OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

THURSDAY, APRIL 20, 2017

FORTIETH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Thursday, April 20, 2017, 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 134 - Senator Gardner.

To enact section 5534.151 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of State Route 795 in Wood County as the "Lt Col Thomas P. Belkofer Memorial Highway."

S. B. No. 135 - Senator LaRose.

Cosponsors: Senators Eklund, Uecker, Brown, Skindell.

To make supplemental operating appropriations for the FY 2018-FY 2019 biennium and supplemental capital appropriations for the FY 2017-FY 2018 biennium to implement a voting machine and equipment acquisition program.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 120 - Senator Sykes.

Honoring the Archbishop Hoban High School football team as the 2016 Division III State Champion.

S. R. No. 121 - Senator Sykes.

Honoring the St. Vincent-St. Mary High School boys basketball team as the 2017 Division II State Champions.

S. R. No. 122 - Senators Brown, Gardner.

Honoring the University of Toledo women's basketball team as the 2017 MAC Champions.

S. R. No. 123 - Senator Peterson.

Honoring Dr. Brian J. Santin as the 2016 OSMA Advocate of the Year.

S. R. No. 124 - Senator Obhof.

Honoring Jacob Wickey on placing first in the weight throw at the 2017 New Balance National indoor track and field meet.

S. R. No. 125 - Senator Obhof.

Honoring Nick Miller as a 2017 New Balance National Indoor Track Meet Champion.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate makes the following changes to Senate standing committees:

- Remove Senator Yuko from Education; Government Oversight and Reform; Insurance and Financial Institutions; Local Government, Public Safety and Veterans Affairs; Transportation, Commerce and Workforce; and the Finance Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education, and replace with Senator Schiavoni.
- Remove Senator Schiavoni from Rules and Reference and the Finance Subcommittee on General Government, and replace with Senator Yuko.
- Remove Senator Tavares as the Ranking Member of Transportation, Commerce and Workforce, and replace with Senator Schiavoni as Ranking Member.
- Remove Senator Yuko as the Ranking Member of Government Oversight and Reform, and replace with Senator Schiavoni as Ranking Member.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Jay Hottinger to the Controlling Board as a temporary replacement for Senator Scott Oelslager for the purpose of the board's meeting on Monday, April 24, 2017.

On the motion of Senator Gardner, the Senate adjourned until Tuesday, April 25, 2017 at 11:00 a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN
	Clerk