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Chairman Hillyer, Vice Chairman Mathews, Ranking Member Isaacsohn, and members of 
the House Civil Justice Committee, I appreciate the opportunity to provide testimony in 
support on HB 338 on behalf of the Ohio State Bar Association. 
 
My name is Kendra Carpenter.  I have practiced law for over 23 years; I am certified as a 
family law specialist through the Ohio State Bar Association; and I serve as the chair of the 
Family Law Committee for the Ohio State Bar Association.   
 
Throughout my practice in family law, I have had several cases that involve the payment of 
child support for adult disabled children, meaning those children who were determined to 
have a disability defined by R.C. 3109.01(A)(1)(a) prior to reaching the age of majority 
(age 18, per R.C. 3109.01(A)(1)(b)).  Some of the children turned 18 prior to the first request 
for child support, some have not.  There is great need for this legislation, as there is divide 
among the courts as to when a court has jurisdiction to extend child support for a disabled 
child beyond the age of 18. 
 
Originally, R.C. 3119.86 was codified based upon the Ohio Supreme Court’s holding in 
Castle v. Castle, which was a first impression for the Court.  Castle consolidated two 
appeals.  One from the Second District (Montgomery County), and the other from the First 
District (Hamilton County).  Both involved children who had mental and physical disabilities 
that arose prior to them turning 18, and in both cases, there was an initial request for child 
support prior to the children reaching age 18.   
 
While the Ohio Supreme Court stated that parents had a moral and legal duty to support 
their disabled child, the case simply conferred jurisdiction upon Ohio courts to do so.  It did 
not make support mandatory.  Despite this ruling, the Ohio appellate courts have disagreed 
on how to apply Castle based upon when the initial request for child support occurs.  Some 
courts will consider child support for a Castle child no matter when the first request was 
made.  Others find they are without jurisdiction to consider child support if the first request 
was made after a child turns age 18.  Yet, this is not always feasible, particularly in cases of 
divorce.  
 
The majority of appellate courts, which includes the Sixth, Seventh, Eleventh, and Twelfth 
Districts, permit a trial court to consider a first request for child support if the disabled child 
turned 18 prior to the request.  Whereas, the minority, which includes the Fifth and Tenth 
Districts, does not confer jurisdiction upon a trial court unless the first request for support is 
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made prior to the age of 18.  There is scant case law from Third, Fourth, and Nineth 
Districts that suggests these districts follow the majority.  The only case I could locate from 
the Eighth District is not helpful, because the parents agreed to continue child support. 
 
To illustrate the growing problem, I represented a Wife in a divorce case filed in Delaware 
County (Fifth District).  The parties had two children that were high on the autism 
spectrum; there was no question that they qualified as “disabled.”  However, at the time that 
my client filed for divorce and made the first request for child support, the youngest child 
was 13 and the other child was 19.  This meant that child support could be ordered for the 
13-year-old and extended beyond his eighteenth birthday, but the same was not true for the 
19-year-old. Because the divorce was filed after his eighteenth birthday., the Delaware 
County trial court would not take jurisdiction over child support for this adult disabled child.   
 
In another case that I had recently in Franklin County (Tenth District), the parties filed for 
divorce and had a 25-year-old adult who was born with a genetic abnormality that caused 
severe cognitive and physical impairment.  The magistrate, on principle alone, granted 
mother temporary child support.  Yet, the trial judge swiftly overturned the order based 
upon the Tenth District’s ruling in Geygan v. Geygan, 10th Dist. 2010-Ohio-1965, whereby a 
court is want of jurisdiction if the request is made after attaining age 18. 
 
I illustrate these cases not for the need to issue child support for disabled children, but only 
for the need to permit the trial court to consider if child support order is appropriate.  As it 
stands now, a married parent who is considering divorce, but may not be ready to file, is 
now pressured to file if they have a 17-year-old disabled child.  This may prematurely cause 
the termination of a marriage that may otherwise have been saved.  This legislation as 
supported by the Ohio State Bar Association can prevent this and also remedy the divide 
among Ohio appellate courts and ensure that families across all Districts with disabled 
children can obtain child support or at the very least have their voices heard no matter 
when a request is made.  
 
In closing, I want to impress upon you that the introduced amendments to the “Castle” 
Revised Code is jurisdictional only.  The purpose of the amendments is to confer jurisdiction 
to all Ohio courts so they may consider child support for a “Castle” child no matter when the 
first request for child support is made.  It does not serve as a mandate for a court to order 
a parent to pay child support for her or his disabled child. 
 
Thank you, 

 
Kendra L. Carpenter 
 
 


