
Colorado & Sub. H.B. 123 

 Colorado’s Payday Loan Law Sub. H.B. 123 

Maximum Loan Size $500 $1,000 

Income-based Limit on 
Loan Size 

25% of Gross Monthly Income 
(GMI) 

No income-based limit 

Monthly payment size 
as share of avg. gross 
paycheck for $500 loan 

5% of GMI 6% of GMI if term is 90 days or 
shorter. 
No limit if more than 90 days 

Minimum term 6 months 91 days, or shorter if borrower can 
afford it based on income 

   

Loan Examples and 
Maximum Costs 

Cost in Dollars and APR 

 Colorado Sub. H.B. 123* 

$100 for 30 days $6 (73% APR) $12 (148% APR) 

$100 for 2 months $11 (87% APR) $24 (184% APR) 

$200 for 45 days $17 (74% APR) $36 (161% APR) 

$200 for 2 months $22 (89% APR) $47 (184% APR) 

$300 for 3 months $76 (146% APR) $104 (198% APR) 

$300 for 6 months $212 (214% APR) $180 (184% APR) 

$400 for 3 months $91 (132% APR) $109 (157% APR) 

$400 for 4 months $141 (159% APR) $144 (162% APR) 

$400 for 6 months $273 (203% APR) $213 (165% APR) 

$500 for 45 days $35 (61% APR) $71 (126% APR) 

$500 for 3 months $99 (99% APR) $124 (143% APR) 

$500 for 4 months $153 (125% APR) $160 (145% APR) 

$500 for 6 months $293 (180% APR) $232 (145% APR) 

$600 for 6 months prohibited $242 (128% APR) 

$600 for 8 months prohibited $317 (126% APR) 

$700 for 6 months prohibited $252 (115% APR) 

$700 for 8 months prohibited $329 (114% APR) 

$800 for 8 months prohibited $342 (104% APR) 

$800 for 10 months prohibited $422 (104% APR) 

$900 for 10 months prohibited $437 (95% APR) 

$1,000 for 10 months prohibited $453 (89% APR) 

$1,000 for 12 months prohibited $538 (88% APR) 

Source for Colorado Pricing: Administrator of the Colorado Consumer Credit Unit, Office of the Colorado 

Attorney General 

Source for Ohio Pricing: Sub. H.B. No. 123 

*Pricing excludes optional $10 check-cashing fee, which would be permitted in Sub. H.B. 123 but is 

prohibited in Colorado.  

Note: Red Shading Indicates Which Law Has Higher Pricing 



Colorado Share of Loans Repaid Each Month 

Repaid In: Share of Loans  Costs More in… 

< 1 month* 21.4% Sub. HB 123 

1 > 2 months* 17.2% Sub. HB 123 

2 > 3 months 13.0% Sub. HB 123 

3 > 4 months 13.1% Slightly more under Sub. HB 123 

4 > 5 months  11.6% Slightly more in Colorado 

5+ months 23.6% Colorado 

Note: For loans up to $500, the approximately 65% of loans repaid by the end of month four would cost 

more under Sub. H.B. 123, and the 35% of loans repaid in months 5 and 6 would cost more in Colorado. 

Loans of $501-$1,000 would be permitted under Sub. H.B. 123 but prohibited in Colorado.  

*These loans carry no monthly maintenance fees in Colorado and have APRs of 56-85%.  

 

Gross Monthly Income & Loan Size 

Certain states use income to limit loan size but do not limit payment size. Sub. H.B. 123 would not place 

any income-based limit on loan size. Instead, it would make loans affordable by limiting payment sizes 

to 6% of each paycheck on loans with short terms (up to 90 days), and would not limit payment sizes for 

loans longer than that. Colorado sets a hard limit on payments, so average loans ($392) carry a payment 

that consumes 4% of a borrower’s average income. $500 loans, the maximum allowed there, have 

payments that consume 5% of an average borrower’s income. Some states set a limit on loan size (not 

payment size) using 25-35% of Gross Monthly Income, such as Idaho, Illinois, Nevada, Washington, and 

Wisconsin. Adding such a restriction to Sub. H.B. 123 would reduce the size of loans available to low and 

moderate-income borrowers. Under the current amendment, there is no such restriction. The 

affordability protections in Sub. H.B. 123 are around payment size to end the current practice of lenders 

taking one-third of a borrower’s next paycheck, leading borrowers to take another loan quickly and 

beginning a cycle of debt. They do not restrict loan size and would give lenders and borrowers more 

flexibility on loan size than is available in states that restrict loans based on income. 

 


