JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 5, 2017

EIGHTY-SEVENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, September 5, 2017, 11:00 o'clock a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Senator Skindell was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 185 - Senator Terhar. Cosponsors: Senators Beagle, Coley, LaRose, Lehner, Oelslager, Wilson, Yuko.

To enact section 5534.76 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of Interstate Route 75 in Hamilton County as the "Lance Corporal Christopher J. Dyer USMC, Lima Co, 3/25 Marines Memorial Highway."

S. B. No. 186 - Senator Peterson.

To amend section 5733.40 of the Revised Code to provide that wages and guaranteed payments paid by a professional employer organization to the owner of a pass-through entity that has contracted with the organization may be considered business income.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 274 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring John O'Handley as the 2017 Ohio Academy of Family Physicians Family Medicine Educator of the Year.

S. R. No. 275 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Ava Palka as a 2017 Ohio Invention Convention winner.

S. R. No. 276 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Kayden Willig as a 2017 Ohio Invention Convention winner.

S. R. No. 277 - Senators Kunze, Bacon, Tavares.

Honoring The Ohio State University Aviation Education Program on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's

prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 5101.91 (B)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Healthier Buckeye Advisory Council:

Senator Bob Hackett Senator Vernon Sykes

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 718.60 (B)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Sean O'Brien to the Municipal Income Tax Net Operating Loss Review Committee.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 5101.345 (A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Ohio Family Stability Commission:

Senator Stephanie Kunze Senator Charleta Tavares

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 4141.08 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to serve on the Unemployment Compensation Advisory Council:

Senator Jay Hottinger (Chair, Insurance and Financial Institutions) Senator Kevin Bacon Senator Joe Schiavoni

On the motion of Senator Obhof, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, September 7, 2017 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.