OHIO SENATE

Committee on Education Minutes May 7, 2024

135th General Assembly

The Senate Committee on Education was called to order pursuant to the meeting notice at approximately 3:00 p.m. in the Senate South Hearing Room in the Statehouse.

Attendance was taken. A quorum was present.

The minutes of the April 23, 2024 meeting committee meeting were approved.

The Chair called up S.B. 208 for its fourth hearing.

No testimony was provided.

Senator Blessing moved to amend with AM 1911 (LSC technical amendment). The motion was agreed to without objection.

The Chair up called up S.B. 128 for its first hearing.

Senator Ingram provided sponsor testimony.

Senator Ingram moved to amend with AM 2056 (LSC technical amendment). The motion was agreed to without objection.

The Chair called up H.B. 147 for its fourth hearing.

No testimony was provided.

The Chair called up S.B. 219 for its second hearing.

The following testimony was provided:

Nicole Whitaker, Ohio Association of Colleges of Teacher Education - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Tarina R. Cosgriff, Citizen of Ohio - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Emma DeWeese, Marietta College - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Anita O'Mellan, Citizen of Ohio - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Bradford R. Findell, PhD, - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Bailey Balderson, University of Mount/OACTE - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Dr. Melissa Askren Edgehouse, OACTE/OAPCTE/University of Mount Union - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Tanya Judd, Marietta College - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Kaylee Booth, Marietta College - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Melissa Cropper, Ohio Federation of Teachers - Proponent (Written Testimony)

Chris Irick, Citizen of Ohio - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

William Green, Youngstown State University - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Stephanie Simpson, Association of Middle Level Education - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Jacqueline Yahn, Ohio University - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Mathew Felton-Koestler - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Dr. Dorothy Erb, Marietta College - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Mary Heather Munger, Ohio Association of Colleges of Teacher Education - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Jarrod Hartzler, Ohio Alliance of Arts Education

Frans H. Doppen, Department of Teacher Education, Middle Childhood Education Program - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Karl Kosko, Kent State University - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Thomas Knestrict, Xavier School of Education - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Laura L. Saylor PhD, Mount St. Joseph, School of Education - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Michelle Elia, Marietta College - Proponent (Written Testimony Only)

Andrew O. Brenner, Chair

The committee adjourned at approximately 4:35 p.m.