
 
 
To:   Members of the Senate Finance Committee 
From:  Jim Clark – President of Straus Tobacconist 
Date:   June 1, 2017 
Re:   Tax-Cap for Cigars & Increased Revenue for the State of Ohio 
 

 
Straus Tobacconist Background Information: 

My name is Jim Clark, and I am the president of Straus Tobacconist located in downtown Cincinnati. My 
shop dates back to 1880, and is the third oldest tobacco shop in the country. I am currently celebrating my 
39th year with Straus having started as a staff accountant and working my way up to own the business. As 
the owner of a small business, I’ve faced many challenges to my store’s 137 year history and continued 
success, but not as great as the possibility as being put out of business by out-of-state, non-tax paying 
competitors. 
 

 
OTP Tax View: 

Cigar store owners across the state, including myself, are against any increase to OTP tax.  We all 
appreciate the legislature removing the proposed OTP tax increase language from the budget. 
 
In addition to removing the OTP tax increase language, I would like to ask the members of the Senate to 
look at the current business environment I face as a small business owner here in the state of Ohio. 
 
There is a giant lack of competition with cigar sales between Ohio’s small businesses and online stores 
that face no sales tax and no OTP tax.  My small businesses can’t survive if we stay on this route.  We will 
be forced to close due to a lack of competition.   
 
Also, the state of Ohio is going to see less and less OTP revenue. 
 
The OTP rate for cigars is currently at 17%, and while I appreciate the legislature not raising it, I am asking 
for your help with making our small businesses more competitive because the current 17% is big cost 
disadvantage. 
 
Real Life Example:   
Below please see a table of the cost of cigars from my Ohio store compared to an online store. 
ROMEO Y JULIETA 1875 CHURCHILL - Manufacturer’s list price for a box of 25 cigars is $105.49. 

                                                                                          

Purchase Comparisons 

 

My Store  

(Attachment 1) 

 

Online  

(Attachment 2) 

Add Ohio OTP Tax $17.93 $0.00 

Freight / Shipping Charged $2.10 $6.99 

Total Cost for Ohio Retailer $125.52 n/a 

Store’s Sale Price $200.25 $109.99 

Add Sales Tax  $14.02 $0.00 

Total Price Paid by Consumer $214.27 $116.98 



As you can see, I sell the same product but have to charge almost double.  

The current OTP tax rate on cigars drives almost ALL large purchases of cigars out of Ohio, out of my 

shop, and to the online stores, that pay no tax. 

If you Senators were buying any product that you wanted, why would you ever go someplace that charges 
you almost double for the exact same product?  I’m guessing you probably wouldn’t. 
 

 
Solution and Request: 
I am asking you to consider creating a $0.40-$0.50 OTP tax cap per cigar.  (See attachment 3 for 
language) 

 

 Eight other states have passed a cigar OTP tax cap (See attachment 4) 

 

 Cigar tax-caps have led to increased sales for small business owners 
 

 NOTE:  Consequently, cigar tax-caps have led to increased revenue for the state via increased 
sales in state 
 

 After implementing a tax-cap on cigars, in Wisconsin, cigar tax revenues to the state nearly doubled 
in just two years! (See attachment 5 for Wisconsin OTP revenue – pre and post cigar tax) 

 

 
Why Cigars Should be Taxed Differently: 
The reason for having a different tax (or tax cap) applied to cigars is simply because the sales dynamics 
around cigars and the products themselves are different from the other products lumped into the OTP 
category.    
 
Premium cigars are found mostly in premium cigar shops and are kept in climate-controlled humidors.  All 
the other items in the OTP category (smokeless, dip, etc.) can be found in several types of stores – ranging 
from convenience stores to gas stations where profits can be made up on other items. 
 
Also, cigars are allowed to be shipped across state lines from online shops based in states where there are 
no OTP taxes. 
 
When competing with online stores in other states, small businesses like mine cannot compete with online 
retailers that ship from areas with no excise taxes (no sales or OTP) on cigars. 

 
Currently, over 60% of cigars purchased by Ohioans are purchased out-of-state stores. 

 

 The State of Ohio is missing out on all of that tax revenue to other states. 

 Shops like mine are losing all of those sales to online stores and are suffering 
 

 
Conclusion: 

By instituting a $0.40-$0.50 per-cigar tax cap on cigars, the state will accomplish 3 goals: 
1. Increased revenue to the State of Ohio  
2. Increased sales in Ohio small businesses 
3. A more competitive environment for small business cigar stores in Ohio vs. online stores. 

 
Thank you for your consideration.  Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions. 
 
Jim Clark 
straustobacconist@fuse.net  
 

mailto:straustobacconist@fuse.net


 
ATTACHMENT 1 

 

  

  

 
Straus Tobacconist - Cincinnati 

 
410 Walnut St. 

 
Cincinnati OH 45202 
www.e-straus.com 

(513) 621-3388 

 

Ticket # 10028507   User: JCLARK 

2/1/2017 5:22:43 PM                   

 

Name: Jim Clark 

 

Item   Qty   Price   Total 

  Description                            

 

 RyJ Churchill   25   8.90   222.50 

  Romeo y Julieta Churchill             

  Discount (10% Box Discount)   -22.25 

  ------------ 

Subtotal   200.25 

Tax   14.02 

  ------------ 

Total   214.27 

  ============ 

Tender:                                

CASH   214.27 

 

Number of line items purchased: 1    

 

 
Thank you! 
 
Remember to LIKE us on Facebook to 
keep 
up-to-date on what's happening!  

Total discount - 
You saved 22.25 

  

  

 

 

 

http://www.e-straus.com/


 
ATTACHMENT 2 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
ATTACHMENT 3 

SC4977X2 Page 4 
 

 

the tax has not or will not be paid by another distributor, 
78 

 

including a retail dealer that has filed a signed statement with a 
79 

 

manufacturer in which the retail dealer agrees to pay and be 
80 

 

liable for the tax that would otherwise be imposed on the 
81 

 

manufacturer by section 5743.51 of the Revised Code. 
82 

 

(L) "Taxpayer" means any person liable for the tax imposed by 83 

section 5743.51, 5743.62, or 5743.63 of the Revised Code. 84 

(M) "Seller" means any person located outside this state 85 

engaged in the business of selling tobacco products to consumers 86 

for storage, use, or other consumption in this state. 87 

(N) "Manufacturer" means any person who manufactures and 88 

sells cigarettes or tobacco products. 89 

(O) "Importer" means any person that is authorized, under a 90 

valid permit issued under Section 5713 of the Internal Revenue 91 

Code, to import finished cigarettes into the United States, either 92 

directly or indirectly. 93 

(P) "Little cigar" means any roll for smoking, other than 94 

cigarettes, made wholly or in part of tobacco that uses an 95 

integrated cellulose acetate filter or other filter and is wrapped 96 

in any substance containing tobacco, other than natural leaf 97 

tobacco. 98 

(Q) "Premium cigar" means any roll for smoking, other than 99 

cigarettes and little cigars, that is made wholly or in part of 100 

tobacco and that has all of the following characteristics: 101 

(1) The binder and wrapper of the roll consist entirely of 102 

leaf tobacco. 103 

(2) The roll contains no filter or tip, nor any mouthpiece 104 

consisting of a material other than tobacco. 105 

 
 
 
 



ATTACHEMENT 3 continued 
 

SC4977X2 Page 5 

 

(3) The weight of one thousand such rolls is at least six 106 

pounds.  107 

(R) "Maximum tax amount" means fifty cents plus the tax 108 

adjustment factor computed under this division. 109 

In April of each year beginning in 2016, the tax commissioner 110 

shall compute a tax adjustment factor by multiplying fifty cents 111 

by the cumulative percentage increase in the consumer price index 112 

(all items, all urban consumers) prepared by the bureau of labor 113 

statistics of the United States department of labor from January 114 

1, 2015, to the last day of December of the preceding year and 115 

rounding the resulting product to the nearest one cent; provided, 116 

that the tax adjustment factor for any year shall not be less than 117 

that for the immediately preceding year. The maximum tax amount 118 

resulting from the computation of the tax adjustment factor 119 

applies on and after the ensuing first day of July through the 120 

thirtieth day of June thereafter."  121 

In line 102424, after "cigars" insert "or premium cigars" 122 

Between lines 102431 and 102432, insert: 123 

"(3) For premium cigars received by a distributor or sold by 124 

a manufacturer to a retail dealer located in this state, the 125 

lesser of twenty-two and one-half per cent of the wholesale price 126 

of such premium cigars or the maximum tax amount per each such 127 

premium cigar."  128 

In line 102459, after "cigars" insert "or premium cigars" 129 

Between lines 102467 and 102468, insert: 130 

"(3) For premium cigars, whenever the premium cigars are 131 

delivered to a consumer in this state for the storage, use, or 132 

other consumption of the premium cigars, the lesser of twenty-two 133 

and one-half per cent of the wholesale price of such premium 134 

131HB64-SC4977X2/AY 
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cigars or the maximum tax amount per each such premium cigar." 135 

In line 102508, after "cigars" insert "or premium cigars" 136 

In line 102511, reinsert "thirty-seven"; delete "forty-nine" 137 

Between lines 102512 and 102513, insert: 138 

"(3) For premium cigars, the lesser of twenty-two and 139 

one-half per cent of the wholesale price of the premium cigars or 140 

the maximum tax amount per each premium cigar." 141 

In line 110686, after "5741.23," insert "5743.01," 142 

In line 126842, after "sections" insert "5743.01," 143 
 
 
The motion was __________ agreed to. 
 
 

SYNOPSIS  

Tax on premium cigars 144 

R.C. 5743.01, 5743.51, 5743.62, and 5743.63; Section 803.280 145 

Places a ceiling on the amount of excise tax on "premium 146 

cigars" of 50¢ per cigar, effective July 1, 2015. Under the 147 

pending bill, the rate of tax on other tobacco products is 148 

increased from 17% to 22.5% of the wholesale price of the product. 149 

The same rate would apply to premium cigars, but the maximum tax 150 

would be 50¢ per cigar. 151 

Requires the Tax Commissioner to annually increase the 50¢ 152 

rate at the same rate as an increase in the Consumer Price Index. 153 

Defines a premium cigar as a roll of tobacco with (1) a 154 

binder and wrapper consisting entirely of leaf tobacco, (2) no tip 155 

or filter or mouthpiece that is not made of tobacco, and (3) a 156 

weight of at least six pounds per 1,000 rolls. 157 

131HB64-SC4977X2/AY 



 
ATTACHMENT 4 

 
STATES WITH A PER CIGAR TAX: 

 
1. Michigan 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(014da445znyjul55vuiasu3j))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-205-
427 
(g) Beginning July 1, 2004, for cigars, non-cigarette smoking tobacco, and smokeless tobacco, 32% of the 
wholesale price. However, beginning November 1, 2012 and through October 31, 2016, the amount of tax levied 
under this subdivision on cigars shall not exceed 50 cents per individual cigar. 
 

2. Connecticut  
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330a  
(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision (1) of this subsection, in the case of cigars the tax shall not exceed 
fifty cents per cigar. 
 

3. Washington 
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.26.020  
(1) There is levied and collected a tax upon the sale, handling, or distribution of all tobacco products in this state at 
the following rate: 
(a) For cigars except little cigars, ninety-five percent of the taxable sales price of cigars, not to exceed sixty-five 
cents per cigar; 

 
4. Oregon 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013ors323.html  
(1) A tax is hereby imposed upon the distribution of all tobacco products in this state. The tax imposed by this 
section is intended to be a direct tax on the consumer, for which payment upon distribution is required to achieve 
convenience and facility in the collection and administration of the tax. The tax shall be imposed on a distributor at 
the time the distributor distributes tobacco products. 
(2) The tax imposed under this section shall be imposed at the rate of: 
      (a) Sixty-five percent of the wholesale sales price of cigars, but not to exceed 50 cents per cigar; 
 

5. Arkansas 
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/Default.asp  
(B)  (i) The total amount of the excise or privilege taxes levied under §§ 26-57-208, 26-57-803, 26-57-805, and 26-
57-807 on cigars shall not exceed fifty cents (50cent(s)) per cigar. 
(ii) If the total amount of the excise or privilege taxes levied under §§ 26-57-208, 26-57-803, 26-57-805, and 26-57-
807 on cigars would exceed fifty cents (50cent(s)) per cigar, the excise or privilege tax rates under §§ 26-57-208, 
26-57-803, 26-57-805, and 26-57-807 shall be reduced proportionally. 
 

6. Iowa 
https://research.legis.iowa.gov/document?name=453A&type=code&year=2014&docId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-
B85C-C2650E464516&uniqueId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-B85C-C2650E464516%20#453A  
a.  A tax is imposed upon all tobacco products in this state and upon any person engaged in business as a 
distributor of tobacco products, at the rate of twenty-two percent of the wholesale sales price of the tobacco 
products, except little cigars and snuff as defined in section 453A.42. 
b.  In addition to the tax imposed under paragraph “a”, a tax is imposed upon all tobacco products in this state and 
upon any person engaged in business as a distributor of tobacco products, at the rate of twenty-eight percent of the 
wholesale sales price of the tobacco products, except little cigars and snuff as defined in section 453A.42. 
c.  Notwithstanding the rate of tax imposed pursuant to paragraphs “a” and “b”, if the tobacco product is a cigar, the 
total amount of the tax imposed pursuant to paragraphs “a” and “b” combined shall not exceed fifty cents per cigar. 
 

7. Rhode Island 
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOTAX/7784.pdf 
(b) Cigar Tax Rate. The tax rate for cigars is eighty (80%) of the Wholesale Cost, with a 
maximum tax of no more than fifty cents ($0.50) per cigar. If the wholesale value of the 
cigar is $0.63 or more, then the maximum tax due on that cigar is fifty cents ($0.50). 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(014da445znyjul55vuiasu3j))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-205-427
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(014da445znyjul55vuiasu3j))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-205-427
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_214a.htm#sec_12-330a
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=82.26.020
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013ors323.html
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/arcode/Default.asp
https://research.legis.iowa.gov/document?name=453A&type=code&year=2014&docId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-B85C-C2650E464516&uniqueId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-B85C-C2650E464516%20#453A
https://research.legis.iowa.gov/document?name=453A&type=code&year=2014&docId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-B85C-C2650E464516&uniqueId=773503BF-47B2-44E2-B85C-C2650E464516%20#453A
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOTAX/7784.pdf


ATTACHMENT 4 continued 
 
 

8. Wisconsin 
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/139/III/76  
(1) An excise tax is imposed upon the sale, offering or exposing for sale, possession with intent to sell or removal 
for consumption or sale or other disposition for any purpose of tobacco products by any person engaged as a 
distributor of them at the rate, for tobacco products, not including moist snuff, of 71 percent of the manufacturer's 
established list price to distributors without diminution by volume or other discounts on domestic products and, for 
moist snuff, at the rate of 100 percent of the manufacturer's established list price to distributors without diminution by 
volume or other discounts on domestic products.  
 
The tax imposed under this subsection on cigars shall not exceed an amount equal to 50 cents for each cigar. On 
products imported from another country, not including moist snuff, the rate of tax is 71 percent of the amount 
obtained by adding the manufacturer's list price to the federal tax, duties and transportation costs to the United 
States. On moist snuff imported from another country, the rate of the tax is 100 percent of the amount obtained by 
adding the manufacturer's list price to the federal tax, duties, and transportation costs to the United States.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/139/III/76
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