clerk located in	80
the municipal corporation of Fostoria.	81
Section 2. That existing section 1901.021 of the Revised	82
Code is hereby repealed.	83
Section 3. On the effective date of this act, all causes,	84
judgments, executions, and other proceedings pending in the	85
Wayne County Municipal Court located in the municipal	86
corporation of Orrville shall be transferred to and proceed in	87
the Wayne County Municipal Court located in the municipal	88
corporation of Wooster.	89