JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

SATURDAY, JUNE 29, 2019

SEVENTY-SIXTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Saturday, June 29, 2019, 4:00 o'clock p.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Prayer was offered by Senator Hearcel Craig followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests were recognized by the Senate prior to the commencement of business:

Senator Coley recognized Adam and Autumn Kerr on their wedding in the Statehouse.

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO SENATE BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

The amendment of the House of Representatives to:

Am. S. B. No. 107-Senator Rulli.

Cosponsors: Senators Brenner, Eklund, Antonio, Sykes, Fedor, Roegner, Coley, Hoagland, Huffman, M., Burke, Craig, Gavarone, Hackett, Huffman, S., Kunze, Lehner, Maharath, Manning, McColley, Obhof, Schaffer, Thomas, Uecker, Williams, Wilson, Yuko. Representatives Wiggam, Ginter, Kelly, Arndt, Hambley, Skindell, Smith, T., Sobecki, Baldridge, Blair, Blessing, Brent, Brown, Butler, Callender, Carruthers, Clites, Crossman, Denson, Green, Greenspan, Hicks-Hudson, Hoops, Ingram, Jones, Lanese, Lang, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Liston, Manning, G., McClain, Miller, A., Miranda, O'Brien, Patton, Richardson, Riedel, Robinson, Roemer, Russo, Ryan, Scherer, Smith, K., Stein, Weinstein, West.

To amend sections 2301.02, 2301.03, 3517.10, 3517.105, 3517.106, 3517.1011, and 3517.11 of the Revised Code to allow certain entities to file campaign finance statements electronically, to require the Secretary of State to make the information in those electronic statements available online, and to specify that the domestic relations judge of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas to be elected in 2020 will take office on January 3, 2021., was taken up.

The question being, "Shall the Senate concur in the amendment of the House of Representatives?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Burke	Coley
	Burke

Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

So the Senate concurred in the amendment of the House of Representatives.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 171 - Senators Dolan, O'Brien.

To enact a 17-day interim budget.

S. B. No. 172 - Senators Dolan, O'Brien.

To make operating appropriations for the Bureau of Workers' Compensation for the period beginning July 1, 2019, and ending July 31, 2019.

Senator Peterson moved that Article II, Section 15(c) of the Ohio Constitution, requiring a bill to be considered on three different days, be suspended with respect to **S. B. No. 171**, and that said bill be considered the second time.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley		
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor		
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger		
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath		
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson		
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring		
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker		
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32		

The motion was agreed to.

Senator Peterson moved that Article II, Section 15(c) of the Ohio Constitution, requiring a bill to be considered on three different days, be suspended with respect to **S. B. No. 171**, and that said bill be considered the third time.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
---------	---------	-------	-------

Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

The motion was agreed to.

The question being, "Shall the bill, S. B. No. 171, pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

So the bill passed.

The question being, "Shall the title be agreed to?"

Senator Dolan moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Senators Antonio, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Eklund, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Kunze, Maharath, Manning, McColley, Obhof, Peterson, Roegner, Rulli, Sykes, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Wilson, Yuko."

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

Senator Peterson moved that Article II, Section 15(c) of the Ohio Constitution, requiring a bill to be considered on three different days, be suspended with respect to **S. B. No. 172**, and that said bill be considered the second time.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

The motion was agreed to.

Senator Peterson moved that Article II, Section 15(c) of the Ohio Constitution, requiring a bill to be considered on three different days, be suspended with respect to **S. B. No. 172**, and that said bill be considered the third time.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

The motion was agreed to.

The question being, "Shall the bill, S. B. No. 172, pass?"

The yeas and nays were taken and resulted – yeas 32, nays 0, as follows: Those who voted in the affirmative were: Senators

Antonio	Brenner	Burke	Coley
Craig	Dolan	Eklund	Fedor
Gavarone	Hackett	Hoagland	Hottinger
Huffman, M.	Huffman, S.	Kunze	Maharath
Manning	McColley	O'Brien	Peterson
Roegner	Rulli	Schaffer	Schuring
Sykes	Terhar	Thomas	Uecker
Williams	Wilson	Yuko	Obhof-32

So the bill passed.

The question being, "Shall the title be agreed to?"

Senator Hackett moved to amend the title as follows:

Add the names: "Senators Antonio, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Eklund, Hackett, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Kunze, Maharath, McColley, Obhof, Roegner, Sykes, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Wilson, Yuko."

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to and the title so amended.

On the motion of Senator Peterson, the Senate adjourned until Monday, July 1, 2019 at 9:30 a.m.

566 SENATE JOURNAL, SATURDAY, JUNE 29, 2019

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.