## OHIO SENATE Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources Minutes May 30, 2023 135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources was called to order at 4:02 PM in the North Hearing Room of the Ohio Statehouse.

Attendance was taken. A quorum was present.

The minutes from the May 23 meeting was reviewed and approved by the committee without objection.

Chairman Schaffer called up Senate Bill 119, sponsored by Senator Bill Reineke for its third hearing for proponent, opponent, and interested party testimony.

Chairman Schaffer notified the committee of substitute bill (L-135-1079-3) of Senate Bill 119.

Senator Reineke spoke to the sub-bill and explained it to the committee.

Chairman Schaffer recognized Vice-Chairman Landis with a motion to accept Substitute Bill L-135-1079-3.

There was no objection by the committee and the motion was approved.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals and organizations:

- 1. Ben Nutter, WIN Waste Innovations, Opponent
- 2. Keith Kimble, Kimble Company, Opponent
- 3. Steve White, National Waste & Recycling Association, Opponent
- 4. Albin Bauer, II, Jefferson Belmont Regional Solid Waste Authority, Opponent
- 5. Tim Ling, Ohio Manufacturers' Association, Opponent
- 6. Kelleigh Beatty, BOMA Greater Cleveland, Opponent
- 7. Kitty Channing Jr., Vance Environmental Ltd., Opponent
- 8. Lorie Venable, Opponent
- 9. Michael Dinneen, CDAO, Opponent
- 10. Commissioner Bill Frankart, Seneca County Board of Commissioners, Proponent
- 11. Robert Podach, Proponent
- 12. Ashley Stahl, Proponent
- 13. Daniel Straub, Proponent
- 14. David B. Moroschan, Proponent
- 15. Brenda Kuhn, Proponent
- 16. Susan Platt, Proponent
- 17. Elliot Shaffer, Interested Party
- 18. Nate Heiser, Proponent
- 19. Dwight L. Clary, Proponent
- 20. Bill McAllister, Proponent
- 21. Matt Clouse, Big Springs Township, Proponent
- 22. Eric Kekler, City of Fostoria, Proponent
- 23. Roger Holman, Loudon Township, Proponent

Written testimony was submitted by the following individuals and organizations:

- 1. Kyle Brooks, Ohio Township Association, Interested Party
- 2. Paul P. Huelskamp, P.E., P.S., Miami County Solid Waste District, Interested Party
- 3. David Cieply, Interstate Waste Service Apex, Opponent
- 4. Jack DeWitt, North Central Ohio Solid Waste District, Opponent
- 5. Chris Zeigler, API Ohio, Interested Party
- 6. Commissioner Doug Weisenauer, Crawford County Board of Commissioners, Opponent
- 7. Cameron Garczyk, National Federation of Independent Business/Ohio, Interested Party
- 8. Kent Scarrett, Ohio Municipal League, Opponent
- 9. Hannah Kubbins, Americans for Prosperity, Ohio, Opponent
- 10. Rachelle Harmon, Harmon Family Farm, Proponent
- 11. Rachel Reedy, County Commissioners Association of Ohio, Interested Party
- 12. Rob Brundrett, Ohio Oil and Gas Association, Opponent
- 13. Sarah Kramer, Proponent
- 14. George Brown, Waste Management, Opponent
- 15. Eve M. Bulkowski, Proponent
- 16. R. Kyle Cross, P.E., P.S, Preble County Sanity Landfill, Opponent

Questions and comments from the committee on the testimony were heard.

Proponent, opponent, and interested party testimony on Senate Bill 119 concluded and constituted as its third hearing.

With no further business, the committee adjourned at 7:11 PM.

Tim Schaffer, Chair