
I wish to thank the Local Government, Public Safety and Veterans Affairs Committee in advance 

for the opportunity to address them regarding the issues pending in the proposed SB 68 

legislation.  I am Suzan M. Sweeney, a judge of the Cleveland Municipal Court. 

The idea to make an Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicle (BMV) Reinstatement Fee payable through 

performance of Community Work Service (CWS) hours actually came from the participating 

defendants themselves, who once having completed CWS hours in lieu of fines, fees and/or 

court costs, asked if they could continue to perform CWS volunteer hours in lieu of an 

outstanding Reinstatement Fee.  For many, paying even Fifty Dollars ($50.00) each month is an 

onerous financial burden when they have insurance payments and other essential bills to pay.  

If a $50.00 payment is missed, the driver is automatically driving under suspension again, and 

the next Reinstatement Fee may be doubled or tripled. 

Understanding there are practical concerns regarding requiring suburban or rural courts to 

oversee community service programs, we are assembling a small team to look for ways to 

facilitate implementation of this amendment without putting additional burdens on courts 

already stretched thin. While Reinstatement Fees belong to the BMV, as a state agency, their 

Reinstatement Fee office (which helps motorists navigate repayment of those fees) has been 

reduced to three employees statewide. For that reason alone, individual courts should be able 

to decide, in a DISCRETIONARY capacity, whether to allow indigent individuals to repay their 

Fee by the performance of CWS hours.    

The original view of the Ohio Judicial Conference would be to give the BMV the primary 

responsibility to oversee this program, but allow local courts that wish to establish their own 

programs to do so.  In many of the larger urban areas, Community Work Service programs have 

already been established, and there may be a way to allow other courts to use those agencies 

as a tracking mechanism for the court and/or BMV.  

As a judge in a municipal court, I deal daily with defendants before me who are charged with 

the first degree misdemeanor of Driving Under Suspension, the number one misdemeanor (by 

far!) in my city.  My  goal is to have INSURED and valid drivers on our city streets and highways. 

For a motorist who wants to test or retest to get a driver’s license, to become valid often 

requires not just getting an SR22 bond or new monthly insurance, it often means paying a 

substantial Reinstatement Fee to the OBMV.  For someone who is working a minimum wage 

job, or part-time, paying that Reinstatement Fee often means making tough choices. 

Most people want to drive legally, and do NOT wish to lose the employment that they do have, 

(if they cannot drive).  As a jurist who understands defendants may be financially strapped, 

especially if they are supporting a family on their own, I sometimes offer them the possibility to 

work off their fine and court costs by performing Community Work Service hours at the rate of 



Ten Dollars ($10.00) per hour for every hour worked.  It may even be at an hourly rate greater 

than what they make in their employment.  The benefit to the community of those volunteer 

hours is immeasurable!  

Community Work Service can be performed at almost any church, community recreation 

center, hunger center/food bank, governmental agency, literacy program, etc. that registers to 

accept volunteer CWS workers.  Most any charity or agency that is in need of volunteer 

workers, and can track the number of hours worked to report back to the Court, a probation 

officer or to the Clerk of Courts would be acceptable.  The judge in the court that grants the 

CWS hours, on a case-by-case basis, in lieu of Reinstatement Fee could indicate by Journal 

Entry, that the CWS hours have been completed to the satisfaction of the Court, and the Clerk 

of Courts could then certify those hours to the BMV, in lieu of that Reinstatement Fee, thereby 

allowing the individual to obtain their Ohio Driver License.   

However, if a judge NEVER wants to allow CWS hours in lieu of Restatement Fees, that is fine 

too.  This is a discretionary option to allow some defendants to become a legal driver by 

performing CWS hours in lieu of paying money for Reinstatement Fees to the BMV.  

 


