Daniel Trachman
831 Gary Ave
Girard, OH 44420

May 27, 2019

Federalism Committee
Ohio House of Representatives

RE: Opponent Testimony, HB 178
To: Chairman and Committee Members

My name is Daniel Trachman, I’'m an active member of WRFGA in Niles, OH who sponsor many
worthwhile CHL Classes and Firearm Safety Classes (including the IN PERSON Hunter Safety Courses)

Having taken in the recent past a CHL Class — and a Hunter Safety Class — it is obvious that Class
Participants have a wide range in Firearms Safety Handling Experience — Outdoors Experience. Lastly,
but very important many Have Little or No Knowledge of the Firearms Laws. You are dealing with
people who can’t Hit the Broad Sign of a Barn —Have Problems Racking/Clearing Semi Auto Pistols -
Have No Idea of How to Safely Negotiate A Fence — Get in/out of Autos with a Loaded Firearm - Safely
Holstering a Pistol. They would be very hard pressed to understand “Castle Doctrine” DOES NOT GIVE
YOU THE RIGHT TO “SHOOT TO KILL WITH IMPUNITY” PG 19 OF AG YOSTS CHL MANUAL . “Again, if it
does not put your life or the life of others in danger, you should withdraw from the confrontation
if it is safe for you to do so.” This is not an easy to Figure out Concept in a 20 page Booklet —
and for the Average Person might require Some Explanation and Reinforcing — He diligently goes
through the Concept of the Castle Doctrine — Explains though You Should Avoid Using Deadly Force
Unless you feel threatened with Serious Bodily Injury or Death and have no way to retreat — Then Goes
to Say in 2019 that Ohio Law Changed that now the Prosecutor Most Prove “You Didn’t have the Feeling
of Being Threatened with Serious Injury or Death Beyond a Reasonable Shadow of Doubt” — THESE ARE
ALL VERY COMPLEX MATTERS FOR THE UNINFORMED TO GRASP — with current court decisions -
Criminal and Civil all coming into play!

This is why Personal Instruction by Animated Experienced Informative Instructors is important — it’s not
a 5 minute read — and | defy someone to read that page 19 Excerpt on the Castle Doctrine and say it’s
going to be clear for the average person.

SINCE YOU ARE CHANGING THE PREMISE OF EVERYONE HAS A RIGHT TO CONCEAL CARRY A DEADLY
WEAPON UNDER CONSTITUTIONAL CARRY — THE EDUCATION AND BURDEN TO MAKE THE LAWS AND
IMPORTANT ELEMENTS OF SAFETY BECOMES A BIGGER BURDEN FOR THE STATE OF OHIO — GUN
DEALERS. We Should Rethink Distribution of Rules and Education — TO SUIT THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF
INTRODUCING AN ENTIRE NEW SET OF RULES.! Hopefully — a Uniform Statewide Educational Standard —
Source of Information will be developed. If potential Constitutional Carry parties realize the complexity |
think they would opt for whatever the State of Ohio can provide and hands on — face to face training
with reputable Instructors and routine practice at the range.




My Recent Experience with CHL and Hunter Safety Training reflects the average Population Proficiency
Level who will UNFORTUNATELY be tempted to Take A Short Cut and Skip the $50 CHL License Fee and
$50-150 Class. I'll Cite an Article with Stats from Missouri where people have similar views about
Firearms and somewhat similar backgrounds to folks in Ohio (Many have grown up exposed to firearms
at least for hunting and sporting purposes) IF THE STATE MAKES THE RULES RELATED TO FIREARMS
USE AND SAFETY MANDATORY TO BE DISTRIBUTED AT THE POINT OF SALE — PERHAPS also FREE
VIDEO COMPUTER ASSISTED INSTRUCTION MODULES - AND DEFINITELY A LIST OF QUALIFIED
INSTRUCTORS FOR CHL LICENSING/HUNTER SAFETY IN THE AREA - a Reasonable Person Might
Think TWICE OR THREE TIMES saying Attorney General Yost is Not Just Blowing His Horn Saying Read

The article from Missouri follows:

Now that “constitutional carry” legislation applies in Missouri, Texas County
residents are apparently comfortable not having permits to carry a concealed
firearm.

Texas County Sheriff's Department dispatch supervisor Penny Rader, who handles
concealed-carry (CCW) procedures for the county, said only 12 applications for new
CCW permits have been received thus far in 2017. There were four in March, eight in

February and none in January.

That’s a stark contrast from the 339 fielded in 2016 — an average of about 28 per month.
‘Constitutional carry’ law having profound effect on CCW
applications By DOUG DAVISON - ddavison@houstonherald.com Mar 8, 2017

What this means to me is that the Average Person 4 out of 5 are opting not to Pursue
the CHL licensing in Missouri . | worry about the Problems we are going to have with a
similar percentage of folks in Ohio saying Shucks I've been Shooting for all my life and |
know how to handle guns. Or the person who is afraid of a home break in and gets a
gun because the salesmen at the big box gun store says it’'s easy to shot. Then they go
for two or three years not having fired it keeping in their purse or a night stand. Not
having read the ATTORNEY GENERALS UPDATED BOOKLETS! Or Gone to Training

— or even just practiced informally at the range.

At the risk of repeating myself the State of Ohio will be at risk for a rash of Concealed
Carry Related Incidents — and the Very Least Ohio should Require is Minimally Every
Gun Store Selling a Concealed Carry Weapon to Offer the OHIO AG’s CHL Booklet —


https://www.houstonherald.com/users/profile/Doug%20Davison%20-%20Houston%20Herald

Preferably to be Augmented with a Video or Computer Assisted instruction geared to an
appropriate Education Level of the general population — and listings of Approved CHL
Instructors and Courses in the Area —a sober minded individual will think twice
about a 20 page booklet issued by Attorney General Yost that says “You are
responsible to adhere to all of these rules” — IGNORANCE IS NO EXCUSE - and
with Access to Local Approved Courses/Instructors — the Book — an Online Venue

— We are Covering the bases to make Ohio Safer

Thank you for your time and consideration

Daniel Trachman



