OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, APRIL 23, 2018

ONE HUNDRED SEVENTIETH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, April 23, 2018, 9:30 a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Kunze was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator LaRose submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Transportation, Commerce and Workforce, to which was referred **H. B. No. 10-**Representative Arndt, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: LaRose, Tavares.

YES - 11: FRANK LAROSE, STEPHANIE KUNZE, GAYLE
MANNING, MATT DOLAN, EDNA BROWN, FRANK
HOAGLAND, JAY HOTTINGER, JOSEPH SCHIAVONI,
ROB MCCOLLEY, CHARLETA B. TAVARES, JOE
UECKER

NO - 0.

Senator LaRose submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Transportation, Commerce and Workforce, to which was referred **H. B. No. 159-**Representative Riedel, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: LaRose, Kunze, Manning, Brown, Tavares.

YES - 11: FRANK LAROSE, STEPHANIE KUNZE, GAYLE
MANNING, ROB MCCOLLEY, CHARLETA B. TAVARES,
MATT DOLAN, EDNA BROWN, FRANK HOAGLAND,
JAY HOTTINGER, JOSEPH SCHIAVONI, JOE UECKER

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the reports of the committee be accepted?"

The reports of the committee were accepted.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 291 - Senator Coley.

Cosponsors: Senators Lehner, Terhar.

To amend section 2151.421 and to enact sections 2151.90, 2151.901, 2151.902, and 2151.903 of the Revised Code regarding regulation of host family agreements.

S. B. No. 292 - Senator Terhar.

To amend sections 135.03, 135.032, 135.04, 135.06, 135.08, 135.10, 135.11, 135.14, 135.144, 135.32, 135.321, 135.33, 135.35, 135.353, 135.51, 135.52, 135.53, 135.71, 135.78, 1733.01, 1733.04, 1733.041, 1733.05, 1733.13, 1733.14, 1733.16, 1733.19, 1733.22, 1733.24, 1733.30, 1733.31, and 1733.329, to enact sections 135.011, 1733.051, and 1733.152, and to repeal section 1733.26 of the Revised Code to revise the laws governing credit unions and to allow credit unions to serve as public depositories.

S. B. No. 293 - Senators Peterson, McColley. Cosponsors: Senators Obhof, Wilson, Bacon, Hoagland, Huffman, LaRose, Coley, Uecker, Jordan.

To amend section 106.03 and to enact sections 101.352, 101.353, 121.93, 121.931, and 121.932 of the Revised Code to require agencies to reduce the number of regulatory restrictions.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 534 - Senator Manning.

Honoring the Rotary Club of Elyria on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 535 - Senator Tayares.

Honoring Rodney McBride on being named the 2018 Ohio Big Brother of the Year.

S. R. No. 536 - Senator Gardner.

Honoring Klotz Floral Design and Garden on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 537 - Senators Gardner, Manning.

Honoring Casey Barnett as the 2018 Division III State Wrestling Champion in the 106-pound weight class.

S. R. No. 538 - Senator Terhar.

Honoring the Deer Park High School boys basketball team as the 2018 Division III State Champion.

S. R. No. 539 - Senator Terhar.

Honoring the Archbishop Moeller High School boys basketball team as the 2018 Division I State Champion.

S. R. No. 540 - Senator Oelslager.

Honoring the Hoover High School girls 400-yard freestyle relay team on securing the 2018 Division I State Championship title.

S. R. No. 541 - Senator LaRose.

Honoring the Kingsway Christian School girls basketball team as the 2018 OCSAA State Champion.

S. R. No. 542 - Senators Kunze, Hackett, Bacon, Jordan, Obhof, Manning, Hottinger, Oelslager, Terhar, Coley, Peterson, Eklund, O'Brien, Thomas, Uecker, Skindell, LaRose, Gardner, Yuko, Beagle, Dolan, Lehner, Balderson, Burke, Hoagland, Huffman.

In memory of Earle Bruce.

S. R. No. 543 - Senator Hoagland.

Honoring the St. Clairsville High School cheerleading team on winning the 2018 OASSA Division IV State Championship in the non-building category.

S. R. No. 544 - Senator Hoagland.

Honoring Colt Yinger on winning a 2018 Division III State Wrestling Championship.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Jay Hottinger to the Controlling Board as a temporary replacement for Senator Scott Oelslager and Senator Stephanie Kunze as a temporary replacement for Senator Bill Coley for the purpose of the board's meeting on Monday, April 23, 2018.

	On the	motion	of Senator	Tavares,	the Sena	ate adjo	urned ui	ntil W	ednesda	ay,
A	pril 25,	2018 at	9:30 a.m.			_				-

Attest: VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.