
 

Representatives Sarah Fowler Arthur & Roy Klopfenstein 

99th & 82nd House Districts 

Rep. Klopfenstein: 

Chairman John, Vice-Chair Dean, Ranking Member Brennan, and esteemed members of the 

State and Local Government Committee, thank you for your diligent work to complete the 

legislative Occupational Licensure Review within the timeline laid out in law. 

Since the committee released their report, Representative Fowler-Arthur and I have been 

meeting diligently with stakeholders and working with LSC to draft the substitute bill language.  

We have worked hard to capture the committee’s intent of reducing burdensome regulations, 

reducing, or eliminating fees where appropriate, and minimizing barriers to occupational entry 

and retention while maintaining respected and meaningful competency standards and 

consumer quality safeguards. 

The following is a high level summary of the substitute bill changes and how they compare to 

the committee recommendations. Please note that deviations from the committee 

recommendations are highlighted in yellow, along with a brief rationale for the change. 

Board/Agency: License/Registration: Committee 

Recommendation: 

Substitute Bill 

Changes: 

Ohio Peace Officer 

Training Commission 

Certification for full-

service jail staff 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Department of 

Agriculture 

Grain Commodity 

Tester Certificate 

Eliminate. Eliminated, 

responsibilities rolled 

into Grain 

Commodity Handler 

License. 



Department of 

Agriculture 

Amusement Ride 

Operator Permit 

Not Reviewed per 

addendum. 

Reduce costs for 

inflatable ride 

inspections & 

permits. 

Architects & 

Landscape Architects 

Board 

Certificate of 

Qualification to 

Practice Architecture 

Reduce renewal fee 

to $100. 

Reduce renewal fee 

to $100. 

Ohio Casino Control 

Commission 

Key Employee 

License 

Reduce initial fee to 

$1,750 for Ohio 

residents; raise initial 

fee to $5,000 for 

non-residents of 

Ohio. 

Incorporated 

recommendation 

with $1,750 being 

the “ceiling” and 

$5,000 being the 

“floor” for allowable 

fees. 

Department of 

Commerce – 

Industrial Compliance 

Boiler & Pressure 

Vessel Inspector 

Certificate of 

Competency 

Reduce initial fees to 

$100, cap renewal 

fee at $50. 

Reduce initial fees to 

$100, cap renewal 

fee at $50. 

Department of 

Commerce – 

Industrial Compliance 

Steam Engine or 

Boiler Operator 

License 

Reduce initial fee to 

$25. 

Reduce initial fee to 

$25. 

Department of 

Commerce – 

Industrial Compliance 

Backflow Technician 

Certification 

Extend license 

duration to 5 years, 

keep renewal fee $75 

total. 

Extend license 

duration to 5 years, 

keep renewal fee $75 

total. 

Department of 

Commerce – 

Industrial Compliance 

Plumbing Inspector 

Certification 

(Plumbing Code) 

Extend license 

duration to 3 years, 

keep renewal fee to 

$60. 

The substitute bill 

does not make any 

changes to current 

law. LSC found that 

the license had been 

eliminated in the 

134th GA and that the 

duties are now 

housed in the 



Department of 

Building Standards. 

Department of 

Commerce – 

Industrial Compliance 

Manufactured 

Housing Installer 

License 

Reduce both initial 

and renewal fees to 

$150. 

Reduce both initial 

and renewal fees to 

$150. 

Motor Vehicle Repair 

Board 

Motor Vehicle Repair 

Operator 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Bureau of Motor 

Vehicles 

Motor Vehicle Sales 

person License 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Bureau of Motor 

Vehicles 

Construction 

Equipment Auction 

License 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Bureau of Motor 

Vehicles 

Salvage Motor 

Vehicle Auction 

License 

Eliminate fees. Eliminate fees. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Driver Training 

Instructor License 

Consolidate with 

Online Instructor 

License into a single 

license. 

Didn’t include due to 

large disparity 

between the 

licensing 

requirements. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Driver Training 

Manager 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Online Instructor Consolidate with 

Driver Training 

Instructor License 

into a single license. 

Didn’t include due to 

large disparity 

between the 

licensing 

requirements. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Commercial Training 

Manager 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Class A Private 

Investigator & 

Extend license 

duration to 3 years. 

Extend license 

duration to 3 years. 



Security Services 

License 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Class B Private 

Investigator License 

No Change. Extend license 

duration to 3 years – 

requested by DPS. 

Department of Public 

Safety 

Class C Security 

Services License 

No Change. Extend license 

duration to 3 years – 

requested by DPS. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Maintenance Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Medical & First Aid Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $10. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $10. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Parking Lot Employee Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Security Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Special A 

(professional) 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Special B (technical) Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Special C 

(clerical/misc) 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Supply Sales (Owner) Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $75. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $75. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Supply Salesman Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Valet Eliminate. Eliminate. 



State Racing 

Commission 

Restricted License – 

Special D (misc) 

Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Admission Employee Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $10. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $10. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Chief of Security Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $25. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $25. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Concession Employee Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Concession Manager Eliminate. Eliminate. 

State Racing 

Commission 

Doctor Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $25. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $25. 

State Racing 

Commission 

General Manager Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $75. 

Reduce initial & 

renewal fees to $75. 

 

Rep. Fowler-Arthur: 

As you can see, Sub-HB 238 captures many of the recommendations within the committee report. We 

have also captured the general recommendation changes with updates to the boards and licenses that 

would be included in future reviews, as well as continuing education guardrails. 

Today you will likely hear testimony on both the committee report and the sub-bill. Due to the tight 

timeline and the recent holiday, we are continuing to work through the committee’s proposed changes 

regarding Real Estate, Barber and Cosmetology Licenses with the stakeholders over the coming week.  

As these conversations progress, we anticipate bringing forward several amendments for your 

consideration. 

In summary, HB 238 follows through on the State and Local Government Committee’s bi-partisan 

recommendations to eliminate 18 licenses that are obsolete or irrelevant and to reduce fees for at least 

17 additional licenses. We are confident that this bill cuts bureaucratic red tape and will continue the 

good work of reducing barriers to occupational entry, incentivizing licensure of Ohioans in Ohio rather 

than losing them to more competitive surrounding states, and ensuring the continued health, safety, 

and quality of consumers through common sense standards. 

Thank you for your attention and we would be happy to answer any questions you may have. 


