JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

TUESDAY, APRIL 30, 2019

FORTY-SEVENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Tuesday, April 30, 2019, 9:00 o'clock a.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The following guest was recognized by the Senate prior to the commencement of business:

Senator Peterson recognized Jeff Sandt on his visit to the Statehouse.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 138 - Senator Maharath

Cosponsors: Senators Craig, Antonio, Thomas, O'Brien, Yuko, Sykes, Fedor, Williams

To enact section 5.246 of the Revised Code to designate the month of June as "Pride Month."

S. B. No. 139 - Senators Gavarone, Peterson

To amend section 5747.01 and to enact sections 193.01, 193.02, 193.03, 193.04, 193.05, 193.06, and 193.07 of the Revised Code to enact the First-time Home Buyer Savings Act, authorizing income tax deductions for contributions to and earnings on savings accounts designated for the purchase of a home.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 173 - Senator Hottinger

Honoring Mark J. Weiner on receiving the 2019 National Crime Victim Service Award.

S. R. No. 174 - Senators Huffman, S., Lehner

Honoring the Trotwood-Madison High School boys basketball team on winning the 2019 Division II State Championship.

S. R. No. 175 - Senator Manning

Honoring the Lorain Kiwanis Club on its Centennial.

S. R. No. 176 - Senator Manning

366 SENATE JOURNAL, TUESDAY, APRIL 30, 2019

Honoring the Elyria Kiwanis Club on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

S. R. No. 177 - Senator Kunze

Honoring Dr. Rattan Lal on receiving the 2019 Japan Prize.

S. R. No. 178 - Senator Kunze

Honoring Patti Schlaegel as the Ohio National Distinguished Principal for 2019.

S. R. No. 179 - Senators Kunze, Fedor, Hoagland, Gavarone, Roegner, Hackett, Thomas, Brenner, Huffman, S., Williams, Lehner, Obhof, Antonio, Wilson, Huffman, M., Rulli

Recognizing Teacher Appreciation Day in Ohio May 7, 2019.

S. R. No. 180 - Senator Eklund

Honoring Black United Students at Kent State University on its contributions to the citizens of the State of Ohio

S. R. No. 181 - Senator Huffman, M.

Honoring the Minster High School girls basketball team on winning the 2019 Division IV State Championship.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?" So the resolutions were adopted.

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE GOVERNOR

The President handed down the following messages from the Governor which were read by the Clerk:

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT **OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS**

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Sandra K. Barber, from Wauseon, Fulton County, Ohio, as a Member of the Northwest State Community College Board of Trustees for a term beginning March 29, 2019 and ending at the close of business June 9, 2023, replacing Paul S. Siebenmorgen, who resigned.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and

caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 29th day of March in the year of our Lord, two thousand and nineteen.

[Seal]

Mike DeWine, Governor.

STATE OF OHIO EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR COLUMBUS

I, Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio, do hereby appoint, Manuel Lopez Ramirez, MBA, from Springfield, Clark County, Ohio, as a Member of the Commission on Hispanic-Latino Affairs for a term beginning March 25, 2019 and ending at the close of business October 7, 2020, replacing Luis "Tony" Ortiz, who resigned.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto subscribed my name and caused the Great Seal of the State of Ohio to be affixed, at Columbus, this 25th day of March in the year of our Lord, two thousand and nineteen.

[Seal] Mike DeWine, Governor. Said appointments were referred to the committee on Rules and Reference.

On the motion of Senator Peterson, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 1:30 p.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.