## As Offered

## 132nd General Assembly Regular Session 2017-2018

H. R. No. 381

1

2

6

7

9

10

11

12

1.3

14

15

16

17

18

19

2.0

21

22

23

24

25

26

## **Representative Hughes**

## A RESOLUTION

Honoring Tim May as the 2018 Ohio Sportswriter of the Year.

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 132nd General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to pay tribute to Tim May on being named the 2018 Ohio Sportswriter of the Year by the National Sports Media Association; and

WHEREAS, Tim May has shown remarkable talent as a sportswriter, and over the span of more than four decades, his passionate compositions have reached thousands of people, making him the rightful recipient of this year's Ohio Sportswriter of the Year Award from the National Sports Media Association. In his hometown, he has reported for *The Columbus Dispatch* since 1976 and covered The Ohio State University football team since 1984, and his voice has been a constant presence that has chronicled the storied success of the Buckeyes. He has demonstrated admirable devotion to his work, establishing a record of achievement that will stand as a hallmark for others to emulate; and

WHEREAS, Always genuine and energetic in his approach to his work, Tim May has been a worthy ambassador for athleticism. He has written about competitions from high schools and small colleges to professional sports, including the Super Bowl, the Indianapolis 500, the Masters Tournament, boxing, and the Los Angeles Olympic Games, and he has presented his coverage with class and style. Indeed, he has displayed a genuine commitment to attaining his goals in a skillful and professional manner; and

WHEREAS, The integrity manifested by Tim May has earned him the utmost respect and admiration from all those who have been impacted by his work. He has combined civic concern and dedication

H. R. No. 381	Page 2
As Offered	_

27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39