# OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, OCTOBER 21, 2019

# ONE HUNDRED SIXTEENTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, October 21, 2019, 9:00 o'clock a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 3, the Clerk called the Senate to order.

Senator Craig was selected to preside according to the rule.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

### HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO SENATE BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

The amendments of the House of Representatives to:

Am. S. B. No. 24-Senators Wilson, Yuko.

Cosponsors: Senators Eklund, Kunze, Hackett, Terhar, Antonio, Fedor, Thomas, Williams, Brenner, Burke, Coley, Craig, Dolan, Gavarone, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, M., Huffman, S., Lehner, Maharath, Manning, McColley, Obhof, O'Brien, Roegner, Rulli, Sykes, Uecker. Representatives Arndt, Howse, Clites, Green, Liston, Roemer, Russo, Scherer, Abrams, Baldridge, Blair, Boggs, Brent, Brown, Butler, Carruthers, Crawley, Crossman, Cupp, Denson, Edwards, Galonski, Ginter, Greenspan, Hambley, Hicks-Hudson, Holmes, A., Hoops, Ingram, Kick, Koehler, Lang, Leland, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Manning, G., Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, O'Brien, Oelslager, Patterson, Patton, Perales, Plummer, Reineke, Richardson, Riedel, Rogers, Romanchuk, Ryan, Seitz, Sheehy, Skindell, Smith, K., Sobecki, Stein, Stoltzfus, Strahorn, Swearingen, Sweeney, Sykes, Upchurch, Weinstein, West, Wiggam.

To establish the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias Task Force., was taken up.

Senator Hottinger moved that the amendments of the House of Representatives to **Am. S. B. No. 24**, be informally passed and retain their place on the calendar.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

The motion was agreed to.

The amendments of the House of Representatives to:

Sub. S. B. No. 26-Senator Kunze.

Cosponsors: Senators Maharath, Thomas, Roegner, Sykes, Williams, Fedor, Manning, Antonio, Coley, Craig, Eklund, Gavarone, Hackett, Hoagland, Hottinger, Huffman, S., Lehner, McColley, Obhof, Peterson, Rulli, Schaffer,

Schuring, Terhar, Uecker, Wilson, Yuko. Representatives Butler, Edwards, Carfagna, Greenspan, Hambley, O'Brien, Patterson, Perales, Roemer, Rogers, Abrams, Antani, Baldridge, Blair, Boggs, Brent, Brown, Callender, Carruthers, Cera, Clites, Crawley, Cross, Crossman, Denson, Galonski, Ghanbari, Ginter, Hicks-Hudson, Hillyer, Hood, Hoops, Howse, Ingram, Jordan, Keller, Kelly, Koehler, Lanese, Lang, Lepore-Hagan, Lightbody, Liston, Manning, D., Manning, G., Miller, A., Miller, J., Miranda, Oelslager, Patton, Plummer, Reineke, Richardson, Riedel, Robinson, Russo, Ryan, Seitz, Sheehy, Smith, T., Sobecki, Stein, Swearingen, Sweeney, Sykes, Upchurch, Weinstein, West, Wiggam, Wilkin.

To amend sections 5739.01, 5739.012, 5739.02, 5739.03, 5747.01, and 5747.08 and to repeal section 101.61 of the Revised Code and to amend Sections 333.83 and 757.150 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly to authorize a state income tax deduction for teachers' out-of-pocket expenses for professional development and classroom supplies, to modify the business income deduction and delay some tax credit repeals, to exempt feminine hygiene products and some incontinence products from sales and use tax, to abolish the Public Office Compensation Advisory Commission, and to modify a "Food Farmacy" pilot project earmark., was taken up.

Senator Hottinger moved that the amendments of the House of Representatives to **Sub. S. B. No. 26**, be informally passed and retain their place on the calendar.

The question being, "Shall the motion be agreed to?"

# The motion was agreed to.

# INTRODUCTION AND FIRST CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The following bill was introduced and considered for the first time:

S. B. No. 226 - Senator Williams.

To amend sections 3317.0212 and 3327.01 of the Revised Code and to amend Sections 265.10, 265.150, 265.210, 265.215, and 265.220 of H.B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly to require school districts to provide transportation for students in grades 9-12, to have the pupil transportation formula operate for fiscal years 2020 and 2021, and to make an appropriation.

### **OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS**

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 395 - Senator Kunze.

Honoring Bluffsview Elementary School as a National Blue Ribbon

School.

S. R. No. 396 - Senators Kunze, Brenner.

Honoring Worthington Christian Middle School as a Blue Ribbon School.

S. R. No. 397 - Senator Gavarone.

Honoring Peerless Ovens on its Centennial.

S. R. No. 398 - Senator Peterson.

Honoring the Miami Trace/Great Oaks FFA agronomy team as a 2019 Eastern States Exposition Champion.

S. R. No. 399 - Senator McColley.

Honoring Ottawa American Legion Post 63 on its Centennial.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

# Message from the House of Representatives

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Speaker of the House of Representatives has signed the following bill:

Am. Sub. S. B. No. 52 - Senator Gavarone – et al.

Attest: Bradley J. Young,
Clerk

The President signed said bill.

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3314.017 (J) of Am. Sub. H. B. 166, the President of the Senate appoints the following to serve on the Dropout Recovery Schools Report Card Study Committee:

Senator Peggy Lehner

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 3701.68 (C)(14) of Am. Sub. H. B. 166, the President of the Senate appoints the following to serve on the Commission on Infant Mortality:

Shannon Jones (Warren county)

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate temporarily appoints the following members to the Senate's Judiciary Committee for the purpose of the committee's meeting on October 17, 2019.

Senator Larry Obhof Senator Kristina Roegner

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 127.12 of the Ohio Revised Code, the President of the Senate appoints Senator Jay Hottinger to the Controlling Board as a temporary replacement for Senator Matt Dolan for the purpose of the board's meeting on Monday, October 21, 2019.

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate temporarily appoints Senator Jay Hottinger to the Senate's Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee, as a temporary replacement for Senator Terry Johnson for the purpose of the committee's meeting on October 22, 2019.

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 265.510 (A)(3)(5) of Am. Sub. H.B. 166, the President of the Senate appoints the following to serve on the State Report Card Study Committee:

Senator Peggy Lehner Senator Louis W. Blessing, III Senator Teresa Fedor

### MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Senate Rules No. 19 and 20, the President of the Senate makes

### **Education Committee**

- Appoint Senator Andrew Brenner as Vice Chair
- Appoint Senator Louis W. Blessing, III

# Finance Subcommittee on Primary and Secondary Education

- Appoint Senator Andrew Brenner as Chair
- Appoint Senator Louis W. Blessing, III

# General Government and Agency Review Committee

• Appoint Senator Louis W. Blessing, III

## Government Oversight and Reform Committee

Appoint Senator Terry Johnson

# Insurance and Financial Institutions Committee

• Appoint Senator Louis W. Blessing, III

# Local Government, Public Safety and Veterans Affairs Committee

• Appoint Senator Nathan Manning as Chair

# Ways and Means Committee

• Appoint Senator Louis W. Blessing, III as Vice Chair

# Transportation, Commerce and Workforce Committee

• Appoint Senator Terry Johnson as Vice Chair

On the motion of Senator Hottinger, the Senate adjourned until Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 11:00 a.m.

Attest: VINCENT L. KEERAN,
Clerk.