OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, MAY 21, 2018

ONE HUNDRED SEVENTY-NINTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, May 21, 2018, 11:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator Balderson submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Energy and Natural Resources, to which was referred **Sub. H. B. No. 225**-Representative Thompson, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: Gardner, Hoagland, LaRose.

YES - 10: FRANK HOAGLAND, RANDY GARDNER, MATT DOLAN, TROY BALDERSON, KRIS JORDAN, KEVIN BACON, SEAN O'BRIEN, SANDRA WILLIAMS, BILL BEAGLE, FRANK LAROSE

NO - 0.

Senator Lehner submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Education, to which was referred **Sub. H. B. No. 438-**Representatives Hambley, Kick, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

YES - 10: LOU TERHAR, ROB MCCOLLEY, GAYLE MANNING, RANDY GARDNER, WILLIAM P. COLEY, II, PEGGY LEHNER, MATT HUFFMAN, VERNON SYKES, JOSEPH SCHIAVONI, CECIL THOMAS

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the reports of the committees be accepted?" The reports of the committees were accepted.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Senator Tavares offered the following concurrent resolution:

S. C. R. No. 24-Senator Tayares.

Cosponsors: Senators Beagle, Brown, Lehner, Manning, LaRose, O'Brien, Oelslager, Schiavoni, Sykes, Thomas, Williams.

To raise awareness about the prevalence of mental illness in the United States and Ohio.

The question being, "Shall the concurrent resolution, S. C. R. No. 24, be adopted?"

On the motion of Senator Coley, S. C. R. No. 24, was referred to the Committee on Rules and Reference.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 572 - Senator LaRose.

Honoring the Wooster wheelchair basketball team on winning the 2018 Ohio Interscholastic Wheelchair Basketball State Championship title.

S. R. No. 573 - Senator Coley.

Honoring Dustin Horter on being named the Ohio 2017 Gatorade Cross Country Runner of the Year.

S. R. No. 574 - Senator Obhof.

Honoring Robin Laubaugh as the 2018 Ohio Mother of the Year.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3503.061 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Bill Beagle to the Ohio Ballot Board to replace Senator Frank LaRose who resigned.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 5540.02(C)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Mr. Rick Ewing of Ashland county as a non-voting member of the Ashland County Transportation Improvement District.

On the motion of Senator	Coley, the Senate	adjourned unti	l Wednesday,
May 23, 2018 at 1:30 p.m.			

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.