# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

WEDNESDAY, JUNE 26, 2019

# SEVENTY-THIRD DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio **Wednesday, June 26, 2019, 1:30 p.m.**

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Pastor Brian Solomon, Southgate Baptist Church in Springfield, Ohio, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests were recognized by the Senate prior to the commencement of business:

Senator Hottinger recognized the Yinger Equestrian middle school hunt seat team as the 2019 IEA National Champion.

Senator Kunze recognized the Upper Arlington High School girls lacrosse team as the 2019 Division I State Champion.

Senator Coley recognized Taylor Small on being crowned the 2018-2019 National American Miss Pre-teen Queen.

Senator Hackett recognized Kylee Long on being crowned National American Miss Teen Queen for 2018-2019.

Senator Burke recognized Anisha Boone as the 2018 National American Miss Ohio Junior Teen Queen.

Senator Kunze recognized Justin Braun as the 2019 Division I State Track and Field champion in the 400-meter dash.

Senator Kunze recognized Noah Platfoot as the 2019 All-Ohio Division I Player of the Year in boys volleyball.

Senator Terhar recognized Brianna Miller, his senior legislative aide, on her service to the Senate and acceptance into law school.

Senators Hottinger and Yuko recognized Robert F. Kennedy Jr. on his visit to the Statehouse.

### REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator Obhof submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Rules and Reference to which were referred the

appointments by the Governor of:

**Leah R. Fishman,** from Bowling Green, Wood County, Ohio, as a Member of the Bowling Green State University Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 21, 2019 and ending at the close of business May 17, 2020, replacing Adam Smidi, who resigned.

**David A. Kosanovic,** Democrat, from Gahanna, Franklin County, Ohio, as a Member of the Ohio Tuition Trust Authority Investment Board for a new term beginning May 21, 2019 and ending at the close of business January 30, 2023, replacing David A. Kosanovic, whose term expired.

**Anand Shah,** from Centerville, Montgomery County, Ohio, as a Member of the The Ohio State University Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 21, 2019 and ending at the close of business May 13, 2021, replacing Henry Jordan Moseley, whose term expired.

**Ann H. Womer Benjamin,** Republican, from Aurora, Portage County, Ohio, as a Member of the Ohio Tuition Trust Authority Investment Board for a new term beginning May 21, 2019 and ending at the close of business January 30, 2023, replacing Ann H. Womer Benjamin, whose term expired.

**Victoria M. Woods**, from Warren, Trumbull County, Ohio, as a Member of the Youngstown State University Board of Trustees for a term beginning May 16, 2019 and ending at the close of business April 30, 2021, replacing Lexi Rager, whose term expired.

Having had the same under consideration, reports back the recommendation that the Senate advise and consent to said appointments.

YES – 14: DAVE BURKE, WILLIAM P. COLEY, II, MATT DOLAN, JOHN EKLUND, JAY HOTTINGER, MATT HUFFMAN, STEPHANIE KUNZE, SEAN J. O'BRIEN, LARRY OBHOF, BOB PETERSON, CECIL THOMAS, SANDRA R. WILLIAMS, STEVE WILSON, KENNY YUKO NO – 0.

The question being, "Shall the Senate advise and consent to the appointments by the Governor?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 33, nays 0, as follows: Those who yoted in the affirmative were: Senators

| Antonio     | Brenner     | Burke    | Coley     |
|-------------|-------------|----------|-----------|
| Craig       | Dolan       | Eklund   | Fedor     |
| Gavarone    | Hackett     | Hoagland | Hottinger |
| Huffman, M. | Huffman, S. | Kunze    | Lehner    |
| Maharath    | Manning     | McColley | O'Brien   |
| Peterson    | Roegner     | Rulli    | Schaffer  |
| Schuring    | Sykes       | Terhar   | Thomas    |

Uecker Williams Wilson Yuko
Obhof-33

So the Senate advised and consented to said appointments.

### BILLS FOR THIRD CONSIDERATION

Sub. S. B. No. 39-Senator Schuring.

Cosponsor: Senator Terhar.

To amend sections 107.036, 5725.98, and 5729.98 and to enact sections 122.09, 5725.35, and 5729.18 of the Revised Code to authorize an insurance premiums tax credit for capital contributions to transformational mixed use development projects, was considered the third time.

The question being, "Shall the bill, **Sub. S. B. No. 39**, pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 1, as follows:

Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

| Antonio     | Brenner  | Burke     | Craig       |
|-------------|----------|-----------|-------------|
| Dolan       | Eklund   | Fedor     | Gavarone    |
| Hackett     | Hoagland | Hottinger | Huffman, M. |
| Huffman, S. | Kunze    | Lehner    | Maharath    |
| Manning     | McColley | O'Brien   | Peterson    |
| Roegner     | Rulli    | Schaffer  | Schuring    |
| Sykes       | Terhar   | Thomas    | Uecker      |
| Williams    | Wilson   | Yuko      | Obhof-32    |

Senator Coley voted in the negative-1.

So the bill passed.

The question being, "Shall the title be agreed to?"

Senator Schuring moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Senators Antonio, Craig, Dolan, Eklund, Fedor, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Huffman, S., Kunze, Lehner, Maharath, Manning, O'Brien, Williams, Wilson, Yuko."

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

## INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 169 - Senator Rulli.

To enact sections 5534.885, 5534.886, and 5534.887 of the Revised Code to designate three bridges in Canfield Township in Mahoning County, Ohio.

S. B. No. 170 - Senator Rulli.

To enact section 5534.827 of the Revised Code to designate a portion of

State Route 422 in Mahoning County as the "PFC Ronald J. Puskarcik Memorial Highway."

On the motion of Senator Peterson, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, June 27, 2019 at 11:00 a.m.

Attest: VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.