JOURNALS OF THE SENATE AND HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

OHIO SENATE JOURNAL

MONDAY, MARCH 9, 2020

ONE HUNDRED SIXTY-FOURTH DAY Senate Chamber, Columbus, Ohio Monday, March 9, 2020, 9:30 a.m.

The Senate met pursuant to adjournment.

The journal of the last legislative day was read and approved.

REPORTS OF STANDING AND SELECT COMMITTEES

Senator Burke submitted the following report:

The standing committee on Health, Human Services and Medicaid, to which was referred **S. B. No. 252-**Senators Hackett, Craig, et al., having had the same under consideration, reports it back and recommends its passage.

Co-Sponsor: Schuring.

YES - 11: KIRK SCHURING, KRISTINA D. ROEGNER, JAY HOTTINGER, CECIL THOMAS, STEPHANIE KUNZE, BOB D. HACKETT, DAVE BURKE, TINA MAHARATH, NICKIE J. ANTONIO, STEPHEN A. HUFFMAN, THERESA GAVARONE

NO - 0.

The question being, "Shall the report of the committee be accepted?" The report of the committee was accepted.

OFFERING OF RESOLUTIONS

Senator Sykes offered the following resolution:

S. R. No. 488-Senator Sykes.

Cosponsors: Senators Antonio, Craig, Fedor, Kunze, Lehner, Maharath, Thomas, Williams.

To recognize the importance of the 2020 decennial census and to support all efforts by state and local governments to ensure a complete and accurate count of all Ohioans.

The question being, "Shall the resolution, S. R. No. 488, be adopted?"

On the motion of Senator Hackett, **S. R. No. 488**, was referred to the Committee on Rules and Reference.

Pursuant to Senate Rule No. 54, the following resolutions were offered:

S. R. No. 489 - Senator Obhof.

Honoring the Ashland Soil and Water Conservation District as the OFSWCD District of the Year.

S. R. No. 490 - Senator Gavarone.

Honoring the Edison High School wrestling team as the 2020 Division III State Dual Team Champion.

S. R. No. 491 - Senator Schaffer.

Honoring Tara Wilson as the 2020 Ohio Big Sister of the Year.

S. R. No. 492 - Senator McColley.

Honoring the City of Findlay as the 2019 Top Micropolitan Community in the U.S.

S. R. No. 493 - Senators Craig, Maharath, Kunze, Brenner. Honoring The Ohio State University on its Sesquicentennial.

S. R. No. 494 - Senator Manning.

Honoring Brian Iselin on being named the 2020 PLTW National Teacher of the Year.

S. R. No. 495 - Senators Blessing, Wilson, Thomas.

Honoring Tim Ingram on his retirement as health commissioner for Hamilton County.

S. R. No. 496 - Senator Huffman, M. Honoring the Citizens National Bank of Bluffton on its Centennial.

The question being, "Shall the resolutions listed under the President's prerogative be adopted?"

So the resolutions were adopted.

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 737.40 of Am. Sub. H. B. 166 of the 133rd General Assembly, the Minority Leader of the Senate appoints the following individuals to the Legislative Committee on Public Health Futures:

Senator Tina Maharath Mr. Joe Mazzola (Franklin County)

MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT

Pursuant to Section 164.02(A) of the Ohio Revised Code, the Minority Leader of the Senate appoints the following public member to serve on the Ohio Public Works Commission:

Mr. Paul Oyaski (Cuyahoga County)

On the motion of Senator Hackett, the Senate adjourned until Wednesday, March 11, 2020 at 9:30 a.m.

Attest:

VINCENT L. KEERAN, Clerk.