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State and Local Fiscal Highlights

e New Department of Agriculture regulatory program. The bill establishes a
dangerous and wild animal registration and permitting program overseen by the
Ohio Department of Agriculture's (ODA) Division of Animal Health.

e Permit fees. The bill establishes four different permits for either dangerous wild
animals or restricted snakes. The permit fees established in the bill vary by the total
number of dangerous wild animals possessed by the owner, and are set at $150 and
$300 for restricted snakes.

e Dangerous and Restricted Animal Fund. All permit fee revenue will be deposited
into the Dangerous and Restricted Animal Fund, created by the bill. The fees will be
used as a source of operating revenue for the new program. Permit revenue will
depend on how many owners of dangerous wild animals and restricted snakes opt
to keep those animals and apply for the necessary permits under the bill.

e Enforcement actions. The bill grants ODA or certain designated state or local
agencies the authority to take a variety of enforcement actions, including the
inspection of property where dangerous wild animals and restricted snakes are kept,
the quarantine or transfer of animals, and the ability to pursue civil penalties.

e Penalties. The bill establishes first degree misdemeanor penalties for first offenses

specified in the bill and fifth degree felony penalties for subsequent violations. As a
result, there could be some increased caseloads in county and municipal courts.
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Detailed Fiscal Analysis

Overview

The bill prohibits a person from possessing a dangerous wild animal on or after
January 1, 2014, and generally prohibits a person from acquiring, buying, selling,
trading, or transferring possession or ownership of a dangerous wild animal on or after
the bill's effective date. The bill also establishes a new registration and permitting
process to be overseen by the Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) that applies to
anyone who currently possesses and wishes to continue to possess animals regulated
under the bill. The responsibility for overseeing these requirements falls largely on
ODA's Division of Animal Health, but could also involve other state agencies, such as
the State Highway Patrol, the Department of Natural Resources, the Department of
Health, as well as local authorities. One difficulty in assessing the fiscal impact of the
new requirements is that there appears to be no centralized and verifiable source of
information concerning the number of such animals extant in Ohio. This figure will
determine the scope of the regulatory program that ODA establishes under the bill. The
following analysis points out the provisions of the bill that will have some fiscal effect
on the state and political subdivisions.

ODA oversight —registration and permitting process

Registration

The bill requires any person who possesses a dangerous wild animal on the bill's
effective date to register the animal with ODA not later than 60 days after the bill's
effective date. In addition, the bill requires that any registered dangerous wild animal
be implanted with a microchip at the owner's expense. As a result of these
requirements, the Department could bear some new administrative burden for
processing and maintaining a database of the registered wild animals.

Permitting — Dangerous and Restricted Animal Fund

The bill establishes a new permitting system consisting of four new permit types
that apply to dangerous wild animals and restricted snakes. Specifically, a person that
possesses a registered dangerous wild animal or restricted snake on October 1, 2013 and
that wishes to continue to possess the dangerous wild animal or restricted snake after
January 1, 2014 must obtain one of the following permits: (1) a wildlife shelter permit,
(2) a wildlife propagation permit, (3) a restricted snake possession permit, or (4)a
restricted snake propagation permit. If a person possesses at least one wild animal and
one restricted snake, the bill requires the person to obtain the applicable dangerous
wild animal and restricted snake permits. The permit requirements do not apply to
individuals who possess certain marmosets or capuchins, a squirrel monkey, or a
lemur, from the permitting requirements, although these individuals are still required
to follow the registration requirements set out in the bill.
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All permit and renewal revenue is to be deposited into the Dangerous and
Restricted Animal Fund, created in the bill, as a source of operating revenue for the
program, and for compensating the State Highway Patrol and departments of Natural
Resources and Health and local shelter facilities for enforcement costs, including
capturing, quarantining, transferring, or destroying a dangerous wild animal or
restricted snake. The bill further permits ODA to retain $250 of all permitting fees for
permits that are denied under the bill. The four permit types are described in more
detail below.

Wildlife shelter permit

Under the bill, a person that possesses a registered dangerous wild animal in
Ohio on October 1, 2013 that wishes to continue to possess the dangerous wild animal
on and after January 1, 2014 and does not intend to propagate the animal must obtain a
wildlife shelter permit. There are three potential fees for this permit based upon the
number of dangerous wild animals owned by the individual seeking the permit. The
tee is $250 if the applicant has three or fewer animals, $500 if the applicant has between
four and ten animals, and $1,000 if the applicant has between 11 and 15 wild animals,
plus an additional $125 for each animal above 15. The applicant must also pay an
annual renewal fee of the same amount.

Wildlife propagation permit

A person that possesses a registered dangerous wild animal on October 1, 2013
that wishes to continue to possess and intends to propagate the animal after January 1,
2014, solely for the purposes of a Species Survival Program (an accreditation program
overseen by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums) must apply for a wildlife
propagation permit. The application fee for this permit is either $1,000 if the applicant
possesses 50 or less dangerous wild animals or $3,000 if the applicant possesses more
than 50 wild animals.

Restricted snake possession permit

A person that possesses a restricted snake on January 1, 2014 and wishes to
continue to possess it is required to apply for a restricted snake possession permit. The
restricted snake permitting fee in the bill is $150.

Restricted snake propagation permit

A person that possesses a registered restricted snake that wishes to continue to
possess and intends to propagate, sell, trade, or transfer the snake after January 1, 2014,
must apply for a restricted snake propagation permit. The application fee for this
permit is $300.

Enforcement and inspection

The bill requires that the county sheriff, chief law enforcement officer of the
applicable political subdivision, and ODA's Division of Animal Health be notified any
time a dangerous wild animal or restricted snake escapes confinement. The bill further
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specifies that the owner of an escaped animal is responsible for reimbursing both the
state and applicable political subdivisions for the cost of either catching or destroying
the escaped animal. With respect to political subdivisions, such reimbursements must
be collected and deposited into a special fund created by the subdivision for the
purposes of enforcing the provisions of the bill. Any reimbursement due the state is to
be credited to the Dangerous and Restricted Animal Fund. If necessary, the bill requires
ODA to use the fund to reimburse other state agencies (the State Highway Patrol, the
Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Health), or local boards of
health for any costs that they incur. The bill also specifies that if an owner is unable to
pay these costs, the Director of Agriculture must certify the costs to the applicable
county auditor, to be assessed as a lien on the property of the owner and collected in the
same manner as other taxes.

In addition to the enforcement procedures and requirements above, the bill also
specifies that municipalities have the authority to adopt and enforce ordinances which
are more stringent than the requirements of the bill as it pertains to dangerous wild
animals. A person that violates any such ordinance is guilty of a minor misdemeanor,
with each day of continued violation constituting a separate offense. Any fines
collected from these violations would be retained by the applicable municipality and
would partially offset any additional costs incurred for enforcement.

Inspection authority

The bill authorizes the Director of Agriculture or a designee from one of five
entities to inspect the premises where any dangerous wild animals or restricted snakes
are confined. The designees may include (1) employees of ODA, (2) Natural Resources
law enforcement officers, (3) employees of the Department of Health, (4) employees of a
board of health, and (5) agents of a humane society appointed under the Humane
Societies Law. Following inspection, the bill allows for these officials to quarantine or
transfer the animals to another location if it is determined that the necessary permits do
not exist or the animals are kept in conditions that violate the provisions of the bill. The
person who possesses the animal is responsible for all costs of the quarantine or
transfer, and if determined by a court to be in violation of the bill, the final disposition
of the animal. These inspection costs would likely be at least partially offset by the
permit revenue generated by the bill.

Penalties

The bill sets forth a penalty of a first degree misdemeanor for a first offense and a
tifth degree felony for each subsequent offense of any prohibitions or restrictions under
the bill. The penalty for a first degree misdemeanor offense is a maximum of six
months in jail and a fine of $1,000. The penalty for a fifth degree felony is between six
and 12 months in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. The establishment of these new
penalties could result in an increase in caseloads for county or municipal courts, the
costs of which could be partially offset through the issuance of fines and collection of
court costs. In addition to any local fines and court costs, offenders can be ordered to
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pay locally collected state court costs. State court costs for a misdemeanor conviction
total $29, of which $20 is credited to the Indigent Defense Support Fund (Fund 5DY0)
and $9 is credited to the Victims of Crime/Reparations Fund (Fund 4020). State court
costs for a felony conviction total $60. Of that amount, $30 is credited to both Fund
5DY0 and Fund 0402.

Dangerous and Restricted Animals Advisory Board

The bill creates the 17-member Dangerous and Restricted Animals Advisory
Board to review all proposed and adopted rules governing the care of dangerous wild
animals. Members would not be compensated for their duties, but would be
reimbursed for related expenses. The bill specifies that these reimbursements are to be
made from the Dangerous and Restricted Animal Fund. The Board is required to meet
at least three times per year.

Dangerous Wild Animal Emergency Response Commission

The bill creates the state Dangerous Wild Animal Emergency Response
Commission to develop an escaped dangerous wild animal plan for the state. The
Commission consists of eight members who are not to be compensated for their duties,
but are to be reimbursed for related expenses incurred with their involvement on the
Commission. ODA is required to provide the necessary space and materials for the
Commission to meet and perform its duties.

Dangerous wild animal county emergency response teams

The bill requires each county to establish a Dangerous Wild Animal County
Emergency Response Team. Each county team is required to establish a county-wide
plan which includes the procedures to be used if a dangerous wild animal escapes
confinement. The plan is subject to approval by the Dangerous Wild Animal
Emergency Response Commission. Because these county teams would consist of
current county officials with responsibility for emergency services, this provision
appears to have little fiscal impact beyond the initial cost of developing an emergency
response plan.
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