JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO House of Representatives JOURNAL

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 4, 2018

TWO HUNDRED FOURTEENTH DAY Hall of the House of Representatives, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 9:00 o'clock a.m.**

The House met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to House Rule No. 23, the Clerk called the House to order.

Representative Pelanda was selected to preside under the Rule.

The journal of the previous legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced:

H. B. No. 780 - Representatives Butler, Strahorn. Cosponsor: Representative Henne.

To amend sections 5739.01, 5739.02, and 5751.01 and to enact section 5709.122 of the Revised Code to provide that a nonprofit hospital is no longer exempt from property, sales, and commercial activity taxes if the hospital takes certain actions to reduce or cease operations at one of the hospital's facilities.

Said bill was considered the first time.

MOTIONS AND RESOLUTIONS

Representative Celebrezze reported for the Rules and Reference committee recommending that the following resolutions be read by title only and approved:

H. R. No. 594 - Representative Sykes

Honoring Saadhika Lakshmi Bagley on winning the 2018 Ohio All Girls K-12 U1000 Chess Championship.

H. R. No. 595 - Representative Sykes

Honoring the Archbishop Hoban High School football team as the Division II State Champion.

H. R. No. 596 - Representatives Landis and Thompson

Honoring Randy and Koral Clum as American Tree Farm System National Outstanding Tree Farmers of the Year.

H. R. No. 597 - Speaker Smith, Representatives Strahorn, Anielski, Antani, Antonio, Arndt, Ashford, Barnes, Becker, Blessing, Boccieri, Boggs, Boyd, Brenner, Brinkman, Brown, Butler, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Cera, Clyde, Craig, Cupp, Dean, Dever, DeVitis, Duffey, Edwards, Faber, Fedor, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Gonzales, Green, Greenspan, Hagan, Hambley, Hill, Holmes, Hood, Hoops, Householder, Howse, Huffman, Hughes, Ingram, Johnson, Keller, Kelly, Kent, Kick, Koehler, Landis, Lanese, Lang, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lipps, Manning, McClain, Merrin, Miller, O'Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Patton, Pelanda, Perales, Ramos, Reece, Reineke, Retherford, Riedel, Roegner, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Scherer, Schuring, Seitz, Sheehy, Slaby, Smith, K., Smith, T., Sprague, Stein, Sweeney, B., Sykes, Thompson, Vitale, West, Wiggam, Wilkin, Young, Zeltwanger Honoring Michael Henne for outstanding service as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives.

H. R. No. 598 - Speaker Smith, Representatives Strahorn, Anielski, Antani, Antonio, Arndt, Ashford, Barnes, Becker, Blessing, Boccieri, Boggs, Boyd, Brenner, Brinkman, Brown, Butler, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Cera, Clyde, Craig, Cupp, Dean, Dever, DeVitis, Duffey, Edwards, Faber, Fedor, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Gonzales, Green, Greenspan, Hagan, Hambley, Henne, Hill, Holmes, Hood, Hoops, Householder, Howse, Huffman, Hughes, Ingram, Johnson, Keller, Kelly, Kent, Kick, Koehler, Landis, Lanese, Lang, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lipps, Manning, McClain, Merrin, Miller, O'Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Patton, Pelanda, Perales, Ramos, Reece, Reineke, Retherford, Riedel, Roegner, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Scherer, Schuring, Seitz, Sheehy, Slaby, Smith, K., Smith, T., Sprague, Stein, Sweeney, B., Sykes, Vitale, West, Wiggam, Wilkin, Young, Zeltwanger

Honoring Andy Thompson for outstanding service as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives.

H. R. No. 599 - Speaker Smith, Representatives Strahorn, Anielski, Antani, Antonio, Arndt, Barnes, Becker, Blessing, Boccieri, Boggs, Boyd, Brenner, Brinkman, Brown, Butler, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Cera, Clyde, Craig, Cupp, Dean, Dever, DeVitis, Duffey, Edwards, Faber, Fedor, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Gonzales, Green, Greenspan, Hagan, Hambley, Henne, Hill, Holmes, Hood, Hoops, Householder, Howse, Huffman, Hughes, Ingram, Johnson, Keller, Kelly, Kent, Kick, Koehler, Landis, Lanese, Lang, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lipps, Manning, McClain, Merrin, Miller, O'Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Patton, Pelanda, Perales, Ramos, Reece, Reineke, Retherford, Riedel, Roegner, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Scherer, Schuring, Seitz, Sheehy, Slaby, Smith, K., Smith, T., Sprague, Stein, Sweeney, B., Sykes, Thompson, Vitale, West, Wiggam, Wilkin, Young, Zeltwanger Honoring Michael Ashford for outstanding service as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives.

H. R. No. 600 - Speaker Smith, Representatives Strahorn, Anielski, Antani, Antonio, Arndt, Ashford, Barnes, Becker, Blessing, Boccieri, Boggs, Boyd, Brenner, Brinkman, Brown, Butler, Carfagna, Celebrezze, Cera, Clyde, Craig, Cupp, Dean, Dever, DeVitis, Duffey, Edwards, Faber, Fedor, Galonski, Gavarone, Ginter, Gonzales, Green, Greenspan, Hagan, Hambley, Henne, Hill, Holmes, Hood, Hoops, Householder, Howse, Huffman, Hughes, Ingram, Johnson, Keller, Kelly, Kent, Kick, Koehler, Landis, Lanese, Lang, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lipps, Manning, McClain, Merrin, Miller, O'Brien, Patmon, Patterson, Patton, Pelanda, Perales, Ramos, Reece, Reineke, Retherford, Riedel, Roegner, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Scherer, Schuring, Seitz, Sheehy, Slaby, Smith, K., Smith, T., Stein, Sweeney, B., Sykes, Thompson, Vitale, West, Wiggam, Wilkin, Young, Zeltwanger

Honoring Robert Cole Sprague for his exemplary service to the State of Ohio.

H. R. No. 601 - Representatives Antonio, Anielski, Patton Honoring the St. Edward High School football team on winning the 2018 Division I State Championship.

> /s/<u>RYAN SMITH</u> Ryan Smith, Chair

Representative Hill moved that the Rules and Reference committee report on resolutions be agreed to and that the resolutions contained therein be approved.

The motion was agreed to.

BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION

H. B. No. 719-Representative Pelanda.

Cosponsors: Representatives Anielski, Hambley, Holmes, Arndt, Boyd, Carfagna, Hoops, Perales.

To enact section 109.67 of the Revised Code to require the Attorney General to create and maintain a statewide tracking system for the processing of sexual assault examination kits, was taken up for consideration the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill pass?"

Representative Hill moved that **H. B. No. 719-**Representative Pelanda, et al., be informally passed and retain its place on the calendar.

The motion was agreed to without objection.

Message from the Senate

Mr. Speaker:

I am directed to inform the House of Representatives that the Senate accedes to the request of the House of Representatives for a committee of conference on matters of difference between the two Houses on:

Sub. S. B. No. 86 - Senator Hackett – et. al.

The President of the Senate has appointed as managers on the part of the Senate on such matters of difference:

Senators Uecker, Hackett and Thomas

Attest:

Vincent L. Keeran, Clerk.

MESSAGE FROM THE SPEAKER

The Speaker hereby appoints the following members of the House to the committee of conference on matters of difference between the two houses on:

Sub. S.B. No. 86 – Senator Hackett, et al.

Representatives Green, Anielski, and Holmes.

On motion of Representative Hill, the House adjourned until Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 9:00 o'clock a.m.

Attest:

BRADLEY J. YOUNG, Clerk.