OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 16, 2019

ONE HUNDRED FIFTEENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Wednesday, October 16, 2019, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO SENATE BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

The amendments of the House of Representatives to:

Am. S. B. No. 24-Senators Wilson, Yuko.

Cosponsors: Senators Eklund, Kunze, Hackett, Terhar, Antonio, Fedor, Thomas, Williams, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Dolan, Gavarone, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Lehner, Maharath, Manning, McColley, Obhof, O'Brien, Roegner, Rulli, Sykes, Uecker. Representatives Arndt, Howse, Clites, Green, Liston, Roemer, Russo, Scherer, Abrams, Baldridge, Blair, Boggs, Brent, Brown, Butler, Carruthers, Crawley, Crossman, Cupp, Denson, Edwards, Galonski, Ginter, Greenspan, Hambley, Hicks-Hudson, Holmes, A., Hoops, Ingram, Kick, Koehler, Lang, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Manning, G., Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, O'Brien, Oelslager, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Plummer, Reineke, Richardson, Riedel, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Seitz, Sheehy, Skindell, Smith, K., Sobecki, Stein, Stoltzfus, Strahorn, Swearingen, Sweeney, Sykes, Upchurch, Weinstein, West, Wiggam.

To establish the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias Task Force, was taken up.

Senator Peterson moved that the amendments of the House of Representatives to **Am. S. B. No. 24**, be informally passed and retain their place on the calendar.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to.

The amendments of the House of Representatives to:

Sub. S. B. No. 26-Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Maharath, Thomas, Roegner, Sykes, Williams, Fedor, Manning, Antonio, Coley, Craig, Eklund, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, S., Lehner, McColley, Obhof, Peterson, Rulli, Schaffer, Schuring, Terhar, Uecker, Wilson, Yuko. Representatives Butler, Edwards, Carfagna, Greenspan, Hambley, O'Brien, Patterson, Perales, Roemer, Rogers,

Abrams, Antani, Baldridge, Blair, Boggs, Brent, Brown, Callender, Carruthers, Cera, Clites, Crawley, Cross, Crossman, Denson, Galonski, Ghanbari, Ginter, Hicks-Hudson, Hillyer, Hood, Hoops, Howse, Ingram, Jordan, Keller, Kelly, Koehler, Lanese, Lang, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Liston, Manning, D., Manning, G., Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, Oelslager, Patton, Plummer, Reineke, Richardson, Riedel, Robinson, Russo, Rvan, Seitz, Sheehy, Smith, T., Sobecki, Stein, Swearingen, Sweeney, Sykes, Upchurch, Weinstein, West, Wiggam, Wilkin.

To amend sections 5739.01, 5739.012, 5739.02, 5739.03, 5747.01, and 5747.08 and to repeal section 101.61 of the Revised Code and to amend Sections 333.83 and 757.150 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly to authorize a state income tax deduction for teachers' out-of-pocket expenses for professional development and classroom supplies, to modify the business income deduction and delay some tax credit repeals, to exempt feminine hygiene products and some incontinence products from sales and use tax, to abolish the Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission, and to modify a "Food Farmacy" pilot project earmark, was taken up.

Senator Peterson moved that the amendments of the House of Representatives to Sub. S. B. No. 26, be informally passed and retain their place on the calendar.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator Lehner submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Education, to which was referred S. B. No. 89-Senator Huffman, M., et al., having had the same under consideration, reports back a substitute bill and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: Coley, Manning.

YES - 9: THERESA GAVARONE, WILLIAM P. COLEY, II, STEPHEN A. HUFFMAN, NATHAN H. MANNING, VERNON SYKES, TINA MAHARATH, TERESA FEDOR, PEGGY LEHNER. ANDREW O. BRENNER

NO - 0.

Senator Burke submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Health, Human Services and Medicaid, to which was referred S. B. No. 173-Senator Kunze, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsors: Hackett.

YES - 10: KRISTINA D. ROEGNER, PEGGY LEHNER, BOB D. HACKETT, DAVE BURKE, THERESA GAVARONE, NICKIE J. ANTONIO, CECIL THOMAS, STEPHEN A. HUFFMAN, STEPHANIE KUNZE, TINA MAHARATH

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the reports of the committee be accepted?" The reports of the committee were accepted.

INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bills were introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 223 - Senators Thomas, Lehner.

Cosponsors: Senators Craig, Antonio, Maharath, Sykes, Fedor, Yuko, Williams.

To amend sections 2923.13 and 2923.14 and to enact sections 2923.133 and 2923.191 of the Revised Code to generally prohibit a person from possessing trigger cranks, bump-fire devices, or other items that accelerate a semi-automatic firearm's rate of fire but do not convert it into an automatic firearm and large capacity magazines.

S. B. No. 224 - Senator Thomas.

To amend Sections 265.210 and 265.220 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly to provide an additional school funding payment for fiscal years 2020 and 2021 for school districts that were subject to the cap that restricted increases in aggregate funding in fiscal year 2019 and satisfy other criteria.

S. B. No. 225 - Senator Lehner.

Cosponsors: Senators Thomas, Antonio, Williams, Sykes, Maharath.

To amend sections 3314.03 and 3326.11 and to enact section 3313.802 of the Revised Code to require public schools to post signs with a child abuse reporting telephone number.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 391 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Crestview Elementary School as a Blue Ribbon School.

S. R. No. 392 - Senator Schaffer.

Honoring Nick Anderson as the 2019 Lucas Oil Modified Tough Truck National Champion.

S. R. No. 393 - Senator Dolan.

Honoring Solon High School as a National Blue Ribbon School.

S. R. No. 394 - Senators Obhof, Burke, Brenner, Manning, McColley. Honoring the METRICH Enforcement Unit on receiving a Distinguished Law Enforcement Group Achievement Award.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?" So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate makes the following changes to the Senate's Finance Subcommittee on Health and Medicaid:

> Appoint Senator Steve Huffman as Chair Appoint Senator Bob Hackett as Vice Chair Remove Senator Hottinger and appoint Senator Johnson

Also, pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Johnson to the Senate's Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources.

On the motion of Senator Peterson, the Senate adjourned until Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:00 a.m.

Attest:	VINCENT L. KEERAN,
	Clerk.