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Testimony in Opposition of SB48 
Speedy Trial Extension 

Sponsor Senator Eklund 
 
Chairman Eklund, Vice Chair Manning, Ranking Member Thomas, and members of the 

Senate Judiciary Committee.  My name is Niki Clum, and I’m the Legislative Liaison for the 

Office of the Ohio Public Defender.  Thank you for the opportunity to testify in opposition of 

SB48. 

People who are arrested and charged with crimes have a constitutional right to a speedy 

trial. As the sponsor’s testimony indicated, Ohioans charged with felonies have a right to be 

brought to trial within 270 days – or 90 days if they are incarcerated pending trial – as each day 

of incarceration counts for three days pursuant to Revised Code 2945.71.  If a defendant is not 

brought to trial within the 270 day (or 90 day) deadline, they may assert their right to speedy 

trial has been violated. If a court finds that a defendant has not been brought to trial prior to the 

speedy trial deadline, the charge is dismissed with prejudice. However, dismissals for a speedy 

trial violations are extremely rare. When a defendant claims that his or her speedy trial right 

has been violated, they must show that 270 days (or 90 days) have passed and no tolling 

occurred. Upon meeting this burden, the State then has the ability to respond and explain when 

there should have been tolling.  

Few trials, especially for felony cases, actually occur within the speedy trial deadline.  

This is because statutes and caselaw contain numerous provisions that allow prosecutors, 

judges, and defense attorneys to extend the speedy trial timeline. As is frequently the case, 

defendants may waive their right to a speedy trial. Additionally, simply requesting discovery 
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tolls the speedy trial clock for a period. Prosecutors can toll the speedy trial clock because a 

key witness is not available for trial. The court can toll speedy trial if the court provides the 

express reason for the delay in the record. Furthermore, there is always the option for the State 

to dismiss the case without prejudice so that the charges may be brought at a later time.  

Extending the State’s ability to bring a case by 14 days is not necessary. It is not the 

experience of OPD that a significant number of cases are being dismissed for speedy trial 

violations. This is likely because current law contains sufficient provisions for both the State 

and the defendant regarding how the speedy trial deadline is calculated. It is also important to 

remember that the State has ample time to develop a case prior to charging a defendant. The 

statute of limitations for most felonies in Ohio is six years - with more serious felonies having a 

20-year limitation, and our most serious offenses having no statute of limitation. The State 

further enjoys months of preparation time after a defendant has been charged before running 

afoul of a defendant’s right to speedy trial.  

Individuals being detained in jail pending trial are presumed innocent. Fourteen days is 

a long period of time for someone being held away from their family and employment – often 

times due to a lack of financial ability to pay for bail. To extend the case by another 14 days is 

to defeat the longstanding principals of speedy trial which serve to protect everyone, including 

defendants and victims who are waiting for the case to be resolved. The State has considerable 

power within the criminal justice system, which includes discretion of what charges to file 

against a person and when. The State should be held accountable to bring to trial the accused 

within the timeframes already prescribed by law. 

Thank you for the opportunity to testify today before your committee.  I am happy to 

answer questions at this time.   


