OHIO SENATE Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources Minutes November 14, 2023 135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources was called to order at 4:02 PM in the South Hearing Room of the Ohio Statehouse.

Attendance was taken. A quorum was present.

The minutes from the September 26 meeting was reviewed and approved by the committee without objection.

Chairman Schaffer called the committee's attention to the governor's appointments that was before the committee.

- Cathann A. Kress Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board
- Bradford L. Garrison Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board
- Daniel L. Frobose Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board
- Leah Carol Dorman Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board
- James Simon Ohio Air Quality Development Authority
- Loraine Ringhiser-Carlson Commercial Dog Breeding Advisory Board
- Matthew Granito Commercial Dog Breeding Advisory Board
- Kathryn Bradsher Brown State Emergency Response Commission
- R. Gregory Browning Ohio Water Development Authority
- Solomon J. Curits Wildlife Council

Chairman Schaffer asked if any governor's appointees were present and wished to testify. No one was present to testify.

Chairman Schaffer asked what the pleasure of the committee was on the governor's appointments.

Senator O'Brien moved to approve the governor's appointments.

The governor's appointments was approved by a vote of five affirmative votes and zero negative votes and was reported to the committee on rules and reference.

Chairman Schaffer called up House Bill 86, sponsored by State Representative Jeff LaRe for its first hearing for sponsor testimony.

Testimony was heard from the following individual:

1. State Representative Jeff LaRe, Sponsor

There were no questions or comments from the committee on the testimony.

Sponsor testimony on House Bill 86 concluded and constituted as its first hearing.

Chairman Schaffer called up Senate Bill 156, sponsored by Senator Bill Reineke and Bob Hackett for its second hearing and for proponent testimony.

Testimony was heard from the following individuals:

- 1. Jeff Johnson, Ohio Department of Natural Resources, Proponent
- 2. Amy Mackey, Raccoon Creek Partnership, Proponent
- 3. Anthony Sasson, Ohio Scenic Rivers Association
- 4. Eugene Braig, Olentangy Scenic River Advisory Council Member, Proponent

Questions and comments from the committee on the testimony were heard.

Written Testimony on the bill was also provided by the following individuals:

- 1. Hope Taft, Little Miami River Property Owner, Proponent
- 2. Jakob Boehler, Sandusky River Watershed Coalition, Proponent
- 3. Melody Young, Chillicothe Visitor's Bureau, Proponent
- 4. Robert Klips, Proponent
- 5. Matthew Misicka Ohio Conservation Federation

Proponent testimony on Senate Bill 156 concluded and constituted as its second hearing.

With no further business, the committee adjourned at 4:30 PM.

Tim Schaffer, Chair