As Adopted by the Senate

133rd General Assembly Regular Session 2019-2020

S. R. No. 583

Senator Eklund

A RESOLUTION

Honoring the Kirtland High School football team on securing the 2020 Division V State Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 133rd General Assembly 1
of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to the Kirtland High 2
School football team on winning the 2020 Division V State 3
Championship; and 4

WHEREAS, The Kirtland High School football team has proven to be a 5 talented and superbly conditioned squad and has gained the respect of 6 fans and opponents alike for its spirited and highly motivated play. A 7 great legacy has been established by the 2020 Hornets, and members 8 Mason Sullivan, Joey Grazia, Ramon Lescano, Philip LaVerde, Johnny 9 Raguz, Tommy Gogolin, Brad Davis, Mason Margheret, Scott Haymer, Gino 10 Blasini, Rocco Alfieri, Will Sayle, Liam Powers, Luke Chuko, Pierce 11 Boyd, Anthony DeMarco, Brady Burich, Ohm Ganesh, Ethan Sanzo, Gage 12 Sullivan, Bobby Whittaker, Jack Green, Carson Andonian, Joseph 13 Coleman, Mason Rus, Danny Davidson, Aaron Fortuna, Will Bates, Parker 14 White, Mitch Carestio, Ian Borthwick, Nico Clayton, Nick Barisic, Luke 15 Gogolin, Ricky Lessick, Nico Podojil-Schlesinger, Macquire Boyd, Nick 16 Schwartz, Adam Knaak, Angelo Blasini, Nate Fellinger, Robert Laney, 17 Kristian Grman, J.P. Daher, T.J. Green, Brennon Braud, Joe Santilli, 18 Mason Vermilye, Avery Zupancic, Kelly Faber, Blake Springer, Kory 19 Dages, Jess Gerbracht, Alex Fillinger, Liam Logan, Greg Ihnat, Otto 20 Loschert, George Prusock, Joe Pekar, Daven Patel, Vince Debeljak, 21 Anthony Gencarelli, Jonathan Withrow, and Mario Rodin certainly have 22 developed into impressive athletes; and 23

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the players worked diligently to 24 improve their abilities, and as a result, the Kirtland High School 25 football team beat Ironton by a score of 38-0, bringing home their 26

S. R. No. 583 As Adopted by the Senate

third consecutive state championship title and extending their winning 27 streak to forty-one games, currently the fourth-longest string in the 28 country. The Hornets have developed into a remarkably efficient group 29 of athletes whose skill on the football field is equaled only by their 30 exemplary display of teamwork and sportsmanship. They are a credit not 31 only to their families and their school but also to the superb 32 coaching of their mentor, Tiger LaVerde, and his assistants, Ray 33 Sullivan, Ryan Beeler, Dean Morrison, Jeff Eckles, Ross Santo, Jeff 34 Wilcox, Eric Ziegler, and Dylan Aquila; and 35

WHEREAS, The road to victory and a championship title is a 36 difficult one, requiring ability, endurance, teamwork, and a positive 37 attitude on the part of players and coaches alike. The members of the 38 Kirtland High School football team have exemplified all of the 39 characteristics that are essential for success both in and out of 40 competition, including courage, discipline, integrity, and good 41 sportsmanship, and their efforts have earned them the admiration of 42 all those who have witnessed these outstanding athletes in action; 43 therefore be it 44

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 133rd General 45 Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the 46 Kirtland High School football team as the 2020 Division V State 47 Champion and commend all those associated with this exceptional squad; 48 and be it further 49

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly 50 authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Kirtland High School 51 football team. 52

Page 2