OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

THURSDAY, JULY 11, 2019

EIGHTIETH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Thursday, July 11, 2019, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Burke was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

The following guests were recognized by the Senate prior to the commencement of business:

Senator Manning recognized Robert and Patricia Kurtz from Centerville, Ohio, on their visit to the Statehouse.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 173 - Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Maharath, Peterson, Williams, Fedor.

To enact section 5.2521 of the Revised Code to designate September as "Hirschsprung's Disease Awareness Month."

S. B. No. 174 - Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Maharath, Williams.

To enact section 5.246 of the Revised Code to designate September 7 as "Ohio Grateful Patient Day."

S. B. No. 175 - Senator Schaffer.

Cosponsor: Senator Eklund.

To amend section 2923.126 of the Revised Code to grant civil immunity to nonprofit corporations and persons associated with them for certain injuries, deaths, or losses resulting from the carrying of handguns.

S. B. No. 176 - Senator Schaffer.

To amend sections 715.27, 3781.102, 4740.01, 4740.03, 4740.04, 4740.05, 4740.06, 4740.07, 4740.11, 4740.12, 4740.13, 4740.131, 4740.14, 4740.16, and 4764.03 of the Revised Code to license residential only construction contractors and to make changes to the law regulating specialty construction contractors.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Senator Yuko offered the following resolution:

S. R. No. 303-Senator Yuko.

Cosponsors: Thomas, O'Brien, Williams, Antonio, Craig, Fedor, Maharath, Sykes.

To reaffirm the Ohio Senate's support of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010.

The question being, "Shall the resolution, S. R. No. 303, be adopted?"

On the motion of Senator Manning, S. R. No. 303, was referred to the Committee on Rules and Reference.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 304 - Senators McColley, Huffman, M., Obhof, Antonio, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Dolan, Eklund, Fedor, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, S., Kunze, Lehner, Maharath, Manning, O'Brien, Peterson, Roegner, Rulli, Schaffer, Schuring, Sykes, Terhar, Thomas, Uecker, Williams, Wilson, Yuko.

Honoring the Armstrong Air and Space Museum on the dedication of the Neil Armstrong STEM Inspiration Center and Neil A. Armstrong statues.

S. R. No. 305 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Stephanie Sipe as the Ohio winner of the 2019 Doodle for Google competition.

S. R. No. 306 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Samrithy Balaji on placing first at the 2019 Invention Convention U.S. Nationals.

S. R. No. 307 - Senator Obhof.

Honoring Campbell Miller as the 2019 National Guard Military Child of the Year.

S. R. No. 308 - Senator Roegner.

Honoring Lonnie Harper as a 2019 Division I State Track and Field Champion.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

]	am	directed	to inf	form	you t	hat t	he S	Speal	ker	of the	House	of
Re	prese	entatives	has s	igne	d the	follo	wir	ng bil	1:			

H. B. No. 59 - Representative Wiggam – et al.

Attest:	Bradley J. Young,
	Clerk

The President signed said bill.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to 755.20 (1) of Am. Sub. H.B. 62 of the 133rd General Assembly, the President of the Senate appoints the following members to the Ohio's Road to Our Future Joint Legislative Study Committee:

Senator Rob McColley, co-chair Senator Nathan Manning Senator Michael Rulli Senator Nickie Antonio Senator Cecil Thomas

On the motion of Senator Manning, the Senate adjourned until Monday, July 15, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN,
	Clerk