JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2017

FIFTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, January 17, 2017, 11:00 o'clock a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment. The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved. Senator LaRose was in attendance.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered: **S. R. No. 6** - Senators Hackett, Beagle, Lehner.

Honoring the Victoria Theatre on its One Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 7 - Senators Hackett, Beagle.

Honoring Patterson Homestead on its Two Hundredth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 8 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Barbara Lach as a 2016 Distinguished Service Award recipient.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Speaker of the House of Representatives has signed the following concurrent resolutions:

H. C. R. No. 1 - Speaker Rosenberger, Representative Strahorn H. C. R. No. 2 - Representative Schuring

Attest:

Bradley J. Young, Clerk.

The President signed said concurrent resolutions.

18 SENATE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2017

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to H.C.R. No.2, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to serve on the Joint Committee to Attend the Inauguration of The Honorable Donald J. Trump:

Senator Larry Obhof Senator Bob Peterson Senator Kevin Bacon Senator Dave Burke Senator Frank Hoagland Senator Frank LaRose

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 101.35 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review:

Senator Joe Uecker, Vice Chair Senator Troy Balderson Senator Stephanie Kunze Senator Cecil Thomas Senator Kenny Yuko

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 101.34 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee:

Senator Larry Obhof (Vice Chair) Senator Scott Oelslager Senator Matt Huffman Senator Joe Schiavoni Senator Vernon Sykes Senator Sean O'Brien

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve as members on the Controlling Board:

Senator Scott Oelslager

Senator Bill Coley Senator Charleta Tavares

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.11 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following Senators to serve as members of the Legislative Service Commission:

Senator Larry Obhof (Vice Chair) Senator Gayle Manning Senator Randy Gardner Senator Cliff Hite Senator Joe Schiavoni Senator Edna Brown

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.71 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following senators to serve on the Correctional Institution Inspection Committee:

Senator Cliff Hite Senator Gayle Manning Senator Edna Brown Senator Sandra Williams

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.41(B)(1) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to serve on the Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee:

Senator Dave Burke Senator William Coley Senator Lou Terhar Senator Charleta Tavares Senator Vernon Sykes

Pursuant to Section 103.41(D) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate designates the following member as the ranking minority member of the Joint Medicaid Oversight Committee:

Senator Charleta Tavares

20 SENATE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, JANUARY 17, 2017

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 103.50(B) of Am. Sub. H.B. 64 of the 131st General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Joint Education Oversight Committee:

Senator Cliff Hite Senator Matt Huffman Senator Peggy Lehner Senator Vernon Sykes, Ranking Minority Member Senator Sandra Williams

On the motion of Senator Gardner, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.