## **OHIO SENATE**

## Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources Minutes August 1, 2023 135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources was called to order at 9:36AM in the Donahey Ag/Hort Building at the Ohio State Fairgrounds alongside the House Committee on Agriculture for an informal hearing.

Chairman Schaffer gave introduction comments to the crowd and committee.

Attendance was taken. A quorum was present.

The minutes from the June 28, 2023 meeting was reviewed and approved by the committee without objection.

Members present from both committee's introduced themselves and their connection to agriculture.

Informal Testimony was provided in person by the following individuals:

- 1. Virgil Strickler, General Manager of the Ohio Expo Center & State Fair
- 2. Adam Sharp, Executive Vice President of the Ohio Farm Bureau
- 3. Dr. Rustin Moore, Dean of The Ohio State University College of Veterinary Medicine
- 4. Treasurer of State Robert Sprague
- 5. Director Mary Mertz, Ohio Department of Natural Resources
- 6. Rebekah Hardacre, 2023 Ohio Fairs Queen
- 7. Sara Newsome, Ohio State Junior Fair Board President
- 8. Luke Jennings, Ohio FFA Board President
- 9. Director Brian Baldridge, Ohio Department of Agriculture
- 10. Dr. Cathann Kress, Dean of The Ohio State University College of Food, Agriculture, and Environmental Sciences

Chairman Schaffer and Chairman Creech presented Virgil Strickler a resolution to commemorate his retirement from the Ohio Expo Center and State Fair.

Questions and comments from the committee on the testimony were heard.

With no further business, the committee adjourned at 12:01 PM.

Tim Schaffer, Chair		