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Chair LaRose, Vice Chair Kunze, Ranking Member Tavares, and members of the Senate Transportation, 

Commerce and Workforce Committee, my name is Tom Balzer, President and CEO of the Ohio Trucking 

Association and the Ohio Association of Movers. Collectively we represent over 1,000 trucking, moving, 

logistics, and warehouse companies and allied vendor members.  

The highway system is America’s biggest asset and economic influence. Everything we encounter on a given 

day was at one point on a truck. Trucks transport 75% of the total manufactured tonnage in Ohio, and 

82.2% of Ohio communities depend exclusively on trucks to move their goods. We in turn rely on the 

highway system to deliver what this country needs and are very protective of the trillions of dollars we 

have invested in America’s highways.  

Trucking pays its share in regards to highway funding. According to the American Transportation Research 

Institute, our industry pays 37% of all taxes owed by Ohio motorists, while representing only 10% of the 

vehicle miles traveled in the state. Furthermore, trucking pays taxes, proportional to the usage, to those 

states. If we use the roads in a state, we pay that state, regardless of where we buy the fuel or where we 

are domiciled.  

The associations have a strongly held belief that all the road fees and taxes we pay should go back to 

road and bridge construction for both state and federal funds. Diversions of these funds continue to plague 

the Federal Highway Trust Fund. This budget diverts too much funding to projects that have little to no 

impact on protecting our highway infrastructure. Continuing to divert funds to sources unassociated with the 

highway system, including transit, interpretive ventures, bicycles paths, and “smart” projects, only robs the 

fund from fulfilling its true purpose: roads and bridges. There are other funding sources that can meet 

these needs; highway funding is meant for highways.  

The citizens of Ohio in 1947 codified this belief in the Ohio Constitution: 

Use of motor vehicle license and fuel taxes restricted. 

§5a No moneys derived from fees, excises, or license taxes relating to registration, 

operation, or use of vehicles on public highways, or to fuels used for propelling such 

vehicles, shall be expended for other than costs of administering such laws, statutory 

refunds and adjustments provided therein, payment of highway obligations, costs for 

construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and bridges and 

other statutory highway purposes, expense of state enforcement of traffic laws, and 

expenditures authorized for hospitalization of indigent persons injured in motor vehicle 

accidents on the public highways. 

The Ohio House of Representatives added two provisions to their version of the bill that we strongly 

support, and hope that you will expand on one of these provisions. 



The first is a pilot project for four counties, intended to reduce the Highway Safety Fee from $30 per 

vehicle to $15 per vehicle. The Highway Safety Fund, as well as the Country Permissive Tax, puts Ohio 

trucking companies at a disadvantage when compared to out of state trucking companies. Unlike 

passenger vehicles, truck registration is allocated proportionately to the states in which they operate. This 

is done through a system called the International Registration Plan (IRP), which allows companies to “base 

plate,” or pick, the state in which they file their registration, which is based on an established placed of 

business and ownership, or lease or rental of a physical structure that is designated by a street name or 

road. Jurisdictions require proof of this. The applicant can submit various documents as proof, including 

utility bills in the company’s or a person’s name, state government provided documents showing corporate 

residency, weapons permit (US only), bank statements, a driver’s license, titles, tax returns showing home 

jurisdiction address, or a health care card (Canada only). 

It is not unheard of for companies who have multiple locations to venue shop for states without additional 

fees. Ohio puts itself in a bad position nationally by separating out these fees. We wish for a program 

that would address all add-on fees, such as the Highway Safety Fee and the County Permissive Tax on 

Commercial Motor Vehicles, through a uniform fee structure that would be available to all counties. 

The second is a study on the impacts of reducing the costs of permanent trailer plates in Ohio. In 2016, 

Ohio had 335,218 commercial trailers registered, up from 307,739 in 2015.1 There were 255,792 

commercial trucks domiciled in Ohio.2 The compacts between states allow for motor carriers to register 

trucks in a state they have nexus to, which is known as a base state. The same in not true regarding the 

registration of trailers; one only needs a registered agent. In fact, there are some states that do not 

require a title transfer to their state as a prerequisite of registration of trailers. 

As referenced on the attached table, Ohio has the highest fee for a permanent trailer plate in the nation, 

ranging from $10 to $400, compared to surrounding states, including Michigan (at $300), Pennsylvania at 

($135), and Kentucky (at $107). Indiana is one of the gold standard states where the fee is only $83, and 

the registration process is streamlined. Many carriers from around the country use Indiana as their state for 

registering trailers because of these conditions. 

While difficult to determine the growth in the registration of commercial trailers in Ohio as a result of a 

lower fee, it is safe to surmise that, given the volume of commerce transactions in Ohio, carriers exposed to 

the newly reduced fee would see the financial benefit of moving their registration. Ohio is limiting itself in 

the amount of potential commercial trailer registrations, as fees are noncompetitive with other states.   

Once a trailer is permanently plated, there is no reason to change the state in which it is plated. The 

additional cost of the Ohio County Permissive Tax factors in the business decision concerning the location of 

vehicle plating. Even with these challenges, we feel that the fiscal impact based on the 335,218 number is 

gravely flawed. There will without question be a significant growth in the number of trailers registered in 

Ohio if the fee is competitive with Indiana. We will pick up registrations from surrounding states who have 

higher. Most importantly, we will stop the outmigration of trailer registration from Ohio companies. 

Mr. Chairman, this concludes my testimony, and I would be happy to answer any questions. 

                                                           
1 Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles 
2 Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration MCS-150 reported power units for Ohio 
domiciled carriers.  



State Annual Vehicle Registration Fees  

On a Tractor-Semitrailer Combination at 80,000 Pounds 

 
Effective January 1, 2015 

 

 

State     Registration Fee 

 

Alabama      $    836 

Alaska     351 

Arizona  4202 

Arkansas  1573 

California  2975 

Colorado  4862 

Connecticut  1586 

Delaware  1430 

D.C.   2758 

Florida   1336 

Georgia  1012 

Hawaii     970 

Idaho   3375 

Illinois   3210 

Indiana  1932 

Iowa   1725 

Kansas   2315 

Kentucky  2296 

Louisiana    514 

Maine   4002 

Maryland  1877 

Massachusetts  1920 

Michigan  1960 

Minnesota  1773 

Mississippi  2927 

Missouri  1727 

Montana  1296 

Nebraska  1281 

Nevada  2809 

New Hampshire 1091 

New Jersey  1255 

New Mexico    185 

New York  1581 

North Carolina 1254 

North Dakota  1018 

Ohio   1414 

Oklahoma  1001   

Oregon  1024 



 

 

State     Registration Fee 

 

Pennsylvania        $ 1827 

Rhode Island  1056 

South Carolina   820 

South Dakota  1467 

Tennessee  1441 

Texas   1065 

Utah   2872 

Vermont  2249 

Virginia  1362 

Washington  1782 

West Virginia  2645 

Wisconsin  2610 

Wyoming  2231 

 

 

NOTES: 

 

The fees listed here are those charged in each state for the full annual registration of a 

tractor-semitrailer combination with a gross combined weight of 80,000 pounds, based in 

the state and operated by a for-hire motor carrier.  Weight fees are included, but, unlike 

earlier versions of this chart, miscellaneous  nonapportioned fees are not included.  

 

Semitrailer fees are annual fees, if the state charges one, even where a state also offers an 

option of multi-year plates for trailing equipment.  Where no annual trailer registration is 

offered, the state’s lowest multiyear fee is used.   

 

In-lieu ad valorem fees are included for states that collect such a fee through IRP.  Where 

the state charges an in-lieu fee for vehicles based elsewhere, and a property tax for those 

bases with it, the property tax is used.  For these purposes, the combination is assumed to 

have a purchase price of $145,000 ($115,000 for the tractor and $30,000 for the 

semitrailer) and to be in its first year of operation. 

 

 

 


