

OHIO SENATE WORKFORCE AND HIGHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE CHAIR – THE HONORABLE TERRY JOHNSON H.B. #110 MAIN OPERATING BUDGET: FY2022-23

OHIOANA LIBRARY ASSOCIATION BUDGET TESTIMONY April 21, 2021

Written Testimony provided by David Weaver, Executive Director

Chairman Johnson, Ranking Minority Member Williams, and members of the committee, thank you for the opportunity to provide this written testimony on behalf of the Ohioana Library Association. We are grateful that Governor DeWine, in his "Investing in Ohio's Future" 2022-23 Executive Budget, has recommended Ohioana for an allocation of \$305,000 in each fiscal year.

Since its founding by Ohio First Lady Martha Kinney Cooper in 1929, Ohioana has represented the model of a successful public/private partnership between the State of Ohio and a not-for-profit organization. Our current First Lady, Fran DeWine, continues in the tradition begun by Mrs. Cooper, serving as Honorary Chair of the Ohioana Board of Trustees, which is comprised of twenty members elected from around the state, and four appointees of the Governor's.

Through its collection, publications (including the *Ohioana Quarterly*), educational partnerships, and annual events, including the Ohioana Book Festival, Ohioana Awards and the new Ohio Literary Trail, Ohioana directly serves more than a half-million Ohioans each year, promotes reading and writing, and celebrates our state as one of the nation's great literary centers.

For example, in the past two years, Ohioana presented one of America's most renowned historian, David McCullough, in an event celebrating our 90th anniversary at the Ohio Statehouse. Governor and Mrs. DeWine chaired the event which was recorded live by C-SPAN and aired on BOOK-TV, which gained a national audience.

The Ohioana Book Festival, being presented this week and celebrating its 15th anniversary, has grown from ten Ohio authors to nearly 150. The audience has grown from a few hundred to more than 50,000 live and virtual attendees. It is now the single largest event celebrating Ohio authors and books.

The Ohioana Awards, which this October marks its 80th anniversary, is the second oldest state literary prize in the nation. Nearly every major Ohio author of the past 80 years has been honored, from James Thurber to Toni Morrison.

The Ohio Literary Trail, a new program which we introduced just last summer, shines the spotlight on Ohio's unique role in shaping culture and literature worldwide, with more . than 70 sites across the Buckeye state, paying tribute to the authors, poets, illustrators, libraries, and creative influencers of the written word who have called Ohio home.

With the State Library of Ohio, under whose budget state support for Ohioana falls, we partner on Choose to Read Ohio, a program that encourages Ohioans to "Read Together, Read Ohio, Read for Life." We partner with the Ohio Arts Council on the state Poetry Out Loud recitation competition. And we partner with the new Ohio Governor's Imagination Library on their goal to ensure that every student enters kindergarten ready to succeed.

Obviously, the past year has been one of unexpected challenges. In the face of a pandemic, we had to shift gears, serving the public while keeping everyone safe. With the library closed since March 2020, our staff, working remotely, found new ways to connect readers and writers, going virtual with our two biggest events of the year and introducing a new program (the Ohio Literary Trail) that drew statewide attention.

Our thanks to Governor DeWine and to all the members of the Ohio General Assembly who supported our efforts during this crisis.

As we look forward to a time when we can hold large gatherings once again, we pledge we will be there to serve the people and state of Ohio, as we have since our founding in 1929.

Eleven Ohio Governors and 36 consecutive General Assemblies since 1949 have acknowledged Ohioana's important work and affirmed the public value of this unique partnership by providing annual operating support, as authorized under the Ohio Revised Code (3375.61).

Of the \$305,000 recommended in the Executive Budget for Ohioana, \$180,000 funds a portion of salaries and benefits for the 4.0 FTE of the library. Ohioana employees are not state employees; neither do they receive any state-provided benefits, nor participate in PERS. The remaining \$125,000 funds space and the environment necessary to preserve and maintain the library collection, plus provide office space for staff and public space for researchers.

I would like to close with words from Cleveland author Anthony Doerr. In 2000, Tony won the Ohioana Walter Rumsey Marvin Grant for Ohio writers age 30 or younger who've not yet published a book. From winning that grant, Tony has gone on to become one of the world's greatest contemporary authors, and winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in fiction. Here is the closing paragraph from a letter Tony sent in support of Ohioana in 2017:

"In a nation where reading is challenged on almost every front. . . the Ohioana Library Association is doing vital work to promote reading and writing all across Ohio, and they're doing it on an already razor-thin budget. With their collections, quarterly journal, book festival, grants, and awards, they enhance, secure, and bind both the literary community of Columbus and the great state of Ohio." – Anthony Doerr

Thank you, Chairman Johnson.

OHIOANA LIBRARY ASSOCIATION BOARD OF TRUSTEES & STAFF

NAME, CITY, AFFILIATION

HONORARY CHAIR

Fran DeWine, Columbus/Greenville (First Lady of Ohio)

ELECTED

President – John Sullivan, Plain City (Deputy General Counsel, Honda of North America)

Vice-President – Katie Brandt, Columbus (Consultant, Navigation Management Partners)

Secretary – Bryan Loar, Columbus (Founder, Cbus Libraries & General Manager, Cover to Cover Books)

Treasurer – Jay Yurkiw, Columbus (Attorney/Partner, Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur)

Gillian Berchowitz, Athens (Director Emerita, Ohio University Press)

Daniel M. Best, Columbus (Attorney/Claims Counsel, Root Inc.)

Rudine Sims Bishop, Columbus (Professor Emerita, The Ohio State University)

Helen F. Bolte, Columbus (Adult Services Manager, Fairfield County District Library)

Flo Cunningham, Stow (Senior Writer, Yopko Penhallurick Public Relations)

Dionne Custer Edwards, Columbus (Director of Learning & Public Practice, Wexner Center for the Arts)

Lisa Evans, Johnstown (Vice-President, Huntington National Bank)

Negesti Kaudo, Columbus (Adjunct Instructor/Writing Center Tutor, Columbus College of Art & Design)

Helen Kirk, Maumee (Community volunteer)

Ellen McDevitt-Stredney, Columbus (Associate Creative Director, Ologie)

Mary Heather Munger, Ph.D., Perrysburg (Assistant Professor, University of Findlay)

Louise Musser, Delaware (Professor Emerita, Ohio Wesleyan University)

Cynthia Puckett, Columbus (Community volunteer)

Daniel Shuey, Westerville (Attorney/Partner, Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease)

David Siders, Cincinnati (Civic Engagement Coordinator, Cincinnati Public Library)

Jacquelyn L. Vaughan, Dublin (Community volunteer)

Betty Weibel, Chagrin Falls (Owner/Principal, Yopko Penhallurick Public Relations)

APPOINTED BY THE GOVERNOR OF OHIO

Carol Garner, Mount Vernon (Road Scholars)

Peter Niehoff, Cincinnati (Adjunct Professor, University of Cincinnati)

Brian M. Perera, Columbus (Assistant Vice-President for State Relations, The Ohio State University)

TRUSTEES EMERITUS

Francis Ott Allen, Cincinnati (University of Cincinnati – retired)

Ann Bowers, Bowling Green (Bowling Green State University – retired)

Christina Butler, Ph.D., Columbus (Ohio Dominican University – retired)

Robert Webner, Columbus (Attorney/Partner, Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease)

STAFF

David Weaver, Executive Director Kathryn Powers, Office Manager

Courtney Brown, Library Specialist