OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, APRIL 15, 2019

FORTY-THIRD DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, April 15, 2019, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Brenner was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 130 - Senator Maharath.

To enact sections 4723.93, 4731.92, 4732.34, 4743.09, and 4757.46 of the Revised Code to prohibit certain health care professionals from engaging in conversion therapy when treating minor patients.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 145 - Senators Kunze, Burke.

Honoring Trent Belli as a member of the 2018-2019 All-Ohio first team in ice hockey as its Offensive Player of the Year.

S. R. No. 146 - Senator Peterson.

Honoring Haleigh McGraw as the 2019 OH-WAY 8U 59-pound State Wrestling Champion.

S. R. No. 147 - Senator Peterson.

Honoring Lyndyn Gibbs as a 2019 OH-WAY State Champion.

S. R. No. 148 - Senator McColley.

Honoring the St. Marys Memorial High School girls bowling team on securing the 2019 Division II State Championship.

S. R. No. 149 - Senator McColley.

Honoring the St. Marys Memorial High School boys bowling team as the 2019 Division II State Champion.

S. R. No. 150 - Senator McColley.

Honoring the St. Marys Memorial High School girls powerlifting team as the 2019 State Champion.

S. R. No. 151 - Senators Manning, Antonio.

Honoring Bryce Hepner as a 2019 Division I State Wrestling Champion.

S. R. No. 152 - Senator Eklund.

Honoring the Madison Public Library on its Centennial.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the House of Representatives has passed the following bill in which the concurrence of the Senate is requested:

Sub. H. B. No. 66 - Representative Merrin

Cosponsors: Representatives Lang, Romanchuk, Vitale, Becker, Miller, A., Riedel, Zeltwanger, Schaffer, Jordan, Leland, Crossman, Galonski, Rogers, Seitz, Smith, T., Carfagna, Carruthers, Cross, DeVitis, Ginter, Green, Greenspan, Hambley, Holmes, A., Hoops, Jones, Keller, Kick, Lanese, Manning, D., McClain, Oelslager, Perales, Plummer, Powell, Reineke, Scherer, Sheehy, Stein, Stoltzfus, Wiggam

To amend sections 2929.01, 2929.18, and 2929.28 of the Revised Code to enact the "Theft Victims' Restitution Act" to allow restitution for the cost of accounting or auditing done to determine the extent of a victim's economic loss.

Attest:	Bradley J. Young,
	Clerk.

Said bill was considered the first time.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr President:

I am directed to inform you that the Speaker of the House of Representatives has signed the following bill:

Sul	5. S	. B.	No.	23	- Senator	Roegner -	– et al.
-----	------	------	-----	----	-----------	-----------	----------

Attest:	Bradley J. Young,
	Clerk

The President signed said bill.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr President:

I am directed to inform you that the House of Representatives has concurred in the passage of the following bill:

Am. S. B. No. 30 -Senators Kunze, Williams

Cosponsors: Senators Brenner, Antonio, Sykes, Thomas, Craig, Hackett, Fedor, Maharath, O'Brien, Yuko, Lehner, Roegner, Gavarone, Obhof, Rulli, Coley, Hoagland, Uecker, Burke, Dolan, Eklund, Hill, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Manning, McColley, Peterson, Schuring, Terhar, Wilson Representatives Ginter, Kelly, Greenspan, Hambley, Russo, Smith, R., Sobecki, Antani, Arndt, Baldridge, Blessing, Boggs, Boyd, Brent, Brown, Butler, Callender, Carfagna, Carruthers, Cera, Clites, Crawley, Cross, Crossman, Cupp, DeVitis, Edwards, Galonski, Ghanbari, Green, Hicks-Hudson, Holmes, A., Holmes, G., Hoops, Howse, Ingram, Jones, Kent, Kick, Koehler, Lanese, Lang, LaTourette, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Liston, Manchester, Manning, D., Manning, G., McClain, Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, O'Brien, Oelslager, Patterson, Perales, Plummer, Reineke, Richardson, Riedel, Roemer, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Schaffer, Scherer, Seitz, Sheehy, Skindell, Smith, K., Smith, T., Stein, Stoltzfus, Strahorn, Sweeney, Sykes, Upchurch, West, Wiggam, Wilkin

To create the Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission.

Attest:	Bradley J. Young,
	Clerk

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 5101.34(A)(1)(b) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Hearcel Craig to serve on the Ohio

Commission on Fatherhood.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 107.12(D)(1)(c) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Lou Terhar to serve on the Governor's Advisory Board of Faith-Based and Community Initiatives.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3333.41(A)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Stephanie Kunze to serve on the Midwestern Higher Education Compact for a term ending December 31, 2020.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 122.17(M) of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints the following public member to serve on the Ohio Tax Credit Authority for a term of four years:

David O. Smith (Warren county)

On the motion of Senator Uecker, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, April 18, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN,
	Clerk