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DEPARTMENT OF ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES (DAS) 

 Abolishes the School Employees Health Care Board and generally transfers its 

duties and authority to the Department of Administrative Services. 

 Requires the Department to design health care plans for employees of political 

subdivisions, public school districts (including educational service centers), and 

state institutions of higher education. 

 Once the health care plans the Department is to design are released in final form, all 

health care benefits provided to persons employed by political subdivisions, public 

school districts, and state institutions of higher education are to be, and to some 

degree may be, provided by those plans. 

 Specifies, however, that if the health care plans designed by the Department do not 

address or include any health care benefits provided under current law, the benefits 

provided under current law continue in effect for those benefits. 

 Requires the Department to set employee and employer health care plan premiums 

for the Department's designed plans. 

 Requires the Department to submit a report to the General Assembly on the 

feasibility of certain health care initiatives regarding health care plans covering 

persons employed by political subdivisions, public school districts, and state 

institutions of higher education. 

 Requires the Department to submit a report to the General Assembly on the 

feasibility of certain health care initiatives regarding health care plans covering 

persons employed by political subdivisions and state institutions of higher 

education. 

 Recreates the Public Schools Health Care Advisory Committee under the 

Department. 
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 Renames the School Employees Health Care Fund the Political Subdivisions Public 

Employees Health Care Fund. 

 Requires public entities to submit a report to the Director of Administrative Services 

upon completion of each capital facilities project that is funded wholly or in part 

using state funds. 

 Requires the Attorney General to submit an annual report to the Director on any 

mediation and litigation costs associated with capital facilities projects for which a 

judgment has been rendered. 

 Requires the Director to incorporate the information received from the reports 

submitted by public entities and the Attorney General into the Ohio Administrative 

Knowledge System. 

 For state agencies, state institutions of higher education, counties, and school 

districts utilizing Ohio School Facilities Commission assistance, creates an exception 

to the current requirement that the multiple-prime contracting method be used for 

public construction projects, as follows: 

--Increases the minimum project cost threshold for the required use of multiple-

prime contracting to projects over $600,000 and the minimum cost threshold 

for a single MEP branch or class of work to $20,000; 

--Permits the use of a general contractor as the sole prime contractor if the cost 

of the project is $600,000 or less; 

--Permits the use of two alternative construction delivery methods – 

construction manager at risk (CMAR) and design-build (D/B); 

--Increases the minimum project cost threshold triggering competitive bidding 

on state contracts to $200,000. 

 Prohibits the subdivision of public improvement projects in order to avoid the 

multiple-prime contracting or competitive bidding thresholds. 

 Modifies the current life-cycle cost analysis and energy consumption analysis 

requirements for public improvement projects. 

 Mandates that the release of capital appropriations for projects, the contracts of 

which are awarded by the Department, contain a contingency reserve for payment 

of unanticipated project expenses. 

 Makes various other changes to the law governing public improvements. 
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 Requires the Director to adopt rules that establish guidelines for the provision of 

surety bonds by CMARs and D/B firms, and delays the application of the bill's 

construction reform provisions (that is, those described in the previous five dot 

points) until the date those rules are adopted. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Director establish a job classification plan and 

make job classification plan changes by rule. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Director follow the rule-making requirements of 

the Administrative Procedure Act to establish experimental classification plans; to 

establish, modify, or rescind a classification plan for county agencies; and to 

establish an appointment incentive program. 

 Requires the Director to send written notice of a proposed modification to a 

classification or the assignment of classes to appropriate pay ranges to the 

appointing authorities of the affected employees. 

 Makes changes to civil service law with respect to civil service examinations, special 

examinations, appointments, probationary employees, and promotions. 

 Requires the Office of Information Technology in the Department of Administrative 

Services to establish, operate, and maintain a state public notice web site where state 

agencies and political subdivisions may publish notices that are required by statute 

or rule. 

 Authorizes the Office of Information Technology to operate an information 

technology (IT) purchase program. 

 Requires the State Chief Information Officer to compute revenue attributable to the 

amortization of certain IT purchases and deposit the revenue into the Information 

Technology Fund. 

 Establishes the Information Technology Governance Fund and Major Information 

Technology Purchases Fund in the Revised Code. 

 Creates the State Employee Child Support Fund for the purpose of collecting all 

money withheld or deducted from the wages and salaries of state officials and 

employees pursuant to child support orders. 

 Removes purchases and leases for office space for the Joint Legislative Ethics 

Committee (JLEC) from the control and jurisdiction of the Department of 

Administrative Services. 
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 Authorizes JLEC and the Department of Administrative Services to contract for the 

Department to perform statutory services for JLEC that the Department of 

Administrative Services performs for buildings of certain state agencies under its 

jurisdiction. 

 Transfers the building and facility operations and management functions of the 

Ohio Building Authority (OBA) under Chapter 152. of the Revised Code to the 

Department of Administrative Services, effective January 1, 2012. 

 Deems references to the OBA in statutes pertaining to OBA's building and facility 

operations and management functions to be made to the Department of 

Administrative Services. 

 Authorizes OBA employees to be transferred to the Department of Administrative 

Services if they are necessary for successful implementation of the transfer, and 

makes employees of OBA who are designated as building and facility operations 

and management staff, not later than August 1, 2011, eligible to participate in group 

health plans offered to state employees. 

 Removes the State of Ohio Computer Center from the list of buildings, the non-

General Revenue Fund supported state agency tenants of which must reimburse the 

General Revenue Fund for rent. 

 Eliminates the requirement for the Department to annually make a report to the 

General Assembly regarding the acquisition and disposal of surplus federal 

property. 

 Requires the Department to contract with a vendor to provide drugs and related 

pharmacy services currently provided by the Ohio Pharmacy Service Center if, 

through a request-for-proposals process, the Department determines that a vendor is 

able to provide the drugs and services in a manner that achieves operational 

efficiencies and savings to the state. 

 Permits agencies to assign exempt employees, with their written consent, to duties 

of a higher classification for up to two years. 

 The bill allows the Office of Risk Management to manage risk for the courts as it 

does for the state for purposes of the Judicial Liability Program. 

 Allows the Risk Management Reserve Fund to be used for the payment of any 

liability claim that is filed against the state. 
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 Requires the Department to recommend to the leaders of the General Assembly a 

state government reorganization plan focused on increased efficiencies in state 

government operation and a reduced number of state agencies. 

 

 

Health care benefits for political subdivision, school district, and institution 
of higher education employees 

Department of Administrative Services designed plans 

(R.C. 9.901(A)(2) to (K); Section 515.60) 

Effective July 1, 2011, the bill abolishes the School Employees Health Care Board 

and its duties and authority and generally grants its duties and authority to the 

Department of Administrative Services with regard to health care benefits for 

employees of public school districts, and expands these duties and authority to include 

plans for health care benefits for employees of state institutions of higher education and 

political subdivisions.  The bill transfers all equipment, assets, and records of the Board 

to the Department of Administrative Services.  The Department must designate the 

employee positions, if any, to be transferred to the Department. 

The Department of Administrative Services and the Department of Education 

must enter into an interagency agreement to transfer to the Department of 

Administrative Services any designated employee positions and all equipment, assets, 

and records of the Board by July 1, 2011, or as soon as possible thereafter.  The 

interagency agreement can include provisions to transfer property and any other 

provisions necessary for the continued administration of Board activities under 

continuing law. 

The bill transfers to the Department any employee positions of the Board that the 

Department designates for transfer, and any equipment assigned to those positions.  

Any Board employees transferred in positions retain rights regarding layoffs, and any 

employee transferred to the Department retains the employee's classification, but the 

Department can reassign and reclassify the employee's position and compensation as 

the Department determines to be in the interest of office administration. 

All the rules, orders, and determinations associated with the Board continue in 

effect as rules, orders, and determinations associated with the Department until 

modified or rescinded by the Director of Administrative Services.  If necessary to ensure 

the integrity of the Administrative Code rule numbering system, the Director of the 

Legislative Service Commission must renumber the rules relating to the Board to reflect 

their transfer to the Department.  No validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, 
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obligation, or liability is lost or impaired by reason of the transfer.  On and after July 1, 

2011, if the Board is referred to in any statute, rule, contract, grant, or other document, 

the reference is deemed to refer to the Department. 

In conformity with these changes, the bill renames the School Employees Health 

Care Fund the Political Subdivisions and Public Employees Health Care Fund.  The 

Department must use the fund solely to carry out its health care benefit plan duties for 

political subdivisions, school districts, and institutions of higher education. 

Definitions 

The bill defines "public school district" for the purposes of health care benefits to 

mean a city, local, exempted village, or joint vocational school district, a STEM school, 

and an educational service center.  "Public school district" does not mean a community 

school or a charter school.  "Political subdivision" is defined to mean a municipal 

corporation, township, county, school district, or other body corporate and politic 

responsible for governmental activities in a geographic area smaller than that of the 

state.  "Political subdivision" includes, but is not limited to, a county hospital 

commission, board of hospital commissioners appointed for a municipal hospital, board 

of hospital trustees appointed for a municipal hospital, regional planning commission, 

county planning commission, joint planning council, interstate regional planning 

commission, port authority, regional council, emergency planning district and joint 

emergency planning district, joint emergency medical services district, fire and 

ambulance district, joint interstate emergency planning district, county solid waste 

management district and joint solid waste management district, community school, the 

county or counties served by a community-based correctional facility and program or 

district community-based correctional facility and program, a community-based 

correctional facility and program or district community-based correctional facility and 

program that is so established and operated, and the facility governing board of a 

community-based correctional facility and program or district community-based 

correctional facility and program that is so established and operated.  "Political 

subdivision" also means any county; municipal corporation; township; township police 

district; township fire district; joint fire district; joint ambulance district; joint emergency 

medical services district; fire and ambulance district; joint recreation district; township 

waste disposal district; township road district; community college district; technical 

college district; detention facility district; single-county and joint-county juvenile 

facilities; a joint-county alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health service district; a 

drainage improvement district; a union cemetery district; a county school financing 

district; a city, local, exempted village, cooperative education, or joint vocational school 

district; or a regional student education district, and any public division, district, 

commission, authority, department, board, officer, or institution of any one or more of 

those political subdivisions, that is entirely or substantially supported by public tax 
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moneys.  (For a discussion of the "home rule" authority of municipal corporations, see 

"Home rule," below.) 

"Health care plan" is defined to include group policies, contracts, and agreements 

that provide hospital, surgical, or medical expense coverage, including self-insured 

plans.  A "health care plan" does not include an individual plan offered to the 

employees of a political subdivision, public school district, or state institution, or a plan 

that provides coverage only for specific disease or accidents, or a hospital indemnity, 

Medicare supplement, or other plan that provides only supplemental benefits, which 

are paid for by the employees of a political subdivision, public school district, or state 

institution.  A "health plan sponsor" is defined to mean a political subdivision, public 

school district, a state institution of higher education, a consortium of political 

subdivisions, public school districts, or state institutions, or a council of governments. 

Health care benefit plans 

Upon completion of the consultant's report described below, and once the plans 

are released in final form by the Department, all health care benefits provided to 

persons employed by political subdivisions, public school districts, and state 

institutions of  higher education may be provided by health care plans designed by the 

Department.  The Department, in consultation with the Superintendent of Insurance, 

can negotiate with and, in accordance with competitive selection procedures, contract 

with one or more insurance companies authorized to do business in Ohio for the 

issuance of the plans. 

The bill permits any or all of the health care plans designed by the Department to 

be self-insured.  All self-insured plans must be administered by the Department in 

accordance with the bill, and must incorporate the best practices adopted by the 

Department, as described below.  A political subdivision, public school district, or state 

institution of higher education cannot "be required to" offer the health care plans 

designed by the Department until they have been released in final form by the 

Department. 

Independent consultant recommendations 

Before the Department's release of the initial health care plans, the bill requires 

the Department to contract with an independent consultant to analyze costs related to 

employee health care benefits provided by existing political subdivisions, public school 

districts, and state institution of higher education plans.  All political subdivisions must 

provide information requested by the Department that the Department determines is 

needed to complete this study.  (The information requested must be held confidentially 

by the Department and must not be considered a public record under the Public 

Records Law.  But the Department can release the information after redacting all 
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personally identifiable information.)  The consultant must determine the benefits 

offered by existing plans, the employees' costs, and the cost-sharing arrangements used 

by political subdivisions, schools, and institutions participating in a consortium.  The 

consultant must determine what strategies are used by the existing plans to manage 

health care costs and must study the potential benefits of state or regional consortiums 

of political subdivisions, public schools, and institutions offering multiple health care 

plans. Based on the findings of the analysis, the consultant must submit written 

recommendations to the Department for the development and implementation of a 

successful program for pooling purchasing power for the acquisition of employee 

health care plans.  The consultant's recommendations must address, at a minimum, all 

of the following issues: 

(1)  The development of a plan for regional coordination of the health care plans; 

(2)  The establishment of regions for the provision of health care plans, based on 

the availability of providers and plans in Ohio at the time; 

(3)  The viability of voluntary and mandatory participation by political 

subdivisions, public schools, and institutions of higher education; 

(4)  The use of regional preferred provider and closed panel plans, health savings 

accounts, and alternative health care plans, to stabilize both costs and the premiums 

charged to political subdivisions, school districts, and state institutions of higher 

education and their employees; 

(5)  The use of the competitive bidding process for regional health care plans; 

(6)  The use of information on claims and costs and of information reported by 

political subdivisions, school districts, and state institutions of higher education under 

the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA) in analyzing 

administrative and premium costs; 

(7)  The experience of states that have statewide health care plans for political 

subdivision, public school district, and state institution of higher education employees, 

including the implementation strategies used by those states; 

(8)  Recommended strategies for the use of first-year roll-in premiums in the 

transition from political subdivision, district, and state institution of higher education 

health care plans to department plans; 

(9)  The option of allowing political subdivisions, public school districts, and 

state institutions of higher education to join an existing regional consortium as an 

alternative to Department plans; 
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(10)  Mandatory and optional coverages to be offered by the Department's plans; 

(11)  Potential risks to the state from the use of the Department's plans; 

(12)  Any legislation needed to ensure the long-term financial solvency and 

stability of a health care purchasing system; 

(13)  The potential impacts of any changes to the existing purchasing structure on 

all of the following:  existing health care pooling and consortiums, political subdivision, 

school district, and state institution of higher education employees, and individual 

political subdivisions, school districts, and state institutions of higher education; 

(14)  Issues that could arise when political subdivisions, school districts, and state 

institutions transition from the existing purchasing structure to a new purchasing 

structure; 

(15)  Strategies available to the Department in the creation of fund reserves and 

the need for stop-loss insurance coverage for catastrophic losses. 

Geographic regions and consortiums 

Before soliciting proposals from insurance companies for the issuance of health 

care plans, the Department must determine what geographic regions exist in Ohio 

based on the availability of providers, networks, costs, and other factors relating to 

providing health care benefits.  The Department must then determine what health care 

plans offered by political subdivisions, public school districts, state institutions, and 

existing consortiums in the region offer the most cost-effective plan. 

Thereafter, the Department must develop a request for proposals and solicit bids 

for the health care plans for political subdivisions, public school districts, and state 

institutions of higher education in a region similar to the existing plans.  The 

Department must also determine the benefits offered by existing health care plans, the 

employees' costs, and the cost-sharing arrangements used by political subdivisions, 

schools, and institutions of higher education participating in a consortium.  The 

Department must determine what strategies are used by the existing plans to manage 

health care costs, and must study the potential benefits of state or regional consortiums 

offering multiple health care plans. 

In addition, political subdivisions, school districts, or state institutions of higher 

education offering employee health care benefits through a plan offered by a 

consortium of two or more political subdivisions, districts, or state institutions of higher 

education, or a consortium of one or more political subdivisions, districts, or state 

institutions of higher education and one or more other political subdivisions can 
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request permission from the Department to continue offering consortium plans to their 

employees.  Granting the permission is at the Department's discretion. 

Additional duties for the Department 

The bill requires the Department to do all of the following: 

(1)  Include disease management and consumer education programs, including 

wellness plans and other measures, designed to encourage the wise use of medical plan 

coverage; 

(2)  Design health care plans for political subdivisions, public school districts, 

and state institutions of higher education separate from the health care plans for state 

agencies; 

(3)  Adopt and release a set of standards that must be considered the best 

practices for health care plans offered to employees of political subdivisions, public 

school districts, and state institutions of higher education; 

(4)  Require that the plans the health plan sponsors administer make readily 

available to the public all cost and design elements of the plan; 

(5)  Set employee and employer health care plan premiums; 

(6)  Promote cooperation among all organizations affected by the bill in 

identifying the elements for successful implementation of the bill; 

(7)  Promote cost containment measures aligned with patient, plan, and provider 

management strategies in developing and managing health care plans; 

(8)  Prepare and disseminate to the public an annual report on the status of 

health plan sponsors' effectiveness in making progress to reduce the rate of increase in 

insurance premiums and employee out-of-pocket expenses, as well as progress in 

improving the health status of political subdivisions, public school districts, and state 

institution of higher education employees and their families. 

The Department is authorized to adopt rules for the enforcement of health plan 

sponsors' compliance with the best practices standards adopted by the Department. 

The Department can contract with other state agencies for services as the 

Department deems necessary for the implementation and operation of the bill, based on 

demonstrated experience and expertise in  administration, management, data handling, 

actuarial studies, quality assurance, or for other needed services. 
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The Department must hire staff as necessary to provide administrative support 

to the Department and the public employee health care program established by the bill. 

Nonidentifiable aggregate claim data 

Any health care  plan providing coverage for the employees of political 

subdivisions, school districts, or state institutions of higher education, or that have 

provided coverage within two years before the effective date of this amendment, must 

provide nonidentifiable aggregate claims data for the coverage provided to the 

Department, without charge, within 30 days after receiving a written request from the 

Department.  The claims data must include data relating to employee group benefit 

sets, demographics, and claims experience. 

Provision of plan information 

Not more than 90 days before coverage begins for political subdivisions, public 

school districts, and state institution employees under health care plans designed by the 

Department, the governing bodies of those entities must provide detailed information 

about the health care plans to their employees. 

Professional insurance services not prohibited 

The bill states that it does not prohibit political subdivisions, public school 

districts, or state institutions from consulting with and compensating insurance agents 

and brokers for professional services, or from establishing a self-insurance program, so 

long as the Department approves that program (see below). 

Audits 

Under continuing law, the Auditor of State must conduct all necessary and 

required audits of the Department.  The Auditor of State, upon request, also must 

furnish to the Department copies of audits of political subdivisions, public school 

districts, or consortia performed by the Auditor of State. 

Public Health Care Advisory Commission 

The bill renames and reconstitutes the advisory committee, which under current 

law is the Public Schools Health Care Advisory Committee under the School Employees 

Health Care Board, and which is, under the bill, the Public Health Care Advisory 

Committee, under the Department. Under the bill, the Committee must make 

recommendations to the Director of Administrative Services or the director's designee 

on the development and adoption of best practices.  The Committee consists of fifteen 

members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President of 

the Senate, and the Governor and must include representatives from state and local 
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government employers, state and local government employees, insurance agents, health 

insurance companies, and joint purchasing arrangements currently in existence. 

Feasibility report 

(Section 701.20) 

Not later than July 1, 2012, the Department of Administrative Services must 

submit a report to the General Assembly on the feasibility of all of the following 

regarding health care plans to cover persons employed by political subdivisions, public 

school districts, and state institutions of higher education: 

(1)  Designing multiple health care plans that achieve an optimal combination of 

coverage, cost, choice, and stability, which plans include both state and regional 

preferred provider plans, set employee and employer premiums, and set employee plan  

copayments, deductibles, exclusions, limitations, formularies, and other responsibilities; 

(2)  Maintaining reserves, reinsurance, and other measures to insure the long-

term stability and solvency of the health care plans; 

(3)  Providing appropriate health care information, wellness programs, and other 

preventive health care measures to health care plan beneficiaries; 

(4)  Coordinating contracts for services related to the health care plans; 

(5)  Voluntary and mandatory participation by political subdivisions, public 

school districts, and institutions of higher education; 

(6)  The potential impacts of any changes to the existing purchasing structure on 

existing health care pooling and consortiums; 

(7)  Removing barriers to competition and access to health care pooling. 

The bill prohibits any action to be taken regarding health care coverage for 

employees of political subdivisions, public school districts, and state institutions of 

higher education without the enactment of law by the General Assembly. 

Self-insurance 

(R.C. 9.833) 

If a self-insurance program is approved by the Department, political subdivisions 

that provide health care benefits for their officers or employees may establish and 

maintain an individual self-insurance program with public moneys to provide 

authorized health care benefits, including, but not limited to, health care, prescription 
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drugs, dental care, and vision care.  Only with the approval of the Department, after 

establishing an individual self-insurance program (1) a political subdivision may agree 

with other political subdivisions that have established individual self-insurance 

programs for health care benefits that their programs will be jointly administered or 

(2) under a written agreement, a political subdivision may join in any combination with 

other political subdivisions to establish and maintain a joint self-insurance program to 

provide health care benefits. 

Any agreement made as described above must be in writing and contain best 

practices established in consultation with and approved by the Department.  These best 

practices must provide standards upon which the program providing benefits adhere in 

the selection and implementation of the health care plan.  The best practices can be 

reviewed and amended at the discretion of the political subdivisions in consultation 

with the Department.  Detailed information regarding the best practices must be made 

available to any employee upon that employee's request.  The bill permits the 

Department to adopt rules for the adoption and enforcement of the best practices 

standards. 

Additionally, any self-insurance program established as described above must 

prepare and maintain a certified audited financial statement and a report of amounts 

reserved for the program and disbursements made from such funds.  The program 

administrator must provide the report to the Auditor of State under the Auditing Law.  

The self-insurance program must include a contract with a certified public accountant 

and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries for the preparation of the written 

evaluations. 

The bill specifies that the provisions regarding the self-insurance programs do 

not apply to an individual self-insurance program created solely by municipal 

corporations.  For this purpose, "municipal corporation" means all municipal 

corporations, including those that have adopted a charter under the Ohio Constitution. 

Under current law, political subdivisions may establish and maintain a self-

insurance program or joint self-insurance program for health care benefits without the 

approval of the Department. 

Home rule 

Although the bill confers authority on municipal corporations regarding health 

care benefits, it is likely municipal corporations already have, and will continue to have, 
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authority to provide health care benefits, including by self-insurance, under their home 

rule power of local self-government.1 

Health care plans – best practices 

(R.C. 9.90 and 9.901(A)) 

Until the department implements for public school districts the health care plans 

designed under the bill, all health care benefits provided to persons employed by 

political subdivisions and public school districts must be provided by health care plans 

that contain best practices established by the School Employees Health Care Board or 

the Department. 

The bill states that the following applies until the Department implements its 

healthcare plans. However, if the Department plans do not include or address any 

benefits listed below, the following provisions continue in effect for those benefits.  The 

board of trustees or other governing body of a state institution of higher education, 

board of education of a school district, or governing board of an educational service 

center can: 

(1)  Contract for, purchase, or otherwise procure from a licensed insurer or 

insurers for such of its employees as it may determine, life insurance, or sickness, 

accident, annuity, endowment, health, medical, hospital, dental, or surgical coverage 

and benefits, or any combination thereof, by insurance plans or other types of coverage, 

and may pay from available funds under its control all or any portion of the cost, 

premium, or charge for the insurance, coverage, or benefits. However, the governing 

board, in addition to or as an alternative to the above, may elect to procure health care 

coverage for such of its employees as it may determine by means of policies, contracts, 

certificates, or agreements issued by at least two certified health insuring corporations 

and can pay from available funds under its control all or any portion of the cost of the 

coverage. 

(2)  Make payments to a custodial account for investment in regulated 

investment company stock for the purpose of providing retirement benefits. 

Under current law, the authority outlined above applies to public institutions of 

higher education and to the board of education of any school district, except in relation 

to the provision of health care benefits to employees.  Health care benefits provided to 

                                                 
1 Ohio Constitution, Art. XVIII, sec. 3; see Northern Ohio Patrolmen's Benevolent Ass'n v. Parma (1980), 61 

Ohio St.2d 375. 
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employees of the public schools are to be provided through health care plans that 

contain the best practices established by the School Employee's Health Care Board. 

Under the bill, however, all health care benefits provided to persons employed 

by the public schools are to be provided through health care plans that contain the best 

practices established by the Board until the Department implements for public school 

districts the health care plans it is to design.  Once the Department releases in final form 

the health care plans it is to design, all health care benefits provided to persons 

employed by state institutions of higher education, school districts, or educational 

service centers "may be through those plans." 

Health care plans for counties 

(R.C. 305.171) 

The bill specifies that current law regarding health care benefits for county 

employees applies until the Department implements for counties the health care plans it 

is to design.  However, if the Department's plans do not include or address any benefits 

provided under current law, the benefits provided under current law continue in effect 

for those benefits. 

Currently, and potentially in the future, the board of county commissioners of 

any county can contract for, purchase, or otherwise procure and pay all or any part of 

the cost of group insurance policies that provide health care benefits including, but not 

limited to, hospitalization, surgical  care, major medical care, disability, dental care, eye 

care, medical care, hearing aids, or prescription drugs, and that may provide sickness 

and accident insurance, group legal services, or group life insurance, or a combination 

of any of the foregoing types of insurance or coverage, for county officers and 

employees and their immediate dependents from the funds or budgets from which the 

county officers or employees are compensated for services, issued by an insurance 

company. 

Health care plans for townships 

(R.C. 505.60, 505.601, and 505.603) 

The bill specifies that current law regarding health care benefits for township 

employees applies until the Department implements for townships the health care plans 

it is to design.  However, if the Department's plans do not include or address any 

benefits provided under current law, the benefits provided under current law continue 

in effect for those benefits. 
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Currently, and potentially in the future, a board of township trustees can procure 

and pay all or any part of the cost of insurance policies that provide benefits for 

hospitalization, surgical care, major medical care, disability, dental care, eye care, 

medical care, hearing aids, prescription drugs, or sickness and accident insurance, or a 

combination of any of the foregoing types of insurance for township officers and 

employees. 

If a board of township trustees does not procure an insurance policy or group 

health care services as described above, then until the Department implements the 

health care plans it is to design, the board of township trustees can reimburse any 

township officer or employee for each out-of-pocket premium attributable to the 

coverage provided for that officer or employee for insurance benefits that the officer or 

employee otherwise obtains, if certain conditions are met. 

The bill specifies that current law regarding health care benefits provided to 

township officers and employees through a cafeteria plan applies until the Department 

implements for townships the health care plans it is to design.  However, if the 

Departments plans do not include or address any cafeteria plan benefits provided 

under current law, the cafeteria plan benefits provided under current law continue in 

effect for those benefits. 

Currently, and potentially in the future, a board of township trustees can offer 

benefits to officers and employees through a cafeteria plan after first adopting a policy 

authorizing an officer or employee to receive a cash payment in lieu of a benefit 

otherwise offered to township officers or employees, but only if the cash payment does 

not exceed 25% of the cost of premiums or payments that otherwise would be paid by 

the board for benefits for the officer or employee under an offered policy, contract, or 

plan. 

Health care plans for park districts 

(R.C. 1545.071) 

The bill specifies that the following applies until the Department implements for 

park districts the health care plans it is to design.  However, if the Department's plans 

do not include or address any benefits provided under current law, the following 

provisions continue in effect for those benefits. 

Currently, and potentially in the future, the board of park commissioners of any 

park district can procure and pay all or any part of the cost of group insurance policies 

that provide benefits for hospitalization, surgical care, major medical care, disability, 

dental care, eye care, medical care, hearing aids, or prescription drugs, or sickness and 
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accident insurance, or a combination of any of the foregoing types of insurance or 

coverage for park district officers and employees and their immediate dependents. 

Public construction reform 

(R.C. 9.33, 9.331, 9.332, 9.333, 9.334, 9.335, 123.011, 126.141, 153.01, 153.012, 153.03, 

153.08, 153.50, 153.501, 153.502, 153.503, 153.04, 153.505, 153.51, 153.52, 153.53, 153.54, 

153.55, 153.56, 153.581, 153.65, 153.66, 153.67, 153.69, 153.692, 153.693, 153.694, 153.70, 

153.71, 153.72, 153.73, 153.80, 3313.46, 3318.111, 3353.04, 3354.16, 3357.16, 4113.61, 

5540.03, and 6115.20; Sections 701.10 and 701.13) 

Permissible methods of construction delivery 

The bill provides an exception to the current requirement that the multiple-prime 

contracting method be used by the state, a county, township, municipal corporation, or 

school district, or any public institution belonging to any of those entities, when 

contracting for the construction, repair, or alteration of a public improvement. 

Currently, under the multiple-prime method, if the total cost of the project is $50,000 or 

more, the public authority must solicit separate bids for, and award separate main 

contracts for, the following:  (1) plumbing and gas fitting, (2) steam and hot-water 

heating, ventilating apparatus (HVAC), and steam-power plant, and (3) electrical 

equipment (collectively referred to as "MEP" – mechanical, electrical, and plumbing).  A 

separate bid and contract for any of those three classes of work is not required, 

however, if the cost of that particular class of work is less than $5,000.  If the total cost of 

the project is less than $50,000, the public authority may enter into a single prime 

contract with a general contractor. 

The bill's exception to the required use of multiple-prime contracting applies only 

to a state agency (meaning every organized body, office, or agency established by Ohio 

law for the exercise of any function of state government, except the Ohio Turnpike 

Commission and any special purpose district of the state), a state institution of higher 

education,2 county, or school district utilizing assistance from the Ohio School 

Facilities Commission (hereinafter referred to as "public entities").  For these public 

entities, the bill does all of the following: 

(1)  Increases the minimum project cost threshold for the required use of multiple 

prime contracting to projects over $600,000 and the minimum cost threshold for a single 

MEP branch or class of work to $20,000; 

                                                 
2 "State institution of higher education" has the same meaning as in R.C. 3345.011. 
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(2)  Permits the use of a general contractor as the sole prime contractor if the cost 

of the project is $600,000 or less.  Such a contract may be awarded, however, only to a 

bidder that has been certified to bid by the Department of Administrative Services, and 

has been approved to bid on the contract by the public entity, in accordance with rules 

adopted pursuant to the bill (see below). A county may approve a bidder who has not 

been certified, unless the reason the bidder was not certified is that there exists a tax lien 

or workers' compensation delinquency and the lien or delinquency is unresolved or the 

bidder is not in compliance with any other law applicable to the award of a public 

improvement contract. 

(3)  Permits the use of two alternative construction delivery methods – 

construction manager at risk and design/build;3 

(4)  Increases the minimum project cost threshold triggering competitive bidding 

on state contracts to $200,000. 

Construction manager at risk 

(R.C. 9.33 to 9.335, 153.50 to 153.52, and 153.54; Section 701.13(A)) 

Construction manager at risk (CMAR) is defined by the bill as a person with 

substantial discretion and authority to plan, coordinate, manage, direct, and construct 

all phases of a project for the construction, demolition, alteration, repair, or 

reconstruction of any public building, structure, or other improvement. A CMAR must 

provide the public entity with a guaranteed maximum price utilizing an open book 

pricing method, whereby the CMAR makes available all books, records, documents, 

and other data in its possession pertaining to the bidding, pricing, or performance of a 

construction management contract awarded to it.  The guaranteed maximum price 

represents the total maximum amount to be paid by the public entity to the CMAR for 

the project.  It includes the cost of all the work, the cost of its general conditions, the 

contingency, and the fee payable to the CMAR. 

A public entity, after evaluating proposals submitted by CMARs for a particular 

project, must select not fewer than three CMARs the public entity considers to be the 

most qualified to provide the required services.4  Each CMAR selected must be given (1) 

                                                 
3 In order for a school district to use a construction manager at risk, design-build firm, or general 

contractor, the school district must obtain approval from the School Facilities Commission 

(R.C. 3318.111). 

4 The public entity may select and rank fewer than three if the public entity determines in writing that 

fewer than three qualified CMARs are available (R.C. 9.334(A)).  For the definition of "qualified," see R.C. 

9.33(E). 
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a description of the project, including a statement of available design detail, (2) a 

description of how the guaranteed maximum price is to be determined, (3) the form of 

the contract, and (4) a request for a pricing proposal.  The pricing proposal of each 

CMAR is to include a list of key personnel for the project and a staffing chart, a 

statement of the general conditions and contingency requirements, and a fee proposal 

divided into a preconstruction fee, a construction fee, and the portion of the 

construction fee to be at risk in a guaranteed maximum price.  A bid guaranty, 

however, is not required to be filed. 

The public entity is to rank the CMARs based on its evaluation of the value of 

each pricing proposal, and enter into negotiations with the CMAR whose pricing 

proposal the public entity determines to be the best value – considering the proposed 

cost and qualifications.  These contract negotiations are to be directed toward: 

--Ensuring that the CMAR and public entity mutually understand the essential 

requirements involved in providing the required construction management services, 

including the awarding of subcontracts and their terms, the provisions for the use of 

contingency funds, and the possible distribution of savings in the final costs of the 

project; 

--Ensuring that the CMAR will be able to provide the necessary personnel, 

equipment, and facilities to perform the construction management services within the 

time required by the contract; 

--Agreeing upon a procedure and schedule for determining a guaranteed 

maximum price. 

If negotiations fail, the public entity must enter into negotiations with the CMAR 

ranked next highest and continue negotiating with the selected CMARs in the order of 

their ranking until a contract is negotiated.  If that does not occur, the public entity may 

select additional CMARs to provide pricing proposals or may select an alternative 

delivery method for the project.  Additionally, if a public entity and CMAR fail to agree 

on a guaranteed maximum price, the public entity may allow the CMAR to provide 

management services that a construction manager is authorized to provide under 

current law. 

Before construction begins pursuant to a contract with a CMAR, the CMAR must 

provide a surety bond in accordance with guidelines established by the Director of 

Administrative Services by R.C. Chapter 119. rules. 
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Design-build firm 

(R.C. 153.50 to 153.52, 153.54, and 153.65 to 153.73; Section 701.13(A)) 

For purposes of this construction delivery method, design-build (D/B) services 

means services that form an integrated delivery system for which a person is 

responsible to a public entity for both the design and the construction, demolition, 

alteration, repair, or reconstruction of a public improvement.  A public entity planning 

to contract for D/B services must first obtain the services of a criteria architect or 

engineer5 by either contracting with a professional design firm as provided in current 

law or by obtaining the services through an architect or engineer who is an employee of 

the public entity and notifying the Department of Administrative Services before the 

services are rendered.  If a professional design firm is selected as the criteria architect or 

engineer, and the firm assists the public entity in evaluating the D/B requirements the 

D/B firm submits to the public entity, the professional design firm cannot provide any 

D/B services pursuant to the D/B construction contract. 

A public entity, in consultation with the criteria architect or engineer, is then to 

evaluate the statements of qualifications6 submitted by D/B firms for a particular 

project, including the firm's proposed architect of record,7 and select not fewer than 

three D/B firms the public entity considers to be the most qualified to provide the 

required services.8  Each D/B firm selected must be given (1) a description of the project 

and project delivery, (2) the design criteria produced by the criteria architect or 

engineer, (3) a preliminary project schedule, (4) a description of any preconstruction 

services and the proposed design services, (5) a description of a guaranteed maximum 

price, including the estimated level of design on which it is based,9 (6) the form of the 

contract, (7) a request for a fee proposal that is divided into a design services fee and a 

preconstruction and design-build services fee, and (8) a request for a pricing proposal.  

                                                 
5 The criteria architect or engineer is the architect or engineer retained by a public entity to prepare 

conceptual plans and specifications, to assist the public entity in establishing the design criteria for a D/B 

project, and, if requested by the public entity, to serve as its representative and provide other design and 

construction administrative services during the project, including confirming that the design prepared by 

the D/B firm reflects the original design intent established in the design criteria package (R.C. 153.65(H)). 

6 For the definition of "qualifications," see R.C. 153.65(D). 

7 The architect of record is the architect that serves as the final signatory on the plans and specifications 

for the D/B project (R.C. 153.65(G)). 

8 The public entity may select and rank fewer than three if the public entity determines in writing that 

fewer than three qualified D/B firms are available (R.C. 153.693(A)(1)). 

9 For a description of the guaranteed maximum price, see the relevant discussion under "Construction 

manager at risk," above. 
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The pricing proposal of each D/B firm must include a list of key personnel and 

consultants for the project and the firm's staffing chart, design concepts adhering to the 

design criteria produced by the criteria architect or engineer, the firm's statement of the 

general conditions and estimated contingency requirements, and a preliminary project 

schedule.  A bid guaranty, however, is not required to be filed. 

The public entity is to rank the D/B firms based on its evaluation of the value of 

each pricing proposal, and enter into negotiations with the firm whose pricing proposal 

the public entity determines to be the best value − considering the proposed cost and 

qualifications.  These contract negotiations are to be directed toward: 

--Ensuring that the D/B firm and the public entity mutually understand the 

essential requirements involved in providing the required design-build services, 

including the awarding of subcontracts, the provisions for the use of contingency funds, 

and the possible distribution of savings in the final costs of the project; 

--Ensuring that the firm will be able to provide the necessary personnel, 

equipment, and facilities to perform the design-build services within the time required 

by the contract; 

--Agreeing upon a procedure and schedule for determining a guaranteed 

maximum price. 

If negotiations fail, the public entity is to enter into negotiations with the D/B 

firm ranked next highest and continue negotiating with the selected D/B firms in the 

order of their ranking until a contract is negotiated.  If that does not occur, the public 

entity may select additional D/B firms to provide pricing proposals or may select an 

alternative delivery method for the project.  A public entity may provide a stipend for 

pricing proposals received from D/B firms. 

Before construction begins pursuant to a contract for D/B services with a D/B 

firm, the firm must provide a surety bond in accordance with guidelines established by 

the Director of Administrative Services by R.C. Chapter 119. rules.  Also, a public entity 

may require the D/B firm to carry contractor's professional liability insurance and any 

other insurance the public entity considers appropriate. 

Awarding of subcontracts by CMARs and D/B firms 

(R.C. 153.501, 153.502, and 153.05) 

The bill requires CMARs and D/B firms to receive separate bids, and award 

separate subcontracts, for the MEP classes of work.  The bid must be based on complete 
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plans and specifications of the work to be performed.  A subcontract may be awarded 

only to a bidder who meets the following requirements: 

(1)  The bidder has been certified to bid on subcontracts by the Department of 

Administrative Services under rules adopted pursuant to the bill (see below).  A county, 

however, may approve a bidder who has not been certified, unless the reason the 

bidder was not certified is that there exists a tax lien or workers' compensation 

delinquency and the lien or delinquency is unresolved or the bidder is not in 

compliance with any other law applicable to the award of a public improvement 

contract. 

(2)  The bidder has been approved by the public entity (pursuant to rules 

adopted by the Director of Administrative Services, as described below) to bid on the 

specific subcontract. 

(3)  The bidder is the lowest responsive bidder after a public bid opening, unless 

no bid is lower than the estimate in the guaranteed maximum price for that class of 

work. In that event, the CMAR or D/B firm may either revise the scope of work and 

rebid or utilize a contingency to pay the excess costs without any increase in the 

guaranteed maximum price. 

A CMAR or D/B firm that intends and is permitted by the public entity to self-

perform any class of MEP work must submit a sealed bid prior to accepting and opening 

any bids for that same class of work.  If, after a guaranteed maximum price is agreed 

upon, the sealed bid submitted by the CMAR or firm is no greater than the estimate for 

that scope of work, a public bid opening is held, and no bid is lower than the estimate 

for that scope of work, the subcontract is to be awarded to the CMAR or D/B firm. 

The bill states that any person entering into an MEP subcontract has no 

contractual remedies against the public entity that enters into the underlying 

construction management contact with the CMAR, or the underlying design-build 

contract with the D/B firm, as the case may be.  This does not, however, limit certain 

remedies available under existing law10 or under the escrow requirements set forth in 

the subcontract. 

Projects requiring competitive bidding 

(R.C. 153.01) 

For these public entities (other than counties and school districts), the bill 

increases the minimum project cost threshold triggering the requirement that state 

                                                 
10 See R.C. 153.56 and 1311.28. 
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projects be competitively bid to $200,000.  (The current threshold of $50,000 would 

continue to apply to all state entities other than state agencies and state institutions of 

higher education, as those terms are defined above.) 

Competitive bidding is not required, however, with respect to any work to be 

performed pursuant to a construction management contract entered into with a CMAR 

or pursuant to a contract for design-build services entered into with a D/B firm. 

Rulemaking by the Department of Administrative Services 

(R.C. 153.503 and 153.504; Section 701.10) 

The bill requires the Department to adopt R.C. Chapter 119. rules not later than 

June 30, 2011,11 that do all of the following: 

(1)  Establish a program to certify bidders on general contracts and on 

subcontracts awarded by a CMAR, D/B firm, or general contractor.  The rules are to 

include criteria and procedures governing the process of application and certification 

under the program.  The rules are also to require, as a condition to certification on a 

subcontract the value of which is $2 million or more,  that the bidder certify in writing 

that: 

 The bidder has made and will continue to make irrevocable contributions 

toward health care insurance and pension or retirement funds, plans, or 

programs for all skilled trade personnel to be used on the project, and 

 All skilled trade personnel to be used on the project relating to MEP work 

meet at least one of the following requirements:  (a) they have been 

trained in a state or federally approved training program, (b) they have 

successfully completed a comparable training program, or (c) they have a 

minimum of three years experience. 

This certification requirement would not apply, however, if the public entity 

determines that at least two bidders able to meet the requirement are not readily 

available. 

The Director of Administrative Services is required to commission an 

independent study of the Department's certification program on July 1, 2013, or as soon 

as possible thereafter.  Upon completion of the study, the Director is to provide a copy 

of its findings to the Governor, the Speaker of the House, and the Senate President. 

                                                 
11 This is a technical error. 
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(2)  Establish criteria and procedures for public entities to follow in approving 

bidders on general contracts and on subcontracts awarded by a CMAR, D/B firm, or 

general contractor.  The rules are to be consistent with the factors described in current 

law for determining whether a bidder is the lowest responsible and responsive bidder.12 

(3)  Establish procedures for the review, in an expedited manner, of any denial of 

certification or approval to bid. These review procedures supersede those provided 

under the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.), and are to be considered 

equivalent to adjudicatory proceedings under the Act.  The conclusions of a review 

cannot be overturned or altered in any manner by court order, except on a finding of 

fraud or collusion. 

(4)  Prescribe the form for general contracts and for subcontracts.  Each form 

contract and subcontract must provide for the creation of an escrow account for the 

payment of amounts required to be paid to subcontractors and sub-subcontractors. 

The bill also sets forth the procedures that are to be followed when hiring a 

CMAR, D/B firm, or general contractor prior to the implementation of these rules.13 

Threshold adjustments 

(R.C. 153.53) 

Five years after the effective date of the construction reform provisions of the bill, 

the Director of Administrative Services is required to evaluate the monetary thresholds 

the bill establishes for purposes of competitive bidding, multiple-prime contracting, and 

general contracting, and adopt rules adjusting the amounts based on the average rate of 

inflation for each amount during each of the previous five years immediately preceding 

the adjustment.  The Director is to repeat the evaluation every five years thereafter. 

Application of other construction-related laws 

(R.C. 153.012, 153.03, 153.56, 153.581, 153.80, and 4113.61) 

Among other things, the bill specifically includes CMARs and D/B firms in the 

definition of "contractor" for purposes of the existing "prompt pay" law.  Generally, 

under that law, if a contractor does not pay a subcontractor within a specified period of 

time, interest is due and a civil action may be filed. 

                                                 
12 See, for example, R.C. 9.312(A). 

13 See Section 701.10 of the bill. 
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A CMAR or D/B firm may reduce any bond filed by a subcontractor, or reduce 

any funds retained by the CMAR or firm, for partial performance of the subcontract as 

is provided in current law for contracting authorities.  The bill also subjects CMARs and 

D/B firms to the current drug-free workplace laws by designating them "contractors" for 

purposes of that law. 

Currently, with respect to the award of any contract for the construction, 

improvement, or repair of a public improvement that is made by the state or in whole 

or in part by the state, preference must be given to contractors having their principal 

place of business in Ohio.  The bill extends that preference with respect to subcontracts 

awarded by CMARs or D/B firms. 

Community college districts; technical college districts 

(R.C. 3354.16 and 3357.16) 

With respect to the public improvement projects of community college districts 

and technical college districts, the bill increases, from $50,000 to $200,000, the minimum 

project cost threshold triggering the requirement that contracts be put out to bid and 

awarded to the lowest responsive and responsible bidder.14  As is required under 

current law, the Chancellor of the Board of Regents must adjust that monetary 

threshold every other year according to the average increase or decrease for each of the 

two immediately preceding years as set forth in the U.S. Department of Commerce, 

Bureau of Economic Analysis implicit price deflator for gross domestic product, 

nonresidential structures. 

Existing law does not require a board of trustees to solicit separate proposals, or 

award separate contracts, for a branch or class of work if the cost of that branch or class 

of work is less than $5,000.  The bill increases that threshold to $20,000. 

Subdivision of public improvement projects 

(R.C. 153.55) 

The bill prohibits an officer, board, or other authority of the state, a county, 

township, municipal corporation, school district, or other political subdivision, or any 

public institution belonging to any of those entities, from subdividing a public 

improvement project into component parts or separate projects in order to avoid the 

competitive bidding thresholds or the multiple-prime thresholds, unless the component 

parts or separate projects that result are conceptually separate and unrelated to each 

                                                 
14 This threshold also appears to be the multiple-prime threshold, though it is inconsistent with the 

$600,000 threshold established in R.C. 153.50. 
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other, or encompass independent or unrelated needs.  Additionally, when calculating 

the project amounts for purposes of those thresholds, the following are to be included 

as costs of the project:  professional fees and expenses for services associated with the 

preparation of plans; permit costs, testing costs, and other fees associated with the 

work; project construction costs; and a contingency reserve fund. 

Methods of advertising for bids 

(R.C. 9.331, 153.08, and 153.67) 

The bill permits public owners to advertise their intent to contract with a 

construction manager or CMAR by electronic means, as prescribed by the Director of 

Administrative Services by rule, in addition to advertising in a newspaper of general 

circulation as is currently required. 

Public authorities planning to contract for professional design services must 

publicly announce that fact under current law.  The announcement is to be sent to either 

of the following that the public authority considers appropriate: 

(1)  Each professional design firm that has a current statement of qualifications 

on file with the public authority and is qualified to perform the required professional 

design services; or 

(2)  Architect, landscape architect, engineer, and surveyor associations, the news 

media, and any publications or other public media. 

The bill extends the public announcement requirement to public authorities 

intending to contract for design-build services.  It eliminates the entities described in 

(1), and instead requires that – in addition to sending the announcement to the entities 

listed in (2) – the intent to enter into a contract for professional design services or 

design-build services must be provided to D/B firms, including contractors or other 

entities that seek to perform the work as a D/B firm. 

Lastly, the bill permits the broadcasting of public bid openings by electronic 

means, in accordance with rules of the Director, and recognizes the electronic filing of 

bids.  If a bid and bid guaranty are filed electronically, they must be received 

electronically before the published deadline.  For all bids filed electronically, the 

original, unaltered bid guaranty is to be made available to the public owner after the 

public bid opening. 
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Contingency reserve 

(R.C. 126.141) 

The bill mandates that any request made to the Director of Budget and 

Management or the Controlling Board for the release of capital appropriations for 

projects, the contracts of which are awarded by the Department of Administrative 

Services, contain a contingency reserve for payment of unanticipated project expenses.  

The amount of the contingency reserve is to be determined by the Department.  

Contingency reserve funds are to be used to pay costs resulting from unanticipated job 

conditions; to comply with rulings regarding building and other codes; to pay costs 

related to errors, omissions, or other deficiencies in contract documents; to pay costs 

associated with changes in the scope of work; to pay interest due on late payments; and 

to pay the costs of settlements and judgments related to the project. 

Any funds remaining upon completion of a project may − upon Controlling 

Board approval − be released for the use of the agency or instrumentality to which the 

appropriation was made for other capital facilities projects. 

Life-cycle cost analysis; energy consumption analysis 

(R.C. 123.011) 

The bill maintains the current requirement that a life-cycle cost analysis or, if 

applicable, an energy consumption analysis be prepared in conjunction with the lease 

or construction of a state-funded facility, but removes the condition that such analyses 

be secured from the Office of Energy Services within the Department of Administrative 

Services.  It also eliminates the requirement that copies of all pertinent life-cycle cost 

analyses be submitted whenever any state agency, department, division, bureau, office, 

unit, board, commission, authority, quasi-governmental entity, or institution requests 

release of capital improvement funds for any state-funded facility. 

The bill defines "life-cycle cost analysis" as a general approach to economic 

evaluation that takes into account all dollar costs related to owning, operating, 

maintaining, and ultimately disposing of a project over the appropriate study period. It 

also modifies the rule-making authority of the Office with respect to what is to be 

included in a life-cycle cost analysis or an energy consumption analysis, as follows: 

--Current law states that a life-cycle cost analysis may demonstrate for each 

design how the design contributes to energy efficiency and conservation with respect to 

certain factors, such as the amount and type of glass to be used.  This provision is 

removed by the bill. 
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--The bill also removes the requirement that an energy consumption analysis 

include a comparison of two or more energy consuming system alternatives and a 

projection of the annual energy consumption of the major energy consuming systems, 

components, and equipment over the economic life of the facility. 

Additionally, the bill exempts state-funded facilities operated by a political 

subdivision15 from having to comply with (1) the cost-effective, energy efficiency and 

conservation standards adopted by the Office by rule and (2) the requirement that the 

facility be managed by at least one certified building operator.  Managers of facilities 

operated by a political subdivision may not apply for a waiver of compliance with any 

of the other rules required to be adopted by the Office. 

Application of the bill's construction reforms 

(Section 701.13) 

As mentioned above, the Director of Administrative Services is required by the 

bill to adopt R.C. Chapter 119. rules to establish guidelines for the provision of surety 

bonds by CMARs and D/B firms.  The provisions of the bill that modify the laws 

governing the permissible methods of construction delivery for the construction of 

public improvements (that is, all of the provisions described under "Public 

construction reform" in this analysis) apply only to public improvement projects 

commencing on or after the date the Director adopts those rules. 

OAKS capital project reporting requirements 

(R.C. 123.101) 

Starting by July 1, 2012, and upon completion of a capital facilities project that is 

funded wholly or in part using state funds, each public entity must submit a report 

about the project to the Director of Administrative Services.  A "capital facilities project" 

is the construction, reconstruction, improvement, enlargement, alteration, or repair of a 

building by a public entity.  A "public entity" includes a state agency, county, township, 

municipal corporation, school district, state institution of higher education, or any other 

political subdivision of the state. 

The report must be submitted in Ohio Administrative Knowledge System 

(OAKS) capital improvement format or in a manner determined by the Director and not 

later than 30 days after the project is complete. The bill requires the report to provide 

                                                 
15 The bill defines "political subdivision" for these purposes as a county, township, municipal corporation, 

board of education of any school district, or any other body corporate and politic that is responsible for 

government activities in a geographic area smaller than that of the state (R.C. 123.011(A)(6)). 
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the total original contract bid, total cost of change orders, total actual cost of the project, 

total costs incurred for mediation and litigation services, and any other data the 

Director requests. 

The first report submitted under this requirement must include information 

about any capital facilities project completed on or after July 1, 2011. 

Also, starting by July 1, 2012, and annually thereafter, the Attorney General must 

report to the Director on any mediation and litigation costs associated with capital 

facilities projects for which a judgment has been rendered.  The report must be 

submitted in a manner prescribed by the Director, and must contain any information 

the Director requests related to capital facilities project mediation and litigation costs. 

As soon as practicable after the information is made available, the Director must 

incorporate the information reported by public entities and the Attorney General into 

OAKS. 

Job classification plans and appointment incentive programs not by rule 

(R.C. 124.14, 124.141, and 124.15) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that the establishment, modification, and 

recission of job classification plans by the Director of Administrative Services be done 

by rule.  Continuing law requires the Director to perform these functions. 

The bill also eliminates the requirement that the Director follow the rule-making 

requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act16 to establish experimental 

classification plans; to establish, modify, or rescind a classification plan for county 

agencies; and to establish an appointment incentive program. 

The bill requires the Director to send written notice of a proposed modification to 

a classification or the assignment of classes to appropriate pay ranges to the appointing 

authorities of the affected employees, and to send the appointing authorities another 

notice ten days after the modification occurs.  The appointing authorities must notify 

the affected employees regarding the modification 30 days before it occurs.  Current law 

requires these modifications to be done by rule, and requires the Director to send notice 

of the proposed rule 30 days before the hearing on the proposed rule.  (As noted above 

the bill eliminates the requirement that these modifications be done by rule.) 

                                                 
16 R.C. Chapter 119. 
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Civil service law 

(R.C. 124.09, 124.23, 124.231, 124.25, 124.26, 124.27, and 124.31) 

Civil service examinations 

The bill requires the Director of Administrative Services to prescribe by rule the 

notification method that is to be used by an appointing authority to notify the Director 

that a position in the state classified civil service is to be filled.  The bill states, as a 

general principle, that when a position in the state classified civil service is to be filled, 

an examination is to be administered.  But, the bill authorizes the Director, with 

sufficient justification from an appointing authority, to allow the appointing authority 

to fill a position by noncompetitive examination.  The Director must establish, by rule 

adopted under the Administrative Procedure Act (which requires notice and a hearing), 

standards the Director is to use to determine what serves as sufficient justification from 

an appointing authority to fill a position by noncompetitive examination. 

The bill requires the Director to post notices via electronic media of every 

examination to be conducted for positions in the state classified civil service.  The 

electronic notice must be posted on the Director's Internet site for a minimum of one 

week preceding any examination.  Under current law, notices must be posted for two 

weeks in conspicuous public places such as court houses and city halls, and in the office 

of the Director. 

The bill authorizes the Director to delegate the Director's civil service examining 

authority to a designee. 

Special examinations 

The bill provides for special examinations to be administered to legally blind 

persons and legally deaf persons who are applying for any position in the classified 

civil service.  Current law provides that special examinations are to be administered 

only for original appointments.  The bill also removes the Director's express authority to 

administer equitable programs for the employment of legally blind persons and legally 

deaf persons. 

Appointments 

The bill requires an appointing authority that is making an appointment to a 

position in the classified civil service, to make the appointment in the following 

manner:  each time a selection is made, it must be from one of the names that ranks in 

the top 25% of the eligible list.  But, in the event that ten or fewer names are on the 

eligible list, the appointing authority may select any of the listed candidates.  
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Continuing law relocated by the bill provides that each person who qualifies for the 

veteran's preference, who is a resident of the state, and whose name is on the eligible 

list for a position is entitled to preference in the original appointment to any such 

competitive position in the civil service of the state and its civil divisions over all other 

persons who are eligible for those appointments and who are standing on the relevant 

eligible list with a rating equal to that of the person qualifying for the veteran's 

preference.  Current law generally requires the appointing authority to appoint a 

person from a list of ten names standing highest on the eligible list, but appointment 

from that list is not mandatory if less than ten names are on the list. 

The bill specifies that an eligible list expires upon the filling or closing of the 

position for which the eligible list was prepared.  An expired eligible list can be used to 

fill a position in the same classification within the same appointing authority for which 

the expired eligible list was prepared.  But in no event can an expired eligible list be 

used longer than one year after its expiration date.  (Under current law, the Director can 

fix the term of an eligible list at not less than one nor more than two years.)  The bill 

eliminates the Director's authority under current law to consolidate two or more eligible 

lists. 

Probationary employees 

The bill requires an appointing authority, upon dismissing a probationary 

employee, to communicate that fact to the Director.  Under current law, the appointing 

authority must communicate the reason for which the probationary employee was 

dismissed.  All original and promotional appointments are for a probationary period.  If 

a probationary employee's service is unsatisfactory, the employee may be dismissed at 

any time during the probationary period. 

Promotions 

Under the bill, the Director's rule for making promotions in the state classified 

civil service must require that promotions be made on the basis of merit and by conduct 

and capacity in office.  The bill eliminates the requirement that merit for promotion be 

ascertained by promotional examinations and by seniority in service. 

State public notice web site 

(R.C. 125.182) 

The bill requires the Office of Information Technology, by itself or by contract 

with another entity, to establish, operate, and maintain a state public notice web site 

where state agencies and political subdivisions may publish notices required by statute 

or rule.  The bill specifies criteria that the Office of Information Technology must satisfy 
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in establishing, maintaining, and operating the state public notice web site.  The office 

must: 

(1)  Use a domain name for the web site that will be easily recognizable and 

remembered by and understandable to users of the web site; 

(2)  Maintain the web site so that it is fully accessible to and searchable by 

members of the public at all times; 

(3)  Not charge a fee to a person who accesses, searches, or otherwise uses the 

web site; 

(4)  Not charge a fee to a state agency or political subdivision for publishing a 

notice on the web site; 

(5)  Ensure that notices displayed on the web site conform to the requirements 

that would apply to the notices if they were being published in a newspaper, as directed 

in the alternative publication procedure established by the bill17 or in the relevant 

provision of the statute or rule that requires the notice; 

(6)  Ensure that notices continue to be displayed on the web site for not less than 

the length of time required by the relevant provision of the statute or rule that requires 

the notice; 

(7)  Devise and display on the web site a form that may be downloaded and used 

to request publication of a notice on the web site; 

(8)  Enable responsible parties to submit notices and requests for publication 

through the web site; 

(9)  Maintain an archive of notices that no longer are displayed on the web site; 

(10)  Enable notices, both those currently displayed and those archived, to be 

accessed by key word, by party name, by case number, by county, and by other useful 

identifiers; 

(11)  Maintain adequate systemic security and backup features for the web site, 

and develop and maintain a contingency plan for coping with and recovering from 

power outages, systemic failures, and other unforeseeable difficulties that may affect 

the web site; and 

                                                 
17 See R.C. 7.16. 
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(12)  Maintain the web site in such a manner that it will not infringe legally 

protected interests, so that vulnerability of the web site to interruption because of 

litigation or the threat of litigation is reduced. 

The bill requires the Office to submit a status report to the Secretary of State 

twice annually that demonstrates compliance with statutory requirements governing 

publication of notices. 

The Office of Information Technology is required to bear the expense of 

maintaining the state public notice web site domain name. 

Duties of the Office of Information Technology and fund creation 

The bill makes several changes to the duties of the Office of Information 

Technology, within the Department of Administrative Services.  First, the bill 

authorizes the Office to operate an information technology (IT) purchase program. 

Second, the bill requires the State Chief Information Officer to compute certain revenue 

and deposit the revenue into the Information Technology Fund.  Finally, the bill creates 

two IT funds in permanent law. 

Information technology purchase program 

(R.C. 125.18(G)) 

The bill permits the Office of Information Technology to operate a program to 

make IT purchases for government entities.  This provision was included in temporary 

law in Am. Sub. H.B. 1, the main operating budget enacted by the 128th General 

Assembly.  The Director of Administrative Services may recover the cost of operating 

the program from all participating government entities by issuing intrastate transfer 

voucher billings for the purchases or through any pass-through billing method agreed 

to by the Director of Administrative Services, the Director of Budget and Management, 

and the participating government entity.  If the Director of Administrative Services 

issues intrastate transfer voucher billings, the participating government entities must 

process the vouchers to pay for the cost of the IT purchases.  Amounts received under 

this program must be deposited to the credit of the new Information Technology 

Governance Fund. 

Revenue deposits to the Information Technology Fund 

(R.C. 125.18(B)(10) and 125.18(H)) 

The bill requires the State Chief Information Officer to compute the amount of 

revenue attributable to the amortization of certain IT equipment purchases and 

capitalized systems that are recovered as part of the information technology services 
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rates the Department of Administrative Services charges and deposits into the 

Information Technology Fund.  The Director of Administrative Services may request 

the Director of Budget and Management to transfer an amount not to exceed the 

amount computed under this provision from the Information Technology Fund into the 

new Major Information Technology Purchases Fund. 

Fund creation 

(R.C. 125.15 and 125.18(H)) 

The bill creates two funds in permanent law.  These funds currently exist in 

temporary law enacted in Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly (the main 

operating budget).  The first fund, the Information Technology Governance Fund, is to 

consist of money paid by agencies to reimburse the Department of Administrative 

Services for the acquisition services provided to those agencies and amounts received 

under the Office of Information Technology's IT purchase program.  The second fund, 

the Major Information Technology Purchases Fund, is to consist of transfers from the 

existing Information Technology Fund. 

State Employee Child Support Fund 

(R.C. 125.213, 3121.03 (not in the bill), and 3121.19 (not in the bill)) 

The bill creates the State Employee Child Support Fund, which is required to be 

in the custody of the Treasurer of State but not a part of the state treasury.  The Fund is 

to consist of all money withheld or deducted from the wages and salaries of state 

officials and employees pursuant to a child support withholding or deduction notice.  

Money in the Fund may be used only for the purposes of forwarding it to the Office of 

Child Support in ODJFS, and paying any direct or indirect costs associated with 

maintaining the Fund. 

Continuing law requires an employer to submit the entire amount withheld from 

an obligor's income pursuant to a child support withholding or deduction notice to the 

Office of Child Support in ODJFS immediately, but not later than seven business days, 

after the withholding or deduction. 

Joint Legislative Ethics Committee authority to contract with the 
Department of Administrative Services for statutory services related to 
state agency buildings 

(R.C. 123.01) 

The bill provides that purchases or leases for, and the custody and repair of, 

office space used for the purposes of the Joint Legislative Ethics Committee (JLEC) are 



Legislative Service Commission -61- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

not subject to the control and jurisdiction of the Department of Administrative Services.  

The bill provides, instead, that if JLEC so requests, it may enter into a contract with the 

Department under which the Department agrees to perform any of the services 

requested by JLEC that the Department currently has authority to perform related to 

buildings of state agencies under its jurisdiction.  For example, the Department makes 

contracts for and supervises construction of any projects and improvements, or 

construction and repair, of buildings under the control of specified state agencies. 

Transfer of Ohio Building Authority functions to the Department of 
Administrative Services 

(Section 515.40) 

Effective January 1, 2012, the bill transfers the building and facility operations 

and management functions of the Ohio Building Authority (OBA),18 and related 

functions, assets, and liabilities, to the Department of Administrative Services.  The 

Department succeeds to, assumes the powers and obligations of, and otherwise 

constitutes the continuation of the building and facilities operations and management 

functions of the OBA.  All statutory references to OBA are deemed to be references to 

the Department. 

Any business relating to OBA's building and facilities operations and 

management functions that was commenced but not completed by OBA before the 

transfer, is to be completed by the Department, in the same manner, and with the same 

effect, as if completed by OBA.  No validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, obligation, 

or liability is lost or impaired by reason of the transfer, and is to be administered by the 

Department.  All of the rules, orders, and determinations related to OBA's building and 

facilities operations and management functions continue in effect as rules, orders, and 

determinations of the Department, until modified or rescinded by the Department.  No 

judicial or administrative proceeding to which OBA is party and that relates to its 

building and facilities operations and management functions that is pending on January 

1, 2012, or on a later date established by OBA and the Department is affected by the 

transfer and is to be prosecuted or defended in the name of the Department. 

Employees of OBA may be transferred to the Department as the Department 

determines to be necessary for successful implementation of the transfer, to the extent 

possible, with no loss of service credit.  Not later than August 1, 2011, employees of the 

OBA who are designated as building and facility operations management staff are 

eligible to participate in group health plans offered to state employees. 

                                                 
18 Chapter 152. of the Revised Code. 



Legislative Service Commission -62- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

If requested by the Department, the bill requires the Director of Budget and 

Management to make the budget changes made necessary by the transfer.  The budget 

changes may include administrative reorganization, program transfers, the creation of 

new funds, and the consolidation of funds.  Not later than 30 days after the transfer 

OBA must certify the unexpended balance and location of any funds and accounts 

designated for building and facility operation and management functions and the 

custody of those funds and accounts must be transferred to the Department.  The 

Director of Budget and Management may, if necessary, establish encumbrances or parts 

of encumbrances as needed in fiscal year 2012 in the appropriate fund and 

appropriation item pertaining to the Department, for the same purpose and payment to 

the same vendor as formerly pertained to OBA.  These encumbrances plus any 

additional amounts determined to be necessary for the Department to perform the 

building and facility operations and management functions of OBA are appropriated by 

the bill. 

The bill authorizes OBA, after the effective date of the provisions of the bill 

requiring the transfer, to meet for the purpose of better accomplishing the transfer of 

OBA's building and facility operations and management functions to the Department.  

OBA may take necessary or appropriate actions to effect an orderly transition of its 

building and facility operations and management functions to the Department. 

State of Ohio Computer Center rent 

(R.C. 125.28) 

The bill removes the State of Ohio Computer Center from the list of state office 

buildings, the non-General Revenue Fund supported state agency tenants of which 

must reimburse the GRF for rent.  Under continuing law, any state agency that is 

supported in whole or in part by non-GRF money, and that occupies space in certain 

state office buildings, must reimburse the GRF for the cost of occupying the space in a 

ratio that the occupied space attributable to non-GRF money bears to the total space 

occupied.  The bill relieves tenants of the State of Ohio Computer Center from this 

obligation. 

Report on acquisition and disposal of federal property 

(R.C. 125.89) 

The bill eliminates the requirement for the Department of Administrative 

Services to annually make a report to the General Assembly regarding the acquisition 

and disposal of surplus federal property.  Under continuing law, in conformance with 

the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act of 1949, the Department may 

enter into contracts, compacts, and cooperative agreements for and on behalf of the 
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state, with the several states or the federal government, in order to provide for the 

utilization by and exchange between them of property, facilities, personnel, and 

services of each by the other. 

Ohio Pharmacy Service Center 

(R.C. 125.024 and 5119.16) 

Request for proposals regarding outsourcing of drug procurement and related 
services 

If the Ohio Pharmacy Service Center (operated by the Department of Mental 

Health) provides drugs and related pharmacy services to the Center's customers, the 

bill requires the Department of Administrative Services to issue a request for proposals 

(RFP) for the purpose of determining whether such goods and services could be 

provided by a vendor, on the Center's behalf, in a manner that achieves greater 

operational efficiencies and savings to the state than those that could be achieved if the 

Center provides the goods and services itself.  The initial request for proposals must be 

issued not later than 60 days after the bill's effective date. 

Competitive bidding process 

Before issuing an RFP, the bill requires the Department to develop a process to 

be used in issuing the RFP, receiving responses to the RFP, and evaluating responses on 

a competitive basis.  If the Department determines from a review of the proposals 

submitted through the RFP process that a vendor is able to provide the goods and 

services in a manner that achieves greater operational efficiencies and savings to the 

state than those that could be achieved if the Center provides the goods and services 

itself, the bill requires the Department to enter into a contract for the provision of the 

goods and services. 

Rulemaking 

The bill requires the Department to adopt rules in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) to implement the provisions 

described above.  At a minimum, the rules must specify the duration of a contract and a 

process for issuing subsequent RFPs, receiving responses to the RFPs, and evaluating 

the responses on a competitive basis. 
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Temporary assignment of exempt employee to duties of higher 
classification 

(Section 701.30) 

The bill authorizes an appointing authority, with the written consent of an 

exempt employee, to assign duties of a higher classification to that exempt employee for 

a period of up to two years.  Exempt employees that are temporarily so assigned are 

entitled to compensation at a rate commensurate with the duties of the higher 

classification.  An "appointing authority" is any officer, commission, board, or body 

having the power of appointment to, or removal from, positions in any office, 

department, commission, board, or institution.  An "exempt employee" is a permanent 

employee who is paid by warrant of the Director of Budget and Management, whose 

position is included in the state job classification plan, and who is exempt from public 

employee collective bargaining. 

Office of Risk Management 

(R.C. 9.82 and 9.823) 

The bill allows the Office of Risk Management to manage risk for the Supreme 

Court, the courts of appeals, the courts of common pleas and any division of courts of 

common pleas, municipal courts, and county courts as it does for the state for purposes 

of the Judicial Liability Program. 

The bill also allows the Risk Management Reserve Fund to be used for the 

payment of any liability claim that is filed against the state rather than only liability 

claims that are filed in the Court of Claims. 

State government reorganization plan 

(Section 701.60) 

Within 30 days after the section's effective date, the bill requires the Department 

of Administrative Services to begin developing recommendations for a state 

government reorganization plan focused on increased efficiencies in the operation of 

state government and a reduced number of state agencies.  The Department must 

present its recommendations to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the 

President of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the 

Minority Leader of the Senate by January 1, 2012. 
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DEPARTMENT OF AGING (AGE) 

 Specifies that long-term acute care hospitals are subject to the authority of the Office 

of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman. 

 Specifies that long-term acute care hospitals are required to pay an annual fee of $6 

per bed to fund the regional long-term care ombudsperson programs. 

 Authorizes the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) to adopt rules establishing a fee to 

be charged for certification of community-based long-term care agencies. 

 Authorizes ODA to suspend a community-based long-term care agency's 

certification or require the agency to submit evidence of compliance with 

requirements identified by ODA after a hearing when required to do so by rules.  

 Specifies the conditions under which ODA is not required to hold a hearing when it 

imposes a disciplinary sanction against a certified community-based long-term care 

agency. 

 Requires ODA to promote the development of a statewide aging and disabilities 

resource network to provide older adults, adults with disabilities, and their 

caregivers with information on available long-term care service options and 

streamlined access to public and private long-term care services. 

 Requires area agencies on aging to establish the network and to collaborate with 

centers for independent living and other locally funded organizations to establish a 

cost-effective and consumer-friendly network. 

 Specifies that the annual fees that ODA charges long-term care facilities relative to 

its Ohio Long-Term Care Consumer Guide are being charged for purposes of 

publishing the Guide, rather than only for purposes of the customer satisfaction 

surveys that are included in the Guide. 

 Permits ODA to include in the Guide information on adult care facilities and 

providers of home and community-based services. 
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Long-term acute care hospitals 

(R.C. 173.14 and 173.26) 

The bill specifies that long-term acute care hospitals are long-term care facilities 

subject to the authority of the Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman.  For 

purposes of the bill, a long-term acute care hospital has the following characteristics:  

(1) it provides medical and rehabilitative care to patients who require an average length 

of stay greater than 25 days, and (2) it is classified by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services as a long-term care hospital.19 

The bill also specifies that long-term acute care hospitals are required to pay the 

annual fee of $6 per bed that other long-term care facilities must pay under existing law.  

These fees fund the regional long-term care ombudsperson programs. 

Fee for certification of community-based long-term care agencies 

(R.C. 173.391(A)(1) and (G)) 

The bill authorizes the Director of the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) to adopt 

rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) 

establishing a fee to be charged for certification of community-based long-term care 

agencies.  Current law refers to such agencies as "service providers." 

The bill also specifies that the certification process includes the payment of a fee, 

if one is established, by persons and government entities seeking certification as 

community-based long-term care agencies.  Law unchanged by the bill requires the 

certification process to be conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 

Act, meaning that if ODA seeks to deny or take another negative action with respect to 

certification, the affected party is entitled to an administrative hearing. 

The bill requires that all fees for certification collected by ODA or its designee be 

deposited in the state treasury to the credit of the Provider Certification Fund created 

by the bill.  Money credited to the fund must be used to pay for community-based long-

term care services, administrative costs associated with community-based long-term 

care agency certification, and administrative costs related to the publication of the Ohio 

Long-Term Care Consumer Guide. 

                                                 
19 42 C.F.R. 412.23(e). 
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Suspensions; evidence of compliance 

(R.C. 173.391(A)(2)(f)) 

The bill authorizes ODA to impose two additional disciplinary sanctions after an 

administrative hearing when required to do so by rules:  suspend a community-based 

long-term care agency's certification or require the agency to submit evidence of 

compliance with requirements identified by ODA. 

Currently, ODA is limited to imposing the following disciplinary sanctions: 

issuing a written warning, requiring the submission of a plan of correction, suspending 

referrals, removing clients, imposing a fiscal sanction (such as a civil monetary penalty 

or an order that unearned funds be repaid), revoking the certification, or imposing 

another sanction.  With respect to this last item, the bill authorizes ODA through rules 

adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to determine what 

constitutes "another sanction." 

Actions that do not require a hearing 

(R.C. 173.391(E)) 

The bill specifies that ODA is not required to hold hearings if any of the 

following conditions apply: 

(1)  Rules adopted by the ODA Director require the community-based long-term 

care agency to be a party to a provider agreement; hold a license, certificate, or permit; 

or maintain a certification, any of which is required or issued by a state or federal 

government entity other than ODA, and either of the following is the case:  (a) the 

provider agreement has not been entered into or the license, certificate, permit, or 

certification has not been obtained or maintained, or (b) the provider agreement, 

license, certificate, permit, or certification has been denied, revoked, not renewed, 

suspended, or has otherwise been restricted. 

(2)  The agency's certification has been denied, suspended, or revoked for any of 

the following reasons:  

(a)  A government entity in Ohio, other than ODA, has terminated or refused to 

renew any of the following held by, or has denied any of the following sought by, a 

community-based long-term care agency:  a provider agreement, license, certificate, 

permit, or certification.  This provision applies regardless of whether the agency has 

entered into a provider agreement in, or holds a license, certificate, permit, or 

certification issued by, another state. 
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(b)  The agency or a principal owner or manager of the agency who provides 

direct care has entered a guilty plea for, or has been convicted of, an offense materially 

related to the Medicaid program. 

(c)  The agency or a principal owner or manager of the agency who provides 

direct care has entered a guilty plea to, or been convicted for, an offense that 

disqualifies an applicant for employment with a public or private entity that provides 

home and community-based services to individuals through the Medicaid waiver 

program known as PASSPORT,20 but only if none of the personal character standards 

established by ODA in rules apply.  

(d)  The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has taken adverse 

action against the agency and that action impacts the agency's participation in the 

Medicaid program. 

(e)  The agency has failed to enter into or renew a provider agreement with the 

PASSPORT administrative agency that administers programs on behalf of ODA in the 

region of Ohio in which the agency is certified to provide services. 

(f)  The agency has not billed or otherwise submitted a claim to ODA for 

payment under the Medicaid program in at least two years. 

(g)  The agency denied or failed to provide ODA or its designee access to the 

agency's facilities during the agency's normal business hours for purposes of 

conducting an audit or structural compliance review. 

(h)  The agency has ceased doing business. 

(i)  The agency has voluntarily relinquished its certification for any reason. 

(3)  The agency's Medicaid provider agreement has been suspended. 

(4)  The agency's Medicaid provider agreement is denied or revoked because the 

agency or its owner, officer, authorized agent, associate, manager, or employee has been 

convicted of an offense that caused the provider agreement to be suspended. 

Notice 

(R.C. 173.391(F)) 

If ODA does not hold a hearing when any condition, described above, applies, 

the bill permits ODA to send a notice to the agency describing a decision not to certify 

                                                 
20 The many offenses are listed in R.C. 173.394(C)(1)(a). 
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the agency or the disciplinary action ODA proposes to take.  The notice must be sent to 

the agency's address that is on record with ODA and may be sent by regular mail. 

Aging and disabilities resource network 

(R.C. 173.41) 

The bill requires ODA to promote the development of a statewide aging and 

disabilities resource network to provide older adults, adults with disabilities, and their 

caregivers with information on available long-term care service options and streamlined 

access to public and private long-term care services. 

Area agencies on aging are required to establish the network throughout Ohio.  

In doing so, the agencies are to collaborate with centers for independent living and 

other locally funded organizations to establish a cost-effective and consumer-friendly 

network that builds on existing, local infrastructures of services that support consumers 

in their communities. 

Ohio Long-Term Care Consumer Guide 

(R.C. 173.45 to 173.48; Section 209.30) 

Fees 

The bill specifies that the annual fees ODA is authorized to charge certain long-

term care facilities regarding its Ohio Long-Term Care Consumer Guide are being 

charged for purposes of publishing the Guide, rather than being charged only for 

ODA's conduct of the customer satisfaction surveys that are included in the Guide.  In 

addition to the customer satisfaction survey, current law provides for this Guide to 

include, for each long-term care facility, information on the facility's compliance with 

state and federal requirements, information from the quality measures developed by 

the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and any other information ODA 

specifies in rules. 

Information on adult care facilities and home and community-based services 

The bill permits ODA to include in the Long-Term Care Consumer Guide 

information regarding adult care facilities, which serve 3 to 16 residents, and providers 

of home and community-based services.  During fiscal years 2012 and 2013, ODA must 

identify methods and tools for assessing consumer satisfaction with these facilities and 

providers.  ODA also must consider developing a fee structure to support inclusion of 

information about the facilities and providers in the Guide. 
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE (AGR) 

 Expands existing provisions stating that the Director of Agriculture has sole and 

exclusive authority to regulate the provision of food nutrition information to include 

in that information allergens and the designation of food as healthy or unhealthy. 

 States that the Director has sole and exclusive authority in Ohio to regulate the 

provision of consumer incentive items at food service operations, and defines 

"consumer incentive item." 

 Modifies and expands prohibitions against political subdivisions, taking specified 

actions with regard to food nutrition information and consumer incentive items, 

including enacting, adopting, or continuing in effect local legislation relating to the 

provision of consumer incentive items at food service operations. 

 Prohibits a political subdivision from enacting, adopting, or continuing in effect 

local legislation that bans, prohibits, or otherwise restricts a food service operation 

because that food service operation is characterized as a quick service or fast food 

restaurant. 

 States that the regulation of how food service operations are characterized is a 

matter of general statewide interest that requires uniform statewide regulation and 

that the Food Service Operations Law and rules adopted under it constitute a 

comprehensive plan with respect to all aspects of food service operations in Ohio. 

 Revises specified fees for phytosanitary certificates issued by the Director of 

Agriculture, including eliminating the $25 fee for collectors or dealers that are 

licensed under the Nursery Stock and Plant Pests Law and adding a $25 fee for 

shipments comprised exclusively of nursery stock. 

 Allows the Director to contract with individuals or entities to perform gypsy moth 

trapping in lieu of employing seasonal gypsy moth tenders as authorized in current 

law. 

 Extends through June 30, 2013, the extra 2¢ per-gallon earmark of wine tax revenue 

that is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund. 

 Eliminates the requirement that no less than 30% of the money in the Ohio Grape 

Industries Fund be expended by the existing Ohio Grape Industries Committee for 

specified purposes, including the marketing of grapes and grape products, but 

retains a 70% cap on those expenditures. 
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 Extends existing rights, privileges, and protections associated with the ownership or 

use of assistance dogs by mobility impaired persons to persons diagnosed with 

autism or assistance dogs used by those persons. 

 Requires a person proposing to operate a commercially used weighing and 

measuring device that provides the final quantity and final cost of a transaction and 

that is a livestock scale, vehicle scale, railway scale, vehicle tank meter, bulk rack 

meter, or LPG meter to obtain a permit for its operation from the Director of 

Agriculture. 

 Specifies that a commercially used weighing and measuring device operation permit 

may be renewed annually. 

 Establishes a permit application fee of $75 for a commercially used weighing and 

measuring device operation permit and an annual permit renewal fee of the same 

amount. 

 Requires the proceeds of fees associated with the issuance of permits for 

commercially used weighing and measuring devices to be credited to the renamed 

Metrology and Scale Certification and Device Permitting Fund, which provides 

funding for the administration of the weights and measures program. 

 Alters the specified provisions of the weights and measures program a violation of 

which triggers a civil or criminal penalty. 

 Creates the Auctioneer Study Commission, and requires it to examine the scope of 

practices for the auctioneer profession and make recommendations to the Governor 

and the General Assembly. 

 

 

Regulation of food service operations 

(R.C. 3717.53 and 3717.54) 

Regulation of food nutrition information and consumer incentive items 

The bill expands existing provisions stating that the Director of Agriculture has 

sole and exclusive authority to regulate the provision of food nutrition information at 

food service operations to include in that information allergens and the designation of 

food as healthy or unhealthy.  Currently, a food service operation is a place, location, 

site, or separate area where food intended to be served in individual portions is 
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prepared or served for a charge or required donation.  It includes a catering food service 

operation and vending machine location. 

The bill adds that the Director has sole and exclusive authority in Ohio to 

regulate the provision of consumer incentive items at food service operations.  Under 

the bill, a consumer incentive item is any licensed media character, toy, game, trading 

card, contest, point accumulation, club membership, admission ticket, token, code or 

password for digital access, coupon, voucher, incentive, crayons, coloring placemat, or 

other premium, prize, or consumer product that is associated with a meal served by or 

acquired from a food service operation. 

The bill prohibits a political subdivision from doing any of the following: 

(1)  Enacting, adopting, or continuing in effect local legislation relating to the 

provision or nonprovision of food nutrition information or consumer incentive items at 

food service operations; 

(2)  Conditioning a license, a permit, or regulatory approval on the provision or 

nonprovision of food nutrition information or consumer incentive items at food service 

operations; 

(3)  Banning, prohibiting, or otherwise restricting food at food service operations 

based on the food nutrition information or on the provision or nonprovision of 

consumer incentive items; 

(4)  Conditioning a license, a permit, or regulatory approval for a food service 

operation on the existence or nonexistence of food-based health disparities; or 

(5)  Banning, prohibiting, or otherwise restricting food service operations based 

on the existence or nonexistence of food-based health disparities. 

Currently, a political subdivision is prohibited only from adopting or continuing 

in effect local legislation relating to the provision of food nutrition information at food 

service operations.  Local legislation includes, but is not limited to, an ordinance, 

resolution, regulation, rule, motion, or amendment that is enacted or adopted by a 

political subdivision. 

Regulation of fast food restaurants 

The bill prohibits a political subdivision from enacting, adopting, or continuing 

in effect local legislation that bans, prohibits, or otherwise restricts a food service 

operation because that food service operation is characterized as a quick service or fast 

food restaurant.  It states that the regulation of how food service operations are 
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characterized is a matter of general statewide interest that requires uniform statewide 

regulation and that the Food Service Operations Law and rules adopted under it 

constitute a comprehensive plan with respect to all aspects of food service operations in 

Ohio. 

Phytosanitary certificates fees 

(R.C. 927.69) 

The bill revises the fees for phytosanitary certificates issued by the Director of 

Agriculture as follows: 

(1)  Eliminates the $25 fee for collectors or dealers that are licensed under the 

Nursery Stock and Plant Pests Law; 

(2)  Adds a $25 fee for shipments comprised exclusively of nursery stock; 

(3)  Adds a $25 fee for replacement of an issued certificate because of a mistake 

on the certificate or a change made by the shipper if no additional inspection is 

required. 

Seasonal gypsy moth traptenders 

(R.C. 901.09) 

The bill allows the Director of Agriculture to contract with individuals or entities 

to perform gypsy moth trapping in lieu of employing seasonal gypsy moth tenders as 

authorized in current law. 

Grape industries 

(R.C. 924.52 and 4301.43) 

Wine tax diversion to Ohio Grape Industries Fund 

The bill extends through June 30, 2013 the extra 2¢ per-gallon earmark of wine 

tax revenue that is credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund.  Current law imposes a 

tax on the distribution of wine, vermouth, and sparkling and carbonated wine and 

champagne at rates ranging from 30¢ per gallon to $1.48 per gallon.  From the taxes 

paid, a portion is credited to the Fund for the encouragement of the stateʹs grape 

industry, and the remainder is credited to the General Revenue Fund.  The amount 

credited to the Ohio Grape Industries Fund is scheduled to decrease from 3¢ to 1¢ per 

gallon on July 1, 2011. 
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Expenditures by Ohio Grape Industries Committee 

The bill eliminates the requirement that no less than 30% of the money in the 

Ohio Grape Industries Fund, but retains the requirement that no more than 70% of the 

money, be expended by the existing Ohio Grape Industries Committee on each of the 

following: 

(1)  Conducting research on grapes and grape products, including production, 

processing, and transportation of grapes and grape products; 

(2)  Performing specified activities regarding the marketing of grapes and grape 

products. 

Assistance dogs 

(R.C. 955.011) 

For purposes of the statutes governing assistance dogs, the bill revises the 

definition of "mobility impaired person" to include a person who is diagnosed with 

autism.  As a result, the bill extends existing rights, privileges, and protections 

associated with the ownership or use of assistance dogs by mobility impaired persons 

to persons diagnosed with autism or assistance dogs used by those persons.  Those 

rights, privileges, and protections include all of the following: 

(1)  Exemption from dog registration fees; 

(2)  Entitlement to full use and enjoyment of all places of public accommodation; 

(3)  Protection from physical harm through the application of criminal penalties 

for assaulting an assistance dog; 

(4)  Protection from harassment through the application of criminal penalties for 

harassing an assistance dog; and 

(5)  Protection from theft of an assistance dog through the application of criminal 

penalties for such theft. 

Division of Weights and Measures 

Commercially used weighing and measuring device permit program 

(R.C. 1327.46, 1327.501, and 1327.511) 

The bill establishes a new permit requirement as part of the Department of 

Agriculture's weights and measures program.  Under the bill, a person operating 
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certain commercially used weighing and measuring devices that provide the final 

quantity and final cost of a transaction must obtain a permit issued by the Director of 

Agriculture or the Director's designee. 

The bill defines "commercially used weighing and measuring device" to mean a 

device described in the National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 44 or 

its supplements and revisions and any other weighing and measuring device 

designated by rules adopted under the Weights and Measures Law.  "Commercially 

used weighing and measuring device" includes, but is not limited to, a livestock scale, 

vehicle scale, railway scale, vehicle tank meter, bulk rack meter, and LPG meter (see 

below). 

The bill limits the devices for which a permit is required to livestock scales, 

vehicle scales, railway scales, vehicle tank meters, bulk rack meters, and LPG meters.  

An application for a permit must be submitted to the Director on a form that the 

Director prescribes and provides.  The applicant must include with the application any 

information that is specified on the application form as well as the application fee 

established by the bill.  Upon receipt of a completed application and the required fee, 

the Director or the Director's designee must issue or deny the permit. 

A permit applicant must pay a $75 application fee.  A person who seeks to renew 

a permit must pay an annual $75 permit renewal fee.  If a permit renewal fee is more 

than 60 days past due, the Director may assess a late penalty. 

For purposes of the permit program, the Director must:  (1) establish procedures 

and requirements governing the issuance or denial of permits, and (2) establish late 

penalties to be assessed for the late payment of a permit renewal fee and fees for the 

replacement of lost or destroyed permits. 

All money collected through the payment of fees and the imposition of penalties 

must be credited to the renamed Metrology and Scale Certification and Device 

Permitting Fund, currently the Metrology and Scale Certification Fund.  In addition to 

renaming the Fund, the bill adds to the purposes for which money in the Fund may be 

used.  Under the bill, money may be used for services rendered by the Department of 

Agriculture in operating the metrology laboratory program, the device permitting 

program, and the type evaluation program.  Under current law, money in the Fund 

only may be used for the type evaluation program. 

The bill includes the following definitions for purposes of the permitting 

program: 
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(1)  "Livestock scale" means a scale equipped with stock racks and gates that is 

adapted to weighing livestock standing on the scale platform. 

(2)  "Vehicle scale" means a scale that is adapted to weighing highway, farm, or 

other large industrial vehicles other than railroad cars. 

(3)  "Railway scale" means a rail scale that is designed to weigh railroad cars. 

(4)  "Vehicle tank meter" means a vehicle mounted device that is designed for the 

measurement and delivery of liquid products from a tank. 

(5)  "Bulk rack meter" means a wholesale device, usually mounted on a rack that 

is designed for the measurement and delivery of liquid products. 

(6)  "LPG meter" means a system, including a mechanism or machine of the 

meter type, that is designed to measure and deliver liquefied petroleum gas in the 

liquid state by a definite quantity whether installed in a permanent location or mounted 

on a vehicle. 

Other changes to the weights and measures program 

(R.C. 1327.46, 1327.50, 1327.51, 1327.54, 1327.57, 1327.62, and 1327.99) 

The bill alters provisions of the Weights and Measures Law governing civil and 

criminal penalties.  The alterations involve amending the provisions of that Law that 

trigger a civil or criminal penalty. 

The bill allows civil penalties to be levied for a violation of any provision of the 

Weights and Measures Law and any rule adopted under that Law.  Under current law, 

civil penalties may be levied only regarding violations of provisions related to 

misrepresentation of prices of items sold by weight or some other measure or related to 

using incorrect weights and measures and other offenses.  Law unchanged by the bill 

provides that civil penalties must not exceed $500 for a first violation, $2,500 for a 

second violation, and $10,000 for each subsequent violation that occurs within five years 

of the second violation. 

Additionally, the bill authorizes criminal penalties for violations of the 

commercially used weighing and measuring device permitting program and for a 

violation of any rule adopted under the Weights and Measures Law.  Current law 

allows for criminal penalties only regarding violations of provisions related to 

misrepresentation of prices of items sold by weight or some other measure or related to 

using incorrect weights and measures and other offenses.  Law retained by the bill 

provides that a criminal violation under the Weights and Measures Law is a second 
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degree misdemeanor on the first offense and a first degree misdemeanor on each 

subsequent offense that occurs within seven years of the first offense. 

Auctioneer Study Commission 

(Section 747.30) 

The bill creates the Auctioneer Study Commission and requires it to examine the 

scope of practices for the auctioneer profession and make recommendations to the 

Governor and the General Assembly regarding those practices.  Not later than January 

1, 2012, the Commission must submit a report of its findings and recommendations to 

the Governor, the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and 

the President and Minority Leader of the Senate.  Upon submission of the report, the 

Commission ceases to exist. 

The bill requires the Commission to consist of the following members: 

(1)  A representative of the Department of Taxation appointed by the Tax 

Commissioner; 

(2)  A representative of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles appointed by the Registrar 

of Motor Vehicles; 

(3)  A representative of the Office of the Attorney General appointed by the 

Attorney General; 

(4)  A representative of the Department of Agriculture appointed by the Director 

of Agriculture; 

(5)  A representative of the State Auctioneers Commission appointed by the 

Commission; 

(6)  One member appointed by the Ohio Automobile Dealers Association; 

(7)  One member appointed by the Ohio Automobile Auction Coalition; 

(8)  One member representing equipment auctioneers; 

(9)  One member representing consignment facility auctioneers; 

(10)  Two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of 

the House of Representatives; and 

(11)  Two members of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate. 
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Members of the Commission must be appointed not later than ten days after the 

provision's effective date.  The member representing the Department of Agriculture 

must serve as the chairperson.  The Commission must hold its first meeting 30 days 

after the provision's effective date and must hold regular meetings as necessary. 

 

AIR QUALITY DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY (AIR) 

 Transfers the Ohio Coal Development Office from within the Ohio Air Quality 

Development Authority to within the Department of Development. 

 As a result of the transfer, removes provisions that require the Office or the Office 

Director to obtain the affirmative vote of a majority of the members of the Authority 

to perform certain actions. 

 Removes the Director of Development as an ex officio member from the technical 

advisory committee that assists the Office Director. 

 

 

Ohio Coal Development Office 

(R.C. 1551.311, 1551.32, 1551.33, 1551.35, 1555.02, 1555.03, 1555.04, 1555.05, 1555.06, 

1555.08, and 1555.17; Section 515.30) 

The bill transfers the Ohio Coal Development Office from within the Ohio Air 

Quality Development Authority (OAQDA) to within the Department of Development.  

The Office's purpose is to support research and development in the use of Ohio coal in 

an environmentally sound and economical manner, including by financing technology 

and facilities with the proceeds of state general obligation bonds.  The bill does not 

change the Office or its functions and authority, but confers on the Department of 

Development all of the prior authority of the OAQDA related to the Office, including 

the duty to appoint the Office Director.  As a result of the transfer, the bill eliminates the 

requirement that the Office or the Office Director obtain the affirmative vote of a 

majority of the seven OAQDA members to perform certain actions, including making 

loans and grants, requesting the issuance of general obligations, entering into contracts, 

and spending money credited to the existing Coal Research and Development Fund. 

The bill also removes the Director of Development as an ex officio member from 

the technical advisory committee that assists the Office.  The technical advisory 

committee consists of 13 members that are appointed by the Director of the Office, the 

Speaker and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and the President 
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and the Minority Leader of the Senate.  The Director of Environmental Protection serves 

on the committee as an ex officio member. 

Finally, the bill establishes transition procedures for the transfer of the Ohio Coal 

Development Office from the OAQDA to the Department of Development. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ALCOHOL AND DRUG ADDICTION  
SERVICES (ADA) 

 Excludes funds for community alcohol and drug addiction services that the General 

Assembly appropriates to the Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction 

Services (ODADAS) and are transferred to the Ohio Department of Job and Family 

Services (ODJFS) for the Medicaid program from the funds that ODADAS allocates 

and distributes to the Alcohol, Drug Addiction, and Mental Health Services 

(ADAMHS) boards for such services. 

 Eliminates the responsibility of ODADAS and ADAMHS boards to pay the 

nonfederal share for services provided under a component of the Medicaid program 

that ODADAS administers and makes ODJFS responsible for paying for such 

services effective July 1, 2012. 

 Requires ODADAS, notwithstanding ODJFS's new responsibility, to allocate to 

ADAMHS boards alcohol and drug addiction Medicaid match funds appropriated 

to ODADAS for fiscal year 2012 and requires the boards to use the funds to pay 

claims for community alcohol and drug addiction services provided during that 

fiscal year under the ODADAS-administered Medicaid component and requires the 

boards also to use all federal financial participation that ODADAS receives for 

claims for such services as the first payment source to pay such claims. 

 Requires ODADAS to enter into an agreement with each ADAMHS board regarding 

the issue of paying claims that are for community alcohol and drug addiction 

services provided before July 1, 2011, and submitted for payment on or after that 

date and requires that such claims be paid in accordance with the agreements. 

 Provides for an ADAMHS board to receive the federal financial participation 

received for claims for community alcohol and drug addiction services that were 

provided before July 1, 2011, and paid by the board. 

 Requires ODADAS to grant certification to an alcohol and drug addiction program 

if the program holds national accreditation from the Joint Commission, the Council 
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on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities, or the Council on Accreditation and 

specifies that the program is not subject to further evaluation. 

 Requires that the portion of the fee persons pay to have a driver's or commercial 

driver's license or permit reinstated that is credited to the Statewide Treatment and 

Prevention Fund be used for purposes identified in ODADAS's comprehensive 

statewide alcohol and drug addiction services plan rather than to pay the costs of 

driver treatment and intervention programs. 

 Requires ODADAS to accept from an alcohol and drug addiction program its 

accreditation from specified national accrediting organizations as evidence that the 

program satisfies Ohio's standards for state certification of the program, if ODADAS 

determines that the program's accreditation is current and is appropriate for the 

services for which the program is seeking certification. 

 

 

Medicaid elevation for alcohol and drug addiction services 

(R.C. 3793.04, 3793.21, 5111.911, and 5111.913; Section 215.20) 

The bill revises the law governing allocation and distribution of Ohio 

Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services (ODADAS) money to Alcohol, 

Drug Addiction, and Mental Health Services (ADAMHS) boards.  ODADAS is required 

by continuing law to develop a comprehensive statewide alcohol and drug addiction 

services plan.  Current law requires that the plan provide for the allocation of state and 

federal funds for services furnished by alcohol and drug addiction programs under 

contract with ADAMHS boards and for distribution of the funds to ADAMHS boards.  

The bill requires ODADAS to provide for the allocation and distribution of funds 

appropriated to ODADAS by the General Assembly for such services.  ODADAS must 

exclude from the allocation and distribution any funds that are transferred to the Ohio 

Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS) to pay the nonfederal share of alcohol 

and drug addiction services covered by the Medicaid program. 

Under current law, ODADAS and ADAMHS boards are responsible for paying 

the nonfederal share of any Medicaid payment for services provided under a 

component of the Medicaid program that ODADAS administers on ODJFS's behalf.  

The bill makes ODJFS responsible for the payments.  If necessary, the ODJFS Director 

must submit a Medicaid state plan amendment to the U.S. Secretary of Health and 

Human Services regarding ODJFS's responsibility. 

Notwithstanding ODJFS's new responsibility, the bill requires ODADAS to 

allocate to ADAMHS boards alcohol and drug addiction Medicaid match funds 
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appropriated to ODADAS for fiscal year 2012 and requires the boards to use the funds 

to pay claims for community alcohol and drug addiction services provided during that 

fiscal year under the Medicaid component that ODADAS administers. The boards are 

also required to use all federal financial participation that ODADAS receives for claims 

for such services as the first payment source to pay such claims.  The bill provides that 

the boards are not required to use any other funds to pay for such claims. 

ODADAS is required by the bill to enter into an agreement with each ADAMHS 

board regarding the issue of paying claims that are for community alcohol and drug 

addiction services provided before July 1, 2011, and submitted for payment on or after 

that date.  Such claims are required to be paid in accordance with the agreements.  A 

board is to receive the federal financial participation received for claims for community 

alcohol and drug addiction services that were provided before July 1, 2011, and paid by 

the board. 

Certification of alcohol and drug addiction programs 

(R.C. 3793.061 (primary) and 3793.06) 

Each alcohol and drug addiction program and community mental health agency 

is required under current law to apply to ODADAS for certification.  To receive 

certification, a program must meet the minimum standards established by ODADAS. 

In lieu of a determination by ODADAS of whether an alcohol and drug addiction 

program satisfies the minimum standards for certification, the bill requires ODADAS to 

accept national accreditation of an applicant's services as evidence that the applicant 

satisfies the standards for certification.  Acceptance of accreditation applies to an 

applicant's alcohol and other drug addiction services, integrated mental health and 

alcohol and other drug addiction services, or integrated alcohol and other drug 

addiction services and physical health services. 

Requirements for acceptance of accreditation 

For an applicant's accreditation to be accepted, the following requirements apply: 

(1)  The applicant must hold the accreditation from one of the following national 

accrediting organizations:  the Joint Commission, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, or the Council on Accreditation; 

(2)  The accreditation must be for services being provided in Ohio; 

(3)  ODADAS must determine that the accreditation is appropriate for the 

program for which the applicant is seeking certification; 
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(4)  The applicant must meet any other requirements established in rules to be 

adopted under the bill. 

If ODADAS determines that the applicant meets these requirements, the bill 

requires ODADAS to certify the program.  The bill specifies that the certification is to be 

issued without further evaluation of the program, except for any visit or evaluation 

otherwise authorized by the bill (see "Visiting or evaluating a program for cause," 

below).  The same process of accepting accreditation of a program applies to ODADAS 

when the program seeks recertification. 

Review of accrediting organizations 

The bill authorizes ODADAS to review the national accrediting organizations 

listed above to evaluate whether the accreditation standards and processes used by the 

organizations are consistent with service delivery models ODADAS considers 

appropriate for alcohol and other drug addiction services, physical health services, or 

both.  ODADAS may communicate to an accrediting organization any identified 

concerns, trends, needs, and recommendations. 

Visiting or evaluating a program for cause 

ODADAS is authorized by the bill to visit or otherwise evaluate an alcohol and 

drug addiction program at any time based on cause.  Reasons include complaints made 

by or on behalf of consumers and confirmed or alleged deficiencies brought to the 

attention of ODADAS. 

Notification of accreditation status changes 

Under the bill, ODADAS must require an alcohol and drug addiction program to 

provide notice not later than ten days after any change in the program's accreditation 

status.  The program is permitted to notify ODADAS by providing a copy of the 

relevant document the program received from the accrediting organization. 

Submission of major unusual incident reports and cost reports 

Under the bill, ODADAS must require an alcohol and drug addiction program to 

submit reports of major unusual incidents.  The bill authorizes ODADAS to require a 

program to submit cost reports pertaining to the program. 

Rules 

The bill requires ODADAS to adopt rules to implement the bill's provisions 

regarding the acceptance of an alcohol and drug addiction program's accreditation for 

purposes of state certification.  The rules must be adopted in accordance with the 
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Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.).  In adopting the rules, ODADAS 

must do all of the following: 

(1)  Specify the documentation that must be submitted as evidence of holding 

appropriate accreditation; 

(2)  Establish a process by which ODADAS may review the accreditation 

standards and processes used by the national accrediting organizations; 

(3)  Specify the circumstances under which reports of major unusual incidents 

and program cost reports must be submitted to ODADAS; 

(4)  Specify the circumstances under which ODADAS may visit or otherwise 

evaluate an alcohol and drug addiction program for cause; 

(5)  Establish a process by which ODADAS, based on deficiencies identified as a 

result of visiting or evaluating a program, may take a range of corrective actions, with 

the most stringent being revocation of the program's certification. 

Statewide Treatment and Prevention Fund 

(R.C. 4511.191) 

The bill requires that the portion of the fee persons pay to have a driver's or 

commercial driver's license or permit reinstated that is credited to the Statewide 

Treatment and Prevention Fund be used for purposes identified in ODADAS's 

comprehensive statewide alcohol and drug addiction services plan rather than to pay 

the costs of driver treatment and intervention programs. 

 

ATTORNEY GENERAL (AGO) 

 Authorizes a political subdivision to certify past due receivables to the Attorney 

General for collection. 

 Authorizes the Attorney General to file a claim to recover unclaimed funds held by 

the state for an obligor in default of child support. 

 Extends the period of time applicable to providing a reasonable number of repair 

attempts before a consumer has the option of a replacement vehicle or a refund 

under Ohio's Lemon Law under specified circumstances. 

 Requires the manufacturer to arrange for the use of a vehicle for the consumer if an 

extension of time is necessary. 



Legislative Service Commission -84- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

 Allows a gasoline purchase card with a value not exceeding $10 to be awarded as a 

prize for playing a skill-based amusement machine. 

 

 

Attorney General Collection of Political Subdivision Debts 

(R.C. 131.02) 

The bill authorizes a political subdivision to certify a receivable to the Attorney 

General for collection when the receivable becomes 45 days past due if the Attorney 

General authorizes such certification.  Currently, only receivables of the state may be 

certified to the Attorney General for collection. 

Application of unclaimed funds to claims certified to the Attorney General 
for collection 

(R.C. 131.024) 

The bill authorizes the Attorney General to request information from the Director 

of Commerce, not later than February 1 of each year, about persons who have been 

certified as owing an unpaid claim to the state.  If the information results in identifying 

unclaimed funds held by the state for an obligor in default of child support, the attorney 

general may file a claim to recover the unclaimed funds.  If the Director allows the 

claim, the Director must pay the claim directly to the Attorney General, even though the 

Attorney General is not the owner of the unclaimed funds. 

The Director of Commerce must provide the requested information by not later 

than March 1 of each year.  The information provided includes the person's name, 

address, social security number, if the social security number is available, and any other 

identifying information for any individual included in a request sent by the Attorney 

General who has unclaimed funds delivered or reported under the Unclaimed Funds 

Law.  

The bill authorizes the Attorney General, in consultation with the Director, to 

adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act to aid in implementing the 

provision. 

The Attorney General has authority under current law to collect amounts owed 

to the state that have been certified to the Attorney General as being unpaid and 

overdue. 
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Lemon Law 

(R.C. 1345.73) 

The bill extends the period of time applicable to providing a reasonable number 

of repair attempts before a consumer has the option of a replacement vehicle or a refund 

under Ohio's Lemon Law to include any period of time during which the vehicle could 

not be reasonably repaired due to war, invasion, civil unrest, strike, fire, flood, or 

natural disaster.  Additionally, if an extension of time is necessary, the bill requires the 

manufacturer to arrange for the use of a vehicle for the consumer whose vehicle is out 

of service at no cost to the consumer.  If the manufacturer utilizes or contracts with a 

motor vehicle dealer or other third party to provide the vehicle, the manufacturer must 

reimburse the motor vehicle dealer or other third party at a reasonable rate for the use 

of the vehicle. 

Award of a gasoline purchase card for playing a skill-based amusement 
machine 

(R.C. 2915.01) 

The bill establishes that a card for the purchase of gasoline is a redeemable 

voucher for purposes of the statutory definition of a "skill-based amusement machine" 

even if the skill-based amusement machine, for the play of which the card is awarded, is 

located at a place where gasoline may not be legally distributed to the public or the card 

is not redeemable at the location of, or at the time of playing, the skill-based amusement 

machine.  The value of such a card cannot exceed $10. 

Continuing law specifies requirements for skill-based amusement machines, and 

requires that winning players be rewarded with only merchandise prizes or with 

redeemable vouchers for only merchandise prizes.  Neither a merchandise prize nor a 

redeemable voucher can have a value of more than $10, and must be distributed at the 

site of the skill-based amusement machine at the time of play. 

 

AUDITOR OF STATE (AUD) 

 Removes the requirement that the Director of Budget and Management approve 

assessments from the Uniform Accounting Network Fund for the Auditor of State's 

administrative costs for the Uniform Accounting Network. 

 Repeals, for audits of local public offices, authority to recover costs from the GRF for 

State Auditor employees' vacation and sick leave and, from the state treasury, 

necessary travel and hotel costs of local deputy inspectors and supervisors. 
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 Requires the State Auditor to establish cost-recovery rates for local public office 

audits. 

 

 

OBM approval of costs assessed to Uniform Accounting Network Fund 

(R.C. 117.101) 

The bill removes the requirement that the Director of Budget and Management 

approve assessments from the Uniform Accounting Network Fund for the Auditor of 

State's administrative costs for the Uniform Accounting Network.  The fund consists of 

user fees charged to participating public offices for goods, materials, supplies, and 

services received from the Uniform Accounting Network provided by the Auditor of 

State, and is used by the Auditor of State to pay the costs of establishing and 

maintaining the network.  The network provides certain public offices with efficient and 

economical access to data processing and management information facilities and 

expertise.  The fund is assessed a proportionate share of the Auditor of State's 

administrative costs in accordance with procedures prescribed by the Auditor of State. 

Cost recovery for audits of local public offices 

(R.C. 117.13) 

The bill repeals the authority of the State Auditor to recover certain local public 

office audit costs.  The bill eliminate the authority to finance from the GRF the vacation 

and sick leave costs of assistant auditors performing the audits, employees, and typists.  

The bill also eliminates the authority to pay travel and hotel expenses of deputy 

inspectors and supervisors of public offices from the state treasury.  The Auditor 

instead must establish rates by rule to be charged for recovering the costs of audits of 

local public offices. 

Continuing law authorizes the State Auditor to recover certain audit costs from 

the local public offices being audited.  Recoverable costs include the compensation and 

expenses of assistant auditors of state assigned to perform the audits, the cost of 

employees assisting them, the cost of experts employed for the audit, and the costs 

associated with preparing the audit reports. 
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OFFICE OF BUDGET AND MANAGEMENT (OBM) 

 Prohibits the state from entering into or obtaining a certificate of participation or any 

similar debt instrument without General Assembly approval. 

 Permits transfers of statewide indirect costs of debt service paid for the enterprise 

resource planning system (OAKS) to the OAKS Support Organization Fund to 

support costs of system development and upgrades. 

 Changes the funding sources of the OAKS Support Organization Fund to:  (1) 

transfers from statewide indirect costs attributable to debt service paid for the 

system and (2) agency payroll charge revenues. 

 Modifies the definition of "statewide indirect costs" to include disbursements from 

other funds (not just the GRF) and thus permits these disbursements to be recovered 

according to the statewide indirect cost allocation plan. 

 Authorizes the Director of Budget and Management to transfer cash between funds 

other than the GRF in order to correct an erroneous payment or deposit. 

 Authorizes the Director to transfer up to $60 million in cash to the GRF from non-

GRF funds that are not constitutionally restricted to ensure that GRF receipts and 

balances are sufficient to support GRF appropriations. 

 Provides that the Director must not make transfers from a non-GRF fund if more 

than 30% of the total fund value consists of cash from donations. 

 Eliminates requirements that state agencies submit biennial spending plans to the 

General Assembly and the Director of Budget and Management, and that the 

Director of Administrative Services oversee implementation. 

 Eliminates an outdated requirement for the submission of state agency spending 

reduction plans. 

 Requires state agency employees to use the state-contracted, preferred rental vehicle 

provider for all vehicle rentals over 100 miles. 

 Allows the Director of Budget and Management and the Director of Transportation 

to make recommendations to the General Assembly on whether to enter into 

contracts outsourcing to private sector entities or local or regional public entities the 

provision of highway services. 
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 Establishes that there can be no action to outsource a turnpike project until the 

General Assembly approves the consideration of proposals for outsourcing a 

turnpike project by enacting legislation. 

 Allows the Director of Budget and Management to provide compensation to 

unsuccessful bidders for a proposal to lease the turnpike, up to the value of the 

proposal. 

 Requires the prior approval of the Controlling Board before the Director of Budget 

and Management may enter into a contract outsourcing turnpike-related highway 

services. 

 Establishes a proposal selection process that requires the Director of Budget and 

Management, pursuant to authorizing legislation, to evaluate proposals and 

proposer qualifications, rank the proposers, and conduct negotiations to procure an 

outsourcing contract for the provision of highway services. 

 Exempts from Ohio's Collective Bargaining laws any employees on a project 

involving real or personal property, or both, and related construction and other 

improvements to them, used to provide highway services. 

 Allows the Director of Transportation, after the enactment of legislation authorizing 

consideration of proposals, to exercise the  powers of the Ohio Turnpike 

Commission to work with the Director of Budget and Management regarding 

Turnpike-related outsourcing contracts. 

 Requires that all money received by the Director of Budget and Management, under 

a contract for the provision of highway services, be deposited into the state treasury 

and credited to the Highway Services Fund, which is created by the bill. 

 Exempts from state and local taxation all (1) projects involving real or personal 

property, or both, and related construction and other improvements to them, used to 

provide highway services, (2) outsourcing contracts, and (3) gross receipts and 

income generated by them. 

 Exempts from the sales and use tax any transfer or lease of a project involving real 

or personal property, or both, and related construction and other improvements to 

them, used to provide highway services, if the state retains any part of ownership. 

 Repeals, effective June 30, 2013, the bill's provisions allowing the Director of Budget 

and Management and the Director of Transportation to outsource the provision of 

highway services. 
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 Permits the Director to issue guidelines to agencies applying for federal money 

made available to the state for fiscal stabilization and recovery purposes. 

 Requires the Office of Internal Auditing to monitor, measure, and report on the 

effectiveness of federal stimulus funds allocated to Ohio under the federal American 

Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) to certain members of the General 

Assembly. 

 Requires the Office of Budget and Management, with respect to the quarterly 

reports required to be made to the federal government under the ARRA regarding 

the effectiveness of allocated funds, to send those same reports to certain members 

of the General Assembly. 

 Makes the Ohio Board of Regents subject to internal audit under internal audit 

programs conducted by the Office of Internal Auditing. 

 Requires that all members of the State Audit Committee be external to the 

management structure of state government. 

 Requires all Committee member terms, in the year that they expire, do so on June 

30th and alters the terms of currently serving members. 

 Requires a Committee member to continue to serve past the end of the member's 

term until a successor is appointed. 

 Repeals the requirement that the Governor's appointee to the Committee be a person 

who is external to the management structure associated with preparing financial 

statements of state government. 

 

 

Legislative approval of certificates of participation 

(R.C. 126.10) 

The bill prohibits the state from entering into or obtaining a certificate of 

participation or any similar debt instrument unless the General Assembly expressly 

provides approval. 
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Transfers to and funding sources of the OAKS Support Organization Fund 

(R.C. 126.12 and 126.24) 

The bill permits the Director of Budget and Management to make transfers of 

statewide indirect costs for debt service for the state's enterprise resource planning 

system (Ohio Administrative Knowledge System or OAKS) to the OAKS Support 

Organization Fund to support system development and upgrades.  Under the bill, such 

transfers may be made either directly from the appropriate fund of the state or, if the 

statewide indirect costs already have been deposited in the GRF, from the GRF.  The bill 

establishes these transfers and designated agency payroll charge revenues as the 

funding sources of the Fund.  The bill eliminates as funding sources cash transfers from 

the Accounting and Budgeting Fund, the Human Resources Services Fund, and other 

revenues. 

The bill expands the definition of "statewide indirect costs" to include operating 

costs incurred by an agency providing unbilled services to another agency and for 

which disbursements have been made from funds other than the GRF.  Current law 

only includes disbursements from the GRF as part of the definition.  The change 

permits disbursements made from other funds (and not just from the GRF) to be 

recovered from any fund of the state according to the statewide indirect cost allocation 

plan.  Under current law, statewide indirect costs are recovered from any fund of the 

state and then transferred to the GRF by OBM according to this plan. 

Transfers of cash between non-GRF funds 

(R.C. 126.21) 

The bill permits the Director of Budget and Management to transfer cash 

between funds other than the GRF in order to correct an erroneous payment or 

deposit − regardless of the fiscal year during which the erroneous payment or deposit 

occurred. 

Transfers to the General Revenue Fund 

(Section 512.30) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Budget and Management, notwithstanding 

any law to the contrary, to transfer up to $60 million in cash to the GRF from non-GRF 

funds that are not constitutionally restricted during fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  These 

transfers are to be made to ensure that GRF receipts and balances are sufficient to 

support GRF appropriations in each fiscal year.  The bill prohibits the Director from 



Legislative Service Commission -91- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

making transfers from a non-GRF fund if more than 30 percent of the total fund value 

consists of cash from donations. 

State agency spending plans and spending reduction plans 

(R.C. 126.501, 126.502, and 126.507 (repealed); conforming changes in R.C. 126.50) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that state agencies submit biannual spending 

plans to the General Assembly and the Director of Budget and Management.  

Specifically, under current law, each such plan must address, for the next two fiscal 

years, savings, lack of savings, or costs that could result from a number of enumerated 

strategies for purchasing supplies and services.  Examples of the strategies include 

requiring an agency director's approval for purchases of $1,000 or more, cooperative 

purchasing with other state agencies, and cancelling certain noncapital-funds contracts.  

Current law requires the Director of Budget and Management to issue guidance to each 

agency on which strategies to implement.  The Director of Administrative Services is 

required to oversee implementation, in consultation with the Director of Budget and 

Management. 

The bill also repeals an expired requirement that state agencies submit, by 

November 1, 2009, to the General Assembly and the Director of Budget and 

Management, spending plans outlining 30% reductions in spending for supplies and 

services for FYs 2010 and 2011. 

State agency control of nonessential travel expenses 

(R.C. 126.503) 

The bill adds an additional requirement to the current requirements for state 

agencies to use to control nonessential travel expenses: a requirement for state agency 

employees to use the state-contracted, preferred rental vehicle provider for all vehicle 

rentals over 100 miles.  Under current law, the Director of Budget and Management 

cannot reimburse any state agency employee for unauthorized travel expenses.  The 

definition of "state agency" for purposes of this provision does not include elected state 

officers, the General Assembly, any legislative agency, a court or judicial agency, or a 

state institution of higher education.21 

                                                 
21 R.C. 126.50 – in the bill. 
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Highway services provided by private, local, or regional entities 

(R.C. 126.60 to 126.605, 718.01(A)(1), 5739.02(B)(51), 5747.01(A)(30), and 5751.01(F)(2)(ff); 

Section 105.10) 

The bill permits the Director of Budget and Management and the Director of 

Transportation to make recommendations to the General Assembly concerning whether 

to execute a contract with a private sector entity (such as any type of profit or nonprofit 

corporation, partnership, joint venture or other similar entity), local or regional public 

entity or agency, or any combination thereof for the purpose of outsourcing highway 

services in order to more efficiently and effectively provide highway services, including 

by generating additional resources in support of those highway services and related 

projects.22  "Highways services" under the bill means the operation or maintenance of 

any highway in Ohio, the construction of which was funded by proceeds from state 

revenue bonds that are to be repaid primarily from revenues derived from the 

operation of the highway and any related facilities, and not primarily from the gas tax.23 

However, the bill specifies that its provisions do not authorize the outsourcing of 

turnpike projects until the General Assembly enacts legislation to approve the 

consideration of proposals to sell or lease a turnpike project.  The legislation may 

include specific terms and conditions of the sale, lease, or operation that proposals for 

the turnpike project must contain.  Subsequent action by the Director of Budget and 

Management and the Director of Transportation must be pursuant to this legislation.  

Additionally, the Director of Budget and Management must have the prior approval of 

the Controlling Board before entering into any final contract for the sale and lease of the 

turnpike negotiated after the General Assembly enacts legislation authorizing the 

consideration of proposals. 

Proposal selection process 

Public notice 

The bill requires the Director of Budget and Management to publish notice of its 

intent to enter into a contract for the highway services and any related project.  The 

notice is to provide interested parties the opportunity to submit their qualifications or 

proposals, or both, for consideration and must be published at least 30 days prior to the 

deadline for submitting those qualifications or proposals.  The Director also may 

advertise the information contained in the notice in appropriate trade journals and 

                                                 
22 A "project" under the bill means real or personal property, or both, and related construction and other 

improvements to them, used to provide highway services (R.C. 126.60(B) and (C)). 

23 Art. XII, Sec. 5a, Ohio Const. 
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otherwise notify parties believed to be interested in providing the highway services and 

any related projects.  The notice must include a general description of the highway 

services to be provided and any related project, and of the qualifications or proposals 

being sought, and instructions for obtaining the invitation. 

Qualification evaluation 

The bill specifies that after inviting qualifications, the Director, in consultation 

with the Department of Transportation, is to evaluate the qualifications submitted and 

may hold discussions with proposers to further explore their qualifications.  Following 

the evaluation, the Director, in consultation with the Department of Transportation, 

may determine a list of qualified proposers based on criteria in the invitation and invite 

only those proposers to submit a proposal for the provision of the highway services and 

any related projects.24 

Proposal evaluation and selection 

After inviting proposals, the Director of Budget and Management, in 

consultation with the Department of Transportation, must evaluate the proposals 

submitted and may hold discussions with the proposers to further explore their 

proposals, the scope and nature of the highway services they would provide, and the 

various technical approaches they may take regarding the highway services and related 

projects.25  After the evaluation, the Director, in consultation with the Department of 

Transportation must do the following: 

(1)  Select and rank at least the three most qualified proposers, unless fewer are 

qualified; 

(2)  Negotiate a contract with the most qualified proposer to provide the 

highway services at a fair and reasonable compensation, and to purchase, lease or 

otherwise take a legal interest in the project; 

(3)  Upon failure to negotiate a contract with the most qualified proposer, the 

Director must inform the proposer of the termination of negotiations and may enter into 

negotiations with the proposer ranked next most qualified.  If negotiations again fail, 

                                                 
24 If the proposer originally submitted a proposal along with qualifications, it is unclear whether the bill 

would require that proposal to be resubmitted or a new proposal to be submitted, or whether the 

originally submitted proposal is acceptable for purposes of further evaluation (R.C. 126.602(B)). 

25 If the proposer originally only submitted a proposal, it is unclear what the bill requires the Director and 

Department of Transportation to do regarding the evaluation of a proposer's qualifications, once they 

finish evaluating the proposal.  The bill appears to only require evaluation of qualifications that have 

been submitted.  (R.C. 126.602(C)). 
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the same procedure may be followed with each next most qualified proposer selected 

and ranked, in order of ranking, until a contract is negotiated. 

(4)  If the Director fails to negotiate a contract with any of the ranked proposers, 

the Director, in consultation with the Department of Transportation, may terminate the 

process or select and rank additional proposers, based on their qualifications or 

proposals, and negotiations are to continue as with the proposers selected and ranked 

initially until a contract is negotiated. 

The Director may, after consultation with the Department of Transportation, 

include in any contract any terms the Director deems appropriate, including the 

following: 

 The contract duration (not to exceed 75 years); 

 Rates or fees for the highway services to be provided or the methods or 

procedures for determining them; 

 Standards for the highway services to be provided; 

 Responsibilities and standards for operation and maintenance of any 

related project; 

 Required financial assurances; 

 Financial and other data reporting requirements; 

 Terms regarding contract termination and retaking possession or title of 

the project; 

 Events of default and remedies upon default, including mandamus, 

actions at law or equity, or any combinations of such remedial actions.26 

Rejection of qualification or proposal 

The bill specifies that the Director of Budget and Management may reject any 

and all submissions of qualifications or proposals. 

Compensation to unsuccessful bidders 

The bill authorizes the Director of Budget and Management to provide 

compensation for the preparation of a responsive proposal from unsuccessful bidders for a 

                                                 
26 The Director appears to be given discretionary authority to include these terms in any contract, but the 

75-year limitation on the contract duration may imply that at least some of these terms are mandatory. 



Legislative Service Commission -95- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

proposal to lease the turnpike.  The Director is further authorized to establish policies or 

procedures to determine the amount of compensation to be provided for each project and 

the method of evaluating the value of the preliminary proposal submitted.  The bill 

specifies that the compensation may not exceed the value of the proposal. 

Exemption from the Public Employee Collective Bargaining Law 

The bill specifies that the Public Employee Collective Bargaining Law does not 

apply to any employees working at or on a project to provide highway services. 

Director of Transportation to exercise powers of Ohio Turnpike Commission 

The bill allows the Director of Transportation to exercise all powers of the Ohio 

Turnpike Commission for purposes of the bill.  The Director with the Director of Budget 

and Management is to be authorized to execute any contract for the provision of 

highway services. 

Controlling Board approval 

The Controlling Board must approve any invitation for qualifications or for 

proposals and any related contracts.  The Controlling Board may also approve any 

transfer of moneys and funds necessary to support the highway services. 

Highway Services Fund 

The bill requires that all money received by the Director of Budget and 

Management under a contract for the provision of highway services be deposited into a 

state treasury fund called the Highway Services Fund, which the bill creates.  The bill 

requires the fund to retain any interest it earns. 

Contract for consulting services 

The bill permits the Director of Budget and Management, in consultation with 

the Department of Transportation, to retain or contract for the services of commercial 

appraisers, engineers, investment bankers, financial advisers, accounting experts, and 

other consultants to carry out the Director's powers and duties under the bill, including 

the identification of highway services and related projects to be subject to invitations for 

qualifications or proposals, the development of those invitations and related evaluation 

criteria, and the evaluation of those invitations, and negotiation of any contract. 

Sunset of provisions 

The bill repeals the above provisions, effective June 30, 2013. 
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Tax exemption 

The bill states that any project or part thereof owned by the state and used for 

performing highway services pursuant to a contract that would be exempt from 

taxation or assessments in the absence of the contract is to remain exempt from taxation 

and assessments levied by the state and its subdivisions.  The gross receipts and income 

of a proposer derived from providing highway services under a contract are to be 

exempt from taxation levied by the state and its subdivisions.  Accordingly, deductions 

are made available for such receipts or income under the commercial activity tax and 

the state and municipal income taxes.  In addition, any transfer or lease between a 

proposer and the state of a project or part thereof is to be exempt from the sales and use 

tax if the state is retaining ownership of the project or part thereof that is being 

transferred or leased. 

Federal money made available to the state for fiscal stabilization and 
recovery purposes 

(Section 521.60) 

To ensure the level of accountability and transparency required by federal law, 

the bill permits the Director of Budget and Management to issue guidelines to any 

agency applying for federal money made available to the state for fiscal stabilization 

and recovery purposes and to prescribe the process by which agencies are to comply 

with any reporting requirements established by the federal government. 

Reports monitoring the effectiveness of federal stimulus funds 

(Sections 521.70 and 801.20) 

Under current law, the Office of Internal Auditing in the Office of Budget and 

Management is required to conduct internal audits of certain state agencies generally 

with the intent of improving their operations regarding risk management, internal 

controls, and governance.  The law also requires the Office to issue preliminary and 

final reports of individual audit findings and recommendations.  The Office also must 

annually submit a report to the Governor, President of the Senate, Speaker of the 

House, and the Auditor of State.  State agencies subject to internal audit are OBM, the 

Departments of Commerce, Administrative Services, Transportation, Agriculture, 

Natural Resources, Health, Job and Family Services, Public Safety, Mental Health, 

Developmental Disabilities, Insurance, Development, Youth Services, Rehabilitation 

and Correction, Aging, Alcohol and Drug Addiction, Veteran Services, Taxation, the 

Environmental Protection Agency, and the Bureau of Workers' Compensation. 
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Semi-annual reports 

The bill requires the Office, in addition to its duties under current law, to (1) 

monitor and measure the effectiveness of federal stimulus funds allocated to Ohio 

under the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) and (2) review 

how funds allocated to each state agency subject to internal audit under current law are 

spent.  In addition to all the reports it must issue under current law, the Office must 

submit a report of its findings regarding the effectiveness and expenditure of the federal 

stimulus funds to the President, Senate Minority Leader, Speaker, House Minority 

Leader, and the Chairs of the House and Senate committees that handle finance and 

appropriations.  The reports are to be issued according to the following schedule and 

time frames: 

Report Date Report Coverage Period 

February 1, 2012 July 1, 2011 – December 31, 2011 

August 1, 2012 January 1, 2012 – June 30, 2012 

February 1, 2013 July 1, 2012 – December 31, 2012 

August 1, 2013 January 1, 2013 – June 30, 2013 

 

Quarterly reports 

The bill also requires that, if the Office of Budget and Management is required to 

submit quarterly reports to the federal government regarding the effectiveness of 

federal stimulus funds allocated under the ARRA for which Ohio is the prime recipient 

and the reporting requirement has not been delegated to a sub-recipient, then it must 

submit those reports to the same General Assembly members described above, as well 

as the ranking members of the House and Senate committees that handle finance and 

appropriations.  The bill requires OBM to continue to submit the quarterly reports to 

the legislature for as long as the reports are required by the federal government. 

Board of Regents subject to internal audit 

(R.C. 126.45) 

The bill makes the Ohio Board of Regents a state agency subject to internal audit 

under internal audit programs conducted by the Office of Internal Auditing. 

Under current law, the Office of Internal Auditing ("OIA") is a division of the 

Office of Budget and Management.  It is required to conduct internal audits of certain 
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state agencies according to an annual plan, and report the findings and 

recommendations of the audit to the independent State Audit Committee.  Its goal is to 

improve operations in the areas of risk management, internal controls, and 

governance.27 

Changes to State Audit Committee 

(R.C. 126.46) 

The bill requires that all members of the State Audit Committee be external to the 

management structure of state government.  The bill also repeals the requirement that 

the Governor's appointee to the Committee be a person who is external to the 

management structure associated with preparing financial statements of state 

government. 

The bill requires all Committee members serve three-year terms to begin on 

July 1, and end on June 30.  Members must continue to serve past the end of the 

member's term until a successor is appointed.  The bill also alters the terms of currently 

serving members as follows: 

 The terms of the members appointed by the President of the Senate expire 

on June 30, 2012. 

 The term of the member appointed by the Speaker of the House scheduled 

to expire on November 17, 2012, expires on June 30, 2013. 

 The term of the other member appointed by the Speaker of the House 

expires on June 30, 2014. 

 The term of the member appointed by the Governor expires on June 30, 

2014. 

Under existing law, the State Audit Committee is a five-member committee with 

responsibilities that include, for example, ensuring that internal audits conducted by the 

OIA conform to the Institute of Internal Auditors' code of ethics and international 

professional practices standards, and reviewing and commenting on the process used 

by OBM to prepare the state's comprehensive annual financial report.  Two of the 

members are appointed by the President of the Senate, two members are appointed by 

the Speaker of the House, and one is appointed by the Governor.28 

                                                 
27 R.C. 126.45(B). 

28 R.C. 126.46(A) and (B). 
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CAPITOL SQUARE REVIEW AND ADVISORY BOARD (CSR) 

 Designates the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board as being in the 

legislative branch of government. 

 Generally designates all employees of the Capitol Square Review and Advisory 

Board (CSRAB) as being in the unclassified service and serving at the pleasure of the 

board; treats such employees who are not subject to a collective bargaining 

agreement as employees of the General Assembly for purposes of the Collective 

Bargaining Law. 

 Upon the expiration of any existing collective bargaining agreement, designates 

those employees of CSRAB who were formerly covered by the agreement to be 

employees of the General Assembly for purposes of the Collective Bargaining Law. 

 Exempts the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board from the state agencies for 

whom the Department of Administrative Services may contract for 

telecommunication and computer services. 

 Exempts the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board from the policies and 

oversight of the Office of Information Technology in the Department of 

Administrative Services. 

 

 

Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board in legislative branch 

(R.C. 105.41) 

The bill designates, in the existing statute creating the Capitol Square Review 

and Advisory Board (CSRAB), that it is created in the legislative branch of government.  

The 13-member Board has general authority over capitol square. 

The bill generally provides that employees of the board are in the unclassified 

service and serve at the pleasure of the board.  For purposes of the definitional section 

of the Collective Bargaining Law, the employees of CSRAB are considered to be 

employees of the General Assembly.  Employees of the General Assembly are currently 

exempt from collective bargaining because they are excluded from the definition of 

"public employee" for purposes of the Collective Bargaining Law. 

Employees of CSRAB who are covered by a collective bargaining agreement on 

the effective date of the section remain subject to the agreement until it expires; the 

agreement cannot be extended or renewed.  Upon expiration of an agreement, those 
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employees will be considered employees of the General Assembly for purposes of the 

definitional section of the Collective Bargaining Law,  will be in the unclassified service 

of the state, and serve at the pleasure of CSRAB. 

Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board 

(R.C. 125.021 and 125.18) 

The bill includes the Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board (CSRAB) 

among the entities (like the General Assembly) that are exempted from the state 

agencies for whom the Department of Administrative Services is otherwise authorized 

to contract for telephone, other telecommunication, and computer services.  Similarly, 

the bill includes CSRAB among the agencies that are exempted from the definition of 

"state agency" for purposes of the law establishing the Office of Information Technology 

(OIT) in the Department of Administrative Services.  As a result, CSRAB will not be 

subject to the policies and oversight of OIT regarding information technology 

development and use. 

 

CASINO CONTROL COMMISSION (CAC) 

 Requires that the chairperson of the Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering 

(who is a legislator) be from the opposite house of the chairperson of the Joint 

Committee on Agency Rule Review (who also is a legislator), rather than from the 

opposite party. 

 Requires the establishment of an in-state hotline Ohio residents may call at any time 

to obtain problem gambling information. 

 

 

Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering 

(R.C. 3772.032) 

The bill requires that the chairperson of the Joint Committee on Gaming and 

Wagering (who is a legislator) be from the opposite house of the chairperson of the Joint 

Committee on Agency Rule Review (who also is a legislator).  Current law requires the 

chairperson of the Joint Committee on Gaming and Wagering to be from the opposite 

party as the chairperson of the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review. 
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Problem gambling hotline 

(R.C. 3772.062) 

The bill requires the executive director of the Ohio Casino Control Commission, 

in conjunction with the Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services and the 

State Lottery Commission, to establish, operate, and publicize an in-state, toll-free 

telephone hotline Ohio residents may call to obtain basic information about problem 

gambling, the gambling addiction services available to problem gamblers, and how a 

problem gambler may obtain help. The telephone number must be staffed 24 hours per 

day, seven days a week, to respond to inquiries and provide that information.  Moneys 

in the Problem Casino Gambling and Addictions Fund must be used to fund the 

hotline. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE (COM) 

 Removes the requirement that a person not organized under Ohio law, not licensed 

as a foreign corporation, or that does not have a principal place of business in Ohio 

submit a consent to service of process when filing for an exemption for a security 

offered or sold in reliance on Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933. 

 Permits the Division of Securities to waive, in part or in whole, certain license, 

renewal, and notice filing fees for certain professionals involved in securities 

investment if, in the same calendar year, they are required to pay an additional fee 

as a result of federal law changes bringing them under state regulation. 

 Requires that assessments for video service providers be deposited into the Video 

Service Authorization Fund rather than the Division of Administration Fund. 

 Increases the maximum annual fee placed on credit union share guaranty 

corporations from $5,000 to $25,000. 

 Removes certain public improvements from the Prevailing Wage Law. 

 Prohibits a public authority from applying prevailing wage requirements to a public 

improvement that is undertaken by, or under contract for, a school district or an 

educational service center. 

 Permits contractors, subcontractors, and public authorities to temporarily exceed 

continuing law's permissible apprentice-to-skilled-worker ratio. 
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 Requires labor organizations to file with the Director of Commerce any portion of a 

collective bargaining agreement, contract, or understanding that governs wages 

paid to persons and the apprentice to skilled worker ratio under the agreement, 

contract, or understanding. 

 Specifies that any change in the prevailing wage rate on an ongoing project takes 

effect two weeks after the Director of Commerce becomes aware of the change. 

 Exempts contractors and subcontractors from liability for prevailing wage violations 

in certain circumstances. 

 Makes changes regarding interested party complaints and the procedure for 

investigating those complaints. 

 Abolishes the Penalty Enforcement Fund. 

 Requires the Director of Commerce to deposit moneys received from prevailing 

wage penalties into the Labor Operating Fund. 

 Requires the Director of Commerce and the Treasurer of State to transfer from the 

Prevailing Wage Custodial Fund to the Labor Operating Fund funds that the 

Director determines are not returnable to employees. 

 Modifies the Real Estate Brokers Law as follows: 

‐‐Prohibits a member of the Ohio Real Estate Commission from holding office for 

more than two consecutive full terms. 

--Limits or changes the exclusion of persons from the definitions of "real estate 

broker," "real estate salesperson," "foreign real estate dealer," and "foreign real 

estate salesperson." 

--Allows the Commission to adopt rules for the clarification of the activities that 

require a license, for specifying standards for the approval of the post-licensure 

courses required for new licensees, and for the termination of an agency 

relationship for a licensee to become a principal in the transaction. 

--Requires the Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing to mail a 

notice of license renewal for licensed business entities to the business address. 

--Requires the Superintendent to make notice of successful license renewal 

electronically. 
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--Permits the Superintendent to issue advisory letters in lieu of initiating 

disciplinary action or issuing a citation. 

--Revises the disciplinary procedures. 

--Provides for an initial licensing time period. 

‐‐Makes various licensing fees nonrefundable. 

‐‐Makes changes to the provisions regarding returned checks and draft 

instruments. 

--Requires any civil penalties collected for operating as a real estate broker or 

salesperson without a license to be deposited into the Real Estate Operating 

Fund instead of the Real Estate Recovery Fund. 

‐‐Permits, instead of requires as provided in current law, the transfer of excess 

funds from the Division of Real Estate Operating Fund to the Real Estate 

Education and Research Fund. 

--Increases the limit for Real Estate Education and Research Fund moneys that 

may be used to advance loans. 

‐‐Makes changes to the education requirements for licensees. 

‐‐Makes changes to the provisions regarding brokers and salespersons who place 

their licenses on deposit to participate in the armed forces. 

‐‐Permits a licensee to disclose confidential information if the disclosure is to a 

registered appraiser for specified reasons. 

‐‐Makes changes to the regulation of advertisements of salespersons and brokers. 

--Changes the procedure that the Ohio Real Estate Commission uses regarding 

the reversal, vacation, or modification of its own orders. 

-‐Prohibits a salesperson from selling, assigning, or otherwise transferring the 

salespersonʹs interest in a commission. 

--Prohibits a salesperson or broker from participating in a dual agency 

relationship in which the licensee is a party to the transaction or an officer in an 

entity that has an interest in the property that is the subject of the transaction. 

‐‐Makes changes to the provisions regarding complaints against licensees and 

complaints against unlicensed individuals. 
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--Permits the Commission to take disciplinary action that relates to unlicensed 

persons and entities. 

‐‐Requires a licensee to notify the Superintendent of Real Estate in writing, 

within 15 days, if the licensee is the subject of certain types of administrative 

orders. 

--Prohibits a cause of action against a licensee on imputed knowledge and for 

releasing information requested by a registered appraiser assistant or by a 

licensed or certified appraiser. 

‐‐Changes all occurrences in the Real Estate Brokers Law of ʺphysically 

handicappedʺ to ʺdisabled.ʺ 

‐‐Makes various other changes to the Real Estate Brokers Law. 

 Transfers the Construction Compliance Section of the Equal Employment 

Opportunity Office of the Department of Administrative Services to the Department 

of Commerce. 

 Authorizes revenue resulting from any contracts with the Department pertaining to 

the responsibilities and operations described in the Liquor Control Law to be 

credited to the Liquor Control Fund. 

 Allows the Director of Budget and Management to transfer money from the General 

Revenue Fund to the Liquor Control Fund if the Director determines that the 

amount in the Liquor Control Fund is insufficient. 

 Authorizes the state to transfer to JobsOhio all or a portion of the enterprise 

acquisition project, that is, the spirituous liquor distribution system, for a transfer 

price payable by JobsOhio to the state, and requires any such transfer to be treated 

as an absolute conveyance and true sale of the interest in the enterprise acquisition 

project. 

 Defines "enterprise acquisition project" as all or any portion of the capital or other 

assets of the spirituous liquor distribution and merchandising operations of the 

Division of Liquor Control, including inventory, warehouses, the exclusive right to 

manage and control spirituous liquor distribution and merchandising in the state 

and to sell spirituous liquor in the state, and the assets and liabilities of the existing 

Facilities Establishment Fund. 

 Requires any transfer of the enterprise acquisition project that is a lease or grant of a 

franchise to be for a term not to exceed 25 years or that is an assignment and sale, 
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conveyance, or other transfer to contain a provision that the state has the option to 

have conveyed or transferred back to it, at no cost, the enterprise acquisition project 

no later than 25 years after the original transfer was authorized. 

 Exempts from specified taxes the gross receipts and income of JobsOhio derived 

from the enterprise acquisition project. 

 States that the proceeds of any transfer may be expended as provided in the transfer 

agreement for specified purposes. 

 Requires the transfer agreement to include a requirement that JobsOhio pay for the 

operations of the Division of Liquor Control with regard to the Division's spirituous 

liquor merchandising operations. 

 Establishes other provisions governing the transfer, including allowing JobsOhio, in 

the ordinary course of doing business, to dispose of any regular inventory or 

tangible personal property. 

 Allows an A-1 liquor permit holder to sell beer manufactured on the premises of the 

permit holder for personal consumption on the premises. 

 Creates the F-9 liquor permit to be issued to a nonprofit corporation that operates a 

city park or provides or manages entertainment for a nonprofit corporation that 

operates a city park to allow the sale of beer and intoxicating liquor by the 

individual drink. 

 Establishes requirements governing the issuance of an F-9 liquor permit, and 

specifies that the permit may be issued only regarding a park that is located in a 

county with a specified population. 

 Allows a person to have in the person's possession on an F-9 liquor permit premises 

an opened or unopened container of beer or intoxicating liquor that was not 

purchased from the holder of the permit if certain conditions are met. 

 Staggers the terms of the nine members of the Residential Construction Advisory 

Committee so that only three of the members' terms expire in any given year. 

 Requires the Director of Commerce to decide which members will serve shortened 

terms for terms beginning July 1, 2011, for the purpose of commencing the 

staggered-term format, after which all members will serve full three-year terms. 
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 Authorizes spirituous liquor agency stores to sell spirituous liquor tasting samples, 

and exempts consumption of such tasting samples at agency stores from the Open 

Container Law. 

 Increases the legally permitted content of beer from 12% to 18% of alcohol by 

volume. 

 

 

Consent to service of process in connection with Regulation D exemption 
notice filings 

(R.C. 1707.11) 

The bill removes the requirement that certain parties submit a consent to service 

of process when filing for an exemption for a security offered or sold in reliance on 

Regulation D of the Securities Act of 1933.29  Regulation D provides exemptions that 

allow companies to offer and sell their securities without registering them with the 

SEC.30  Under current law, the following parties are required to consent to service of 

process when filing for that exemption: 

 Each person not organized under the laws of Ohio; 

 Those not licensed as a foreign corporation;  

 A person that does not have a principle place of business in Ohio. 

Waiver of certain license, renewal, and notice filing fees regarding 
securities investment 

(R.C. 1707.17) 

The bill permits the Division of Securities to waive, in part or in whole, license, 

renewal, and notice filing fees for professionals involved in securities investment if, in 

the same calendar year, those subject to the fee would be required to pay an additional 

fee as a result of changes in federal law and regulations requiring them to be subject to 

state rather than federal regulation.  Under the bill, the Division may waive fees by rule 

or order.  This provision applies to investment advisers who are subject to U.S. 

Securities and Exchange Commission regulation but whose status will change when, 

                                                 
29 R.C. 1707.03(X), not in the bill. 

30 Regulation D Offerings.  Available at http://www.sec.gov/answers/regd.htm (last visited March 24, 

2011). 
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under changes made the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act 

of 2010 ("Act"), effective July 1, 2011, they become subject to state regulation by the 

Division of Securities.  The Act raises the assets-under-management threshold used to 

define which investment advisers are subject to the federal law.31  Consequently, 

jurisdiction over investment advisers managing securities portfolios under the new 

threshold could change mid-year, and those investment advisers would be subject to an 

additional fee.  Salespersons and dealers of securities and investment adviser 

representatives, state retirement system investment officers, and the Bureau of Workers' 

Compensation Chief Investment Officer remain subject to the license, renewal, and 

notice filing fees in current law and may not be affected by the Act. 

Assessments for video service providers 

(R.C. 1332.24) 

The bill requires that assessments for video service providers be deposited into 

the Video Service Authorization Fund rather than the Division of Administration Fund.  

Under current law, the Director of Commerce may impose annual assessments on video 

service providers.  The total amount of annual assessments is not to exceed the lesser of 

$450,000 or the Department of Commerce's annual, actual administrative costs in 

carrying out the Department's duties relating to video service.  The Video Service 

Authorization Fund is required to be used by the Department in carrying out these 

duties.32 

Increase in annual fee for credit union share guaranty corporations 

(R.C. 1761.04) 

The bill increases the maximum annual fee placed on credit union guaranty 

corporations to $25,000.  Under current law, the annual fee is $5,000. 

The Prevailing Wage Law 

Works subject to the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.03, 4115.033, 4115.034, 4115.04, 4115.10, and 4582.12; repealed 

R.C. 4115.032 and 4582.37; R.C. 4582.01 and 4582.21, not in the bill) 

The bill removes some projects from the Prevailing Wage Law, so that 

contractors and subcontractors on those public improvement projects do not have to 

                                                 
31 124 Stat. 1576 (2010), 15 U.S.C. 80b-3a (a). 

32 R.C. 1332.25, not in the bill. 
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pay workers the prevailing wage rate paid under collective bargaining agreements in 

the same area for similar work. 

First, the bill removes from the Prevailing Wage Law's requirements some new 

construction and reconstruction projects that cost $250,000 or less and $75,000 or less, 

respectively.  Currently, any new construction on public improvements that costs 

$78,258 or less is exempt from the Prevailing Wage Law (the statutory threshold of 

$50,000 as adjusted biennially by the Director of Commerce pursuant to that Law).  

Reconstruction costing $23,447 or less is similarly exempt (the statutory threshold of 

$15,000 as biennially adjusted).  New construction and reconstruction on public 

improvements that involve roads, streets, alleys, sewers, ditches, and other works 

connected to road or bridge construction will continue to be subject to the current 

thresholds, adjusted biennially by the Director.  All other new construction and 

reconstruction on public improvements will be subject to the new thresholds, which are 

not subject to biennial adjustment by the Director.  The new threshold for new 

construction is phased in under the bill so that for the first year after the amendment's 

effective date the threshold is $125,000, and for the second year the threshold is 

$200,000.  For reconstruction, the bill similarly phases in the new threshold so that the 

threshold is $38,000 for the first year after the amendment's effective date and $60,000 

for the second year. 

Second, the bill removes from the Prevailing Wage Law's requirements certain 

economic development projects that currently are subject to the Prevailing Wage Law 

(see "Department of Development – Payment of prevailing wage on economic 

development projects," below). 

Third, the bill exempts from the Prevailing Wage Law any public improvement 

undertaken by, or under contract for, a port authority created by a municipal 

corporation, township, or county that was not included in a port authority in existence 

on December 16, 1964.  Accordingly, the bill repeals requirements under the law 

governing those port authorities that laborers and mechanics employed on the 

construction or repair of a port authority facility be paid pursuant to the Prevailing 

Wage Law. 

Fourth, the bill exempts from the Prevailing Wage Law any portion of a public 

improvement that is undertaken and completely solely with donated labor.  The 

donated labor that is exempt can be donated by (1) the individuals performing the 

labor, (2) a labor organization and its members, or (3) a contractor or subcontractor that 

donates all labor and materials for that portion of the public improvement project. 
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Prohibited prevailing wage work 

(R.C. 4115.04) 

The bill prohibits a public authority from applying the prevailing wage 

requirements to a public improvement undertaken by or for the board of education of 

any school district or the governing board of any educational service center.  Such 

public improvements are exempt from the Prevailing Wage Law under continuing law. 

Apprentice-to-skilled-worker ratios under the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.05) 

The bill allows contractors, subcontractors, and public authorities on a public 

improvement to deviate from the apprentice-to-skilled-worker ratio that is permitted 

under continuing law.  Contractors, subcontractors, and public authorities are limited 

still to an apprentice-to-skilled-worker ratio that is no greater than the ratio allowed in 

the collective bargaining agreement or understanding on which the prevailing wage 

rate for the public improvement is based (i.e., the collective bargaining agreements or 

understandings governing the same trade or occupation in the locality where the public 

work is being performed).  The bill provides, however, that a contractor, subcontractor, 

or public authority that exceeds the permissible ratio by two or fewer apprentices for 

not more than two days in any 30-day period is not in violation of the Law with respect 

to that excess. 

Prevailing wage rate 

(R.C. 4115.05) 

For purposes of establishing prevailing wage rates, which are based on collective 

bargaining agreements and understandings governing the same trade or occupation in 

the locality where a particular public work is being performed, the bill requires labor 

organizations to file with the Director of Commerce all relevant portions of any 

collective bargaining agreement, contract, or understanding to which the labor 

organization is a party.  This requirement applies only to a labor organization that is a 

party to a collective bargaining agreement, contract, or understanding, including a 

successor agreement, contract, or understanding, that establishes wages for a trade or 

occupation typically employed on public improvements.  The filing must occur within 

90 days after the agreement, contract, or understanding is executed.  If the agreement, 

contract, or understanding is in effect on the effective date of the amendment, the labor 

organization must file the relevant portions within 90 days of the effective date of the 

amendment.  Any labor organization that files the relevant portions of a collective 

bargaining agreement, contract, or understanding as required under the bill must 
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certify under penalty of law that the filing contains, in full, all provisions of the 

agreement, contract, or understanding concerning wages and the apprentice-to-skilled-

worker ratio. 

If, upon receipt of the relevant portions of a collective bargaining agreement, 

contract, or understanding, the Director determines that the prevailing wage rate has 

changed in the locality in which an ongoing project is being constructed, the bill 

requires that any change in that rate take effect two weeks after the Director receives 

those documents. 

Interested party complaints alleging a violation of the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.03, 4115.13, and 4115.16) 

The bill makes certain changes regarding the complaints that an interested party 

can make alleging a violation of the Prevailing Wage Law and the process for 

investigating those complaints. 

First, the bill narrows the scope of persons who can file a complaint as an 

"interested party."  Contractors who submit a bid to secure the award of a contract for 

construction of a public improvement, their subcontractors, and any labor organization 

or trade association that has as members such contractors or subcontractors, still can file 

a complaint with the Director of Commerce, as interested parties, alleging a violation of 

the Prevailing Wage Law.  However, those persons no longer can file such a complaint 

with respect to any part of the public improvement other than that part involving the 

contract on which they, their primary contractor, or their members' employer have bid.  

The bill accomplishes this change by amending the definition of "interested party" to 

mean the above-mentioned parties with respect only to the particular contract on which 

they, their primary contractor, or their members' employer have bid.  Currently, those 

parties are "interested parties" with respect to the entire public improvement. 

Second, the bill requires an interested party who files a complaint alleging a 

violation of the Prevailing Wage Law to allege a specific violation against a specific 

contractor or subcontractor.  The complaint must be in writing on a form furnished by 

the Director and must include sufficient evidence to justify the complaint.  If the 

complaint fails to allege a specific violation or if it lacks sufficient evidence to justify the 

complaint, the Director is prohibited from investigating the complaint under the bill. 

Third, the bill increases the time in which the Director has to make a 

determination concerning an interested party's complaint before the interested party 

can file a complaint in court.  Currently, an interested party can file a complaint in court 

alleging a violation of the Prevailing Wage Law if the Director fails to rule on the merits 

of the complaint within 60 days after the complaint is filed.  The bill requires instead 
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that the Director or the designated representative investigating the complaint conclude 

the investigation and make a determination not later than 120 days after the complaint 

is filed.  The Director or the designated representative can take up to an additional 90 

days to conclude the investigation and make a determination if the parties to the 

complaint are given notice of the extension before the initial 120-day period expires.  

The Director or the designated representative can take more time than that if the 

Director, or the designated representative, and all parties to the complaint agree to a 

different time frame.  After the permissible time expires, the interested party can file a 

complaint in court as permitted under continuing law. 

Liability for failure to comply with the Prevailing Wage Law 

(R.C. 4115.10 and 4115.13) 

The bill limits contractors' and subcontractors' liability for violations of the 

Prevailing Wage Law in two particular instances.  First, the bill provides that no 

contractor or subcontractor is responsible for paying the penalties resulting from an 

underpayment of wages by its subcontractor, if the contractor or subcontractor has 

made a good faith effort to ensure that its subcontractor complied with the prevailing 

wage requirements.  Second, the bill exempts from any further proceedings under the 

Prevailing Wage Law a contractor or subcontractor whose underpayment to an 

employee is less than $1,000, if the contractor or subcontractor makes full restitution to 

the affected employee. 

Prevailing wage funds 

(R.C. 4115.10 and 4115.101; Section 512.70) 

The bill abolishes the Penalty Enforcement Fund and requires the Director of 

Budget and Management to transfer any funds remaining in the Penalty Enforcement 

Fund on July 1, 2011, to the Labor Operating Fund.  The Director of Commerce is 

required, under the bill, to deposit all moneys received from prevailing wage penalties 

paid into the Labor Operating Fund, instead of the Penalty Enforcement Fund as is 

required under current law. 

The bill requires the Director of Commerce, if the Director determines that any 

funds in the Prevailing Wage Custodial Fund are not returnable to employees, to certify 

to the Treasurer of State the amount of the funds that are not returnable.  The Treasurer 

of State is required, upon the receipt of such a certification, to transfer the certified 

amount of the funds from the Prevailing Wage Custodial Fund to the Labor Operating 

Fund. 
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The Real Estate Brokers Law 

Ohio Real Estate Commission 

Limit on number of terms 

(R.C. 4735.03) 

The bill prohibits a member of the Ohio Real Estate Commission from holding 

office for more than two consecutive full terms, while existing law allowed a member of 

the Commission to hold office indefinitely. 

Adoption of rules 

(R.C. 4735.10 and 4735.59) 

The bill allows the Commission to adopt rules for the clarification of the activities 

that require a license under the Real Estate Brokers Law in addition to the other 

provisions of existing law. 

The bill requires the Commission to adopt rules specifying standards for the 

approval of the ten hour post-licensure courses required for newly licensed real estate 

brokers and real estate salespersons as discussed below in ʺEducation requirements.ʺ  

Current law requires the Commission to adopt rules specifying standards for the 

approval of courses of study required for licenses, or offered in preparation for license 

examinations, or required as continuing education for licenses. 

The bill permits the Real Estate Commission to adopt rules in accordance with 

the Administrative Procedure Act to require disclosures when a licensee terminates an 

agency relationship and becomes a principal in the transaction. 

Commission orders 

(R.C. 4735.19) 

The bill changes the procedure that the Real Estate Commission uses regarding 

the reversal, vacation, or modification of its own orders.  Upon application of an 

interested party, or upon its own motion and notice to the interested parties, the bill 

permits the Commission to hold a hearing to consider reversing, vacating, or modifying 

an order.  Current law permits the Commission to reverse, vacate, or modify its own 

orders but does not authorize holding a hearing.  The bill requires an application to be 

filed with the Division within 15 days after the mailing of the notice of the commission 

to the interested parties, just as required in current law.  The bill allows any applicant or 

respondent dissatisfied with an order of the Commission to appeal in accordance with 
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the Administrative Procedure Act.  Current law allows any applicant, licensee, or 

complainant, who is dissatisfied with an order to appeal. 

The bill also authorizes the Commission to adopt rules regulating when an 

interested party may request reconsideration. 

Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing 

(R.C. 4735.05 and 4735.14) 

The bill allows the Superintendent of Real Estate and Professional Licensing to 

issue advisory letters in conjunction with the enforcement of the Real Estate Brokers 

Law in lieu of initiating disciplinary action or issuing a citation under continuing law. 

The bill requires the Superintendent to appoint a hearing examiner for any 

proceeding involving disciplinary action that may lead to a civil penalty.  This 

requirement is in addition to the provision in existing law that requires the 

Superintendent to appoint an examiner for other disciplinary action proceedings. 

With regard to licensing, the bill requires that the notice be mailed to the 

personal residence address of each broker or salesperson, or if the licensee is a 

partnership, association, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or 

corporation, to the brokerage's business address that is on file with the Division.  

Current law requires the Superintendent to send the notice to the most current address 

as filed with the Superintendent by the licensee two months prior to the filing deadline.  

Under the bill, a licensee cannot renew the license any earlier than two months prior to 

the filing deadline. 

The bill requires the Superintendent to make notice of successful renewal 

available electronically to licensees as soon as practicable, but not later than 30 days 

after receipt by the Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing of a complete 

application and renewal fee. 

Licensing 

Licensing periods 

(R.C. 4735.06 and 4735.09) 

Under the bill, the initial licensing period for a real estate broker's license or real 

estate salesperson's license begins at the time the license is issued and ends on the 

applicant's first birthday thereafter, unless an applicant for a real estate broker's license 

was an inactive or active salesperson immediately preceding application for a broker's 

license.  In that case, the initial licensing period begins at the time the license is issued 
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and ends on the date the licensee's continuing education is due as set when the 

applicant was a salesperson.  Existing law is silent on the initial licensing period. 

Placing of broker's licenses on deposit 

(R.C. 4735.10) 

The bill changes the terminology of existing law regarding brokers who place 

their licenses on deposit to become salespersons.  The bill refers to this as placing a 

license "in an inactive status" instead of "on deposit."  Both current law and the bill 

allow the Commission to adopt reasonable rules in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act, necessary for implementing the provisions of the Real Estate Brokers 

Law relating, but not limited to, this approval. 

Education requirements 

(R.C. 4735.07 and 4735.09) 

The bill requires real estate brokers and salespersons to complete, within 12 

months of licensure, ten hours of classroom instruction in schools, seminars, or 

educational institutions that are approved by the Real Estate Commission, instead of 

requiring licensees to complete the hours at an institution of higher education or other 

institution.  The bill removes the requirement that a broker's instruction include issues 

in managing a real estate company or office and that a salesperson's instruction cover 

current issues regarding consumers, real estate practice, ethics, and real estate law, and 

instead requires the Commission to approve the curriculum and providers of the 

courses. 

The bill explicitly states that a broker or salesperson licensee may not begin 

taking instruction to fulfill the ten-hour requirement mentioned above until the date the 

license is issued to the licensee.  Current law is silent on when a licensee can begin 

instruction. 

The bill extends to all salesperson license applicants the requirement that a 

person who has not been licensed as a broker or salesperson within a four-year period 

preceding a current application to have successfully completed a pre-licensure 

classroom instruction within a ten-year period preceding the application.  Existing law 

requires this only for salesperson license applicants who began instruction prior to 

August 1, 2001. 

The bill removes the specific education requirements for applicants for a 

salesperson's license who began instruction prior to August 1, 2001, and makes the 

requirements the same for all salesperson's license applicants. 
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Failure to comply with education requirements 

(R.C. 4735.14 and 4735.141) 

If the continuing education requirements are not met by an existing licensee 

within the periods specified, continuing law requires the licensee's license to be 

suspended automatically. The bill specifies that the Superintendent's manner of 

notification of the license suspension be sent by regular mail to the personal residence 

address of the licensee that is on file with the Division of Real Estate and Professional 

Licensing. 

Continuing law requires that if the license of a real estate broker is suspended for 

failure to comply with the continuing education requirements, the license of a real 

estate salesperson associated with that broker correspondingly is suspended.  The bill 

requires a sole broker to notify an affiliated salesperson of a suspension for failure to 

meet the continuing education requirements in writing within three days of receiving 

the notice described above. 

Under the bill, a salesperson whose license is suspended due to association with 

a broker who failed to comply with the continuing education requirements may have 

the license reactivated if either of the following occurs: 

(1)  The associated broker subsequently submits proof to the Superintendent that 

the broker has complied with the continuing education requirements and requests that 

the broker's license be reactivated, and the Superintendent reactivates the license. 

(2)  The salesperson submits an application to leave the association of a 

suspended broker to associate with a different broker. 

In the case of (2) above, the suspended license of the salesperson must be 

reactivated for no fee.  The Superintendent may process the application for reactivation 

regardless of whether the licensee's license is returned to the Superintendent. 

The bill requires any licensee whose license is reactivated, including a 

salesperson who continues to be associated with a previously suspended broker or who 

leaves the association of the suspended broker, to comply with the continuing 

education requirements and to otherwise be in compliance with the Real Estate Brokers 

Law.  Current law requires a licensee who continues to be associated with a previously 

suspended broker to comply with the continuing education requirements and be in 

compliance with the Law. 

If a licensee fails to comply with the continuing education requirements for 

existing licensees, the bill prohibits the Superintendent from renewing the licenseeʹs 
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license, and requires the licensee to pay the penalty fee provided for under current law, 

which is 50% of the renewal fee. 

The bill removes the requirement that a salesperson who has a license reactivated 

submit proof of completing 30 hours of continuing education, and instead requires a 

licensee to submit proof of completion of the required continuing education with the 

licensee's notice of renewal, submitted in the manner provided by the Superintendent.  

Current law requires proof satisfactory to be submitted to the Superintendent as 

prescribed by the Ohio Real Estate Commission or on or before the third year following 

the licensee's birthday occurring immediately after reactivation for any person whose 

license is reactivated after failing to meet the continuing education requirements. 

Members of the armed forces 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

Continuing law allows a licensee who enters the armed forces to place a license 

on deposit with the Commission.  The bill allows such a licensee, who fails to meet the 

continuing education requirements because the licensee is in the armed forces, an 

extension to complete the requirements within 12 months after the licensee's first 

birthday after discharge.  Existing law requires that the requirements be completed 

within 12 months of the licensee's discharge. 

The bill changes who must notify the licensee of the licensee's obligations under 

the continuing education requirements at the time the licensee applies for reactivation 

of the licenseeʹs license after discharge.  The bill requires the Superintendent of Real 

Estate and Professional Licensing to notify the licensee, as opposed to the Commission, 

as under existing law. 

Disabled licensees 

(R.C. 4735.141) 

The bill permits an extension to satisfactorily complete the required 30 hours of 

continuing education for any licensee who is a disabled licensee at any time during the 

last three months of the third year of the continuing education reporting period, instead 

of for "physically handicapped" licensees as under existing law.  The bill specifies that 

the length of the extension will be determined by the Superintendent. 
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Fees 

Nonrefundable fees 

(R.C. 4735.06, 4735.09, and 4735.15) 

The bill makes the application, reactivation, or transfer fee for a real estate 

broker's license and a real estate salesperson's license nonrefundable.  Current law 

provides that if an applicant for a brokerʹs or salespersonʹs license is not admitted and a 

waiver is not involved, one-half of the application fee will be retained by the 

Superintendent to cover the expenses of processing the application and the other half 

will be returned to the applicant. 

Unpaid checks or draft instruments 

(R.C. 4735.182) 

If a check or other draft instrument used to pay any fee required by the Real 

Estate Brokers Law is returned to the Superintendent unpaid by the financial institution 

upon which it is drawn for any reason, the bill requires the Superintendent to notify the 

entity or person that the check or other draft instrument was returned for insufficient 

funds.  Current law applies these provisions to checks or draft instruments returned 

due to insufficient funds, as opposed to checks or drafts unpaid by the financial 

institutions upon which they are drawn for any reason. 

Additionally, if the check or draft instrument was submitted by a licensee, 

current law requires the Superintendent to notify the licensee that the licenseeʹs license 

will be suspended unless the licensee, within 15 days after the mailing of the notice, 

resubmits the fee and an additional $100 fee to the Superintendent.  If the licensee does 

not submit both fees within that time period, or if any check or other draft instrument 

used to pay either of those fees is returned to the Superintendent unpaid by the 

financial institution upon which it is drawn for any reason, the license must be 

suspended immediately without a hearing and the licensee must cease activity as a 

licensee under the Real Estate Brokers Law.  The bill extends the requirement for the 

resubmission fee and the additional $100 fee to a person or entity applying to qualify 

foreign real estate or renew a property registration, to an applicant for licensure, and to 

an education course provider or course provider applicant.  Current law is silent in 

these cases. 

If a person or entity fails to submit both fees within 15 days after the mailing of 

the notice or if any check or other draft instrument used to pay either of those fees is 

returned to the Superintendent unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is 

drawn for any reason, then the following apply: 
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(1)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by a person or entity applying to 

qualify foreign real estate or renew a property registration, the property registration 

will be suspended immediately without a hearing and the applicant must cease activity 

as a licensee. 

(2)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by an applicant for licensure, the 

application will automatically be denied or approval withdrawn. 

(3)  If the check or draft instrument is remitted by an education course provider 

or course provider applicant, the application will be denied or approval withdrawn. 

Operating and education and research funds 

(R.C. 4735.06 and 4735.211) 

If the Director of Commerce determines that funds in the Division of Real Estate 

Operating Fund are in excess of those necessary to fund all the expenses of the Division 

in any biennium, the bill permits the Director to pay the excess funds to the Real Estate 

Education and Research Fund.  Current law requires the Director to pay the excess 

funds to the Real Estate Education and Research Fund. 

The bill increases the limit for Real Estate Education and Research Fund moneys 

that may be used to advance loans from $800, as in current law, to $2,000.  These loans 

are to applicants for salesperson licenses to defray the costs of satisfying the educational 

requirements of obtaining a license. 

Licensee duties 

Notification of misconduct 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

The bill adds to the types of misconduct of which a broker or salesperson 

licensee must notify the Superintendent within 15 days and requires the notification to 

be in writing.  If a licensee is the subject of an order by the Department of Commerce, 

Department of Insurance, or the Department of Agriculture revoking or permanently 

surrendering any professional license, certificate, or registration or if the licensee is the 

subject of an order by any government agency concerning real estate, financial matters, 

or the performance of fiduciary duties with respect to any license, certificate, or 

registration, in addition to the misconduct described in existing law, the bill requires the 

licensee to notify the Superintendent. 
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If a licensee fails to notify the Superintendent of misconduct within the required 

time, the bill allows the Superintendent to suspend the license of the licensee instead of 

revoking the license, as allowed under existing law. 

Business location 

(R.C. 4735.13, 4735.16, and 4735.17) 

The bill stipulates that a post office box is not a definite place of business for 

purposes of the existing requirement that every licensed real estate broker has and 

maintain a definite place of business in Ohio. 

In the case of a change of business location, the bill requires a broker to give 

notice to the Superintendent on a form prescribed by the Superintendent within 30 days 

after the change of location.  Current law only requires that the broker gives notice in 

writing to the Superintendent and is silent on the time frame. 

The bill moves the requirement that every real estate broker licensed under the 

Real Estate Brokers Law must have and maintain a definite place of business in Ohio.  

Continuing law requires a real estate broker to prominently display the brokerʹs license 

in the office or place of business of the broker. 

Licensees as members and officers of entities 

(R.C. 4735.13) 

The bill requires a licensed real estate broker who is a member or officer of a 

partnership, association, limited liability company, limited liability corporation, or 

corporation to only act as a broker for the entity.  Current law prohibits a licensed real 

estate broker from performing any acts other than as the agent of the entity. The bill 

removes existing law's prohibition against the broker having any real estate 

salespersons associated with the broker. 

Agency disclosure statements 

(R.C. 4735.58) 

The bill requires a licensee who is a purchaser's agent or a seller's subagent 

working with a purchaser to indicate the accurate agency relationship on the agency 

disclosure statement required by existing law. 
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Termination of duties 

(R.C. 4735.74) 

The bill creates an exemption to existing law's provision requiring a licensee to 

maintain confidentiality after the termination of duties.  The bill permits the licensee to 

disclose confidential information received during the course of the transaction if the 

disclosure is regarding sales information requested by a registered appraiser assistant 

or a licensed or certified appraiser for the purposes of performing an appraisal.  The bill 

bars any cause of action against a licensee for releasing information for this reason. 

Advertising 

(R.C. 4735.16) 

The bill changes current law's advertising requirements by removing the 

requirement that a broker or salesperson indicate in an advertisement that the licensee 

is a broker or salesperson and by requiring different information in advertisements 

based on whether a real estate broker or salesperson owns or does not own the property 

being advertised.  The bill requires any licensed real estate broker or salesperson who 

advertises to buy, sell, exchange, or lease real estate, or to engage in any act regulated 

by the Real Estate Brokers Law, with respect to property the licensee does not own, to 

be identified in an advertisement by name and to indicate the name of the brokerage 

with which the licensee is affiliated.  With respect to property that the licensee owns, 

the bill requires the licensed real estate broker or salesperson to be identified in the 

advertisement by name and indicate that the property is agent owned.  If the property 

is listed with a real estate brokerage, the advertisement must also indicate the name of 

the brokerage with which the property is listed.  In both situations, the brokerage name 

must be displayed in equal prominence with the name of the salesperson in the 

advertisement. 

The bill defines ʺbrokerageʺ for purposes of the advertising requirements to 

mean the name under which the real estate company or sole broker is doing business, 

or if the real estate company or sole broker does not use such a name, the name of the 

real estate company or sole broker as licensed. 

Current law requires licensed brokers and salespersons, whether or not they own 

the property being sold, exchanged, or leased, to be identified by name in the 

advertisement and to indicate that the licensee is a broker or salesperson.  Additionally, 

except for a salesperson who advertises the sale, exchange, or lease of real estate that 

the salesperson owns and that is not listed for sale, exchange, or lease with a broker, a 

salesperson who advertises must also indicate the name of the broker under whom the 

salesperson is licensed and the fact that the salesperson's broker is a broker. 
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Agency agreements 

(R.C. 4735.55) 

The bill specifies that each written agency agreement must contain a statement 

that it is illegal pursuant to the Federal Housing Law, as amended, to refuse to make 

certain housing actions based on protected classes.  Current law requires the statement 

to express that it is illegal pursuant to the Federal Fair Housing Law to make certain 

housing actions based on protected classes. 

Similarly, the bill specifies that each written agency agreement must contain a 

copy of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) equal housing 

opportunity logotype, as amended.  Current law requires an agreement to contain a copy 

of the HUD equal opportunity logotype. 

Compliance with federal law 

(R.C. 4735.62) 

The bill requires a licensee, in the licensee's fiduciary capacity, to use best efforts 

to further the interest of a client by complying with the Federal Fair Housing Law, as 

amended, in addition to the other requirements contained in existing law.  Current law 

requires the licensee to comply with the Federal Fair Housing Law. 

Prohibitions 

(R.C. 4735.21 and 4735.71) 

Current law prohibits a real estate salesperson or foreign real estate salesperson 

from collecting any money in connection with any real estate or foreign real estate 

brokerage transaction, whether as a commission, deposit, payment, rental, or otherwise, 

except in the name of and with the consent of the licensed real estate broker or licensed 

foreign real estate dealer under whom the salesperson is licensed.  The bill adds the 

specification that the broker or dealer under whom the salesperson was licensed at the 

time the salesperson earned the commission must be the broker or dealer who consents. 

The bill also prohibits a salesperson licensed under the Real Estate Brokers Law 

from selling, assigning, or otherwise transferring the salespersonʹs interest in a 

commission or any portion thereof to an unlicensed person or entity.  If the salesperson 

does make such a prohibited assignment or transfer, the broker is prohibited from 

paying the transferee or assignee any portion of the commission.  The bill prohibits a 

cause of action against a broker for not paying an assignee or transferee any portion of 

the assignment or transfer. 
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The bill prohibits a salesperson or broker licensed under the Real Estate Brokers 

Law from participating in a dual agency relationship in which the licensee is a party to 

the transaction, either personally or as an officer or member of a partnership, 

association, limited liability company, limited liability partnership, or corporation that 

has an interest in the real property that is the subject of the transaction or an entity that 

has an intention of purchasing, leasing, or exchanging the real property.  This is in 

addition to the provisions in continuing law that generally prohibit a licensee or 

brokerage from participating in a dual agency relationship unless the seller and the 

purchaser have full knowledge of the representation and that prohibit a brokerage from 

participating in such a relationship unless the brokerage establishes a procedure 

regarding confidential information and each licensee to fulfill the licensee's duties 

exclusively to the licensee's client. 

Complaints and investigation procedure 

(R.C. 4735.05 and 4735.052) 

The bill prohibits the Superintendent from initiating an investigation of a 

violation for a person who held a license on voluntary hold or a suspended or inactive 

license under the Real Estate Brokers Law on the date of the alleged violation. Current 

law prohibits the Superintendent from investigating any person who held a valid 

license under the Real Estate Brokers Law any time during the 12 months preceding the 

date of the alleged violation. 

The bill increases the time, to 14 business days, within which the Superintendent 

must send a written notice, by regular mail, to a party who is the subject of an 

investigation if the Superintendent determines there exists reasonable evidence of a 

violation after an investigation.  Current law requires the Superintendent to mail the 

notice within seven business days. 

The bill removes current law's requirement that the notice required above inform 

the party that a hearing concerning the alleged violation will be held at the next 

regularly scheduled meeting of the Real Estate Commission, that the notice must 

contain a statement giving the date and place of that meeting, and that the notice must 

contain a statement informing the party that the party or party's attorney may appear in 

person, present evidence, examine witnesses, or submit written testimony.  Instead, the 

bill requires the hearing to be held upon the party's request, before a hearing examiner 

pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. 

The bill requires the hearing examiner to file a report of findings of fact and 

conclusions of law with the Superintendent, the Commission, the complainant, and the 

parties after the conclusion of formal hearings.  The bill allows the parties and the 
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Division to file written objections to the report within 20 days of receipt of the copy of 

the written report of findings of fact and conclusions of law.  The bill requires the 

Commission to consider the objections before approving, modifying, or disapproving 

the report. 

The bill requires the Commission to review the hearing examinerʹs report at the 

next regularly scheduled Commission meeting, which must be held at least 20 business 

days after receipt of the hearing examinerʹs report.  At that meeting, the Commission 

must hear the testimony of the complainant or the parties.  If the violation relates to 

acting as a real estate salesperson or broker without a license, the Commission must 

decide whether to impose disciplinary sanctions upon a party for that violation. 

The bill requires the Commission to keep a record, rather than a transcript, of the 

hearing. 

The bill requires civil penalties collected as disciplinary sanctions from a party 

for a violation to be deposited in the Real Estate Operating Fund instead of the Real 

Estate Recovery Fund, as current law requires. 

The bill allows the Superintendent to reserve the right to bring a civil action 

against a party that fails to pay a civil penalty for breach of contract in any court of 

competent jurisdiction. 

Disciplinary action 

Licensees 

(R.C. 4735.18 and 4735.181) 

The bill makes permissive the imposition of disciplinary sanctions on any 

licensee who, in the licensee's capacity as a broker or salesperson, or in the handling of 

the licensee's own property, is found guilty of engaging in misconduct as specified in 

current law (disciplinary sanctions remain mandatory for felonies or crimes of moral 

turpitude).  Current law requires disciplinary sanctions to be mandatory for the 

misconduct. 

In addition to the types of misconduct listed in existing law, the bill allows the 

imposition of disciplinary sanctions for a licensee who is found guilty of any of the 

following: 

(1)  Advertising, in addition to having placed a sign as under current law, on any 

property offering it for sale or for rent without the consent of the owner or an 

authorized agent; 
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(2)  Having an unsatisfied lien in any court of record against the licensee arising 

out of the licensee's conduct as a broker or salesperson; 

(3)  Failing to comply with the provisions relating to earnest money in the Real 

Estate Brokers Law. 

The bill removes the requirement in current law that the Commission 

immediately notify the Real Estate Appraiser Board of any disciplinary action taken 

against a licensee who also is a state certified real estate appraiser under the Real Estate 

Appraiser Law. 

The bill removes the reference to the complaint investigation section of the Real 

Estate Brokers Law that requires the Ohio Real Estate Commission, when imposing 

disciplinary sanctions on a licensee, to act pursuant to that section. 

The bill prohibits any broker or salesperson from failing to comply with 

requirements regarding change of address notification and maintenance of salesperson 

licenses by brokers.  This prohibition is in addition to those in current law, which 

prohibit any broker or salesperson from failing to comply with requirements regarding 

agency agreements, brokerage policies on agency, and agency disclosure statements.  

Continuing law permits the Superintendent to initiate disciplinary action against a 

licensee or to serve a citation and impose sanctions upon a licensee who violates the 

prohibitions. 

Unlicensed persons or entities 

(R.C. 4735.32) 

The bill permits the Commission to commence an investigation and take 

disciplinary action that relates to unlicensed persons and entities in addition to 

licensees. 

Compensation for brokers and foreign real estate dealers 

(R.C. 4735.20) 

The bill expands the exemption that allows licensed real estate brokers or 

licensed foreign real estate dealers to pay or receive a commission to a broker or dealer 

of another state, to also include a broker or dealer of another country.  This payment 

must be done in accordance with rules adopted by the Commission. 
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Liability limitation based on imputed knowledge 

(R.C. 4735.68) 

The bill prohibits a cause of action against a broker or affiliated or past licensee 

based on imputed knowledge of any defect, adverse condition, or repair in real 

property or failure to disclose such information.  This is in addition to current law's 

limitations on liability for a licensee whose client provided false information or a client 

who made a misrepresentation unless the licensee or client had actual knowledge of 

such false information or misrepresentation, or the licensee acted with reckless 

disregard for the truth. 

Definitions 

(R.C. 4735.01) 

The bill changes all occurrences in the Real Estate Brokers Law of ʺphysically 

handicappedʺ to ʺdisabled" and changes the definition of "disabled licensee" (formerly 

"physically handicapped licensee") to include a person who is under a severe disability, 

instead of a severe physical disability, that prevents the person from being able to 

attend any instruction lasting at least three hours in duration. 

The bill limits or changes the exclusion of persons from the definitions of "real 

estate broker," "real estate salesperson," "foreign real estate dealer," and "foreign real 

estate salesperson."  Under current law, the terms "real estate broker," "real estate 

salesperson," "foreign real estate dealer," and "foreign real estate salesperson" do not 

include a person, partnership, association, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or corporation, or the regular employees thereof, who perform any of the 

acts or transactions specified in the Real Estate Brokers Law, whether or not for, or with 

the intention, in expectation, or upon the promise of receiving or collecting a fee, 

commission, or other valuable consideration: 

(1)  With reference to real estate situated in this state or any interest in it owned 

by such person, partnership, association, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or corporation, or acquired on its own account in the regular course of, or 

as an incident to the management of the property and the investment in it; 

(2)  As receiver or trustee in bankruptcy, as guardian, executor, administrator, 

trustee, assignee, commissioner, or any person doing the things mentioned in the Real 

Estate Brokers Law, under authority or appointment of, or incident to a proceeding in, 

any court, or as a public officer, or as executor, trustee, or other bona fide fiduciary 

under any trust agreement, deed of trust, will, or other instrument creating a like bona 

fide fiduciary obligation; 
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(3)  As a person who engages in the brokering of the sale of business assets, not 

including the negotiation of the sale, lease exchange, or assignment of any interest in 

real estate; 

(4)  Various other specifications unchanged by the bill. 

The bill changes (1) above and applies with reference to real estate situated in 

this state and removes the provision relating to any interest in real estate situated in this 

state. 

The bill changes (2) above and requires that the public officer be a "bona fide" 

public officer and that the trust agreement, deed of trust, will, or other instrument 

creating a like bona fide fiduciary obligation be executed in good faith.  The bill defines 

bona fide as made in good faith or without purpose of circumventing license law. 

The bill changes (3) above and instead of not including the negotiation of the 

sale, lease, exchange, or assignment of any interest in real estate, does not include the 

actual sale, lease, exchange, or assignment of any interest in real estate. 

The bill limits the exemption of persons, partnerships, associations, limited 

liability companies, limited liability partnerships, or corporations as provided in 

(1) above by the legal interest in the real estate held by that person or entity to 

performing any of the acts or transactions specified in or comprehended by the Real 

Estate Brokers Law. 

Other changes 

(R.C. 4735.02, 4735.09, 4735.10, 4735.142, and 4735.32) 

The bill makes other non-substantive changes to the Real Estate Broker's Law. 

Transfer of Construction Compliance Section to Department of Commerce 

(R.C. 126.021; Section 515.50) 

The bill transfers the Construction Compliance Section of the Equal Employment 

Office of the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) to the Department of 

Commerce (DOC).  More specifically, on the effective date of the transfer, all of the 

functions, together with all of the assets and liabilities, of the section are transferred to 

DOC.  The section as transferred to DOC assumes the obligations of, and otherwise 

constitutes the continuation of, the section as it was formerly organized in DAS.  Any 

business commenced but not completed by the section as it was formerly organized in 

DAS is to be completed by the section as transferred to DOC, in the same manner, and 

with the same effect, as if completed by the section as it was formerly organized in DAS.  
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Any validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, obligation, or liability is not lost or 

impaired by reason of the transfer, and is to be administered by the section as 

transferred to DOC.  The transfer applies in particular to the special budgeting rules 

that dedicate a minimum percentage of capital appropriations for the work of the 

section. 

All of the rules, orders, and determinations of the section as it was formerly 

organized in DAS continue in effect as rules, orders, and determinations of the section 

as transferred to DOC, until they are modified or rescinded by the section as transferred 

to DOC.  

Subject to the lay-off provisions of the Civil Service Act, all employees of the 

section as it was formerly organized in DAS are transferred to the section as transferred 

to DOC.  The employees retain their positions and all the benefits accruing thereto. 

Whenever the section as it was formerly organized in DAS is referred to in any 

law, contract, or other document, the reference is to be deemed to refer to the section as 

transferred to DOC. 

Any action or proceeding pending on the effective date of the transfer is not 

affected by the transfer and is to be prosecuted or defended in the name of DOC or in 

the name of the section as transferred to DOC. 

Liquor Control Fund 

(R.C. 4301.12) 

The bill authorizes revenue resulting from any contracts with the Department of 

Commerce pertaining to the responsibilities and operations described in the Liquor 

Control Law to be credited to the Liquor Control Fund.33  In addition, if the Director of 

Budget and Management determines that the amount in the Fund is insufficient, the 

Director may transfer money from the General Revenue Fund to the Liquor Control 

Fund.  Currently, the Liquor Control Fund generally consists of money from the sales of 

spirituous liquor, application fees for liquor licenses, and fines levied under the liquor 

control laws.  Money in the Fund may be used for specified purposes related to those 

laws. 

                                                 
33 It is unclear to what contracts the bill refers in the provision concerning revenue resulting from any 

contracts with the Department of Commerce pertaining to the responsibilities and operations described in 

the Liquor Control Law that is to be credited to the Liquor Control Fund. 
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Transfer of spirituous liquor distribution system to JobsOhio 

(R.C. 4313.01 and 4313.02) 

Overview 

The bill authorizes the state to transfer to JobsOhio all or a portion of the 

spirituous liquor distribution system for a transfer price payable by JobsOhio to the 

state.  It requires any such transfer to be treated as an absolute conveyance and true sale 

of the interest in the spirituous liquor distribution system.  Any such transfer that is a 

lease or grant of a franchise must be for a term not to exceed 25 years or that is an 

assignment and sale, conveyance, or other transfer must contain a provision that the 

state has the option to have conveyed or transferred back to it, at no cost, the system no 

later than 25 years after the original transfer was authorized.  Finally, the bill authorizes 

the proceeds of any transfer to be expended as provided in the transfer agreement for 

specified purposes. 

Transfer of system 

Under the bill, the state may enter into an agreement with JobsOhio to transfer 

all or a portion of the enterprise acquisition project for a transfer price payable by 

JobsOhio to the state.  "Enterprise acquisition project" means, as applicable, all or any 

portion of the capital or other assets of the spirituous liquor distribution and 

merchandising operations of the Division of Liquor Control, including inventory, real 

property rights, equipment, furnishings, the spirituous liquor distribution system 

including transportation, the monetary management system, warehouses, contract 

rights, rights to take assignment of contracts and related receipts and revenues, 

accounts receivable, the exclusive right to manage and control spirituous liquor 

distribution and merchandising and to sell spirituous liquor in the state subject to the 

control of the Division of Liquor Control pursuant to the terms of the transfer 

agreement, and all necessary appurtenances thereto, or leasehold interests therein, and 

the assets and liabilities of the existing Facilities Establishment Fund.  "Transfer" means 

an assignment and sale, conveyance, granting of a franchise, lease, or transfer of all or 

an interest.34 

Any transfer of the enterprise acquisition project must be treated as an absolute 

conveyance and true sale of the interest in the enterprise acquisition project purported 

to be conveyed for all purposes, and not as a pledge or other security interest.  The 

characterization of any such transfer as a true sale and absolute conveyance cannot be 

negated or adversely affected by any of the following: 

                                                 
34 It is unclear what is intended by "all or an interest." 
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(1)  The acquisition or retention by the state of a residual or reversionary interest 

in the enterprise acquisition project; 

(2)  The participation of any state officer or employee as a member or officer of 

JobsOhio or any subsidiary of JobsOhio; 

(3)  Any regulatory responsibility of an officer or employee of the state, including 

the authority to collect amounts to be received in connection therewith; or 

(4)  The retention of the state of any legal title to or interest in any portion of the 

enterprise acquisition project for the purpose of regulatory activities. 

The bill states that an absolute conveyance and true sale or lease exist regardless 

of whether JobsOhio has any recourse against the state or the treatment or 

characterization of the transfer as a financing for any purpose.  Upon and following the 

transfer, the state cannot have any right, title, or interest in the enterprise acquisition 

project other than any residual interest that may be described in the transfer agreement 

regarding the term of the transfer and the rental or lease of the project (see below).  The 

fair market value of the enterprise acquisition project in the transfer agreement must be 

conclusive and binding on the state and JobsOhio. 

Any transfer of the enterprise acquisition project that is a lease or grant of a 

franchise must be for a term not to exceed 25 years.  Any transfer of the enterprise 

acquisition project that is an assignment and sale, conveyance, or other transfer must 

contain a provision that the state must have the option to have conveyed or transferred 

back to it, at no cost, the enterprise acquisition project, as it then exists, no later than 25 

years after the original transfer authorized in the transfer agreement on such other 

terms as must be provided in the transfer agreement. 

Exemption from taxes 

The bill states that the exercise of the powers granted by the bill's provisions 

governing the transfer will be for the benefit of the people of Ohio.  All or any portion 

of the enterprise acquisition project transferred pursuant to the transfer agreement that 

would be exempt from real property taxes or assessments or real property taxes or 

assessments in the absence of the transfer must, as it may from time to time exist 

thereafter, remain exempt from real property taxes or assessments levied by the state 

and its subdivisions to the same extent as if not transferred.  The gross receipts and 

income of JobsOhio derived from the enterprise acquisition project must be exempt 

from taxation levied by the state and its subdivisions, including, but not limited to, the 

municipal and state income, sales, use and storage, and commercial activity taxes levied 

pursuant to current law.  Any transfer from the state to JobsOhio of the enterprise 
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acquisition project, or item included or to be included in the project, must be exempt 

from the sales and use and storage taxes levied pursuant to current law. 

Proceeds of transfer 

Under the bill, the proceeds of any transfer may be expended as provided in the 

transfer agreement for one or more of the following purposes: 

(1)  Funding, payment, or defeasance of outstanding bonds issued pursuant to 

the laws governing various state and local capital improvements and economic 

development and secured by pledged liquor profits.  "Pledged liquor profits," by 

reference to the Public Facilities Commission Law, means all receipts of the state 

representing the gross profit on the sale of spirituous liquor after paying all costs and 

expenses of the Division of Liquor Control and providing an adequate working capital 

reserve for the Division as provided in current law, but excluding the sum required by 

the law that was in effect on May 2, 1980, that required $2.25 for each gallon of 

spirituous liquor sold by the state to be credited to the General Revenue Fund. 

(2)  Deposit into the General Revenue Fund; 

(3)  Deposit into all of the following existing funds:  Clean Ohio Revitalization 

Fund, Innovation Ohio Loan Fund, Research and Development Loan Fund, Logistics 

and Distribution Infrastructure Fund, Advanced Energy Research and Development 

Fund, and Advanced Energy Research and Development Taxable Fund; 

(4)  Conveyance to JobsOhio for the purposes for which it was created. 

Spirituous liquor revenue 

The bill specifies that a sum equal to $3.38 for each gallon of spirituous liquor 

sold by the Division of Liquor Control, JobsOhio, or a designee of JobsOhio, rather than 

only the Division under current law, during the period covered by specified payments 

to the Treasurer of State under existing law must be paid into the state treasury to the 

credit of the General Revenue Fund. 

Other provisions 

The bill allows the state to covenant, pledge, and agree in the transfer agreement, 

with and for the benefit of JobsOhio, that it must maintain statutory authority for the 

enterprise acquisition project and the revenues of the project and not otherwise 

materially impair any obligations supported by a pledge of revenues of the project.  The 

transfer agreement may provide or authorize the manner for determining material 

impairment of the security for any such outstanding obligations, including by assessing 

and evaluating the revenues of the enterprise acquisition project. 
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The Director of Budget and Management, in consultation with the Director of 

Commerce, may, without need for any other approval, negotiate terms of any 

documents, including the transfer agreement, necessary to effect the transfer and the 

acceptance of the transfer of the enterprise acquisition project.  The Director of 

Commerce must execute the transfer agreement on behalf of the state.  The Director of 

Budget and Management also, without need for any other approval, may retain or 

contract for the services of specified persons such as financial advisers to effect the 

transfer agreement.  Any transfer agreement may contain terms and conditions 

established by the state to carry out and effectuate the transfer, including covenants 

binding the state in favor of JobsOhio.  The transfer agreement must be sufficient to 

effectuate the transfer without regard to any other laws governing other property sales 

or financial transactions by the state.  The Director of Budget and Management may 

create any funds or accounts, within or without the state treasury, as are needed for the 

transactions and activities authorized by the bill's provisions governing the transfer. 

Under the bill, the transfer agreement may authorize JobsOhio, in the ordinary 

course of doing business, to convey, lease, release, or otherwise dispose of any regular 

inventory or tangible personal property.  Ownership of the interest in the enterprise 

acquisition project that is transferred to JobsOhio and the transfer agreement must be 

maintained in JobsOhio or a nonprofit entity the sole member of which is JobsOhio until 

the enterprise acquisition project is transferred back to the state pursuant to the bill (see 

above for a discussion of the project's conveyance back to the state; see below for a 

discussion of the rental or lease of the enterprise acquisition project). 

The transfer agreement may authorize JobsOhio to fix, alter, and collect rentals 

and other charges for the use and occupancy of all or any portion of the enterprise 

acquisition project.  The agreement also may authorize JobsOhio to lease any portion of 

the enterprise acquisition project to the state and must include a contract with, or the 

granting of an option to, the state to have the project, as it then exists, transferred back 

to it without charge in accordance with the terms of the transfer agreement after 

retirement or redemption, or provision for that retirement or redemption, of all 

obligations supported by a pledge of spirituous liquor profits.  "Spirituous liquor 

profits" means all receipts representing the gross profit on the sale of spirituous liquor 

less the costs, expenses, and working capital provided for therein, but excluding the 

sum required by the law that was in effect on May 2, 1980, that required $2.25 for each 

gallon of spirituous liquor sold by the state to be paid into the General Revenue Fund, 

provided that from and after the initial transfer of the enterprise acquisition project to 

JobsOhio and until the transfer back to the state under the bill, the reference in 

provisions governing the gross profit on the sale of spirituous liquor to all costs and 

expenses of the Division and also an adequate working capital reserve for the Division 
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must be to all costs and expenses of JobsOhio and providing an adequate working 

capital reserve for JobsOhio. 

JobsOhio, the Director of Budget and Management, and the Director of 

Commerce must, subject to the approval of the Controlling Board, enter into a contract, 

which may be part of the transfer agreement, for the continuing operation by the 

Division of Liquor Control of spirituous liquor distribution and merchandising subject 

to standards for performance provided in that contract that may relate to the bill's 

provisions governing the transfer agreement and the impairment of obligations 

supported by pledged revenues.  The contract must establish other terms and 

conditions for the assignment of duties to, and the provision of advice, services, and 

other assistance by, the Division of Liquor Control to JobsOhio.  The terms and 

conditions may include providing for the necessary staffing and payment by JobsOhio 

of appropriate compensation to the Division for the performance of those duties and the 

provision of such advice, services, and other assistance. 

The bill states that the Division of Liquor Control must manage and actively 

supervise the activities required or authorized under current law establishing the 

powers and duties of the Division, including, but not limited to, controlling the traffic in 

beer and intoxicating liquor in the state and fixing the wholesale and retail prices at 

which the various classes, varieties, and brands of spirituous liquor are sold by the 

Division. 

The bill requires the transfer agreement to require JobsOhio to pay for the 

operations of the Division of Liquor Control with regard to the Division's spirituous 

liquor merchandising operations.  The payments from JobsOhio must be deposited into 

the state treasury to the credit of the existing Liquor Control Fund. 

Finally, the bill requires the transaction regarding and transfer of the enterprise 

acquisition project to comply with all applicable provisions of the Ohio Constitution. 

Retail sale of beer by A-1 liquor permit holders 

(R.C. 4303.02) 

The bill allows an A-1 liquor permit holder to sell beer and beer products 

manufactured on the premises at retail, by individual drink in a glass or from a 

container, for consumption on the premises where sold.  Currently, an A-1 liquor 

permit may be issued to a manufacturer only to manufacture beer and to sell beer 

products in bottles or containers for home use and to retail and wholesale liquor permit 

holders under rules adopted by the Division of Liquor Control. 
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Issuance of F-9 liquor permits 

(R.C. 4303.209 and 4301.62) 

The bill authorizes the Division of Liquor Control to issue an F-9 liquor permit to 

a nonprofit corporation that operates a park on property leased from a municipal 

corporation or a nonprofit corporation that provides or manages entertainment 

programming pursuant to an agreement with a nonprofit corporation that operates a 

park on such property to sell beer or intoxicating liquor by the individual drink at 

specific events conducted within the park property and appurtenant streets, but only if, 

and only at times at which, the sale of beer and intoxicating liquor on the premises is 

otherwise permitted by law.  Additionally, an F-9 permit may be issued only if the park 

property is located in a county that has a population of between 1.1 million and 1.2 

million on the provision's effective date. 

The Division may issue separate F-9 liquor permits to a nonprofit corporation 

that operates a park on property leased from a municipal corporation and a nonprofit 

corporation that provides or manages entertainment programming pursuant to an 

agreement with a nonprofit corporation that operates a park on such property to be 

effective during the same time period.  However, the permit privileges may be 

exercised by only one of those permit holders at specific events.  The other holder of an 

F-9 permit must certify to the Division that it will not exercise its permit privileges 

during that specific event. 

Under the bill, the premises on which an F-9 permit will be used must be clearly 

defined and sufficiently restricted to allow proper supervision of the permit's use by 

state and local law enforcement officers.  Sales under an F-9 permit must be confined to 

the same hours permitted to the holder of a D-3 permit. 

The fee for an F-9 permit is $1,700.  An F-9 permit is effective for up to nine 

months as specified in the permit.  An F-9 permit is not transferable or renewable.  

However, the holder of an F-9 permit may apply for a new F-9 permit at any time.  The 

holder of an F-9 permit must make sales only at those specific events about which the 

permit holder has notified in advance the Division, the Department of Public Safety, 

and the chief, sheriff, or other principal peace officer of the local law enforcement 

agencies having jurisdiction over the premises. 

An application for an F-9 permit is subject to the notice and hearing requirements 

established in current law regarding new liquor permit applications.  The Liquor 

Control Commission must adopt rules necessary to administer the F-9 liquor permit. 

The bill prohibits an F-9 permit holder from selling beer or intoxicating liquor 

beyond the hours of sale allowed by the permit.  The bill states that this prohibition 
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imposes strict liability on the holder of an F-9 permit and on any officer, agent, or 

employee of that permit holder. 

Possession of beer and intoxicating liquor on F-9 permit premises 

The bill adds an exemption to the existing prohibition against a person's having 

in the person's possession an opened container of beer or intoxicating liquor on the 

premises of the holder of any permit issued by the Division and in any other public 

place.  The bill allows a person to have in the person's possession on an F-9 liquor 

permit premises an opened or unopened container of beer or intoxicating liquor that 

was not purchased from the F-9 permit holder if the person is attending an orchestral 

performance and the F-9 permit holder grants permission for the possession and 

consumption of beer or intoxicating liquor in certain predesignated areas of the 

premises during the period for which the F-9 permit is issued.  "Orchestral 

performance" means a concert comprised of a group of at least 40 musicians playing 

various musical instruments. 

Residential Construction Advisory Committee membership 

(R.C. 4740.14; Section 747.40) 

Under current law, all nine members of the Residential Construction Advisory 

Committee (RCAC) serve parallel three-year terms.  As a result, all members' terms 

conclude at the same time, requiring the Director of Commerce to either reappoint or 

appoint members to fill the entire committee every three years. 

This bill creates a staggered scheme by which only three members' terms expire 

in any given year.  Beginning with terms to commence July 1, 2011, three members' 

terms will end on June 30, 2012, three members' terms will end on June 30, 2013, and 

three members' terms will end on June 30, 2014.  The Director of Commerce will decide 

which members serve shortened terms, within the parameters specified in the bill.  

After the staggered scheme is begun, all successive members will serve full three-year 

terms. 

Spirituous liquor tasting samples 

(R.C. 4301.17 and 4301.62) 

The bill authorizes spirituous liquor agency stores to sell tasting samples of 

spirituous liquor in accordance with rules adopted by the Division of Liquor Control.  A 

tasting sample of spirituous liquor is a small amount of spirituous liquor that is 

provided in not more than four servings of not more than a quarter ounce of spirituous 

liquor and one ounce of nonalcoholic mixer each to an authorized purchaser and that 
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allows the purchaser to determine, by tasting only, the quality and character of the 

beverage.  Spirituous liquor includes all intoxicating liquors containing more than 21% 

of alcohol by volume.  Intoxicating liquor includes all liquids and compounds, other 

than beer, containing .5% or more of alcohol by volume. 

The bill exempts consumption of tasting samples of spirituous liquor at agency 

stores from the Open Container Law.  Currently, a person cannot have an opened 

container of beer or intoxicating liquor in a state liquor store. 

Alcohol content of beer 

(R.C. 4301.01) 

The bill increases the legally permitted alcohol content of beer from 12% to 18% 

of alcohol by volume. 

 

OFFICE OF THE CONSUMERS' COUNSEL (OCC) 

 Prohibits the OCC from operating a call center for consumer complaints. 

 Requires the OCC to follow the policies of the state in current law that involve 

supporting retail natural gas competition. 

 

 

Call center prohibition 

(R.C. 4911.021) 

The bill prohibits the Office of the Consumers' Counsel (OCC) from operating a 

call center for consumer complaints, and requires that consumer-complaint calls 

received by OCC be forwarded to the Public Utilities Commission (PUCO).  The PUCO 

is currently required to operate a call center for consumer complaints.35 

Requirement to follow state natural gas policy 

(R.C. 4911.02) 

The bill requires the OCC to follow Ohio's policies in current law that involve 

supporting natural gas competition.  These policies include the promotion of diversity 

                                                 
35 R.C. 4905.261, not in the bill. 
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in the natural gas marketplace, flexible and reduced or eliminated regulation of natural 

gas services and goods, and the promotion of Ohio's competitiveness in the global 

economy.  Current law also requires both the PUCO and the OCC to follow these 

policies in exercising their respective authorities.36 

 

CONTROLLING BOARD (CEB) 

 Creates the Controlling Board Emergency Purposes Fund in the state treasury to 

provide disaster and emergency aid to state agencies and political subdivisions and 

for other purposes approved by the Controlling Board. 

 Permits the Controlling Board to approve a state agency's purchase if the agency (1) 

substantially complied with one of four specified purchasing requirements and (2) 

gives the Board a detailed explanation of the agency's competitive selection or 

evaluation and selection process. 

 Prohibits a public office from entering into a contract for a legislative agent with a 

cost exceeding $50,000 per year unless the contract is approved by the Controlling 

Board. 

 Requires a state agency director to request that the Controlling Board increase the 

agency's capital appropriations if the director and the Controlling Board determine 

such an increase is needed for the agency to receive and use funds under the federal 

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. 

 

 

Controlling Board Emergency Purposes Fund 

(R.C. 127.19; Sections 247.10 and 512.40) 

The bill creates the Controlling Board Emergency Purposes Fund in the state 

treasury.  The Fund is to consist of transfers from the General Revenue Fund (GRF) and 

any other money appropriated by the General Assembly. Moneys in the Fund may be 

used, at the request of a state agency or the Director of Budget and Management, to 

provide disaster and emergency aid to state agencies and political subdivisions or for 

other purposes approved by the Controlling Board. 

                                                 
36 R.C. 4929.02, not in the bill. 
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The bill eliminates the Controlling Board's current Emergency 

Purposes/Contingencies appropriation item and related appropriations and instead 

appropriates $10 million to the Controlling Board Emergency Purposes Fund in each 

fiscal year.  The bill also transfers up to $20 million to the Fund from any surplus in the 

GRF ending balance from fiscal year 2011 to the Emergency Purposes Fund. 

Approval of state-agency purchases 

(R.C. 127.162) 

The bill permits the Controlling Board to approve a purchase, on the request of a 

state agency or the Director of Budget and Management, as being in full compliance 

with competitive selection, if the agency satisfies a substantial-compliance requirement.  

More specifically, the agency must have substantially complied with the current law 

requirements for one of the following: 

 Competitive sealed bidding; 

 Competitive sealed proposals; 

 Reverse auctions; or 

 Evaluation and selection for professional design services. 

The agency must also submit with its request a detailed explanation of the type of 

competitive selection or evaluation and selection process with which it was seeking to 

comply and the specific requirements with which the agency failed to comply. 

The bill permits the Controlling Board, by majority vote, to disapprove or defer a 

purchase request or request that the agency resubmits the request if substantial 

compliance has not been demonstrated. 

The bill specifies that its new provisions do not modify cumulative purchasing 

thresholds under existing law. 

Public office lobbying contracts 

(R.C. 101.711) 

The bill prohibits a public office from entering into a contract with a legislative 

agent, with a cost exceeding $50,000 in a calendar year, without the approval of the 

Controlling Board.  The prohibition does not apply to an employment contract pursuant 

to which an individual is employed directly by a public office as a legislative agent. 
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For purposes of the prohibition:  "Public office" means any state agency, public 

institution, political subdivision, or other organized body, office, agency, institution, or 

entity established by Ohio law for the exercise of any function of government.  And 

"legislative agent" means any individual (except a member or staff of the General 

Assembly and a state wide elected official) who is engaged, during at least a portion of 

the individual's time, to actively advocate with regard to legislative matters as one of 

the individual's main purposes.  Certain Ohio Casino Control Commission members 

and employees are "legislative agents" even if they do not, during at least a portion of 

their time, actively advocate with regard to legislative matters as one of their main 

purposes. 

Controlling Board authority to increase capital appropriations 

(Sections 247.10 and 801.20) 

The bill requires a state agency director to request that the Controlling Board 

increase the amount of the agency's capital appropriations if the director determines 

such an increase is necessary for the agency to receive and use funds under the federal 

American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.  The bill authorizes the Board to 

make such increase up to the exact amount necessary under the federal act if the Board 

concurs that the increase is necessary. 

 

COUNSELOR, SOCIAL WORKER, AND MARRIAGE AND  
FAMILY THERAPIST BOARD (CSW) 

 Requires the Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board to 

establish fees for issuing a replacement copy of any wall certificate issued by the 

Board, approving continuing education programs, and approving providers of 

continuing education programs. 

 

 

Fees charged by the Board 

(R.C. 4757.31) 

The bill requires the Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family 

Therapist Board to establish fees for (1) approval of continuing education programs, (2) 

approval of continuing education providers to be authorized to offer continuing 

education programs without prior approval from the Board for each program offered, 

and (3) issuance of a replacement copy of any wall certificate issued by the Board.   A 
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rule adopted by the Board defines a provider granted approval for the purposes 

described in (2), above, as "provider status."37 

Like most of the fees the Board establishes under current law, the fees described 

above are nonrefundable, must be in amounts sufficient to cover the Board's necessary 

expenses in administering the statutes and rules governing the persons regulated by the 

Board, and may be adjusted from time to time. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENT (DEV) 

 Eliminates the prevailing wage requirements that apply to certain economic 

development projects. 

 Removes the requirement that an applicant have at least 30% funding from one or 

more financial institutions or other governmental entities as a requisite criterion for 

receipt of a loan from the Director of Development to minority business enterprises 

and others. 

 Clarifies that JobsOhio must comply with Ohio's Nonprofit Corporation Law unless 

the corporation is specifically exempted from a particular provision of that law. 

 Removes a requirement that the Governor serves as a member and chairperson of 

the nine-member JobsOhio board of directors, and instead requires the Governor to 

appoint all nine directors and designate one of those directors to serve as 

chairperson. 

 Removes a provision that allows the Governor to specify other types of experience 

that would qualify an individual for appointment to the JobsOhio board of directors 

as an alternative to the types of experience specifically enumerated in law. 

 Requires that any claim alleging the unconstitutionality of the JobsOhio authorizing 

legislation or of any section governing the proposed sale of the liquor distribution 

system must be brought in the Franklin County Common Pleas Court within 90 

days after the bill's effective date unless the claim is within the original jurisdiction 

of the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals. 

 Requires that any claim alleging the unconstitutionality of an action taken by 

JobsOhio must be brought in the Franklin County Common Pleas Court within 60 

                                                 
37 O.A.C. 4757-9-05(A)(1). 
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days after the action taken unless the claim is within the original jurisdiction of the 

Supreme Court or Court of Appeals. 

 Prohibits any business from using "JobsOhio" or "Jobs Ohio" as part of the business' 

name without the written consent of JobsOhio. 

 Removes existing law that allows the Governor to remove a director for misconduct, 

and instead provides that only a majority of disinterested directors may remove a 

director. 

 Provides that the JobsOhio chief investment officer may be removed from office only 

by the board of directors, instead of by the Governor as provided in current law. 

 Repeals the limit on payments of Third Frontier Commission's administrative 

expenses from the Biomedical Research and Technology Transfer Trust Fund, but 

allows payments for award administration expenses through June 30, 2013, for 

awards made before the bill's effective date. 

 Delays implementation of the Department of Development's Sports Incentive Grant 

Program from July 1, 2011 to July 1, 2013. 

 Temporarily authorizes the Director to seek and use available federal economic 

stimulus funds to secure and guarantee loans made for historic rehabilitation 

projects that are approved for an Ohio historic rehabilitation tax credit. 

 Establishes the Ohio Housing Study Committee (OHSC) to review the policies, 

programs, and working relationships of the Ohio Housing Finance Agency (OHFA). 

 Requires the OHSC to produce a quantitative report measuring the economic 

benefits of the OHFA and to evaluate the possible efficiencies of combining existing 

Ohio Department of Development housing-related programming with those of the 

OHFA. 

 Requires the OHSC to provide a report expressing its findings about the OHFA on 

or before March 31, 2012. 

 

 

Payment of prevailing wage on economic development projects 

(R.C. 122.0818, 122.452, 165.031, 1551.13, 3706.042, 4115.032, and 4981.23 (all repealed); 

R.C. 166.02, 1551.33, 1728.07, and 4116.01) 

The bill removes the prevailing wage requirements that apply to the following: 
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(1)  Projects receiving grants under the Job Ready Site Program administered by 

the Department of Development (R.C. 122.085 to 122.0820); 

(2)  Industrial, distribution, commercial, and research projects receiving financial 

assistance from the Department pursuant to R.C. Chapter 122.;38 

(3)  Projects involving the acquisition, construction, improvement, or equipping 

of property for industry, commerce, distribution, or research under R.C. Chapter 165.; 

(4)  Eligible projects receiving economic development assistance from the 

Department under R.C. Chapter 166.;39 

(5)  Energy resource development projects or facilities supported by the 

Department pursuant to R.C. Chapter 1551.; 

(6)  Projects undertaken by community urban redevelopment corporations in 

conjunction with municipal corporations under R.C. Chapter 1728.; 

(7)  Air quality projects financed by the Ohio Air Quality Development Authority 

under R.C. Chapter 3706.; and 

(8)  Rail service projects receiving financial assistance from the Ohio Rail 

Development Commission pursuant to R.C. 4981.11 to 4981.26. 

Department of Development funding to minority business enterprises and 
others 

(R.C. 122.76) 

The Director of Development, with Controlling Board approval, may lend funds 

to minority business enterprises and other specified entities that meet specified criteria.  

One criterion is that the value of the project is or, upon completion, will be at least equal 

to the total amount of the money expended in procurement or improvement of the 

project, and one or more financial institutions or other governmental entities have 

loaned not less than 30% of that amount.  The bill removes the requirement that an 

applicant for a loan have at least 30% funding from financial institutions or other 

governmental entities. 

                                                 
38 The financial assistance for these projects includes loans to minority business enterprises and loan 

guarantees to small businesses (R.C. 122.80, not in the bill). 

39 Projects eligible for such assistance include innovation projects, research and development projects, 

advanced energy projects, and logistics and distribution projects. 
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Changes to the law governing JobsOhio 

The bill makes several changes to the law governing the formation and operation 

of JobsOhio, the nonprofit organization authorized by H.B. 1 to perform state economic 

development, job creation and retention, job training, and business recruitment 

functions. 

Applicability of Ohio Nonprofit Corporation Law 

(R.C. 187.01; Section 812.30) 

The bill states that, unless specifically exempted from a particular provision, 

JobsOhio must comply with Ohio's Nonprofit Corporation Law.  Continuing law 

unchanged by the bill exempts the corporation from 34 of the 61 sections of that law 

that might otherwise apply to nonprofit corporations.  The provision is exempted from 

the referendum and takes immediate effect. 

Disposition of liabilities upon dissolution 

(R.C. 187.01(I); Section 812.30) 

The bill eliminates a provision that requires JobsOhio's articles of incorporation 

to set forth procedures for how JobsOhio's liabilities would be distributed to the state or 

to a successor corporation should JobsOhio be dissolved.  The bill retains the 

requirement that the articles provide for how JobsOhio's assets and rights would be so 

distributed. 

Governor membership on board of directors 

(R.C. 187.01(A) and (D) and 187.03; Section 812.30) 

Under current law, the JobsOhio board of directors must consist of the Governor 

and eight directors appointed by the Governor.  The Governor must also serve as 

chairperson of the board.  The bill removes the Governor as a member of the board, and 

instead requires that all nine directors be individuals appointed by the Governor.  The 

Governor must appoint one of the nine directors to serve as board chairperson. 

Accordingly, the bill adjusts the terms of office for initial board appointees.  

Current law provides that, of the eight Governor-appointed directors, two directors will 

serve one year from the date the articles of incorporation are filed, while two directors 

will serve two years and four directors will serve four years.  The bill requires that the 

ninth Governor-appointed director also serve an initial four-year term, so that a total of 

five directors will serve initial terms of four years. 
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The changes are exempted from the referendum and take immediate effect. 

Director qualifications 

(R.C. 187.02; Section 812.20) 

Under current law, to qualify for appointment to the JobsOhio board of directors, 

an individual must satisfy all of the following:  (1) understand generally accepted 

accounting principles and financial statements, (2) possess the ability to assess the 

general application of those principles in connection with the accounting for estimates, 

accruals, and reserves, (3) have experience preparing, auditing, analyzing, or evaluating 

financial statements that present a breadth and level of complexity of accounting issues 

that are generally comparable to the breadth and complexity of issues that can 

reasonably be expected to be presented by JobsOhioʹs financial statements, or 

experience actively supervising one or more persons engaged in those activities, (4) 

understand internal controls and procedures for financial reporting, and (5) understand 

audit committee functions. 

Specific experience demonstrating the qualifications required above can be 

evidenced by any of the following: 

(1)  Education and experience as a principal financial officer, principal 

accounting officer, controller, public accountant or auditor, or experience in one or more 

positions that involve the performance of similar functions; 

(2)  Experience actively supervising a principal financial officer, principal 

accounting officer, controller, public accountant, auditor, or person performing similar 

functions; 

(3)  Experience overseeing or assessing the performance of companies or public 

accountants with respect to the preparation, auditing, or evaluation of financial 

statements; or 

(4)  Other experience considered relevant by the Governor consistent with the 

above paragraph. 

The bill removes this last provision that allows the Governor, in making an 

appointment, to consider other types of experience not otherwise listed if the Governor 

considers the experience relevant.  Removal of the provision is exempted from the 

referendum and takes immediate effect. 
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Removal of directors for misconduct 

(R.C. 187.01(K); Section 812.30) 

Under current law, the corporation's articles of incorporation must provide that 

the governor may remove a member of the board of directors for misconduct.  The bill 

instead requires the articles to authorize the removal of a director for misconduct only 

through the decision of a majority of disinterested directors.  The change is exempted 

from the referendum and takes immediate effect. 

Chief investment officer appointment and removal 

(R.C. 187.01(E); Section 812.30) 

Under current law, the corporation's articles of incorporation must provide that 

the corporation's chief investment officer will serve at the pleasure of the Governor.  

The bill instead requires the articles to state that the CIO will serve at the pleasure of the 

board of directors. 

Existing law also requires the articles to provide for the appointment of the CIO 

by recommendation of the board of directors and approval of the Governor.  The bill 

additionally requires the articles to specify that, if the CIO position becomes vacant for 

any reason, the vacancy must be filled as provided in law for the initial appointment.  

The changes are exempted from the referendum and take immediate effect. 

Use of the name "JobsOhio" 

(R.C. 187.13) 

The bill prohibits any person (other than JobsOhio) from using the name 

"JobsOhio" or "Jobs Ohio," or words with a similar meaning in another language, as any 

part of the designation or name of a business the person conducts in the state, unless the 

person receives the written consent of JobsOhio. 

The bill also requires that the name of any subsidiary of JobsOhio must include 

both the name "JobsOhio" and an additional designation in order to differentiate the 

subsidiary from other JobsOhio corporations. 

Legal actions challenging the constitutionality of JobsOhio or its actions 

(R.C. 187.09) 

The legislation that authorized the creation of JobsOhio, Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 

129th General Assembly, vested exclusive, original jurisdiction in the Ohio Supreme 

Court over any legal action claiming the unconstitutionality of that act, any part of that 
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act, or any actions taken by the Governor or the corporation under the authority 

conferred by that act.  H.B. 1 also required that any such action be filed within 60 days 

after the act's effective date, which was February 18, 2011. 

The bill proposes a new statute of limitations applicable to such constitutional 

challenges.  Under the bill, any claim alleging the unconstitutionality of any section of 

Am. Sub. H.B. 1, any section of R.C. Chapter 4313. enacted by the bill (which authorizes 

the sale of the state's liquor distribution system to JobsOhio), or any part of those 

sections must be brought in the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas within 90 

days after the provision's (90-day) effective date, unless the claim is within the original 

jurisdiction of the Ohio Supreme Court or Court of Appeals. 

The bill similarly provides that any claim, except a claim within the original 

jurisdiction of the Supreme Court or Court of Appeals, that alleges the 

unconstitutionality of any action taken by JobsOhio must be brought in the Franklin 

County Common Pleas Court within 60 days after the action is taken. 

Under the bill, the Franklin County Common Pleas Court or a Court of Appeals 

must give priority to a claim alleging the unconstitutionality of JobsOhio legislation or 

actions over other civil cases before the court. 

JobsOhio appropriation 

(Sections 605.10 and 605.11) 

Am. Sub. H.B. 1 appropriated an amount not to exceed $1 million for the 

"transition and start-up costs" of JobsOhio.  The bill specifies that those start-up costs 

may include the costs of the incorporation and formation of the corporation. 

The bill also appropriates any unexpended and unencumbered balance from that 

$1 million appropriation remaining at the end of FY 2011 to JobsOhio for FY 2012. 

Biomedical Research and Technology Transfer award administration 

(R.C. 183.30) 

The bill repeals the 5% limit on payments related to the Third Frontier 

Commission's administration of awards from the Biomedical Research and Technology 

Transfer Trust Fund.  The bill specifies that, for awards made from the Fund before the 

bill's effective date, payments for award administration expenses may continue through 

June 30, 2013.  The Commission last made an award from the Fund in 2009, and award 

periods range from three to five years. 
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Loan guarantees for historic rehabilitation projects 

(Section 521.80 and 801.20) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Development to try to obtain up to $75 million 

in federal economic stimulus funds and to make the funds available to secure and 

guarantee loans made for historic building rehabilitation projects that have been 

approved for an Ohio historic rehabilitation tax credit (see R.C. 149.311).  The federal 

funds would be any funds available under the federal American Recovery and 

Reinvestment Act of 2009 or any other federal source of money that may lawfully be 

applied to that purpose.  Any such funds obtained by the Director must be credited to 

the Ohio Historic Preservation Tax Credit Fund created by the bill. 

If the Director is successful in obtaining federal funds, the Director then must 

enter into loan guarantee contracts under the same general provisions governing 

Chapter 166 loan guarantees (R.C. 166.06, as authorized by Section 13, Article VIII, Ohio 

Constitution), except that the guarantee is secured solely by money in the Ohio Historic 

Preservation Tax Credit Fund instead of the existing Chapter 166 Loan Guarantee Fund.  

The loan guarantee amount for any project may not exceed the tax credit amount.  

Rehabilitation projects approved in the first round of rehabilitation tax credit awards 

would have first priority for loan guarantees. 

Delay implementation of sports incentive grants 

(R.C. 122.121) 

The bill delays the Department of Development's implementation of the Sports 

Incentive Grant Program, which is currently set to begin July 1, 2011, until July 1, 2013.  

Continuing law authorizes the Director of Development, after that date, to make grants 

of General Revenue Fund money to counties or municipal corporations hosting 

specified sporting events.  The grant amount is based on the increased state sales tax 

revenue directly attributable to the preparation for and presentation of the event, as 

determined by the Director.  Grants are available only if the increased state sales tax 

revenue is estimated to be greater than $250,000.  No individual grant may exceed 

$500,000, and the total of all grants in any fiscal year may not exceed $1 million. 

Ohio Housing Study Committee 

(Section 701.40) 

The bill creates the Ohio Housing Study Committee (OHSC) to formulate a 

comprehensive review of the policies and results of the Ohio Housing Finance Agency 

(OHFA), its programs, and its working relationships.  The purpose of the OHSC is to 
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evaluate all OHFA programs through an objective process to ensure Ohioans receive 

optimal and measurable benefits afforded to them through the authority of the OHFA.  

Under continuing law, the OHFA assists with the financing, refinancing, production, 

development, and preservation of safe, decent, and affordable housing for occupancy 

by low- and moderate-income persons; rental assistance and housing services for low- 

and moderate-income persons; allocation of all state and federal funds in accordance 

with applicable state and federal laws, including the federal Housing Credit Program; 

and the promotion of community development, economic stability, and growth within 

Ohio. 

The bill requires that the OHSC be comprised of the State Auditor, or the 

Auditor's designee, the Director of Commerce, or the Director's designee, the Director of 

Development, or the Director's designee, and four members of the General Assembly, 

two selected from each chamber, to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of 

Representatives and the President of the Senate, respectively.  The bill provides that the 

chairperson of the OHSC will be a member of the Committee selected by the Governor, 

Speaker of the House of Representatives, and President of the Senate. The OHSC will 

meet on a reasonable basis at the chairperson's discretion. 

The OHSC must do all of the following: 

(1)  Perform a comprehensive review of the OHFA Law (R.C. Chapter 175.) to 

determine the relevance of the law and whether it should be formally reviewed or 

amended by the General Assembly, up to and including appropriate legislative 

oversight and accountability; 

(2)  Review the OHFA's relationships to ensure an equitable and level playing 

field regarding its single- and multi-family housing programs; 

(3)  Review the OHFA's policy leadership and the measurable economic impact 

and other effects of its programs; 

(4)  Review the OHFA's Qualified Allocation Plan development process and 

underlying policies to understand whether objective and measurable results are 

achieved to fulfill clearly articulated public policy goals; 

(5)  Create a quantitative report measuring the economic benefits of the OHFA's 

single- and multi-family programming over the last ten years; 

(6)  Evaluate the possible efficiencies of combining existing Ohio Department of 

Development housing-related programming with those of the OHFA. 

The chairperson may include other relevant areas of study as necessary. 
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The OHSC will commence on the bill's effective date and is required to provide a 

report expressing its findings and financial, policy, or legislative recommendations to 

the Governor, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the President of the 

Senate on or before March 31, 2012. 

The bill requires that all reasonable expenses incurred by the OHSC in relation to 

its purpose be paid by OHFA funds, and allows the OHSC to contract with the State 

Auditor and other independent entities for up to $200,000 to carry out its 

responsibilities, including financial- and performance-based audits and other services. 

The bill allows the Auditor of State to contract with an independent auditor.  The bill 

prohibits an entity that has a financial or vested interest in the OHFA, its affiliates, or its 

nonprofit partners from contracting with the OHSC for services. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES (DDD) 

 Repeals a provision that requires funds appropriated for purposes of fulfilling the 

state's obligations under the consent order filed in Martin v. Strickland, which 

required the state to make a good faith effort to expand home and community-based 

services for persons with disabilities, to be in an appropriation item that authorizes 

expenditures only for purposes of fulfilling those obligations. 

 Increases to 22 (from 21) the age at which an individual ceases to qualify for 

programs established by the Director of the Ohio Department of Developmental 

Disabilities (ODODD) for individuals with intensive behavioral needs. 

 Specifies additional purposes for which the ODODD Director may use ODODD's 

funds and requires money in the Community Developmental Disabilities Trust 

Fund to be used for those purposes. 

 Permits the Director to establish priorities for using funds appropriated to ODODD. 

 Authorizes the ODODD Director to establish an Interagency Workgroup on Autism. 

 Eliminates obsolete laws governing ODODD's former Purchase of Service Program 

for residential services. 

 Permits ODODD to enter into a contract with a person or government agency to 

provide residential services to individuals with mental retardation or developmental 

disabilities in need of residential services. 

 Permits the ODODD Director to authorize, in fiscal years 2012 and 2013, innovative 

pilot projects that are likely to assist in promoting the objectives of state law 
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governing ODODD and county boards of developmental disabilities (county DD 

boards). 

 Repeals an obsolete law that permitted, under certain circumstances, a residential 

facility for persons with mental retardation and developmental disabilities to obtain 

a license without providing ODODD a copy of a development plan for the proposed 

residential facility that had been approved by a county DD board. 

 Repeals a provision that requires ODODD to provide or arrange for the provision of 

residential services for (1) former residents of institutions under ODODD's 

jurisdiction who ceased to be residents because of an institution's closure or 

significant reduction in occupancy, and (2) an equal number of individuals, from 

each county represented by the former residents, who need residential services but 

are not receiving them. 

 Reduces to eight (from ten) the number of times a county DD board that shares a 

superintendent or other administrative staff with one or more other county DD 

boards is to meet each year following its annual organizational meeting. 

 Revises the law governing waiting lists that county DD boards establish for their 

services by generally eliminating current statutory requirements for waiting lists 

and establishing separate requirements for waiting lists for non-Medicaid services 

and waiting lists for home and community-based services provided under ODODD-

administered Medicaid waiver programs. 

 Reduces the fee that a county DD board pays regarding home and community-based 

services provided under a Medicaid waiver program that ODODD administers from 

1.5% to 1% of the total value of all Medicaid-paid claims for such services provided 

to an individual eligible for such services from the board. 

 Provides for all of the money raised by the fees to be deposited into the ODDD 

Administration and Oversight Fund rather than having a portion of the money 

deposited into the ODJFS Administration and Oversight Fund. 

 Provides that the ODJFS Administration and Oversight Fund ceases to exist when 

ODJFS expends the amount appropriated from the Fund. 

 Eliminates ODJFS's duties regarding the fees. 

 Provides that money in the ODDD Administration and Oversight Fund may no 

longer be used for additional duties that ODODD identifies. 
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 Requires a county DD board to ensure that at least a certain number of individuals 

are enrolled in any of ODODD's Medicaid waiver programs, rather than each of the 

waiver programs. 

 Eliminates a requirement that the ODODD Director's rules regarding programs and 

services that county DD boards offer include standards for providing 

(1) environmental modifications and (2) specialized medical, adaptive, and assistive 

equipment, supplies, and supports. 

 Eliminates a requirement that county DD boards annually certify to the ODODD 

Director the average daily membership in various programs and the number of 

children enrolled in approved preschool units. 

 Removes a requirement that the ODODD Director adopt rules establishing a 

formula for the distribution of Family Support Services funds to county DD boards 

of developmental disabilities and instead provides, in temporary law for fiscal years 

2012 and 2013, that the Director is to consult with county DD boards to establish the 

formula. 

 Provides that, in fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the ODODD Director may provide 

funds to county DD boards for the purpose of addressing economic hardships and 

to promote efficiency of operations. 

 Prescribes new formulas for allocating among county DD boards tax equity 

payments, which under the new formulas are to be used to pay the nonfederal share 

of Medicaid expenditures for home and community-based services and care 

management. 

 Authorizes the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council to establish a five-year pilot 

program to allow Council members to remotely attend meetings by teleconference 

or video conference. 

 

 

Separate appropriation item – funds to fulfill Martin v. Strickland consent 
order 

(R.C. 126.04 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals a provision, enacted by the main appropriations act of the 127th 

General Assembly (Am. Sub. H.B. 119), that requires funds appropriated for purposes 

of fulfilling the state's obligations under the consent order filed in Martin v. Strickland to 
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be in an appropriation item that authorizes expenditures only for purposes of fulfilling 

those obligations. 

The Martin v. Strickland case was brought by persons seeking to give individuals 

with mental retardation or developmental disabilities the ability to choose community-

based, integrated residential services over placement in institutional care, such as a 

nursing facility.  Included in the settlement was a requirement that the Ohio 

Department of Developmental Disabilities (ODODD) and the Ohio Department of Job 

and Family Services (ODJFS) request funding for an additional 1,500 slots for the 

Individual Options Medicaid waiver program in the state budget for fiscal years 2008 

and 2009.  Another requirement was for the ODODD to conduct surveys of residents of 

state-run developmental centers and private and county-owned intermediate care 

facilities for the mentally retarded to determine which residents preferred home and 

community-based services, if available. 

Age limit for intensive behavioral needs programs 

(R.C. 5123.0417) 

The bill expands eligibility for programs established by the ODODD Director for 

individuals with intensive behavioral needs by increasing to 22 (from 21) the age at 

which an individual ceases to qualify for such programs.  Currently, the Director must 

establish one or more programs for such individuals.  The programs may do any of the 

following: 

(1)  Establish models that incorporate elements common to effective intervention 

programs and evidence-based practices in services for children with intensive 

behavioral needs; 

(2)  Design a template for individualized education plans and individual service 

plans that provide consistent intervention programs and evidence-based practices for 

the care and treatment of children with intensive behavioral needs; 

(3)  Disseminate best practice guidelines for use by families of children with 

intensive behavioral needs and professionals working with such families; 

(4)  Develop a transition planning model for effectively mainstreaming school-

age children with intensive behavioral needs to their public school district; 

(5)  Contribute to the field of early and effective identification and intervention 

programs for children with intensive behavioral needs by providing financial support 

for scholarly research and publication of clinical findings. 
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Additional purposes for using ODODD funds 

(R.C. 5123.0418, 5123.352, and 5126.19) 

The bill repeals a provision that specifies the reasons for which the ODODD 

Director is permitted to grant temporary funding from the Community Developmental 

Disabilities Trust Fund.  Instead, the bill generally permits the Director to use funds 

appropriated to ODODD for any of the following purposes, some of which applied to 

the Community Developmental Disabilities Trust Fund, in addition to any other 

purpose authorized under current law: 

(1)  All of the following to assist persons with mental retardation and 

developmental disabilities remain in the community and avoid institutionalization:  

(a) behavioral and short-term interventions, (b) residential services, and (c) supported 

living; 

(2)  Respite care services; 

(3)  Staff training to help the following personnel serve persons with mental 

retardation and developmental disabilities in the community:  (a) employees of, and 

personnel under contract with, county boards of developmental disabilities (county DD 

boards), (b) employees of providers of supported living, (c) employees of providers of 

residential services, and (d) other personnel the Director identifies.  

The bill permits the Director to establish priorities for using funds for these 

purposes, but requires that the funds be used in a manner consistent with the 

appropriations that authorize the Director to use the funds and all other state and 

federal laws governing the use of the funds. 

Interagency Workgroup on Autism 

(R.C. 5123.0419 (primary) and 3323.31) 

The bill permits the ODODD Director to establish an Interagency Workgroup on 

Autism for the purpose of improving the coordination of Ohio's efforts to address the 

service needs of individuals with autism spectrum disorders and the families of those 

individuals.  The Director is permitted to enter into interagency agreements that specify 

any of the following: 

(1)  The roles and responsibilities of government entities that enter into the 

agreements; 

(2)  Procedures regarding the receipt, transfer, and expenditure of funds 

necessary to achieve the goals of the Workgroup; 
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(3)  The projects to be undertaken and activities to be performed by the 

government entities that enter into the agreements. 

Money received from the participating government entities must be deposited in 

the Interagency Workgroup on Autism Fund, which the bill creates.  Money in the fund 

must be used by ODODD solely to support the Workgroup's activities. 

Purchase of Service Program 

(R.C. 5123.18 (primary), 3721.01, 5123.01, 5123.051, 5123.171, 5123.172, 5123.191, 

5123.194, and 5126.04; R.C. 5123.181 (repealed)) 

The bill eliminates the laws governing the Purchase of Service Program that is no 

longer administered by ODODD.  These laws specify the procedures that were to be 

used in entering into contracts with various types of providers who offered residential 

services to individuals with mental retardation and developmental disabilities. 

ODODD's residential services contracts 

(R.C. 5123.18) 

The bill permits ODODD to enter into a contract with a person or government 

agency to provide residential services to individuals with mental retardation or 

developmental disabilities in need of residential services.  The bill specifies that to be 

eligible to enter into a contract with ODODD, a person or government entity and the 

home in which the residential services are provided must meet all applicable standards 

for licensing or certification by the appropriate government entity. 

ODODD innovative pilot projects 

(Section 263.20.80) 

The bill permits the ODODD Director to authorize innovative pilot projects that 

are likely to assist in promoting the objectives of state law governing ODODD and 

county DD boards.  This authority exists only for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

The bill permits a pilot project to be implemented in a manner inconsistent with 

the laws or rules governing ODODD and county DD boards; however, the bill prohibits 

the Director from authorizing a pilot project to be implemented in a manner that would 

cause Ohio to be out of compliance with any requirements for a program funded in 

whole or in part with federal funds.  Before authorizing a pilot project, the ODODD 

Director must consult with entities interested in the issue of developmental disabilities, 

including the Ohio Provider Resource Association, Ohio Association of County Boards 

of Developmental Disabilities, and ARC of Ohio. 
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Repeal of obsolete residential facility licensure law 

(R.C. 5123.193 (repealed), 5111.21, 5111.211, 5123.19, and 5123.45) 

The bill repeals an obsolete law enacted by Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General 

Assembly that permitted certain residential facilities for persons with mental 

retardation and developmental disabilities to obtain a license without providing 

ODODD a copy of a development plan for the proposed residential facility that had 

been approved by a county board of developmental disabilities.  The law became 

obsolete because the deadline for submitting the license application occurred in 

February 2010. 

Residential services for former ODODD institution residents and unserved 
individuals 

(R.C. 5123.211 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals a provision that requires ODODD to provide or arrange for the 

provision of residential services40 for both of the following: 

(1)  Former residents of institutions under ODODD's jurisdiction who ceased to 

be residents because of (a) the institution's closure, or (b) the institution's population 

being reduced 40% or more in a period of one year. 

(2)  An equal number of individuals, from each county represented by the former 

residents, who need residential services but are not receiving them. 

Under the bill, then, former residents of institutions and the other individuals 

described above will no longer receive the following residential services provided or 

arranged for by ODODD. 

County DD board meetings 

(R.C. 5126.029) 

The bill reduces to eight (from ten) the number of times a county DD board that 

shares a superintendent or other administrative staff with one or more other county DD 

boards is to meet each year following its annual organizational meeting. 

                                                 
40 "Residential services" are services necessary for an individual with mental retardation or a 

developmental disability to live in the community, including room and board, clothing, transportation, 

personal care, habilitation, supervision, and any other services ODODD considers necessary for the 

individual to live in the community (R.C. 5123.18(A)(3)). 
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County DD boards' waiting lists 

(R.C. 5126.042 (primary), 5111.872, 5126.054, 5126.08, and 5126.41) 

The bill revises the law governing waiting lists that county DD boards establish 

for their services.  The bill generally eliminates current statutory requirements for 

waiting lists and establishes separate requirements for waiting lists for non-Medicaid 

services and waiting lists for home and community-based services provided under 

ODODD-administered Medicaid waiver programs. 

A waiting list for non-Medicaid services is to be established in accordance with 

the plan each county DD board must develop regarding the facilities, programs, and 

other services the board makes available with its available resources.  A board may 

establish priorities for placing individuals on a waiting list for non-Medicaid services. 

The priorities must be consistent with the board's plan and applicable law. 

The bill establishes more requirements regarding waiting lists for home and 

community-based services provided under ODODD-administered Medicaid waiver 

programs than it does for waiting lists for non-Medicaid services.  The bill also requires 

ODODD to adopt rules governing waiting lists for such home and community-based 

services but does not require ODODD to adopt rules for waiting lists for non-Medicaid 

services. 

The bill includes provisions regarding the order in which individuals on a 

waiting list for home and community-based services provided under an ODODD-

administered Medicaid waiver program are to receive the services.  An individual's 

date of placement on such a waiting list is to be the date a request is made to the county 

DD board for the services.  A board must provide for an individual who has an 

emergency status to receive priority status on the waiting list.  The bill's definition of 

"emergency status" is generally the same as current law's definition of "emergency."  An 

individual with mental retardation or developmental disabilities has an emergency 

status when the individual is at risk of substantial self-harm or substantial harm to 

others if action is not taken within 30 days.  A board also must provide for an 

individual to receive, in accordance with ODODD's rules, priority status if (1) the 

individual is receiving supported living, family support services, or adult services for 

which no federal financial participation is received under the Medicaid program, (2) the 

individual's primary caregiver is at least 60 years of age, or (3) the individual has 

intensive needs as determined in accordance with ODODD's rules.  If two or more 

individuals on the waiting list have such priority, a board must use criteria specified in 

ODODD's rules in determining the order in which the individuals will be offered the 

services.  However, an individual who has priority because the individual has an 
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emergency status is to have priority over all other individuals on the waiting list who 

do not have emergency status. 

The bill maintains current law that provides that requirements applicable to the 

Medicaid program override the bill's provisions regarding waiting lists.  Specifically, 

Medicaid rules and regulations, and requirements contained within Medicaid state plan 

amendments and waiver programs that county DD boards have authority to administer 

or with respect to which the boards have authority to provide services, take precedence 

over the bill's waiting list provisions. 

County DD board fees for home and community-based services 

(R.C. 5123.0412; Section 309.30.15) 

The bill reduces the amount of the fee that county DD boards must pay 

regarding home and community-based services provided under a Medicaid waiver that 

ODODD administers.  Under current law, a county DD board must pay an annual fee 

equal to 1.5% of the total value of all Medicaid paid claims for such home and 

community-based services provided during the year to an individual eligible for 

services from the board.  Under the bill, the annual fee is 1% of the total value of such 

claims. 

The bill provides for the fees to be deposited solely into the ODDD 

Administration and Oversight Fund rather than, as under current law, having a portion 

of the fees deposited into the ODJFS Administration and Oversight Fund.  The ODJFS 

Administration and Oversight Fund is to cease to exist when ODJFS expends the 

amount appropriated from the Fund. 

Current law requires ODODD and ODJFS to specify, in an interagency 

agreement, how much of the fees are to be deposited into each fund.  The bill eliminates 

the requirement for the interagency agreement, including the part of the agreement 

providing for ODODD and ODJFS to coordinate the staff whose costs are paid for with 

money in the funds.  The bill also eliminates ODJFS's responsibility to prepare with 

ODODD an annual report on how money in the funds is used. 

Money raised by the fees is to be used for Medicaid administrative costs 

(including administrative and oversight costs of Medicaid case management services 

and home and community-based services) and to provide technical support to county 

DD boards regarding their local administrative authority over Medicaid-funded home 

and community based services.  Under current law, the administrative and oversight 

costs must include costs for staff, systems, and other resources needed and dedicated 

solely to eligibility determinations, training, fiscal management, claims processing, 

quality assurance oversight, and other duties ODODD and ODJFS identify.  The bill 
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provides that the money raised by the fees may no longer be used for additional duties 

that the departments identify. 

County DD boards' enrollment responsibilities for Medicaid waivers 

(R.C. 5126.0512 (primary), 5123.0413, and 5126.0510) 

The bill modifies county DD boards' responsibilities regarding enrollment of 

individuals in Medicaid waiver programs that ODODD administers.  Under current law 

and except as provided in ODODD's rules, each county DD board must ensure, for each 

Medicaid waiver program ODODD administers, that the number of individuals eligible 

for services from the board who are enrolled in an ODODD Medicaid waiver program 

is no less than the sum of (1) the number of individuals eligible for services from the 

board who are enrolled in the program on June 30, 2007, and (2) the number of slots for 

ODODD Medicaid waiver programs the board requested before July 1, 2007, that were 

assigned to the board before that date but in which no individual was enrolled before 

that date.  Under the bill, a county DD board must ensure that at least that number of 

individuals are enrolled in any of ODODD's Medicaid waiver programs, rather than 

each of the programs. 

Elimination of certain ODODD rule-making requirements 

(R.C. 5126.08) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that the ODODD Director's rules regarding 

programs and services that county DD boards offer include standards for providing 

(1) environmental modifications and (2) specialized medical, adaptive, and assistive 

equipment, supplies, and supports. 

County DD boards' average daily membership reports 

(R.C. 5126.12 (primary), 3323.09, and 5126.05) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that county boards of developmental 

disabilities annually certify to the ODODD Director (1) the average daily membership 

in various programs, and (2) the number of children enrolled in approved preschool 

units.  The bill retains a requirement that the boards certify to the Director all of the 

boards' income and operating expenditures for the immediately preceding calendar 

year and provide the expenditures in an itemized report prepared and submitted in the 

format specified by ODODD. 
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Formula for distributing Family Support Services funds 

(R.C. 5126.11 (primary) and 5126.0511; Section 263.10.30) 

The bill removes current law's requirement that the ODODD Director adopt 

rules establishing a formula for the distribution of Family Support Services funds to 

county DD boards.  Under the Family Support Services Program, payments are made to 

an individual with mental retardation or other developmental disability, or the family 

of the individual, for the purpose of supporting the individual in the family home 

rather than in an institutionalized setting.  Current law requires the ODODD Director to 

implement the program, including a formula for distributing to county DD boards the 

money appropriated for family support services.  Current law establishes a set schedule 

for payment of funds, requires that no more than 7% of the funds be used for 

administrative costs, and that each county DD board submit reports to ODODD on the 

payments. 

In place of the rulemaking procedures for establishing a distribution formula, the 

bill provides that, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the ODODD Director is to develop the 

formula in consultation with the county DD boards.  County DD boards are still 

prohibited from using more than 7% of the funds for administrative costs and are still 

required to submit reports to ODODD on the use of the funds.  A schedule for the 

payments is not specified. 

In addition to using the funds for Family Support Services, permits the ODODD 

Director to distribute the funds to county DD boards for the purpose of addressing 

economic hardships and to promote efficiency of operation.  The Director is to consult 

with the boards to determine the amount of funds used for these purposes and criteria 

for distribution. 

Tax equity payments 

(R.C. 5126.18) 

Overview 

The bill prescribes new formulas for allocating among county DD boards tax 

equity payments.  The formula specified in current law has not been used for at least the 

last two biennia.41 

                                                 
41 See Section 337.30.70 of Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly and Section 337.30.43 of Am. 

Sub. H.B. 119 of the 127th General Assembly. 
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The first new formula is one that is to apply under most circumstances.  The 

other two formulas are ones that are to apply only when certain conditions exist.  

Therefore, they are the exceptions to the general formula. 

Use of payments 

(R.C. 5126.18(E)) 

Generally, the bill restricts county DD boards to using tax equity payments solely 

to pay the nonfederal share of Medicaid expenditures it is required to pay under current 

law for (1) home and community-based services and (2) case management services.  The 

bill prohibits tax equity payments from being used to pay any salary or other 

compensation to county board personnel. 

However, on the written request of a county DD board, the ODODD Director 

may authorize the board to use tax equity payments for infrastructure improvements 

necessary to support Medicaid waiver administration. 

Eligibility for payments 

(R.C. 5126.18(C)) 

The bill requires that beginning on or before May 31, 2011, and on or before 

May 31 of every second year thereafter, the ODODD Director must determine whether 

a county is eligible to receive tax equity payments for the ensuing two fiscal years.  In 

determining eligibility, the Director must do both of the following: 

(1)  Determine the six-month moving average,42 population,43 and yield per 

person44 of each county in Ohio, based on the most recent information available; 

(2)  Calculate a tax equity funding threshold by adding the population of the 

county with the lowest yield per person and the populations of the individual counties 

in order from lowest yield per person to highest yield per person until the addition of 

the population of another county would increase the aggregate sum to over 30% of the 

total state population. 

                                                 
42 "Six-year moving average" means the average of the per-mill yields of a county for the most recent six 

years (R.C. 5126.18(A)(4)). 

43 "Population" of a county means that shown by the federal census for a census year or, for a noncensus 

year, the population as estimated by the Department of Development (R.C. 5126.18(A)(3)). 

44 "Yield per person" means the quotient obtained by dividing the six-year moving average of a county by 

the population of that county (R.C. 5126.18(A)(5)). 
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A county is eligible to receive tax equity payments for the two-year period if its 

population is included in the calculation of the threshold and the addition of its 

population does not increase such sum to over 30% of the total state population. 

Certification of the taxable value of property 

(R.C. 5126.18(B)) 

At the request of the ODODD Director, the bill requires the Tax Commission to 

certify to the Director the taxable value of property on each county's most recent tax list 

of real and public utility property.  The Director may request any other tax information 

necessary for the purposes of implementing the law governing the allocation of tax 

equity payments. 

General formula for allocating payments 

(R.C. 5126.18(D)) 

Except when certain conditions exist, beginning in fiscal year 2012 and each fiscal 

year thereafter, the ODODD Director must make tax equity payments to each eligible 

county according to a general formula for determining the allocation of such payments.  

Under the general formula, the Director must make payments to an eligible county in 

an amount equal to the population of the county multiplied by the difference between 

the yield per person of the threshold county and the yield per person of the eligible 

county.  For purposes of this formula, the population and yield per person of a county 

are equal to the population and yield per person most recently determined for that 

county. 

The payments must be made in quarterly installments of equal amounts not later 

than September 30, December 31, March 31, and June 30 of each fiscal year. 

Exceptions to the general formula 

First alternative formula − $20,000 range 

The general formula for determining tax equity payments does not apply for 

fiscal years 2012 through 2014 if, in fiscal year 2012, the amount determined pursuant to 

the general formula is at least $20,000 greater, or $20,000 less, than the amount of tax 

equity payments the county received in fiscal year 2011.  Instead, the county's tax equity 

payments for fiscal year 2012 through 2014 equal the following: 

 For fiscal year 2012, one-fourth of the amount calculated for the eligible 

county under the general formula plus three-fourths of the amount of tax 

equity payments the county received in fiscal year 2011. 
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 For fiscal year 2013, one-half of the amount calculated for the eligible 

county under the general formula plus one-half of the amount of tax 

equity payments the county received in fiscal year 2011. 

 For fiscal year 2014, three-fourths of the amount calculated for the eligible 

county under the general formula plus one-fourth of the amount of tax 

equity payments the county received in fiscal year 2011. 

Second alternative formula − tax equity payments are greater than amount 
appropriated to ODODD 

The general formula or the first alternative formula for determining tax equity 

payments does not fully apply in any fiscal year if the total amount of tax equity 

payments for all eligible counties is greater than the amount appropriated to ODODD 

for the purpose of making such payments in that fiscal year.  Instead, the bill requires 

the ODODD Director to reduce the payments to each eligible county DD board in equal 

proportion.  If the total amount of tax equity payments as determined under the general 

formula or first alternative formula is less than the amount appropriated to ODODD for 

that purpose, the Director must determine how to allocate the excess money after 

consultation with the Ohio Association of County Boards Serving People with 

Developmental Disabilities. 

No payments to regional councils 

(R.C. 5126.18(D)(4)) 

The bill restricts the payment of tax equity payments to eligible county DD 

boards.  No regional council or other entity is to receive such payments. 

Audits 

The bill authorizes the ODODD Director to audit any county DD board receiving 

tax equity payments to ensure appropriate use of the payments.  If the Director 

determines that a board is using payments inappropriately, the Director must notify the 

board in writing of the determination.  Within 30 days after receiving the Director's 

notification, the board must submit a written plan of correction to the Director.  The 

Director may accept or reject the plan. 

If the Director rejects the plan, the Director is authorized to require the board to 

repay all or a portion of the amount of tax equity payments used inappropriately.  The 

Director is required to distribute any tax equity payments returned to other eligible 

county DD boards in accordance with a plan developed by the Director after 

consultation with the Ohio Association of County Boards Serving People with 

Development Disabilities. 
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Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council remote attendance pilot program 

(Section 263.20.90) 

The bill authorizes the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council to establish a 

five-year pilot program to allow Council members to remotely attend a public Council 

meeting by teleconference or video conference in lieu of physically attending the 

meeting.  At each Council meeting that includes members in attendance by 

teleconference or video conference, at least three Council members must be physically 

present.  The bill permits any Council meeting to be held with members in attendance 

by teleconference or video conference; however, the Council must hold at least one 

meeting in each year of the pilot program without permitting members to attend by 

teleconference or video conference. 

The bill specifies that a member who attends a Council meeting by teleconference 

or video conference must be (1) counted for purposes of determining whether a quorum 

is present for the transaction of business, and (2) permitted to vote at the meeting. 

Report to the General Assembly 

If the Council establishes the pilot program, the bill requires the Council to 

submit a report to the General Assembly not later than four years after the bill's 

effective date to assist the recipients in determining whether legislation establishing 

remote attendance by teleconference or video conference for the meetings of other 

public bodies would be beneficial.  The report must include all of the following: 

(1) A description of the effect of teleconferencing or video conferencing on the 

operation of the Council meetings; 

(2) An accounting of any costs incurred or savings realized by the Council; 

(3) For each Council meeting held during the pilot program, all of the following:  

(a) the meeting notice, (b) Council member attendance records, (c) a description of 

public and media attendance, (d) a summary or copy of any comments made by the 

public or media regarding the use of teleconferencing or video conferencing, (e) the 

minutes for the meeting, (f) an accounting of the costs incurred for the meeting, and 

(g) a description of any local media coverage of a teleconference or video conference 

meeting. 

Rule-making authority 

The bill permits the Council to adopt any rules it considers necessary to 

implement the pilot program.  The rules must be adopted in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act and, at a minimum, do the following: 
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(1)  Allow Council members to remotely attend a public Council meeting by 

teleconference or video conference in lieu of physically attending the meeting; 

(2)  Establish a method for verifying the identity of a member who remotely 

attends a meeting by teleconference or video conference; 

(3)  Establish a policy for distributing and circulating necessary documents to 

Council members, the public, and the media in advance of a meeting where members 

attend by teleconference or video conference. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION (EDU) 

I.  School Financing 

State school funding 

 Repeals the current school funding model (unofficially known as the "Evidence 

Based Model" or "EBM"). 

 As a temporary system to fund school districts for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, 

requires the Department of Education to compute and pay each city, exempted 

village, and local school district, an amount based on the district's per pupil amount 

of funding paid for fiscal year 2011, adjusted by its share of a statewide per pupil 

amount, and indexed by the district's relative tax valuation per pupil. 

 Requires the Department to pay a supplement to guarantee all districts, for each of 

fiscal years 2012 and 2013, at least as much state operating funding as they received 

for fiscal year 2011 less the federal stimulus amount for fiscal year 2011. 

 Requires the Department to pay an additional subsidy of $17 per student to school 

districts and community schools that are rated "excellent with distinction" or 

"excellent." 

 Sets the formula amount at $5,653 for transfer payments for students attending 

community schools, STEM schools, other districts through open enrollment, and 

colleges and universities through the Post-Secondary Enrollment Options Program. 

 Discontinues the practice of using the prior year's October student count unless the 

current year's October count is 2% greater and, instead, requires use of the current-

year October count to derive a district's formula ADM. 
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 Retains the EBM's feature of counting each kindergarten student as one full-time 

equivalent student. 

 Retains and recodifies the special education funding weights and categories from 

the EBM. 

 For fiscal years 2012 and 2013, requires use of the former weights but the newer 

categories for computing special education transfer payments to community schools, 

STEM schools, and appears to require use of both the former weights and former 

categories for transfer payments to other school districts for excess special education 

cost or for state payments for catastrophic costs. 

 Repeals the changes to the gifted education maintenance of effort requirements 

recently enacted by H.B. 30 of the 129th General Assembly, but establishes a similar 

maintenance of effort requirement, based on fiscal year 2009 gifted education 

funding, in appropriations language for each year of the fiscal biennium. 

 Retains and recodifies the current transportation funding formula (enacted at the 

same time as the EBM), but suspends its operation for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

 Retains the fiscal year 2009 per pupil level of payments for community schools and 

STEM schools for special education, vocational education, poverty-based assistance, 

and parity aid. 

 Eliminates the School Funding Advisory Council. 

 Limits operating payments to an island district to the lesser of its actual cost or 93% 

of its fiscal year 2011 state payment amount. 

 Makes other miscellaneous school funding changes. 

School expenditure and performance data 

 Requires the Department of Education to develop, by January 1, 2012, and the State 

Board of Education to adopt, by July 1, 2012, standards for determining the amount 

of operating expenditures for classroom instruction and for nonclassroom purposes 

spent by a school district, community school, e-school, or STEM school. 

 Requires the Department to use the expenditure reporting standards and existing 

data to rank each district, community school, e-school, and STEM school according 

to percentage of operating expenditures for classroom instruction. 

 Requires the Department to denote, within the classroom expenditure rankings, 

districts and schools that are (1) among the lowest 20% statewide in total operating 
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expenditures per pupil or (2) among the highest 20% statewide in academic 

performance index or career-technical performance measures. 

 Requires the Department, annually, to report each district's, community school's, 

e-school's, and STEM school's rank according to (1) performance index score, 

(2) student performance growth, (3) career-technical performance measures, 

(4) expenditures per pupil, (5) percentage of expenditures for classroom instruction, 

and (6) performance of, and opportunities for, identified gifted students. 

 Requires the Department to report annually to each school district the ratio of its 

operating spending for instructional purposes to its spending for administrative 

purposes, its per pupil amount for each purpose, its percentage of district funds 

spent for operating purposes, and the statewide average of each of those items. 

 Requires each district to post the expenditure information reported to it by the 

Department on the district's web site and to make it available to parents and 

taxpayers in some other fashion. 

Take-over of fiscal emergency school districts 

 Requires the Auditor of State to notify the state Superintendent if the Auditor of 

State determines that the financial recovery plan of a school district in fiscal 

emergency cannot reasonably be expected to correct and eliminate its fiscal 

emergency conditions within five fiscal years. 

 Requires the state Superintendent to develop an operation plan for the district 

within 90 days of the Auditor of State's notice and to submit that plan to the State 

Board of Education. 

 Upon approval of the state Superintendent's operation plan, requires the State Board 

to take over operation of the district until the Auditor of State determines that the 

district does have a plan that reasonably can be expected to correct and eliminate the 

fiscal emergency conditions within five fiscal years. 

 Prohibits the State Board, while it has taken over operation of the district, from de-

chartering the district and transferring its territory. 

 Extends from two years to four years the standard period of time for a fiscal 

emergency school district to reimburse the state for a payment from the School 

District Solvency Assistance Fund, and grants a district up to ten years for 

repayment upon approval of the Director of Budget and Management and the state 

Superintendent. 
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School district certificate of adequate resources 

 Authorizes a school district to enter into a contract without attaching the certificate 

of adequate resources required under current law if an alternative certificate is 

attached certifying that the contract is a multi-year contract for essential non-payroll 

items and the contract is more cost effective than single-year contracts. 

Left-over textbook set-aside money 

 Specifically permits a school district board to transfer any unencumbered money 

remaining in the district's textbook and instructional materials fund on July 1, 2011 

(when the requirement to have that set-aside fund is repealed), to the district's 

general fund to be used for any general fund purpose. 

Auxiliary Services Funds 

 Updates statutory language regarding the kinds of education technology hardware 

and software and digital content that may be purchased with Auxiliary Services 

Funds for loan to students enrolled in chartered nonpublic schools. 

 Allows Auxiliary Services Funds to be used to purchase or maintain life-saving 

medical or other emergency equipment for chartered nonpublic schools. 

Public schoolhouse exemption 

 Specifically exempts from taxation real property used by a school district, STEM 

school, community school, educational service center, or a nonpublic school for 

primary or secondary educational purposes. 

Abolishment of Harmon Commission 

 Eliminates the Harmon Commission. 

II.  Community Schools 

Moratoriums on opening new community schools 

 Eliminates the requirement that a new start-up "brick and mortar" community 

school, as a condition of opening, must contract with an operator that either 

manages schools in other states that perform at a level higher than academic watch 

or, if the operator already manages Ohio schools, manages at least one Ohio school 

rated higher than academic watch. 
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 Repeals the moratorium on the establishment of new Internet- or computer-based 

community schools (e-schools), which currently is in effect until the General 

Assembly enacts standards governing the operation of e-schools. 

 Requires the State Board of Education to adopt rules establishing (1) operating 

standards for e-schools based on standards developed by the International 

Association for K-12 Online Learning and (2) methods by which the Department of 

Education must monitor schools' compliance with those standards.  

 Grants existing e-schools three years after adoption of operating standards rules to 

comply. 

 Prohibits a new e-school from opening unless, for the three prior years, it operated  

in another state and performed at a level higher than academic watch, as determined 

by the Department. 

Conversion community schools opening in 2011-2012 

 Waives the adoption (March 15) and signing (May 15) contract deadlines for new 

conversion community schools that open in the 2011-2012 school year, but requires 

that a copy of the adopted and signed contract be filed with the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction prior to the school's opening. 

Location of start-up community schools 

 Expands the definition of "challenged school district," where start-up community 

schools may be located, to include school districts that are ranked by performance 

index score in the lowest 5% of all districts. 

 Permits the establishment of a start-up community school in a district that is not a 

"challenged school district," if (1) at least 75% of the school's enrollment is disabled 

students or gifted students, but not both, and (2) the school district in which the 

school is located, or the Department of Education, certifies that there is need in the 

region for a school serving that student population. 

Restrictions on sponsoring additional community schools 

 Prohibits community school sponsors from sponsoring additional schools if they 

(1) are not in compliance with sponsor reporting requirements or (2) have fewer 

than 80% of their schools ranked by performance index score in the highest 95% of 

all public schools for three consecutive years. 

 Increases to 100 schools (from 50 to 75 schools under current law, depending on the 

sponsor) the number of community schools that an entity may sponsor. 
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 Repeals the requirement that the cap on the number of schools an entity may 

sponsor must be reduced by one for each school sponsored by the entity that 

permanently closes. 

Termination or nonrenewal of a school's contract with its sponsor 

 Revises procedural deadlines for notification, hearing, and appeal associated with a 

sponsor's decision to terminate or not renew its contract with a community school. 

 Requires a community school whose contract is terminated to close at the end of the 

current school year. 

Other provisions regarding community school sponsors 

 Allows an organization whose membership consists solely of entities authorized to 

sponsor community schools to become a sponsor itself, upon approval of the 

Department of Education. 

 Permits an educational service center (ESC) to sponsor a start-up community school 

in any challenged school district (rather than only in a challenged school district 

located in a county within the ESC's territory or in a contiguous county, as in current 

law). 

 Grants civil immunity to community school sponsors and their officers, directors, 

and employees for any action authorized by the Community School Law or the 

sponsorship contract that is taken to fulfill the sponsor's responsibility to oversee a 

community school. 

 Prohibits a community school sponsor or any officer, director, employee, agent, 

representative, subsidiary, or independent contractor of the sponsor from selling 

goods or services to a school sponsored by the sponsor. 

 Repeals the requirement that a community school sponsor have a representative 

located within 50 miles of each school it sponsors. 

 Revises the requirement for the sponsor's representative to meet regularly with the 

community school's governing authority, by (1) requiring the meetings to occur 

monthly (rather than every two months, as in current law), (2) allowing the meeting 

to be with the school's fiscal officer instead of the governing authority, and (3) 

requiring the representative to review the school's enrollment records (in addition to 

its financial records, as in current law). 

 Requires the State Board of Education to adopt rules defining what constitutes 

"financial records" for the purpose of the representative's review. 



Legislative Service Commission -169- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Governing authority membership 

 Prohibits a governing board member, or immediate relative, from being an owner, 

employee, or consultant of a community school sponsor for one year after the 

conclusion of the member's term. 

Closure of poorly performing community schools 

 Beginning July 1, 2011, replaces the performance criteria that trigger automatic 

closure of a community school with new criteria for schools that do not offer a grade 

higher than 3 and for schools that offer any of grades 10 to 12, by requiring those 

schools to close if they have been in academic emergency for two of the three most 

recent school years. 

Community school employees 

 Allows layoffs with respect to teachers returning after a leave of absence due to 

being employed at a conversion community school to occur only in accordance with 

procedures in the administrative personnel suspension policy. 

Taxes 

 Repeals the law stating the intent of the General Assembly that no state funds paid 

to a community school be used to pay taxes owed by the school. 

Laws applicable to community schools 

 Exempts community schools from student body mass index screening requirements. 

E-school expenditures for instruction 

 Repeals the requirement that Internet- or computer-based community schools 

(e-schools) spend a specified minimum amount per pupil on instruction. 

Community school facilities 

 Allows a community school to be located in multiple facilities under the same 

sponsorship contract and to assign students of the same grade to different facilities, 

if (1) the facilities are all located in the same county and (2) the school is managed by 

an operator. 

 Permits two or more community schools to be located in the same facility. 
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Right to lease unused school district property 

 Requires school district boards with real property that has been used for classroom 

operations since July 1, 1998, but has not been in use for two years, to offer to 

community schools located within the district the opportunity to lease the property. 

 Requires that school district boards lease property to community schools rated in the 

top 50% by performance index score for $1, and for fair market value in the 

neighborhood or community in which the property is located for all other 

community schools. 

Community school participation in joint educational programs 

 Permits a community school to enter into an agreement with one or more school 

districts or other community schools for the joint operation of an educational 

program, in the same manner as school districts may do under continuing law. 

 Prohibits community schools from charging tuition or fees for their students 

participating in the joint program (unlike school districts under continuing law). 

Hybrid schools 

 Authorizes up to five traditional public or community schools selected by the 

Department of Education to operate as hybrid schools that provide both remote, 

technology-based and classroom-based instruction. 

 Requires the Department to issue a request for proposals from schools that wish to 

operate as hybrid schools. 

 Requires the Department to conduct a study of the selected hybrid schools in the 

third school year of operation, after which the Department may issue a second 

request for proposals and select an additional five schools to operate as hybrid 

schools. 

III.  Public College-Preparatory Boarding Schools 

Creation 

 Permits the establishment of public college-preparatory boarding schools operated 

by private non-profit entities for the benefit of qualifying at-risk middle or high 

school students. 
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 Requires the State Board of Education to issue a request for proposals from 

nonprofit organizations interested in operating a college-preparatory boarding 

school and to enter into a contract with each approved operator. 

 Requires nonprofit organizations that submit a proposal to operate a college-

preparatory boarding school to demonstrate experience operating a similar school or 

program, success in improving student academic performance, and the capacity to 

secure private funds for the development of the school. 

 Provides that each college-preparatory boarding school issued a charter by the State 

Board is considered a public school and a part of the state's program of education. 

School governance 

 Provides for the governance of a college-preparatory boarding school by a board of 

trustees consisting of up to 25 members, with five members appointed by the 

Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, and the remaining members 

appointed pursuant to the school's bylaws. 

Student enrollment 

 Provides that a student qualifies to attend a college-preparatory boarding school if 

the student is at risk of academic failure, is from a family whose income is below 

200% of the federal poverty guidelines, and meets at least two other criteria 

involving the student's academic performance, behavior history, disability status, or 

family status. 

 Further limits enrollment to residents of the school district in which the school is 

located, and residents of any other school district that agrees to be a participating 

school district. 

 Provides that a college-preparatory boarding school may only admit up to 80 

students and offer grade 6 in its first year of operation. 

 Allows a college-preparatory boarding school to offer additional grades in the years 

following its first year of operation, provided that the total number of students 

attending the school never exceeds 400. 

School operations 

 Permits boarding school employees to collectively bargain under the Public 

Employees Collective Bargaining Law. 
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 Applies state laws regarding achievement assessments, diploma requirements, 

special education, and educator misconduct to each boarding school. 

 Requires each participating school district to provide weekly transportation to and 

from the college-preparatory boarding school for its resident students enrolled in the 

school. 

State oversight 

 Requires the Department of Education to issue an annual report card for each 

college-preparatory boarding school that includes data regarding the academic 

performance of the school's students. 

 Allows the State Board to close a college-preparatory boarding school if the school 

violates a provision of the authorizing law or a provision of the contract between the 

school and the State Board. 

Funding 

 Requires the Department of Education to deduct, from the state education aid of the 

school district in which a college-preparatory boarding school student is entitled to 

attend school, an amount equal to 85% of the operating expenditure per pupil of that 

district (including both state and local revenues). 

 Requires the Department to pay to each college-preparatory boarding school the 

amount deducted from a school district's state education aid for each pupil 

attending the boarding school, plus a state payment of a "per-pupil boarding 

amount." 

 Sets the "per-pupil boarding amount" at $25,000 per pupil during a college-

preparatory boarding school's first fiscal year of operation, with adjustments for 

inflation in following fiscal years. 

 Allows for reductions to the "per-pupil boarding amount" if, in any fiscal year, the 

college-preparatory boarding school receives funds from the federal government or 

other outside funding sources. 

College-Preparatory Boarding School Facilities Program 

 Establishes the College-Preparatory Boarding School Facilities Program, under 

which the Ohio School Facilities Commission is to provide assistance for the 

acquisition of classroom facilities to the boards of trustees of college-preparatory 

boarding schools. 
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 Specifies that, to be eligible for the assistance, a board of trustees must secure at least 

$20 million of private money to satisfy its share of facilities acquisition, and that the 

acquisition of residential boarding facilities and any other non-classroom facilities 

must be funded through private means. 

IV.  Scholarship programs 

Ed Choice 

 Increases the number of Educational Choice scholarships from 14,000 to 30,000 for 

the 2011-2012 school year and 60,000 thereafter. 

 Qualifies students who attend, or would otherwise be assigned to, a district-

operated school that, for at least two of the three preceding years, ranked in the 

lowest 10% of all school buildings by performance index score and was not rated 

excellent or effective in the third year. 

 Assigns a lower priority to students who qualify for the Educational Choice 

scholarship because their district school is ranked in the lowest 10% of all school 

buildings by performance index score. 

 Requires the Department of Education to hold a second, 45-day application period 

for the 2011-2012 school year to award newly authorized Educational Choice 

scholarships. 

 Reduces the amount deducted from school districts' state aid accounts for an 

Educational Choice Scholarship, from $5,200, to the actual amount of the 

scholarship. 

Cleveland Scholarship Program 

 Increases the base amounts of the Cleveland Scholarship to equal the maximum 

amounts allowed for Educational Choice Scholarships ($4,250 for grades K-8 and 

$5,000 for grades 9-12). 

 Eliminates the 10% or 25% income-based reduction required by current law for 

scholarships under the Cleveland Scholarship Program. 

 Allows new students to enter the Cleveland Scholarship Program during high 

school. 
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Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program 

 Creates the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program to provide scholarships 

for children with disabilities in grades K through 12 to attend alternative public or 

private special education programs. 

 Requires the Department of Education to develop a document that compares rights 

under state and federal special education law and rights under the Jon Peterson 

Special Needs Scholarship Program, and requires school districts to distribute that 

document to the parents of all special education students. 

 Requires the Department of Education to conduct a "formative evaluation" of the Jon 

Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program by December 31, 2014. 

Autism Scholarship Program 

 Specifies that the services provided under the Autism Scholarship Program must 

include an educational component. 

V.  Educational Service Centers (ESCs) 

 Requires every city, exempted village, and local school district with a student count 

of 16,000 or less to enter into an agreement with an ESC for services. 

 Permits, but does not require, every school district with a student count greater than 

16,000 to enter into an agreement with an ESC for services. 

 Permits a school district to terminate its agreement with its current ESC, effective 

June 30, by notifying the ESC governing board by January 1, 2012, or by January 1 of 

an odd-numbered year thereafter. 

 Repeals the current steps a "local" school district must follow to leave the territory of 

its current ESC and annex to an adjacent ESC, including approval of the State Board 

of Education and referendum by petition of the district's voters. 

 Provides procedures for dissolving an ESC if all of its ʺlocalʺ school districts have 

"severed" from the ESC's territory. 

 Permits an ESC governing board to delay reorganizing its subdistricts, if its territory 

is divided into subdistricts, until July 1, 2012. 

 Permits an ESC governing board to appoint an executive committee to initially 

organize the territory into subdistricts, rather than the board doing it as under 

current law, when an ESC is formed by the merger of two or more smaller ESCs. 
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 Permits an ESC governing board to appoint additional members to the board who 

are representative of the "city" and "exempted village" school districts having service 

agreements with the ESC, rather than only those who are voters of "local" school 

districts of the ESC's territory as provided under current law. 

 Generally limits an ESC's payments, in fiscal year 2012, to 90% of the amount it 

received for fiscal year 2011 and, in fiscal year 2013, to 85% of the amount it received 

for fiscal year 2012.   

 Authorizes ESCs to enter into service contracts with other political subdivisions, 

besides school districts. 

 Eliminates ESCs' roles regarding "local" school districts' textbook selection, age and 

schooling certificates, and filing and receipt of student membership records. 

 Requires the Governor's Director of 21st Century Education to develop plans for (1) 

the integration and consolidation of the publicly supported regional shared services 

organizations, and (2) encouraging communities and school districts to create 

regional P-16 councils, and to submit legislative recommendations to the Governor 

and the General Assembly by January 1, 2012.    

VI.  Teachers and School Employees 

Retesting teachers 

 Requires each teacher of a core subject area in a building that is ranked in the lowest 

10% on the performance index score ranking to retake all exams needed for licensure 

in the teacher's subject area and grade level. 

 Permits a school district, community school, or STEM school to use the exam results 

in decisions regarding employment and professional development, but prohibits 

using the results as the sole factor in employment decisions unless the teacher has 

failed the same exam three consecutive times. 

 Specifies that the teacher is not responsible for the cost of retaking an exam. 

 Specifies that a teacher who retakes an exam and provides proof of passage to the 

teacher's employer is not required to retake the exam again for three years. 

Alternative and out-of-state licensure 

 Makes the alternative resident educator license valid for teaching in grades K to 12 

(instead of grades 4 to 12, as in current law). 
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 Changes the qualifications for obtaining and holding the alternative resident 

educator license by (1) prohibiting any requirement that applicants have a college 

major in the teaching area, (2) permitting applicants to complete a summer training 

institute provided by a nonprofit teacher preparation program that has been 

approved by the Chancellor of the Board of Regents (instead of the pedagogical 

training institute otherwise required by current law), and (3) allowing Teach for 

America participants to satisfy continuing education requirements with professional 

development provided through the Chancellor-approved program. 

 Prohibits the State Board of Education from establishing qualifications for a resident 

educator license for Teach for America participants beyond those enacted in H.B. 21 

of the 129th General Assembly. 

 Requires the State Board of Education, by July 1, 2013, to approve a list of states with 

licensure standards that are inadequate to ensure that a person with five years of 

licensure and teaching experience in that state is qualified for a professional 

educator license in Ohio. 

 Directs the State Board to automatically issue a five-year professional educator 

license to a teacher with at least five years of licensure and teaching experience in a 

state that is not on the list. 

 Requires generally that, until the list is approved, the State Board must issue a one-

year provisional educator license to a teacher with at least five years of licensure and 

teaching experience in another state. 

 Prohibits the State Board or Department of Education from having a reciprocity 

agreement with a state on the list requiring the issuance of a professional educator 

license to a teacher based on licensure and teaching experience in that state. 

Career-technical educator licenses 

 Requires the State Board of Education's rules on the issuance and renewal of a 

professional career-technical teaching license to include requirements relating to life 

experience, professional certification, and practical ability, and prohibits the State 

Board from requiring completion of a degree as a condition for the license. 

Data on graduates of teacher preparation programs 

 Requires the Chancellor of the Board of Regents annually to report value-added data 

for graduates of Ohio teacher preparation programs who teach English language 

arts or math in grades 4 to 8 in a public school in Ohio. 
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Criminal records checks of adult education instructors 

 Eliminates the requirement for an adult education instructor to undergo a criminal 

records check prior to hiring by a school district, community school, STEM school, 

educational service center, or chartered nonpublic school, if the person had a records 

check within the previous two years as a condition of being hired for short-term 

employment with that district, school, or service center. 

Certification of chartered nonpublic school teachers 

 Requires the State Board of Education to issue a person a certificate to teach foreign 

language, music, religion, computer technology, or fine arts in a chartered nonpublic 

school upon receipt of an affidavit from the person's potential employer, stating that 

the person has previous instructional training or experience or has specialized 

expertise that qualifies the person to teach. 

Termination of school district transportation staff 

 Re-enacts a former law that permits a local or exempted village school district (non-

Civil Service school districts) to terminate the positions of transportation employees 

for reasons of economy and efficiency and to contract with an agent to provide 

student transportation services, if certain conditions are satisfied. 

VII.  School Restructuring 

Restructuring low-performing schools 

 Specifies that if a school is ranked in the lowest 5% on the performance index score 

ranking for three consecutive years and is in academic watch or academic 

emergency, the school district must close the school or take one of several other 

specified actions to restructure the school. 

Parent petitions for school reforms 

 Establishes a pilot project in the Columbus City School District under which, upon 

petition from the parents of at least 50% of the students enrolled in a school that is 

ranked in the lowest 5% on the performance index score ranking for three or more 

years, the district must implement the reform requested by the petitioners, except in 

certain circumstances. 



Legislative Service Commission -178- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Innovation schools and innovation school zones 

 Allows a school district to designate a single school as an "innovation school," or a 

group of schools as an "innovation school zone," for the purpose of implementing an 

innovation plan designed to improve student performance. 

 Requires the consent of a majority of the teachers and a majority of the 

administrators in each participating school to apply for the designation. 

 Requires the State Board of Education to designate a district that approves an 

application as a "school district of innovation," which authorizes the implementation 

of the innovation plan, unless the plan is financially unfeasible or will result in 

decreased student achievement. 

 Requires the State Board, with certain exceptions, to waive any education laws or 

administrative rules necessary to implement an innovation plan. 

 Allows any provisions of a collective bargaining agreement to be waived to 

implement an innovation plan, if at least 60% of the members of the bargaining unit 

working in each participating school approve the waiver. 

 Requires a school district to review the performance of each innovation school and 

innovation school zone every three years, and permits the district to revoke the 

designation if the participating schools are not making sufficient improvements in 

student achievement. 

 Directs the Department of Education to issue an annual report on school districts of 

innovation. 

School district operating standards 

 Makes permissive, rather than mandatory, the State Board of Education's adoption 

of the additional operating standards for school districts. 

Governor's recognition program 

 Creates the Governor's Effective and Efficient Schools program to annually 

recognize the top 10% of all public schools (school districts, community schools, and 

STEM schools) based on student performance and cost effectiveness. 
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VIII.  Other Education Provisions 

Statewide academic standards 

 Requires the State Board of Education to revise its academic standards in English 

language arts, math, science, and social studies "periodically" (instead of every five 

years, as in current law). 

 Changes the name of a subject area for which the State Board must adopt academic 

standards from "computer literacy" to "technology." 

 Repeals the requirement that the State Board's academic standards specify 

development of skill sets that (1) relate to creativity, innovation, critical thinking and 

problem solving, and communication and collaboration and (2) promote personal 

management, productivity and accountability, and leadership and responsibility. 

 Removes the senior project from the high school graduation requirements under the 

college and work-ready assessment system. 

 Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the Chancellor of the Board of 

Regents, when selecting end-of-course exams as part of the new high school 

graduation assessment system, to choose multiple assessments for each subject area, 

and that those assessments must include nationally recognized subject area tests. 

 Changes the terminology for the nationally standardized test portion of the new 

high school graduation assessment system from a national test that measures 

competencies in science, math, and English to a national test that measures "college 

and career readiness." 

 Eliminates development of a composite score system for the college and work-ready 

assessment system. 

Competency-based high school credit 

 Exempts chartered nonpublic schools from having to comply with a State Board of 

Education plan for competency-based high school credit. 

Public records status of elementary achievement assessments 

 Specifies that the achievement assessments administered in grades 3 to 8 in the 2011-

2012 school year and later are not public records. 
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Testing of students with disabilities 

 Requires the individualized education program (IEP) developed for a disabled 

student to specify the manner in which the student will participate in the state 

achievement assessments. 

Fees for career-technical education materials 

 Permits school districts to charge low-income students for tools, equipment, and 

materials that are necessary for workforce-readiness training and that may be 

retained by the students after course completion. 

Calamity day make-up 

 Allows school districts, chartered nonpublic schools, community schools, and STEM 

schools to make up a maximum of three calamity days either via lessons posted 

online or "blizzard bags" (paper lesson plans distributed to students that correspond 

to online lessons). 

 Requires a school district to obtain the written consent of its teacher's union to 

implement the plan. 

Sale of milk in schools 

 Repeals restrictions on the maximum serving size, fat content, and calorie content of 

milk sold a la carte in school districts, community schools, STEM schools, and 

chartered nonpublic schools. 

 Repeals the requirement that, in public and chartered nonpublic schools, at least 

50% of the a la carte beverages available for sale through a school food service 

program, vending machine, or school store must be water or other beverages that 

contain no more than 10 calories per 8 ounces. 

Intra-district open enrollment 

 Specifically permits a school district, under its intra-district open enrollment policy, 

to grant a student permanent permission to attend a district school outside of the 

student's attendance area, so that the student does not need to re-apply annually for 

permission to attend the school. 

Interscholastic athletics participation 

 Prohibits disqualification of a student from interscholastic athletics solely because 

the student's parents do not reside in Ohio, if the student attends school in Ohio and 
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lives in Ohio with a grandparent, uncle, aunt, or sibling who has temporary or legal 

custody or guardianship of the student. 

 Prohibits any school district, school, interscholastic conference, or organization that 

regulates interscholastic conferences or events from having a conflicting rule. 

Homeschooled student participation in district activities 

 Requires school districts to allow homeschooled students, who fulfill the same 

nonacademic and financial requirements as any other participant and specified 

academic requirements, to participate in extracurricular activities at the school 

district-operated school to which they otherwise would be assigned. 

Pilot project for multiple-track curriculum 

 Requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to establish a pilot project in 

Columbiana County under which one or more school districts must offer a multiple-

track high school curriculum for students with differing career plans, but authorizes 

postponement of the pilot project if sufficient funds are not available. 

School district lease to higher education institutions 

 Specifically states that school districts may rent or lease facilities to public or 

nonpublic institutions of higher education for the use in providing evening and 

summer classes. 

Department of Education organization 

 Repeals permanent law requiring the Department of Education to establish the State 

Office of Community Schools, the State Office of School Options, and the State 

Office of Educator Standards, and permitting the Department to establish the Center 

for Creativity and Innovation. 

Obsolete reference 

 Removes an obsolete reference to the Ohio Sailors' and Soldiers' Home in the school 

district tuition law. 
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I.  School Financing 

Repeal of the Evidence-Based Model and related funding provisions 

(Repealed R.C. 3306.01, 3306.011, 3306.012, 3306.02, 3306.03, 3306.04, 3306.05, 3306.051, 

3306.052, 3306.06, 3306.07, 3306.08, 3306.09, 3306.091, 3306.10, 3306.11, 3306.13, 3306.19, 

3306.191, 3306.192, 3306.21, 3306.22, 3317.011, 3317.016, 3317.017, 3317.0216, 3317.04, 

3317.17, 3329.16, and 3349.242; R.C. 319.301, 3301.07, 3301.16, 3301.162, 3302.031, 

3302.05, 3302.07, 3307.31, 3307.64, 3309.41, 3309.48, 3309.51, 3310.08, 3310.41, 3311.06, 

3311.19, 3311.21, 3311.29, 3311.52, 3311.76, 3313.29, 3313.482, 3313.55, 3313.64, 3313.6410, 

3313.981, 3314.08, 3314.087, 3314.088, 3314.091, 3314.10, 3314.13, 3315.01, 3316.041, 

3316.06, 3316.20, 3317.01, 3317.013, 3317.014, 3317.018, 3317.02, 3317.021, 3317.022, 

3317.023, 3317.024, 3317.025, 3317.0210, 3317.0211, 3317.0212, 3317.03, 3317.031, 3317.05, 

3317.051, 3317.053, 3317.06, 3317.061, 3317.08, 3317.081, 3317.082, 3317.09, 3317.11, 

3317.12, 3317.16, 3317.18, 3317.19, 3317.20, 3317.201, 3318.051, 3319.17, 3319.57, 3323.091, 

3323.14, 3323.142, 3324.05, 3326.33, 3326.39, 3327.02, 3327.04, 3327.05, 3365.01, 3365.08, 

5126.05, 5126.24, 5705.211, 5715.26, 5727.84, and 5751.20) 

The bill repeals the current funding model for city, exempted village, and local 

school districts that was enacted in 2009 in H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly, 

unofficially known as the "Evidence Based Model" or "EBM."  In its place, the bill enacts 

a temporary provision to provide funding to school districts based on a wealth-adjusted 

portion of their state operating funds for fiscal year 2011 under the EBM (see 

"Temporary formula" below). 

Background on EBM 

The repealed EBM does not use a per-pupil amount like the prior Building 

Blocks Model did but, instead, computes an aggregate of various personnel and 

nonpersonnel components, known as the "adequacy amount."  The components of the 

adequacy amount are (1) instructional services support (including special education), 

(2) additional services support, (3) administrative services support, (4) operations and 

maintenance support, (5) gifted education and enrichment support, (6) technology 

resources support, (7) a professional development factor, and (8) an instructional 

materials factor. 

Similar to the Building Blocks Model, the EBM subtracts a district charge-off 

from the adequacy amount to determine a district's state share (the amount paid with 

state funds).  For fiscal years 2010 and 2011, the charge-off amount is 22 mills times the 

sum of either the district's tax valuation or its recognized valuation, if its effective tax 

rate is 20.1 mills or greater, plus a portion of the value of certain tax exempt property.  

Under the repealed provisions, the charge-off is scheduled to phase down over two 
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fiscal biennia until it is fixed at 20 mills.45  (The valuation used to compute a district's 

charge-off for fiscal year 2011 is used by the bill to determine a district's share of 

funding adjustments made under the temporary formula for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.) 

The EBM also makes separate payments outside of the state share of the 

adequacy amount for student transportation and career-technical education.46 

Like the predecessor model, the EBM derives the components that go into the 

adequacy amount by first considering each district's student count.  The overall cost of 

the model also is largely driven by a prescribed teacher compensation amount, which is 

used to compute many of the personnel-related components.  That teacher 

compensation amount is adjusted for each district by its "educational challenge factor," 

which is a unique multiple, ranging from 0.76 to 1.65, assigned to each district based on 

the college attainment rate of the district's population, its wealth per pupil, and its 

concentration of poverty.  Higher factors are assigned to districts with lower college 

attainment rates, lower wealth, and higher poverty.  Thus, the amount computed under 

each component varies widely by district.47   

As a transition from the Building Blocks Model, the EBM guarantees each district 

a state payment (before deductions for community schools, STEM schools, open 

enrollment students, scholarship students, and educational service centers) that is, for 

fiscal year 2010, at least 99% of its previous year's funding base and, for fiscal year 2011, 

at least 98% of its previous year's base.  On the other hand, it also specifies that no 

school district for either fiscal year 2010 or 2011 may receive a gain in state funds over 

the previous year that is greater than 3/4 of 1% of the previous year's base.48 

Temporary formula 

(Sections 267.30.50 and 267.30.53) 

The bill enacts a temporary formula to fund schools for the biennium in 

anticipation of a permanent system to replace the EBM.  Under that formula, the 

Department of Education must compute and pay each city, exempted village, and local 

school district, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, an amount based on the district's per pupil 

amount of funding paid for fiscal year 2011, adjusted by its share of a statewide per 

pupil adjustment amount that is indexed by the district's relative tax valuation per 

                                                 
45 Repealed R.C. 3306.03 and 3306.13. 

46 Repealed R.C. 3306.052 and 3306.12. 

47 Repealed R.C. 3306.051. 

48 Repealed R.C. 3306.19. 
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pupil.  The statewide per pupil adjustment amount must be determined by the 

Department so that the state's total formula aid obligation to school districts does not 

exceed the aggregate appropriated amount. 

The bill also provides supplemental funding for each of fiscal years 2012 and 

2013 to guarantee each district operating funding in an amount that is equal to at least 

the amount of state operating funding, less federal stimulus funding, the district 

received for fiscal year 2011 under the EBM. 

For a more detailed description of the temporary formula, see the LSC Redbook 

for the Department of Education, published on the LSC web site at 

www.lsc.state.oh.us/fiscal/redbooks129/default.htm and the LSC Comparison 

Document of the bill as passed by the Senate, published at 

www.lsc.state.oh.us/fiscal/comparedoc129/default.htm. 

Additional subsidy for high performing districts and community schools 

(Section 267.30.56) 

The bill requires the Department to pay an additional subsidy of $17 per student 

to each school district or community school that is currently rated as "excellent with 

distinction" or "excellent" on the annual district and school academic performance 

report cards. 

A district is rated "excellent" if it meets at least 94% of the state performance 

indicators or has a performance index score of 100 to 120.   However, a district that is 

otherwise excellent must be downgraded to "effective" if it does not make "adequate 

yearly progress," as used under federal law, for two or more of the same student  

subgroups for three or more consecutive years.  A district is rated "excellent with 

distinction" if it otherwise has an "excellent" rating and demonstrates more than a 

standard year of academic growth for two consecutive years on the value-added 

progress dimension (which measures student academic growth from one year to the 

next).  The state academic performance indicators are 75% student proficiency on all 

applicable state achievement assessments, 93% attendance rate, and 90% graduation 

rate.49 

                                                 
49 R.C. 3302.01, 3302.021, and 3302.03 (none in the bill) and R.C. 3302.02. 
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Formula amount 

(R.C. 3317.02) 

The former Building Blocks Model relied on a per pupil "formula amount" to 

compute base-cost funding and some categorical funding.  The EBM and the bill's 

temporary formula do not.  But the EBM and the bill both prescribe a formula amount 

to compute transfer payments for students attending community schools, STEM 

schools, other  districts through open enrollment, and colleges and universities through 

the Post-Secondary Enrollment Options Program.  The bill sets the formula amount at 

$5,653 for both fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  The formula amount for fiscal year 2009, 

under the Building Blocks Model, and for fiscal years 2010 and 2011, under the EBM, 

was $5,732.  The bill continues to use the latter amount for computing additional 

weighted funding for special education and vocational education transfers to 

community schools, STEM schools, and other districts. 

Student count 

(R.C. 3317.02 and 3317.03) 

The bill discontinues the practice of using the prior year's October student count 

to derive most districts' formula ADM.  Instead, it requires use of the current-year 

October count to derive the formula ADM for all districts.  Each district's formula ADM 

is used to compute its funding under the bill's temporary formula.  It also is used in 

computing a district's share and priority for funding under the state classroom 

assistance programs administered by the School Facilities Commission.  

Background – current law on student count 

Current law requires each school district, in October of each fiscal year, to report 

the "average daily membership" of students residing in the district and receiving 

services either from the district or from other specified providers (including community 

schools, STEM schools, other districts under open enrollment, and colleges and 

universities under PSEO).  Using this data, the Department of Education derives each 

district's "formula ADM."50  Under the EBM, a district's formula ADM generally is based 

on its October report for the prior fiscal year, unless its current average daily 

membership is more than 2% greater than that of the prior year.  In the latter case, 

under the EBM, the Department must use the district's report for the current fiscal year 

to derive its formula ADM. 

                                                 
50 Formula ADM includes 20% of a district's career-technical students attending a joint vocational school 

district and 20% of its career-technical students attending another district under a compact. 
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Counting of kindergarten students 

The bill retains the EBM's feature of counting each kindergarten student as one 

full-time equivalent (FTE) student regardless of whether the student is in all-day or 

half-day kindergarten.  Prior school funding models had required that kindergarten 

students be counted as one-half of one FTE students.51 

Special education categories and weights 

(R.C. 3314.088, 3317.013, 3317.018, and 3326.39) 

The bill retains and recodifies the EBM's categories and weights for counting of 

students with disabilities and for future use in funding special education.52  However, 

for fiscal year 2012 and 2013, the bill requires use of the former (fiscal year 2009) 

Building Blocks weights but the newer disability categories for computing special 

education transfer payments to community schools and STEM schools.  For transfer 

payments to other school districts for excess special education cost53 or for state 

payments for catastrophic costs the bill appears to require use of both the former 

weights and former categories.54 

Background 

To fund special education, both the EBM and the former Building Blocks Model 

rely on a set of six disability categories and accompanying weights (or multiples) to 

apply in funding students based on their respective disabilities.  The categories and 

weights of the Building Blocks Model are based on 2001 recommendations from the 

                                                 
51 Separate law enacted at the same time as the EBM also requires that every school district offer all-day 

kindergarten to each student enrolled in kindergarten beginning in fiscal year 2011, with provisions for a 

waiver or delay of implementation.  The bill does not affect the all-day kindergarten provisions, but H.B. 

30 of the 129th General Assembly, effective July 1, 2011, repeals the all-day kindergarten requirement. 

52 R.C. 3317.013.  See also repealed R.C. 3306.02 and 3306.11. 

53 School districts sometimes contract with other districts to provide special education and related 

services for students they are unable to serve.  Or a student might receive special education and related 

services from the joint vocational district to which the resident district belongs.  In either case, the 

resident district owes the cost of services in excess of what the other district received in state payments. 

54 R.C. 3314.088, 3317.018, and 3326.39.  Federal special education law requires that states provide a 

mechanism to fund "high need children."  Accordingly, the state distributes additional funds to school 

districts, community schools, and STEM schools to pay their costs for children whose special education 

and related services costs exceed a prescribed "catastrophic" threshold amount. Under current law, 

retained by the bill, the threshold amount is $27,375, for a child with a disability in categories two 

through five, and $32,850, for a child with a category six disability.  See R.C. 3314.08(E), 3317.022(C)(3), 

3317.16(G), and 3326.34. 
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special education community.  The EBM categories and weights are slightly different 

and are based on more recent recommendations from the special education community. 

The table below indicates the six disability categories and corresponding weights 

for both the EBM (retained and recodified by the bill) and Building Blocks Model (used 

for transfers and catastrophic cost payments under the bill for fiscal year 2012 and 

2013). 

Category 
EBM 

weight 
EBM disabilities BB weight BB disabilities 

1 0.2906 Speech and language 
disabled 

0.2892 Same as EBM 

2 0.7374 Specific learning 
disabled; 
developmentally 
disabled; other health 
impaired-minor 

0.3691 Same as EBM 

3 1.7716 Hearing disabled; 
severe behavior 
disabled 

1.7695 Hearing disabled; 
severe behavior 
disabled; vision 
impaired 

4 2.3643 Vision impaired; other 
health impaired-major 

2.3646 Other health impaired – 
major; orthopedically 
disabled 

5 3.2022 Orthopedically disabled; 
multiple disabilities 

3.1129 Multiple disabilities 

6 4.7205 Autistic; traumatic brain 
injured; both visually and 
hearing impaired 

4.7342 Same as EBM 

Both models also prescribe that each of the weights (indicated above) be 

multiplied by 90% (that is, reduced by 10%). 

Gifted education maintenance of effort 

(Repealed R.C. 3306.09; R.C. 3302.05, 3302.07, 3317.018, and 3317.024; Sections 267.30.40 

and 267.30.50) 

As part of its repeal of the EBM, the bill repeals changes enacted earlier in 2011, 

by H.B. 30 of the 129th General Assembly, that modify school districts' gifted education 

"maintenance of effort" under the EBM and provide for the reinstatement in fiscal year 

2012 of state gifted unit funding.  The maintenance of effort changes enacted by H.B. 30:  

(1) specified that school districts must sustain their fiscal year 2009 level of expenditures 

on staff providing gifted education services, (2) required districts to account for their 
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maintenance of effort spending to the Department of Education, and (3) directed the 

Department to monitor and enforce districts' compliance with the maintenance of effort 

requirements. 

However, in the appropriations language for the fiscal biennium, this bill (H.B. 

153) directs the Department to note on each school district's annual funding statement 

how much of the district's state funding is allocated for gifted education services.  That 

allocation is to equal the amount the district received, either directly or through funds 

allocated to educational service centers, in fiscal year 2009 through state gifted 

education unit funding and supplemental gifted identification funds.   The Department 

must require each district to report data annually so that "the Department may monitor 

and enforce the district's compliance with the manner in which allocations for . . . gifted 

education funding may be spent." 

Transportation formula 

(R.C. 3317.0212; conforming change in R.C. 3317.022(D)) 

The bill retains and recodifies the current formula for transportation funding, 

enacted at the same time as the EBM, but suspends its use for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  

Instead, a district's transportation payment is part of the aggregate payment made 

under the bill's temporary funding formula.55 

That formula bases a district's payments on its transportation costs reported for 

the prior fiscal year and current year ridership counts.  Funding consists of a base 

payment (adjusted by the district's state share percentage), and additional amounts for 

districts that transport nontraditional riders (students attending private schools, 

community schools, or STEM schools), high school students, and students who live 

between one and two miles from school, and for districts that meet an efficiency target 

established by the Department of Education.  In fiscal years 2010 and 2011, under the 

EBM, districts were paid only a pro rata portion of the full calculated amount, based on 

the appropriation.  For those years, certain low-wealth, low-rider density districts also 

could receive an additional payment on top of the pro rata payment.  The pro rata 

payment provision and the additional subsidy are not retained in the formula as it is 

codified by the bill. 

                                                 
55 When the EBM was enacted in H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly, the statutory language of the 

former transportation formula was not eliminated.  The bill strikes through that language (R.C. 

3317.022(D)), which has not been used since fiscal year 2006. 
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Community school and STEM school payments 

(R.C. 3314.08, 3314.13, 3314.088, 3326.33, and 3326.39) 

The bill continues the current practice of counting students who enroll in 

community schools and STEM schools in the average daily memberships of their 

resident school districts, crediting those districts with state funds for those students, 

and deducting from those districts and paying to the respective community school or 

STEM school a per pupil amount attributable to each individual student.  For this 

purpose, as noted above, for both fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the bill sets the per-pupil 

formula amount for base-cost payments at $5,653, except for deductions and payments 

for special education and vocational education.  Community schools and Stem schools 

also continue to receive the per-pupil base funding supplement as computed for fiscal 

year 2009 under the Building Blocks Model.  That amount is $50.90. 

For special education and vocational education payments, the bill specifies that 

deductions and payments be computed by multiplying the respective fiscal year 2009 

weight times $5,732.  But, the bill requires that students first be grouped into the new 

disability categories, as re-codified by the bill. 

Additional payments attributable to parity aid and poverty-based assistance, as 

they would have been determined under the former Building Blocks Model, continue to 

be paid for students attending community and STEM schools at the fiscal year 2009 per 

pupil levels for the students' resident school districts.  This includes a poverty-based 

assistance payment for all-day kindergarten students in community schools if their 

resident districts would have been eligible for that payment in fiscal year 2009. 

Abolishment of the School Funding Advisory Council 

(Repealed R.C. 3306.29, 3306.291, and 3306.292) 

The bill repeals the sections of law creating the School Funding Advisory Council 

and its subcommittees, thereby abolishing them. 

Background 

H.B. 1 created the 28-member School Funding Advisory Council to recommend 

biennial updates of the EBM's components.  The Council's first report was submitted, as 

required by law, by December 1, 2010.56  Thereafter, the Council must submit its 

subsequent reports by July 1 of each even-numbered year.  The Council also must have 

                                                 
56 The report is published online at www.education.ohio.gov/GD/Templates/Pages/SFAC/ 

SFACPrimary.aspx?page=760. 
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a subcommittee on school district-community school collaboration and may have other 

subcommittees.  The Department of Education is required to provide staff to assist the 

Council. 

The Council consists of the following members: 

(1)  The Governor, or the Governor's designee; 

(2)  The Superintendent of Public Instruction, or the Superintendent's designee; 

(3)  The Chancellor of the Board of Regents, or the Chancellor's designee; 

(4)  Two school district teachers, appointed by the Governor; 

(5)  Two nonteaching, nonadministrative school district employees, appointed by 

the Governor; 

(6)  One school district principal, appointed by the Speaker of the House; 

(7)  One school district superintendent, appointed by the Senate President; 

(8)  One school district treasurer, appointed by the Speaker of the House; 

(9)  One member of a school district board of education, appointed by the Senate 

President; 

(10)  One representative of a college of education, appointed by the Speaker of 

the House; 

(11)  One representative of the business community, appointed by the Senate 

President; 

(12)  One representative of a philanthropic organization, appointed by the 

Speaker of the House; 

(13)  One representative of the Ohio Academy of Science, appointed by the 

Senate President; 

(14)  One representative of the general public, appointed by the Senate President; 

(15)  One representative of educational service centers, appointed by the Speaker 

of the House; 

(16)  One parent of a student attending a school operated by a school district, 

appointed by the Governor; 
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(17)  One representative of community school sponsors, appointed by the 

Governor; 

(18)  One representative of operators of community schools, appointed by the 

Senate President; 

(19)  One community school fiscal officer, appointed by the Speaker of the 

House; 

(20)  One parent of a student attending a community school, appointed by the 

Senate President; 

(21)  One representative of early childhood education providers, appointed by 

the Governor; 

(22)  One representative of chartered nonpublic schools, appointed by the 

Speaker of the House; 

(23)  Two persons appointed by the Senate President, one of whom is 

recommended by the Senate Minority Leader; and 

(24)  Two persons appointed by the Speaker of the House, one of whom is 

recommended by the House Minority Leader. 

The state Superintendent, or the Superintendent's designee on the Council, is the 

chairperson of the Council. 

Miscellaneous funding provisions  

The bill makes changes to several other funding provisions as described below. 

(1)  Reduces from three to one the number of school funding reports the 

Department of Education annually must submit to the Controlling Board.  The report 

required under the bill is due sometime in each June and must indicate the 

Department's year-end distributions to each school district.  (However, the bill retains 

the current prohibition on the distribution of state operating funds to school districts 

without Controlling Board approval.)  (R.C. 3317.01.) 

(2)  Eliminates the requirement that the Department submit an annual report to 

the Office of Budget and Management on the amount of local, state, and federal pass-

through special education funds allocated for each school district (R.C. 3317.013).  
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(3)  Eliminates the requirement that the Department submit an annual report to 

the Governor and the General Assembly on the amount of weighted vocational 

education funding spent by each school district (R.C. 3317.014).  

(4)  Limits operating payments to an island district to the lesser of its actual cost 

or 93% of its fiscal year 2011 state payment amount.  Specifies that if an island district 

did not receive any funding in fiscal year 2011, it may not receive funding in either of 

fiscal years 2012 or 2013.  (R.C. 3317.024(A).) 

(5)  Eliminates a requirement that the Department publish on its web site a 

spread sheet showing each district's funding for specified "constituent components of 

the district's 'building blocks' funds" under the former Building Blocks Model (repealed 

R.C. 3317.016). 

(6)  Eliminates authority for the state Superintendent to order certain spending 

requirements under the Building Blocks Model for academic watch or emergency 

districts (repealed R.C. 3317.017). 

(7)  Eliminates a provision guaranteeing districts created out of the transfer of 

territory from one or more other districts, for three successive years, an amount equal to 

the aggregate paid to the districts prior to the transfer (repealed R.C. 3317.04). 

(8)  Eliminates the current statutory authority of the Department to pay special 

subsidies for the following: 

(a)  Operation of special classes for children of migrant workers who are unable 

to be in attendance in an Ohio school during the entire regular school year (R.C. 

3317.024(B)); 

(b)  Guidance, testing, and counseling programs (R.C. 3317.024(C)); 

(c)  Purchase of school buses (R.C. 3317.024(D) and 3317.07); 

(d)  Purchase of school lunch equipment (R.C. 3317.024(H) and 3317.19); and  

(e)  Establishment of district mentor teacher programs (R.C. 3317.024(K)). 

(9)  Eliminates a requirement that the state Superintendent withhold operating 

funds from a school district that has misspent funds specifically appropriated for 

textbook purchases (repealed R.C. 3329.16).  No such subsidy has been authorized since 

fiscal year 1999. 
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(10)  Eliminates a prohibition on a school district using state operating funds to 

pay its share of the operation of a municipal university under agreement with the 

university (repealed R.C. 3349.242).  Currently, there are no municipal universities. 

(11)  Repeals the statute of the former Building Blocks Model that authorizes the 

payment of "gap aid."  Gap aid was a supplement to districts whose effective tax rate 

was less that the presumed 23-mill charge-off, or less than its share of combined special 

education, vocational education, and transportation funding.  (Repealed R.C. 

3317.0216.) 

Classroom expenditure data 

(R.C. 3302.20) 

Expenditure standards 

The bill requires the Department of Education to develop standards for 

determining, from the existing data reported under the Education Management 

Information System (EMIS),57 the amount of annual operating expenditures for 

classroom instructional purposes and for nonclassroom purposes for each city, 

exempted village, local, and joint vocational school district, each community school, 

and each STEM school.  The Department must present the standards to the State Board 

of Education by January 1, 2012.  In developing the standards, the Department must 

adapt existing standards used by "professional organizations, research organizations, 

and other state governments." 

The State Board must consider the recommended standards and adopt a final set 

of standards by July 1, 2012. 

Ranking of districts and schools based on classroom expenditure 

The bill requires the Department to use the expenditure standards adopted by 

the State Board and its existing data to rank order districts and schools by classroom 

and nonclassroom expenditures.  However, prior to ranking each district and school, it 

first must group them into respective categories based primarily on the size of their 

student populations.  There must be not less than three nor more than five groups of (1) 

city, exempted village, and local school districts, (2) joint vocational school districts, and 

(3) brick and mortar community schools.  There must be one group each for all Internet- 

or computer-based community schools (e-schools) and all STEM schools. 

                                                 
57 EMIS is an electronic database of district and school operational, financial, and student data maintained 

by the Department of Education. 
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Then using the standards, existing data, and these categories of districts and 

schools, the Department must compute, for fiscal years 2008 through 2012 and annually 

for each fiscal year thereafter, all of the following: 

(1)  The percentage of each district's, community school's, e-school's, or STEM 

school's total operating budget spent for classroom  instructional purposes; 

(2)  The statewide average percentage for all districts, community schools, 

e-schools, and STEM schools combined spent for classroom instructional purposes; 

(3)  The average percentage for each category of district or school spent for 

classroom instructional purposes; and 

(4)  The ranking of each district, community school, e-school, or STEM school 

within its respective category according to both of the following: 

(a)  From highest to lowest percentage spent for classroom instructional 

purposes; 

(b)  From lowest to highest percentage spent for noninstructional purposes. 

Moreover, the bill requires the Department, in its display of rankings within each 

category (4)(a) and (b) above, to note whether a city, exempted village, or local school 

district, community school, e-school, or STEM school is (1) among the lowest 20% in 

operating expenditures per pupil or (2) among the highest 20% in performance index 

score, as determined for district and school report cards.  Similarly, in its display of 

rankings within each category of joint vocational school districts, the Department must 

note whether a district is (1) among the lowest 20% in operating expenditures per pupil 

or (2) among the highest 20% in the career-technical education performance measures 

required under federal law.  See also "Data on student performance tied to 

expenditures" below. 

The bill requires the Department to post the pertinent percentages and rankings 

in a prominent location on its web site and on each district's or school's annual report 

card. 

Data on student performance tied to expenditures 

(R.C. 3302.21) 

The bill requires the Department of Education to develop a system to rank order, 

for a separate annual report, all city, exempted village, local, and joint vocational school 

districts, community schools, and STEM schools according to each of the following 

measures: 
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(1)  Performance index score for each school district, community school, and 

STEM school and for each separate building of a district, community school, or STEM 

school.   The performance index score is a weighted measure of up to 120 points 

designed to show improvement over time on the state achievement assessments by 

students scoring at all levels.  It applies to all city, exempted village, and local school 

districts.  But it does not apply to some individual schools, because the school does not 

offer any grades for which an achievement assessment is given (a K to 2 school, for 

example), or to joint vocational school districts.  For that reason, the bill also requires 

the state Superintendent to develop another measure of student academic performance 

and use that measure to include such schools and districts in the ranking so that all 

districts, schools, and buildings may be reliably compared to each other. 

(2)  Student performance growth from year to year.  In measuring student 

academic growth, the Department must use the "value-added progress dimension," 

where it is available, and other measures of student performance growth designated by 

the state Superintendent for subjects and grades not covered by the value-added 

progress dimension.  The value-added progress dimension is available in subjects and 

grade levels for which there are state assessments for consecutive years.  Thus, the 

value-added progress dimension is available for grades 4 through 8 in reading and 

math.58 

(3)  Performance measures required for career-technical education under federal 

law.  As part of its state plan for career-technical education, the Department must report 

to the U.S. Secretary of Education how it will measure career-technical student 

performance.59  The bill also provides that if a school district is a vocational education 

planning district ("VEPD") or a "lead district," as designated by the Department, the 

district's ranking must be based on the performance of career-technical students from 

that district and all other districts served by that district.60 

(4)  Current operating expenditures per pupil; 

(5)  Percentage of total current operating expenditures spent for classroom 

instruction; and 

                                                 
58 The value-added progress dimension is a statistical measure of academic gain for a student or group of 

students over a specific period of time.  It is also one of the four performance measures used in ranking 

districts and schools for the annual report cards.  See R.C. 3302.01 and 3302.021, neither in the bill. 

59 20 United States Code 2323. 

60 The Department has designated VEPDs and lead districts among city, exempted village, local, and joint 

vocational school districts in the state career-technical plan to assure that all students that desire career-

technical education have that opportunity in accordance with federal law. 
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(6)  Performance of, and opportunities provided to, identified gifted students, 

using value-added progress dimensions, if applicable, and other relevant measures 

designated by the state Superintendent. 

The Department, by September 1 of each year, must issue a report for each school 

district, community school, and STEM school, and each separate building showing its 

rank on each measure. 

Under the bill, the performance index score ranking required under (1) above is 

used in other provisions affecting districts, schools, and their employees.  (See 

"Location of start-up community schools – Definition of "challenged school 

district"," "Educational Choice scholarship – New eligibility,"  "Retesting 

teachers," and "VII.  School Restructuring" below.) 

Additional reports of district spending 

(R.C. 3302.25) 

The bill requires additional annual reporting to each school district a comparison 

of its instructional expenditures to its administrative expenditures.  The Department 

must report to each school district all of the following for the previous fiscal year: 

(1)  The ratio of its instructional expenditures to its administrative expenditures 

and the per pupil amounts of each; 

(2)  The percentage of the district's operating expenditures attributable to school 

district funds; and 

(3)  The statewide average among all districts for all of the above. 

Each school district, upon receipt of the report, must publish the information in a 

prominent location on the district's web site and in another fashion "so that it is 

available to all parents of students enrolled in the district and to taxpayers of the 

district." 

Take-over of fiscal emergency school districts 

(R.C. 3316.21) 

The bill adds measures the state may take in the oversight of some school 

districts in fiscal emergency.  It grants additional powers to the Auditor of State, the 

state Superintendent, and the State Board of Education to oversee and take over 

operation of the certain district. 
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First, it specifies that, if the Auditor of State determines, from examination of the 

district's financial recovery plan, that implementing that plan cannot reasonably be 

expected to correct and eliminate all of the district's fiscal emergency conditions within 

five fiscal years, the Auditor must notify the state Superintendent of that determination. 

Next, within 90 days after receiving that determination, the state Superintendent 

must develop an operations plan for the district and submit it to the State Board of 

Education for approval.  Upon approval of the plan, the State Board must "suspend" the 

district's charter and take over the operation of the district.  The State Board must 

continue to operate the district until (1) the district's board and its financial planning 

and supervision commission submit an acceptable financial recovery plan to the state 

Superintendent and (2) the Auditor of State has determined that the plan reasonably can 

be expected to correct and eliminate the district's fiscal emergency conditions within 

five fiscal years. 

While the State Board is operating the district, it may exercise all powers granted 

to the school district board under the Revised Code for management and control of the 

schools of the district, except for the power to propose property tax or income tax levies.  

Also, subject to approval of the State Board, the district board must continue to propose 

tax levies necessary to operate the district and to resolve the district's fiscal emergency 

conditions.  Moreover, the employees and officers of the district are deemed to be 

employees of the State Board.  The State Board may delegate any management and 

control functions of the district to the district's financial planning and supervision 

commission.  Finally, the State Board may not "revoke" the charter of the district or 

transfer its territory to other districts. 

Background on fiscal emergency districts 

The law provides for three levels of fiscal concern for which special attention is 

given by the state to a school district's solvency:  "fiscal caution," "fiscal watch," and 

"fiscal emergency."  It is at fiscal emergency that the state has the greatest concern for 

the financial situation of a school district and engages in greater oversight.  The Auditor 

of State may declare a district to be in fiscal emergency if: 

(1)  The district has an operating deficit for the current fiscal year of more than 

15% of its general fund revenue, and the voters have not passed a property or income 

tax levy sufficient to cover that deficit in the next fiscal year; 

(2)  The district has an operating deficit for the current fiscal year of 15% or less, 

but more than 10%, of its general fund revenue; there is no reasonable cause for the 

deficit; and its voters have not passed a tax levy sufficient to cover that deficit in the 

next fiscal year; 
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(3)  The district was under fiscal watch and failed to submit an acceptable initial 

or updated financial plan to the state Superintendent or is "not materially complying" 

with its financial plan; or 

(4)  The district restructured a loan made under the former state loan mechanism 

(before 1997) and it still has a deficit or has failed to submit an acceptable initial or 

updated financial plan or is not complying with the plan.61 

Financial recovery plan and oversight commission 

A financial oversight and planning commission is created for each fiscal 

emergency district.  That commission consists of (1) the Director of Budget and 

Management or the Director's designee, (2) the state Superintendent or the 

Superintendent's designee, and (3) three other persons, one each appointed by the 

Governor, the state Superintendent, and the mayor of the municipal corporation with 

the largest number of residents living within the school district (or, in other cases, the 

county auditor of the county with the largest number of residents living within the 

school district).  The cost of operating a financial oversight and planning commission is 

paid by the state.62  While the commission does not replace the district board, it does 

have substantial powers to influence and direct the district's financial affairs. 

The commission must adopt a "financial recovery plan."  That plan must describe 

the actions to be taken by the district to eliminate the fiscal emergency conditions 

(including deficits), a management structure needed to take those actions, target dates 

for those actions and completion of them, and the amount and purpose of debt 

obligations to be issued by the district.63  The law also specifies that no appropriation 

measure may be adopted and no expenditure may be made that conflict with the 

financial recovery plan.64 

A district's financial oversight and planning commission is granted (among 

others) the powers to (1) review and assume responsibility for development of the 

district's tax budgets, (2) after consultation with district officials, implement changes in 

the district's accounting systems, (3) assist or take over the restructuring of the district's 

debt, (4) make recommendations for or take over the implementation of reductions in 

costs or increases in revenues, and (5) make reductions in force among the district's 

                                                 
61 R.C. 3316.03 and 3316.04, neither in the bill. 

62 R.C. 3316.05 and 3316.09, neither in the bill. 

63 R.C. 3316.06. 

64 R.C. 3316.12, not in the bill. 
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personnel.65  The district board, officers, and employees are specifically required to 

cooperate with the commission, and the commission may remove the district 

superintendent or treasurer for failing to comply with the commission's orders 

concerning the preparation or implementation of the financial recovery plan.66 

The commission continues to exist until the district's financial emergency 

conditions have been corrected. 

School District Solvency Assistance Fund 

(R.C. 3316.20) 

To assist a school district in fiscal emergency, the state offers interest-free 

advances on its state operating funding through the School District Solvency Assistance 

Fund.  A district in fiscal emergency may receive payments from the fund to help it 

"remain solvent."  Under current law, a fiscal emergency district also must pay back its 

advances within two years or the Director of Budget and Management is required to 

deduct that amount from its state operating funds. 

The bill extends to four years the standard period for a district to repay its 

advances from the fund.  It also allows a district up to ten years for repayment, if the 

Director of Budget and Management and the state Superintendent approve the extra 

time. 

School district certificate of adequate resources 

(R.C. 5705.412) 

The bill authorizes a school district to enter into certain multi-year contracts 

without attaching the certificate of adequate resources required under current law if an 

alternative certificate authorized by the bill is attached.  Currently, school districts are 

generally required to attach a certificate to every contract the cost of which exceeds the 

lesser of $500,000 or 1% of the total revenue for the current fiscal year that will be 

credited to the district's general revenue fund.  The certificate must indicate that the 

district has or will have adequate revenue in approved tax levies, state funding, and 

other resources to cover the amount of the contract for the entire term of the contract.  A 

contract that lacks the required certificate of available resources is void, and the law 

provides for a civil action to recover the funds illegally spent and to levy a fine against 

any district officer who in absence of good faith violated the requirement. 

                                                 
65 R.C. 3316.07, not in the bill. 

66 R.C. 3316.17, not in the bill. 
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The bill authorizes a school district to enter into a contract without attaching the 

certificate required under current law if an alternative certificate is attached certifying 

the following: 

 The contract is a multi-year contract for materials, equipment, or non-

payroll services "essential to the education program of the district"; 

 The multi-year contract demonstrates savings over the duration of the 

contract as compared to costs that otherwise would have been 

demonstrated in a single year contract and the terms will allow the district 

to reduce the deficit it is currently facing in future years as demonstrated 

in its five-year forecast. 

Like the certificate required under current law, the alternative certificate must be 

signed by the treasurer and president of the board of education and the school district's 

superintendent; and, if the school district is in a state of emergency, the certificate must 

also be signed by a member of the district's Financial Planning and Supervision 

Commission designated by the Commission. 

Left-over textbook set-aside money 

(Section 267.60.10) 

H.B. 30 of the 129th General Assembly, effective July 1, 2011, repealed the 

requirement that each school district annually set aside a specific amount into a 

separate fund for textbooks and instructional materials.67  Money in that fund that was 

not spent each year carried over to the next year.  Thus, districts could have money left 

over in those funds when the repeal of the set-aside requirement becomes effective.  The 

bill permits a school district board to transfer any unencumbered money remaining in 

the district's textbook and instructional materials fund on that date, to the district's 

general fund to be used for any general fund purpose. 

Auxiliary Services Funds 

(R.C. 3317.06) 

School districts receive certain funds to purchase goods and services for students 

who attend chartered nonpublic schools located within their territories.  Known as 

"Auxiliary Services Funds," those moneys may be used to purchase, for loan to students 

of chartered nonpublic schools, such things as textbooks, electronic textbooks, 

workbooks, instructional equipment including computers, and library materials, or to 

                                                 
67 Repealed R.C. 3315.17 and 3315.171. 
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provide health or special education services.  The bill adds the purchase or maintenance 

of life-saving medical or other emergency equipment for chartered nonpublic schools as 

an authorized use of Auxiliary Services Funds. 

It also makes several updates to the kinds of education technology hardware and 

software and digital content that may be purchased with the funds.  First, it redefines 

electronic textbook as "any book or book substitute that a student accesses through the 

use of a computer or other electronic medium or that is available through an Internet-

based provider of course content, or any other material that contributes to the learning 

process through electronic means."  Currently, the Auxiliary Services Funds statute 

defines electronic textbook as "computer software, interactive videodisc, magnetic 

media, CD-ROM, computer courseware, local and remote computer assisted 

instruction, on-line service, electronic medium, or other means of conveying 

information to the student or otherwise contributing to the learning process through 

electronic means." 

Second, it adds to the list of authorized items computer application software 

designed to assist students in performing single or multiple related tasks, device 

management software, and learning management software. 

Third, the bill specifies that computer hardware and related equipment includes 

desktop computers and workstations; laptops, tablets, and other mobile devices; and 

related operating systems and accessories. 

Finally, it removes references to several outdated forms of technology, such as 

compact disks and video cassette cartridges. 

Public schoolhouse exemption 

(R.C. 5709.07(A)(1); Section 757.80) 

The bill specifically exempts from taxation real property used by a school district, 

STEM school, community school, educational service center, or a nonpublic school for 

primary or secondary educational purposes.  The exemption includes all land as is 

necessary for the proper occupancy, use, and enjoyment of the real property by the 

school for primary and secondary school purposes.  The exemption does not apply to 

any portion of the real property not used for primary or secondary educational 

purposes. 

Current law exempts "public schoolhouses," which, under Ohio Supreme Court 

rulings, means any publicly or privately owned facility used for educational purposes 

for the benefit of the public.  Anderson/Maltbie Partnership v. Levin, 127 Ohio St.3d 178, 

2010-Ohio-4904, 937 N.E.2d 547, at paragraph 22.  To qualify for the exemption, current 
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law requires that the property not be "leased or otherwise used with a view to profit."  

Under this language, a facility used for public educational purposes leased pursuant to 

a for-profit lease does not qualify for the exemption.  Id., at paragraph 23.  The bill 

removes this limiting language, effective for tax year 2011 and thereafter. 

Abolishment of the Harmon Commission 

(Repealed R.C. 3306.51 to 3306.58) 

The bill abolishes the Harmon Commission, which was established by H.B. 1 of 

the 128th General Assembly to approve applications for designation of classrooms as 

"creative learning environments" and to award grants to school districts and 

community schools that operate such classrooms, if sufficient funds are available for 

those grants. 

Under current law, the Harmon Commission and all of the procedures for 

designating creative learning environments need not be implemented if the General 

Assembly does not appropriate funds for it, or if the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction determines that sufficient funds are not available for it.  The Commission 

has never been funded. 

II.  Community Schools 

Moratoriums on opening new community schools 

"Brick and mortar" schools 

(Repealed R.C. 3314.014, 3314.016, and 3314.017; conforming changes in R.C. 3314.02, 

3314.021, 3314.03, and 3314.05) 

The bill repeals the requirement that a new start-up "brick and mortar" 

community school may be established only if the school contracts with an operator 

whose other schools meet certain performance standards.  Repealing the operator 

requirement allows a new "brick and mortar" community school to open without hiring 

an operator at all or, if the school chooses to have an operator, to hire an operator that 

does not meet the performance standards specified by current law.  (But see 

"Restriction on sponsoring additional community schools" below.) 

Under current law, to qualify for the exception to the moratorium, the 

community school must contract with an operator that manages other schools in the 

United States that perform at a level higher than academic watch, as determined by the 

Department of Education.  If the operator already manages other schools in Ohio, at 

least one of the Ohio schools must be rated higher than academic watch. 
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E-schools 

(Repealed R.C. 3314.013; R.C. 3314.20 and 3314.23; conforming changes in R.C. 

3314.02(D) and 3314.03) 

The bill repeals the outright moratorium on establishing new Internet- or 

computer-based community schools (e-schools), which has been in place since May 1, 

2005.  The existing moratorium is in effect until the General Assembly enacts standards 

governing the operation of e-schools. 

The bill prohibits new internet- or computer-based community schools 

(e-schools) from opening unless the school has operated in another state for at least 

three years before opening in Ohio and performed at a level higher than academic 

watch, as determined by the Department of Education. 

The bill also requires the State Board of Education to adopt rules establishing 

standards for e-schools.  These standards must be based on those developed by the 

International Association for K-12 Online Learning.  The rules must also include a 

method by which the Department must monitor e-school compliance with the 

standards.  The bill grants existing e-schools three years after the initial adoption of the 

rules to be in compliance. 

Conversion community schools opening in 2011-2012 

(Section 267.60.20) 

The bill exempts new conversion community schools that open in the 2011-2012 

school year from statutory deadlines for the adoption and signing of the school's 

contract with its sponsor, but requires the contract to be signed and filed with the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction prior to the school's opening.  Under continuing 

law, the sponsor and the school's governing authority must adopt the contract by March 

15, and sign it by May 15, prior to the school year in which the school will open. 

Location of start-up community schools 

Definition of "challenged school district" 

(R.C. 3314.02(A)(3) and (C)(3)) 

The bill expands the definition of "challenged school district," where start-up 

community schools may be located, to include school districts ranked in the lowest 5% 

of districts based on their performance index scores.  This change could enable the 

establishment of start-up schools in districts where they are currently prohibited.  

Under current law, a challenged school district is any of the following:  (1) a ʺBig‐Eightʺ 
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school district (Akron, Canton, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Dayton, Toledo, and 

Youngstown), (2) a school district in academic watch or academic emergency, or (3) a 

school district in the original community school pilot project area (Lucas County).  Once 

a start-up community school is established in a school district with a low performance 

index score ranking, the school may continue to operate there even if the district later 

raises its ranking and is no longer considered "challenged." 

Exception for schools serving disabled or gifted students 

(R.C. 3314.02(G)) 

Under the bill, a new start-up community school that primarily serves either 

disabled students or gifted students is exempt from the requirement to be located in a 

"challenged school district" under certain conditions.  To qualify for the exemption, 

which allows the school to be located in any school district, (1) at least 75% of the 

school's enrollment must be students with disabilities or at least 75% of the enrollment 

must be gifted students and (2) either the school district in which the school will be 

located, or the Department of Education, must certify that there is a need in that region 

for a school serving the intended student population. 

The bill also requires the school, as a condition of qualifying for the exemption, 

to be established as a "public benefit corporation."  However, since all new community 

schools are already subject to this requirement by continuing law, it does not constitute 

any additional obligation on the school.  A "public benefit corporation" generally is a 

corporation that is either a federal tax-exempt entity or "is organized for a public or 

charitable purpose and that upon dissolution must distribute its assets to [another] 

public benefit corporation, the United States, a state or any political subdivision of a 

state, or a [federal tax-exempt entity]."68 

Restrictions on sponsoring additional community schools 

(New R.C. 3314.016) 

The bill prohibits a community school sponsor from sponsoring any additional 

schools, if it (1) is not in compliance with statutory requirements to report data or other 

information to the Department of Education or (2) has had more than 20% of its schools 

ranked by performance index score in the lowest 5% of all public schools statewide for 

three consecutive years.  The 2009-2010 school year is the first year for which the 

ranking will count against a sponsor, so the earliest a sponsor will be subject to the 

prohibition based on school rankings will be after the 2011-2012 school year.  The 

                                                 
68 R.C. 1702.01(P), not in the bill. 
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prohibition may apply to a sponsor earlier for failure to comply with reporting 

requirements. 

The bill's prohibition applies to all sponsors, including those sponsors that are 

exempt from the requirement to be approved for sponsorship by the Department of 

Education.  Under continuing law, sponsors that are not subject to approval are (1) 

"grandfathered" entities that were already sponsoring community schools as of April 8, 

2003, when the approval requirement became law,69 and (2) the successor of the 

University of Toledo board of trustees (or its designee) as a sponsor of community 

schools.70 

If a community school enters into a sponsorship contract with a sponsor and, 

before the school opens, the sponsor becomes subject to the bill's prohibition on 

sponsoring additional schools, the contract is void.  The school may still open, but only 

after contracting with another sponsor. 

Caps on community school sponsors 

(R.C. 3314.015) 

Under the bill, a community school sponsor may sponsor up to 100 schools, 

unless it is subject to the bill's prohibition on sponsoring additional schools (see 

"Restrictions on sponsoring additional community schools" above).  This 

maximum is an increase from current law, which limits sponsors to 50 to 75 schools, 

depending on how many schools the sponsor had that were open as of May 1, 2005.  

The bill also repeals the requirement that a sponsor's cap must be decreased by one for 

each school sponsored by the entity that permanently closes.  The current caps on 

sponsors are shown in the table below. 

Current Caps on Community School Sponsors 

Number of schools 
sponsored by entity as of 

May 1, 2005 

Maximum number of schools 
entity may sponsor 

50 or fewer schools 50 schools 

51 – 75 schools Number of schools sponsored by 
the entity that were open as of 
May 1, 2005 

More than 75 schools 75 schools 

                                                 
69 See R.C. 3314.027, not in the bill. 

70 See R.C. 3314.021. 
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Termination or nonrenewal of school's contract with its sponsor 

(R.C. 3314.07(B)) 

Under continuing law, if the sponsor of a community school intends to terminate 

the school's contract prior to its expiration or to not renew the contract upon expiration, 

the sponsor must provide the school with notice of its intent and offer the school an 

opportunity for a hearing on the matter.  The school may appeal the sponsor's decision 

to terminate the contract to the State Board of Education, whose decision is final. 

The bill retains these procedures, but it revises the deadlines for various actions, 

as follows: 

 First, it requires the sponsor to provide notice of the intent to terminate or 

not renew the contract by March 1 of the year in which it intends to take 

the proposed action, rather than 90 days prior to the termination or 

nonrenewal as currently required. 

 Second, it shortens from 70 days to 14 days the period for the sponsor to 

hold a hearing at the school's request. 

 Third, it requires the sponsor to issue its decision whether or not to affirm 

the termination or nonrenewal within 14 days after the hearing, instead of 

"promptly following" the hearing as in current law. 

 Fourth, if the school appeals the sponsor's decision to terminate the 

contract, the bill requires the appeal to be filed with the State Board within 

14 days of that decision.  The State Board must conduct a hearing and 

issue a written decision, including reasons for upholding or annulling the 

termination, within 60 days after the filing of the appeal.  Current law 

does not prescribe a deadline for filing the appeal or for the State Board to 

hold its hearing. 

 Fifth, the bill specifies that the contract termination is effective on the date 

the sponsor originally notifies the school of its intent to terminate or, upon 

appeal, the date designated by the State Board.  Under current law, the 

termination takes effect 90 days after the sponsor's notification or the date 

set by the State Board, whichever is later. 

 Finally, if the contract is terminated, the bill requires the school to close at 

the end of the current school year or on another date specified in the 

sponsor's notification of its intent to terminate. 
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Background 

Under continuing law, a sponsor may terminate or not renew its contract with a 

community school for (1) failure to meet student performance requirements specified in 

the contract, (2) fiscal mismanagement, (3) a violation of the contract or state or federal 

law, or (4) other good cause.  If the contract is terminated, the school may not contract 

with another sponsor and must permanently close. 

New sponsor entity 

(R.C. 3314.0210) 

The bill allows an organization whose membership consists solely of entities that 

are currently authorized to sponsor community schools to become a sponsor itself.  

Under continuing law, any of the following entities may be a community school 

sponsor and, therefore, could be a member of the new organization:  (1) a city, 

exempted village, local, or joint vocational school district, (2) an educational service 

center (ESC), (3) a state university board of trustees or a sponsoring authority 

designated by the board, or (4) an education-oriented, federally tax-exempt entity.71  

Like other new sponsors, the organization must be approved as a sponsor by the 

Department of Education and enter into an agreement with the Department regarding 

the manner in which the organization will conduct its sponsorship. 

Upon approval, the organization may sponsor new start-up or conversion 

community schools.  In the case of a new conversion school, the organization may 

sponsor the school only if the building that will be converted into the school is operated 

by a school district or ESC that is a member of the organization and the district or ESC 

approves the conversion. 

The organization also may assume the sponsorship of community schools 

sponsored by its members, although each member retains the authority to sponsor 

schools on its own.  When transferring sponsorship of a school from a member to the 

organization, the transfer may take effect only at the beginning of a school year.  If the 

member's sponsorship contract with the school has expired, the organization must enter 

into a successor contract with the school to effectuate the transfer.  (At the contract's 

expiration, the school would also have the option of seeking another sponsor, if it does 

not want the organization to assume sponsorship.)  If the member's sponsorship 

contract has not expired, both the school and the member must adopt resolutions 

consenting to the transfer occurring prior to the contract's expiration, and the 

                                                 
71 R.C. 3314.02(C)(1). 
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organization and the school must amend the contract to reflect the transfer of the 

school's sponsorship to the organization. 

ESC sponsorship of community schools 

(R.C. 3314.02(C)(1)(d) and (F)(3)) 

Under the bill, an educational service center (ESC) may sponsor a start-up 

community school in any challenged school district statewide.  Current law permits an 

ESC to sponsor a start-up school only in a challenged school district located in a county 

within the territory of the ESC or in a contiguous county. 

Sponsor liability 

(R.C. 3314.07(E)) 

The bill grants civil immunity to a community school sponsor and its officers, 

directors, and employees for any action taken to fulfill the sponsor's responsibility to 

oversee and monitor a community school, if the action is authorized by the Community 

School Law or the school's sponsorship contract. 

Selling of services by sponsors 

(R.C. 3314.46) 

The bill prohibits a community school sponsor from selling goods or services to 

any school it sponsors.  This prohibition applies not only to the sponsor itself, but to any 

officer, director, employee, agent, representative, subsidiary, or independent contractor 

of the sponsor.  However, if a sponsor (or related party) entered into a contract for the 

sale of goods or services to a community school it sponsors before the prohibition's 

(90-day) effective date, the sponsor is not required to comply with the prohibition with 

respect to that school until the contract expires.  A sponsor may sell goods or services to a 

community school it does not sponsor at any time, since it has no responsibility to 

oversee and monitor that school. 

Location of sponsor representative 

(R.C. 3314.023) 

The bill repeals a provision requiring the sponsor of a community school to have 

a representative located near the school to provide monitoring and technical assistance.  

Under current law, the representative must be located within 50 miles of the school or, 

in the case of an Internet- or computer-based community school (e-school), within 50 

miles of the school's central base of operation. 
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Sponsor meetings with school 

(R.C. 3314.023) 

The bill makes several changes to the requirement in current law that a 

representative of a community school's sponsor meet with the school's governing 

authority and review the school's financial records at least once every two months.  

First, the bill mandates more frequent reviews by requiring the meetings to occur 

monthly.  Second, it provides the sponsor's representative the option of meeting either 

with the school's governing authority or its fiscal officer.  Third, it requires the 

representative to review the school's enrollment records, in addition to financial 

records.  Finally, it directs the State Board of Education, within 180 days after the 

provision's (90-day) effective date, to adopt rules defining which records constitute 

"financial records." 

Governing authority membership 

(R.C. 3314.02(E)) 

The bill prohibits a community school governing authority member, or 

immediate relative, from being an owner, employee, or consultant of a community 

school sponsor for one year after the end of the member's term.  This change expands 

current law, which similarly imposes a one-year waiting period for governing authority 

members and their immediate relatives with respect to community school operators. 

Closure of poorly performing community schools 

(R.C. 3314.35) 

Beginning July 1, 2011, the bill replaces the academic performance criteria that 

trigger permanent closure of community schools with new, more stringent criteria for 

those schools that serve the early elementary grades and for high schools.  It does not 

change the criteria for schools that offer any of grades 4 to 8.  Community schools that 

meet the existing criteria before July 1, 2011, still must close at the end of the 2010-2011 

school year, in accordance with current law.  The first schools subject to the new 

performance criteria will close following the 2011‐2012 school year.  The table below 

compares the current closure criteria with the bill's new criteria. 
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Community School Closure Criteria 

Type of school Current law The bill 

A school that does not 
offer a grade higher than 
3 

Has been in academic 
emergency for three of the four 
most recent school years 

Has been in academic 
emergency for two of the three 
most recent school years 

A school that offers any of 
grades 4 to 8 but no grade 
higher than 9 

(1) Has been in academic 
emergency for two of the three 
most recent school years and (2) 
showed less than one standard 
year of academic growth in 
reading or math for at least two 
of the three most recent school 
years 

Same 

A school that offers any of 
grades 10 to 12 

Has been in academic 
emergency for three of the four 
most recent school years 

Has been in academic 
emergency for two of the three 
most recent school years 

 

The bill retains current law exempting a community school from the closure 

requirement if a majority of the school's students (1) are enrolled in a dropout 

prevention and recovery program that has a waiver from the Department of Education72 

or (2) are disabled students receiving special education.  Also, as in current law, the 

performance ratings assigned to a community school for its first two years of operation 

do not count toward whether the school meets the closure criteria.73 

Layoffs involving teachers returning from conversion community schools 

(R.C. 3314.10(B)) 

The bill permits reductions in force with respect to teachers returning after a 

leave of absence due to being employed at a conversion community school to occur 

only in accordance with procedures in the administrative personnel suspension policy 

adopted by the employing board of education.  Currently, those reductions in force may 

occur in accordance with that policy or in accordance with the statutory teacher 

restoration policy. 

                                                 
72 See R.C. 3314.36. 

73 R.C. 3314.012. 
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Use of state funding to pay taxes 

(Repealed R.C. 3314.082) 

The bill repeals current law stating the General Assembly's intent that no state 

funds paid to a community school be used by the school to pay any taxes the school 

might owe on its own behalf, including local, state, and federal income taxes, sales 

taxes, and property taxes.  This intent language does not apply to money withheld from 

a community school employee that is payable by the school to a government entity as 

taxes on behalf of the employee. 

Exemption from BMI screenings 

(R.C. 3314.03(A)(11)(h)) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that community schools administer body 

mass index (BMI) and weight status category screenings to their students in the same 

manner as school districts.  (E-schools already are exempt under current law.) 

Background 

Current law generally requires each school district, community school (other 

than an e-school), STEM school, and chartered nonpublic school annually to administer 

a screening for BMI and weight status category for each student enrolled in grades K, 3, 

5, and 9.  The parent of a student may opt out of the requirement by submitting a signed 

statement indicating that the parent does not wish to have the student undergo the 

screening.  A district or school also may obtain a waiver of the screening requirements 

from the Superintendent of Public Instruction.  To obtain the waiver, the district or 

school must submit an affidavit stating that it is unable to comply with the 

requirements.  The state Superintendent must grant the waiver upon receipt of the 

affidavit.74 

E-school expenditures for instruction 

(Repealed R.C. 3314.085; conforming changes in R.C. 3314.08 and 3314.088) 

The bill repeals the statute that (1) establishes a minimum amount that Internet- 

or computer-based community schools (e-schools) must spend on instruction and 

(2) prescribes fines for failure to comply. 

                                                 
74 R.C. 3313.674, not in the bill.  S.B. 118, As Passed by the Senate and H.B. 173, As Introduced, propose to 

make the BMI and weight status category screenings permissive for district and schools, rather than 

mandatory subject to waiver as under current law.  
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The law being repealed by the bill requires each e-school to spend for 

instructional purposes at least the per pupil amount designated for base classroom 

teachers under the former Building Blocks Model.  The amount for fiscal year 2009 was 

$2,931.  That is the last year for which an amount for that factor is specified.  Qualifying 

expenditures include (1) teachers, (2) curriculum, (3) academic materials, (4) computers, 

(5) software (including filtering software), and (6) other purposes designated by the 

state Superintendent.  E-schools annually must report their expenditures for instruction 

to the Department of Education.  If the Department determines that an e-school has 

failed to comply with the expenditure or reporting requirements, the e-school must pay 

a fine equal to 5% of the total state payments to the school in the fiscal year of 

noncompliance or the amount the school underspent on instruction, whichever is 

greater. 

Community school facilities 

Exception allowing school to have multiple facilities 

(R.C. 3314.05(A) and (B)(1) and (4)) 

The bill allows a community school, under certain conditions, to be located in 

multiple facilities under the same sponsorship contract and to assign students in the 

same grade to different facilities, both of which are generally prohibited by current law.  

A community school qualifies for the bill's exception to the prohibitions, if (1) all of the 

school's facilities are located in the same county and (2) the school has entered into, and 

maintains, a contract with an operator to manage the school.  Under current law, a 

community school may be located in multiple facilities only if space limitations make it 

impossible to serve all students in the same building. 

Since the bill permits a qualifying school to have multiple facilities within the 

same county, it also creates an exception from the prohibition in current law against 

establishing a community school in more than one school district under the same 

sponsorship contract.  If a qualifying school maintains facilities in more than one school 

district under the bill, continuing law requires that at least one of those districts be a 

"challenged" school district.75  Also, the school's governing authority must designate one 

of those districts as the school's primary location and notify the Department of 

Education of that decision. 

The school's primary location will affect which students may enroll in the school.  

Under continuing law, each community school must adopt a policy regarding 

admission of students who live outside the district where the school is located, which 

                                                 
75 R.C. 3314.02(A)(3) and (C)(1). 
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would be the school's primary location under the bill.  This policy must either 

(1) prohibit the enrollment of students who live outside the district, (2) permit the 

enrollment of students who live in adjacent districts, or (3) permit the enrollment of 

students who live anywhere in the state.76  If applicants for admission exceed the 

number of openings, students must be admitted by lottery from among all applicants, 

except that preference must be given to those students who reside in the district where 

the school is located.77 

Sharing facilities 

(R.C. 3314.05(E)) 

The bill expressly permits two or more community schools to be located in the 

same facility. 

Right to lease unused school district property 

(R.C. 3313.41 and 3313.411; conforming change to R.C. 3314.051) 

The bill requires school district boards with real property that has been used for 

classroom operations since July 1, 1998, but has not been in use for two years, to offer to 

community schools located within the district an opportunity to lease the property.  If 

more than one community school accepts the offer to lease that property, the district 

board must give priority to the community school that is ranked highest according to 

performance index score.78  For community schools ranked in the top 50% of schools 

statewide, based on performance index score, the district board only may charge $1 for 

the lease.  For all other community schools, the district board must charge an amount 

not higher than the fair market value of the leasehold in the leasehold's neighborhood 

and community.  If no community school governing authority accepts the offer to lease 

the property within 60 days after the offer is made, the district board may offer the 

property for lease to any other entity. 

Because it conflicts with the new provisions of the bill, the bill also repeals the 

provision of current law that requires a district to offer to sell to community schools real 

property that is suitable for use as classroom space, if (1) the district has not used the 

property for academic instruction, administration, storage, or any other education 

purpose for one full school year, and (2) the district board has not adopted a resolution 

outlining a plan for using the property for any of those purposes within the next three 

                                                 
76 R.C. 3314.03(A)(19). 

77 R.C. 3314.06(H). 

78 R.C. 3302.01, not in the bill. 
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years. Under the repealed provision, the offer must be made to start-up community 

schools located in the district at a price not higher than the appraised fair market value. 

The bill specifies that a district board may renew any agreement already in 

existence with a non-community school entity, and that nothing in the bill is meant to 

affect leasehold arrangements already entered into between the district board and the 

other entity. 

Community school participation in joint educational programs 

(R.C. 3313.842) 

The bill permits a community school to enter into an agreement with one or more 

school districts or other community schools to operate a joint educational program, 

including any class in the graded course of study or a professional development 

program, in the same manner as districts may do with each other under continuing law.  

But, whereas continuing law allows a school district participating in the joint 

educational program to charge fees or tuition to its students who enroll in the program, 

the bill explicitly prohibits community schools from charging their students for the 

program.  The only exception is for an all-day kindergarten program, for which certain 

community schools may charge fees under separate law.79 

Hybrid schools 

(R.C. 3301.81) 

Request for proposals 

The bill allows for the establishment of hybrid schools that provide students with 

both remote, technology-based and classroom-based instruction.  Not later than 60 days 

after the (90-day) effective date of the provision, the Department of Education must 

issue a request for proposals from qualifying schools that wish to operate as a hybrid 

school.  A "qualifying school" is either a school operated by a challenged school district 

or a community school that provides or proposes to provide classroom-based 

instruction at a site located within a challenged school district or a school district 

adjacent to a challenged school district. 

Each proposal submitted to the Department must have (1) a description of the 

proposed hybrid nature of the school's instructional program, (2) an academic 

accountability plan that includes a commitment that the school will evaluate student 

                                                 
79 See R.C. 3314.03(A)(11)(d) and also R.C. 3321.01(H), as amended by H.B. 30 of the 129th General 

Assembly. 
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performance at least three times a year and publish the results of each evaluation, and 

(3) any other information requested by the Department.  The Department must develop 

a "rigorous" process for evaluating submitted proposals.  If the Department receives 

more than five proposals, it must select finalists from among the qualified responders.  

The selected finalists must make a public presentation, to a panel of experts selected by 

the Department, on the merits of the school's plan and the likelihood of student success 

under the plan. 

Within 180 days after issuing the request for proposals, the Department must 

select up to five schools from the qualified responders.  The selected schools may begin 

operating as a hybrid school in the next school year that commences after the approval 

of the school's proposal.  If a selected school is a new community school established on 

or after the effective date of the provision, the contract between the governing authority 

and the sponsor of the school must conform with the provisions of the proposal 

approved by the Department.  If a selected school is a community school established 

before the effective date, the governing authority and sponsor of the school must amend 

the existing contract before July 1 of the school year in which the school will begin 

operating as a hybrid school to conform with the provisions of the proposal. 

In the third school year after hybrid schools begin operating, the Department 

must conduct a study of the academic performance of students attending hybrid 

schools and determine best practices used by schools.  The Department must issue a 

report on its findings to the Governor, President of the Senate, and the Speaker of the 

House.  At the conclusion of the study, the Department may issue another request for 

proposals and choose up to five additional schools to operate as hybrid schools.  In 

doing so, the Department may modify the request for proposals or evaluation process 

based on the results of its study. 

Operations 

The bill permits the establishment of "hybrid" schools that provide students with 

a combination of both technology-based instruction, including internet- and classroom-

based instruction, and traditional classroom-based instruction.  Students enrolled in a 

hybrid school must receive some percentage of their instruction as traditional 

classroom-based instruction at a designated site that the board of education of the 

school district operating a hybrid school or the community school's governing authority 

must maintain for that purpose.  The percentage of each student's instructional time 

that must be classroom-based is to be determined by the student's education team prior 

to the beginning of the school year.  The student's education team may include, but is 

not limited to, the principal or chief administrative officer of the school, the student, the 

student's parent or guardian, and any teacher requested by the principal or chief 

administrative officer, student, or parent or guardian.  The student must spend 
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instructional time that is not received as classroom-based instruction at home on lessons 

provided via a technology-based instructional method. 

In the case of a community school operating as a hybrid school, the designated 

site for classroom-based instruction must be located either in a "challenged" school 

district, where start-up community schools are permitted to open, or in a district 

adjacent to a challenged school district.  If the site is located in an adjacent school 

district, the challenged school district nonetheless is considered the district in which the 

school is located for purposes of the community school law, including admission 

policies of the school. 

Hybrid schools as e-schools 

The bill contains statements that, for purposes of the community school laws, (1) 

hybrid schools are not e-schools, but (2) hybrid schools must comply with all 

requirements of the community school laws, including those that apply only to e-

schools, except as otherwise provided in the bill.  However, the bill does not explicitly 

exempt hybrid schools from any e-school requirements.  Therefore, it would appear that 

all e-school requirements, including the requirement to provide each student with a 

computer to use at home and the limitations on their state payments, would apply to 

community schools operating as hybrid schools. 

Transportation to designated site 

Under the bill, students attending a hybrid school are entitled to transportation, 

provided by their resident school districts, to and from the school's designated site for 

classroom-based instruction.  This entitlement is subject to the parameters of current 

law with respect to minimum and maximum distances from the location. 

III.  Public College-Preparatory Boarding Schools For At-Risk Students 

The bill permits the establishment of at least one college-preparatory boarding 

school serving at-risk middle and high school students.  The boarding school may be 

operated only by a nonprofit organization approved by the State Board of Education.  

Once a boarding school receives a charter from the State Board, the school is considered 

a public school and a part of the state's program of education.  In its initial year of 

operation, the school may offer only grade 6, but it may add higher grades, through 

grade 12, in subsequent years.  The bill limits enrollment in the boarding school to 

students who belong to a family with an income at or below 200% of the federal poverty 

guidelines and who are at risk of academic failure. 
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Creation of college-preparatory boarding schools 

School operator selection 

(R.C. 3328.11) 

A boarding school established under the bill must be operated by a private 

nonprofit entity selected by the State Board of Education.  For this purpose, within 60 

days after the bill's (90-day) effective date, the State Board must issue a request for 

proposals from nonprofit corporations interested in operating the school.  Each 

proposal must include (1) the proposed location of the school, which may differ from 

any location recommended by the State Board, (2) a plan for offering grade 6 in the 

school's first year of operation and a plan for increasing the grade levels over time, and 

(3) any other information about the proposed educational program, facilities, or 

operations of the school considered necessary by the State Board. 

The State Board must choose the school's operator from among the qualified 

responders.  To be considered qualified, a private nonprofit corporation must (1) have 

experience operating a school or program similar to the school authorized by the bill 

and demonstrate to the State Board's satisfaction that the existing school or program has 

been successful in improving students' academic performance and (2) demonstrate to 

the State Board's satisfaction that the corporation has the capacity to secure private 

funds for the school's development. 

If there are no responders with the required qualifications, the State Board may 

issue another request for proposals.  Selection of a qualified operator must occur within 

180 days after the issuance of the most recent request. 

Contract with operator 

(R.C. 3328.12) 

After selecting an operator for the boarding school, the State Board of Education 

must enter into a contract with that entity prescribing the terms of the school's 

operation.  The contract must stipulate the following: 

(1)  That the school may operate only if and to the extent it holds a valid charter 

issued by the State Board.  Under continuing law, the State Board issues charters to 

school districts and individual schools within each district and may revoke a charter for 

failure to meet the State Board's minimum standards for elementary and secondary 

schools.  These minimum standards cover such areas as the licensure and assignment of 

teachers and other staff, instructional materials and equipment, the organization and 
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administration of schools, school facilities and grounds, student admissions, grade 

promotion policies, and graduation requirements.80 

(2)  That the operator will oversee the acquisition of a facility for the school (see 

"College-Preparatory Boarding School Facilities Program" below). 

(3)  That the operator will manage the school in accordance with the terms of the 

proposal accepted by the State Board during the selection process, including the plan 

for increasing the grade levels offered by the school. 

(4)  That the school will comply with the bill's provisions, any other provisions of 

law specified in the contract, State Board rules pertaining to the school,81 the school's 

charter, and the school's bylaws (see "Adoption of bylaws" below). 

(5)  That the school will meet the academic goals and other performance 

standards outlined in the contract. 

(6)  That the State Board or the operator may terminate the contract in accordance 

with procedures described in the contract.  Those procedures must include a 

requirement that the party seeking termination give prior notice of the intent to 

terminate the contract.  The other party must also be given an opportunity to redress 

any grievances cited in the notice prior to the termination. 

(7)  That, if the school closes for any reason, the school's board of trustees will 

execute the closing in the manner specified in the contract. 

Termination of contract 

(R.C. 3328.45) 

The bill authorizes the State Board to terminate a contract with a boarding 

school's operator for failure of the school to comply with the bill's provisions or the 

terms of the contract, or for failure to meet the academic goals or performance 

standards specified in the contract.  Upon termination of the contract, the school must 

close.  No termination may take effect before the end of a school year. 

                                                 
80 R.C. 3301.07(D)(2) and 3301.16. 

81 The bill requires the State Board to adopt rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act 

(R.C. Chapter 119.) to implement the bill's provisions (R.C. 3328.50). 
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Option for additional boarding schools 

(R.C. 3328.11(B)(1)) 

The bill permits the State Board to authorize one or more additional public 

boarding schools after the establishment of the first boarding school.  If the State Board 

determines that additional schools are advisable, it must select and contract with 

qualified operators for those schools by following the same process used for selecting 

the first school's operator (see "School operator selection" above).  Presumably, the 

operator of the first school could submit a proposal to run any additional school 

authorized in the future, but the bill does not grant that operator preference in the 

selection process. 

Public boarding school governance 

Adoption of school bylaws 

(R.C. 3328.13) 

The operator of a boarding school established under the bill must adopt bylaws 

for the oversight and operation of the school.  The bylaws, which are subject to the 

approval of the State Board of Education, must include standards for the admission and 

dismissal of students and procedures for the appointment of members of the school's 

board of trustees.  The bylaws must conform to all applicable statutes and 

administrative rules, contract terms, and the school's charter. 

Board of trustees 

(R.C. 3328.15) 

A board of trustees consisting of up to 25 members must govern each boarding 

school established under the bill.  The Governor must appoint five of the trustees, with 

the advice and consent of the Senate.  The Superintendent of Public Instruction may 

recommend appointees to the Governor, but those recommendations are not binding.  

All other trustees must be appointed in accordance with the school's bylaws. 

Under the bill, trustee terms of office are three years, after an initial period in 

which the terms are staggered in length.  Trustees may be reappointed, but no trustee 

may serve for more than three consecutive three-year terms.  If the school's bylaws 

provide for compensation, trustees may be paid for their service on the board. 
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Student enrollment 

Eligibility requirements 

(R.C. 3328.01(B) and (E), 3328.04, and 3328.14) 

A student is eligible to attend a boarding school established under the bill if the 

student (1) is entitled to attend school in a "participating school district," which is the 

district where the school is located or any other district that has agreed to allow its 

resident students to enroll in the school, (2) is at risk of academic failure, (3) is from a 

family with an income below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines,82 and (4) meets at 

least two of the following other risk indicators: 

(a)  The student has a record of in-school disciplinary actions, suspensions, 

expulsions, or truancy; 

(b)  The student failed to attain a proficient score on a state achievement 

assessment in English language arts, reading, or math at least once, or failed to attain a 

minimum score designated by the boarding school's board of trustees on an end-of-

course exam in English language arts or math administered under the new high school 

assessment system that will eventually replace the Ohio Graduation Tests (OGT); 

(c)  The student has a disability; 

(d)  The student has been referred for academic intervention services; 

(e)  The student's head of household is a single parent; 

(f)  The student's head of household is not the student's custodial parent; or 

(g)  The student has a family member who has been imprisoned. 

A student must also meet any additional criteria specified in the agreement 

between the State Board of Education and the boarding school's operator. 

The bill requires the State Board to adopt procedures for school districts to follow 

in becoming participating school districts.  In addition, the boarding school's operator 

must create an outreach program to inform school districts about the school, its 

admission procedures, and the process for becoming a participating district. 

                                                 
82 The 2011 federal poverty guideline for a family of four in the mainland United States is an annual 

income of $22,350.  Using that guideline, a student from a family of four with an annual income below 

$44,700 (200% of $22,350) would qualify for enrollment in a school established under the bill. 
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Maximum enrollment 

(R.C. 3328.21) 

The maximum enrollment for a boarding school established under the bill is 400 

students.  However, the school is limited to 80 students in its first year of operation, in 

which it may offer only grade 6.  If the number of applicants exceeds the school's 

capacity, admission must be by lottery. 

School operations 

Compliance with certain education laws 

(R.C. 3328.18, 3328.19, 3328.191, 3328.192, 3328.193, 3328.20, 3328.24, 3328.25, 

3328.26(C), and 3328.99; conforming changes in 109.57 and 3313.61) 

A boarding school established under the bill, its operator, and its board of 

trustees are subject to the following education laws in the same manner as a school 

district: 

 Administration of the state achievement assessments and the new high 

school assessment system that will replace the OGTs; provision of 

intervention services to students who do not attain a proficient score on an 

achievement assessment (R.C. 3301.0710, 3301.0711, and 3301.0712); 

 High school diploma requirements (R.C. 3313.61 and 3328.25); 

 Sanctions for failure to meet the federal standard of "adequate yearly 

progress" for two or more consecutive school years (R.C. 3302.04 and 

3302.041);83 

 Reporting requirements for the Education Management Information 

System (EMIS), which is a database of fiscal, personnel, enrollment, and 

academic performance information about school districts and buildings 

(R.C. 3301.0714); 

 Requirement to conduct criminal records checks of applicants for 

employment and to periodically update those checks for nonlicensed 

                                                 
83 Adequate yearly progress (AYP) is a measure of performance used to determine whether a school 

district or building is meeting the goals of the federal No Child Left Behind Act.  Under an existing 

federal pilot project, the Ohio Department of Education is implementing a Model of Differentiated 

Accountability that prescribes a series of graduated sanctions based on the length of time a district or 

school has failed to make AYP and the degree to which it has failed. 
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employees other than bus drivers; prohibition on employing a person 

with a disqualifying criminal offense (R.C. 3319.39 and 3319.391); 

 Suspension of employees from duties involving the care, custody, or 

control of a child upon arrest or indictment for a disqualifying offense 

(R.C. 3328.18(B)); 

 Reporting of misconduct by licensed educators to the Department of 

Education; immunity from civil liability for good-faith reports; and 

penalties for failure to make required reports or for making false reports 

(R.C. 3319.31, 3319.311, 3328.18(C), 3328.19, 3328.191, 3328.192, 3328.193, 

and 3328.99); and 

 Requirement that private contractor employees that provide "essential 

school services" and work in a school in a position that requires routine 

interaction with a child must be supervised by a school employee or 

provide a recent criminal records check with no disqualifying offenses 

(R.C. 109.57 and 3328.20). 

Special education 

(R.C. 3328.23) 

Similarly, in the same manner as a school district, each boarding school and its 

operator must comply with state and federal law regarding the provision of special 

education and related services to students with disabilities.84  The bill specifies that a 

disabled student's resident school district is not obligated to provide the student with a 

"free appropriate public education" for as long as the student attends the boarding 

school.  Therefore, the boarding school must assume the responsibility of providing the 

student with all necessary special education and related services.  For each disabled 

student enrolled in the school, the school and its operator must verify to the 

Department of Education that the school is providing the services required by the 

individualized education program, or IEP, developed for the student. 

Curriculum requirements 

(R.C. 3328.22) 

The school's educational program must include a remedial curriculum for all 

grades it offers below grade 9, and a college-preparatory curriculum for grades 9 to 12 

that complies with the Ohio Core curriculum, which is the 20-unit state minimum high 

                                                 
84 See R.C. Chapter 3323. and 20 United States Code (U.S.C.) 1400 et seq. 
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school curriculum.85  The school's educational program also must provide (1) 

extracurricular activities, including athletic and cultural activities, (2) college admission 

counseling, (3) physical and mental health services, (4) tutoring, (5) community service 

opportunities, and (6) a residential student life program. 

Employee collective bargaining rights 

(R.C. 3328.17 and 4117.01) 

The bill explicitly grants teaching and nonteaching employees of a boarding 

school established under the bill the right to collectively bargain under the Public 

Employees Collective Bargaining Law.86  Although that Law prohibits the State 

Employment Relations Board from placing professional and nonprofessional employees 

in the same bargaining unit without approval by a majority vote of both groups,87 the 

bill specifies that a bargaining unit containing both teaching and nonteaching boarding 

school employees may be considered an appropriate unit, presumably without a vote. 

Student transportation 

(R.C. 3328.41) 

The bill provides that a boarding school student's resident school district is 

responsible for the student's weekly transportation to and from the boarding school. 

Annual report card 

(R.C. 3328.26(A) and (B)) 

Under the bill, the Department of Education must issue an annual report card 

and performance rating for each boarding school in the same manner as required in 

continuing law for other public schools and school districts.88  The bill also requires that 

the academic performance data of each boarding school student be used in calculating 

both the performance of the boarding school and the performance of the student's 

resident school district.  For this purpose, the Department must include the student's 

                                                 
85 See R.C. 3313.603(C).  Students through the graduating class of 2017 may opt out of the Ohio Core 

curriculum with parental permission, so long as they meet other specified conditions, but they still must 

complete the current minimum high school curriculum in effect for students who entered ninth grade 

prior to July 1, 2010 (R.C. 3313.603(D)).  This opt-out would be available to students in the eligible classes 

who are enrolled in a boarding school established under the bill. 

86 See R.C. Chapter 4117. 

87 R.C. 4117.06(D)(1), not in the bill. 

88 R.C. 3302.03, not in the bill. 
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achievement assessment scores in the resident district's data when determining the 

district's report card rating. 

Time limit on state funding obligation 

(R.C. 3328.03) 

Under the Ohio Constitution, the maximum length of time for which a General 

Assembly may make an appropriation is two years, so as not to bind future General 

Assemblies.89  In accordance with this constitutional provision, the bill prohibits any 

agreement or contract entered into under the bill's provisions, such as a contract 

between the State Board of Education and the operator of a boarding school, from 

creating a state funding obligation for more than two years.  However, a financial 

obligation may be reauthorized every two years by a new General Assembly. 

Funding 

(R.C. 3328.31 to 3328.34) 

The bill requires each boarding school to report to the Department of Education 

(1) the total number of students enrolled, (2) the number of students enrolled in the 

school who are receiving special education and related services under an IEP, (3) the 

school district in which students enrolled in the boarding school are entitled to attend, 

and (4) any additional information the Department determines necessary to make 

payments to the school. 

For each student enrolled in a boarding school established under the bill, the 

Department of Education must pay the sum of the following to the school: 

(1)  An amount equal to 85% of the "operating expenditure per pupil" of the 

student's resident school district.  As defined by the bill, the "operating expenditure per 

pupil" is the "total amount of state payments and other nonfederal revenue spent by the 

district for operating expenses during the previous fiscal year," divided by the district's 

formula ADM (average daily membership) for that fiscal year.  In other words, it is the 

per-pupil amount of state and district funds (and, probably, private funds, if any) spent 

for district operations in the prior fiscal year.  This amount is deducted from the 

resident district's state aid account, after crediting the account with the amount of state 

funds generated by the student.  However, the total amount of state funds deducted for 

the student may be more than the credited amount, since the deduction also accounts 

for per-pupil district funds spent on operating expenses.  (The school district must 

                                                 
89 Article II, Section 22. 
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count students who are entitled to attend that district, but are enrolled in the boarding 

school, in the district's ADM and in the district's category one through six special 

education ADM.  In turn, the Department of Education must count those students in the 

district's formula ADM.) 

(2)  A "per-pupil boarding amount," which is set at $25,000 for the first fiscal 

year a school could be established under the bill and is adjusted for inflation each 

subsequent fiscal year.  This amount is not deducted from the resident district's state 

aid account, but instead is paid directly from the Department's appropriations. 

Use of federal funds to offset boarding amount 

(R.C. 3328.34(D)) 

In any fiscal year in which the boarding school's operator receives federal funds 

to support the school's operations, the amount of those federal funds must be deducted 

from the total per-pupil boarding amount paid to the school by the Department of 

Education.  Similarly, if the Department receives federal funds to support the school's 

operations, the Department must use those funds first to cover the total per-pupil 

boarding amount owed to the school in the applicable fiscal year.  In both cases, any 

remaining boarding amount owed to the school after accounting for the federal funds 

must be paid from the Department's state appropriations.  These provisions essentially 

lower the state's funding obligation in fiscal years when the Department or the school's 

operator acquires federal funds for support of the school. 

If federal funds received by the operator or the Department are used to offset the 

state funds paid to cover the total per-pupil boarding amount, the bill directs the 

Department to comply with all requirements upon which acceptance of the federal 

funds is conditioned, including any requirements set forth in the funding application 

and, to the extent sufficient state funds are appropriated to the Department, any 

requirements related to "maintenance of effort" in expenditures.  If the Department 

applies for the federal funds, it would already be subject to any requirements tied to the 

funds' acceptance under the federal law authorizing the grant.  If the operator applies 

for the federal funds on its own behalf, it is likely that the related requirements would 

apply to the operator, as the recipient, rather than to the Department.  Therefore, it is 

not clear whether the bill's language would impose any additional requirements on the 

Department.90 

                                                 
90 Some federal grant programs require that the federal funds be used to supplement, rather than 

supplant, state funding.  Under the bill, federal funds would be used to offset the total per-pupil boarding 

amount that must be paid from state appropriations to a boarding school established under the bill.  Since 

the state's obligation to pay the boarding amount must be met wholly from state funds in any fiscal year 
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Statements associated with boarding payment 

(R.C. 3328.34(C)) 

Within its provisions prescribing the state per-pupil boarding payment, the bill 

contains a series of statements: 

(a)  Authorizing the State Board of Education to "accept funds from federal and 

state noneducation support services programs for the purpose of funding" the payment; 

(b)  Directing the State Board, "notwithstanding any other provision of the 

Revised Code . . . [to] coordinate and streamline any noneducation program 

requirements in order to eliminate redundant or conflicting requirements, licensing 

provisions, and oversight by government programs or agencies"; and 

(c)  Directing "applicable regulatory entities . . . to the maximum extent possible, 

[to] use independent reports and financial audits provided by the operator and 

coordinated by the Department of Education to eliminate or reduce contract and 

administrative reviews." 

The meaning and effect of these statements are not clear.  A possible 

interpretation might be that the bill is directing state agencies to streamline 

noneducation programs and regulations in order to generate state savings that could be 

used to finance the state per-pupil boarding payment.  A narrower interpretation might 

be that the bill is empowering the State Board of Education to coordinate the activities 

of other regulatory agencies that would have authority over the boarding school in 

order to facilitate the school's efficiency.  But neither interpretation may be certain. 

Title I funds 

(R.C. 3328.35) 

To the extent permitted by federal law, the Department of Education must 

include a boarding school established under the bill in its annual allocation of federal 

Title I funds.  Title I, which is the central program of the Elementary and Secondary 

Education Act of 1965, provides funds for the educational needs of low-income and 

other at-risk students. 

                                                                                                                                                             
that federal funds are not available, the use of federal funds to offset that amount in other fiscal years 

might violate a prohibition on supplanting state funds, if such a prohibition were part of the terms of the 

federal grant. 
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Other funds 

(R.C. 3328.36) 

The bill specifies that a boarding school established under the bill is considered a 

school district for the purpose of applying for state or federal grants available to 

districts or public schools.  The school or its operator also may apply to private entities 

for funding. 

College-Preparatory Boarding School Facilities Program 

(R.C. 3318.60) 

The bill creates the College-Preparatory Boarding School Facilities Program.  

Under this Program, the Ohio School Facilities Commission is to provide assistance for 

the acquisition of classroom facilities to the boards of trustees of schools authorized 

under the bill.  To be eligible for the assistance, a board of trustees must secure at least 

$20 million of private money to satisfy its share of facilities acquisition.  Acquisition of 

residential facilities and any other facilities other than classroom facilities must be 

funded by the board of trustees through private means. 

The acquisition of classroom facilities with assistance provided by the Program is 

not subject to the Classroom Facilities Assistance Program requirements of current 

law.91 The bill specifies that the lease payments made by the boarding schools are to be 

deposited into the existing Common Schools Capital Facilities Bond Service Fund.92 

The Commission is to adopt rules necessary for the implementation and 

administration of the Program not later than 90 days after the effective date of this 

portion of the bill. 

IV.  Scholarship Programs 

Educational Choice scholarship 

(R.C. 3310.02 and 3310.03; Section 733.10) 

The bill increases the number of Educational Choice scholarships that may be 

awarded annually from 14,000 to 30,000 for the 2011-2012 school year and 60,000 

                                                 
91 R.C. 3318.01 to 3318.20. 

92 Money in this fund is used for payment of debt service on obligations issued by the Ohio School 

Facilities Commission to pay the costs of capital facilities for a system of common schools throughout the 

state (R.C. 151.03). 
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thereafter.  Since the application period for Ed Choice scholarships for the 2011-2012 

school year ends April 15, 2011,93 the bill directs the Department of Education to hold a 

second, 45-day application period for 2011-2012 to award the 16,000 new scholarships 

authorized for that year.  The second application period begins on the immediate 

effective date of the bill and ends on the first business day that is at least 45 days after 

that date. 

The bill requires the Department to mail a notice to each person who applied for 

a scholarship during the first application period but did not receive a scholarship, 

announcing the second application period, the opportunity to reapply, and the 

application deadline.  The Department must also post prominently on its web site a list 

of school district-operated buildings whose students newly qualify for Ed Choice 

scholarships under the bill (see "New eligibility" below). 

Students who are already admitted to a chartered nonpublic school for the 2011-

2012 school year may receive an Ed Choice scholarship for that year if (1) a timely 

application was submitted on the student's behalf during the first application period for 

2011-2012, (2) the student was denied a scholarship solely because the number of 

applications exceeded the number of available scholarships, and (3) the student was 

either enrolled through the last day of classes for the 2010-2011 school year in the 

district school or community school indicated on the student's first application or is 

eligible to enroll in kindergarten for the 2011-2012 school year and was not enrolled in 

kindergarten in a nonpublic school in 2010-2011. 

New eligibility 

The bill qualifies students whose resident district school building was ranked, in 

at least two of the three most recent published ratings of school buildings, in the lowest 

10% of school buildings according to the performance index scores reported under 

current law.  (The performance index score is a weighted measure of up to 120 points 

designed to show improvement over time on the state achievement assessments by 

students scoring at all levels.)  The school building cannot have been declared excellent 

or effective in the most recent published ratings.  It may not be clear whether "the 

lowest 10% of school buildings" means the lowest 10% of all public school buildings – 

including district-operated schools, community schools, and STEM school – or only the 

lowest 10% of district-operated schools. 

To be eligible to apply, a student must be either (1) enrolled in a qualifying 

school building, (2) enrolled in a community school but would otherwise be assigned to 

                                                 
93 www.education.ohio.gov, Click on "School Options." Click on "EdChoice Scholarship Program." Click 

on "Program Timeline." 
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a qualifying school building, (3) enrolled in a school building operated by the student's 

resident district or in a community school and otherwise would be assigned to a 

qualifying school building in the school year for which the scholarship is sought ("look 

ahead" eligibility), or (4) eligible to enroll in kindergarten in the school year for which 

the scholarship is sought in a qualifying school building. 

However, students who meet the eligibility standards under current law (see 

"Background" below) have priority for available scholarships over students newly 

qualified under the bill.  Thus, in years when applications exceed the number of 

available scholarships, priority for awarding scholarships is as follows: 

First, to eligible students who received them in the previous school year; 

Second, to students eligible because their district school building has been in 

academic watch or emergency for at least two out of three years and whose family 

incomes are at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines; 

Third, to all other students eligible because their district school building has been 

in academic watch or emergency for at least two out of three years; 

Fourth, to students made eligible under the bill whose district school has been 

ranked in the lowest 10% of school buildings based on performance index score for at 

least two out of three years and whose family incomes are at or below 200% of the 

federal poverty guidelines; and 

Finally, to all other students made eligible under the bill whose district school 

has been ranked in the lowest 10% of school buildings based on performance index 

score for at least two out of three years. 

If the number of applicants in any of the categories listed above exceeds the 

amount of available scholarships, scholarships must be awarded on the basis of a 

lottery. 

Deductions 

(R.C. 3310.08) 

Under current law, for each Ed Choice scholarship awarded, the Department 

deducts $5,200 from the state aid account of the student's resident school district.  The 

amount of the scholarship, however, is only the lesser of the tuition charged by the 

chartered nonpublic school the student attends with the scholarship or $4,250, for a 

student in grades K to 8, or $5,000, for a student in grades 9 to 12.   The remainder goes 

to defray some of the state's cost for scholarships under the Cleveland Scholarship 
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Program.  The bill reduces the amount of each Ed Choice deduction to just the amount 

of the scholarship. 

Background 

Under current law, the Educational Choice Scholarship Pilot Program provides 

up to 14,000 scholarships each year to students in lower performing public schools to 

pay tuition at chartered nonpublic schools. The Ed Choice program is separate from the 

scholarship program that serves students in the Cleveland Municipal School District.  

To finance Ed Choice scholarships (and partially to fund scholarships in the Cleveland 

program), Ed Choice recipients are counted in the enrollments of their resident school 

districts, and state funds are then deducted from the districtsʹ state funding accounts. 

To be eligible for an Ed Choice scholarship, a student must meet one of the 

following conditions when the student applies for a scholarship: 

(1)  The student is enrolled in the studentʹs resident school district in a school 

that (a) has been declared in at least two of three most recent ratings to be in academic 

watch or academic emergency and (b) has not been declared excellent or effective in the 

most recent published ratings; 

(2)  The student is eligible to enroll in kindergarten in the school year for which a 

scholarship is sought and otherwise would be assigned to a school described in (1) 

above; 

(3)  The student is enrolled in a community school but otherwise would be 

assigned to a school described in (1) above; 

(4)  The student is enrolled in a school operated by the studentʹs resident district 

or in a community school and otherwise would be assigned to an eligible school 

building in the year for which the scholarship is sought. This ʺlook‐aheadʺ provision 

addresses a situation in which the school a student currently attends does not qualify 

for scholarships, but the student will be assigned to a different school in the next school 

year; or 

(5)  The student is eligible to enroll in kindergarten in the school year for which a 

scholarship was sought, or was enrolled in a community school, and the studentʹs 

resident school district (a) has an intradistrict open enrollment policy that does not 

assign students in kindergarten or the community school studentʹs grade level to a 

particular school, (b) has been declared in at least two of the three most recent ratings to 

be in academic emergency, and (c) was not declared excellent or effective in the most 

recent published ratings.  The bill does not affect these qualifications and gives students 
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who qualify under current law priority over those who qualify under the new category 

of students created by the bill. 

Cleveland Scholarship Program 

(R.C. 3313.975, 3313.976, 3313.978, and 3313.979; conforming change in R.C. 3310.05) 

The bill allows students to receive the Cleveland Scholarship for the first time as 

a high school student.  Under current law, initial scholarships under the program are 

awarded only to students in grades K through 8; that is, students must have received a 

scholarship in elementary school to receive one in high school. 

The bill also increases the maximum amounts of the Cleveland Scholarship to 

equal the maximum amounts allowed for Educational Choice Scholarships.  For grades 

K through 8, the maximum amount is $4,250, up from $3,450 under current law.  For 

grades 9 through 12, the maximum amount is $5,000, up from $3,450 under current law.  

The new maximums apply beginning in fiscal year 2012. 

Further, the bill removes the current stipulation limiting the actual scholarship 

payment to 90% (for low-income families) or 75% (for other families) of the scholarship 

amount.  As a result, eligible students may receive up to the maximum amount in its 

entirety to use towards tuition. 

In a conforming change, the bill adjusts the parameters by which a private school 

may or may not charge scholarship students beyond the scholarship amount.  Under 

the bill, for students in grades K through 8 with family incomes at or below 200% of the 

federal poverty guidelines, private schools must agree not to charge any tuition in 

excess of the scholarship amount.  For students in grades K through 8 with family 

incomes above 200% whose scholarship amounts are less than the actual tuition charge 

of the school, and for high school students, private schools must agree not to charge 

more than the difference between the actual tuition charge of the school and the 

scholarship amount. 

In the current law, a student is eligible for a scholarship of up to either 90% or 

75% of the maximum award amount, depending upon family income.  The remaining 

10% or 25%, respectively, is required to be provided by "a political subdivision, a 

private nonprofit or for profit entity, or another person."94  A school cannot charge any 

tuition to "low-income families" in excess of 10% of the scholarship amount for students 

in grades K through 8 who receive the 90% amount.  For elementary students who 

receive the 75% amount, and for high school students, current law permits a private 

                                                 
94 R.C. 3313.978(C)(4). 
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school to charge the difference between the school's actual tuition charge and the 

student's scholarship amount. 

Background 

The Cleveland Scholarship Pilot Program provides scholarships to attend 

alternative schools, including private schools, and tutorial assistance grants to certain 

students who reside in any school district that is or has been under a federal court order 

requiring supervision and operational management of the district by the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction.  Currently, only the Cleveland Municipal School 

District meets this criterion.  The program has been authorized since 1995.  It is financed 

partially with state funds and partially with an earmark of Cleveland's state payments. 

Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program 

(R.C. 3310.51 to 3310.64 and 3323.052; Sections 269.60.30 and 269.60.31) 

Background on the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA) 

Under the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), children 

identified as disabled are entitled to a "free appropriate public education" that provides 

special education and related services to enable them to benefit from educational 

instruction.95  Related services include transportation and support services such as 

speech-language pathology and audiology services, psychological services, physical 

and occupational therapy, counseling services, and diagnostic medical services.  Under 

both the IDEA and state law, an "individualized education program" (IEP) must be 

developed for each child identified as disabled.  The IEP specifies the services to which 

the child is entitled and are therefore guaranteed by law.  It is developed by a team 

including representatives of the child's resident school district (or community school or 

STEM school) and the child's parent or the parent's counsel.96  A child's school district or 

school may provide the services specified in the IEP, or it may enter into an agreement 

with another public or private entity to provide those services. 

The bill 

The bill establishes the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program to 

provide scholarships for children with disabilities to attend special education programs 

other than those offered by their school districts.  The program applies to any identified 

disabled child in grades K through 12.  A scholarship may be used to pay the expenses 

                                                 
95 See 20 U.S.C. 1400 et seq. 

96 See 20 U.S.C. 1414 and R.C. 3323.011, not in the bill. 
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of a public or private provider of special education programs for implementation of the 

child's IEP and other services that are not in the IEP but are associated with educating 

the child.  The bill also permits the "eligible applicant" (generally the child's parent, see 

below) and the provider to agree to alter the services provided to the child.97 

While a child is using a scholarship, the school district in which the child would 

otherwise be enrolled has no obligation to provide the child with a free appropriate 

public education.  But the bill also specifies that if that district has agreed to provide 

some services for the child, or if the district is required by separate law to provide some 

services, including transportation services, the district may not discontinue them 

pending completion of any administrative proceedings regarding those services.  (See 

"Continuation of some school district services" below.)  The district also has a 

continuing obligation to develop the child's IEP.98 

Eligibility 

(R.C. 3310.51(C), (F), and (I), 3310.61, and 3310.62) 

"Qualified special education child" 

Under the bill, a child is eligible, or "qualified," for a scholarship if the child is 

from 5 to 21 years old and the child's resident school district has identified the child as 

disabled and developed an IEP for the child.  In addition, the child must either (1) have 

been enrolled in the district in which the child is entitled to attend school in any grade 

from K through 12 in the school year prior to the year in which the scholarship would 

first be used or (2) be eligible to enroll for services from that district in the school year in 

which the scholarship would first be used.  The bill explicitly specifies that a child 

attending a public special education program under an agreement between the child's 

school district and the program provider, or a child attending a community school, may 

apply for a scholarship. 

But, under the bill, a community school is not considered a child's school district 

of residence.  Therefore, any IEP developed by the community school would not qualify 

the child to receive a scholarship.  It is not clear under the bill whether a community 

school student would need to enroll in a district school to receive a new district-

developed IEP prior to receiving a scholarship. 

Moreover, a child is not eligible for a scholarship in any school year in which the 

child has been awarded a scholarship under the Autism Scholarship Program or the Ed 

                                                 
97 R.C. 3310.52. 

98 R.C. 3310.53 and 3310.62(C). 
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Choice Scholarship program.  (See "Comparison with the Autism Scholarship 

Program" below.) 

The bill also specifies that a child must remain in compliance with the state's 

Compulsory Attendance Law.  Under that law, the parent of a child who resides in the 

state who is between 6 and 18 years of age must attend a public or private school that 

meets the minimum education standards of the State Board of Education unless the 

student is excused from attendance for home instruction.  A child can face juvenile 

sanctions and a child's parent can face criminal sanctions violations of that law.99 

A child is not eligible for a scholarship for the first time while the child's IEP is 

being developed or while any administrative or judicial proceedings regarding the 

content of that IEP are pending.  On the other hand, the bill also specifies that, in the 

case of a child for whom a scholarship already has been awarded, development of 

subsequent IEPs and the prosecuting of administrative or judicial mediation or 

proceedings with respect to any of those subsequent IEPs do not affect continued 

eligibility for scholarship payments.  In other words, a scholarship will not be awarded 

and paid until the child's IEP is in place and it is clear that there are no challenges to 

that IEP.  But future challenges to subsequent IEPs will not disqualify the child for a 

scholarship. 

"Eligible applicant" 

The bill permits the following individuals to apply for and accept a scholarship 

for a qualified special education child: 

(1)  The child's custodial natural or adoptive parent or parents.  The bill 

specifically excludes a parent whose custodial rights have been terminated. 

(2)  The child's guardian; 

(3)  The child's custodian other than the parent; 

(4)  The child's grandparent if the grandparent is an attorney-in-fact under a 

power of attorney or if the grandparent has executed a caregiver affidavit (both under 

continuing law); 

(5)  The child's "surrogate parent" appointed under state and federal special 

education law; or 

                                                 
99 See R.C. Chapter 3321. 
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(6)  The child, if the child does not have a custodian or guardian and is at least 18 

years old. 

Annual limit on the number of scholarships 

(R.C. 3310.52(B)) 

The bill limits the number of scholarships that may be awarded each year under 

the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program to not more than 5% of the number 

of identified disabled students residing in the state during the previous fiscal year. 

Alternative providers of special education programs 

(R.C. 3310.51(A), 3310.58, and 3310.59) 

Scholarships may be used to pay for special education programs provided by 

alternative public providers or by private entities registered with the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction. 

Alternative public providers 

An alternative public provider must be either (1) a school district other than the 

district obligated to educate the disabled child (or the child's resident school district, if 

different) or (2) another public entity that agrees to enroll the child and implement the 

child's IEP.  In addition, the alternative public provider must be an entity to which the 

eligible applicant, rather than a school district or other public entity, owes fees for the 

services provided to the child.  In other words, an eligible applicant cannot use a 

scholarship to enroll a child in a school district or other public entity to which the 

child's school district would send the child for special education services because, in 

that case, the child's district would be required to pay the receiving district or entity for 

the services provided to the child.  Nor may an eligible applicant use a scholarship to 

enroll the child in a community school because the community school, as a public 

school, would receive state funds to educate the child even without the scholarship.  

The eligible applicant must use the scholarship to pay for special education and related 

services provided by a school district or public entity from which the eligible applicant 

otherwise would not receive those services for the child free of charge. 

Registered private providers 

Nonpublic schools and other private entities may accept scholarship children 

under the bill, but first they must register with the Superintendent of Public Instruction.  

To be registered by the Superintendent, the private school or entity must meet the 

following requirements: 
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(1)  It must comply with the antidiscrimination provisions of the federal Civil 

Rights Act of 1964,100 which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national 

origin in the administration of benefits assisted with federal funds.  The bill specifies 

that this antidiscrimination statement applies to a registered private provider regardless 

of whether the provider receives federal financial assistance.  A student's scholarship 

under the program is not funded with federal money. 

(2)  It agrees to conduct criminal records checks of applicants for employment 

and contractors, if it is not already required to do so pursuant to law;101 

(3)  Its educational program is approved by the Department of Education; 

(4)  Its teaching and nonteaching staff, including those employed by a 

subcontractor, must hold credentials determined by the State Board of Education to be 

appropriate for the qualified special education children enrolled in its program; 

(5)  It meets applicable health and safety standards; 

(6)  It agrees to retain any documentation required by the Department; 

(7)  It agrees to provide to the child's resident school district a record of the 

implementation of the child's IEP, including evaluation of the child's progress; and 

(8)  It agrees that if it declines to enroll a particular child under the program, it 

will notify the eligible applicant in writing of its reasons for declining to enroll that 

child. 

If the Superintendent of Public Instruction determines that a private school or 

entity no longer meets these criteria, the Superintendent must revoke its registration.  

The school or entity must be allowed a hearing prior to revocation. 

Scholarship amount 

(R.C. 3310.51(E) and 3310.56) 

Each Special Needs scholarship is worth the smallest of: 

(1)  $20,000; 

(2)  The total fees charged by the provider; or  

                                                 
100  42 U.S.C. 2000d. 

101 R.C. 109.57, 109.572, 3319.39, 3319.391, and 3319.392 (last two not in the bill). 
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(3)  A maximum amount based on the per pupil amount that would have been 

computed for payment to a school district for the student under the former Building 

Blocks Model school funding system.  That amount is the sum of: 

(a)  The "formula amount," which for FY 2012 and 2013 under the bill is $5,653; 

plus  

(b)  The per pupil base funding supplements as they were calculated for FY 2009 

($50.90); plus  

(c)  A weighted special education amount, equal to the formula amount 

multiplied by one of the following weights: 

 0.2892, for a student with a category one disability (speech and language 

disabled only); 

 0.3691, for a student with a category two disability (specific learning 

disabled, developmentally disabled, or other health impaired-minor); 

 1.7695, for a student with a category three disability (vision impaired, 

hearing disabled, or severe behavior disabled); 

 2.3646, for a student with a category four disability (orthopedically 

disabled or other health impaired-major); 

 3.1129, for a student with a category five disability (multiple disabilities); 

or  

 4.7342, for a student with a category six disability (autism, traumatic brain 

injuries, or both visually and hearing impaired). 

Before applying these multiples, the bill specifies that they must be adjusted by 

multiplying them by 0.80 (in other words, 80% of the prescribed weight). 

The prescribed weights and categories are the same ones used under the former 

Building Blocks Model.  Under current law and the bill, for all other funding purposes, 

the special education weights are multiplied by 90%, instead of 80%.  Elsewhere, the bill 

also specifies that special education payments for community school and STEM school 

students for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 be based on the new categories but on the former 

weights.  (See "Special education categories and weights" and "Community school 

and STEM school payments" above.) 
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Payment of scholarships 

(R.C. 3310.54, 3310.55, 3310.57, and 3317.03(A), (B), and (F)(5)) 

Like other current scholarship programs, the Department of Education must 

make periodic payments throughout the school year to the eligible applicant for 

services provided to a qualified special education child, until the full amount of the 

scholarship has been paid.  The amount of the scholarship is deducted from the state 

aid account of the school district in which the child is entitled to attend school.  That 

district is authorized to count the child in its formula ADM and special education ADM.  

If the child is not included in the formula ADM of that district, the Department must 

adjust the district's ADM to include the child and recalculate the district's state aid 

payments for the entire fiscal year accordingly. 

The scholarship may be used only to pay fees charged by the alternative special 

education program for implementation of the child's IEP and other services agreed to 

by the provider and the eligible applicant that are not in the IEP but are associated with 

educating the child.  The Department must prorate a child's scholarship amount if the 

child withdraws from the alternative program before the end of the school year. 

Application deadlines 

(R.C. 3310.52(C)) 

In order to qualify for a scholarship, either for the first time or to renew a 

scholarship an eligible applicant must submit an application in the manner prescribed 

by the Department of Education and notify the child's school district.  The bill 

prescribes April 15 as the application deadline for academic terms that begin between 

July 1 and December 31 (the first half of a school year), and November 15 for academic 

terms that begin between January 1 and June 30 (the second half of a school year). 

Continuation of some school district services 

(R.C. 3310.60 and 3310.62(C)) 

The bill provides that, if the resident school district of a child awarded a 

scholarship has agreed to provide some services for the child or, if the district is 

required by law to provide some services for the child, including transportation 

services, the district may not discontinue the services pending completion of any 

administrative proceedings regarding those services.   It also specifies that the 

prosecuting, by the eligible applicant on behalf of the child, of administrative 

proceedings regarding those services does not affect the applicant's and the child's 

continued eligibility for scholarship payments. 
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Written notice of rights and informed consent 

(R.C. 3310.53(C) and 3323.052) 

The bill requires the Department of Education to develop, within 60 days after 

the bill's effective date, and subsequently to revise as necessary, a document that 

compares a parent's and child's rights under state and federal special education law 

with their rights under the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program, including 

the scholarship program's statutory application deadlines (see above).  It also requires 

the Department and each school district to distribute the document to parents of 

disabled children as a part of, appended to, or in conjunction with the procedural 

safeguards notice required under federal law.  It then specifies that an eligible 

applicant's receipt of the comparison document, as acknowledged in a format 

prescribed by the Department, constitutes notice that the eligible applicant has been 

informed of those rights.  It further provides that acceptance of a scholarship constitutes 

the eligible applicant's informed consent to the provisions of the scholarship program. 

Background 

Federal special education law requires that the parents of disabled children be 

given notice of the procedural safeguards available to them regarding their children's 

special education and related services.  Specifically, both the state and each school 

district are obligated to provide a "full explanation" of those safeguards "written in the 

native language of the parents (unless it clearly is not feasible to do so) and written in 

an easily understandable manner."102   That document must be provided once each year 

and upon referral or request for the child's evaluation, upon the first filing of an 

administrative complaint, or upon parental request.  The federal statute and rules 

provide an extensive list of items that must be included in the document. 

In compliance with this federal requirement, the Ohio Department of Education 

has developed a document entitled "Whose IDEA is This? A Resource Guide for 

Parents," written in English, Spanish, and French.  School districts must distribute it to 

parents in accordance with the law, and it also is available on the Department's web 

site.103 

                                                 
102 20 U.S.C. 1415(d) and 34 C.F.R. 300.503 and 300.504. 

103 On the Department's home page (http://www.ode.state.oh.us), click on "Learning Supports," then on 

"Students with Disabilities," then on "Resources and Support," and finally on "Whose IDEA is this?" 
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Provider profile 

(R.C. 3310.521) 

Each alternative public provider and each registered private provider that enrolls 

a child under the program must submit a written "profile" of the provider's services to 

the eligible applicant.  The profile must be in a form prescribed by the Department of 

Education and must contain a description of the methods of instruction that will be 

used in providing services to the child and the qualifications of teachers, instructors, 

and other persons who will provide those services.  As a condition of receiving 

scholarship payments under the program, an eligible applicant must attest, in a form 

and manner prescribed by the Department, to having received the profile. 

Transportation for scholarship students 

(R.C. 3310.60) 

Under the bill, scholarship students are entitled to transportation to and from the 

alternative special education programs they attend in the same manner as disabled 

students attending nonpublic schools. 

Continuing law requires school districts to provide transportation to nonpublic 

school students in grades K to 8 who reside in the district and who live more than two 

miles from the school they attend.  Districts may, but are not required to, transport high 

school students to and from their nonpublic schools.  A district, however, is not 

required to transport students of any age to and from a nonpublic school if the direct 

travel time by school bus, from the district school the student would otherwise attend to 

the nonpublic school, is more than 30 minutes.  When transportation by the district is 

impractical, the district may offer payment to a student's parent instead of providing 

the transportation.  On the other hand, in the case of some special education students, 

transportation might be mandated by their IEPs.104 

Access to data verification codes; privacy of records 

(R.C. 3301.0714(D) and 3310.63) 

As is the case under current law for the Ed Choice, Cleveland, and Autism 

scholarship programs, the bill permits the Department of Education to request the data 

verification codes of students applying for Jon Peterson Special Needs scholarships 

from (1) those students' resident school districts, (2) a community school in which a 

student is enrolled, or (3) the independent contractor hired by the Department to create 

                                                 
104 See R.C. 3327.01. 
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and maintain the codes.  This authority, which is an exception to the general prohibition 

against the Department's having access to data verification codes when they could be 

matched with personally identifiable student data, is limited solely to administering the 

scholarship programs.  School districts and community schools must provide a 

student's data verification code to the Department or the student's parent, upon request, 

in a manner specified by the Department.  If a student will be entering kindergarten and 

has not yet been assigned a data verification code, the resident school district must 

assign a code to the student prior to submission.  If the district does not assign the code 

by a date specified by the Department, the Department must assign the code.  Each 

year, the Department must provide school districts with the name and data verification 

code of each scholarship student living in the district who has been assigned a code by 

the Department. 

Neither the Department nor a provider may release a student's data verification 

code to any person, unless such release is otherwise authorized by law. The bill 

specifies that materials containing both a student's name or other personally identifiable 

data and the student's data verification code are not public records.  Other documents 

relative to the scholarship program that are held by the Department are public records, 

but may be released only in accordance with state and federal privacy laws. 

State Board rules 

(R.C. 3310.64; Section 267.60.30) 

The State Board of Education must adopt rules for the Jon Peterson Special 

Needs Scholarship Program in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act so 

that they are in effect not later than 120 days after the bill's effective date.  Those rules 

must include application procedures and standards and procedures for the registration 

of private providers of special education programs. 

Formative evaluation 

(Section 267.60.31) 

The bill requires the Department of Education to conduct a "formative 

evaluation" of the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program and to report its 

findings to the General Assembly by December 31, 2014.  In doing so, the Department is 

required to the extent possible to gather comments from parents who have been 

awarded scholarships under the program, school district officials, representatives of 

registered private providers, educators, and representatives of educational 

organizations.  The Department also is required to use quantitative and qualitative 

analyses in conducting its evaluation.  The study must include an assessment of the 

level of the participating student's and parent's satisfaction with the program and the 
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fiscal impact to the state and resident school districts.  The bill also authorizes the 

Department to contract with one or more qualified researchers who have previous 

experience evaluating school choice programs to conduct the study and to accept grants 

to assist in funding the study. 

Comparison with Autism Scholarship Program 

The Autism Scholarship Program, under current law, pays scholarships to the 

parents of certain autistic children in grades pre-kindergarten to 12.105  The bill's proposed 

Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship Program contains many of the same concepts of 

the smaller Autism Scholarship Program and applies those concepts to children of all 

categories of disability.  The bill's larger program does not apply to pre-kindergarten 

students. 

The bill does not affect the Autism Scholarship Program.  In fact, neither 

program changes or conflicts with the provisions of the other, and it appears that the 

two programs could coexist.  However, the bill excludes a student from simultaneously 

participating in both programs.  Nevertheless, children with autism who are in grades 

K through 12 would be eligible for and their parents could choose either of the two 

programs.  For example, if a parent of a child with autism could not participate in the 

new program because its 5% cap had been reached, the parent likely could turn to the 

Autism Scholarship Program, which has no cap.  On the other hand, the due process 

provisions between the two programs are somewhat different.  Under the Autism 

Scholarship Program, a parent may not be awarded a scholarship if there is any 

pending dispute over the child's IEP.  Under the Jon Peterson Special Needs Scholarship 

Program, the prohibition on award and payment of a scholarship applies only until the 

child's first IEP is developed. 

Autism Scholarship Program 

(R.C. 3310.41) 

The Autism Scholarship Program pays scholarships of up to $20,000 to the 

parents of children with autism in grades pre-kindergarten to 12 to use to pay tuition at 

alternative public or private providers.  The scholarship must be used to implement a 

child's individualized education program in lieu of receiving those services from the 

child's resident school district.  Those services for a child with autism may frequently 

include "related services," such as motor skill therapy or other developmental services.  

The bill requires that the services provided under the program must "include an 

educational component." 

                                                 
105 R.C. 3310.41. 
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V.  Educational Service Centers (ESCs) 

ESC agreements 

(R.C. 3311.05, 3313.843, 3313.845, and 3319.19; repealed R.C. 3311.059) 

Background 

Educational service centers (ESCs) are regional public entities that offer a broad 

spectrum of services, including curriculum development, professional development, 

purchasing, publishing, human resources, special education services, and counseling 

services, to school districts and community schools in their regions.  Formerly known as 

"county school districts," ESCs are statutorily required to provide some administrative 

oversight and other services to all "local" school districts within their service areas.  In 

addition, ESCs provide services to "city" and "exempted village" school districts that 

enter into agreements for those services.  Currently, this authorization is generally 

limited to city and exempted village districts with total student populations of less than 

13,000 students.  City and exempted village districts that enter into agreements with 

ESCs on these terms are known as "client districts."  For these services, ESCs are eligible 

to receive per pupil state and school district payments.  ESCs also provide other 

services to all school districts and community schools on a fee-for-service basis.  (See 

also "ESC payments" below.) 

Each ESC is under the oversight of its own elected governing board.  The 

territory from which the members of an ESC's governing board are elected is the 

combined territory of the "local" school districts in the county or counties of the ESC's 

service area.  It does not include the territory of other districts the ESC might serve. 

Currently, there are 56 ESCs each serving districts in one or more counties. 

Required agreements 

The bill requires every school district with a student count of 16,000 or less to 

enter into an agreement for services with an ESC for which it may receive the statutory 

per pupil payments.  This requirement applies to all city, exempted village, and local 

school districts.  (Under current law, not affected by the bill, local school districts, 

regardless of size, are already entitled to ESC services.)  As noted above, current law 

also permits, but does not require, city and exempted village districts with less than 

13,000 students to arrange for those services.  The bill, thus, could significantly increase 

the number of students served by an ESC and for whom it may receive state and district 

payments.  It also requires city and exempted village school districts that are not 

currently receiving or paying for ESC services to do so if they have 16,000 or fewer 

students.  It also appears that a district, regardless of whether it is a "city," "exempted 
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village," or "local" school district, is free to enter in to an agreement with any ESC in the 

state and is not bound by any territorial limitation. 

For purposes of determining whether a district must enter into an agreement, the 

bill specifies that a district's student count is its "total student count" as defined under 

continuing law.  That count is the district's "average number of students enrolled during 

the first full school week of October" in grades K to 12, including students enrolled in a 

joint vocational or cooperative education district that week, and the total number of 

preschool children with disabilities enrolled on December 1.106 

Permissive agreements 

The bill also permits all school districts with student counts greater than 16,000 

to enter into agreements for services.  Generally, these are large urban "city" school 

districts, but there are a few "local" school districts in fast-growing, unincorporated 

areas that have student counts approaching or exceeding 16,000.  Since the bill permits, 

rather than requires, districts with such student counts to arrange for ESC services, it is 

not clear whether a qualifying "local" school district is free to not receive and not pay for 

ESC services.  Nor does the bill specify whether the supervision of such a "local" school 

district by an ESC still would be required.  That is, it is not clear whether the bill is 

intended to have the effect of allowing larger "local" school districts to "opt out" of ESC 

services altogether, or to transfer their territory to another ESC. 

Termination of agreements 

The bill permits any district to terminate its agreement with its current ESC by 

notifying the ESC governing board by January 1, 2012, or by January 1 of any odd-

numbered year thereafter.  The termination is effective on the following June 30.  The 

bill also specifies that, if a district board fails to notify an ESC of its intent to terminate 

an agreement by January 1 of an odd-numbered year, the district's agreement is 

impliedly renewed for the next two school years. 

Repeal of law on "local" district severance from one ESC and annexation to 
another 

Law enacted in 2003 permits a "local" school district to sever its territory from its 

current ESC and annex its territory to an adjacent ESC.  The bill repeals the current 

provision apparently in favor of biennial ESC agreements. 

This repealed law specifies that a severance and annexation action is subject to 

both approval of the State Board of Education and referendum by petition of the 

                                                 
106 R.C. 3301.011, not in the bill. 
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district's voters.  The action may not be effective sooner than one year after the first day 

of July that follows the later of (1) the date the State Board approves the action or (2) the 

date voters approve the action at a referendum election, if one is held.  If a district 

severs from its ESC and annexes to another under this provision, it may not do so again 

for at least five years after the effective date of the prior action.107 

Impact of "local" school district changes on an ESC's electoral territory 

As noted above, the electoral territory of an ESC is the combined territory of the 

"local" school districts in the county or counties of the ESC's service area.108  The bill 

does not alter that law.  Moreover, election of ESC board members, just like that of 

school district board members, is held only in odd-numbered years.109  If the bill is 

intended to allow "local" districts greater leeway to switch ESCs, their biennial decisions 

to terminate their agreements could frequently impact the electoral territory of ESCs.  

That is, as an ESC loses or gains local districts, its territory will change.  Thus, one or 

more of its governing board members, who live in a local district that no longer is 

served by the ESC, will no longer be qualified to hold that office.  Also, the bill places no 

geographical limitation on the selection of an ESC by a local district.  It may be possible, 

therefore, that an ESC's territory could become noncontiguous, with its segments 

separated by some distance.  It is also possible that the limits on an ESC's territory 

prescribed in current law, not changed by the bill, and the bill's repeal of a local 

district's specific authority to change its ESC creates an ambiguity as to whether a 

district has the authority to actually leave its current ESC even if it exercises the bill's 

authority to enter into an agreement with another one. 

Dissolution procedures for ESCs 

(R.C. 3311.0510) 

Even though the bill eliminates the formal severance and annexation procedures 

of current law, as discussed above, it appears to assume that "local" districts may leave 

their current ESCs through the bill's biennial agreement provisions.  As under current 

law, this makes it possible for an ESC to lose all of its local districts and be left without 

any electoral territory.  In that situation, it appears that an ESC is forced to dissolve.  

Yet, current law does not provide any procedures for an ESC's dissolution. 

                                                 
107 Repealed R.C. 3311.059. 

108 R.C. 3311.05.   

109 R.C. 3501.02(D), not in the bill.   
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The bill provides some procedures for dissolving an ESC.  First, the bill expressly 

states that if all of its "local" school districts sever from an ESC, the ESC's governing 

board is abolished and the ESC is dissolved.  Next, the bill requires the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction to order an equitable distribution of the assets and liabilities of the 

ESC among the "local" school districts that made up the ESC and the "city" and 

"exempted village" school districts with which the ESC had service agreements during 

the ESC's last fiscal year of operation.  The Superintendent's order "is final and not 

appealable."110  Third, the bill specifies that the costs incurred by the Department of 

Education in dissolving the ESC may be charged against the assets of the ESC.  Any 

amount of those costs in excess of the ESC's assets may be charged equitably against 

each of the local school districts that made up the ESC and the city and exempted 

village school districts that it last served.  Fourth, a final audit of the ESC must be 

performed in accordance with procedures established by the Auditor of State.  Finally, 

the bill requires that the ESC's public records be transferred to the school districts that 

received services from the ESC and, in the case of records that do not relate to services 

to a particular school district, to the Ohio Historical Society. 

ESC governing board subdistricts 

(R.C. 3311.054; Section 733.30) 

When an ESC is formed by the merger of two or more smaller ESCs, the 

governing board of the new ESC may divide its electoral territory into subdistricts with 

each member elected from one of those subdistricts, instead of being elected at large 

from the ESC's entire territory.  However, in order to comply with the constitutional 

one-person, one-vote principle for popular elections, the law requires each ESC that has 

subdistricts to reconfigure them every ten years so that each member fairly represents 

about the same number of people.  Current law requires that this redistricting be 

completed within 90 days after the official announcement of the results of each federal 

decennial census.  If a governing board fails to redistrict its territory by that date, the 

state Superintendent must redistrict it within 30 days thereafter. 

The bill temporarily permits an ESC board to delay its next redistricting until 

July 1, 2012.  The state Superintendent, then, has until August 1, 2012, to redistrict an 

ESC, if a board fails to do so.  This provision also delays the first election for board 

members under the new organization until November 2013. 

The bill also permanently permits the governing board of an ESC newly formed 

by a merger of two or more smaller ESCs to appoint an executive committee to initially 

                                                 
110 The state Superintendent must appoint "a qualified individual" to implement the Superintendent's 

order. 
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organize the ESC's territory into subdistricts, rather than the board itself organizing the 

subdistricts.     

Appointed ESC board members 

(R.C. 3311.056) 

Current law permits the governing board of an ESC formed by a merger of two 

or more smaller ESCs, after at least one election for the board of the new ESC has been 

held, to adopt a plan under which it may "appoint" additional members to the board.  

The plan may permit the board to appoint a number of members up to one less than the 

number of elected members on the board, so long as the total number of elected and 

appointed members is an odd number.  Under current law, however, the appointed 

members, like the elected members, must be voters (electors) of the electoral territory of 

the ESC.  In other words, an appointed member must be a voter of one of the "local" 

school districts that make up the ESC's territory. 

The bill, on the other hand, permits an ESC board to appoint additional members 

who are representative of the "city" and "exempted village" school districts having 

service agreements with the ESC. 

ESC payments 

(Section 267.40.70) 

ESCs receive payments from the state and from each school district they serve to 

pay the cost of providing those services.  Payments owed by a school district are 

deducted from the district's state aid account and paid to the ESC by the Department of 

Education.  Permanent law provides a framework for these payments.  While that 

statutory framework sets specific amounts for state and district payments, biennial 

budget acts usually limit the state payments to the amount specifically appropriated for 

those payments and instruct the Department of Education to adjust the state per pupil 

amounts in some manner. 

The bill limits an ESC's state payments, for fiscal year 2012, to 90% of the 

aggregate amount it received in fiscal year 2011.  For fiscal year 2013, the bill limits an 

ESC's payment to 85% of the amount it received in fiscal year 2012.  However, the bill 

also provides that, if an ESC ceases operation, the Department of Education must 

redistribute that ESC's funding to the remaining ESCs in proportion to each ESC's 

student count.  And, if two or more ESCs merge, the Department must distribute the 

sum of the original ESCs' funding to the new ESC. 
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Background on ESC funding 

The permanent statutory structure for payments to ESCs is as follows: 

(1)  $6.50 per pupil from each local and client (city or exempted village) school 

district.111 

(2)  Either $37 or $40.52 per pupil of direct state funding for each local and client 

school district.  The latter amount applies to ESCs that have formed as a result of a 

merger of at least three smaller ESCs.112 

(3)  From each local and client school district one "supervisory unit" for the first 

50 classroom teachers required to be employed in the district and one such unit for each 

additional 100 required classroom teachers.  This funding is to pay the cost of providing 

a teacher to supervise a district's teachers.  A supervisory unit is the sum of the 

statutorily prescribed minimum salary for the licensed supervisory employee, an 

amount equal to 15% of that salary, and a statutorily prescribed allowance for necessary 

travel expenses.113 

(4)  Each ESC may receive a contractually specified amount from each district 

with which it has a fee-for-service contract.114 

ESC contracts with local entities 

(R.C. 307.86, 505.101, and 3313.846) 

The bill authorizes ESCs to enter into service contracts with any other political 

subdivision of the state.  It specifies that ESCs may enter into contracts with a board of 

county commissioners and a board of township trustees without competitively bidding.  

Because municipal corporations are governed by home rule, the bill is silent on 

competitive bidding for service contracts with municipal corporations, leaving it, 

instead, up to each individual municipal corporation's charter or ordinance. 

Services provided by the ESC and the amount to be paid for such services must 

be mutually agreed to by the parties and specified in the contract.  Local entities must 

pay ESCs directly for services, and the board of an ESC must file a copy of each contract 

                                                 
111 R.C. 3317.11(C). 

112 R.C. 3317.11(F). 

113 R.C. 3317.11(B).  

114 R.C. 3313.845 and 3317.11(D). 
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entered into with a local entity with the Department of Education by the first day the 

contract is in effect. 

ESC oversight of local school districts 

Textbook selection 

(R.C. 3329.08) 

The bill repeals the requirement that boards of "local" school districts choose 

textbooks and electronic textbooks to be used in their schools from a list furnished by 

their ESCs.  Therefore, under the bill, boards of local school districts, like city and 

exempted village districts, could decide on their own which textbooks and electronic 

textbooks its schools will use. 

Age and schooling certificates 

(R.C. 3331.01) 

The bill repeals the provision of law that allows the superintendent of an ESC to 

issue age and schooling certificates on behalf of the superintendent of a local school 

district. 

Under the state minor labor law, an employer generally must require that a 

person who is under 18 years old and has not received a high school diploma or its 

equivalent present an age and schooling certificate before hiring that person.115  These 

certificates are issued by the superintendent of the school district in which the student 

resides or the chief administrative officer of the nonpublic school or community school 

the student attends.  Current law permits the superintendent of a local school district to 

designate the superintendent of the ESC to which the school district belongs as the 

person authorized to issue the certificates for that local district. 

Filing of membership records 

(R.C. 3317.031) 

Under current law, not changed by the bill, school districts and ESCs are 

required to keep a membership record for each pupil served.  The record must include 

personal information, attendance records, and information on the pupil's use of school 

transportation.  Current law also requires each local school district to file its 

membership records with its ESC at the end of each school year.  The bill eliminates this 

requirement to file membership records with ESCs. 

                                                 
115 R.C. Chapter 4109. 
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Educational shared services model/P-16 councils 

(Section 267.50.90) 

The bill requires the Governor's Director of 21st Century Education to develop 

plans for (1) the integration and consolidation of the publicly supported regional shared 

services organizations, and (2) encouraging communities and school districts to create 

regional P-16 councils.  The Director is required to submit legislative recommendations 

to the Governor and the General Assembly by January 1, 2012.   The bill's stated goal is 

to have the plans ready for implementation beginning on July 1, 2012. 

In preparing the shared services plan, the Director must recommend 

organizations to be integrated into a regional shared service center system.  Those 

organizations include ESCs, education technology centers, information technology 

centers, area media centers, the education regional service system, regional advisory 

boards, and regional staff of the Department of Education providing direct support to 

school districts.  Further, the Director must include "an examination of services offered 

to public and chartered nonpublic schools and recommendations for integration of 

services into a shared services model."   The services to consider for integration include 

general instruction, special education, gifted education, academic leadership, 

technology, fiscal management, transportation, food services, human resources, 

employee benefits, pooled purchasing, professional development, and noninstructional 

support. 

In support of the shared services study, by October 15, 2011, the Director must 

survey school districts, community schools, STEM schools, chartered nonpublic schools, 

and other educational service providers and local political subdivisions "to gather 

baseline data on the current status of shared services and to determine where 

opportunities for additional shared services exist." 

In preparing the P-16 plan, the Director must develop a set of model criteria that 

encourages and permits communities and school districts to create local P-16 councils.  

Each council must include, but are not limited to, local community leaders in primary 

and secondary education, higher education, and early childhood education, and 

representatives of business, nonprofit, and social service agencies.  In developing these 

recommendations, the Director must examine existing P-16 councils in Ohio and 

identify their successes "in setting short and long-term student achievement and growth 

targets in their communities, leading cross-sector strategies to improve student-level 

outcomes, effectively using data to inform decisions around funding, providing 

intervention strategies for students, and achieving greater systems alignment." 
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VI.  Teachers and School Employees 

Retesting teachers 

(R.C. 3319.58) 

Under the bill, in any year in which a building of a school district, community 

school, or STEM school is ranked in the lowest 10% of all buildings based on its 

performance index score, the building's classroom teachers must retake all exams 

required by the State Board of Education for licensure to teach the subject area and 

grade level taught by the teacher.  This requirement applies to all teachers of reading 

and English language arts, math, science, foreign language, government, economics, 

fine arts, history, or geography.  While the bill states that the teacher is not responsible 

for the cost of retaking an exam, it does not specify who is.  Presumably, that cost must 

be paid by the employer. 

The school district, community school, or STEM school may use the exam results 

in deciding whether to continue to employ a teacher and in creating professional 

development plans for the teacher.  However, the bill prohibits an employer from using 

the results as the sole factor in employment decisions, unless the teacher has failed to 

pass the same licensure exam three consecutive times.  Once a teacher provides proof of 

passing an exam to the teacher's employer, the teacher is exempt from having to take 

the test again for three years, regardless of the ranking of the building to which the 

teacher is assigned. 

Alternative resident educator license 

(R.C. 3319.26) 

The bill makes several changes regarding the alternative resident educator 

license, as shown in the table below.  This four-year license is intended to give 

individuals who have not graduated from a traditional teacher preparation program the 

opportunity to work toward standard licensure while employed full‐time as a teacher. 

 Current law The bill 

Grade levels Valid for teaching in grades 4 to 12 
in a designated subject area, 
except that the license in the area 
of intervention specialist is valid for 
teaching in grades K to 12.  (An 
intervention specialist works with 
disabled, gifted, and other students 
with individualized instructional 
needs that require use of 
particularized teaching practices.) 

Valid for teaching in grades K to 
12 in a designated subject area or 
in the area of intervention 
specialist. 
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 Current law The bill 

Qualifications for 
obtaining license 

Under current statute and State 
Board of Education licensure 
rules,116 the qualifications for an 
alternative resident license are: 
 
(1)  A bachelor's degree; 
 
(2)  A major with a grade point 
average (GPA) of at least 2.5 in the 
subject area to be taught, extensive 
work experience related to that 
subject area, or a master's degree 
with a GPA of at least 2.5 in that 
subject area; 
 
(3)  Completion of an intensive 
pedagogical training institute 
developed by the Superintendent of 
Public Instruction and the 
Chancellor of the Board of 
Regents.  The instruction must 
cover such topics as student 
development and learning, 
assessment procedures, curriculum 
development, classroom 
management, and teaching 
methodology. 
 
(4)  Passage of the Praxis II subject 
area assessment. 

Under the bill, the minimum 
qualifications for the alternative 
resident license are: 
 
(1)  A bachelor's degree;  
 
(2)  Completion of either (a) the 
intensive pedagogical training 
institute required by current law or 
(b) a summer training institute 
provided to participants of a 
teacher preparation program that 
is operated by a nonprofit 
organization and has been 
approved by the Chancellor.  The 
bill directs the Chancellor to 
approve any program that requires 
participants to (i) have a 
bachelor's degree, (ii) have an 
undergraduate GPA of 2.5 or 
better, and (iii) complete a summer 
training institute. 
 
(3)  Passage of the Praxis II 
subject area assessment. 
 
The State Board may adopt 
additional qualifications for the 
license, but the bill prohibits 
requiring applicants to have 
completed a college major in the 
subject area to be taught. 

Conditions of 
holding license 

(1)  Participate in the Ohio Teacher 
Residency Program, which is a 

four‐year, entry-level mentoring 

program for classroom teachers;117 
 
(2)  Show satisfactory progress in 
taking and completing at least 12 
additional semester hours of 
college coursework in the principles 
and practices of teaching; and 
 
(3)  Take the Praxis II assessment 
of professional knowledge in the 

(1)  Participate in the Ohio 
Teacher Residency Program; 
 
(2)  Show satisfactory progress in 
taking and completing one of the 
following: 
 
(a)  At least 12 additional semester 
hours of college coursework in the 
principles and practices of 
teaching; or 
 
(b)  Professional development 

                                                 
116 See Ohio Administrative Code 3301-24-19 and 3301-24-21. 

117 See R.C. 3319.223. 
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 Current law The bill 

second year of teaching under the 
license. 

provided by a nonprofit teacher 
preparation program that has been 
approved by the Chancellor 
above. 
 
(3)  Take the Praxis II assessment 
of professional knowledge in the 
second year of teaching under the 
license. 

 

Licensure of Teach for America participants 

(R.C. 3319.227 and 3319.26(G)) 

The bill prohibits the State Board of Education from adopting rules establishing 

any additional licensure qualifications for participants in the Teach for America 

program beyond those recently enacted in H.B. 21 of the 129th General Assembly 

(effective July 29, 2011).  Under that act, the State Board must issue a resident educator 

license to a person who is assigned to teach in Ohio as a participant in the Teach for 

America program, or who has completed two years of teaching in another state through 

that program, and (1) has a bachelor's degree, (2) has an undergraduate grade point 

average of at least 2.5 out of 4.0, (3) has passed the Praxis II subject area assessment in 

the teaching area, and (4) has successfully completed Teach for America's summer 

training institute.  Since H.B. 21 qualifies Teach for America participants for a standard 

teaching license, this bill makes them ineligible for an alternative resident educator 

license. 

Licensure of out-of-state teachers 

(R.C. 3319.228) 

The bill creates a process for the State Board of Education to establish a list of 

states with inadequate teacher licensure standards, for the purpose of enabling certain 

veteran teachers from states not on the list (and, therefore, have satisfactory licensure 

standards) to obtain automatic licensure in Ohio.  To qualify for the automatic licensure, 

an out-of-state teacher, in addition to being from a state with acceptable licensure 

standards, must: 

(1)  Have a bachelor's degree; 

(2)  Have been licensed and employed as a teacher in the other state for each of 

the preceding five years; 
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(3)  Have been initially licensed as a teacher within the prior 15 years; and 

(4)  Have not had a teacher's license suspended or revoked in any state. 

The bill does not prohibit a teacher from a state on the State Board's list from ever 

obtaining a teaching license in Ohio, but presumably the teacher would need to meet 

additional qualifications. 

Establishing the list 

(R.C. 3319.228(B)) 

By July 1, 2012, the Superintendent of Public Instruction must develop a list of 

states that the Superintendent considers to have teacher licensure standards that are 

inadequate to ensure that a person who meets the criteria in (1) to (4) above and who 

was most recently licensed to teach in that state is qualified for a professional educator 

license, which is the standard teaching license in Ohio.  The Superintendent then must 

convene a panel of experts, each of whom must be approved by the State Board of 

Education, to evaluate the adequacy of the teacher licensure standards of the states on 

the list.  In evaluating the list, the panel must provide an opportunity for 

representatives of the Education department of each state on the list to refute the state's 

inclusion. 

By April 1, 2013, the panel must recommend to the State Board either that the list 

be approved without changes or that specified states be removed from the list prior to 

approval.  The State Board must approve a final list by July 1, 2013. 

Licensure of teachers until list is approved 

(R.C. 3319.228(C) and (E)) 

Until the final list is approved, the State Board must issue a one-year provisional 

educator license to any out-of-state teacher who meets the criteria described in (1) to (4) 

above.  However, between July 1, 2012, when the Superintendent of Public Instruction's 

preliminary list is completed, and the date of the final list's approval, the State Board 

must issue the teacher a five-year professional educator license, if the teacher is from a 

state not on the preliminary list.  Upon approval of the final list, the State Board must 

issue a professional educator license to any teacher who meets the specified criteria and 

is from a state not on the list. 

In the case of a teacher who is issued a provisional license prior to the final list's 

approval, under certain conditions, the teacher may obtain a professional license when 

the provisional license expires.  To qualify for the professional license, the teacher must 

have been issued the provisional license before the completion of the preliminary list by 
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the state Superintendent and, prior to teaching in Ohio, have been most recently 

licensed to teach by a state not on the preliminary list or, if the final list has been 

approved, not on that list.  However, if the teacher was most recently licensed by a state 

that is on the list, the teacher can still obtain a professional license if (1) the teacher was 

employed under the provisional license by a public school in Ohio or an entity 

contracted by the school to provide online instruction and (2) the school certifies to the 

State Board that the teaching was satisfactory. 

Reciprocity agreements 

(R.C. 3319.228(C)) 

Once the State Board has approved a final list of states with inadequate licensure 

standards, neither the State Board or the Department of Education may be party to any 

reciprocity agreement with a state on the list that requires the issuance of any type of 

professional educator license to a teacher based on licensure and teaching experience in 

that state. 

Career-technical educator licenses 

(R.C. 3319.229) 

The bill requires the State Board of Education's rules for the issuance and 

renewal of professional educator licenses for teaching career-technical education to 

include requirements relating to life experience, professional certification, and practical 

ability.  Moreover, it prohibits the State Board from requiring an applicant for a 

professional career-technical license to complete a degree as a condition of obtaining or 

renewing the license.  The bill would nullify an existing State Board rule requiring a 

career-technical teacher who did not have an associate's or bachelor's degree at the time 

of initial licensure to complete a degree applicable to the career field, classroom 

teaching, or an area of licensure before the second renewal of the professional license.118  

This rule applies to all career-technical teachers initially licensed after December 30, 

2004. 

Data on graduates of teacher preparation programs 

(R.C. 3333.0411) 

Under the bill, the Chancellor of the Board of Regents annually must report 

aggregate value-added data for graduates of Ohio teacher preparation programs.  

Value-added data shows the amount of student academic growth attributable to a 

                                                 
118 Ohio Administrative Code 3301-24-08(B). 
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particular teacher or school.  Since value-added data is only available for public school 

teachers who teach English language arts or math in grades 4 to 8, when annual state 

achievement assessments are given in those subjects, the reports will be limited to those 

teachers.  The Chancellor must report the data for each program by graduating class.  If 

a class has ten or fewer graduates, however, the Chancellor must report the data for a 

three-year group of classes to protect the identity of individual graduates.  The 

Chancellor must issue the first report by December 31, 2012.  The bill directs the 

Department of Education to share any data necessary for the report with the Chancellor. 

Criminal records checks of adult education instructors 

(R.C. 3319.39) 

The bill eliminates the requirement for an adult education instructor to undergo 

a criminal records check prior to hiring by a school district, community school, STEM 

school, educational service center, or chartered nonpublic school, if the person had a 

records check within the previous two years as a condition of being hired for short-term 

employment with that same district, school, or service center.119  The exemption from 

the records check applies only if the duties of the position for which the person is 

applying do not involve routine interaction with a child or, during any period of time in 

which the position does involve routine interaction, another employee will be present in 

the same room with the child or, if outdoors, will be within a 30-yard radius of the child 

or have visual contact with the child. 

Background − current law 

Under current law, all school employees are subject to pre-employment criminal 

records checks conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation.  

Each records check must include records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), 

except that adult education instructors who do not have unsupervised access to 

children are not required to have an FBI check prior to employment if they have been 

Ohio residents for the five‐year period prior to the date the records check is requested 

or have been subject to an FBI check during that period. 

Certification of chartered nonpublic school teachers 

(R.C. 3301.071) 

The bill creates an alternative pathway to certification for individuals to teach 

foreign language, music, religion, computer technology, or fine arts in a chartered 

nonpublic school.  It requires the State Board to certify a person to teach one of these 

                                                 
119 See also R.C. 3314.03(A)(11)(d) and 3326.11. 
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subjects upon receipt of a signed affidavit from the chief administrative officer of the 

chartered nonpublic school that wishes to employ the person, stating that the person 

(1) has specialized knowledge, skills, or expertise that qualifies the person to provide 

instruction or (2) has provided the chief administrative officer with evidence of either 

(a) at least three years of teaching experience in another school or (b) completion of a 

teacher training program named in the affidavit. 

Under current law, to be certified to teach any subject in a chartered nonpublic 

school, a person must have a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution of higher 

education or, at the State Board's discretion, an equivalent degree from a foreign college 

or university of comparable standing.  The bill's change enables individuals who do not 

have a bachelor's degree, but who have subject area proficiency or instructional training 

or experience, to receive teaching certification. 

Termination of school district transportation staff 

(R.C. 3319.0810; conforming change in R.C. 3319.081) 

In provisions that are identical to prior law repealed by the 2009-2011 budget act, 

H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly, the bill authorizes the termination of 

transportation staff positions for "reasons of economy and efficiency" by the boards of 

non-Civil Service school districts (local and exempted village school districts and some 

city school districts).  In that case, rather than employ its own staff to transport students, 

the board must contract with an independent agent to provide transportation services.  

This provision does not appear to permit the lay off of any board-employed 

transportation personnel for economic reasons unless the district intends to contract for 

at least some nonpublic personnel. 

Conditions 

The bill prescribes conditions for laying off transportation employees and 

contracting with an independent agent for transportation services.  First, any collective 

bargaining agreement between the board and the labor organization representing the 

terminated employees must have expired or be scheduled to expire within 60 days after 

the termination notice, or must contain provisions permitting the termination of 

positions while the agreement is in force. 

Second, the board must permit any employee whose position is terminated to fill 

any vacancy within the district's organization for which the employee is qualified.  In 

doing so, the board must follow procedures for filling the vacancies established in the 

collective bargaining agreement with the labor organization representing the 

terminated employees, if it is still in force and contains such provisions.  If the 

agreement is not in force or does not contain provisions for reemployment of the 
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terminated employees in new positions, the board must offer reemployment on the 

basis of seniority. 

Third, the board must permit any terminated employee to fill the employee's 

former position in the event the board reinstates that position within one year after the 

position is terminated.  The bill specifically states that the board need not reinstate an 

employee under this condition if the collective bargaining agreement with the labor 

organization representing the terminated employees, if one is in force at the time of the 

terminations, provides otherwise. 

Fourth, the board must permit a terminated employee to appeal, pursuant to the 

Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.), the board's decision to terminate the 

employee, not to reemploy the employee, or not to reinstate the employee. 

Fifth, the contract between the board and an independent agent for the provision 

of transportation services must contain a stipulation requiring the agent to consider 

hiring the terminated district employees for similar positions. 

Sixth, the contract between the board and the independent agent also must 

require the agent to recognize for purposes of collective bargaining between the former 

district employees and the agent any labor organization that represented those 

employees at the time of the terminations, as long as the following additional conditions 

are satisfied: 

(1)  A majority of the employees in the former school district bargaining unit 

agree to  representation by that labor organization; 

(2)  Federal law does not prohibit the representation; and 

(3)  The labor organization is not prohibited from representing nonpublic 

employees either under other provisions of law or its own governing instruments. 

No employee may be compelled to be included in the bargaining unit 

represented by that labor organization if there is another one within the agent's 

organization that is applicable to the employee. 

Recourse if district board does not comply with conditions 

If the school district board fails to comply with any of the prescribed lay-off 

conditions, including enforcement of the required contractual obligations, the 

terminations of transportation staff positions are void.  In such instances, the board 

must reinstate the positions and fill them with the employees who filled those positions 

just prior to the terminations.  The employees must be compensated at their rate of 
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compensation in those positions just prior to the terminations, plus any increases paid 

to other nonteaching employees since the terminations.  In addition, the employees 

must receive back pay from the date of the terminations to the date of reinstatement, 

minus any pay the employees received while the board was in compliance with the 

bill's provisions. 

The bill grants any employee aggrieved by the board's failure to comply with 

any of the bill's provisions the specific right to sue the board for reinstatement of the 

employee's former position or for damages in lieu of reinstatement.  Suit may be 

brought in the common pleas court for the county in which the school district is located 

or, if the district is located in more than one county, in the common pleas court for the 

county in which the majority of the district's territory is located. 

VII.  School Restructuring 

Restructuring low-performing schools 

(R.C. 3302.12) 

If a school is ranked in the lowest 5% of all district-operated schools based on its 

performance index score for three consecutive years, and the school also has a 

performance rating of academic watch or academic emergency, the bill requires the 

school district to restructure the school.  The district must choose one of the following 

restructuring actions: 

(1)  Close the school and reassign the school's students to other schools with 

higher academic achievement; 

(2)  Contract with another school district or a nonprofit or for-profit entity with a 

record of effectiveness to operate the school; 

(3)  Replace the school's principal and teaching staff, exempt the school from any 

specified district regulations regarding curriculum and instruction at the request of the 

new principal, and allocate at least the per-pupil amount of state and local (that is, 

nonfederal) revenues to the school for each of its students; or 

(4)  Reopen the school as a conversion community school. 

Since the performance index scores and performance ratings are issued each 

August for the previous school year, a school may have already opened for the next 

school year before finding out it is subject to the bill's provisions.  Rather than requiring 

restructuring of the school immediately, the bill grants the school an additional year of 

operation before it must be restructured.  It is not clear under the bill whether there 
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must be a "look back" at a school's performance index scores prior to the 2011-2012 

school year to determine if the school must be restructured.  If there is a "look back" 

period, underperforming schools could face restructuring at the end of the 2011-2012 

school year. 

Continuing law requires all school districts to maintain grades K to 12.120  A 

district's restructuring action, such as closing a school or reopening a school as a 

community school, may cause the district to be out of compliance with this 

requirement.  In that case, the district must enter into a contract with another school 

district to enroll resident students of the missing grades in the other district.  The terms 

of the contract must be agreed to by the respective boards of education and the resident 

district must pay tuition to the district of attendance for the studentsʹ enrollment.121  If 

the resident district fails to enter into or maintain the contract, the State Board of 

Education must proceed to dissolve the entire district. 

Pilot project for parent petitions for school reforms 

(R.C. 3302.042) 

The bill establishes a pilot project in the Columbus City School District, under 

which parents may petition the district to make reforms in certain poorly performing 

schools.  Parents may petition for reforms in a school that, for three or more consecutive 

years, has been ranked in the lowest 5% of all district-operated schools statewide based 

on its performance index score.  Parents may file a petition requesting the district to do 

one of the following:  (1) reopen the failing school as a community school, (2) replace at 

least 70% of the school's personnel who are related to the school's poor academic 

performance, or retain no more than 30% of the staff members, (3) contract with another 

school district or a nonprofit or for-profit entity with a record of effectiveness to operate 

the school, (4) turn operation of the school over to the Department of Education, or (5) 

any other major restructuring that makes fundamental reforms in the school's staffing 

or governance. 

To compel the district to make the requested reform, the parents of at least 50% 

of the school's students must sign the petition.  Alternatively, a petition may be 

submitted by the parents of at least 50% of the total number of students enrolled in the 

underperforming school and the feeder schools whose students typically matriculate 

into that school. 

                                                 
120 R.C. 3311.29. 

121 R.C. 3317.08, 3327.04, and 3327.06 (last section not in the bill). 
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The district must implement the requested reform in the next school year, except 

in certain circumstances (see below).  However, if parents submit a petition to reform a 

school that is also subject to restructuring by the school district (see "Restructuring 

schools" above), and the district chooses a different restructuring reform than 

requested in the petition, it is not clear which reform would prevail. 

When implementation of reform is prohibited 

(R.C. 3302.042(E)) 

The bill explicitly prohibits the district from implementing the reform requested 

by the petitioners if: 

(1)  The Columbus Board of Education determines that the petitioners' request is 

for reasons other than improving student achievement or safety; 

(2)  The Superintendent of Public Instruction determines that the reform would 

not comply with the Department of Education's Model of Differentiated Accountability, 

which establishes sanctions for chronically underperforming districts and schools as 

required by the federal No Child Left Behind Act; 

(3)  The requested reform is to have the Department take over the school's 

operation and the Department has not agreed to do so; or 

(4)  The school board has (a) held a public hearing on the matter and issued a 

statement explaining why it cannot implement the reform and agreeing to implement 

another of the reforms described above, (b) submitted evidence to the state showing 

how the alternative reform will improve the school's performance, and (c) had the 

alternative reform approved by the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the State 

Board of Education. 

Petition validation 

(R.C. 3302.042(D)) 

Parent petitions must be filed with the school district treasurer.  Within 30 days 

after receipt of a petition, the treasurer must verify that the signatures are valid and 

sufficient in number to require implementation of the requested reform.  If the treasurer 

finds that there are not enough valid signatures, any person who signed the petition, 

within ten days, may appeal the treasurer's finding to the county auditor.  The county 

auditor then has 30 days to conduct an independent verification of the signatures. 
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Evaluation of pilot project 

(R.C. 3302.042(F)) 

The Department of Education must annually evaluate the pilot project and 

submit a report to the General Assembly, beginning no later than six months after the 

first petition has been resolved.  Each report must contain recommendations regarding 

the continuation of the pilot project, its expansion to other school districts, or enactment 

of further legislation establishing the program statewide. 

Innovation schools and innovation school zones 

(R.C. 3302.06, 3302.061, 3302.062, 3302.063, 3302.064, 3302.065, 3302.066, 3302.067, and 

3302.068) 

Under the bill, a school district may designate a single school as an "innovation 

school," or a group of similar schools as an "innovation school zone," for the purpose of 

implementing an innovation plan designed to improve student academic performance.  

Schools must apply to the district board of education for the designation.  A majority of 

the teachers and a majority of the administrators in each applicant school must consent 

to seeking the designation.  If the district approves the application, the district then 

must apply to the State Board of Education for designation as a "school district of 

innovation."  Upon receipt of the designation from the State Board, the participating 

schools may proceed to implement their innovation plans. 

The State Board, with certain exceptions, must waive education laws and 

administrative rules that prevent implementation of an innovation plan.  Furthermore, 

a participating school may be exempt from specific provisions of a collective bargaining 

agreement, upon approval of the members of the bargaining unit working in the school. 

Applying for designation as an innovation school or innovation school zone 

(R.C. 3302.06) 

When a school applies to the school board to be designated as an innovation 

school, the application must include an innovation plan that contains the following: 

(1)  A statement of the school's mission and an explanation of how the 

designation would enhance the school's ability to fulfill that mission; 

(2)  A description of the innovations the school would implement; 

(3)  An explanation of how those innovations would affect the school's programs 

and policies, including (a) the school's educational program, (b) the length of the school 
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day and school year, (c) the student promotion policy, (d) the assessment of students, 

(e) the school's budget, and (f) the school's staffing levels; 

(4)  A description of the improvements in student academic performance that the 

school expects to achieve with the innovations; 

(5)  An estimate of the cost savings and increased efficiencies, if any, that the 

school expects to achieve with the innovations; 

(6)  A description of any education laws, State Board of Education rules, district 

requirements, or provisions of a collective bargaining agreement that would need to be 

waived to implement the innovations; and 

(7)  Evidence that a majority of the teachers and a majority of the administrators 

assigned to the school consent to seeking the designation and a statement of the level of 

support for seeking the designation from other school personnel, students, parents, and 

members of the community in which the school is located. 

Two or more schools in the same district may apply for designation as an 

innovation school zone, if the schools share common interests, such as geographical 

proximity or similar educational programs, or if the schools serve the same students as 

they progress to higher grades (an elementary school that feeds into a middle school, 

for example, could jointly apply).  The application must contain the same information 

as above for each participating school, plus (1) a description of how innovations in the 

participating schools would be integrated to achieve results that would be less likely to 

be achieved by each school alone and (2) an estimate of economies of scale that would 

be realized by joint implementation of the innovations. 

Review of applications by district 

(R.C. 3302.061) 

The school board must approve or disapprove an application for designation as 

an innovation school or an innovation school zone within 60 days.  If the board 

disapproves an application, it must provide a written explanation for its decision.  The 

applicants may reapply for the designation at any time. 

In evaluating applications, the school board must give preference to those that 

propose innovations in one or more of the following areas: 

(1)  Curriculum; 

(2)  Student assessments, other than the state achievement assessments; 
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(3)  Class scheduling; 

(4)  Accountability measures, including innovations that expand the measures 

used in order to collect more complete data about student performance.  For this 

purpose, schools may consider use of such measures as end-of-course exams, portfolios 

of student work, nationally or internationally normed assessments, the percentage of 

students enrolling in higher education, or the percentage of students simultaneously 

obtaining a diploma and an associate's degree or industry certification. 

(5)  Provision of student services, including services for students who are 

disabled, gifted, limited English proficient, at risk of academic failure or dropping out, 

or at risk of suspension or expulsion; 

(6)  Provision of health, counseling, or other social services to students; 

(7)  Preparation of students for higher education or the workforce; 

(8)  Teacher recruitment, employment, and evaluation; 

(9)  Compensation for school personnel; 

(10)  Professional development; 

(11)  School governance and the roles and responsibilities of principals; or 

(12)  Use of financial or other resources. 

The bill explicitly authorizes a school board to approve an application that 

allows a participating school to determine the compensation of school employees.  In 

that case, the school is not required to comply with the salary schedule for teachers 

adopted by the board.  However, the school must set salaries so that the total 

compensation for all school employees does not exceed the funds allocated to the school 

by the district.  Similarly, the school board may approve an application that permits a 

participating school to remove employees from the school, but the board retains the 

ultimate responsibility for terminating an employee's contract. 

Finally, the school board, of its own accord and in the absence of an application 

from a school, may designate an innovation school or an innovation school zone.  If it 

exercises this authority, the board must create an innovation plan and offer the schools 

it has designated an opportunity to participate in the plan's development. 
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Designation as district of innovation 

(R.C. 3302.062, 3302.066, and 3302.067) 

Once a school board has designated an innovation school or innovation school 

zone within the district, it must submit the innovation plan of the participating schools 

to the State Board of Education.  Within 60 days after receipt of the plan, the State Board 

must designate the district as a school district of innovation.  However, the State Board 

must deny the designation if it determines the plan is not financially feasible or will 

likely result in decreased academic achievement. 

A school board may request the State Board to make a preliminary assessment of 

an innovation plan prior to formally applying for designation as a school district of 

innovation.  The State Board must review the plan and, within 60 days, recommend 

changes that would improve the plan. 

Designation as a school district of innovation grants the participating schools 

permission to implement the innovation plan.  The school board or a participating 

school may accept donations to support the plan's implementation.  At any time, the 

school board, in collaboration with the participating schools, may revise the innovation 

plan to further improve student performance.  A majority of the teachers and a majority 

of the administrators in each participating school must consent to the revisions. 

Waiver of education laws and rules 

(R.C. 3302.063) 

The bill requires the State Board of Education, in most cases, to waive education 

laws or administrative rules necessary to implement an innovation plan.  A waiver 

applies only to the schools participating in the innovation plan.  But the bill prohibits 

the State Board from waiving any law or rule regarding: 

(1)  School district funding; 

(2)  Provision of services to students with disabilities and gifted students; 

(3)  Requirements related to career-technical education that are necessary to 

comply with federal law; 

(4)  Administration of the state achievement assessments and diagnostic 

assessments (and end-of-course exams and a nationally standardized test required as 
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part of the new high school assessment system to be developed by the State Board and 

the Chancellor of the Board of Regents122); 

(5)  Issuance of the annual school district and building report cards; 

(6)  Implementation of the Department of Education's Model of Differentiated 

Accountability, which specifies sanctions for underperforming schools as required by 

the federal No Child Left Behind Act; 

(7)  Reporting of education data to the Department; 

(8)  Criminal records checks of school employees; and 

(9)  State retirement systems for teachers and other school employees. 

Waiver of collective bargaining agreement 

(R.C. 3302.064) 

The bill also permits the waiver of specific provisions of a collective bargaining 

agreement to implement an innovation plan.  To obtain a waiver, at least 60% of the 

members of the bargaining unit covered by the agreement who work in a participating 

school must vote, by secret ballot, to approve the waiver.  In the case of an innovation 

school zone, this 60% threshold applies to each participating school individually.  If a 

participating school does not meet this threshold, the school board may remove the 

school from the innovation school zone. 

A member of the bargaining unit who works at a participating school (and 

presumably did not vote for the waiver) may request a transfer to another district 

school.  The school board must make every reasonable effort to accommodate the 

request. 

Once a waiver is approved, it remains in effect relative to any substantially 

similar provision in future collective bargaining agreements.  Each collective bargaining 

agreement entered into by a school district on or after the bill's effective date must allow 

for the waiver of its provisions in order to implement an innovation plan. 

                                                 
122 See R.C. 3301.0712. 
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Regular performance reviews 

(R.C. 3302.065; conforming changes in R.C. 3302.063, and 3302.064(D)) 

Every three years, the school board must review the performance of each 

innovation school and innovation school zone to determine if it is achieving, or making 

sufficient progress toward achieving, the improvements in student performance 

described in its innovation plan.  If the board finds that a school has not demonstrated 

sufficient progress, it may revoke the school's designation as an innovation school or 

remove the school from the innovation school zone.  The board also may revoke the 

designation of all participating schools as an innovation school zone.  If a school's 

designation is revoked or the school is removed from an innovation school zone, the 

school again becomes subject to all laws, rules, and provisions of a collective bargaining 

agreement that had been waived to implement the innovation plan. 

Annual report 

(R.C. 3302.068) 

By July 1 each year, the Department of Education must issue a report on school 

districts of innovation.  This report must include data on the number of innovation 

schools and innovation school zones and how many students are served by them.  In 

addition, it must contain (1) an overview of the innovations implemented in districts of 

innovation, (2) data on student performance, including a comparison of performance 

before and after a district's designation, and (3) legislative recommendations. 

School district operating standards 

(R.C. 3301.07(D)(3) and 3301.16) 

H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly required the State Board of Education to 

adopt additional operating standards for school districts in relation to that act's 

establishment of the "Evidence Based Model" (EBM) and other reforms.  The bill makes 

adoption of those new standards optional and conforms some of the statutory language 

to the bill's repeal of the EBM.  The new standards, when adopted, would cover the 

following: 

(1)  Effective and efficient organization, administration, and supervision of each 

district and building; 

(2)  Establishment of business advisory councils; 

(3)  "Job-embedded professional development and professional mentoring and 

coaching," release time for planning and professional development, and reasonable 
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access to classrooms by administrators for observation and professional development 

experiences; and 

(4)  Creation of a school leadership team for each building. 

Governor's Effective and Efficient Schools Recognition Program 

(R.C. 3302.22) 

The bill creates the Governor's Effective and Efficient Schools Recognition 

Program, under which the Governor must annually recognize the top 10% of public 

schools in the state.  The manner by which such schools are to be recognized is at the 

discretion of the Governor.  Schools to be recognized include schools of school districts, 

community schools, and STEM schools. 

The bill directs the Department of Education to establish standards by which to 

determine the top 10% of schools.  These standards must include, but need not be 

limited to, (1) student performance, measured with factors including, but not limited to, 

performance indicators required under current law, report cards issued by the 

Department, and any other statewide or national assessment or student performance 

recognition program the Department selects to use and (2) fiscal performance, including 

cost-effective measures taken by the school. 

VIII.  Other Education Provisions 

Statewide academic standards 

(R.C. 3301.079 and 3301.0710) 

Continuing law requires the State Board of Education to adopt statewide 

academic standards that specify core academic content and skills.  The bill repeals the 

requirement that the standards for English language arts, math, science, and social 

studies be revised every five years, and instead requires the State Board to update the 

standards "periodically."  These standards were last updated in 2010. 

The bill also repeals the requirement that the State Board's standards specify skill 

sets that relate to the following:  (1) creativity and innovation, critical thinking and 

problem solving, and communication and collaboration, and (2) personal management, 

productivity and accountability, and leadership and responsibility.  Currently, these 

skills must be included in the standards for the core subject areas, financial literacy and 

entrepreneurship, fine arts, foreign language, and computer literacy (which the bill 

renames "technology"). 
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Finally, the bill repeals the requirement that the statewide achievement 

assessments be designed to ensure that students demonstrate "skills necessary in the 

twenty-first century," but retains the requirement that the assessments ensure that 

students demonstrate high school levels of achievement in English language arts, math, 

science, and social studies. 

College and work-ready assessments (new diploma requirements) 

(R.C. 3301.0712; conforming changes in R.C. 3301.0711, 3302.02, 3313.603, 3313.61, 

3316.611, 3313.612, 3313.614, 3314.36, and 3325.08) 

The bill revises the standards for the development of the new "college and work-

ready assessments," which the State Board of Education, the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction, and the Chancellor of the Board of Regents are charged, by current law, 

with designing.  Once developed, the new regimen is to replace the Ohio Graduation 

Test as a requirement for a high school diploma from a public or chartered nonpublic 

high school (see "Background" below).  The following table compares the standards of 

current law with the bill's changes: 

Components of the College and Work-Ready Assessments 

 Current Law The Bill 

1. A nationally standardized 
assessment, selected jointly by the 
state Superintendent and the 
Chancellor, that measures 
"competencies in science, 
mathematics, and English language 
arts." 

A nationally standardized 
assessment, selected jointly by the 
state Superintendent and the 
Chancellor, that measures "college 
and career readiness." 

2. A series of end-of-course 
examinations in science, math, 
English language arts, and social 
studies, selected jointly by the state 
Superintendent and the Chancellor in 
consultation with faculty in the 
appropriate subject areas at state 
institutions of higher education. 

Same, but further specifies that, for 
each subject area, the Superintendent 
and Chancellor must choose multiple 
assessments that schools may use, 
and these must include nationally 
recognized subject area assessments, 
such as Advanced Placement exams, 
SAT subject tests, International 
Baccalaureate exams, and other 
assessments of college and work 
readiness.  

3. A senior project, completed by the 
student individually or as a member of 
the group, to be scored by the 
student's high school according to 
rubrics designed by the state 
Superintendent and Chancellor. 

No provision.  The bill eliminates the 
senior project as a state requirement 
for a diploma. 
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The bill also eliminates the requirement that the Superintendent and Chancellor 

create a composite scoring system to assess a student's college and work-readiness, 

instead relying on requirements as set by the State Board for receiving a high school 

diploma based on a student's performance on the nationally standardized assessment 

and end-of-course exams. 

Background 

H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly required the State Board, the state 

Superintendent, and the Chancellor to develop the new, multifactored assessment 

system to replace the Ohio Graduation Tests (OGT) as a graduation requirement from a 

public or chartered nonpublic high school.  Until the new system is implemented, the 

OGT remains a requirement for a high school diploma. 

The state Superintendent and the Chancellor must designate the scoring rubrics 

to be used in evaluating students under the new assessment system.  The senior project 

must be judged by the student's high school in accordance with the scoring rubrics.  In 

addition, the state Superintendent and Chancellor must establish an overall composite 

score on the three components that indicates that a student is college or work ready. 

This composite score is the passing score needed to complete the assessment 

requirement for a high school diploma. 

The new system has not yet been adopted. 

Competency-based high school credit 

(R.C. 3313.603(J)) 

The bill exempts chartered nonpublic schools from having to comply with, and 

award high school credit under, the State Board of Education's plan for awarding high 

school credit based on a student's demonstration of subject area competency, rather 

than classroom instruction. 

Background 

Current law requires the State Board to have adopted, by March 31, 2009, and 

phase in a statewide plan for students to earn units of high school credit based on a 

demonstration of subject area competency, instead of or in combination with 

completing hours of classroom instruction. The plan must include a standard method 

for recording demonstrated proficiency on high school transcripts.  Under current law, 

all public schools (school district, community or "charter," and STEM schools) and 

chartered nonpublic schools must comply with the plan and award high school credit in 

accordance with the plan. 
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Public records status of elementary achievement assessments 

(R.C. 3301.0711(N)) 

Under the bill, the state achievement assessments for grades 3 to 8 that are 

administered in the 2011-2012 school year and later are not public records.  Under 

current law, which the bill makes inapplicable after the 2010-2011 school year, at least 

40% of the questions on each assessment that are used to compute a student's score are 

public records, but questions needed for reuse on a future assessment are not public 

records and must be redacted from the tests prior to their release.  The bill does not 

affect the Ohio Graduation Tests, which are already prohibited from public release. 

Testing of students with disabilities 

(R.C. 3301.0711(C)) 

The bill requires the individualized education program (IEP) developed for a 

disabled student by a school district, community school, or STEM school to specify the 

manner in which the student will participate in the state achievement assessments.  As 

in current law, the IEP may excuse the student from taking a particular assessment, if 

no reasonable accommodation can be made to enable the student to take the test and 

the IEP specifies an alternate assessment method. 

Fees for career-technical education materials 

(R.C. 3313.642) 

Under the bill, school districts may charge low-income students eligible for free 

lunches for certain career-technical education materials.  This authority is an exemption 

from the general prohibition in current law against charging those students for any 

materials needed to enable them to participate fully in a course of instruction.  The 

course materials for which districts may charge under the bill are tools, equipment, and 

materials that are necessary for workforce-readiness training and that may be retained 

by the students after completion of the course. 

Calamity day make-up 

(R.C. 3313.88 and 3326.11) 

Online make-up lessons 

The bill permits school districts, STEM schools, community schools, and 

chartered nonpublic schools to use online lessons to make up some calamity days their 

schools are closed.  To make up days in this fashion, a district or school must submit a 



Legislative Service Commission -272- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

plan to the Department of Education by August 1 each year.  The plan may specify up 

to three days, or in the case of a community school a number of hours up to the 

equivalent of three days, that may be made up using lessons posted to the districtʹs or 

schoolʹs web portal or web site.  In the case of a school district or STEM school, the plan 

must include the written consent of the union that represents the districtʹs or STEM 

schoolʹs teachers. 

A plan must require that each classroom teacher, by November 1, will develop a 

sufficient number of lessons for each course taught by the teacher that school year to 

cover the number of make‐up days or hours specified in the plan.  The teacher must 

designate the order in which the lessons are to be posted in the event of a school 

closure.  Teachers may receive up to one professional development day to create lesson 

plans for the lessons.  Teachers are required, to the extent possible and necessary, to 

update or replace one or more developed lesson plans based on current instructional 

progress. 

As soon as practicable after a school closure, the designated lessons for each 

course that was scheduled to meet on the day of the closure must be available to 

students on the districtʹs or schoolʹs web portal or web site.  If a student does not have 

access to a computer at the studentʹs residence, the student must be permitted to work 

on the posted lessons at school after school reopens. 

Each student must have two weeks to complete an online lesson.  The two‐week 

period generally runs from the time the particular lesson is posted.  But, in the case of a 

student who does not have computer access at home and who, therefore, is using the 

schoolʹs computers after the school reopens, the two‐week period runs from the time 

the school reopens, if the lessons were actually posted prior to the schoolʹs reopening.  

Lessons must be graded in the same manner as other lessons.  The bill specifies that a 

student ʺmayʺ receive an incomplete or failing grade if the lesson is not completed on 

time. 

Blizzard bags 

The bill also gives school districts, STEM schools, community schools, and 

chartered nonpublic schools the option of distributing "blizzard bags," paper copies of 

the lessons posted online, to students in addition to posting lessons online.  If a school 

opts to use blizzard bags, teachers must prepare paper copies in conjunction with the 

lessons to be posted online and update the paper copies whenever the teacher updates 

online lesson plans. 

The board of education of a school district or governing authority of a 

community school or chartered nonpublic school must specify in the plan submitted to 
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the Department the method of distributing lessons.  The method of distribution may 

require distribution of blizzard bags by a specific deadline or prior to any anticipated 

school closure as directed by the superintendent of a school district, or the principal, 

director, chief administrative officer, or equivalent, of a school.  Blizzard bag 

assignments must be turned in within the same two-week period granted for online 

lessons.  Students may receive an incomplete or failing grade for lessons not completed 

on time.   

Schools may offer the online lesson make-up day plan in conjunction with or 

independent of blizzard bags.  If a school opts to make up days via online lessons, 

without the use of blizzard bags, schools must permit students to work on posted 

lessons at school as discussed above.  Regardless of the combination of methods used, a 

school may only use them to make up a total of three calamity days.   

Sale of milk in schools 

(R.C. 3313.816) 

Federal regulations promulgated under the National School Lunch Act prohibit a 

school participating in the federal school lunch program from "directly or indirectly" 

restricting the sale of milk "at any time or in any place on school premises or at any 

school-sponsored event."123  The bill repeals two provisions of Ohio law, which will take 

effect July 1, 2011, that might be construed to violate this prohibition.  First, it repeals 

limits on the serving size, fat content, and calorie content of a la carte milk available for 

sale to public and chartered nonpublic school students during the school day.  These 

limits are shown in the table below. 

Grades Time period A la carte milk restrictions 

Schools composed primarily of 
grades K-4 or grades 5-8 

Before January 1, 2014 May sell only 8 ounces or less of low-
fat or fat-free milk, including flavored 
milk, that contains no more than 170 
calories per 8 ounces 

Starting January 1, 2014 Same as above, except the milk may 
contain no more than 150 calories 
per 8 ounces 

Schools composed primarily of 
grades 9-12 

Before January 1, 2014 May sell only 16 ounces or less of 
low-fat or fat-free milk, including 
flavored milk, that contains no more 
than 170 calories per 8 ounces 

Starting January 1, 2014 Same as above, except the milk may 
contain no more than 150 calories 
per 8 ounces 

                                                 
123 7 Code of Federal Regulations 210.10(m)(4). 
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Second, the bill repeals a provision that restricts the availability of milk in public 

and chartered nonpublic schools by requiring at least 50% of the a la carte beverage 

items available for sale through the school food service program, a vending machine 

(except for one that sells only milk or federally subsidized complete meals), or a school 

store to be water or other beverages that contain no more than 10 calories per 8 ounces.  

Public and chartered nonpublic schools may still offer milk for sale to students under 

the bill, but the schools are not subject to any limits on (1) the size or nutritional content 

of the milk or (2) the amount of milk that may be offered through various sources. 

Background 

Beginning July 1, 2011, current law restricts the sale of milk and other beverages 

to students in school districts, community schools, STEM schools, and chartered 

nonpublic schools.  These restrictions must be observed during the regular school day, 

as well as during periods before or after the school day in which students are 

participating in school-sponsored extracurricular activities, academic or enrichment 

programs, or latchkey programs. 

The restrictions apply only to "a la carte" items, which are individually priced 

beverage items available for sale to students through (1) a school breakfast or lunch 

program, (2) vending machines located on school property, or (3) a school store.  They 

do not apply to beverages that are part of a complete meal provided through a federally 

subsidized breakfast or lunch program and are being sold individually in a serving 

portion of the same size as in the complete meal (in the a la carte line in the cafeteria, for 

example).  They also do not affect beverages sold in connection with a school-sponsored 

fundraiser or other event held outside of the regular school day or in conjunction with 

an interscholastic athletic event.124 

Intra-district open enrollment  

(R.C. 3313.97) 

Each city, exempted village, and local school district is required to have in place 

an intra-district open enrollment policy permitting resident students to enroll in district 

schools other than the ones of their attendance areas.  Each district's policy must 

provide for application procedures, capacity limits, and preference for students living in 

an attendance area, and procedures to ensure maintenance of racial balancing in the 

district schools. 

                                                 
124 R.C. 3313.816; see also R.C. 3313.814 (not in the bill), 3314.03(A)(11)(d), and 3326.11. 
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The bill specifically permits a school district to grant a student permanent 

permission to attend a school outside of the student's attendance area, so that the 

student does not need to re-apply annually for permission to attend the school.  Current 

law neither permits nor prohibits a district to grant a permanent intra-district transfer. 

Interscholastic athletics participation 

(R.C. 3313.538) 

Under current Ohio High School Athletic Association (OHSAA) bylaw 4-6-3, "a 

student whose parents reside outside the state of Ohio but within the United States will 

be ineligible for interscholastic athletics in a member school."  The bylaw emphasizes 

that the student's biological or adoptive parent must reside in Ohio.  There are seven 

exceptions to this rule, however, including one that allows the OHSAA Commissioner's 

office to declare a student eligible if custody is conferred by "a court of proper 

jurisdiction" upon a grandparent, aunt, uncle, or sibling who resides in Ohio.  In order 

to declare such a student eligible, the Commissioner must determine that the change in 

custody "was not for athletic reasons, but purely for the best interest of the student in 

terms of the student's mental, physical, and educational well being."125 

The bill enacts a similar, and possibly broader, provision into law.  It prohibits 

disqualification of a student from interscholastic athletics, solely because the parents do 

not reside in Ohio, if the student attends school in Ohio and lives in Ohio with a 

grandparent, uncle, aunt, or sibling who has legal or temporary custody of the student, 

or is the guardian of the student.  The student would remain subject to other eligibility 

requirements of the school and the OHSAA. 

Unlike the OHSAA bylaw exception, the bill is silent on reasons behind the 

transfer of custody and relocation of the student.  Since the bill also specifically 

prohibits any school district, school, interscholastic conference, or organization that 

regulates interscholastic conferences or events, which would include OHSAA, from 

having a rule that conflicts with this provision, it appears that the current OHSAA 

bylaw might not fully comply with the bill's requirements.  For example, the bill might 

not permit OHSAA to continue its policy that the change in custody cannot have been 

for athletic reasons.126 

The bill applies definitions from R.C. 2151.011 for the terms "legal custody," 

"temporary custody," and "guardian."  A "guardian" is a person with authority granted 

                                                 
125 OHSAA bylaw 4-6-3, Exception 1. 

126 Article 8, Section 8-1-1 of the OHSAA Constitution allows the OHSAA Board immediately to amend 

bylaws or the Constitution, subject to member ratification, to comply with state law. 
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by a probate court to exercise parental rights over a child subject to the court's order 

and the residual parental rights of the child's parents.  "Legal custody" is "a legal status 

that vests in the custodian the right to have physical care and control of the child and to 

determine where and with whom the child shall live, and the right and duty to protect, 

train, and discipline the child and to provide the child with food, shelter, education, and 

medical care, all subject to any residual parental rights, privileges, and responsibilities." 

"Temporary custody" is legal custody that can be terminated at any time by the court or 

the person who executed the custody agreement. 

Background 

While Ohio law authorizes school districts to implement athletic programs and 

addresses student eligibility in a few circumstances,127 interscholastic athletics are 

regulated largely by the private OHSAA.  The OHSAA regulates and administers 

interscholastic athletic competition for grades 7 through 12.  Founded in 1907, the 

OHSAA is a voluntary, unincorporated, not-for-profit association of public and private 

schools.  The OHSAA is managed by a Board of Directors and governed by a 

constitution and bylaws, which must comply with Ohio law. 

Homeschooled student participation in district activities 

(R.C. 3313.539) 

The bill requires school districts to allow homeschooled students the opportunity 

to participate in extracurricular activities offered at the traditional public school 

operated by the school district in which the student is entitled to attend school and to 

which the student otherwise would be assigned.  As defined in current law, an 

"extracurricular activity" is a student activity program that a school or school district 

operates that is not included in the graded course of study. It also includes an 

interscholastic extracurricular activity that a school or district sponsors or participates 

in and that has participants from more than one school or district.128 

To take advantage of this provision, the student must fulfill the same 

nonacademic and financial requirements as any other participant in the extracurricular 

activity.  In terms of academic requirements, the student must either:  (1) meet any 

academic requirements established by the State Board of Education for continuation of 

home instruction, if the student received home instruction in the preceding school year 

or (2) have met academic standards for eligibility to participate in the activity 

established by the school district in the preceding year, if the student did not receive 

                                                 
127 R.C. 3313.20, 3313.47, 3313.53, 3313.535, and 3313.537, none in the bill. 

128 R.C. 3313.537, not in the bill. 
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home instruction in the preceding school year.  Any student who starts home 

instruction after the beginning of the school year who is, at the time the home 

instruction started, ineligible to participate in extracurricular activities due to failure to 

meet academic standards or any other requirements of the district cannot participate in 

extracurricular activities in a school district for the remainder of the school year. 

A school or district may not impose fees for a homeschooled student to 

participate in extracurricular activities that exceed any fees charged to other students 

for the same activities.  No school district, interscholastic conference, or organization 

that regulates interscholastic conferences or events may impose eligibility requirements 

that conflict with the bill's provisions. 

Pilot project for multiple-track curriculum 

(R.C. 3302.30) 

The bill requires the Superintendent of Public Instruction to establish a pilot 

project in Columbiana County under which one or more school districts in that county 

offers a multiple-track high school curriculum for students with differing career plans.  

The Superintendent must solicit and select districts to participate in the pilot project, 

but no district can be required to participate.  The selected districts must begin offering 

their career track curricula no later than the school year that begins at least six months 

after the provision's (90-day) effective date.  However, if nonstate funds cannot be 

obtained, or the state Superintendent determines that sufficient funds cannot be 

obtained to support the pilot project, the Superintendent may postpone implementation 

until the Superintendent determines that sufficient funds are available. 

The curricula at each participating district must offer at least three distinct career 

tracks, including a college preparatory track and a career-technical track.  Each track 

must comply with statutory curriculum requirements.  The different tracks may be 

offered at different campuses.  Two or more participating districts may offer some or all 

of their curriculum tracks through a cooperative agreement. 

The Department of Education must provide technical assistance to participating 

districts in developing curriculum tracks.  The bill also authorizes part or all of selected 

curriculum materials or services to be purchased from other public or private sources.  

Additionally, the bill requires the state Superintendent to apply for private and other 

nonstate funds, and authorizes the state Superintendent to use other available state 

funds to support the pilot project. 

Each participating school district must report data about the operation and 

results of the pilot project to the state Superintendent.  No later than December 31 of the 

third school year in which the pilot project is operating, the state Superintendent must 



Legislative Service Commission -278- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

submit a report to the General Assembly containing the Superintendent's evaluation of 

the results of the pilot project and legislative recommendations whether to continue, 

expand, or make changes to the pilot project. 

School district lease to higher education institutions 

(R.C. 3313.75) 

The bill adds a statement to law that districts may rent or lease facilities to public 

or nonpublic institutions of higher education for the use in providing evening and 

summer classes. 

Current law authorizes a school district board to allow the use of the district's 

facilities by others, as long as that use does not interfere with the districts' operation of 

its schools.  The law also states that a district board must have a policy on that use and 

may charge a reasonable fee.  It specifies that this authority applies to the use of school 

facilities for such purposes as educational programs; religious, civic, social, or 

recreational meetings; library reading rooms; and polling places.129 

Department of Education organization 

(Repealed R.C. 3301.82, 3314.11, 3314.111, and 3319.62; conforming changes in R.C. 

3314.012, 3314.19, and 3314.22) 

The bill repeals permanent law that requires the Department of Education to 

establish (1) the State Office of Community Schools, (2) the State Office of School 

Options, and (3) the State Office of Educator Standards.  The repeal of these sections 

removes the requirement that the Department have these offices; however, it does not 

necessarily require the Department to eliminate them. 

The bill also repeals the permanent law, enacted by H.B. 1 of the 129th General 

Assembly, that allows the Department to establish the Center for Creativity and 

Innovation.  Again, the repeal of this section does not necessarily mean that the 

Department may not have such a unit within its organizational structure. 

Obsolete reference in school district tuition law 

(R.C. 3313.65) 

The bill removes an obsolete reference to the Ohio Sailors' and Soldiers' Home, in 

the school district tuition law, and replaces it with a reference to residential facilities 

                                                 
129 See also R.C. 3313.77, not in the bill. 
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operated by the Ohio Veterans' Home.  Under continuing law, a child who does not 

reside in the school district in which the child's parent resides must be admitted to the 

schools of the district in which the child resides if at least one of the child's parents is in 

a residential facility and the other parent, if living and not in such a facility or 

placement, is not known to reside in Ohio.  The definition of "residential facility" 

applying to this law includes the Ohio Sailors' and Soldiers' Home. 

 

BOARD OF REGISTRATION FOR PROFESSIONAL  
ENGINEERS AND SURVEYORS (ENG) 

 Requires that the State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and 

Surveyors renew registrations biennially rather than annually, and accordingly 

changes the renewal fee from $20 to $40, to be paid biennially. 

 Allows professional engineers and surveyors to complete continuing professional 

development hours during a two-year period, rather than annually, but doubles the 

15 annual hours required to 30 hours for the two-year period. 

 Increases from three to four the number of years records that demonstrate 

completion of the continuing professional development requirements must be 

retained. 

 

 

Biennial registration for professional engineers and surveyors 

(R.C. 4733.15 and 4733.151) 

The bill requires that professional engineers and professional surveyors renew 

their registrations with the State Board of Registration for Professional Engineers and 

Surveyors biennially, rather than annually, beginning for renewals after December 31, 

2011.  Accordingly, the bill changes the renewal fee from $20 to $40, to be paid 

biennially.  Under current law, registrations expire annually on the last day of 

December and become invalid on that date unless they are renewed by paying the 

annual renewal fee of $20. 

The bill allows professional engineers and surveyors to complete their 

continuing professional development hours during a two-year period, rather than 

annually, but doubles the 15 annual hours required to 30 hours for the two-year period.  

Under current law, to renew an annual registration, professional engineers and 

surveyors must prove they have completed 15 hours of continuing professional 
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development.  Under the bill, each registrant must complete at least 30 hours of 

continuing professional development during the two-year period immediately 

preceding the biennial renewal expiration date.  A registrant who completes more than 

30 hours of approved coursework in a biennial renewal period (compared to 15 hours in 

a calendar year under existing law) may carry forward to the next biennial renewal 

period a maximum of 15 hours of the excess hours, which is the same carryover for the 

annual renewal period. 

The bill increases from three to four years the number of years a registrant must 

retain records that demonstrate completion of the continuing professional development 

requirements. 

 

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY (EPA) 

 Increases from $750,000 to $1.5 million the cap on the amount of money credited to 

the Air Pollution Control Administration Fund that the Director of Environmental 

Protection may spend in any fiscal year for the administration and enforcement of 

the Air Pollution Control Law.  

 Authorizes the extension of the motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program 

through June 30, 2017, and provides authority for the implementation of a 

decentralized program rather than a centralized program as in current law. 

 Authorizes the Director to exempt a person generating, collecting, storing, treating, 

disposing of, or transporting infectious wastes from requirements of the Solid, 

Hazardous, and Infectious Wastes Law under specified circumstances. 

 Extends the time period for conducting a public meeting regarding an application 

for a permit for a new or modified solid waste facility from 35 to 45 days after the 

submission of the application. 

 Amends the license fee schedule for solid waste compost facilities by establishing 

additional fee categories based on authorized maximum annual daily waste receipts. 

 Eliminates the requirement that hazardous waste disposal and treatment fees be 

deposited into minority banks as defined in state law. 

 Authorizes the use of money in the Fund specifically for the investigation and 

cleanup of contaminated properties by the Director of Environmental Protection and 

for grants for the cleanup of such properties. 
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 Requires natural resource damage assessment costs recovered by the state under 

federal law to be credited to the existing Hazardous Waste Clean-Up Fund, thus 

distinguishing the assessment costs from other money collected for natural 

resources damages that must be credited to the Natural Resource Damages Fund. 

 Extends from June 30, 2012, to June 30, 2014, the expiration date of the following fees 

on the transfer or disposal of solid wastes: 

--$1 per ton the proceeds of which must be divided equally between the 

Hazardous Waste Facility Management Fund and the Hazardous Waste Clean-

Up Fund, which are used for purposes of Ohio's hazardous waste management 

program; 

--$1 per ton the proceeds of which must be credited to the Solid Waste Fund, 

which is used for the solid and infectious waste and construction and demolition 

debris management programs; and 

--$2.50 per ton the proceeds of which must be credited to the Environmental 

Protection Fund, which is used for administering and enforcing environmental 

protection programs. 

 Extends from June 30, 2012, to June 30, 2013, the expiration date of the 25¢ per-ton 

fee on the transfer or disposal of solid wastes the proceeds of which must be 

credited to the Soil and Water Conservation District Assistance Fund. 

 Exempts from state and local solid waste disposal fees coal combustion wastes 

regardless of whether the disposal facility is located on the premises where the 

wastes were generated rather than specifying as in current law that the wastes must 

be disposed of at facilities that exclusively dispose of coal combustion wastes and 

that are owned by the generator. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Director contract only with owners or operators 

of scrap tire storage, monocell, monofill, or recovery facilities for the storage, 

disposal, or processing of scrap tires removed through removal operations. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the Director give preference to owners or operators 

of scrap tire recovery facilities when entering into such contracts. 

 Extends for two years the sunset of the 50¢ per-tire fee on the sale of tires the 

proceeds of which are used to fund the scrap tire management program. 
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 Extends for two years the sunset of an additional 50¢ per-tire fee on the sale of tires, 

and requires all money from the fee to continue to be credited to the Soil and Water 

Conservation District Assistance Fund. 

 Extends all of the following for two years: 

--The sunset of the annual emissions fees for synthetic minor facilities; 

--The levying of higher fees, and the decrease of those fees at the end of the two 

years, for applications for plan approvals for wastewater treatment works under 

the Water Pollution Control Law; 

--The sunset of the annual discharge fees for holders of NPDES permits issued 

under the Water Pollution Control Law; 

--The sunset of license fees for public water system licenses issued under the Safe 

Drinking Water Law; 

--A higher cap on the total fee due for plan approval for a public water supply 

system under the Safe Drinking Water Law and the decrease of that cap at the 

end of the two years; 

--The levying of higher fees, and the decrease of those fees at the end of the two 

years, for state certification of laboratories and laboratory personnel for purposes 

of the Safe Drinking Water Law; 

--The levying of higher fees, and the decrease of those fees at the end of the two 

years, for applications and examinations for certification as operators of water 

supply systems or wastewater systems under the Safe Drinking Water Law or 

the Water Pollution Control Law, as applicable; and 

--The levying of higher fees, and the decrease of those fees at the end of the two 

years, for applications for permits, variances, and plan approvals under the 

Water Pollution Control Law and the Safe Drinking Water Law. 

 Revises the definition of "population served" for purposes of license fees for public 

water systems that are not community water systems and that serve nontransient 

populations to mean the total number of individuals having access to, rather than 

receiving water from, the water supply during a 24-hour period for at least 60 days 

during a calendar year. 
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 Provides that license fees for public water systems that are not community water 

systems and that serve transient populations are based on the number of wells or 

sources, other than surface water, supplying such a system rather than just wells. 

 Establishes a $200 application fee for coverage under a national pollutant discharge 

elimination system (NPDES) general permit for a household sewage treatment 

system that discharges off the site where the system is located and a $100 fee for a 

renewal of permit coverage. 

 Authorizes voluntary actions with respect to class C releases from underground 

storage tank systems to be conducted under the Voluntary Action Program Law. 

 Defines "class C release" to mean a release of petroleum from an underground 

storage tank system for which the responsible person for the release is specifically 

determined by the Fire Marshal not to be a viable person capable of undertaking or 

completing corrective actions for the release and to include any release so 

designated in rules by the Fire Marshal. 

 Creates the Federally Supported Cleanup and Response Fund to support the 

investigation and remediation of contaminated property, and requires the Agency to 

use money in the Fund for those purposes. 

 Allows money in the Surface Water Protection Fund to be used to meet state 

matching requirements that are necessary to obtain federal grants by removing a 

statutory prohibition against that use. 

 

 

Air Pollution Control Administration Fund 

(R.C. 3704.06) 

The bill increases from $750,000 to $1.5 million the cap on the amount of money 

credited to the Air Pollution Control Administration Fund that the Director of 

Environmental Protection may spend in any fiscal year for the administration and 

enforcement of the Air Pollution Control Law.  Existing law requires 50% of the money 

collected as civil penalties for violations of certain provisions of that Law to be credited 

to the Fund.  The Director must use the money in the Fund for the administration and 

enforcement of that Law. 
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Extension of E-Check 

(R.C. 3704.14) 

The bill authorizes the extension of the motor vehicle inspection and 

maintenance program (E-Check) through June 30, 2017, in Ohio counties in which a 

program is federally mandated.  Under the bill, the Director of Environmental 

Protection may request the Director of Administrative Services to extend the current 

contract to conduct a centralized E-Check program with the contractor that currently 

operates the program.  That program is operated in seven counties in the Cleveland-

Akron area.  Upon receiving the request, the Director of Administrative Services must 

extend the current contract for the centralized program for a period not to exceed 12 

months beginning on July 1, 2011.  A centralized program generally refers to a program 

in which the contractor operates inspection stations that are used exclusively for motor 

vehicle emissions inspections. 

Under the bill, the Director of Environmental Protection, prior to the expiration 

of the contract extension, must request the Director of Administrative Services to enter 

into a contract with a vendor to operate a decentralized E-Check program in each 

county where it is federally mandated through June 30, 2015, with an option for the 

state to renew the contract through June 30, 2017.  A decentralized program generally 

refers to a program in which motor vehicle inspections are conducted at auto repair 

facilities, other multi-use facilities, contractor-operated facilities, or a combination of 

those facilities.  The bill retains a requirement under which the Director of 

Administrative Services must use a competitive selection process when entering into a 

new contract with a vendor. 

The bill also alters the required elements of the E-Check program.  The bill 

provides that for purposes of expanding the number of testing locations for consumer 

convenience, the program must include a requirement that the vendor utilize 

established local businesses, auto repair facilities, or leased properties to operate state-

approved inspection and maintenance testing facilities.  Further, the bill provides that 

the program must include a requirement that the vendor comply with testing 

methodology and supply the required equipment approved by the Director of 

Environmental Protection as specified in the competitive selection process in 

compliance with state contracting requirements.  The bill also requires the program 

operating under the new contract to achieve at least the same emission reductions as 

achieved by the program operated under the extended contract rather than the same 

ozone precursor reductions as in current law.  The bill eliminates provisions specifying 

that a motor vehicle inspection and maintenance program cannot be implemented in 

any county in which it is not otherwise authorized or in any county beyond June 30, 

2012, without the approval of the General Assembly. 
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Current law provides authority for the current E-Check contract until June 30, 

2011, with an option for Ohio to extend the contract through June 30, 2012. 

Exemptions from infectious waste requirements 

(R.C. 3734.02) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Environmental Protection to exempt any 

person generating, collecting, storing, treating, disposing of, or transporting infectious 

waste from any requirement to obtain a registration certificate, permit, or license or 

comply with other requirements of the Solid, Hazardous, and Infectious Wastes Law.  

The Director must determine that the exemption is unlikely to adversely affect the 

public health or safety or the environment.  Under current law, the Director only has the 

authority to provide such an exemption to persons generating, collecting, storing, 

treating, disposing of, or transporting solid or hazardous waste. 

Time period for solid waste facility permit application meeting 

(R.C. 3734.05) 

The bill extends the time period for conducting a public meeting regarding an 

application for a permit for a new or modified solid waste facility.  Under the bill, an 

applicant must conduct the public meeting not later than 45 days after submitting the 

application.  Current law requires the public meeting to take place not later than 35 

days after submission of the application. 

Solid waste compost facility license fee 

(R.C. 3734.06; R.C. 3734.05 for cross-reference purposes) 

The bill amends the fee schedule for solid waste compost facility licenses as 

follows: 

Authorized maximum 
annual daily waste 

receipt in tons 
(current law) 

Annual license fee 
(current law) 

Authorized maximum 
annual daily waste 

receipt in tons  
(the bill) 

Annual license fee 
(the bill) 

12 or less $300 12 or less $300 

13 to 25 $600 13 to 25 $600 

26 to 50 $1,200 26 to 50 $1,200 

51 to 75 $1,800 51 to 75 $1,800 

76 to 100 $2,500 76 to 100 $2,500 

101 to 200 $6,250 101 to 150 $3,750 
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Authorized maximum 
annual daily waste 

receipt in tons 
(current law) 

Annual license fee 
(current law) 

Authorized maximum 
annual daily waste 

receipt in tons  
(the bill) 

Annual license fee 
(the bill) 

201 to 500 $15,000 151 to 200 $5,000 

501 or more $30,000 201 to 250 $6,250 

  251 to 300 $7,500 

  301 to 400 $10,000 

  401 to 500 $12,500 

  501 or more $30,000 

 

Hazardous Waste Facility Management Fund 

(R.C. 3734.18, 3734.19, 3734.20, 3734.21, 3734.22, 3734.23, 3734.24, 3734.25, 3734.26, and 

3734.27) 

Deposit of fees into minority banks 

Current law generally requires the Director of Environmental Protection to 

deposit hazardous waste disposal and treatment fees to the credit of the Hazardous 

Waste Facility Management Fund.  The bill eliminates the requirement that the fees be 

deposited into one or more minority banks to the credit of the Fund.  A minority bank is 

a bank that is owned or controlled by one or more socially or economically 

disadvantaged persons, which include, but are not limited to, Afro-Americans, Puerto 

Ricans, Spanish-speaking Americans, and American Indians. 

Uses of money 

The bill authorizes the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to use money in 

the Fund specifically for all of the following: 

(1)  Conducting investigations at locations or facilities that are potentially 

contaminated with hazardous waste; 

(2)  Abating or preventing air or water pollution or soil contamination at facilities 

or locations where hazardous waste was treated, stored, or disposed of; 

(3)  Closure of hazardous waste facilities or solid waste facilities containing 

significant quantities of hazardous waste, construction of suitable hazardous waste 

facilities that are needed as a result of closure, and related abatement of air or water 

pollution or soil contamination, and protection of public health or safety; 
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(4)  Acquiring facilities that threaten public health or safety or result in air or 

water pollution or soil contamination because of the presence of significant quantities of 

hazardous waste; and  

(5)  Making grants to political subdivisions, and to owners of facilities who are 

not responsible for the contamination at the facilities, for closure of facilities or 

abatement of pollution.  Before making grants, the Director must consider each project 

application submitted and establish priorities for awarding the grants.  The priorities 

must be based on the feasibility, cost, and public benefits of restoring the particular land 

and the availability of federal or other financial assistance for restoration. 

Current law authorizes the EPA to use money in the Hazardous Waste Facility 

Management Fund for the administration of the hazardous waste program.  In addition, 

under continuing law, expenditures from the Fund are subject to Controlling Board 

approval.  The EPA may request that approval on an annual basis. 

Reimbursements, payments, and sales 

The bill requires the following to be credited to the Fund:  (1) money from the 

reimbursement of the costs of cleanup of contaminated land to the state, (2) recovery of 

costs of investigations and measures performed, and (3) money recovered from liens 

enforced. 

Natural resource damage assessment costs 

(R.C. 3734.28 and 3734.282) 

The bill distinguishes natural resource damage assessment costs recovered by the 

state under federal law from other money collected by the state under federal law for 

natural resources damages.  The bill accomplishes that by requiring recovered natural 

resource damage assessment costs to be credited to the existing Hazardous Waste 

Clean-Up Fund.  In addition, the bill specifies that natural resource damage assessment 

costs may be recovered under any of the following:  (1) the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act, (2) the Oil Pollution Act, (3) 

the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, and (4) any other applicable federal or state 

law.  All other money collected by the state for natural resources damages under those 

federal acts, or any other applicable federal or state law must be credited to the existing 

Natural Resource Damages Fund. 

Current law does not make a distinction regarding the money collected for 

natural resources damages by the state under federal law.  Instead, current law requires 

all money that is collected by the state for natural resources damages under the above 
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specified federal acts or any other applicable federal or state law to be credited to the 

Natural Resource Damages Fund. 

Extension of solid waste transfer and disposal fees 

(R.C. 3734.57; cross reference changes to R.C. 1515.14 and 3745.015) 

The bill extends, from June 30, 2012, to June 30, 2014, the expiration date of three 

fees levied on the transfer or disposal of solid waste that are used to fund programs 

administered by the EPA.  The first fee is a $1 per‐ton fee, of which one‐half of the 

proceeds must be credited to the Hazardous Waste Facility Management Fund and 

one‐half of the proceeds must be credited to the Hazardous Waste Clean‐up Fund.  

Those funds are used for purposes of the hazardous waste management program.  The 

second fee is another $1 per‐ton fee that is credited to the Solid Waste Fund and used to 

fund the EPAʹs solid and infectious waste and construction and demolition debris 

management programs.  The third fee is an additional $2.50 per‐ton fee the proceeds of 

which must be credited to the Environmental Protection Fund, which is used to pay the 

EPAʹs costs associated with administering and enforcing environmental protection 

programs.  The solid waste transfer and disposal fees are collected by the owners and 

operators of solid waste disposal and transfer facilities as trustees for the state. 

The bill also extends from June 30, 2012, to June 30, 2013, the expiration date of a 

fourth 25¢ per-ton fee on the transfer or disposal of solid waste the proceeds of which 

must be credited to the Soil and Water Conservation District Assistance Fund. 

Exemption from solid waste fees for coal wastes 

(R.C. 3734.57) 

The bill alters the current exemption from state and local solid waste disposal 

fees that is applicable to certain wastes derived from coal combustion.  The primary 

change made by the bill allows the wastes to be disposed of at any solid waste disposal 

facility rather than only at premises owned by the generator of the wastes. 

The specific language of the bill provides that solid waste that is generated from 

the combustion of coal, or from the combustion of primarily coal in combination with 

scrap tires, is exempt from all state and local solid waste disposal fees.  The exemption 

applies regardless of whether the disposal facility is located on the premises where the 

wastes are generated. 

Under current law, the exemption applies to solid waste that is disposed of at 

facilities that exclusively dispose of wastes that are generated from the combustion of 

coal, or from the combustion of primarily coal in combination with scrap tires, that is 
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not combined in any way with garbage at one or more premises owned by the 

generator. 

Contracts for storage, disposal, or processing of certain scrap tires 

(R.C. 3734.85) 

The bill removes restrictions governing with whom the Director of 

Environmental Protection may enter into contracts for the storage, disposal, or 

processing of scrap tires removed through removal operations.  It does so by 

eliminating the existing requirement that the contracts be entered into with owners or 

operators of scrap tire storage, monocell, monofill, or recovery facilities.  It also removes 

the current requirement that the Director give preference to owners or operators of 

scrap tire recovery facilities when entering into such contracts. 

Sale of tires fees 

(R.C. 3734.901) 

The bill extends until June 30, 2013, the sunset of the 50¢ per-tire fee on the sale 

of tires the proceeds of which are used to fund the scrap tire management program.  

The fee is scheduled to expire on June 30, 2011. 

The bill extends until June 30, 2013, the sunset of an additional 50¢ per-tire fee on 

the sale of tires.  The money from the additional fee must continue to be credited to the 

existing Soil and Water Conservation District Assistance Fund, which is used to provide 

money to soil and water conservation districts.  Current law requires the additional fee 

to be collected and so credited until June 30, 2011. 

Extension of various air and water fees and related provisions 

Synthetic minor facility emissions fees 

(R.C. 3745.11(D)) 

Under current law, each person who owns or operates a synthetic minor facility 

must pay an annual fee based on the sum of the actual annual emissions from the 

facility of particulate matter, sulfur dioxide, nitrogen dioxide, organic compounds, and 

lead in accordance with a fee schedule.  "Synthetic minor facility" means a facility for 

which one or more permits to install or permits to operate have been issued for the air 

contaminant sources at the facility that include terms and conditions that lower the 

facility's potential to emit air contaminants below the major source thresholds 

established in rules adopted under existing law.  Current law requires the fee to be paid 

through June 30, 2012.  The bill extends the fee through June 30, 2014. 
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Water pollution control fees and safe drinking water fees 

(R.C. 3745.11(L), (M), and (N) and 6109.21) 

Under current law, a person applying for a plan approval for a wastewater 

treatment works is required to pay a fee of $100 plus 0.65 of 1% of the estimated project 

cost, up to a maximum of $15,000, when submitting an application through June 30, 

2012, and a fee of $100 plus 0.2 of 1% of the estimated project cost, up to a maximum of 

$5,000, on and after July 1, 2012.  Under the bill, the first tier fee is extended through 

June 30, 2014, and the second tier applies to applications submitted on or after July 1, 

2014. 

Current law establishes two schedules for annual discharge fees to be paid by 

holders of national pollutant discharge elimination system (NPDES) permits with an 

average daily discharge flow of 5,000 or more gallons per day.  Under each of the 

schedules, one of which is for public dischargers and one of which is for industrial 

dischargers, the fees are based on the average daily discharge flow and increase as the 

flow increases.  Under current law, the fees are due by January 30, 2010, and January 30, 

2011.  The bill extends payment of the fees and the fee schedules to January 30, 2012, 

and January 30, 2013. 

In addition to the fee schedules described above, current law imposes a $7,500 

surcharge to the annual discharge fee applicable to major industrial dischargers that is 

required to be paid by January 30, 2010, and January 30, 2011.  The bill continues the 

surcharge and requires it to be paid annually by January 30, 2012, and January 30, 2013. 

Under current law, one category of public discharger and eight categories of 

industrial dischargers that are NPDES permit holders are exempt from the annual 

discharge fees that are based on average daily discharge flow.  Instead, they are 

required to pay an annual discharge fee of $180.  Under current law, the fee is due 

annually not later than January 30, 2010, and January 30, 2011.  The bill continues the 

fee and requires it to be paid annually by January 30, 2012, and January 30, 2013. 

The Safe Drinking Water Law prohibits anyone from operating or maintaining a 

public water system without an annual license from the Director of Environmental 

Protection.  Applications for initial licenses or license renewals must be accompanied by 

a fee, which is calculated using schedules for the three basic categories of public water 

systems established in current law.  The fee for initial licenses and license renewals is 

required in statute through June 30, 2012, and has to be paid annually prior to January 

31, 2012.  The bill extends the initial license and license renewal fee through June 30, 

2014, and requires the fee to be paid annually prior to January 31, 2014. 
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Under current law, the fee schedule for licenses of public water systems that are 

not community water systems and that serve nontransient populations is based on 

population served.  The bill revises the definition of "population served" to mean the 

total number of individuals having access to, rather than receiving water from, the 

water supply during a 24-hour period for at least 60 days during any calendar year.   

Similarly, the fee schedule in current law for licenses of public water systems that 

are not community water systems and that serve transient populations is based on the 

number of wells supplying the system.  The bill revises the basis of the fee schedule so 

that it is instead based on the number of wells or sources, other than surface water, 

supplying the system.  In addition, the bill makes necessary conforming changes. 

The Safe Drinking Water Law also requires anyone who intends to construct, 

install, or modify a public water supply system to obtain approval of the plans from the 

Director.  Ongoing law establishes a fee for such plan approval of $150 plus 0.35 of 1% 

of the estimated project cost.  Under current law, the fee cannot exceed $20,000 through 

June 30, 2012, and $15,000 on and after July 1, 2012.  The bill specifies that the $20,000 

limit applies to persons applying for plan approval through June 30, 2014, and the 

$15,000 limit applies to persons applying for plan approval on and after July 1, 2014. 

Current law establishes two schedules of fees that the EPA charges for evaluating 

laboratories and laboratory personnel for compliance with accepted analytical 

techniques and procedures established under the Safe Drinking Water Law.  A schedule 

with higher fees is applicable through June 30, 2012, and a schedule with lower fees is 

applicable on and after July 1, 2012.  The bill continues the higher fee schedule through 

June 30, 2014, and applies the lower fee schedule to evaluations conducted on or after 

July 1, 2014.  The bill continues through June 30, 2014, a provision stating that an 

individual laboratory cannot be assessed a fee more than once in a three-year period 

unless the person requests the addition of analytical methods or analysts, in which case 

the person must pay $1,800 for each additional survey requested. 

Certification of operators of water supply systems or wastewater systems 

(R.C. 3745.11(O)) 

Current law establishes a $45 application fee to take the examination for 

certification as an operator of a water supply system or a wastewater system through 

November 30, 2012, and a $25 application fee on and after December 1, 2012.  The bill 

continues the higher application fee through November 30, 2014, and applies the lower 

fee on and after December 1, 2014.  Under existing law, upon approval from the 

Director that an applicant is eligible to take the examination, the applicant must pay a 

fee in accordance with a statutory schedule.  A higher schedule is established through 
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November 30, 2012, and a lower schedule applies on and after December 1, 2012.  The 

bill extends the higher fee schedule through November 30, 2014, and applies the lower 

fee schedule beginning December 1, 2014. 

Application fees under Water Pollution Control Law and Safe Drinking Water 
Law 

(R.C. 3745.11(S)) 

Current law requires any person applying for a permit, other than an NPDES 

permit, a variance, or plan approval under the Safe Drinking Water Law or the Water 

Pollution Control Law to pay a nonrefundable fee of $100 at the time the application is 

submitted through June 30, 2012, and a nonrefundable fee of $15 if the application is 

submitted on or after July 1, 2012.  The bill extends the $100 fee through June 30, 2014, 

and applies the $15 fee on and after July 1, 2014. 

Similarly, under existing law, a person applying for an NPDES permit through 

June 30, 2012, must pay a nonrefundable fee of $200 at the time of application. On and 

after July 1, 2012, the nonrefundable application fee is $15. The bill extends the $200 fee 

through June 30, 2014, and applies the $15 fee on and after July 1, 2014. 

Fee for household sewage treatment system general NPDES permit 

(R.C. 3745.11(S)) 

The bill establishes the following fees applicable to a person applying for 

coverage under an NPDES general permit for a household sewage treatment system 

that discharges off the site where the system is located: 

(1)  A nonrefundable fee of $200 at the time of application for initial permit 

coverage; and 

(2)  A nonrefundable fee of $100 at the time of application for a renewal of permit 

coverage. 

The EPA issues general NPDES permits and administers the NPDES program.  

Most household sewage treatment systems do not discharge pollutants into a river or 

stream and, thus, do not require an individual NPDES permit or coverage under a 

general NPDES permit.  However, certain household sewage treatment systems, known 

as off-lot systems, do discharge.  Off-lot systems are often required when a household 

sewage treatment system is not capable of effectively dispersing and treating 

wastewater at the site where the system is located.  Off-lot systems are not only 

required to be covered by a general NPDES permit issued by EPA, but also must be in 

compliance with all applicable requirements of the Household and Small Flow On-Site 
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Sewage Treatment Systems Law.  That Law is administered by the Department of 

Health and local health departments. 

Class C underground storage tank releases and voluntary actions 

(R.C. 3737.87, 3737.88, and 3746.02) 

The bill generally authorizes a voluntary action to be conducted with respect to 

class C releases from underground storage tanks.  Current law precludes voluntary 

actions regarding releases of petroleum from underground storage tanks, which are 

regulated by the state Fire Marshal.  The bill instead provides that a person who is not 

responsible for a class C release may conduct a voluntary action under the Voluntary 

Action Program Law.  The Director of Environmental Protection may issue a covenant 

not to sue to any person who properly completes a voluntary action with respect to a 

class C release under that Law and rules adopted under it.  In order to allow for the 

voluntary actions, the bill excepts class C releases from the Fire Marshal's exclusive 

jurisdiction to regulate corrective actions undertaken in response to releases of 

petroleum from underground storage tank systems. 

The bill defines "class C release" to mean a release of petroleum from an 

underground storage tank system for which the responsible person for the release is 

specifically determined by the Fire Marshal not to be a viable person capable of 

undertaking or completing corrective actions for the release and to include any release 

so designated in rules by the Fire Marshal. 

The voluntary action program, which is administered by the Environmental 

Protection Agency, provides a mechanism by which a person may investigate possible 

environmental contamination, clean it up if necessary, and receive a promise from the 

state that no more cleanup is needed.  The promise is referred to in law as a covenant 

not to sue.  That covenant generally protects the person from possible legal action by 

Ohio after a voluntary action is completed. 

Additional language changes 

The bill makes additional changes to the law governing underground storage 

tanks.  The bill refers to releases of petroleum from underground storage tanks.  

Current law refers to releases from underground petroleum storage tanks.  The bill 

refers to releases of petroleum from underground storage tank systems.  Current law 

refers only to releases of petroleum. 



Legislative Service Commission -294- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Federally Supported Cleanup and Response Fund 

(R.C. 3745.016) 

The bill creates the Federally Supported Cleanup and Response Fund consisting 

of money credited to the Fund from federal grants, gifts, and contributions to support 

the investigation and remediation of contaminated property.  The EPA must use money 

in the Fund for those purposes. 

Surface Water Protection Fund 

(R.C. 6111.038) 

The bill allows money in the Surface Water Protection Fund to be used to meet 

state matching requirements that are necessary to obtain federal grants by removing a 

statutory prohibition against that use.  Current law requires the Director to use money 

in the Fund solely for the administration and implementation of surface water 

protection programs. 

 

eTECH OHIO COMMISSION (ETC) 

 Creates the Information Technology Service Fund, consisting of money paid to the 

eTech Ohio Commission for the provision of information technology services to 

support initiatives to align education from preschool through college. 

 

 

Information Technology Service Fund 

(R.C. 3353.15) 

The bill creates the Information Technology Service Fund, consisting of money 

paid by educational entities to the eTech Ohio Commission for the provision of 

information technology services to support initiatives to align education from preschool 

through college.  The fund's proceeds must be used to provide these services, including 

(1) implementation of an electronic clearinghouse for transferring student transcripts 

and (2) development of a longitudinal student data system, which is authorized by 

continuing law.130 

 

                                                 
130 See R.C. 3301.94, not in the bill. 
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ETHICS COMMISSION (ETH) 

 Requires the Ohio Ethics Commission to deposit funds received as a result of court 

orders into the Ohio Ethics Commission Fund. 

 

 

Court-ordered costs 

(R.C. 102.02(G)(2)) 

The bill requires the Ohio Ethics Commission to deposit investigative or other 

fees, costs, or other funds it receives as a result of court orders into the Ohio Ethics 

Commission Fund, which is used to pay for Commission operations.  In 2007, an Ohio 

Court of Appeals found the Ethics Commission was not authorized by Ohio statutory 

law in effect at that time to receive court-ordered reimbursement for the cost of its 

investigations.131 

 

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR (GOV) 

 Eliminates the specific requirement that the Governor publish the General Assembly 

apportionment for four consecutive weeks in newspapers in Cincinnati, Cleveland, 

and Columbus, but retains the general requirement that the Governor publish the 

apportionment. 

 

 

Publication of General Assembly apportionment 

(R.C. 107.09) 

The bill eliminates the specific requirement that the Governor publish the 

General Assembly apportionment for four consecutive weeks in newspapers in 

Cincinnati, Cleveland, and Columbus.  Article XI, Section 1 of the Ohio Constitution 

requires the Governor to cause the apportionment to be published no later than October 

5 of the year in which it is made, in such manner as is required by law.  Under the bill, 

the Governor is still required to publish the apportionment, but the specific 

requirements regarding where that publication must be made are eliminated. 

                                                 
131 State v. Perz (2007) 173 Ohio App.3d 99, 105 (Ct. App. Lucas Cty.). 
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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH (DOH) 

 Authorizes the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) to establish a drug and 

nutritional formula discount program for its Bureau for Children with Medical 

Handicaps (BCMH) under which manufacturers of drugs or nutritional formulas 

may enter into discount agreements with ODH. 

 In lieu of establishing a discount program, authorizes ODH and a drug or 

nutritional formula manufacturer to discuss donations of drugs, nutritional 

formulas, or money by the manufacturer to ODH. 

 Requires the ODH Director to annually apply for federal funds that are made 

available for abstinence education. 

 Specifies, in addition to the Help Me Grow Program's existing purpose of 

encouraging prenatal and well-baby care, that the Program's purposes are to 

(1) provide parenting education to promote the comprehensive health and 

development of children and (2) provide early intervention services in accordance 

with federal law. 

 Provides that home visiting services under the Help Me Grow Program are 

provided to eligible families with a pregnant woman or a child under age three 

(rather than newborn infants and their families). 

 Eliminates a requirement that a request for home visiting services be made by a 

parent of an eligible infant before ODH can provide the services. 

 Requires providers of home visiting services, as a condition of receiving payment, to 

report to the ODH Director data on Program performance indicators and requires 

the Director to prepare an annual report on the data received. 

 Provides that federally funded "Part C" early intervention services are included in 

the Help Me Grow Program for infants and toddlers under age three. 

 Specifies that a family currently enrolled in the At Risk Program will remain eligible 

for at-risk services until December 31, 2013, or until the eligible child reaches three 

years of age, whichever occurs first. 

 Permits the ODH Director to (1) enter into interagency agreements with state 

agencies to implement the Help Me Grow Program and (2) distribute Program funds 

through contracts, grants, or subsidies to entities providing Program services. 
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 Eliminates a requirement that the Help Me Grow Program include distributing 

subsidies to counties to provide Program services. 

 Requires, to the extent funds are available, that ODH establish a system of payment 

to providers of Help Me Grow Program services. 

 Specifies certain rules that must be adopted to implement the Help Me Grow 

Program, including rules regarding eligibility for services, providers of services, 

complaint procedures, and criteria for payment. 

 Requires $1 of each $4 of the minimum base fee ($12) for a certified copy of a vital 

record or a certification of birth that is transferred by a local board of health to the 

State Office of Vital Statistics to be distributed to the boards of health in accordance 

with the same formula used to distribute state subsidy funds to boards of health and 

local health departments. 

 Requires a local registrar of vital statistics (who is not a salaried employee of a city 

or general health district) to transfer all $4 of each minimum base fee ($12) for a 

certified copy of a vital record or a certification of birth to the State Office of Vital 

Statistics and requires it to be used to support public health systems. 

 Requires a local registrar of vital statistics (who is not a salaried employee of a city 

or general health district) to charge the same additional $5 fee currently charged by 

the State Office of Vital Statistics and local boards of health for certified copies of 

vital records and certifications of birth and requires the money to be similarly used 

for operating, modernizing, and automating the state's vital records program. 

 Requires ODH to convene an early intervention workgroup to develop 

recommendations for eligibility criteria for early intervention services to be 

provided to infants and toddlers who have developmental delays pursuant to Part C 

of the federal "Individuals with Disability Education Act." 

 Provides, in the case of a nursing home that under the terms of its certificate of need 

(CON) may admit as residents only members of certain religious orders, that (1) the 

nursing home may also provide care to specified relatives of the members and 

(2) the nursing home's beds cannot be relocated to another long-term care facility. 

 Requires the ODH Director to accept a CON application for a new nursing home if 

(1) the application is submitted within 180 days after the bill's effective date, (2) the 

nursing home will be located in a county that had a population between 30,000 and 

41,000 in 2000, (3) the nursing home will be located on a campus that has been in 

operation for at least 12 years and the campus has other specified types of facilities, 

and (4) the nursing home will have not more than 30 beds. 
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 Permits a county home to obtain Medicaid or Medicare certification for existing beds 

without obtaining a CON if (1) the county home is located in a county that has a bed 

need shortage, (2) no county that borders that county has a bed need excess or bed 

need shortage, (3) the number of the county home's existing beds for which 

Medicaid or Medicare certification is sought does not exceed the bed need shortage 

of the county in which the county home is located, and (4) the county home obtains 

Medicaid or Medicare certification for the existing beds not later than December 31, 

2013. 

 Permits the ODH Director to define a "health home" for purposes of any entity 

authorized to provide care coordination services. 

 Adds a representative of the Ohio Council for Home Care and Hospice to the Patient 

Centered Medical Home Education Advisory Group. 

 Permits a residential care facility to admit or retain any individual who requires 

skilled nursing care for more than 120 days in a 12-month period if the facility enters 

into a written agreement with (1) the individual or individual's sponsor, (2) the 

individual's personal physician, (3) unless the individual's personal physician 

oversees the skilled nursing care, the provider of the skilled nursing care, and (4) if 

the individual is a hospice patient, a hospice care program. 

 Provides for the agreement to include the same provisions that current law requires 

an agreement between a residential care facility and hospice care program to 

include, except that an agreement regarding an individual who is not a hospice 

patient must also include a provision that the individual's personal physician has 

determined that the skilled nursing care the individual needs is routine. 

 Requires the ODH Director to conduct an initial investigation of a complaint against 

a nursing home or residential care facility as a desk audit and, if pursuant to the 

desk audit the Director determines sufficient cause exists for an on-site examination, 

requires the Director to continue the investigation with an on-site examination. 

 Prohibits a solid waste management district from exempting a public sector 

commercial licensed hauler from a fee that is charged to private sector commercial 

licensed haulers by the district. 

 Includes as a vending machine under the Food Service Operations Law a self-service 

device at which an individual purchases a predetermined unit serving of food by 

scanning the bar code of the food that was obtained at the vending machine location. 
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BCMH discount agreements for drugs and nutritional formulas 

(R.C. 3701.021 and 3701.023) 

The bill authorizes the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) to establish a drug and 

nutritional formula discount program for its Bureau for Children with Medical 

Handicaps (BCMH).  Under the program, a manufacturer of a drug or nutritional 

formula is permitted to enter into an agreement with ODH to provide a discount on the 

price of the drug or nutritional formula distributed to medically handicapped children 

participating in a BCMH-administered program.  If a manufacturer enters into a 

discount agreement with ODH, the manufacturer and ODH may negotiate the amount 

and terms of the discount. 

If the program is established, the program must be administered in accordance 

with rules the bill requires ODH to adopt.  The rules must address procedures for 

administering the program, including criteria and other requirements for participation. 

In lieu of establishing a discount program, the bill authorizes ODH and a 

manufacturer to discuss a donation of drugs, nutritional formulas, or money by the 

manufacturer to ODH. 

Abstinence education 

(R.C. 3701.0211) 

The bill requires the ODH Director to annually apply to the United States 

Secretary of Health and Human Services for federal funds each year that funds are 

made available for abstinence education.  The funds are made available through the 

Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant (also known as "Title V").132  The bill 

requires the ODH Director to use the funds in accordance with any conditions under 

which the application was approved. 

Help Me Grow Program 

(R.C. 3701.61) 

The Help Me Grow Program provides early childhood services to children under 

age three.  The Program is directed by ODH and coordinated at the county level by 

family and children first councils. 

                                                 
132 42 U.S.C. 710. 
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Purpose 

In addition to the Program's existing purpose of encouraging prenatal and well-

baby care, the bill specifies that the Program's purposes are to provide parenting 

education to promote the comprehensive health and development of children and 

provide early intervention services in accordance with Part C of the federal Individuals 

with Disabilities Education Act.133 

Home visiting services 

The Help Me Grow Program includes home visiting services.  Under current law, 

home visiting services are provided to eligible newborn infants and their families.  The 

bill provides instead that home visiting services are provided to eligible families with a 

pregnant woman or a child under age three who meet the eligibility requirements 

established in rules to be adopted by the ODH Director.  The bill eliminates an existing 

requirement that a request for home visiting services be made by a parent of an eligible 

infant before ODH can provide the services. 

The bill also requires providers of home visiting services, as a condition of 

receiving payment for the services, to report to the Director data on performance 

indicators used to assess progress toward achieving the goals of the Program.  The 

report is to include data on the performance indicator of birth outcomes, including risk 

indicators of low birth weight and pre-term births, and data on all other performance 

indicators specified in rules adopted by the Director.  The providers must report the 

data in the format and within the time frames specified in the rules.  The Director must 

prepare an annual report on the data received from the providers. 

Part C early intervention services 

The bill provides for the Help Me Grow Program to include "Part C" early 

intervention services for infants and toddlers under age three.  Part C refers to a portion 

of the federal "Individuals with Disabilities Education Act."134  Under this federal law, 

the U.S. Department of Education makes grants available to assist each state in 

maintaining and implementing a statewide, comprehensive, coordinated, 

multidisciplinary, interagency system to provide early intervention services for infants 

and toddlers with disabilities and their families.135 

                                                 
133 20 U.S.C. 1431 et seq. 

134 20 U.S.C. 1431 et seq. 

135 U.S. Department of Education, Ed.Gov, Part C—Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities, 

<http://idea.ed.gov/explore/view/p/,root,statute,I,C,>. 
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The Help Me Grow Program's inclusion of Part C services replaces the existing 

law under which the Program includes services for infants and toddlers under age three 

who are at risk for, or who have, a developmental delay or disability and their families.  

The bill specifies that to receive Part C services, infants and toddlers must meet the 

eligibility requirements established in rules to be adopted by the ODH Director. 

At Risk Program 

The At Risk Program, which is currently a component of the Help Me Grow 

Program, provides services to children under age three who are at risk for a 

developmental delay or disability.  The bill specifies that a family currently enrolled in 

the At Risk Program will remain eligible for at-risk services until December 31, 2013, or 

until the eligible child reaches three years of age, whichever occurs first. 

Interagency agreements and distribution of funds 

The ODH Director is authorized under the bill to enter into interagency 

agreements with state agencies to implement the Help Me Grow Program and 

distribute Program funds through contracts, grants, or subsidies to entities providing 

Program services.  To the extent funds are available, ODH must establish a system of 

payment to providers of Program services.  The bill eliminates a requirement that the 

Program include distributing subsidies to counties to provide Program services. 

Rules 

The bill requires the ODH Director (rather than ODH) to adopt rules to 

implement the Program.  The rules must specify all of the following: 

(1)  Eligibility requirements for home visiting services and Part C early 

intervention services; 

(2)  Eligibility requirements for providers of home visiting services and providers 

of Part C early intervention services; 

(3)  Standards and procedures for the provision of Program services, including 

data collection, program monitoring, and Program evaluation; 

(4)  Procedures for appealing the denial of an application for Program services or 

the termination of services; 

(5)  Procedures for appealing the denial of an application to become a provider of 

Program services or the termination of ODH's approval of a provider; 

(6)  Procedures for addressing complaints; 
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(7)  Criteria for payment of approved providers of Program services; 

(8)  The program performance indicators on which data must be reported by 

providers of home visiting services, which, to the extent possible, must be consistent 

with federal reporting requirements for federally funded home visiting services; 

(9)  The format in which reports regarding data on program performance 

indicators must be submitted and the time frames within which the reports must be 

submitted; 

(10)  Any other rules necessary to implement the Program. 

Early intervention workgroup 

(Section 291.30) 

The bill requires ODH to convene a workgroup to develop recommendations for 

eligibility criteria for early intervention services to be provided pursuant to Part C of the 

federal "Individuals with Disability Education Act."  The workgroup must base the 

recommendations on available funds and national data related to the identification of 

infants and toddlers who have developmental delays or are most at risk for 

developmental delays and, in either case, would benefit from early intervention 

services. 

Recommendation schedule 

The bill requires the workgroup to convene by July 15, 2011.  It must present its 

recommendations for eligibility criteria to the ODH Director by October 1, 2011.  After 

the recommendations are submitted, the bill permits the ODH Director to accept the 

recommendations in whole or in part and implement eligibility criteria accordingly. 

Workgroup membership 

Under the bill, the workgroup is to be facilitated by ODH and composed of the 

following members: 

--A representative from each of the following departments:  Developmental 

Disabilities, Education, Mental Health, and Job and Family Services; 

--A representative from the Help Me Grow Advisory Council and a parent 

member of the Council; 

--A representative from the Ohio Family and Children First Cabinet Council; 

--A representative from the Ohio Family and Children First Association; 
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--A county Help Me Grow project director; 

--A representative from the Ohio Council of Behavioral Health and Family 

Services Providers; 

--A representative from the Ohio Association for Infant Mental Health; 

--A representative from the Ohio Association of County Boards of 

Developmental Disabilities; 

--A representative from the Ohio Superintendents of County Boards of 

Developmental Disabilities; 

--A representative from the Ohio chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics; 

--A public health nurse from a local board of health; 

--A representative of the Ohio Developmental Disabilities Council; 

--A representative of the County Commissioner's Association of Ohio. 

Certificate of Need Program 

Authorized residents of nursing homes operated by religious orders 

(R.C. 3702.59) 

With regard to a nursing home that currently may admit individuals as residents 

only if they are members of certain religious orders because of the conditions on which 

the ODH Director granted the nursing home's certificate of need (CON), the bill 

authorizes the nursing home to provide care also to specified family members.  The 

following relatives of the religious order members are included under the bill:  mothers, 

fathers, brothers, sisters, brothers-in-law, sisters-in-law, and children. 

The bill specifies that the long-term care beds in such a nursing home may not be 

relocated to a new or existing long-term care facility. 

Application for a new nursing home 

(Section 291.40) 

The bill requires the ODH Director to accept a CON application for the 

establishment, development, and construction of a new nursing home if all of the 

following conditions are met: 
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(1)  The application is submitted to the Director not later than 180 days after the 

effective date of this provision of the bill; 

(2)  The new nursing home is to be located in a county that had, according to the 

2000 regular federal census, a population of at least 30,000 and not more than 41,000 

persons; 

(3)  The new nursing home is to be located on a campus that has been in 

operation for at least 12 years and at least one existing residential care facility with at 

least 25 residents and at least one existing independent living dwelling for seniors with 

at least 75 residents are located on the same campus on the effective date of this 

provision of the bill; 

(4)  The new nursing home is to have not more than 30 beds, all of which are to 

be transferred from an existing nursing home in Ohio and are proposed to be licensed 

as nursing home beds. 

The Director is prohibited, in reviewing the CON applications authorized by the 

bill, from denying an application on the grounds that the new nursing home is to have 

less than 50 beds, which is the minimum number of beds otherwise required by an 

existing ODH rule.136  The Director is also prohibited from requiring an applicant to 

obtain a waiver of the minimum 50-bed requirement. 

County home exemption from requirement to obtain a CON 

(Section 291.50) 

The bill permits a county home to obtain Medicare or Medicaid certification for 

one or more of its existing beds (beds that are used, or available for use, for skilled 

nursing care on the effective date of this provision of the bill) without obtaining a CON 

if certain conditions are met.  This authority ends January 1, 2014. 

For a county home to be exempt under the bill from the requirement to obtain a 

CON, all of the following must apply:  (1) the county home must be located in a county 

that has a bed need shortage, (2) no county that borders the county in which the county 

home is located may have a bed need excess or shortage, (3) the number of the county 

home's existing beds for which Medicare or Medicaid certification is sought cannot 

exceed the number of long-term care beds that could be relocated into the county in 

which the county home is located according to a determination the Director of Health 

made in calendar year 2010 under the CON law, and (4) the county home must obtain 

                                                 
136 O.A.C. 3701-12-23. 
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Medicare or Medicaid certification for those existing beds not later than December 31, 

2013.  A county is considered to have a bed need shortage or excess if, according to a 

determination the Director of Health made under the CON law in calendar year 2010, 

one or more long-term care beds could be relocated into (in the case of a shortage) or 

from (in the case of an excess) the county. 

Health homes and medical homes 

Health home definition 

(R.C. 3701.032) 

The bill permits the ODH Director to adopt rules that define what constitutes a 

health home for the purpose of any entity authorized to provide care coordination 

services.  The rules must be adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 

Act. 

While the term "health home" is not used in current law, the bill authorizes the 

ODJFS Director to implement within the Medicaid program a system under which 

Medicaid recipients with chronic conditions are provided with coordinated care 

through health homes (see, "Health homes for Medicaid recipients"). 

Patient Centered Medical Home Education Advisory Group 

(R.C. 185.03) 

The bill adds a representative of the Ohio Council for Home Care and Hospice to 

the Patient Centered Medical Home Education Advisory Group.  The individual is to be 

appointed by the Council's governing board. 

Sub. H.B. 198 of the 128th General Assembly established the Council to 

implement and administer the Patient Centered Medical Home Education Pilot Project.  

The Project's purpose is to advance medical education in the patient centered medical 

home model of care. 
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Vital statistics fees – portion transferred to State Office of Vital Statistics 

(R.C. 3705.24; R.C. 3709.09(A) and 3701.342 (not in the bill)) 

Local boards of health affiliated with health districts 

The bill requires $1 of each $4 portion of the minimum base fee ($12)137 for a 

certified copy of a vital record or a certification of birth that is collected by a board of 

health of a city or general health district, and transferred to the State Office of Vital 

Statistics, to be used by the ODH Director to pay subsidies to the boards of health.  The 

subsidies must be distributed in accordance with the same formula the Director 

currently uses to distribute other state subsidy funds to the boards of health and local 

health departments.  The formula takes into account health district population and 

performance. 

Local registrars of vital statistics not affiliated with health districts 

The bill requires the entire portion ($4) of the minimum base fee ($12) for a 

certified copy of a vital record or a certification of birth that is collected by a local 

registrar of vital statistics (who is not a salaried employee of a city or general health 

district) to be transferred to the State Office of Vital Statistics.  The portions must be 

transferred not later than 30 days after the end of each calendar quarter and must be 

used to support public health systems. 

The bill also requires such a local registrar of vital statistics to charge an 

additional $5 fee to be used by ODH to support the operations, modernization, and 

automation of the vital records program.  This same additional fee is charged by the 

Office of Vital Statistics and local boards of health under continuing law. 

Clinical laboratory services providers 

(R.C. 3701.94) 

The bill specifies two prohibitions applicable to clinical laboratory services 

providers.138  These are prohibitions on (1) inducing physicians or group practices to 

                                                 
137 In addition to the base fee (required by R.C. 3705.24(A)(2) and 3709.09(A)), continuing law permits the 

following additional fees to be charged for copies of vital records and certifications of birth:  fees charged 

by a local registrar of vital statistics or a clerk of court (under R.C. 3705.24(D) and (G)), some of which 

vary based on the population of the primary registration district; fees to modernize and automate the 

vital records system (under R.C. 3705.24(B)); fees charged to benefit the Childrenʹs Trust Fund (under 

R.C. 3109.14); and fees charged to benefit the Family Violence Prevention Fund (under R.C. 3705.242). 

138 A "clinical laboratory services provider" is any person, or any employee, employer, agent, 

representative, or other fiduciary of such person, who provides clinical laboratory services.  "Clinical 
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refer patients in exchange for remuneration and to split fees (an anti-kickback/fee-

splitting provision) and (2) placing laboratory personnel in physician or group practice 

offices, subject to an exception for certain contracts with hospitals (an anti-placement 

provision). 

Anti-kickback and fee-splitting provision 

(R.C. 3701.94(B)) 

The bill's anti-kickback/fee-splitting provision prohibits a clinical laboratory 

services provider from offering, giving, paying, or delivering, or agreeing to offer, give, 

pay, or deliver, any remuneration to any physician or group practice to induce the 

physician or group practice to refer patients to the clinical laboratory services provider 

or to split fees.  The prohibition extends to any direct or indirect action made by the 

clinical laboratory services provider to accomplish the inducement and includes 

remuneration made in cash or in kind. 

Background – federal anti-kickback statute 

The bill's anti-kickback/fee-splitting provision would be in addition to the federal 

anti-kickback statute.  This federal statute prohibits the exchange (or offer to exchange), of 

anything of value, in an effort to induce (or reward) the referral of federal health care 

program business.139  The federal anti-kickback statute is different from the bill's anti-

kickback provision, however, because it (1) is a criminal statute that requires the 

government to show that the violator had improper intent, (2) pertains only to items or services 

reimbursed by a federal health care program, (3) permits both criminal and civil fines to be 

imposed, and (4) specifies exceptions where the statute will not apply and so-called "safe 

harbors" – certain practices that will not be treated as criminal offenses although they could 

induce prohibited referrals.140 

(1)  Improper intent; penalties.  The federal statute makes it a criminal offense for 

a person to knowingly and willfully offer, pay, solicit, or receive any remuneration to 

induce or reward referrals of items or services reimbursed by a federal health care 

                                                                                                                                                             
laboratory services" are the microbiological, serological, chemical, hematological, biophysical, cytological, 

or pathological examination of materials derived from the human body for purposes of obtaining 

information for the diagnosis, prevention, treatment, or screening of any disease or impairment or for the 

assessment of health.  "Clinical laboratory services" also means the collection or preparation of specimens 

for testing.  (R.C. 3701.94(A).) 

139 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b; see also American Health Lawyers Association, Anti-Kickback Statute (last visited 

April 27, 2011), available at <http://www.healthlawyers.org/Resources/Health%20Law%20Wiki/Anti-

Kickback%20Statute.aspx>. 

140 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b). 
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program, including Medicare, Medicaid, and programs covering veterans' benefits.141  

Violations of the law are punishable by up to five years in prison, criminal fines up to $25,000, 

administrative civil money penalties up to $50,000, and exclusion from participation in federal 

health care programs.142 

(2)  Federal health care programs.  The federal statute applies only to Medicare, 

Medicaid, or other federally funded programs, except for the Federal Employees Health 

Benefit Program.143 

(3)  Exceptions.  The federal statute contains several exceptions where the statute 

will not apply.  One of the more common exceptions is for bona fide employment 

relationships.  That exception simply states that the statute will not apply to "[a]ny 

amount paid by an employer to an employee (who is in a bona fide employment 

relationship) for employment in the provision of covered items or services."144 

(4)  Safe harbors.  In addition to the several exceptions, the Office of the Inspector 

General (OIG) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has established 

numerous "safe harbors" by adopting regulations specifying various payment and 

business practices that, although potentially capable of inducing referrals of business 

reimbursable under federal health care programs, would not be treated as criminal 

offenses under the anti-kickback statute.  These include safe harbors for certain 

investments in practices and other businesses, rental of space and equipment, personal 

services and management contracts, and price reductions offered to health plans and 

eligible managed care organizations, among many other arrangements.145 

                                                 
141 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b); see also Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Medicare Fraud & Abuse (last 

visited April 27, 2011), available at <www.uthouston.edu/dotAsset/2222435.pdf>. 

142 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b); see also Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Office of the Inspector 

General, Fact Sheet:  Federal Anti-kickback and Regulatory Safe Harbors (last visited April 27, 2011), available 

at <http://oig.hhs.gov/fraud/docs/safeharborregulations/safefs.htm>. 

143 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b); see also Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Office of the Inspector 

General, Fact Sheet:  Federal Anti-kickback and Regulatory Safe Harbors (last visited April 27, 2011), available 

at <http://oig.hhs.gov/fraud/docs/safeharborregulations/safefs.htm>. 

144 42 U.S.C. 1320a-7b(b)(3)(B). 

145 42 C.F.R. 1001.952.  Medicare and State Health Care Programs:  Fraud and Abuse; Safe Harbor Under 

the Anti-Kickback Statute For Waiver of Beneficiary Coinsurance and Deductible Amounts, 67 Fed. Reg. 

60202 (proposed September 25, 2002). 
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Anti-placement of laboratory personnel provision 

(R.C. 3701.94(C)) 

The bill's anti-placement provision prohibits a clinical laboratory services 

provider from giving to a physician or group practice, supplying the physician or group 

practice with, or placing in the physician's or group practice's office any individual, 

including an employee, agent, representative, or other fiduciary of the clinical 

laboratory services provider (whether paid or unpaid), for the purpose of having that 

individual perform clinical laboratory services for the physician or group practice.  The 

bill specifies that this prohibition does not, however, prohibit a clinical laboratory 

services provider from entering into a laboratory management services contract with a 

hospital, including a contract that requires the clinical laboratory services provider to 

place employees or agents who perform functions directly related to the provision of 

clinical laboratory services at the hospital, as long as the contract specifies that the 

hospital will pay fair market value for the laboratory management services rendered. 

The bill does not specify how the "fair market value" of laboratory management 

services rendered by providers of clinical laboratory services for hospitals is to be 

calculated.  The U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has suggested 

that the appropriate method for determining fair market value will depend on the 

nature of the transaction, its location, and other factors, but that reference to multiple, 

objective, independently published salary surveys remains a prudent practice for 

evaluating fair market value.146 

Penalties 

(R.C. 3701.941 (primary) and 3702.31(A)) 

If the ODH Director determines that a clinical laboratory services provider has 

violated either the anti-kickback/fee splitting provision or the anti-placement provision, 

the bill requires the Director to impose a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 and not 

more than $10,000 for each day that the clinical laboratory violates the prohibition.  All 

moneys collected as civil penalties must be deposited in the Quality Monitoring and 

Inspection Fund, a fund that exists under current law.  The bill includes the ODH 

Director's administration and enforcement of the bill's requirements among the other 

required uses of the money in the Fund. 

                                                 
146 McDermott, Will & Emery, CMS Publishes Phase III Stark Law Rule (September 2007), available at 

<www.mwe.com/info/news/wp0907a.pdf>, p. 4. 
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Skilled nursing care in residential care facilities 

(R.C. 3721.011 and 3721.04) 

A residential care facility, which is popularly known as an assisted living facility, 

is a facility that provides (1) accommodations for 17 or more unrelated individuals and 

supervision and personal care services for three or more of those individuals who are 

dependent on the services of others by reason of age or physical or mental impairment 

or (2) accommodations for three or more unrelated individuals, supervision and 

personal care services for at least three of those individuals who are dependent on the 

services of others by reason of age or physical or mental impairment, and, to at least one 

of those individuals, certain limited skilled nursing care.147  The bill revises the law 

governing the limited skilled nursing care that a residential care facility may provide. 

The current law regarding limited skilled nursing care that the bill revises 

permits a residential care facility to admit or retain an individual who needs skilled 

nursing care for more than 120 days in a 12-month period only if the individual is a 

hospice patient and the facility has entered into a written agreement with a hospice care 

program.  The agreement must provide for (1) a determination to have been made that 

the hospice patient's needs can be met at the facility, (2) periodic redeterminations being 

made according to a schedule specified in the agreement, and (3) the hospice patient 

being given the opportunity to choose the hospice care program that best meets the 

patient's needs. 

The bill revises this provision by permitting a residential care facility to admit or 

retain any individual, rather than only a hospice patient, who needs skilled nursing care 

for more than 120 days in a 12-month period if the facility enters into a written 

agreement with (1) the individual or individual's sponsor, (2) the individual's personal 

physician, (3) unless the individual's personal physician oversees the skilled nursing 

care, the provider of the skilled nursing care, and (4) if the individual is a hospice 

patient, a hospice care program.  The agreement must include the same provisions that 

current law requires an agreement between a residential care facility and hospice care 

program to include, except that an agreement regarding an individual who is not a 

hospice patient must also include a provision that the individual's personal physician 

has determined that the skilled nursing care the individual needs is routine. 

                                                 
147 R.C. 3721.01(A)(7). 
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Investigations of complaints against nursing homes and residential care 
facilities 

(R.C. 3721.031 (primary), 1347.08, and 3721.99) 

The bill requires the ODH Director, when investigating a complaint against a 

nursing home or residential care facility, to conduct an initial investigation of the 

complaint as a desk audit.  If the Director determines through the desk audit that 

sufficient cause exists for an on-site examination, the Director must continue the 

investigation with an on-site examination. 

No fee exemption for public commercial waste haulers by solid waste 
management districts 

(R.C. 3734.577) 

The bill provides that, notwithstanding any section of the Revised Code to the 

contrary, no solid waste management district can exempt a public sector commercial 

licensed hauler from a fee that is charged to private sector commercial licensed haulers 

by the solid waste management district.  Solid waste management districts have 

authority to charge a variety of fees, including, among others, transfer or disposal fees, 

and additional per ton fees assessed for special funds or to defray costs to certain 

townships and municipalities for maintenance of roads and other public facilities. 

Vending machines 

(R.C. 3717.01) 

The bill includes as a vending machine under the Food Service Operations Law a 

self-service device at which an individual purchases a predetermined unit serving of 

food, either in bulk or in package, by scanning the bar code of the food that was 

obtained at the vending machine location.  Under current law, a vending machine 

location must be licensed as a food service operation unless it is a type that is 

specifically excluded from licensure.  A vending machine location is an area or room 

where one or more vending machines are installed and operated, except that if the 

machines within an area are separated by more than 150 feet, each area separated by 

that distance constitutes a separate vending machine location. 
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HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES (REP)/SENATE (SEN) 

 Permits a member of the 129th General Assembly to request a 5% cut in the 

member's base salary for the remainder of that General Assembly. 

 Requires the base salary of any member of the 129th General Assembly who is 

appointed after July 1, 2011, to be $57,555 for the remainder of the term to which the 

member was appointed. 

 Requires the clerk of each chamber to request the Office of Budget and Management 

(OBM) Director to transfer any savings derived as a result of the salary reductions to 

General Revenue Fund (GRF) appropriation item 600540, Second Harvest Food 

Banks. 

 Requires the chairperson of a committee, upon motion, to recess a meeting of the 

committee to enable members of the committee who are members of the same 

political party to hold a caucus meeting to discuss matters that have been referred to 

or are under consideration by the committee. 

 

 

Reduction in legislators' salary 

(Section 761.10) 

The bill permits any member of the 129th General Assembly to request the clerk 

of their respective chamber to reduce the member's base salary by 5% for the remainder 

of that General Assembly.  The current base salary for a member who is not in 

leadership is $60,583.70.  Members in leadership earn a higher base salary depending on 

their position.  The bill specifies that the base salary of any member who is appointed to 

the 129th General Assembly after July 1, 2011, is to be $57,555 for the remainder of the 

term to which the member was appointed.  The clerk of each chamber is to request the 

Office of Budget and Management (OBM) Director to transfer all savings derived as a 

result of the salary reductions to General Revene Fund (GRF) appropriation item 

600540, Second Harvest Food Banks.  The bill appropriates the transferred amounts. 

Caucus meetings during General Assembly committee hearings 

(R.C. 101.15) 

The bill requires the chairperson of a legislative committee, upon motion, to 

recess a meeting of the committee to enable members of the committee who are 
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members of the same political party to hold a caucus meeting to discuss matters that 

have been referred to or are under consideration by the committee.  While a committee 

is recessed for a caucus meeting, it is not in order for the committee to take up or 

dispose of any matter. 

The bill specifies that such a caucus meeting is neither a public meeting nor open 

to the public, unless the caucus determines otherwise.  Currently, the General Assembly 

Open Meetings Law would require a meeting attended by all members of a committee's 

majority caucus to be open to the public, since that law requires any formal action to 

take place in an open meeting, and invalidates actions resulting from deliberations in a 

nonpublic meeting. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE (INS) 

 Abolishes the Health Care Coverage and Quality Council. 

 Allows life insurers and health insurers to offer wellness or health improvement 

programs that include rewards and incentives to encourage or reward participation. 

 Prohibits any contracting entity from offering, entering into, amending, or renewing 

any contract with a health care provider, including a hospital, that contains a most 

favored nation clause. 

 Permits existing contracts to retain a most favored nation clause for the duration of 

the existing contract unless the contract is materially amended, extended, or 

renewed after the effective date of the amendment. 

 Protects rights related to netting agreements and qualified financial contracts under 

Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law.   

 Establishes guidelines for termination, liquidation, acceleration, close out, transfer, 

and disaffirmance or repudiation of netting agreements or qualified financial 

contracts. 
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Health Care Coverage and Quality Council 

(R.C. 3923.90 and 3923.91 (repealed); R.C. 185.01, 185.03, 185.06, 185.10, 3319.71, 3924.10, 

and 4113.11) 

The bill abolishes the Health Care Coverage and Quality Council.  Under current 

law, the Council has the following duties: 

 Advising the Governor and General Assembly on strategies to improve 

health care programs and health insurance policies and benefit plans; 

 Monitoring and evaluating implementation of strategies for improving 

access to health insurance coverage and improving the quality of Ohio's 

health care system; 

 Cataloging existing health care data reporting efforts and making 

recommendations to improve data reporting in a manner that increases 

transparency and consistency in the health care and insurance coverage 

systems; 

 Studying health care financing alternatives that will increase access to 

health insurance coverage, promote disease prevention and injury 

prevention, contain costs, and improve quality; 

 Evaluating the systems that individuals use to obtain or otherwise become 

connected with health insurance and recommending improvements to 

those systems or the use of alternative systems; 

 Recommending minimum coverage standards for basic and standard 

health insurance plans offered by insurance carriers in the small group 

market; 

 Recommending strategies to assist individuals in being able to afford 

health insurance coverage; 

 Recommending strategies to implement health information technology to 

support improved access and quality and reduced costs in Ohio's health 

care system; 

 Studying alternative care management options for Medicaid recipients 

who are not required to participate in the care management system; 

 Reviewing the medical home model of care concept, proposing the 

characteristics of a patient centered medical home model of care, pursuing 
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appropriate funding opportunities for the development of a patient 

centered medical home model of care, and proposing payment reforms 

that encourage implementation of a patient centered medical home model 

of care; 

 Collaborating with the Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents or any 

other entity the Council considers appropriate to review issues that may 

cause limitations on the use of a patient centered medical home model of 

care; 

 Recommending reporting requirements for any physician practice or 

advanced practice nurse primary care practice using a patient centered 

medical home model of care; 

 Making recommendations to the Superintendent of Insurance concerning 

cafeteria plans that continuing law requires employers to provide. 

The Council also must perform any other duties the Superintendent specifies in rules. 

The bill allows the Superintendent to appoint an individual to the Patient 

Centered Medical Home Education Advisory Group in lieu of the Council member who 

is a voting member under current law.  The bill also makes other conforming changes 

including removing a requirement that a physician practice or advanced practice nurse 

primary care practice comply with reporting requirements recommended by the 

Council in order to be eligible for inclusion in the Patient Centered Medical Home 

Education Pilot Project. 

Wellness programs 

(R.C. 3901.56) 

The bill allows life and health insurers to offer a wellness or health improvement 

program that provides rewards or incentives, including merchandise; gift cards; debit 

cards; premium discounts or rebates; contributions to a health savings account; 

modifications to copayment, deductible, or coinsurance amounts; or any combination of 

these incentives, to encourage participation or to reward participation in the program.  

However, under the bill, the insured may be required to provide verification, such as a 

statement from their physician, that a medical condition makes it unreasonably difficult 

or medically inadvisable for the individual to participate in the wellness or health 

improvement program. 

Under the bill, a wellness or health improvement program offered by an insurer 

cannot be construed to violate Ohio's prohibitions against using gifts or other incentives 
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to induce a person to purchase insurance if the program is disclosed in the policy or 

plan. Additionally, under the bill, neither of the following may be construed as 

prohibiting an insurer from offering a wellness or health improvement program or 

restricting the amount an employee is charged for coverage under a group policy after 

the application of any premium discounts or rebates, or modifying otherwise applicable 

copayments or deductibles for adherence to wellness or health improvement programs: 

 Ohio's law that prohibits insurers from charging similarly situated 

individuals different premiums or other contributions under an 

employment-related group sickness and accident insurance policy; 

 Ohio's law that prohibits employers from excluding an individual from 

coverage under a plan based on the health status of the individual.  

The bill's wellness program provisions apply to life insurers, sickness and 

accident insurers, health insuring corporations, multiple employer welfare 

arrangements, and public employee benefit plans. 

Most favored nation clauses in health care contracts 

(R.C. 3963.11; Section 630.10) 

The bill prohibits any contracting entity from offering, entering into, amending, 

or renewing any contract with a health care provider that contains a most favored 

nation clause.  Under current law, the prohibition on most favored nation clauses does 

not include contracts offered, entered into, amended, or renewed with a hospital.  The 

bill extends the prohibition to contracts with hospitals. 

A "most favored nation clause" in the context of a health care contract is defined 

to mean a provision that does any of the following: 

(1)  Prohibits, or grants a contracting entity an option to prohibit, the 

participating provider from contracting with another contracting entity to provide 

health care services at a lower price than the payment specified in the contract; 

(2)  Requires, or grants a contracting entity an option to require, the participating 

provider to accept a lower payment in the event the participating provider agrees to 

provide health care services to any other contracting entity at a lower price; 

(3)  Requires, or grants a contracting entity an option to require, termination or 

renegotiation of the existing health care contract in the event the participating provider 

agrees to provide health care services to any other contracting entity at a lower price; 
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(4)  Requires the participating provider to disclose the participating provider's 

contractual reimbursement rates with other contracting entities. 

The prohibition on most favored nation clauses does not apply to contracts in 

effect on the effective date of the bill, unless those contracts are materially amended, 

extended, or renewed. 

Section 3963.11 of the Revised Code, as it appears in current law, has a delayed 

effective date of July 1, 2011. As a result, contracts with a health care provider other 

than a hospital cannot contain most favored nation clauses beginning on that date.  The 

bill removes this delayed effective date language, which has the effect of prohibiting 

most favored nation clauses with hospitals immediately following the 90-day 

referendum period. 

Netting agreements and qualified financial contracts under the Insurer 
Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law 

The bill protects rights related to netting agreements and qualified financial 

contracts under Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law.  The bill also 

establishes guidelines for termination, liquidation, acceleration, close out, transfer, and 

disaffirmance or repudiation of netting agreements or qualified financial contracts.   

Protection of rights related to qualified financial contracts and netting 
agreements 

(R.C. 3903.301(A)) 

The bill prohibits any person from being stayed or prohibited from exercising 

any of the following rights: 

 A contractual right to cause the termination, liquidation, acceleration, or 

close out of obligations under, or in connection with, a netting agreement 

or qualified financial contract with an insurer because of the insolvency, 

financial condition, or default of the insurer at any time or because of the 

commencement of a rehabilitation or liquidation proceeding under Ohio 

law; 

 Any right under a pledge, security, collateral, reimbursement, or 

guarantee agreement or arrangement or any similar security arrangement 

or credit enhancement relating to a netting agreement or qualified 

financial contract; 

 Any right to set off or net out any termination value, payment amount, or 

other transfer obligation arising under or in connection with a qualified 
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financial contract in which the counterparty or its guarantor is organized 

under the laws of the United States, a state, or a foreign jurisdiction that 

the securities valuation office of the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners (NAIC) approves as eligible for netting.  The bill 

maintains, however, current law's requirements for set offs.   

Termination of a netting agreement or qualified financial contract 

(R.C. 3903.301(B) and (C)) 

If a counterparty to a netting agreement or qualified financial contract with an 

insurer that is subject to a proceeding under Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and 

Liquidation Law terminates, liquidates, accelerates, or closes out the agreement or 

contract, the bill requires damages to be measured as of the date or dates of the 

termination, liquidation, acceleration, or close out.   The amount of a claim for damages 

must be actual direct compensatory damages. 

Upon termination of a netting agreement or qualified financial contract, the bill 

requires any net or settlement amount that a nondefaulting party owes to an insurer 

against which an application or petition has been filed under Ohio's Insurer 

Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law to be transferred to, or on the order of, the receiver 

for the insurer.  This requirement applies regardless of whether the insurer is the 

defaulting party and applies notwithstanding any walkaway clause in the netting 

agreement or qualified financial contract.  Additionally, a limited two-way payment or 

first method provision in a netting agreement or qualified financial contract with a 

defaulting insurer is a full two-way payment or second method provision as against the 

defaulting insurer under the bill.  Any property or amount transferred must be a 

general asset of the insurer except to the extent it is subject to a secondary lien or 

encumbrance, or to rights of netting or setoff. 

Transferring a netting agreement or qualified financial contract 

(R.C. 3903.301(D) and (E)) 

In transferring a netting agreement or qualified financial contract of an insurer 

that is subject to a proceeding under Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law, 

the bill requires the receiver to transfer to one party, other than an insurer subject to a 

proceeding under that Law, all netting agreements and qualified financial contracts 

between a counterparty, or any affiliate of the counterparty, and the insurer that is the 

subject of the proceeding.  The transfer must include all rights and obligations of each 

party under each netting agreement and qualified financial contract, and all property, 

including any guarantees or other credit enhancement, securing any claims of the 

parties under each agreement or contract. 
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As an alternative, the bill allows the receiver who is transferring a netting 

agreement or qualified financial contract of an insurer that is subject to a proceeding 

under Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law, to transfer none of the netting 

agreements or qualified financial contracts, including the rights, obligations, and 

property associated with those agreements and contracts, with respect to the 

counterparty and any affiliate of the counterparty. 

If a receiver transfers a netting agreement or qualified financial contract, the bill 

requires the receiver to use its best efforts to notify any person who is a party to the 

transferred agreement or contract of the transfer by noon, of the receiver's local time, on 

the business day following the transfer. 

Transfer of money or property before a proceeding 

(R.C. 3903.301(F)) 

The bill prohibits a receiver from avoiding a transfer of money or other property 

that is made before the beginning of a rehabilitation or liquidation proceeding under 

Ohio law and that arises under or in connection with a netting agreement or qualified 

financial contract, or any pledge, security, collateral, or guarantee agreement or other 

similar security arrangement or credit support document relating to a netting 

agreement or qualified financial contract. 

However, the bill allows a receiver to avoid a transfer of property under Ohio's 

Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law if the transfer was made with actual intent 

to hinder, delay, or defraud the insurer, a receiver appointed for the insurer, or existing 

or future creditors. 

Disaffirmance or repudiation of a netting agreement or qualified financial 
contract 

(R.C. 3903.301(G)) 

In exercising any right of disaffirmance or repudiation with respect to a netting 

agreement or qualified financial contract to which an insurer is a party, the receiver for 

the insurer must do either of the following: 

 Disaffirm or repudiate all netting agreements and qualified financial 

contracts between the insurer and a counterparty or any affiliate of the 

counterparty; 

 Disaffirm or repudiate none of those netting agreements or qualified 

financial contracts with respect to the counterparty or any affiliate of the 

counterparty. 
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If a counterparty's claim against the estate of the insurer arising from the 

receiver's disaffirmance or repudiation of a netting agreement or qualified financial 

contract has not been previously affirmed in the liquidation or immediately preceding 

conservation or rehabilitation case, the bill requires that claim to be considered as if it 

had arisen before the filing date of the petition for liquidation.  If a conservation or 

rehabilitation proceeding is converted to a liquidation proceeding, that claim must be 

considered as if it had arisen before the filing date of the petition for conservation or 

rehabilitation.  The amount of the claim must be the actual direct compensatory 

damages determined as of the date of the disaffirmance or repudiation. 

Rights of a counterparty 

(R.C. 3903.301(H)) 

Under the bill, a counterparty in an action brought under Ohio's Insurer 

Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law has the rights granted under current law, and those 

rights apply to netting agreements and qualified financial contracts entered into on 

behalf of the general account.  Those rights also apply to netting agreements and 

qualified financial contracts entered into on behalf of separate accounts if the assets of 

each separate account are available only to counterparties to netting agreements and 

qualified financial contracts entered into on behalf of that separate account. 

Affiliates of the insurer 

(R.C. 3903.301(I)) 

The bill's changes to Ohio's Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law do not 

apply to the affiliates of an insurer that is the subject of any rehabilitation or liquidation 

proceeding under that law. 

Effective date 

(Section 803.60) 

The bill's requirements regarding netting agreements and qualified financial 

contracts apply only to formal delinquency proceedings that commence under Ohio's 

Insurer Rehabilitation and Liquidation Law on or after the effective date of this act. 
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Definitions 

(R.C. 3903.01) 

Qualified financial contract 

A "qualified financial contract" is any commodity contract, forward contract, 

repurchase agreement, securities contract, swap agreement, and any similar agreement 

that the Superintendent of Insurance determines by rule to be a qualified financial 

contract.  "Forward contract," "repurchase agreement," "securities contract," and "swap 

agreement" are defined under the federal Deposit Insurance Act (12 U.S.C. 1821(e)).  

A "commodity contract" is a contract for the purchase or sale of a commodity for 

future delivery on, or subject to the rules of, a board of trade designated as a contract 

market by the commodity futures trading commission under the federal "Commodity 

Exchange Act," or a board of trade outside the United States.   A commodity contract 

also is an agreement that is commonly known to the commodities trade as a margin 

account, margin contract, leverage account, leverage contract, or commodity option and 

that is subject to regulation under the federal "Commodity Exchange Act." Any 

combination of agreements or transactions described above as commodity contracts and 

any option to enter into an agreement or transaction described above are commodity 

contracts under the bill. 

Netting agreement 

A netting agreement is any of the following agreements: 

 A contract or agreement, including a master agreement, and any terms 

and conditions incorporated by reference in that contract or agreement, 

that provides for the netting, liquidation, setoff, termination, acceleration, 

or close out under or in connection with a qualified financial contract, or 

any present or future payment or delivery obligations or entitlements 

under a qualified financial contract, including liquidation or close-out 

values relating to those obligations or entitlements;  

 A master agreement, together with all schedules, confirmations, 

definitions, and addenda to the agreement and transactions under the 

agreement, which must be treated as one netting agreement, and any 

bridge agreement for one or more master agreements; 

 Any security agreement or arrangement, credit support document, or 

guarantee or reimbursement obligation related to any contract or 

agreement that is a netting agreement. 
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Any contract or agreement that is described above as a netting agreement and 

that relates to agreements or transactions that are not qualified financial contracts are 

netting agreements only with respect to those agreements or transactions that are 

qualified financial contracts. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF JOB AND FAMILY SERVICES (JFS) 

I.  General 

 Authorizes the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS), a county 

department of job and family services (CDJFS), or a child support enforcement 

agency (CSEA) to conduct audits (in addition to investigations) as necessary in 

furtherance of their duties. 

 Specifies that until an audit report is formally released by ODJFS, the audit report 

and any related documents or records are not public records. 

 Authorizes the ODJFS Director to adopt internal management rules, without an 

administrative hearing, as necessary to implement the law governing ODJFS, CDJFS, 

and CSEA audits and investigations. 

 Specifies that an audit conference conducted by the audit staff of ODJFS with the 

officials of the public office that is the subject of the audit is not a public meeting for 

the purpose of the Open Meetings Law. 

 Authorizes the transfer of money from the Public Assistance Fund to the Children 

Services Fund or Child Support Enforcement Administrative Fund, as long as the 

money may be spent for the purposes of that fund. 

 Reduces to 105% (from 110%) the maximum amount that a county may be required 

to pay, in comparison to the amount paid in the preceding fiscal year, for its share of 

public assistance expenditures. 

 Expands to CSEAs the authority to recover costs of services provided to persons 

who secured them through fraud or misrepresentation or who intentionally diverted 

services to ineligible persons. 

 Permits county family services agencies to recover (1) costs of benefits secured 

through fraud or misrepresentation or that were intentionally diverted to ineligible 

persons and (2) any other costs of benefits and services provided by the agencies if 

recovery is required or permitted by federal law. 
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 Permits ODJFS to take either or both of the following actions to collect excess 

amounts from a county entity performing family services duties:  (1) enter into an 

agreement with the county entity for repayment of the excess amount plus, at 

ODJFS's discretion, interest and (2) certify a claim to the Attorney General for 

collection. 

 Specifies that the actions may be taken in addition to or instead of the actions 

authorized by current law regarding the recovery of excess amounts from the 

county entity. 

 Replaces the 14% limit on the amount of a local agency's Title XX appropriation that 

may be used for administrative costs with a requirement that each state department 

establish the maximum percentage by rule that complies with federal law. 

 Requires the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood to include with its existing annual 

report a description, prepared in collaboration with the ODJFS Director, of (1) its 

expectations for the outcomes of fatherhood-related programs and initiatives and 

(2) its methods for annually measuring those outcomes. 

II.  Child Care 

 Eliminates provisions under which CDJFSs may contract with and reimburse 

providers of publicly funded child care. 

 Permits the ODJFS Director to adopt rules specifying exceptions to the eligibility 

requirements for a family that previously received publicly funded child care but 

whose eligibility was terminated and is seeking reinstatement. 

 Permits ODJFS, when it determines that expenditures for publicly funded child care 

will exceed available federal and state funds, to change the schedule of fees to be 

paid by eligible caretaker parents and the rate of payment to providers of publicly 

funded child care. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to establish enhanced reimbursement ceilings for 

providers who participate in the Step Up to Quality Program and maintain quality 

ratings. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to weigh any reduction in reimbursement ceilings more 

heavily against child day-care centers that do not participate in the Program or do 

not maintain quality ratings. 



Legislative Service Commission -324- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

 Prohibits an eligible caretaker parent from receiving publicly funded child care from 

more than one provider without prior approval from the CDJFS based on good 

cause. 

 Provides that fraudulent reporting of enrollment or attendance data by child care 

providers or parents participating in a swipe card program implemented by ODJFS 

is grounds for license or certification revocation or loss of eligibility for publicly 

funded childcare. 

 Eliminates the requirement that ODJFS notify a child day-care center or type A 

family day-care home that it is out of compliance with the laws governing centers 

and homes. 

 Eliminates ODJFS's express authority to commence a license revocation action 

against a child day-care center or type A family day-care home for failing to correct 

a compliance violation. 

 Extends the time period for which a provisional license is valid from 6 to 12 months. 

 Eliminates the requirement to renew every two years a license for a child day-care 

center or type A family day-care home. 

 Permits ODJFS to publish a guide on certification of type B family day-care homes 

either electronically or otherwise. 

 Eliminates the requirement to distribute multiple copies of the guide to CDJFSs. 

 Exempts students who are home schooled during their last year of instruction or 

who graduated from a charter school from the current educational requirements for 

employment at a child day-care center. 

 Eliminates the requirement that the ODJFS Director consider the number of 

available child-care staff members when determining license capacity for licensure 

or license renewal of a child day-care center or type A family day-care home. 

 Permits a child day-care center administrator to meet existing educational 

requirements by showing the ODJFS Director evidence that the administrator holds 

a designation as an "early childhood professional level three" under Step Up to 

Quality Program. 

 Specifies that a child day-care center administrator employed or designated as such 

on or after the bill's effective date may provide an administrator's credential as an 

alternative to existing employment standards that must be met after the date of 
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employment or designation but that the administrator must meet this, or the existing 

employment standards, within one year of employment or designation, rather than 

six. 

 Eliminates the requirement that child day-care center administrators prepare and 

distribute an annual roster and telephone contact list of all parents, guardians, or 

custodians. 

 Increases to 2 (from 1.5) the number of hours during a 24-hour day that the 

maximum number of napping toddlers or preschool children per child-care staff 

member may be double the amount established under current law. 

 Permits a child day-care center to have on the center premises and readily available 

a separate staff member who has completed a course in prevention, recognition, and 

management of communicable diseases approved by the Department of Health. 

 Makes optional the existing requirement that the ODJFS Director, when adopting 

rules for procedures for screening children and employees, include requirements for 

physical examinations and immunizations. 

 Eliminates the requirements that the ODJFS Director adopt rules to be used for 

checking the references of child day-care center and type A family day-care home 

license applicants and potential employees. 

 Replaces a provision that requires the ODJFS Director to recommend standards to 

the Governor and General Assembly regarding sanctions to be imposed on persons 

violating the law governing child care with a provision that permits the Director to 

adopt rules regarding the sanctions and specifies when the Director is to impose the 

sanctions. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to make a dispute resolution process available for 

implementing sanctions. 

III.  Child Support 

 Requires ODJFS's Office of Child Support to administer a fund for the deposit of 

support payments it receives. 

 Prohibits a child support enforcement agency (CSEA) from sending a notice to an 

occupational or professional licensing board, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), 

or the Division of Wildlife regarding a child support default unless:  (1) at least 90 

days have elapsed since the final and enforceable determination of default, and 
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(2) the obligor has not paid at least 50% of the arrearage by means other than state or 

federal tax intercept. 

 Alters the requirements concerning when a CSEA is required to remove license 

restrictions because a withholding or deduction notice has been issued to collect 

current support and any arrearage. 

 Requires a CSEA to remove license restrictions if the obligor demonstrates an 

inability to work due to circumstances beyond the obligor's control. 

 Permits a CSEA to direct the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to eliminate from the 

abstract maintained by the BMV any reference to the suspension of an individual's 

license due to child support default. 

IV.  Child Welfare and Adoption 

 Requires each public children services agency (PCSA) to prepare and maintain a 

case plan or family service plan for any child receiving in-home services from the 

agency pursuant to an alternative response. 

 Requires ODJFS to include in its rules requiring PCSAs to maintain case plans or 

family service case plans for children and their families who are receiving services in 

their homes requirements for case plans or family service plans for such children 

and families receiving services from PCSAs pursuant to an alternative response. 

 Requires that the differential response approach pursued by a PCSA include the 

traditional response pathway and the alternative response pathway. 

 Details when PCSAs must use the traditional response. 

 Requires ODJFS, in accordance with the evaluation of the Ohio Alternative Response 

Pilot Program, to plan the statewide expansion of the pilot program on a county by 

county basis, through a schedule ODJFS is to determine. 

 Provides that the bill's provisions regarding differential response, traditional 

response, and alternative response are to become effective for a county in 

accordance with ODJFS's schedule. 

 Permits the Children's Trust Fund Board to request that ODJFS adopt rules the 

Board considers necessary to carry out its responsibilities. 

 Permits ODJFS to adopt the requested rules or any other rules to assist the Board in 

carrying out its duties. 
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 Authorizes the Children's Trust Fund Board to solicit gifts, money, and other 

donations from any public or private source and to develop public-private 

partnerships. 

V.  Health Programs (Including Medicaid) 

 Creates the Health Care Special Activities Fund and requires ODJFS to deposit all 

funds it receives pursuant to the administration of the Medicaid program into the 

Fund. 

 Requires ODJFS to use the money in the Health Care Special Activities Fund to pay 

for Medicaid-related expenses. 

 Permits ODJFS to enter into agreements with other state agencies, local government 

entities, or political subdivisions to accept applications and make eligibility 

determinations on ODJFS's behalf for Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP). 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to retain in the Medicaid state plan a federal option 

under which medical assistance is made available to children during presumptive 

eligibility periods. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to amend the Medicaid state plan to implement a 

federal option under which ambulatory prenatal care is made available to pregnant 

women during presumptive eligibility periods. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director, not later than 90 days after the effective date of this 

provision of the bill, to have in place all systems that are necessary to enable a 

children's hospital and federally qualified health center to serve as a qualified entity 

or provider for purposes of the presumptive eligibility for children and pregnant 

women options if the hospital or center is eligible to be a qualified entity or provider 

under federal law and requests to serve as a qualified entity or provider. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director, after the Director determines that the systems are 

functioning properly, to permit any other entity or provider to serve as a qualified 

entity or provider for purposes of the presumptive eligibility for children and 

pregnant women options if the entity or provider is eligible to be a qualified entity 

or provider under federal law and requests to serve as a qualified entity or provider. 

 Specifies that a provision governing how a trust must be treated for purposes of 

determining Medicaid eligibility may be used only for an initial Medicaid eligibility 

determination or an appeal of an initial Medicaid eligibility determination. 
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 Prohibits a court from using the provision described above to determine a trust's 

effect on an individual's initial Medicaid eligibility determination. 

 Replaces the terms "countable resource" and "countable income" for purposes of the 

provision governing how a trust must be treated in making Medicaid eligibility 

determinations. 

 Restricts the contents of a pooled trust to the assets of a Medicaid applicant or 

recipient who is less than 65 years of age. 

 Except as otherwise authorized by the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services, 

requires ODJFS to comply with the federal maintenance of effort requirement 

regarding Medicaid eligibility standards, methodologies, and procedures while the 

requirement is in effect. 

 Requires ODJFS, on receipt of any necessary federal approval, to reduce the 

complexity of the eligibility determination processes for the Medicaid program 

caused by the different income and resource standards for the numerous Medicaid 

eligibility categories. 

 Repeals a provision that requires the State Auditor to determine whether 

overpayments were made on behalf of every medical assistance recipient and 

replaces it with one authorizing the State Auditor to conduct an audit of an 

individual medical assistance recipient on the request of the ODJFS Director. 

 Requires the State Auditor to enter into an interagency agreement with ODJFS 

governing the confidentiality of information the Auditor receives from ODJFS 

pursuant to an audit of a medical assistance recipient. 

 For purposes of determining overpayments to public assistance recipients (other 

than medical assistance recipients), authorizes (rather than requires) the ODJFS 

Director to (1) furnish quarterly the name and social security number of each public 

assistance recipient to the Director of Administrative Services, the Administrator of 

the Bureau of Workers' Compensation, and each of the state's retirement boards, and 

(2) furnish semiannually the name and social security number of each public 

assistant recipient to the Tax Commissioner. 

 Associated with the authority to audit medical assistance recipients, eliminates the 

State Auditor's authority to enter into a reciprocal agreement with the ODJFS 

Director or comparable officer of any other state for the exchange of names, 

addresses, or social security numbers of medical assistance recipients, and instead 

requires the Auditor and Attorney General to comply with the bill's provisions 

governing the disclosure of information about medical assistance recipients. 
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 Replaces provisions governing the disclosure of information about medical 

assistance recipients. 

 Eliminates the authority of ODJFS or a CDJFS to request from a law enforcement 

agency information regarding a medical assistance recipient that ODJFS or the 

CDJFS can use for purposes of determining whether the recipient or a member of the 

recipient's assistance group is a fugitive felon or is violating a condition of 

probation, a community control sanction, parole, or a post-release control sanction. 

 Eliminates a provision explicitly authorizing ODJFS, a CDJFS, and their employees 

to report to a PCSA or other appropriate agency information on known or suspected 

physical or mental injury, sexual abuse or exploitation, or negligent treatment or 

maltreatment, of a child receiving medical assistance. 

 Extends from three to six years after the date of service (1) the time period in which 

a third party must respond to an inquiry by ODJFS regarding a Medicaid claim, and 

(2) the time period in which a third party cannot deny a Medicaid claim solely on 

the basis of the date of submission of the claim, type or format of the claim form, or a 

failure by the Medicaid recipient to present proper documentation at the time of 

service. 

 Prohibits a third party from charging ODJFS or any of its authorized agents a fee for 

determining whether a Medicaid claim should be paid or processing a Medicaid 

claim if the claim was submitted not later than six years after the date of service. 

 Requires ODJFS and the Department of Health (ODH) to work together on the issue 

of achieving efficiencies in the delivery of medical assistance provided under 

Medicaid to families and children. 

 Requires ODJFS and ODH to develop a proposal for coordinating medical assistance 

provided to families and children under Medicaid while they wait to be enrolled in 

Medicaid managed care. 

 Permits ODJFS to seek federal approval to authorize payment for Medicaid-

reimbursable targeted case management services that are provided in connection 

with ODH's Help Me Grow Program and for services provided under the Program. 

 Authorizes implementation of the federal Medicaid option of providing coordinated 

care through "health homes" to Medicaid recipients with chronic conditions. 

 Permits the Health Care Compliance Fund to be used for expenses incurred in 

implementing or operating health home programs and for the creation, 
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modification, or replacement of federally funded Medicaid health-care systems in 

fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

 Permits, rather than requires, implementation of a program under which Medicaid 

recipients are enrolled in group health plans when doing so is cost-effective. 

 Authorizes ODJFS, if any necessary federal Medicaid waiver is granted, to designate 

aged, blind, or disabled Medicaid recipients who are individuals under age 21, 

nursing facility residents, recipients of Medicaid waiver home and community-

based services, and individuals dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare as those 

who are permitted or required to participate in the Medicaid managed care system. 

 Prohibits ODJFS from including in the Medicaid managed care system, in fiscal 

years 2012 and 2013, individuals receiving services through the program for 

medically handicapped children who have certain medical conditions. 

 Requires ODJFS to develop a system for providing care management services to 

individuals under age 21 who are included in the Medicaid managed care system as 

part of the aged, blind, or disabled eligibility category. 

 Requires ODJFS to provide for the care management services by doing both of the 

following:  (1) entering into contracts with children's care networks to serve as 

pediatric care organizations and (2) requiring Medicaid managed care organizations 

to enter into subcontracts with children's care networks to provide care coordination 

and care management services. 

 Requires a Medicaid managed care organization to subcontract with a children's 

care network if the network provides notification to ODJFS of its intent to provide 

care coordination or care management services. 

 Requires ODJFS to adopt rules establishing criteria for a children's care network to 

serve as a pediatric accountable care organization. 

 Provides for ODJFS to adopt either (1) an alternate payment system, or (2) a 

requirement for a managed care organization to subcontract with a children's care 

network to provide care management services, if ODJFS does not adopt rules for 

contracting criteria for children's care networks to act as a pediatric accountable care 

organization by July 1, 2012. 

 Requires, rather than permits, that Medicaid managed care coverage of prescription 

drugs be provided by the health insuring corporations participating in ODJFS's care 

management system. 
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 Prohibits the participating health insuring corporations from imposing prior 

authorization requirements for antidepressants and antipsychotics, if these mental 

health drugs meet specified criteria. 

 Specifies that, ODJFS or its actuary is to base the hospital inpatient capital payment 

portion of the payment made to Medicaid managed care organizations on data for 

services provided to all Medicaid recipients enrolled in the organization as reported 

by hospitals. 

 Requires ODJFS to establish a Medicaid Managed Care Performance Payment 

Program to make payments to managed care organizations that meet performance 

standards established by ODJFS. 

 Requires ODJFS to withhold a percentage amount established by ODJFS, from each 

premium payment made to a managed care organization and requires the Director 

of the Office of Budget and Management (OBM) to make quarterly transfers of 

amounts to the bill's Managed Care Performance Payment Fund. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to implement, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, 

purchasing strategies and rate reductions that result in payment rates for hospital 

and other Medicaid-covered services, as selected by the Director, being at least 2% 

less than the payment rates for fiscal year 2011. 

 Excludes nursing facility and intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded 

(ICF/MR) services from the requirement regarding purchasing strategies and rate 

reductions. 

 Permits ODJFS, the Ohio Department of Health (ODH), and the Ohio Department of 

Mental Health (ODMH) in conjunction with the Governor's Office of Health 

Transformation, to seek assistance from, and work with, the BEACON Council and 

hospital and other provider groups to identify specific targets and initiatives to 

reduce the cost, and improve the quality, of medical assistance provided under 

Medicaid to children. 

 Prohibits ODJFS from knowingly making a Medicaid payment for a provider-

preventable condition for which federal financial participation is prohibited. 

 Authorizes ODJFS to establish an incentive payment program, as authorized by 

federal law, to encourage the use of electronic health record technology by certain 

Medicaid providers. 

 Specifies procedures for appealing ODJFS's determination regarding the amount or 

denial of an incentive payment. 
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 Requires certain Medicaid providers, no later than January 13, 2013, to submit all 

Medicaid reimbursement claims through an electronic claims submission process 

and to arrange for receipt of Medicaid reimbursement by electronic funds transfer. 

 Excludes the following from the electronic claims submission requirement: nursing 

facilities, ICFs/MR, Medicaid managed care organizations, and any other providers 

designated by the ODJFS Director. 

 Permits ODJFS, if it chooses to outsource the performance of pediatric Medicaid 

claims review and analysis, quality assurance functions associated with pediatric 

Medicaid claims, or both, to enter into a contract with any qualified person, 

including the Ohio Children's Hospital Solutions for Patient Safety (OCHSPS), to 

perform the service or services. 

 If ODJFS enters into a contract with OCHSPS, provides that OCHSPS may request 

that ODJFS seek federal financial participation for the costs OCHSPS incurs in 

performing the service or services covered by the contract. 

 Permits the ODJFS Director to implement a system under which payments for 

services provided under the Medicaid program are made to an organization on 

behalf of the providers. 

 Requires ODJFS to charge an application fee to a provider seeking to enter into or 

renew a Medicaid provider agreement unless the provider is exempt under a federal 

regulation. 

 Provides for the amount of the fee to be set in rules but prohibits the fee from 

exceeding the amount that is necessary to pay for the expense of implementing 

provider screening requirements established by federal regulations. 

 Enacts in Ohio law a requirement, established by the federal health care reform law, 

that ODJFS generally suspend a Medicaid provider agreement and terminate the 

provider's Medicaid reimbursement, without a hearing but subject to a notice 

containing certain information, on determining that a "creditable allegation of fraud" 

against the provider exists. 

 Authorizes a Medicaid provider affected by a suspension to request reconsideration 

of the suspension and associated termination of reimbursement. 

 Authorizes ODJFS to take any of several disciplinary actions, without a hearing, 

against an existing Medicaid provider agreement or an application for a provider 

agreement when the action is based on a disciplinary action taken by another state's 
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Medicaid agency or for other reasons specified under the federal health care reform 

law. 

 Requires ODJFS to establish a process by which a physician assistant may enter into 

a Medicaid provider agreement and engage in direct billing. 

 Authorizes a Medicaid claim for a physician assistant's services to be submitted 

either by (1) the physician assistant or the physician assistant's designee, or (2) the 

physician, group practice, clinic, or other health care facility that employs or 

contracts with the physician assistant. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director, as necessary to comply with federal law, to give public 

notice in the Register of Ohio of any change to a method or standard used to 

determine the Medicaid reimbursement rate for a service. 

 Prohibits the Medicaid reimbursement rate to a hospital, nursing facility, or ICF/MR 

from exceeding limits established in federal Medicaid regulations. 

 Eliminates authority for the Medicaid reimbursement rate to a provider not 

described above to exceed the authorized Medicare reimbursement limit for the 

same service. 

 Requires ODJFS, effective October 1, 2011, to (1) reduce the first-hour-unit price 

Medicaid pays for aid services to 97% of the price paid on June 30, 2011, and for 

nursing services to 95% of the price paid on June 30, 2011, and (2) pay independent 

providers of aide and nursing services 80% of the price paid providers that are not 

independent providers. 

 Requires ODJFS, for fiscal year 2012, to continue paying Medicaid providers the 

Medicare copayment amounts that apply to dialysis services for persons eligible for 

both Medicaid and Medicare, as those copayments were made by ODJFS 

immediately prior to the bill. 

 Permits ODJFS, in fiscal year 2013, to adjust Medicaid payments for dialysis services 

by an amount sufficient to achieve $9 million in savings. 

 Prohibits the Medicaid payment for a drug that is subject to a federal upper 

reimbursement limit from exceeding, in the aggregate, the federal limit for the drug. 

 Continues to set the Medicaid dispensing fee for noncompounded drugs at $1.80 for 

the period beginning July 1, 2011, and ending on the effective date of a rule 

changing the amount of the fee. 
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 Requires the ODJFS Director to maintain, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the 

Medicaid reimbursement rates in effect on June 30, 2011 for Medicaid-covered 

hospital inpatient and outpatient services that are paid under a prospective payment 

system. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to make, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, additional 

Medicaid payments to children's hospitals for inpatient services under a program 

modeled after the program that was created for fiscal years 2006 and 2007. 

 Continues the Hospital Care Assurance Program (HCAP) for two additional years. 

 Provides for the assessments imposed on hospitals for the purpose of the Medicaid 

program to be imposed for two additional years. 

 Requires ODJFS to establish the hospital assessment rate in rules. 

 Permits the assessment rate to vary for different hospitals if ODJFS obtains any 

necessary federal waiver. 

 Provides for ODJFS to impose a 10% penalty on overdue hospital assessments. 

 Permits ODJFS to offset the amount of a hospital's unpaid penalty imposed under 

HCAP or the law governing hospital assessments from one or more payments due 

the hospital under the Medicaid program. 

 Permits ODJFS to continue and modify the existing Hospital Inpatient and 

Outpatient Supplemental Upper Payment Limit Program to provide supplemental 

Medicaid payments to hospitals for providing Medicaid-covered inpatient and 

outpatient services to Medicaid recipients. 

 Requires ODJFS to apply for federal approval of a Medicaid Managed Care Hospital 

Incentive Payment Program under which Medicaid managed care organizations are 

provided funds to increase payments to hospitals under contract with the 

organizations. 

 Prohibits ODJFS from implementing the Medicaid Managed Care Hospital Incentive 

Payment Program in a manner that reduces either (1) the amounts Medicaid 

managed care organizations would have otherwise received or (2) the amounts 

hospitals would have received from the Hospital Assessment Fund if not for the 

program. 

 Requires Medicaid managed care organizations and hospitals, if the Medicaid 

Managed Care Hospital Incentive Payment Program does not result in $22 million in 
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state savings, to pay the state the difference between the amount saved and $22 

million.  

 Sets the base rate for the franchise permit fee charged nursing homes and hospital 

long-term care units at $11.38 for fiscal year 2012 and $11.60 for fiscal year 2013 and 

thereafter. 

 Provides for the percentage that is used in determining whether the franchise permit 

fee must be reduced in order for the fee to comply with federal restrictions to change 

in accordance with the federal restrictions. 

 Abolishes the Home- and Community-Based Services for the Aged Fund. 

 Renames the Nursing Facility Stabilization Fund the Nursing Home Franchise 

Permit Fee Fund. 

 Provides for all money raised by the franchise permit fee and associated penalties to 

be deposited into the Nursing Home Franchise Permit Fee Fund, provides for the 

money in the fund to be used to make Medicaid payments to providers of home and 

community-based services as well as providers of nursing facility services, and 

permits the money in the fund to also be used for the Residential State Supplement 

program. 

 Abolishes the PASSPORT Fund. 

 Provides for the money raised by horse-racing-related taxes that is currently 

deposited into the PASSPORT Fund to be instead deposited into the Nursing Home 

Franchise Permit Fee Fund but continues to require that the money be used for the 

PASSPORT Program. 

 For purposes of calculating nursing facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates for 

direct care costs, (1) alters the methodology for determining a peer group's cost per 

case-mix unit by adding $1.88 to such costs determined for the nursing facility in the 

peer group that is at the 25th percentile of such costs rather than calculating the 

amount that is 7% above such costs for that nursing facility and (2) eliminates the 

$1.88 adjustment when ODJFS first rebases nursing facilities' direct care costs. 

 For purposes of calculating nursing facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates for 

ancillary and support costs, eliminates the 3% adjustment applied to such costs of 

the nursing facility in each peer group that is at the 25th percentile of the rate for 

such costs. 
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 For purposes of calculating nursing facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates for 

capital costs, (1) provides that a peer group's rate for capital costs is to be the capital 

costs for the nursing facility in the peer group that is at the 25th percentile of the rate 

for capital costs rather than the peer group's median rate, (2) eliminates a 

requirement that ODJFS use information about construction costs obtained from the 

Dodge Building Cost Indexes when calculating adjustments used in determining the 

rate for capital costs, and (3) prohibits ODJFS from redetermining a peer group's rate 

for capital costs based on additional information that it receives after the rate is 

determined and provides for ODJFS to make a redetermination only if ODJFS made 

an error in determining the rate based on information available to ODJFS at the time 

of the original determination. 

 Eliminates the franchise permit fee price center. 

 For purposes of calculating nursing facilities' quality incentive payments under the 

Medicaid program, (1) requires ODJFS to cease using the current accountability 

measures in determining quality incentive payments on the earlier of the effective 

date of rules establishing new accountability measures and July 1, 2012, (2) provides 

that, while the current accountability measures are used, a nursing facility is to be 

awarded quality incentive points for resident and family satisfaction only if a 

satisfaction survey was conducted for the nursing facility in calendar year 2010, (3) 

requires ODJFS to strive to have rules in effect not later than July 1, 2012, 

establishing the new accountability measures, and (4) provides that, if the rules 

establishing the new accountability measures are not in effect by July 1, 2012, no 

quality incentive payments are to made beginning on that date and ending on the 

date the rules go into effect. 

 In determining nursing facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates for fiscal years 2012 

and 2013, requires ODJFS to increase the cost per case mix-unit, rate for ancillary 

and support costs, rate for tax costs, and rate for capital costs by 5.08%. 

 In determining nursing facilities' quality incentive payments for fiscal year 2012, 

requires ODJFS to provide for the mean payment to be $14.41 per Medicaid day. 

 In determining nursing facilities' quality incentive payments for fiscal year 2013, 

requires ODJFS to provide for the mean payment to be $14.63 per Medicaid day 

unless no quality incentive payment is made for that fiscal year. 

 Specifies that a nursing facility is not to be paid more than 100%, rather than 109%, 

of the nursing facility's Medicaid per diem rate for services provided on or after 

January 1, 2012, to a dual eligible individual (i.e., an individual eligible for Medicaid 
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and Medicare) who is eligible for nursing facility services under the Medicaid 

program and post-hospital extended care services under Medicare Part A. 

 Permits the ODJFS Director to seek federal approval to create the Centers of 

Excellence program, the purpose of which is to increase the efficiency and quality of 

nursing facility services provided to Medicaid recipients with complex nursing 

facility service needs. 

 Permits the ODJFS Director to adopt rules governing the Centers of Excellence 

program, including rules that establish a method of determining the Medicaid 

reimbursement rates for nursing facilities serving Medicaid recipients participating 

in the program. 

 Specifies that the maximum period for which Medicaid payments may be made to 

reserve a bed in a nursing facility is not to exceed 30 days in calendar year 2011 and 

15 days in calendar year 2012 and thereafter. 

 Provides that the Medicaid reimbursement rate to reserve a bed in a nursing facility, 

for a day in calendar 2011, is not to exceed 50% of the nursing facility's regular per 

diem rate for that day and, for a day in calendar year 2012 and thereafter, is not to 

exceed 25% of the nursing facility's regular per diem rate for that day. 

 Repeals a provision that requires ODJFS to prepare an annual report containing 

recommendations on the methodology that should be used to transition paying 

nursing facilities the Medicaid reimbursement rate for one fiscal year to the next 

fiscal year. 

 Creates the Nursing Facility Capacity Council to study current and future nursing 

facility capacity in Ohio and to recommend actions for addressing any excess 

capacity that is identified. 

 Requires the Council to issue a written report by June 30, 2012, after which the 

Council is terminated. 

 Sets the rate for the franchise permit fee charged ICFs/MR at $17.99 for fiscal year 

2012 and $18.32 for fiscal year 2013 and thereafter. 

 Provides for the percentage that is used in determining whether the franchise permit 

fee must be reduced in order for the fee to comply with federal restrictions to change 

in accordance with the federal restrictions. 

 Specifies that 81.77% of the money raised by the franchise permit fee and associated 

penalties for fiscal year 2012, and 82.2% of such money raised for fiscal year 2013 
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and thereafter, is to be deposited into the Home and Community-Based Services for 

the Mentally Retarded and Developmentally Disabled Fund. 

 Continues to provide for the money raised by the franchise permit fee and 

associated penalties that is not deposited into the Home and Community-Based 

Services for the Mentally Retarded and Developmentally Disabled Fund to be 

deposited into the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (ODODD) 

Operating and Services Fund. 

 Provides for ODJFS, when determining inflation rates used in calculating Medicaid 

reimbursement rates for the direct care, indirect care, and other protected costs of 

ICFs/MR, to use a successoral index if the index specified in statute ceases to be 

published. 

 Eliminates a requirement that an ICF/MR refund to ODJFS the amount of excess 

depreciation paid to the ICF/MR under Medicaid if the ICF/MR is sold. 

 For fiscal year 2012, requires ODJFS to determine modified rates and capped rates 

for existing ICFs/MR and provides for an existing ICF/MR to be paid a rate that is 

the average of its modified and capped rates unless the mean of such rates for all 

existing ICFs/MR is other than $279.81, in which case the ICF/MR's rate is to be 

adjusted by a percentage that equals the percentage by which the mean rate is 

greater or less than $279.81. 

 For fiscal year 2013, requires ODJFS to determine modified rates for existing 

ICFs/MR and provides for an ICF/MR to be paid its modified rate unless the mean of 

such rates for all existing ICFs/MR is other than $280.14, in which case the ICF/MR's 

modified rate is to be adjusted by a percentage that equals the percentage by which 

the mean modified rate is greater or less than $280.14. 

 Requires ODJFS and ODODD to conduct a study regarding Medicaid 

reimbursement rates for ICF/MR services. 

 Requires ODJFS and ODODD, at the same time they conduct the study regarding 

ICF/MR services, to work with the Governor's Office of Health Transformation and 

persons interested in the issue of ICF/MR services to develop recommendations 

regarding various ICF/MR issues. 

 Requires ODJFS to contract with ODODD for ODODD to assume ODJFS's powers 

and duties regarding the Medicaid program's coverage of ICF/MR services. 

 Prohibits a nursing facility or ICF/MR from amending a Medicaid cost report if 

ODJFS has notified the facility that an audit of the cost report or a cost report for a 
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subsequent cost reporting period is to be conducted, but permits the facility to 

provide ODJFS information that affects the costs included in the cost report. 

 Provides that ODJFS is permitted, rather than required, to base a determination of 

whether to conduct an audit of the Medicaid cost report of a nursing facility or 

ICF/MR on the facility's prior performance. 

 Requires ODJFS to revise certain requirements included in its manual for field 

audits. 

 Specifies that a nursing facility or ICF/MR is not considered to undergo a facility 

closure for the purpose of Medicaid debt-collecting requirements if the building that 

houses the facility converts to a different use, any necessary approval needed for 

that use is obtained, and one or more of the facility's residents remain in the facility 

to receive services under the new use. 

 Requires nursing facilities and ICFs/MR that undergo a change of operator, close, or 

voluntarily cease to participate in Medicaid to use a method ODJFS specifies in rules 

when submitting certain notices, forms, and documents. 

 Revises the list of information that a written notice of a change of operator must 

include. 

 Revises the criteria used to determine when a Medicaid provider agreement with an 

entering operator following a change of operator goes into effect. 

 Applies the Medicaid debt-collection process to nursing facilities and ICFs/MR that 

undergo an involuntary termination from Medicaid. 

 Requires ODJFS, ODODD, and the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) to strive to 

have, by June 30, 2013, at least 50% of Medicaid recipients who are at least age 60 

and need long-term services utilize non-institutionally-based long-term services and 

at least 60% of Medicaid recipients who are under age 60 and have cognitive or 

physical disabilities for which long-term services are needed utilize non-

institutionally-based long-term services. 

 Permits ODJFS to apply to participate in the federal Balancing Incentive Payments 

Program. 

 Requires that any funds Ohio receives under the Balancing Incentive Payments 

Program be deposited into the Balancing Incentive Payments Program Fund, which 

is created in the state treasury. 
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 Removes the Ohio Access Success Project eligibility requirement under which an 

applicant for Project benefits must need a nursing facility level of care. 

 Specifies that an applicant must be able to remain in the community as a result of 

receiving the Project's benefits, when the Project is being administered as a non-

Medicaid program. 

 Requires the ODJFS Director to assess an applicant's eligibility for participation in 

the Project regardless of how long the applicant has been a recipient of Medicaid-

funded nursing facility services. 

 Creates state-funded, non-Medicaid components of the PASSPORT and Assisted 

Living programs. 

 Provides for individuals who have applications pending for the Medicaid-funded 

components of the PASSPORT and Assisted Living programs and meet other 

requirements to qualify for the state-funded components for up to three months. 

 Provides that certain other individuals qualify for the state-funded component of the 

PASSPORT program for an unlimited number of months. 

 Provides that the Home First processes for the PASSPORT and Assisted Living 

programs apply only to the Medicaid components of those programs. 

 Eliminates the eligibility requirement for the Medicaid-funded component of the 

Assisted Living program under which an applicant must first be a nursing home 

resident, residential care facility resident, or participant of the PASSPORT program, 

Choices program, or an ODJFS-administered Medicaid waiver program. 

 Provides for ODA to administer the Assisted Living program without the condition 

that the OBM Director must have approved the contract between ODA and ODJFS 

regarding ODA's administration of the program. 

 Provides that a requirement for ODA to establish a unified waiting list for the 

PASSPORT, Choices, Assisted Living, and PACE programs applies if ODA 

determines that there are insufficient funds to enroll all individuals who have 

applied and been determined eligible for the programs. 

 Requires the ODA Director to contract with Miami University's Scripps Gerontology 

Center for an evaluation of the PACE program. 

 Permits the ODA Director, in consultation with the ODJFS Director, to expand the 

PACE program to new regions of Ohio under certain circumstances. 
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 Codifies the Ohio Home Care and Ohio Transitions II Aging Carve-Out programs. 

 Modifies the ODJFS Director's rulemaking authority regarding prioritizing and 

approving enrollment in Medicaid waivers for home and community-based services. 

 Eliminates a requirement that ODJFS seek federal approval to obtain a federal 

Medicaid waiver to consolidate the PASSPORT, Choices, and Assisted Living 

programs into one Medicaid waiver program. 

 Requires ODJFS, working with ODA, to seek federal approval for a unified long-

term services and support Medicaid waiver program to provide home and 

community-based services to eligible individuals of any age who require the level of 

care provided by nursing facilities. 

 Requires ODJFS and ODA to work together to determine, on an individual program 

basis, whether the PASSPORT, Choices, Assisted Living, Ohio Home Care, and Ohio 

Transitions II Aging Carve-Out programs should continue to operate as separate 

Medicaid waiver programs or be terminated if the unified long-term services and 

support Medicaid waiver program is created. 

 Eliminates a requirement that an individual be on ODA's unified waiting list to 

qualify for the PASSPORT, Assisted Living, or PACE program through the Home 

First process. 

 Eliminates a requirement for ODA to make quarterly certifications to the OBM 

Director regarding the estimated increase in the costs of the PASSPORT, Assisted 

Living, and PACE programs resulting from enrollment of individuals through the 

Home First process. 

 Establishes Home First processes for the Ohio Home Care Program and unified 

long-term services and support Medicaid waiver program. 

 Repeals the requirement to create a pilot program for providing up to 200 Medicaid 

recipients with spending authority to pay for the cost of home and community-

based services. 

 Requires ODJFS to adopt rules establishing the amount of reimbursement or 

methods by which reimbursement is to be determined, in place of the existing 

statewide fee schedule, for home and community-based services provided to 

individuals with mental retardation and developmental disabilities through 

Medicaid waivers administered by ODODD. 



Legislative Service Commission -342- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

 Permits an operator of an ICF/MR to convert some of the beds in the facility from 

providing ICF/MR services to providing home and community-based services under 

an ODODD-administered Medicaid waiver program, rather than requiring that all 

of the beds be converted. 

 Permits ODJFS to seek federal approval for up to 200 (rather than 100) slots for home 

and community-based services provided and ODODD-administered Medicaid 

waiver programs for the purpose of the beds that convert from providing ICF/MR 

services to home and community-based services. 

 Requires ODJFS to contract with ODODD for ODODD to administer the Transitions 

Developmental Disabilities Medicaid Waiver. 

 Provides that current law regarding home and community-based services provided 

under Medicaid waiver programs that ODODD administers applies to the 

Transitions Developmental Disabilities Medicaid Waiver program only to the extent, 

if any, provided in the contract. 

 Creates the Money Follows the Person Enhanced Reimbursement Fund into which 

the Director of Budget and Management is to deposit the federal grant Ohio receives 

under the Money Follows the Person Demonstration Program. 

 Permits the ODJFS Director to seek federal approval to implement a demonstration 

project to test and evaluate the integration of the care that dual eligible individuals 

receive under the Medicare and Medicaid programs. 

 Creates the Integrated Care Delivery Systems Fund in the state treasury to receive 

amounts that the demonstration project saves the Medicare program if the terms of 

the project provide for the state to receive such amounts. 

 Requires ODJFS to use the money in the Integrated Care Delivery Systems Fund to 

further develop integrated delivery systems and improved care coordination for 

dual eligible individuals. 

 Provides that health assistance services that CHIP covers may be furnished through 

school-based health centers. 

 Abolishes the Children's Buy-In Program. 

 Establishes the following timeframes for concluding the Program's affairs:  

(1) suspends new enrollments immediately, (2) repeals the Program statutes on 

October 1, 2011, and (3) permits persons enrolled in the Program when it is repealed 

to continue receiving services through December 31, 2011. 
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 Makes an individual injured while in active service as a member of the armed forces 

of the United States while serving in Operation New Dawn eligible for Military 

Injury Relief Fund grants. 

VI.  Unemployment Compensation 

 Prohibits, effective October 30, 2011, an individual from being paid unemployment 

compensation benefits for services performed in seasonal employment during the 

period between two successive seasonal periods if there is reasonable assurance that 

the individual will be employed in the later of the seasonal periods. 

 Eliminates the authority of the Unemployment Compensation Council with respect 

to the Unemployment Compensation Special Administrative Fund. 

 

 

I.  General 

Audit authority and confidentiality of audit reports 

(R.C. 5101.37) 

The bill authorizes the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services (ODJFS), a 

county department of job and family services (CDJFS), or a child support enforcement 

agency (CSEA) to conduct audits as necessary in furtherance of their duties.  Associated 

with this authority, the bill requires ODJFS and each CDJFS to keep a record of their 

audits.  Under current law, ODJFS, a CDJFS, or a CSEA may make only investigations 

that are necessary. 

The bill specifies that until an audit report is formally released by ODJFS, the 

audit report or any working paper or other document or record prepared by ODJFS and 

related to the audit that is the subject of the audit report is not a public record.  This 

means that ODJFS must not make the audit report available for inspection or copying 

until it is formally released. 

The bill authorizes the ODJFS Director to adopt rules as necessary to implement 

the bill's provisions discussed above.  The rules must be adopted in accordance with 

R.C. 111.15 as if they were internal management rules.  Internal management rules are 

not filed by ODJFS with the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review (JCARR); 

therefore, they are not subject to an administrative hearing.  ODJFS must, however, file 
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internal management rules with the Legislative Service Commission and the Secretary 

of State.148 

ODJFS audit conferences 

(R.C. 121.22) 

The bill adds to the list of exceptions from the Open Meetings (Sunshine) Law.  

An audit conference conducted by the audit staff of ODJFS with officials of the public 

office that is the subject of the audit is not required to be conducted in an open meeting. 

The Open Meetings Law generally requires public officials to take official action 

and to conduct deliberations upon official business only in open meetings.  However, 

existing law establishes various exceptions to the Open Meetings Law, which permit 

certain meetings, such as meetings of a grand jury or audit conferences conducted by 

the Auditor of State, to be closed to the public. 

Transfer of money from Public Assistance Fund 

(R.C. 5101.144 (not in the bill), 5101.161 (not in the bill), and 5705.14) 

Current law prohibits the transfer of money from one county fund to another 

county fund except in specified circumstances.  The Public Assistance Fund consists of 

funds appropriated by a board of county commissioners and money received from 

ODJFS for the state and federal share of the county's public assistance expenditures.  

The Children Services Fund consists of appropriations made by the board of county 

commissioners or any other source for the purpose of providing children services.  

Rules adopted by ODJFS authorize each county to establish a Child Support 

Enforcement Administrative Fund in the county treasury for use by any county family 

service agency (CDJFSs, PCSAs, and CSEAs). 

The bill permits the transfer of money from the Public Assistance Fund to the 

Children Services Fund or the Child Support Enforcement Administrative Fund, as long 

as the money to be transferred may be spent for the purposes of the receiving fund. 

County share of public assistance expenditures 

(R.C. 5101.16) 

Current law requires that each board of county commissioners pay a percentage 

of the costs of certain public assistance programs, including Ohio Works First and 

                                                 
148 Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review, Procedures Manual (revised Feb. 2011), available at 

<https://www.jcarr.state.oh.us/images/stories/manual.pdf>. 



Legislative Service Commission -345- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Medicaid.  The amount that a board of county commissioners must pay for a state fiscal 

year cannot exceed 110% of the county's share for such costs for the immediately 

preceding state fiscal year. 

The bill reduces to 105% the maximum amount that a county is required to pay, 

in comparison to the amount paid in the preceding fiscal year, for its share of public 

assistance expenditures. 

Recovery of costs by county family service agencies 

(R.C. 5101.183) 

Under current law, the ODJFS Director is authorized to adopt rules under which 

CDJFSs and public children services agencies (PCSAs) are required to take action to 

recover the costs of services provided to (1) persons who were not eligible to receive the 

services but who secured them through fraud or misrepresentation and (2) persons who 

were eligible for the services but who intentionally diverted them to other persons who 

were not eligible to receive them.  A CDJFS or PCSA may bring a civil action against a 

recipient to recover those costs.  The CDJFS or PCSA must retain any money it recovers 

and use it for the provision of social services, unless federal law requires ODJFS to 

return any of the money to the federal government. 

The bill expands to all county family service agencies ODJFS's authority adopt 

rules requiring that agencies take action to recover the cost of services provided to 

persons who secured them through fraud or misrepresentation or intentionally diverted 

services to ineligible persons.  This means that child support enforcement agencies 

(CSEAs), in addition to CDJFSs and PCSAs, are subject to those rules. 

The bill expands ODJFS's rulemaking authority to recovering the cost of benefits, 

in addition to services, that are secured through fraud or misrepresentation or that were 

intentionally diverted to ineligible persons.  ODJFS also may adopt rules requiring a 

county family service agency to take action to recover the cost of any benefits or 

services provided by the agency if recovery is required or permitted by federal law for 

the federal program administered by the agency.  Any money recovered by the agency 

must be used to meet a family service duty, unless federal law requires ODJFS to return 

a portion of the money to the federal government. 

Recovering excess payments to counties 

(R.C. 5101.244) 

The bill expands the actions ODJFS may take if it determines that a grant 

awarded to a county grantee in a grant agreement, an allocation, advance, or 



Legislative Service Commission -346- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

reimbursement ODJFS makes to a county family services agency, or a cash draw a 

county family services agency makes exceeds the allowable amount.  Currently, ODJFS 

may adjust, offset, withhold, or reduce an allocation, cash draw, advance, 

reimbursement, or other financial assistance to the county grantee or county family 

services agency as necessary to recover the excess amount. 

In addition to or instead of the actions permitted under current law, the bill 

permits ODJFS to take either or both of the following actions to collect the excess 

amount:  (1) enter into an agreement with the county entity for the entity to repay the 

amount of the excess plus, at ODJFS's discretion, interest and (2) certify a claim to the 

Attorney General for collection. 

Use of Title XX funds for respective local agency's administrative costs 

(R.C. 5101.46) 

The bill replaces the 14% limit on the amount of a local agency's Title XX funds 

that may be used for administrative costs with a requirement that each state department 

establish the maximum percentage by adopted rules in the manner provided for 

internal management rules (R.C. 111.15).  The percentage established by rule must 

comply with federal law.  Currently, ODJFS, the Ohio Department of Mental Health 

(ODMH), and the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities (ODODD), with their 

respective local agencies, provide the social services funded by Title XX. 

Ohio Commission on Fatherhood annual report 

(R.C. 5101.342) 

The bill requires the Ohio Commission on Fatherhood to collaborate with the 

ODJFS Director in describing (1) its expectations for the outcomes of fatherhood-related 

programs and initiatives and (2) its methods for conducting annual measures of those 

outcomes.  The Commission is to include this information its existing annual report that 

must be submitted to the President and Minority Leader of the Senate, Speaker and 

Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, Governor, and Chief Justice of the 

Supreme Court.  Under current law, the report must identify resources available to fund 

fatherhood-related programs and explore the creation of initiatives that fulfill certain 

goals. 
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II.  Child Care 

Payment for publicly funded child care 

(R.C. 5104.32, 5104.34, 5104.341, 5104.35, 5104.37, 5104.38, 5104.39, 5104.42, and 5104.43) 

State contracts in place of county contracts 

Under current law, all purchases of publicly funded child care are to be made 

under contracts between the child care provider and the CDJFS.  A contract must 

specify that the provider agrees to be paid at the lowest of the rate customarily charged 

for children enrolled for child care, the reimbursement ceiling ODJFS establishes by 

rule, or a rate the CDJFS negotiates with the provider. 

The bill eliminates provisions under which CDJFSs may contract with and 

reimburse providers of publicly funded child care.  The bill provides that purchases of 

publicly funded child care are made pursuant to contracts between the provider and 

ODJFS.  A contract must specify that the provider agrees to be paid at the lower of the 

rate customarily charged for children enrolled for child care or the reimbursement 

ceiling ODJFS establishes by rule. 

The bill repeals related provisions that require a CDJFS to provide monthly 

reports to ODJFS and the Director of Budget and Management regarding expenditures 

for publicly funded child care and that permit a CDJFS to do the following: 

(1)  Request a waiver of the reimbursement ceiling for the purpose of paying a 

higher rate based upon the special needs of the child; 

(2)  Pay deposits or other advance payments customarily charged by a child care 

provider; 

(3)  Withhold any money due and recover any money erroneously paid for 

publicly funded child care if there is evidence of less than full compliance with the laws 

or rules governing the program. 

The bill eliminates a provision requiring ODJFS to provide sufficient funds to the 

CDJFS to pay child care providers pursuant to its contracts, if ODJFS fails to notify the 

CDJFS and to implement the reallocation priorities specified in an administrative order. 
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Reinstatement of publicly funded child care 

(R.C. 5104.38) 

The bill permits the ODJFS Director to adopt rules specifying exceptions to 

existing rules that detail procedures and criteria to be used when making certain 

eligibility determinations for publicly funded child care.  The new rules may specify 

exceptions for a family that previously received publicly funded child care but whose 

eligibility was terminated and is seeking reinstatement. 

Child care during pre-work activities; rates for special needs children 

To the extent permitted by federal law, the bill requires that ODJFS adopt a rule 

under which ODJFS, rather than a CDJFS, may pay for child care for up to 30 days for a 

child whose parent is seeking employment, participating in orientation activities, or 

taking part in other activities in anticipation of enrollment or attendance in an 

education or training program.  Additionally, if the ODJFS Director establishes a 

different reimbursement ceiling for child care provided to special needs children, 

ODJFS must adopt rules establishing standards and procedures for determining the 

amount of the higher payment.  This is in place of a CDJFS's current authority to request 

a waiver of the reimbursement ceiling in the case of a special needs child. 

Under current law, the ODJFS Director is required to establish a procedure for 

monitoring expenditures to ensure that expenditures do not exceed the available federal 

and state funds for publicly funded child care.  When ODJFS determines that 

anticipated future expenditures for publicly funded child care will exceed available 

federal and state funds, it must issue an administrative order that specifies priorities for 

spending the remaining funds and instructions and procedures to be used by the 

CDJFS.  The order may also suspend enrollment of new participants, limit enrollment of 

new participants to those with incomes at or below a specified percentage of the federal 

poverty guidelines, or disenroll existing participants with income above a specified 

percentage of the federal poverty guidelines. 

The bill retains these procedures in the context of ODJFS's administration of the 

program.  In addition, it provides that the order may do the following: 

(1)  Change the schedule of fees paid by eligible caretaker parents; 

(2)  Change the rate of payment to providers. 
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Prohibition on obtaining publicly funded child care from multiple providers 

(R.C. 5104.34 and 5104.38) 

Current law contains no restrictions regarding the number of child care 

providers from whom an eligible caretaker parent can receive publicly funded child 

care.  The bill prohibits a caretaker parent from receiving publicly funded child care 

from more than one provider during any period without approval from the CDJFS for 

good cause.  It also requires ODJFS to adopt rules establishing procedures for a CDJFS 

to follow in determining whether there is good cause to permit an eligible caretaker 

parent to receive publicly funded child care from multiple providers. 

Publicly funded child care incentives 

(R.C. 5104.30) 

ODJFS is required by current law to establish a voluntary child day-care center 

quality-rating program.  ODJFS has implemented this requirement by establishing the 

Step Up to Quality Program.  The bill requires that, in establishing reimbursement 

ceilings for publicly funded child care, ODJFS must establish enhanced reimbursement 

ceilings for child day-care centers that participate in the program and maintain quality 

ratings under the program.  ODJFS also is required to weigh any reduction in 

reimbursement ceilings more heavily against child day-care providers that do not 

participate in Step Up to Quality or do not maintain quality ratings under the program. 

Swipe Card Pilot Program 

(Section 309.40.70) 

ODJFS has entered into a contract for the development and implementation of 

Ohio Electronic Child Care (ECC).  According to ODJFS, ECC will allow child care 

providers to track the attendance of publicly funded children in their care by 

requiring caretakers to record attendance using a swipe card to check children in and 

out of care. 

The bill provides that, if ODJFS implements a program that uses a swipe card 

system and point-of-service device to verify enrollment and attendance and for 

payment for publicly funded child care, (1) providers that participate in the program 

and engage in fraud with respect to reporting a child's enrollment or attendance will be 

subject to license or certification revocation and (2) caretaker parents who participate in 

the program and engage in fraud with respect to reporting a child's enrollment or 

attendance will lose eligibility for publicly funded child care. 



Legislative Service Commission -350- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Child care licensing 

Continuous licensure of child day-care centers and type A family day-care 
homes 

(R.C. 5104.04 (primary), 5104.011, 5104.012, 5104.013, 5104.03, 5104.05, and 5104.99) 

Current law requires that a child care center or type A family day-care home 

license be renewed every two years.  The bill eliminates this requirement.  It also 

eliminates corresponding provisions related to the renewal process. 

Under current law, a center or type A home is initially issued a provisional 

license, which is valid for six months.  The bill extends this time period to 12 months. 

If the license of a center or type A home is revoked, current law requires the 

center or type A home to wait two years before applying for another license.  The bill 

extends the waiting period to five years.  It also prohibits the ODJFS Director from 

issuing a license for a center or type A home if the owner's application for a license has 

been denied within five years. 

Child day-care centers and type A family day-care homes licensure 
enforcement 

(R.C. 5104.04) 

The bill eliminates the current requirements that ODJFS (1) notify a child day-

care center or type A family day-care home that it has determined, pursuant to an 

inspection or investigation, is out of compliance with the laws governing centers and 

homes, and (2) provide the notice in writing and describe the nature of the violation, 

what must be done to correct the violation, and by what date the correction must be 

made.  The bill also eliminates ODJFS's express authority to commence a license 

revocation action if the center or home fails to correct the violation and the specification 

that the commencement of an action should be considered sufficient notice to the center 

or home that the correction has not been made. 

License capacity 

(R.C. 5104.01(AA) and 5104.03 (not in the bill)) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that the ODJFS Director consider the number 

of available child-care staff members when determining "license capacity" for the 

licensure of child day-care centers or type A family day-care homes.  However, the bill 

retains this requirement for when the Director issues the initial provisional day-care 

license to a center or home. 
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Currently, the Director must consider all of the following when determining 

license capacity:  (1) building occupancy limits established by the Department of 

Commerce, (2) the number of available child-care staff members, (3) the amount of 

available indoor floor space and outdoor play space, and (4) the amount of available 

play equipment, materials, and supplies.  Upon consideration of all of these factors, the 

Director will establish the maximum number of children in each age category who may 

be cared for in the center or home and, if the center or home complies with the laws 

governing child care, the Director will issue a provisional license, license, or renewed 

license to the center or home. 

Staff ratios while toddlers or preschool children are napping 

(R.C. 5104.011(E)(2)) 

The bill increases to 2 (from 1.5) the number of hours during a 24-hour day that 

the maximum number of napping toddlers or preschool children per child-care center 

staff member may be double the amount established under current law.  The center 

would continue to be required to meet the following existing requirements:  (1) at least 

one staff member is present in the room, (2) sufficient staff are on the center's premises 

to meet the maximum number of children per staff member requirements established 

under current law, and (3) naptime preparations are complete and all napping children 

are resting or sleeping on cots. 

Copy of child care license requirements 

(R.C. 5104.03) 

Current law requires the ODJFS Director to provide each applicant for a child 

day-care center or type A family day-care home license a copy of the child care license 

requirements and the rules governing child care.  The bill permits the Director to 

provide the copy in paper or electronic form. 

Publication of type B family day-care homes guide 

(R.C. 5104.13) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that ODJFS publish a guide describing the 

laws governing the certification of type B family day-care homes and instead permits 

ODJFS to publish the guide electronically or otherwise.  ODJFS must do so in such a 

manner that the guide is accessible to the public, including type B home providers.  The 

bill eliminates the requirement that ODJFS distribute the guide to CDJFSs in sufficient 

number that a copy is available to each type B home provider. 



Legislative Service Commission -352- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Child day-care center administrator qualifications 

(R.C. 5104.011(B)(4)) 

The bill provides an additional option for a child day-care center administrator to 

meet existing educational requirements by showing the ODJFS Director evidence that 

the administrator holds a high school diploma and a designation as an "early childhood 

professional level three" under the Step Up to Quality Program's career pathways 

model.149  The career pathways model is defined by the bill as an alternative pathway to 

meeting the requirements for a child care staff member or administrator that uses one 

framework to integrate the pathways of formal education, training, experience, and 

specialized credentials, and certifications, and that allows the member or administrator 

to achieve a designation as an early childhood professional level one, two, three, four, 

five, or six.  Currently, an administrator must show evidence of holding a high school 

diploma and having completed at least two years of either of the following:  (1) training 

at an accredited college, university, or technical college, including courses in child 

development or early childhood education, or (2) experience in supervising and giving 

daily care to children attending an organized group program. 

In addition to these educational requirements, the bill creates a new requirement 

that any administrator employed or designated as such on, or after, the bill's effective 

date, show evidence of at least one of the following not later than one year after the date 

of employment or designation: 

(1)  Two years of experience working as a child-care staff member in a center and 

at least four courses in child development or early childhood education from an 

accredited college, university, or technical college, except that a person who has two 

years of experience working as a child-care staff member in a particular center and who 

has been promoted to or designated as administrator of that center may have one year 

from the time the person was promoted to or designated as administrator to complete 

the required four courses; 

(2)  Two years of training, including at least four courses in child development or 

early childhood education from an accredited college, university, or technical college; 

(3)  A child development associate credential issued by the National Child 

Development Associate Credentialing Commission; 

                                                 
149 The Step Up to Quality Program is established by rule.  See Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 5101:2-

17.  The current rules do not reference either the career pathways model or early childhood professional 

levels. 
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(4)  An associate or higher degree in child development or early childhood 

education from an accredited college, technical college, or university, or a license 

designated for teaching in an associate teaching position in a preschool setting issued 

by the State Board of Education; 

(5)  An administrator's credential as approved by ODJFS. 

The bill permits any administrator employed or designated as such prior to the 

bill's effective date to show evidence of an administrator's credential as approved by 

ODJFS in lieu of, or in addition to, existing educational and training requirements.  The 

evidence of an administrator's credential must be shown to the ODJFS Director no later 

than one year after the date of employment or designation. 

Educational requirements for child day-care staff 

(R.C. 5104.011) 

With limited exception, all child-care staff members of a child day-care center are 

required to have (1) graduated from high school, (2) a certification of high school 

equivalency, or (3) completed a training program approved by ODJFS or the State 

Board of Education.  The bill exempts from those educational requirements staff 

members who are receiving or have completed the final year of instruction at home or 

who have graduated from a charter school. 

Reference checks of child day-care center and type A family day-care home 
license applicants and employees 

(R.C. 5104.011(A)(16) and (F)(16)) 

The bill eliminates the existing requirements that the ODJFS Director adopt rules 

to be used for checking the references of child day-care center and type A family day-

care home license applicants and potential employees. 

Course requirements for child day-care center staff members 

(R.C. 5104.011(C)(1)) 

The bill permits a child day-care center to have on the center premises and 

readily available a separate staff member who has completed a course in prevention, 

recognition, and management of communicable diseases approved by the Department 

of Health, rather than a staff member who has completed both this course and a course 

in first aid.  (The center must still have a staff member who has completed a course in 

first aid). 
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Child day-care center rosters and contact lists 

(R.C. 5104.011(B)(7)) 

The bill eliminates the requirement that child day-care center administrators 

prepare and distribute a roster of all parents, guardians, or custodians at least once 

annually.  The roster is to include the names and telephone numbers of parents, 

custodians, or guardians of each group of children attending the center and, upon 

request, the administrator must furnish the roster for each group to the parents, 

custodians, or guardians of the children in that group.  Similarly, the bill eliminates the 

authority of an administrator to prepare a roster of names and telephone numbers of all 

parents, custodians, or guardians of children attending the center and, upon request, 

furnish the roster to the parents, custodians, or guardians of the children who attend the 

center. 

The bill eliminates the related prohibition that the administrator is not to include 

in any roster the name or telephone number of any parent, custodian, or guardian who 

requests the administrator not to include the parent's, custodian's, or guardian's name 

or number and must not furnish any roster to any person other than a parent, 

custodian, or guardian of a child who attends the center. 

Physical examinations and immunizations 

(R.C. 5104.011(A)(5)) 

The bill makes optional the existing requirement that the ODJFS Director, when 

adopting rules for procedures for screening children and employees of child day-care 

centers, include requirements for physical examinations and immunizations. 

Sanctions for violating laws governing child care 

(R.C. 5104.011(J)(5)) 

The bill permits the ODJFS Director to adopt rules in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act regarding sanctions to be imposed on persons or entities 

violating the laws governing child care rather than the Director having to recommend 

standards to the Governor and General Assembly regarding sanctions. 

The sanctions adopted pursuant to rule may be imposed only for a serious risk 

noncompliance violation of licensure or certification standards.  A serious risk 

noncompliance violation means a licensure or certification standard violation that leads 

to the greatest risk of permanent harm to, or death of, a child and is observable, not 

inferable.  The bill requires the ODJFS Director to make a dispute resolution process 
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available for the implementation of sanctions, which may include an opportunity for 

appeal under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Incentives for substantial compliance with licensure or certification standards 

(R.C. 5104.011(J)(6)) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to adopt rules establishing incentives for 

persons and entities that are licensed or certified to provide child care and have a 

history of substantial compliance with licensure or certification standards.  The 

incentives must at least include less frequent or focused licensure or certification visits, 

participation in the Step Up to Quality rating program, and scholarships for training. 

III.  Child Support 

Child Support Custodial Fund 

(R.C. 3121.03 (not in the bill), 3121.19 (not in the bill), and 3121.48) 

Payors and financial institutions that withhold or deduct money pursuant to a 

child support order are required to forward that money to the Office of Child Support 

in ODJFS within seven business days.  Current law requires the Office of Child Support 

to maintain a separate account for the deposit of support payments it receives as trustee 

for persons entitled to receive the support payments.  The bill requires instead that the 

Office of Child Support administer a fund for the deposit of those payments.  The 

Treasurer of State is the custodian of the fund, but the fund is not to be part of the state 

treasury. 

License suspension procedures for defaulting child support obligors 

(R.C. 3123.44, 3123.45, 3123.55, 3123.56, 3123.58, 3123.59, 3123.591, 3123.63, 4506.071, 

4507.111, 4705.021, 3123.52 (repealed), 3123.61 (repealed), 3123.612 (repealed), 3123.613 

(repealed), and 3123.614 (repealed)) 

Currently, Ohio and federal law require the occupational, professional, motor 

vehicle, or recreational license or permit of an obligor found in default under a child 

support order to be denied or suspended, or not be issued or renewed, at the request of 

a child support enforcement agency (CSEA).  "Default" means any failure to pay an 

amount equal to or greater than the amount payable for one month under a child 

support order.  When a CSEA identifies a default, it investigates and then sends a 

default notice containing information on the arrearage and the administrative and court 

action that will take place if the obligor contests the information in the default notice.  

When the obligor exhausts the ability to contest the information in the default notice, 

the default becomes final and enforceable.  These licenses also may not be issued or 
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renewed and may be suspended or revoked if the obligor fails to comply with a 

subpoena or warrant issued by the court or a CSEA with respect to a proceeding to 

enforce a child support order.  The license may not be issued or renewed and must 

remain suspended or revoked until the obligor complies with the child support order, 

subpoena, or warrant. 

The bill prohibits a CSEA from notifying an occupational or professional 

licensing board, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), or the Division of Wildlife that an 

obligor is in default unless at least 90 days have elapsed since the final and enforceable 

determination of default, and, in the preceding 90 days, the obligor has failed to pay at 

least 50% of the arrearage by means other than federal or state tax refund intercept.  It 

requires ODJFS to adopt rules establishing a uniform pre-suspension notice form to be 

used by CSEAs that send notice to occupational or professional licensing boards, the 

BMV, or the Division of Wildlife.  The rules must require the contents of the notice to 

include information about the effect of a license suspension and appropriate steps that 

an obligor can take to avoid license suspension. 

A CSEA that notifies an occupational or professional licensing board, the BMV, 

or the Division of Wildlife that an obligor is in default is required under current law to 

send another notice within seven days that the obligor is not in default if: 

(1)  The obligor makes full payment of the arrearage; 

(2)  An appropriate withholding or deduction notice or other order is issued to 

collect current support and the arrearage and the obligor is complying with the notice 

or order; or 

(3)  A new child support order has been issued or the order that was in default 

has been modified to collect current support and the arrearage. 

The bill alters the circumstances under which the notice must be sent.  Under the 

bill, the CSEA must send the notice if: 

(1)  The obligor makes full payment of the arrearage (same as current law); 

(2)  The obligor has presented the CSEA sufficient evidence of current 

employment or of an account in a financial institution, confirmed by the CSEA, and a 

withholding or deduction notice has been issued to collect current support and any 

arrearage; or 

(3)  The obligor presents evidence to the CSEA sufficient to establish that the 

obligor is unable to work due to circumstances beyond the obligor's control. 
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The bill also permits a CSEA, pursuant to rules adopted by the ODJFS Director, 

to direct the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to eliminate from the abstract maintained by 

the BMV any reference to the suspension of an obligor's license due to default. 

IV.  Child Welfare and Adoption 

Case plan or family service plan for child receiving in-home services from a 
PCSA 

(R.C. 2151.011(B)(4) and 2151.412(B) and (C)(2)) 

The bill requires each public children services agency (PCSA) to prepare and 

maintain a case plan or a family service plan for any child receiving in-home services 

from the agency pursuant to an alternative response.  An "alternative response" is a 

PCSA's response to a report of child abuse or neglect that engages the family in a 

comprehensive evaluation of child safety, risk of subsequent harm, and family strengths 

and needs.  It does not include a determination as to whether child abuse or neglect has 

occurred.  The bill also requires that the rules adopted pursuant to R.C. Chapter 119. 

requiring PCSAs to maintain case plans for children and their families who are 

receiving services in their homes from the agencies and for whom case plans are not 

otherwise required (existing law) must include the requirements for case plans or 

family service plans maintained for children and their families who are receiving 

services in their homes from PCSAs pursuant to an alternative response.  PCSAs must 

maintain case plans and family service plans as required by those rules; however, the 

case plans and family service plans are not subject to any other provision of the law 

regarding case plans except as specifically required by the rules. 

Use of the investigative assessment response and the family assessment 
response 

(R.C. 2151.011(B)(16) and (56) and 2151.429) 

Under the bill, the differential response approach pursued by a PCSA must 

include two pathways, the traditional response pathway and the alternative assessment 

response pathway.  The ODJFS Director must adopt rules pursuant to R.C. Ch. 119. 

setting forth the procedures and criteria for PCSAs to assign and reassign response 

pathways. 

The PCSA must use the traditional response for the following types of accepted 

reports:  (1) physical abuse resulting in serious injury or that creates a serious and 

immediate risk to a child's health and safety, (2) sexual abuse, (3) child fatality, 

(4) reports requiring a specialized assessment as identified by rule adopted by ODJFS, 
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and (5) reports requiring a third party investigative procedure as identified by rule 

adopted by ODJFS. 

For all other child abuse and neglect reports, an alternative response is the 

preferred response, whenever appropriate and in accordance with rules adopted by 

ODJFS. 

"Differential response approach" means an approach that a PCSA may use to 

respond to accepted reports of child abuse or neglect with either an alternative response 

or a traditional response.  "Traditional response" means a PCSA response to a report of 

child abuse or neglect that encourages engagement of the family in a comprehensive 

evaluation of the child's current and future safety needs and a fact-finding process to 

determine whether child abuse or neglect occurred and the circumstances surrounding 

the alleged harm or risk of harm. 

Investigations by a PCSA 

(R.C. 2151.421(O)) 

Existing law generally requires a PCSA to investigate, within 24 hours, each 

report of child abuse or child neglect that is known or reasonably suspected or believed 

to have occurred and of a threat of child abuse or child neglect that is known or 

reasonably suspected or believed to exist that is referred to in R.C. 2151.421 to 

determine the circumstances surrounding the injuries, abuse, or neglect, the cause of the 

injuries, abuse, neglect, or threat, and the person or persons responsible.  The 

investigation is made in cooperation with the law enforcement agency and in 

accordance with the prepared memorandum of understanding.  The bill defines 

"investigation" as the PCSA's response to an accepted report of child abuse or neglect 

through either an alternative response or a traditional response. 

Cross-references 

(R.C. 2151.424 and 2152.72) 

The bill makes cross-reference changes in R.C. 2151.424 and 2152.72. 

Statewide expansion of the Ohio Alternative Response Pilot Program 

(Section 309.50.10) 

The biennial budget act of the 128th General Assembly, Am. Sub. H.B. 1, 

required ODJFS to implement a pilot program in not more than ten counties based on 

an ʺalternative responseʺ approach to reports of child abuse, neglect, and dependency. 

ODJFS was required to assure that the pilot program be independently evaluated and 
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was permitted, if the evaluation recommended statewide implementation of an 

alternative response approach to child protection, to expand the approach statewide. 

The bill requires that ODJFS, in accordance with the evaluation of the Ohio 

Alternative Response Pilot Program, plan the statewide expansion of the pilot program 

on a county by county basis, through a schedule ODJFS is to determine.  The program is 

to be known as the differential response approach.  The bill's provisions regarding 

differential response, traditional response, and alternative response are to become 

effective for a county in accordance with ODJFS's schedule.  ODJFS is permitted to 

adopt rules in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) 

before the statewide implementation as necessary to carry out its duties regarding the 

expansion. 

Children's Trust Fund Board 

(R.C. 3109.14 (not in the bill), 3109.15 (not in the bill), 3109.16, and 3109.17) 

Current law generally requires certain additional fees collected (1) for copies of 

birth records, birth certificates, and death certificates, and (2) upon filing a divorce 

decree to be forwarded to the Children's Trust Fund, a fund in the state treasury. This 

money is used by the Children's Trust Fund Board to develop and carry out a biennial 

state plan for comprehensive child abuse and child neglect prevention.  In addition to 

receiving these additional fee amounts, the Board is authorized by current law to obtain 

other funds, which also are deposited into the Children's Trust Fund.  For example, the 

Board may accept gifts and donations from any source, including individuals, 

philanthropic foundations or organizations, corporations, or corporation endowments. 

The Board is authorized by current law to apply for and accept federal and other 

funds for the purpose of funding child abuse and child neglect prevention programs.  

With respect to federal funds, current law specifies that the acceptance or use of the 

funds does not entail any commitment or pledge of state funds, nor obligate the General 

Assembly to continue the programs or activities for which the federal funds are made 

available.  The bill authorizes the Board to not only accept gifts and donations, but also 

solicit them.  In addition, the bill permits the Board to solicit and accept money.  The bill 

specifies that the Board may solicit and accept the gifts, money, and other donations 

from any public or private source. 

The bill authorizes the Board to develop private-public partnerships.  The 

partnerships are to be developed to support the mission of the Children's Trust Fund. 

Consistent with current law pertaining to the acceptance and use of federal 

funds, the bill specifies that the Board's acceptance or use of any other funds does not 
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entail any commitment or pledge of state funds, nor obligate the General Assembly to 

continue the programs or activities for which the funds are made available. 

ODJFS may adopt administrative rules for the purpose of providing budgetary, 

procurement, accounting, and other related management functions for the Board.  The 

bill permits the Board to request that ODJFS adopt rules the Board considers necessary 

for the purpose of carrying out the Board's responsibilities.  It also authorizes ODJFS to 

adopt any other rules to assist the Board in carrying out its responsibilities. 

V.  Health Programs (Including Medicaid) 

Health Care Special Activities Fund 

(R.C. 5111.945) 

The bill creates in the state treasury the Health Care Special Activities Fund.  

ODJFS is required to deposit all funds it receives pursuant to the administration of the 

Medicaid program into the Fund, other than any funds that are required by law to be 

deposited into another fund.  ODJFS must use the money in the Fund to pay for 

expenses related to services provided under, and the administration of, the Medicaid 

program. 

Eligibility determinations for Medicaid and CHIP 

(R.C. 5101.47 and 5111.012) 

Current law generally authorizes ODJFS to accept applications and determine 

eligibility for Medicaid and the Childrenʹs Health Insurance Program (CHIP).150  County 

departments of job and family services (CDJFS) establish Medicaid eligibility for 

persons living in the county. 

The bill permits ODJFS, to the extent permitted by federal law, to enter into 

agreements with one or more other state agencies, local government entities, or political 

subdivisions to accept applications, determine and redetermine eligibility, and perform 

related administrative functions regarding Medicaid and CHIP.  If ODJFS enters into 

                                                 
150 CHIP is a health‐care program for uninsured, low‐income children under age 19.  It is funded with 

federal, state, and county funds and was established by Congress in 1997 as Title XXI of the Social 

Security Act.  ODJFS has chosen to implement CHIP as part of the Medicaid program.  State law provides 

for CHIP to have three parts.  Part I covers children with family incomes not exceeding 150% of the 

federal poverty guidelines.  CHIP Part II covers children with family incomes above 150% but not 

exceeding 200% of the federal poverty guidelines.  CHIP Part III, which has not been implemented, is to 

cover children with family incomes above 200% but not exceeding 300% of the federal poverty guidelines. 
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such an agreement with a CDJFS, the county department is permitted to establish 

Medicaid eligibility only if authorized under the agreement. 

Presumptive eligibility for children and pregnant women 

(R.C. 5111.0124 (primary), 5111.013, and 5111.0125) 

Federal law permits states to implement options regarding presumptive 

Medicaid eligibility for children and pregnant women.  Under the options, a state may 

make certain Medicaid services available to a child or pregnant woman during a 

presumptive eligibility period. A presumptive eligibility period is the period that begins 

with the date on which a qualified entity or provider determines, on the basis of 

preliminary information, that the family income of the child or pregnant woman does 

not exceed the state's applicable eligibility limit and ends with the earlier of (1) the day 

on which a determination is made with respect to the child's or pregnant woman's 

eligibility for Medicaid and (2) the last day of the month following the month during 

which the qualified entity or provider makes the eligibility determination if a Medicaid 

application for the child or pregnant woman is not filed by that day. 

The ODJFS Director has adopted a rule to implement the presumptive eligibility 

for children option but not the presumptive eligibility for pregnant women option.  The 

rule currently provides that only CDJFS may serve as qualified entities.151 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to retain the presumptive eligibility for 

children option in the Medicaid state plan and to submit a Medicaid state plan 

amendment to the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services to implement 

the presumptive eligibility for pregnant women option.  The bill also requires the 

ODJFS Director, not later than 90 days after the effective date of this provision of the 

bill, to have in place all systems that are necessary to enable a children's hospital and 

federally qualified health center to serve as a qualified entity or provider for purposes 

of the presumptive eligibility for children and pregnant women options if the hospital 

or center is eligible to be a qualified entity or provider under federal law and requests to 

serve as a qualified entity or provider.  After the ODJFS Director determines that the 

systems are functioning properly, the Director must permit any other entity or provider 

to serve as a qualified entity or provider if the entity or provider is eligible to be a 

qualified entity or provider under federal law and requests to serve as a qualified entity 

or provider. 

The bill eliminates current law that requires the ODJFS Director to do either of 

the following: 

                                                 
151 O.A.C. 5101:1-38-40. 
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(1)  To the extent that federal funds are provided, adopt a plan for granting 

presumptive eligibility for pregnant women applying for the Healthy Start component 

of Medicaid; 

(2)  To the extent permitted by federal Medicaid regulations, adopt a plan for 

making same day eligibility determinations for pregnant women applying for Healthy 

Start. 

Treatment of trusts for Medicaid eligibility determinations 

When provision may be applied 

(R.C. 5111.151(A)) 

The bill specifies that a provision of existing law governing how a trust must be 

treated for purposes of determining Medicaid eligibility may be used only for either of 

the following:  (1) an initial eligibility determination for Medicaid made by ODJFS or a 

CDJFS, or (2) an appeal from an initial eligibility determination made by ODJFS or a 

CDJFS.  The bill expressly prohibits a court from using the provision to determine the 

effect of a trust on an individual's initial eligibility for Medicaid, but specifies that this 

prohibition does not apply when the court considers an appeal from an initial eligibility 

determination. 

Resources and income available under a trust 

(R.C. 5111.151(C); conforming changes in 5111.151(D), (F), and (G)) 

When a Medicaid applicant or recipient is a recipient of a trust, law unchanged 

by the bill requires a CDJFS to determine what type of trust it is and to treat the trust in 

accordance with the provision governing how trusts must be treated for purposes of 

determining Medicaid eligibility.  Relative to this responsibility, the bill requires the 

CDJFS to determine that the trust or a portion of it (1) is a resource available to the 

applicant or recipient, (2) contains income available to the applicant or recipient, (3) 

constitutes both a resource available to the applicant or recipient or contains income 

available to the applicant or recipient, or (4) neither is a resource available to the 

applicant or recipient nor contains income available to the applicant or recipient.  

Current law refers to a resource available to the applicant or recipient as a "countable 

resource" and a trust that contains income available to the applicant or recipient as 

"countable income." 

The bill expressly requires that a trust or a portion of a trust that is a resource 

available to the applicant or recipient or that contains income available to the applicant 

or recipient must be counted for purposes of determining Medicaid eligibility.  This 
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requirement does not, however, apply to principal or income from any of the following 

which meet certain requirements generally unchanged from current law: 

 A special needs trust – a trust to benefit an individual with a mental or 

physical disability who has not reached the age of 65.  The trust must 

contain assets of the beneficiary and may contain the assets of others.  The 

trust must provide that on the beneficiary's death, the state will receive 

amounts remaining in the trust up to the total amount of Medicaid paid 

on the beneficiary's behalf. 

 A qualifying income trust – a trust that is composed only of pension, 

social security, and other income to the beneficiary.  Income from the trust 

must be received by the beneficiary and the right to receive the income 

cannot be assigned or transferred to the trust.  The trust must provide that 

on the beneficiary's death, the state will receive amounts remaining in the 

trust up to the total amount of Medicaid paid on the beneficiary's behalf. 

 A pooled trust – a special arrangement with a nonprofit organization that 

serves as the trustee to manage assets belonging to many disabled 

individuals (with investments being pooled), but with separate trust 

"accounts" being maintained for each disabled individual.  The trust must 

contain assets of the Medicaid applicant or recipient.  The trust must 

provide that on the beneficiary's death, an amount that does not exceed 

the total amount of Medicaid paid on the beneficiary's behalf, and that is 

not retained by the trust, must be paid to the state. 

 A supplemental services trust – a trust to benefit individuals with a 

mental or physical disability who are eligible to receive services through 

the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities, a county board of 

developmental disabilities, the Ohio Department of Mental Health, or a 

board of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services.  The trust 

must provide that (1) the beneficiary does not have the authority to 

compel the trustee under any circumstances to furnish the beneficiary 

with minimal or other maintenance or support, (2) the trust assets can be 

used only to provide supplemental services, and (3) at least 50% of the 

assets remaining on the beneficiary's death must go to the state.  In 2011, 

such a trust cannot contain more than $234,000 in principal. 
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Pooled trusts 

(R.C. 5111.151(F)(3)(a)) 

The bill restricts the contents of a pooled trust to the assets of a Medicaid 

applicant or recipient who is less than 65 years of age.  Under current law, a pooled 

trust may contain the assets of an applicant or recipient of any age.  As discussed above, 

a pooled trust is a special arrangement with a nonprofit organization that serves as the 

trustee to manage assets belonging to many disabled individuals (with investments 

being pooled), but with separate trust "accounts" being maintained for each disabled 

individual. 

Compliance with federal maintenance of effort requirement 

(R.C. 5111.0122) 

Except to the extent, if any, otherwise authorized by the U.S. Secretary of Health 

and Human Services, ODJFS is required by the bill to comply with the federal 

maintenance of effort (MOE) requirement regarding Medicaid eligibility standards, 

methodologies, and procedures while the requirement is in effect.  The MOE 

requirement is part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (federal health 

care reform).152  Generally, a state violates the MOE requirement if it has eligibility 

standards, methodologies, or procedures under its Medicaid state plan or a Medicaid 

waiver that are more restrictive than the eligibility standards, methodologies, or 

procedures in effect on March 23, 2010.  The MOE requirement for adults continues 

until the U.S. Secretary determines that the state's American Health Benefit Exchange is 

fully operational.153  January 1, 2014, is the deadline for states to establish such 

exchanges.  The MOE requirement for children continues until October 1, 2019.  A state 

that violates the MOE requirement is to lose all federal funds for the state's Medicaid 

program for the duration of the MOE requirement. 

Reduction of complexity in Medicaid eligibility determination processes 

(R.C. 5111.0123) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to adopt rules to reduce the complexity of 

the eligibility determination processes for the Medicaid program caused by the different 

income and resource standards for the numerous Medicaid eligibility categories.  Before 

                                                 
152 Section 2001(b) of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Public Law 111-148). 

153 An American Health Benefit Exchange is to be a governmental agency or nonprofit entity established 

by a state to make qualified health plans available to qualified individuals and qualified employers 

(Section 1311 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act). 
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implementing a revision to an eligibility determination process, the ODJFS Director 

must obtain, to the extent necessary, the approval of the U.S. Secretary of Health and 

Human Services in the form of a federal Medicaid waiver, Medicaid state plan 

amendment, or demonstration grant.  ODJFS must comply with the bill's requirement 

regarding the federal maintenance of effort requirement in implementing any revisions.  

(See "Compliance with federal maintenance of effort requirement," above.) 

Medicaid recipient audits 

(R.C. 5101.181 and 5101.82; conforming changes in R.C. 145.27, 742.41, 3307.20, 3309.22, 

4123.27, and 5505.04) 

The bill repeals a provision that requires the State Auditor to determine whether 

overpayments were made on behalf of every medical assistance recipient and replaces it 

with one authorizing the Auditor, on the request of the ODJFS Director, to conduct an 

audit of an individual who receives medical assistance.154  If the Auditor decides to 

conduct an audit of a medical assistance recipient, the bill requires the Auditor to enter 

into an interagency agreement with ODJFS that specifies that the Auditor agrees to 

comply with a new provision the bill enacts governing the confidentiality of medical 

assistance recipient information (see "Disclosure of information regarding medical 

assistance recipients," below).   

The bill does not similarly authorize the Auditor to conduct an audit of an 

individual public assistance recipient155 on the ODJFS Director's request.  Rather, the bill 

generally maintains current law provisions that require the Auditor to determine 

overpayments to public assistance recipients.  The only change relative to investigating 

overpayments to public assistance recipients is that the bill authorizes (rather than 

requires) the ODJFS Director to (1) furnish quarterly the name and social security 

number of each public assistance recipient to the Director of Administrative Services, 

the Administrator of the Bureau of Workers' Compensation, and each of the state's 

retirement boards, and (2) furnish semiannually the name and social security number of 

each public assistant recipient to the Tax Commissioner. 

                                                 
154 The bill defines "medical assistance" to mean medical assistance provided pursuant to, or under 

programs established by, the Refugee Act of 1980, the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP), the 

Medicaid Program, or any other provision of Ohio law (R.C. 5101.181(A)(2)). 

155 The bill defines "public assistance" to mean Ohio Works First; Prevention, Retention, and Contingency; 

disability financial assistance; and general assistance provided prior to July 17, 1995, under former R.C. 

Chapter 5113. 
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Disclosure of information regarding medical assistance recipients  

When disclosure is prohibited versus permitted 

(R.C. 5101.26, new 5101.271, and 5101.273) 

The bill repeals provisions governing ODJFS's or a CDJFS's use or disclosure of 

information about a medical assistance recipient and replaces them with new 

provisions. 

Under the new provisions, ODJFS or a CDJFS is generally prohibited from using 

or disclosing information regarding a medical assistance recipient for any purpose not 

directly connected with the administration of the medical assistance program (this 

provision is substantially similar to one in current law).  The bill specifies that both of 

the following are considered to be purposes directly connected with the administration 

of the medical assistance program:  (1) treatment, payment, or other operations or 

activities authorized by federal regulations, and (2) any administrative function or duty 

ODJFS performs alone or jointly with a federal government entity, another state 

government entity, or a local government entity implementing a provision of federal 

law. 

The bill provides for exceptions to the general prohibition on the use and 

disclosure of medical assistance recipient information.  First, ODJFS may disclose 

information regarding a medical assistance recipient to any of the following persons: 

(1)  The recipient or the recipient's authorized representative;  

(2)  The recipient's legal guardian; 

(3)  The recipient's attorney, if ODJFS or a CDJFS has obtained authorization 

from the recipient, the recipient's authorized representative, or the recipient's legal 

guardian that meets all requirements of the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act (HIPAA), regulations promulgated to implement HIPAA, the bill's 

requirements governing authorization (see "Authorization form," below), and rules the 

bill requires the ODJFS Director to adopt;  

(4)  A health information or health records management entity, if the entity has 

executed with ODJFS a business associate agreement required by a provision of the 

HIPAA Privacy Rule156 and has been authorized by the recipient, the recipient's 

authorized representative, or the recipient's legal guardian to receive the recipient's 

                                                 
156 The provision is codified in 45 C.F.R. 164.502(e)(2). 
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electronic health records in accordance with rules the bill requires the ODJFS Director to 

adopt (see "Rules," below);  

(5)  A court, if pursuant to a written order of the court. 

Second, ODJFS may disclose information regarding a medical assistance 

recipient for any of the following purposes: 

(1)  To the extent necessary to participate as an active member in the Public 

Assistance Reporting Information System (PARIS), a computer system operated under 

the auspices of the Administration for Children and Families in the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services that matches public recipients' social security numbers 

against various federal databases and participating states' databases; 

(2)  When permitted by rules the bill requires the ODJFS Director to adopt (see 

"Rules," below); 

(3)  When required by federal law. 

Authorization form 

(new R.C. 5101.272) 

The written authorization that a medical assistance recipient, the recipient's 

authorized representative, or the recipient's legal guardian must make to give the 

recipient's attorney access to the recipient's information must be on a form that contains 

the same components required under current law governing authorization for the 

release of public assistance recipient information.  The form must use language 

understandable to the average person. 

The bill, however, permits authorization forms for the release of medical 

assistance recipient information to also include a provision specifically authorizing the 

release of the recipient's electronic health records, if any, to the recipient's attorney in 

accordance with rules the ODJFS Director must adopt under the bill (see "Rules," 

below). 

Sharing information regarding medical assistance recipients with law 
enforcement agencies 

(R.C. 5101.28) 

The bill eliminates the authority of ODJFS or a CDJFS to request from a law 

enforcement agency information regarding a medical assistance recipient that ODJFS or 

the CDJFS can use to determine whether a recipient or a member of the recipient's 
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assistance group is (1) a fugitive felon, or (2) violating a condition of probation, a 

community control sanction, parole, or a post-release control sanction imposed under 

state or federal law. 

The bill also eliminates a provision that explicitly authorizes ODJFS, CDJFSs, and 

employees of those departments to report to a PCSA or other appropriate agency 

information, to the extent permitted by federal law, on known or suspected physical or 

mental injury, sexual abuse or exploitation, or negligent treatment or maltreatment, of a 

child receiving medical assistance.  Although this provision is eliminated by the bill, it 

would appear that under another provision of Ohio law governing who has a duty to 

report child abuse or neglect (R.C. 2151.421), an ODJFS or CDJFS employee who is a 

person specified in that other law (e.g., an attorney, health care professional, etc.) would 

remain obligated to report to a PCSA a known or suspected case of child abuse or 

neglect regarding a child receiving medical assistance. 

Rules 

(R.C. 5101.30) 

The bill authorizes the ODJFS Director to adopt rules in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) implementing provisions governing 

the disclosure (in addition to custody, use, and preservation) of information generated 

or received by ODJFS, CDJFSs, other state and county entities, contractors, grantees, 

private entities, or officials participating in the administration of public assistance and 

medical assistance programs. 

The rules the ODJFS Director is authorized to adopt, for the purposes described 

above, may define the "authorized representatives" who (1) must be given access to 

information regarding a public assistance recipient and (2) may be given access to 

information regarding a medical assistance recipient in accordance with the bill's 

provisions. 

Medicaid right of recovery against liable third parties 

(R.C. 5101.573) 

Federal regulations require states to have plans to identify Medicaid recipients' 

other sources of health coverage, determine the extent of the liability of third parties, 

and avoid payment of third party claims.157  To enhance states' ability to identify and 

obtain payments from liable third parties, the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 made 

                                                 
157 42 C.F.R. Part 433, subpart D (2005). 
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several changes to these federal provisions.158   One change was a requirement that third 

parties provide states with the coverage, eligibility, and claims data they need to 

identify potentially liable third parties.159  Consistent with this requirement, the General 

Assembly enacted provisions in the main appropriations act of the 127th General 

Assembly (Am. Sub. H.B. 119) to do both of the following, among other things:  

(1) require a third party to respond to an inquiry by ODJFS regarding a Medicaid claim 

not later than three years after the date of service, and (2) prohibit a third party from 

denying a claim solely on the basis of the date of submission, type or format of the 

claim form, or a failure of the Medicaid recipient to present proper documentation at 

the time of service if the claim was submitted to ODJFS not later than three years after 

the date of service.160 

The bill extends the time periods described above from three to six years.  The 

bill does not modify a provision in current law that specifies that the time periods apply 

only to submissions of claims to, and payments of claims by, a health insurer that the 

Deficit Reduction Act requires be subjected to the requirements.  These include self-

insured plans, group health plans, service benefit plans, managed care organizations, 

and other parties that are, by statute, contract, or agreement, legally responsible for 

payment of a claim for a health care item or service. 

With respect to a Medicaid claim submitted within the six-year time period, the 

bill also prohibits a third party from charging fees for determining whether the claim 

should be paid and processing the claim. 

Care coordination for families and children pending Medicaid managed 
care enrollment 

(Section 309.30.50) 

The bill requires ODJFS and the Ohio Department of Health (ODH) to work 

together on the issue of achieving efficiencies in the delivery of medical assistance 

provided under Medicaid to families and children. 

                                                 
158 Letter from Dennis G. Smith, Director, Center for Medicaid and State Operations, Centers for Medicare 

& Medicaid Services, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, to State Medicaid Directors (SMD 

#06-026) (dated Dec. 15, 2006), available at <http://www.cms.hhs.gov/smdl/downloads/SMD121506.pdf>. 

159 42 U.S.C. 1396a(a)(25). 

160 R.C. 5101.573(A)(2) and (4)(a). 
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Development of proposal for coordinating medical assistance 

As part of their work, ODJFS and ODH must develop a proposal for 

coordinating medical assistance provided to families and children under Medicaid 

while they wait to be enrolled in Medicaid managed care.  For purposes of developing 

the proposal, the Departments may do the following: 

(1)  Conduct research on the status of families and children waiting to be 

enrolled, including research on the reasons for the wait and the utilization of medical 

assistance during the waiting period; 

(2)  Conduct a review of ways to help families and children receive medical 

assistance in the most appropriate setting while they wait to be enrolled; 

(3)  Develop recommendations for a coordinated, cost-effective system of helping 

the families and children find the medical assistance they need during the waiting 

period; 

(4)  Develop recommendations for improving the enrollment processes. 

Help Me Grow targeted case management services 

As part of its work with ODH, ODJFS  may seek federal approval to authorize 

payment for Medicaid-reimbursable targeted case management services that are 

provided in connection with the ODH's Help Me Grow Program and for services 

provided under the Program.  The federal approval must be in the form of a Medicaid 

state plan amendment.  On a quarterly basis during fiscal years 2012 and 2013 following 

federal approval of the state plan amendment, ODJFS is required to certify to the 

Director of Budget and Management the state and federal shares of the amount ODJFS 

has expended that quarter for services.  On receipt of the quarterly certifications, the 

Medicaid appropriation is increased by an amount equal to the state and federal share 

of the certified expenditures and the Help Me Grow appropriation is correspondingly 

reduced. 

Health homes for Medicaid recipients 

(R.C. 5111.14) 

The bill authorizes the ODJFS Director to implement within the Medicaid 

program a system under which Medicaid recipients with chronic conditions are 

provided with coordinated care through health homes.  Federal approval of a Medicaid 

state plan amendment must be obtained.  The ODJFS Director may adopt rules to 

implement the system. 
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"Health homes" are authorized under the federal Patient Protection and 

Affordable Care Act (PPACA).  An eligible Medicaid recipient may select a designated 

health care provider, a team of health care professionals, or a health team as the 

recipient's health home for the purpose of providing to the recipient health home 

services for chronic conditions.  Chronic conditions under the PPACA include (1) a 

mental health condition, (2) a substance abuse problem, (3) asthma, (4) diabetes, (5) 

heart disease, and (6) being overweight (as evidenced by having a body mass index 

over 25).  Health home services include care management, care coordination, health 

promotion, transitional care, patient and family support, and, if appropriate, referral to 

support services and the use of health information technology.161 

Health Care Compliance Fund 

(Section 309.35.73) 

The bill permits money in the Health Care Compliance Fund to be used for 

expenses incurred in implementing or operating health home programs and for the 

creation, modification, or replacement of federally funded Medicaid health-care systems 

in fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  Under current law, money in that fund is to be used 

solely (1) to reimburse a Medicaid managed care organization that, after paying a fine 

for failing to meet a performance standard or other requirement, has come into 

compliance and (2) to provide financial incentive awards to Medicaid managed care 

organizations. 

Enrollment of Medicaid recipients in group health plans 

(R.C. 5111.13) 

The bill permits implementation of a program under which Medicaid recipients 

are enrolled in group health plans when the ODJFS determines that it is cost-effective.  

Under current law, implementation of such a program is required.  The bill removes 

this requirement as well as all provisions specifying how ODJFS must operate the 

program. 

The bill allows ODJFS to submit a Medicaid state plan amendment to the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Services for the purpose of implementing the program.  

The bill also allows the ODJFS Director to adopt rules as necessary to implement the 

program. 

                                                 
161 42 U.S.C. 1396w-4. 
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Medicaid managed care for the aged, blind, or disabled 

(R.C. 5111.16) 

The bill expands the group of individuals who may be required or permitted to 

participate in the Medicaid care management system.  The expansion applies to 

individuals who are included in the Medicaid coverage group known as the "aged, 

blind, and disabled," or "ABD." 

In implementing the care management system, ODJFS is required by current law 

to designate the Medicaid recipient who may or must participate.  Although current 

law requires ABD Medicaid recipients to be designated as participants, several 

exclusions apply.  Specifically, the existing law exclusions apply to an ABD Medicaid 

recipient who is also (1) under age 21, (2) institutionalized, (3) became eligible for 

Medicaid by spending down income, (4) dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare, or 

(5) receiving Medicaid services through a Medicaid waiver program. 

The bill modifies the existing ABD exclusions by permitting ODJFS, if any 

necessary waiver of federal Medicaid requirements is granted, to designate any of the 

following ABD Medicaid recipients as individuals who are permitted or required to 

participate in the care management system: 

(1)  Individuals under age 21; 

(2)  Individuals who reside in a nursing facility; 

(3)  Individuals who, as an alternative to receiving nursing facility services, are 

participating in a home and community-based Medicaid waiver program; 

(4)  Individuals who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare. 

Exclusion of BCMH participants 

(Section 309.30.53) 

In fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the bill prohibits ODJFS from including in the 

Medicaid care management system an individual receiving services through the 

program for medically handicapped children, also known as the Bureau for Children 

with Medical Handicaps (BCMH), if the individual has one or more conditions specified 

by the bill.  The exclusion of these individuals applies regardless of other laws 

governing Medicaid managed care, including the bill's provisions authorizing the 

system to be expanded to additional ABD individuals. 
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For the exclusion to apply, the individual must have one of the following 

medical conditions:  (1) cystic fibrosis, (2) hemophilia, (3) cancer, (4) diabetes, (5) cranio-

facial anomalies, (6) or another other condition that the Director of Health determines is 

life-threatening.  The Director is required to adopt rules defining a "life-threatening" 

condition.  The definition must include any medical condition that requires 

maintenance drugs or interventions that, if the drugs or interventions are absent, would 

result in devastating, life-threatening health outcomes. 

Pediatric accountable care organizations 

(R.C. 5111.161) 

As discussed above, ODJFS may designate the individuals who are permitted or 

required to participate in the Medicaid care management system.  Under the bill, the 

group consisting of ABD Medicaid recipients who are individuals under age 21 may be 

designated as participants. 

If ODJFS receives any necessary federal Medicaid waiver to include ABD 

individuals under age 21 in the care management system, the bill requires ODJFS to 

develop a system for the provision of care management services to these individuals.  

ODJFS is required to do both of the following to develop the system: 

(1)  Contract directly with a children's care network to serve as a pediatric 

accountable care organization.  A "children's care network" is a children's hospital, 

group of children's hospitals, or group of pediatric physicians affiliated with a 

children's hospital or group of children's hospitals. 

For purposes of this requirement, ODJFS is required to adopt rules that specify 

the minimum criteria that a children's care network must meet to qualify for a contract 

with ODJFS as a pediatric accountable care organization.  The criteria must incorporate 

pediatric accountable care organization criteria established by federal law.162  ODJFS's 

determination of whether to enter into the contract is to be based on evidence or other 

documentation submitted by the children's care network and required by ODJFS.  If 

ODJFS denies a children's care network a contract, the network may seek another 

contract, but not earlier than six months after the most recent contract denial. 

                                                 
162 The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act established a demonstration project under which 

pediatric accountable care organizations that meet certain criteria could be provided with performance 

payments.  The project is to be conducted from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2016.  (Public Law 111-

148, Title II, Subtitle I, §2706.) 
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(2)  Require that a Medicaid managed care organization enter into a subcontract 

with a children's care network to provide care coordination and care management 

services.163  

For purposes of this requirement, each children's care network seeking a 

subcontract with a Medicaid managed care organization is required to notify ODJFS of 

its intention to provide care coordination or care management services.  The network 

may provide those services only in a county in which the network is located. 

Results of delay in adopting rules 

If ODJFS does not adopt rules by July 1, 2012, that establish criteria necessary for 

a children's care network to enter into a contract directly with ODJFS, the Department is 

required to implement one of the following requirements until those rules are adopted: 

(1)  Under the first requirement, an alternative payment system is to be 

implemented.  Under this system, Medicaid managed care organizations are required to 

pay children's care networks for providing care coordination services an amount equal 

to the average cost the managed care organization receives for providing case 

management services,164 plus an amount equal to the statewide average administrative 

percentage paid to managed care organizations as a component of their capitation 

payment that is associated with that service. 

(2)  Under the second requirement, each Medicaid managed care organization is 

required to subcontract with a children's care network to provide care management 

services.165 

Medicaid managed care coverage of prescription drugs 

(R.C. 5111.172; Section 309.37.50) 

Under the bill, ODJFS must require that Medicaid coverage of prescription drugs 

be provided by the health insuring corporations (HICs) with which ODJFS contracts for 

purposes of the Medicaid care management system.  To implement this coverage 

requirement, the bill requires ODJFS to enter into new contracts or amend existing 

contracts with HICs not later than October 1, 2011. 

                                                 
163 The bill does not specify what constitutes "care coordination" or "care management" services. 

164 The bill does not specify what constitutes "case management services." 

165 It is unclear how this option is different from the bill's general requirement that Medicaid managed 

care organizations subcontract with a children's care network to provide care coordination and care 

management services. 
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Under current law, ODJFS is only permitted to require HICs to provide 

prescription drug coverage.  During the 2011-2012 biennium, ODJFS did not implement 

this authority; instead, prescription drugs coverage has been provided through the 

Medicaid fee-for-service system. 

Mental health drugs excluded from prior authorization 

For drugs that are antidepressants or antipsychotics, the bill establishes 

limitations on the use of prior authorization requirements by HICs.  Under the bill, 

ODJFS cannot permit any HIC to impose such a requirement if all of the following 

apply to the mental health drug: 

(1)  The drug is administered or dispensed in a standard tablet or capsule form 

or, if the drug is an antipsychotic, in a long-acting injectable form; 

(2)  The drug is prescribed by a physician whom the HIC has credentialed to 

provide care as a psychiatrist or prescribed by a psychiatrist practicing at a community 

mental health agency certified by the Department of Mental Health; 

(3)  The drug is prescribed for a use that is indicated on the drug's labeling, as 

approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

Continuity period 

The bill specifies limitations that apply during a drug continuity period after 

ODJFS first implements the bill's requirement for coverage of prescription drugs 

through Medicaid-participating HICs.  Specifically, the bill establishes the following 

continuity requirements: 

(1)  For a 90-day period, if, immediately before the HIC's coverage becomes 

effective, a Medicaid recipient enrolled in the HIC was being treated with a drug 

prescribed by a physician, the HIC must provide coverage of the drug without using 

drug utilization or management techniques that are more stringent than the utilization 

or techniques, if any, the person was subject to before the transfer of drug coverage. 

(2)  For a 120-day period, with respect to mental health drugs, both of the 

following apply: 

--If, immediately before the HIC's coverage becomes effective, a Medicaid 

recipient enrolled in the HIC was being treating with an antidepressant or antipsychotic 

in the form specified in the bill, the HIC must provide coverage without a prior 

authorization requirement. 
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--The HIC must permit the health professional who was prescribing the drug to 

continue prescribing the drug for the Medicaid recipient, regardless of whether the 

prescriber is a psychiatrist credentialed by the HIC. 

Medicaid managed care capital payments 

(R.C. 5111.17) 

The bill requires ODJFS or its actuary to base the hospital inpatient capital 

payment portion of the payment made to Medicaid managed care organizations on data 

for services provided to all recipients enrolled in managed care organizations under 

contract with ODJFS.  The hospital inpatient capital payment portion is one part of the 

calculation used by ODJFS to determine the payments to Medicaid managed care 

organization.  Data reported by hospitals on relevant cost reports is to be used in 

determining the payment. 

Medicaid Managed Care Performance Payment Program 

(R.C. 5111.1711; Section 309.30.40) 

The bill requires ODJFS to establish a Managed Care Performance Payment 

Program under which ODJFS is permitted to provide payments to managed care 

organizations that meet performance standards established by ODJFS.  The Department 

is permitted to specify in its contract with the managed care organization the standards 

that must be met to receive the payments.  In establishing the performance standards, 

ODJFS is required to use the most recent Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information 

Set (HEDIS).  HEDIS is a tool developed by the National Committee for Quality 

Assurance to measure a health plan's performance on specified dimensions of care and 

service.166 

When a managed care organization meets the performance standards, ODJFS is 

required to make payments to the organization.  The number of payments and schedule 

of making payments are to be established by ODJFS.  The payments must be 

discontinued if the organization no longer meets the performance standards.  The bill 

prohibits ODJFS from making or discontinuing payments based on any performance 

standard that has been in effect as part of an organization's contract for less than six 

months. 

ODJFS is to establish a percentage amount that is to be withheld from each 

premium payment made to a Medicaid managed care organization.  The amount is to 

                                                 
166 National Committee for Quality Assurance, What is HEDIS?, available at 

<http://www.ncqa.org/tabid/187/Default.aspx>. 
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be the same for each organization and the organization must agree to the withholding 

as a condition of receiving or maintaining its Medicaid provider agreement with ODJFS.  

The amounts withheld, and deposited into the Managed Care Performance Payment 

Fund created by the bill, are to be used for purposes of the program.  The sum of all 

withholdings cannot exceed 1% of the total of all premium payments made by ODJFS to 

all Medicaid managed care organizations. 

Reduction in Medicaid payment rates for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 

(Section 309.30.30) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to implement, for fiscal years 2012 and 2013, 

purchasing strategies and rate reductions that result in payment rates for hospital and 

other Medicaid-covered services, as selected by the Director, being at least 2% less than 

the respective payment rates for fiscal year 2011.  The requirement does not apply to 

nursing facility and intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded (ICF/MR) 

services. 

When implementing the purchasing strategies and rate reductions, the ODJFS 

Director must do both of the following: 

(1)  Notwithstanding the bill's provision regarding hospitals' Medicaid rates for 

fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (see "Fiscal years 2012 and 2013 hospital Medicaid rates," 

below), modernize hospital inpatient and outpatient reimbursement methodologies by 

(a) modifying the inpatient hospital capital reimbursement methodology, 

(b) establishing new diagnosis-related groups in a cost-neutral manner, (c) modifying, 

for hospital discharges that occur during the period beginning October 1, 2011, and 

ending January 1, 2012, the measures used to determine whether claims for hospital 

inpatient or outpatient services qualify for cost outlier payments (i.e., charge high trim 

points), as in effect on January 1, 2011, by a factor of 13.6%, (d) modifying, for hospital 

discharges that occur during the period beginning January 1, 2012, and ending on the 

effective date of the first of the new diagnosis-related groups, charge high trim points, 

as in effect on October 1, 2011, by a factor of 9.72%, and (e) implementing other changes 

the Director considers appropriate. 

(2)  Establishing selective contracting and prior authorization requirements for 

types of medical assistance identified by the Director. 

The ODJFS Director must adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act as 

necessary to implement the bill's requirements regarding purchasing strategies and rate 

reductions. 
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BEACON quality improvement initiatives for children 

(Section 309.33.40) 

The bill permits ODH, ODMH, and ODJFS, in conjunction with the Governor's 

Office of Health Transformation, to seek assistance from, and work with, the Best 

Evidence for Advancing Child Health in Ohio NOW! (BEACON) Council and hospital 

and other provider groups to identify specific targets and initiatives to reduce the cost, 

and improve the quality, of medical assistance provided under Medicaid to children.  

The targets and initiatives must focus on reducing (1) avoidable hospitalizations, (2) 

inappropriate emergency room utilization, (3) use of multiple medications when not 

medically indicated, (4) the state's rate of premature births, and (5) the state's rate of 

elective, preterm births. 

If ODH, ODMH, and ODJFS identify initiatives as described above, the 

Departments must make the initiatives available on their web sites, along with a list of 

hospitals and other provider groups involved in the initiatives. 

No Medicaid payments for provider-preventable conditions 

(R.C. 5111.0214) 

The bill prohibits ODJFS from knowingly making a Medicaid payment for a 

provider-preventable condition for which federal financial participation is prohibited 

under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (federal health care reform).167  

The ODJFS Director is required to adopt rules as necessary to implement this provision. 

Medicaid electronic health record incentive payment program 

(R.C. 5111.0215) 

The bill authorizes ODJFS to establish an incentive payment program to 

encourage the use of electronic health record technology by Medicaid providers who 

are physicians, dentists, nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, and physician assistants.  

This incentive program is authorized by the 2009 federal Health Information 

Technology and Economic Clinical Health Act.168  ODJFS may adopt rules under the 

Administrative Procedure Act to implement the program. 

The bill requires ODJFS to notify the provider of its determination regarding the 

amount or denial of an incentive payment.  Not later than 15 days after receiving the 

                                                 
167 42 U.S.C. 1396b-1. 

168 42 U.S.C. 1396b(a)(3)(F) and 1396b(t). 



Legislative Service Commission -379- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

notification, the provider may make a written request that ODJFS reconsider its 

determination.  After receiving the request, ODJFS is required to reconsider its 

determination and may uphold, reverse, or modify its original determination.  ODJFS 

must then mail by certified mail a written notice of the reconsideration decision.  Not 

later than 15 days after the decision is mailed, the provider may appeal the 

reconsideration decision to the Court of Common Pleas of Franklin County. 

Electronic claims submission process 

(R.C. 5111.052) 

The bill requires certain Medicaid providers to use only an electronic claims 

submission process to submit Medicaid reimbursement claims to ODJFS.  The providers 

are also required to arrange to receive Medicaid reimbursement from ODJFS by means 

of electronic funds transfer.  ODJFS is not to process a Medicaid claim submitted on or 

after January 1, 2013, unless the claim is submitted through an electronic claims 

submission process.  The bill permits the ODJFS Director to adopt rules under the 

Administrative Procedure Act to implement the process. 

The electronic claims submission process and the requirement to be reimbursed 

by means of electronic funds transfer do not apply to the following: 

(1)  Nursing facilities; 

(2)  ICFs/MR; 

(3)  Medicaid managed care organizations; 

(4)  Any other provider or type of provider designated by the ODJFS Director. 

Outsourcing of pediatric claims review and quality assurance functions 

(R.C. 5111.054 (primary) and 127.16; R.C. 5101.10 (not in the bill)) 

The bill expressly authorizes ODJFS, if it chooses to outsource either or both of 

the following services, to contract with any qualified person, including the "Ohio 

Children's Hospital Solutions for Patient Safety" (OCHSPS), to perform the services on 

ODJFS's behalf: 

(1)  The review and analysis of pediatric Medicaid claims in accordance with all 

state and federal laws governing the confidentiality of patient-identifying information; 

(2)  The performance of quality assurance and quality review functions, other 

than those described in (1), above, related to the provision of medical care to Medicaid 
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recipients who are children.  These may include functions recommended by the Best 

Evidence for Advancing Child Health in Ohio NOW! (BEACON) Council, a 

public/private partnership whose mission is to improve the quality of care leading to 

improved health outcomes of care and reduced cost with a special emphasis on 

Medicaid-eligible children, youth, and their families.169 

The bill specifies that such a contract is exempt from the competitive bidding 

requirement that typically applies to contracts involving purchases of $50,000 or more. 

The bill defines OCHSPS as a private, not-for-profit corporation which was 

formed for the purpose of improving pediatric patient care in Ohio, which performs 

functions that are included within the functions of a peer review committee, and which 

consists of all of the following members:  Akron Children's Hospital, Cincinnati 

Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cleveland Clinic Children's Hospital, Dayton 

Children's Medical Center, Mercy Children's Hospital, Nationwide Children's Hospital, 

Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital, and Toledo Children's Hospital. 

If ODJFS enters into a contract with OCHSPS to perform either or both of the 

services described above, the bill specifies that OCHSPS is considered to be a "public 

entity" for purposes of a provision of law relating to ODJFS's operations.  That 

provision authorizes a public entity that performs a function on behalf of ODJFS to 

request ODJFS to seek federal financial participation170 for the costs incurred by the 

entity in performing the service or services covered by the contract. 

Medicaid payments to organization on behalf of providers 

(R.C. 5111.051) 

The bill authorizes the ODJFS Director to submit a state plan amendment or to 

request a waiver of federal requirements to implement, at the ODJFS Director's 

discretion, a system under which payments for Medicaid services are made to an 

organization on behalf of the providers of the services.  The system is prohibited from 

providing to an organization an amount that exceeds the amount ODJFS would have 

paid directly to the providers for providing the services. 

                                                 
169 Ohio Department of Health, BEACON Council (last visited June 6, 2011), available at 

<http://www.odh.ohio.gov/ASSETS/78F0EAB110274D50A18E0B21B7F96171/BEACON%20Council%20Pr

ojects.pdf>. 

170 "Federal financial participation" is the federal government's share of expenditures made by an entity 

implementing the Medicaid program (R.C. 5111.054(A)(1)). 
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Application fees for Medicaid provider agreements 

(R.C. 5111.063 (primary), 5111.06, and 5111.94; Section 309.37.10) 

The bill imposes fees on certain applicants for new or renewed Medicaid 

provider agreements for the purpose of implementing Medicaid provider screening 

procedures required by federal law. 

Federal regulations require that each state implement a screening program for 

the purpose of increasing the Medicaid program's integrity.171  States are required to 

assess an application fee, unless the applicant is (1) an individual physician or other 

practitioner, (2) a provider who is enrolled in Medicare or another state's Medicaid or 

CHIP program, or (3) a provider who has paid the application fee to a Medicare 

contractor or another state.172 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to charge an application fee to a provider 

seeking to enter into or renew a Medicaid provider agreement who is not exempt from 

the fee under federal regulations.  The fees are to be deposited into the existing Health 

Care Services Administration Fund. 

The amount of the fee is to be set by the ODJFS Director in rules adopted under 

the Administrative Procedure Act.  The fee amount cannot be more than necessary to 

pay for the expenses of implementing the provider screening requirements. 

Automatic suspension of Medicaid provider agreements 

(R.C. 5111.06, 5111.031, and 5111.035) 

Overview 

To participate in the Medicaid program, a health care provider must enter into a 

contract with ODJFS known as a "provider agreement."  By signing the agreement, the 

provider agrees to comply with the terms of the agreement and all applicable state and 

federal laws.  Medicaid reimbursement for providing health care services is contingent 

on a valid provider agreement being in effect when the services are provided.173 

                                                 
171 42 C.F.R. Part 455; 42 C.F.R. 455.450. 

172 42 C.F.R. 455.460. 

173 O.A.C. 5101:3-1-17 and 5101:3-1-172. 
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The bill generally requires ODJFS to do both of the following when ODJFS 

determines there is a "creditable allegation of fraud"174 against a Medicaid provider175 for 

which an investigation is pending under the Medicaid program:  (1) suspend the 

provider's Medicaid provider agreement and (2) terminate reimbursement to the 

provider for services rendered to Medicaid recipients. 

The bill also authorizes ODJFS to take any of several types of disciplinary action, 

without a hearing, against an existing Medicaid provider agreement when the action is 

based on a disciplinary action taken by another state's Medicaid agency or for reasons 

specified in regulations promulgated under the federal Patient Protection and 

Affordable Care Act. 

The bill's provisions governing suspension of Medicaid provider agreements, as 

summarized above, are consistent with federal regulations governing state Medicaid 

fraud detection and investigation programs.176 

Suspensions based on creditable allegations of fraud 

(R.C. 5111.035(B)) 

In general, the bill requires ODJFS, on determining if there is a creditable 

allegation of fraud for which an investigation is pending under the Medicaid program 

against a  Medicaid provider, to do both of the following:  (1) suspend the provider 

agreement held by the provider, and (2) terminate reimbursement to the provider for 

services rendered to Medicaid recipients. 

Exceptions – when suspension does not occur 

(R.C. 5111.035(C)) 

Under the bill, ODJFS is prohibited from suspending a Medicaid provider 

agreement or terminating Medicaid reimbursement based on a creditable allegation of 

                                                 
174 The bill generally defines "creditable allegation of fraud" consistent with the definition of this term in a 

federal regulation.  Under that definition, modified to conform to Ohio law, a creditable allegation of 

fraud may be an allegation, which has been verified by ODJFS, from any source, including but not limited 

to, fraud hotline complaints, claims data mining, and patterns identified through provider audits, false 

claims cases, and law enforcement investigations.  The federal regulation specifies that allegations are 

considered to be credible when they have indicia of reliability and ODJFS has reviewed all allegations, 

facts, and evidence carefully and acts judiciously on a case-by-case basis.  (42 C.F.R. 455.2.) 

175 A "provider" is any person, institution, or entity that has a Medicaid provider agreement with ODJFS 

(R.C. 5111.035(A)(2)). 

176 See 42 C.F.R. Part 455. 
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fraud when prescribed by rules adopted by ODJFS or when the provider or owner can 

demonstrate through the submission of written evidence that the provider or owner did 

not directly or indirectly sanction the action of its authorized agent, associate, manager, 

or employee that resulted in the creditable allegation of fraud. 

Duration of suspension 

(R.C. 5111.035(B)(2)) 

The bill requires the suspension of a Medicaid provider agreement based on a 

creditable allegation of fraud to continue in effect until any of the following, as 

applicable, is the case: 

(1)  ODJFS or a prosecuting authority determines there is insufficient evidence of 

fraud by the provider. 

(2)  The proceedings in any related criminal case are completed through 

dismissal of the indictment or through conviction, entry of a guilty plea, or finding of 

not guilty. 

(3)  ODJFS concludes the process to terminate the provider's agreement, if ODJFS 

has commenced a process to terminate the suspended agreement. 

Prohibition on owning or providing services to other Medicaid provider or risk 
contractor 

(R.C. 5111.035(B)(4)) 

When a Medicaid provider is subject to a suspension based on a creditable 

allegation of fraud, a provider, owner,177 officer, authorized agent, associate, manager, 

or employee of the provider is prohibited from doing any of the following: 

(1)  Owning or providing services to any other Medicaid provider or risk 

contractor; 

(2)  Arranging for, rendering, or ordering services to any other Medicaid 

provider or risk contractor; 

(3)  Arranging for, rendering, or ordering services for Medicaid recipients during 

the period of suspension; 

                                                 
177 An "owner" is any person having at least 5% ownership in a noninstitutional Medicaid provider (R.C. 

5111.035(A)(3)). 
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(4)  Receiving reimbursement in the form of direct payments from ODJFS or 

indirect payments of Medicaid funds in the form of salary, shared fees, contracts, 

kickbacks, or rebates from or through any participating provider or risk contractor. 

Termination of reimbursements 

(R.C. 5111.035(D)) 

The bill specifies that termination of Medicaid reimbursement based on a 

creditable allegation of fraud applies only to payments for Medicaid services rendered 

by a provider subsequent to the date on which a notice required by the bill (see 

"Notice," below) is sent.  Claims for Medicaid reimbursement rendered by the provider 

prior to issuance of the notice may be subject to prepayment review procedures 

whereby ODJFS reviews claims to determine whether they are supported by sufficient 

documentation, are in compliance with state and federal statutes and rules, and are 

otherwise complete. 

Notice 

(R.C. 5111.035(E), (F), and (G)) 

Timing 

After suspending a provider agreement based on a creditable allegation of fraud, 

the bill requires ODJFS, consistent with federal regulations governing state Medicaid 

fraud detection and investigation programs,178 to send notice of the suspension to the 

affected provider or owner in accordance with the following timeframes: 

(1)  Not later than five days after the suspension, unless a law enforcement 

agency makes a written request to temporarily delay the notice; 

(2)  Not later than 30 days after the suspension occurs, if a law enforcement 

agency makes a written request to temporarily delay the notice.  The written request 

may be renewed in writing by a law enforcement agency not more than two times 

except that under no circumstances may the notice be issued more than 90 days after 

the suspension occurs. 

Content 

The notice the bill requires ODJFS to send to suspended providers must do all of 

the following: 

                                                 
178 Specifically, 42 C.F.R. 455.23(b). 
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(1)  State that payments are being suspended based on creditable allegations of 

fraud and the federal regulation governing such suspensions;179 

(2)  Set forth the general allegations related to the nature of the conduct leading 

to suspension, except that it is not necessary for the notice to disclose any specific 

information concerning an ongoing investigation; 

(3)  State that the suspension continues to be in effect until either of the following 

is the case:  (a) ODJFS or a prosecuting authority determines there is insufficient 

evidence of fraud by the provider, or (b) the proceedings in any related criminal case 

are completed through dismissal of the indictment or through conviction, entry of a 

guilty plea, or finding of not guilty and, if ODJFS commences a process to terminate the 

suspended provider agreement, until the termination process is concluded; 

(4)  Specify, if applicable, the type or types of Medicaid claims or business units 

of the provider that are affected by the suspension; 

(5)  Inform the provider or owner of the opportunity to submit to ODJFS, not 

later than 30 days after receiving the notice, a request for reconsideration of the 

suspension. 

Reconsideration process 

(R.C. 5111.035(H) and (I)) 

Timing of request for reconsideration 

The bill authorizes a provider or owner subject to a suspension based on a 

creditable allegation of fraud to request a reconsideration of the suspension.  The 

request must be made not later than 30 days after receipt of a notice required by the bill.  

The reconsideration is not subject to a hearing conducted in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.). 

Content of request for reconsideration 

In requesting reconsideration of a suspension, the bill requires an affected 

provider or owner to submit written information and documents to ODJFS.  The 

information and documents may pertain to any of the following issues: 

(1)  Whether the determination to suspend the provider agreement was based on 

a mistake of fact, other than the validity of an indictment in a related criminal case; 

                                                 
179 42 C.F.R. 455.23. 
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(2)  If there has been an indictment in a related criminal case, whether any 

offense charged in the indictment resulted from an act that would be a felony or 

misdemeanor under Ohio law and the act relates to or results from (a) furnishing or 

billing for medical care, services, or supplies under the Medicaid program, or (b) 

participating in the performance of related management or administrative services; 

(3)  Whether the affected provider or owner can demonstrate that the provider or 

owner did not directly or indirectly sanction the action of its authorized agent, 

associate, manager, or employee that resulted in the suspension for a creditable 

allegation of fraud or an indictment in a related criminal case. 

Review of request for reconsideration 

The bill requires ODJFS to review the information and documents submitted by 

the affected provider.  After the review, the suspension may be affirmed, reversed, or 

modified, in whole or in part.  ODJFS is required to notify the affected provider or 

owner of the results of the review.  The review and notification of its results must be 

completed not later than 45 days after receiving information and documents submitted 

in a reconsideration request. 

Rules 

(R.C. 5111.035(J)) 

The bill authorizes ODJFS to adopt rules in accordance with the Administrative 

Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) to implement the bill's provisions regarding 

automatic suspensions of a Medicaid provider agreement based on a creditable 

allegation of fraud.  The rules may specify circumstances under which ODJFS would 

not suspend a provider agreement based on such an allegation. 

Disciplinary actions based on other states' actions 

(R.C. 5111.06(D)(5)) 

Without conducting a hearing, the bill authorizes ODJFS to deny, terminate, or 

not renew a Medicaid provider agreement when ODJFS's action is based on the 

provider's termination, suspension, or exclusion from another state's Medicaid 

program.  In such cases, the out-of-state termination, suspension, or exclusion is 

binding on the provider's participation in the Ohio Medicaid program. 
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Disciplinary actions for reasons specified by other federal provisions 

(R.C. 5111.06(D)(12)) 

Without conducting a hearing, the bill authorizes ODJFS to suspend or terminate 

an existing provider agreement or deny an application for enrollment or re-enrollment 

for any of the following reasons authorized or required by regulations promulgated 

pursuant to the federal Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act: 

 The provider did not fully and accurately make a disclosure required by a 

regulation governing disclosure of information on owners or agents 

convicted of offenses related to involvement with programs established 

under Medicaid, Medicare, or the federal Title XX Social Services Block 

Grant.180 

 There has been determined to be a creditable allegation of fraud for which 

an investigation is pending under the Medicaid program and ODJFS has 

not determined there to be good cause to not suspend the provider's 

payments.181 

 A person with a 5% or greater direct or indirect ownership interest in the 

provider: 

--Did not submit timely and accurate information and cooperate with 

any screening methods required by federal regulations;182 

--Has been convicted of a criminal offense related to that person's 

involvement with Medicare, Medicaid, or a Children's Health 

Insurance Program (CHIP) in the last ten years, unless ODJFS 

determined that denial or termination of enrollment was not in the 

best interests of the Medicaid program and ODJFS documented that 

determination in writing.183 

 The provider's agreement to participate in Medicare, Medicaid, or the 

CHIP program of any state was terminated on or after January 1, 2011.184 

                                                 
180 42 C.F.R. 455.106(c). 

181 42 C.F.R. 455.23 

182 42 C.F.R. 416(a). 

183 42 C.F.R. 416(b). 

184 42 C.F.R. 455.416(c). 
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 The provider or a person with an ownership or control interest or who is 

an agent or managing employee of the provider failed to submit timely or 

accurate information, unless ODJFS determined that termination or denial 

of enrollment was not in the best interests of the Medicaid program and 

ODJFS documented that determination in writing.185 

 The provider or a person with a 5% or greater direct or indirect ownership 

interest in the provider failed to submit sets of fingerprints in the form 

and manner determined by ODJFS within 30 days of a Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) or ODJFS request, unless ODJFS 

determined that termination or denial of enrollment was not in the best 

interests of the Medicaid program and ODJFS documented that 

determination in writing.186 

 The provider failed to permit access to provider locations for any site 

visits required by federal regulations,187 unless ODJFS determined that 

termination or denial of enrollment was not in the best interests of the 

Medicaid program and ODJFS documents that determination in writing.188 

 CMS or ODJFS (1) determined that the provider falsified any information 

provided on the application, or (2) cannot verify the identity of any 

provider applicant.189 

 Failure to submit to a criminal background check as a condition of 

enrolling to be a Medicaid provider, as specified in federal regulations.190 

 Failure to meet screening requirements for Medicaid providers specified 

in federal regulations.191 

                                                 
185 42 C.F.R. 455.416(d). 

186 42 C.F.R. 455.416(e). 

187 42 C.F.R. 455.432. 

188 42 C.F.R. 455.416(f). 

189 42 C.F.R. 455.416(g). 

190 42 C.F.R. 455.434. 

191 42 C.F.R. 455.450. 
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Physician assistants and Medicaid claims submissions 

(R.C. 5111.053) 

The bill requires the ODJFS to establish a process by which a physician assistant 

may enter into a Medicaid provider agreement.  As a result of having a Medicaid 

provider agreement, a physician assistant may submit a claim for, and receive, 

reimbursement directly from ODJFS (i.e., engage in "direct billing").  This is in contrast 

to the current reimbursement method, under which reimbursement for Medicaid 

services provided by a physician assistant are paid either to (1) the physician, physician 

group practice, or clinic employing the physician assistant, or (2) a hospital (as part of 

the facility payment) if the physician assistant works for a hospital.192  

Although the bill requires ODJFS to establish a process by which a physician 

assistant may enter into a Medicaid provider agreement, the bill does not require a 

physician assistant to enter into an agreement.  Under the bill, there are two options for 

submitting a physician assistant's Medicaid claim:  either (1) the physician assistant 

who provided the service or another person the physician designates to submit the 

claim on the physician assistant's behalf may submit the claim, or (2) the physician, 

group practice, clinic, or other health care facility that employs or contracts with the 

physician assistant may submit the claim. 

If a physician assistant chooses to submit the claim individually or through a 

designee, as described in (1) above, the physician assistant must have a valid Medicaid 

provider agreement.  When submitting the claim, the physician assistant or designee 

may use only the Medicaid provider number ODJFS has assigned to the physician 

assistant. 

Public notice of proposed changes to Medicaid rates 

(R.C. 5111.0212) 

As necessary to comply with federal law, the bill requires the ODJFS Director to 

give public notice in the Register of Ohio of any change to a method or standard used to 

determine the Medicaid reimbursement rate for Medicaid providers.  Current federal 

law requires that the public notice provide information on the methodologies 

underlining the rates and an opportunity for the public to review and comment on the 

proposed rates.193 

                                                 
192 O.A.C. 5101:3-4-039(C)(1) and (8); telephone interview with ODJFS representative (April 22, 2011). 

193 42 U.S.C. 1396(a)(13)(A). 
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Maximum Medicaid reimbursement rate 

General rule 

(R.C. 5111.021) 

The bill eliminates the discretion of ODJFS to pay Medicaid providers an amount 

that exceeds that authorized under the Medicare program and specifies that payments 

to certain providers is not to exceed the amount allowed under federal Medicaid 

regulations. 

Current law provides that, in reimbursing any Medicaid provider, ODJFS, except 

as permitted by federal law and at the discretion of ODJFS, is to reimburse the provider 

no more than the amount authorized for the same service under the Medicare program.  

The bill instead prohibits Medicaid reimbursement rates to hospitals, nursing facilities, 

or ICF/MR from exceeding the limits established in federal regulations.  For all other 

providers, ODJFS is prohibited from providing a Medicaid reimbursement rate in an 

amount that exceeds the authorized Medicare reimbursement limit for the same service. 

Fiscal years 2012 and 2013 Medicaid reimbursement rate for dialysis services 

(Section 309.30.32) 

The removal of ODJFS's discretion to pay Medicaid providers an amount that 

exceeds that authorized under the Medicare program has the result of limiting the 

amounts ODJFS may pay providers for "crossover claims" to Medicaid providers for 

those dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.  A crossover claim refers to cost-

sharing payments made by ODJFS to providers of Medicaid services to dually eligible 

individuals.  This may include a payment for any copayment or other cost-sharing 

amount that a Medicare recipient would be required to pay for the service. 

For fiscal year 2012, the Medicare copayment amount that applies to dialysis 

services will continue to be paid by ODJFS to providers at the same rate paid by ODJFS 

immediately prior to the bill.  In fiscal year 2013, the bill permits ODJFS to adjust the 

Medicaid rates that are paid for dialysis services by an amount sufficient to achieve 

savings of no more than $9 million.  These reductions in payments may be made 

regardless of any other requirement of current law or the bill. 
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Medicaid rates for aide and nursing services 

(R.C. 5111.0213) 

The bill requires ODJFS to reduce the Medicaid program's first-hour-unit price 

for aide and nursing services provided as home care.194  The Medicaid program's first-

hour-unit price for aide services is to be reduced to 97% of the price paid on June 30, 

2011.  The Medicaid program's first-hour-unit price for nursing services is to be reduced 

to 95% of the price paid on June 30, 2011.  Additionally, ODJFS is to pay for a service 

that is an aide service or nursing service provided by an independent provider195 80% of 

the price ODJFS pays for the same service provided by a provider that is not an 

independent provider.  These reductions are to be effective October 1, 2011. 

The ODJFS Director must adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act 

(R.C. Chapter 119.) as necessary to implement these reductions. 

Federal upper limit for drugs 

(R.C. 5111.085) 

The bill prohibits ODJFS from making a Medicaid payment for a drug subject to 

a federal upper reimbursement limit that exceeds, in the aggregate, the federal upper 

reimbursement limit for the drug.196  The ODJFS Director is to adopt rules as necessary 

to implement the bill's provision. 

Drugs subject to a federal upper limit are those generally referred to as "generic 

drugs" (i.e., multiple source drugs for which there are three or more therapeutically 

                                                 
194 For purposes of the bill, "aide services" are home health aide services available under the federal 

Medicaid home health services benefit and home care attendant and personal care aide services under a 

home and community-based services Medicaid waiver component.  "Nursing services" are nursing 

services under the federal Medicaid home health services benefit, private duty nursing services, and 

nursing services available under a home and community-based services Medicaid waiver component.  

(R.C. 5111.0213(A)(1) and (4).) 

195 The bill defines "independent provider" as an individual who personally provides aide services or 

nursing services and is not employed by, under contract with, or affiliated with another entity that 

provides those services (R.C. 5111.0213(A)(3)). 

196 The bill defines "federal upper reimbursement limit" to mean the limit established pursuant to federal 

law governing payments for outpatient drugs covered by Medicaid (42 U.S.C. 1396r-8(e)). 
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equivalent drug products).197  States generally base their Medicaid reimbursements to a 

retail pharmacy for a covered outpatient drug on the lowest of the following:198 

(1)  The state's best estimate of the retail pharmacy's acquisition cost for the drug; 

(2)  The pharmacy's usual and customary charge for the drug; 

(3)  The federal upper limit for the drug, if one applies; 

(4)  The state's maximum allowable cost (MAC) for the drug, if one applies.  

(States that administer a Maximum Allowable Cost program publish lists of selected 

multiple source drugs with the maximum price at which the state will reimburse for 

those drugs.  Generally, state MAC lists include more drugs, and establish lower 

reimbursement prices, than the federal upper limit list.) 

The bill's prohibition does not affect ODJFS's authority to pay an amount lower 

than the federal upper limit; it only places a ceiling on the amount of the payment. 

Medicaid dispensing fee for noncompounded drugs 

(Section 309.33.70) 

The bill continues to set the Medicaid dispensing fee for each noncompounded 

drug covered by the Medicaid program at $1.80 for the period beginning July 1, 2011, 

and ending on the effective date of an ODJFS rule changing the amount of the fee. 

Fiscal years 2012 and 2013 hospital Medicaid rates 

(Section 309.30.35) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to amend rules as necessary to continue, for 

fiscal years 2012 and 2013, the Medicaid reimbursement rates in effect on June 30, 2011, 

for Medicaid-covered hospital inpatient and outpatient services that are paid under the 

prospective payment system established in the rules.   

                                                 
197 42 U.S.C. 1396r-8(e)(4). 

198 Government Accountability Office, Letter to Joe Barton (former chairman), U.S. House of 

Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce (GAO-07-239R Medicaid Federal Upper Limits) 

(Dec. 22, 2006). 



Legislative Service Commission -393- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Children's hospitals supplemental funding 

(Sections 309.30.38 (primary) and 309.30.33) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to make additional Medicaid payments to 

children's hospitals for inpatient services.  The additional payments are for fiscal years 

2012 and 2013 and are to compensate children's hospitals for the high percentage of 

Medicaid recipients they serve.  The Director is to model the additional payments after 

the program that ODJFS was required to create for fiscal years 2006 and 2007 as part of 

the biennial budget act for those years.  The program may be the same as the program 

the Director used for making payments to children's hospitals for fiscal years 2010 and 

2011 under the biennial budget act for those years. 

The bill provides that nothing in the bill's provision regarding the Hospital 

Inpatient and Outpatient Supplemental Upper Payment Limit Program and the 

Medicaid Managed Care Hospital Incentive Payment Program (see "Use of hospital 

assessments," below) reduces the additional Medicaid payments to be made to 

children's hospitals. 

Hospital Care Assurance Program 

(Sections 690.10 and 690.11) 

The bill continues the Hospital Care Assurance Program (HCAP) for two 

additional years. HCAP is currently scheduled to end October 16, 2011, but under the 

bill will continue until October 16, 2013. Under HCAP, (1) hospitals are annually 

assessed an amount based on their total facility costs and (2) government hospitals 

make annual intergovernmental transfers to ODJFS. ODJFS distributes to hospitals 

money generated by the assessments and intergovernmental transfers along with 

federal matching funds generated by the assessments and transfers.  A hospital 

compensated under HCAP must provide, without charge, basic, medically necessary, 

hospital‐level services to Ohio residents who are not recipients of Medicare or Medicaid 

and whose income does not exceed the federal poverty guidelines. 

Hospital assessments 

(R.C. 5112.40, 5112.41, 5112.46, and 5112.99; Sections 620.10 to 620.13 and 812.20) 

The bill continues the assessment imposed on hospitals for two additional years, 

ending October 1, 2013, rather than October 1, 2011. The assessment is in addition to 

HCAP.  But like HCAP, the assessment raises money to help pay for the Medicaid 

program (see "Use of hospital assessments," below). 
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A hospital's assessment is based on its total facility costs.  The bill requires 

ODJFS to adopt rules specifying the percentage of hospitals' total facility costs that 

hospitals are to be assessed for the next two years.  The percentage may vary for 

different hospitals. However, ODJFS must obtain a federal waiver before establishing 

varied percentages if varied percentages would cause the assessment to not be imposed 

uniformly as required by federal law. 

A hospital's total facility costs are derived from cost-reporting data submitted to 

ODJFS for purposes of HCAP. The bill provides that a hospital's total facility costs are to 

be derived from other financial statements that the hospital is to provide ODJFS if the 

hospital has not submitted the HCAP cost-reporting data. The financial statements are 

subject to the same type of adjustments made to the HCAP cost-reporting data. 

Continuing law establishes a schedule by which hospitals are to pay their 

assessments. ODJFS is permitted, however, to establish a different payment schedule in 

rules. The bill provides that the purpose of a different payment schedule is to reduce 

hospitals' cash flow difficulties. 

The bill requires ODJFS to impose a penalty of 10% of the amount due on any 

hospital that fails to pay its assessment by the due date. 

Offsets of penalties under HCAP and hospital assessments 

(R.C. 5112.991; Section 309.35.90) 

The bill permits ODJFS to collect unpaid penalties regarding HCAP and the 

assessment on hospitals in the form of offsets. When collecting an unpaid penalty 

through an offset, ODJFS may reduce the amount of one or more payments due a 

hospital under the Medicaid program by an amount not exceeding the amount of the 

unpaid penalty. 

Use of hospital assessments 

(Section 309.30.33) 

The bill provides that a portion of the hospital assessments discussed above be 

used to (1) continue the Hospital Inpatient and Outpatient Supplemental Upper 

Payment Limit Program, (2) create the Medicaid Managed Care Hospital Incentive 

Payment Program, and (3) continue fiscal years 2010 and 2011 hospital payment rates 

(see "Fiscal years 2012 and 2013 hospital Medicaid rates," above).199 

                                                 
199 While the bill provides specific appropriations, it also permits the Director of Budget and Management 

to authorize additional expenditures from the Health Care Federal, Healthcare/Medicaid,  and Medicaid-
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Hospital Inpatient and Outpatient Supplemental Upper Payment Limit Program 

Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly required the ODJFS Director to 

seek federal approval for a Hospital Inpatient and Outpatient Supplemental Upper 

Payment Limit Program.  The Program was approved and provides supplemental 

payments to hospitals for Medicaid-covered inpatient and outpatient services.  The bill 

requires ODJFS to seek federal approval to continue the Program for fiscal years 2012 

and 2013. 

Medicaid Managed Care Hospital Incentive Payment Program 

The bill requires ODJFS to seek federal approval of a Medicaid Managed Care 

Hospital Incentive Payment Program for the purpose of increasing access to hospital 

services for Medicaid recipients who are enrolled in Medicaid managed care 

organizations.  If approved, the Program is to provide additional funds to Medicaid 

managed care organizations to be used by the organizations to increase payments to 

hospitals for providing services to Medicaid recipients who are enrolled in the Medicaid 

managed care organizations.   

Actuarial study 

The bill requires ODJFS, not later than July 1, 2012, to select an actuary to 

conduct a study of contracted reimbursement rates between Medicaid managed care 

organizations and hospitals.  The actuary is to determine if a reduction in the capitation 

rates paid to Medicaid managed care organizations in fiscal year 2013 is appropriate as 

a result of the contracted reimbursement rates between the organizations and hospitals.   

Repayment if state savings are insufficient 

If the actuary determines that any reduction in the capitation rates paid to 

Medicaid managed care organizations in fiscal year 2013 will not achieve $22 million in 

state savings in that year, the state is to receive from Medicaid managed care 

organizations and hospitals the difference between what is saved and $22 million.  In 

consultation with the Ohio Association of Health Plans and the Ohio Hospital 

Association, ODJFS is to establish a methodology under which the difference is to be 

paid equally by Medicaid managed care organizations and hospitals.   

ODJFS may waive the payment requirement if spending for the Medicaid 

program in fiscal year 2013 is less than the amount that is budgeted for that fiscal year.  

If ODJFS does receive payments, the amounts are to be deposited into the Health Care 

                                                                                                                                                             
Hospital line items to implement these programs and the bill's provision regarding hospitals' Medicaid 

rates for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  The bill specifies that nothing in the programs is to reduce payments 

that are appropriated to children's hospitals. 
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Compliance Fund.  That Fund provides financial incentive awards to Medicaid 

managed care organizations that meet or exceed performance standards. 

Conditions on program implementation 

The bill specifies that the program is to be implemented only under the following 

conditions: 

(1)  An actuary certifies that the Program would not violate the actuarial 

soundness of capitation rates paid to Medicaid managed care organizations. 

(2)  ODJFS implements the Program in a manner that does not result in a hospital 

receiving less money from the Hospital Assessment Fund than the hospital would have 

received if the Program were not implemented. 

(3)  ODJFS implements the Program in a manner that does not result in a 

Medicaid managed care organization receiving a lower capitation payment rate solely 

because funds are made available to the organization under the Program. 

(4)  The Program is not determined to be an impermissible healthcare-related tax 

under federal law. 

Nursing home and hospital long-term care unit franchise permit fees 

(R.C. 3721.50, 3721.51, 3721.56 (repealed), 3721.561 (renumbered 3721.56), 3721.58, 

3721.56, 3769.08, 3769.20, and 3769.26; Section 512.80) 

The bill revises the law governing the franchise permit fee that is imposed on 

nursing homes and hospital long-term care units.  The fee is used to generate revenue to 

help fund Medicaid, including the PASSPORT program, and the Residential State 

Supplement program. 

The bill sets the franchise permit fee's base rate at $11.38 for fiscal year 2012 and 

$11.60 for each fiscal year thereafter.  In doing so, the bill eliminates the formula that 

was used to calculate the base rate for prior fiscal years.  The bill maintains current law 

that provides for adjustments in the amount of the franchise permit fee due to a federal 

waiver that exempts certain nursing homes from the fee. 

Under current law, the amount assessed under the franchise permit fee for a 

fiscal year cannot exceed 5.5% of the actual net patient revenues for all nursing homes 

and hospital long-term care units for that fiscal year.  If the rate used in the assessment 

results with a higher assessment, ODJFS must recalculate the assessment using a rate 

equal to 5.5% of actual net patient revenues for all nursing homes and hospital long-

term care units for that fiscal year.  This is done to address a restriction in federal 
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Medicaid law applicable to the franchise permit fee.  The law governing the federal 

restriction changes on October 1, 2011, in a manner that permits the amount assessed 

under the fee to be as high as 6% of the actual net patient revenues for all nursing 

homes and hospital long-term care units for a fiscal year.  The bill addresses the change 

in federal law by providing for ODJFS to recalculate the assessment for a fiscal year if 

the total amount assessed exceeds the indirect guarantee percentage of the actual net 

patient revenues for all nursing homes and hospital long-term care units for that fiscal 

year.  The indirect guarantee percentage is the maximum percentage of actual net 

patient revenues that the federal law permits the fee to assess (i.e., 5.5% until October 1, 

2011, and 6% thereafter). 

The bill abolishes one of the two funds into which money raised by the franchise 

permit fee is deposited.  The fund that is abolished is the Home- and Community-Based 

Services for the Aged Fund.  All of the money raised by the franchise permit fee is to be 

deposited into the remaining fund, the Nursing Facility Stabilization Fund which is 

renamed the Nursing Home Franchise Permit Fee Fund.  Whereas current law requires 

ODJFS to use money in that fund to make Medicaid payments only to nursing facilities, 

the bill requires that ODJFS use the money to make Medicaid payments to providers of 

home and community-based services as well as providers of nursing facility services.  

Additionally, the bill permits money in the Nursing Home Franchise Permit Fee Fund 

to be used for the Residential State Supplement program.  Current law governing the 

fund being abolished, the Home- and Community-Based Services for the Aged Fund, 

requires ODJFS and the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) to use money in that fund 

for the Medicaid program, including the PASSPORT program, and the Residential State 

Supplement program. 

Current law provides for only the first dollar of the franchise permit fee to be 

deposited into the Home- and Community-Based Services for the Aged Fund and for 

the Nursing Facility Stabilization Fund to receive the remainder.  Because the bill 

requires all of the money raised by the franchise permit fee to be deposited into the 

renamed Nursing Facility Stabilization Fund and provides for the money in that fund to 

be used for home and community-based services and the Residential State Supplement 

program rather than just nursing facilities, it is possible that more of the money raised 

by the franchise permit fee will be used for home and community-based services and 

the Residential State Supplement program than under current law. 

The bill abolishes the PASSPORT Fund.  Money raised by horse-racing-related 

taxes that is currently deposited into the PASSPORT Fund is required to be instead 

deposited into the Nursing Home Franchise Permit Fee Fund.  The bill continues to 

require that the money be used for the PASSPORT Program. 
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Medicaid reimbursement rates for nursing facilities 

The bill revises the formula used in determining nursing facilities' Medicaid 

reimbursement rates. The formula is established in the Revised Code and is comprised 

of various price centers and a quality incentive payment. 

Direct care costs 

(R.C. 5111.231) 

Direct care costs are one of the price centers used in determining nursing 

facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates.  A nursing facility's Medicaid reimbursement 

rate for direct care costs is based in part on the cost per case-mix unit determined for the 

nursing facility's peer group.  Under current law, one of the steps in determining a peer 

group's cost per case-mix unit is to calculate the amount that is 7% above the cost per 

case-mix unit determined for the nursing facility in the peer group that is at the 25th 

percentile of the cost per case-mix units.  The bill replaces that step with a step under 

which $1.88 is added to the cost per case-mix unit determined for the nursing facility at 

the 25th percentile.  Whereas the 7% calculation made under current law occurs before 

an inflation adjustment is applied, the $1.88 increase is to be made after the inflation 

adjustment is made. ODJFS is to cease to make the $1.88 increase when it first rebases 

nursing facilities' rates for direct care costs.  ODJFS is not required to rebase more than 

once every ten years.  Rebasing is the process under which ODJFS redetermines nursing 

facilities' rates using information from Medicaid cost reports for a calendar year that is 

later than the calendar year used for the previous determination. 

Ancillary and support costs 

(R.C. 5111.24) 

Ancillary and support costs are another price center.  Nursing facilities' Medicaid 

reimbursement rates for ancillary and support costs is based on the ancillary and 

support costs of the nursing facility in a peer group that is at the 25th percentile of the 

rate for such costs.  Under current law, a 3% adjustment is applied to that nursing 

facility's ancillary and support costs when determining the peer group's rate.  The bill 

eliminates the 3% adjustment. 

Capital costs 

(R.C. 5111.25 (primary), 5111.222, and 5111.254) 

Another price center is capital costs.  Under current law, a nursing facility's 

Medicaid reimbursement rate for capital costs is the median rate for capital costs for the 

nursing facilities in the nursing facility's peer group.  Under the bill, a peer group's rate 
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for capital costs is to be the rate for capital costs determined for the nursing facility in 

the peer group that is at the 25th percentile of the rate for capital costs.  The bill 

prohibits ODJFS from redetermining a peer group's rate for capital costs based on 

additional information that it receives after the rate is determined and provides for 

ODJFS to make a redetermination only if ODJFS made an error in determining the rate 

based on information available to ODJFS at the time of the original determination. 

In determining a nursing facility's capital costs, adjustments are sometimes made 

to certain of the nursing facility's capital costs.  Under current law, an adjustment is 

based on the lesser of (1) one-half of the change in construction costs as calculated by 

ODJFS using the Dodge Building Cost Indexes, Northeastern and North Central states, 

published by Marshall and Swift and (2) one-half of the change in the Consumer Price 

Index for all items for all urban consumers, as published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor 

Statistics.  The bill provides for the adjustment to be based only on one-half of the 

change in the Consumer Price Index rather than the lesser of that amount and the 

amount determined using the Dodge Building Cost Indexes. 

Franchise permit fee costs 

(R.C. 5111.243 (repealed) and 5111.222) 

Under current law, a franchise permit fee rate is one of the price centers that 

make up a nursing facility's total Medicaid reimbursement rate.  The bill eliminates the 

franchise permit fee rate price center. 

Quality incentive payments 

(R.C. 5111.244 (primary), 5111.222, and 5111.254) 

A quality incentive payment is added to a nursing facility's Medicaid 

reimbursement rate.  The amount of a nursing facility's quality incentive payment 

depends on how many points the nursing facility earns for meeting accountability 

measures. 

The accountability measures are specified in current law.  The bill requires 

ODJFS to cease using the current accountability measures on the earlier of the effective 

date of rules ODJFS is to adopt establishing new accountability measures and July 1, 

2012.  While the current accountability measures are used, a nursing facility is to be 

awarded quality incentive points for resident and family satisfaction only if a 

satisfaction survey was conducted for the nursing facility in calendar year 2010. 

ODJFS is required to strive to have the rules establishing the new accountability 

measures in effect not later than July 1, 2012.  If the effective date of the rules is after 
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July 1, 2012, ODJFS is prohibited from awarding any quality incentive points, and 

therefore no quality incentive payments will be paid, for the period beginning July 1, 

2012, and ending on the effective date of the rules.  In adopting the rules, ODJFS must 

collaborate with persons interested in the issue of Medicaid coverage of nursing facility 

services.  The new accountability measures must include measures relating to the 

quality of care that nursing facilities provide their residents and the residents' quality of 

life. 

FY 2012 and FY 2013 Medicaid reimbursement rates for nursing facilities 

(Sections 309.30.60 and 309.30.70) 

As was done for several prior fiscal years, the bill requires ODJFS to adjust 

certain price centers and the quality incentive payment when determining nursing 

facilities' Medicaid reimbursement rates for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. For both fiscal 

years, ODJFS must increase the cost per case-mix unit, rate for ancillary and support 

costs, rate for tax costs, and rate for capital costs by 5.08%.  For fiscal year 2012, ODJFS 

is required to provide for the mean quality incentive payment to be $14.41 per Medicaid 

day.  For fiscal year 2013, ODJFS must provide for the mean quality incentive payment 

to be $14.63 per Medicaid day unless no quality incentive payment is made for that 

fiscal year.  The total Medicaid reimbursement rate determined for nursing facilities for 

either year is to be reduced if the nursing home franchise permit fee is required to be 

reduced or eliminated that fiscal year to comply with federal law.  The amount of the 

reduction is to reflect the loss to the state of the revenue and federal financial 

participation generated from the franchise permit fee. 

Maximum payment for nursing facility services to dual eligible individuals 

(R.C. 5111.225) 

A dual eligible individual is an individual who is eligible for Medicaid and is 

entitled to, or enrolled in, Medicare Part A (which covers inpatient hospital services and 

some post-hospital extended care services such as skilled nursing care) or enrolled in 

Medicare Part B (which covers services such as physician services, outpatient care, and 

certain other medical services).  When a service covered by both Medicaid and 

Medicare is provided to a dual eligible individual, Medicare is the primary payer but 

Medicaid may pay the difference between the charge for the service and the Medicare 

payment limit, up to the Medicaid payment limit.200 

                                                 
200 U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, "Third Party Liability: Overview." 

https://www.cms.gov/DualEligible/ (accessed 03/27/2011). 
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The bill requires ODJFS to pay a nursing facility the lesser of the following for 

services provided on or after January 1, 2012, to a dual eligible individual: 

(1)  The coinsurance amount for the services as provided under federal law 

governing Medicare Part A; 

(2)  100% of the nursing facility's per diem rate for the day of service, less the 

amount that Medicare Part A pays for the services. 

This causes the maximum reimbursement rate to be reduced, effective January 1, 

2012, from 109% to 100% of a nursing facility's Medicaid per diem rate because a 

current ODJFS rule sets the maximum reimbursement rate at 109%. 

Centers of Excellence 

(R.C. 5111.259 (primary) and 5111.258) 

The bill permits the ODJFS Director to seek federal approval to create a Medicaid 

program to be known as Centers of Excellence.  The purpose of the Centers of 

Excellence program is to increase the efficiency and quality of nursing facility services 

provided to Medicaid recipients with complex nursing facility service needs.  If federal 

approval is obtained, the ODJFS Director may adopt rules governing the program, 

including rules that establish a method of determining the Medicaid reimbursement 

rates for nursing facility services provided to Medicaid recipients participating in the 

program.  The rules may specify the extent to which, if any, continuing law governing 

the rates paid for nursing facility services provided to individuals with diagnoses or 

special care needs that are considered outliers is to apply to the Centers of Excellence 

program. 

Medicaid payments to reserve beds in nursing facilities 

(R.C. 5111.331 (primary), 5111.20, 5111.22, 5111.221, 5111.222, 5111.224, 5111.232, 

5111.25, 5111.251, 5111.254, 5111.255, 5111.258, 5111.259, 5111.262, 5111.27, 5111.29, 

5111.291, and 5111.33) 

The bill permits ODJFS to make payments to a nursing facility to reserve a bed 

for a Medicaid recipient during a temporary absence under conditions prescribed by 

ODJFS.  Under current law, Medicaid reimbursement to a nursing facility must include 

a payment to reserve a bed for a recipient during such a temporary absence. 

Under the bill, the maximum period for which a payment may be made to 

reserve a bed in a nursing facility during calendar year 2011 remains at the current 

maximum:  30 days.  For calendar year 2012 and thereafter, however, the maximum 

number of days for nursing facilities is reduced to 15. 
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The bill sets the maximum amounts that ODJFS may pay to reserve a bed in a 

nursing facility.  The amounts are currently established in an ODJFS rule.  Under the 

bill, the per diem rate for calendar year 2015 is not to exceed 50% of the per diem rate the 

nursing facility would be paid if the recipient were not absent from the nursing facility 

that day.  ODJFS's rule sets the payment rate to reserve a bed at 50% of the nursing 

facility's per diem rate.201 The bill requires ODJFS to pay a lower rate than that set by 

rule beginning in calendar year 2012 when the per diem rate is not to exceed 25% of the 

per diem rate the nursing facility would be paid if the recipient were not absent from 

the nursing facility. 

Report on nursing facility Medicaid-rate methodology 

(R.C. 5111.20 and 5111.34 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals a provision that requires (1) ODJFS to prepare an annual report 

containing recommendations on the methodology that should be used to transition 

paying nursing facilities the Medicaid reimbursement rate for one fiscal year to the next 

fiscal year, and (2) the ODJFS Director to submit a copy of the report to the Governor, 

the President and Minority Leader of the Senate, and the Speaker and Minority Leader 

of the House of Representatives by October 1 each year. 

Nursing Facility Capacity Council 

(Section 309.30.73) 

Overview 

The bill creates the Nursing Facility Capacity Council.  The Council must study 

current and future nursing facility capacity in Ohio and recommend actions for 

addressing any excess capacity that is identified. 

Membership 

The Council is to consist of the following persons: 

--One or more members of the Ohio Health Care Association, appointed by its 

executive director or chief administrative officer; 

--One or more members of the Ohio Academy of Nursing Homes, appointed by 

its executive director or chief administrative officer; 

                                                 
201 O.A.C. 5101:3-3-16.4(D)(2). 
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--One or more members of LeadingAge Ohio, appointed by its executive director 

or chief administrative officer; 

--One or more employees of the Department of Job and Family Services, 

appointed by its Director; 

--One or more members of the Department of Aging, appointed by its Director; 

--One or more employees of the Department of Health, appointed by its Director; 

--One or more employees of the Governor's Office of Health Transformation, 

appointed by its Director; 

Council members are to serve at the pleasure of their appointing authorities and 

without compensation, except to the extent that serving is considered part of their 

regular duties of appointment. 

Duties 

The Council must examine the current and future capacity of nursing facilities in 

Ohio and the configuration of that capacity.  If the Council identifies excess capacity 

through its examination, the Council must determine the potential effects of the excess 

capacity and recommend actions the state or private industry may take to address the 

excess capacity.  For each action the Council recommends, the Council must consider 

and explain the impact of the action on (1) the excess capacity, (2) the nursing facilities 

that would be affected, and (3) state revenues and expenditures. 

Report 

Not later than June 30, 2012, the Council must submit a written report of its 

findings and recommendations to the Governor and certain members and staff of the 

General Assembly.  Pursuant to existing law governing the submission of reports, 

recommendations, and similar documents to the General Assembly,202 the members and 

staff who are to receive the report are the President of the Senate, the Senate Minority 

Leader, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the House Minority Leader, and 

the Director of the Legislative Service Commission (LSC).  LSC is then required to 

include the report on a list LSC provides each month to all Senate and House members. 

Termination 

On the Council's submission of the report described above, the Council ceases to 

exist. 

                                                 
202 R.C. 101.68. 
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ICF/MR franchise permit fee 

(R.C. 5112.30, 5112.31, 5112.37, 5112.371, and 5112.39) 

The bill sets the ICF/MR franchise permit fee rate at $17.99 for fiscal year 2012 

and $18.32 for fiscal year 2013 and thereafter.  The rate for future fiscal years is no 

longer to be the rate for the immediately preceding fiscal year as adjusted in accordance 

with a composite inflation factor established in rules. 

Under current law, the amount assessed under the ICF/MR franchise permit fee 

cannot exceed 5.5% of the actual net patient revenues for all ICFs/MR for that fiscal 

year.  If the rate used in the assessment results with a higher assessment, ODJFS must 

recalculate the assessment using a rate equal to 5.5% of actual net patient revenues for 

all ICFs/MR for that fiscal year.  This is done to address a restriction in federal Medicaid 

law applicable to the ICF/MR franchise permit fee.  The law governing the federal 

restriction changes on October 1, 2011, in a manner that permits the amount assessed 

under the fee to be as high as 6% of the actual net patient revenues for all ICFs/MR for a 

fiscal year.  The bill addresses the change in federal law by providing for ODJFS to 

recalculate the assessment for a fiscal year if the total amount assessed exceeds the 

indirect guarantee percentage of the actual net patient revenues for all ICFs/MR for that 

fiscal year.  The indirect guarantee percentage is the maximum percentage of actual net 

patient revenues that the federal law permits the fee to assess (i.e., 5.5% until October 1, 

2011, and 6% thereafter). 

Money raised by the ICF/MR franchise permit fee is deposited into two funds: 

the Home and Community-Based Services for the Mentally Retarded and 

Developmentally Disabled Fund and the ODODD Operating and Services Fund.  The 

bill revises the percentages used to determine how much of the money each fund 

receives.  In fiscal year 2012, 81.77% of the money is to be deposited into the Home and 

Community-Based Services for the Mentally Retarded and Developmentally Disabled 

Fund.  In fiscal year 2013 and thereafter, that fund is to receive 82.2% of the money.  For 

each fiscal year, the ODODD Operating and Services Fund is to receive the remainder 

of the money.  The bill does not revise the purposes for which money in the funds must 

be used.  ODJFS and ODODD must use money in the Home and Community-Based 

Services for the Mentally Retarded and Developmentally Disabled Fund for the 

Medicaid program and home and community-based services to persons with mental 

retardation or a developmental disability.  Money in the ODODD Operating and 

Services Fund must be used for the expenses of the programs that ODODD administers 

and ODODD's administrative expenses. 
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Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR 

The bill makes revisions to the law governing Medicaid reimbursements rates for 

ICFs/MR. 

Index used in calculating inflation factors in ICF/MR rates 

(R.C. 5111.23, 5111.235, and 5111.241) 

The formulas used to determine the direct care, indirect care, and other protected 

costs of ICFs/MR include provisions regarding inflation adjustments.  The bill specifies 

what is to be done if an index used in calculating an inflation adjustment ceases to be 

published. 

In determining the inflation adjustment for direct care costs, ODJFS is required 

by current law to use the Employment Cost Index for Total Compensation, Health 

Services Component, as published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.  The bill 

specifies that if that index ceases to be published, ODJFS is to use the index that is 

subsequently published by the U.S. Bureau and covers nursing facilities' staff costs. 

In calculating the inflation adjustments for indirect care costs, ODJFS must use 

the Consumer Price Index for all items for all urban consumers of the North Central 

region, as published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Under the bill, if that index 

ceases to be published, a comparable index that the U.S. Bureau publishes and that 

ODJFS determines is appropriate is to be used instead. 

In the case of other protected costs, ODJFS is required to make the inflation 

adjustment using the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for 

nonprescription drugs and medical supplies, as published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor 

Statistics.  The bill specifies that, if that index ceases to be published, the index that the 

U.S. Bureau subsequently publishes and covers nonprescription drugs and medical 

supplies is to be used. 

ICF/MR refund of excess depreciation 

(R.C. 5111.251) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that an ICF/MR, after the date on which a 

transaction of sale is closed, refund to ODJFS the amount of excess depreciation that 

ODJFS paid to the facility for each year it operated under a Medicaid provider 

agreement.  Current law specifies that the amount of the refund is to be prorated 

according to the number of Medicaid patient days for which the ICF/MR received 

payment.  ʺExcess depreciationʺ is defined as an ICF/MR's depreciated basis, which is 

the ICF/MRʹs cost less accumulated depreciation, subtracted from the purchase price 
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but not exceeding the amount paid to the ICF/MR for cost of ownership less any 

amount paid for interest costs. 

FY 2012 Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR 

(Section 309.30.90) 

The bill provides for an existing ICF/MR's Medicaid reimbursement rate for fiscal 

year 2012 to be the average of its modified and capped rates unless the mean of such 

rates for all existing ICFs/MR is other than $279.81, in which case the ICF/MR's rate is to 

be adjusted by a percentage that equals the percentage by which the mean rate is 

greater or less than $279.81.  An ICF/MR is considered to be an existing ICF/MR if (1) 

the provider of the ICF/MR has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR on 

June 30, 2011, and a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR during fiscal 

year 2012 or (2) the ICF/MR undergoes a change of operator effective July 1, 2011, the 

existing operator has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR on June 30, 

2011, and the entering operator has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the 

ICF/MR during fiscal year 2012. 

An ICF/MR's modified rate is its rate as determined in accordance with Revised 

Code provisions governing the Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR with the 

following modifications: 

(1)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise made in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for other protected costs, its other protected costs, excluding the franchise 

permit fee component of those costs, from calendar year 2010 is to be multiplied by 

1.0164. 

(2)  In determining the ICF/MR's rate for direct care costs, its maximum costs per 

case-mix unit is to be the maximum established for its peer group divided by 1.1123 if it 

has more than eight beds or 1.094 if it has eight or fewer beds. 

(3)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise calculated in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for direct care costs, an inflation adjustment of 1.0164 is to be used. 

(4)  If the ICF/MR has more than eight beds, the maximum rate for the indirect 

care costs of its peer group is to be divided by 1.0843. 

(5)  If the ICF/MR has eight or fewer beds, the imputed indirect care ceiling 

percentage203 is to be used in place of the 10.3% that is otherwise used in determining 

                                                 
203 The imputed indirect care ceiling percentage is the percentage above the median indirect care cost that 

is imputed for ICFs/MR with eight or fewer beds in a manner that causes the following percentages to be 
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the maximum rate for indirect care costs for its peer group and the amount calculated 

using the imputed indirect care ceiling percentage is to be divided by 1.07. 

(6)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise calculated in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for indirect care costs, an inflation adjustment of 1.0164 is to be used. 

(7)  The ICF/MR's efficiency incentive used in determining its rate for indirect 

care costs is to be the following percentage of the maximum rate established for its peer 

group, as further reduced by 25%:  7.1% if it has more than eight beds or 7% if it has 

eight or fewer beds. 

(8)  The ICF/MR's efficiency incentive for capital costs is to be reduced by 50%. 

An ICF/MR's capped rate is to be its rate as determined in accordance with 

Revised Code provisions governing the Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR 

reduced by the percentage by which the mean of such rates for all ICFs/MR, weighted 

by May 2011 Medicaid days and calculated as of July 1, 2011, exceeds $279.81. 

ODJFS is required by the bill to reduce the amount it pays ICFs/MR for fiscal 

year 2012 if the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires that the 

ICF/MR franchise permit fee be reduced or eliminated.  The amount of the reduction is 

to reflect the loss to the state of the revenue and federal financial participation 

generated from the franchise permit fee. 

FY 2013 Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR 

(Section 309.33.10) 

The bill provides for an existing ICF/MR's Medicaid reimbursement rate for fiscal 

year 2013 to be paid its modified rate unless the mean of such rates for all existing 

ICFs/MR is other than $280.14, in which case the ICF/MR's modified rate is to be 

adjusted by a percentage that equals the percentage by which the mean modified rate is 

greater or less than $280.14.  An ICF/MR is considered to be an existing ICF/MR if (1) 

the provider of the ICF/MR has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR on 

June 30, 2012, and a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR during fiscal 

year 2013 or (2) the ICF/MR undergoes a change of operator effective July 1, 2012, the 

existing operator has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR on June 30, 

                                                                                                                                                             
the same:  (1) the percentage of ICFs/MR with eight or fewer beds that have indirect care costs from 

calendar year 2010, adjusted for inflation in accordance with the bill, that are at or below the indirect care 

costs ceiling that applies to the ICFs/MR and (2) the percentage of ICFs/MR with more than eight beds 

that have indirect care costs from calendar year 2010, adjusted for inflation in accordance with the bill, 

that are at or below the indirect care costs ceiling that applies to the ICFs/MR. 
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2012, and the entering operator has a valid Medicaid provider agreement for the 

ICF/MR during fiscal year 2013. 

An ICF/MR's modified rate is its rate as determined in accordance with Revised 

Code provisions governing the Medicaid reimbursement rates for ICFs/MR with the 

following modifications: 

(1)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise made in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for other protected costs, its other protected costs, excluding the franchise 

permit fee component of those costs, from calendar year 2011 is to be multiplied by the 

overall consumer price index (CPI) inflation adjustment.204 

(2)  In determining the ICF/MR's rate for direct care costs, its maximum costs per 

case-mix unit is to be the maximum established for its peer group divided by 1.1123 if it 

has more than eight beds or 1.094 if it has eight or fewer beds. 

(3)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise calculated in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for direct care costs, the overall CPI inflation adjustment is to be used. 

(4)  The maximum rate for the indirect care costs of the ICF/MR's peer group is to 

be divided by 1.0843 if it has more than eight beds or 1.07 if it has eight or fewer beds. 

(5)  In place of the inflation adjustment otherwise calculated in determining the 

ICF/MR's rate for indirect care costs, the overall CPI inflation adjustment is to be used. 

(6)  The ICF/MR's efficiency incentive used in determining its rate for indirect 

care costs is to be the same as its efficiency incentive for indirect care costs for fiscal year 

2012. 

(7)  The ICF/MR's efficiency incentive for capital costs is to be reduced by 50%. 

ODJFS is required by the bill to reduce the amount it pays ICFs/MR for fiscal 

year 2013 if the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires that the 

ICF/MR franchise permit fee be reduced or eliminated.  The amount of the reduction is 

to reflect the loss to the state of the revenue and federal financial participation 

generated from the franchise permit fee. 

                                                 
204 The overall CPI inflation adjustment is the amount of buying power that $100 in calendar year 2010 

has in calendar year 2011, as determined using the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' CPI inflation calculator 

available on its web site, divided by 100. 
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Study of ICF/MR issues 

(Section 309.30.80) 

The bill requires ODJFS and ODODD to study issues regarding Medicaid 

reimbursement for ICF/MR services.  In conducting the study, ODJFS and ODODD 

must examine revising the Individual Assessment Form (IAF) Answer Sheet in a 

manner that provides a more accurate assessment of the acuity and care needs of 

individuals who need ICF/MR services, especially the acuity and care needs of such 

individuals who have intensive behavioral or medical needs.  After examining the issue 

of revising the IAF Answer Sheet, ODJFS and ODODD are to examine, as part of the 

study, revisions to the Medicaid reimbursement formula for ICF/MR services to (1) 

ensure that reimbursement for capital costs is adequate for maintaining the capital 

assets of ICFs/MR in a manner that promotes the well being of the residents, (2) provide 

capital incentives for reducing the capacity of ICFs/MR as necessary to achieve goals 

regarding the optimal capacity of ICFs/MR, (3) ensure that wages paid individuals who 

provide direct care services to ICF/MR residents are sufficient for ICFs/MR to meet 

staffing and quality requirements, (4) provide incentives for high quality services, and 

(5) achieve other goals developed for the purpose of improving the appropriateness and 

sufficiency of Medicaid reimbursements for ICF/MR services.  A report of the study is 

due not later than October 1, 2011.  The report is to be submitted to the Governor and 

General Assembly. 

At the same time they conduct the study, ODJFS and ODODD are required to 

work with the Governor's Office of Health Transformation and persons interested in the 

issue of ICF/MR services to develop recommendations regarding (1) goals regarding the 

ratio of ODODD-administered home and community-based Medicaid waiver services 

and ICF/MR services that take into account goals regarding the optimal capacity of 

ICFs/MR, (2) the roles and responsibilities of ICFs/MR owned and operated by ODODD 

and providers of services under ODODD-administered Medicaid waiver programs that 

provide home and community-based services, and (3) simplifying and eliminating 

duplicate regulations regarding ICFs/MR in a manner that lowers the cost of ICF/MR 

services. 

Transfer of ICF/MR services to ODODD 

(R.C. 5111.226 (primary) and 5111.211; Section 309.33.20) 

The bill requires that ODJFS enter into an interagency agreement with ODODD 

that provides for ODODD to assume the powers and duties of ODJFS with regard to the 

Medicaid program's coverage of ICF/MR services.  The interagency agreement is subject 

to the approval of the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services if such approval is 
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needed.  The interagency agreement must include a schedule for ODODD's assumption 

of the powers and duties.  No provision of the interagency agreement may violate a 

federal law or regulation governing the Medicaid program, unless otherwise authorized 

by the U.S. Secretary.  Once the interagency agreement goes into effect and to the extent 

necessary to implement the terms of the interagency agreement, ODODD is to be 

considered ODJFS, and the ODODD Director is to be considered the ODJFS Director, for 

purposes of state law that gives ODJFS and the ODJFS Director powers and duties 

regarding ICFs/MR. 

Nursing facility and ICF/MR audits and fines 

The bill revises the law governing audits of Medicaid cost reports that nursing 

facilities and ICFs/MR must annually file with ODJFS.  Cost reports are used to 

determine Medicaid reimbursement rates. 

Audit-related restriction on amending Medicaid cost report 

(R.C. 5111.261, 5111.263, and 5111.28) 

The bill creates an audit-related exception to the right of nursing facilities and 

ICFs/MR to amend Medicaid cost reports.  Under the bill, a cost report cannot be 

amended if ODJFS has notified the nursing facility or ICF/MR that an audit of the cost 

report or a cost report for a subsequent cost reporting period is to be conducted.  The 

nursing facility or ICF/MR may, however, provide ODJFS information that affects the 

costs included in the cost report.  Such information is not to be provided after the 

adjudication of the final settlement of the cost report. 

Determining whether to conduct an audit 

(R.C. 5111.27) 

Under the bill, ODJFS is no longer required, but is instead permitted, to base a 

decision on whether to audit, and the scope of an audit of, a Medicaid cost report on the 

prior performance of a nursing facility or ICF/MR. 

Requirements in ODJFS manual for field audits 

(R.C. 5111.27) 

The bill requires ODJFS to revise certain requirements included in its manual for 

field audits.  Under current law, the manual must require an auditor to include a 

written summary as to whether the costs included in a Medicaid cost report examined 

during the audit are presented fairly in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

principles and ODJFS rules.  Under the bill, the manual must require an auditor to 
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include a written summary as to whether the included costs are presented in 

accordance with state and federal laws and regulations.  Current law requires the 

manual to provide for field audits to be conducted by auditors who are otherwise 

independent as determined by the standards of independence established by the 

American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.  The bill requires instead that 

standards of independence included in government auditing standards produced by 

the U.S. Government Accountability Office be used to determine an auditor's 

independence. 

Collection of long-term care facilities' Medicaid debts 

(R.C. 5111.65, 5111.66, 5111.67, 5111.671, 5111.672, 5111.68, 5111.681, 5111.687, and 

5111.689) 

The bill revises the law that establishes requirements for a nursing facility or 

ICF/MR that undergoes a change of operator, facility closure, voluntary termination, or 

voluntary withdrawal of participation.  The requirements concern the state's collection 

of debts a nursing facility or ICF/MR owes under the Medicaid program.   

A change of operator occurs when an entering (new) operator becomes the 

operator of a nursing facility or ICF/MR in the place of an exiting (former) operator.  A 

facility closure occurs when a building, or part of a building, that houses a nursing 

facility or ICF/MR ceases to be used as a nursing facility or ICF/MR and all of the 

facilityʹs residents are relocated.  A voluntary termination occurs when an operator 

voluntarily elects to terminate the participation of an ICF/MR in the Medicaid program 

but the facility continues to provide service of the type provided by a residential facility 

for persons with mental retardation or a developmental disability.  A voluntary 

withdrawal of participation occurs when an operator voluntarily elects to terminate a 

nursing facilityʹs participation in the Medicaid program but the nursing facility 

continues to provide service of the type provided by a nursing facility. 

Facility closure 

(R.C. 5111.65(J)) 

The bill specifies that a nursing facility or ICF/MR is not considered to undergo a 

facility closure if the building, or part of the building, that houses the facility converts to 

a different use, any necessary license or other approval needed for that use is obtained, 

and one or more of the facility's residents remain in the facility to receive services under 

the new use. 
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Notices 

(R.C. 5111.66, 5111.67, 5111.687, and 5111.689) 

The Medicaid debt-collection process begins when ODJFS is notified of a change 

of operator, facility closure, voluntary termination, or voluntary withdrawal of 

participation.  The bill requires that the notice, and any notice regarding a 

postponement or cancellation, be provided in accordance with a method ODJFS is to 

specify in rules. 

The bill revises the information that must be included in a written notice of a 

change of operator.  The notice must include the exiting operator's seven-digit Medicaid 

legacy number and ten-digit national provider identifier number rather than the exiting 

operator's Medicaid provider agreement number.  The notice is to include two 

additional items.  The first additional item is the name and address of each person to 

whom ODJFS should send initial correspondence regarding the change of operator.  

The second additional item applies when a nursing facility also participates in the 

Medicare program.  In that case, the notice must also include notification of whether the 

entering operator intends to accept assignment of the exiting operator's Medicare 

provider agreement.  Under the bill, an entering operator is no longer required to 

include a completed application for a Medicaid provider agreement, accompanied by 

certain financial documents, with a written notice of a change of operator. 

The bill requires an exiting operator or owner and entering operator to provide 

ODJFS written notice of any changes to the information included in the notice of the 

change of operator.  The notice of the changes is to be provided in accordance with a 

method ODJFS is to specify in rules.  

Effective date of an entering operator's Medicaid provider agreement 

(R.C. 5111.67, 5111.671, and 5111.672) 

The bill revises the law governing when an entering operator's Medicaid 

provider agreement for a nursing facility or ICF/MR undergoing a change of operator 

goes into effect.  

Under current law, one of the conditions that must be met for the provider 

agreement to go into effect at 12:01 a.m. on the effective date of the change of operator is 

that the entering operator must furnish to ODJFS copies of all fully executed leases, 

management agreements, merger agreements and supporting documents, and sales 

contracts and supporting documents relating to the change of operator not later than 

ten days after the effective date of the change of operator.  The bill requires instead that 
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ODJFS must receive both of the following in accordance with a method specified in 

rules not later than ten days after the effective date of the change of operator: 

(1)  From the entering operator, a completed application for a provider 

agreement and all other forms and documents specified in rules; 

(2)  From the exiting operator or owner, all forms and documents specified in 

rules. 

An entering operator seeking a Medicaid provider agreement for a nursing 

facility or ICF/MR undergoing a change of operator must provide ODJFS with copies of 

certain documents relating to the change of operator.  Under current law, the following 

are the documents:  fully executed leases, management agreements, merger agreements 

and support documents, and sales contracts and supporting documents.  The bill 

requires that ODJFS specify in rules which documents an entering operator must 

include with a Medicaid provider agreement application.  The rules must provide for 

the documents to include all fully executed leases, management agreements, merger 

agreements and supporting documents, and fully executed sales contracts and other 

supporting documents culminating in the change of operator.  The bill also requires that 

the exiting operator or owner provide ODJFS with documents to be specified in rules. 

The date on which an entering operator's Medicaid provider agreement goes into 

effect depends on certain factors.  The provider agreement may go into effect at 

12:01 a.m. on the effective date of the change of operator if ODJFS receives the notice of 

the change of operator by the statutorily prescribed time and the required documents 

not later than ten days after the effective date of the change of operator.  If those 

deadlines are not met, ODJFS is to determine when the provider agreement goes into 

effect.  The bill eliminates a factor that is part of ODJFS's determination of the provider 

agreement's effective date.  Under the bill, the effective date is not required to be set at a 

time that gives ODJFS sufficient time to withhold a final Medicaid payment to the 

exiting operator under the debt collection process until 180 days after the date that the 

exiting operator submits to ODJFS a properly completed cost report or the date ODJFS 

waives the requirement for the cost report. 

Involuntary termination 

(R.C. 5111.65, 5111.68, and 5111.681) 

The bill provides for the Medicaid debt collection requirements to apply in a new 

situation:  an involuntary termination.  An involuntary termination occurs when ODJFS 

terminates, or refuses to renew, the provider agreement of a nursing facility or ICF/MR 

and such action is not taken at the facility's request.  
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In the case of an involuntary termination, the debt collection process is to begin 

on the effective date of the involuntary termination.  An involuntary termination's 

effective date is the date ODJFS terminates the provider agreement or the last day that 

the provider agreement is in effect when ODJFS refuses to renew it.  The debt collection 

process begins with ODJFS estimating the amount of exiting operator's Medicaid debt.  

After the estimation is made, ODJFS, subject to a successor liability agreement, may 

withhold from payment due the exiting operator under the Medicaid program the total 

amount of the estimated debt.  A successor liability agreement is an agreement made by 

the exiting operator, the entering operator, or an affiliated operator to assume all or part 

of the exiting operator's Medicaid debt.  The bill permits the exiting operator, entering 

operator, or affiliated operator to enter into a successor liability agreement under the 

same conditions that continuing law permits such individuals to enter into a successor 

liability agreement when a change of operator occurs, except that, in the case of an 

involuntary termination, a successor liability agreement is subject to ODJFS's approval. 

Rebalancing long-term care 

(Section 309.35.10) 

The bill requires ODJFS, ODA, and ODODD to continue efforts to achieve a 

sustainable and balanced delivery system for long-term services and supports.  In 

working to achieve such a delivery system, the departments are to strive to meet, by 

June 30, 2013, certain goals regarding the utilization of non-institutionally-based long-

term services and supports.  The goals are to have at least 50% of Medicaid recipients 

who are at least age 60 and need long-term services and supports utilize non-

institutionally-based long-term services and supports and to have at least 60% of 

Medicaid recipients who are less than age 60 and have cognitive or physical disabilities 

for which long-term services and supports are needed utilize non-institutionally-based 

long-term services and supports.  "Non-institutionally-based long-term services and 

supports" is a federal term that means services not provided in an institution, including 

(1) home and community-based services, (2) home health care services, (3) personal care 

services, (4) PACE program services, and (5) self-directed personal assistance services. 

ODJFS is permitted, if it determines that participating in the Balancing Incentives 

Payments Program will assist in achieving the goals regarding long-term services, to 

apply to participate in program.  The Balancing Incentives Payments Program was 

created as part of the federal health care reform act to encourage states to increase the 

use of non-institutional care provided under their Medicaid programs.  A state 

participating in the program receives a larger federal match for non-institutionally-

based long-term services and supports provided under its Medicaid program.205  The 

                                                 
205 Section 10202 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Public Law 111-148). 
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bill requires that any funds Ohio receives as the result of the larger federal match be 

deposited into the Balancing Incentive Payments Program Fund, which the bill creates 

in the state treasury.  ODJFS is required to use money in the fund in accordance with 

federal requirements governing the use of the money.  This means that ODJFS must use 

the money only for purposes of providing new or expanded offerings of non-

institutionally-based long-term services and supports under the Medicaid program. 

Ohio Access Success Project 

(R.C. 5111.97) 

Current law permits the ODJFS Director to establish the Ohio Access Success 

Project to help Medicaid recipients transition from residing in a nursing facility to 

residing in a community setting. 

Eligibility assessment 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to assess an applicant's eligibility for 

participation in the Ohio Access Success Project regardless of how long the applicant 

has been a recipient of Medicaid-funded nursing facility services.  Currently, the 

Director is to assess the applicant's eligibility only if the application is received before 

the applicant has been a recipient of Medicaid-funded nursing facility services for six 

months. 

Benefits eligibility 

The bill eliminates the Ohio Access Success Project eligibility requirement under 

which the Medicaid recipient applying for Project benefits must need a nursing facility 

level of care in order to receive Project benefits. 

With respect to the eligibility requirement applicable when the Project is being 

administered as a non-Medicaid program, the bill specifies that an applicant must be 

able to remain in the community as a result of receiving the Project's benefits.  The bill 

retains the specification that the cost of the benefits provided when the Project is 

administered as a non-Medicaid program is not to exceed 80% of the average monthly 

cost of a Medicaid recipient in a nursing facility. 

ODJFS and ODA Medicaid home and community-based services 

The bill revises the law governing various Medicaid programs that provide home 

and community-based services.  Two of the programs (Ohio Home Care and Ohio 

Transitions II Aging Carve-Out) are administered by ODJFS. Four of the programs 

(PASSPORT, Assisted Living, Choices, and PACE) are administered by ODA through 

an interagency agreement with ODJFS.  All but PACE are authorized by federal 
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Medicaid waivers.  PACE is part of the state's Medicaid plan.  Home First processes are 

established in statute for the PASSPORT, Assisted Living, and PACE programs.  ODJFS 

has rule-making authority to establish similar processes for other Medicaid waiver 

programs.  Home First processes enable individuals meeting certain requirements to be 

enrolled in the PASSPORT, Assisted Living, or PACE program ahead of others. 

State-funded components of PASSPORT and Assisted Living 

(R.C. 173.40, 173.401, 173.404, 173.42, 3721.56, 5111.85, 5111.89, 5111.891, 5111.892, 

5111.893 (currently 5111.892), 5111.894, and 5111.971) 

The bill establishes state-funded components of the PASSPORT and Assisted 

Living programs.  A more limited state-funded component of the PASSPORT program 

has been authorized by uncodified law for many years.206  The state-funded components 

of the PASSPORT and Assisted Living programs are not to be part of the Medicaid 

program.  ODA is to administer the state-funded components independently rather 

than, as is the case with the Medicaid-funded components of the programs, through an 

interagency agreement with ODJFS. 

PASSPORT 

For an individual to be eligible for the state-funded component of the PASSPORT 

program, the individual must be in one of three categories and meet additional 

eligibility requirements to be established in rules.  The three categories are (1) 

"grandparented" individuals, (2) former recipients, and (3) presumptively eligible 

individuals.  To be in the category for grandparented individuals, an individual must 

have been enrolled in the state-funded component on September 1, 1991, (as the state-

funded component was authorized by uncodified law in effect at that time) and have 

had one or more applications for enrollment in the Medicaid-funded component (or a 

replacement Medicaid waiver program) denied.  To be in the category for former 

recipients, an individual's enrollment in the Medicaid-funded component (or a 

replacement Medicaid waiver program) must have been terminated and the individual 

must still need the home and community-based services provided under the 

PASSPORT program to protect the individual's health and safety.  To be in the category 

for presumptively eligible individuals, the individual must have an application for the 

Medicaid-funded component (or a replacement Medicaid waiver program) pending 

and ODA or ODA's designee must have determined that the individual meets the 

nonfinancial eligibility requirements of the Medicaid-funded component (or a 

replacement Medicaid waiver program) and not have reason to doubt that the 

individual meets the financial eligibility requirements of the Medicaid-funded 

                                                 
206 For example, see Section 209.20 of Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly. 
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component (or a replacement Medicaid waiver program).  Eligibility for the state-

funded component is limited to a maximum of three months for presumptively eligible 

individuals. 

Assisted Living 

To be eligible for the state-funded component of the Assisted Living program, an 

individual must meet some of the requirements that also apply to the Medicaid-funded 

component.  The individual must need an intermediate level of care and, while 

participating in the program, reside in a residential care facility (popularly known as an 

assisted living facility).  Additionally, however, an individual must be presumptively-

eligible for the Medicaid-funded component (or a replacement Medicaid waiver 

program) and meet additional eligibility requirements to be established in ODA rules. 

To be presumptively eligible for the Medicaid-funded component, an individual must 

have an application for that component (or a replacement Medicaid waiver program) 

pending and ODA or ODA's designee must have determined that the individual meets 

the nonfinancial eligibility requirements of that component (or a replacement Medicaid 

waiver program) and not have reason to doubt that the individual meets the financial 

eligibility requirements for that component (or a replacement Medicaid waiver 

program).  Eligibility for the state-funded component is limited to a maximum of three 

months. 

Rules 

The ODA Director is required by the bill to adopt rules to implement the state-

funded components of the PASSPORT and Assisted Living programs.  The additional 

eligibility requirements established in the rules for the PASSPORT program may vary 

for the different eligibility categories. 

Home First processes 

The bill provides that the Home First processes for the PASSPORT and Assisted 

Living programs apply only to the Medicaid-funded components of the programs. 

Eligibility requirements for the Assisted Living program 

(R.C. 5111.891) 

The bill eliminates certain eligibility requirements for the Medicaid-funded 

component of the Assisted Living program.  Under the bill, an individual no longer 

needs to be one of the following at the time the individual applies for the component: 
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(1)  A nursing facility resident who is seeking to move to an assisted living 

facility and would remain in a nursing facility for long-term care if not for the Assisted 

Living program; 

(2)  A participant of the PASSPORT program, Choices program, or an ODJFS-

administered Medicaid waiver program who would move to a nursing facility if not for 

the Assisted Living program; 

(3)  A resident of an assisted living facility who has resided in an assisted living 

facility for at least six months immediately before the date the individual applies for the 

Assisted Living program. 

Administration of the Assisted Living program 

(R.C. 5111.89 and 5111.894) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that the Director of the Office of Budget and 

Management (OBM) must have approved the interagency agreement between ODA 

and ODJFS regarding the administration of the Assisted Living program for ODA to be 

able to administer the program. ODA is currently administering the Assisted Living 

program. 

ODA unified waiting list 

(R.C. 173.404) 

The bill provides that the requirement for ODA to establish a unified waiting list 

for the PASSPORT, Choices, Assisted Living, and PACE programs applies if ODA 

determines that there are insufficient funds to enroll all individuals who have applied 

and been determined eligible for the programs.  Under current law, ODA must 

establish a unified waiting list regardless of whether such a determination is made. 

Evaluation and expansion of PACE program 

(Section 309.33.50) 

The bill requires the ODA Director to contract with Miami Universityʹs Scripps 

Gerontology Center for an evaluation of the PACE program.  PACE, or the Program of 

All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly, is a managed care system that provides participants 
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with coverage of all of needed health care, including care in both institutional and 

community settings.  It is funded by both Medicaid and Medicare.207 

In order to effectively administer and manage growth within the PACE program, 

the bill permits the ODA Director, in consultation with the ODJFS Director, to expand 

the PACE program to additional regions of Ohio beyond the two existing service areas 

if the following apply:  (1) funding is available for the expansion, (2) the directors 

mutually determine, taking into consideration the results of the Scripps Gerontology 

Center's evaluation described above, that the PACE program is a cost-effective 

alternative to nursing home care, and (3) the United States Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services agrees to share with the state any savings to the Medicare program 

resulting from an expansion of the PACE program.  In implementing an expansion, the 

bill prohibits the ODA Director from decreasing the number of participants in the PACE 

program in the existing PACE sites to a number that is below the number of individuals 

in those areas who were participants in the program on July 1, 2011. 

The two existing PACE providers in Ohio are TriHealth Senior Link and 

McGregor PACE Center for Senior Independence.  The service area for the PACE 

agreement with TriHealth Senior Link is Hamilton County and certain zip codes in 

Warren, Butler, and Clermont counties.  Cuyahoga County is the service area for the 

PACE agreement with McGregor PACE.  ODA carries out the day‐to‐day 

administration of the PACE program pursuant to an agreement with ODJFS, which 

administers Ohioʹs Medicaid program. 

Obsolete evaluation requirement repealed 

(R.C. 5111.893 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals an obsolete law that required the ODA Director to contract with 

a person or government entity to evaluate the cost effectiveness of the Assisted Living 

program and provide the results of the evaluation to the Governor, President and 

Minority Leader of the Senate, and Speaker and Minority Leader of the House of 

Representatives not later than June 30, 2007. 

                                                 
207 Ohio Department of Aging, About PACE (last visited June, 11, 2011) available at: 

<http://aging.ohio.gov/services/PACE/>. 
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Ohio Home Care and Ohio Transitions II Aging Carve-Out programs codified 

(R.C. 5111.861, 5111.863, and 5111.88) 

The bill creates the Ohio Home Care and Ohio Transitions II Aging Carve-Out 

programs in statute (i.e., codifies the programs).  Current law includes a reference to the 

programs, but the programs are not currently created in statute. 

Rules for enrollment in Medicaid home and community-based waivers 

(R.C. 5111.85) 

The bill modifies the ODJFS Director's rulemaking authority regarding Medicaid 

waivers for home and community-based services by doing the following:  

(1)  Creating a general requirement that the rules establish procedures for 

prioritizing and approving enrollment of eligible individuals who choose to be enrolled;  

(2)  Eliminating a requirement that the rules establish procedures for identifying 

and approving enrollment of individuals on waiting lists who are receiving inpatient 

hospital services or residing in a nursing facility or ICF/MR. 

Unified long-term services and support Medicaid waiver program 

(R.C. 5111.864 (primary), 173.40, 173.401, 173.403, 5111.861 (repealed and new 

enactment), 5111.862, 5111.863, 5111.865, 5111.89, and 5111.894; Section 309.33.30) 

The bill requires the ODJFS Director to seek federal permission to create a unified 

long-term services and support Medicaid waiver program to provide home and 

community-based services to eligible individuals of any age who require the level of 

care provided by nursing facilities.  This requirement replaces an existing requirement 

that the ODJFS Director seek federal permission for a federal Medicaid waiver to 

consolidate the PASSPORT, Choices, and Assisted Living programs into one Medicaid 

waiver program. 

In seeking federal approval for the unified long-term services and support 

Medicaid waiver program, the ODJFS Director must work with the ODA Director.  The 

ODJFS Director is also to work with the ODA Director in creating and implementing the 

program, including adopting rules, if federal approval is obtained.  The rules may 

authorize the ODA Director to adopt rules governing aspects of the program. 

ODJFS and ODA are required by the bill to work together to determine, on an 

individual program basis, whether the PASSPORT, Choices, Assisted Living, Ohio 

Home Care, and Ohio Transitions II Aging Carve-Out programs should continue to 
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operate as separate Medicaid waiver programs or be terminated if the unified long-term 

services and support Medicaid waiver program is created.  If they determine that a 

program should be terminated, the program is to cease to exist on a date ODJFS and 

ODA must specify. 

If ODJFS and ODA terminate the PASSPORT, Choices, Assisted Living, Ohio 

Home Care, or Ohio Transitions II Aging Carve-Out Program, all applicable statutes, 

and all applicable rules, standards, guidelines, or orders issued by ODJFS or ODA 

before the program is terminated, are to remain in full force and effect on and after that 

date, but solely for purposes of concluding the program's operations, including 

fulfilling ODJFS's and ODA's legal obligations for claims arising from the program 

relating to eligibility determinations, covered medical assistance provided to eligible 

persons, and recovering erroneous overpayments.  The right of subrogation for the cost 

of medical assistance and an assignment of the right to medical assistance continue to 

apply with respect to the terminated program and remain in force to the full extent 

provided under law governing the right of subrogation and assignment.  ODJFS and 

ODA are permitted to use appropriated funds to satisfy any claims or contingent claims 

for medical assistance provided under the terminated program before the program's 

termination.  Neither ODJFS nor ODA has liability under the terminated program to 

reimburse any provider or other person for claims for medical assistance rendered 

under the program after it is terminated. 

Home First processes 

(R.C. 173.401, 173.404, 173.501, and 5111.894) 

Under the bill, an individual may be enrolled in the PASSPORT, Assisted Living, 

or PACE program through a Home First process without being placed on a unified 

waiting list established by ODA.  In addition to eliminating a requirement that an 

individual be on the unified waiting list to be enrolled in the PASSPORT, Assisted 

Living, or PACE program through a Home First process, the bill requires that an 

individual have been determined to be eligible, rather than just be eligible, for the 

PASSPORT, Assisted Living, or PACE program to qualify for enrollment through a 

Home First process. 

The bill eliminates a requirement that ODA quarterly certify to the OBM Director 

the estimated increase in the costs of the PASSPORT, Assisted Living, and PACE 

programs because of enrollments into those programs through Home First processes. 

The bill requires ODJFS to establish a Home First process for the Ohio Home 

Care Program unless the program is terminated.  ODJFS also must establish a Home 

First process for the unified long-term services and support Medicaid waiver program if 
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federal permission is obtained for the program.  The Home First processes for the 

programs are to be similar to the Home First processes for the PASSPORT, Assisted 

Living, and PACE programs. 

An individual is to qualify for the Ohio Home Care Program or the unified long-

term services and support Medicaid waiver program under the Home First process if 

the individual has been determined eligible for the program and at least one of the 

following applies: 

(1)  The individual has been admitted to a nursing facility; 

(2)  A physician has determined and documented in writing that the individual 

has a medical condition that, unless the individual is enrolled in home and community-

based services, will require the individual to be admitted to a nursing facility within 30 

days of the physician's determination; 

(3)  The individual has been hospitalized and a physician has determined and 

documented in writing that, unless the individual is enrolled in home and community-

based services, the individual is to be transported directly from the hospital to a nursing 

facility and admitted; 

(4)  In the case of the Home First process for the unified long-term services and 

support Medicaid waiver program, the individual is the subject of a report regarding 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an adult over age 60 or the individual has made a 

request to a CDJFS for adult protective services and a CDJFS and area agency on aging 

(AAA) jointly document in writing that, unless the individual is enrolled in home and 

community‐based services, the individual should be admitted to a nursing facility; 

(5)  In the case of the Home First process for the unified long-term services and 

support Medicaid waiver program and only if individuals residing in a residential care 

facility are eligible for the program, the individual has resided in a residential care 

facility for at least six months immediately before applying for the program and is at 

risk of imminent admission to a nursing facility because the costs of residing in the 

residential care facility have depleted the individual's resources such that the individual 

is unable to continue to afford the residential care facility. 

Under the Home First processes for the Ohio Home Care Program and unified 

long-term services and support Medicaid waiver program, CDJFSs and, in the case of 

the Home First process for the unified long-term services and support Medicaid waiver 

program, AAAs must identify, on a monthly basis, individuals who are eligible for the 

Home First process.  When a CDJFS or AAA identifies such an individual, the CDJFS or 

AAA must determine whether the Ohio Home Care Program or unified long-term 
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services and support Medicaid waiver program is appropriate for the individual and 

whether the individual would rather participate in the program than continue or begin 

to reside in a nursing facility.  If the CDJFS or AAA makes that determination, the 

CDJFS or AAA must so notify ODJFS. On receipt of the notification, ODJFS must 

approve the individual's enrollment in the Ohio Home Care Program or unified long-

term services and support Medicaid waiver program regardless of the waiting list for 

the program, unless the enrollment would cause the program to exceed any limit on the 

number of individuals who may be enrolled in the program as specified in the federal 

waiver authorizing the program. 

Pilot program for self-directed home and community-based care 

(R.C. 5111.97 and 5111.971 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals the requirement that the ODJFS Director create a pilot program 

for providing up to 200 eligible Medicaid recipients with spending authority to pay for 

the cost of medically necessary home and community-based services.  Currently, the 

spending authorization is not to exceed 70% of the average cost for providing nursing 

facility services to an individual under Medicaid. 

In addition to providing spending authority for medically necessary home and 

community-based services, the pilot program must ensure each participant receive 

necessary support services, including fiscal intermediary and other case management 

services.  To be eligible for these services, the recipient must meet certain requirements 

established in rule, including (1) needing an intermediate or skilled level of care, and (2) 

being either a nursing facility resident who would remain in a nursing facility if not for 

the pilot program or a participant of any long-term care Medicaid waiver component 

who would move to a nursing facility if not for the pilot program. 

ODODD Medicaid home and community-based services 

Reimbursement for services 

(R.C. 5111.873) 

Current law authorizes the ODJFS Director to apply to the United States 

Secretary of Health and Human Services for one or more Medicaid waivers under 

which home and community-based services are provided to individuals with mental 

retardation and developmental disabilities as an alternative to placement in an ICF/MR.  

The Director is required to adopt rules establishing statewide fee schedules for these 

home and community-based services. 
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The bill requires, instead of establishing fee schedules, that the Director adopt 

rules establishing the amount of reimbursement or the methods by which amounts of 

reimbursement are to be determined.  Conforming changes require that the rules do all 

of the following: 

(1)  Establish procedures for ODODD to follow in arranging for the initial and 

ongoing collection of cost information from a comprehensive, statistically valid sample 

of private and public entities providing the services at the time the information is 

obtained; 

(2)  Establish procedures for the collection of consumer-specific information 

through an assessment instrument ODODD is required to provide to ODJFS; 

(3)  With the above information, an analysis of that information, and other 

information the Director determines relevant, establish reimbursement standards that 

(a) assure that the reimbursement is consistent with efficiency, economy, and quality of 

care, (b) consider the intensity of consumer resource need, (c) recognize variations in 

different geographic areas regarding the resources necessary to assure the health and 

welfare of consumers, and (d) recognize variations in environmental supports available 

to consumers. 

The Directors of ODJFS and ODODD must review the rules at times they 

determine are necessary to ensure that the amount of reimbursement or the methods by 

which amounts of reimbursement are to be determined continue to meet the 

reimbursement standards described above. 

Conversion of ICF/MR beds 

(R.C. 5111.874 and 5111.877) 

An operator of an ICF/MR that is licensed by ODODD as a residential facility 

may convert all of the beds in the facility from providing ICF/MR services to providing 

ODODD-administered home and community-based services if all of the following 

requirements are met: 

(1)  The operator provides the Directors of Health, ODJFS, and ODODD at least 

90 days' notice of the operator's intent to relinquish the facility's Medicaid certification 

as an ICF/MR and to begin providing ODODD-administered home and community-

based services. 

(2)  The operator complies with requirements in existing law regarding ICFs/MR 

that cease to participate in Medicaid, if those requirements are applicable. 



Legislative Service Commission -425- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

(3)  The operator notifies each of the facility's residents that the ICF/MR is to 

cease providing ICF/MR services and inform each resident that the resident may either 

(a) continue to receive ICF/MR services by transferring to another ICF/MR willing and 

able to accept the resident if the resident continues to qualify for ICF/MR services or (b) 

begin to receive ODODD-administered home and community-based services from any 

provider of the services that is willing and able to provide the services to the resident, if 

the resident is eligible for the services and a slot for the services is available. 

(4)  The operator meets the requirements for providing ODODD-administered 

home and community-based services, including such requirements applicable to a 

residential facility if the operator maintains the residential facility license or such 

requirements applicable to a facility that is not licensed as a residential facility if the 

operator surrenders the residential facility license. 

(5)  The ODODD Director approves the conversion. 

The notice to the ODODD Director must specify whether the operator wishes to 

surrender the facility's residential facility license.  The Director of Health, if the ODODD 

Director approves the conversion, is to terminate the facility's Medicaid certification as 

an ICF/MR.  The Director of Health must notify the ODJFS Director of the termination.  

On receipt of the termination notice, the ODJFS Director is required to terminate the 

operator's Medicaid provider agreement for the ICF/MR.  The operator is not entitled to 

notice or a hearing under the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.) before 

the Medicaid provider agreement is terminated. 

The bill permits an operator of an ICF/MR that is licensed by ODODD as a 

residential facility to convert some or all of the beds in the facility from providing 

ICF/MR services to providing ODODD-administered home and community-based 

services, if the operator meets the requirements described above.  The operator must 

specify whether some or all of the beds are to be converted.  If only some of the beds are 

to be converted, the operator must specify how many of the facility's beds are to be 

converted and how many are to continue to provide ICF/MR services.  In addition, if 

the operator intends to convert some but not all of the facility's beds, it must notify the 

residents that they may (1) continue to receive ICF/MR services from any provider 

willing and able to accept the resident if the resident continues to qualify for ICF/MR 

services or (2) begin to receive ODODD-administered home and community-based 

services from any provider of the services that is willing and able to provide the 

services to the resident, if the resident is eligible for the services and a slot for the 

services is available. 

The bill requires that the conversion be approved by both the Directors of 

ODODD and ODJFS.  A decision by the directors to approve or refuse to approve a 
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proposed conversion is final.  In making a decision, the directors must consider (1) the 

fiscal impact on the facility if some but not all of the beds are converted, (2) the fiscal 

impact on the Medicaid program, and (3) the availability of home and community-

based services. 

If the conversion is approved, the Directors of Health and ODJFS must take the 

action described above.  In addition, if only some of the beds are to be converted, the 

Director of Health must reduce the facility's certified capacity by the number of beds 

being converted, and the ODJFS Director must amend the operator's Medicaid provider 

agreement to reflect the facility's reduced certified capacity. 

Currently, the maximum number of slots available for home and community-

based services provided under a Medicaid waiver administered by ODODD is 100 for 

the purpose of beds that are converted from providing ICF/MR services to home and 

community-based services.  The bill increases to 200 the maximum number of slots 

available. 

Transfer of Transitions Developmental Disabilities Medicaid waiver program 

(R.C. 5111.871, 5111.872, 5111.873, 5123.01, and 5126.01; Section 309.33.20) 

In addition to transferring the powers and duties regarding ICFs/MR to ODODD, 

the bill requires ODJFS to transfer administration of the Transitions Developmental 

Disabilities Medicaid waiver program to ODODD.  The transfer is to be part of an 

interagency agreement that, under current law, provides for ODODD to administer 

certain other Medicaid waiver programs that provide home and community-based 

services to individuals with mental retardation or other developmental disability as an 

alternative to placement in an ICF/MR.  This transfer is also subject to the approval of 

the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services if such approval is needed.  The 

interagency agreement is to include a schedule for the transfer.  The bill specifies that 

laws governing the Medicaid waiver programs that ODODD administers are to apply 

to the Transitions Developmental Disabilities Medicaid waiver program only to the 

extent, if any, provided in the interagency agreement. 

Money Follows the Person Enhanced Reimbursement Fund 

(Section 309.33.80) 

The bill provides for the Money Follows the Person Enhanced Reimbursement 

Fund to continue to exist in the state treasury for fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  The Fund 

was created by Am. Sub. H.B. 562 of the 127th General Assembly.  The federal 

payments made to Ohio under federal law governing Money Follows the Person 
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demonstration projects are to be deposited in the Fund.  ODJFS is required to use the 

money in the Fund for system reform activities related to the demonstration project. 

The Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 authorizes the United States Secretary of 

Health and Human Services to award grants to states for Money Follows the Person 

demonstration projects.208  The projects are to be designed to achieve the following 

objectives with respect to institutional and home and community-based long-term care 

services under a state's Medicaid program: 

(1)  Increase the use of home and community-based, rather than institutional, 

long-term care services; 

(2)  Eliminate barriers or mechanisms that prevent or restrict the flexible use of 

Medicaid funds to enable Medicaid-eligible individuals to receive support for 

appropriate and necessary long-term services in the settings of their choice; 

(3)  Increase the ability of a state's Medicaid program to assure continued 

provision of home and community-based long-term care services to eligible individuals 

who choose to transition from an institution to a community setting; 

(4)  Ensure that procedures are in place to provide quality assurance for eligible 

individuals receiving Medicaid home and community-based services and to provide for 

continuous quality improvement in such services. 

The Deficit Reduction Act includes federal appropriations for Money Follows the 

Person grants through federal fiscal year 2011 (ending September 30, 2011).  A state 

seeking a grant is required to apply to the Secretary.  ODJFS submitted an application 

for a grant in November 2006.  Ohio learned in January 2007 that its application was 

approved. 

Dual eligible integrated care demonstration project 

(R.C. 5111.981 (primary) and 5111.944; Section 309.35.30) 

The bill permits the ODJFS Director to seek federal approval to implement a 

demonstration project to test and evaluate the integration of the care that dual eligible 

individuals209 receive under the Medicare and Medicaid programs.  The federal 

approval must be from the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services in the 

                                                 
208 Section 6071 of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law No. 109-171. 

209 A "dual eligible individual" is an individual who is entitled to, or enrolled for, benefits under Medicare 

Part A or enrolled for benefits under Medicare Part B, and is eligible for medical assistance under the 

state Medicaid Plan or under a waiver of the Plan (42 U.S.C. 1396n(h)(2)(B)). 
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form of a federal Medicaid waiver, Medicaid state plan amendment, or demonstration 

grant.  If approval is granted, the demonstration project must be implemented in 

accordance with the approval's terms, including those terms regarding the project's 

duration.  The demonstration project is not subject to any provision of the Ohio's 

human services laws (Title 51 of the Revised Code) that implements or incorporates a 

provision of federal Medicaid law that does not apply to the demonstration project. 

The bill also creates the Integrated Care Delivery Systems Fund in the state 

treasury.  This fund is to receive amounts that the demonstration project saves the 

Medicare program if the terms of the project provide for Ohio to receive those amounts.  

ODJFS must use the money in the fund to further develop integrated delivery systems 

and improved care coordination for dual eligible individuals.  The Director may seek 

Controlling Board approval to make expenditures from the fund. 

School-based health centers as CHIP providers 

(R.C. 5101.50, 5101.504, 5101.5110, 5101.5111, and 5101.5210) 

The federal ʺChildrenʹs Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009ʺ210 

provides that nothing in federal law is to be construed to limit the ability of states to 

furnish health assistance services covered under CHIP through school‐based health 

centers.211  The bill implements this authority by permitting health assistance services 

that CHIP covers to be furnished through school‐based health centers.  The ODJFS 

Director is required by the bill to adopt rules, not later than July 1, 2012, establishing 

billing, reimbursement, and data collection requirements for school‐based health 

centers through which such health assistance services are furnished. 

                                                 
210 Public Law No. 111‐3. 

211 Under federal law, a ʺschool‐based health centerʺ is defined as a health clinic that (1) is located in or 

near a school facility of a school district or board or of an Indian tribe or tribal organization, (2) is 

organized through school, community, and health provider relationships, (3) is administered by a 

sponsoring facility, (4) provides through health professionals primary health services to children in 

accordance with state and local law, and (5) satisfies other requirements as a state may establish for the 

operation of a health clinic (42 U.S.C. 1397jj (c)(9)). 
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Children's Buy-In Program 

(R.C. 5101.5211 to 5101.5216 (repealed); Section 309.33.60; conforming changes in R.C. 

9.231, 9.24, 127.16, 1751.01, 1751.04, 1751.11, 1751.111, 1751.12, 1751.13, 1751.15, 1751.17, 

1751.20, 1751.31, 1751.34, 1751.60, 1751.89, 2744.05, 3111.04, 3113.06, 3119.54, 3901.3814, 

3923.281, 3963.01, 4731.65, 4731.71, 5101.26, 5101.571, 5101.58, 5111.0112, and 5111.941) 

The bill abolishes the Children's Buy-In Program as of October 1, 2011.  The 

program, administered by ODJFS, was established by Am. Sub. H.B. 119 of the 127th 

General Assembly as a health care program for uninsured individuals under age 19 

who have family incomes over 300% of the federal poverty limit and meet other 

eligibility criteria.  The program is state-funded.  Participants are required to pay a 

monthly premium and co-payments. 

To conclude the program's affairs, the bill does all of the following: 

 Suspends new enrollments as of the bill's earliest effective date; 

 Repeals the program-authorizing statutes on October 1, 2011; 

 Permits persons enrolled in the program when it is repealed to continue 

receiving services through December 31, 2011; 

 Requires ODJFS to take steps as necessary to transition persons enrolled in 

the program to other health coverage options and otherwise conclude 

program operations; 

 Permits ODJFS to use appropriated funds to satisfy any claims or 

contingent claims for services rendered prior to October 1, 2011, and to 

eligible persons who receive services through December 31, 2011; 

 Exempts ODJFS from liability for reimbursing any provider or other 

person for services rendered on or after January 1, 2012. 

Military Injury Relief Fund 

(R.C. 5101.98) 

The bill provides that an individual injured while in active service as a member 

of the armed forces of the United States while serving in Operation New Dawn is 

eligible for Military Injury Relief Fund grants.  Operation New Dawn is the current 

name for the United States military operation in Iraq. 
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Under continuing law, the Director of Job and Family Services grants money 

from the Military Injury Relief Fund to individuals injured while in active service as a 

member of the armed forces of the United States while serving under Operation Iraqi 

Freedom or Operation Enduring Freedom, and to individuals diagnosed with post-

traumatic stress disorder while serving or after having served in those operations.  The 

bill, as explained above, expands grant eligibility also to include individuals involved in 

Operation New Dawn. 

VI.  Unemployment Compensation 

Unemployment compensation for seasonal employment 

(R.C. 4141.33) 

Effective October 30, 2011, the bill prohibits unemployment compensation 

benefits from being paid to individuals on the basis of any services performed in 

seasonal employment for any week that commences during the period between two 

successive seasonal work periods if the individual performed services in the first of the 

seasonal works periods and there is reasonable assurance that the individual will 

perform those services in the later of the seasonal work periods.  Reasonable assurance 

consists of a written, verbal, or implied agreement that the individual will perform 

services in the same or a similar capacity during the ensuing seasonal work period.  The 

bill requires the Director of Job and Family Services to adopt rules concerning 

individuals' eligibility for benefits under this provision. 

The bill limits the provision of current law that grants unemployment 

compensation benefit rights to an individual whose base period employment consists of 

either seasonal employment with two or more seasonal employers or both seasonal 

employment and nonseasonal employment with employers subject to the 

Unemployment Compensation Law with respect to seasonal unemployment as 

described above. 

Unemployment Compensation Special Administrative Fund 

(R.C. 4141.08 and 4141.11) 

The bill eliminates the authority of the Unemployment Compensation Council 

with respect to the Unemployment Compensation Special Administrative Fund.  The 

ODJFS Director is required to request the OBM Director to transfer to the 

Unemployment Compensation Fund any amount in the Unemployment Compensation 

Special Administrative Fund considered to be excessive by the ODJFS Director, instead 

of by the Council as under current law.  Under the bill, the balance in the 



Legislative Service Commission -431- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Unemployment Compensation Special Administrative Fund is no longer continuously 

available to the Council for expenditures. 

The ODJFS Director, under the bill, is no longer required to obtain the approval 

of the Council before using funds in the Unemployment Compensation Special 

Administrative Fund whenever it appears that the use is necessary for: 

(1)  The proper administration of the Unemployment Compensation Law (R.C. 

Chapter 4141.) and no federal funds are available for the specific purpose for which the 

expenditure is to be made, provided the moneys are not substituted for appropriations 

from federal funds, which in the absence of such moneys would be available; 

(2)  The proper administration of the Unemployment Compensation Law for 

which purpose appropriations from federal funds have been requested and approved 

but not received, provided the fund would be reimbursed upon receipt of the federal 

appropriation; 

(3)  To the extent possible, the repayment to the Unemployment Compensation 

Administration Fund of moneys found by the proper agency of the United States to 

have been lost or expended for purposes other than, or an amount in excess of, those 

found necessary by the proper agency of the United States for the administration of the 

Unemployment Compensation Law. 

The ODJFS Director is required to pay the operating expenses of the Council 

from moneys in the Unemployment Compensation Special Administrative Fund, but, 

under the bill, the ODJFS Director no longer has to pay those expenses as determined 

by the Council. 

 

JOINT COMMITTEE ON AGENCY RULE REVIEW (JCR) 

 Provides that the new business rule review process established by S.B. 2 of the 129th 

General Assembly does not apply to proposed rules that are pending on January 1, 

2012, and first applies to proposed rules, the original versions of which are filed on 

or after January 1, 2012. 

 Clarifies how existing rules being reviewed under the Cyclical Review of Rules Act 

are to be reviewed in light of the new business rule review process. 
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New businesses rule review process:  first applicability 

(Sections 610.30 and 610.40) 

The bill provides that the new business rule review process established by S.B. 2 

of the 129th General Assembly does not apply to a proposed rule that is pending for 

review before the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review on January 1, 2012.  Instead, 

such a proposed rule will continue to be reviewed under the former small business rule 

review process (which is repealed by S.B. 2) until the rule-making proceedings are 

completed.212 

New business rule review process:  application under Cyclical Review of 
Rules Act 

(R.C. 119.032; Sections 610.30 and 610.40) 

The bill also clarifies a standard, added by S.B. 2 of the 129th General Assembly, 

that agencies are required to apply in evaluating an existing rule under the periodic, 

five-year review schedules of the Cyclical Review of Rules Act (CRRA).  Under the bill, 

an agency will be required to determine whether an existing rule it is reviewing under 

the CRRA has an adverse impact on businesses, reviewing the existing rule as if it were 

a draft rule under the provisions of S.B. 2 that define when a draft rule has an adverse 

impact on business and that require the Common Sense Initiative Office to prepare a 

business impact analysis instrument. 

Agencies are required by S.B. 2 to apply the definition and business impact 

analysis instrument to draft rules to determine whether the draft rules have an adverse 

impact on business.  But the CRRA applies to existing rules and not to draft rules.  The 

bill therefore requires agencies to apply the definition and business impact analysis 

instrument in reviewing existing rules under the CRRA, applying the definition and 

instrument to the existing rules as if they were draft rules.  And, if an agency thus 

determines under the CRRA that an existing rule has an adverse impact on business, 

the agency will be expected to amend or rescind the rule as is appropriate to remedy the 

adverse impact.  (Such an amendment or rescission will be subject to the new business 

rule review process of S.B. 2.)  If, however, the agency concludes there is not such an 

impact, and none of the other CRRA review standards have an adverse effect, then the 

agency can file the rule as a "no change" rule.  A no-change rule, as its name implies, 

indicates there is no need to amend or rescind the rule and that it can be left as it is. 

                                                 
212 R.C. 121.24, not in the bill (repealed by S.B. 2). 
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The new CRRA review standard, both as enacted by S.B. 2 and as clarified by the 

bill, first applies to existing rules that are subjected to review under the CRRA on or 

after January 1, 2012. 

 

JUDICIARY, SUPREME COURT (JSC) 

 Permits a party in a civil action to subpoena a coroner or deputy coroner to give 

expert testimony at a trial, hearing, or deposition only upon filing with the court a 

notice with specified information, and prohibits a party that fails to provide such 

notice, unless good cause is shown, from having the coroner or deputy coroner 

called to give expert testimony. 

 Authorizes a court for good cause shown to permit a coroner or deputy coroner who 

has not been served with such a subpoena to give expert testimony in a civil action. 

 Requires a party that obtains the expert testimony to pay to the county treasury a 

"deposition fee" or a "testimonial fee," both as defined in the bill, and provides a 

procedure for determining such fees. 

 Provides a procedure for the court to resolve a dispute as to the contents of the 

above notice or whether the testimony sought or given is "expert testimony" or "fact 

testimony," both as defined in the bill. 

 Specifically excludes the above provisions from existing law specifying the fees and 

mileage allowed for witnesses in civil cases. 

 Requires the court to commit a mentally ill criminal defendant who is incompetent 

to stand trial or not guilty by reason of insanity to the Department of Mental Health 

for an appropriate placement by the Department for the defendant's treatment and 

evaluation and not directly to a facility. 

 Permits a prosecutor to hold charges against a defendant charged with a nonviolent 

misdemeanor in abeyance while the defendant engages in mental health treatment 

or developmental disability services. 

 Designates the county or municipal indigent alcohol treatment fund in which the 

court costs imposed for a violation of an ordinance of a municipal corporation that is 

a moving violation or for an OVI violation are to be deposited, based on the court 

with jurisdiction over the municipal corporation. 
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 Eliminates the duty of the Clerk of the Supreme Court to file annual reports of the 

transactions and proceedings of the Court with the Governor, the Secretary of State, 

and the State Library. 

 Increases from 100 to 150 the population that a municipal corporation other than 

Georgetown in Brown County, Mount Gilead in Morrow County, or Batavia in 

Clermont County must have in order to establish a mayor's court. 

 Moves the jurisdiction over the Village of West Millgrove from the Fostoria 

Municipal Court to the Bowling Green Municipal Court. 

 Modifies the experience qualification for a municipal judge, a judge of the court of 

common pleas, a judge of the court of appeals, and the Chief Justice and a justice of 

the Supreme Court to hold judicial office by removing the requirement that the 

minimum of six years of prior practice of law be in Ohio. 

 Requires that at least two of the six or more years of prior practice of law or prior 

service as a judge of a court of record in any jurisdiction in the United States that 

qualify the judge, Chief Justice, or justice specified in the preceding dot point have 

been in Ohio. 

 Modifies the experience qualification generally for a county court judge to hold 

judicial office by removing the requirement that the minimum of six years of prior 

practice of law be in Ohio, requiring that the prior practice of law be in any 

jurisdiction in the United States, and requiring that at least two of the years of prior 

practice of law have been in Ohio. 

 Adds six synthetic derivatives of cathinone that have been found in bath salts to the 

list of Schedule I controlled hallucinogenic substances. 

 Eliminates the State Criminal Sentencing Commission. 

 Classifies formaldehyde as a Schedule II controlled substance and enacts the offense 

of trafficking in formaldehyde. 

 

 



Legislative Service Commission -435- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

County coroner:  expert testimony in civil cases; fee 

(R.C. 2335.061, 2335.05, and 2335.06) 

Expert testimony 

The bill permits a party to subpoena a coroner (defined below) or deputy coroner 

(a pathologist serving as a deputy coroner) to give expert testimony (testimony given by 

a coroner or deputy coroner as an expert witness pursuant to the bill and the Rules of 

Evidence) at a trial, hearing, or deposition in a civil action only upon filing with the 

court a notice that must be served with the subpoena and that includes all of the 

following: 

(1)  The name of the coroner or deputy coroner whose testimony is sought; 

(2)  A brief statement of the issues upon which the party seeks the expert 

testimony from the coroner or deputy coroner; 

(3)  An acknowledgment by the party that the giving of that expert testimony at 

the trial, hearing, or deposition is governed by the bill's provisions and that the party 

will comply with all of the bill's requirements; 

(4)  A statement of the obligations of the coroner or deputy coroner as described 

below. 

The bill further provides that for good cause shown, the court may permit a 

coroner or deputy coroner who has not been served with such a subpoena to give 

expert testimony at a trial, hearing, or deposition in a civil action.  Unless good cause is 

shown, the failure of a party to file with the court the above described notice prohibits 

the party from having a coroner or deputy coroner subpoenaed to give expert testimony 

in a civil action or from otherwise calling the coroner or a deputy coroner to give such 

expert testimony. 

The bill requires a party that obtains the expert testimony of a coroner or deputy 

coroner in a civil action to pay to the treasury of the county in which the coroner or 

deputy coroner holds office or is appointed or employed a "testimonial fee" or 

"deposition fee" (both defined below), whichever is applicable, within 30 days after 

receiving the following described statement.  Upon the conclusion of the expert 

testimony, the coroner or deputy coroner must file a statement with the court on behalf 

of the county showing the fee due and how the coroner or deputy coroner calculated 

the fee and must serve a copy of the statement on each of the parties. 
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The bill provides that in the event of a dispute as to the contents of the above 

notice filed by a party or as to the nature of the testimony sought from or given by a 

coroner or a deputy coroner in a civil action, the court must determine whether the 

testimony is expert testimony or fact testimony.  In making this determination, the court 

must consider the bill's definitions of "expert testimony" (see above) and "fact 

testimony" (testimony given by a coroner or deputy coroner regarding the performance 

of the coroner's duties under the Coroners Law, but not including expert testimony), all 

applicable rules of evidence, and any other information that the court considers 

relevant.  The bill states that nothing in the bill is to be construed to alter, amend, or 

supersede the requirements of the Rules of Civil Procedure or the Rules of Evidence. 

The bill excludes its provisions from existing laws that provide for attendance 

and mileage fees for witnesses in civil cases. 

Definitions 

The bill additionally defines the following terms: 

"Coroner" means the coroner of the county in which death occurs or the dead 

human body is found and includes the coroner of a county other than a county in which 

the death occurred or the dead human body was found if the coroner of that other 

county performed services for the county in which the death occurred or the dead 

human body was found or a medical examiner appointed by the governing authority of 

a county to perform the duties of a coroner under the Coroners Law. 

"Deposition fee" means the amount derived by multiplying the hourly rate by the 

number of hours a coroner or deputy coroner spent preparing for and giving expert 

testimony at a deposition in a civil action pursuant to the bill. 

"Hourly rate" means the compensation established in existing law's annual 

compensation schedules and salary increases for a coroner without a private practice of 

medicine at the class 8 level for calendar year 2001 and thereafter (class population of 

1,000,001 or more – $103,480), divided by 2,080. 

"Testimonial fee" means the amount derived by multiplying the hourly rate by 

six and multiplying the product by the number of hours that a coroner or deputy 

coroner spent preparing for and giving expert testimony at a trial or hearing in a civil 

action pursuant to the bill. 
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Evaluation of criminal defendant's competence to stand trial 

(R.C. 2945.371(A), (D), and (G) and 2945.38) 

Under current law, if the issue of a defendant's competence to stand trial is raised 

or if the defendant enters a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity, the court may order 

one or more evaluations of the defendant's present mental condition or, in the case of a 

plea of not guilty by reason of insanity, of the defendant's mental condition at the time 

of the offense charged. If the court orders an evaluation, the person who examines the 

defendant must file a written report with the court within 30 days after the court's entry 

of an order for an evaluation of the defendant.  The written report must contain 

specified findings and recommendations of the person examining the defendant. 

The bill specifies an additional recommendation that the examiner must include 

in the written report if the evaluation was ordered to determine the defendant's 

competence to stand trial.  If the defendant is charged with a misdemeanor offense that 

is not an offense of violence and the examiner is of the opinion that the defendant is 

presently mentally ill or mentally retarded and is incapable of understanding the nature 

and objective of the proceedings against the defendant or of assisting in the defendant's 

defense, the examiner must include a recommendation as to whether the defendant is 

amenable to engagement in mental health treatment or developmental disability 

services. 

The bill amends current law to provide that a court may order a defendant who 

has not been released on bail or recognizance to be examined at the defendant's place of 

detention or to be transported for evaluation to a program or facility operated or certified 

(added by the bill) by the Ohio Department of Mental Health (ODMH) or the Ohio 

Department of Developmental Disabilities (ODODD).  Under current law, the court 

may only order the defendant to be examined at the defendant's place of detention or to 

be transported for evaluation to a program or facility operated by ODMH or ODODD. 

Commitment of a mentally ill defendant to the Department of Mental Health 

(R.C. 2945.38(B)) 

Continuing law provides that if a court finds, after taking into consideration all 

relevant reports, information, and other evidence, that a defendant is incompetent to 

stand trial and that there is a substantial probability that the defendant will become 

competent to stand trial within one year if the defendant is provided with a course of 

treatment, the court must order the defendant to undergo treatment.  However, if the 

court finds that a defendant is incompetent to stand trial but is unable to determine 

whether the defendant will become competent to stand trial within one year if the 

defendant is provided with a course of treatment, the court must order the defendant, if 
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the defendant is charged with a felony, to undergo continuing evaluation and 

treatment. 

Current law, which would be amended by the bill, provides that if a defendant is 

found incompetent to stand trial and the court issues an order requiring the defendant 

to undergo treatment or continuing evaluation and treatment, the court order must 

specify that the treatment or continuing evaluation and treatment is to occur at a facility 

operated by ODMH or ODODD, at a facility certified by either ODMH or ODODD as 

being qualified to treat mental illness or mental retardation, at a public or private 

community mental health or mental retardation facility, or by a psychiatrist or other 

mental health or mental retardation professional.  All court orders commit the 

defendant to a facility or mental health professional and not to ODMH or ODODD. 

The bill provides that if a defendant requires treatment or continuing evaluation 

and treatment for a mental illness the court order for treatment or continuing evaluation 

and treatment must specify that the defendant is to be committed to the ODMH for 

treatment or continuing evaluation and treatment at a hospital, facility, or agency as 

determined to be clinically appropriate by ODMH.  Under the bill, the court does not 

commit a mentally ill defendant directly to a facility for treatment or evaluation and 

treatment.  If the court finds that a defendant requires treatment or continuing 

evaluation and treatment for a developmental disability, the court order for treatment 

or continuing evaluation and treatment must specify that the defendant receive 

treatment or continuing evaluation and treatment at an institution or facility operated 

by ODODD, at a facility certified by ODODD as being qualified to treat mental 

retardation, at a public or private community mental retardation facility, or by a mental 

retardation professional.  As under current law, the court does not commit the 

defendant to the ODODD. 

Commitment to the Department of Mental Health:  technical changes 

Because the bill requires the court to commit a defendant to the ODMH for 

treatment in cases of mental illness while continuing to commit a defendant to a facility 

in cases of developmental disabilities, throughout the bill, references in current law 

related to the commitment of a defendant are amended to differentiate between the 

commitment of a defendant to the ODMH for placement in cases of mental illness and 

the commitment of a defendant to a facility in cases of developmental disabilities (see 

R.C. 2945.371(G)(3)(d), 2945.38(B)(1)(b) and (c), (E), and (G), 2945.39(D)(1) and (2), 

2945.40(F) and (G), 2945.401(C), (D)(1), (I), and (J)(2), 2945.401 ("chief clinical officer"), 

and 2945.402). 
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Abeyance of charges during treatment 

(R.C. 2945.38(B)(1)(d)) 

The bill permits the prosecutor, in the case of a defendant who is charged with a 

misdemeanor offense that is not an offense of violence, to hold the charges in abeyance 

(suspension) while the defendant engages in mental health treatment or developmental 

disability services. 

Restrictions on a mentally ill defendant's freedom of movement after 
commitment and placement alternatives for a developmentally disabled 
defendant 

(R.C. 2945.38(B) and (E), 2945.39(D)(1) and (2), and 2945.40(F)) 

The bill provides that in committing a defendant to the ODMH, the court must 

consider the extent to which the defendant is a danger to the defendant and to others, 

the need for security, and the type of crime involved.  If a court finds that restrictions on 

the defendant's freedom of movement are necessary, the court must specify the least 

restrictive limitations on the defendant's freedom of movement as are determined to be 

necessary to protect public safety. 

Current law provides that, in determining placement alternatives for a 

defendant, a court must consider the extent to which a defendant is a danger to the 

defendant and to others, the need for security, and the type of crime involved and order 

the least restrictive alternative available that is consistent with public safety and 

treatment goals.  The bill amends this provision to limit its application to commitment 

alternatives for defendants who are determined to require treatment or continuing 

evaluation and treatment for a developmental disability. 

The bill also amends current law to require a court to specify the least restrictive 

limitations on a mentally ill defendant's freedom of movement and to order the least 

restrictive commitment alternative for a developmentally disabled defendant's 

commitment in the case of a court committing a defendant for treatment subsequent to 

retaining jurisdiction over a defendant in given circumstances after the expiration of the 

maximum time permitted by law for treatment and in the case of committing a 

defendant for treatment subsequent to finding the defendant not guilty by reason of 

insanity. 

Under law generally unchanged by the bill, if a court commits a defendant who 

has been found incompetent to stand trial for treatment or continuing supervision and 

treatment, the defendant cannot be granted unsupervised on-grounds movement, 

supervised off-grounds movement, or nonsecured status, except as otherwise provided 
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by this provision.  The bill states that the court order of commitment may contain 

provisions that grant the defendant unsupervised on-grounds movement, supervised 

off-grounds movement, or nonsecured status.  The current law does not refer to court 

orders in connection with exceptions to restrictions on a defendant's unsupervised on-

grounds movement, supervised off-grounds movement, or nonsecured status. 

Reports to be filed by place of defendant's commitment 

(R.C. 2945.39(A) and (D) and 2945.40(A), (F), and (G)) 

Current law sets limits on the length of time that a defendant may be required to 

undergo treatment or continuing evaluation and treatment for a mental illness or 

developmental disability (R.C. 2945.38(C)).  A court may retain jurisdiction over the 

defendant under specified circumstances after the expiration of the maximum time 

permitted for treatment or after the court finds that there is not a substantial probability 

that the defendant will become competent to stand trial even if the defendant is 

provided with a course of treatment, and to commit the defendant to the ODMH for the 

defendant's placement by the ODMH for further treatment of the defendant's mental 

illness or to commit the defendant for further treatment of the defendant's 

developmental disability.  If a defendant is found not guilty by reason of insanity, the 

defendant may be committed to the ODMH for treatment of a mental illness or 

committed to a facility for developmental disability services. 

In such cases, the bill eliminates a requirement found in current law that requires 

the place of commitment, following the admission of the defendant, to send to the 

board of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health services and community mental 

health board serving the county in which the charges against the defendant were filed a 

copy of all reports of the defendant's current mental condition and other relevant 

information provided by the prosecutor to the place of the defendant's commitment, 

including, if provided, a transcript of the hearing held to retain jurisdiction over the 

defendant following the expiration of the maximum period allowed by law for the 

defendant's treatment or the hearing held following a finding of not guilty by reason of 

insanity to determine if the defendant is a mentally ill person subject to hospitalization 

or a mentally retarded person subject to institutionalization, relevant police reports, and 

prior arrest and conviction records that pertain to the defendant. 

Development of plan to terminate a person's or defendant's commitment or 
a change in the conditions of the commitment 

(R.C. 2945.401) 

Current law, largely unchanged by the bill, provides in the case of a court 

committing a defendant for treatment subsequent to retaining jurisdiction over a 
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defendant in given circumstances after the expiration of the maximum time permitted 

by law for treatment and in the case of committing a defendant for treatment 

subsequent to finding the defendant not guilty by reason of insanity (under R.C. 2945.39 

and 2945.40) the "chief clinical officer" of the defendant's place of commitment 

(amended by the bill to the designee of the ODMH or the managing officer of the 

institution or director of the facility to which a defendant is committed) may 

recommend the termination of the defendant's or person's commitment or a change in 

the conditions of the defendant's or person's commitment.  If the chief clinical officer, 

after following specified procedures, proceeds with the officer's recommendation, the 

chief clinical officer must work with the "board of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental 

health services or community mental health board serving the area" to develop a plan to 

implement the recommendation.  The bill amends the entities that must be worked with 

to "community mental health agencies, programs, facilities, or boards of alcohol, drug 

addiction, and mental health services." 

Commitment to a "program" 

The bill amends or deletes language in current law, when found in the bill, that 

refers to a defendant's commitment to a "program," because while a defendant may be 

committed to or placed at an institution or facility, a physical place, a defendant cannot 

be committed to a program, an ethereal course of treatment. 

Indigent drivers alcohol treatment fund 

(R.C. 4511.193; conforming changes to R.C. 4503.235 and 4507.164) 

The bill provides that any court cost imposed as a result of a violation of a 

municipal ordinance that is a moving violation and designated for an indigent drivers 

alcohol treatment fund must be deposited into a municipal or county indigent drivers 

alcohol treatment fund in accordance with existing law governing the deposit and 

disbursement of court funds.  This court cost must be deposited into the indigent 

drivers alcohol treatment fund of the county in which the municipal corporation with 

the applicable ordinance is located if the municipal court that has jurisdiction over that 

municipal corporation is a county-operated municipal court.  The court cost must be 

deposited into the indigent drivers alcohol treatment fund of the municipal corporation 

in which the municipal court is located if the municipal court that has jurisdiction over 

the municipal corporation with the applicable ordinance is not a county-operated 

municipal court.  These provisions apply regardless of whether the court cost is 

imposed by a municipal court, a mayor's court, or a juvenile court.  If the court cost is 

imposed for a violation of a municipal ordinance of a municipal corporation that is 

within the jurisdiction of a county court, the court cost must be deposited into the 

indigent drivers treatment fund of the county in which the county court with 
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jurisdiction over the municipal corporation is located, regardless of whether the court 

cost is imposed by a county court, a mayor's court, or a juvenile court.  The deposit 

must be made in accordance with existing law governing the deposit and disbursement 

of court funds. 

Under continuing law, $25 of any fine imposed for a violation of a municipal OVI 

ordinance is deposited into a municipal or county indigent drivers alcohol treatment 

fund.  The bill provides that the $25 must be deposited into the indigent drivers alcohol 

treatment fund of the county in which that municipal corporation is located if the 

municipal court with jurisdiction over that municipal corporation is a county operated 

municipal court.  If the municipal court with jurisdiction over that municipal 

corporation is not a county-operated municipal court, the $25 must be deposited into 

the indigent drivers alcohol treatment fund of the municipal corporation in which the 

municipal court is located.  These provisions apply regardless of whether the fine is 

imposed by a municipal court, a mayor's court, or a juvenile court.  Under continuing 

law, the fines must be deposited in accordance with existing law governing the deposit 

and disbursement of court funds. 

Under existing law, if the fine was imposed for a violation of a municipal OVI 

ordinance that is within the jurisdiction of a county court, the $25 must be deposited 

into the indigent drivers treatment fund of the county in which the county court that 

has jurisdiction over the municipal corporation is located, regardless of whether the fine 

is imposed by a county court, a mayor's court, or a juvenile court.  

The bill provides that for purposes of the above provisions, a "county-operated 

municipal court" means the Auglaize County, Brown County, Carroll County, Clermont 

County, Columbiana County, Crawford County, Darke County, Erie County, Hamilton 

County, Hocking County, Holmes County, Jackson County, Lawrence County, Madison 

County, Miami County, Montgomery County, Morrow County, Ottawa County, 

Portage County, Putnam County, or Wayne County municipal court. 

Report of Clerk of Supreme Court eliminated 

(R.C. 149.01) 

The bill eliminates current law's requirement for the Clerk of the Supreme Court 

to make annually, at the end of each fiscal year, in quadruplicate, a report of the 

transactions and proceedings of the Court for that fiscal year, except receipts and 

disbursements unless otherwise specifically required by law.  Current law requires the 

report that is eliminated to contain a summary of the Court's official acts and any 

suggestions and recommendations that are proper.  Under current law, on the first day 

of August of each year, one of the eliminated reports is required to be filed each with 
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the Governor, the Secretary of State, and the State Library, and one kept in the office of 

the Clerk. 

Municipal court jurisdiction over West Millgrove 

(R.C. 1901.02) 

Existing law provides that the Fostoria Municipal Court has jurisdiction within 

Perry Township, which includes the municipal corporation of West Millgrove.  The bill 

moves West Millgrove to the jurisdiction of the Bowling Green Municipal Court. 

Mayor's court jurisdiction in ordinance cases and traffic violations 

(R.C. 1905.01) 

Existing law provides that, except in Georgetown in Brown County, in Mount 

Gilead in Morrow County, and Batavia in Clermont County, all other municipal 

corporations must have a population of 100 in order to establish a mayor's court.  The 

bill increases this population requirement to 150. 

Qualifications of judges and justices 

(R.C. 1901.06, 1907.13, 2301.01, 2501.02, and 2503.01) 

The bill modifies one of the qualifications under existing law for a municipal 

judge, a judge of the court of common pleas, a judge of the court of appeals, and the 

Chief Justice and a justice of the Supreme Court to hold judicial office by providing that 

the judge, Chief Justice, or justice has been, for a total of at least six years preceding 

appointment or the commencement of the judge's, Chief Justice's, or justice's term, 

engaged in the practice of law (the bill eliminates "in this state") or served as a judge of 

a court of record in any jurisdiction in the United States, or both.  The bill requires that 

at least two of the six or more years of prior practice of law or prior service as a judge 

that qualify the judge, Chief Justice, or justice have been in Ohio.213 

The bill also revises one of the qualifications under existing law for a county 

court judge to hold judicial office by providing that the judge has been engaged, for a 

total of at least six years preceding the judge's appointment or the commencement of 

the judge's term, in the practice of law (the bill eliminates "in this state") in any 

jurisdiction in the United States (added by the bill).  The bill requires that at least two of 

the six or more years of prior practice of law that qualify the judge have been in Ohio.  

The bill retains the exception under current law that the six-year legal practice 

                                                 
213 R.C. 1901.06, 2301.01, 2501.02, and 2503.01. 
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requirement does not apply to a county court judge who is holding office on July 2, 

2010, and who subsequently is a candidate for that office.214 

List of Schedule I controlled hallucinogenic substances 

(R.C. 3719.41) 

The bill adds the following six synthetic derivatives of cathinone that have been 

found in bath salts to the list of Schedule I controlled hallucinogenic substances:  

methylone (3,4-methylenedioxymethcathinone); MDPV (3,4-methyenedioxy- 

pyrovalerone); mephedrone (4-methylmethcathinone); 4-methoxymethcathinone; 

4-fluoromethcathinone; and 3-fluoromethcathinone. 

Continuing law compiles controlled substances in five schedules.  Drug offenses 

involving schedule I controlled substances are subject to the severest penalties. 

Criminal Sentencing Commission 

(R.C. 181.21, 181.22, 181.23, 181.24, 181.25, 182.26, and 2953.08) 

The bill would eliminate the State Criminal Sentencing Commission.  Under 

current law, the State Criminal Sentencing Commission of the Ohio Supreme Court 

studies the existing criminal statutes and law of Ohio, sentencing patterns throughout 

Ohio, and available correctional resources. 

Formaldehyde in list of Schedule II controlled substances 

(R.C. 2925.03 and 3719.41) 

The bill classifies formaldehyde as a Schedule II controlled hallucinogenic 

substance and enacts the offense of trafficking in formaldehyde.  Trafficking in 

formaldehyde prohibits a person from:  (1) knowingly selling or offering to sell 

formaldehyde and (2) knowingly preparing for shipment, shipping, transporting, 

delivering, preparing for distribution, or distributing formaldehyde when the offender 

knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the formaldehyde is intended for sale or 

resale by the offender or another person.  If the amount of the drug involved in 

trafficking in formaldehyde is more than 20 grams, the offense is (1) a fourth degree 

felony or (2) if the offense was committed in the vicinity of a school or juvenile, a third 

degree felony.  If the amount of the drug involved in trafficking in formaldehyde is 

20 grams or less, the offense is a minor misdemeanor on a first offense and a third 

degree misdemeanor on a subsequent offense. 

                                                 
214 R.C. 1907.13. 
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LAKE ERIE COMMISSION (LEC) 

 Adds five members appointed by the Governor to the Ohio Lake Erie Commission 

in addition to the Directors of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources, Health, 

Agriculture, and Transportation, or their designees, who comprise the Commission 

under current law. 

 

 

Ohio Lake Erie Commission 

(R.C. 1506.21) 

The bill adds five members appointed by the Governor to the Ohio Lake Erie 

Commission and specifies that the new members serve at the pleasure of the Governor.  

Under current law, the Directors of Environmental Protection, Natural Resources, 

Health, Agriculture, and Transportation, or their designees, comprise the Commission.  

The bill also specifies that six members of the Commission constitute a quorum rather 

than three members under current law. 

Under current law, the Commission has a variety of duties including:  (1) 

ensuring the coordination of state and local policies and programs pertaining to Lake 

Erie water quality, toxic pollution control, and resource protection, (2) reviewing and 

making recommendations concerning the development and implementation of policies, 

programs, and issues for long-term, comprehensive protection of Lake Erie water 

resources and water quality that are consistent with the Great Lakes Water Quality 

Agreement and the Great Lakes Toxic Substances Control Agreement, (3) 

recommending policies and programs to modify Ohio's coastal management program, 

and (4) taking other specified actions regarding Lake Erie and the Lake Erie basin. 

 

LEGAL RIGHTS SERVICE (LRS) 

 Requires establishment not later than December 31, 2011, of a new nonprofit entity 

to provide advocacy services and client assistance for people with disabilities. 

 Requires, not later than September 30, 2012, the Governor to designate the new 

nonprofit entity as Ohio's protection and advocacy system and client assistance 

program for people with disabilities (if the new entity complies with all applicable 

federal law) and specifies that, on October 1, 2012, the entity becomes the Ohio 

Protection and Advocacy System. 
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 Effective October 1, 2012, abolishes the Ohio Legal Rights Service (OLRS), Legal 

Rights Service Commission, and OLRS Ombudsperson Section. 

 Eliminates all statutory provisions regarding the OLRS, Commission, and OLRS 

Ombudsperson Section, except as follows:  (1) provides that the Ohio Protection and 

Advocacy System is to have the same access to records as the abolished OLRS, 

(2) provides that all records received by the System are to have the same confidential 

status as those records were provided under the abolished OLRS, and (3) provides 

that the System has the same subpoena power as the administrator of the abolished 

OLRS. 

 Requires the class represented in any class action lawsuit brought by OLRS and, 

starting on October 1, 2012, the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System to include 

only persons who are mentally ill, mentally retarded, or developmentally disabled. 

 Requires that the compensation that may be awarded in a class action lawsuit 

pursued by OLRS and, starting on October 1, 2012, the Ohio Protection and 

Advocacy System for the work of OLRS and the System's attorneys or attorneys 

employed by another agency or political subdivision of the state be limited to the 

actual hourly rate of pay for that legal work. 

 

 

Ohio Protection and Advocacy System 

(Sections 319.20 (primary) and 120.20 to 120.23; R.C. 5123.60, 5123.601 (new), and 

5123.602 (new); conforming changes in R.C. 3721.16, 5111.709, 5119.221, 5122.01, 

5122.02, 5122.27, 5122.271, 5122.29, 5122.31, 5122.32, 5123.092, 5123.19, 5123.191, 5123.35, 

5123.61, 5123.63, 5123.64, 5123.69, 5123.701, 5123.86, 5123.99, and 5126.33; R.C. 5123.601, 

5123.602, 5123.603, 5123.604, and 5123.605 (repealed)) 

Overview 

No later than December 31, 2011, the bill requires the establishment of a new 

nonprofit entity to provide advocacy services and client assistance for people with 

disabilities.  Temporarily, the nonprofit entity is to co-exist with the Ohio Legal Rights 

Service (OLRS), Legal Rights Service Commission, and OLRS Ombudsperson Section.  

If the nonprofit entity complies with federal law, the Governor must, no later than 

September 30, 2012, designate it as Ohio's protection and advocacy system and client 

assistance program for people with disabilities.  On October 1, 2012, the nonprofit entity 

becomes the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System, and OLRS, the Commission, and 

the OLRS Ombudsperson Section are abolished.  Except with regard to access to 
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records, confidentiality of records, and certain notification requirements, the bill 

eliminates many of the statutory provisions that apply to OLRS. 

OLRS is Ohio's designated protection and advocacy system and client assistance 

program for children and adults with mental disabilities.  To receive federal funds for 

services to persons who are mentally disabled, Ohio is required by federal law to have a 

protection and advocacy system.215  OLRS administers several federally funded 

programs to protect and advocate for the rights of persons with mental illness, mental 

retardation, developmental disabilities, or other disabilities.  OLRS is governed by the 

Legal Rights Service Commission, which is composed of seven members appointed by 

the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, 

and the President of the Senate. 

Timeline for replacement of OLRS 

The bill establishes a two stage process under which the new Ohio Protection 

and Advocacy System is established, designated by the Governor as Ohio's protection 

and advocacy system and client assistance program, and replaces the existing OLRS. 

In the first stage, not later than December 31, 2011, the administrator of OLRS, in 

consultation with the Legal Rights Service Commission, is required to establish a new 

nonprofit entity to provide advocacy services and a client assistance program for people 

with disabilities.  The existing OLRS is permitted to subcontract with the new entity to 

perform any functions OLRS is permitted or required to perform.  The existing OLRS, 

Commission, and OLRS Ombudsperson Section continue as under current law until 

October 1, 2012. 

In the second stage, not later than September 30, 2012, if the new entity complies 

with all federal law regarding a protection and advocacy system and client assistance 

program, the Governor is to designate it as Ohio's protection and advocacy system and 

client assistance program. 

On October 1, 2012, the bill abolishes the existing OLRS, Commission, and OLRS 

Ombudsperson Section, and the new entity becomes the Ohio Protection and Advocacy 

System.  The System is thereafter required to serve as Ohio's protection and advocacy 

system and client assistance program. 

The bill does not indicate what is to happen if the new entity does not comply 

with federal law and, therefore, cannot be designated by the Governor.  It does not 

                                                 
215 42 U.S.C. 15041 et seq.; the specific requirement is in 42 U.S.C. 15043. 
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appear to permit OLRS, the Commission, or the OLRS Ombudsperson Section to 

continue after September 30, 2012. 

Eliminated provisions 

In contrast to current law's enumeration of specific powers and duties of OLRS 

and its administrator, the bill provides that the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System is 

to provide advocacy services for people with disabilities, as provided under the federal 

"Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000,"216 and a client 

assistance program, as provided under the federal "Workforce Investment Act of 

1998."217  It authorizes the System to establish any guidelines necessary for its operation. 

In establishing a general statutory duty for the Ohio Protection and Advocacy 

System to provide advocacy services and a client assistance program, the bill eliminates 

many of the OLRS-related provisions of current law, including the following: 

(1)  A description of specific populations to be served, including persons with 

mental illness or developmental disabilities; 

(2)  A requirement that there be an administrator, including the requirement that 

the administrator be an attorney; 

(3)  The administrator's responsibilities, including preparing a budget and 

submitting it to the General Assembly and obtaining the OLRS Commission's approval 

before filing any class action lawsuit; 

(4)  The administrator's membership on the Medicaid Buy-In Advisory Council; 

(5)  A requirement that the administrator be notified of any proposed major 

aversive intervention for a mentally ill patient or a resident of an institution for the 

mentally retarded; 

(6)  Notice requirements regarding the individuals served by OLRS; 

(7)  Specific authority for an individual served by OLRS or denied service to file a 

grievance; 

(8)  Authority to conduct public hearings; 

                                                 
216 42 U.S.C. 15001. 

217 29 U.S.C. 732. 
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(9)  Authority to ask any governmental agency for cooperation, assistance, 

services, or data necessary to enable the OLRS to perform its duties; 

(10)  Indemnification of the administrator, attorneys, and staff in any judgment 

awarded or amount negotiated in a settlement, and for any court costs or legal fees 

incurred in defense of the claim; 

(11)  All functions of the OLRS Ombudsperson Section, which mediates 

complaints and attempts to resolve disputes at the lowest administrative level 

appropriate; 

(12)  Powers and duties related to court proceedings. 

Continuing provisions 

The bill maintains all of the following as powers and duties of the new Ohio 

Protection and Advocacy System: 

(1)  Access to the records of the individuals who may be represented by the 

System; 

(2)  Confidentiality of records received or maintained by the System; 

(3)  Authority to compel testimony by subpoena; 

(4)  Eligibility for grants or contracts provided through the Ohio Developmental 

Disabilities Council; 

(5)  Exemption from the general requirement that reports be made of abuse or 

neglect regarding persons with mental retardation or other developmental disabilities. 

Transition provisions 

Any aspect of the function of OLRS, the Legal Rights Service Commission, and 

the OLRS Ombudsperson Section that are commenced, but not completed on October 1, 

2012, are to be completed by the new Ohio Protection and Advocacy System in the same 

manner, and with the same effect, as if the function were completed by the abolished 

OLRS.  The bill specifies that no validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, obligation, or 

liability pertaining to OLRS is lost or impaired by reason of the abolishment of OLRS, 

and will instead be administered by the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System.  Any 

action or proceeding related to the function or duties of OLRS pending on September 

30, 2012, is not to be affected by the abolishment of OLRS, but is required to be 

prosecuted or defended in the name of the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System.  In 



Legislative Service Commission -450- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

those actions and proceedings the System, on application to the court, is to be 

substituted as a party. 

OLRS and Ohio Protection and Advocacy System class action lawsuits 

(R.C. 5123.60 and 5123.602) 

The bill establishes the following requirements for class action lawsuits brought 

by the existing OLRS: 

(1)  Requires the class represented in any class action lawsuit brought by OLRS to 

include only persons who are mentally ill, mentally retarded, or developmentally 

disabled; 

(2)  Requires that the compensation that may be awarded in a class action lawsuit 

pursued by OLRS for the work of OLRS attorneys or attorneys employed by another 

agency or political subdivision of the state be limited to the actual hourly rate of pay for 

that legal work. 

The bill extends these requirements to the Ohio Protection and Advocacy System 

on October 1, 2012. 

 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (LOC) 

 Revises the requirements for a newspaper to qualify as a "newspaper of general 

circulation" in which public notices and advertisements are published, and applies 

the definition to the entire Revised Code. 

 Eliminates the requirement that publication be made in a newspaper published in a 

political subdivision, in two newspapers, or in two newspapers of opposite politics. 

 Eliminates the requirement that a newspaper have second-class postal privileges; 

instead, uses the standard of publishing notices and advertisements in a newspaper 

of general circulation. 

 Authorizes mediation under a program operated by the court of common pleas if a 

newspaper's qualifications as a newspaper of general circulation are in question. 

 Specifies that if a codified statute or administrative rule requires a state agency or 

political subdivision to publish a notice or advertisement two or more times in a 

newspaper and the statute or rule authorizes the use of an alternative publication 

procedure, the state agency or political subdivision may satisfy the multiple 



Legislative Service Commission -451- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

publication requirement by publishing the first notice or advertisement in its 

entirety in a newspaper of general circulation (which may be made in a pre-printed 

insert), and by publishing a second, abbreviated notice or advertisement in that 

newspaper and on the newspaper's Internet web site, if any. 

 Requires the abbreviated notice to refer to the state public notice web site 

established under the bill, on which web site the entire notice or advertisement must 

be posted. 

 Requires each newspaper to establish a "government rate" for publication of local 

government public notices and advertisements, which cannot exceed the lowest 

classified advertising rate and lowest insert rate paid by other advertisers. 

 Requires newspapers to post the notices and advertisements free on the newspaper's 

Internet web site, if the newspaper has one. 

 Requires all legal advertisements and notices to be printed in a newspaper of 

general circulation and on the state public notice web site. 

 Allows county auditors to charge a land or home owner a flat fee for the cost of 

publishing the land or home on the delinquent real property or delinquent 

manufactured home tax lists, and to place the fee as a lien on tax delinquent parcels 

or manufactured homes if it is not paid. 

 Authorizes publication of a succinct summary of a local government's ordinance, 

resolution, or rule in a newspaper of general circulation, rather than the entire 

ordinance, resolution, or rule. 

 Authorizes, generally, political subdivisions to enter into agreements with other 

political subdivisions to perform services for one another. 

 Requires political subdivisions that enter into such an agreement to obtain the 

written consent of a non-participating subdivision before the agreement is 

performed within that non-participating subdivision. 

 Authorizes a regional council of governments to enter into unit price contracts 

related to buildings or structures on behalf of member political subdivisions. 

 Authorizes a board of county commissioners to enter into a sale and leaseback 

agreement with regard to a county-owned building. 

 Authorizes one or more boards of county commissioners to create a Lake Facilities 

Authority (LFA), a body politic and corporate, for the purpose of remediating 
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watersheds declared by the Director of Natural Resources to be a "watershed in 

distress." 

 Creates an LFA board of directors consisting of the county commissioners of each 

county with territory in the "impacted lake district" – i.e., the territory of all 

townships and municipal corporations with territory in the distressed watershed. 

 Requires the creation of an advisory council for each LFA consisting of the 

appointee of each political subdivision with territory in the impacted lake district, to 

consult with the board of directors. 

 Authorizes an LFA to levy a property tax with voter approval for current expenses, 

debt charges, permanent improvements, and parks and recreation, not to exceed one 

mill. 

 Authorizes an LFA to impose a charge, with voter approval, against property within 

the distressed watershed to be based on the benefit conferred or the relative 

pollution or other harm caused by the property owner, not to exceed one-half per 

cent of a parcel's true value. 

 Authorizes an LFA to levy a lodging tax with voter approval, the rate of which may 

not cause the aggregate rate of lodging taxes applicable in the impacted lake district 

to exceed 5%. 

 Authorizes an LFA to charge user fees, including dock and campsite fees, in a 

distressed watershed in a state park with approval by the Director of Natural 

Resources. 

 Authorizes an LFA to issue general obligation securities for the remediation of a 

distressed watershed and related permanent improvements, not to exceed one-tenth 

per cent of the total value of property in the impacted lake district. 

 Authorizes an LFA to issue revenue bonds and anticipation bonds and notes. 

 Prohibits the creation of any new special district that would overlap with an LFA 

district (e.g., conservancy district) if the new district would have powers or duties 

that are the same as the LFA's. 

 Prohibits any taxing authority from levying a property tax in the territory of an LFA 

if the purpose of the tax is similar to the purpose of a tax that the LFA is authorized 

to levy. 
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 Authorizes the Director of Natural Resources to transfer real property to an LFA to 

promote wetland mitigation banking, wildlife, or sporting activities, and authorizes 

the Division of Wildlife to enter agreements with an LFA to establish wetland or 

natural areas to benefit wildlife or sporting activities. 

 Requires competitive bidding for LFA construction projects in excess of $25,000 

except under certain circumstances. 

 Permits, but does not require, an LFA to apply prevailing wage requirements to 

public improvements it undertakes or contracts for. 

 Specifies that energy or fuel derived from algae or manure from an impacted lake 

district is a "renewable energy resource" for the purposes of electricity generation 

alternative energy resource portfolio requirements of current law. 

 Creates a "fiscal caution" designation for municipal corporations, counties, and 

townships (hereinafter, "local governments"). 

 Requires local governments in fiscal watch to provide a financial recovery plan that 

identifies the actions to be taken, includes a schedule detailing the approximate 

dates for beginning and completing those actions, and provides a five-year forecast 

reflecting the effects of those actions. 

 With respect to local governments in fiscal emergency: 

--Eliminates the current requirement that, upon a fiscal emergency, a financial 

planning and supervision commission be established for all villages and 

townships and, instead, specifies that for villages or townships with a population 

of less than 1,000, the Auditor of State will serve as the financial supervisor with 

all the powers and responsibilities of a commission; 

--Requires that a local government's financial plan include a five-year forecast 

reflecting the effects of the actions specified in the plan and that the plan be 

updated annually; 

--If a local government fails to submit a financial plan, or fails to substantially 

comply with it, and the commission gives its certification, requires that all state 

funding (other than benefit assistance to individuals) be escrowed until a plan is 

submitted or compliance is achieved; 

--In addition to its current authority to limit a local government's general fund 

expenditures, permits a commission to limit expenditures from any other fund if 

deemed prudent; 
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--Adds that, if an officer of a local government in fiscal emergency is convicted of 

certain violations of current law, the officer is ineligible to hold any public office 

in Ohio or be employed by a public entity in Ohio for seven years after the 

conviction; 

--Provides for the dissolution of municipal corporations and townships that are 

in fiscal emergency and meet specified conditions. 

 Clarifies that the Auditor of State is to be reimbursed for any expenses incurred 

relating to a fiscal emergency, fiscal watch, or fiscal caution, including technical and 

support services, and that the Controlling Board may provide sufficient funds for 

this purpose if necessary. 

 Extends, from through fiscal year 2011 to through fiscal year 2013, the authority for a 

county appointing authority to establish a mandatory cost savings program in 

which its exempt employees must participate, and expands the program to apply to 

townships and municipal corporations. 

 Expands the definition of fiscal emergency for purposes of a county, township, or 

municipal corporation implementing mandatory cost savings days for its exempt 

employees in the event of a fiscal watch or fiscal emergency occurring in fiscal year 

2014 or later. 

 Allows a county, township, or municipal corporation appointing authority to 

establish a modified work week schedule program applicable to its exempt 

employees. 

 Authorizes a board of county commissioners to require county offices to use 

centralized purchasing, printing, transportation, vehicle maintenance, human 

resources, revenue collection, and mail operation services. 

 Defines and limits the human resource services that a board may centralize. 

 Prohibits the board from centralizing certain purchasing, printing, and collection 

services. 

 Establishes the Medicaid reimbursement rate as the rate of payment for medical care 

provided to persons confined in multicounty, municipal-county, or multicounty-

municipal correctional centers by medical providers not employed by or under 

contract with a municipal corporation or township participating in the center. 

 Requires a county recorder to attend and successfully complete at least 15 hours of 

continuing education courses during the first year of the recorder's term of office, 
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and at least another eight hours of continuing education courses each year of the 

remaining term. 

 Requires a county recorder, for subsequent terms of office, to attend and 

successfully complete at least eight hours of continuing education courses in each 

year of a subsequent term of office. 

 Requires the Ohio Recorders' Association to approve continuing education courses, 

administer the continuing education requirements, and to send a list to the Auditor 

of State of the courses and number of hours each county recorder has successfully 

completed. 

 Requires that the Association issue an informational "failure to complete notice" to 

any county recorder who fails to successfully complete the required number of 

hours of continuing education courses. 

 Requires the board of county commissioners to approve, from money appropriated 

to the county recorder, a reasonable amount requested by the county recorder to 

cover the recorder's costs of continuing education. 

 Authorizes boards of township trustees and the legislative authorities of one or 

more contiguous municipal corporations, by adoption of a joint resolution, to create 

a joint police district comprising all or any part of the townships or municipal 

corporations as are mutually agreed upon, rather than a joint township police 

district. 

 Creates a joint police district board to govern the joint police district. 

 Grants the powers of a joint township police district board to a joint police district 

board, such as the power to levy a property tax for the district's expenses in 

providing police protection and to issue bonds for buying police equipment. 

 Authorizes a township or municipal corporation to join or to withdraw from an 

existing joint police district. 

 Eliminates a date restriction and applies a township noise regulation to any business 

or industry regardless of when it came into existence. 

 Increases specific competitive bidding thresholds for townships and villages. 

 Adds, as one of the methods by which a limited home rule township may meet the 

requirement to provide law enforcement for the township, by designating one or 

more police constables. 
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 Authorizes one or more townships to merge into a contiguous township, creating a 

new township, by initiative petition of the voters of each township proposed for 

merger. 

 Requires merging townships to enter into a merger agreement that contains specific 

terms and conditions of the merger, but if no agreement is entered into or if only 

partial agreement is reached, requires the new township to function under default 

terms and conditions prescribed by the bill. 

 Authorizes the boards of township trustees to submit a question of merger to the 

voters of the townships to be merged, for their approval. 

 Prohibits a merger from being proposed again for at least three years if the merger 

was disapproved by the voters. 

 Authorizes state institutions of higher education to participate in joint projects with 

a joint recreation district and other contracting subdivisions. 

 Adds educational facilities as one of the projects that may be jointly acquired, 

constructed, operated, or maintained. 

 Increases from $10,000 to $25,000 the threshold amount that triggers competitive 

bidding for service contracts entered into by a board of park trustees for municipal 

park improvements. 

 Requires a board of county commissioners to provide office space and utilities to the 

county's general health district board of health through FY 2011. 

 Requires the board of county commissioners to pay in FY 2012 through FY 2015 

specified decreasing proportions of the estimated costs of office space and utilities, 

with no obligation to provide or pay for office space and utilities after FY 2015. 

 Authorizes a board of county commissioners to donate or sell property, buildings, 

and furnishings to any board of health of a general or combined health district. 

 Authorizes a board of county commissioners to adopt a quarterly spending plan or 

amended spending plan for appropriations from any county fund for any county 

office, department, or division under certain circumstances. 

 Authorizes the board also to adopt a two-year spending plan or amended spending 

plan with a quarterly schedule of expenses and expenditures of appropriations for 

personal services and payrolls from any county fund, for any county office, 

department, or division under certain circumstances. 
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 Allows townships to compensate the township fiscal officer and township trustees 

from various township funds, in addition to the township general fund, based on 

the proportion of time the fiscal officer or township trustee spends providing 

services related to each fund. 

 Requires the township fiscal officer and township trustees to certify the percentage 

of time spent working on matters to be paid from the township general fund and 

other township funds. 

 Permits a board of township trustees to request that expenses incurred by a county 

board of elections in relation to a township tax levy ballot issue be withheld from a 

particular township fund credited with tax revenue in a tax settlement. 

 Allows general obligation bonds issued by a county to finance the acquisition or 

construction of real property to have a maximum maturity of up to 40 years if 

supported by a certification as to the property's estimated useful life. 

 Creates, until November 5, 2013, an alternative procedure for municipal 

corporations and townships to join a regional transit authority (RTA) that levies a 

property tax and that includes in the RTA membership, political subdivisions that 

are located in a county having a population of at least 400,000 by placing the issue 

on the ballot; until November 5, 2013, allows a municipal corporation or township 

that is a member of such an RTA to withdraw from the RTA by placing the issue on 

the ballot; and allows a municipal corporation or township that withdraws from an 

RTA after placing the issue on the ballot to contract for the provision of 

transportation services. 

 Creates a new procedure whereby one or more municipal corporations, whether or 

not adjacent to one another, may merge with an adjacent municipal corporation, the 

unincorporated area of a township may merge with one or more municipal 

corporations, or one or more municipal corporations, whether or not adjacent to one 

another, may merge with an adjacent unincorporated area of a township. 

 Requires the legislative authorities of the municipal corporations and the township 

to enter into a merger agreement that specifies the conditions of the proposed 

merger in identical ordinances and resolutions that are adopted by a simple majority 

vote of each legislative authority, subject to voter referendum. 

 Authorizes the legislative authorities of the municipal corporations and township, if 

any, proposed for merger to present the question of merger to the voters before 

merging. 
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 Mandates that a municipal corporation merging into a township has only the rights, 

powers, and responsibilities afforded by law to townships, and that all other 

authority ceases to exist on the effective date of the merger. 

 Permits the board of county commissioners to adopt a resolution requiring the 

County Automatic Data Processing Board to assume the duties of the County 

Records Commission and the County Microfilming Board, which resolution must 

specify the date on which the duties will be transferred. 

 Requires, if such a resolution is adopted to expand the duties of the County 

Automatic Data Processing Board, the prosecuting attorney, county engineer, 

county coroner, sheriff, and a judge of the court of common pleas to be added to the 

membership of the board. 

 Specifies that,  after such a resolution is adopted, no county office may purchase, 

lease, operate, or contract for the use of any automatic data processing equipment, 

software, or services; microfilming equipment or services; records center or archives 

facilities; or any other image processing or electronic data processing or record-

keeping equipment, software, or services without prior approval of the board. 

 Specifies that, if such a resolution is adopted, the functions, powers, duties, and 

obligations of the County Records Commission and the County Microfilming Board 

are transferred and assigned to, devolved upon, and assumed by the County 

Automatic Data Processing Board, and the County Automatic Data Processing 

Board must be deemed to constitute the continuation of the County Records 

Commission and the County Microfilming Board. 

 Permits the county automatic data processing board to establish an automatic data 

processing center, microfilming center, records center, archives, and any other 

centralized or decentralized facilities it considers necessary to fulfill its duties, and 

specifies that these centralized facilities must be used by all county offices. 

 Requires the county auditor to prepare an annual estimate of the revenues and 

expenditures of the county automatic data processing board and submit it to the 

board of county commissioners, and specifies that the board's funds are to be 

disbursed by the county auditor's warrant drawn on the county treasury five days 

after receipt of a voucher approved by a majority of that board and by a majority of 

the board of county commissioners. 

 Permits a county automatic data processing board to enter into a contract with the 

legislative authority of a political subdivision or special district, with the board of 

county commissioners or the automatic data processing board or microfilming 
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board of any other county, or with any other federal or state governmental agency to 

provide microfilming, automatic data processing, or other image processing or 

electronic data processing or record-keeping services to any of them. 

 Expands the authority of a county microfilming board to include other image 

processing equipment, software, or services. 

 For a county automatic data processing board that is not expanded by resolution, 

expands its authority to include electronic data processing or record-keeping 

equipment, software, or services. 

 Repeals the statutes that require the Public Health Council to adopt rules governing 

the licensure and inspection of marinas. 

 Instead requires a board of health within whose jurisdiction a marina is located to 

adopt rules governing the inspection of and issuance of licenses for marinas, and 

requires the rules to require at a minimum annual inspections. 

 Authorizes a board of health to levy a fee for a marina license in accordance with 

procedures established in the Health Districts Law. 

 Establishes procedures for the transition from the operation of the Public Health 

Council rules governing marinas in a health district in which a marina is located on 

the provision's effective date to the applicable board of health's rules. 

 Repeals the statutes that require the Public Health Council to adopt rules governing 

the licensure and inspection of agricultural labor camps. 

 Instead requires a board of health within whose jurisdiction an agricultural labor 

camp is located to adopt rules governing the inspection of and issuance of licenses 

for agricultural labor camps, and requires the rules to require at a minimum annual 

inspections. 

 Authorizes a board of health to levy a fee for an agricultural labor camp license in 

accordance with procedures established in the Health Districts Law. 

 Establishes procedures for the transition from the operation of the Public Health 

Council rules governing agricultural labor camps in a health district in which an 

agricultural labor camp is located on the provision's effective date to the applicable 

board of health's rules. 

 Expands the scope of the contracting authority of a county sewer district when 

conveying water supply facilities and sewer facilities to a municipal corporation. 
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 Prohibits the pay ranges for a county public defender and a joint county public 

defender from exceeding the pay ranges for county prosecutors. 

 Declares that whenever any portion of a regional water and sewer district is 

incorporated as, or annexed to, a municipal corporation, the area incorporated or 

annexed remains under the jurisdiction of the district for purposes of the acquisition, 

construction, or operation of a water resource project until the project's completion 

or abandonment. 

 Establishes new contracting authority for regional water and sewer districts 

regarding the conveyance of water resource projects to municipal corporations. 

 Prohibits the use of political subdivision funds, with limited exception, for paying 

the costs, premiums, or charges associated with a health care policy, contract, or 

plan that provides coverage, benefits, or services related to nontherapeutic abortion. 

 Defines "nontherapeutic abortion" to be any abortion that is performed when the life 

of the mother would not be endangered if the fetus was carried to term, or the 

pregnancy was not the result of a reported rape or incest.  

 Allows for the use of political subdivision funds to pay for the costs, premiums, or 

charges associated with a health care policy, contract, or plan that includes a rider or 

other provision offered on an individual basis that allows an individual to obtain a 

nontherapeutic abortion if the individual pays all of the costs associated with the 

rider or other provision.  

 Authorizes a political subdivision to certify past due receivables to the Attorney 

General for collection. 

 Exempts from public records law usage information, including the names and 

addresses of specific residential and commercial customers of municipally owned or 

operated utilities. 

 Applies a provision allowing journalists to request the address of certain 

government employees to journalistic requests for customer information maintained 

by a municipally owned or operated public utility, other than private financial 

information. 

 Consolidates, into one provision of law, the records retention procedure that 

currently applies recurrently to municipal corporations, school districts, educational 

service centers, libraries, special taxing districts, and townships. 
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 Revises and clarifies the procedure used by the Ohio Historical Society for selecting 

records of continuing historical value before the entities described above dispose of 

records. 

 Expands the training or educational programs the Attorney General may offer to 

include the records retention procedure. 

 Moves the date for meetings of a county microfilming board from the third Monday 

in January to the second Monday in January. 

 Prohibits the use of any institution, structure, equipment, or physical asset that is 

owned, leased, or controlled by the state or any political subdivision, with limited 

exception, for performing or inducing a nontherapeutic abortion. 

 Establishes procedures for the exclusion of a municipal corporation from the 

territory of a sanitary district established solely for the reduction of biting 

arthropods. 

 Authorizes boards of township trustees to make and enforce all needful rules and 

regulations for burial, interment, reinterment, or disinterment in the township 

cemetery. 

 Specifies that notices of sheriff sales must be published at least once a week for three 

consecutive weeks before the day of the sale. 

 Specifies that disbursements of certain fees collected by local trial courts are subject 

to appropriation by the board of county commissioners or, in the case of certain fees 

collected by municipal courts that are not county-operated, subject to appropriation 

by the legislative authority of the municipal corporation. 

 

 

Publication of public notices and advertisements 

Sub. H.B. 101 of the 126th General Assembly created the Local Government 

Public Notice Task Force, consisting of 22 members, and assigned the Task Force the 

task of reviewing public notice requirements for local governments to decide if the 

notice requirements are still needed, to determine if there are other methods to fulfill 

those requirements, and to determine if any changes in the publication methods would 

enhance public availability and provide cost savings to local governments.  The Task 

Force issued a report of its findings on May 31, 2008.  The bill implements a few of the 

Task Force's recommendations.  The bill also revises some of the publication 

requirements for state agencies. 
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Qualification standards for a "newspaper of general circulation" 

(R.C. 7.12(A); over 200 R.C. sections in the bill; repeal of R.C. 7.14 and 701.04) 

The bill modifies the requirements for a newspaper to qualify as a "newspaper of 

general circulation" in which legal publication of notices and advertisements are made 

as required by law.  The bill revises numerous local government notice and 

advertisement statutes throughout the Revised Code to provide that publication must 

be made in a newspaper of general circulation in a political subdivision, rather than in a 

newspaper published in the political subdivision.  The bill eliminates the requirements of 

publication in newspapers of opposite politics, in two newspapers, or in newspapers 

with second-class mailing privileges and instead uses the standard of publishing notices 

and advertisements in a newspaper of general circulation.  Except for daily law journals 

that existed before July 1, 2001, for purposes of the Revised Code, the bill defines a 

"newspaper" or "newspaper of general circulation" as a publication bearing a title or 

name that is regularly issued at least once a week, and that: 

  Is printed in the English language using standard printing methods, being not 

less than eight pages in the broadsheet format or 16 pages in the tabloid format. 

  Contains at least 25% editorial content, including local news, political 

information, and local sports. 

  Has been published continuously for at least three years immediately 

preceding legal publication by the state agency or political subdivision. 

  Is circulated generally by United States mail or carrier delivery in the political 

subdivision responsible for legal publication, or in the state, if legal publication is made 

by a state agency, by proof of a United States Postal Service "Statement of Ownership, 

Management, and Circulation," PS Form 3526, filed with the local postmaster, or by 

proof of an independent audit of the publication performed within the 12 months 

immediately preceding legal publication. 

  Has the ability to add subscribers to its distribution list. 

Under existing law, to qualify as a newspaper in which notices and 

advertisements may be published, the newspaper must be published in the political 

subdivision, or if no newspaper is published in the subdivision, it must be of general 

circulation therein.  If there are less than two newspapers published in the political 

subdivision, then publication must be made in a newspaper regularly issued at stated 

intervals from a known office of publication located in the political subdivision.  Under 

existing law, except for daily law journals in which a judge serves legal notices and 

publishes the court calendar and other matters pending in the court, the newspaper 
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must bear a title or name, be regularly issued at least once a week for a definite price or 

consideration paid for by not less than 50% of those to whom distribution is made, have 

a second-class mailing privilege, be not less than four pages, be published continuously 

during the immediately preceding one-year period, and be circulated generally in the 

subdivision in which it is published.  Additionally, the newspaper must be of a type to 

which the general public resorts for passing events of a political, religious, commercial, 

and social nature, current happenings, announcements, miscellaneous reading matter, 

advertisements, and other notices. 

The bill repeals two provisions218 that allow publication of notices in a newspaper 

of general circulation when no newspaper is published in the place designated in a 

statute or when a publisher refuses to insert a notice in the publisher's newspaper.  This 

"out" is no longer needed because the bill establishes the general standard that notices 

and advertisements are to be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the 

political subdivision. 

Mediation procedure if newspaper's qualifications are in question 

(R.C. 7.12(B)) 

Any person who questions whether a publication is a newspaper of general 

circulation in which notices or advertisements may be published may request mediation 

to determine the matter.  Under the bill, the person who questions the newspaper's 

qualifications may deliver a written request for mediation to the publisher of the 

publication and to the court of common pleas of the county in which is located the 

political subdivision in which the publication is circulated, or in the Franklin County 

Court of Common Pleas if legal publication is required to be made by a state agency.  

The court of common pleas must appoint a mediator, and the parties must follow the 

procedures of the mediation program operated by the court. 

Alternative publication procedure for notices or advertisements 

(R.C. 7.16 and various R.C. sections in the bill) 

In many instances, continuing law or an administrative rule requires a state 

agency or political subdivision to publish notices or advertisements more than twice.  

The bill establishes an alternative publication procedure that political subdivisions, and, 

in some cases, state agencies, may choose to follow for publication of notices and 

advertisements.  The bill provides that if a codified statute or administrative rule 

requires a political subdivision to publish a notice or advertisement two or more times 

                                                 
218 R.C. 7.14 and 701.04. 
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in a newspaper of general circulation and the statute or rule refers to the alternative 

publication procedure, the first publication of the notice or advertisement must be made 

in its entirety in a newspaper of general circulation and may be made in a pre-printed 

insert in the newspaper.  But the second publication otherwise required by that codified 

statute or administrative rule may be made in abbreviated form in a newspaper of 

general circulation in the state or in the political subdivision, as designated in that 

statute or rule, and on the newspaper's Internet web site (if any exists).  The state 

agency or political subdivision may eliminate any further newspaper publications 

required by that codified statute or administrative rule, provided that the second, 

abbreviated notice or advertisement in the newspaper: 

(1)  Is published in the newspaper in which it was first published and on that 

newspaper's Internet web site, if the newspaper has one; 

(2)  Includes a title, followed by a summary paragraph or statement that clearly 

describes the specific purpose of the notice or advertisement, and a statement that the 

notice or advertisement is posted in its entirety on the state public notice web site 

established by the Office of Information Technology219 (see "State public notice web 

site," above).  The notice or advertisement also may be posted on the state agency's or 

political subdivision's web site. 

(3)  Includes the Internet addresses of the state public notice web site, and of the 

newspaper's and state agency's or political subdivision's web site, if the notice or 

advertisement is posted on those web sites, and the name, address, telephone number, 

and e-mail address of the state agency, political subdivision, or other party responsible 

for the publication. 

In choosing to use this alternative publication procedure, a notice or 

advertisement published on a web site must be published in its entirety in accordance 

with the codified statute or administrative rule that requires publication.  And if a state 

agency or political subdivision does not operate and maintain, or ceases to operate and 

maintain, an Internet web site, and if the state public notice web site is not operational, 

the state agency or political subdivision cannot publish a notice or advertisement under 

this alternative procedure, but instead must comply with the original publication 

requirements. 

The bill does not revise laws that already require a less stringent publication 

standard whereby a local government may refer to its web site in the first newspaper 

publication of a notice or advertisement, for example R.C. 307.37, 505.75, or 731.14, 

among other statutes.  The bill also does not eliminate the requirement that a board of 

                                                 
219 See R.C. 125.182. 
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elections post election notices on its web site, if any is operated and maintained by the 

board, for 30 days prior to an election (see, for example, R.C. 511.34 or 5705.196). 

Government rate for publication and free Internet postings 

(R.C. 7.10 and 7.11) 

Continuing law allows newspaper publishers to charge the public officers of 

state and local governments for publication of advertisements, notices, and 

proclamations, except those relating to proposed amendments to the Ohio Constitution.  

Under existing law, the publishers may charge the same rates they charge under annual 

contracts for a like amount of space to other advertisers who advertise in the 

newspaper's general display advertising columns.  The bill requires newspaper 

publishers to instead establish and charge public officers of a county, municipal 

corporation, township, school, or other political subdivision (but not public officers of 

the state) a government rate for the publication of advertisements, notices, and 

proclamations, which must include free publication of them on the newspaper's 

Internet web site, if the newspaper has one.  The government rate cannot exceed the 

lowest classified advertising rate and lowest insert rate paid by other advertisers.  In 

addition, the government rate must be charged for various types of notices printed in 

display form, rather than the commercial rate. 

The bill also requires that all legal advertisements and notices be printed in 

newspapers of general circulation and be posted on the state public notice web site and 

on a newspaper's Internet web site, if the newspaper has one. 

Costs of publishing delinquent tax lists 

(R.C. 319.54, 4503.06(H), and 5721.04) 

Continuing law allows county auditors to apportion the costs of publishing 

delinquent manufactured home tax lists, delinquent personal or real property tax lists, 

delinquent vacant land tax lists, and display notices among the taxing districts in 

proportion to the amount of delinquent taxes advertised in each taxing district.  The bill 

creates another method by which county auditors may collect publication costs.  Under 

the bill, a county auditor may charge the owner of a home or land on a list a flat fee for 

the cost of publishing the list and, if the fee is not paid, may place the fee upon the tax 

duplicate as a lien on each listed home or land, to be collected as other manufactured 

home or real property taxes. 
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Publication of delinquent tax lists 

(R.C. 5719.04 and 5721.03) 

The bill provides that a delinquent personal property tax list, delinquent tax list, 

and delinquent vacant land tax list must be published in a "newspaper of general 

circulation," as defined in the bill, and may be published on a pre-printed insert in the 

newspaper.  Otherwise, the bill does not change the number of times these lists must be 

published, nor does it allow publication of these lists under the bill's alternative 

publication procedure. 

Under the bill, the cost of the second publication of any one of these lists cannot 

exceed three-fourths of the cost of the first publication of the list. 

Notices pertaining to sales or foreclosures of delinquent land 

(R.C. 323.73(A), 2329.26(A), 5721.18(B), 5721.31(C), and 5722.13) 

Notices of public auctions of abandoned land or land held by a subdivision 

under a land reutilization program, of sales of land taken in execution of a judgment, of 

foreclosures, and of sales of delinquent land tax certificates must continue to be 

published the number of times required by continuing law and may not be published 

under the bill's alternative publication procedure.  However, the bill requires that these 

notices be published in a "newspaper of general circulation." 

Publishing summaries of local government rules, ordinances, and 
resolutions 

Existing law, for example R.C. 307.791, 705.16, and 731.21, among other statutes, 

provides that upon passage of a local government's rule, ordinance, or resolution, its 

complete text, or a succinct summary of it, must be published in the newspaper or, in 

some cases, in two newspapers of general circulation.  The bill requires that a succinct 

summary of the rule, ordinance, or resolution be published in a newspaper of general 

circulation, rather than the entire rule, ordinance, or resolution. 

Political subdivision shared services 

(R.C. 9.482) 

The bill authorizes political subdivisions to enter into agreements with other 

political subdivisions under which a contracting political subdivision agrees to exercise 

any power, perform any function, or render any service for another contracting 

recipient subdivision that the contracting recipient political subdivision is otherwise 

legally authorized to exercise, perform, or render.  The respective legislative authorities 
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of the contracting political subdivisions must approve the subdivisions' participation in 

the agreement. 

If the agreement does not determine the officer, office, department, agency, or 

other authority by which the powers and duties of a contracting political subdivision 

are to be exercised or performed, the legislative authority of the contracting political 

subdivision must determine and assign the powers and duties. 

The contracting authority is limited in that a political subdivision must not enter 

into any agreement to levy any tax or to exercise, with regard to public moneys, any 

investment powers, perform any investment functions, or render any investment 

service on behalf of a contracting political subdivision.  This limitation does not apply to 

agreements for the shared collection, enforcement, or administration of taxes.  Similarly, 

the bill does not limit the ability of subdivisions to create and operate joint economic 

development districts or joint economic development zones. 

An agreement does not suspend the possession by a contracting recipient 

political subdivision of any power or function that is exercised or performed on its 

behalf by another contracting political subdivision under the agreement. 

The bill prohibits any power from being exercised, any function from being 

performed, or any service from being rendered by a contracting political subdivision 

pursuant to an agreement, within a political subdivision that is not a party to the 

agreement, without first obtaining the written consent of the political subdivision that is 

not a party to the agreement and within which the power is to be exercised, a function 

is to be performed, or a service is to be rendered. 

The bill specifies that the political subdivision tort liability law applies to political 

subdivisions that are parties to an agreement and to their employees when they are 

rendering a service outside the boundaries of their employing political subdivisions 

under an agreement.  In current law, a political subdivision is not liable in damages in a 

civil action for injury, death, or loss to person or property allegedly caused by any act or 

omission of the political subdivision or an employee of the political subdivision in 

connection with a governmental or proprietary function, except in cases of negligence. 

The bill also allows employees acting outside the boundaries of their employing 

political subdivision, while providing a service under an agreement, to participate in 

any pension or indemnity fund established by the political subdivision to the same 

extent as while they are acting within the boundaries of the political subdivision, and 

entitles them to all the rights and benefits of the Workers' Compensation Law to the 

same extent as while they are performing a service within the boundaries of the political 

subdivision. 
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Regional councils of governments 

(R.C. 167.081) 

The bill permits a regional council of governments220 to enter into a contract that 

establishes a unit price for, and provides upon a per unit basis, materials, labor, 

services, overhead, profit, and associated expenses for the repair, enlargement, 

improvement, or demolition of a building or structure if the contract is awarded 

pursuant to a competitive bidding procedure of a county, municipal corporation, or 

township or a special district, school district, or other political subdivision that is a 

council member; a statewide consortium of which the council is a member; or a 

multistate consortium of which the council is a member.  The bill specifies that 

purchases under such a contract are exempt from any competitive selection or bidding 

requirements otherwise required by law. 

Additionally, the bill permits a county, municipal corporation, or township and a 

special district, school district, or other political subdivision that is a council member to 

participate in such a contract.  However, such a council member is not entitled to 

participate in such a contract if it has received bids for the same work under another 

contract, unless participation in the council's contract will enable the council member to 

obtain the same work, upon the same terms, conditions, and specifications, at a lower 

price. 

The bill specifies that a public notice requirement pertaining to the contract must 

be considered to have been met if the public notice is given once a week for at least two 

consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation within a county in Ohio in 

which the council has members and if the notice is posted on the council's Internet web 

site for at least two consecutive weeks before the date specified for receiving bids. 

                                                 
220 Chapter 167. of the Revised Code permits political subdivisions to enter into an agreement creating a 

regional council of government to, among other powers, promote cooperative arrangements and 

coordinate action among its members, contract among its members and other governmental agencies and 

private entities to address problems common to its members, and "perform. . . . functions and duties as 

are performed or capable of performance by the members and necessary or desirable for dealing with 

problems of mutual concern."  Governmental council members, the state, and the federal government 

may give the regional council moneys, real and personal property, and services.  Any political 

subdivision may contract with the regional council to provide a service to or receive a service from the 

council, or authorize the council to perform any function or render any service on behalf of the political 

subdivision. 
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Sale and leaseback agreements for county buildings 

(R.C. 307.093) 

The bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to enter into a sale and 

leaseback agreement under which the board agrees to convey a county-owned building 

to a purchaser who is obligated, immediately upon closing, to lease the building back to 

the board.  The sale and leaseback agreement is to obligate the lessor to make 

improvements to the building, including renovations, energy conservation measures, 

and other measures that are necessary to improve the functionality and reduce the 

operating costs of the building.  This authority is not subject to the limitations imposed 

by current law with respect to the sale and lease of county property. 

Lake Facilities Authority 

(R.C. 353.01 to 353.17 and 5705.55 with conforming changes in R.C. 133.01, 135.80, 

309.09, 4928.01, 5705.01, 5709.19, and 5739.026)  

Authorization and creation 

(R.C. 353.01 and 353.02) 

The bill authorizes one or more boards of county commissioners of one or more 

counties that contain property in a "distressed watershed" to create by resolution a Lake 

Facilities Authority (LFA or Joint LFA) to rehabilitate, improve, or promote the 

watershed.  The resolution must contain a finding that the watershed is a "distressed 

watershed."  A distressed watershed is one that meets all of the following conditions: 

(1)  The last resolution necessary to create the LFA is adopted by the end of the 

second calendar year following the year in which the watershed was designated by the 

Director of Natural Resources as a "watershed in distress" pursuant to R.C. 1511.02.221 

(2)  The watershed contains territory in a state park that has averaged at least 

400,000 visitors per year for the four calendar years immediately preceding the year in 

which the last resolution is adopted. 

(3)  The watershed contains a natural or man-made lake of at least one-half 

square mile that, within the last two years, has experienced levels of microcystin toxins 

in excess of 80 ppb, as measured by the Ohio EPA.222 

                                                 
221 In a report dated January 18, 2011, DNR's Division of Soil and Water Resources designated the Grand 

Lake St. Mary's Watershed as a watershed in distress under this statute.  The watershed is located 

primarily in Mercer County with some territory in Western Auglaize County. 
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Within 60 days after the creation of an LFA, the county engineer of each county 

with territory in the distressed watershed is required to prepare a survey denoting the 

distressed watershed's boundaries in the county.  (The territory of a watershed is 

determined by the U.S. Geological Survey.)  The cost of the survey may be paid by the 

LFA if requested by all county engineers conducting the survey.  Each participating 

county may advance funds to the LFA for that purpose. 

Once an LFA is created, no special district with powers or duties similar to the 

LFA's may be created if the district would include territory in the "impacted lake 

district," which is defined to mean the territory of all townships and municipal 

corporations with any territory in the distressed watershed. 

Governance and regulation 

(R.C. 353.04) 

An LFA is governed by a board of directors, consisting of the county 

commissioners of each county with territory in the impacted lake district.  Its fiscal 

officer and legal advisor are the county auditor and county prosecutor, respectively, of 

the county with the greatest amount of territory in the distressed watershed.  The 

county prosecutor is required to prosecute and defend all suits and actions the LFA 

directs or to which the LFA is a party.   

The LFA board is subject to open meetings and public records laws.  The board 

may hold closed meetings and protect confidential information under the same 

circumstances as authorized for a community improvement corporation under 

R.C. 1724.11 (generally, financial or proprietary information submitted by a business in 

relation to the relocation or expansion of the business is confidential).  Laws regarding 

sovereign immunity for public employees apply to the LFA.   

The board is required to consult with an advisory council, consisting of one 

appointee from each political subdivision with territory in the impacted lake district.  

The board must provide notice of the LFA's existence and the process for the 

appointment of an advisory council to each such political subdivision within 60 days 

after the LFA's creation. 

                                                                                                                                                             
222 Microcystin toxins are released by microcystis, or cyanobacterium, which are single-celled blue green 

alga that occur naturally in surface waters.  Microcystis can proliferate to form dense blooms and mats 

under certain conditions.  Ingestion of water or algal cells containing microcystin has produced adverse 

effects in fish, dogs, cats, livestock and humans.  See State of California, Office of Health Hazard 

Assessment, http://oehha.ca.gov. 
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Each year, the board is required to prepare an annual report of its activities and 

make it available to the public. 

General powers 

(R.C. 353.03) 

In addition to the authority to incur and pay the costs of activities that remediate, 

rehabilitate, enhance, foster, aid, improve, provide, or promote a distressed watershed, 

the bill grants the following general powers to an LFA.  The LFA may: 

 Acquire, improve, or sell real and personal property; 

 Adopt and enforce reasonable rules governing the use of distressed 

watersheds; 

 Employ managers, administrative officers, agents, engineers, architects, 

attorneys, contractors, sub-contractors, and employees, and require bonds 

to be given by any such persons and by officers of the authority for the 

faithful performance of their duties; 

 Sue and be sued; 

 Make and enter into contracts and agreements and execute instruments 

(see "Construction contracts; prevailing wage"); 

 Accept aid or contributions; 

 Apply for and accept grants, loans, or commitments of guarantee or 

insurance, including any guarantees of its bonds and notes; 

 Procure insurance; 

 Maintain funds or reserves as it considers necessary for the efficient 

performance of its duties; 

 Enforce any covenants running with the land, of which the lake facilities 

authority is the beneficiary; 

 Waive, reduce, or terminate any LFA development charge to the extent 

not needed (see "Property charge"); 

 Appropriate land, easement, rights, rights-of-way, franchises, or other 

property in the distressed watershed; 
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 Issue general obligation bonds or notes for the remediation of a distressed 

watershed if approved by electors residing in the impacted lake district, 

not to exceed one mill per dollar of taxable value (0.1%) of all property 

within the impacted lake district; 

 Issue revenue bonds beyond the limit of bonded indebtedness provided 

by law (see "LFA revenue bonds"); 

 Advise and provide input to political subdivisions within the impacted 

lake district with respect to zoning and land use planning within the 

impacted lake district; 

 Enter into agreements for the management, ownership, possession, or 

control of lands to be used for wetland mitigation banking; 

 With the approval of the Director of Natural Resources with respect to a 

state park, charge user fees within the distressed watershed, including, 

but not limited to, dock fees and campsite fees. 

Construction contracts; prevailing wage 

(R.C. 353.03(F)) 

With respect to contracts for the construction of buildings, structures, or other 

improvements exceeding $25,000, the LFA is required to use a competitive bidding 

process and to select the lowest responsive and responsible bidder, who must be 

determined in accordance with a general law governing the factors to be applied in 

determining responsive and responsible bids (R.C. 9.312).  In certain circumstances, the 

board may decline to use the competitive bidding process: 

 There exists a real and present emergency that threatens damage to 

property or injury to persons of the lake facilities authority or other 

persons. 

 A commonly recognized industry or other standard or specification does 

not exist and cannot objectively be articulated for the improvement. 

 The contract is for any energy conservation measure. 

 With respect to material to be incorporated into the improvement, only a 

single source or supplier exists. 

 A single bid is received. 

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/9.312
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With respect to any construction contract, the LFA may choose to subject the 

project to prevailing wage requirements. 

LFA revenue sources 

In addition to issuing general obligation bonds and charging dock fees (see 

"General powers"), the bill authorizes an LFA to generate revenue by means of a 

property tax, property charge, lodging tax, revenue bonds, and anticipation bonds and 

notes.  In addition, a county is authorized to levy any unused sales tax authority or re-

designate the purpose of a sales and use tax it currently levies to provide funds to an 

LFA. 

Property tax 

(R.C. 353.05 and 5705.55) 

The LFA board of directors, by vote of two-thirds of all its members, may levy a 

property tax on all taxable property in the impacted lake district.  The tax must be 

approved by impacted lake district electors.  The tax may be levied for current 

expenses, permanent improvements, debt charges, or park and recreation purposes.  

The tax rate may not exceed one mill per dollar of taxable value (0.10%).  The levy's 

duration may not exceed five years unless the tax is levied for debt purposes, in which 

case it must be levied for the duration of the bond indebtedness.  The resolution 

proposing the tax must be certified by the LFA to the county board of elections at least 

90 days before the election.  Ongoing law regarding the submission of a property tax to 

voters applies to the LFA tax. 

If an LFA levies a property tax for a tax year, no other taxing authority may levy 

a tax on property in the impacted lake district in the same year if the purpose of the levy 

is "substantially the same as" the purpose for which the LFA was created.  (The bill does 

not address how this would be determined or by whom.) 

Property charge 

(R.C. 353.06) 

An LFA board of directors may levy a "development charge" on property within 

the distressed watershed for any purpose for which the LFA was created.  The charge 

must be approved by the electors of the distressed watershed.  The charge may be 

apportioned to each parcel according to the benefit conferred on the property by the 

LFA remediation efforts or by the measurable pollution or other harm caused by the 

property owner.  In no case, however, may the charge exceed one mill per dollar (0.1%) 

of the true value of the property.  The charge may be levied for up to 30 years. 
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The LFA board must prepare a list of all properties to be subject to the charge 

and the estimated amount of the charges.  Not later than 30 days before the election, the 

board must place the listing on file in the LFA office and give notice by publication to 

property owners to be assessed.  If voters approve the charge, at least 30 days after the 

election the board must provide a final assessment notice by mail to each property 

owner for the first year of the charge, which the property owners must then pay.  

Thereafter, the charge will be collected in the same manner as property taxes.  Unpaid 

charges are subject to a 10% penalty and interest at the same rate as is charged for late 

property tax payments. 

LFA lodging tax 

(R.C. 353.07) 

The resolution creating the LFA may authorize it to levy a lodging tax in the 

impacted lake district with voter approval.  The tax would apply to all transaction by 

which lodging in a hotel or rental of a public or private campground is furnished to 

transient guests.  The tax may be levied to pay the cost of permanent improvements, to 

pay debt charges on LFA tax anticipation bonds, or for LFA current expenses.  The rate 

of the tax, when added to the aggregate rate of all other lodging taxes applicable in the 

impacted lake district, may not cause the total aggregate rate to exceed 5%. 

Anticipation bonds and notes 

(R.C. 353.09) 

The bill authorizes an LFA that levies a property tax or development charge to 

anticipate the proceeds of the tax or charge by issuing anticipation bonds.  In 

anticipation of the bond proceeds, the LFA also may issue anticipation notes.  The notes 

appear required to mature not later than 20 years after their issuance, and the bonds 

appear required to mature not later than 40 years after issuance.  Bond proceeds are to 

be pledged to the payment of the notes, and proceeds from the tax or charge are to be 

pledged to the payment of the bonds.  The bill states that the anticipation bonds and 

notes satisfy the Constitution's "sinking fund" requirement that prohibits debt issuance 

unless a tax is levied sufficient to meet ongoing debt charges. 

LFA revenue bonds 

(R.C. 353.10 to 353.17) 

The bill authorizes an LFA to issue revenue bonds in such amounts as the LFA 

considers necessary.  The bonds are to be paid out of the revenues of the LFA that are 

pledged for such payment.  The LFA may retire revenue bonds with revenue refunding 

bonds.  Revenue bonds issued in the form of a note must mature not later than five 
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years after issuance, and bonds must mature not later than 45 years from the date of 

issuance.  The bonds may be sold at a public auction or through a private sale.  The 

bonds and notes do not constitute a debt, or a pledge of the full faith and credit, of the 

state or any political subdivision. 

Wetland mitigation banking 

(R.C. 353.08) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Natural Resources to transfer real property 

owned by the state to an LFA for the purpose of promoting wetland banking, wildlife, 

or sporting activities.  Also, the Division of Wildlife within the Department of Natural 

Resources may enter into an agreement with an LFA to establish wetland or natural 

areas to benefit wildlife or sporting activities. 

Alternative energy portfolio requirements 

(R.C. 4928.01) 

The bill specifies that energy or fuel derived from algae or manure from an 

impacted lake district is a "renewable energy resource" for purposes of alternative 

energy resource portfolio requirements for electricity generation under current law.  

Those requirements generally require electric distribution utilities to generate 

increasingly greater portions of their overall generating capacity using renewable 

energy resources.223 

Local governments in fiscal distress 

Fiscal caution 

(R.C. 118.025) 

The bill creates a "fiscal caution" designation for municipal corporations, 

counties, and townships (hereinafter, "local governments").  The Auditor of State is to 

develop guidelines for identifying fiscal practices and budgetary conditions of these 

local governments that, if uncorrected, could result in a future declaration of a fiscal 

watch or fiscal emergency as provided in current law.  If the Auditor of State 

determines that a local government is engaging in any of those practices or that any of 

those conditions exist, the Auditor of State may declare the local government to be 

under a "fiscal caution." 

                                                 
223 R.C. 4928.64, not in the bill. 
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Upon such a declaration, the Auditor of State must promptly notify the local 

government and request it to provide written proposals for discontinuing or correcting 

the fiscal practices or budgetary conditions that prompted the declaration and for 

preventing it from experiencing further fiscal difficulties that could result in a 

declaration of fiscal watch or fiscal emergency.  The Auditor of State, or a designee, may 

visit and inspect any local government declared to be under a fiscal caution, provide 

technical assistance to the local government in implementing proposals to eliminate the 

designated practices or budgetary conditions, and make recommendations concerning 

those proposals. 

If the Auditor of State finds that a local government declared to be under a fiscal 

caution has not made reasonable proposals or otherwise taken action to discontinue or 

correct the fiscal practices or budgetary conditions that prompted the declaration, and if 

the Auditor of State considers it necessary to prevent further fiscal decline, the Auditor 

of State may determine that the local government should be in a state of fiscal watch. 

Fiscal watch 

(R.C. 118.023) 

The bill requires the mayor of a municipal corporation, the board of county 

commissioners of a county, or the board of township trustees of a township for which a 

fiscal watch was declared, within 120 days after that declaration was made, to submit to 

the Auditor of State a financial recovery plan that identifies the actions to be taken to 

eliminate all of the conditions that prompted the declaration.  The plan must include a 

schedule detailing the approximate dates for beginning and completing those actions 

and a five-year forecast reflecting the effects of the actions.  For good cause shown, the 

Auditor of State may extend the amount of time by which a financial recovery plan is 

required to be filed.  The plan is subject to review and approval by the Auditor of State. 

If a feasible financial recovery plan is not submitted within the 120-day time 

period or within any extension of time granted to the local government, the Auditor of 

State must declare that a fiscal emergency condition exists. 

Fiscal emergency 

Changes regarding financial planning and supervision commissions 

(R.C. 118.05) 

The bill provides an exemption to the current requirement that, upon the 

occurrence of a fiscal emergency in a local government, a financial planning and 

supervision commission is established for that local government with commission 
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membership determined by the size of the local government.  Under the bill, a 

commission is not established with respect to any village or township with a population 

of less than 1,000 as of the most recent federal decennial census.  Upon the occurrence of 

a fiscal emergency in such a village or township, the Auditor of State is to serve as the 

financial supervisor of the village or township with all the powers and responsibilities 

of a commission. 

With regard to commissions for local governments with a population exceeding 

1,000, the bill removes the express authorization for a mayor serving on a commission 

to designate a responsible official or the fiscal officer of the municipal corporation to 

attend commission meetings when the mayor is absent or unable to attend.  

Additionally, if a member appointed by the Governor fails to attend three consecutive 

meetings, the bill permits the chairperson of the commission to remove the individual.  

In that event, the Governor must fill the vacancy in the same manner as the original 

appointment. 

Under current law, a five-member financial planning and supervision 

commission must be established for local governments with populations of less than 

1,000; a seven-member commission must be established for local governments with a 

population of 1,000 or more.   

Financial plans 

(R.C. 118.06) 

The bill requires that the financial plan of a local government in fiscal emergency 

include a five-year forecast reflecting the effects of the actions to be taken, and that the 

plan be updated annually.  If a local government fails to submit the required financial 

plan, or fails to substantially comply with an approved financial plan, upon certification 

of the financial planning and supervision commission, all state funding for that local 

government − other than benefit assistance to individuals − must be escrowed until a 

feasible plan is submitted and approved or substantial compliance with the plan is 

achieved, as the case may be. 

Expenditures 

(R.C. 118.12) 

If a financial plan is not submitted as required, the bill permits the commission − 

if the commission considers it prudent − to limit any non-general fund expenditures of 

the local government.  This is in addition to the limitation on general fund expenditures 

imposed by current law. 
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The bill permits a local government, after its financial plan is approved, to make 

expenditures contrary to the plan if it receives the advance approval of its financial 

supervisor.  The commission, however, may overrule the decision of the financial 

supervisor by a majority vote. 

Municipal corporation or township dissolution 

(R.C. 118.31) 

Upon petition of the financial supervisor of a local government and approval of 

its commission, if any, the Attorney General must file a court action to dissolve a 

municipal corporation or township if all of the following conditions apply: 

(1)  The municipal corporation or township has a population of less than 5,000 as 

of the most recent federal decennial census. 

(2)  The municipal corporation or township has been under a fiscal emergency 

for at least four consecutive years. 

(3)  Implementation of the municipal corporation's or township's financial plan 

cannot reasonably be expected to correct and eliminate all fiscal emergency conditions 

within five years. 

If the court finds that all of those conditions apply, it must appoint a receiver.  

The receiver, under court supervision, is to work with executive and legislative officers 

of the municipal corporation or township to wind up the affairs of the municipal 

corporation or township and dissolve it in accordance with the current law governing 

village dissolution and township boundary changes. 

Prohibited actions 

(R.C. 118.99) 

Officers and employees of a local government under fiscal emergency are 

currently prohibited from taking certain actions relating to its finances and liabilities.  

For example, an officer and employee cannot enter into any contract or financial 

obligation, or transfer or borrow money from one fund of the local government to or for 

another fund, without the required approval of the financial planning and supervision 

commission.  Upon conviction of an officer or employee for violating any of those 

prohibitions, the officer or employee must forfeit the office or employment. 

The bill adds that, for the seven-year period immediately following the date of 

conviction, the officer is ineligible to hold any public office or other position of trust, or 

be employed by any public entity, in Ohio. 
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Reimbursement of the Auditor of State 

(R.C. 118.04) 

The bill clarifies that the Auditor of State is to be reimbursed for any expenses 

incurred relating to a determination or termination of a fiscal emergency, fiscal watch, 

or fiscal caution including technical and support services.  If necessary, the Controlling 

Board may provide sufficient funds for these purposes. 

Cost savings and modified work weeks 

(R.C. 124.34, 124.393, and 124.394) 

The bill establishes and expands programs for counties, townships, and 

municipal corporations for cost savings and modified work week schedules.  The cost 

savings program and modified work week program are not a modification or reduction 

in pay that can be appealed to the State Personnel Board of Review if an employee 

affected thereby is in the classified civil service. 

Cost savings program 

Under the bill, a county, township, or municipal corporation appointing 

authority can establish a mandatory cost savings program applicable to its exempt 

employees.  An "exempt employee" means a permanent full-time or permanent part-

time county, township, or municipal corporation employee who is not subject to a 

collective bargaining agreement between a public employer and an exclusive 

representative. 

Each exempt employee must participate in the mandatory cost savings program 

for not more than 80 hours, as determined by the appointing authority, in each of state 

fiscal years 2010 to 2013.  The program can include a loss of pay or loss of holiday pay.  

The bill permits the program to be administered differently among employees based on 

their classifications, appointment categories, or other relevant distinctions.  A county, 

township, or municipal corporation appointing authority must issue guidelines 

concerning how the appointing authority will implement the cost savings program. 

Additionally, after June 30, 2013, a county, township, or municipal corporation 

appointing authority can implement mandatory cost savings days that apply to its 

exempt employees in the event of a fiscal emergency.  A "fiscal emergency" means:  (1) a 

fiscal emergency declared by the Governor if the Governor determines that the 

available revenue receipts will likely be less than the appropriations for the year, (2) a 

local fiscal watch or fiscal emergency has been declared or determined by the Auditor 

of State, (3) a lack of funds, or (4) reasons of economy.  
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Under current law, only a county appointing authority can establish a 

mandatory cost savings program applicable to its county exempt employees, and only 

for state fiscal years 2010 and 2011.  Thereafter, a county appointing authority can 

implement mandatory cost savings days in the event of a fiscal emergency.  Under 

current law, a fiscal emergency does not include a local fiscal watch or emergency 

declared by the Auditor of State. 

Modified work week schedule program 

The bill authorizes a county, township, or municipal corporation appointing 

authority to establish a modified work week schedule program applicable to its exempt 

employees (as defined above).  Each county, township, or municipal corporation 

exempt employee must participate in any established program in each of state fiscal 

years 2012 and 2013.  

A modified work week schedule program can provide for a reduction from the 

usual number of hours worked during a week by exempt employees immediately 

before the establishment of the program.  The bill allows the reduction in hours to 

include any number of hours so long as the reduction is not more than 50% of the usual 

hours worked by exempt employees immediately before the establishment of the 

program.  The program can be administered differently among exempt employees 

based on classifications, appointment categories, or other relevant distinctions. 

The bill specifies that after June 30, 2013, a county, township, or municipal 

corporation appointing authority can implement a modified work week schedule 

program that applies to its exempt employees in the event of a fiscal emergency (as 

defined above). 

Although the bill appears to confer authority on municipal corporations 

regarding cost savings days and work week modifications, it is likely municipal 

corporations already have authority to establish similar programs under their home 

rule powers of local self-government.224 

County centralized services 

(R.C. 305.23) 

The bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to adopt a resolution 

establishing centralized purchasing, printing, transportation, vehicle maintenance, 

human resources, revenue collection, and mail operation services for a county office.  

                                                 
224 Ohio Constitution, Article XVIII, Sec. 3; see Northern Ohio Patrolmen's Benevolent Ass'n v. Parma (1980), 

61 Ohio St.2d 375. 
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The bill defines "county office" as the offices of the county commissioners, county 

auditor, county treasurer, county engineer, county recorder, county prosecuting 

attorney, county sheriff, county coroner, county park district, veterans service 

commission, clerk of the juvenile court, clerks of court for all divisions of the courts of 

common pleas, including the clerk of the court of common pleas, clerk of a county-

operated municipal court, and clerk of a county court, and any agency, department, or 

division under the authority of, or receiving funding in whole or in part from, any of 

those county offices. 

The bill defines and limits the types of human resources services that a board of 

county commissioners may centralize.  "Human resources" is defined as any and all 

functions relating to human resource management, including civil service, employee 

benefits administration, collective bargaining, labor relations, risk management, 

workers' compensation, unemployment compensation, and any human resource 

management function required by state or federal law, but "human resources" does not 

authorize a board of county commissioners to adopt a resolution establishing a 

centralized human resource service that requires any county office to conform to any 

classification and compensation plan, position description, or organizational structure; 

to determine the rate of compensation of any employee appointed by the appointing 

authority of a county office or the salary ranges for positions of a county office within 

the aggregate limits set in the board's appropriation resolution; to determine the 

number of or the terms of employment of any employee appointed by the appointing 

authority of a county office within the aggregate limits set in the board's appropriation 

resolution; or to exercise powers relating to the hiring, qualifications, evaluation, 

suspension, demotion, disciplinary action, layoff, furloughing, establishment of a 

modified work-week schedule, or the termination of any employee appointed by the 

appointing authority of any county office. 

Before adopting a resolution establishing a centralized service, the board of 

county commissioners, in a written notice, must inform any county office that will be 

impacted by the resolution of the board's desire to establish a centralized service or 

services.  The written notice must include a statement that provides the rationale and 

the estimated savings anticipated in centralizing a service or services.   

In addition, the board may request any other county office to serve as the agent 

and responsible party for administering a centralized service or services.  That county 

office may enter into an agreement with the board of county commissioners to 

administer the centralized service or services under the terms and conditions included 

in the agreement.  However, nothing in the centralized service provision authorizes the 

board of county commissioners to require a county office to serve as the agent and 
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responsible party for administering a centralized service or services at the board's 

request. 

The resolution establishing a centralized service or services must specify all of 

the following: 

(1)  The name of the county office that will be the agent and responsible party for 

administering a centralized service or services, and if the agent and responsible party is 

not the board of county commissioners, the designation of the county office that has 

entered into an agreement with the board to be the agent and responsible party; 

(2)  Which county offices are required to use the centralized services; 

(3)  If not all of the centralized services, which centralized service each county 

office must use; 

(4)  A list of rates and charges the county office must pay for the centralized 

services; 

(5)  The date upon which each county office specified in the resolution must 

begin using the centralized services. 

Not later than ten days after the resolution is adopted, the clerk of the board of 

county commissioners must send a copy of the resolution to each county office that is 

specified in the resolution. 

The bill prohibits the board of county commissioners from centralizing services 

regarding:  (1) purchases made with moneys from the special fund designated as 

"general fund moneys to supplement the equipment needs of the county recorder," 

from the real estate assessment fund, or from the funds that are paid out of the county 

general fund for the furtherance of justice, (2) purchases of financial software used by 

the county auditor, (3) the printing of county property tax bills, (4) the collection of any 

taxes, assessments, and fees the county treasurer is required by law to collect, or (5) 

purchases of computers, software, and micrographic equipment used by the county 

recorder. 

The bill provides that nothing in the centralized service provision authorizes the 

board of county commissioners to have control or authority over funds that are received 

directly by a county office under another statute, or to control, or have authority 

regarding, the expenditure or use of these funds. 
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Continuing education requirements for county recorders 

(R.C. 317.06) 

The bill requires a county recorder who is newly elected to a full term of office to 

attend and successfully complete at least 15 hours of continuing education courses 

during the first year of the recorder's term of office, and to complete at least another 

eight hours of those courses each year of the remaining term.  If elected to a subsequent 

term of office, the bill requires the county recorder to attend and successfully complete 

at least eight hours of continuing education courses in each year of that subsequent 

term of office.  In 86 counties, county recorders are elected for a term of four years.225  

Summit and Cuyahoga counties, which have charters, do not have county recorders but 

instead have officers that function like county recorders.  It appears that under both 

charters, those officers would have to comply with the bill's continuing education 

requirements.226 

Approval of continuing education courses 

To be counted toward the continuing education hours, a course must be 

approved by the Ohio Recorders' Association.  (According to its web site, the Ohio 

Recorders' Association is composed of a president, vice president, treasurer, and 

secretary, all of whom are county recorders.)227  Any county recorder who teaches an 

approved course is entitled to credit for the course in the same manner as if the county 

recorder had attended the course.  Under the bill, the Association must record and, 

upon request, verify the completion of the required course work for each county 

recorder and issue a statement to each county recorder of the number of continuing 

education hours the county recorder has successfully completed.  Each year, the 

Association must send to the Auditor of State a list of the continuing education courses 

and the number of hours each county recorder has successfully completed.  The 

Association also must provide a copy of this list to any other individual who requests it. 

Failure to complete notices 

The bill requires that the Association issue a "failure to complete notice" to any 

county recorder who is required to complete continuing education courses but fails to 

successfully complete: 

                                                 
225 R.C. 317.01, not in the bill. 

226 Section 5.02, Charter of Cuyahoga County; Section 4.01(2), Charter of Summit County, Ohio. 

227 The web site is www.ohiorecorders.com. 
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♦  At least 15 hours of continuing education courses during the first year of the 

county recorder's first term of office, or a total of at least 39 hours of those courses by 

the end of that term, including the 15 hours completed in the first year of the first term; 

♦  At least eight hours of continuing education courses each year of any 

subsequent term of office or a total of at least 32 hours of courses by the end of that 

subsequent term. 

The notice is for informational purposes only and does not affect any individual's 

ability to hold the office of county recorder. 

Costs of continuing education 

Under the bill, each board of county commissioners must approve, from money 

appropriated to the county recorder, a reasonable amount requested by the county 

recorder to cover the costs the county recorder must incur to meet the continuing 

education requirements, including registration fees, lodging and meal expenses, and 

travel expenses. 

Medical care reimbursement rate for confined persons 

(R.C. 341.192) 

The bill establishes the Medicaid reimbursement rate as the amount to be paid to 

a medical provider who is not employed by or under contract with a municipal 

corporation or township for providing medical services to persons confined in 

multicounty, municipal-county, or multicounty-municipal correctional centers.  Under 

continuing law, a county, the Department of Youth Services, or the Department of 

Rehabilitation and Correction pays medical providers that are not employed by or 

under contract with them the Medicaid reimbursement rate to provide medical care to 

persons confined in a county jail or state correctional institution. 
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Joint police districts 

(R.C. 505.482, 505.483, 505.484, 505.51, and 505.551; R.C. 109.64, 109.71, 109.801, 133.01, 

311.29, 311.31, 504.16, 505.105, 505.106, 505.107, 505.108, 505.109, 505.172, 505.267, 505.43, 

505.48, 505.481, 505.483, 505.484, 505.49, 505.491, 505.492, 505.493, 505.494, 505.495, 

505.50, 505.511, 505.52, 505.53, 505.54, 505.541, 505.61, 505.67, 509.15, 511.235, 511.236, 

737.04, 737.041, 737.40, 955.012, 1533.83, 1545.131, 1545.132, 1547.30, 1547.301, 1547.302, 

1547.303, 1547.304, 1907.53, 2151.3515, 2305.232, 2901.01, 2917.40, 2929.71, 2935.01, 

2935.03, 2981.11, 2981.13, 3719.141, 3737.73, 3743.06, 3743.19, 3743.52, 3743.53, 3743.54, 

3743.64, 3767.32, 3937.41, 4117.01, 4513.39, 4513.60, 4513.61, 4513.62, 4513.63, 4513.64, 

4513.66, 4549.17, 4931.40, 5502.52, 5502.522, 5502.61, 5502.68, and 5705.01) 

Composition and governance of the district 

The bill authorizes boards of township trustees of one or more contiguous 

townships and the legislative authorities of one or more contiguous municipal 

corporations, whether or not within the same county, to create, by adopting a joint 

resolution, a joint police district comprising all or any part of the townships or 

municipal corporations as are mutually agreed upon.  Under current law, boards of 

township trustees of two or more contiguous townships may form themselves into a 

joint township police district.  The bill's new joint police district replaces that entity, but 

retains the ability of boards of township trustees of two or more contiguous townships 

to form a joint police district, instead of a joint township police district.  The bill does 

not affect the authority of a township to create a township police district under 

continuing law. 

The joint police district is formed within 30 days after the favorable vote by the 

last board of township trustees or the members of the legislative authority of the last 

municipal corporation joining the district.  The governing body of the joint police 

district is a joint police district board composed of either all of the township trustees of 

each township and all of the members of the legislative authority of each municipal 

corporation in the district, as agreed to in the joint resolution, or of an odd number of 

members as is agreed to in the joint resolution, as long as the members are 

representatives from each board of township trustees of each township and from the 

legislative authority of each municipal corporation in the joint police district.  The joint 

police district board organizes in the same manner as is currently required for a joint 

township police district board, by electing a president, secretary, and treasurer. 

The bill requires the treasurer of the joint police district board to execute a bond 

payable to the state, in the amount and with surety to be approved by the joint police 

district board, conditioned for the faithful performance of all the official duties required 



Legislative Service Commission -486- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

of the treasurer.  The bond must be deposited with the president of the board, and a 

copy of the bond, certified by the president, must be filed with the county auditor.228 

Members of the joint police district police force 

The bill requires the joint police district board, by a majority vote, to appoint a 

chief of police for the district, to determine the number of patrol officers and other 

personnel required by the district, and to establish salary schedules and other 

conditions of employment for the joint police district.229  This is consistent with how a 

joint township police district currently functions.  The members of the joint police 

district police force are required to take peace officer training, are the law enforcement 

officers of the joint police district, and have the same arrest authority and powers as 

municipal or township police officers.230 

Duties of the joint police district board 

The joint police district board has the same powers as a joint township police 

district board has under current law, including, among other various powers, the power 

to do the following: 

(1)  Issue bonds and notes to buy police equipment;231 

(2)  Levy a property tax on property in the joint police district to defray the 

district's expenses in providing police protection;232 

(3)  Purchase or otherwise acquire police apparatus, equipment, including a 

public communications system, or materials that the joint police district requires, and 

build, purchase, lease, or lease with an option to purchase any building, buildings, or 

building site or sites necessary for the police operations of the district;233 

(4)  Establish a parking enforcement unit;234 

                                                 
228 R.C. 505.484. 

229 R.C. 505.49. 

230 R.C. 109.71 and 505.172. 

231 R.C. 133.01, 505.52, and 505.53. 

232 R.C. 505.51 and 5705.01. 

233 R.C. 505.50. 

234 R.C. 505.541. 
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(5)  Purchase insurance policies to indemnify the chief of police, patrol officers, 

and other employees of a joint police district against liability arising from the 

performance of their duties;235 and  

(6)  Provide police protection to other political subdivisions as provided by law. 

Joining or withdrawing from the joint police district 

The bill authorizes a township or municipal corporation, or parts thereof, to join 

an existing joint police district by adopting a resolution or ordinance, as appropriate, by 

the entity requesting participation in the district, and upon approval of the existing joint 

police district board.236 

A township or municipal corporation may withdraw from a joint police district 

by adopting a resolution or an ordinance, respectively, ordering withdrawal.  On or 

after January 1 of the year following the withdrawal resolution or ordinance, the 

township or municipal corporation withdrawing ceases to be a part of the district, and 

the power of the district to levy a property tax in the withdrawing township of 

municipal corporation terminates.  However, the district must continue to levy and 

collect taxes for the payment of indebtedness in the territory of the district as it was 

comprised at the time the indebtedness was incurred. 

The bill requires that when a township or municipal corporation withdraws from 

a joint police district, the county auditor must ascertain, apportion, and order a division 

of the funds on hand and of taxes in process of collection, except for taxes levied for the 

payment of indebtedness, credits, and real and personal property, on the basis of the 

valuation of the respective tax duplicates of the withdrawing township or municipal 

corporation and the remaining territory of the joint police district. 

When there is only one township or municipal corporation remaining in the joint 

police district, the district ceases to exist, and the funds, credits, and property remaining 

after apportionments to the withdrawing townships or municipal corporations are 

assumed by the one remaining township or municipal corporation.  When the district 

ceases to exist and an indebtedness remains unpaid, the board of county commissioners 

must continue to levy and collect taxes for payment of the indebtedness within the 

territory of the joint police district as it was comprised at the time the indebtedness was 

incurred.237 

                                                 
235 R.C. 505.61. 

236 R.C. 505.482. 

237 R.C. 505.551. 
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Township noise regulations 

(R.C. 505.172) 

Under current law, a regulation or order to control noise that is adopted by a 

board of township trustees applies to any business or industry existing and operating 

on October 20, 1999, and applies to any new operation or expansion of that business or 

industry that results in substantially increased noise levels from those generated by that 

business or industry on that date.  The bill eliminates this date restriction and the 

operation and expansion applicability, and applies a township noise regulation or order 

to any business or industry, regardless of when it came into existence. 

The bill makes it permissive, rather than mandatory, for a board of township 

trustees to seek an injunction against a person who violates a regulation or order 

controlling noise. 

Township and village competitive bidding thresholds 

(R.C. 511.01, 511.12, 515.01, 515.07, 521.05, 731.14, and 5549.21) 

The bill increases from $25,000 to $50,000 a township's competitive bidding 

thresholds for all of the following:  (1) constructing a memorial building, monument, 

statue, or memorial, (2) providing artificial lights for any road, highway, public place, 

or building under its supervision or control when the board of township trustees 

determines that public safety or welfare requires lighting, (3) lighting improvements for 

streets and public ways, (4) repairing or maintaining private sewage collection tiles, and 

(5) purchasing or leasing machinery and tools used on roads and culverts.  Current law 

requires that if the total estimated cost of doing (1) to (5) above exceeds $25,000, the 

contract must be let by competitive bidding. 

The bill increases from $10,000 to $50,000 the threshold for submitting a question 

to the electors of the township regarding building, improving, enlarging, or removing a 

town hall. 

The bill increases from $25,000 to $50,000 the competitive bidding threshold for 

expenditures of a village, other than the compensation of persons employed in the 

village, or except where the equipment, services, materials, or supplies are to be 

purchased under a contract with a regional planning commission or the Department of 

Administrative Services, or when the equipment, services, materials, or supplies are 

available, or are required by law to be purchased, from a qualified nonprofit agency.  

Current law requires contracts made by the legislative authority of a village to be 

competitively bid when an expenditure exceeds $25,000. 
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Police constables – limited home rule township 

(R.C. 504.16) 

The bill adds, as one of the methods by which a limited home rule township may 

meet the requirement to provide law enforcement for the township, by designating one 

or more police constables under continuing law.  Under current law, each township that 

adopts a limited home rule government may also, to fulfill this requirement, establish a 

police district, establish a joint township police district, or contract to obtain police 

protection services. 

Merger of townships to form a new township 

Overview 

(R.C. 523.01 to 523.06 and 523.09) 

The bill creates a procedure whereby one or more townships may merge with a 

contiguous township to create a new township, in the manner provided by the bill.  

Merger may be accomplished by initiative petition of the voters of the townships to be 

merged.  The boards of township trustees also may submit the question of merger to the 

voters of the townships proposed to be merged.  The resulting new township has all of, 

and only, the rights, powers, and responsibilities afforded by law to townships. 

Continuing law already authorizes a township to merge with a municipal 

corporation.238  If merger conditions are approved by the voters, the merger takes effect 

with no additional action, and the boundaries of previously unincorporated township 

territory that is merged with the municipal corporation automatically conforms to the 

boundaries of the municipal corporation.239  The bill's new merger procedure does not 

affect such a merger. 

Merger proposed by initiative petition of townships' electors 

(R.C. 523.02) 

A resolution for a merger of townships may be proposed by initiative petition by 

the electors of each township being proposed for merger, and adopted by election by 

these electors under the same circumstances, in the same manner, and subject to the 

same penalties as provided in existing law for presenting initiative petitions to 

municipal corporations, except that all of the following apply: 

                                                 
238 R.C. 709.43 to 709.48. 

239 See Ohio Att'y Gen. Op. No. 2005-024. 
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(1)  Each board of township trustees must perform the duties imposed on the 

legislative authority of the municipal corporation. 

(2)  Initiative petitions must be filed with the township fiscal officer of each 

township proposed for merger, who must perform the duties imposed under that 

existing law upon the city auditor or village clerk. 

(3)  Initiative petitions must contain the signatures of not less than 10% of the 

total number of electors in a township proposed for merger who voted for the office of 

Governor at the most recent general election in the township for that office. 

(4)  Each signer of an initiative petition must be an elector of the township in 

which the election on the proposed resolution is to be held. 

The merger of the townships takes effect 120 days after certification by the board 

or boards of elections that the merger has been approved by the electors of each 

township proposed for merger. 

Question of merger may be submitted to the voters 

(R.C. 523.03) 

The boards of township trustees may decide to submit a merger question to the 

voters of the townships.  Under the bill, the boards of township trustees of two or more 

townships, by adopting resolutions by unanimous vote of the board of township 

trustees of each township, may cause the appropriate board of elections for each 

township to submit to the electors of each township the question of merger of the 

townships.  The question must be voted upon at the next general election occurring not 

less than 90 days after the certification of the resolutions to the appropriate board of 

elections.  The board of elections must submit the question in language substantially as 

set forth in the bill, naming the townships to merge, asking whether they should be 

merged, and stating the name of the resulting new township. 

The merger takes effect 120 days after certification by the board or boards of 

elections that the merger has been approved by the electors of each township proposed 

for merger. 

Merger agreement 

(R.C. 523.04) 

Within 120 days after approval of the merger by the voters (either by initiative 

petition or when the boards of township trustees submit the merger question to the 

voters), each board of township trustees of the townships merged, by adopting a joint 
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resolution approved by a majority of the members of each board, must enter into a 

merger agreement that contains the specific terms and conditions of the merger.  At a 

minimum, the merger agreement must set forth all of the following: 

  The names of the former townships that were merged; 

  The name of the new township; 

  The place in which the principal office of the new township will be located or 

the manner in which it may be selected; 

  The territorial boundaries of the new township; 

  The date on which the merger took effect; 

  The governmental operations and organization of the new township, 

including a plan for electing officers at the next general election that is held not later 

than 90 days after the merger agreement is finalized; 

  A procedure for the efficient and timely transition of specific services, 

functions, and responsibilities from each township and its respective offices to the new 

township; 

  Terms for the disposition of the assets and property of each township, if 

necessary; 

  The liquidation of existing indebtedness for each township, if necessary; 

  A plan for the common administration and enforcement of resolutions of the 

townships merged, to be enforced uniformly within the new township; 

  A provision that specifies whether there will be any zoning changes as a result 

of the merger, if applicable; 

  A plan to conform the boundaries of an existing special purpose district with 

the new township, to dissolve the special purpose district, or to absorb the special 

purpose district into the new township.  The bill defines "special purpose district" as 

any geographic or political jurisdiction that was created under law by a township 

merged. 

A copy of the joint resolution and the merger agreement must be filed with the 

township fiscal officer of the new township.  The merger agreement takes effect on the 

day on which the filing is made. 
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If no merger agreement, or if only a partial merger agreement, is entered into 

within the 120-day time period prescribed, the new township must comply with and 

operate under a merger agreement that contains the default terms and conditions 

required under the bill. 

Default terms and conditions of merger agreement 

(R.C. 523.06) 

If a merger agreement is entered into by the boards of township trustees of the 

townships merged, the default terms and conditions of a merger agreement do not have 

to be followed.  If a merger agreement is not entered into, the merger agreement must 

contain all of the terms and conditions specified below.  If a partial merger agreement is 

entered into, the default terms and conditions apply only to the extent any term or 

condition that is required by the bill to be addressed in the merger agreement is not 

addressed in the merger agreement.  The default terms and conditions of the merger 

agreement are as follows: 

♦  All members of each board of township trustees must serve as board members 

of the new township.  At the first general election held for township officers occurring 

not less than 90 days after a merger is approved, the electors of the new township must 

elect three township trustees with staggered terms of office.  The first terms following 

the election must be modified to an even number of years not to exceed four to allow 

subsequent elections for the office to be held in the same year as other township 

officers. 

♦  The township fiscal officer of the largest township, by population, is the 

township fiscal officer for the new township.  At the first general election for township 

officers occurring not less than 90 days after the merger, the electors must elect a 

township fiscal officer, whose first term of office must be modified to an even number 

of years not to exceed four to allow subsequent elections for that office to be held in the 

same year as other township fiscal officers. 

♦  Voted property tax levies remain in effect for the parcels of real property to 

which they applied prior to the merger, and the merger does not affect the proceeds of a 

tax levy pledged for the retirement of any debt obligation.  Upon expiration of a 

property tax levy, the levy may only be replaced or renewed by vote of the electors in 

the manner provided by law, to apply to real property within the boundaries of the new 

township.  If the millage levied inside the ten-mill limitation of each township merged 

is different, the board of township trustees of the new township must immediately 

equalize the millage for the entire new township. 



Legislative Service Commission -493- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

♦  For purposes of the retirement of all debt obligations of each township 

merged, the township fiscal officer must continue to track parcels of real property and 

the tax revenue generated on those parcels by the tax districts that were in place prior to 

the merger, and must provide that information on an annual basis to the board of 

township trustees of the new township.  Debt obligations that existed at the time of the 

merger are to be retired from the revenue generated from the parcels of real property 

that made up the township that incurred the debt before the merger. 

♦  With respect to any agreement entered into under the Public Employees' 

Collective Bargaining Law240 (the Law) that covers any of the employees of the 

townships merged, the State Employment Relations Board, within 120 days after the 

date the merger is approved, must designate the appropriate bargaining units for the 

employees of the new township in accordance with that Law.241  Notwithstanding the 

recognition procedures prescribed in existing law,242 the Board must conduct a 

representation election with respect to each bargaining unit designated in accordance 

with existing law.  If an exclusive representative is selected through this election, the 

exclusive representative must negotiate and enter into an agreement with the new 

township under the Law.  Until the parties reach an agreement, any agreement in effect 

on the date of the merger applies to the employees that were in the bargaining unit that 

is covered by the agreement.  An agreement in existence on the date of the merger is 

terminated on the effective date of an agreement negotiated with the new township.  If 

an exclusive representative is not selected, any agreement in effect on the date of the 

merger applies to the employees that were in the bargaining unit that is covered by the 

agreement and expires on its terms.  Each agreement entered into under the Law on or 

after the bill's effective date involving a new township must contain a provision 

regarding the designation of an exclusive representative and bargaining units for the 

new township.  In addition to the laws listed in the Law243 that prevail over conflicting 

agreements between employee organizations and public employers, this provision of 

the merger agreement prevails over any conflicting provisions of agreements between 

employee organizations and public employers that are entered into on or after the bill's 

effective date pursuant to the Law. 

♦  If the boundaries of the new township are not coextensive with a special 

purpose district, the new township remains in the existing special purpose district as a 

successor to the original township, unless the special purpose district is dissolved.  (The 

                                                 
240 R.C. Chapter 117. 

241 R.C. 4117.06. 

242 R.C. 4117.05 and 4117.07. 

243 R.C. 4117.10(A). 
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bill defines "special purpose district" as any geographic or political subdivision that was 

created under law by a township merged.)  The board of township trustees of the new 

township may place a question on the ballot at the next general election held after the 

merger to conform the boundaries, dissolve the special purpose district, or absorb the 

special purpose district into the new township on the terms specified in the resolution 

that places the question on the ballot for approval of the electors of the new township. 

♦  Zoning codes that existed at the time of the merger must remain in effect after 

the merger, and the townships that existed before the merger must be treated as 

administrative districts within the new township for the purposes of zoning. 

New township succeeds to certain interests 

(R.C. 523.05) 

A new township created by merger under the bill succeeds to the following 

interests of each township merged: 

(1)  All money, taxes, and special assessments, whether in the township treasury 

or in the process of collection; 

(2)  All property and interests in property, whether real or personal; 

(3)  All rights and interests in contracts, or in securities, bonds, notes, or other 

instruments; 

(4)  All accounts receivable and rights of action; 

(5)  All other matters not included in this list that are not addressed in the merger 

agreement. 

A new township created by merger is legally obligated for all outstanding 

franchises, contracts, debts, and other legally binding obligations of each township 

merged into the new township.  A new township is legally responsible for maintaining, 

defending, or otherwise resolving any and all legal claims or actions of each township 

merged into the new township. 

Waiting period to again propose a merger 

(R.C. 523.09) 

If a merger is disapproved by a majority of those voting on it in the townships 

proposed to be merged, an identical merger cannot be considered for at least three years 

after the date of the disapproval. 
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Joint projects by contracting subdivisions 

(R.C. 755.16) 

The bill authorizes a "contracting subdivision," jointly with one or more other 

contracting subdivisions, in any combination, to acquire property for, and to construct, 

operate, and maintain, educational facilities.  Current law authorizes a municipal 

corporation, township, township park district, county, or school district, jointly with 

one or more other municipal corporations, townships, township park districts, counties, 

school districts, or educational service centers, in any combination, and a joint 

recreation district, to acquire property for, and to construct, operate, and maintain, any 

parks, playgrounds, playfields, gymnasiums, public baths, swimming pools, indoor 

recreation center, or community centers.  The bill defines "contracting subdivision" to 

include all of the subdivisions specified in the previous sentence that may enter into 

joint contracts under current law, and adds state institutions of higher education to the 

list of subdivisions that may be contracting subdivisions. 

The bill also adds educational facilities as one of the projects that may be jointly 

acquired, constructed, operated, or maintained, and authorizes a state institution of 

higher education to provide, by the erection of a state institution of higher education 

building or premises, or by the enlargement or improvement of such a building or 

premises, for the inclusion of parks, recreational facilities, educational facilities, and 

community centers to be jointly acquired, constructed, operated, and maintained.  The 

law currently only allows school districts or educational service centers to provide, by 

the erection of any school or educational service center building or premises, or by the 

enlargement or improvement of such a building or premises, for the inclusion of parks, 

recreational facilities, and community centers, but not educational facilities, to be jointly 

acquired, constructed, operated, and maintained. 

The bill adds to this law a definition of "school district," which means any of the 

school districts or joint vocational school districts referred to in an existing law (city 

school districts, local school districts, exempted village school districts, cooperative 

education school districts, and joint vocational school districts).  The bill also adds a 

definition of "state institution of higher education," which is any state university or 

college, community college, state community college, university branch, or technical 

college. 

Increase competitive bidding threshold for board of park trustees 

(R.C. 755.29) 

The bill increases to $25,000 the threshold amount that triggers competitive 

bidding for service contracts entered into by a board of park trustees for municipal park 



Legislative Service Commission -496- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

improvements.  Current law requires that a board of park trustees, before entering into 

any contract for the performance of any work, the cost of which exceeds $10,000, to 

competitively bid the work. 

Generally, a board of park trustees is charged with managing, controlling, and 

administering property or funds donated to a municipal corporation for park purposes 

in accordance with continuing law,244 and may enter into contracts for the improvement 

of the park grounds and the erection of bridges and structures therein. 

Board of health 

(R.C. 3709.341) 

Donating or selling property, buildings, and furnishings to board of health 

The bill authorizes a board of county commissioners to donate or sell property, 

buildings, and furnishings to any board of health of a general or combined health 

district.  Upon acceptance by the board of health, the board of county commissioners 

may convey the property, buildings, and furnishings to the board of health to be used 

as its quarters.  The instrument conveying the property, buildings, and furnishings 

must include a reverter clause that, in the event the board of health subsequently sells 

the property, buildings, and furnishings, reverts them to the board of county 

commissioners if they initially were donated by the board of county commissioners, or 

specifies how the proceeds of the board of health's subsequent sale of the property, 

buildings, and furnishings are to be distributed, if they initially were sold by the board 

of county commissioners. 

County quarterly spending plans 

(R.C. 5705.392) 

The bill authorizes a board of county commissioners, by resolution, to adopt a 

spending plan or an amended spending plan that establishes a quarterly schedule of 

expenses and expenditures of appropriations from any county fund, for the second half 

of a fiscal year and any subsequent fiscal year, for any county office, department, or 

division that has spent or encumbered more than six-tenths of the amount appropriated 

for personal services and payrolls during the first half of a fiscal year.  The bill also 

authorizes a board of county commissioners, during any fiscal year, by resolution, to 

adopt a spending plan or an amended spending plan setting forth separately a 

quarterly schedule of expenses and expenditures of appropriations for personal services 

and payrolls from any county fund, for any county office, department, or division that, 

                                                 
244 R.C. 755.19 and 755.20, not in the bill. 
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during the previous fiscal year, spent 110% or more of the total amount appropriated by 

the board in its annual appropriation measure.  This spending plan or amended 

spending plan must remain in effect two fiscal years, or until the county officer of the 

office for which the plan was adopted is no longer in office, including terms of office to 

which the county officer is re-elected, whichever is later. 

At least 30 days before a resolution for either type of proposed or amended 

spending plan authorized by the bill is adopted, the board of county commissioners 

must provide written notice to each county office, department, or division for which it 

intends to adopt a spending plan or amended spending plan.  The notice must be sent 

by regular first class mail or provided by personal service, and must include a copy of 

the proposed spending plan or proposed amended spending plan.  The county office, 

department, or division may meet with the board at any regular session of the board to 

comment on the notice, or to express concerns or ask questions about the proposed 

spending plan or proposed amended spending plan. 

Under current law, a board of county commissioners may adopt as part of its 

annual appropriation resolution a spending plan (or in the case of an amended 

appropriation resolution, an amended spending plan) that sets forth a quarterly 

schedule of expenses and expenditures of all appropriations for the fiscal year from the 

county general fund.  The spending plan must set forth separately a quarterly schedule of 

expenses and expenditures for each office, department, and division, and, within each, 

the amount appropriated for personal services.  Each office, department, and division is 

limited in its expenses and expenditures of moneys appropriated from the general fund 

during any quarter by the schedule established in the spending plan.  The schedule is a 

limitation on entering into contracts and giving orders involving the expenditure of 

money during the quarter for purposes of obtaining the requisite certificate of available 

funds under continuing law. 

Township fiscal officer compensation 

(R.C. 505.24 and 507.09) 

Under continuing law, township fiscal officers receive compensation according 

to a statutory schedule based on the population of the fiscal officer's township.  The 

compensation is paid on a salary basis, in equal monthly installments.  Currently, the 

Auditor of State recommends that each township pay this compensation from the 

township's general fund.245 

                                                 
245 The recommendation is included in the Ohio Township Handbook published by the Auditor of State.  

http://www.auditor.state.oh.us/services/lgs/publications/LocalGovernmentManualsHandbooks/ohio_tow

nship_handbook.pdf 
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The bill specifically authorizes a township to pay its fiscal officer from the 

township general fund or from other township funds based on the proportion of time 

that the fiscal officer spends providing services related to each fund.  The fiscal officer 

must document the amount of time spent providing services related to each fund by 

certification specifying the percentage of time spent working on matters to be paid from 

the township general fund or other township funds in such proportions as the kinds of 

services performed.  

A similar method is available in continuing law for the compensation of 

township trustees.  Trustees are paid on either a salary or per-diem basis; if a trustee is 

paid on a per-diem basis, a board may allow for payment of that trustee from different 

township funds in such proportions as the kinds of services performed may require.  

The trustee must similarly notify the township fiscal officer of the number of days spent 

serving the township and the kinds of services rendered on those days.  And, under the 

bill, if a trustee is paid on a salary basis, the trustee must certify the percentage of time 

spent working on matters to be paid from the township general fund and other 

township funds in such proportions as the kinds of services performed. 

Township tax levy election expenses 

(R.C. 3501.17) 

Under continuing law, a county board of elections incurs the costs of conducting 

elections in a county and subsequently allocates those expenses among each political 

subdivision that participated in an election.  After a board of elections charges a 

political subdivision with an election expense, the county auditor must withhold the 

amount of that expense from the subdivision's next tax settlement.  (In a tax settlement, 

the county auditor distributes the property tax revenue that the auditor collected from 

taxes levied by each subdivision.)  Current law does not specify whether the auditor 

may withhold amounts from a particular fund of a subdivision, such as the 

subdivision's general fund or a special tax levy or bond fund. 

The bill specifies that, when a county board of elections incurs expenses related 

to a township tax levy ballot issue, the board of township trustees may request that 

those expenses be withheld from a particular township fund.  The request must be in 

the form of a resolution that specifies the ballot issue, the date of the election on the levy 

issue, and the township fund from which board of elections expenses should be 

withheld.  The particular township fund must be one that will be credited with tax 

revenue at a tax settlement. 
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Maturity of securities issued for real property 

(R.C. 133.20) 

The bill provides that general obligation bonds issued by a county to finance the 

acquisition or construction of real property may have a maximum maturity of up to 40 

years if supported by a certification as to the property's estimated useful life.  The 

county fiscal officer must certify that the estimated useful life of the property for which 

the bonds would issue will exceed 30 years, unless the maximum maturity of the bonds 

is 30 years or fewer, in which case no certification is required.   

Under current law, the maximum maturity for subdivisions other than school 

districts is currently limited to 30 years, and no certification is required. 

Regional Transit Authority membership 

(R.C. 306.322, 306.55, and 306.551) 

Until November 5, 2013, the bill creates a new procedure allowing a municipal 

corporation or township to join a regional transit authority (RTA) that (1) levies a 

property tax and (2) includes in its membership political subdivisions that are located in 

a county having a population of at least 400,000 according to the most recent federal 

census.  The new procedure is in addition to and an alternative to procedures 

established in existing law.  Under the bill, an eligible municipal corporation or 

township may adopt a resolution or ordinance proposing to join such an RTA for a 

limited period of three years or without a time limit.  The subdivision proposing to join 

the RTA must submit its resolution or ordinance to the subdivisions that comprise the 

RTA. 

If a majority of the political subdivisions comprising the RTA approve the 

inclusion of the additional subdivision, the issue of joining the RTA is submitted to the 

voters in the subdivision proposing to join the RTA.  If a majority of the electors 

approve the ballot issue, the addition is effective six months from the date the result is 

certified.  The RTA immediately must amend the resolution or ordinance creating the 

RTA to include the additional political subdivision.  The RTA may extend any existing 

tax levy to the taxable property in the new territory.  If the subdivision was added to the 

RTA for only three years, no further action is needed to reduce the RTA to its previous 

size and the RTA, as reduced, is entitled to levy and collect any previously authorized 

and unexpired property taxes, as if the enlargement had not occurred. 

Beginning July 1, 2011 and until November 5, 2013, any municipal corporation or 

township that has created or joined an RTA that (1) levies a property tax and 

(2) includes in its membership political subdivisions that are located in a county having 
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a population of at least 400,000 according to the most recent federal census, may 

withdraw from the RTA by adopting a resolution to place the issue on the ballot.  If a 

majority of the electors of the subdivision proposing to withdraw from the RTA vote to 

approve doing so, the withdrawal is effective six months from the date of the 

certification of its passage and the power of the RTA to levy a tax on taxable property in 

the withdrawing subdivision terminates. 

Additionally, any municipal corporation or township that withdraws from an 

RTA under the procedures established by the bill may enter into a contract with an RTA 

or other provider of transit services to provide transportation service for handicapped, 

disabled, or elderly persons and for any other service the legislative authority of the 

subdivision determines to be appropriate. 

Merger procedures for municipal corporations or municipal corporations 
and a township 

Who may merge 

(R.C. 709.43 and 709.44) 

The bill authorizes the merger under a new, abbreviated merger procedure of 

one or more municipal corporations, whether or not adjacent to one another, and an 

adjacent municipal corporation; the unincorporated area of a township and one or more 

municipal corporations; or one or more municipal corporations, whether or not adjacent 

to one another, and an adjacent unincorporated area of a township.  Under current law, 

the territory of one or more municipal corporations, whether or not adjacent to one 

another, may merge with an adjacent municipal corporation, and the unincorporated 

area of a township may merge with one or more municipal corporations under a 

procedure whereby a petition proposing a merger is filed with the board of elections 

and the electors choose a commission to draw up a statement of conditions for 

merger.246  This "commission process" for merging is not affected by the bill, other than 

that the bill now authorizes one or more municipal corporations, whether or not 

adjacent to one another, and an adjacent unincorporated area of a township to also use 

the existing commission process to propose a merger, as well as the new, abbreviated 

merger procedure. 

                                                 
246 R.C. 709.45, not in the bill. 
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The new merger procedure 

(R.C. 709.451) 

In lieu of filing a petition for merger under the commission process, if the 

legislative authorities of each political subdivision that may be merged under the bill 

agree to a merger and adopt, by a two-thirds vote of each legislative authority, an 

ordinance or resolution approving a merger, the new merger procedure may be used, 

and no election of a commission to draw up a statement of conditions for merger of the 

political subdivisions is held.  Instead, the legislative authorities of those political 

subdivisions have 120 days to enter into a merger agreement that specifies the 

conditions of the proposed merger, in identical ordinances or a resolution that are 

adopted by a simple majority vote of each legislative authority.  At a minimum, the 

proposed merger agreement must include all of the following: 

(1)  The names of the municipal corporations and township, if any, agreeing to 

the merger; 

(2)  The territorial boundaries of the resulting municipal corporation or 

township; 

(3)  The date that the merger will take effect; 

(4)  A procedure for the efficient and timely transition to the resulting municipal 

corporation or township of specified services, functions, and responsibilities from each 

municipal corporation or township and its respective departments and agencies; 

(5)  A transition plan and schedule. 

A merger becomes effective on the 120th day after the adoption of the last 

ordinance or resolution supporting the proposed merger unless, prior to the expiration 

of the 120-day period, a referendum petition is filed. 

Merger under the new procedure subject to referendum 

(R.C. 709.451(C)) 

A qualified elector of a municipal corporation or township proposed for merger, 

not later than 120 days after the last merger ordinance or resolution is adopted, may 

present to the legislative authority of that municipal corporation or township a 

referendum petition, signed by a number of qualified electors residing in the municipal 

corporation or township, equal in number to not less than 10% of the total vote cast in 

the municipal corporation or township for the office of Governor at the most recent 

general election at which a Governor was elected, requesting the legislative authority to 
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submit the question of the merger to the electors of the municipal corporation or 

township for approval or rejection at a special election to be held on the day of the next 

primary or general election occurring at least 90 days after the petition is submitted.  

The referendum petition is governed by continuing law.247 

The referendum petition must be filed with the clerk of the legislative authority 

of the municipal corporation that is the subject of the petition and the township clerk of 

the township that is the subject of the petition.  The person presenting the petition must 

be given a receipt containing on it the time of day, the date, and the purpose of the 

petition.  The clerk causes the appropriate board of elections to check the sufficiency of 

signatures on the referendum petition, and if the signatures are found to be sufficient, 

must present the petition to the legislative authority at a meeting of the legislative 

authority that occurs not later than 30 days following the filing of the petition. 

Upon presentation of the petition to the legislative authority, the legislative 

authority must promptly certify the petition to the board of elections for the purpose of 

having the question of the merger placed on the ballot at a special election to be held on 

the day of the next general or primary election that occurs not less than 90 days after the 

date of the meeting of the legislative authority, the date of which must be specified in 

the certification. 

Signatures on a referendum petition may be withdrawn up to and including the 

meeting of the legislative authority certifying the proposal to the appropriate board of 

elections. 

Upon certification of the referendum petition to the appropriate board of 

elections, the board of elections must make the necessary arrangements for the 

submission of the question of merger to the qualified electors of the municipal 

corporation or township proposed for merger that is the subject of the petition.  The 

election is to be conducted, canvassed, and certified in the same manner as regular 

elections in the municipal corporation or township for the election of officers.  Notice of 

the election must be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the municipal 

corporation or township once a week for two consecutive weeks prior to the election.  If 

the board of elections operates and maintains a web site, the board also must post notice 

of the election on the web site for 30 days prior to the election.  The notice must state the 

necessity for merger, the municipal corporations and township, if any, that are 

proposed for merger, the boundaries of the entity created as the result of the merger, 

and the time and place of the election. 

                                                 
247 R.C. 3501.38, not in the bill. 
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The form of the ballots cast at the election is prescribed by the bill and asks 

whether a merger should occur, naming the merging municipal corporations and 

township, if any. 

A merger for which a referendum vote has been requested cannot be put into 

effect unless a majority of the votes cast on the issue in the municipal corporation or 

township that is the subject of the referendum petition are in favor of the merger.  Upon 

certification by the board of elections that the merger has been approved by the electors, 

the merger takes immediate effect. 

Question of merger may be submitted to electors 

(R.C. 709.452) 

The legislative authority of each municipal corporation or township proposed for 

merger that adopts a merger agreement under the bill's new merger procedure may 

submit the question of merger to the electors of the municipal corporations and 

township proposed for merger.  The legislative authorities may certify the ordinances or 

resolution that adopted the merger agreement to the board or boards of elections (if the 

territory proposed for merger is located in more than one county) directing the 

submission of the question of merger to the electors of the municipal corporations and 

township proposed for merger at a special election to be held on the day of the next 

primary or general election in the county or counties that occurs not less than 90 days 

after the ordinances or resolution are certified to the board or boards of elections.  The 

question is to be put on the ballot and voted upon, separately, in each municipal 

corporation or township proposed for merger. 

The ordinances or resolution specifying the merger conditions agreed to by the 

municipal corporations and township proposed for merger must be posted on the web 

sites of those municipal corporations and township, and must be published in a 

newspaper of general circulation in the municipal corporations and township once a 

week for two consecutive weeks prior to the election. 

If the merger is approved by a majority of those voting on it in each municipal 

corporation or township proposed to be merged, the merger agreement takes 

immediate effect. 
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Powers of the merged entity; conflict with charter 

(R.C. 709.451(D) and (E) and 709.452(D)) 

On the effective date of the merger, a municipal corporation merging into a 

township only has the rights, powers, and responsibilities afforded by law to 

townships, and all other authority ceases to exist. 

If an existing charter of a municipal corporation proposed for merger conflicts 

with the bill's new, abbreviated merger processes and procedures whereby merger is 

approved by the legislative authorities or when they submit the question of merger to 

the electors, the processes and procedures for merger addressed in the municipal 

corporation's charter apply. 

County Automatic Data Processing Board 

(R.C. 307.847) 

Replacement of county records commission and county microfilming board 

In lieu of having a county records commission and a county microfilming board, 

the bill permits a board of county commissioners, by resolution, to require the county 

automatic data processing board to coordinate the management of information 

resources of the county, the records and information management operations of all 

county offices, and the various records and information technologies acquired and 

operated by county offices.  The resolution requiring the board to assume these duties 

must specify the date on which the county records commission and the county 

microfilming board no longer exist. 

For counties that do not, by resolution, require the county automatic data 

processing board to assume additional duties, the bill expands the board's authority to 

include electronic data processing equipment.248 

Current law authorizes a board of county commissioners to establish a county 

microfilming board to coordinate the use of all microfilming equipment in use 

throughout the county offices.  And, current law establishes a county records 

commission in each county to provide rules for retention and disposal of records of the 

county and to review applications for one-time disposal of obsolete records and 

schedules of records retention and disposition submitted by county offices.  The bill 

permits these functions to be merged into the county automatic data processing board, 

                                                 
248 R.C. 307.84, 307.842, 307.843, and 307.846. 
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which may be established under current law to coordinate the use of all automatic data 

processing equipment in use throughout the county offices. 

For those counties that do not merge its functions under the authority in the bill, 

the bill expands the authority of a county microfilming board to include other image 

processing equipment, software, or services.249 

Membership of the board 

If the duties of the county automatic data processing board are so expanded, the 

prosecuting attorney, county engineer, county coroner, sheriff, and a judge of the court 

of common pleas selected by a majority vote of all judges of the court must be added to 

the membership of the board.  Any of these additional members may designate a 

representative to serve on that member's behalf. 

These new members would be added to the members of the automatic data 

processing board, as specified in current law.  Those current members include the 

county treasurer or the county treasurer's representative, the county recorder or the 

county recorder's representative, the clerk of the court of common pleas or the clerk's 

representative, a member or representative of the board of county commissioners 

chosen by the board, two members or representatives of the board of elections chosen 

by the board of elections (one of whom shall be a member of the political party 

receiving the greatest number of votes at the most recent general election for the office 

of Governor and one of whom shall be a member of the political party receiving the 

second greatest number of votes at such an election), if the board of elections desires to 

participate, and the county auditor or the county auditor's representative, who serves as 

secretary of the board.  Additionally, current law permits the members of the county 

automatic data processing board to add to the board any additional members whose 

officers use the facilities of the board, by majority vote of the board. 

New duties of the county automatic data processing board 

After a resolution is adopted under the bill's provisions, no county office is 

permitted to purchase, lease, operate, or contract for the use of any of the following, 

without prior approval of the board: 

 Automatic data processing equipment, software, or services; 

 Microfilming equipment or services;250 

                                                 
249 R.C. 307.80, 307.802, 307.803, and 307.806. 
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 Records center or archives facilities; or 

 Any other image processing or electronic data processing or record-

keeping equipment, software, or services. 

The board is permitted to adopt rules as it considers necessary for its operation, 

but no rule may derogate the authority or responsibility of any county elected official. 

The board's rules may include any regulations or standards the board wishes to impose.  

Transfer of duties 

In the resolution expanding the duties of the county automatic data processing 

board, the board of county commissioners is required to designate the date on which all 

equipment, records, files, effects, and other personal property; contractual obligations; 

and assets and liabilities of the county records commission and the county microfilming 

board will be transferred to the county automatic data processing board. 

For purposes of succession to the functions, powers, duties, and obligations of 

the county records commission and the county microfilming board transferred to the 

county automatic data processing board, the county automatic data processing board is 

deemed to constitute the continuation of the county records commission and the county 

microfilming board, as applicable.  Any business, proceeding, or other matter 

undertaken or commenced by the county records commission or the county 

microfilming board pertaining to or connected with the functions, powers, duties, and 

obligations transferred or assigned and pending on the date of the transfer of duties to 

the county automatic data processing board must be conducted, prosecuted or 

defended, and completed by the county automatic data processing board in the same 

manner and with the same effect as if conducted by the county records commission or 

the county microfilming board.  In all such actions and proceedings, the county 

automatic data processing board is to be substituted as a party. 

All rules, acts, determinations, approvals, and decisions of the county records 

commission or the county microfilming board pertaining to the functions transferred 

and assigned to the county automatic data processing board that are in force at the time 

of the transfer or assignment are required to continue in force as rules, acts, 

determinations, approvals, and decisions of the county automatic data processing board 

until they are duly modified or repealed by the board. 

                                                                                                                                                             
250 This provision does not apply to a county hospital when the county hospital uses microfilming to 

record and store for future access physical and psychiatric examinations or treatment records of its 

patients.  However, the county hospital is required to participate, at the request of the county automatic 

data processing board, in purchasing film and equipment and in entering into contracts for services for 

microfilming. 
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Wherever the functions, powers, duties, and obligations of the county records 

commission or the county microfilming board are referred to or designated in any law, 

contract, or other document, the reference or designation must be deemed to refer to the 

county automatic data processing board, as appropriate.  No existing right or remedy of 

any character is lost, impaired, or affected by reason of the transfer of duties to the 

county automatic data processing board, except insofar as those rights and remedies are 

administered by the county automatic data processing board. 

Centralized and decentralized facilities 

The bill permits the county automatic data processing board to establish an 

automatic data processing center, microfilming center, records center, archives, and any 

other centralized or decentralized facilities it considers necessary to fulfill its duties. 

Any such centralized facilities must be used by all county offices.  The establishment of 

either centralized or decentralized facilities is contingent on the appropriation of funds 

by the board of county commissioners.  And, the county auditor will be the chief 

administrator of either centralized or decentralized facilities. 

Revenues and expenditures 

The bill requires the county auditor to prepare an annual estimate of the 

revenues and expenditures of the county automatic data processing board for the 

ensuing fiscal year and submit it to the board of county commissioners.  The estimate 

must be sufficient to take care of all the needs of the county automatic data processing 

board, including, but not limited to, salaries, rental, and purchase of equipment. 

The board's funds must be disbursed by the county auditor's warrant drawn on 

the county treasury five days after receipt of a voucher approved by a majority of that 

board and by a majority of the board of county commissioners. 

On the first Monday in April of each year, the county auditor must file with the 

county automatic data processing board and the board of county commissioners a 

report of the operations of each center and a statement of each center's receipts and 

expenditures during the preceding calendar year. 

Contracts for the provision of services to other entities 

With the approval of the board of county commissioners, the bill permits the 

county automatic data processing board to enter into a contract with the legislative 

authority of any municipal corporation, township, port authority, water or sewer 

district, school district, library district, county law library association, health district, 

park district, soil and water conservation district, conservancy district, other taxing 

district, or regional council, or with the board of county commissioners or the automatic 



Legislative Service Commission -508- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

data processing board or microfilming board of any other county, or with any other 

federal or state governmental agency, to provide microfilming, automatic data 

processing, or other image processing or electronic data processing or record-keeping 

services to any of them.  The board is required to establish a schedule of charges upon 

which the cost of providing such services will be based.  All moneys collected by the 

board for services rendered pursuant to such contracts must be deposited in the county 

general fund, although these moneys may be segregated into a special fund in the 

county treasury until the end of the calendar year.  County offices also may be charged 

for such services and the appropriations of those offices so charged and the 

appropriation of the county automatic data processing board so credited. 

Licensing and inspection of marinas 

(R.C. 3709.09, 3733.21, 3733.22 (repealed), 3733.23 (repealed), 3733.24 (repealed), 3733.25 

(repealed), 3733.26 (repealed), 3733.27 (repealed), 3733.28 (repealed), 3733.29 (repealed), 

3733.30 (repealed), and 3733.99; R.C. 3701.83 and 3709.092 (for cross-references); Section 

737.15) 

The bill repeals the statutes governing the licensure and inspection of marinas, 

including the requirement that the Public Health Council adopt rules for that purpose.  

It instead requires a board of health within whose jurisdiction a marina is located to 

adopt rules governing the inspection of and issuance of licenses for marinas.  The rules 

must require at a minimum annual inspections.  In addition, the rules may include 

provisions for the levying of a fee for a marina license.  The fee must be established in 

accordance with the Health Districts Law.  The bill establishes procedures for the 

transition from the operation of the Public Health Council rules governing marinas in a 

health district in which a marina is located on the provision's effective date to the 

applicable board of health's rules. 

The bill retains current law stating that a marina is a boat basin that has docks or 

moorings for seven or more watercraft.  A dock is a structure or platform designed to 

provide access to or an area to secure a watercraft. 

Current law 

Currently, the Public Health Council must adopt rules governing the licensure 

and inspection of marinas in order to ensure that the marinas provide adequate sanitary 

facilities and that marinas are operated in a sanitary manner.  Current law prohibits a 

person from constructing or altering a marina unless the Director of Health has 

approved the plans as providing adequate sanitary facilities.  In addition, a person 

cannot operate a marina without a license issued by the board of health of the health 

district in which the marina is located.  However, the Director of Health may become 
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the licensor in a health district if the Director determines that the board of health is not 

complying with the Marinas Law and rules adopted under it.  A license may be denied, 

suspended, or revoked. 

A board of health must determine any fee for the license in accordance with the 

Health Districts Law.  The fee must include any additional amount determined by rule 

of the Public Health Council, which must be credited to the existing General Operations 

Fund.  The portion of any fee retained by the health district must be paid into a special 

fund of the health district.  The money from the fee must be used by the Director and 

the board for the administration of the Marinas Law and rules adopted under it. 

A board annually must inspect each marina, keep a record of the inspection, and 

require each marina to comply with the Marinas Law and rules adopted under it.  A 

board also must certify to the Director that a marina has been licensed and is in 

satisfactory compliance with that Law and the rules.  Finally, current law provides for 

enforcement of that Law and the rules. 

Licensing and inspection of agricultural labor camps 

(R.C. 3733.42 (repealed and reenacted), 3733.41, 3733.43 (repealed), 3733.431 (repealed), 

3733.44 (repealed), 3733.45 (repealed), 3733.46 (repealed), 3733.47 (repealed), 3733.471 

(repealed), 3733.48 (repealed), 3733.49 (3733.43), 3733.99; R.C. 3701.83, 3733.41, 4141.031, 

and 5321.01 (for cross-references); Section 737.11) 

The bill repeals most of the statutes governing the licensure and inspection of 

agricultural labor camps, including the requirement that the Public Health Council 

adopt rules for that purpose.  It instead requires a board of health within whose 

jurisdiction an agricultural labor camp is located to adopt rules governing the 

inspection of and issuance of licenses for agricultural labor camps.  The rules must 

require at a minimum annual inspections.  In addition, the rules may include provisions 

for the levying of a fee for an agricultural labor camp license.  The fee must be 

established in accordance with the Health Districts Law.  The bill establishes procedures 

for the transition from the operation of the Public Health Council rules governing 

agricultural labor camps in a health district in which an agricultural labor camp is 

located on the provision's effective date to the applicable board of health's rules. 

The bill retains the Office of the Migrant Agricultural Ombudsperson under the 

Director of Job and Family Services.  It also retains the description of an agricultural 

labor camp as an area established or used as temporary living quarters for two or more 

families, or five or more people, who are engaged in agriculture or food processing. 
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Current law 

Currently, the Public Health Council must adopt rules having a uniform 

application throughout the state governing the issuance of licenses, location, layout, 

construction, approval of plans, sanitation, safety, operation, use, and maintenance of 

agricultural labor camps.  The rules must include minimum standards of habitability.  

The rules also must establish additional voluntary standards of habitability for those 

camps and priorities for those additional standards. 

The Director of Health is responsible for the administration and enforcement of 

the Agricultural Labor Camps Law and rules adopted under it.  However, the Director 

may delegate the Director's authority to the local board of health within whose 

jurisdiction an agricultural labor camp is located. 

A person who intends to operate an agricultural labor camp annually must apply 

for a license from the Director of Health or a local board of health, as applicable.  The 

application must be accompanied by a $75 license fee and any plans for the camp 

required in rules.  The applicant also must submit a fee of $10 for each housing unit in 

the camp.  A license may be denied, suspended, or revoked. 

The Director of Health or the local board of health, as applicable, must inspect an 

agricultural labor camp at least once a year.  The applicable inspector must issue an 

annual report of the inspections conducted at each agricultural labor camp.  The report 

must include the number of inspections, the number of violations found, and any action 

taken in regard to violations.  Finally, current law provides for enforcement of the 

Agricultural Labor Camps Law and rules adopted under it. 

County sewer district and regional water and sewer district contracts 

(R.C. 6103.04, 6117.05, 6119.061) 

The bill expands the scope of the contracting authority of a board of county 

commissioners regarding a county sewer district.  It does so by authorizing a board of 

county commissioners to convey, by mutual agreement, to a municipal corporation any 

part of water supply or sanitary facilities of the sewer district that are connected to 

facilities of the municipal corporation.  In addition, a board may convey to a municipal 

corporation water supply or sanitary facilities acquired or constructed by a county for 

the service of property located in the district that are also located in the municipal 

corporation or within an area that is incorporated as, or annexed to, the municipal 

corporation. 

Current law provides that any completed water supply or sanitary facilities 

acquired or constructed by a county for the use of any county sewer district, or any part 
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of those facilities, that are located within a municipal corporation or within any area 

that is incorporated as, or annexed to, a municipal corporation, or any part of the 

facilities that provide water or sewer services to a municipal corporation or such an 

area, may be conveyed, by mutual agreement between the board and the municipal 

corporation, to the municipal corporation on terms and for consideration as may be 

negotiated. 

The bill also establishes new requirements applicable to regional water and 

sewer districts.  Similar requirements exist regarding county sewer districts in current 

law and are established by the bill. 

Under the bill, whenever any portion of a regional water and sewer district is 

incorporated as, or annexed to, a municipal corporation, the area so incorporated or 

annexed must remain under the jurisdiction of the district for purposes of the 

acquisition, construction, or operation of a water resource project until the project has 

been acquired or completed or is abandoned by the district.  The board of trustees of the 

district, unless and until a conveyance is made to a municipal corporation (see below), 

must continue to have jurisdiction in the area so incorporated or annexed with respect 

to the management, maintenance, and operation of all water resource projects so 

acquired or completed or previously acquired or completed, including the right to 

establish rules and rates and charges for the use of, and connections to, the projects.  

The incorporation or annexation of any part of a district cannot affect the legality or 

enforceability of any public obligations issued or incurred by the district to provide for 

the payment of the cost of acquisition, construction, maintenance, or operation of any 

water resource project or the validity of any assessments levied or to be levied on 

properties within the area to provide for the payment of the cost of acquisition, 

construction, maintenance, or operation of the project. 

The bill authorizes the board of trustees of a regional water and sewer district to 

convey, by mutual agreement, to a municipal corporation any completed water 

resource project acquired or constructed for the use of, or service of property located in, 

the regional water and sewer district, or any part of that project to which any of the 

following applies: 

(1)  The project is located within the municipal corporation or within any area 

that is incorporated as, or annexed to, the municipal corporation. 

(2)  The project serves the municipal corporation or any area that is located 

within or that is incorporated as, or annexed to, the municipal corporation. 

(3)  The project is connected to water supply or sanitary, drainage, prevention, or 

replacement facilities of the municipal corporation.   
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The conveyance must  be completed with terms and for consideration that may 

be negotiated.  Upon and after the conveyance, the municipal corporation must 

manage, maintain, and operate the water resource project in accordance with the 

agreement.  The board of trustees may retain the right to the joint use of all or part of 

any project so conveyed for the benefit of the district.  Neither the validity of any 

assessment levied or to be levied, nor the legality or enforceability of any public 

obligations issued or incurred, to provide for the payment of the cost of the acquisition, 

construction, maintenance, or operation of the project or any part of the project is 

affected by the conveyance. 

County public defender salaries 

(R.C. 120.40) 

Existing law prohibits the pay ranges established by a board of county 

commissioners for a county public defender and staff, and the pay ranges established 

by a joint board of county commissioners for the joint county public defender and staff 

from exceeding the pay ranges assigned under Ohio law for comparable positions of the 

Ohio Public Defender and staff.  The bill retains this provision for the staff of a county 

public defender and a joint county public defender but prohibits the pay ranges 

established for a county public defender and a joint county public defender from 

exceeding the pay ranges assigned for county prosecutors. 

Political subdivision funds and nontherapeutic abortions 

(R.C. 124.85 (renumbered as 9.04)) 

The bill prohibits the use of political subdivision funds, other than those of 

municipal corporations and certain counties that have adopted a charter under Article 

X, Section 3 of the Ohio Constitution and are exercising local self-government powers, 

from being expended, directly or indirectly, to pay for any health care policy, contract, 

or plan that provides coverage, benefits, or services related to nontherapeutic abortion.  

"Nontherapeutic abortion" is defined to be any abortion that is performed or induced 

when the life of the mother would not be endangered if the fetus were carried to term, 

or when the pregnancy was not the result of a rape or incest reported to law 

enforcement.  Continuing law provides this same prohibition for state funds. 

The bill does not prohibit the use of political subdivision funds from being used 

to pay for a health care policy, contract, or plan that includes a rider or other provision 

offered on an individual basis that allows an individual who accepts the offer of the 

rider or other provision to obtain a nontherapeutic abortion if the individual pays for all 

of the associated costs.  
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Attorney General collection of political subdivision debts 

(R.C. 131.02) 

The bill authorizes a political subdivision to certify a receivable to the Attorney 

General for collection when the receivable becomes 45 days past due if the Attorney 

General authorizes such certification.  Currently, only receivables of the state may be 

certified to the Attorney General for collection. 

Records of municipally owned or operated utilities 

(R.C. 149.43) 

The bill exempts from public records law usage information, including the 

names and addresses of specific residential and commercial customers of municipally 

owned or operated utilities.  The bill also states that current public records law 

permitting journalists to request the address of certain government employees applies 

to journalistic requests for customer information maintained by a municipally owned or 

operated public utility.  The bill prohibits journalists from requesting private financial 

information of customers, such as credit reports, and Social Security numbers. 

Under current public records law, a "journalist" is a person working for any news 

medium (such as a newspaper, a radio or television station, or a similar medium) for 

the purpose of gathering, processing, transmitting, compiling, editing, or disseminating 

information for the general public. 

Consolidation of records retention procedure 

(R.C. 149.38, 149.381, 149.39, 149.41, 149.411, 149.412, 149.42, 1901.41, and 3313.29) 

The bill consolidates into one provision of law the records retention procedure 

that currently applies recurrently to municipal corporations, school districts, 

educational service centers, libraries, special taxing districts, and townships.  Under this 

procedure, records may be disposed of pursuant to an approved schedule of records 

retention and disposition approved by the appropriate records commission.  When the 

records commission has approved any application for one time disposal of obsolete 

records or any schedule of records retention and disposition, the commission must send 

that application or schedule to the Ohio Historical Society for its review.  Within a 

period of 60 days, the Society must complete its review and send the application to the 

Auditor of State to approve or disapprove within another 60-day period. 

Under continuing law, before records are disposed of (the bill clarifies "pursuant 

to an approved schedule of records retention and disposition") the county records 
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commission must inform the Ohio Historical Society of the disposal through the 

submission of a certificate of records disposal (the bill clarifies "for only the records 

required by the schedule to be disposed of") and must give the society 15 business days 

to select for its custody those records, from the certificate submitted, that it considers to 

be of continuing historical value.  Thereafter, public libraries and other specified entities 

must be notified and given an opportunity to select records of continuing historical 

value.  The bill provides that notified entities are responsible for the cost of notification 

and transportation of the records. 

The bill's consolidated procedure incorporates the clarifications above and also 

provides that during the 60-day review period, the Ohio Historical Society may select 

for its custody from the application for one-time disposal of obsolete records any 

records it considers to be of continuing historical value, and must denote upon any 

schedule of records retention and disposition any records for which it will require a 

certificate of records disposal before their disposal.   

The bill states that the Ohio Historical Society may not review or select for its 

custody any record (1) the release of which is prohibited by the public record law 

pertaining to library patron information, (2) containing personally identifiable 

information concerning public school children without the written consent of the parent 

of a minor pupil or without the written consent of a pupil who is 18 or over, (3) the 

release of which would disqualify an educational institution from receiving federal 

funds under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974. 

Attorney General's training programs 

(R.C. 109.43(F)) 

The bill expands the training or educational programs the Attorney General may 

offer about Ohio's "Sunshine Laws" under current law to include the records retention 

procedure set forth in the bill. 

County Microfilming Board 

(R.C. 307.801) 

The bill changes the date for meetings of a county microfilming board from the 

third Monday in January to the second Monday in January. 
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Use of public facilities for nontherapeutic abortions 

(R.C. 5101.57) 

The bill prohibits the use of any public facility for performing or inducing a 

nontherapeutic abortion.  "Nontherapeutic abortion" means any abortion that is 

performed when the life of the mother would not be endangered if the fetus was carried 

to term or when the pregnancy was not the result of a rape or incest reported to law 

enforcement.  "Public facility" means any institution, structure, equipment, or physical 

asset that is owned, leased, or controlled by the state or any political subdivision of the 

state.  Included in the definition of "public facility" is any state university, state medical 

college, health district, joint hospital, or public hospital agency.  Municipal 

corporations, and counties that have adopted a charter under Article X, Section 3 of the 

Ohio Constitution and are exercising local self-government powers, are exempt from 

the definition of political subdivision.  

Exclusion of municipal corporation from sanitary district established for 
reduction of biting arthropods 

(R.C. 6115.321) 

Enactment of ordinance; election 

The bill authorizes the legislative authority of a municipal corporation whose 

territory is included within the territory of a sanitary district that is established solely 

for the reduction of biting arthropods to enact an ordinance to submit to the electors the 

question of whether the territory that is currently included in the district should be 

excluded.  If such an ordinance is enacted, the clerk of the legislative authority must 

transmit a certified copy of it to all applicable boards of elections.   

Each applicable board of elections then must submit the proposed question to the 

electors of the municipal corporation at the next general election occurring subsequent 

to 90 days after the clerk so certifies the ordinance.  A board of elections must publish 

the full text of the proposed question one time in a newspaper of general circulation in 

the municipal corporation at least 15 days before the election.  If a majority of electors 

voting on the question vote in favor of the exclusion, the clerk of the legislative 

authority of the municipal corporation must transmit a copy of the certified election 

results to the court of common pleas that entered the order that established the sanitary 

district and the county auditor and county treasurer of each county in which territory of 

the municipal corporation is located. 
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Order excluding municipal corporation from sanitary district 

The bill requires the applicable court of common pleas, on receipt of a copy of the 

certified election results, to enter an order on the docket excluding the territory of the 

municipal corporation from the territory of the sanitary district.  The exclusion takes 

effect on January 1 or July 1, whichever is earlier, following the vote in favor of the 

exclusion. 

Assessments 

The bill requires a county auditor, on receipt of a copy of the certified election 

results, to remove any assessment levied by or for the benefit of the sanitary district 

under the Sanitary Districts Law on real property that is located within the territory of 

the municipal corporation that is to become due on or after January 1 or July 1, 

whichever is earlier, following the vote in favor of the exclusion.  It also prohibits a 

county treasurer, on receipt of a copy of the certified election results, from collecting 

after January 1 or July 1, whichever is earlier, following the vote any assessment levied 

by or for the benefit of the sanitary district under that Law on real property that is 

located within the territory of the municipal corporation. 

Township cemeteries 

(R.C. 517.06) 

The bill authorizes boards of township trustees to make and enforce all needful 

rules and regulations for burial, interment, reinterment, or disinterment in the township 

cemetery.  Continuing law authorizes the township trustees to make and enforce all 

needful rules and regulations for the division of the cemetery into lots, for the allotment 

of lots to families or individuals, and for the care, supervision, and improvement of the 

lots. 

Sheriff sales 

(R.C. 2329.26) 

The bill requires notices of sheriff sales to be published at least once a week for 

three consecutive weeks before the day of the sale, rather than, as under current law, at 

least three weeks before the day of the sale.  Under continuing law, lands and 

tenements taken in execution may not be sold until the officer taking the lands and 

tenements gives public notice of the date, time, and place of the sale. 
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Disbursement of court filing fees to be appropriated 

(R.C. 1901.261, 1901.262, 1907.261, 1907.262, 2101.162, 2151.541, 2301.031, and 2303.201) 

The bill makes certain funds collected by local trial courts subject to 

appropriation by the local legislative authority. 

When a municipal court, a county court, a probate court, a juvenile court, a court 

of common pleas domestic relations division, or a court of common pleas  makes a 

determination that additional fees are required to computerize the court, to make 

available computerized legal research services, or to do both, the fees collected, or, if 

there is a surplus in the fees collected, the surplus, cannot be disbursed without an 

appropriation by the board of county commissioners in addition to the court order or 

declaration of surplus required by continuing law.  However, in the case of a municipal 

court that is not county-operated, the fees collected or surplus cannot be disbursed 

without an appropriation by the legislative authority of the municipal corporation in 

which the court sits. 

Similarly, when a municipal court or county court establishes a fee to defray the 

cost of establishing dispute resolution procedures, the fees collected, or, if there is a 

surplus in the fees collected, the surplus, cannot be disbursed without an appropriation 

by the board of county commissioners in addition to the court order required by 

continuing law.  However, in the case of a municipal court that is not county-operated, 

the fees collected or surplus cannot be disbursed without an appropriation by the 

legislative authority of the municipal corporation in which the court sits. 

Finally, when a court of common pleas determines that, for the efficient 

operation of the court, additional fees need to be collected for special projects of the 

court, the fees collected cannot be disbursed without an appropriation by the board of 

county commissioners in addition to the court order required by continuing law.  And if 

the additional fees for a special project are terminated, they cannot be transferred to a 

similar project without an appropriation by the board of county commissioners in 

addition to the court order required by continuing law. 

 

STATE LOTTERY COMMISSION (LOT) 

 Requires the Director of Budget and Management to compare and analyze 

alternatives in order to convert the state lottery from a state-run entity to a 

commercially run enterprise.  
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 Requires the Director to develop a competitive selection process for the selection of 

an entity or entities to operate and manage the lottery, and permits the Director to 

hire appropriate experts who are qualified in lottery evaluation and management to 

assist with this task.  

 Requires the Director to report to the General Assembly the Director's proposal for 

the operation and management of the lottery, and then to propose a request for 

proposals process to the General Assembly that outlines the appropriate terms and 

conditions for the operation and management of the lottery.  

 Allows the General Assembly to approve or reject the terms and conditions outlined 

in the request for proposals by joint resolution initiated in the Senate, and, in the 

absence of such action, permits the Director to move forward with the request for 

proposals. 

 Authorizes the Commission to charge a lottery sales agent license applicant fees, 

rather than a fee, and makes it permissive for the Commission to charge those 

license fees and license renewal fees. 

 

 

Operation and management of lottery 

(Section 737.40) 

The bill requires the Director of Budget and Management to compare and 

analyze alternatives in order to convert the state lottery from a state-run entity to a 

commercially run enterprise.  The Director must develop a competitive selection 

process in compliance with the competitive selection procedures of continuing law for 

the selection of an entity or entities to operate and manage the lottery.  The request for 

proposals must include a provision that the proceeds payable to the bidder are subject 

to all ordinary taxes.  

In completing this task, the Director can hire appropriate experts who are 

qualified in lottery evaluation and management.  However, no entity or advisor is to be 

paid based upon any contingency contract, agreement, or the value to the state of any 

subsequent lottery management or operating agreement.  Also, no such entity or 

consultant can bid or participate on any subsequent request for proposals or proposal 

for operation or management of the lottery.  

By December 15, 2011, the Director must report to the General Assembly the 

Director's proposal for the operation and management of the lottery.  The Director's 

proposal must include methods for realizing optimum value of the lottery for the state 
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when considering all appropriate factors, including, but not limited to, improvement in 

the present value of the anticipated existing lottery stream, past performance, 

anticipated growth, as well as any future growth guarantees, up-front payments, and 

overall return.  

Based upon this report, the Director, by January 15, 2012, must propose a request 

for proposals process to the General Assembly that outlines the appropriate terms and 

conditions for the operation and management of the lottery.   

Within 90 days of receipt of the Director's proposal, the General Assembly can 

approve or reject the terms and conditions outlined in the request for proposals by a 

joint resolution initiated in the Senate.  If, however, the General Assembly does not act 

during this period, the Director can move forward with the request for proposals. 

Lottery sales agent licenses 

(R.C. 3770.05(G)) 

Application and renewal fees 

The bill authorizes the Commission to charge an applicant fees for a lottery sales 

agent license, rather than a fee, but makes it permissive for the Commission to charge 

those fees.  The bill likewise makes it permissive for the Commission to charge a 

renewal fee. 

 

MANUFACTURED HOMES COMMISSION (MHC) 

 Transfers, from the Department of Health and the Public Health Council to the 

Manufactured Homes Commission, regulatory authority related to manufactured 

home parks. 

 Replaces the member of the Commission who represents the Department of Health 

with a member who is a registered sanitarian. 

 Requires the Board of Health to issue a report of the inspection of a flood event at a 

manufactured home park to the Commission. 

 Creates the Manufactured Homes Commission Regulatory Fund and requires 

certain fees to be deposited in that fund. 
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 Diverts certain fees from the General Operations Fund to the Occupational Licensing 

and Regulatory Fund for the administration and enforcement of the Manufactured 

Home Park Law. 

 Requires the Commission to develop a policy regarding the maintenance of records 

for any inspections and specifies that those records are public records. 

 Removes the requirement that a manufactured home owner and park operator 

jointly obtain the permit required for alterations, repairs, or changes to a damaged 

manufactured home in a flood plain. 

 Establishes adjudication procedures for violations of the Manufactured Home Park 

Law. 

 

 

Licensing and inspection of manufactured home parks 

Transfer of regulatory authority over manufactured home parks 

(R.C. 4781.26 to 4781.54, numerous cross-reference changes; Section 737.30)251 

The bill transfers, from the Department of Health and the Public Health Council 

to the Manufactured Homes Commission, regulatory authority related to manufactured 

home parks, including, for example, that the Commission:  (1) adopt rules governing 

the review of plans, issuance of flood plain management permits, and issuance of 

licenses for manufactured home parks, as well as the location, layout, density, 

construction, drainage, sanitation, safety, and operation of those parks, and notices of 

flood events concerning, and flood protection at, those parks, (2) inspect the installation, 

blocking, tiedown, foundation, and base support systems of manufactured housing in a 

park, (3) license persons who operate a park, (4) inspect each park for compliance with 

the Manufactured Home Park Law, (5) approve any development in a park, (6) approve 

any park development in a 100-year flood plain, (7) receive notification of a flood event 

and notify the Director of Health (under the bill, the Board of Health will be responsible 

for causing a post-flood inspection to occur), (8) provide permits for the 

repair/alteration of homes damaged in a flood event, and (9) compel a county 

prosecuting attorney, city director of law, or the Attorney General to prosecute to 

termination, or bring an action for injunction against a person, that has violated 

Manufactured Home Park Law. 

                                                 
251 R.C. 3733.01 to 3733.20 under current law are renumbered within the range of 4781.26 to 4781.53 by the 

bill. 
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The bill requires the Commission to adopt rules regulating manufactured home 

parks not later than December 1, 2011. After adopting the rules, the Commission 

immediately must notify the Director of Health.  The rules governing manufactured 

home parks adopted by the Public Health Council under current law will remain in 

effect in a health district until the Commission adopts the required rules. 

The bill prohibits a board of health of a city or general health district from 

invoicing or collecting manufactured home park licensing fees for calendar year 2012. 

Commission membership 

(R.C. 4781.02; Section 747.20) 

The bill replaces the member of the Manufactured Homes Commission who 

represents the Department of Health with a member who is a registered sanitarian, has 

experience with the regulation of manufactured homes, and is an employee of a health 

district. 

Board of Health responsibilities 

(R.C. 4781.26(D), 4781.04(C), and 4781.33) 

Under the bill, the Commission may enter into contracts for the purpose of 

fulfilling the Commission's annual inspection responsibilities for manufactured home 

parks.  And the bill provides boards of health of city or general health districts the right 

of first refusal for those contracts. 

The bill also provides that the Manufactured Homes Commission's expanded 

authority does not limit the authority of a board of health to enforce plumbing, sewage 

treatment, and building standards law. 

The Board of Health also is responsible, under current law and under the bill, for 

causing a post-flood inspection to occur.  When a flood event affects a manufactured 

home park, the park operator must notify the Manufactured Homes Commission in 

addition to the board of health that has jurisdiction at that location.  After receiving 

notification from the park operator, the Commission must notify the Board of Health, 

and the Board of Health must cause a post-flood inspection to occur.  The Board of 

Health then must issue a report of the inspection to the Commission within ten days 

after the inspection is completed. 

The bill removes the requirements that a local board of health notify the Director 

of Health within 24 hours of being notified by a park operator and that the Director of 

Health cause the inspection to occur within 48 hours after receiving notification from 

the local board of health. 
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Manufactured Homes Commission Regulatory Fund 

(R.C. 3701.83, 4773.05, 4781.121, 4781.28, and 4781.54; Section 737.30) 

The bill establishes in the state treasury the Manufactured Homes Commission 

Regulatory Fund and requires that the annual manufactured home park licensing fee be 

credited to that fund and be used for the administration and enforcement of the 

Manufactured Home Park Law. 

Under the bill, any manufactured home park license and inspection fees collected 

under current law by a board of health prior to the transition of the annual license and 

inspection program to the Commission as required under the bill in the amount of 

$2,000 or less may be transferred to the health fund of the city or general health district. 

Any of those funds in excess of $2,000 must be transferred to the Commission and 

deposited in the Manufactured Homes Commission Regulatory Fund. 

Occupational Licensing and Regulatory Fund 

(R.C. 4743.05, 4781.31, 4781.32, and 4781.34) 

Current law establishes the General Operations Fund and also the Occupational 

Licensing and Regulatory Fund in the state treasury.  The former fund is used for 

various purposes, including, for example, administering and enforcing the 

Manufactured Home Park Law; the latter fund is used to administer the regulatory 

provisions of various Revised Code chapters, including the chapters that currently 

contain the law governing manufactured homes.  The bill diverts the deposit of the 

following fees from the General Operations Fund into the Occupational Licensing and 

Regulatory Fund and limits their use for administration and enforcement of the 

Manufactured Home Park Law:  (1) fees for reviewing development plans for a 

manufactured home park and for inspecting plan compliance, (2) fees for the issuance 

of a permit for development of, or replacement of a mobile or manufactured home in, 

any portion of a manufactured home park located in a 100-year flood plain, (3) fees for 

the issuance of a permit for the alteration, change, or repair of a substantially damaged 

mobile or manufactured home located in a 100-year flood plain or the manufactured 

home park lot on which the home sits, and (4) fees for inspection for compliance with 

the permits described in (2) and (3). 
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Maintenance of records 

(R.C. 4781.04) 

The bill requires the Commission to develop a policy regarding the maintenance 

of records for any inspection authorized or conducted under manufactured homes law.  

Under the bill, those records are public records.   

Permits for alterations, repairs, or changes 

(R.C. 4781.34) 

The bill removes the current law requirement that a manufactured home owner 

and park operator jointly obtain the permit required for alterations, repairs, or changes 

to a damaged manufactured home in a flood plain.  Under current law, each of the 

persons to whom a permit is jointly issued is responsible for compliance with the 

provisions of the approved permit.  However, the bill maintains the requirement that a 

manufactured home owner and park operator obtain a permit to make those alterations, 

repairs, or changes. 

Investigation and adjudication regarding violations of manufactured home 
and mobile home laws 

(R.C. 4781.121 and 4781.09) 

The bill authorizes the Manufactured Homes Commission to investigate any 

person who allegedly has violated the law governing the following:  (1) licensure 

requirements for the installation of manufactured housing, (2) display or sale of 

manufactured or mobile homes, (3) licensure to operate a manufactured home park, 

and (4) any rule adopted by the Manufactured Homes Commission. 

The bill sets forth the following adjudication procedures for when, after 

investigation, the Commission determines that reasonable evidence exists that a person 

has committed a violation.  First, within seven days after the Commission makes such a 

determination, the Commission must send a written notice to that person.  The notice 

must conform with the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), except that it must specify 

that a hearing will be held and specify the date, time, and place of the hearing.   

If the Commission, after a hearing conducted as provided under the APA, 

determines that a violation has occurred, the Commission, upon an affirmative vote of 

five of its members, may impose a fine not exceeding $1,000 per violation per day.  The 

Commission's determination is an order that the person may appeal pursuant to the 

APA.   
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If the person who allegedly committed a violation fails to appear for a hearing, 

the Commission may request the court of common pleas of the county where the 

alleged violation occurred to compel the person to appear before the Commission for a 

hearing.  

If the Commission assesses a person a civil penalty for a violation and the person 

fails to pay that civil penalty within the time period prescribed by the Commission, the 

Commission must forward to the Attorney General the name of the person and the 

amount of the civil penalty for the purpose of collecting that civil penalty.  In addition 

to the civil penalty assessed, the person also will be required to pay any fee assessed by 

the Attorney General for collection of the civil penalty.  The bill stipulates that the 

authority provided to the Commission, and any fine imposed, will be in addition to, 

and not in lieu of, all penalties and other remedies provided in the Manufactured Home 

Park Law. 

Any fines collected must be used solely to administer and enforce the 

Manufactured Home Park Law and the rules adopted under it.  Any fees collected must 

be credited to the Manufactured Homes Commission Regulatory Fund created under 

the bill.  The fees also must be used only for the purpose of administering and enforcing 

the Manufactured Home Park Law. 

The civil penalty that the bill allows the Commission to assess replaces the 

authority of the Commission under existing law to impose a civil penalty of not less 

than $100 or more than $500 per violation of the laws governing manufactured housing 

installers as an alternative to suspending, revoking, or refusing to renew a 

manufactured housing installer's license. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH (DMH) 

 Revises the law under which boards of alcohol, drug addiction, and mental health 

services (ADAMHS boards) receive subsidies from the Ohio Department of Mental 

Health (ODMH) by (1) requiring ODMH to establish a methodology for allocating to 

ADAMHS boards, on a district or multi-district basis, the funds appropriated to 

ODMH for the purpose of local mental health systems of care and (2) permitting 

ODMH to allocate to ADAMHS boards a portion of the funds appropriated to 

ODMH for the operation of state hospital services. 

 For fiscal years 2012 and 2013, (1) requires, rather than permits, ODMH to allocate to 

ADAMHS boards a portion of ODMH's appropriation for state hospital services, 

(2) requires, with certain exceptions, a board to use the funds to pay for 

expenditures the board incurs in paying for inpatient hospitalization services 
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provided by state regional psychiatric hospitals to persons involuntarily committed 

to the board, (3) authorizes ODMH, if the amount distributed to a board exceeds the 

amount that the board needs to pay for such expenditures, to permit the board to 

use the excess funds for the board's community mental health plan, and 

(4) authorizes ODMH to permit a board to have a portion of the funds deposited 

into the ODMH Risk Fund. 

 Repeals a law that provides for ADAMHS boards' community mental health plans 

to constitute applications for funds from ODMH but maintains a law that conditions 

a board's eligibility for state and federal funding on an approved community mental 

health plan or relevant part of a plan. 

 Eliminates requirements for ADAMHS boards to receive, compile, and transmit to 

ODMH applications for state reimbursement and ODMH to review, periodically 

during a year, the budgets and expenditures of the various facilities and community 

mental health agencies receiving funds. 

 Eliminates certain requirements applicable to an ADAMHS board that elects to 

accept distribution of its allocation, including requirements for the board to pay into 

the ODMH Risk Fund and to provide ODMH with the board's projected utilization 

of state hospitals and other state-operated services. 

 Requires an ADAMHS board, as a condition of electing not to accept distribution of 

its allocation, to provide ODMH written confirmation that the board has received 

input about the impact that the board's election will have on the mental health 

system in the board's district from certain individuals and entities. 

 Eliminates the authority of an ADAMHS board to utilize a part of its budget as 

approved by ODMH to purchase insurance and to pool with funds of other boards 

to pay for the costs of utilizing state hospital facilities that exceed the amount of the 

board's allocation. 

 Specifies that an ADAMHS board's use of its allocated funds is subject to audit by 

county, state, and federal authorities. 

 Requires ODMH to charge unreimbursed costs for services that ODMH provides 

against a board's allocation of funds for state hospital services. 

 Permits, rather than requires, ODMH to withhold state or federal funds from an 

ADAMHS board that denies an available service on the basis of religion, race, color, 

creed, sex, national origin, disability, or developmental disability and eliminates 

ODMH's authority to make a withholding on the grounds that a board denies an 

available service on the basis of the inability to pay. 
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 Requires each ADAMHS board to develop its community mental health plan, and 

submit the plan to ODMH, annually rather than requiring each board to submit its 

plan not later than six months before the conclusion of the fiscal year in which the 

board's current plan is scheduled to expire. 

 Eliminates requirements that (1) an ADAMHS board's community mental health 

plan include an explanation of how the board intends to make any payments that it 

may be required to make under the law governing the funds that ODMH allocates to 

boards and (2) a board submit an allocation request for state and federal funds with 

its plan. 

 Eliminates the deadline by which ODMH must approve or disapprove an ADAMHS 

board's community mental health plan. 

 Permits an ADAMHS board and ODMH to request that a dispute regarding a 

community mental health plan be submitted to a third-party mediator at any time 

while approval remains in dispute rather than having to wait until there are 30 days 

remaining in the fiscal year in which the board's current plan is scheduled to expire. 

 Eliminates a requirement that ODMH, when a community mental health plan is 

submitted to a third-party mediator, make its final determination regarding 

approval before the conclusion of that fiscal year. 

 Eliminates a law under which an ADAMHS board's amendment to its community 

mental health plan is considered to have been approved if ODMH fails to approve it 

within 30 days after it is submitted. 

 Eliminates the responsibility of ODMH and ADAMHS boards to pay the nonfederal 

share for services provided under a component of the Medicaid program that 

ODMH administers and makes the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services 

(ODJFS) responsible for paying for such services effective July 1, 2012. 

 Requires ODMH, notwithstanding ODJFS's new responsibility, to allocate to 

ADAMHS boards mental health Medicaid match funds appropriated to ODMH for 

fiscal year 2012 and requires the boards to use the funds to pay claims for 

community mental health services provided during that fiscal year under the 

ODMH-administered Medicaid component and requires the boards also to use all 

federal financial participation that ODMH receives for claims for such services as the 

first payment source to pay such claims. 

 Requires ODMH to enter into an agreement with each ADAMHS board regarding 

the issue of paying claims that are for community mental health services provided 
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before July 1, 2011, and submitted for payment on or after that date and requires 

that such claims be paid in accordance with the agreements. 

 Provides for an ADAMHS board to receive the federal financial participation 

received for claims for community mental health services that were provided before 

July 1, 2011, and paid by the board. 

 Eliminates a requirement that ADAMHS boards audit all programs and services for 

which the boards contract. 

 Repeals a law that makes the county of residence of an individual with mental 

illness responsible for (1) the necessary expense of returning the individual to the 

individual's county of residence and (2) regular probate court fees and expenses 

incident to an order of hospitalization. 

 Gives members of a board of directors, and employees, of a facility or agency in 

which ODMH places a person committed to ODMH qualified immunity for injury 

or damages the person suffers. 

 Provides for the Attorney General to represent in civil actions persons who, 

pursuant to an agreement with ODMH, render medical, nursing, dental, podiatric, 

optometric, physical therapeutic, psychiatric, or psychological services to patients in 

an institution ODMH operates. 

 Provides that a prohibition against an ADAMHS board member being an employee 

of an agency with which the board contracts for services or facilities does not apply 

if the board member's employment duties with the agency consist of providing, only 

outside the district the board serves, services for which the Medicaid program pays. 

 Gives ODMH all the authority necessary to carry out its powers and duties under 

state law governing ODMH. 

 Authorizes the ODMH Director to contract with agencies, institutions, and other 

entities as necessary for ODMH to carry out its duties under state laws governing 

ODMH, ADAMHS boards, criminal offenses against the family, criminal trials, and 

mentally ill persons subject to hospitalization by court order. 

 Exempts such contracts from state law governing the state's purchases of services if 

the contracts are for services provided to individuals with mental illness by 

agencies, institutions, and other entities not owned or operated by ODMH. 
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 Provides for ODMH contracts concerning the custody, supervision, care, or 

treatment of mentally ill persons receiving services elsewhere than within an ODMH 

hospital also to provide for the evaluation of such persons. 

 Eliminates a requirement for ODMH to establish and support a program at the state 

level to promote a community support system for every ADAMHS district and 

requires, instead, that ODMH support, to the extent ODMH has available resources 

and in consultation with the boards, a community support system on a district or 

multi-district basis. 

 Eliminates a requirement that ODMH assist in coordinating the planning, 

evaluation, and delivery of services to facilitate mentally ill persons' access to public 

services at federal, state, and local levels. 

 Permits ODMH to prioritize support for one or more of the elements of a 

community support system. 

 Provides that ODMH's responsibility for promoting and supporting a full range of 

mental health services that are available and accessible to all Ohio residents applies 

to the extent ODMH has available resources. 

 Provides that the requirement for the ODMH Director to develop and operate a 

community mental health information system or systems applies to the extent the 

ODMH Director determines necessary and permits the ODMH Director to contract 

for the operation of the system or systems. 

 Requires the ODMH Director to consult with ADAMHS boards before developing 

and operating the community mental health information system or systems. 

 Requires the ODMH Director to accept from a community mental health agency its 

accreditation from specified national accrediting organizations as evidence that the 

agency satisfies Ohio's standards for state certification of the agency's services, if the 

Director determines that the agency's accreditation is current and is appropriate for 

the services for which the agency is seeking certification. 

 Requires the Directors of ODMH and ODADAS, not later than December 31, 2011, 

and in consultation with persons interested in the issues of residential facilities and 

community behavioral health services and programs, to identify areas of duplicative 

documentation requirements, align the documentation standards of ODMH and 

ODADAS, streamline Ohio's standards regarding facilities and services with federal 

standards, and promote the integration of behavioral and physical health services. 
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 Requires ODMH to use money in its Trust Fund to pay for expenditures that ODMH 

incurs in performing any of its duties under state law rather than for specific mental 

health purposes. 

 Transfers to ODMH (from the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA)) the administration 

of the Residential State Supplement Program (RSS). 

 Provides that no person receiving payments under RSS is to be affected by the 

transfer. 

 Removes a requirement to prepare an annual report for the General Assembly on 

the costs and savings achieved through a home first process for RSS recipients. 

 Removes a requirement that certain facilities be certified by ODA for residents of the 

facility to be eligible for RSS payments. 

 Transfers to ODMH (from ODA) responsibility for the certification of adult foster 

homes and continues the requirement that employees in direct care positions 

undergo criminal records checks. 

 Transfers to ODMH (from the Ohio Department of Health (ODH)) responsibility for 

licensing adult care facilities. 

 Requires ODMH, rather than the Public Health Council, to adopt rules governing 

adult care facilities and specifies what the rules are permitted, rather than required, 

to include. 

 Authorizes inspections of adult care facilities to be conducted as desk audits or on-

site inspections. 

 Provides that if an inspection is conducted to investigate an alleged violation in an 

adult care facility serving residents receiving publicly funded mental health services 

or RSS Program payments, the inspection may (rather than must) be coordinated 

with the appropriate mental health agency, ADAMHS board, or RSS (rather than 

PASSPORT) administrative agency. 

 Adds the right to be free from seclusion and mechanical restraint to the rights of an 

adult care facility resident and modifies the current definition of "physical restraint." 

 Removes the ODA Director and residents' rights advocates from the list of 

individuals authorized to assert on behalf of adult care facility residents their 

statutory residents' rights. 
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 Eliminates the authority of residents' rights advocates and sponsors of current or 

prospective residents to enter an adult care facility during reasonable hours. 

 If a court grants injunctive relief for operating an adult care facility without a license, 

eliminates a requirement that the facility assist residents' rights advocates in 

relocating facility residents, and instead requires the facility to assist in relocating 

residents. 

 Specifies that certain government and mental health agency employees and the 

ODMH Director may release resident-identifying information from the records of an 

adult care facility, without the resident's consent, if authorized by law to do so. 

 Requires criminal records checks on applicants for employment with an adult care 

facility in a position involving direct care to "adult residents," rather than only those 

positions involving direct care to "older adults" (persons 60 or older). 

 Authorizes (1) hospitals licensed by ODMH to exchange with other healthcare 

providers a patient's psychiatric records and other pertinent information if the 

purpose of exchanging the confidential information is to facilitate the continuity of 

the patient's care and (2) ODMH hospitals, institutions, and facilities, ODMH-

licensed hospitals, and community mental health agencies to exchange such records 

and information with payers. 

 Authorizes the conveyance of state-owned real estate to the Board of County 

Hospital Trustees of The MetroHealth System in Cuyahoga County. 

 Requires the Director of Mental Health to disburse $3.4 million from capital 

appropriation item C58010, Campus Consolidation, to the grantee within 30 days 

after the conveyance to pay for demolishing the building situated on the real estate. 

 

 

ODMH allocations of state mental health subsidies 

(R.C. 5119.62 (primary), 340.03, 340.08 (repealed), 340.11, 5119.61, 5119.621, 5119.622, 

5119.623, and 5122.15; Section 337.20.60) 

The bill revises the law under which boards of alcohol, drug addiction, and 

mental health services (ADAMHS boards) receive subsidies from the Ohio Department 

of Mental Health (ODMH). Under current law, ODMH is required, after approving a 

board's community mental health plan, to authorize payment of subsidies to the board 

from funds appropriated for that purpose. The subsidies have two sources:  (1) funds 

appropriated to ODMH for local management of mental health services and (2) funds 
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appropriated to ODMH for hospital personal services, hospital maintenance, and 

hospital equipment, other than such funds that ODMH retains for forensic services. 

ODMH is required by current law to establish an allocation methodology, including a 

formula, for the subsidies. The formula must include as a factor the number of severely 

mentally disabled persons who reside in each ADAMHS district and may include other 

factors such as the historic utilization of public hospitals. The methodology must 

provide for a portion of the subsidies to be distributed on the basis of the ratio of each 

ADAMHS districtʹs population to the stateʹs total population. 

Allocation of funds for local mental health systems of care 

Under the bill, ODMH is required to establish a methodology for allocating to 

ADAMHS boards the funds appropriated to ODMH for the purpose of local mental 

health systems of care. ODMH is to establish the methodology after notifying and 

consulting with relevant constituencies, including consumers of mental health services 

and their families. The methodology may provide for the funds to be allocated to the 

boards on a district or multi-district basis.  

Allocation of funds for state hospital services 

In addition to being required to establish a methodology for allocating local 

mental health systems of care funds, ODMH is permitted to allocate to ADAMHS 

boards a portion of the funds appropriated to ODMH for the operation of state hospital 

services. If ODMH allocates the funds, ODMH is required to do all of the following: 

(1)  In consultation with the boards, annually determine the unit costs of 

providing state hospital services and establish the methodology for allocating the funds 

to the boards; 

(2)  Determine the type of unit costs of providing state hospital services to be 

included as a factor in the methodology and include that unit cost as a factor in the 

methodology; 

(3)  Allocate the funds in a manner consistent with the methodology and state 

and federal laws and regulations. 

The bill requires, rather than permits, ODMH to allocate to ADAMHS boards a 

portion of its appropriation for state hospital services for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

ODMH, in consultation with the boards, must establish a methodology to be used for 

the allocations. The allocation methodology is to include as factors at least the per diem 

cost of inpatient hospitalization services at state regional psychiatric hospitals and the 

estimated number of bed days (days for which a person receives inpatient 

hospitalization services in a state regional psychiatric hospital) that each board will 
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incur in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 in carrying out their duties regarding mentally ill 

individuals subject to hospitalization by court order who are involuntarily committed 

for treatment. ODMH is authorized to require each board to provide ODMH with an 

estimate of the number of bed days the board will incur in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 for 

that purpose. A board is required to use the funds allocated to it to pay for expenditures 

the board incurs in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 in paying for inpatient hospitalization 

services provided by state regional psychiatric hospitals to persons involuntarily 

committed to the board. However, if the amount distributed to a board exceeds the 

amount that the board needs to pay for such expenditures, ODMH may permit the 

board to use the excess funds for the board's community mental health plan. Also, 

ODMH may permit a board to have a portion of the funds deposited into the ODMH 

Risk Fund. Even though the bill eliminates the law creating the ODMH Risk Fund, the 

bill provides for the fund to continue to exist in the state treasury until it is no longer 

needed. While it continues to exist, money in the ODMH Risk Fund is to be used in 

accordance with guidelines ODMH is to develop in consultation with representatives of 

the boards. 

Eligibility for, and distribution of, funds 

The bill repeals a law that provides for ADAMHS boards' community mental 

health plans to constitute applications for funds from ODMH. The bill maintains, 

however, a law that conditions a board's eligibility for state and federal funding on an 

approved community mental health plan or relevant part of a plan. 

Under the bill, boards are no longer required to receive, compile, and transmit to 

ODMH applications for state reimbursement and ODMH is no longer required to 

review, periodically during a year, the budgets and expenditures of the various facilities 

and community mental health agencies receiving funds.  

Continuing law requires an ADAMHS board, after ODMH informs the board of 

the amount of the board's estimated allocation for an upcoming fiscal year, to notify 

ODMH of whether the board elects to accept distribution of its allocation. The bill 

eliminates certain requirements applicable to a board that elects to accept distribution of 

its allocation, including requirements for the board to pay into the ODMH Risk Fund 

and to provide ODMH with the board's projected utilization of state hospitals and other 

state-operated services. ODMH is no longer required to retain and expend funds 

projected to be utilized for state hospitals and other state-operated services. The bill also 

adds an additional condition that must be met for a board to be able to elect not to 

accept distribution of its allocation. The additional condition is that the board must 

provide ODMH written confirmation that the board has received input about the 

impact that the board's election will have on the mental health system in the board's 

district from (1) individuals who receive mental health services and such individuals' 
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families, (2) boards of county commissioners, (3) juvenile and probate judges, and (4) 

county sheriffs, jail administrators, and other local law enforcement officials. This 

condition must be satisfied before the board satisfies an existing condition that the 

board conduct a public hearing on the issue of whether to accept distribution of its 

allocation. 

The bill eliminates the authority of an ADAMHS board to utilize a part of its 

budget as approved by ODMH to purchase insurance and to pool with funds of other 

boards to pay for the costs of utilizing state hospital facilities that exceed the amount of 

the board's allocation. 

Audits 

The bill specifies that an ADAMHS board's use of its allocated funds is subject to 

audit by county, state, and federal authorities. 

Charges and withholdings of funds 

Whereas current law permits ODMH to charge overpayments of state funds 

against a county and requires ODMH to charge any unreimbursed costs for services 

that ODMH provides against a board's allocation of funds for local management of 

mental health services, the bill requires ODMH to charge such unreimbursed costs 

against a board's allocation of funds for state hospital services. 

ODMH is required by current law to withhold, in whole or in part, state and 

federal funds from an ADAMHS board for any program in the event the program fails 

to comply with certain state laws or ODMH rules. The bill permits ODMH to withhold, 

in whole or in part, funds otherwise allocated to a board if the board fails to comply 

with the state laws or rules. Whereas current law specifies that one of the laws with 

which boards must comply to avoid a withholding is the state law governing the 

allocations, the bill specifies instead that one of the laws is a law requiring boards 

annually to report to ODMH regarding the use of their allocations.  

ODMH is also required by current law to withhold state or federal funds from an 

ADAMHS board that denies an available service on the basis of religion, race, color, 

creed, sex, national origin, disability, developmental disability, or the inability to pay. 

The bill permits, rather than requires, ODMH to make such a withholding and specifies 

that the funds that are subject to a withholding are funds otherwise to be allocated to a 

board. Denial of an available service on the basis of the inability to pay is removed from 

the reasons for which a withholding may be made. 
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Community mental health plans 

(R.C. 340.03 and 5119.61) 

The bill revises the law governing ADAMHS boards' community mental health 

plans. Under continuing law, a board's plan is to list the community mental health 

needs of the board's district and the facilities and community mental health services 

that will be available under the plan to meet those needs. 

Under the bill, ADAMHS boards are to develop their plans and submit the plans 

to ODMH annually.  Current law requires that the plans be developed and submitted 

not later than six months before the conclusion of the fiscal year in which the boards' 

current plans are scheduled to expire.  The bill eliminates requirements that (1) a 

board's plan include an explanation of how the board intends to make any payments 

that it may be required to make under the law governing the funds that ODMH 

allocates to boards and (2) a board submit an allocation request for state and federal 

funds with its plan. 

The bill eliminates the deadline by which ODMH must approve or disapprove a 

board's plan. Under current law, ODMH must approve or disapprove the plan within 

60 days after determining that the plan is complete.  A board and ODMH may request 

that a dispute regarding a plan be submitted to a third-party mediator at any time while 

approval remains in dispute rather than, as under current law, having to wait until 

there are 30 days remaining in the fiscal year in which the board's current plan is 

scheduled to expire.  The bill eliminates a requirement that ODMH, when a plan is 

submitted to a third-party mediator, make its final determination regarding approval 

before the conclusion of that fiscal year. 

Continuing law establishes a process for a board to seek approval of an 

amendment to its plan.  The bill eliminates a provision of current law that makes the 

amendment or part of it considered to have been approved if ODMH fails to approve 

all or part of it within 30 days after it is submitted. 

Payment for mental health services provided under Medicaid 

(R.C. 5111.912 (primary), 340.03, 5111.023, 5111.025, and 5111.911; Section 337.30.30) 

Under current law, ODMH and ADAMHS boards are responsible for paying the 

nonfederal share of any Medicaid payment for services provided under a component of 

the Medicaid program that ODMH administers on the behalf of the Ohio Department of 

Job and Family Services (ODJFS).  The bill makes ODJFS responsible for the payments.  

If necessary, the ODJFS Director must submit a Medicaid state plan amendment to the 

U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services regarding ODJFS's responsibility. 
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Notwithstanding ODJFS's new responsibility, the bill requires ODMH to allocate 

to ADAMHS boards mental health Medicaid match funds appropriated to ODMH for 

fiscal year 2012 and requires the boards to use the funds to pay claims for community 

mental health services provided during that fiscal year under the Medicaid component 

that ODMH administers. The boards are also required to use all federal financial 

participation that ODMH receives for claims for such services as the first payment 

source to pay such claims.  The bill provides that no board is required to use any other 

funds to pay for such claims. 

ODMH is required by the bill to enter into an agreement with each ADAMHS 

board regarding the issue of paying claims that are for community mental health 

services provided before July 1, 2011, and submitted for payment on or after that date. 

Such claims are required to be paid in accordance with the agreements.  A board is to 

receive the federal financial participation received for claims for community mental 

health services that were provided before July 1, 2011, and paid by the board. 

ADAMHS boards' audit duties 

(R.C. 340.03 (primary), 9.03, 340.033, 340.091, 5119.61, 5119.611, 5119.613, 5119.69, 

5119.70, 5119.84, and 5119.86; Section 337.20.60) 

The bill eliminates a requirement that each ADAMHS board, at least annually, 

audit all programs and services provided under contract with the board.  Under current 

law, an ADAMHS board, in auditing programs and services, may contract for or 

employ the services of private auditors.  In eliminating the auditing requirement, the 

bill also eliminates a requirement that a copy of a fiscal audit report be provided to the 

ODMH Director, State Auditor, and county auditor of each county in the board's 

district. 

County of residence responsibilities 

(R.C. 5122.36 (repealed)) 

The bill repeals a law that makes the county of residence of an individual with 

mental illness responsible for the following: 

 The necessary expense of returning the individual to the individual's 

county of residence. 

 Regular probate court fees and expenses incident to an order of 

hospitalization. 
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Qualified immunity of facilities and agencies 

(R.C. 5122.341) 

The bill provides that no member of a board of directors, or employee, of an 

entity in which ODMH places a person committed to ODMH is liable for injury or 

damages caused by an action or inaction taken within the scope of the board member's 

official duties or employee's employment relating to the commitment of, and services 

provided to, the person committed to ODMH, unless the action or inaction constitutes 

willful or wanton misconduct.  A board member's or employee's action or inaction does 

not constitute willful or wanton misconduct if the board member or employee acted in 

good faith and reasonably under the circumstances and with the knowledge reasonably 

attributable to the board member or employee.  The qualified immunity that the bill 

provides is in addition to and not in limitation of any immunity otherwise conferred by 

state law or judicial precedent. 

Attorney General representing officers and employees 

(R.C. 109.36) 

The bill provides for the Attorney General to represent in civil actions persons 

who, pursuant to an agreement with ODMH, render medical, nursing, dental, podiatric, 

optometric, physical therapeutic, psychiatric, or psychological services to patients in an 

institution ODMH operates.  This replaces a similar responsibility that the Attorney 

General has to represent persons who, pursuant to an agreement between an ODMH 

institution and an ADAMHS board, render medical services to patients in the ODMH 

institution. 

Restrictions on serving on and working for an ADAMHS board 

(R.C. 340.02) 

The bill establishes an exception to a prohibition in current law against an 

ADAMHS board member from being an employee of any agency with which the board 

has entered into a contract for the provision of services or facilities.  Under the bill, the 

prohibition does not apply if the board member's employment duties with the agency 

consist of providing, only outside the district the board serves, services for which the 

Medicaid program pays. 
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ODMH's general authority 

(R.C. 5119.012) 

The bill provides that ODMH has all the authority necessary to carry out its 

powers and duties under state laws governing ODMH, ADAMHS boards, offenses 

against the family, criminal trials, and hospitalization of individuals with mental illness. 

ODMH's contracts with providers 

(R.C. 5119.013, 5119.06, and 5119.18) 

The bill authorizes the ODMH Director to contract with agencies, institutions, 

and other entities as necessary for ODMH to carry out its duties under state laws 

governing ODMH, ADAMHS boards, offenses against the family, criminal trials, and 

hospitalization of individuals with mental illness.  Under the bill, such contracts are not 

subject to state law governing the state's purchases of services if the contracts are for 

services provided to individuals with mental illness by agencies, institutions, and other 

entities not owned or operated by ODMH. 

Evaluation of persons receiving services outside an ODMH hospital 

(R.C. 5119.01(E)) 

Current law requires the ODMH Director to contract with persons, 

organizations, or agencies for the custody, supervision, care, or treatment of mentally ill 

persons receiving services elsewhere than within an ODMH hospital. The bill provides 

for the contracts also to provide for the evaluation of such persons. 

ODMH forensic services 

(R.C. 5119.02(D)) 

ODMH is required by current law to provide and designate facilities for the care, 

custody, and special treatment of persons who are charged with a crime and found 

incompetent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of insanity. The bill eliminates the 

requirement for ODMH to provide for such facilities. In addition to being required to 

designate facilities for such individuals, the bill requires ODMH to designate hospitals 

and community mental health agencies. The bill also requires ODMH to authorize 

payment for the custody, care, and special treatment provided to such persons. 
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Community support system 

(R.C. 5119.06(A)) 

The bill eliminates a requirement for ODMH to establish and support a program 

at the state level to promote a community support system to be available for every 

ADAMHS district and requires, instead, that ODMH support, to the extent ODMH has 

available resources and in consultation with ADAMHS boards, a community support 

system on a district or multi-district basis.  The bill also eliminates a requirement that 

ODMH assist in coordinating the planning, evaluation, and delivery of services to 

facilitate mentally ill persons' access to public services at federal, state, and local levels.  

ODMH is permitted by the bill to prioritize support for one or more of the elements of a 

community support system. 

ODMH's support of services 

(R.C. 5119.06(D)) 

The bill provides that ODMH's responsibility for promoting and supporting a 

full range of mental health services that are available and accessible to all Ohio 

residents applies to the extent ODMH has available resources. 

Community mental health information system 

(R.C. 5119.61(F)) 

The bill provides that the requirement for the ODMH Director to develop and 

operate a community mental health information system or systems applies to the extent 

the ODMH Director determines necessary and permits the ODMH Director to contract 

for the operation of the system or systems.  The ODMH Director is required to consult 

with ADAMHS boards before developing and operating the system or systems. 

Certification of community mental health services 

(R.C. 5119.612 (primary) and 5119.611) 

Each community mental health agency is required under current law to apply to 

the ODMH Director for certification of its services.  To receive certification, an agency 

must meet the minimum standards established by the Director. 

In lieu of a determination by the ODMH Director of whether a community 

mental health agency satisfies the minimum standards for certification, the bill requires 

the Director to accept national accreditation of an applicant's services as evidence that 

the applicant satisfies the standards for certification.  Acceptance of accreditation 
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applies to an applicant's mental health services, integrated mental health and alcohol 

and other drug addiction services, or integrated mental health and physical health 

services. 

Requirements for acceptance of accreditation 

For an applicant's accreditation to be accepted, the following requirements apply: 

(1)  The applicant must hold the accreditation from one of the following national 

accrediting organizations:  the Joint Commission, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, or the Council on Accreditation; 

(2)  The accreditation must be for services being provided in Ohio; 

(3)  The ODMH Director must determine that the accreditation is appropriate for 

the services for which the applicant is seeking certification; 

(4)  The applicant must meet any other requirements established in rules to be 

adopted under the bill. 

If the Director determines that the applicant meets these requirements, the bill 

requires the Director to certify the applicant's services.  The bill specifies that the 

certification is to be issued without further evaluation of the services, except for any 

visit or evaluation otherwise authorized by the bill (see "Visiting or evaluating a 

program for cause," below). 

Review of accrediting organizations 

The bill authorizes the ODMH Director to review the national accrediting 

organizations listed above to evaluate whether the accreditation standards and 

processes used by the organizations are consistent with service delivery models the 

Director considers appropriate for mental health services, physical health services, or 

both.  The Director may communicate to an accrediting organization any identified 

concerns, trends, needs, and recommendations. 

Visiting or evaluating a program for cause 

The ODMH Director is authorized by the bill to visit or otherwise evaluate a 

community mental health agency at any time based on cause.  Reasons include 

complaints made by or on behalf of consumers and confirmed or alleged deficiencies 

brought to the attention of the Director. 
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Notification of accreditation status changes 

Under the bill, the ODMH Director must require a community mental health 

agency to provide notice not later than ten days after any change in the agency's 

accreditation status.  The agency is permitted to notify the Director by providing a copy 

of the relevant document the agency received from the accrediting organization. 

Submission of major unusual incident reports and cost reports 

Under the bill, the ODMH Director must require a community mental health 

agency to submit reports of major unusual incidents.  The bill authorizes the Director to 

require an agency to submit cost reports pertaining to the agency. 

Rules 

The bill requires the ODMH Director to adopt rules to implement the bill's 

provisions regarding the acceptance of a community mental health agency's 

accreditation for purposes of state certification.  The rules must be adopted in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act (R.C. Chapter 119.).  In adopting the 

rules, the Director must do all of the following: 

(1)  Specify the documentation that must be submitted as evidence of holding 

appropriate accreditation; 

(2)  Establish a process by which the Director may review the accreditation 

standards and processes used by the national accrediting organizations; 

(3)  Specify the circumstances under which reports of major unusual incidents 

and agency cost reports must be submitted to the Director; 

(4)  Specify the circumstances under which the Director may visit or otherwise 

evaluate a community mental health agency for cause; 

(5)  Establish a process by which the Director, based on deficiencies identified as 

a result of visiting or evaluating an agency, may take a range of corrective actions, with 

the most stringent being revocation of the agency's certification. 

Behavioral health documentation reduction 

(Section 337.30.90) 

The bill requires the Directors of ODMH and ODADAS, not later than December 

31, 2011, and in consultation with persons interested in the issues of mental health 

residential facilities and community behavioral health services and programs, to do all 

of the following: 
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(1)  Identify areas of duplicative and unnecessary documentation requirements 

associated with licensing residential facilities and certifying community behavioral 

health services and programs; 

(2)  Align the documentation standards of ODMH and ODADAS; 

(3)  Streamline the standards of ODMH and ODADAS regarding residential 

facilities and community behavioral health services and programs with federal 

standards; 

(4)  Promote the integration of behavioral and physical health in residential 

facilities and community behavioral health services and programs. 

ODMH Trust Fund 

(R.C. 5119.18) 

The bill expands ODMH's authority to use its Trust Fund money to pay for any 

expenditure incurred in performing its duties under state law, rather than for the 

following specific mental health purposes: 

(1)  Establishing and supporting a program at the state level to promote a 

community support system to be available for every alcohol, drug addiction, and 

mental health service district; 

(2)  Providing training, consultation, and technical assistance regarding mental 

health programs and services and appropriate prevention and mental health promotion 

activities to ODMH employees, community mental health agencies and boards, and 

other agencies providing mental health services; 

(3)  Promoting and supporting a full range of mental health services that are 

available and accessible to all Ohio residents, especially for severely mentally disabled 

individuals; 

(4)  Designing and setting criteria for the determination of severe mental 

disability; 

(5)  Establishing standards for evaluation of mental health programs; 

(6)  Promoting, directing, conducting, and coordinating scientific research 

concerning the causes and prevention of mental illness, methods of providing effective 

services and treatment, and means of enhancing the mental health of all Ohio residents; 
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(7)  Fostering the establishment and availability of vocational rehabilitation 

services and the creation of employment opportunities for consumers of mental health 

services; 

(8)  Establishing a program to protect and promote the rights of persons 

receiving mental health services; 

(9)  Establishing guidelines for the development of community mental health 

plans and the review and approval or disapproval of such plans; 

(10)  Promoting the involvement of persons who are receiving or have received 

mental health services in the planning, evaluation, delivery, and operation of mental 

health services; 

(11)  Notifying and consulting with the relevant constituencies that may be 

affected by rules, standards, and guidelines issued by ODMH; 

(12)  Providing training regarding the provision of community-based mental 

health services to ODMH employees who are utilized in state-operated, community-

based mental health services; 

(13)  Providing consultation to the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction 

concerning the delivery of mental health services in state correctional institutions. 

Transfer of Residential State Supplement Program 

(R.C. 5119.69, 5119.691, and 5119.692; Section 337.30.50; conforming changes in R.C. 

173.14, 173.35, 340.091, 2903.33, 3721.56, 3722.04, 5101.35, and 5119.61) 

The bill transfers to ODMH (from ODA) the implementation of the Residential 

State Supplement Program (RSS).  The program provides cash supplemental payments 

to eligible aged, blind, or disabled adults who receive benefits under the federal 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program.  The cash supplements provided under 

RSS must be used for the provision of accommodations, supervision, and personal care 

services. 

Under the bill, the transferred RSS program is to be implemented in the same 

manner as ODA currently administers the program, except as follows: 

(1)  Permits, rather than requires, the ODMH Director to adopt rules that specify 

procedures and requirements for placing an individual on the RSS waiting list and 

priorities for the order that those on the waiting list are to be provided with RSS 

payments; 
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(2)  Permits, rather than requires, the Director to adopt rules that establish the 

method to be used to determine the payment amount an eligible person will receive 

under the RSS program; 

(3)  In establishing the method to be used to determine RSS payments, permits, 

rather than requires, the Director to consider amounts appropriated by the General 

Assembly for the program; 

(4)  Removes a requirement that, each year, a report be provided to the General 

Assembly detailing the number of individuals participating in RSS rather than receiving 

care in a nursing facility, and the savings achieved as a result of the RSS enrollments 

(see "RSS Home First," below); 

(5)  Permits, rather than requires, ODJFS to adopt rules establishing standards of 

eligibility for the program; 

(6)  Authorizes ODMH to designate an entity as responsible for providing 

administrative services to the program.  For purposes of this requirement, ODMH is 

authorized to either enter into a contract with, or delegate the responsibility to, an entity 

to provide the services. 

To qualify for RSS, a person must meet a number of conditions.  For example, the 

person must reside in an approved living facility.  As part of transferring the program 

to ODMH, the bill eliminates the requirement that facilities be certified by ODA in 

order for residents to be eligible for RSS payments.  Under the transfer, ODA 

certification requirements are removed for all of the following facilities: 

(1)  A home or facility, other than a nursing home, licensed by the Ohio 

Department of Health (ODH); 

(2)  A residential facility licensed by ODMH and adult care facilities, which the 

bill requires ODMH to license rather than ODH; 

(3)  An apartment or room used to provide community mental health housing 

services; 

(4)  An adult foster home, which the bill requires ODMH to certify rather than 

ODA. 

Transition 

The bill provides that no person receiving RSS payments when the program is 

transferred is to be affected by the transfer.  The bill specifies that the transferred 

program is the existing program's successor, assumes the existing program's 
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obligations, and otherwise constitutes a continuation of the program.  For purposes of 

the transition from ODA to ODMH, the bill specifies the following: 

(1)  Any business regarding the RSS program commenced by ODA but not 

completed before the transfer is to be completed by ODMH; 

(2)  No validation, cure, right, privilege, obligation, or liability is lost or impaired 

by reason of the transfer; 

(3)  Rules, orders, and determinations pertaining to the RSS program are to 

continue to be in effect after the transfer occurs, until modified or rescinded by ODMH; 

(4)  Any action or proceeding related to the RSS program that is pending when 

the transfer occurs is not affected by the transfer and is to be prosecuted or defended in 

the name of ODMH. 

RSS Home First 

Under Home First provisions of current law, each month, RSS administrators are 

required to notify the ODA long-term care consultation program administrator that a 

person on the RSS waiting list has been admitted to a nursing facility.  The long-term 

care administrator is to determine if the person admitted to the nursing home would 

rather participate in RSS.  If so, the person is to be approved to participate in the RSS 

program instead of receiving services in a nursing facility.  The bill specifies that the 

notifications are to be made by the RSS administrators on a periodic schedule 

determined by ODMH. 

Certification of adult foster homes 

(R.C. 5119.692; Section 337.30.75) 

As discussed above, one of the living arrangements in which an RSS recipient 

may reside is an adult foster home, which must be certified.  The bill transfers 

responsibility for the certification of adult foster homes to ODMH (from ODA).  In 

doing so, the bill specifies the following: 

(1)  Existing adult foster home certificates are deemed to have been issued by 

ODMH; 

(2)  Any business regarding the certification of adult foster homes commenced by 

ODA but not completed before the transfer is to be completed by ODMH; 

(3)  No validation, cure, right, privilege, obligation, or liability is lost or impaired 

by reason of the transfer; 
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(4)  Rules, orders, and determinations pertaining to the certification of adult 

foster homes are to continue to be in effect after the transfer occurs, until modified or 

rescinded by ODMH; 

(5)  Any action or proceeding related to the certification process that is pending 

when the transfer occurs is not affected by the transfer and is to be prosecuted or 

defended in the name of ODMH. 

Pre-employment criminal records checks 

(R.C. 5119.693) 

Current law requires applicants for employment in positions involving 

providing direct care to individuals under community-based long-term care programs 

administered by ODA to undergo a criminal records check conducted by the Bureau of 

Criminal Identification and Investigation.  Since ODA certifies adult foster homes, 

applicants for employment in direct care positions with those homes are subject to the 

criminal records check requirement.  Under current law, ODA must adopt rules 

regarding the criminal records checks.  The rules must specify circumstances under 

which persons who plead guilty to or are convicted of specified offenses may be 

employed if they meet personal character standards.252 

In transferring the certification of adult foster homes from ODA to ODMH, the 

bill continues the criminal records check requirement of applicants seeking employment 

in direct care positions at adult foster homes.  The bill permits, rather than requires, 

ODMH to adopt rules regarding criminal records checks.  The bill also permits, rather 

than requires, that the rules specify circumstances under which an adult foster home 

may employ persons who plead guilty to or are convicted of specified offenses but meet 

personal character standards set by ODMH. 

Adult care facilities 

(R.C. 5119.70 to 5119.88 and 5119.99; Section 337.30.80; conforming changes in R.C. 

109.57, 109.572, 173.14, 173.21, 173.26, 173.35, 173.36, 173.42, 340.03, 340.05, 2317.02, 

2317.422, 2903.33, 3313.65, 3701.07, 3701.74, 3721.01, 3721.02, 3722.99 (repealed), 3737.83, 

3737.841, 3781.183, 3791.043, 5101.60, 5101.61, 5111.113, 5119.22, 5119.61, 5119.613, 

5119.99, 5123.19, 5701.13, and 5731.39) 

Adult care facilities are residential facilities that provide accommodations and 

supervision to three to 16 unrelated adults, at least three of whom require personal care 

services. 

                                                 
252 R.C. 173.39 and 173.394. 
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The bill transfers to ODMH (from ODH) responsibility for licensing adult care 

facilities.  The transfer becomes effective July 1, 2011.  For purposes of the transition 

from ODH to ODMH, the bill specifies the following: 

(1)  Existing adult care facility licenses are deemed to have been issued by 

ODMH; 

(2)  Any business regarding the licensure of adult care facilities commenced by 

ODH but not completed before the transfer is to be completed by ODMH; 

(3)  No validation, cure, right, privilege, remedy, obligation, or liability is lost or 

impaired by reason of the transfer; 

(4)  Rules, orders, and determinations pertaining to the licensure of adult care 

facilities are to continue to be in effect after the transfer occurs, until modified or 

rescinded by ODMH; 

(5)  Any action or proceeding related to the certification process that is pending 

when the transfer occurs is not affected by the transfer and is to be prosecuted or 

defended in the name of ODMH. 

Under the bill, ODMH (rather than the Public Health Council) is required to 

adopt rules governing adult care facilities.  The bill provides what the rules are 

permitted, rather than required, to include. 

Inspections 

(R.C. 5119.73) 

During each licensing period, the ODMH Director must make at least one 

unannounced inspection of an adult care facility and may make additional 

unannounced inspections as necessary.253   

The bill specifies that inspections of adult care facilities may be conducted as 

desk audits or on-site inspections.  If an inspection is conducted to investigate an 

alleged violation in an adult care facility serving residents receiving publicly funded 

mental health services or Residential State Supplement (RSS) Program254 payments, the 

bill permits, rather than requires, that the inspection be coordinated with the 

                                                 
253 The required unannounced inspection during each licensing period is in addition to the inspection to 

determine whether a license should be issued or renewed (R.C. 5119.73(C)). 

254 The RSS Program provides cash supplements to payments made to eligible aged, blind, or disabled 

adults under the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program. 
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appropriate mental health agency, ADAMHS board, or RSS (rather than PASSPORT) 

administrative agency. 

Residents' rights 

(R.C. 5119.81) 

Residents of adult care facilities have certain statutory rights, including the right 

to be free from physical restraint.  The bill adds the right to be free from seclusion and 

mechanical restraint.  Under the bill, "seclusion" means the involuntary confinement of 

a resident alone in a room in which the resident is physically prevented from leaving.  

"Mechanical restraint" means any method of restricting a resident's freedom of 

movement, physical activity, or normal use of the resident's body, using an appliance or 

device manufactured for this purpose. 

The definition of "physical restraint" is modified by the bill to mean any method 

of physically restricting a resident's freedom of movement, physical activity, or normal 

use of the resident's body without the use of a mechanical restraint.  Currently, it is 

defined as any article, device, or garment that interferes with the free movement of the 

resident and that the resident is unable to remove easily.  The bill specifies that 

"physical restraint" is also known as "manual restraint." 

The bill removes the Director of Aging and residents' rights advocates from the 

list of individuals authorized to assert on behalf of adult care facility residents their 

residents' rights.  The individuals authorized to do so under current law are the ODH 

Director,255 Director of Aging, sponsors, and residents' rights advocates. 

Injunctions 

(R.C. 5119.78) 

If a court grants injunctive relief for operating an adult care facility without a 

license, the bill eliminates a requirement that the facility assist residents' rights 

advocates in relocating facility residents.  Instead, it requires the facility to assist in 

relocating residents. 

                                                 
255 Since the bill transfers the licensing of adult care facilities to ODMH from ODH, the ODMH Director 

(rather than the ODH Director) is authorized to assert residents' rights on behalf of a facility resident. 
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Authorization to enter facility 

(R.C. 5119.84) 

Under current law, all of the following individuals are authorized to enter an 

adult care facility during reasonable hours:  (1) sponsors of current or prospective 

residents, (2) residents' rights advocates, (3) residents' attorneys, (4) ministers, priests, 

rabbis, or other persons ministering to residents' religious needs, (5) physicians or other 

persons providing health care services to residents, (6) employees authorized by 

CDJFSs and local boards of health or health departments, and (7) prospective residents. 

The bill eliminates the authority of residents' rights advocates and sponsors of 

current or prospective residents to enter an adult care facility during reasonable hours. 

Records 

(R.C. 5119.84) 

Certain state and local government and mental health agency employees are 

authorized to enter an adult care facility at any time256 and have access to facility 

records, including records pertaining to residents. 

The bill expands when these employees and the ODMH Director may release 

resident-identifying information from the records of an adult care facility, without the 

resident's consent.  In addition to current law's provision that permits employees and 

the ODMH Director to release this information by court order, the bill permits the 

release of information if authorized by law to do so. 

Pre-employment criminal records checks 

(R.C. 5119.85) 

Current law requires applicants for employment with an adult care facility in a 

position involving direct care to "older adults" to undergo a criminal records check 

conducted by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation.  "Older adult" is 

defined as a person age 60 or older.  The bill instead requires criminal records checks for 

                                                 
256 The following employees are authorized to enter an adult care facility at any time: (1) employees 

designated by the ODMH Director, (2) employees designated by the Director of Aging, (3) employees 

designated by the Attorney General, (4) employees designated by a county department of job and family 

services, (5) employees of a mental health agency under certain circumstances, (6) employees of the Long-

term Care Ombudsperson Program, and (7) employees of an ADAMHS board under certain 

circumstances (R.C. 5119.84). 
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positions involving direct care to "adult residents," who are defined by the bill as any 

individual residing in an adult care facility licensed by ODMH. 

An adult care facility is generally prohibited from employing a person who 

pleads guilty to or is convicted of specified offenses.  Current law requires the Public 

Health Council to adopt rules regarding adult care facilities conducting criminal 

records checks on applicants for employment.  The rules must specify circumstances 

under which facilities may employ persons who plead guilty to or are convicted of 

specified offenses but meet personal character standards.257 

In transferring the licensing of adult care facilities to ODMH, the bill permits, 

rather than requires, ODMH to adopt rules regarding criminal records checks.  The bill 

also permits, rather than requires, that the rules specify circumstances under which 

facilities may employ persons who plead guilty to or are convicted of specified offenses 

but meet personal character standards set by ODMH. 

Exchange of confidential health information by ODMH-licensed hospitals 
and payers 

(R.C. 5122.31) 

The bill expands one of 15 exceptions to the provision in current law generally 

requiring that documents pertaining to the hospitalization of the mentally ill and 

criminal trials of persons alleged to be insane be kept confidential and not be disclosed 

unless the patient consents to disclosure. 

Under current law, the particular exception permits ODMH hospitals, 

institutions, and facilities and community mental health agencies to exchange 

psychiatric records and other pertinent information with other providers of treatment 

and health services if the purpose is to facilitate continuity of care of a patient.  The bill 

authorizes hospitals that are not ODMH hospitals, but are licensed by ODMH, to 

exchange the records and information with other providers of treatment and health 

services.  The bill also permits ODMH hospitals, institutions, and facilities, ODMH-

licensed hospitals, and community mental health agencies to exchange the records and 

information with payers. 

                                                 
257 R.C. 3721.151. 
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Land conveyance to MetroHealth 

(Section 753.25) 

The bill authorizes the Governor to convey real estate that the Department of 

Mental Health plans to vacate as part of the consolidation of its two Northcoast 

Behavioral Healthcare facilities. 

Specifically, the bill authorizes the Governor to execute a deed in the name of the 

state conveying to the Board of County Hospital Trustees of The MetroHealth System 

("MetroHealth"), in the name of the County of Cuyahoga, State of Ohio, its successors 

and assigns, all of the state's right, title, and interest in the following listed parcels of 

real estate located in Cuyahoga County:  00821-008, 00821-009, 00821-010, 00821-011, 

00821-012, 00821-013, 00821-014, 00821-015, 00821-016, and 00821-017.  In preparing the 

deed, the Auditor of State, with the assistance of the Attorney General, is to develop a 

legal description of the real estate in conformity with the actual bounds of the real 

estate.  The real estate together with the building situated upon it is to be conveyed.  

And the real estate is to be sold as an entire tract and not in parcels. 

Consideration for conveyance of the real estate is $10.  In addition, the amount of 

$3.4 million is to be paid to MetroHealth to pay for demolishing the building situated 

on the real estate.  Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, the Director of 

Mental Health is required to disburse $3.4 million from appropriation item C58010, 

Campus Consolidation, as set forth in Sub. H.B. 462 of the 128th General Assembly, to 

the grantee within 30 days after the conveyance of the real estate. After the 

disbursement, the state must, within four months, complete a physical inventory of 

assets, relocate assets that are to be removed from the building, and itemize assets that 

are to remain with the transferred real estate and building. 

MetroHealth is prohibited, during any period that any bonds issued by the state 

to finance or refinance all or a portion of the real estate are outstanding, from using any 

portion of the real estate for a private business use without the prior written consent of 

the state.  "Private business use" means use, directly or indirectly, in a trade or business 

carried on by any private person other than use as a member of, and on the same basis 

as, the general public.  "Private person" means any natural person or any artificial 

person (such as a corporation or other business organization or entity), including the 

United States or any agency or instrumentality of the United States, but excluding any 

state, territory, or possession of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any 

political subdivision thereof that is referred to as a "state or local governmental unit" in 

Treasury Regulation 1.103-1(a) and any person that is acting solely and directly as an 

officer or employee on behalf of such a governmental unit. 
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The bill prohibits MetroHealth from selling, conveying, or transferring 

ownership of the real estate before December 1, 2019, or before receiving written 

confirmation from the state that all of the state's bonded capital indebtedness associated 

with any of the buildings located on the real estate has been fully satisfied. 

The bill requires MetroHealth to pay all costs associated with the purchase and 

conveyance of the real estate, including the costs of any surveys and recordation costs 

of the deed. 

The bill requires the Auditor of State, with the assistance of the Attorney 

General, to prepare a deed to the real estate.  The deed must state the consideration and 

the conditions and restrictions, and must be executed by the Governor in the name of 

the state, countersigned by the Secretary of State, sealed with the Great Seal of the State, 

presented in the Office of the Auditor of State for recording, and delivered to 

MetroHealth.  MetroHealth must present the deed for recording in the Office of the 

Cuyahoga County Recorder. 

Authority to make the conveyance described above expires one year after the 

effective date of the section of law in which it is expressed. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES (DNR) 

 Eliminates the Natural Resources Publications and Promotional Materials Fund. 

 Requires the transfer of the remaining cash balance in the Natural Resources 

Publications and Promotional Materials Fund to the Departmental Projects Fund 

and the Geological Mapping Fund in amounts determined by the Director of Budget 

and Management in consultation with the Director of Natural Resources. 

 Requires all moneys from the sale of books, bulletins, maps, or other publications 

and promotional materials on and after July 1, 2011, to be credited to the 

Departmental Projects Fund or the Geological Mapping Fund as determined by the 

Director of Natural Resources. 

 Authorizes the Chief of the Division of Forestry to enter into a personal service 

contract for consulting services to assist the Chief with the sale of timber or other 

forest products and related inventory. 

 Revises and expands the purposes for which money credited to the Geological 

Mapping Fund may be used, and requires money collected from fees for products 
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provided and services performed by the Division of Geological Survey as required 

by the bill to be credited to the Fund. 

 Revises the duties of the Division concerning all of the following: 

--Types of mineralogical and geological raw materials and natural resources data 

that must be collected, studied, and interpreted; 

--Special studies and reports of the state's geological resources that are of 

economic, environmental, or educational significance or significance to public 

health, welfare, and safety; 

--Storing and cataloging of data, maps, diagrams, records, rock core, samples, 

profiles, and geologic sections of the state; and 

--Advising, consulting, and collaborating with state agencies, other state 

governments, and the federal government on geological problems or issues. 

 Authorizes the Division to create custom products and provide information on 

Ohio's geological nature to governmental agencies, colleges and universities, and 

persons. 

 Requires the Chief of the Division to adopt rules establishing fee schedules for: 

--Providing manipulated, interpreted, or analyzed data from the Division's 

archived geologic records, data, maps, rock core, and samples; and 

--Creating custom maps, custom data sets, or other custom products and 

providing information on Ohio's geological nature. 

 Revises the requirements governing well logs and related reports, and establishes a 

fine for failure to comply with the requirements. 

 Revises the purposes for which the Chief may obtain temporary assistance from 

specified persons by including studies and plans for economic development or 

geologic hazards projects rather than studies and plans for erosion projects as in 

current law. 

 Creates the Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management in the Department of 

Natural Resources, and transfers to the Division the functions and duties of the 

Division of Mineral Resources Management in the Department with respect to oil 

and gas. 
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 Excludes from the Division's existing exclusive authority to regulate the permitting, 

location, and spacing of oil and gas wells and production operations only those 

activities that are regulated under federal laws for which oversight has been 

delegated to the Environmental Protection Agency and activities that are regulated 

under the statutes governing isolated wetlands. 

 States that the Oil and Gas Law and rules adopted under it constitute a 

comprehensive plan with respect to all aspects of well stimulation and completion. 

 Adds site construction and permitting related to site construction and restoration to 

the activities that are specifically identified as being subject to uniform statewide 

regulation. 

 Establishes a setback of 50 feet for a new well or a new tank battery of a well from a 

stream, river, watercourse, water well, pond, lake, or other body of water, and 

authorizes to the Chief of the Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management to 

reduce the distance if it is necessary to reduce impacts to the owner of the land or to 

protect public safety or the environment. 

 Allows the surface location of a new well that will be drilled using directional 

drilling to be located on a parcel of land that is not in the drilling unit of the well, 

provided that the surface location complies with setback requirements established in 

current law and the bill. 

 Expands the definition of "production operation" in the Oil and Gas Law. 

 Authorizes the Chief to issue compliance notices. 

 Transfers the management of the Ohio Natural Heritage Database from the Division 

of Natural Areas and Preserves to the Division of Wildlife. 

 Requires the Chief of the Division of Wildlife, in addition to the Chief of the Division 

of Natural Areas and Preserves, to prepare and maintain surveys and inventories of 

rare and endangered species of plants and animals and other unique natural 

features for inclusion in the Database. 

 Allows the Chief of the Division of Parks and Recreation to sell or otherwise dispose 

of by lawful means forest products, in addition to timber as in existing law, that 

require management for specified reasons, and adds to those reasons 

implementation of sustainable forestry practices. 

 Authorizes the Chief of the Division of Parks and Recreation to enter into a 

memorandum of understanding with the Chief of the Division of Forestry to allow 
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the Division of Forestry to administer the sale of timber and forest products on lands 

owned or controlled by the Division of Parks and Recreation. 

 Requires 75% of any proceeds from such a sale to be credited to the State Park Fund 

and 25% to be credited to the State Forest Fund. 

 Alters the distribution of the proceeds of the sale of standing timber from state forest 

lands to provide 35% to the State Forest Fund and 65% to the county where the 

timber was harvested to be redistributed rather than 25% to the State Forest Fund, 

65% to the county where the timber was harvested to be redistributed, and 10% to 

the General Revenue Fund as in current law. 

 Authorizes the Chief of the Division of Forestry to annually request the Director of 

Budget and Management to transfer to the Wildfire Suppression Fund not more 

than $100,000 from the State Forest Fund rather than from the General Revenue 

Fund as in current law. 

 Requires the Ohio Natural Areas Council to advise the Director of Natural 

Resources or the Director's designee, rather than the Chief of the Division of Natural 

Areas and Preserves as in current law, regarding nature preserves and natural areas. 

 Revises the membership of the Council by terminating the terms of office of the 

current members and providing for the appointment of new members, and requires 

members to be appointed by the Governor rather than the Director as in current law. 

 Increases the frequency of Council meetings. 

 Requires the Administrator of Workers' Compensation each fiscal year, beginning 

July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2013, when requested by the Director of Natural 

Resources, to transfer from the investment earnings of the Coal-Workers 

Pneumoconiosis Fund an amount not to exceed $3 million to the Mine Safety Fund 

and an amount not to exceed $1.5 million to the Coal Mining Administration and 

Reclamation Reserve Fund. 

 Eliminates current law that instead authorizes the Administrator to transfer an 

unspecified portion of the investment earnings to the Mine Safety Fund. 

 Requires the Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission to establish a 

Conservation Program Delivery Task Force. 

 Requires the Task Force to make recommendations to the Director of Natural 

Resources regarding how soil and water conservation districts may advance 
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operations while continuing to provide local program leadership, and requires that 

the final report of recommendations be submitted no later than December 31, 2011. 

 Requires a nonresident owner of land in Ohio and the owner's children and 

grandchildren, if applicable, to purchase a nonresident hunting license, deer or wild 

turkey permit, fur-taker permit, or nonresident fishing license by applying the 

exemptions in current law for landowners and their families only to Ohio residents. 

 Allows all of the following to hunt without a license, take deer or wild turkey 

without a permit, hunt or trap fur-bearing animals without a permit, and fish 

without a license on land owned by a limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or a trust: 

--A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for a 

hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a member of a 

limited liability company that has three or fewer members; 

--A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for a 

hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a member of a 

limited liability partnership that has three or fewer partners; and 

--A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for a 

hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a trustee or a 

beneficiary of a trust whose total number of trustees and beneficiaries does not 

exceed three individuals. 

 Prohibits a wild animal hunting preserve from being located within 1,500 feet, rather 

than 3,000 feet as in current law, of another hunting preserve or of a commercial bird 

shooting preserve. 

 Requires the boundaries of a wild animal hunting preserve to be clearly defined by 

the posting of signs at intervals of not more than 400 feet rather than 200 feet as in 

current law. 

 

 

Natural Resources Publications and Promotional Materials Fund 

(R.C. 1501.031 (repealed); Section 512.60) 

The bill eliminates the Natural Resources Publications and Promotional 

Materials Fund to which all money received from the sale of publications and 
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promotional materials of the Department of Natural Resources are credited and that is 

used to pay for the production of those items. 

The bill requires the Director of Budget and Management, on July 1, 2011, or as 

soon as possible thereafter, and at the request of the Director of Natural Resources, to 

transfer the remaining cash balance in the Natural Resources Publications and 

Promotional Materials Fund to the Departmental Projects Fund and the Geological 

Mapping Fund.  The amount transferred to each of those Funds must be determined by 

the Director of Budget and Management after consultation with the Director of Natural 

Resources.  Additionally, beginning July 1, 2011, all moneys from the sale of books, 

bulletins, maps, or other publications and promotional materials must be credited to the 

Departmental Projects Fund or the Geological Mapping Fund as determined by the 

Director of Natural Resources. 

Division of Forestry personal service contracts 

(R.C. 1503.05) 

The bill authorizes the Chief of the Division of Forestry to enter into a personal 

service contract for consulting services to assist the Chief with the sale of timber or 

other forest products and related inventory.  Compensation for the consulting services 

must be paid from the proceeds of the sale.  Current law authorizes the Chief to sell 

timber and other forest products from state forests and state forest nurseries.  The Chief 

may make the sales whenever the Chief considers such a sale desirable. 

Division of Geological Survey 

(R.C. 1505.01, 1505.04, 1505.05, 1505.06, 1505.09, 1505.11, and 1505.99) 

Geological Mapping Fund 

The bill revises and expands the purposes for which the Chief of the Division of 

Geological Survey must use money in the existing Geological Mapping Fund.  It 

requires money in the Fund to be used for performing necessary field, laboratory, and 

administrative tasks to map and make public reports on the geologic hazards and 

energy resources, in addition to the geology, of the state.  Current law requires money 

in the Fund to be used to conduct those activities regarding the geology and mineral 

resources of each county of the state. 

In addition, the bill requires money collected from fees for products provided 

and services performed by the Division as required by the bill to be credited to the Fund 

(see "Fee schedules," below). 



Legislative Service Commission -557- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Duties of the Division 

The bill revises the duties of the Division concerning all of the following: 

(1)  The types of mineralogical and geological raw materials and natural 

resources data that must be collected, studied, and interpreted by adding dolomite, 

aggregates, sand, and gravel; 

(2)  Special studies and reports of the state's geological resources that the 

Division must make by adding geological resources that are of current or potential 

environmental significance or of significance to the health, welfare, and safety to the 

public; 

(3)  The making and storing of maps, diagrams, profiles, and geologic sections by 

requiring such information to be cataloged and available in perpetuity rather than for 

distribution and by adding data, records, rock cores, and samples; and 

(4)  Advising and consulting with state agencies on problems of a geological 

nature by adding that the Division also collaborates with other state governments and 

the federal government. 

The bill also expands the Division's duties by authorizing the Division to do both 

of the following:  (1) create custom maps, custom data sets, or other custom products for 

government agencies, colleges and universities, and persons, and (2) provide 

information on the geological nature of Ohio to those entities and persons. 

Fee schedules 

The bill requires the Chief of the Division to adopt rules in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act that establish fee schedules for both of the following: 

(1)  Requests for manipulated, interpreted, or analyzed data from the geologic 

records, data, maps, rock cores, and samples archived by the Division.  The schedule 

may include the cost of specialized storage requirements, programming, labor, research, 

retrieval, data manipulation, and copying and mailing of records. 

(2)  Creating custom maps, custom data sets, and other custom products and 

providing geological information of the state.  The schedule may include the costs of 

labor, research, analysis, equipment, and technology. 

The rules must establish procedures for the levying and collection of the fees.  In 

addition, the bill authorizes the Chief to reduce or waive a fee in a schedule for a 

student who is enrolled in an institution of higher education.  All fees collected 

pursuant to a schedule must be credited to the existing Geological Mapping Fund (see 
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above).  Any revision to a fee schedule must be established in rules adopted under the 

Administrative Procedure Act.  Finally, the Ohio Geology Advisory Council must 

review and the Director of Natural Resources must approve any revision to a fee 

schedule. 

Well logs and related reports 

The bill requires a government agency, in addition to any person, firm, or 

corporation as in current law, that drills, bores, or digs a well for any liquid or gas 

production or extraction or that bores or digs, in addition to drills, a well for exploring 

geological formations to keep a careful and accurate log of the activity.  It also requires 

the log and the results of any rock or fluid analyses or of any production or pressure 

tests, rather than just production tests as in current law, to be reported to the Chief.  In 

addition, the bill authorizes Division personnel to collect samples from such a well of 

fluids and gases in addition to samples of cores, chips, or sludge. 

The bill prohibits a person, firm, agency, or corporation from failing to keep an 

accurate log or file a report.  A violator must be fined between $100 and $1,000 on a first 

offense and between $1,000 and $2,000 on each subsequent offense. 

Use of temporary assistance 

The bill authorizes the Chief to obtain temporary assistance from specified 

persons to make studies, surveys, maps, and plans for economic development or 

geologic hazards projects rather than for erosion projects as in current law. 

Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management 

(R.C. 1509.02, 121.04, 124.24, 1501.022, 1509.01, 1509.021, 1509.03, 1509.04, 1509.041, 

1509.05, 1509.06, 1509.061, 1509.062, 1509.07, 1509.071, 1509.072, 1509.073, 1509.08, 

1509.09, 1509.10, 1509.11, 1509.12, 1509.13, 1509.14, 1509.15, 1509.17, 1509.181, 1509.19, 

1509.21, 1509.22, 1509.221, 1509.222, 1509.223, 1509.224, 1509.225, 1509.226, 1509.23, 

1509.24, 1509.25, 1509.26, 1509.27, 1509.28, 1509.29, 1509.31, 1509.32, 1509.33, 1509.34, 

1509.36, 1509.38, 1509.40, 1509.50, 1510.01, 1510.08, 1561.06, 1561.12, 1561.13, 1561.35, 

1561.49, 1563.06, 1563.24, 1563.28, 1571.01, 1571.012, 1571.013, 1571.014, 1571.02, 1571.03, 

1571.04, 1571.05, 1571.06, 1571.08, 1571.09, 1571.10, 1571.11, 1571.14, 1571.16, 1571.18, 

1571.99, 3750.081, and 6111.044; Section 515.20) 

The bill creates the Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management in the 

Department of Natural Resources.  It transfers to the Division the functions and duties 

of the Division of Mineral Resources Management in the Department with respect to oil 

and gas.  Those functions and duties include: 
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(1)  Regulation of oil and gas wells in Ohio, including permitting, location and 

spacing, plugging, restoration of disturbed land, and pooling; 

(2)  Enforcement of the Oil and Gas Law; 

(3)  Oversight of oil and gas resources inspectors; 

(4)  Administration and enforcement of the Underground Storage of Gas Law; 

and 

(5)  Examination to become and oversight of the state gas storage well inspector. 

The bill also establishes transition procedures for the transfer of the functions 

and duties concerning oil and gas from the Division of Mineral Resources Management 

to the new Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management. 

Oil and Gas Law 

(R.C. 1509.02, 1509.01, 1509.021, 1509.022, and 1509.04) 

Statewide regulation and comprehensive plan 

Current law states that the Division has sole and exclusive authority to regulate 

the permitting, location, and spacing of oil and gas wells and production operations in 

Ohio.  The bill excludes from that authority only those activities that are regulated 

under federal laws for which oversight has been delegated to the Environmental 

Protection Agency and activities that are regulated under the state statutes governing 

isolated wetlands. 

Current law also states that the regulation of oil and gas activities is a matter of 

general statewide interest that requires uniform statewide regulation and that the Oil 

and Gas Law and rules adopted under it constitute a comprehensive plan with respect 

to all aspects of the locating, drilling, and operating of oil and gas wells in Ohio, 

including site restoration and disposal of wastes from those wells.  The bill adds that 

the Oil and Gas Law and rules adopted under it also constitute a comprehensive plan 

with respect to all aspects of well stimulation and completion.  It then adds site 

construction and permitting related to site construction and restoration to the activities 

that are specifically identified as being subject to uniform statewide regulation. 

Setback of new well or tank battery from water sources 

The bill prohibits the location of a new well or a new tank battery of a well from 

being within 50 feet of a stream, river, watercourse, water well, pond, lake, or other 

body of water.  However, the Chief of the Division of Oil and Gas Resources 
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Management may authorize a distance that is less than 50 feet from such bodies of 

water if the Chief determines that the reduction is necessary to reduce impacts to the 

owner of the land on which the well or tank battery of a well is to be located or to 

protect public safety or the environment.  Current law establishes other setbacks 

governing the surface location of a well, a tank battery, and other surface facilities of a 

well. 

Surface location of new well using directional drilling 

The bill allows the surface location of a new well that will be drilled using 

directional drilling to be located on a parcel of land that is not in the drilling unit of the 

well, provided that the surface location complies with setback requirements established 

in current law and the bill (see above). 

Definition of "production operation" 

The bill expands the definition of "production operation" in the Oil and Gas Law 

to mean all operations and activities and all related equipment, facilities, and other 

structures that may be used in or associated with the exploration and production of oil, 

gas, or other mineral resources that are regulated under that Law, including operations 

and activities associated with site preparation, site construction, access road 

construction, well drilling, well completion, well stimulation, well site activities, 

reclamation, and plugging.  Under the bill, it also includes all of the following: 

(1)  The piping, equipment, and facilities used for the production and 

preparation of hydrocarbon gas or liquids for transportation or delivery; 

(2)  The processes of extraction and recovery, lifting, stabilization, treatment, 

separation, production processing, storage, waste disposal, and measurement of 

hydrocarbon gas and liquids, including related equipment and facilities; and 

(3)  The processes and related equipment and facilities associated with 

production compression, gas lift, gas injection, fuel gas supply, well drilling, well 

stimulation, and well completion activities, including dikes, pits, and earthen and other 

impoundments used for the temporary storage of fluids and waste substances 

associated with well drilling, well stimulation, and well completion activities. 

Under current law, "production operation" instead means site preparation, access 

roads, drilling, well completion, well stimulation, well operation, site reclamation, and 

well plugging.  It also includes all of the following: 

(1)  The piping and equipment used for the production and preparation of 

hydrocarbon gas or liquids for transportation or delivery; 
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(2)  The processes of extraction and recovery, lifting, stabilization, treatment, 

separation, production processing, storage, and measurement of hydrocarbon gas and 

liquids; and  

(3)  The processes associated with production compression, gas lift, gas injection, 

and fuel gas supply. 

Compliance notices 

The bill authorizes the Chief to issue compliance notices as a part of the Chief's 

enforcement authority in addition to entering into compliance agreements under 

current law. 

Ohio Natural Heritage Database 

(R.C. 1517.02 and 1531.04) 

The bill transfers the management of the Ohio Natural Heritage Database from 

the Division of Natural Areas and Preserves to the Division of Wildlife.  It requires the 

Chief of the Division of Wildlife, in addition to the Chief of the Division of Natural 

Areas and Preserves, to prepare and maintain surveys and inventories of rare and 

endangered species of plants and animals and other unique natural features for 

inclusion in the Database.  It retains the requirement that the Chief of the Division of 

Natural Areas and Preserves prepare and maintain surveys and inventories of natural 

areas for inclusion in the Database. 

Sale of timber and forest products from state parks 

(R.C. 1541.05) 

The bill allows the Chief of the Division of Parks and Recreation, with the 

approval of the Director of Natural Resources, to sell or otherwise dispose of by lawful 

means forest products, in addition to timber as in current law, that require management 

for specified reasons.  Currently, those reasons include the improvement of wildlife 

habitat, protection against wildfires, provision of access to recreational facilities, and 

improvement of the safety, quality, or appearance of any state park area.  The bill adds 

implementation of sustainable forestry practices as another reason for which forest 

products and timber may be sold or disposed of. 

Under current law, retained by the bill, the Chief also may sell or otherwise 

dispose of standing timber that as a result of certain natural occurrences may present a 

hazard to life or property and timber that has weakened or fallen on lands under the 

control and management of the Division. 
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The bill authorizes the Chief of the Division of Parks and Recreation to enter into 

a memorandum of understanding with the Chief of the Division of Forestry to allow the 

Division of Forestry to administer the sale of timber and forest products on lands 

owned or controlled by the Division of Parks and Recreation.  75% of the proceeds from 

such a sale must be credited to the existing State Park Fund, and 25% of the proceeds 

must be credited to the existing State Forest Fund. 

Currently, proceeds from the disposition of items by the Chief of the Division of 

Parks and Recreation, including timber and forest products specified above and 

agricultural products that are grown or raised by the Division, must be credited to the 

State Park Fund. 

Distribution of proceeds of timber sales 

(R.C. 1503.05 and 1503.141) 

The bill alters the distribution of the proceeds of the sale of standing timber from 

state forest lands.  Under the bill, 35% of the proceeds must be distributed to the State 

Forest Fund, and 65% must be distributed to the county where the timber was 

harvested to be redistributed.  Under current law, 25% of the proceeds are distributed to 

the State Forest Fund, 65% to the county where the timber was harvested to be 

redistributed, and 10% to the General Revenue Fund. 

The bill also authorizes the Chief of the Division of Forestry to annually request 

the Director of Budget and Management to transfer to the Wildfire Suppression Fund 

not more than $100,000 from the State Forest Fund.  Current law requires any such 

annual transfer to the Wildfire Suppression Fund to be made from the General Revenue 

Fund.  Under both the bill and current law, money so transferred must come from the 

sale of standing timber from state forest lands. 

Under current law, the State Forest Fund is required to be used for the 

administration, operation, maintenance, development, or utilization of the state forests, 

forest nurseries, and forest programs and for facilities or equipment incident to them.  

The Fund also must be used for the purchase of lands for state forest or forest nursery 

purposes and, in the case of contributions resulting from the issuance of Smokey Bear 

license plates, for fire prevention purposes.  The Wildfire Suppression Fund is required 

to be used by the Chief to reimburse firefighting agencies and private fire companies for 

their costs incurred in the suppression of wildfires. 
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Ohio Natural Areas Council 

(R.C. 1517.03; Section 515.23) 

The bill requires the Ohio Natural Areas Council to advise the Director of 

Natural Resources or the Director's designee, rather than the Chief of the Division of 

Natural Areas and Preserves as in current law, regarding the administration of nature 

preserves and natural areas.  It then makes changes in the Council itself and increases 

the frequency of Council meetings. 

The bill terminates the terms of office of the current members of the Council and 

provides for the appointment of new members.  The following members are to be 

appointed to the Council by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate: 

(1)  One member representing natural history museums; 

(2)  One member representing metropolitan park districts; 

(3)  One member representing colleges and universities; 

(4)  One member representing outdoor education programs in primary and 

secondary education; 

(5)  One member representing nature centers; and 

(6)  Two members representing the public. 

Each appointed member must be active or interested in natural area 

preservation.  Not more than four of the appointed members can belong to the same 

political party.  The Director or the Director's designee is a nonvoting ex officio member 

of the Council. 

The bill requires the Governor to make appointments to the Council not later 

than 30 days after the provision's effective date.  It provides for staggered four-year 

terms and establishes standard appointment procedures for the members of the 

Council.  The Department of Natural Resources must furnish clerical, technical, legal, 

and other services required by the Council in the performance of its duties.  The Council 

must hold at least one regular meeting every three months. 

Currently, the Council must have no fewer than five members as determined and 

appointed by the Director.  Current law does not specify entities or interests to be 

represented on the Council.  Members' terms of office are determined by the Director.  

The Council is required to hold at least one regular meeting in each calendar year. 
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Coal-Workers Pneumoconiosis, Mine Safety, and Coal Mining 
Administration and Reclamation Reserve Funds 

(R.C. 4131.03) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Natural Resources, beginning July 1, 2011, and 

ending June 30, 2013, annually to request the Administrator of Workers' Compensation 

to transfer to the Mine Safety Fund and to the Coal Mining Administration and 

Reclamation Reserve Fund a portion of the investment earnings credited to the Coal-

Workers Pneumoconiosis Fund.  If the Administrator receives a request from the 

Director, the Administrator, on July 1 or as soon as possible after that date, must 

transfer from those investment earnings an amount not to exceed $3 million to the Mine 

Safety Fund and an amount not to exceed $1.5 million to the Coal Mining 

Administration and Reclamation Reserve Fund.  The bill eliminates current law that 

instead authorizes the Administrator to transfer an unspecified portion of the 

investment earnings credited to the Coal-Workers Pneumoconiosis Fund to the Mine 

Safety Fund.  It retains current law that requires the Administrator to adopt rules to 

ensure the solvency of the Coal-Workers Pneumoconiosis Fund. 

Conservation Program Delivery Task Force 

(Section 715.10) 

The bill requires the existing Ohio Soil and Water Conservation Commission to 

establish a Conservation Program Delivery Task Force.  The Task Force must provide 

recommendations to the Director of Natural Resources regarding how soil and water 

conservation districts established under current law may advance effective and efficient 

operations while continuing to provide local program leadership.  The bill also requires 

the Task Force to examine methods for improving services and removing impediments 

to organizational management and explore opportunities for sharing services across all 

levels of government. 

The Task Force must hold its first meeting no later than September 1, 2011, and 

submit a final report of recommendations to the Director and the Commission no later 

than December 31, 2011.  Upon submission of the final report, the Task Force ceases to 

exist. 

Under the bill, the chairperson of the Commission in consultation with the 

Director can appoint no more than nine members to the Task Force.  The Task Force 

must include members of the boards of supervisors of soil and water conservation 

districts and other individuals who represent diverse geographic areas of the state and 

may include members from the Ohio Federation of Soil and Water Conservation 

Districts, the Natural Resources Conservation Service in the United States Department 
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of Agriculture, the County Commissioners' Association of Ohio, the Ohio Municipal 

League, and the Ohio Township Association.  The Task Force may consult with those 

organizations and agencies. 

The bill states that the chairperson of the Commission or another member of the 

Commission who is designated by the chairperson must serve as chairperson of the 

Task Force.  Members appointed to the Task Force must serve without compensation 

and cannot be reimbursed for expenses.  The Division of Soil and Water Resources in 

the Department of Natural Resources must provide technical and administrative 

support as needed by the Task Force. 

Hunting license, deer or wild turkey permit, fur-taker permit, and fishing 
license exemption 

(R.C. 1533.10, 1533.11, 1533.111, and 1533.32) 

The bill requires a nonresident owner of land in Ohio and the owner's children 

and grandchildren, if applicable, to purchase a nonresident hunting license, deer or 

wild turkey permit, fur-taker permit, or nonresident fishing license by applying the 

exemptions in current law for landowners and their families only to Ohio residents.  

Current law authorizes the owner of lands in Ohio and the owner's children of any age 

and grandchildren under 18 years of age to hunt on the lands without a hunting license.  

In addition, current law authorizes the owner of lands in Ohio and the owner's children 

of any age to hunt on the land without a deer or wild turkey permit, to hunt or trap fur-

bearing animals on the land without a fur-taker permit, and to take frogs and turtles 

and catch certain fish on waters on the land without a fishing license. 

The bill also allows all of the following to hunt without a license, take deer or 

wild turkey without a permit, hunt or trap fur-bearing animals without a permit, and 

fish without a license on land owned by a limited liability company, a limited liability 

partnership, or a trust: 

(1)  A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for 

a hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a member of a limited 

liability company that has three or fewer members; 

(2)  A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for 

a hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a member of a limited 

liability partnership that has three or fewer partners; and 

(3)  A resident individual, including the individual's children of any age and, for 

a hunting license, grandchildren under 18 years of age, who is a trustee or a beneficiary 
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of a trust whose total number of trustees and beneficiaries does not exceed three 

individuals. 

Wild animal hunting preserves 

(R.C. 1533.731) 

The bill prohibits a wild animal hunting preserve from being located within 1,500 

feet, rather than 3,000 feet as in current law, of another hunting preserve or of a 

commercial bird shooting preserve.  The bill also requires the boundaries of a wild 

animal hunting preserve to be clearly defined by the posting of signs at intervals of not 

more than 400 feet rather than 200 feet as in current law. 

Under current law, game and nonnative wildlife that have been approved by the 

Chief of the Division of Wildlife, that have been legally acquired or propagated under 

the authority of a propagating license, and that are properly marked and tagged may be 

released and hunted within the confines of the licensed wild animal hunting preserve.  

Hunting may take place between sunrise and sunset, without regard to sex, bag limit, or 

open season, by licensed hunters authorized by the holder of the wild animal hunting 

preserve license to hunt on those lands.  The Chief is required to establish, by rule, the 

allowable methods of taking game and nonnative wildlife in a wild animal hunting 

preserve. 

 

OPTICAL DISPENSERS BOARD (ODB) 

 Eliminates the prorated fee schedule for the optician licensure application and 

makes the fee $50, regardless of which quarter of the calendar year the application is 

submitted. 

 Decreases to $50 (from $75) the reciprocity fee for out-of-state opticians seeking 

licensure in Ohio. 

 Increases to $20 (from $10) the initial and annual optician apprentice registration 

fees. 
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Fees charged by the Board 

Licensure application fee 

(R.C. 4725.48 and 4725.50) 

The bill eliminates the prorated fee schedule for applicants seeking initial 

licensure as an optician and makes the fee $50, regardless of which quarter of the 

calendar year the application is submitted.  The current prorated fee schedule for 

licensure applications is as follows: 

--January to March:  $50; 

--April to June:  $37.50; 

--July to September:  $25; 

--October to December:  $12.50. 

Reciprocity licensure fee 

(R.C. 4725.57) 

The bill decreases to $50 (from $75) the reciprocity fee for an out-of-state optician 

seeking licensure in Ohio.  The bill retains current law's requirements regarding age, 

moral character, and education that must be met by out-of-state applicants.  It specifies 

that the Optical Dispensers Board may require that an out-of-state applicant have 

received a passing score, as determined by the Board, on an examination that is 

substantially the same as the examination required to be taken by in-state applicants. 

Apprentice registration fee 

(R.C. 4725.52) 

The bill increases both the initial registration fee and annual registration renewal 

fee for optician apprentices to $20 (from $10). 
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STATE BOARD OF OPTOMETRY (OPT) 

 Increases the initial and renewal fees for an optometrist certificate of licensure from 

$110 to $130. 

 Increases the initial and renewal fees for an optometrist therapeutic pharmaceutical 

agents certificate and the renewal fee for an optometrist topical ocular 

pharmaceutical agents certificate from $25 to $45. 

 Increases the fee for late completion of continuing optometric education from $75 to 

$125 and creates a fee of $125 for late submission of the continuing education (or 

both late completion and late submission). 

 Increases the fee for late renewal of one or more expired optometrist certificates 

from $75 to $125. 

 

 

Fees for optometrists 

(R.C. 4725.34) 

The bill increases the following fees charged by the State Board of Optometry to 

optometrists and licensure applicants: 

(1)  Initial certificate of licensure:  $130 (from $100); 

(2)  Initial therapeutic pharmaceutical agents certificate:  $45 (from $25); 

(3)  Renewal of certificate of licensure:  $130 (from $110); 

(4)  Renewal of a topical ocular pharmaceutical agents certificate:  $45 (from $25); 

(5)  Renewal of a therapeutic pharmaceutical agents certificate:  $45 (from $25); 

(6)  Late completion of continuing optometric education:  $125 (from $75); 

(7)  Late renewal of one or more expired certificates:  $125 (from $75). 

The bill creates a fee of $125 for late submission of continuing optometric 

education.  A single fee of $125 is to be charged if the optometrist is late in both 

completing and submitting the continuing education. 
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STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY (PRX) 

 Increases to $750 (from $150) the initial and renewal registration fees charged to 

wholesale distributors of dangerous drugs. 

 Increases to $150 (from $55) the penalty for reinstatement of a wholesale distributor 

of dangerous drugs registration certificate that has not been timely renewed. 

 

 

Fees for wholesale distributors of dangerous drugs 

(R.C. 4729.52) 

The bill increases the fees charged by the State Board of Pharmacy to wholesale 

distributors of dangerous drugs as follows: 

(1)  Initial registration:  $750 (from $150); 

(2)  Renewal of registration:  $750 (from $150); 

(3)  Penalty for reinstatement of a registration certificate that has not been timely 

renewed:  $150 (from $55).  (The penalty is in addition to the renewal fee.) 

 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY (DPS) 

 Eliminates the authority of deputy registrars to accept driver's license reinstatement 

fees, establishes a pilot program to allow clerks of municipal and county courts to 

accept driver's license reinstatement fees, and permits the Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

to make the program permanent and expand it should the pilot program prove 

effective. 

 Restricts the issuance of Freemason license plates to persons who are members in 

good standing of the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of Ohio. 

 Modifies the provisions governing the sale of a used motor vehicle by a motor 

vehicle dealer and a used manufactured home or mobile home by a manufactured 

housing dealer when the dealer does not have a certificate of title to the vehicle or 

home in the dealer's name. 

 Modifies the payments motor vehicle and manufactured housing dealers must make 

to the Attorney General for deposit into the existing Title Defect Recision Fund. 
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 Repeals a provision in the Motor Vehicle Dealers Law regarding a vehicle repair 

guarantee. 

 Revises the application requirements for a new motor vehicle dealer's license and for 

a motor vehicle salesperson's license. 

 Repeals the exception under current law that permits two or more motor vehicle 

dealers to sell manufactured or mobile homes in the same manufactured home park 

without having to agree to joint, several, and personal liability. 

 Makes changes to the Motor Vehicle Dealers Law to conform with Am. Sub. H.B. 1 

of the 128th General Assembly. 

 Requires each applicant for an initial motor vehicle dealer's license or motor vehicle 

leasing dealer's license to pay a separate fee "equal to the last assessment" required 

of motor vehicle dealers ($150) for purposes of the Title Defect Recision Fund, and 

requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to deposit the fee into that fund. 

 Clarifies the relationship between a construction equipment auction license issued 

by the Registrar of Motor Vehicles and auction-related licenses issued by the 

Department of Agriculture. 

 

 

Collection of driver's license reinstatement fees 

(R.C. 4503.03, 4507.1612, 4507.45, 4509.101, 4509.81, 4510.10, 4510.22, 4510.72, and 

4511.191) 

The bill eliminates the authority of deputy registrars to accept driver's license 

reinstatement fees, which was given to them by the Transportation Appropriations Act 

of the 129th General Assembly.  The bill requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to 

adopt rules establishing a reinstatement fee payment pilot program not later than 

January 1, 2013.  The pilot program must permit the Registrar, with the approval of the 

Director of Public Safety, to designate at least one but not more than three clerks of a 

municipal court or county court to collect reinstatement fees and processing fees on 

behalf of the Registrar. 

The rules must specify all of the following: 

(A)  The reinstatement and processing fees that the clerk may collect under the 

program; 

(B)  Minimum standards the clerk is required to meet and maintain; 
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(C)  Terms of the contract between the Registrar and the clerk; 

(D)  The amount of bond that will be required of the clerk; 

(E)  Requirements for employees and facilities of the clerk; 

(F)  Any other requirements as the Registrar may prescribe. 

In addition to the reinstatement and processing fees the clerk collects on behalf of 

the Registrar, the bill permits the clerk to collect a $10 service fee.  If the clerk collects 

this fee, the clerk may collect only one service fee irrespective of the number of 

reinstatement and processing fees the clerk collects at any one time relative to one 

person.  The clerk may retain $8 of each $10 service fee for the clerk's services and must 

transmit the reinstatement and processing fees and the remaining $2 of each service fee 

to the Registrar.  The Registrar is required to deposit that $2 into the existing State 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles Fund.  The rules may require a clerk who collects a 

reinstatement or processing fee also to collect any other valid reinstatement documents 

or other evidence that is submitted with the payment of the reinstatement or processing 

fee.  The rules must specify the time and manner in which the clerk must transmit the 

fees, documents, and evidence to the Registrar for final approval and clearance, as 

appropriate. 

The Registrar is required to evaluate the effectiveness of the reinstatement fee 

payment pilot program for a period not to exceed one year.  After completion of the 

evaluation, if the Registrar determines that the pilot program was a success, the 

Registrar, with the approval of the Director, must adopt any amendments to the rules 

governing the pilot program based on the evaluation that are necessary to make the 

pilot program permanent and to expand the pilot program as described in the bill.  At a 

minimum, the amended rules must require the Registrar to make reasonable attempts 

to contract with at least one clerk of a municipal or county court in each county to 

collect reinstatement, processing, and service fees on behalf of the Registrar unless a 

reinstatement office already exists in that county or the Registrar determines that it is 

not practical to enter into such a contract with a clerk of a municipal or county court in a 

particular county. 

A clerk of a municipal or county court who collects reinstatement fees, 

processing fees, service fees, and reinstatement documents or evidence under the bill 

and the applicable rules may issue an order that permits a person to operate a motor 

vehicle for a period not exceeding 30 days pending the Registrar's final determination of 

whether all reinstatement requirements have been met or if additional reinstatement 

requirements must be met before the suspension may be terminated or the 

reinstatement may be entered.  The Registrar is required to send a written notice of the 
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Registrar's final determination to the person at the person's last known address as 

shown in the records of the Bureau. 

Freemason license plates 

(R.C. 4503.70) 

The bill restricts the issuance of existing Freemason license plates to persons who 

are members in good standing of the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of 

Ohio, and requires a person who applies for these license plates to present satisfactory 

evidence showing that the person is a member in good standing of the Grand Lodge. 

Sale of a used motor vehicle, manufactured home, or mobile home when 
the dealer does not have a certificate of title in the dealer's name 

(R.C. 4505.181) 

The bill modifies the certificate of title provisions governing the display, offering 

for sale, or sale of (1) a used motor vehicle by a motor vehicle dealer or person acting on 

behalf of such a dealer or (2) a used manufactured home or mobile home by a 

manufactured housing dealer or person acting on behalf of such a dealer when the 

dealer has not obtained a certificate of title for the used vehicle or home ("vehicle") in 

the dealer's name. 

Bill of sale for the used vehicle or a power of attorney from the prior owner 

The bill requires the dealer to possess either a bill of sale for each used vehicle 

that will be displayed, offered for sale, or sold or a properly executed power of attorney 

or other related documents from the prior owner of the vehicle giving the dealer 

authority to have a certificate of title to the vehicle issued in the name of the dealer.  

Current law requires the dealer to possess both a bill of sale and a properly executed 

power of attorney or other related document from the prior owner of the vehicle. 

Posting of a bond by a dealer 

Under existing law, a dealer must post with the Attorney General's office in favor 

of this state a bond of a surety company authorized to do business in this state, in an 

amount of at least $25,000, to be used solely for the purpose of compensating retail 

purchasers of motor vehicles, manufactured homes, or mobile homes who suffer 

damages due to failure of the dealer to comply with these certificate of title provisions if 

(1) the Attorney General has paid a retail purchaser of the dealer under these provisions 

or (2) the dealer has been licensed as a dealer for less than three years.  The bill (1) 

applies the requirement of the posting of a bond if the Attorney General has paid a 

secured party (on behalf of the retail purchaser), not just a retail purchaser and (2) 
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eliminates the requirement that a bond be posted in the case of a dealer who has been 

licensed as a dealer for less than three years.  The bill also provides that failure to post 

the required bond constitutes a deceptive act or practice in connection with a consumer 

transaction and is a violation of the Consumer Sales Practices Act. 

Payment by a dealer to the Attorney General for deposit into the existing Title 
Defect Recision Fund 

The bill eliminates the provision of current law that if the dealer has been a 

licensed dealer longer than the three-year period preceding the date of sale of the used 

vehicle and the Attorney General has not paid a retail purchaser of the dealer under 

these certificate of title provisions within three years prior to that date, the dealer must 

pay $150 to the Attorney General for deposit into the existing Title Defect Recision 

Fund. 

Circumstances under which the retail purchaser of a used vehicle may 
demand recision of the sale 

Existing law provides that if a retail purchaser purchases a used vehicle for 

which the dealer does not have a certificate of title issued in the name of the dealer at 

the time of the sale (1) the retail purchaser has an unconditional right to rescind the 

transaction if any of four specified circumstances applies and (2) the dealer has an 

obligation to refund to the retail purchaser the full purchase price of the vehicle.  "Full 

purchase price," as used in the bill, means the contract price, including charges for 

dealer-installed options and accessories, all finance, credit insurance, and service 

contract charges incurred by the retail purchaser, all sales tax, license and registration 

fees, and the amount of any negative equity that was not already paid by the dealer to a 

third party to satisfy a lien, as reflected in the contract.  The bill (1) eliminates the power 

of the purchaser to rescind the transaction in favor of a right by the purchaser to 

demand that the dealer rescind the transaction, (2) eliminates the (unqualified) 

obligation of the dealer to refund to the retail purchaser the full purchase price of the 

vehicle, and (3) adds a fifth circumstance in which the transaction may be rescinded.  

The five specified circumstances are as follows: 

(1)  The dealer fails, on or before the 40th day following the date of the sale, to 

obtain a title in the name of the retail purchaser.  (Current law.) 

(2)  The title for the vehicle indicates that it is a rebuilt salvage vehicle, and the 

fact that it is a rebuilt salvage vehicle was not disclosed to the retail purchaser in writing 

prior to the execution of the purchase agreement.  (Current law.) 

(3)  The title for the vehicle indicates that the dealer has made an inaccurate 

odometer disclosure to the retail purchaser.  (Current law.) 
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(4)  The title for the vehicle indicates that it is a "buyback" vehicle (a vehicle that a 

motor vehicle dealer was required to buy back from the purchaser under the 

Nonconforming New Motor Vehicle Law, also known as the Lemon Law) and the fact 

that it is a "buyback" vehicle was not disclosed to the retail purchaser in the written 

purchase agreement.  (New circumstance added by the bill.) 

(5)  The motor vehicle is a used manufactured home or used mobile home that 

has been repossessed, but a certificate of title for the repossessed home has not yet been 

transferred by the repossessing party to the dealer on the date the retail purchaser 

purchases the used manufactured home or mobile home from the dealer, and the dealer 

fails to obtain a certificate of title on or before the 40th day after the dealer obtains the 

certificate of title for the home from the repossessing party or the date on which an 

occupancy permit for the home is delivered to the purchaser by the appropriate legal 

authority, whichever occurs later.  (Current law.) 

Under the bill, if circumstance (1) applies, a retail purchaser or the retail 

purchaser's representative must provide the dealer notice of the request for recision.  

Current law requires the retail purchaser or the retail purchaser's representative to 

notify the dealer and afford the dealer the opportunity to comply with the dealer's 

obligation to refund the full purchase price of the vehicle.  The bill requires the notice of 

the request for recision to occur not later than 60 days from the date the motor vehicle is 

titled in the name of the retail purchaser.  The dealer must have the opportunity to 

comply with the dealer's obligation to refund the full purchase price of the motor 

vehicle.  Reimbursement to the retail purchaser is limited to any money the retail 

purchaser actually paid and, in the case of a lender of the retail purchaser, the amount 

the lender paid to purchase the contract or finance the vehicle sale.  If a vehicle was 

taken in trade as a down payment, the dealer is required to return the vehicle to the 

consumer unless the dealer remitted payment to a third party to satisfy a security 

interest.  If the dealer remitted payment, the dealer must reimburse the purchaser the 

value of the vehicle, as evidenced by the bill of sale.  These same provisions apply if  

circumstance (2), (3), or (4) applies, except that a retail purchaser or the retail 

purchaser's representative must provide notice to the dealer of a request for recision not 

later than 180 days from the date the vehicle is titled in the name of the retail purchaser. 

If circumstance (5) applies, the retail purchaser or the retail purchaser's 

representative is required to notify the dealer and afford the dealer the opportunity to 

comply with the dealer's obligation to rescind the manufactured home or mobile home 

transaction; no deadline is specified. 
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Failure of a retail purchaser to give the dealer timely notice of request for 
recision 

If the retail purchaser does not deliver notice to the dealer within the applicable 

specified time period, the retail purchaser is not entitled to any recovery and does not 

have a cause of action under these provisions. 

Application by a retail purchaser to the Attorney General for payment from the 
Title Defect Recision Fund 

Under current law, if a retail purchaser notifies a dealer of one or more of the 

specified circumstances and the dealer fails to refund to the retail purchaser the full 

purchase price of the vehicle or reach a satisfactory compromise with the retail 

purchaser within three business days of presentation of the retail purchaser's recision 

claim, the retail purchaser may apply to the Attorney General for payment from the 

Title Defect Recision Fund.  No time limit for notification is prescribed.  Under the bill 

(1) notice to the dealer must be given by the retail purchaser within the applicable time 

period specified in the bill (60 or 180 days from the date the vehicle is titled in the name 

of the retail purchaser) and (2) the dealer has seven days to rescind the transaction or 

reach a satisfactory compromise with the retail purchaser before the purchaser may 

apply to the Attorney General for payment from the Fund of the full purchase price to 

the retail purchaser. 

Upon application by a retail purchaser for payment from the Fund, if the 

Attorney General is satisfied that one or more of the prescribed circumstances exist, the 

Attorney General must cause the full purchase price of the vehicle to be paid to the 

retail purchaser from the Fund.  Corresponding to other provisions made by the bill, the 

bill requires also that notification must have been given to the dealer within the 

applicable time period.  Additionally, reimbursement from the Fund is to include the 

cost of any additional temporary license placards but may not exceed that cost and the 

full purchase price of the vehicle.  Existing law provides that reimbursement from the 

Fund is to be paid to the retail purchaser after delivery of the vehicle to the Attorney 

General; under the bill, the Attorney General may require delivery of the used vehicle 

to the Attorney General prior to reimbursement from the Fund, which may be only one 

of the following: 

(1)  To the retail purchaser, any money the retail purchaser actually paid and, in 

the case of a lender of the retail purchaser, the amount the lender paid to purchase the 

contract or finance the sale of the vehicle; 

(2)  If the retail purchaser wishes to retain the vehicle, the Attorney General, in 

the Attorney General's sole discretion, may pay a lienholder of record or other holder of 

a secured interest so that title can be transferred to the retail purchaser free of 
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encumbrances, other than a security interest granted by the retail purchaser at the time 

of vehicle purchase. 

The Attorney General also may pay the cost of additional temporary license 

placards for the vehicle from the Fund. 

Relation of these certificate of title provisions to the Consumer Sales 
Practices Act 

The bill eliminates a provision of current law that failure by a dealer to comply 

with the existing provisions governing the sale of a used vehicle by a dealer when the 

dealer does not have a certificate of title to the used vehicle in the dealer's name 

constitutes a deceptive act or practice in connection with a consumer transaction and is 

a violation of the Consumer Sales Practices Act. 

Failure of a dealer to pay a secured interest on a trade-in vehicle 

Under the bill, if a dealer fails to submit payment to the holder of a secured 

interest on a trade-in vehicle as agreed to by the dealer and retail purchaser and none of 

the specified circumstances that can serve as the basis for recision apply, the retail 

purchaser may apply to the Attorney General for payment to the secured creditor from 

the Title Defect Recision Fund.  The Attorney General must demand immediate 

payment from the dealer, and if payment has not been made or is not immediately 

forthcoming, the Attorney General may cause an amount equal to that which the dealer 

agreed to pay to the secured creditor to be paid from the Fund, along with any 

additional interest and late fees resulting from the dealer's failure to pay the secured 

creditor in a timely manner. 

Dealer assessments for the Title Defect Recision Fund 

The bill provides that if, at any time during any calendar year, the balance in the 

Title Defect Recision Fund is less than $300,000, the Attorney General may assess all 

licensed motor vehicle dealers and manufactured housing dealers $150 for deposit into 

the Fund until the balance in the Fund reaches $300,000.  A notice of assessment must 

be sent to each dealer at its licensed location. 

This is in contrast to current law, which provides that (1) all licensed motor 

vehicle dealers and manufactured housing dealers must pay to the Attorney General for 

deposit into the Title Defect Recision Fund $150 each year until the balance in the Fund 

is not less than $300,000 and (2) all such dealers also must pay to the Attorney General 

for deposit into the Fund that same amount during any year and subsequent years 

during which the balance in the Fund is less than $300,000 until the balance in the Fund 

reaches that amount. 
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Attorney fees 

The bill provides that nothing in these certificate of title provisions may be 

construed as providing for payment of attorney fees to the retail purchaser. 

Vehicle repair guarantee repeal 

(R.C. 4517.12) 

The bill repeals a provision in current law governing motor vehicle dealers that 

permits the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to require certain applicants for licensure to sell 

new motor vehicles to demonstrate that such applicants will provide each customer 

with a binding agreement ensuring that the customer has the right to have the vehicle 

repaired at a dealer who is licensed to sell the same line of vehicles.  

Motor vehicle dealers license 

(R.C. 4517.04) 

The bill requires a person applying for a new motor vehicle dealer's license to 

apply biennially instead of annually for a license in each county where the person is 

doing business.   

Motor vehicle salesperson license 

(R.C. 4517.09) 

The bill requires a person applying for a motor vehicle salesperson's license to 

apply biennially instead of annually for a license.  

Motor vehicle dealer joint liability 

(R.C. 4517.24) 

The bill repeals the exception under current law that permits two or more motor 

vehicle dealers to sell manufactured or mobile homes in the same manufactured home 

park without having to agree to joint, several, and personal liability. 

Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly conforming changes 

(R.C. 3733.11, 4517.01, 4517.04, 4517.09, 4517.10, 4517.12, 4517.13, 4517.14, 4517.23, and 

4517.44) 

The bill removes references to manufactured home brokers within the motor 

vehicle dealers law in order to conform with Am. Sub H.B. 1 of the 128th General 
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Assembly, which transferred licensing of manufactured home dealers to the 

Manufactured Homes Commission. 

Motor vehicle dealer and motor vehicle leasing dealer license fee 

(R.C. 4517.10, 1345.52, and 4505.181, not in the bill) 

The bill requires each applicant for an initial motor vehicle dealer's license or 

motor vehicle leasing dealer's license to pay a separate fee "equal to the last assessment" 

required of motor vehicle dealers for purposes of the Title Defect Recision Fund and 

requires the Registrar of Motor Vehicles to deposit the separate fee into that fund.  The 

Title Defect Recision Fund consists of money that motor vehicle dealers are required to 

pay to the Attorney General, dependent in part upon the balance in the fund; when 

dealers pay into the fund, the payment is $150.  Under current law, a person applying 

for a new dealer's license is not required to pay into the fund until it falls below the 

level specified in law, $300,000; when the fund falls below $300,000, all licensed dealers 

must pay $150 into the fund, per year, until the fund reaches $300,000.  The fund is used 

solely to provide restitution to retail purchasers of motor vehicles who are unable to 

obtain a certificate of title from a dealer and so suffer damages. 

Construction equipment auction license 

(R.C. 4517.01 and 4517.02) 

In regard to the construction equipment auction license created in the recent 

Transportation Appropriations Act, the bill clarifies that such a license is required only 

when a person is in the business of auctioning both large construction or transportation 

equipment and also, incidental to that business, motor vehicles.  Under existing law, 

special conditions apply when a construction equipment auction licensee sells motor 

vehicles, including a restriction that the licensee derive not more than 10% of the 

person's gross annual sales revenue in Ohio from the sale of motor vehicles having a 

gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less; specific requirements to comply 

with titling, sales tax, and commercial activity tax provisions in the same manner as a 

motor vehicle dealer when auctioning motor vehicles having a gross vehicle weight 

rating of 10,000 pounds or less; and a prohibition against selling at auction a motor 

vehicle having a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less unless the motor 

vehicle owner also sells large construction or transportation equipment through the 

construction equipment auction licensee. 

Additionally, the bill specifies that the new construction equipment auction 

license does not in any way affect the conduct of auctions by any person holding an 

auction-related license issued by the Department of Agriculture who is acting in 

compliance with those licensing requirements. 
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Lastly, the bill modifies the definition of a "construction equipment auctioneer" 

so that a person may engage in the business of auctioning large construction equipment 

if the person has not only a valid construction equipment auction license issued by the 

Registrar of Motor Vehicles but also a valid auction firm license issued by the 

Department of Agriculture, rather than an auctioneer's license as is required under 

existing law. 

 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION (PUC) 

 Exempts, from regulation by the Power Siting Board, manufacturing facilities that 

create byproducts that may be used in the generation of electricity as defined by the 

Board. 

 Requires the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO), by the end of 2011, to 

determine appropriate methods to ensure that the reduction in assessments for the 

Office of the Consumers' Counsel for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 is distributed to the 

benefit of utility customers, and requires timely implementation. 

 Repeals the Community-voicemail Service Pilot Program, and requires assessments 

made under the Pilot Program to cease and the PUCO to refund the assessments, 

without interest, within 60 days of the effective date of the refund provision. 

 

 

Byproducts exemption from Power Siting Board regulation 

(R.C. 4906.01) 

The bill exempts, from regulation by the Power Siting Board, a manufacturing 

facility that creates byproducts that may be used in the generation of electricity, as 

defined by the Board.  With this exemption, such a facility would not be required to 

obtain a certificate from the Board for facility construction.258  Existing law is not clear as 

to whether such a facility is currently required to obtain this certificate. 

The bill also clarifies that other facilities that are exempt from Board regulation, 

specifically electric, gas, natural gas distributing lines and gas or natural gas gathering 

lines and associated facilities, are included as such exempt facilities by Board definition. 

                                                 
258 R.C. 4906.04 (not in the bill). 
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Distribution of reduced assessments 

(Section 749.10) 

The bill requires the Public Utilities Commission (PUCO), by the end of 2011, to 

determine appropriate methods to ensure that the reduction in public utility 

assessments paid to the Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel (OCC) for fiscal years 

2012 and 2013 is distributed to the benefit of Ohio customers of those public utilities.  

The bill requires the PUCO to implement its distribution methodology in a timely 

manner. 

Because the OCC is funded by public-utility assessments, and those assessments 

must equal the OCC's appropriation in each fiscal year,259 the bill's reduced OCC 

appropriations will result in reduced assessment payments for public utilities.  Public 

utilities include assessment payments in cost-of-service determinations during rate 

cases, so the payments are factored into rate determinations.  But because rate cases 

may be sought whenever a public utility wishes to change its rates, and are not required 

to be filed regularly, the reduced payments for OCC assessments would not, without 

the bill's requirement to distribute reduced assessments, result in any reduction for 

customers until a public utility's next rate case. 

Repeal of Community-voicemail Service Pilot Program 

(R.C. 4927.17; Section 365.10, Sections 620.51, 620.52, and 620.53) 

The bill repeals the Community-voicemail Service Pilot Program and the 

Community-voicemail Service Pilot Program Fund established by Sub. S.B. 162 of the 

128th General Assembly (the act revising Ohio's telecommunications law) and requires 

all assessments made under the Pilot Program to cease.  Under the bill, the PUCO must 

refund the assessments, without interest, to the telephone companies that have been 

assessed under the Pilot Program.  All refunds must be made within 60 days of the 

effective date of the refund provision.  

The bill removes the requirement that the Select Committee on 

Telecommunications Regulatory Reform include in its study (due September 13, 2014) a 

report on the Community-voicemail Service Pilot Program.  The bill also deletes 

references to the program in existing law regarding telephone company rate change 

notices. 

                                                 
259 R.C. 4911.18, not in the bill. 
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Existing law requires the PUCO to implement a two-year Community-voicemail 

Service Pilot Program, in at least one urban area and one rural area of the state, for 

individuals in a state of transition, including the homeless, clients of battered-spouse 

programs, and displaced and returning veterans, who do not have access to traditional 

telephone exchange service or alternatives.  Program funding comes through 

assessments collected from each telephone company that is a local exchange carrier. 

 

OHIO BOARD OF REGENTS (BOR) 

Term of the Chancellor 

 Changes the term of office of the Chancellor from five years to the term of the 

appointing Governor. 

 Changes removal of the Chancellor to the pleasure of the Governor, instead of by the 

Governor only for specific reasons. 

Residency status for in-state tuition 

 Grants residency status, for purposes of in-state college tuition, to Ohio high school 

graduates who enroll in a state institution of higher education and re-establish 

domicile in Ohio within ten years after high school graduation, regardless of 

residence prior to enrollment. 

 Refuses residency status, for purposes of in-state college tuition, to any person who 

is not a U.S. citizen or U.S. national unless the person has been granted the right 

either (1) to live in the U.S. permanently and without work restrictions or (2) to 

reside temporarily in the U.S. 

Out-of-State Tuition Surcharge Forgiveness Program 

 Creates the Ohio Out-of-State Tuition Surcharge Forgiveness Program, which defers 

the out-of-state tuition surcharge for non-Ohio residents who agree to live and work 

in Ohio for at least five years after graduation. 

 Incrementally forgives the total amount of the out-of-state surcharges deferred for 

every year the graduate lives and works in Ohio. 

 Authorizes the boards of trustees of the state institutions to limit the number of their 

students who may participate and to establish eligibility standards for their 

students. 
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 Converts the amount of the out-of-state surcharge into a loan to be repaid with 

interest if the recipient withdraws from school or fails to live and work in Ohio for 

five years. 

Charter universities 

 Requires the Chancellor to develop a plan for designating public institutions of 

higher education as charter universities, allowing qualifying institutions increased 

flexibility in managing their finances and operations. 

 Requires the Chancellor to report, by August 15, 2011, recommendations for changes 

in policy, statute, and administrative rules, and states the General Assembly's intent 

to take actions necessary for implementation of the plan to commence July 1, 2012. 

 Prohibits formation of charter universities, and adoption, amendment, or recission 

of rules designating charter universities by the Chancellor, until the General 

Assembly enacts legislation establishing a procedure to designate charter 

universities. 

 Requires each state agency and each state institution of higher education to provide 

the Chancellor with assistance, upon request, in developing the plan. 

Three-year baccalaureate degrees 

 Requires all state institutions of higher education that offer baccalaureate degrees to 

issue a statement describing a method of earning those degrees in three years, and 

sets a timeline by which institutions must complete the statements for 10% and 60% 

of majors offered, not including programs that qualify as cooperative education 

programs. 

College remediation 

 Requires the presidents of the state institutions of higher education jointly to 

establish by December 31, 2012, uniform statewide standards in math, science, 

reading, and writing for a student to be considered as having a "remediation-free" 

status. 

 Requires the state institutions annually to report (1) their remediation costs, both in 

the aggregate and disaggregated according to the school districts from which the 

students graduated and (2) any other information with respect to remedial courses 

that the Chancellor considers appropriate. 
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 Requires the Chancellor and the Superintendent of Public Instruction to issue an 

annual report recommending policies and strategies for reducing the need for 

college remedial courses at state institutions. 

Distance learning clearinghouse 

 Makes changes in the administration of the distance learning clearinghouse, 

currently operated by the Chancellor. 

 Requires that the clearinghouse be located in the Ohio Resource Center for 

Mathematics, Science, and Reading administered by the College of Education and 

Human Ecology at The Ohio State University. 

 Establishes the Ohio Digital Learning Task Force to make recommendations, by 

March 1, 2012, to the Governor and General Assembly on the expansion of digital 

learning opportunities. 

 Requires the Chancellor to take steps to (1) facilitate full implementation of digital 

textbook pilot programs planned at state institutions of higher education and (2) 

ensure that those pilot programs examine cost savings, efficiencies, and academic 

benefits of digital content. 

Choose Ohio First scholarship 

 Allows colleges and universities to propose Choose Ohio First initiatives that award 

scholarships for a STEMM teacher education master's program to students who 

establish domicile in Ohio and commit to teach for at least three years in a hard-to-

staff Ohio school district. 

Financial interests in intellectual property 

 Expands the definition of products that employees of public colleges or universities 

may hold equity in, under rules adopted by the institution's board of trustees, to 

include "intellectual property." 

Religious student groups 

 Prohibits state institutions of higher education from denying benefits to a religious 

student group based on the group's requirement that its leaders and members 

adhere to its sincerely held religious beliefs or standards of conduct. 
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Leasing campus facilities 

 Permits a state institution of higher education to enter into an agreement to convey 

auxiliary facilities to a conduit entity, which will enter into a lease-leaseback 

agreement with an independent funding source. 

 Authorizes state institutions of higher education and university housing 

commissions to enter into lease agreements with nonpublic vendors to provide 

campus housing facilities. 

Miscellaneous 

 Eliminates the existing The Ohio State University Highway and Transportation 

Research Fund and requires the cash balance in the Fund be paid to The Ohio State 

University. 

 

 

Term of office of the Chancellor 

(R.C. 121.03 and 3333.03) 

The bill changes the term of the Chancellor of the Board of Regents and broadens 

the Governor's authority to remove the Chancellor from office.  Under current law, the 

Chancellor is appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, for 

a five-year term, and may be removed by the Governor only for (1) inefficiency or 

dereliction of duty, (2) a violation of the Ethics Law, (3) failure to file a financial 

disclosure statement with the Ohio Ethics Commission or filing a false one, or (4) 

corruption. 

Under the bill, the Chancellor's term of office is the same as that of the 

appointing Governor, and the Chancellor may be removed at the pleasure of the 

Governor.  (The bill retains the requirement for the Senate's advice and consent in the 

Chancellor's appointment.)  These changes essentially make the Chancellor's 

appointment, term, and removal the same as for members of the Governor's cabinet. 

Finally, the bill adjusts the term of the Chancellor in office on the bill's effective 

date so that it coincides with that of the Governor.  Under current law, the Chancellor's 

current term would have expired in 2012. 
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Residency status for in-state tuition 

(R.C. 3333.31) 

The bill grants residency status to Ohio high school graduates who, within ten 

years after graduation, re-establish domicile in the state.  This provision pertains to 

graduates who move out of state after high school graduation, since those who remain 

in Ohio retain their residency status.  Specifically, if a student graduates from an Ohio 

high school, and was eligible for in-state tuition at the time of high school graduation, 

the graduate has a ten-year window to re-establish domicile in Ohio to qualify for in-

state tuition.  The provision does not explicitly say whether it is intended to be applied 

retrospectively.  Presumably, it could be construed as being retrospective, so that 

graduates of the high school Class of 2002 and later could qualify after the bill takes 

effect. 

However the bill excludes from residency status any person who is not a U.S. 

citizen or U.S. national unless the U.S. Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services 

has granted that person either:  (1) the right to reside permanently in, and to work 

without restrictions in, the U.S. or (2) the right to reside temporarily in the U.S. 

Background 

Under current law, the Chancellor establishes rules for residency status for 

purposes of in-state tuition.  The General Assembly has instructed the Chancellor, in 

statue, to exclude students whose primary purpose for residing in Ohio is to attend a 

state-supported institution.  Generally, an Ohioan loses residency status after living out 

of state for 12 months.  However, the General Assembly has enacted several statutes 

over the years granting in-state tuition to the following: 

(1)  The spouse of a person, or a dependent of a parent or legal guardian, who 

relocates to Ohio for a full-time job, and not for in-state benefits.  (Students must 

provide proof of spouse or parent/guardian employment and a copy of the lease or 

closing statement on a residential property in Ohio of which the spouse or 

parent/guardian is the occupant or owner.) 

(2)  A veteran, or spouse or dependent of a veteran, who either (a) served one or 

more years on active military duty and was honorably discharged or medically 

discharged due to military service or (b) was killed, missing in action, or a prisoner of 

war while serving on active military duty, if the veteran, spouse, or dependent has 

established domicile in the state as of the first day of the term of enrollment at an 

institution; 
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(3)  A nonresident of Ohio who is a member of the armed forces and is stationed 

in Ohio, or is a member of the Ohio National Guard, and the member's spouse and 

dependents; and 

(4)  A resident of a contiguous state who enrolls in an Ohio public two-year 

college, if the student is employed by an Ohio business and the student's employer both 

(a) pays the tuition pursuant to a contract with the college and (b) agrees not to charge 

the student for the tuition.260 

Out-of-State Tuition Surcharge Forgiveness Program 

(R.C. 3333.93 and 3333.94;  conforming changes in R.C. 3333.38 and 3345.32) 

The bill creates the Ohio Out-of-State Tuition Surcharge Forgiveness Program.  

The program defers the out-of-state tuition surcharge for non-Ohio residents, both 

undergraduates and graduates, who enroll in a state institution of higher education and 

who agree to live and work in Ohio for at least five years after graduation.  For each 

year a deferment recipient lives and works in Ohio, a percentage of the total amount of 

out-of-state tuition owed by the recipient is forgiven.  Although the language outlining 

the forgiveness schedule may be imprecise, the most practical way to interpret the 

language seems to be as follows: 

(1)  10% of the total deferred amount is forgiven at the end of the first year of 

employment and residence after graduation; 

(2)  20% of the remaining deferred amount is forgiven at the end of the second 

year of employment and residence after graduation; 

(3)  30% of the remaining deferred amount is forgiven at the end of the third year 

of employment and residence after graduation; 

(4)  50% of the remaining deferred amount is forgiven at the end of the fourth 

year of employment and residence after graduation; and  

(5)  100% of the remaining deferred amount is forgiven at the end of the fifth year 

of employment and residence after graduation. 

Recipients must reside and work in Ohio immediately subsequent to receiving a 

degree from a state institution of higher education.  However, a recipient has a six- 

month grace period to find a job while living in the state.  Also, if an undergraduate 

recipient enrolls in a graduate program at a state institution of higher education in the 

                                                 
260 R.C. 3333.31(B) and (C), 3333.32, and 3333.42 (the last two sections not in the bill). 
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academic year following graduation, the five-year residence and employment 

requirement does not commence until the recipient graduates from the graduate 

program. 

Rules 

The bill directs the Chancellor to adopt rules to establish and administer the 

program.  The rules must include (1) student eligibility to receive a deferment, 

including any academic requirements to continue receiving a deferment, (2) an 

application, selection, and award process for deferments, (3) a process for accounting 

for the amount of out-of-state tuition owed by the deferment recipient, calculated in 

conjunction with state institutions of higher education, (4) the maximum amount of out-

of-state surcharges a recipient may defer, (5) a procedure for recipients who transfer to 

other state institutions of higher education, and (6) conditions under which a deferment 

will be canceled. 

As under current law for other student financial aid programs, the bill requires 

that participants file a statement of selective service, if applicable, and that individuals 

who have been convicted of, plead guilty to, or been adjudicated a delinquent child for 

riot, aggravated riot, failure to disperse, misconduct at an emergency, or disorderly 

conduct are ineligible for two years after applying for the deferment.261 

Institutional limits 

The bill allows the board of trustees of any state institution of higher education to 

limit the number of students enrolled in that institution who may participate in the 

program.  Further, the board of trustees may establish eligibility standards, beyond 

those of the Chancellor, for qualification for and continued participation in the program 

for its enrolled students. 

Repayment 

Recipients who accept the out-of-state tuition surcharge deferment must sign a 

promissory note payable to the state if the recipient does not live and work in the state 

for five years after graduation or if the deferment is terminated.  If the recipient is under 

18, the recipient’s parent must sign the note.  The amount payable under the note is the 

amount of deferred total out-of-state tuition surcharged accrued by the recipient.  The 

bill requires the Chancellor to determine the period of repayment.  The note must 

stipulate that the obligation to make payments under the note is canceled after the 

recipient has lived and worked in Ohio for five years after graduation or if the recipient 

dies or becomes totally and permanently disabled. 

                                                 
261 R.C. 3333.38 and 3345.32. 
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The Chancellor may terminate the deferment under rules the Chancellor adopts 

for the program, at which time the deferred amount becomes a loan to be repaid.  The 

deferment is also terminated if a recipient withdraws from school or fails to meet the 

standards of the deferment adopted by the Chancellor or the state institution from 

which the recipient receives a degree. 

The bill requires the Chancellor and the Attorney General to collect payments on 

deferments converted into loans. 

Charter universities 

(R.C. 3345.81) 

The bill requires the Chancellor to develop a plan for designating some state 

institutions of higher education as charter universities, having increased flexibility in 

managing their finances and operations.  But the bill prohibits institutions from being 

designated as charter universities until the General Assembly, after considering the 

Chancellor's plan, has enacted legislation establishing a procedure for making such a 

designation.  The bill further prohibits the Chancellor from adopting, amending, or 

rescinding rules with respect to designating institutions as charter universities until 

legislation is enacted. 

Initial recommendations; statement of legislative intent to take action 

By August 15, 2011, the Chancellor must submit to the General Assembly and the 

Governor findings and recommendations for use in developing changes to policy, 

statute, and administrative rules necessary to implement the plan.  The bill states that 

"the General Assembly intends that the General Assembly, Governor, and Chancellor 

will take actions necessary for the plan for charter universities to commence July 1, 

2012." 

Development of the plan 

In developing the plan, the Chancellor must: 

(1)  Study the administrative and financial relationships between the state and its 

public institutions of higher education, to determine the extent to which they can 

manage their operations more effectively when accorded flexibility through selected 

delegation of authority; 

(2)  Examine legal and other issues, and the feasibility and practicability, related 

to restructuring the relationship between the state and its public institutions of higher 

education; and  
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(3)  Consult with the presidents of the institutions. 

Contents of the plan 

The plan must specify: 

(1)  The manner in which an institution may become eligible, and performance 

measures and criteria to determine eligibility.  The measures and criteria must address 

an institution's ability to manage its administrative and financial operations without 

jeopardizing its financial integrity and stability. 

(2)  Specific areas of financial and operational authority that are subject to 

increased flexibility; and 

(3)  The nature and term of the management agreement between the state and an 

institution. 

Assistance to the Chancellor 

The Office of Budget and Management, the Department of Administrative 

Services, and each state institution of higher education must provide the Chancellor, 

upon the Chancellor's request, with research assistance, fiscal and policy analysis, and 

other services during the Chancellor's development of the plan.  Any other state agency 

also must provide any other assistance requested by the Chancellor. 

Three-year baccalaureate degrees 

(R.C. 3333.43) 

The bill requires the Chancellor to require all state institutions of higher 

education (state universities, community colleges, technical colleges, state community 

colleges, and university branches) that offer baccalaureate degrees to submit a 

statement describing how each major for which the school offers a baccalaureate degree 

may be completed within three academic years.  The statement must include a 

chronology starting in the fall semester, or equivalent, of a student's first year.  Schools 

that fail to comply stand to lose authorization from the Chancellor to offer such 

programs.  However, the bill specifies that institutions are not required to take any 

action that would violate the requirements of any independent association that 

accredits baccalaureate degree programs. 

Each institution must provide statements for 10% of all baccalaureate degree 

programs offered by the institution not later than October 15, 2012.  Not later than June 

30, 2014, institutions must provide statements for 60% of all baccalaureate degrees. 
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Each institution must post its three-year option statements on its website and 

provide that information to the Department of Education, which, in turn, must 

distribute it to the superintendent, high school principal, and guidance counselor, or the 

equivalents, of each school district, community ("charter") school, and STEM school in 

the state. 

The statement may include any of the following methods to contribute to earning 

a degree in three years: 

(1)  Advanced placement credit; 

(2)  International baccalaureate program credit; 

(3)  A waiver of degree and credit-hour requirements earned by completion of 

college courses through community colleges, on-line courses from state or private, 

nonprofit institutions of higher education, or the Post-Secondary Enrollment Options 

program; 

(4)  Completion of coursework during summer sessions; or 

(5)  A foreign language requirement waiver based on a proficiency examination 

specified by the institution. 

The bill specifies that these requirements do not apply to baccalaureate degree 

programs that qualify as cooperative education programs.  Under current law,  a 

"cooperative education program" is a program that (1) combines periods of academic 

study and work experience in appropriate fields, (2) provides students with academic 

credit from the institution of higher education and wages from the employer, 

(3) evaluates each student's performance in the cooperative position from the 

perspective of both the institution of higher education and the employer, and (4) is part 

of a degree or certificate program for which a percentage of the total program 

acceptable to the Chancellor involves cooperative education.262 

College remediation 

(R.C. 3345.061) 

The bill requires the presidents, or their designees, of all state institutions of 

higher education (state universities, community colleges, state community colleges, 

university branches, and technical colleges) to jointly establish uniform statewide 

standards in math, science, reading, and writing for a student to be considered as 

                                                 
262 R.C. 3333.71, not in the bill. 
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having a "remediation-free" status.  These standards must be adopted by December 31, 

2012.  The presidents also must establish any assessments they find necessary to assess 

student knowledge in those fields.  Each institution must assess the needs of its enrolled 

students in the manner adopted by the presidents, and each board of trustees must 

adopt the agreed-upon standards and any related assessments into the institution's 

policies.  The Chancellor must assist in coordinating the presidents' work. 

The bill also requires each state institution of higher education to report to the 

Governor, General Assembly, Chancellor, and Superintendent of Public Instruction 

annually, on a date established by the Chancellor, all of the following information:  (1) 

the institution's aggregate costs for providing academic remedial or developmental 

courses, (2) the amount of those costs disaggregated according to the city, local, or 

exempted village school districts from which the students taking those courses received 

their high school diplomas, and (3) any other information concerning academic 

remedial and developmental courses that the Chancellor considers appropriate. 

Finally, the bill requires the Chancellor and Superintendent of Public Instruction 

to issue an annual report recommending policies and strategies for reducing the need 

for academic remediation and developmental courses at state institutions of higher 

education.  The first report is due on December 31, 2011, and then due on December 31 

each year thereafter. 

Distance learning clearinghouse 

(R.C. 3333.81, 3333.82, 3333.83, 3333.84, 3333.85, and 3333.87; Section 371.60.70; 

conforming change in R.C. 3313.603) 

Background 

The Chancellor is required under current law to establish and maintain a 

distance learning clearinghouse.  Under that program, school districts, community 

schools, STEM schools, public and private colleges and universities, and other nonprofit 

and for-profit course providers may offer on-line or other distance learning courses 

through the clearinghouse for sharing with other school districts, community schools, 

STEM schools, public and private colleges and universities, and individuals.  In 

operating the clearinghouse, the Chancellor must use a "common statewide platform" to 

support the delivery of courses, but the provider is solely responsible for the course 

content.  For that purpose, a common statewide platform is defined as a "software 

program that facilitates the delivery of courses via computers from multiple course 

providers to multiple end users, tracks the progress of the end user, and includes an 
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integrated searchable database of standards-based course content."263  The Chancellor 

maintains the clearinghouse as the "OhioLearns! Gateway," including an online 

searchable database of both primary-secondary and higher education courses offered 

through the program (see http://www.ohiolearns.org/). 

Relocation of clearinghouse to OSU College of Education 

The bill specifies that the distance learning clearinghouse must be located at the 

Ohio Resource Center for Mathematics, Science, and Reading administered by the 

College of Education and Human Ecology at The Ohio State University.264  Presumably, 

this means that the Chancellor is required to relocate the clearinghouse to the College 

by contracting with the College to operate the program.  But the bill also eliminates 

some of the language in current law that specifically permits the Chancellor to contract 

out the clearinghouse.265  At the very least, it appears that the College is required to 

operate the clearinghouse under the auspices of the Chancellor in lieu of the 

Chancellor's operating it directly, for the fiscal biennium. 

The bill requires the College to provide access to its online repository of 

educational content to offer courses from multiple providers at competitive prices for 

Ohio students in grades K to 12.  It does not indicate whether the College is required to 

also maintain the current offerings of the clearinghouse, including those offered for 

higher education students. 

Under the bill, the College must review the content of each course offered to 

assess the course's alignment with the state academic content standards, as adopted by 

the State Board of Education, and to shall publish its determination about the degree of 

that alignment.  Presumably, this requirement applies only to the courses offered for 

credit in a primary or secondary school.  As noted above, the Chancellor currently is not 

responsible for the content of courses offered through the clearinghouse.  It appears that 

the College in administering the program must take some responsibility for course 

content.266 

The College also must indicate for each course offered the academic credit that a 

student may reasonably expect to earn upon successful completion of the course.  

However, the bill stipulates that a student's school district or school retains "full 

authority to determine the credit awarded to the student."  Still, the bill also appears to 

                                                 
263 R.C. 3333.81. 

264 Section 371.60.70. 

265 R.C. 3333.82(F). 

266 R.C. 3333.82(A); Section 371.60.70(B). 
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require a student's district or school to award some amount of credit for a successfully 

completed course.267 

The College is specifically permitted to establish policies to protect the 

proprietary interest in or intellectual property of the educational content and courses 

offered through the clearinghouse.  The College may require users to agree to the terms 

of any such policies prior to accessing the repository.268 

As under current law, the bill specifies that the fee charged for a course offered 

through the clearinghouse, as it is operated by the College, is set by the course provider.  

But the bill also permits the College to retain a percentage of the fee to offset the cost of 

maintaining the clearinghouse.  The Chancellor is also permitted under current law to 

retain a percentage of a provider's fee.269  It appears that both the Chancellor and the 

College might be able to retain amounts from the fee for a single course if necessary to 

offset their respective costs. 

Participation by primary and secondary schools 

The bill eliminates a current provision that permits a primary and secondary 

student to enroll in a course through the clearinghouse only if the student's district or 

school approves it and agrees to accept for credit the grade assigned by the course 

provider.  Instead, the bill requires each school district, community  school, and STEM 

school to encourage students to take advantage of the distance learning opportunities 

offered through the clearinghouse and to assist them in selecting and scheduling 

courses that both satisfy the district's or school's curriculum requirements  and promote 

the student's post-secondary college or career plans.  It also requires districts and 

schools to award credit for successfully completed courses that is equivalent to the 

credit that would be awarded for similar courses offered at the students' districts or 

schools.  Moreover, districts and schools are prohibited from denying or limiting access 

to or participation in courses offered through the clearinghouse and from refusing to 

recognize courses that fulfill the minimum high school curriculum.270 

However, the bill also states that a school district, community school, or STEM 

school is not required to pay the fee charged for a course taken by a student.  Under 

current law, not changed by the bill, the Chancellor is responsible for prescribing the 

manner in which the fee for a course "shall be collected or deducted from the school 

                                                 
267 R.C. 3333.85(B); Section 371.60.70(C). 

268 Section 371.60.70(E). 

269 R.C. 3333.84(C); Section 371.60.70(D). 

270 R.C. 3333.83(A) and 3333.85.  See also R.C. 3313.603(C). 
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district, school, college or university, or individual subscribing to the course and in 

which manner the fee shall be paid to the course provider."271  Presumably, a district or 

school is free to pay the fee on behalf of a student but cannot be compelled to do so.  

Still, it is not clear whether a district or school can require a student to take a course 

through the clearinghouse if it cannot offer the course directly unless it pays for the 

course on behalf of the student. 

Distribution of information by eTech 

The bill requires the eTech Ohio Commission, in consultation with the 

Chancellor and the State Board of Education, to distribute information to students and 

parents describing the clearinghouse.  The information must be provided in an easily 

understandable format.272 

Guiding principles 

The bill prescribes "principles" for how the clearinghouse for K-12 students is to 

be administered.  They are as follows. 

"(1)  All Ohio students shall have access to high quality distance learning courses 

at any point in their educational careers. 

(2)  All students shall be able to customize their education using distance 

learning courses offered through the clearinghouse and no student shall be denied 

access to any course in the clearinghouse in which the student is eligible to enroll. 

(3)  Students may take distance learning courses for all or any portion of their 

curriculum requirements and may utilize a combination of distance learning courses 

and courses taught in a traditional classroom setting. 

(4)  Students may earn an unlimited number of academic credits through 

distance learning courses. 

(5)  Students may take distance learning courses at any time of the calendar year. 

(6)  Student advancement to higher coursework shall be based on a 

demonstration of subject area competency instead of completion of any particular 

number of hours of instruction."273 

                                                 
271 R.C. 3333.84(A) and (D). 

272 R.C. 3333.82(F). 

273 R.C. 3333.82. 
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Rules for implementation of the clearinghouse 

Current law requires the Chancellor to adopt rules in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act prescribing procedures for implementation of the 

clearinghouse.  The bill prescribes instead that the Chancellor and the State Board of 

Education, jointly, must adopt such rules.  And the Chancellor and State Board must 

consult with the Director of the Governor's Office of 21st Century Education in 

adopting those rules.274 

The Ohio Digital Learning Task Force 

(Section 371.60.80) 

The bill establishes the Ohio Digital Learning Task Force "to develop a strategy 

for the expansion of digital learning that enables students to customize their education, 

produces cost savings, and meets the needs of Ohio's economy." 

The Task Force consists of the following members: 

(1)  The Chancellor or the Chancellor's designee; 

(2)  The Superintendent of Public Instruction or the Superintendent's designee; 

(3)  The Director of the Governor's Office of 21st Century Education or the 

Director's designee; 

(4)  Up to six members appointed by the Governor, who must be representatives 

of school districts or community schools that are "high performing of their type" and 

have demonstrated the ability to incorporate technology into the classroom 

successfully; and 

(5)  One member each appointed by the Senate President and the Speaker of the 

House.  The bill does not state whether those two members must or may be members of 

the General Assembly or the public. 

All members must be appointed within 60 days after the bill's (immediate) 

effective date.  The Governor must designate the chairperson of the Task Force.  

Meetings of the Task Force are held at the call of the chairperson. 

Issues for study 

The bill specifically requires the Task Force to do all of the following: 

                                                 
274 R.C. 3333.87. 
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(1)  Request information from textbook publishers about digital textbooks and 

digital content distribution methods and examine that information; 

(2)  Examine potential cost savings of using digital textbooks and digital content 

distribution in primary and secondary schools and in higher education institutions; 

(3)  Examine the academic benefits of using digital textbooks and digital content 

distribution, including, but not limited to, the ability to individualize  content to specific 

student learning styles, accessibility for  individuals with disabilities, and the 

integration of formative and other online assessments; and 

(4)  Examine current digital content pilot programs and state-level initiatives 

operating in Ohio. 

Recommendations 

The Task Force must issue a report, by March 1, 2012, to the Governor, President 

of the Senate, and Speaker of the House with recommendations regarding all of the 

following: 

(1)  The "creation of high quality digital content and instruction" for free access 

by public and nonpublic schools and students receiving home instruction; 

(2)  "High quality professional development for teachers and principals 

providing online instruction or blended learning programs"; 

(3)  Funding strategies; 

(4)  Student assessment and accountability; 

(5)  Infrastructure to support digital learning; 

(6)  Mobile learning and mobile learning applications; 

(7)  The distance learning clearinghouse (see above); 

(8)  "Ways to align the resources and digital learning initiatives of state agencies 

and offices"; 

(9)  Methods for removing redundancy and inefficiency in, and for providing 

coordination of, all digital learning programs, including the provision of free online 

instruction to public and nonpublic schools statewide; and 

(10)  Methods of addressing future changes in technology and learning. 
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Upon issuing its report, the Task Force will cease to exist. 

Electronic textbook programs at state higher education institutions 

(Section 371.60.90) 

The bill requires the Chancellor, within six months after the bill's (immediate) 

effective date, to do both of the following: 

(1)  Facilitate full implementation of digital textbook and content pilot programs 

currently planned at state institutions of higher education; and 

(2)  Ensure that those pilot programs examine cost savings, efficiencies, and 

academic benefits of digital content, including, but not limited to, the ability to 

individualize content to specific student learning styles, accessibility for individuals 

with disabilities, and the integration of formative and other online assessments. 

Choose Ohio First scholarship to recruit STEMM teachers 

(R.C. 3333.66) 

The law authorizing the Choose Ohio First scholarship program generally 

contemplates that the program will award money for scholarships to undergraduate 

students in the STEMM fields (science, technology, engineering, math, or medicine) or 

in STEMM education.  But it also directs the Chancellor to encourage state colleges and 

universities, alone or in collaboration with each other or with private institutions, to 

submit proposals to attract Ohio residents attending college elsewhere to return to Ohio 

for graduate-level study in a STEMM field or in STEMM education. 

The bill directs the Chancellor to encourage a second type of proposal for 

graduate students, to retain students already in Ohio to take a master's teacher 

education program in a STEMM field and teach in a hard-to-staff Ohio school district.  

Specifically, it directs the Chancellor to encourage proposals to award scholarships to 

STEMM graduates (or undergraduates who will graduate in time to participate in the 

proposed program by the subsequent school year) from an Ohio college or university to 

participate in a teacher education masters program in a STEMM field.  To qualify for 

approval, a proposal must require that a participant establish domicile in Ohio and 

commit to teach for a minimum of three years in a hard-to-staff school district, as 

defined by the Department of Education, after completing the master's degree program.  

(The bill does not elaborate how the three-year teaching obligation might be enforced; 

presumably, through contractual obligation.)  Moreover, the Chancellor may require a 

proposing college or university to give priority to qualified candidates who graduated 

from an Ohio high school. 
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Background 

The Choose Ohio First Scholarship Program assigns a number of scholarships to 

state universities and the Northeast Ohio Medical University (formerly NEOUCOM) to 

recruit Ohio residents as undergraduate students in the STEMM fields or in STEMM 

education. The scholarships are awarded to each participating eligible student as a 

grant to the state university or college the student is attending and must be reflected on 

the student's tuition bill. 

A student who receives a Choose Ohio First scholarship must receive at least 

$1,500, but no more than one-half of the highest in-state, undergraduate instructional 

and general fees charged by all state universities.  However, the Chancellor may 

authorize an institution of higher education to award a scholarship for more than that 

amount to either (1) an undergraduate student enrolled in a program leading to a 

teaching profession in a STEMM field or (2) a graduate student in a STEMM field or 

STEMM education.  As stated above, under current law Choose Ohio First scholarships 

may be awarded to graduate students only as part of an initiative to recruit Ohio 

residents enrolled outside Ohio to return to Ohio to study in a STEMM field or STEMM 

education. 

Financial interests in intellectual property 

(R.C. 3345.14) 

Under current law, the board of trustees of a state college or university may 

adopt rules under which an employee may solicit or accept, or a person may give or 

promise to an employee, a financial interest in any entity (firm, corporation, or other 

association) to which the board has given (assigned, licensed, or transferred) or sold the 

university's interests in the employee's discoveries, inventions, or patents.  The bill 

broadens the potential products that a board could allow an employee to hold a 

financial interest in to include any "intellectual property."  Thus, under the bill, an 

employee of a state college or university may, if permitted under the rules adopted by 

the institution's board of trustees, hold equity in any intellectual property created by the 

employee that the college or university has transferred or sold to another entity. 

Religious student groups 

(R.C. 3345.023) 

The bill prohibits a state institution of higher education from denying a religious 

student group any benefit that any other student group would receive, based on the fact 

that the religious student group requires its leaders or members to adhere to its 

sincerely held religious beliefs or standards of conduct. 
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The bill specifies that benefits to which such religious groups must have equal 

access include recognition by the state institution of higher education and registration 

of that group.  Institutions must also provide these religious student groups access to 

the institution's channels of communication and funding sources available to any other 

student group.  Finally, these groups must also be able to use the institution's facilities 

for speaking purposes, but this requirement is subject to the authority institutions have 

under current law to deny use of facilities to advocates for or members of organizations 

that advocate the overthrow of the United States government by force, or persons 

"whose presence is not conducive to high ethical or moral standards or the primary 

educational purposes and orderly conduct of the functions of the institution."275 

Leasing campus auxiliary facilities 

(R.C. 3345.54) 

The bill authorizes the board of trustees of a state institution of higher 

education,276 subject to approval by the Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents and the 

Controlling Board, to enter into a financing agreement with a conduit entity and an 

independent funding source and may convey to the conduit entity title to any auxiliary 

facilities owned by the state institution.  The conduit entity and independent funding 

source must be selected either through a competitive selection process or by direct 

negotiations.  For purposes of the bill, "auxiliary facilities" means buildings, structures, 

and other improvements, and equipment, real estate, and interests in such real estate, to 

be used for or in connection with student activity or service facilities, housing and 

dining facilities, dining halls, and other food service and preparation facilities, parking 

facilities, bookstores, athletic and recreational facilities, faculty centers, auditoriums, 

assembly and exhibition halls, hospitals, infirmaries and other medical and health 

facilities, research, and continuing education facilities.  "Conduit entity" means an 

organization described in Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code that qualifies 

as a public charity under Section 509(a)(2) or 509(a)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, 

whose corporate purpose allows it to perform the functions and obligations of a conduit 

entity prescribed in a financing agreement under the bill.  "Independent funding 

source" means a private entity that enters into a financing agreement with a conduit 

entity and a state institution. 

The financing agreement envisioned by the bill is a contract between a state 

institution of higher education, a conduit entity, and an independent funding source 

that provides for all of the following: 

                                                 
275 R.C. 3345.021, not in bill. 

276 "State institution of higher education" is defined in R.C. 3345.011. 
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 The conveyance of auxiliary facilities owned by a state institution of 

higher education to the conduit entity for consideration deemed adequate 

by the institution. 

 The lease of the conveyed property by the conduit entity to the 

independent funding source and leaseback of the conveyed property to 

the conduit entity for a term not to exceed 99 years. 

 Such other terms and conditions negotiated and agreed upon by the 

parties, including terms regarding: 

--Payment to the institution by the conduit entity of revenues 

received from the conveyed property in excess of the payments it is 

required to make to the independent funding source; 

--Pledge, assignment, or creation of a lien in favor of the independent 

funding source by the conduit entity of any revenues derived from 

the conveyed property; 

--Reverter or conveyance of title to the conveyed property to the 

institution when the property is no longer subject to a lease with the 

independent funding source. 

 Terms and conditions required by the Chancellor or the Controlling Board 

as a condition of approval of the financing agreement. 

The institution and the conduit entity may enter into agreements or contracts 

under which the institution may maintain or administer the conveyed property and 

may collect and disburse revenues on behalf of the conduit entity. 

The parties also may modify or extend the financing agreement subject to 

approval by the Chancellor and the Controlling Board. 

The property that is conveyed pursuant to a financing agreement retains its 

exemption from property taxes and assessments, as though title to the conveyed 

property were held by the institution, so long as during any part of the tax year that title 

was held by the institution or was held by the conduit entity and, if held by the conduit 

entity, remains subject to the lease-leaseback arrangement between the conduit entity 

and the independent funding source.  The conduit entity, however, must apply for 

continued exemption of the conveyed property as provided by law after the conveyed 

property is transferred to it and during the term of the lease-leaseback arrangement. 
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Finally, the bill provides that nothing in this provision is intended to abrogate, 

amend, limit, or replace any existing authority that state institutions of higher education 

may have with respect to the conveyance, lease, lease-leaseback, finance, or acquisition 

of auxiliary facilities. 

Leasing campus housing facilities 

(R.C. 3345.55) 

In addition to the authority provided by the bill for leasing campus auxiliary 

facilities (see "Leasing campus auxiliary facilities" above), the bill authorizes a 

university (defined by the bill to include state institutions of higher education and 

university housing commissions) to enter into a lease agreement with a nonpublic 

vendor to provide housing services in campus housing facilities to students of the 

university.  The lease agreement may require the vendor to construct new campus 

housing facilities to serve students.  The lease agreement must be for a term of at least 

20 but no more than 30 years and include the following requirements: 

(1)  The vendor must be responsible for the operation and maintenance of the 

housing facilities; 

(2)  The vendor must lease housing units to students of the university; 

(3)  The vendor is bound by and must enforce any university housing policies. 

The bill provides that a university may revoke the lease and regain operational 

control over dormitories if the vendors violate the terms of the lease agreement. 

Elimination of The Ohio State University Highway and Transportation 
Research Fund 

(R.C. 3335.45; Section 371.70.10) 

The bill eliminates the existing The Ohio State University Highway and 

Transportation Research Fund and requires the cash balance in the Fund be paid to The 

Ohio State University. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION AND CORRECTION (DRC) 

 Revises the authority of the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC), a 

county, or a municipality to contract for the private operation and management of a 

state or specified local correctional facility by a private person or entity by repealing 
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a 2-year limitation on the duration of an initial contract and repealing a requirement 

that the contractor generally must be accredited by the American Correctional 

Association. 

 Expressly authorizes DRC's Director and the Director of Administrative Services to 

contract with a private person or entity for the private operation of the Lake Erie 

Correctional Facility, the Grafton Correctional Institution, the North Coast 

Correctional Treatment Facility, the North Central Correctional Institution, and the 

vacated correctional facility previously operated by the Department of Youth 

Services that is adjacent to the North Central Correctional Institution (transferred to 

DRC and renamed the North Central Correctional Institution Camp) and the 

transfer of the state's right, title, and interest in the facility to the private person or 

entity, and requires additional terms in a contract of that nature. 

 Authorizes the sale of the state's right, title, and interest in the real property on 

which a facility described in the preceding dot point is situated and any 

surrounding land to the private person or entity privately operating the facility 

pursuant to a contract described in that dot point. 

 Specifies that any facility described in the second preceding dot point that is 

transferred must be returned to the county auditor's tax list and duplicate and is 

subject to all real property taxes and assessments, that no exemption from real 

property taxation under R.C. Chapter 5709. applies to any such facility that is sold, 

and that the gross receipts and income of a contractor to whom any such facility is 

sold that are derived from operating the facility are exempt from gross receipts and 

income taxes levied by the state and its subdivisions. 

 Specifies that after the sale of any facility described in the third preceding dot point 

the state has a right to repurchase the facility if the contractor wants to sell or 

otherwise transfer the facility or becomes insolvent, defaults on the contract, or 

defaults on the financial agreement for the purchase of the facility. 

 Requires that any case challenging the constitutionality of R.C. 9.06 or Section 753.10 

(sale of DRC facilities) or the legality of certain official actions taken pursuant to 

those provisions be brought in the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas and 

that the case and any appeal from a final order in the case be given priority and be 

decided expeditiously. 

 Permits rather than requires the DRC to provide laboratory services to itself and the 

departments of Mental Health (DMH), Developmental Disabilities, and Youth 

Services. 
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 Expands the definition of a DRC "psychiatric hospital" operated for the treatment of 

inmates to also include a part of a facility. 

 Provides that a psychiatric hospital is all or a part of a facility that is operated and 

managed by DMH pursuant to an agreement with DRC or an accredited psychiatric 

hospital licensed by DMH and operated and managed by DRC or a contractor of 

DRC. 

 Transfers specified responsibilities related to inmate patient care and treatment from 

the warden of a psychiatric hospital to DRC. 

 Provides that any money received by DRC for agricultural products produced in 

penal and correctional institutions be deposited into the Ohio Penal Industries 

Manufacturing Fund. 

 Renames the Services and Agricultural Fund the Institutional Services Fund. 

 Modifies the purposes for which money in the Institutional Services Fund may be 

used. 

 Modifies the purposes for which money in the Ohio Penal Industries Manufacturing 

Fund may be used. 

 Permits the Division of Business Administration of the Department of Rehabilitation 

and Correction to enter into a lease or agreement with a state agency, political 

subdivision, or private entity that allows the agency, subdivision, or entity to use 

property and facilities that are under the jurisdiction of the Department but that are 

not being used by the Department.   

 

 

Correctional facilities – private operation and transfer of state facilities to 
private owner 

Private operation of state or local correctional facilities 

(R.C. 9.06; Section 753.10) 

Existing law authorizes the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC) 

to contract for the private operation and management of any state correctional 

institution.  It also generally authorizes counties and municipal corporations to contract 

for the private operation and management of a county, multicounty, municipal, 

municipal-county, or multicounty-municipal jail, workhouse, prison, or other 

correctional facility used only for misdemeanants.  Any state correctional institution or 
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local facility that is the subject of any such contract is a "facility" for purposes of the 

provision.  A contract under the provision must be for an initial term of not more than 

two years with an option to renew for additional periods of two years.  A person or 

entity that enters into a contract to operate and manage a state correctional institution 

or local facility under the provision (the contractor) generally must be accredited by the 

American Correctional Association and, at the time of the person's or entity's 

application to enter into the contract, must operate and manage one or more facilities 

accredited by the Association.  Existing law establishes procedures that govern the 

execution of any such contract, prescribes terms that must be in the contract, imposes 

duties and standards that apply to the contractor in operating the facility, and specifies 

other criteria that apply to the operation of the facility.  Among the mandatory contract 

terms is a requirement that the contractor retain accreditation from the American 

Correctional Association throughout the contract term. 

The bill modifies current law regarding a contract for the private operation and 

management of a state correctional institution or for any of the specified local facilities 

in several ways: 

(1)  First, it replaces the requirement that any such contract must be for an initial 

term of not more than two years with a requirement that the contract must be for an 

initial term specified in the contract. 

(2)  Second, it repeals the requirement that the contractor generally must be 

accredited by the American Correctional Association and the related mandatory 

contract term that specifies that any such contract must include a requirement that the 

contractor retain accreditation from the Association throughout the contract term. 

(3)  Third, it expands the provision to include new language that applies only in 

relation to the private operation and management of any of five state institutions that 

DRC and the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) are authorized to sell, as 

described below in "Authorization for sale of state facilities."  The institutions are 

four specified state correctional institutions and one closed Department of Youth 

Services (DYS) institution, jurisdiction of which the bill transfers to DRC.  Regarding 

those institutions, the bill expands the definition of "facility" that applies to the 

provision so that the term includes any of those institutions at any time prior to or after 

any sale to a contractor of the state's right, title, and interest in the facility, the land 

situated thereon, and specified surrounding land.  It specifies that if, on or after its 

effective date, a contractor enters into a contract with DRC for the operation and 

management of any of those institutions, if the contract provides for the sale of the 

facility to the contractor, if the facility is sold to the contractor subsequent to the 

execution of the contract, and if the contractor is privately operating and managing the 
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facility, notwithstanding the contractor's private operation and management of the 

facility, all of the following apply: 

(a)  Except as expressly provided to the contrary in the provision, the facility 

being privately operated and managed by the contractor is to be considered for 

purposes of the Revised Code as being under the control of, or under the jurisdiction of, 

DRC. 

(b)  Any reference in the provision to "state correctional institution," any 

reference in R.C. Chapter 2967. to "state correctional institution," other than the 

definition of that term set forth in R.C. 2967.01, or to "prison," and any reference in R.C. 

Chapter 2929., 5120., 5145., 5147., or 5149. or any other R.C. provision to "state 

correctional institution" or "prison" is to be considered to include a reference to the 

facility being privately operated and managed by the contractor, unless the context 

makes the inclusion of that facility clearly inapplicable. 

(c)  Upon the sale and conveyance of the facility:  (i) the facility must be returned 

to the tax list and duplicate maintained by the county auditor and is subject to all real 

property taxes and assessments, (ii) no exemption from real property taxation under 

R.C. Chapter 5709. applies to the facility, and (iii) the gross receipts and income of the 

contractor to whom the facility is conveyed that are derived from operating and 

managing the facility under the provision are exempt from gross receipts and income 

taxes levied by the state and its subdivisions, including the taxes levied pursuant to R.C. 

Chapters 718., 5747., 5748., and 5751. 

(d)  After the sale and conveyance of the facility, both of the following apply: 

(i)  Before the contractor may resell or otherwise transfer the facility and the real 

property on which it is situated, any surrounding land that also was transferred under 

the contract, or both, the contractor first must offer the state the opportunity to 

repurchase the facility, real property, and surrounding land and must sell it to the state 

if the state so desires, pursuant to and in accordance with the repurchase clause 

included in the contract. 

(ii)  Upon the default by the contractor of any financial agreement for the 

purchase of the facility and the real property on which it is situated, any surrounding 

land that also was transferred under the contract, or both, the default by the contractor 

of any other term in the contract, or the financial insolvency of the contractor or 

inability of the contractor to meet its contractual obligations, the state may repurchase 

the facility, real property, and surrounding land, if the state so desires, pursuant to and 

in accordance with the repurchase clause included in the contract. 
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Authorization for sale of state facilities 

(Section 753.10; R.C. 5120.092) 

The bill authorizes the DAS Director and the DRC Director to award one or more 

contracts through requests for proposals for the operation and management by a 

contractor of one or more of the facilities described in this paragraph, pursuant to the 

provision described above in "Private operation of state or local correctional 

facilities," and for the transfer of the state's right, title, and interest in the real property 

on which the facility is situated and any surrounding land.  This provision applies to 

the Lake Erie Correctional Facility, the Grafton Correctional Institution, the North Coast 

Correctional Treatment Facility, and the North Central Correctional Institution.  It also 

applies to the vacated facility previously operated by DYS that is adjacent to the North 

Central Correctional Institution, which the bill transfers to DRC and renames the North 

Central Correctional Institution Camp.  The bill identifies the approximate acreage of 

the authorized land transfer for each of the five identified facilities. 

If the DAS Director and the DRC Director award a contract of the type described 

in the preceding paragraph to a contractor regarding any of the five specified facilities, 

in addition to the requirements, statements, and authorizations that must be included in 

the contract pursuant to the provision described above in "Private operation of state 

or local correctional facilities," the contract must include all of the following 

regarding the facility that is the subject of the contract: 

(1)  An agreement for the sale to the contractor of the state's right, title, and 

interest in the facility, the land situated thereon, and specified surrounding land; 

(2)  A requirement that the contractor provide preferential hiring treatment to 

DRC employees in order to retain staff displaced as a result of the transition of the 

operation and management of the facility and to meet the administrative, 

programmatic, maintenance, and security needs of the facility; 

(3)  Notwithstanding any Revised Code provision and subject to the condition 

described in the following sentence, authorization for the transfer to the contractor of 

any supplies, equipment, furnishings, fixtures, or other assets considered necessary by 

the DRC Director and the DAS Director for the continued operation and management of 

the facility.  If the contract is for the transfer of the state's right, title, and interest in the 

real property on which the Grafton Correctional Institution is situated and any 

surrounding land, the DRC Director may transfer to another state correctional 

institution to be determined by the Director the Braille printing press and related 

accessories located at the Grafton Correctional Institution and all programs associated 

with the Braille printing press. 
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(4)  A binding commitment that irrevocably grants to the state a right to 

repurchase the facility and the real property on which it is situated, any surrounding 

land that is to be transferred under the contract, or both if:  (a) the contractor or the 

contractor's successor wants to sell or otherwise transfer to a third party the facility and 

the real property on which it is situated, any surrounding land transferred under the 

contract, or both, or (b) the contractor defaults on any financial agreement for the 

purchase of the facility and real property on which it is situated, any surrounding land 

transferred with the facility, or both, defaults on any term of the contract, or becomes 

insolvent or unable to meet its contractual obligations.  Under (a), the contractor or 

successor first must offer the facility or property to the state at least 120 days before it 

intends to make the sale or transfer to the third party.  In either situation, the state's 

purchase price must be not greater than the price the contractor paid, less depreciation 

from the time of the conveyance to the contractor,  plus the depreciated value of any 

capital improvements funded by anyone other than the state after the conveyance to the 

contractor. 

If the DAS Director and the DRC Director award a contract of the type described 

above to a contractor regarding any of the five specified facilities, notwithstanding any 

Revised Code provision, the state may transfer to the contractor in accordance with the 

contract any supplies, equipment, furnishings, fixtures, or other assets considered 

necessary by the DRC Director and the DAS Director for the continued operation and 

management of the facility.  For purposes of this paragraph and the transfer authorized 

under it, any such supplies, equipment, furnishings, fixtures, or other assets are not 

considered supplies, excess supplies, or surplus supplies as defined in R.C. 125.12 and 

may be disposed of as part of the transfer of the facility to the contractor. 

The bill states that nothing in the provisions described in the preceding 

paragraphs or in its parts that identify the five specified facilities and provide the 

procedures and details of a sale of any of those facilities restricts DRC from contracting 

for only the private operation and management of any of those facilities. 

The bill provides procedures and details regarding the sale of any of the five 

specified facilities.  It authorizes the Governor to execute a deed in the name of the state 

conveying to the grantee, its successors and assigns, all of the right, title, and interest of 

the state in the particular facility, the land situated thereon, and any surrounding land.  

Consideration for conveyance of the real estate must be set forth in the contract and be 

paid in accordance with its terms.  The deed may contain any restriction that the DAS 

Director and the DRC Director determine is reasonably necessary to protect the state's 

interest in neighboring state-owned land.  The deed must contain restrictions 

prohibiting the grantee from using, developing, or selling the real estate, or the 

correctional facility on it, except in conformance with the restriction, or if the use, 
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development, or sale will interfere with the quiet enjoyment of the neighboring state-

owned land.  The real estate must be sold as an entire tract and not in parcels.  Upon 

payment of the purchase price as set forth in the contract, the Auditor of State, with the 

assistance of the Attorney General, is to prepare a deed to the real estate.  The grantee 

must present the deed for recording in the office of the recorder of the county in which 

the particular facility is located.  The grantee must pay all costs associated with the 

purchase and conveyance of the real estate, including recordation costs of the deed.  

The authorizations for the sale of the five specified facilities expire two years after the 

authorizations' effective date. 

The proceeds of the conveyance of any of the five specified facilities must be 

deposited into the state treasury to the credit of the Adult and Juvenile Correctional 

Facilities Bond Retirement Fund, which the bill creates.  The proceeds must be used to 

redeem or defease the outstanding portion of any state bonds issued for the facilities 

sold, in accordance with procedures specified in the bill, and any remaining proceeds 

after the redemption or defeasance must be transferred to the General Revenue Fund. 

Legal challenges to sale of facilities 

(R.C. 9.06) 

The bill requires that any action asserting that R.C. 9.06 or Section 753.10 of the 

bill violates any provision of the Ohio Constitution or that any action taken by the 

Governor, DAS, or DRC pursuant to those sections violates any provision of the Ohio 

Constitution or the Revised Code be brought in the Franklin County Court of Common 

Pleas.  Under the bill, the court must give any such action priority over all other civil 

cases pending on its docket and expeditiously make a determination on the claim, and 

the court of appeals must give like priority to an appeal from any final order issued in 

the case and decide the appeal expeditiously. 

State and local taxes 

(R.C. 9.06(J)(3)) 

The bill expressly subjects a private contractor that enters into a contract to own 

and operate one of the five prisons authorized by the bill to state and municipal income 

taxes and the commercial activity tax.  Further, sales involving a contractor in the 

contractor's role as a consumer or purchaser are subject to all state and local sales and 

use taxes unless exempted under another existing provision of sales and use tax law.  

After a prison facility is sold to a contractor, the facility is placed on the county tax list 

and duplicate, with the effect of making the facility subject to all real property taxes and 

assessments, with no exemption from real property taxation applying to the conveyed 

facility. 
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Laboratory services 

(R.C. 5120.135) 

The bill permits rather than requires DRC to provide laboratory services to itself 

and the departments of Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Youth Services.  

The bill also removes from law a complementary provision detailing what happens if 

DRC provides unsatisfactory laboratory services to the departments of Mental Health, 

Developmental Disabilities, and Youth Services. 

Definition of a Department "psychiatric hospital" 

(R.C. 5120.17(A)(3), (D)(2), (E), (I), and (J)) 

Under existing law, DRC may transfer an inmate who is a mentally ill person 

subject to hospitalization from a state correctional institution to a psychiatric hospital, 

pursuant to specified procedures.  Current law defines a "psychiatric hospital" for this 

purpose. 

The bill amends the current definition of a psychiatric hospital to define a 

psychiatric hospital as all or part of a facility that is operated and managed by the 

Department of Mental Health (DMH) to provide psychiatric hospitalization services pursuant to 

an agreement between the Directors of DRC and DMH (added by the bill) or is licensed by 

the DMH as a psychiatric hospital accredited by a healthcare accrediting organization approved 

by the DMH and operated and managed by DRC within a facility operated by DRC, by a 

contractor for DRC within a facility operated by DRC, or by an entity that has contracted with 

DRC to provide psychiatric hospitalization services in a community (added by the bill).  The 

current definition of a psychiatric hospital does not include "part" of a facility.  Under 

current law, a part of a facility otherwise meeting the qualifications of a psychiatric 

hospital is not a psychiatric hospital. 

Under current law, the psychiatric hospital is operated by DRC, rather than by 

DMH pursuant to an agreement with DRC, and is required to be in substantial 

compliance with standards set by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Heathcare 

Organizations (JCAHO), rather than being required to be accredited by an approved 

healthcare accrediting organization.  Current law does not specify the entities that may 

operate and manage the psychiatric hospital. 

The bill prohibits inmate patients who are transported or transferred to a 

psychiatric hospital within a facility operated by DRC from being subjected to convulsive 

therapy, major aversive interventions, unusually hazardous treatment procedures, or 

psychosurgery.  Current law prohibits inmate patients who are transported to a 
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psychiatric hospital from being subjected to these treatments if the patient is in the 

physical custody of DRC. 

The bill provides that DRC is responsible for ensuring that inmate patients 

hospitalized in a psychiatric hospital receive statutorily required care and treatment. 

Current law places that responsibility on the warden of the psychiatric hospital or the 

warden's designee.  The bill provides that DRC or a designee of DRC may file an 

affidavit with the probate court prior to the release of an inmate patient from a 

psychiatric hospital, alleging that the inmate patient is mentally ill and subject to 

hospitalization by court order or is mentally retarded and subject to institutionalization 

by court order.  Current law permits the warden of the psychiatric hospital to file this 

affidavit. 

Current law requires DRC to set standards for the treatment provided to inmate 

patients consistent, where applicable, with the standards set by JCAHO.  Under the bill, 

DRC's treatment standards would not be required to be consistent with JCAHO 

standards. 

Deposit into Institutional Services Fund and Ohio Penal Industries 
Manufacturing Fund 

(R.C. 5120.28(B) and (C)) 

Existing law requires that any money received by DRC for labor and services 

performed and agricultural products produced be deposited into the Services and 

Agricultural Fund.  That money must be used for specified purchases and payments 

and must be accounted for pursuant to an accounting system for the allocation of the 

earnings of each prisoner, created by rule pursuant to R.C. 5145.03(B). 

The bill removes the requirement that those moneys be deposited into the 

Services and Agricultural Fund and instead requires that any money received by DRC 

for labor and services performed be deposited into the Institutional Services Fund (new 

name for the Services and Agricultural Fund).  The bill requires that money received by 

DRC for agricultural products produced also be deposited into the Ohio Penal 

Industries Manufacturing Fund instead of the Renamed Institutional Services Fund. 

Institutional Services Fund 

(R.C. 5120.29(A)) 

Existing law creates the Services and Agricultural Fund and specifies the 

purposes for which the Fund may be used.  The bill renames the Services and 

Agricultural Fund the Institutional Services Fund.  It also alters several of the purposes 
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for which the money in the Institutional Services Fund may be used by specifying that 

the money may be used for the following purposes: 

(1)  Purchasing material, supplies, and equipment and the erection and extension 

of buildings used in services provided between institutions of the Department of Rehabilitation 

and Correction (replacing service industries and agriculture); 

(2)  Payment of compensation to employees necessary to carry on institutional 

services (replacing the service industries and agriculture); 

(3)  Payment of prisoners confined in state correctional institutions a portion of 

their earnings in accordance with rules adopted by DRC (same as existing law). 

The bill also eliminates the purchase of lands and buildings for service industries 

and agriculture as one of the purposes of the Fund. 

Ohio Penal Industries Manufacturing Fund 

(R.C. 5120.28(C) and 5120.29(B)) 

Existing law requires that the Ohio Penal Industries Manufacturing Fund be 

used for the following: 

(1)  Purchasing material, supplies, and equipment and the erection and extension 

of buildings used in manufacturing; 

(2)  Purchasing of lands and buildings necessary to carry on or extend the 

manufacturing industries; 

(3)  Payment of compensation necessary to carry on the manufacturing 

industries; 

(4)  Payment of prisoners confined in state correctional institutions a portion of 

their earnings in accordance with rules adopted by DRC. 

The bill modifies the purposes of the Ohio Penal Industries Manufacturing Fund 

by allowing the purchase of materials, supplies, and equipment, the erection and 

extension of buildings, the purchase of lands and buildings, and the payment of 

compensation of employees for agriculture. 
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Lease of unused Department of Rehabilitation and Correction facilities 

(R.C. 5120.22) 

The bill permits the Division of Business Administration of the Department of 

Rehabilitation and Correction to enter into a lease or agreement with a state agency, 

political subdivision, or private entity, which lease or agreement allows the state 

agency, political subdivision, or private entity to use property and facilities that are 

under the jurisdiction of the Department that are not being used by the Department.  

The bill provides that all money collected for leasing and services performed in 

accordance with the lease or agreement must be deposited into the Property Receipts 

Fund and that the money in the Fund is to be used for any expenses resulting from the 

lease or agreement.  These expenses include, but are not limited to, expenses for 

services performed, construction, maintenance, repair, reconstruction, or demolition of 

the facilities or other property. 

The Property Receipts Fund is an existing fund and will continue to also be used 

to pay for any expenses necessary to provide for state-owned housing under the 

Department's jurisdiction that is used by the Department's employees. 

 

REHABILITATION SERVICES COMMISSION (RSC) 

 Adds the Administrator of the Ohio Rehabilitation Services Commission (ORSC) as 

a member of the Ohio Family and Children First Cabinet Council. 

 Requires funding agreements between ORSC and a public or private entity to 

comply with federal regulations for third-party cooperative agreements by public 

agencies. 

 Removes, with respect to funds that ORSC may receive under a third-party funding 

agreement, the specification that the funds be used by ORSC for administration. 

 

 

Ohio Family and Children First Cabinet Council membership 

(R.C. 121.37) 

The bill adds the Administrator of the Ohio Rehabilitation Services Commission 

(ORSC) as a member of the Ohio Family and Children First Cabinet Council.  The 

Council helps families seeking government services by streamlining and coordinating 

existing government services.  It is currently composed of the Superintendent of Public 
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Instruction and the Directors of Youth Services, Job and Family Services, Mental Health, 

Health, Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services, Developmental Disabilities, Aging, 

Rehabilitation and Correction, and Budget and Management. 

ORSC third-party funding 

(R.C. 3304.181 and 3304.182) 

The bill requires all funding agreements between ORSC and a public or private 

entity to comply with federal regulations for third-party cooperative agreements by 

public agencies (34 C.F.R. 361.28).  Current law specifies only that the agreements must 

comply with state statutes. 

With regard to the percentage of funds that ORSC may receive under a third-

party funding agreement, the bill removes the existing law specification that ORSC use 

the funds for administration. 

 

RETIREMENT (RET) 

 Designates an alternative retirement plan established by a public institution of 

higher education prior to July 1, 2000, that is a qualified trust under federal tax law a 

provider for purposes of Ohio law governing alternative retirement plans. 

 Except for the contributions required to mitigate any negative financial impact on 

the State Teachers Retirement System (STRS) and interest on those contributions, 

provides that such an institution is not required to pay any retirement contributions 

or interest due STRS for an employee who made an election prior to July 1, 2000. 

 Permits an institution that failed to timely file with STRS a copy of an election made 

prior to July 1, 2000, to file it not later than 90 days after the bill's effective date. 

 

 

Alternative retirement plans 

(Section 733.20) 

For purposes of Ohio law governing alternative retirement plans277 for employees 

of public institutions of higher education, the bill designates as a provider a plan 

                                                 
277 An alternative retirement plan is a defined contribution plan that provides retirement and death 

benefits through investment options.  Certain full-time academic and administrative employees of public 
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established prior to July 1, 2000, as long as it is a qualified trust under section 401(a) of 

the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  The board of trustees of each public institution of 

higher education must adopt an alternative retirement plan and enter into a contract 

with each provider designated by the Ohio Department of Insurance that is willing to 

provide investment options under the plan.278  Currently, the Department may 

designate only plans that are qualified trusts under the IRC.   

Contributions 

An employee who elects to participate in an alternative retirement plan must 

contribute to the plan the percentage of compensation the employee would contribute 

to the public retirement system that would otherwise cover the employee.  Each 

institution employing a participating employee must contribute an amount equal to a 

percentage of the employee's compensation to the plan.  Part of the contribution is used 

to mitigate the negative financial impact of the alternative retirement program on the 

public retirement system.  The contribution to mitigate the negative financial impact is 

an amount equal to 6% of the employee's compensation, unless the rate is adjusted by 

the Ohio Retirement Study Council on the basis of actuarial studies.279 

Except for the contributions required to mitigate negative financial impact and 

interest on those contributions at a rate determined by the STRS Board, the bill provides 

that an institution is not required to pay any retirement contributions due STRS for an 

employee who made an election prior to July 1, 2000, to participate in an alternative 

retirement plan that is designated as a provider under the bill.  This provision applies 

from the date of the election as long as participation by the employee continues.280 

Notice of election 

An employee who elects to participate in an alternative retirement plan must 

submit an election in writing to the employing institution.  Once submitted, the election 

is irrevocable while the employee remains employed by the institution.  Current law 

provides that not later than ten days after the election becomes irrevocable, a certified 

                                                                                                                                                             
institutions of higher education may elect to participate in an alternative retirement plan instead of the 

public retirement system that would otherwise cover their positions:  the Public Employees Retirement 

System (PERS), State Teachers Retirement System (STRS), or School Employees Retirement System 

(SERS). 

278 R.C. 3305.03 and 3305.04. 

279 R.C. 3305.06. 

280 R.C. 3305.054(A)(2). 



Legislative Service Commission -615- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

copy of the election must be filed by the institution with the appropriate state 

retirement system.281 

The bill permits an institution that failed to timely file with STRS a copy of an 

election made prior to July 1, 2000, to file it not later than 90 days after the bill's effective 

date and requires STRS to accept the election as though it was timely filed. 

 

STATE BOARD OF SANITARIAN REGISTRATION (SAN) 

 Increases the registration renewal fee for a registered sanitarian and a sanitarian-in-

training from $74 to $80. 

 Increases the late fee for a renewal application from $27 to $50, and specifies that the 

late fee is in addition to the renewal fee. 

 Authorizes the State Board of Sanitarian Registration to establish by rule fees for 

additional copies of pocket identification cards and wall certificates. 

 

 

Fees for registered sanitarians and sanitarians-in-training 

(R.C. 4736.12) 

The bill increases the registration renewal fee for registered sanitarians and 

sanitarians-in-training that the State Board of Sanitarian Registration charges from $74 

to $80.  Additionally, the bill increases the late fee for a renewal application from $27 to 

$50 and specifies that the late fee is in addition to the renewal fee.  Finally, the bill 

authorizes the Board to adopt rules establishing fees for additional copies of pocket 

identification cards and wall certificates. 

 

SCHOOL FACILITIES COMMISSION (SFC) 

 Increases to 13 months (from one year under current law) the period after which the 

conditional approval of state funding for a school district's classroom facilities 

construction project lapses if the district voters do not approve a bond issue and tax 

levy to pay the district's portion of the project cost. 

                                                 
281 R.C. 3305.05(C)(1). 
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 Specifies procedures for setting a new project scope and cost estimate for districts for 

which funding has lapsed. 

 Requires that funds reserved to pay the state and school district shares of all projects 

be spent simultaneously, in proportion to their respective shares, instead of 

spending the state funds first as under current law for most district projects. 

 Specifies procedures for close-out of projects. 

 Codifies and makes permanent the Corrective Action Program. 

 Eliminates the prohibition of a school district that is within three fiscal years of 

eligibility for the Classroom Facilities Assistance Program (CFAP) from participating 

in the Exceptional Needs Program. 

 Codifies and makes permanent an Exceptional Needs sub-program to assist districts 

to relocate or replace a facility due to environmental contamination. 

 Revises the calculation of "average taxable value," for purposes of wealth rankings, 

for school districts whose tangible personal property valuation (not including public 

utility personal property) made up 18% or more of its total taxable value for tax year 

2005. 

 Requires the Department of Education to calculate and certify to the School Facilities 

Commission a new, alternate equity list for use in fiscal year 2012 using the revised 

calculation of "average taxable value." 

 Specifies a new procedure for calculating the local share when a school district 

participating in the Expedited Local Partnership Program becomes eligible for a 

districtwide project under CFAP, if the district's tangible personal property 

valuation (not including public utility personal property) made up 18% or more of 

its total taxable value for tax year 2005. 

 Permits a school district that received classroom facilities assistance under pre-1997 

law and that is eligible for additional assistance to undertake a segment that 

addresses only part of a facility to renovate or replace work performed during the 

earlier project. 

 Adds the cost of nonrequired locally funded initiatives, in an amount of up to 50% 

of the district's project cost, to the list of improvements that a district participating in 

a state-assisted classroom facilities project may incur debt in excess of the ordinary 

debt limit of 9% of its tax valuation. 
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 Modifies the standards by which the Superintendent of Public Instruction may 

certify a school district as a "special needs" district that may exceed the ordinary 

debt limit to acquire permanent improvements. 

 Increases the debt a "special needs" district may incur. 

 Permits a joint vocational school district, in the same resolution, to commit existing 

or new tax levies to finance the annual debt service on bonds issued for both its 

state-assisted classroom facilities project and locally funded initiatives related to that 

project.  

 Requires school districts, when applying to the School Facilities Commission for 

authority to purchase energy conservation measures, to report both (1) forgone 

residual value of materials or equipment replaced by the energy conservation 

measures and (2) a baseline analysis of actual energy consumption data for the 

preceding five years (along with other certified cost-savings estimates required 

under current law). 

 Requires that a district's report on its monitoring of the approved energy cost-saving 

measures be submitted annually to the Commission, instead of be made available to 

the Commission upon request as under current law. 

 Authorizes the Commission to request the Director of Administrative Services to 

debar a contractor from contract awards for Commission projects in the same 

manner the Director debars contractors from contracts for public improvements 

under current law. 

 

 

Background to school facilities programs 

The Ohio School Facilities Commission administers several programs that 

provide state assistance to school districts and community schools in constructing 

classroom facilities.  The main program, the Classroom Facilities Assistance Program 

(CFAP), is designed to provide each city, exempted village, and local school district 

with partial funding to address all of the district's classroom facilities needs.  It is a 

graduated, cost-sharing program where a district's portion of the total cost of the project 

and priority for funding are based on the district's relative wealth.  Districts are ranked 

by wealth into percentiles.  The poorest districts are served first and receive a greater 

amount of state assistance than wealthier districts will receive when it is their turn to be 

served based on their respective wealth percentile.  Joint vocational school districts are 

served by the Vocational School Facilities Assistance Program, which is similar to 

CFAP. 
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Other programs have been established to address the particular needs of certain 

types of districts.  The Exceptional Needs School Facilities Assistance Program provides 

funding for districts in the 1st through 75th wealth percentiles, and districts with 

territories of more than 300 square miles, in advance of their districtwide CFAP projects 

to construct single buildings in order to address acute health and safety issues.  The 

Expedited Local Partnership Program permits most school districts that have not been 

served under CFAP to apply the advance expenditure of district money on approved 

parts of their districtwide needs toward their shares of their CFAP projects when they 

become eligible for that program.  The Accelerated Urban School Building Assistance 

Program allows certain Big-Eight school districts282 to receive CFAP assistance earlier 

than otherwise permitted. 

Lapse of project funding 

(R.C. 3318.032, 3318.05, and 3318.41) 

Once a district is eligible for funding under CFAP or the Vocational School 

Facilities Assistance Program, based on its wealth ranking and the amount of available 

moneys, the district must secure local funding to pay its portion of the project cost.  

Usually, the district seeks approval by its voters for a bond issue and an accompanying 

property tax levy to pay its share.  Under current law, if the voters do not approve the 

bond issue and tax levy within one year after the School Facilities Commission's 

conditional approval of the project, the encumbrance of state funds for the project 

lapses.  In other words, a district has one year to secure funds to pay its share of the 

project.  If it cannot do so by that time, those state funds will be offered to other eligible 

districts.  The district does have first priority for funding in the future, however. 

The bill extends to 13 months the period from conditional approval to lapse of 

funding if a district does not secure funding for its share of the project.  This extension 

provides a district the same number of levy opportunities as before H.B. 48 of the 128th 

General Assembly increased the election filing deadline from 75 to 90 days. 

New estimates for renewal of lapsed projects 

(R.C. 3318.032, 3318.05, 3318.054, and 3318.41) 

As noted above, a district for which state funding lapses because the voters fail to 

approve local funding has first priority for funding in the future.  But current law does 

not specify what project scope and costs a district board must resubmit to the voters 

                                                 
282 The program applies to Akron, Dayton, Cincinnati, Columbus, Cleveland, and Toledo.  The other two 

Big-Eight districts, Canton and Youngstown, received CFAP funding prior to the operation of the 

Accelerated Urban Program.   
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after a project's funding lapses.  In practice, it is the former project scope and costs that 

are resubmitted, which may not reflect the district's current needs, tax valuation, and 

relative wealth.  In fact, the new election may be years after the project was 

conditionally approved.  Thus, what the voters approve might not be enough to pay the 

district's portion.  Or a district might wish to scale down its project before resubmitting 

the project to the voters.  In either case, current law does not provide guidance to 

districts in seeking voter approval after their projects lapse. 

The bill establishes procedures for a district board to follow if it wishes to revive 

its project after lapse.  To do so, the board must request that the School Facilities 

Commission set a new scope and estimated cost for the project based on the district's 

current wealth percentile and tax valuation.  In the case of districts that participated in 

the Expedited Local Partnership Program and are now eligible for CFAP funding, their 

respective shares will be based on the percentage specified in their Expedited Local 

Partner agreements. 

The new scope and estimated costs are valid for one year.  The district board 

may resubmit the project, based on the new estimates, to the district's voters.  If 

approved by the voters, the district's project will receive first priority for funding as it 

becomes available, as provided under current law. 

Simultaneous spending of state and school district shares 

(R.C. 183.51, 3318.08, 3318.38, and 3318.41) 

Under current law, for all school districts except the Big-Eight districts 

participating in the Accelerated Urban Program or joint vocational districts, the state 

funds encumbered for a district's project are spent before the district's funds are spent.  

For the Accelerated Urban districts and joint vocational districts, the state and district 

funds are spent simultaneously, in proportion to their respective percentages of the 

total project cost.  The bill requires simultaneous spending of the state and district 

shares for all district projects.  As is the case under current law for the Accelerated 

Urban districts and joint vocational districts, the bill authorizes a district to spend a 

greater portion of its funds during any specific period than would otherwise be 

required, if necessary to maintain the federal tax status or tax-exempt status of the notes 

or bonds issued by the district. 

Final close-out of projects 

(R.C. 3318.12 and 3318.48) 

The bill specifies some procedures for the School Facilities Commission to use in 

closing out completed projects. 
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First, it requires the Commission to issue a "certificate of completion" to the 

district's board when all of the following have occurred:  (1) all facilities have been 

completed and the district has received certificates of occupancy, (2) the Commission 

has issued certificates of contract completion on all prime construction contracts, (3) the 

Commission has completed a final accounting of  the district's project construction fund 

and determined that all payments were in compliance with Commission policies, (4) 

any litigation concerning the project has been resolved, and (5) all construction 

management services provided by the Commission have been delivered. 

However, the bill permits the Commission to issue a certificate of completion 

prior to satisfaction of those conditions, if the Commission determines that the 

circumstances preventing their satisfaction "are so minor in nature that the project 

should be considered complete."  When doing so, the Commission may specify any of 

the following:  (1) the work that has yet to be completed and the manner in which the 

district board must oversee its completion, (2) terms and conditions for the resolution of 

pending litigation, or (3) any remaining responsibilities of the project construction 

manager. 

Finally, the bill also permits the Commission to issue a certificate of completion 

even when the district does not voluntarily participate in the close-out process.  The 

Commission may do so if the construction manager verifies that all facilities have been 

completed and the facilities have been occupied for at least a year.  If there are any state 

funds remaining in the project construction fund that have not been returned within 60 

days after issuance of the certificate of completion, the Auditor of State must issue a 

finding for recovery against the district and request legal action by the Attorney 

General. 

Corrective Action Program 

(R.C. 3318.49; Sections 620.30 and 620.31) 

H.B. 462 of the 128th General Assembly, the capital reauthorization act for the 

2010-2012 biennium, gave temporary authority to the School Facilities Commission and 

appropriated $23.3 million for grants to districts to correct defective or omitted work 

connected with a project.  The bill codifies that authority and makes it a permanent 

program.  Beginning July 1, 2011, the Commission must operate the program using the 

new codified statutory language. 

For purposes of the permanent program, the Commission must define both 

"defective" and "omitted" and establish procedures and deadlines for districts to use in 

applying for assistance.  The permanent authorization also differs from H.B. 462's 

temporary provisions as follows: 
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(1)  It changes the deadline for a school district to notify the Commission of 

defects or omissions to five years after facility occupancy, instead of five years after 

project close-out as under H.B. 462. 

(2)  It states that the Commission's procedures for corrective action first must 

focus on engaging the responsible contractors. 

(3)  It requires a local share of the cost of the corrective work, based on the 

method used to determine respective shares of CFAP or vocational district projects.  But 

the bill allows a district to request additional state assistance if it cannot provide its 

share; and 

(4)  The bill requires the Commission to seek recovery from responsible parties 

and to apply any recovered funds first to the district's share of the cost of the corrective 

work and then to the state's share. 

Eligibility for Exceptional Needs Program 

(R.C. 3318.37) 

The bill eliminates the stipulation of current law that, regardless of other 

qualifications, any district reasonably expected to be eligible for CFAP within three 

fiscal years after its application for assistance under the Exceptional Needs Program is 

ineligible for the Exceptional Needs Program. 

As noted above, the Exceptional Needs Program provides districts in the 1st 

through 75th wealth percentiles, and districts with territories of more than 300 square 

miles, with funding in advance of their districtwide CFAP projects to address acute 

health and safety issues.   

Environmental contamination program 

(R.C. 3318.371) 

In 1999, the General Assembly authorized a temporary sub-program of the 

Exceptional Needs Program to assist particular districts that needed to relocate or 

replace a facility due to environmental contamination.  Established in uncodified law, it 

has been reauthorized in every biennial budget act since.  The bill codifies and makes 

permanent that authority.  As in the prior temporary provisions, the new codified sub-

program is available to any district regardless of wealth.  And, if a district receives 

restitution for the contamination from the federal government or some other public or 

private entity, it must repay the state any amount of that restitution that exceeds the 

district's share of the cost of the project under the sub-program. 



Legislative Service Commission -622- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

On the other hand, the new permanent sub-program differs from the temporary 

sub-program in that, first, it requires the School Facilities Commission to adopt 

guidelines for determining district eligibility and funding.  Second, it makes the 

Commission's use of environmental consultants optional, rather than mandatory.  

Third, it specifies that the contamination may include any contamination of air, soil, or 

water that impacts the occupants of a classroom facility.  Prior uncodified law referred 

only to "extreme environmental contamination." 

Finally, the most recent enactment of the temporary sub-program, in H.B. 1 of 

the 128th General Assembly, capped a district's local share at 50% of  the project cost, 

regardless of the district's wealth ranking.  The sub-program, as codified by the bill, 

does not cap a district's share. 

Accounting for reductions in tangible personal property valuations 

(R.C. 3318.011) 

The bill modifies the formula for computing district shares of CFAP projects to 

account for those districts that had relatively high tangible personal property valuations 

before the law phased out the tax on most tangible personal property.  Since the 

formula for determining a district's wealth percentile, which in turn is used to 

determine its share of its CFAP project cost, is averaged over three years and itself 

includes a three-year average of a district's tax valuation, some districts may appear to 

have a greater tax capacity than they actually have for a few years until that former 

tangible personal property valuation is no longer reflected in their averaged tax 

valuations.    

The bill addresses this delayed effect by specifying that, if a school district's 

tangible personal property valuation, not including public utility personal property 

(which is still subject to taxation), made up 18% or more of its total taxable value for tax 

year 2005 (when the phase-out began), then its three-year "average taxable value" used 

in determining the wealth percentiles must include only its real property tax valuation 

and public utility personal property valuation for all years that are considered in the 

average.  For all other districts, the bill continues to require the calculation of average 

taxable value using both real property and all tangible personal property tax valuations.  

Alternate equity list 

(Section 387.70) 

Since the Department of Education has already certified the wealth percentile or 

"equity list" for fiscal year 2011 that is used to determine funding under the School 

Facilities Commission's programs for fiscal year 2012, the bill also requires the 
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Department to calculate and certify a new, alternate equity list for use in fiscal year 2012 

using the bill's new definition of "average taxable value," as described above.  However, 

the bill adds that a district that already has been offered assistance for fiscal year 2012 

prior to the Commission's receipt of the alternate equity list may not be denied the 

opportunity for assistance for that fiscal year because of the change in equity rankings 

on the alternate list.  Also, the bill provides that, for any district offered assistance in 

fiscal year 2012, the district's share of the cost of its project will be the lesser of its share 

based on the district's percentile rank on the alternate equity list or its share based on its 

percentile rank on the original equity list for fiscal year 2011.  

CFAP shares for Expedited Local Partner districts 

(R.C. 3318.36) 

The bill makes an exception to the general requirement that school districts 

participating in the Expedited Local Partnership Program "lock in" their local share 

percentage for when they eventually become eligible for CFAP.  Under the bill, when an 

Expedited Local Partner district becomes eligible for CFAP,283 if the district's tangible 

personal property valuation, not including public utility personal property, made up 

18% or more of its total taxable value for tax year 2005, the district's share of its CFAP 

project cost will be the least of (1) the percentage locked in under the Expedited Local 

Partner agreement, (2) the percentage computed using its current wealth percentile 

rank, or (3) for a CFAP project approved for fiscal year 2012, the amount computed 
under the alternative equity list as described above.   Otherwise, districts that had a 
relatively higher amount of tangible personal property in their total taxable values 
when the tax was phased out may experience a negative effect from having locked in 
the percentages of their local shares of their CFAP projects. 

Background 

As noted above, the annual wealth percentile rankings of school districts for 

school facilities funding is based on the "total" taxable value of each district, averaged 

over three years.  That total taxable value is the sum of both the district's real property 

tax valuation and its tangible personal property tax valuation.  Beginning in 2005, 

however, the tax on tangible personal property that is not public utility personal 

property was phased down over several years, and is now fully phased out.284  Thus, the 

value of that tangible personal property is no longer included in a district's current total 

taxable value.  As each district's three-year average adjusted valuation is computed 

                                                 
283 A district's percentile ranking at the time it entered into its expedited agreement is also locked in for 

purposes of determining priority for funding under CFAP.  The bill does not affect this provision.   

284 R.C. 5711.22, not in the bill.   
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each year, the impact of the tangible personal property valuation will decrease.  This 

decline in total valuation could eventually lower a district's wealth percentile and 

increase the amount of state funding available for its school facilities projects.  Still, the 
impact of this decline is likely delayed for districts that had a relatively high percentage 
of tangible personal property in their tax valuations.   

Segmented projects for 1990 "look-back" districts 

(R.C. 3318.034) 

A school district is permitted to divide its CFAP project into segments and to 

proceed with only one or more separate segments of the total project at a time.  Thus, a 

district need not seek voter approval for a bond issue for the complete project all at 

once.  However, the law also requires that (1) each segment consist of new construction 

or complete renovation of one or more entire buildings and (2) the district's share of the 

cost of each segment be equal to at least 4% of the district's tax valuation.  In addition, a 

segment may not leave a building uncompleted. 

The bill exempts from these requirements certain segmented projects by "1990 

look-back" districts.  Those districts are ones that received assistance under CFAP as it 

was administered by the Department of Education under former law before creation of 

the School Facilities Commission in 1997.  That program often did not provide for 

district-wide assistance to a district.  The law permits such districts to receive additional 

assistance, when their wealth percentiles are eligible under current law, if they did not 

receive assistance for a complete district-wide renovation prior to 1997. 

Under the bill, when a 1990 "look-back" district opts to segment its new project, it 

may create a segment that addresses only a part of a facility in order to renovate or 

replace work done under its prior project, if the Commission determines that the 

renovation or replacement is necessary to protect the facility.  The cost of the segment is 

to be shared by the state and the district in the usual manner, but the minimum size 

requirements described above do not apply.  Also, the district need not seek a 

maintenance levy for that segment, as is otherwise required for all CFAP projects.  

(Each district participating in a state classroom facilities program generally must levy 

an additional tax of one-half mill for 23 years or generate the equivalent of that amount 

by some other means.) 

School district debt limit 

(R.C. 133.06) 

All political subdivisions, including school districts, are subject to some debt 

limit that is based on a percentage of their property tax valuations.  The percentage and 



Legislative Service Commission -625- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

the types of debt that are included in those limits vary among types of subdivisions.  

Generally, a school district may not incur debt in a net amount greater than 9% of its tax 

valuation.  However, a school district may incur debt exceeding that limit when 

undertaking a state-assisted classroom facilities project or if the state Superintendent 

certifies that the district has "special needs" for public improvements that it cannot 

finance without exceeding the limit.  The bill makes changes to both of these exceptions 

to the general school district debt limit. 

State-assisted school facilities projects 

Currently, a district undertaking a state-assisted facilities project may exceed the 

ordinary debt limit to raise funds necessary to pay for (1) the district's share of the 

project, (2) the site for the project, and (3) any "required" locally funded initiatives.  The 

School Facilities Commission may require districts to pay the entire amount for certain 

items that do not meet the Commission's specifications but are closely associated with 

the state-assisted portion of the entire project.  The bill adds, to this list of 

improvements for which the district may exceed the debt limit, the cost of other, 

nonrequired locally funded initiatives in an amount of up to 50% of the district's project 

cost.   

Special needs districts 

Upon application, the state Superintendent may declare a school district as a 

"special needs" district, permitting the district to incur debt in excess of the ordinary 

limit in order to acquire needed permanent improvements.  The bill makes several 

changes to the process to apply for a special needs certification and the amount of 

additional debt a special needs district may incur.   

First, under current law, in applying for this certification, a district must submit 

to the state Superintendent a history and projection of the growth of both the district's 

student population, and its tax valuation, its projected facilities needs, and the 

estimated cost to meet those projected needs.  The bill eliminates the requirement that a 

district submit a history and projection of the district's student population growth.  It 

retains all of the other required items.   

Next, the bill changes the standard for certification of special needs.  Under 

current law, the state Superintendent may certify a district as an "approved special 

needs district," if the Superintendent finds that (1) the district does not have available 

sufficient additional funds from state or federal sources to meet the projected needs and 

(2) the growth in the district's tax valuation during the next five years is projected to 

average at least 3% per year.  The bill reduces required projected average tax valuation 

growth to only 1.5% per year.   
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Finally, the bill increases the amount of debt a certified special needs district may 

incur.  Under current law, a special needs district may incur debt equal to the greater of: 

(1)  9% of the sum of its tax valuation plus the product of the tax valuation times 

the percentage by which the tax valuation has increased over the 60-month period prior 

to an election on the issuance of securities; or  

(2)  9% of the sum of its tax valuation plus the product of the tax valuation times 

the percentage the state Superintendent projects the district's tax valuation will increase 

during the next 10 years. 

The bill changes the percentages to 12% of either sum as described above, instead 

of 9%.   

Financing under the Vocational School Facilities Assistance Program 

(R.C. 3318.44) 

The School Facilities Commission administers the Vocational School Facilities 

Assistance Program, exclusively to provide assistance to joint vocational school districts 

(JVSDs) on a graduated, cost-sharing basis in a manner similar to other districts under 

CFAP.  However, the needs of these districts are different from those of other districts 

and their tax capacity to finance their projects is generally greater since their territories 

are so large.  The law provides JVSDs with a wide array of options for financing their 

shares of their projects.  The bill expands those options by permitting a JVSD board to 

combine in a single resolution propositions to commit the use of existing or new tax 

levies to finance the annual debt service on bonds issued for both its state-assisted 

classroom facilities project and locally funded initiatives related to that project. 

Energy conservation measures 

(R.C. 133.06 and 3313.372) 

Current law permits a school district, subject to approval by the School Facilities 

Commission, to issue bonds to purchase energy conservation improvements without 

voter approval in an amount up to 9/10 of 1% of the district's tax valuation.  The debt 

service on the bonds is paid with the estimated savings on energy costs.  In a similar 

manner, districts may enter into a series of installment contracts for energy conservation 

improvements with the approval of the Commission. 

In applying for approval, a district must submit to the Commission a report 

prepared by an architect, professional engineer, or other person experienced in the 

design and implementation of energy conservation measures.  That report must include 
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estimates of all costs of design, engineering, installation, maintenance, repairs, debt 

service, and amounts by which energy consumption and resultant operational and 

maintenance costs may be reduced.  The bill adds requirements that the report also 

include estimates of both (1) forgone residual value of materials or equipment replaced 

by the new energy conservation measures, and (2) a baseline analysis of actual energy 

consumption data for the preceding five years. 

Also, current law requires the district board to monitor the savings and maintain 

a report of those savings, which must be made available to the Commission upon 

request.  The bill, instead, requires outright that the district board submit its report to 

the Commission annually. 

Debarment of contractors on SFC projects 

(R.C. 153.02 and 3318.31) 

The bill grants the School Facilities Commission the authority to request the 

Director of Administrative Services to debar a contractor from contract awards for 

classroom facilities projects.  The Director is to use the same grounds, and follow the 

same procedures, for debarring a contractor from public improvement contract awards 

under current law.  During the period of debarment, the contractor is not eligible to bid 

for or participate in any contract for a public improvement or a classroom facilities 

project. 

 

SECRETARY OF STATE (SOS) 

 Removes the requirement for the Secretary of State to compile and publish specified 

numbers of nonelectronic copies of election statistics and official rosters of officers. 

 Requires the Secretary to charge a filing fee for multiple agents' change filings. 

 Creates the Information Systems Fund in the state treasury for the information 

technology related expenses of the Secretary of State's office. 

 Creates the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) Fund in the state treasury, and specifies 

that HAVA moneys received by the Secretary from the U.S. Election Assistance 

Commission are to be credited to the fund and used for activities conducted 

pursuant to HAVA. 

 Creates the Election Reform/Health and Human Services Fund in the state treasury, 

and specifies that HAVA moneys received by the Secretary from the U.S. 
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Department of Health and Human Services are to be credited to the fund and used 

to assure access for disabled individuals. 

 Establishes a privately funded Citizen Education Fund in the state treasury, and 

requires the Secretary to use moneys in the fund for preparing, printing, and 

distributing voter registration and educational materials and for conducting related 

workshops and conferences. 

 Eliminates the Secretary's duty to publish and distribute the session laws in a bound 

format and provides for more flexible publishing and distribution requirements. 

 Abolishes the Secretary of State Business Technology Fund. 

 Requires the Secretary to use ordinary or electronic mail instead of certified mail or 

notices sent "in writing" to give businesses certain notices. 

 Harmonizes inconsistent filing fee statutes by referencing the statute specifying fees 

to be charged by the Secretary. 

 Increases from $1,800 to $2,400 the fee that must be paid by a voting machine vendor 

in order to have the Board of Voting Machine Examiners test the voting equipment 

for possible certification in Ohio. 

 

 

Election statistics and official rosters of federal, state, county, township, 
and municipal officers 

(R.C. 111.12) 

The bill removes the specified numbers of nonelectronic copies of election 

statistics and official rosters of federal, state, county, township, and municipal officers 

that currently are required to be compiled and published biennially by the Secretary of 

State.  The bill, instead, provides that the statistics and rosters must be compiled and 

published biennially in a paper, book, or electronic format. 

Filing fees for multiple agent changes 

(R.C. 111.16) 

The bill requires the Secretary of State to charge and collect $125, plus $3 per 

entity record being changed, for a multiple change of agent name or address, 

standardization of agent address, or resignation of agent for corporations, nonprofit 

corporations, foreign corporations, foreign nonprofit corporations, limited liability 
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companies, foreign limited liability companies, business trusts, real estate investment 

trusts, partnerships, or limited partnerships. 

Information Systems Fund 

(R.C. 111.181) 

The bill creates the Information Systems Fund in the state treasury for the 

information technology related expenses of the Secretary of State's office.  The fund is to 

receive revenue from fees charged to customers for special database requests, including 

corporate and Uniform Commercial Code filings.  The fund is currently established in 

temporary law. 

Help America Vote Act funds 

(R.C. 111.28) 

The bill creates, in the state treasury, the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) Fund. 

All moneys received by the Secretary of State from the United States Election Assistance 

Commission must be credited to the fund.  The Secretary is required to use the moneys 

credited to the fund for activities conducted pursuant to the Help America Vote Act of 

2002.285  All investment earnings of the fund must be credited to the fund. 

The bill also creates, in the state treasury, the Election Reform/Health and 

Human Services Fund.  All moneys received by the Secretary from the United States 

Department of Health and Human Services must be credited to the fund.  The Secretary 

of State is required to use the moneys credited to the fund for activities conducted 

pursuant to grants awarded to the state under the Help America Vote Act of 2002286 to 

assure access for individuals with disabilities.  All investment earnings of the fund must 

be credited to the fund. 

The Help America Vote Act of 2002, among other provisions, provides for grants 

of money to states to assist in the acquisition of voting machines and to ensure that 

polling places and voting equipment is accessible to individuals with disabilities.  The 

bill establishes, in permanent law, funds that previously existed only in temporary law 

to receive federal moneys pursuant to HAVA. 

                                                 
285 Pub. L. No. 107-252, 116 Stat. 1666. 

286 Title II, Subtitle D, Sections 261 to 265. 
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Citizen Education Fund 

(R.C. 111.29) 

The bill establishes, in the state treasury, the Citizen Education Fund.  The fund 

is to receive gifts, grants, fees, and donations from private individuals and entities for 

voter education purposes.  The Secretary of State is required to use moneys credited to 

the fund for preparing, printing, and distributing voter registration and educational 

materials and for conducting related workshops and conferences for public education.  

The fund is currently established in temporary law. 

Electronic format and more flexible distribution requirements for session 
laws 

(R.C. 149.091 and 149.11) 

The bill authorizes the Secretary of State to publish the session laws (the Laws of 

Ohio) in a paper or electronic format as an alternative to the current requirement for a 

permanently bound format (a minimum of 25 copies in permanently bound volumes).  

The bill also eliminates current specific numbers of copies to be produced and relaxes 

the distribution requirements by authorizing instead of requiring the free distribution of 

the session laws to specified persons (county auditors, county law libraries, and other 

public officials).  The persons who would have received free bound copies under 

current law (the clerks of both houses of the General Assembly, the Legislative Service 

Commission, the Ohio Supreme Court, the Library of Congress, the State Library, the 

Ohio Historical Society, and the Secretary) must continue to receive free copies of the 

session laws in paper or electronic format from the Secretary. 

Abolishment of the Secretary of State Business Technology Fund 

(R.C. 1309.528 and 111.18) 

The bill abolishes the Secretary of State Business Technology Fund in the state 

treasury.  The money in the Fund resulted from transfers of 1% of the money credited to 

the Corporate and Uniform Commercial Code Filing Fund.  The moneys credited to the 

Secretary of State Business Technology Fund were used only for the upkeep, 

improvement, or replacement of equipment, or for the training of employees in the use 

of equipment, that is used to conduct business of the Secretary of State under the 

Uniform Commercial Code or the General Corporation Law.287  Funds that were 

transferred to the Secretary of State Business Technology Fund will be retained in the 

Corporate and Uniform Commercial Code Filing Fund. 

                                                 
287 R.C. Titles XIII and XVII. 
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Notices sent by the Secretary of State 

(R.C. 1329.04, 1329.42, 1701.07, 1702.59, 1776.83, and 1785.06) 

The bill requires the Secretary of State to use ordinary or electronic mail instead 

of certified mail or notices sent "in writing" to notify businesses of the need to renew 

registrations of trade names, reports of fictitious names, and registrations of names, 

marks, or devices to indicate ownership of articles or supplies; to renew statements of 

continued existence; to revoke statements of qualification of partnerships that fail to file 

biennial reports; to give notices of failure to file a biennial statement; and to appoint a 

new statutory agent or file a statement of change of address for that agent.  These 

notices are to be sent to the last known physical or electronic mail address of the 

businesses, rather than the last known address. 

Filing fees for transactions of business and mergers or consolidations 

(R.C. 1703.031 and 1703.07) 

The bill removes the specific fee ($100) from the statute requiring a bank, savings 

bank, or savings and loan association chartered under the laws of the United States and 

whose main office is located in another state to provide notice it is transacting business 

in Ohio with the Secretary of State, and instead cross references the statute detailing the 

fees to be charged and collected by the Secretary,288 which currently sets this fee at $125.  

Similarly, the bill removes the fee specified in current law ($10) from the statute 

requiring a filing fee to be collected by the Secretary before filing a certificate of a 

foreign corporation's merger or consolidation and instead cross references the statute 

detailing the fees to be charged and collected by the Secretary, which currently sets this 

fee at $125.  This cures the inconsistency in current law between the fees charged for 

these two activities. 

Voting equipment testing fee 

(R.C. 3506.05) 

The bill increases from $1,800 to $2,400 the fee that must be paid by a voting 

machine vendor in order to have the Board of Voting Machine Examiners test the 

vendor's voting equipment for possible certification in Ohio. 

The Board of Voting Machine Examiners is required to test voting machines, 

marking devices, and automatic tabulating equipment that a vendor submits for 

possible certification for use in Ohio.  Upon submission of voting equipment for testing, 

                                                 
288 R.C. 111.16, not in the bill. 
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and the payment of the required fee by the vendor, the Board must examine the voting 

equipment to determine whether it meets the statutory standards for vote retention, 

security, storage, and other crucial operations of the equipment as may be determined 

by the Board.  If the Board determines that the voting equipment is secure and capable 

of performing the required functions, it may recommend that the Secretary of State 

certify the equipment for use in Ohio. 

 

SOUTHERN OHIO AGRICULTURAL COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT 
TRUST FUND (SOA) 

 Repeals the limitation that no more than five per cent of the total disbursements, 

encumbrances, and obligations of the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community 

Development Foundation shall be for administrative expenses in the same fiscal 

year. 

 

 

Repeal of administrative expenses cap for Southern Ohio Agricultural and 
Community Development Foundation 

(R.C. 183.30) 

The bill repeals the limitation that no more than 5% of the total disbursements, 

encumbrances, and obligations of the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community 

Development Foundation shall be for administrative expenses in the same fiscal year.  

The bill also repeals a provision stating that the 5% limitation does not apply to 

administrative expenses for which the Controlling Board approves a spending plan that 

the Foundation submits to the Board. 

 

BOARD OF TAX APPEALS (BTA) 

Board of Tax Appeals review 

(Section 757.30) 

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to review the operations of the Ohio 

Board of Tax Appeals (BTA) and make recommendations for how the operations could 

be improved.  The Commissioner's review must include consultations with people who 

have or have had matters before the BTA.  The recommendations must address internal 

operations, the appeals process, and "other operational matters."  The Commissioner 
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must report the review and recommendations by November 15, 2011, to the Governor, 

President of the Senate, and Speaker of the House.  The Commissioner may designate 

an employee to conduct the review. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION (TAX) 

Tax exemptions for privatized state services 

 Exempts from taxation private contractors contracting to operate the turnpike and 

the liquor merchandising function (JobsOhio); affected taxes are commercial activity 

and state and local income and sales/use taxes. 

 Continues tax exemption of real property used by such contractors if the state 

continues to own the property during the contract. 

Local Government Fund and Public Library Fund 

 Reduces the amount of state tax revenue credited to the Local Government Fund 

(LGF) to 75% of fiscal year 2011 levels for each month between August of 2011 and 

June of 2012 and to 50% of fiscal year 2011 levels for all months in fiscal year 2013. 

 Reduces the amount of state tax revenue credited to the Public Library Fund (PLF) 

for all months between August of 2011 and June of 2013 to 95% of fiscal year 2011 

levels. 

 Provides that distributions to the LGF and PLF after fiscal year 2013 will depend on 

the total amount allocated to the respective funds in fiscal year 2013 as a percentage 

of total state tax revenue credited to the General Revenue Fund (GRF) in that fiscal 

year. 

 Authorizes, beginning in August of 2011, pro rata distributions from the LGF to 

counties and municipal corporations based on the proportionate share each 

subdivision received from the LGF in fiscal year 2011. 

 Requires minimum distributions to county LGFs in fiscal years 2012 and 2013, such 

that a county that received a total distribution of over $750,000 in fiscal year 2011 

may not receive less than $750,000, while all other county LGFs must receive at least 

the same amount the county LGF received in fiscal year 2011. 

 Earmarks $50 million in FYs 2012 and 2013 to pay for the Senate's increase in the 

minimum distribution threshold from $500,000 to $750,000. 
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 Authorizes, for the period between July and December of 2011, pro rata 

distributions from the PLF to counties based on the proportionate share each county 

received in 2010 and, for the period between January of 2012 and June of 2013, pro 

rata distributions to counties based on the proportionate share each county received 

in 2011. 

 Provides that county undivided local government funds shall no longer receive 5/8 

of the revenue from the dealers in intangibles tax on unaffiliated dealers, and 

instead allocates all revenue from that tax to the GRF. 

 Establishes a new "default" or statutory formula for allocating LGF money from a 

county undivided local government fund to subdivisions that uses a somewhat 

guaranteed "base allocation," which for a county and a metropolitan park district is 

30% and 5.5% of the county's undivided LGF allocation, respectively, and for all 

other subdivisions is a three-year rolling average of prior year allocations and 

distributions. 

 Permits deviation from the formula if 75% of the subdivisions in the county agree to 

an alternative formula devised by the county budget commission. 

Tangible personal property tax reimbursements 

 Decreases the portion of commercial activity tax and kilowatt-hour tax revenue 

earmarked for reimbursing school districts and other taxing units for business and 

public utility personal property tax losses, and increases the GRF portion. 

 Requires all natural gas distribution tax revenue to be credited to the GRF. 

 Replaces the current business and public utility property reimbursement schedules 

for fixed-rate levy losses with ones that: 

--Over the FY 2012-2013 fiscal biennium, terminate payments if a taxing unit's 

reimbursement for calendar year 2010 (non-school taxing units) or fiscal year 

2011 (school districts) fails to exceed an annually increasing "threshold" 

percentage of the taxing unit's total resources (a fixed measure of its state aid 

and local levy revenues); 

--Over the FY 2012-2013 fiscal biennium, reduce payments for taxing units 

whose 2010 or 2011 reimbursement exceeds the threshold percentage by 

paying the unit its 2010 or 2011 reimbursement minus the threshold 

percentage of its total resources; and 
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--After the biennium, reimburse taxing units at FY 2013 (schools) or tax year 

2013 (others) levels indefinitely for taxing units that received payments in 

FY 2013 or tax year 2013. 

 Reduces the reimbursements for non-current expense fixed-rate levy losses over the 

biennium for school districts and municipal corporations.  (Other taxing units' non-

current expense, fixed-rate levies, if any exist, are disregarded.) 

 Retains the current law reimbursements for unvoted debt levies and fixed-sum 

levies (i.e., school district "emergency" and similar fixed-dollar levies, and voted 

debt levies). 

 Requires debt levies authorized by a municipal charter to be levied without a vote of 

municipal electors to be reimbursed as an unvoted debt levy. 

 Reduces the business personal property reimbursement frequency for school 

districts from three payments per year (one-third in August, October, and May) to 

two payments per year (two-thirds in November and one-third in May). 

 Changes the business property installment fractions for non-school taxing units to 

one-seventh in May and six-sevenths in November through 2013, and thereafter to 

one-half in both May and November. 

 Terminates payments of "surplus" public utility property reimbursement money 

remaining in the Local Government Property Tax Replacement Fund after all 

reimbursement is paid; currently the surplus is distributed among counties on a per-

capita and prorated utility property tax loss basis and paid to taxing units in the 

counties in proportion to current property taxes. 

 Changes the manner of apportioning reimbursement payments among school 

districts that have transferred or merged territory to reflect the changes in the factors 

for computing reimbursement payments and to apportion payments on the basis of 

the per-pupil values of those factors. 

 Changes the default method for apportioning reimbursement payments among 

other local governments for mergers or annexations from a property value basis to a 

square mileage basis. 

 Phases out the county administrative fee losses caused by the tangible personal 

property tax phase-out from 2012 to 2016.  The reimbursement equals a percentage 

of the 2010 administrative fee loss reimbursement (80% for 2012 and declining to 0% 

in 2016 in 20% increments). 
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 Repeals the law creating, as of January 1, 2011, the Public Utility Tax Study 

Committee, which was to study the extent to which school districts had been 

compensated by the tax loss reimbursements. 

Job retention tax credit and other credits 

 Expands the existing job retention tax credit (JRTC) program, which includes both a 

permanent nonrefundable and a temporary refundable credit program, to provide 

for a new, separate refundable tax credit available to certain eligible businesses for a 

limited time. 

 Requires recipients of the new refundable credit to have an annual payroll of at least 

$20 million, invest at least $5 million at a project site located within the same 

jurisdiction as that in which the business has its principal place of business, and 

meet other existing JRTC program requirements. 

 Modifies the JRTC eligibility requirement that a business must retain at least 500 

employees by instead requiring a business to either meet the 500-employee retention 

requirement or have an annual payroll of $35 million. 

 Authorizes the new credit only temporarily by providing that the Tax Credit 

Authority may only enter agreements for the new credit between July 1, 2011 and 

December 31, 2013. 

 Provides a new annual credit limit applicable to both the existing and new 

refundable JRTC credits by allowing the authorization of up to $25 million of new 

refundable credits in 2011 and 2012 combined, and up to $25 million of new credits 

in 2013, for a total limit of $50 million in annual credits claimable in 2013 and every 

year thereafter for up to 15 years. 

 Extends perpetually the credit for rehabilitating an historic building, but reduces the 

annual credit limit from $60 million to $25 million. 

 Requires credits to be awarded after the rehabilitation or a stage in the rehabilitation 

is complete, depending on the length of the rehabilitation period  

 Requires a credit recipient to repay any credit if the project is not completed. 

 Allows the Department of Development and Ohio Historic Preservation Office to 

charge reasonable fees for the administration of the credit. 

 Requires expenditures of projects with costs over $200,000 to be certified by an 

accountant. 
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 Permits the Director of Development to rescind an application in which the 

applicant has failed to obtain financing for the project within 18 months of being 

approved for a credit.  

 Allows foreign and domestic insurance company taxpayers to be eligible for a 

refundable historic rehabilitation tax credit equal to 25% of the dollar amount 

indicated on a rehabilitation tax credit certificate. 

 Extends the final date on which horse racing permit holders are eligible for tax 

reductions to recover the costs that they incurred in certain renovation, 

reconstruction, or remodeling projects at their tracks. 

 Authorizes the Tax Credit Authority to grant a full or partial sales and use tax 

exemption for equipment purchased by a business for use at an "eligible computer 

data center," provided that the business agrees to make a capital investment of at 

least $100 million and maintain an annual payroll of at least $5 million at the center.  

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to grant a direct payment permit to businesses that 

enter into an agreement with the Tax Credit Authority for a computer data center 

equipment sales and use tax exemption. 

Estate tax 

 Repeals estate tax for the estates of individuals dying on or after January 1, 2013.  

 Excludes from the sales and use tax the value of gift cards or certificates redeemed 

by a consumer in exchange for the vendor's goods or services as part of the vendor's 

awards, loyalty, or promotional program. 

Tax amnesty 

 Requires the Tax Commissioner to administer a temporary tax amnesty program 

from January 1, 2012, to February 15, 2012, with respect to delinquent state taxes, 

tangible personal property taxes, county and transit authority sales taxes, and school 

district income taxes.   

 Requires the Commissioner to administer a separate temporary use tax amnesty 

program specifically for consumers with outstanding use tax obligations. 

Tax administration 

 Authorizes the Tax Commissioner to adopt rules requiring employer income tax 

withholding, use tax, motor fuel tax, cigarette and tobacco product excise tax, or 
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severance tax returns or reports to be filed, or payments made, electronically, unless 

exempted for good cause. 

 Authorizes the Commissioner to issue notices and orders using delivery means 

other than certified mail or personal service if the alternative means records when 

the notice or order is placed with the delivery service and when it is accepted from a 

recipient, and if the delivery service is available to the general public and is as 

timely and reliable as the U.S. Postal Service. 

 Authorizes the Commissioner to provide notice of retail license suspension or 

revocation by a delivery service other than certified mail. 

 Eliminates requirement that the Department of Taxation include mail-in voter 

registration materials with income tax returns. 

 Requires all claims and inquiries regarding the repealed Ohio Inheritance Tax to be 

submitted to the Department of Taxation before 2013. 

Miscellaneous 

 Extends by three years the deadlines by which the owner of a qualified energy 

project must submit a property tax exemption application, begin construction, and 

place into service an energy facility using renewable energy resources or advanced 

energy technology to qualify for an ongoing real and tangible personal property tax 

exemption. 

 Creates a permanent joint legislative committee to periodically review all existing 

"tax expenditures" and to review any legislation proposing a tax expenditure, and to 

make recommendations to the General Assembly as to the continuation, 

modification, or repeal of existing tax expenditures. 

 Requires any bill proposing a new or modified tax expenditure to include a 

statement of the objectives and intent of the tax expenditure. 

 Extends to joint vocational school districts the same notification and veto rights 

regarding pending tax increment financing arrangements that currently apply to 

city, local, and exempted village school districts. 

 Extends by one year the authority of local governments to offer Enterprise Zone 

economic development incentives, which currently expires on October 15, 2011. 

 Specifies that the commercial activity tax applies to the gross receipts of a casino 

operator without deduction for casino user winnings and payouts. 
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 Creates an income tax refund ʺcheck‐offʺ contribution for the benefit of the Ohio 

Historical Society. 

 Authorizes school districts, with voter approval of a single ballot question, to levy 

both a property tax for a fixed amount of revenue and an income tax. 

 Modifies the statutory language governing the agricultural "use on use," "direct use," 

and agricultural land tile sales and use tax exemptions by applying them to tangible 

personal property used "primarily" rather than "directly" for such purposes. 

 Authorizes a sales and use tax exemption for building materials and related services 

incorporated into a structure for keeping fish, horses, or captive deer for food or 

other agricultural purposes. 

 Allows school districts to transfer surplus money in a bond fund or bond retirement 

fund to a specific permanent improvement fund with the approval of the county 

budget commission. 

 Expands the purposes for which a political subdivision may propose a police or fire 

services property tax levy to include the payment of salaries and retirement fund 

contributions for EMS personnel, part-time police personnel, and police and fire 

communications and administrative personnel. 

 Clarifies that the ballot for a school property tax levy for cultural center purposes 

must state that the levy is for cultural center purposes. 

 Authorizes county treasurers that sell delinquent property tax certificates to shorten 

the deadline by which certificate holders must initiate foreclosures to as few as three 

years. 

 Authorizes tax certificates being sold at public auction to be advertised 

electronically. 

 Extends by one year the authority of the prosecuting attorney or treasurer of 

Hamilton County to appropriate up to 50% of delinquent tax and assessment funds 

above the amount necessary to collect additional delinquent taxes and assessments 

and to use the excess to pay operating expenses of the respective office otherwise 

paid from the general fund. 

 States that, for the purpose of the existing corporation franchise (i.e., financial 

institution) tax credit for research expenses incurred by one or more members of a 

commonly owned or controlled group of corporations, an insurance company may 
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be included in the group, even though insurance companies are not subject to the 

corporation franchise tax. 

 Divides each county's Delinquent Tax and Assessment Collection Fund into two 

separate funds, one for the expenses of the county treasurer and one for the 

expenses of the county prosecuting attorney. 

 Authorizes the county treasurer or prosecuting attorney to suspend the crediting of 

delinquent tax collections to the respective officer's fund if the balance of the fund 

reaches a specified threshold. 

 Authorizes a commercial activity tax exemption for receipts received from 

transactions that occur within a "uranium enrichment zone" certified by the Tax 

Commissioner. 

 

 

Tax exemptions for privatized state services 

(R.C. 126.60, 126.604, 718.01(A)(1), 4313.02(A), 5739.02(B)(51), 5747.01(A)(30), and 

5751.01(F)(2)(ff)) 

Privatized state services 

The bill provides a municipal and state income tax deduction, a sales tax 

exemption, and an exclusion from "gross receipts" for the purposes of calculating 

commercial activity tax for an entity that operates facilities and services previously 

operated by the state.  The two parties covered by the tax exemptions authorized by the 

bill are a contractor operating the turnpike under the bill's authority for the state to 

contract for such services (R.C. 126.60 through 126.605), and JobsOhio with regard to 

the transfer of state liquor merchandising operations as authorized by the bill (R.C. 

4313.02). 

Tax exemptions 

Under the bill, a contractor operating the turnpike ("turnpike contractor") may 

deduct, for the purpose of calculating the contractor's state and municipal income tax, 

any income realized by the contractor from the services provided or prisons operated 

by the contractor.  JobsOhio may deduct income realized from state liquor 

merchandising operations or from the transfer of those operations from JobsOhio's 

adjusted gross income, assuming JobsOhio or its involved subsidiaries are otherwise 

subject to such taxes (JobsOhio is to be organized as a nonprofit corporation, although 

its subsidiaries might not be nonprofit).  (R.C. 718.01 and 5747.01.) 
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A transfer or lease of tangible personal property between a turnpike contractor 

and the state is exempted from state and local sales and use taxes.  The transfer of state 

liquor merchandising operations to JobsOhio is exempt from state and local sales and 

use taxes.  (R.C. 5739.02.) 

Receipts directly attributed to providing highway (i.e., turnpike) services 

pursuant to a contract with the state are excluded from "gross receipts" for the purpose 

of calculating a contractor's commercial activity tax.  Receipts directly attributed to a 

transfer agreement regarding state liquor merchandizing operations between JobsOhio 

and the state and receipts directly attributed to the liquor operations are excluded from 

JobsOhio's gross receipts.  (R.C. 5751.01.  As with the income tax deduction, the effect of 

this provision on JobsOhio, if any, is uncertain because the CAT does not apply to 

nonprofit organizations.) 

Privatized public services and property tax 

The bill exempts from property taxation any property used by a turnpike 

contractor under contract with the state to perform highway (i.e., turnpike) services if 

the property is still owned by the state.  (R.C. 126.604.)  Also exempted from property 

taxation is any property transferred to JobsOhio as part of the transfer of the liquor 

merchandizing operations to the extent the property would be exempted if it had not 

been transferred.  (R.C. 4313.02(A).) 

Local Government Funds 

(R.C. 131.44, 131.51, 5747.46 to 5747.48, and 5747.50 to 5747.51; Section 757.10) 

The bill reduces the amount of state tax revenue credited to the Local 

Government Fund (LGF) and the Public Library Fund (PLF), and thus the amount of 

revenue available for distribution to counties, municipalities, townships, public library 

systems, and other special-purpose political subdivisions receiving revenue sharing 

payments through each county's undivided LGF.  However, the bill includes a limited 

hold-harmless provision that guarantees minimum payments to county LGFs in fiscal 

years 2012 and 2013.  Specifically, any county undivided LGF that received over 

$750,000 in fiscal year 2011 must receive a minimum of $750,000 in each of those fiscal 

years, even if the proposed reductions would otherwise result in a lower distribution.  

Similarly, any county undivided LGF that received $750,000 or less in fiscal year 2011 

must continue to receive at least the same amount distributed to the fund in that year. 
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State funding of the Local Government Fund (LGF) 

(R.C. 131.51(A); Section 757.10) 

Existing law authorizes monthly allocations to the state Local Government Fund 

(LGF) of 3.68% of all state tax revenue credited to the General Revenue Fund (GRF) in 

the preceding month.  The bill proposes to reduce these monthly allocations beginning 

on August 1, 2011.  Between August of 2011 and June of 2013, each month's total LGF 

allocation will include three components: 

(1)  First, the LGF will receive an amount each month equal to a percentage of the 

allocation made to the fund in that corresponding month in fiscal year 2011.  Between 

August of 2011 and June of 2012, the amount will equal 75% of that month's fiscal year 

2011 allocation. Then, between July of 2012 and June of 2013, the amount will equal 50% 

of that month's fiscal year 2011 allocation.   

(2)  The second amount allocated each month will equal the amount that would 

be necessary, after allocation of the amount in (1), to make minimum distributions to 

county undivided LGFs if the minimum distribution level were $500,000 instead of 

$750,000 (i.e., if counties that received over $500,000 in fiscal year 2011 could not receive 

less than $500,000, and if counties that received less than $500,000 in fiscal year 2011 

could not receive less than the amount received in that fiscal year). 

(3)  Third, each month's LGF allocation will include part of the $100 million 

earmarked for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 to pay for the increase in the minimum 

distribution threshold from $500,000 to $750,000.  (The House-passed bill set the 

minimum at $500,000.  The Senate increased it to $750,000 and earmarked the CAT to 

pay for the increase.)  Between August of 2011 and June 2012, the third amount 

allocated each month will equal one-eleventh of $50 million (one-eleventh because only 

11 of the 12 monthly distributions in FY 2012 are affected by the bill; the July 2011 

distribution is made under current law).  Between July of 2012 and June of 2013, the 

amount will equal one-twelfth of $50 million.   

The bill also specifies that the amounts in (1) and (2) must be allocated from 

income tax revenue credited to the GRF.  The amounts in (3) may be allocated from any 

state tax revenue credited to the GRF.  (Current law does not specify a revenue source 

for LGF or PLF allocations, but does require the Director of Budget and Management to 

create a schedule identifying specific tax revenue sources for the allocations.) 

Under the bill, the reductions made in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 will provide the 

basis for future LGF allocations.  Beginning in July of 2013, the percentage of state tax 

revenue allocated to the LGF in any month will equal the total percentage of state tax 

revenue allocated to the LGF in fiscal year 2013.  As under current law, the bill provides 
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that LGF allocations after June of 2013 may be made from any state tax revenue credited 

to the GRF. 

State funding of the Public Library Fund (PLF) 

(R.C. 131.51(B); Section 757.10) 

Under existing codified law, the state Public Library Fund (PLF) receives 

monthly allocations equal to 2.22% of total GRF tax revenue credited in the preceding 

month.  However, that percentage was temporarily reduced to 1.97% for all months 

between August of 2009 and June of 2011 in Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th G.A. (see 

Section 381.20 of that act).  The bill proposes to further reduce these monthly allocations 

beginning in August of 2011. 

Under the bill, between August of 2011 and June of 2013, each month's PLF 

allocation equals 95% of the allocation made in that month in fiscal year 2011.  These 

reduced allocations must be made from income arising from the sales tax and kilowatt-

hour tax, rather than from any state tax revenue credited to the GRF.  Beginning in July 

of 2013, the percentage of state tax revenue allocated to the PLF in any month will be 

based on the total percentage of state tax revenue allocated to the PLF in fiscal year 

2013.  PLF allocations after June of 2013 may be made from any state tax revenue 

credited to the GRF. 

LGF distributions to local governments 

Current law 

(R.C. 5747.50 to 5747.51) 

Continuing law provides for the distribution of LGF funds to county undivided 

local government funds in every county of the state.  Local governments in the county 

agree on how money in the county LGF is allocated among the various political 

subdivisions within each county.  (In a few counties, a default statutory formula 

determines the allocation.)  The amounts disbursed are to be used for the current 

operating expenses of the subdivisions.  In addition, more than 500 municipal 

corporations receive direct distributions from the LGF.  Such distributions are made to a 

municipal corporation's general fund. 

Distributions to a particular county undivided LGF or municipal corporation 

general fund depend on the amounts distributed to those funds in 2007.  Each county 

and municipal corporation must receive at least the same amount distributed to their 

respective fund in that year.  If revenue in the state LGF is insufficient to meet these 

minimum distributions, then each county and municipal corporation must receive a 
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reduced share prorated according to their share of 2007 distributions.  However, if there 

is excess revenue in the state LGF after making the minimum distributions, each county 

undivided LGF may receive a prorated share of the excess based on the county's 

proportionate share of the state population, according to U.S. Census Bureau estimates 

from the previous year.  No additional revenue is allocated to municipal corporations. 

Proposed law 

(Section 757.10(E)) 

The bill adjusts the current LGF allocation method to provide for distributions to 

county undivided LGFs and directly to municipal corporation general funds based on 

the amounts distributed to those funds in fiscal year 2011.  In each month between 

August of 2011 and June of 2013, the initial amount credited to the state LGF (as 

described in (1) under "State funding of the Local Government Fund" must be 

distributed to county LGFs and municipal corporations on a pro rata basis based on the 

proportionate share of state distributions each fund received in fiscal year 2011.  For 

each county LGF, this initial distribution amount equals the fund's proportionate share 

of the LGF distributions made to all county LGFs in that month in fiscal year 2011 

(however, any dealers in intangibles taxes received by a county undivided LGF in FY 

2011 would not be counted in the county's proportionate share).  Similarly, each 

municipal corporation that receives direct LGF distributions will receive a share equal 

to its proportionate share of all municipal corporation direct distributions made in that 

month in fiscal year 2011. 

A county undivided LGF will receive an additional amount in any month that 

the fund's initial distribution amount falls below the applicable minimum distribution 

level.  Any county LGF that received total distributions of $750,000 or less in fiscal year 

2011 must receive an additional amount calculated to ensure that the fund will receive 

the same total amount the fund received in that fiscal year.  Alternatively, a county LGF 

that received total distributions of over $750,000 in fiscal year 2011 will receive an 

additional amount only if the total amount to be distributed to that fund in either fiscal 

year 2012 or 2013 would be less than $750,000.  In such a case, the fund must receive an 

additional amount calculated to ensure that the fund's total distributions for the 

respective fiscal year will equal $750,000.  The bill's minimum distribution levels do not 

apply to direct municipal corporation distributions. 

If, in any month, the state LGF monthly allocation exceeds the total amount 

necessary to make the initial distributions and minimum distributions described above, 

any excess must be distributed to all county LGFs based on each fund's proportionate 

share of the LGF distributions made to all county LGFs in that month in fiscal year 2011.  

(Similar to the initial distributions, a county's proportionate share does not include 
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dealers in intangibles taxes received in FY 2011.)  Direct municipal corporation 

distributions would not receive a share of the excess. 

PLF distributions to local governments 

Current law 

(R.C. 5705.32, 5705.321, and 5747.46 to 5747.48) 

Under continuing law, county undivided public library funds in every county 

receive a distribution from the state PLF.  Agreements among local governments (and, 

in a few cases, a statutory formula) determine the amounts to be allocated to libraries 

within the county, and county treasurers distribute the amounts accordingly.  (In a few 

counties, other kinds of local governments receive a share of the county PLF.) 

The amount a county undivided PLF receives in a given year under current law 

depends upon the fund's "guaranteed share" and its "share of the excess."  A fund's 

"guaranteed share" is the amount the fund received in the previous year after an 

adjustment for inflation.  In any year, if the guaranteed shares of all counties exceed the 

total balance of the state PLF, then the share of county funds must be reduced 

proportionately.  Alternatively, if the balance of the state PLF exceeds the guaranteed 

shares of the counties, then each county may receive a "share of the excess."  That share 

is calculated by determining an equalization ratio for each county that is based on the 

county's population and its guaranteed share from the previous year. 

Proposed law 

(Section 757.10(F) and (G)) 

Under the bill, a county undivided PLF's distribution would be based on the 

fund's proportionate share of distributions in prior years, rather than on the actual 

amounts received in those prior years, thus reflecting the 5% reduction in the state PLF.  

In each month between July and December of 2011, each county undivided PLF will 

receive a share of the state PLF equal to the county's proportionate share of all state PLF 

distributions it received in 2010.  Similarly, between January of 2012 and June of 2013, 

each fund's share would be based on that fund's proportionate share of all distributions 

it received in 2011. 

Tax Commissioner estimates 

Under existing law, the Tax Commissioner must periodically certify estimates of 

the amount of revenue that each county undivided LGF and PLF will receive in the 

following year.  For county undivided LGFs, the estimates for a distribution year must 

be provided by July 25 of the preceding year.  The Commissioner must provide three 
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separate estimates to county undivided PLFs for a given year:  one each in July and 

December of the preceding year and one in June of the distribution year. 

The bill excuses the Commissioner from compliance with these certification 

requirements in the 2012 and 2013 distribution years.  Instead, the Commissioner must 

send to each county only one estimate of the total amount to be received from the LGF 

and the PLF by July 20 of the preceding year.  The Commissioner may provide 

additional revised estimates at any time. 

Dealers in intangibles tax 

(R.C. 5707.03, 5725.01, 5725.151, 5725.18, and 5725.24) 

Current law allocates 5/8 of the tax revenue from most dealers in intangibles to 

county undivided local government funds.  Under the bill, counties would no longer 

receive that portion of tax revenue after December 31, 2011; all revenue would be 

allocated to the General Revenue Fund (GRF). 

Background 

Continuing law provides for the taxation of shares in and capital employed by 

dealers in intangibles.  The tax applies to businesses that operate in Ohio and engage in 

certain financial and lending activities (e.g., stockbrokers, mortgage companies, 

nonbank loan companies).  The tax also applies to "qualifying dealers," which are 

generally dealers in intangibles that are subsidiaries of a financial institution or 

insurance company.  The tax is levied on the fair value of capital employed by or value 

of shares of dealers of intangibles at a rate of .8% (8 mills). 

Under current law, all tax revenue collected from qualifying dealers is paid into 

the GRF.  However, the revenue collected from all other dealers in intangibles is 

divided between the GRF and county undivided local government funds.  The GRF 

receives 3/8 of those receipts, while counties receive 5/8.  The bill proposes to instead 

allocate all revenue collected from any dealer in intangibles to the GRF. 

Allocation of undivided local government funds 

(R.C. 5747.51, 5747.52 (repealed and reenacted), and 5747.53) 

The bill establishes a new "default" or statutory formula for allocating Local 

Government Fund money from a county undivided local government fund to 

subdivisions.  The bill permits deviation from the formula if 75% of the subdivisions 

located wholly or partially in the county agree to an alternative formula.   



Legislative Service Commission -647- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Ongoing law 

Under ongoing law, the Tax Commissioner is required to certify to the county 

auditor of each county the amount of Local Government Fund money the 

Commissioner estimates will be paid in the upcoming calendar year to the county's 

undivided local government fund.  (The certification is required to occur before July 26.)  

The auditor is then required to present the certified amount to the county budget 

commission (comprised of the county auditor, treasurer, and prosecuting attorney), 

which is then required to determine each political subdivision's (including the county's) 

"percentage share" of the certified amount using the tax budgets or other financial 

documents submitted to the commission (due, generally, on or before July 15).  The 

budget commission is required to certify the percentage shares to the Tax 

Commissioner and must inform each subdivision of the amount it is estimated to 

receive.  The commission's work must be completed by September. 

Current law 

Under current law, a subdivision's "percentage share" is determined by 

computing the subdivision's "relative need."  Relative need is determined by subtracting 

various amounts from the subdivision's total estimated expenditures: 

 Expenditures for roads, gas, water, sewer, and electric public utilities 

operated by the subdivision; 

 Expenditures for public improvements and debt charges; 

 Amounts to pay judgments; 

 Amounts to be raised by taxes within the 10-mill limitation; 

 The amount of public library funds estimated to be allocated to the 

subdivision; 

 Miscellaneous revenue (i.e., revenue not raised by a tax or special 

assessment approved by voters); 

 General fund money not devoted to the payment of any expense (but not 

amounts in a reserve balance account). 

Once all subdivisions' relative needs are determined, the amounts are totaled, 

and the total is divided into the LGF amount certified by the Commissioner.  The 

quotient is then multiplied by a subdivision's relative need, and the product is the 

amount estimated to be distributed to the subdivision (called the subdivision's 

"proportionate share").   
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Subdivisions other than the county are guaranteed a certain minimum 

proportionate share.  The guaranteed amount equals the subdivision's average 

percentage share for 1968, 1969, and 1970 multiplied by the amount the subdivision 

actually received in 1970.  Once all proportionate shares are determined, each 

subdivision's proportionate share is divided by the amount certified by the 

Commissioner, and the quotient is the subdivision's percentage share.   

The county's percentage share is capped, depending on how many county 

residents live in municipal corporations.  If 40% or fewer county residents reside in 

municipal corporations, the county's percentage share is capped at 60%.  If the 

municipal population percentage is 41% to 80%, then the county's percentage share is 

capped at 50%.  If the municipal population exceeds 80%, then the percentage share cap 

equals 30%.   

Proposed formula 

The bill eliminates the "relative need" computation and the related guarantees 

and caps and replaces it with a new formula.  Under the new formula, a county and the 

metropolitan park district in the county, if any, will receive 30% and 5.5%, respectively, 

of the amount certified by the Tax Commissioner to the county auditor.  (The certified 

amount is called the "total county allocation").  The resulting dollar amounts are the 

county's and park district's "base allocation."  If the amount actually paid to the county's 

undivided local government fund exceeds the total county allocation, and the excess is 

greater than $750,000, the county and metropolitan park district will receive 30% and 

5.5%, respectively, of the amount in excess of $750,000. 

With respect to all other subdivisions, if the total county allocation exceeds the 

sum of all base allocations, each subdivision will receive its "base allocation" plus a 

share of the excess (the subdivision's "excess allocation").  If the total county allocation is 

less than the sum of all base allocations, each subdivision will receive its "adjusted (i.e., 

reduced) base allocation."  Finally, if the amount actually paid to the county's undivided 

local government fund exceeds the total county allocation, each subdivision will receive 

a share of the excess. 

A subdivision's "base allocation" is the average of three amounts:  (1) the sum of 

the subdivision's base or adjusted base allocation and its excess allocation for which the 

subdivision is to receive payment in the current year, (2) the amount the subdivision 

actually received last year, and (3) the amount the subdivision actually received the 

year before last year.  A subdivision's "adjusted base allocation" is its proportion of the 

sum of all base allocations multiplied by the total county allocation. 
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If the total county allocation exceeds the sum of all base allocations, each 

subdivision will be entitled to its "excess allocation."  The formula to determine a 

subdivision's excess allocation takes into consideration three factors weighted by the 

subdivision's population:  per capita taxable value, per capita income, and population 

density.  The weighted factors are determined for each subdivision.  For each weighted 

factor category, the sum of the factors for each subdivision is determined, and each 

subdivision's proportion of that total is computed.  Once a subdivision's proportions for 

each weighted factor category are determined, they are averaged (i.e., they are added 

and the sum is divided by three).  That average is then multiplied by the total excess to 

be allocated—the amount by which excess total county allocation exceeds the sum of all 

base allocations. 

If the amount actually distributed to a county's undivided local government fund 

exceeds the total county allocation, each subdivision is entitled to a share of the excess.  

Of the first $750,000 of excess, each subdivision will receive a share in proportion to its 

share of the total county allocation.  For amounts greater than $750,000, the amount 

remaining after the county and metropolitan park district's shares of the excess above 

$750,000 are subtracted is distributed in the same manner as subdivisions' "excess 

allocation."   

Alternative method 

The bill authorizes a county budget commission to apportion county undivided 

local government funds in a manner of its own choosing.  The alternative method, 

however, must be approved by at least 75% of the subdivisions located wholly or partly 

in the county.  

Local taxing unit reimbursement for business personal property tax losses 

(R.C. 5751.20, 5751.21, and 5751.22) 

From 2005 to 2011, state law phased out taxes levied by school districts and other 

local taxing units on business personal property.  To compensate the taxing units for the 

resulting property tax losses, state law established a schedule of "replacement" 

payments.  Currently, the schedule reimburses taxing units in full for their levy losses 

each year until tax year 2011 (non-school taxing units) or fiscal year 2013 (school 

districts), when the payments themselves begin to be phased out.289  The schedule 

terminates payments as of fiscal year 2019 for school districts or tax year 2018 or 2019 

for non-school taxing units, depending on the type of personal property. 

                                                 
289 A "tax year" is the same as the calendar year.  For example, tax year 2011 means January 1, 2011 

through December 31, 2011. 
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Commercial activity tax revenue allocation 

Currently, payments are made from commercial activity tax (CAT) revenue, 

which, for fiscal year 2011, is credited as follows:  0% to the General Revenue Fund 

(GRF), 70% to the School District Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund (SDRF), and 

30% to the Local Government Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund (LGRF).  Over 

fiscal years 2012 through 2018, the amount credited to the LGRF is reduced and the 

amount credited to the GRF increases correspondingly.  In fiscal years 2019 and 

thereafter, no CAT revenue is credited to the LGRF.  The amount credited to the SDRF, 

however, does not decline, even though current law terminates school district 

reimbursement payments as of fiscal year 2019.  The amount credited to the SDRF that 

is not distributed is reserved for unspecified "school purposes." 

As shown in the table below, the bill reallocates the portion of CAT revenue 

credited to the GRF, SDRF, and LGRF over the FY 2012-2013 fiscal biennium.  It also 

eliminates the reservation of undistributed SDRF money for "school purposes." 

Fiscal Year 
General Revenue 

Fund 

School District 
Property Tax 

Replacement Fund 

Local Government 
Property Tax 

Replacement Fund 

2012 5.3% 25.0% 70.0% 52.5% 24.7% 22.5% 

2013 and thereafter 10.6% 50.0% 70.0% 35.0% 19.4% 15.0% 

TPP loss reimbursement 

Losses experienced by city, local, or exempted village school districts, joint 

vocational school districts, and other local taxing units for legislated personal property 

tax reductions are divided into three types:  fixed-rate levy losses, fixed-sum levy losses, 

and losses on unvoted debt levies (i.e., debt levies within the 10-mill limit). 

Fixed-rate levy loss reimbursement 

In general, a taxing unit's fixed-rate levy losses equal its 2004 personal property 

taxable values multiplied by the sum of the effective tax rates for its fixed-rate levies in 

effect in tax year 2004 or applicable to tax year 2005 (so long as the levy was approved 

by voters before September 1, 2005).  For school districts, from this product is subtracted 

the district's "state education aid offset," which is the increase in state funding a school 

district receives due to the loss of its personal property tax base.  (The aggregate annual 

amount of state education aid offset is transferred quarterly from the SDRF to the GRF 

because state education aid is paid from the GRF.  The offset is discussed in more detail 

below under "Transfers to GRF for school districts' state aid.") 
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Current law.  Under current law, fixed-rate levies that do not apply to a tax year 

after 2010 do not qualify for reimbursement beginning with the later of 2011 or the first 

tax year to which the levy does not apply.  With respect to all other fixed-rate levies, the 

losses are reimbursed in full through October 2010 for non-school taxing units and 

through May 2013 for school districts and, as shown below, and with one exception, are 

reduced to zero by fiscal or tax year 2018. 

 

School Districts 

Current law 

 Non-school Taxing Units 

Current law 

Fiscal Year 
Percentage of 

Loss Reimbursed 
Tax Year 

Percentage of Loss 
Reimbursed 

(Machinery and equipment, 
inventory, and furniture and 

fixtures fixed-rate levy losses) 

Percentage of Loss 
Reimbursed 

(Telephone 
property fixed-rate 

levy losses) 

2011, 2012, 
and 2013 

100% 2011 14/17 (~ 82%) 
100% 

2014 9/17 (~ 53%) 2012 11/17 (~ 65%) 87.5% 

2015 7/17 (~ 41%) 2013 9/17 (~ 53%) 75% 

2016 5/17 (~ 29%) 2014 7/17 (~ 41%) 62.5% 

2017 3/17 (~ 18%) 2015 5/17 (~ 29%) 50% 

2018 1/17 (~ 6%) 2016 3/17 (~ 18%) 37.5% 

2019 and 
thereafter 

0% 2017 1/17 (~ 6%) 
25% 

  2018 0% 12.5% 

  
2019 and 
thereafter 

0% 
0% 

Proposed law.  The bill changes the manner in which fixed-rate levy loss 

reimbursements are computed.  Beginning in fiscal year 2012, the base for a taxing 

unit's fixed-rate levy loss reimbursement is, for school districts, the district's "current 

expense TPP allocation" and, for non-school taxing units, the unit's "TPP allocation." 

Current expense TPP allocation is the portion of the reimbursement the school district 

received in fiscal year 2011 relating to fixed-rate current expense levies, excluding any 

portion relating to levies that have expired.  TPP allocation is the sum of the 

reimbursements the non-school taxing unit received in tax year 2010 relating to fixed-

rate and fixed-sum levies.  (For ease of explanation, current expense TPP allocation will 

be referred to hereafter as "TPP allocation.") 

Over the FY 2012-2013 fiscal biennium, fixed-rate levy loss reimbursements are 

either reduced or terminated.  To determine whether a taxing unit is entitled to fixed-

rate levy loss reimbursement for a fiscal year (school districts) or tax year (non-school 

taxing units), the taxing unit's TPP allocation is compared to its "total resources," which, 

as described below in "Total Resources," is the unit's total receipts over a single fixed 
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period from certain state and local sources.  If the taxing unit's TPP allocation does not 

exceed a threshold percentage of its total resources, it is no longer entitled to 

reimbursement for fixed-rate levy losses.  If its TPP allocation does exceed the 

threshold, its reimbursement for the fiscal or tax year equals the difference of its TPP 

allocation minus the threshold percentage of its total resources.  The foregoing can be 

symbolized as follows: 

TPP Allocation  ≤  Th% of Total Resources: Reimbursement = $0.00 

TPP Allocation  >  Th% of Total Resources: Reimbursement = TPP Allocation – Th% of Total Resources 

For school districts, the threshold percentage is 2% for fiscal year 2012 and 4% for fiscal 

years 2013 and thereafter.  For non-school taxing units, the threshold percentage is 2% 

for tax year 2011, 4% for tax year 2012, and 6% for tax years 2013 and thereafter. 

Reimbursement for fixed-rate levies for purposes other than current expenses (as 

the bill defines "current expenses") will be reduced by 50% (school districts) or 75% 

(municipal corporations) over the fiscal biennium.  The school district reimbursement is 

reduced by 25% in FY 2012 and by 50% in FY 2013 and thereafter; the other taxing units' 

reimbursement is reduced by 25% for tax year 2011, 50% for 2012, and 75% for 2013 and 

thereafter.  Only school districts and municipal corporations will receive this 

reimbursement.  The payments are computed on the basis of the reimbursement 

received under the current reimbursement formula in fiscal year 2011 (school districts) 

or tax year 2010 (municipal corporations). 

Total resources 

"Total resources" is the measure employed in the bill's new reimbursement 

method to calculate the phase-out of fixed-rate current expense levies (by comparing 

the TPP allocation to total resources).  "Total resources" is defined separately depending 

on the type of taxing unit:  school districts, joint vocational school districts, counties, 

municipal corporations, townships, and all other taxing units.  With respect to counties, 

total resources is defined separately for different county functions:  mental health and 

disabilities, senior services, children's services, public health, and all other functions. 

As described more fully in the table below, "total resources" for a city, local, or 

exempted village school district equals the sum of its 2010 state aid, its fiscal year 2010 

business and utility TPP reimbursement for unexpired fixed-rate current expense and 

capital improvement levy losses, and current expense property and income taxes 

(including emergency property taxes): 
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Total Resources 

(City, local, and exempted village school districts) 

 The district's fiscal year 2010 state aid; 

 The district's fiscal year 2010 reimbursement for current expense fixed-rate levy losses 
(excluding the portion related to expired fixed-rate levies) and non-debt fixed-sum levy 
losses due to (1) the phase-out of business tangible personal property taxes ("business 
TPP"), and (2) the reduction in assessment rates for electric and gas utility personal 
property ("utility TPP"), excluding the portion attributable to levies for joint vocational 
school district purposes;290 

 The average of the school district's current expense real and public utility taxes charged 
and payable for tax years 2008 and 2009 (determined after the H.B. 920 tax reduction 
but before the 2.5% and 10% rollbacks, for which school districts are reimbursed by the 
state), excluding taxes levied for joint vocational school district purposes, and including 
emergency levies; 

 The district's current expense taxes charged and payable (determined as above) on non-
public utility personal property for tax year 2009 (taxes on the personal property of a 
telephone telegraph, or interexchange telecommunications company had not been fully 
phased out by tax year 2009); 

 The district's fiscal year 2009 receipts from a school district income tax levied for current 
expenses (except for certain receipts allocated to a state-assisted classroom facilities 
project); 

 The district's receipts during calendar year 2009 from a municipal income tax levied for 
municipal and school district purposes. 

For a joint vocational school district, "total resources" equals the sum of its 2010 

state aid, its fiscal year 2010 business and utility TPP reimbursement for unexpired 

fixed-rate current expense and capital improvement levy losses, and property taxes: 

Total Resources 

(Joint vocational school districts) 

 The district's fiscal year 2010 state aid; 

 The district's fiscal year 2010 reimbursement for current expense fixed-rate levy losses 
(excluding the portion related to expired fixed-rate levies) and fixed-sum levy losses due 
to (1) the phase out of business TPP taxes, and (2) the reduction in assessment rates 
for utility TPP; 

 The average of the school district's current expense real and public utility taxes charged 
and payable for tax years 2008 and 2009 (determined after the H.B. 920 tax reduction 
but before the 2.5% and 10% rollbacks, for which taxing units are reimbursed by the 
state); 

 The average of the real and public utility taxes charged and payable for tax year 2008 
and 2009 from city, local, or exempted village school district levies devoted to the joint 
vocational school district; 

 The district's current expense taxes charged and payable (determined as above) on non-
public utility personal property for tax year 2009. 

                                                 
290 Current law terminates reimbursements for fixed-sum levies that expire and are not renewed, 

substituted, or converted.  (See "Fixed-sum and unvoted debt levy loss reimbursement.") 



Legislative Service Commission -654- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

For counties, "total resources" is defined separately for mental health and 

disability functions, senior services functions, children's services functions, public 

health functions, and, finally, for all other functions.291  Total resources for mental health 

and disability, senior services, children's services, and public health functions equals the 

sum of the specified function's portion of (1) the calendar year 2010 reimbursement for 

unexpired business and utility TPP fixed-rate levy losses and business TPP fixed-sum 

levy losses and (2) property taxes: 

Total Resources 

(Each for county mental health and disability, senior services,  
children's services, and public health functions) 

 The portion of the county's calendar year 2010 reimbursement attributable to the 
specified function for fixed-rate levy losses (excluding the portion related to expired 
fixed-rate levies) due to (1) the phase-out of business TPP taxes, and (2) the reduction 
in assessment rates for utility TPP and for fixed-sum levy losses due to the business 
TPP tax phase-out; 

 Real and public utility taxes charged and payable for the specified function for tax year 
2009. 

 

The total resources for the county catch-all category is the same as for the 

function-specific total resources, except the referenced function is "all other purposes," 

taxes charged and payable for debt is not counted, and the following amounts are 

added: 

 The county's share of Local Government Fund and Dealers in Intangibles 

Tax allocations from the count undivided local government fund for 

calendar year 2010; 

 The county's receipts in calendar year 2010 from the county sales and use 

tax that may be levied at a rate of up to 1% and used for general purposes 

or for criminal and administrative justice services in the county. 

For municipal corporations, total resources equals the sum of the municipality's 

2010 business and utility TPP reimbursement for unexpired fixed-rate levy losses and 

for business TPP fixed-sum losses, its 2010 share of Local Government Fund and 

Dealers in Intangibles Tax allocations, and property, municipal income, admissions, and 

estate taxes: 

                                                 
291 The effect of this separation on the comparison of TPP allocation to the threshold percentage of total 

resources is not clear.  The counties' TPP allocation is not similarly separated, and the bill does not 

indicate whether a county's total resources equals the sum of the subsidiary total resources or whether a 

separate comparison of TPP allocation to some percentage of total resources should be made for each 

subsidiary total resources. 
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Total Resources 

(Municipal corporations) 

 The municipality's calendar year 2010 reimbursement for fixed-rate levy losses 
(excluding the portion related to expired fixed-rate levies) due to (1) the phase-out of 
business TPP taxes, and (2) the reduction in assessment rates for utility TPP and for 
fixed-sum levy losses due to the phase-out of business tangible personal property taxes; 

 The municipality's share of Local Government Fund and Dealers in Intangibles Tax 
allocations from the county undivided local government fund for calendar year 2010; 

 The municipality's receipts directly from the Local Government Fund for calendar year 
2010; 

 The municipality's current expense real and public utility taxes charged and payable for 
tax year 2009; 

 The municipality's admissions tax collections in calendar year 2008, or if such 
information has not yet been reported to the Tax Commissioner, in the most recent year 
before 2008 for which the municipality has reported data to the Commissioner; 

 The municipality's income tax collections in calendar year 2008, or if such information 
has not yet been reported to the Tax Commissioner, in the most recent year before 2008 
for which the municipality has reported data to the Commissioner; 

 The median estate tax distribution to a municipality for the period 2006 through 2009.292  
If a municipality received no distributions in any of such years, its median estate tax 
distribution equals zero. 

 

For townships, total resources equals the sum of the township's 2010 business 

and utility TPP reimbursement for fixed-rate losses and for business TPP fixed-sum 

losses (excluding fixed-rate and fixed-sum debt levies), its 2010 share of Local 

Government Fund and Dealers in Intangibles Tax allocations, and its 2009 real and 

public utility property taxes charged and payable (except from debt levies): 

Total Resources 

(Townships) 

 The township's calendar year 2010 reimbursement for fixed-rate levy losses (excluding 
the portion related to expired fixed-rate levies) due to (1) the phase-out of business TPP 
taxes, and (2) the reduction in assessment rates for utility TPP and for fixed-sum levy 
losses due to the phase-out of business TPP taxes, excluding the portion attributable to 
fixed-rate or fixed-sum debt levies; 
 

 The township's share of Local Government Fund and Dealers in Intangibles Tax 
allocations from the county undivided local government fund for calendar year 2010; 

 The township's real and public utility taxes charged and payable for tax year 2009 
(except taxes to pay debt). 

 

                                                 
292 Presumably, the distributions will be ordered according to value and not chronologically.  
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Total resources for all other taxing units equals the sum of the unit's 2010 

business and utility TPP reimbursement for unexpired fixed-rate levy losses and for 

business TPP fixed-sum losses, its 2010 share of Local Government Fund and Dealers in 

Intangibles Tax allocations, property taxes (except for debt repayment), transit authority 

sales and use taxes, and certain allocations for state community college districts. 

Total Resources 

(All other taxing units) 

 The taxing unit's calendar year 2010 reimbursement for fixed-rate levy losses (excluding 
the portion related to expired fixed-rate levies) due to (1) the phase-out of business TPP 
taxes, and (2) the reduction in assessment rates for utility TPP, and for fixed-sum levy 
losses due to the phase-out of business TPP taxes; 

 The taxing unit's share of Local Government Fund and Dealers in Intangibles Tax 
allocations from the county undivided local government fund for calendar year 2010; 

 The taxing unit's real and public utility taxes charged and payable for tax year 2009 
(except taxes to pay debt); 

 A transit authority's calendar year 2010 receipts from transit authority sales and use 
taxes; 

 For state community college districts receiving property tax revenue, the district's final 
state share of instruction allocation for fiscal year 2010. 

 

Fixed-sum and unvoted debt levy loss reimbursement 

Losses from fixed-sum levies and from unvoted debt-purpose levies (i.e., levies 

within the 10-mill limit for debt purposes) are computed in the same manner as fixed-

rate levy losses, except there is no deduction for state education aid increases, and, for 

fixed-sum levies, one-half mill is subtracted from the sum of the effective fixed-sum tax 

rates.  Currently, fixed-sum levy losses are reimbursed in full until the levy (or, in the 

case of school districts, its successor fixed-sum levy) expires.  (School district fixed-sum 

levies include "emergency," "substitute," "renewal," and "conversion" levies.)  Losses on 

unvoted debt levies are reimbursed in full through fiscal year 2018.  No reimbursement 

occurs thereafter.  If the unvoted levy is no longer used for debt purposes, it becomes 

subject to the phase-out schedule for fixed-rate levy losses. 

The bill retains the reimbursement for fixed-sum and unvoted debt levy losses, 

although the timing and weighting of payments is altered.  (See "Reimbursement 

payments," below.)  The bill also specifies that debt levies that have been impose 

pursuant to a municipal charter and that do not have to be approved by voters (so-

called "charter millage") will, like other unvoted debt levies, continue to be reimbursed 

at 100% as long as the levy was still being levied to pay debt in 2010 and as long as it 

continues to be levied to pay debt. 
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Appeal 

A school district or local taxing unit is permitted to appeal how a levy has been 

classified for the purposes of the new reimbursement method or how its total resources 

have been computed.  The appeal must be filed in writing with the Tax Commissioner 

(including electronic mail).  The Commissioner must consider any appeal and make any 

changes the Commissioner deems warranted.  The Commissioner's decision is final and 

not appealable.  No changes are permitted after June 30, 2013.  (Section 757.20.) 

Reimbursement payments 

Under current law, reimbursement payments are made on the last day of 

August, October, and May.  For school district fixed-sum levy losses, one-third of the 

reimbursement for a fiscal year is distributed in each payment.  For all other loss types, 

the reimbursement for a fiscal or tax year is distributed as follows:  3/7 (August), 3/7 

(October), and 1/7 (May).  Beginning in fiscal year 2012, however, reimbursements for 

school district fixed-rate and unvoted debt levy losses are distributed in one-third 

installments. 

The bill eliminates the August and October payments and replaces them with a 

payment to be made on or before November 20.  Beginning in fiscal year 2012, one-half 

of fiscal year reimbursement for school district fixed-rate and unvoted debt levy loss 

reimbursement is to be distributed in November and May.  For school district fixed-

sum levy losses, two-thirds of the fiscal year reimbursement is paid in November and 

one-third in May.  For non-school taxing units, 1/7 of the calendar year reimbursement 

for all losses is distributed in May and 6/7 is distributed in November for years 2011 

through 2013.  For years 2014 and thereafter, one-half is distributed in May and one-half 

in November. 

School district mergers and territory transfers 

Current law establishes a procedure to determine how fixed-rate and fixed-sum 

levy loss reimbursements are computed when a school district or joint vocational school 

district merges with or transfers territory to another district.  The bill amends this 

procedure as follows: 
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Type of merger or transfer 
of territory 

Fixed-rate levy loss Fixed-sum levy loss 

Complete merger of two or 
more districts 

Current law:  Successor 
district receives the sum of the 
fixed-rate levy losses for each 
district merged. 
 
Bill:  The total resources, 
current expense TPP 
allocation, total TPP 
allocation, and non-current 
expense TPP allocation of the 
successor district equals the 
sum of such items from the 
merging districts 

Current law:  Successor 
district receives the sum of the 
fixed-sum levy losses for each 
district merged. 
 
Bill:  Same as current law. 

Transfer of part of a district's 
territory to an existing district 

Current law:  The recipient 
district receives a pro rata 
share of the transferring 
district's total fixed-rate levy 
loss based on the value of 
business tangible personal 
property on the land being 
transferred. 
 
Bill:  The recipient district 
receives a pro rata share of 
the transferring district's total 
resources, current expense 
TPP allocation, total TPP 
allocation, and non-current 
expense TPP allocation based 
on the ADM being transferred 
as compared to the total ADM 
of the district from which the 
territory is transferred. 

Current law:  The 
Department of Education, in 
consultation with the Tax 
Commissioner, shall make an 
equitable division of the fixed-
sum levy loss 
reimbursements. 
 
 
Bill:  Same as current law. 

Transfer of part of a district's 
territory to a newly created 
district 

Current law:  No fixed-rate 
levy losses are transferred 
 
Bill:  No total resources, 
current expense TPP 
allocation, total TPP 
allocation, and non-current 
expense TPP allocation are 
transferred. 

Current law:  The 
Department of Education, in 
consultation with the Tax 
Commissioner, shall make an 
equitable division of the fixed-
sum levy loss 
reimbursements. 
 
Bill:  Same as current law. 
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Taxing unit mergers and annexations 

Under current law, if all or a part of the territories of two or more non-school 

taxing units are merged, or if territory of a township is annexed by a municipal 

corporation, the Tax Commissioner must adjust the reimbursement payments "in 

proportion to the tax value loss apportioned to the merged or annexed territory," or as 

otherwise provided by a written agreement between the taxing units. 

The bill requires the reimbursement payments to be apportioned according to the 

square mileage of the merged or annexed territory as a percentage of the total square 

mileage of the jurisdiction from which the territory originated. 

County administrative fee loss reimbursement 

(R.C. 5751.23) 

Current law devotes a portion of the personal property tax loss reimbursements 

payable to school districts and other taxing units to compensate county auditors and 

treasurers for the loss of administrative fees payable on the basis of property tax 

collections.  Under continuing law, county auditors and treasurers are entitled to a 

percentage of the property taxes collected to help cover the cost of administering and 

collecting property taxes, including the percentage credited to the real estate assessment 

fund to defray the cost of assessing real property.  Under current law, the fee 

reimbursement for a county equals its 2010 reimbursement multiplied by the fractions 

used to phase out local taxing unit fixed-rate levy losses: 

2011 14/17 (~ 82%) 

2012 11/17 (~ 65%) 

2013 9/17 (~ 53%) 

2014 7/17 (~ 41%) 

2015 5/17 (~ 29%) 

2016 3/17 (~ 18%) 

2017 1/17 (~ 6%) 

2018 0% 

 

The bill changes the manner in which fee losses are computed and phases 

reimbursements out by 2016.  The losses for a county equal 14/17 (~ 82%) of the county's 

2010 fee loss for 2011, and is reduced by one-fifth of the 2011 payments each year 

thereafter. 
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Transfers to GRF for school districts' state aid 

(R.C. 5751.21(A)(1)(c)) 

Current law adjusts some school districts' reimbursement for fixed-rate levy 

losses to account for the fact that those districts' state aid increased as the taxable value 

of their business tangible personal property was phased out.  (The state aid funding 

formulas pay a school district more per-pupil aid as the district's taxable property value 

declines, unless the district is paid a "guarantee" amount, which is based on its previous 

payments, if the formula would yield no aid amount or a smaller amount than in 

preceding years.)  The increase in state aid arising from the reduction in taxable 

business personal property value is subtracted from a school district's reimbursement 

payment to avoid overcompensating the tax loss; this subtraction is the "state education 

aid offset."  The total amount of the offset for all school districts is transferred from the 

School District Tangible Property Tax Replacement Fund to the GRF on a quarterly 

basis to cover the increased state formula aid paid from the GRF. 

The bill specifies that this quarterly transfer is to end with the June 2013 transfer.  

For the purpose of computing the amount of the transfer until then, the bill fixes the 

amount of the offset for fiscal years 2012 and 2013 equal to the fiscal year 2011 offset. 

Local taxing unit reimbursement for utility personal property tax losses 

(R.C. 5727.84, 5727.85, and 5727.86) 

In tax year 2001, the assessment rates for taxes levied by school districts and 

other taxing units against electric and rural electric company personal property were 

reduced.293  In tax year 2002, assessment rates for natural gas property were similarly 

reduced.294  To compensate taxing units for the resulting property tax losses, state law 

established a schedule of "replacement" payments.  Currently, the schedule reimburses 

school districts in full for their levy losses through 2016.  Thereafter, no payments are 

made.  Non-school taxing units were reimbursed in full through 2006.  In 2007, 

payments to non-school taxing units began to be phased out.  The schedule terminates 

payments as of 2017. 

Kilowatt-hour tax and natural gas tax revenue allocation 

Currently, payments are made from kilowatt-hour tax and natural gas 

distribution tax revenue.  Revenue from these taxes is allocated among three funds:  the 

                                                 
293 S.B. 3 of the 123rd General Assembly. 

294 S.B. 287 of the 123rd General Assembly. 
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General Revenue Fund, the School District Property Tax Replacement Fund, and the 

Local Government Property Tax Replacement Fund.  (Payments are made from the 

replacement funds.)  The bill reallocates the revenue as follows, beginning in FY 2012: 

Tax 
General 

Revenue Fund 

School District 
Property Tax 

Replacement Fund 

Local Government 
Property Tax 

Replacement Fund 

Kilowatt-hour tax 63% 88% 25.4% 9% 11.6% 3% 

Natural gas tax 0% 100% 68.7% 0% 31.3% 0% 

 

TPP loss reimbursement 

Losses experienced by city, local, or exempted village school districts, joint 

vocational school districts, and other local taxing units for public utility personal 

property tax losses are divided into three types for the purposes of reimbursement:  

fixed-rate levy losses, fixed-sum levy losses, and losses on unvoted debt levies (i.e., debt 

levies within the 10-mill limit). 

Fixed-rate levy loss reimbursement 

In general, a taxing unit's fixed-rate levy losses equal the difference between 

electric and natural gas personal property taxes due using the old (higher) assessment 

rates and the taxes due using the new (lower) assessment rates.295  For school districts, 

from this product is subtracted the district's "state education aid offset," which is the 

increase in state funding a school district receives due to the reduction of its public 

utility personal property tax base.  If a school district's offset exceeds its fixed-rate levy 

loss (i.e., its loss is compensated wholly by state aid increases), no fixed-rate levy 

reimbursement is paid.  For all taxing units, if the unit is entitled to reimbursement for a 

particular fixed-rate levy, it continues to be reimbursed even if the levy expires. 

Non-school taxing units experiencing a fixed-rate levy loss currently are 

reimbursed according to the following schedule: 

 

 

                                                 
295 For electric and rural electric company property, 1998 taxable values were used; for gas company 

property, 1999 values were used; and for nuclear power plant property, values for 2000 and 2001 or 2005 

and 2006 were used.  Losses relating to certain nuclear fuel and assemblies and natural gas were 

determined using a three-year average.  For electric companies, 1998 tax rates were used, and for natural 

gas companies 1999 tax rates were used. 
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Non-school taxing units 

Year 
Percentage of 

Loss 
Reimbursed 

2002-2006 100% 

2007-2011 80% 

2012 66.7% 

2013 53.4% 

2014 40.1% 

2015 26.8% 

2016 13.5% 

2017 and 
thereafter 

0% 

 

A school district's fixed-rate levy loss currently is reimbursed through 2016 or 

until increases in the district's state aid above its 2002 level exceed its fixed-rate 

reimbursement in 2002 adjusted for inflation, whichever occurs first. 

The bill changes the manner in which fixed-rate levy loss reimbursements are 

computed.  The computation is nearly identical to that for reimbursement of business 

personal property tax losses.  (See "Fixed-rate levy loss reimbursement" under the 

heading "Local taxing unit reimbursement for business personal property tax 

losses.")  Beginning in fiscal year 2012, the base for a taxing unit's fixed-rate levy loss 

reimbursement is, for school districts, the district's "2011 current expense S.B. 3 

allocation," and, for non-school taxing units, the unit's "2010 S.B. 3 allocation."  The 2011 

current expense S.B. 3 allocation is the portion of the reimbursement the school district 

received in fiscal year 2011 for current expense fixed-rate levy losses.  2010 S.B. 3 

allocation is the portion of the reimbursement a non-school local taxing unit received in 

tax year 2010 for fixed-rate levy losses.  In both instances, if a levy comprising a portion 

of the reimbursement has expired, its value is subtracted from the total reimbursement.  

(For ease of explanation, both reimbursements will be referred to as "S.B. 3 allocation.") 

Over the FY 2012-2013 fiscal biennium, fixed-rate levy loss reimbursements are 

either reduced or terminated.  To determine whether a taxing unit is entitled to fixed-

rate levy loss reimbursement for the fiscal year (school districts) or tax year (non-school 

taxing units), one-half of the taxing unit's S.B. 3 allocation is compared to its "total 

resources," which is the unit's total receipts over a single fixed period from certain state 

and local sources.  If one-half of the taxing unit's S.B. 3 allocation does not exceed a 

threshold percentage of the unit's total resources, it is no longer entitled to 

reimbursement for fixed-rate levy losses.  If one-half of its S.B. 3 allocation does exceed 
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the threshold, each reimbursement payment (two per year) equals the difference of one-

half of its S.B. 3 allocation minus the threshold percentage of its total resources.  

Reimbursement terminates for all taxing units in February 2030. 

A taxing unit's "total resources" is the same as its total resources for purposes of 

determining its reimbursement for business personal property fixed-rate levy losses.  

(See "Total Resources" under the heading "Local taxing unit reimbursement for 

business personal property tax losses.")  For school districts, the threshold per cent 

is 2% for fiscal year 2012 and 4% for fiscal years 2013 and thereafter.  For non-school 

taxing units, the threshold percentage is 2% for calendar year 2011, 4% for 2012, and 6% 

for 2013 and thereafter. 

Reimbursement for school district and municipal corporation fixed-rate levies 

that are not for current expenses is reduced by 50% (school districts) or 75% (municipal 

corporations) over the fiscal biennium.  The school district reimbursement is reduced by 

25% in FY2012 and by 50% in FY2013; the other taxing units' reimbursement is reduced 

by 25% for tax year 2011, 50% for 2012, and 75% for 2013 and thereafter.  The 

reimbursement amount is based on the reimbursement paid for those levies in fiscal 

year 2011 (school districts) or tax year 2010 (municipal corporations). 

Fixed-rate levy loss reimbursement for certain taxing units 

Under current law, the following non-school taxing unit receives 100% of its 

fixed-rate levy losses through 2016:  a taxing unit in a county of less than 250 square 

miles that receives 80% or more of its combined general fund and bond retirement fund 

revenues from property taxes and tax rollback reimbursements based on 1997 actual 

revenue as presented in its 1999 tax budget, and in which electric and rural electric 

property comprises over 20% of its property valuation. 

The bill requires this taxing unit to be reimbursed in the same manner as all other 

non-school taxing units beginning in 2011. 

Fixed-sum and unvoted debt levy loss reimbursement 

Fixed-sum losses and losses relating to taxes levied within the ten-mill limit for 

debt purposes are computed in the same manner as fixed-rate levy losses, except there 

is no deduction for state education aid increases.  Fixed-sum levies are reimbursed for 

all but one-fourth of a mill per dollar (0.025%).  Currently, fixed-sum levy losses are 

reimbursed in full (less one-fourth mill's worth) until the levy expires.  School district 

emergency levies are considered not to have expired if the school district levies another 

emergency levy that raises an amount equal to or greater than the difference of the 

amount raised by the expiring levy minus the amount of reimbursement the school 

district receives for that expiring levy. 
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Losses on unvoted debt levies currently are reimbursed in full through fiscal year 

2016.  No reimbursement is paid thereafter.  Current law does not address how the levy 

is to be reimbursed if it is no longer used for debt purposes.  Nor does current law 

address reimbursement of levy losses relating to millage authorized by a municipal 

charter to be levied for debt purposes without a vote of municipal electors. 

The bill leaves unchanged the reimbursement provisions for fixed-sum levy 

losses.  With respect to unvoted debt levies within the ten-mill limit, however, it states 

that if the levy was no longer levied for debt purposes for tax year 2010 or for any tax 

year thereafter, payments for that levy are to be made under the new reimbursement 

mechanism for fixed-rate levy losses beginning the earlier of tax year 2012 or the first 

tax year for which it is no longer levied for debt purposes.  (See "Fixed-rate levy loss 

reimbursement" above.)  It is unclear how this requirement will affect reimbursement 

for such levies, as the new reimbursement mechanism for fixed-rate levies bases 

reimbursement amounts on two constant amounts (S.B. 3 allocation and total resources) 

and an annually increasing percentage (the threshold percentage). 

The bill requires losses relating to municipal charter millage for debt purposes to 

be reimbursed in the same manner as inside-millage debt levies. 

Reimbursement payments − timing 

Under current law, reimbursement payments are made in late August and late 

February.  Each payment equals 50% of the annual fixed-rate, fixed-sum, or unvoted tax 

levy losses. 

The bill requires payments to be made on or before August 31 and February 28. 

State education aid offset transfer 

Under current law, the greater of the amount in the SDRF or the aggregate 

annual amount of state education aid offset is transferred from the SDRF to the GRF in 

one-half installments near the first of September and in early May. 

The bill terminates such transfers as of the end of fiscal year 2011. 

Appeal 

A school district or local taxing unit has the same right to appeal how a levy has 

been classified or how its total resources have been determined as it does under the 

business personal property reimbursement scheme. 



Legislative Service Commission -665- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Taxing unit mergers, territory transfers, and annexations 

Current law establishes a procedure to determine how fixed-rate and fixed-sum 

levy loss reimbursements are computed when two or more taxing units merge, a 

portion of a school district's territory is transferred to another district, or if township 

territory is annexed by a municipal corporation.  The procedures generally are the same 

as those under the provisions of law regarding business personal property tax loss 

reimbursements.  (See "School district mergers and territory transfers" and "Taxing 

unit mergers and annexations" under the primary heading "Local taxing unit 

reimbursement for business personal property tax losses.") 

The bill amends this procedure in the same manner as it does with respect to 

business personal property tax loss reimbursements. 

Distribution of "surplus" LGRF money 

The bill terminates distributions of "surplus" money among non-school taxing 

units when there is money remaining in the LGRF after the levy losses are reimbursed 

according to the reimbursement schedule.  Currently, if any money remains in the fund, 

one-half of the excess is allocated to counties on a per-capita basis and one-half is 

allocated to counties in proportion to the utility property tax losses of taxing units in 

each county.  Each county's share of the surplus is then distributed among the non-

school taxing units in the county in proportion to taxing units' respective property tax 

billings.  The payment of the surplus is terminated with the January 2011 payment.  

Any future surpluses are to be transferred to the GRF. 

Public utility tax study committee 

Current law establishes the Public Utility Tax Study Committee as of January 1, 

2011.  The committee is to study the extent to which school districts have been 

compensated by the tax loss reimbursements discussed above. 

The bill repeals the creation of this committee. 

New refundable job retention tax credit 

(R.C. 122.171) 

Credit eligibility 

Continuing law authorizes the Ohio Tax Credit Authority to award to eligible 

businesses involved in significant capital investment projects a refundable or 

nonrefundable job retention tax credit (JRTC) against the income tax, commercial 

activities tax, insurance company premiums tax, or corporation franchise tax.  Either 
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credit is measured as a percentage of the state income taxes withheld from full-time 

employees working at a project site.  However, qualifying businesses may only receive 

the existing refundable credit if the business' credit application is recommended for 

approval before July 1, 2011. 

The bill authorizes the Tax Credit Authority to grant a new, separate refundable 

credit to certain qualifying businesses between July 1, 2011, and December 31, 2013.  To 

qualify for the new refundable credit, an eligible business must have an annual payroll 

of at least $20 million, invest at least $5 million at a project site located within the same 

political subdivision as that in which the business has its principal place of business, 

and meet other existing JRTC program requirements. 

Employee retention or annual payroll requirement 

Under current law, in order to qualify as an "eligible business" for the purposes 

of either existing JRTC, a business must employ and retain at least 500 "full-time 

equivalent employees."  A business' number of "full-time equivalent employees" is 

calculated by dividing its total employee-hours at a project by 2,080, which the number 

of hours in a 40-hour-per-week, 52-week work year. 

The bill amends this requirement to provide that, to be considered an "eligible 

business" for any JRTC, a business may either meet the employee retention requirement 

or have an annual payroll of at least $35 million.  The bill further requires that, to 

qualify for the new refundable JRTC, an eligible business must have an annual payroll 

of at least $20 million, regardless of whether the business qualifies as an "eligible 

business" by meeting the 500-employee retention requirement. 

Capital investment requirement 

To be considered an "eligible business" for the purposes of the existing credits, a 

business must invest at least $50 million in assets in manufacturing operations or $20 

million in assets for "significant corporate administrative functions."  Additionally, a 

business applying for the existing refundable JRTC must make a capital investment of 

$25 million, regardless of investment type.  The required capital investment must 

involve capitalized costs of basic research or new product development, or the 

acquisition, construction, renovation, or repair of buildings, machinery, or equipment. 

To qualify for the bill's new refundable credit, a business need only make a 

capital investment of $5 million. 

Additional requirements for existing and proposed refundable credits 

In addition to the requirements described above, an eligible business may qualify 

to receive the existing refundable credit only if the business received a written offer of 
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financial incentives from another state in 2010 and if the Director of Development 

determined that offer to be sufficient inducement for the business to relocate to the 

state.  The business' tax credit application must also receive a recommendation for 

approval before July 1, 2011.  These requirements do not apply to either the existing 

nonrefundable credit or to the refundable credit proposed in the bill. 

However, the bill does impose additional requirements on applicants for the new 

refundable credit that do not apply to either existing credit.  To receive the new credit, 

an eligible business must demonstrate that its capital investment project will be located 

in the same political subdivision as that in which the business maintains its principal 

place of business.  In addition, the business' tax credit application must be approved by 

the Tax Credit Authority between July 1, 2011, and December 31, 2013. 

Refundability 

Under existing law, a business may not claim a nonrefundable JRTC in excess of 

the business' annual tax liability.  The excess, however, may be carried forward for up 

to three years.  Alternatively, a business that qualifies for the existing refundable credit 

or the bill's refundable credit may claim the full amount of the credit in one year; if the 

amount of the credit exceeds outstanding tax liability, the business would be entitled to 

a refund. 

Credit amount and term 

As under continuing law, the bill requires that the amount and term of a new 

refundable JRTC be specified in an agreement between the eligible business and the Tax 

Credit Authority.  The amount of the credit may equal up to 75% of the state income 

taxes withheld from eligible full-time employees.  An eligible business may receive the 

credit for a period of up to 15 years; however, under Department of Development 

regulations, the Tax Credit Authority may not grant a nonrefundable JRTC for a term 

longer than ten years unless the Authority determines that there is "significant 

retention" of employees associated with the project. 

Credit application and agreement 

The bill requires recipients of the new refundable JRTC to comply with the same 

application procedures, agreement provisions, and reporting measures required of 

recipients of the existing refundable or nonrefundable JRTC.  For any of the credits, an 

eligible business must apply to the Tax Credit Authority to enter into a tax credit 

agreement.  The agreement must describe the capital investment project that is the 

subject of the agreement and require that the business maintain operations at the project 

site for at least the greater of (1) the term of the credit plus three years, or (2) seven 

years.  In the case of the existing nonrefundable credit, the agreement must also require 
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the business to retain at least 500 full-time equivalent employees or maintain an annual 

payroll of at least $35 million for the term of the credit.  A recipient of the new 

refundable credit must agree to (1) maintain an annual payroll of at least $35 million or 

(2) maintain an annual payroll of at least $20 million and retain at least 500 full-time 

equivalent employees.  Recipients of the existing refundable credit need only agree to 

retain at least 1,000 full-time equivalent employees regardless of payroll amount.   

In order to continue receiving any credit, the business must file annual reports 

with the Department of Development and receive a certification verifying the accuracy 

of the reports.  If a business fails to comply with any of the conditions specified in a tax 

credit agreement, the Tax Credit Authority may amend the agreement to reduce the 

percentage or term of the credit. 

Aggregate credit limits 

Continuing law limits the total amount of nonrefundable or refundable tax 

credits issued in any calendar year.  In 2010, the limit for the nonrefundable credit was 

$13 million; this amount will increase every year between 2011 and 2024 by $13 million 

over the previous year's amount until the total reaches $195 million.  The limit 

applicable to the existing refundable tax credit is $8 million. 

The bill proposes a new aggregate limit that includes both the existing and 

proposed refundable credits.  In the 2011, 2012, and 2013 calendar years combined, the 

Tax Credit Authority may authorize up to $25 million of refundable job retention 

credits.  Beginning in 2014, the total amount authorized between 2011 and 2013 is the 

maximum amount that may be awarded in each year of the ensuing 15-year period. 

Historic building rehabilitation tax credit 

(R.C. 149.311) 

Permanent extention and credit limit 

The historic building rehabilitation tax credit is a credit against the income tax 

(R.C. Chapter 5747.), corporation franchise tax (R.C. Chapter 5733.), and dealers in 

intangibles tax (R.C. 5707.03(D) and 5725.15).  The credit equals 25% of qualified 

expenditures made for rehabilitating a building of historical significance, and that meets 

certain historic preservation criteria as determined by the State Historic Preservation 

Officer. 

Under current law, the credit effectively ends June 30, 2011, the last day on 

which applications for credits may be filed.  The bill removes this deadline, extending 

the credit perpetually. 
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Current law limits the amount of credits that may be issued in a fiscal year to 

$60 million.  The bill reduces this amount to $25 million per fiscal year. 

Tax credit certificate issuance and projects completed in stages 

For an applicant whose time period for rehabilitation is not projected to exceed 

24 months, the Director of Development is required to award credit certificates upon 

the project's completion of the rehabilitation.  For an applicant that plans to complete 

the rehabilitation in stages, the Director is required to issue credit certificates after a 

stage in the rehabilitation is complete, depending on the length of the rehabilitation 

period, but the total period may not exceed 60 months, in accordance with federal law 

governing the federal rehabilitation tax credit.296 

Applicants awarded a tax credit for a completed stage of rehabilitation are 

required to repay any amounts received if the project is not completed.  Under current 

law, the Director may not award a credit certificate until a project has been completed.  

The Director may reallocate unused tax credits from a prior fiscal year for new 

applicants. 

Administration fees 

The bill permits the Department of Development and Ohio Historic Preservation 

Office to charge reasonable fees for the administration of the Historic Preservation Tax 

Credit Program.  The fees are to be deposited in the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit 

Operating Fund created by the bill and used to pay costs incurred by the Department of 

Development and the Ohio Historic Preservation Office in administering the credit. 

Miscellaneous changes 

The bill requires a person applying for a rehabilitation tax credit certificate to 

apply to the Director of Development, who evaluates the application with the assistance 

of the State Historic Preservation Officer.  Under current law, the person applies to the 

State Historic Preservation Officer, who then forwards applications to the Director for 

evaluation.   

The bill requires expenditures of a project with total costs exceeding $200,000 to 

be certified by a certified public accountant. 

                                                 
296 The cross-reference to 36 C.F.R. § 67.7(b)(8) in R.C. 149.311(A)(7)(b) appears to be in error.  The proper 

cross-reference appears to be 26 C.F.R. § 1.48-12(b)(2)(v). 
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The bill permits, rather than requires as under current law, the Director to 

rescind an application in which the applicant has failed to obtain financing for the 

project within 18 months of being approved for a credit.   

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner and Director to submit an annual report 

in April of each year.  The current bill required an annual report through 2011.  The bill 

requires the Commissioner and the Director to submit recommendations regarding the 

effectiveness of the program by December 2015 and not in 2012, as required under 

current law. 

Historic rehabilitation tax credit against insurance tax 

(R.C. 149.311, 5725.34, 5725.98, 5729.17, and 5729.98) 

The bill extends eligibility to foreign and domestic insurance company taxpayers 

for the existing refundable historic rehabilitation tax credit.  A foreign or domestic 

insurance company would thus be permitted to claim the credit against the insurance 

company gross premiums taxes, provided the company satisfies all other eligibility 

requirements.   

Under current law, a refundable credit is provided against the dealer in 

intangibles tax, the corporation franchise tax (on financial firms), or the income tax 

equal to 25% of the "qualified rehabilitation expenditures" incurred by the property 

owner in rehabilitating an historic building.  "Qualified rehabilitation expenditures" are 

those paid or incurred during the "rehabilitation period," and before and after that 

period as determined under federal rehabilitation tax credit law, by an owner of an 

historic building to rehabilitate the building.  The maximum credit amount is $5 million, 

but not more than $3 million may be taken in a year; any excess above $3 million may 

be applied to up to five subsequent years' tax liability. 

Racing facility capital improvement tax reduction extension 

(R.C. 3769.20) 

The bill extends to December 31, 2017, from December 31, 2014, the final date on 

which horse racing permit holders are eligible to take tax reductions to recover the costs 

holders incur in renovation, reconstruction, or remodeling projects costing at least 

$6 million, at their race tracks.  Under this tax reduction program, the taxes a permit 

holder pays to the state, in excess of the amounts required to be paid into the 

PASSPORT Fund, are reduced by 1% of the total amount wagered. 
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Computer data center equipment sales and use tax exemption 

(R.C. 122.175) 

The bill allows businesses to receive a full or partial exemption from the sales 

and use tax for purchases of certain personal property that will be used at an "eligible 

computer data center." 

Eligibility for the exemption 

To qualify for the exemption, a business must agree to make a capital investment 

at an "eligible computer data center" in the state.  A computer data center is eligible if 

the business agrees (1) to invest at least $100 million in the computer data center or in 

equipment for use at the center and (2) to maintain an annual payroll of at least 

$5 million at the center.  Regarding the capital investment, the bill does not prescribe a 

beginning date after which investments count toward the $100 million minimum.  

Instead, the Tax Credit Authority is authorized to establish the beginning date.  The bill 

does not require that the date fall after the bill's effective date. 

The bill defines a "computer data center" as a facility used primarily to house 

computer data center equipment used in conducting a computer data center business.  

A computer data center business is a business that provides access to computer 

equipment by means of telecommunications equipment for the purpose of 

(1) examining or acquiring data that is stored in or accessible to the computer 

equipment or (2) placing data into the computer equipment that can be retrieved by 

recipients with access to the computer equipment.   

Computer data center equipment includes tangible personal property used in 

conducting a computer data center business, including the equipment necessary to 

supply electricity for the center or cooling systems that manage the performance of the 

equipment.  Building and construction materials incorporated into the computer data 

center also qualify. 

Exemption application 

A business must apply to the Tax Credit Authority to enter into an agreement for 

a complete or partial sales and use tax exemption for computer data center equipment 

that will used at an eligible computer data center.  The Director of Budget and 

Management, Tax Commissioner, and Director of Development must review the 

application, determine the economic impact of the proposed computer data center, and 

make recommendations in regards to the application.   
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After reviewing those recommendations, the Tax Credit Authority may enter 

into an agreement authorizing a sales and use tax exemption only if it determines that 

(1) the business' capital investment in the proposed computer data center will increase 

payroll and the amount of Ohio income taxes that will be withheld from the 

compensation paid to employees of the center, (2) the business has the ability to 

complete the proposed capital investment, (3) the business intends to and has the ability 

to maintain operations at the eligible computer data center for the term of the 

agreement, and (4) receiving the exemption is a major factor in the business' decision to 

begin, continue, or complete the capital investment. 

If the Tax Credit Authority approves an application, the authorized exemption 

will apply to the business' purchases of computer data center equipment and to any 

charges for the delivery, installation, or repair of that equipment. 

Agreement with Tax Credit Authority 

An agreement for a computer data center equipment sales and use tax exemption 

must include the following: 

(1)  A description of the eligible computer data center, the amount of the capital 

investment that will be made at the center, the timeline for the capital investment, the 

annual payroll at the proposed center, and the anticipated amount of Ohio income taxes 

to be withheld from the compensation of employees of the center.   

(2)  The percentage of the approved exemption, the length of time the exemption 

will apply, and the first date the exemption will apply.  

(3)  A requirement that the business maintain operations, and an annual payroll 

of at least $5 million, at the eligible computer data center for the term of the agreement. 

The agreement must also include several provisions similar to those required in 

agreements for a job creation or retention tax credit under R.C. 122.17 and 122.171.  

Those provisions include an annual reporting requirement, a limitation on employment 

position relocations, and a requirement that the business waive any limitations periods 

applicable to tax assessments payable if the business does not comply with the 

agreement. 

Agreement compliance 

Under the bill, the Tax Credit Authority may amend an agreement to reduce the 

percentage or term of an authorized exemption if a business fails to comply with any 

condition of the agreement.   
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The Tax Credit Authority may also terminate an agreement if a business does not 

maintain operations at an eligible computer data center for the term of the agreement.  

In such instances, the Authority may require the business to pay all or a portion of the 

taxes that would have been owed on equipment exempted under the agreement.  The 

bill allows the Authority discretion in determining the portion of the unpaid taxes to 

charge a business.  

Direct payment permits 

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to grant a direct payment permit to a 

business that enters into an agreement for a computer data center equipment sales or 

use tax exemption.  Under continuing law, a direct payment permit allows an eligible 

business to forgo the payment of sales and use tax at the time of purchase and to 

instead accrue and pay the tax directly to the Department of Taxation. 

Under the bill, a business' direct payment permit must allow the business to pay 

directly to the Department of Taxation any sales and use taxes due on computer data 

center equipment (if the business has a partial exemption) or other nonexempt goods or 

services purchased for use at an eligible computer data center.  The business must file a 

return that details the amount of computer data center equipment purchased, the 

amount of other goods and services purchased for use at the eligible computer data 

center, the exemption percentage, the amount of tax that would be due absent the 

exemption agreement, and the amount of tax due as a result of the exemption. 

Exemption from Public Records Law 

Under the bill, financial statements or other information submitted to the 

Department of Development or Tax Credit Authority in relation to an exemption 

authorized in the bill are not subject to Ohio's Public Records Law.  However, the 

Authority must provide such information to the Tax Commissioner upon request.  The 

Authority may also use such information to issue public reports or in connection with 

court proceedings. 

Annual report 

On or before August 1 of each year, the Director of Development must submit an 

annual report that includes the number of agreements the Department entered into in 

the previous year, a description of the eligible computer data centers that are the 

subjects of those agreements, and a status update on all eligible computer data centers 

that are the subject of an exemption agreement. 



Legislative Service Commission -674- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Estate tax repeal 

(R.C. 5731.02, 5731.19, and 5731.21) 

Estate tax 

The bill effectively repeals the Ohio estate tax by limiting its application to 

estates of decedents dying before January 1, 2013.  Estates of persons dying on or after 

that date would not be subject to the tax.  

Overview of estate tax 

The tax on Ohio residents' estates is levied on the value of the taxable estate, 

which generally is the value of all property in which the decedent had an interest on the 

date of death, minus certain deductions for marital transfers, debts, charitable 

donations, and administration expenses, among other things.  The tax is levied at 

graduated rates, through six tax brackets, ranging from 2% for taxable estates of $40,000 

or less, to $23,600 plus 7% of the excess over $500,000 for estates of more than $500,000.  

A credit is allowed in the amount of $13,900, which equates to a deduction of 

$338,333.  Thus, taxable estates worth $338,333 or less (after allowable deductions) owe 

no tax.  If the gross estate does not exceed that threshold, no tax return must be filed.  

The nonresident estate tax is levied on the portion of a nonresident's estate that is 

located in Ohio.  The tax is determined by dividing the gross value of the property 

located in Ohio by the entire gross estate, wherever located.  That fraction is then 

multiplied by the tax the estate would owe if the decedent had been an Ohio resident.   

Intangible personal property located in Ohio owned by a nonresident is not 

taxed unless it is used to carry on a business within Ohio.  If it is used to carry on a 

business within Ohio, it will not be taxed if the state where the nonresident was 

domiciled would not tax the intangible personal property of decedents domiciled in 

Ohio.  

Estate tax revenues are divided between the state and the local government 

where the tax is deemed to have originated:  80% is distributed to the local government, 

and 20% is distributed to the state General Revenue Fund.  Origination of a tax depends 

upon the type of property, its location when the decedent died, and whether it is owned 

by a resident or by a nonresident. 
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Sales and use tax exemption for customer loyalty coupons 

(R.C. 5739.01(H)(1)(c), (I), and (PPP)) 

The bill excludes from the sales and use tax the value of gift cards or certificates 

redeemed by a consumer in exchange for a vendor's goods or services as part of the 

vendor's awards, loyalty, or promotional program. 

Under the bill, sales and use taxes will not apply to any portion of the price of an 

item or service paid for with a gift card or certificate if (1) the gift card or certificate was 

distributed through a customer awards, loyalty, or promotional program and (2) the 

vendor does not receive any reimbursement or compensation from a third party to 

cover any part of the value of the gift card or certificate.  A past or present purchase by 

the consumer is not considered compensation to the vendor for the gift card or 

certificate.  The exclusion does not apply to gift cards purchased by consumers or sold 

by vendors.  The bill defines a gift card to be a document, card, or certificate or a 

tangible or intangible record that can be redeemed for a dollar value when a purchase is 

made. 

Temporary tax amnesty program 

(Sections 757.40 and 757.41) 

Program description 

The bill requires that the Tax Commissioner administer a temporary tax amnesty 

program from January 1, 2012, to February 15, 2012, with respect to delinquent state 

taxes, tangible personal property taxes, county and transit authority sales taxes, and 

school district income taxes.  The program applies only to taxes that were due and 

payable as of May 1, 2011, which were unreported or underreported, and which remain 

unpaid when the program commences.  The program does not apply to any tax for 

which a notice of assessment or audit has been issued, for which a bill has been issued, 

or for which an audit has been conducted or is pending.  Nor does the program apply to 

any unpaid tax that pertains to a tax period that ends after the provision's immediate 

effective date.  A separate amnesty program is proposed specifically for the use tax, as 

described in the following section. 

If, during the program, a person pays the full amount of delinquent taxes owed 

by the person and one-half of any interest that has accrued on the taxes, the 

Commissioner is required to waive or abate all applicable penalties and the other one-

half of any interest that accrued on the taxes.  The bill authorizes the Commissioner to 

require a person participating in the program to file applicable returns or reports, 

including amended returns or reports.  Persons owing tangible personal property taxes 
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are required to file a return with the Commissioner listing all taxable personal property 

not previously listed by the person on a tangible personal property tax return. 

In addition to receiving a waiver of penalties and one-half of accrued interest, a 

person who participates in the program is immune from criminal prosecution or any 

civil action with respect to the taxes paid through the program.  The bill specifies, 

further, that no assessment may be issued against any person with respect to a tax paid 

through the program. 

The bill requires that the Commissioner issue forms and instructions for the 

program, and take any other actions necessary to implement the program.  The bill 

directs the Commissioner to publicize the program so as to maximize public awareness 

of the program and participation in it. 

Distribution of taxes collected under the program 

Generally, taxes and interest collected under the program will be credited to the 

General Revenue Fund.  However, any tax collected under the program that a taxing 

district would have received had the tax been timely paid is distributed to that taxing 

district.  

Use tax amnesty program 

(R.C. 5703.58; Section 757.42) 

The bill requires the Tax Commissioner to establish and administer a temporary 

use tax amnesty program specifically for consumers owing outstanding use tax.  

Consumers owing use tax are not eligible to participate in the general use tax amnesty 

program created in the bill (Sections 757.40 and 757.41).  The general amnesty program 

is available to out-of-state sellers who register with the Commissioner and are required 

to collect and remit use tax.  These sellers are not authorized to participate in the use tax 

amnesty program.  A consumer that has been assessed for delinquent use tax on or before 

the program begins is not eligible to participate in the program. 

The use tax program begins on the effective date of the section (the 91st day after 

the bill is filed) and runs until May 1, 2013.  Under the program, a consumer with 

outstanding use tax liability is required to self-report and remit the amount of use tax 

owed by the consumer from January 1, 2010 forward.  If the consumer pays the 

required amount of delinquent use tax, the Commissioner is required to waive or abate 

all delinquent use tax owed by the consumer before January 1, 2010, and all applicable 

interest and penalties accruing on any delinquent use tax owed by the consumer.  A 

consumer that makes the required payments pursuant to the program may not be the 

subject of a criminal or civil action with regard to the remitted tax, and the 
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Commissioner may not issue an assessment against the consumer for that tax.  A 

consumer that does not participate in the use tax amnesty program may be audited and 

assessed for delinquent use tax owed on or after January 1, 2008, and any interest or 

penalties that have accrued on that tax.  Under existing law, an assessment against a 

consumer must be issued within ten years after the tax was due, except in cases of 

fraud, for which there is no time limit. 

The Commissioner is required to issue forms and instructions and to adopt rules 

to administer the program and contract with parties for the promotions, computer 

support, or administration of the program.  As soon as practicable after the program 

begins, the Commissioner is required to implement installment payment plans for 

participants in the amnesty program.  No payment plan may last more than 24 months, 

and interest accrues on this amount at the state-set rate that applies to overdue taxes 

(currently 4% per year), and is compounded annually.  If a consumer that has entered into a 

payment plan with the Commissioner fails to make the required payments, the 

Commissioner is required to certify to the Attorney General any unpaid amount for the 

Attorney General to begin collection proceedings. 

Any taxes and interest from payment plans collected under the program are 

credited to the General Revenue Fund or to the appropriate counties or transit 

authorities. 

Electronic tax filing rules 

(R.C. 5703.059) 

The bill authorizes the Tax Commissioner to adopt rules requiring that tax 

returns or payments for employer income tax withholding, use tax, motor fuel tax, 

cigarette and tobacco product excise taxes, and severance tax be filed electronically.  

The electronic filing of returns may be required by use of the Ohio Business Gateway, 

the Ohio "telefile" system (telephone filing), or another electronic method.  (Under 

continuing law, the Ohio Business Gateway is a computer network system that enables 

businesses to electronically file forms with state agencies.)  The electronic payment of 

those taxes may be required in a manner approved by the Commissioner. 

Any taxpayer that is required under the rules to file or pay electronically may 

apply to the Commissioner to be excused from the requirement.  The Commissioner 

must excuse the taxpayer if the taxpayer shows good cause for being excused. 

Any rule adopted that requires electronic filing must be publicized on the 

Department's web site, as well as through seminars, workshops, conferences, or other 

similar outreach activities. 
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Tax notices by alternative delivery means 

(R.C. 5703.37) 

The bill permits the Tax Commissioner, when issuing a notice or order to a 

taxpayer or other person, to send it by certain means other than personally or by 

certified mail.  The Commissioner may send the notice or order by a delivery service 

that postmarks the envelope and records the date when the notice or order was given to 

the delivery service and when it was received and by whom.  The dates of delivery and 

receipt must be recorded electronically in a database that the delivery service keeps in 

the regular course of business.  The delivery service must be available to the general 

public and must be at least as timely and reliable as the U.S. Postal Service. 

Current law requires such notices and orders to be delivered either personally or 

by certified mail unless the intended recipient agrees in writing to accept them by some 

other means. 

Vendor license revocation or suspension notices 

(R.C. 5703.056 (not in bill), 5703.37, 5739.19, and 5739.30) 

The bill authorizes the Tax Commissioner to notify a sales tax vendor that the 

vendor's retail license has been revoked or suspended by using a delivery service other 

than certified mail if the Commissioner finds that the delivery service is timely, reliable, 

and available to the general public and it records the name of the person who accepted 

delivery and the date delivery was accepted.  Current law requires the Commissioner to 

deliver such notices via personal service or by certified mail. 

Voter registration forms with income tax forms 

(R.C. 5703.05) 

The bill eliminates the requirement in current law that the Department of 

Taxation include mail-in voter registration materials with income tax returns in odd-

numbered years.  The Secretary of State is required to bear the costs of printing and 

mailing the materials. 

Ohio inheritance tax claims 

(Section 757.50) 

The Ohio Inheritance Tax was repealed in 1968 and replaced by the Estate Tax 

(Chapter 5731.).  The bill requires all claims and inquiries regarding files for which 
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"ultimate succession" has not been finalized to be submitted to the Department of 

Taxation before 2013. 

Tax expenditures:  joint legislative review committee 

(R.C. 101.36) 

The bill creates a permanent joint legislative committee – composed only of 

legislators – to review all existing "tax expenditures" and to review any proposed tax 

expenditure legislation.  The review of existing tax expenditures would have to be 

scheduled so that each existing tax expenditure would be reviewed at least once every 

eight years.  The committee is named the Joint Tax Expenditure Review Committee. 

"Tax expenditure" 

The bill adopts existing law's definition of "tax expenditure," which currently is 

used to define the content of the Department of Taxation's Tax Expenditure Report that 

accompanies the Governor's proposed biennial operating budget.  Under that 

definition, a tax expenditure is "any tax provision in the Revised Code that exempts, 

either in whole or in part, certain persons, income, goods, services, or property from the 

effect of taxes established in the Revised Code, including, but not limited to, tax 

deductions, exemptions, deferrals, exclusions, allowances, credits, reimbursements, and 

preferential tax rates."  (R.C. 5703.48.)  According to the current Tax Expenditure 

Report, there are currently 128 tax expenditures. 

Duty of committee 

The Joint Tax Expenditure Review Committee is required to establish a schedule 

for reviewing each existing tax expenditure at least once every eight years.  The 

committee may order tax expenditures for review according to the order of their 

enactment or modification or according to the beneficiaries, the objectives, or the policy 

rationale.  The committee must recommend whether each tax expenditure under review 

should be continued, modified, repealed, or scheduled for further review later.  The 

committee may recommend "accountability standards" for future reviews of a tax 

expenditure. 

The committee also is required to review each bill that proposes to enact or 

modify a tax expenditure after the bill is first introduced and before it is scheduled for a 

vote in a legislative committee.  After the review, the committee must issue a copy of its 

review to each member of the legislative committee the bill was referred to. 
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Review criteria 

The bill sets forth the following factors the review committee may consider in 

reviewing existing or proposed tax expenditures: 

--The number and classes of persons that benefit from the tax expenditure; 

--State and local fiscal effects; 

--Public policy objectives, for which the committee may consider legislative 

history, the sponsor's intent, and the tax expenditure's effects on economic 

development, "high-wage jobs," and "community stabilization"; 

--The success of the tax expenditure in meeting its objectives; 

--Whether the objectives could be served by other means or with less fiscal cost; 

--Whether the objectives could have been accomplished by appropriations 

instead of tax expenditures; 

--Whether the tax expenditure is more expansive than intended or has any other 

unintended effects, including giving an unfair competitive advantage to recipients at 

the expense of other businesses; 

--The extent of any negative effects on recipients from ending a tax expenditure; 

--The feasibility of modifying a tax expenditure to include adjustments or 

recapture in case recipients do not comply with its terms. 

Proposed tax expenditures 

The bill requires any bill introduced in the General Assembly that proposes to 

enact or modify a tax expenditure to include a statement explaining its objectives and 

the sponsor's intent. 

Report 

The committee is required to issue a report each year of its determinations and 

deliver a copy of the report to the Governor, the Speaker of the House, the Senate 

President, and the minority leaders of each chamber. 

Committee composition 

The committee is to be composed of eight members:  the chairpersons of each 

chamber's tax-related standing committees, the ranking minority members of those 
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committees, and two appointees from each chamber, appointed by the Speaker and 

Senate President, respectively.  Initial appointments must be made within 30 days after 

the provision's (90-day) effective date.  Terms on the committee coincide with the term 

of each General Assembly. 

Meetings 

The committee must meet at least twice per year.  Its meetings are open to the 

public to the extent required under the existing Open Meetings Law (R.C. 121.22), and 

the committee must allow any person to present testimony or evidence related to a tax 

expenditure.  It must hold its first meeting within 90 days after the provision's effective 

date. 

Joint vocational school districts:  notices of pending TIFs 

(R.C. 5709.40, 5709.41, 5709.42, 5709.73, and 5709.78) 

The bill requires counties, townships, and municipal corporations contemplating 

tax increment financing-type property tax exemptions (TIFs) to notify joint vocational 

school districts (JVSDs) of the pending exemption.  The bill also authorizes JVSDs to 

exercise an effective veto of any such exemption if more than 75% of the value of 

property is to be exempted or if the exemption would last for more than ten years.  

Under ongoing law, such notices must be given to city, local, and exempted village 

school districts, and those kinds of districts may veto a pending TIF if it would exempt 

more than 75% of otherwise taxable value or last for more than ten years.  (TIFs may 

last for up to 30 years if school districts do not object.)   

If the political subdivision proposing the TIF compensates a JVSD for all the 

taxes the JVSD would receive if the exemption were not granted, the political 

subdivision need not obtain the JVSD's prior approval.  This is equivalent to the existing 

law for city, local, and exempted village school districts. 

Qualified energy project tax exemption 

(R.C. 5727.75) 

The bill extends by three years the deadlines by which the owner or lessee of a 

qualified energy project must submit a property tax exemption application, submit a 

construction commencement application, begin construction, and place into service an 

energy facility using renewable energy resources (wind, solar, biomass, etc.) or 

advanced energy technology (clean coal, advanced nuclear, or cogeneration) to qualify 

for an ongoing real and tangible personal property tax exemption. 
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Under current law, with respect to an energy facility using renewable energy 

resources, the owner or lessee must submit an exemption application to the Director of 

Development, must submit a construction commencement application to the Power 

Siting Board (or, for smaller projects, to any other state or local agency having 

jurisdiction), and must commence construction before 2012.  The owner or lessee must 

place the energy facility into service before 2013.  The bill extends each of these 

deadlines by three years. 

With respect to an energy facility using advanced energy technology, current law 

requires the owner or lessee to submit an exemption application to the Director of 

Development before 2014 and to place the energy facility into service before 2017.  The 

bill extends each of these deadlines by three years. 

Enterprise zone extension 

(R.C. 5709.62, 5709.63, and 5709.632) 

Under continuing law, counties and municipal corporations may designate areas 

within the county or municipal corporation as ʺenterprise zones."  After designating an 

area as an enterprise zone, the county or municipal corporation must petition the 

Director of Development for certification of the designated enterprise zone.  If the 

Director certifies a designated enterprise zone, the county or municipal corporation 

may then enter into enterprise zone agreements with businesses for the purpose of 

fostering economic development in the enterprise zone.  Under an enterprise zone 

agreement, the business agrees to establish or expand within the enterprise zone or to 

relocate its operations to the zone in exchange for tax exemptions and other incentives. 

Current law authorizes local governments to enter into enterprise zone 

agreements through October 15, 2011. The bill extends the time during which local 

governments may enter these agreements to October 15, 2012. 

Commercial activity tax:  casino revenue 

(R.C. 5751.01(F)(2)(gg) and 5753.01) 

The bill specifies that the commercial activity tax applies to the gross receipts of 

casino operators without any deduction for casino user winnings and payouts.  Further, 

the bill clarifies that the definition of "gross casino revenue" used for purposes of 

calculating the operator's casino tax liability is specific to the casino tax and has no 

relation to the definition of "gross receipts" for the purpose of calculating the operator's 

commercial activity tax liability.   
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Existing law imposes the commercial activity tax on the basis of "gross receipts," 

which is defined to mean "the total amount realized by a person, without deduction for 

the cost of goods sold or other expenses incurred, that contributes to the production of 

gross income of the person, including the fair market value of any property and any 

services received, and any debt transferred or forgiven as consideration."  Several 

categories of specific exclusions are allowed, none of which appear to pertain to casino 

wagering revenue. 

The existing casino-specific wagering tax is imposed on "gross casino revenue," 

which is defined to mean "the total amount of money exchanged for the purchase of 

chips, tokens, tickets, electronic cards, or similar objects by casino patrons, less 

winnings paid to wagerers." 

Ohio Historical Society income tax check-off 

(R.C. 149.308 and 5747.113) 

The bill authorizes taxpayers who are due a refund of overpaid Ohio income tax 

to specify that all or a part of the refund be paid to the Ohio Historical Society.  

Contributions are to be credited to the Ohio Historical Society Income Tax Contribution 

Fund, a fund created by the bill.  The Society must use money in the fund in furtherance 

of its public functions as provided in R.C. 149.30 to 149.31 and other laws (summarized 

below).  In addition to income tax refund contributions, the fund may accept direct 

contributions.  Currently, there are three income tax refund contributions or 

ʺcheck‐offsʺ:  one for the benefit of the Natural Areas and Preserves Fund; one for the 

benefit of the Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund; and one for the benefit of the 

Military Injury Relief Fund.  The Natural Areas and Preserves Fund and the Nongame 

and Endangered Wildlife Fund are administered by the Department of Natural 

Resources.  The Military Injury Relief Fund is administered by the Department of Job 

and Family Services for the benefit of military personnel injured while serving under 

Operation Iraqi Freedom or Operating Enduring Freedom (Afghanistan).   

As with the existing check‐offs, the bill's Ohio Historical Society check‐off would 

authorize taxpayers to direct that all or part of their refund be credited to the 

designated fund. The designation is made on the annual income tax return.  The 

designation may not be revoked once the designation is made and the return is filed. 

The bill requires the Ohio Historical Society to submit a biennial report on the 

effectiveness of the check‐off to the General Assembly in January of every odd-

numbered year.  The report must include information about how the Society spent 

money from the Ohio Historical Society Income Tax Contribution Fund and the amount 

of money contributed (including both the amount contributed through the refund 
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check‐off and the amount contributed directly).  The report must provide this 

information for each of the five preceding years. 

The Department of Taxation is entitled to reimbursement for its costs of 

administering the check‐offs.  Reimbursement currently is paid from the existing check-

off funds in equal one‐third shares.  The reimbursement may not exceed 2‐1/2% of the 

total amount contributed.  Under the bill, the reimbursement would be divided in equal 

one‐fourth shares among the two DNR funds, the Military Injury Relief Fund, and the 

Ohio Historical Society Income Tax Contribution Fund.  The reimbursement would 

continue to be limited to 2‐1/2% of contributions. 

Income tax refunds may be contributed to the Ohio Historical Society beginning 

with taxable years that begin in or after 2011. 

Ohio Historical Society 

The Ohio Historical Society is a state‐chartered, nonprofit corporation having the 

purpose of promoting knowledge of history and archeology, and performing any other 

public functions prescribed by law.  (R.C. 149.30.)  Among its prescribed functions are 

the following: 

 Holding and maintaining state memorials and certain state‐owned 

properties and making them available for the public, and holding and 

maintaining other sites; 

 Administering state archives and preserving various historical documents; 

 Administering the state historical museum; 

 Publishing materials and conducting research about history, archeology, 

and natural sciences; 

 Assisting local historical societies; 

 Establishing criteria for the designation of historic and archeological sites. 

Combined school district income tax and property tax levy 

(R.C. 145.56, 319.301, 3305.08, 3306.02, 3307.41, 3309.66, 3316.041, 3316.06, 3316.08, 

3317.08, 5505.22, 5705.214, 5705.29, 5748.01, 5748.05, and 5748.081; Section 757.90) 

The bill authorizes school districts to levy both a property tax for a fixed amount 

of revenue and an income tax through voter approval of a single ballot question.  
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Current law allows school districts to propose both types of levy questions at a single 

election, but not as a single issue on the ballot. 

Levy proposal 

To propose a combined levy, a school district board of education, by a vote of 

two-thirds of its members, must adopt a resolution declaring the necessity of raising a 

specified amount from each tax levy in order to support school operations.  The 

resolution must be certified to the Tax Commissioner, who must estimate the income 

and property tax rates that would be necessary to raise the amount required to be raised 

from the income tax levy, and to the county auditor, who must calculate the property 

tax millage necessary to raise the amount required to be raised from the property tax 

levy. 

After receiving the Tax Commissioner and county auditor estimates, the board of 

education, by a vote of two-thirds of its members, may adopt a resolution proposing to 

submit the combined levy question to voters at a special election (i.e., any of the four 

election dates each year).  The resolution must state the income tax rate and property 

tax millage, the purpose of the income tax, the amount of money to be raised from the 

property tax, the date on which the income tax will take effect (which must be January 1 

of any year following the year in which the question is submitted), and the tax list upon 

which the property tax will first be levied (which may be the current year's tax list). 

The resolution must also specify the duration of each levy.  Either tax may be 

levied for a specified number of years or for a continuing period of time; however, if the 

property tax is levied for a specified number of years, the number of years cannot 

exceed ten.  Additionally, the resolution must state whether the income tax will be 

levied on all the taxable income of both resident individuals and estates, or only on the 

earnings of individuals.  (Similar to other school district income tax levies, if the school 

district levies the income tax on both individuals and estates, the district may later 

replace the tax with a tax only on individuals' earnings.) 

Submission of levy to voters 

After the board adopts a resolution, the matter must be presented to school 

district voters in a single ballot question on the date of the special election specified in 

the resolution.  Notice of the election must be published in one or more newspapers of 

general circulation in the school district once a week for two consecutive weeks before 

the election.  (Under an unrelated law proposed in the bill, the second notice may be 

published in abbreviated form.  R.C. 7.16.)  Additionally, if the board of elections 

maintains a web site, notice of the election must also be posted on that web site for 30 

days before the election. 
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If the taxes are approved by voters, the school district may issue notes in 

anticipation of a portion of the proceeds from each tax. 

Exemption from H.B. 920 tax reduction law 

Similar to other property taxes levied for a fixed amount, a property tax levy that 

may be combined with an income tax levy under the bill is exempt from the H.B. 920 tax 

reduction law.  (The H.B. 920 tax reduction law operates to prevent the appreciation of 

real estate values from resulting in corresponding increases in property taxes.  

Generally, if the proceeds from a tax levied on real property in one year will exceed the 

proceeds from that tax, levied on that same property, in the preceding year, then the 

amount of the tax charged in the current year must be reduced by the difference.  

However, this reduction does not apply to a tax levy that is designed specifically to 

raise a fixed amount of revenue each year.) 

Annual limitation on levy proposals 

A school district may propose a combined income tax and property tax levy 

question up to twice per year.  If the board submits the question more than once, at least 

one of the elections at which the question is submitted must be the November general 

election. 

Levy reduction or repeal 

As with other school district levies, voters may initiate a petition to repeal a 

school district income tax if it is levied for more than five years or to reduce a property 

tax levied for a continuing period of time. 

Levy renewal 

When one or both of the taxes levied through a combined levy are set to expire, 

the board of education may propose to renew either or both of the taxes through the 

submission of separate ballot questions.  Alternatively, if both taxes are set to expire in 

the same calendar year, the board may propose a single ballot question to renew both 

existing taxes. 

Applicability to pending proceedings 

The bill provides that the provisions authorizing a combined income tax and 

property tax levy may apply to proceedings that are pending or completed, elections 

that are authorized, conducted, or certified, or securities that are authorized or issued 

on the date those provisions take effect. 



Legislative Service Commission -687- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Agricultural sales tax exemptions 

Agricultural "direct use," "use on use," and land tile exemptions 

(R.C. 5739.01 and 5739.02; Section 757.60) 

The bill modifies the statutory language governing the agricultural "use on use" 

and "direct use" sales and use tax exemptions by applying them to sales of tangible 

personal property used "primarily" for producing tangible personal property used for 

farming, agriculture, horticulture, or floriculture or used "primarily" for those purposes.  

The bill also modifies the exemption for agriculture tile by requiring the tile to be used 

"primarily," instead of directly, for production in farming, agriculture, horticulture, or 

floriculture, respectively. 

Under current law, sales of tangible personal property to farmers, agriculturists, 

horticulturists, and floriculturists who purchase such items for the purpose of 

incorporating them into tangible personal property to be produced for sale or to use 

them "directly" to produce other things for sale ("use on use"), and sales of articles to be 

used in farming, agriculture, horticulture, or floriculture "directly" in producing 

tangible personal property for sale ("direct use"), are not subject to sales and use tax.  

Under current law, agricultural land tile is fired clay or concrete tile, or flexible or rigid 

perforated plastic pipe or tubing, incorporated into a subsurface drainage system 

appurtenant to land used or to be used "directly" in production by farming, agriculture, 

horticulture, or floriculture. 

Livestock structure exemption 

The bill removes horses and fish from the definition of excluded livestock for the 

purpose of the ongoing sales and use tax exemption for livestock-related property, 

thereby extending the exemption to purchases of building materials and related services 

that are incorporated into a building or structure used for keeping fish or horses for 

food.  The current exemption covers purchases of materials or services incorporated 

into buildings and structures used to house, feed, raise, or shelter livestock kept for 

food or other agricultural purposes, store or handle feed, or handle manure and waste. 

The bill also exempts from sales and use taxation purchases of any building 

materials and related services that are incorporated into a building or structure used for 

keeping "captive deer" by specifying that such deer are "livestock" for the purpose of the 

existing exemption for livestock structures.  "Captive deer" are deer and other cervidae 

that have been legally acquired, or their offspring that are privately owned for 

agricultural or farming purposes. 
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The bill states that its changes to the livestock structures exemption are intended 

to clarify the General Assembly's intent of the exemption when enacted. 

Transfers from school district bond fund or bond retirement fund 

(R.C. 5705.14) 

Continuing law requires political subdivisions and school districts to establish 

different funds into which particular types of revenue are deposited, including a 

general fund, a sinking fund for the retirement of non-serial bonds, a bond retirement 

fund for the retirement of serial bonds, a special fund for each special tax levy, and a 

special bond fund for each bond issue.  The subdivision or school district may transfer 

money between its funds only if the type of transfer is specifically authorized in law.   

Under current law, surplus money in a bond fund may be transferred only to the 

sinking fund or bond retirement fund.  Similarly, money in a bond retirement fund may 

be transferred to the sinking fund or, if the subdivision does not have a sinking fund 

and if the Court of Common Pleas approves the transfer, to any other fund.  Surplus 

money in a bond retirement fund may be transferred only after the retirement of all 

debt obligations of the fund.   

The bill authorizes transfers from a bond fund or bond retirement fund to a 

permanent improvement fund, even if all of the obligations payable from the fund have 

not been retired.  However, the bill limits the availability of this new option to school 

districts that receive approval for such a transfer from the county budget commission.  

When approving such transfers, a county budget commission must determine that the 

money to be transferred will not be necessary to meet any outstanding obligations of 

the fund after considering the amount of outstanding obligations, the balance of the 

fund, and the fund's revenue sources. 

School district levy for cultural center 

(R.C. 5705.21) 

The bill clarifies that, if a school district seeks to levy a property tax for the 

purpose of operating a cultural center, the ballot must state that the levy is for the 

purpose of operating the cultural center.  Current law requires the ballot to state the 

purpose of a levy. 



Legislative Service Commission -689- Sub. H.B. 153 
  As Passed by the Senate 

 

Property tax levy for the payment of police and fire services personnel 

(R.C. 5705.19) 

Existing law allows political subdivisions to levy property taxes to pay for fire 

and police services and related property within the subdivision.  The authorizing 

statute enumerates various specific categories of expenses that the levy's revenue may 

be spent for. 

In addition to such expenses as the acquisition and maintenance of firefighting, 

ambulance, or emergency medical services equipment and buildings, the proceeds of a 

fire services levy may used for the payment of "permanent, part-time, or volunteer 

firefighters or firefighting companies."  The bill specifically authorizes subdivisions to 

also use the proceeds of a fire services tax levy to pay "emergency medical service, 

administrative, and communications" personnel involved in the subdivision's 

firefighting or emergency medical service operations. 

Similarly, in addition to non-personnel related expenses, the proceeds of a police 

services levy may be used for the payment of "permanent police personnel."  The bill 

specifically adds the payment of part-time police personnel as a permitted expense, as 

well as permanent or part-time communications or administrative personnel involved 

in the operation of the police department. 

In regard to both types of levies, the proceeds from a levy for the payment of 

personnel may be used to make employer contributions to retirement or pension funds 

for those personnel. 

Tax certificate sales 

(R.C. 5721.30, 5721.31, 5721.32, 5721.37, 5721.38, and 5721.42) 

Continuing law authorizes county treasurers to sell delinquent real estate tax 

"certificates," which represent a legal claim on delinquent taxes owed on real estate.  

This authority enables taxing authorities to recover unpaid taxes before the ordinary tax 

foreclosure proceedings are concluded.  The lien for the taxes is essentially transferred 

to private persons, who then may initiate foreclosure proceedings or request the county 

treasurer to initiate proceedings on the certificate owner's behalf.  The certificates bear 

interest at a rate of up to 18% per year.  The interest rate is set by either bid (for 

auctioned certificates, with the lowest rate bid the winner) or by negotiation (private 

sale).  The interest accrues until the certificate is redeemed, either by the holder 

initiating foreclosure or the delinquent taxes being paid. 
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Foreclosure initiation deadline 

Under current law, the certificate holder must initiate a foreclosure action 

between one year and six years after the date the tax certificate was sold if the certificate 

was sold in a public auction, or not later than six years after the date the certificate was 

delivered if the certificate was sold in a private sale.  In effect, there is a five-year period 

during which a foreclosure must be initiated.  The six-year deadline is extended if the 

certificate holder enters into a payment plan with the property owner or other person 

entitled to redeem the property (e.g., lienholder).  The deadline also is extended if under 

federal bankruptcy law the property becomes protected by the automatic stay, in which 

case, the deadline to foreclose is the later of six years or 180 days after the property is no 

longer property of the bankruptcy estate. 

The bill authorizes county treasurers to shorten the five-year period during 

which foreclosures must be initiated to as little as two years.  With respect to certificates 

sold at public auction, the treasurer may establish a deadline of between three and six 

years after the certificate is sold.  With respect to private sales, the treasurer may 

negotiate a deadline with the purchaser of between three and six years after the date the 

certificate is delivered to the purchaser.  As under current law, the deadline is extended 

if the certificate holder enters into a payment plan or if, before the deadline, the 

property owner files a petition in bankruptcy.  If a bankruptcy is filed, the deadline is 

extended to the later of the original deadline or 180 days after the property is no longer 

property of the bankruptcy estate. 

Continuing law grants to the holder of a tax certificate a first right of refusal to 

purchase the next tax certificate issued with respect to the same parcel.  Under the bill, 

if the certificate holder purchases the subsequent certificate, the foreclosure initiation 

deadline with respect to the subsequent certificate is the same deadline (date) the 

treasurer established for the certificate giving rise to the first right of refusal.  

Payment plans 

Current law authorizes the owner of a tax-delinquent parcel subject to a tax 

certificate and certain other persons (e.g., lienholders) to redeem the parcel by entering 

into a payment plan with the tax certificate holder.  With respect to parcels subject to a 

tax certificate sold in a private sale, the payment plan may be entered at any time after 

the certificate is sold, but the last installment required under the plan may not be due 

after six years after the date the certificate was sold. 

The bill provides that the last installment may not be due after the expiration of 

the deadline by which the certificate holder may initiate a foreclosure action. 
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Advertisement of public sale 

Under continuing law, a tax certificate may be sold in a public auction or in a 

private sale.  When the sale is by public auction, the treasurer must publish notice of the 

sale by placing an advertisement in a newspaper once a week for two consecutive 

weeks.  The advertisement must include the date, time, and place of the auction; 

descriptions of the properties; and the names of the property owners of record. 

The bill authorizes the public sale to be published alternatively "in an electronic 

format." 

Delinquent Tax and Assessment Collection Fund 

(Sections 640.10 and 640.11) 

The bill extends until December 31, 2012, the authority of a prosecuting attorney 

or treasurer of a county with a population of between 800,000 and 900,000 – currently 

only Hamilton County – to determine that the amount of money appropriated to the 

respective office from the Delinquent Tax and Assessment Collection Fund exceeds the 

amount required to be used by that office in collecting additional delinquent taxes and 

assessments.  The prosecutor or treasurer may spend up to 50% of the excess to pay the 

expenses of operating the respective office that otherwise would be payable from 

appropriations from the county general fund.  This current authority, originally 

authorized by Section 6 of Am. Sub. S.B. 124 of the 128th General Assembly, had been 

scheduled to expire on December 31, 2011. 

Franchise tax credit for research expenses 

(R.C. 5733.351; Section 757.93) 

Under ongoing law, a credit is allowed against the corporation franchise tax 

(CFT) for tax years 2004 through 2008 equal to 7% of the amount of qualified research 

expenses "incurred . . . by the taxpayer" during the taxable year that exceeded the 

taxpayer's average amount of research expenses over the three previous taxable years.  

The credit is nonrefundable but may be carried forward for up to seven years.297 

                                                 
297 "Taxpayer" is a defined term meaning a corporation subject to the CFT, which before tax year 2010 

included corporations generally, but not insurance companies, and for tax years 2010 and thereafter 

includes only financial institutions and certain other financial-related corporations.  (R.C. 5733.04.)  

"Qualified research expenses" is a term defined under section 41 of the Internal Revenue Code.  It means, 

generally, research to discover technological information useful in the development of a new or improved 

business component, substantially all of the activities of which constitute experimentation to determine 

whether the component performs well.  It excludes software developed for internal use. 
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In the case of a taxpayer who is a member of a "qualifying controlled group" 

(e.g., the taxpayer owns another taxpayer or the two are both owned by a third 

taxpayer, in which case the Tax Commissioner may treat them collectively as a single 

taxpayer for purposes of computing CFT liability), the credit is computed as if all 

taxpayers are one single taxpayer.  The credit may then be allocated to such taxpayers 

in any manner selected by the taxpayers. 

The bill states that an insurance company may be included in the qualifying 

consolidated group, even though insurance companies are not subject to the 

corporation franchise tax, and therefore not "taxpayers."  (Insurance companies are 

subject to a different tax measured by premiums received to cover risks in Ohio.)  The 

bill declares that the amendment is a clarification of existing law. 

County Delinquent Tax and Assessment Collection Fund 

(R.C. 321.261, with conforming changes in 149.38, 323.73, 323.75, 5721.19, and 5723.18) 

The bill divides each county's Delinquent Tax and Assessment Collection Fund 

(DTAC Fund) into two separate funds, one for the expenses of the county treasurer and 

one for the expenses of the county prosecuting attorney.  Under current law, the county 

DTAC Fund receives 5% of all delinquent real property, personal property, and 

manufactured mobile home taxes and assessments collected in the county, including 5% 

of the delinquent taxes and assessments collected on property sold at a tax foreclosure 

sale.  The Fund also receives 20% of the proceeds from the public auction of abandoned 

lands (i.e., unoccupied tax-delinquent real property foreclosed through nonjudicial 

proceedings) and 10% of the taxes and assessments collected from the sale of forfeited 

land (i.e., tax-delinquent real property forfeited to the state pursuant to tax-foreclosure 

proceedings). 

The county treasurer and prosecuting attorney are each apportioned one-half of 

the money allocated to the county DTAC Fund.  The officers use these allocations to pay 

for the costs each office incurs in collecting delinquent taxes and assessments.  The 

county treasurer may also use part of an appropriation to support a county land 

reutilization corporation.   

The bill instead requires counties to establish a separate treasurer's DTAC Fund 

and prosecuting attorney's DTAC Fund, each of which would receive 2.5% of the 

delinquent taxes and assessments collected in the county.  The separate funds would 

also receive one-half of the delinquent taxes and assessments received from tax 

foreclosure or forfeiture sales.  However, all 20% of the proceeds from public auctions 

of abandoned lands must be credited to the treasurer's DTAC Fund. 
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Use of surplus money in a DTAC Fund 

Under current law, if either the county treasurer or prosecuting attorney 

determines that the officer's appropriation from the county DTAC Fund will exceed the 

amount the officer will need for the purposes of collecting delinquent taxes and 

assessments for the current year, the officer may spend that surplus "to prevent 

residential mortgage foreclosures," "to address problems associated with other 

foreclosed property," and, in some counties, to help local governments abate nuisances 

incident to foreclosures.  The bill extends this option to the separate officer's funds. 

The bill additionally allows the county treasurer or prosecuting attorney to 

suspend the crediting of delinquent taxes and assessment to the officer's respective fund 

if the balance of the fund exceeds three times the total amount deposited in the fund in 

the previous year.  The officer must direct the county auditor to suspend allocations to 

the officer's fund for the upcoming year before October 20 of the current year.  Any 

allocations diverted from a treasurer's or prosecuting attorney's DTAC Fund must be 

distributed instead to all taxing units in the county. 

Allocations to county land reutilization corporations 

Under current law, a board of county commissioners may deposit up to an 

additional 5% of delinquent tax collections into the county DTAC Fund for the benefit 

of a county land reutilization corporation.  The bill requires that any such additional 

amounts be deposited in the county treasurer's DTAC Fund.  

Applicability of laws affecting county DTAC Funds 

The bill provides that current law applicable to county DTAC Funds related to 

annual accounting requirements, records retention, and employee travel expenses also 

apply to the respective treasurer's and prosecuting attorney's DTAC Funds.   

Commercial activity tax exclusion for qualified uranium receipts 

(R.C. 5751.01(F)(2)(ii) and 5751.41) 

The bill provides an exemption from the commercial activity tax for receipts 

received from transactions that occur within a "uranium enrichment zone" certified by 

the Tax Commissioner.  A "uranium enrichment zone" includes all of the real property 

comprising a uranium enrichment facility that is licensed by the U.S. Nuclear 

Regulatory Commission and that is or was owned or controlled by the U.S. Department 

of Energy or its successor. 
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Uranium enrichment zone certification 

The Tax Commissioner must certify a uranium enrichment zone before the 

exemption proposed in the bill applies to receipts from transactions occurring within 

the zone.  Any person that owns, leases, or operates real or personal property 

constituting or located within a uranium enrichment zone may apply for the 

certification. 

Within 60 days of receiving an application for certification, the Tax 

Commissioner must approve the application if the property meets the definition of a 

uranium enrichment zone.  If an application is denied, the Tax Commissioner must 

state the reasons for the denial.  The Tax Commissioner may request additional 

information before approving or denying an application. 

An applicant may appeal the denial of an application to the Board of Tax 

Appeals.  In such a case, the Tax Commissioner must conditionally certify the 

applicant's property until final resolution of the appeal.  If the Board of Tax Appeals 

ultimately confirms the denial of the application, the applicant must pay any taxes, 

interest, or penalties due on receipts that were excluded from the commercial activity 

tax but that should have been taxed. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (DOT) 

 In regard to the authority recently granted to the Ohio Department of 

Transportation (ODOT) to enter into public-private partnership agreements, 

eliminates (1) a requirement for the agreements to be for a period not to exceed the 

biennium, (2) authorization for an agreement to include certain costs of 

transportation facilities prior to acquisition and construction of the facilities, and (3) 

language specifying that the agreement does not constitute a debt or pledge of the 

state's faith and credit and that the operator has no right to have taxes or excises 

levied for payment under the agreement. 

 Permits the Director of Transportation to enter into agreements with an agency of 

the United States government for the purpose of dedicating staff to the review of 

environmentally related documents submitted by ODOT that are necessary for the 

approval of federal permits. 

 Permits money in the existing Airport Assistance Fund, which consists of aircraft 

license taxes and fines, to be used to pay operating costs associated with ODOT's 

Office of Aviation. 
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 Permits the Director to expend funds for the design, construction, inspection, 

maintenance, repair, and replacement of bridge and bridge approaches for the 

Ironton-Russell Bridge, which spans the Ohio River between Ironton, Ohio, and 

Russell, Kentucky, and to expend funds in the same manner for the bridge that will 

replace the Ironton-Russell Bridge. 

 Provides that an applicant for a certificate of qualification from ODOT in an amount 

of $5 million or more, rather than $2 million or more as specified in current law, 

must submit to the Director of Transportation a financial audit report prepared and 

attested to by an independent certified public accountant, and an applicant for such 

a certificate of qualification from ODOT in an amount less than $5 million, rather 

than less than $2 million as specified in current law, must submit a financial review 

report to the Director. 

 Eliminates the wheel or axle load limit exemptions that apply to vehicles 

transporting certain specific materials if the vehicles do not exceed the existing gross 

vehicle weight limit by more than the established weight limit tolerance (either 5% 

or 7.5%) for the particular vehicle and load. 

 

 

ODOT public-private partnership agreements 

(R.C. 5501.73) 

The bill eliminates the following provisions from the language governing the 

Ohio Department of Transportation's (ODOT) recently established authority to enter 

into public-private agreements related to transportation facilities:  (1)  a requirement 

that agreements be for a period not to exceed the then current two-year period for 

which appropriations have been made to ODOT, while providing that any agreement 

may be renewed for succeeding two-year periods when the General Assembly makes 

appropriations to ODOT for each successive biennium, (2) authority for the public-

private agreements to include any agreement by ODOT with respect to any costs of 

transportation facilities to be included prior to acquisition and construction of the 

facilities, (3) a declaration that public-private agreements do not constitute a debt or 

pledge of the faith and credit of the state, or of any political subdivision of the state, and 

the operator has no right to have taxes or excises levied by the General Assembly, or the 

taxing authority of any political subdivision of the state, for payments under the 

agreement, and (4) a requirement for public-private agreements to contain a statement 

to the effect of that declaration. 
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Agreements by the Ohio Department of Transportation regarding federal 
review of environmentally related documents 

(Section 755.10) 

The bill allows the Director of Transportation to enter into agreements with the 

United States or any U.S. department or agency solely for the purpose of dedicating 

staff to the expeditious and timely review of environmentally related documents 

submitted by ODOT, as necessary for the approval of federal permits.  Such an 

agreement may include provisions for advance payment by ODOT for labor and all 

other identifiable costs of providing services by the United States or any U.S. 

department or agency as may be estimated by the United States or the department or 

agency.  The bill specifically includes the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Forest 

Service, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service as federal agencies with which the Director may enter into agreements but does 

not limit the Director's authority to those agencies.  The Director must submit a request 

to the Controlling Board indicating the amount of the agreement, the services to be 

performed by the United States or the U.S. department or agency, and the 

circumstances giving rise to the agreement. 

This provision was included in early versions of the most recent Transportation 

Budget bill, Am. Sub. H.B. 114 of the 129th General Assembly, but the Legislative 

Service Commission inadvertently deleted it from later versions of the bill. 

Airport Assistance Fund 

(R.C. 4561.21) 

The bill permits money in the existing Airport Assistance Fund, which consists of 

aircraft license taxes and fines, to be used to pay operating costs associated with 

ODOT's Office of Aviation.  Currently, money in the Fund may be used only for 

maintenance and capital improvements to publicly owned airports. 

Ironton-Russell Bridge 

(R.C. 5501.44) 

In 1982, the Ironton-Russell Bridge, which spans the Ohio River between Ironton, 

Ohio, and Russell, Kentucky, was transferred from the Ohio Bridge Commission to 

ODOT and the Commission was abolished.  The bill permits the Director of 

Transportation to expend funds for the design, construction, inspection, maintenance, 

repair, and replacement of bridge and bridge approaches for the Ironton-Russell bridge.  

Following the replacement of that bridge, the Director may expend funds for the design, 
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construction, inspection, maintenance, repair, and replacement of bridge and bridge 

approaches.  The bill permits the expenditure of funds in this manner, notwithstanding 

two provisions of current law.  The first provision prescribes permissible uses by ODOT 

of money in the Highway Operating Fund and the second provides that an agreement 

with another state, a subdivision of another state, or the United States relative to 

cooperation in the repair, maintenance, or construction of a bridge crossing a stream 

that forms a boundary line of Ohio cannot obligate Ohio to expend more than the cost 

of the construction of the portion of the bridge that is located within Ohio and not more 

than 50% of the maintenance costs of such a bridge, with a maximum annual 

maintenance obligation for Ohio of $300,000. 

ODOT certificate of qualification for bidders 

(R.C. 5525.04) 

Most classes of prospective bidders on the ODOT construction project must be 

prequalified as to their competence, responsibility, compliance with affirmative action 

programs, and possession of specified financial resources.  A prospective bidder who is 

found to possess the required qualifications is issued a certificate of qualification, which 

fixes the aggregate amount of work that the applicant may have under construction and 

uncompleted at any one time and may limit the class of work for which the person may 

submit bids. 

The bill provides that an applicant for a certificate of qualification in an amount 

of $5 million or more, rather than $2 million or more as specified in current law, must 

submit to the Director of Transportation a financial audit report prepared and attested 

to by an independent certified public accountant.  The bill also provides that an 

applicant for a certificate of qualification in an amount less than $5 million, rather than 

less than $2 million as specified in current law, must submit a financial review report to 

the Director.  An audit provides a higher level of assurance than a review as to the 

fairness of presentation of the financial statements of the prospective bidders. 

Motor vehicle weight limit tolerances 

(R.C. 5577.042 and 5577.043) 

The bill eliminates a provision recently enacted by Am. Sub. H.B. 114 (the 

Transportation Appropriations Bill) that exempted certain specified vehicles from a 

penalty for violating the wheel or axle load limits that otherwise would apply to the 

vehicles if the vehicle did not exceed the existing gross vehicle weight limit by more 

than the established weight limit tolerance for the particular vehicle and load of either 

5% or 7.5%.  The bill does not affect (1) the 7.5% weight tolerance for a coal truck, farm 

truck and farm machinery, log truck, and solid waste haul vehicle or (2) the 5% weight 
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tolerance for a surface mining truck transporting minerals, a vehicle transporting hot 

mix asphalt material, a vehicle transporting concrete, a vehicle transporting manure, 

turf, sod, or silage, and a vehicle transporting chips, sawdust, mulch, bark, pulpwood, 

biomass, or firewood, when those vehicles are being operated under the conditions 

specified for each type of vehicle. 

 

TREASURER OF STATE (TOS) 

 Provides for the Treasurer of State to supersede and replace the Ohio Building 

Authority (OBA) as the issuing authority in all matters relating to the issuance of 

obligations for the financing of capital facilities for housing branches and agencies of 

state government and for the financing of community or technical college capital 

facilities pursuant to the Bond Intercept Program. 

 Does not repeal the OBA's current bond issuance authority for these purposes. 

 Excepts from the transfer of authority, OBA's duties, interests, and responsibilities 

regarding the James A. Rhodes State Office Tower, the Vern Riffe Center for 

Government and the Arts, the Frank J. Lausche State Office Building, the Michael V. 

DiSalle Government Center, the Oliver R. Ocasek Government Office Building, and 

the State of Ohio Computer Center. 

 Creates four specific bond service trust funds used for the payment of bond service 

charges for bond sales credited to four specific building funds that the bill 

consolidates into the bond authority law. 

 Requires each governmental entity to submit reportable information regarding its 

public employees and elected officials annually to the Treasurer of State, and 

requires the Treasurer of State to make the information publicly available. 

 Expands the financial instruments that the Treasurer of State may place with an 

eligible lending institution under the Small Business Linked Deposit Program for 

purposes of lending money to eligible small businesses at a rate below the present 

borrowing rate. 

 Authorizes the Treasurer of State to offer, and to administer, a supplemental 

employee compensation deferral plan for eligible employees of a school district or 

community college. 
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Bond issuance authority of the Ohio Building Authority 

(R.C. 123.10, 154.02, 154.07, 154.11, 154.24, 154.25, 3333.90, and 5120.105; Section 701.50) 

The bill states that, on the effective date of this portion of the bill, the Treasurer 

of State supersedes and replaces the Ohio Building Authority (OBA) as the issuing 

authority in all matters relating to the issuance of obligations for the financing of capital 

facilities for (1) housing branches and agencies of state government and (2) community 

or technical colleges pursuant to the existing Bond Intercept Program.298  It provides 

specifics about the transfer of authority, including with respect to duties, functions, and 

responsibilities, documents and records, appropriations, leases and agreements, 

pending judicial and administrative proceedings, and contracts. OBA is authorized to 

take any action necessary to effect an orderly transition. 

The bill does not, however, repeal OBA's current authority to issue bonds for 

these purposes.299  Further, the bill does not transfer OBA's interests in, responsibilities 

for, or any lease or agreement relating to the operation and maintenance of the James A. 

Rhodes State Office Tower, the Vern Riffe Center for Government and the Arts, the 

Frank J. Lausche State Office Building, the Michael V. DiSalle Government Center, the 

Oliver R. Ocasek Government Office Building, and the State of Ohio Computer Center. 

Housing branches and agencies of state government 

The bill expressly permits the Treasurer of State to issue revenue bonds in 

accordance with R.C. Chapter 154. to pay the costs of capital facilities for housing 

branches and agencies of state government, including capital facilities for the purpose 

of housing personnel, equipment, or functions that a state agency is responsible for 

housing and any related parking and storage facilities, and the costs of capital facilities 

in which one or more state agencies are participating with the federal government, 

municipal corporations, counties, or other governmental entities and in which the 

portion of the facility allocated to the participating state agencies is to be used for the 

purpose of housing branches and agencies of state government.  Such participation may 

be by grants, loans, or contributions to other participating governmental agencies for 

any of those capital facilities. 

The Ohio Public Facilities Commission is permitted to lease the capital facilities 

to, and make other agreements regarding the use or purchase of them with, any state 

agency or governmental agency having authority under law to operate such capital 

facilities. 

                                                 
298 R.C. 3333.90. 

299 See R.C. Chapter 152. 
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Bond service trust funds 

As part of the transfer of bonding authority regarding the housing of branches or 

agencies of state government, the bill formally creates the Administrative Facilities 

Bond Service Trust Fund, the Adult Correctional Facilities Bond Service Trust Fund, the 

Juvenile Correctional Facilities Bond Service Trust Fund and the Public Safety Bond 

Service Trust Fund.  The funds are to be used for payment of bond service charges for 

the sales of obligations that are credited to the Administrative Building Fund, the Adult 

Correctional Building Fund, the Juvenile Correctional Building Fund, and the Public 

Safety Building Fund, which the bill also creates in relation to the transfer of bonding 

authority.  The bill deletes the reference in current law to the establishment of the 

Administrative Building Fund and updates appropriate cross references to this Fund 

and the Adult Correctional Building Fund that appear in existing law. 

Community or technical college capital facilities; Bond Intercept Program 

Under the bill, the Treasurer of State is expressly authorized to issue, on behalf of 

a community or technical college district, revenue obligations under Article VIII, 

Section 2i of the Ohio Constitution and R.C. Chapter 154. for the cost of community or 

technical college capital facilities, provided the issuance of the obligations is subject to the 

execution of a written agreement under the existing Bond Intercept Program for the 

withholding and depositing of funds otherwise due the district, or the college it 

operates, in respect of its allocated state share of instruction.  Generally, "community or 

technical college capital facilities” means auxiliary facilities, education facilities, and 

housing and dining facilities, and further includes site improvements, utilities, 

machinery, furnishings, and any separate or connected buildings, structures, 

improvements, sites, open space and green space areas, utilities, or equipment to be 

used in connection with such facilities. 

Public employee salary and benefits information 

(R.C. 113.47) 

The bill requires each governmental entity to submit "reportable information" 

regarding its public employees and elected officials annually to the Treasurer of State 

by March 1 of the calendar year following the year for which the reportable information 

is being submitted.  Reportable information for calendar year 2010 must be submitted 

by September 1, 2011.  The Treasurer of State is authorized to adopt rules under the 

Administrative Procedure Act to prescribe incentives to enforce compliance with the 

reporting requirement. 

A "governmental entity" is a state agency or a political subdivision of the state 

that pays wages to employees or elected officials.  And "reportable information" means, 
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for any calendar year, the name, title, gross pay, employer, and years of service of each 

employee or elected official of a governmental entity, and any cost associated with 

employment other than gross pay, including, but not limited to, pension, medical 

insurance, dental insurance, and vision insurance, and vacation leave, sick leave, 

personal time, disability leave, and any other type of leave.   

The Treasurer of State must make the reportable information that has been 

submitted available to the public by April 15 of each year either on the Treasurer of 

State's web site or in any other convenient and accessible manner determined by the 

Treasurer of State.  

Small Business Linked Deposit Program investments 

(R.C. 135.61, 135.65, and 135.66) 

The bill expands the financial instruments that the Treasurer of State may place 

with an eligible lending institution for the purposes of lending money to eligible small 

businesses at a rate below the present borrowing rate.  Under the bill, the Treasurer 

may place other financial institution instruments with a lending institution for this 

purpose.  "Other financial institution instrument" has the same meaning as under the 

Housing Linked Deposit Program.300  Current law allows the Treasurer to place only 

certificates of deposit with lending institutions to lend money to small businesses at a 

reduced rate. 

Supplemental school employee compensation deferral plan 

(R.C. 113.42, 113.43, 113.44, 113.45, 2907.15, and 2921.41) 

Authority of Treasurer of State 

The bill authorizes the Treasurer of State, subject to an appropriate assurance of 

approval by the Internal Revenue Service, to offer all eligible school employees a 

supplemental employee deferral plan, which must be in addition to any retirement or 

any other benefit program provided by law for the employees.  A "school employee" is 

any employee of a city, vocational, exempted village, or local school district and any 

employee of a community college, technical college, or state community college.301  A 

                                                 
300 "Other financial institution instrument" means "a fully collateralized product that otherwise would 

pay market rates of interest approved by the Treasurer of State, for the purpose of providing eligible 

housing linked deposit participants with the benefits of a housing linked deposit."  (R.C. 135.81, not in the 

bill.) 

301 R.C. 113.42. 
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"supplemental employee deferral plan" is a tax deferred annuity, including a custodial 

account, as described in the Internal Revenue Code.302 

The Treasurer must establish eligibility criteria for plan participation, and must 

administer the plan on behalf of participating employees.  The Treasurer may designate 

third parties to act on behalf of the Treasurer as administrator of the plan.  Also, the 

Treasurer must adopt rules under the Administrative Procedure Act to provide any 

necessary standards or conditions for the administration of the plan. 

The bill creates, as a custodial fund, the Supplemental Employee Deferral Plan 

Administration Fund, which is to be used by the Treasurer to pay actual and necessary 

expenses of the Treasurer in administering the plan. 

The bill requires administrative expenses of the plan to be applied in any of the 

following ways:  (1) against earnings from investments, (2) as prorated fees charged 

equitably among the participants of the plan, or (3) by another method determined by 

the Treasurer.  The Treasurer may apply different methods or amounts of recovery of 

administrative expenses for different types of investment options provided under the 

plan. 

Investments 

Under the bill, the plan may invest in investments considered appropriate by the 

Treasurer, including life insurance, annuity contracts, or mutual funds.  Any investment 

included in the plan must be reviewed and selected by the Treasurer based on a 

competitive bidding process established by the Treasurer and as the Treasurer 

considers appropriate. 

Election to participate 

Any school employee who meets the eligibility criteria established by the 

Treasurer may participate in the supplemental employee deferral plan, so long as the 

administrative entity of the employee's school district, community college, technical 

college, or state community college has elected to participate in the plan.  The Treasurer 

must prescribe the manner and form by which an employee must elect to participate in 

the plan.  Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, a school district, community 

college, technical college, or state community college electing to participate in the plan 

may elect exclusively to offer the supplemental employee deferral plan to employees or 

may elect to offer the supplemental employee deferral plan as one of a limited number 

of options. 

                                                 
302 26 U.S.C. 403(b) and (b)(7). 
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Contributions 

An employee who elects to participate in the supplemental employee deferral 

plan authorizes the employee's employer to make reductions from the employee's 

compensation for contributions to the plan.  The total of the amount contributed and the 

employee's nondeferred income for any year is not to exceed the employee's total 

compensation under the existing salary schedule or classification plan applicable to the 

employee in that year.  "Compensation" includes any compensation received as a lump 

sum for accumulated unused vacation, personal leave, or sick leave.  The rules adopted 

for administration of the plan must place limits on the portion of a participating 

employee's compensation that may be deferred in order to avoid adverse treatment of 

the plan by the Internal Revenue Service or the occurrence of a reduction in 

compensation in excess of the compensation available for any pay period. 

Any compensation deferred under the plan must continue to be included as 

regular compensation for the purpose of computing the contributions to and benefits 

from the retirement system of a participating employee, if applicable. Compensation 

deferred may not be included in the computation of any federal or state income taxes 

withheld on behalf of a participating employee. 

Employee contributions and earnings on those contributions are immediately 

vested. 

If permitted by the plan, an employer may make employer contributions to the 

plan on behalf of participating employees.  Employer contributions, if any, and the 

earnings on those contributions must vest according to the schedule established in the 

plan. 

Payments 

Any payment from the plan, other than a survivorship benefit, that is made to a 

participating employee who is a public official charged with theft in office is subject to a 

withholding order from a court for restitution.  Similarly, any payment to a 

participating employee who is charged with a sexual assault is subject to a court 

withholding order for victim restitution. 

If the plan receives notice that a participating employee has been charged with 

one of a variety of criminal offenses, no payment may be made prior to whichever of 

the following is applicable: 

(1)  If the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to the violation, but a motion for 

a withholding order for purposes of restitution has not been filed, 30 days after the day 

on which the person is sentenced for the violation; 
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(2)  If the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to the violation, and a motion for 

a withholding order for purposes of restitution has been filed, the day on which the 

court decides the motion; 

(3)  If the charge is dismissed or the person is found not guilty or not guilty by 

reason of insanity of the violation, the day on which the dismissal of the charge or the 

verdict is entered in the journal of the court. 

Accrued funds exempt from execution 

Except as provided in law for the division of marital property and for child 

support obligations, an account, benefit, or other right accrued or accruing to any 

person under the supplemental employee deferral plan is not subject to execution, 

garnishment, attachment, sale to satisfy a judgment or order, the operation of 

bankruptcy or insolvency laws, or other process of law and is unassignable. 

 

TUITION TRUST AUTHORITY (TTA) 

 Requires the Tuition Trust Authority to establish, within the Variable College 

Savings Program, a "default investment option" to benefit contributors who are first-

time investors or have low to moderate incomes. 

 

 

Default investment option 

(R.C. 3334.19) 

The bill requires the Tuition Trust Authority (TTA) to establish a "default 

investment option" within its Variable College Savings Program for contributors who 

are first-time investors or have low to moderate incomes.  The bill itself does not 

describe or define the term "default investment option," but it likely refers to an 

investment plan that does not require the investor to choose from among savings 

instruments or plan administrators or to make periodic decisions whether to transfer 

money among investment options.  The bill does not specify whether the intent is 

simply for TTA to market the default option as one choice, or to restrict investors with 

certain characteristics (such as low or moderate incomes) to the default option. 

The TTA is a state agency under the purview of the Chancellor of the Board of 

Regents.  It operates two college savings programs that correspond to the types 

permitted by federal tax law:  (1) a guaranteed savings program, which is now closed to 

new investors, and (2) a variable savings program.  Under the Variable College Savings 
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Program, an individual contributes money to an investment account managed by the 

state, or its agent, for the benefit of the beneficiary.  Assets of the Variable Program are 

invested in savings accounts, life insurance or annuity contracts, securities, bonds, or 

other investment products.  Because the program is market‐based, it generally provides 

a variable rate of return and contributors assume all investment risk. 

 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION COUNCIL (WCC) 

 Abolishes the Workers' Compensation Council. 

 Transfers all of the Council's records to the Legislative Service Commission and all 

other assets, liabilities, and funds to the Bureau of Workers' Compensation. 

 

 

Abolition of the Workers' Compensation Council 

(R.C. 4121.75, 4121.76, 4121.77, 4121.78, and 4121.79 (all repealed) and Sections 610.20, 

610.21, and 690.20, with conforming changes in R.C. 101.532, 101.82, 102.02, 127.14, 

4121.03, 4121.12, 4121.121, 4121.125, 4121.44, 4123.341, 4123.342, and 4123.35) 

The bill abolishes the Workers' Compensation Council, which currently reviews 

the soundness of the workers' compensation system and legislation involving or 

affecting the workers' compensation system.  Upon the provision's (immediate) 

effective date, or as soon as possible thereafter, the Council must wind up its affairs.  All 

of the Council's records must be transferred to the Legislative Service Commission and 

all of its other assets and liabilities are transferred to the Bureau of Workers' 

Compensation (BWC).  BWC is thereupon and thereafter successor to, and assumes the 

obligations of, the Council.  Any business commenced but not completed by the Council 

or the Director of the Council on the provision's effective date must be completed by the 

Administrator of Workers' Compensation in the same manner, and with the same effect, 

as if completed by the Council or the Director.  No validation, cure, right, privilege, 

remedy, obligation, or liability is lost or impaired by reason of the transfer required by 

the bill and must be administered by the Administrator.  All Council employees cease 

to hold their positions of employment on the provision's effective date. 

With respect to the Workers' Compensation Council Remuneration Fund, the 

Director of Budget and Management must transfer the unexpended and unencumbered 

cash balances to the State Insurance Fund.  With respect to the Workers' Compensation 

Council Fund, the Treasurer of State must transfer the unexpended and unencumbered 
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balance to the State Insurance Fund.  Upon completion of the transfers, the funds are 

abolished. 

Wherever the Director or Council is referred to in any law, contract, or other 

document, the bill requires the reference to be deemed to refer to the Administrator or 

BWC, whichever is appropriate.  No action or proceeding pending on the provision's 

effective date is affected by the transfer, and must be prosecuted or defended in the 

name of the Administrator or BWC.  In all such actions and proceedings, the 

Administrator or BWC, upon application to the court, must be substituted as a party. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF YOUTH SERVICES (DYS) 

 Requires the Department of Youth Services to coordinate and assist juvenile justice 

systems by visiting and inspecting jails, detention facilities, correctional facilities, 

facilities that may hold juveniles involuntarily, and any other facility that may 

temporarily house juveniles on a voluntary or involuntary basis for the purpose of 

compliance with the federal "Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 

1974." 

 Requires a county and the juvenile court that serves the county to prioritize the use 

of the moneys in the county treasury's Felony Delinquent Care and Custody Fund to 

research-supported, outcome-based programs and services. 

 Authorizes the sale of the Ohio River Valley Juvenile Correctional Facility. 

 

 

Inspection of juvenile facilities 

(R.C. 5139.11(K)(1)(g)) 

Existing law requires the Department of Youth Services to coordinate and assist 

juvenile justice systems by performing a list of specified duties.  The bill adds an 

additional duty to this list by requiring the Department to visit and inspect jails, 

detention facilities, correctional facilities, facilities that may hold juveniles involuntarily, 

or any other facility that may temporarily house juveniles on a voluntary or involuntary 

basis for the purpose of compliance pursuant to the "Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

Prevention Act of 1974," 88 Stat. 1109, as amended. 
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Prioritization for the use of moneys in a Felony Delinquent Care and 
Custody Fund 

(R.C. 5139.43) 

The bill amends current law to require a county and the juvenile court that serves 

the county to prioritize the use of the moneys in the county treasury's Felony 

Delinquent Care and Custody Fund to research-supported, outcome-based programs 

and services.  Continuing law specifies uses for the moneys in the Fund.  However, 

current law does not prioritize the use of the moneys in the Fund. 

Sale of Ohio River Valley Juvenile Correctional Facility 

(Section 753.30) 

The bill authorizes the Director of Administrative Services and the Director of 

Youth Services to sell the Ohio River Valley Juvenile Correctional Facility if the Director 

of Administrative Services determines the property is no longer required for state 

purposes.  The facility must be sold pursuant to a bidding process conducted by the 

Director of Administrative Services at a price acceptable to both Directors.  The contract 

of sale must require the purchaser to give preference in hiring to employees or former 

employees of the Department of Youth Services displaced by the closure of the facility 

located on the property and a binding commitment that irrevocably grants to the state a 

right to repurchase the facility and the real property on which it is situated, any 

surrounding land that is to be transferred under the contract, or both if:  (1) the 

purchaser or the purchaser's successor wants to sell or otherwise transfer to a third 

party the facility and real property on which it is situated, any surrounding land 

transferred under the sale, or both or (2) the purchaser defaults on any financial 

agreement for the purchase of the facility and real property on which it is situated, any 

surrounding land transferred under the sale, or both, defaults on any term of the 

contract, or becomes insolvent or unable to meet its contractual obligations.  Under (1), 

the purchaser or successor must offer the facility or property to the state at least 120 

days before it intends to make the transfer to the third party.  In either situation, the 

state's purchase price must be not greater than the price the contractor paid, less 

depreciation from the time of the conveyance to the purchaser,  plus the depreciated 

value of any capital improvements funded by anyone other than the state after the 

conveyance to the purchaser.  The deed to the purchaser is to be prepared by the 

Attorney General and executed by the Governor.  The bill requires that the proceeds of 

the sale be deposited into the Adult and Juvenile Correctional Facilities Bond 

Retirement Fund to retire state bonds that were issued for the transferred facilities.  

Section 753.30, which authorizes and sets forth the details pertaining to the sale of the 

facility, expires two years after its effective date. 
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MISCELLANEOUS (MSC) 

 Limits the cumulative total amount recovered in a civil action for forfeiture ($10,000) 

and the amount of attorney's fees (not to exceed the forfeiture amount recovered) for 

a violation of the prohibition against the unlawful removal, destruction, mutilation, 

transfer, or other damage to or disposition of the records of a public office. 

 Provides that a person is not aggrieved by such violation if clear and convincing 

evidence shows that the request for a record was contrived as a pretext to create 

potential liability. 

 Precludes the recovery of a forfeiture by others involving the same record once a 

person has recovered a forfeiture, regardless of the number of persons aggrieved or 

the number of civil actions commenced. 

 Prescribes a five-year period of limitations for a civil action for injunctive relief or for 

forfeiture for a violation of the prohibition. 

 Changes the name of the Ohio Community Service Council to the Ohio Commission 

on Service and Volunteerism. 

 Removes the requirement that the bill of costs for the prosecution of a nonindigent 

felon be presented to and certified by the prosecuting attorney. 

 Authorizes the conveyance of state-owned real estate in Brown County to Ripley 

Union Lewis Huntington School District for the construction and operation of a 

water well. 

 Authorizes the conveyance of state-owned real estate in Stark County to Jackson 

Township. 

 Extends the expiration date for an authorization to convey state land to the Dayton 

Public Schools. 

 Authorizes conveyance of the real estate in the possession of Cleveland State 

University to a purchaser as yet to be determined. 
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Destruction or damage of records 

(R.C. 149.351) 

Existing law provides that all records are the property of the public office 

concerned and generally prohibits their removal, destruction, mutilation, transfer, or 

other damage or disposition, in whole or in part.  Any person who is aggrieved by the 

removal, destruction, mutilation, or transfer of, or by other damage to or disposition of 

a record in violation of the above prohibition or by threat of any such act may bring a 

civil action for injunctive relief or a civil action to recover a forfeiture in the amount of 

$1,000 for each violation and obtain an award of the reasonable attorney's fees incurred 

by the person in the action.  The bill limits the cumulative total amount to be recovered 

in forfeiture to a maximum of $10,000, regardless of the number of violations, and limits 

the amount of attorney's fees to a maximum of the forfeiture amount recovered. 

Under the bill, a person is not aggrieved by a violation of the above prohibition if 

clear and convincing evidence shows that the request for a record was contrived as a 

pretext to create potential liability under the above provisions.  The commencement of a 

civil action waives any right under R.C. Chapter 149. to decline to divulge the purpose 

for requesting the record, but only to the extent needed to evaluate whether the request 

was contrived as a pretext to create potential liability.  If clear and convincing evidence 

in a civil action shows that the request for a record was a pretext to create potential 

liability, the court may award reasonable attorney's fees to any defendant or defendants 

in the action.  Once a person recovers a forfeiture in a civil action, the bill precludes any 

other person from recovering a forfeiture for a violation of the prohibition involving the 

same record, regardless of the number of persons aggrieved by a violation of the 

prohibition or the number of civil actions commenced. 

The bill further provides that a civil action for injunctive relief or a civil action to 

recover a forfeiture must be commenced within five years after the day in which the 

prohibition was allegedly violated or was threatened to be violated. 

Ohio Community Service Council 

(R.C. 121.40, 121.401, 121.402, 121.403, 121.404, 1501.40, 3301.70, 3333.043, and 4503.93; 

Section 803.40) 

The bill changes the name of the Ohio Community Service Council to the Ohio 

Commission on Service and Volunteerism.  The purpose, duties, authority, and 

membership of the agency continue without change. 
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Collection of court costs from a felon 

(R.C. 2949.14) 

Under existing law, upon conviction of a nonindigent person for a felony, the 

clerk of the court of common pleas makes and certifies under the clerk's hand and seal 

of the court a complete itemized bill of the costs made in that prosecution.  That bill of 

costs must be presented by the clerk to the prosecuting attorney, and the prosecuting attorney 

must examine each item charged and certify to it if correct and legal.  Upon the prosecuting 

attorney's certification the clerk must attempt to collect the costs from the person convicted.  The 

bill removes the requirement that the bill of costs be presented to and certified by the 

prosecuting attorney (removes language in italics). 

Land conveyance to Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District 

(Section 753.20) 

The bill authorizes the Governor to execute a deed in the name of the state 

conveying to the Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District, its successors and 

assigns, all of the state's right, title, and interest in real estate in Brown County to be 

used for the construction and operation of a water well. 

Consideration for conveyance of the real estate is the mutual benefit accruing to 

the state and the Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District from the use of the real 

estate to construct and operate a water well. 

If the Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District ceases to use the real estate 

to construct and operate a water well, all right, title, and interest in the real estate 

immediately reverts to the state without the need for any further action by the state. 

The Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District must pay the costs of the 

conveyance. 

Within 30 days after the effective date of the authority to make the conveyance, 

the Auditor of State, with the assistance of the Attorney General, must prepare a deed 

to the real estate.  The deed must state the consideration and the condition.  The deed 

must be executed by the Governor in the name of the state, countersigned by the 

Secretary of State, sealed with the Great Seal of the State, presented in the office of the 

Auditor of State for recording, and delivered to the Ripley Union Lewis Huntington 

School District. The Ripley Union Lewis Huntington School District must present the 

deed for recording in the office of the Brown County Recorder. 

Authority to make this conveyance, expires one year after its effective date. 
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Authorizes conveyance of Kent State University real estate to Jackson 
Township 

(Section 753.23) 

The bill authorizes the Governor to execute a deed in the name of the state, on 

behalf of Kent State University, conveying all of the state's right, title, and interest in 

real estate located in Stark County to the Board of Township Trustees of Jackson 

Township, its successors and assigns. 

Consideration for the conveyance is the mutual benefit accruing to the state from 

Jackson Township's use of the real estate for a fire station.  If use of the real estate as a 

fire station is discontinued, the bill specifies that the real estate reverts to Kent State 

University, and that Jackson Township is required to raze the building currently on the 

real estate and to remove from the real estate any contaminants relating to the 

building's use as a fire station. 

The Board of Township Trustees of Jackson Township in Stark County is 

required to pay the costs of the conveyance. 

The Auditor of State, with the assistance of the Attorney General, must prepare a 

deed to the real estate.  The deed must state the consideration and the reverter.  The 

deed must be executed by the Governor in the name of the state, countersigned by the 

Secretary of State, sealed with the Great Seal of the State, presented in the Office of the 

Auditor of State for recording, and delivered to the Board of Township Trustees of 

Jackson Township in Stark County.  The Board of Township Trustees of Jackson 

Township must present the deed for recording in the Office of the Stark County 

Recorder. 

Authority to make the conveyance expires one year after its effective date. 

Dayton Public Schools land conveyance 

(Section 620.20 and 620.21) 

The bill extends the expiration date for an authorization to convey state land to 

the Dayton Public Schools to October 16, 2013, in order to provide more time for the 

school system to complete the required demolition and construction.  The authorization 

otherwise is scheduled to expire on July 17, 2011.303 

                                                 
303 Section 753.60 of Am. Sub. H.B. 1 of the 128th General Assembly. 
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Cleveland State University land conveyance 

(Section 753.27) 

The bill authorizes conveyance of the real estate formerly used as the residence 

for the President of Cleveland State University to a purchaser as yet to be determined.  

Specifically, the bill authorizes the Governor to execute a deed in the name of the state, 

on behalf of Cleveland State University, conveying to a purchaser as yet to be 

determined, its heirs and assigns or its successors and assigns, all of the state's right, 

title, and interest in the real estate located at 21425 Shelburne Road, City of Shaker 

Heights, County of Cuyahoga, State of Ohio, such real estate consisting of the building 

formerly used as the residence for the President of Cleveland State University and the 

land on which the building is situated.  In preparing the deed, the Auditor of State, with 

the assistance of the Attorney General, is to develop a legal description of the real estate 

in conformity with the actual bounds of the real estate.  

Consideration for conveyance of the real estate is to be as is agreed upon by 

Cleveland State University and the purchaser. 

The deed may contain any condition or restriction that the Governor or 

Cleveland State University determines is reasonably necessary to protect the state's 

interests. 

The purchaser must pay all costs associated with the conveyance, including 

recordation costs of the deed. 

Upon payment of the purchase price, the Auditor of State, with the assistance of 

the Attorney General, must prepare a deed to the real estate.  The deed must state the 

consideration and any conditions or restrictions, and must be executed by the Governor 

in the name of the state, countersigned by the Secretary of State, sealed with the Great 

Seal of the State, presented in the Office of the Auditor of State for recording, and 

delivered to the purchaser.  The purchaser must present the deed for recording in the 

Office of the Cuyahoga County Recorder. 

Authority to make the conveyance described above expires one year after the 

effective date of the section of law in which it is expressed. 
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NOTE ON EFFECTIVE DATES 

(Sections 809.10 and 812.10 to 812.40) 

Section 1d, Article II of the Ohio Constitution states that "laws providing for tax 

levies [and] appropriations for the current expenses of the state government and state 

institutions *** shall go into immediate effect," and "shall not be subject to the 

referendum."  R.C. 1.471 implements this provision with respect to appropriations, 

providing that a codified or uncodified section of law contained in an act that contains 

an appropriation for current expenses is not subject to the referendum and goes into 

immediate effect if (1) it is an appropriation for current expenses, (2) it is an earmarking 

of the whole or part of an appropriation for current expenses, or (3) its implementation 

depends upon an appropriation for current expenses that is contained in the act.  The 

statute states that the General Assembly is to determine which sections go into 

immediate effect. 

The bill includes a default provision stating that, except as otherwise specifically 

provided, the amendment, enactment, or repeal of a section in the bill is subject to the 

referendum and takes effect on the 91st day after the act is filed with the Secretary of 

State (barring the filing of a referendum petition).  The bill also includes many 

exceptions to the default provision, some of which provide that specified provisions are 

not subject to the referendum and go into immediate effect.  For example, provisions 

that are or relate to an appropriation for current expenses go into immediate effect. 

The bill also specifies that an item that composes the whole or part of an 

uncodified section contained in the bill (other than an amending, enacting, or repealing 

clause) has no effect after June 30, 2013, unless its context clearly indicates otherwise. 

HISTORY 

ACTION DATE 
  
Introduced 03-15-11 
Reported, H. Finance & Appropriations 05-04-11 
Passed House (59-40) 05-05-11 
Reported, S. Finance 06-08-11 
Passed Senate (23-10) 06-08-11 
House refused to concur in Senate amendments (98-0) 06-08-11 
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