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Chairman Oelslager, Vice-Chair Manning, Ranking Member Skindell and members of the
Senate Fmance Commiftee, I am submitting this testimony in my capacity as Legislative
Agent of the Ohio Funeral Directors Association (OFDA). OFDA is a statewide association
of 910 funeral homes and approxamately 2,300 fimeral professionals throughout the State
of Ohio.

OFDA supports language that is mcluded m Sub. HB. 168 as passed by the Ohio House.
The language makes technical changes to provisions that were inclided in Am, Sub. H.B.
149, the state’s biennial budget. These changes are also supported by the State Board of
Embalmers and Funeral Directors, the state entity that regulates the fumeral profession.
Below is a summary of the changes:

1. Boeard Quorum Section 4717.03(A) — Under current law, 5 of the 7 members of
the Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors shall be licensed fineral directors
but only 4 of the licensed funeral directors are required to also have an embalmers
license. So, for quorum purposes, this language aflows all of the 5 fineral director
members to be counted for pwposes of determining a quorum.

2. Disposition in Thirty Days New division 4717.13(A) (12) requires a funeral
home to complete disposition of a dead body within 30 days of taking custody of
the body unless the person with the right of disposition orders otherwise. Sub.
H.B. 168 provides this same authority to coroners to extend the disposition
beyond 30 days.

3. Crematory Operator Permit To make it clear that any individual who engages
i cremation shall have a crematory operator penmit, a new division (A)(13) was
added to Revised Code Section 4717.13. There is a concern that some licensed
crematories are allowing persons to perform cremations without having such a
permt.

4. Initial Service Fee for Instaliment Contracts Section 4717.36(B), as revised by
Am. Sub. H.B. 49, permits the collection of an mitial service fee of 10% on a
guaranteed-price, trust-funded prenced funeral contract. For installment
contracts, it provides that no more than one-half of the installment payments may
be applied to the tutial service fee. However, installment contracts are not




“guaranteed-price” until all of the installments have been paid. Therefore, Sub.
H.B. 168 revises 4717.36(B) to make it clear that the mitial service fee can only
be collected by the seller after all installment payments have been paid.

5. Payment to the Trustee Am. Sub. H.B. 49 revised Division
4717.36(C) to requure that all payments made by a consumer on a
preneed confract must be paid directly to the trustee rather than to
the seller of the preneed contract. However, some trustees may use
a designated depository or lockbox at another financial mstitution to
receive and process payments. Therefore, language was added to
4717.36(C) to allow consumer payments to also be made to a
trustee’s designed depository.

6. 4717.13 Prohibited Conduct Revised Code Section 4717.13{A) is
amended to make it clear that there are penalties under Ohio law if
a person engages in cremation without a crematory operators permit
or engages i the profession of fimeral directing, embalming or
operating a crematory or performintg cremation without a license.

7. 4717.14 Disciplinary aetions The two changes in this section relate to
disciplinary actions that the Board of Embalmers & Funeral Directors may take
when there are violations of certain sections of Chapter 4717 of the Ohio Revised
Code. They are:

a. The Board of Embalmers and Funeral Drwectors and the Olio Funeral
Directors Association both agree that “recklessly” as opposed to
“purposely” is the appropriate mens rea (state of mind) to determine when
a violation ofthe applicable sections occur. '

b. New language that authorizes the Board of Embalnkrs and Funeral
Directors to suspend a license or permit via a telephone conference after
reviewing allegations was requested by the Board of Embalmers &
Funeral Directors to be able to act expeditiously when appropriate.
Paragraph (C) of this section of the Ohio Revised Code already establishes
the circumstances under which the Board may suspend a license if “the
licensee's continued practice presents a danger of immediate and serious
harm to the public”. The new language gives the Board a quicker method
to suspend a license when this type of emment danger is present.

Thanks for your consideration of this testimony.



