JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 12, 2019

## SIXTY-SIXTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Wednesday, June 12, 2019, 1:30 p.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Dr. Stephen Swisher, Etna United Methodist Church in Etna, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests were recognized by the Senate prior to the commencement of business:

Senator Hottinger recognized Garrett Ford on winning four gold medals at the 2019 Special Olympics World Summer Games.

Senator Lehner recognized the Northmont High School Academic Challenge team on winning the Frosh/Soph History Bowl State Championship.

Senator McColley recognized Kirsten Clay on winning a 2019 track and field state championship.

Senator Hoagland and Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board director Laura Battocletti presented President Obhof with a Capitol Cannons base ball cap and jersey for the game against the Ohio Village Muffins.

Senator Peterson recognized Sophia, Alexa, and Lisa Childs as well as Barb and Stan Coppock on their visit to the Statehouse.

# **REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES**

Senator Hoagland submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources, to which was referred **S. B. No. 2-**Senators Peterson, Dolan having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: Maharath, O'Brien, Schaffer.

YES - 9: TERESA FEDOR, TINA MAHARATH, SEAN J. O'BRIEN, FRANK HOAGLAND, STEPHANIE KUNZE, TIM SCHAFFER, BOB PETERSON, JOE UECKER, ROB MCCOLLEY

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the report of the committee be accepted?" The report of the committee was accepted.

#### **BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION**

Sub. S. B. No. 2-Senators Peterson, Dolan. Cosponsors: Senators Maharath, O'Brien, Schaffer.

To amend sections 939.02, 940.06, 6119.06, 6119.09, and 6119.091 and to enact sections 940.36 and 940.37 of the Revised Code to create the Statewide Watershed Planning and Management Program under the administration of the Director of Agriculture and to make changes to the law governing regional water and sewer districts, was considered the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill, Sub. S. B. No. 2, pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Kunze	Lehner	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

So the bill passed.

The question being, "Shall the title be agreed to?"

Senator Peterson moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Senators Antonio, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Fedor, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Kunze, Lehner, Manning, McColley, Obhof, Roegner, Rulli, Schuring, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Williams, Wilson, Yuko."

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

S. B. No. 95-Senators Peterson, Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Wilson, Rulli, Hackett, Huffman, S., Lehner, Terhar, Schaffer, Manning, Schuring.

To amend sections 122.17, 3735.65, 3735.67, 3735.671, 5709.61, 5709.62, 5709.63, 5709.631, 5709.632, and 5751.01 of the Revised Code to enhance state and local tax inducements for businesses making substantial fixed asset and employment investments and their suppliers, was considered the third time.

#### 464 SENATE JOURNAL, WEDNESDAY, JUNE 12, 2019

The question being, "Shall the bill, S. B. No. 95, pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Kunze	Lehner	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

So the bill passed.

The question being, "Shall the title be agreed to?"

Senator Kunze moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Senators Antonio, Craig, Dolan, Eklund, Fedor, Maharath, O'Brien, Sykes, Uecker, Williams."

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

#### MOTIONS

Senator Hottinger moved that Senators absent the week of Sunday, June 9, 2019, be excused, so long as a written explanation is on file with the Clerk pursuant to Senate Rule No. 17.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to.

#### INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 163 - Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Williams, Yuko, Schaffer, Fedor, Antonio.

To amend section 4501.21 and to enact section 4503.725 of the Revised Code to create the "ALS Awareness" license plate.

### **OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolution was offered:

S. R. No. 229 - Senator Hottinger.

Honoring the Perry County Children Services Board on its One Hundredth Anniversary.

The question being, "Shall the resolution listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?" So the resolution was adopted.

Senators Yuko, Kunze, Hottinger, and President Obhof addressed the Senate in memoriam of Columbus Dispatch reporter Jim Siegel, which was followed by a moment of silence.

On the motion of Senator Obhof, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, June 13, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.