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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

General information (AGR) 

Duties  

The Ohio Department of Agriculture ensures the safety of Ohio’s food supply for consumers. It protects food, animals, and plant life through 
scientific research and conservation. It also supports agribusiness in Ohio by providing economic opportunities to farmers and food 
processors.   

 

Membership (Current members, chairperson and other officers, and selection process.) 

There is no membership  

 

Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

The Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) has a budget of $165.8 million in FY 2023. Of this amount $50.2 million (30%) is from GRF, $23.2 
million (14%) is federal funding and $92.4 million (56%) is from dedicated purpose funds. The Department budgets for 15 unique programs.  
Of these, the Division of Soil and Water, which includes the H2Ohio program has the largest budget. 

The budget process for ODA begins with the preparation of a biennial budget request in accordance with the guidance provided by the Office 
of Budget and Management (OBM). The budget request is then reviewed by OBM and the Governor’s Office. After funding decisions are 
made, ODA’s budget is incorporated into the Executive Biennial Budget request which is submitted to the Legislature. The House and the 
Senate review the Executive Budget and make changes as appropriate and pass the final biennial budget by June 30th of each odd numbered 
year.  After the budget is passed by the Legislature, ODA annually allots the funded amounts across payroll, contracts, maintenance, 
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Budget (Current budget, description of budgeting process, sources of funding, and expected increases or decreases in budget or funding in 
future years.) 

equipment, and subsidy, for each program. The budget for each program is monitored over the course of the fiscal year and adjustments are 
made as needed to ensure the programs have the needed funding and the budget remains in balance. If additional federal or dedicated 
purpose funding becomes available during the biennium, ODA will seek Controlling Board Approval to increase appropriation in those funds.  

In FY 2023 ODA is requesting increases in appropriation from the Controlling Board which will increase the budget noted above.  The largest of 
these increases is a $3 million request for appropriation to expend emergency federal funding in response to an outbreak of Highly Pathogenic 
Avian influenza at a chicken farm in Ohio. ODA’s budget in FY 2024 will be determined through the biennium budget process which is 
currently underway.  

 

Workload (Assess current, past, and anticipated workload. Has the workload increased or decreased significantly in the preceding six years?) 

Workload has increased in the past 6 years because of various items. Federal and state legislation and grant programs have brought new 
programs and responsibilities to ODA (H2Ohio, Auctioneers, Tyler’s Law, Beginning Farm Tax Credit, FDA/USDA programs, etc.), and growth in 
the agribusiness industry in Ohio and Ohio’s population have also driven growth in workload. Additional growth in workload is expected 
because there is an anticipated increase in foreign animal diseases which threaten Ohio’s pork and poultry industries, anticipated increase in 
the meat processing industry as additional facilities open and demand for meat continues, and it is anticipated that additional innovations in 
plant and farming practices will continue to improve water quality and environmental health (H2Ohio) which requires continued work with 
Ohio’s farming industry. 

 

Staffing (How many staff are currently employed by the Department? What are their roles? Are staffing levels proportionate to the 
Department’s current and anticipated workload?) 

ODA has 453 permanent employees in various occupations dependent upon the program. About half of the workforce is inspectors working in 
the field inspecting food production processes, plant health and farming establishments, water quality and environmental health, and testing 
scales and amusement rides. The other half of the workforce is on ODA’s campus in Reynoldsburg, Ohio working in the animal disease, 
consumer protection, and horse racing laboratories and performing administrative functions. While the department is successfully 
maintaining program operations with the current workforce, we will likely be seeking funding for additional staff in the next operating budget 
to support the growth and activity in Ohio’s top industry, food, and agriculture. 
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Administrative hearings and public complaints (Describe the Department’s processes for administering discipline and addressing complaints. 
Assess the efficiency of the processes.)  

The administrative process for ODA begins with an inspection (by an ODA inspector) with noted violations, or upon receipt of a complaint by a 
member of the public (which then receives follow-up by division staff).  The violation is first discussed with the inspector or staff and the division 
chief. The division chief decides whether the matter should be referred to ODA Enforcement for further investigation, or whether it should be 
referred to legal to approve a Notice of Opportunity for Hearing or a different permitted legal action. ODA inspectors, division chiefs, and legal 
team work together to ensure that referred matters are processed in a timely manner.   

 

Livestock manager 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

Any individual in the state of Ohio that land applies, brokers, transports, or manages at least 4,500 dry tons of solid manure or 25 million 
gallons of liquid manure within a calendar year must obtain a Certified Livestock Manager certification. Additionally, livestock facilities that 
are considered major concentrated animal feeding facilities are required to employ at least one Certified Livestock Manager on staff. Certified 
Livestock Managers are regulated by ODA’s Division of Livestock Environmental Permitting (“ODA-DLEP”). ODA-DLEP will inspect certified 
livestock managers at least once annually for compliance with Ohio Administrative Code 901:10. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Government certification  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 36  

(2016-2020 average) 

Number renewed annually 44 

(2016-2020 average) 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant increases. There was a significant decrease in new and renewal applicants in 2021, 
but this was mainly due to the limited availability of training opportunities during the COVID 
pandemic, specifically in the latter half of 2020 and all of 2021.  

Education or training requirements 10 hours of approved continuing education units. All CEUs are approved by ODA-DLEP. 10 hours 
of CEUs for new and renewing certified livestock managers.  

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Yes & No – The Department may offer a training program and an examination for a livestock 
manager certification. ODA-DLEP has elected to include a variety of questions on the certified 
livestock manager application form to verify that an applicant has demonstrated the knowledge 
required to be a certified livestock manager. ODA-DLEP personnel review all certified livestock 
manager applications, and any approvals would also come from the division.  

As mentioned, the CLM application (and renewal) fee is $50. The fees are collected and 
transferred to the Livestock Management Fund (Ohio Revised Code 903.19). Money credited to 
this fund are used solely in the administration of ODA’s Division of Livestock Environmental 
Permitting. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

10 hours of approved continuing education units. All CEUs are approved by ODA-DLEP. 10 hours 
of CEUs for new and renewing certified livestock managers. 

Training requirements are outlined in Ohio Administrative Code 901:10-1-06 Certified Livestock 
Manager. All certified livestock managers must receive training in three core topics (Manure 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Storage and Handling, Nutrient Management, and Ohio Rules and Regulations specific to CLMs) 
and a minimum of three elective topics (including, but not limited to: Water Quality Issues, Soil 
Testing, Stockpiling of Manure, Emergency Action Plans, Agronomic Value of Manure Nutrients, 
Record Keeping, Biosecurity, Liability, Application of manure to growing crops, etc.).  

ODA-DLEP holds a two-day, annual training for current and prospective certified livestock 
managers. The curriculum for this annual training will require the three core topics mentioned 
above and then fill in the remaining hours with at least three elective topics. The training will 
provide 10 hours of continuing education units minimum. 

Initial fee $50.00 

Duration  3 full calendar years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$50.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes. For example, the State of Indiana has a certification program for manure and commercial 
fertilizer applicators called a Category 14 license. Ohio recognizes the Category 14 for training 
and certification purposes. However, those individuals with a Category 14 must also obtain a 
Certified Livestock Manager certificate through ODA-DLEP. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Yes. For example, if an individual land applies less than 25 million gallons of liquid manure in a 
given calendar year and does not land apply any manure generated by a permitted concentrated 
animal feeding facility, they will not need to be a certified livestock manager. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

As of September 19, 2022, there are 235 certified livestock managers in Ohio. About half of the 
235 certified livestock managers manage 4,500 dry tons or more of solid manure or 25 million 
gallons of liquid manure or more, and will be inspected by ODA-DLEP at least once annually.   

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC Section 903.16 provides enforcement authority to the Ohio Department of Agriculture, as well as the Ohio Attorney General if necessary. 
OAC 901:10-1-06 also provides enforcement authority to ODA and is more specific to certified livestock managers.  

At least annually, ODA-DLEP Inspectors inspect all certified livestock managers that manage 4,500 dry tons of solid manure or 25 million 
gallons of liquid manure in a calendar year for compliance with Ohio Administrative Code 901:10. Those certified livestock managers that 
voluntarily become certified livestock managers, meaning they handle less volume or weight of manure as described in the previous sentence, 
will get inspected by ODA-DLEP inspectors at least once every three years if they actively manage any volume or weight of manure. Those 
certified livestock managers that voluntarily become certified livestock managers, but do not handle any volume of manure, do not get 
inspected by ODA-DLEP on any routine basis. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Approx. $4,000.00 per year (2016-2020 average). 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

A federal regulation for this occupation does not exist. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

These regulations seek to prevent surface and groundwater pollution. Manure nutrients, particularly nitrogen and phosphorus, can become 
pollutants to Ohio’s waterways if not managed properly. This certification program is needed to ensure that individuals handling these large 
quantities of manure demonstrate professionalism, demonstrate knowledge in manure and nutrient management, and respond appropriately 
to emergency situations (such as a manure discharge to surface waters of the state).    

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

In general, yes. Certified Livestock Managers are generally in compliance with state regulations and the state regulations are designed to be 
protective of Ohio’s water quality. With ODA’s enforcement capabilities, those Certified Livestock Managers that have had significant 
compliance issues are no longer Certified Livestock Managers.  

There aren’t less restrictive ways to prevent the harm. These regulations are vital to ensuring the protection of Ohio’s water quality. 
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Yes, a complete overhaul of the Department’s enforcement capabilities in regards to certified livestock managers. Currently, the director of 
agriculture can only suspend or revoke a current certified livestock manager’s certificate if they are not in compliance with OAC 901:10. The 
director may also deny an applicant if the applicant provides fraudulent information in the application or does not demonstrate the 
knowledge necessary to become a certified livestock manager. The director can also request the Attorney General to bring a civil penalty 
against individuals that are found to be in violation of ORC 903.07, which basically means that ODA can seek a penalty from individuals that 
are managing 4,500 dry tons or more of solid manure or 25 million gallons or more of liquid manure without a certified livestock manager 
certificate.  

The department should have the capability to require corrective actions should a current certified livestock manager violate OAC 901:10-2-10, 
901:10-2-13, 901:10-2-14, and/or 901:10-2-16, and to seek civil and administrative penalties if there is history of noncompliance. Suspending 
or revoking a certified livestock manager certificate should only be used in extreme circumstances and currently, it is the only effective way of 
dealing with certified livestock managers violations, no matter how severe and regardless of compliance history.   

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Livestock Manager Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  Certification (R.C. 
903.07; O.A.C. 
901:10-1-06). 

Voluntary 
certification 
(Indiana State 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
Certified Livestock 
Producer 
Program). 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

Education or 
training 

Ten hours of 
training offered 
by the 
Department of 

Applicants are 
provided a 
Certified Livestock 
Producer Program 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
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Livestock Manager Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Agriculture or an 
entity approved 
by the 
Department on 
various topics, 
including 
calculating 
nutrient values in 
manure and 
devising and 
implementing a 
manure 
management plan 
(O.A.C. 901:10-1-
06(D); Ohio Dept. 
of Agriculture, 
Certified Livestock 
Manager). 

manual that 
contains 
educational 
materials, sample 
action plans, and 
self-assessments. 
The self-
assessments 
discuss 
environmental 
issues, food safety 
and animal 
welfare, 
emergency plans, 
and biosecurity 
issues. Finally, the 
applicant’s farm 
must be reviewed 
and verified by a 
representative of 
the Indiana State 
Department of 
Agriculture. 
(Indiana State 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
Application for 
the Certified 
Livestock 

https://agri.ohio.gov/divisions/livestock-environmental-permitting/permits-certificates/certified-livestock-manager
https://agri.ohio.gov/divisions/livestock-environmental-permitting/permits-certificates/certified-livestock-manager
https://www.in.gov/isda/files/3.22-Application-Certified_Livestock_Producer_Program.doc
https://www.in.gov/isda/files/3.22-Application-Certified_Livestock_Producer_Program.doc
https://www.in.gov/isda/files/3.22-Application-Certified_Livestock_Producer_Program.doc
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Livestock Manager Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Producer Program 
(DOC).) 

Experience N/A Applicant’s farm 
must be in good 
standing with the 
Indiana 
Department of 
Environmental 
Management and 
the Board of 
Animal Health 
(Indiana State 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
Certified Livestock 
Producer 
Program). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Successful 
understanding of 
training materials 
(O.A.C. 901:10-1-
06(D)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

Ten hours of 
continuing 
education every 
three years (Ohio 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://www.in.gov/isda/files/3.22-Application-Certified_Livestock_Producer_Program.doc
https://www.in.gov/isda/files/3.22-Application-Certified_Livestock_Producer_Program.doc
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
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Livestock Manager Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Certified Livestock 
Manager). 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$50 (O.A.C. 
901:10-1-04(B)). 

Unclear. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years 
(O.A.C. 901:10-1-
06(B)(3)). 

Five years 
(Indiana State 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
Certified Livestock 
Producer 
Program). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee $50 (O.A.C. 
901:10-1-04(B)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Fertilizer application for agricultural production  

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

Chapter 905. 321 

(A) Beginning September thirtieth of the third year after the effective date of this section, no person shall apply fertilizer for the 
purposes of agricultural production unless that person has been certified to do so by the director of agriculture under this section and rules or 
is acting under the instructions and control of a person who is so certified. 

https://agri.ohio.gov/divisions/livestock-environmental-permitting/permits-certificates/certified-livestock-manager
https://agri.ohio.gov/divisions/livestock-environmental-permitting/permits-certificates/certified-livestock-manager
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
https://www.in.gov/isda/divisions/economic-development/livestock/certified-livestock-producer-program/
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Description 

(B) A person shall be certified to apply fertilizer for purposes of agricultural production in accordance with rules. A person that has 
been so certified shall comply with requirements and procedures established in those rules. 

(C) A person that has been licensed as a commercial applicator under section 921.06 of the Revised Code or as a private applicator 
under section 921.11 of the Revised Code may apply to be certified under this section, but shall not be required to pay the application fee for 
certification established in rules adopted under section 905.322 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Certification to apply fertilizer to over 50 acres for agricultural production. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually In 2021: 193 (new) 

Number renewed annually In 2021: 3,039 (renewed) 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.06
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.11
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-905.322
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements Take the fertilizer applicator certification exam or attend a three-hour fertilizer training program 
initially.  

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

ODA Pesticide & Fertilizer inspectors proctor the fertilizer certification exams in correlation with 
pesticide exams. Exams are given at the OSU Extension offices, govt. facilities, or colleges who 
have applied to host an exam site. No fees are charged to test unless a facility charges for 
parking. ODA does not receive any exam proceeds. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

Certificate holders must obtain one-hour of fertilizer recert (Continuing Education Credit) during 
their three-year recert cycle; otherwise, re-testing is required, or an individual must go through 
the 3-hour initial training program again. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee $30 if they do not hold a current pesticide applicator license. If they hold a current pesticide 
applicator license, then the cost for the fertilizer certification is zero. 

Duration  The fertilizer certification certificate is valid annually for commercial applicators and for three 
years for private applicators. If the individual does not hold a pesticide applicator’s license, the 
certificate is valid for three years. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Fertilizer Certification holder w/ a commercial pesticide license: zero 

Fertilizer Certification holder w/ a private applicator license: zero 

Fertilizer Certification only: $30 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No reciprocity for fertilizer certification. We are one of the only states that is currently requiring 
the fertilizer certification for agricultural production. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

If they are applying less than 50 acres for agricultural production, then the certification would 
not be required. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Chapter 905 Agricultural Additives & Lime: Fertilizer (Ohio Revised Code) 

Chapters 901:5-1, 901:5-2, 901:5-3, and 901:5-4 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Certifications are renewed every three years. Revenue figures vary based on when the initial certification was issued and when renewal is 
required.  In FY 23, revenue is expected to be around $16,000.  Revenue is used to support Pesticide/Fertilizer Inspectors who inspect for 
proper certifications. 
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Protecting the Lake Erie Watershed and Lake Erie. Also combating blue-green algae problems. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Phosphorus tonnage sales and uses are being reduced (trending down). 

Soil testing levels are showing a reduction in phosphorus levels. 
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Fertilizer Application for Agricultural Production Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  Certification (R.C. 
905.321). 

Certification (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-1). 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

Education or 
training 

Agricultural 
nutrient training 
course or 
demonstrate 
adequate 
knowledge of the 
fertilizer training 
requirements by 
exam (O.A.C. 
901:5-4-03(B)). 

Examination (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-1). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Fertilizer Application for Agricultural Production Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes, if 
demonstrating 
knowledge by 
exam (O.A.C. 
901:5-4-03(B)). 

Yes (355 Ind. 
Admin. Code 7-4-
1). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

One hour of 
agricultural 
nutrient training 
or demonstrate 
knowledge by 
exam; required 
every three years 
(O.A.C. 901:5-4-
02(E)). 

Three fertilizer 
material training 
courses may be 
taken in lieu of 
the exam every 
five years (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-2). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$30 unless 
applicant holds a 
valid private or 
commercial 
applicator license 
(O.A.C. 901:5-4-
02(D)). 

$20 for private 
applicator and 
$45 for all other 
license types (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-5). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years, 
unless applicant 
holds a valid 
private or 
commercial 
applicator license 

Five years (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-5(g)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Fertilizer Application for Agricultural Production Certification 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

(O.A.C. 901:5-4-
02(E)). 

Renewal fee $30 unless 
applicant holds 
valid private or 
commercial 
applicator license 
(O.A.C. 901:5-4-
02(D)). 

$20 for private 
applicator and 
$45 for all other 
license types (355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
7-4-5). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 

Seed labeler  

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

All persons labeling seed to be sold in or into Ohio as defined is required to apply for an Ohio seed labelers permit. Seed labeler permits are 
generally issued to company’s rather than individuals. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License known as an Ohio seed labelers permit. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 450 

Number renewed annually 420 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

When the hemp program was established under ODA, approximately 75 new seed labelers 
registered to sell hemp seed into Ohio. More than 30% have now cancelled their permit and a 
large percentage of those that continue their permit don’t report any sales in Ohio. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

The annual fee is $10.00 per permit. Each permit holder is also required to pay seed sales fees 
semi-annually based on the seed types that they sell. Minimum semi-annual seed sales fees are 
$5.00 per reporting period. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $10.00 

Duration  One year or portion of one year to expire December 31st of every year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, ODA can suspend, revoke or refuse to register an applicant once an opportunity for a 
hearing has been provided.  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Stop sale orders can be placed on seed that is found to be outside of tolerance when compared to the label. Stop sale orders can be placed on 
seed found in Ohio without a current seed labeler’s permit in place. Permits can be suspended or revoked for violating ORC 907 once a 
hearing is offered. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Annual Permit revenue $4,500.00 based on 450 applications. 

Annual seed sales fees collected $372,712.08 in 2021. 

Late filing penalty fees collected $6,766.36 in 2021 

Program operations, inspections, and sample processing. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation provides truth in labeling of seed protecting consumers from purchasing seed that is below tolerance levels. This regulation 
also helps reduce the amount of noxious weed seed distributed into Ohio that may otherwise be included in out of state lots distributed into 
Ohio. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. Not known.  

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No.  

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a seed labeler permit is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 
S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Legume inoculator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

A legume applicator permit is issued to individuals or companies that apply legume inoculant to seed to be sown. Most of these permits are 
issued to companies rather than individuals. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License known as a legume applicator permit. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 45 

Number renewed annually 40 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $5.00 

Duration  One year or portion of one year to expire January 31st every year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$5.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Unknown 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

The ODA can refuse to register or revoke an existing permit for violations of ORC 907.27-907.35. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

No inspection conducted 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$225.00 per year 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Not known  

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Legume inoculant could be applied by individuals that aren’t registered. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Not likely  

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

This regulation could likely be removed from the statute as its cost prohibitive to perform inspections of any type without losing money and it 
is unclear what an inspection would accomplish. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a legume innoculator permit is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 
enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Apiary registration 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

All apiaries in the state of Ohio must be registered with ODA as required by ORC 909.02. Registration expires on May 31 annually.  

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Registration  

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 9800 

Number renewed annually ~8000 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-909.02
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

The numbers of registered apiaries have been steadily rising over the past six years. 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $5.00 per location 

Duration  Annual (Jan. 1 – Dec. 31) 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same as initial fee 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Other state apiary certifications are recognized, however apiary located in Ohio must be 
registered in Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Yes, an individual could work with bees on their property if they were registered by a different 
individual.  Or someone assist with an apiary registered by another person. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, ODA may revoke for cause according to 909.13 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(A)(1) Whoever violates sections 909.03 and 909.10 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree on a first 
offense; on each subsequent offense, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree. 

(2) Any person who violates division (D) of section 909.10 of the Revised Code also shall not be remunerated for the eradication of his 
Africanized honeybees. 

(B) Whoever violates any section of Chapter 909. of the Revised Code for which no penalty otherwise is provided is guilty of a 
misdemeanor of the fourth degree on a first offense; on each subsequent offense, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree. 

 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-909.03
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-909.10
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-909.10
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Approximately $49,000 is generated annually and is used to fund program activities. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The Apiary Program coordinates the state and county inspection services that help identify and prevent the spread of serious bee diseases 
and pests, as well as to control Africanized bees. The Apiary Program works with several national groups and the USDA in providing samples 
for the study of Colony Collapse Disorder which caused massive colony deaths in various parts of the nation, including Ohio. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The program is effective.   

No. There are no alternative methods defined in ORC or OAC. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Yes 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that an apiary registration is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 
S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Bakery registration 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

Bakery means a building or part of a building wherein is carried on the production, preparation, packing, storing, display, or sale to other than 
the ultimate consumer of bread, stuffed breads, cake, pies, cookies, crackers, doughnuts, noodles, waffle cones, pizza crusts, or other bakery 
products, whether frozen, fried, deep fried, or partially or completely baked, including any separate room used for the convenience or 
accommodation of the workers. 

Each person, firm, partnership, or corporation that owns or operates a bakery shall register each bakery that it owns or operates with the 
director of agriculture. For the registration, the owner or operator of each bakery shall pay an annual fee of thirty dollars for a production 
capacity of one thousand pounds of bakery product per hour or less and an annual fee of thirty dollars for each one thousand pounds of 
bakery product per hour capacity, or part thereof, in excess of one thousand pounds of bakery product per hour. 

Any person who owns or operates a home bakery with only one oven, in a stove of ordinary home kitchen design and located in a home, used 
for the baking of baked goods to be sold, shall pay a sum of ten dollars annually for registration regardless of the capacity of the home bakery 
oven. The registration shall be renewed annually by the thirtieth day of September and shall be renewed according to the standard renewal 
procedure of Chapter 4745. of the Revised Code. The registration of the bakery shall show the location, including municipal corporation, 
street, and number, the name of the owner, and the name of the operator. The application for registration shall be made on a form 
prescribed and provided by the director. All moneys received from registration fees and fines collected under sections 911.01 to 911.20 of the 
Revised Code shall be deposited with the treasurer of state to the credit of the food safety fund created in section 915.24 of the Revised Code. 
All annual renewal registration fees required by this section shall be paid by the applicant for the renewal to the treasurer of state for deposit 
into the food safety fund. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

There is a commercial bakery registration and a home bakery registration and an out of state bakery registration. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-911.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-911.20
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-915.24
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually In 2021 there were 466 commercial bakery registrations issued, 995 home bakery registrations 
issued and 112 out of state bakery registrations issued. 

Number renewed annually In 2021 410 commercial bakery registrations, 844 home bakery registrations and 112 out of 
state bakery registrations were renewals. 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Since 2017 through 2021 there has been a ten percent increase in the number of bakery 
registrations issued. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $10 for home bakery registration. 

$30/1,000 pounds of bakery products produced/hour for commercial registration. 

$30 for out of state bakery registration. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Duration  One year, October 1 through September 30 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Commercial bakeries must comply with Federal regulations which have been adopted by the 
State of Ohio. 

Home bakeries must be clean. 

Reciprocity is allowed but there is none with other states. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

There is a cottage food exemption. The baking of bakery products that do not require 
refrigeration may be produced in a regular home kitchen and there is no inspection or 
registration required. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

The registered entity must meet rules that apply to all food manufacturers. If the bakery cannot 
meet those requirements a registration will not be issued.  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Retail bakeries, those that sell the majority of their production directly to the end consumer are 
regulated by local health department. ODA Food Safety only regulates those bakeries that 
wholesale 51% or more of their production. Home bakeries are always regulated by ODA Food 
Safety. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Ohio Revised Code 911.02 identifies bakeries as needing to be registered with the Ohio Department of Agriculture. 

Much of ORC 911 identifies sanitation and processing requirements for bakeries. 

Ohio Revised Code 911.17 allows the department to close a bakery if it is unfit for the production or selling of food. 

Ohio Revised Code 911.99 provides for a penalty if a bakery does not maintain sanitation. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

In 2021 revenue totaled $37,020. This was used to cover the cost of running the division of Food Safety. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Commercial bakeries must comply with FDA’s processing rule, 21 CFR 117. Ohio has adopted this rule. Federal law does not require a state to 
regulate a bakery. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The law provides oversight of bakeries to ensure safe, wholesome food is produced and that it is honestly presented to the consumer. This is 
done through inspections that verify the sanitation, processing and labeling of foods produced at a bakery. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

This law has been shown to be effective. There is not another way to ensure the safety of the foods produced. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a bakery registration is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 
S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Milk producer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

License for any individual or business that wants to be a licensed milk producer in Ohio.  To sell milk to a licensed processor, you need to 
obtain a Milk Producer license. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 57 

Number renewed annually 0. These licenses don’t get renewed.  Once you have it, it remains valid unless revoked. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Has remained about the same. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  A milk producer license is for a physical address located within the state of Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Not legally.  They must have a license to be a milk producer. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  If the facility meets all the requirements of the regulations, they will be licensed.   

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$15/license.  

$855 for 2021. 

Revenue is deposited into the 4r20 fund that is used to pay for expenses for the division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

If a Grade “A” farm wants to ship milk across state lines or into a Grade “A” IMS listed facility, then a milk producer must adhere to the 
requirements of the Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, which is developed by FDA, State Regulatory and Industry. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Food borne outbreaks in milk and/or milk products. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. The Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and the dairy industry has had a very successful track record in preventing food borne outbreaks in 
relation to dairy products. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a milk producer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 
by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Milk processor 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

License for any individual or business that wants to be a licensed milk processor in Ohio.  For someone to be able to sell finished dairy 
products to consumers in Ohio, they must be a licensed Milk Processor. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 20 

Number renewed annually 0. These licenses don’t get renewed.  Once you have it, it remains valid unless revoked. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Has remained about the same. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No.  A milk processor license is for a physical address located within the state of Ohio. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Not legally.  They must have a license to be a milk processor. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  If the facility meets all the requirements of the regulations, they will be licensed.   

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division  
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$15/license 

$300 for 2021. 

All processors are charged a total pro-rated fee of $146,000 per month.  That total is divided up amongst all licensed locations.  This is a total 
of $1,752,000.  The money collected is deposited into the 4r20 fund and is used to pay for expenses for the dairy division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

If a Grade “A” milk processor wants to ship milk across state lines, then the processor must adhere to the requirements of the Pasteurized 
Milk Ordinance, which is developed by FDA, State Regulatory and Industry. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Food borne outbreaks in milk and/or milk products. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. The Pasteurized Milk Ordinance and the dairy industry has had a very successful track record in preventing food borne outbreaks in 
relation to dairy products. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a milk processor license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 
by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Milk dealer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

This is a license for any individual or company that is buying milk directly from a dairy farm.  It is to guarantee payment to the producer for the 
milk purchased in the event the person or company buying the milk does not pay for the milk. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1 

Number renewed annually 0. These licenses don’t get renewed.  Once you have it, it remains valid unless revoked. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Has remained about the same. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Not legally.  They must have a license to be a milk dealer. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$15/license. 

$15 in 2021. 

Revenue is deposited into the 4r20 fund that is used to pay for expenses for the division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

This regulation is to ensure dairy producers are paid for the milk purchased from the farm. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the regulation ensures dairy producers get paid for the milk purchased. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that milk dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 
S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Raw milk retailer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

A license for anyone selling raw milk to the ultimate consumer.  However, unless you were in business prior to October 31, 1965, you cannot 
obtain this license anymore.  See ORC 917.04. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 0 

Number renewed annually 0 



P a g e  | 409  Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division  
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

None 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Foodborne outbreaks in milk and/or milk products due to consuming raw dairy products. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a raw milk retailer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 
by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Milk weigher, tester, or sampler 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

License for any individual that is weighing, sampling, or testing milk for official regulatory purposes within the state of Ohio.  This could be on-
farm and in-plant. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 710 

Number renewed annually 0. These licenses don’t get renewed.  Once you have it, it remains valid unless revoked. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Has remained about the same. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Required to pass a written exam within 90 days of applying for the license.  Dairy Division 
employees administer the exam at a mutually agreeable location.  No fees are charged for the 
exam.   

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Nothing nationally, but we do recognize a similar license from other states. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division  
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$15/license 

$10,650 in 2021. 

Revenue is deposited into the 4r20 fund that is used to pay for expenses for the division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The Pasteurized Milk Ordinance requires all individuals weighing and/or sampling milk to have a license. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The intent of the regulation is to ensure all individuals performing these functions are doing them correctly.  Dairy producers get paid on the 
components in their milk.  For instance, if someone doesn’t sample milk from a farm bulk tank properly, the dairy producer is not going to get 
paid correctly because the components of the sample could be out of normal range.   
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Milk Weigher, Tester, Sampler 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
917.09). 

Tester license 
(Ind. Code 15-18-
2-19). 

Sampler and 
weigher license 
(Ind. Code 15-18-
2-20). 

Tester license (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
260.800). 

Sampler or 
weigher license 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
260.805). 

Sampler/hauler 
license (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
288.503). 

Tester 
certification (31 
P.S. 700j-602). 

Weighers and 
samplers 
certification (31 
P.S. 700j-603). 

Tester and 
weigher and 
sampler licenses 
(W. Va. Code 19-
11-5). 
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Milk Weigher, Tester, Sampler 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A Must study 
training manual 
(Michigan Dept. 
of Agriculture and 
Rural 
Development, 
Dairy Hauler/ 
Sampler). 

N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam Yes, covers 
sanitation and 
personal 
cleanliness; 
sampling and 
weighing 
procedures; milk 
or cream testing 
procedures; 
proper use, care, 
and cleaning of 
equipment; and 
record keeping 
(R.C. 917.08; 
O.A.C. 901:11-4-
02). 

Yes for tester, 
determines if 
applicant is 
competent to test 
milk and cream 
(Ind. Code 15-18-
2-19). 

Yes for sampler 
and weigher, 
determines if 
applicant is 
competent to 
sample milk and 
cream (Ind. Code 
15-18-2-20). 

Yes for tester (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
260.800). 

Yes for sampler or 
weigher (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 260.805). 

Yes (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 288.503). 

Yes for tester 
(31P.S. 700j-602). 

Yes for weigher/ 
sampler (31 P.S. 
700j-603). 

Yes, certification 
of successful 
exam completion 
is a prerequisite 
of licensure (W. 
Va. Code 19-11-4). 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A Must be in-person 
or via online 

N/A N/A 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdard/food-dairy/dairy/certhaulersampler
https://www.michigan.gov/mdard/food-dairy/dairy/certhaulersampler
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Milk Weigher, Tester, Sampler 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

training (Michigan 
Dept. of 
Agriculture and 
Rural 
Development, 
Dairy Hauler/ 
Sampler). 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$15 (R.C. 917.09; 
O.A.C 901:11-4-
02). 

$30 for tester; 
$20 for sampler 
and weigher (Ind. 
Code 15-18-2-21). 

$15 for both 
license categories 
(Ky. Rev. Stat. 
260.815). 

$50 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 288.503). 

$25 for tester (31 
P.S. 700k-7; 7 Pa. 
Code 150.62). 

$25 for weigher 
and sampler (31 
P.S. 700k-8; 7 Pa. 
Code 150.72). 

$10 (W. Va. Code 
19-11-5). 

License duration Valid unless 
suspended, 
revoked, or 
canceled (O.A.C. 
901:11-4-02). 

One year (Ind. 
Code 15-18-2-26). 

One year (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 260.815). 

Two years (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
288.503). 

One year (31 P.S. 
700j-602 and 603; 
7 Pa. Code 
150.2a). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code 19-11-5). 

Renewal fee N/A $15 for tester 
(Ind. Code 15-18-
2-24). 

$10 for sampler 
and weigher (Ind. 
Code 15-18-2-25). 

$15 for all license 
categories (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
260.815). 

$50 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 288.503). 

$25 (31 P.S. 700k-
7 and 700k-8; 7 
Pa. Code 150.72). 

$10 (W. Va. Code 
19-11-5). 

 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdard/food-dairy/dairy/certhaulersampler
https://www.michigan.gov/mdard/food-dairy/dairy/certhaulersampler
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Milk hauler 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

License for any individual or company to haul milk within the state of Ohio.  A milk hauler will have permits issued for milk conveyance vessels 
(example would be a tanker) they own. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 1 

Number renewed annually 96 haulers will renew approximately 670 milk tanker permits 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

This has remained about the same. 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $15.00 

Duration  Perpetual for the Milk Hauler License.  Tanker permits are yearly. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$15.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes, we recognize milk haulers licensed in other states. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Dairy Division 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$15/license; $15/tanker permit renewal 

$10,075 in 2021.  

Revenue is deposited into the 4r20 fund that is used to pay for expenses for the division. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

The Pasteurized Milk Ordinance requires all milk haulers to be licensed. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation is to ensure the vessels used to move milk and/or milk products are properly constructed, clean and maintained in good 
condition.  This helps to ensure high quality and safe dairy products make it to the consumer. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a milk hauler license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted by 
S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Commercial pesticide applicator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

ORC 921.06 

(A)(1) No individual shall do any of the following without having a commercial applicator license issued by the director of agriculture: 

(a) Apply pesticides for a pesticide business without direct supervision; 

(b) Apply pesticides as part of the individual’s duties while acting as an employee of the United States government, a state, county, 
township, or municipal corporation, or a park district, port authority, or sanitary district created under Chapter 1545., 4582., or 6115. of the 
Revised Code, respectively; 

(c) Apply restricted use pesticides. Division (A)(1)(c) of this section does not apply to a private applicator or an immediate family 
member or a subordinate employee of a private applicator who is acting under the direct supervision of that private applicator. 

(d) If the individual is the owner of a business other than a pesticide business or an employee of such an owner, apply pesticides at 
any of the following publicly accessible sites that are located on the property: 

(i) Food service operations that are licensed under Chapter 3717. of the Revised Code; 

(ii) Retail food establishments that are licensed under Chapter 3717. of the Revised Code; 

(iii) Golf courses; 

(iv) Rental properties of more than four apartment units at one location; 

(v) Hospitals or medical facilities as defined in section 3701.01 of the Revised Code; 

(vi) Child day-care centers or school child day-care centers as defined in section 5104.01 of the Revised Code; 

(vii) Facilities owned or operated by a school district established under Chapter 3311. of the Revised Code, including an educational 
service center, a community school established under Chapter 3314. of the Revised Code, or a chartered or nonchartered nonpublic school 
that meets minimum standards established by the state board of education; 

(viii) State institutions of higher education as defined in section 3345.011 of the Revised Code, nonprofit institutions holding a 
certificate of authorization pursuant to Chapter 1713. of the Revised Code, institutions holding a certificate of registration from the state 
board of career colleges and schools and program authorization for an associate or bachelor’s degree program issued under section 3332.05 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3701.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-5104.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3345.011
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3332.05
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Description 

of the Revised Code, and private institutions exempt from regulation under Chapter 3332. of the Revised Code as prescribed in section 
3333.046 of the Revised Code; 

(ix) Food processing establishments as defined in section 3715.021 of the Revised Code; 

(x) Any other site designated by rule. 

(e) Conduct authorized diagnostic inspections. 

(2) Divisions (A)(1)(a) to (d) of this section do not apply to an individual who is acting as a trained serviceperson under the direct 
supervision of a commercial applicator. 

(3) Licenses shall be issued for a period of time established by rule and shall be renewed in accordance with deadlines established by 
rule. The fee for each such license shall be established by rule. If a license is not issued or renewed, the application fee shall be retained by the 
state as payment for the reasonable expense of processing the application. The director shall by rule classify by pesticide-use category licenses 
to be issued under this section. A single license may include more than one pesticide-use category. No individual shall be required to pay an 
additional license fee if the individual is licensed for more than one category. 

The fee for each license or renewal does not apply to an applicant who is an employee of the department of agriculture whose job 
duties require licensure as a commercial applicator as a condition of employment. 

(B) Application for a commercial applicator license shall be made on a form prescribed by the director. Each application for a license 
shall state the pesticide-use category or categories of license for which the applicant is applying and other information that the director 
determines essential to the administration of this chapter. 

(C) If the director finds that the applicant is competent to apply pesticides and conduct diagnostic inspections and that the applicant 
has passed both the general examination and each applicable pesticide-use category examination as required under division (A) of section 
921.12 of the Revised Code, the director shall issue a commercial applicator license limited to the pesticide-use category or categories for 
which the applicant is found to be competent. If the director rejects an application, the director may explain why the application was rejected, 
describe the additional requirements necessary for the applicant to obtain a license, and return the application. The applicant may resubmit 
the application without payment of any additional fee. 

(D)(1) A person who is a commercial applicator shall be deemed to hold a private applicator’s license for purposes of applying 
pesticides on agricultural commodities that are produced by the commercial applicator. 

(2) A commercial applicator shall apply pesticides only in the pesticide-use category or categories in which the applicator is licensed 
under this chapter. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3333.046
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-3715.021
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.12
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Description 

(E) All money collected under this section shall be credited to the pesticide, fertilizer, and lime program fund created in section 921.22 
of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually In 2021: 1,217 (new) 

Number renewed annually In 2021: 14,496 (renewed) 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.22
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements Must pass core exam (general law) and pesticide category exams. 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Pesticide and Fertilizer inspectors proctor the examinations in the state. Exams are given at Ohio 
State Extension offices, govt. Facilities, and colleges. No fees are charged by ODA to take the 
examinations. Some onsite hosting facilities may require parking charges, but no proceeds go to 
ODA. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

5 hours of recert credit during a three-year recertification cycle. 1 hour must be in C-Core, ½ 
hour in each category on the applicator’s license, and the remaining hours to meet the 5-hour 
minimum can be in categories of the applicator’s choosing.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee $35.00 / annually  

Duration  Licensing period 10/1/year to 09/30/following calendar year 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$35 renewal fee 

After 09/30/renewing year = $17.50 late fee applies (total to renew is $52.50) 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Reciprocity is allowed with the following states currently: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, 
Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Texas, 
and West Virginia. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Only in association with Felonies/Crimes  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 



P a g e  | 430  Occupational Regulation 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Chapter 921 Pesticides – Ohio Revised Code 

Chapter 901:5-11 Pesticides – Ohio Administrative Code 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

With approximately 15,000 licensees – new and renewed – annually, the program generates around $525,000 in revenue. This revenue is 
used to support all aspects of the Pesticide/Fertilizer Regulation Program including examinations, routine inspections, and pesticide complaint 
investigations.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

FIFRA (Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, & Rodenticide Act) applies to the occupation. Federal law does not require the state to regulate the 
occupation, but Federal primacy give Ohio the authority to regulate pesticide licensing, use, and distribution in the state. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Protects the public & environment from unreasonable adverse effects of pesticides. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator License4 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
921.06; O.A.C. 
901:5-11-04). 

License (Ind. Code 
15-16-5-45 and 
15-16-5-49; 355 
Ind. Admin. Code 
4-1-1.1). 

License (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 217B.060; 
302 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 27:050). 

Certification 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8312). 

License (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
111.35a). 

License (W. Va. 
Code 19-16A-12). 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A Complete one 
year of 
(1) experience as 
a full-time 
registered 
technician, 
(2) education, 
training, or 
experience in a 
field such as 
biology, 
chemistry, or 
forestry, or (3) a 
combination of 
education and 
experience 
(W. Va. Code 19-

                                                      
4 Commercial pesticide applicator licenses generally appear to require an individual to receive both a certification and a license. That is, an applicant 
generally must pass a certification exam, or series of exams, to qualify for a one-year license that may be renewed as long as the applicant is 
certified. Depending on the state, certification lasts either three or five years and may be renewed by meeting prescribed continuing education 
criteria. 
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Commercial Pesticide Applicator License4 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

16A-12(d); W. Va. 
Code R. 61-12A-
3). 

Experience N/A 18 years of age 
(Ind. Code 15-16-
5-45(d)). 

N/A N/A 18 years of age (7 
Pa. Code 
128.44(a)). 

N/A 

Exam Complete a 
general core exam 
and an additional 
exam for each 
applicable 
pesticide-use 
category (R.C. 
921.12; O.A.C. 
901:5-11-08(A)).  

Complete a core 
exam and an 
exam in each 
pesticide-use 
category, except 
that a core exam 
is not required for 
aerial application 
and wood 
destroying pest 
inspection 
categories (Ind. 
Code 15-16-5-
45(b); 355 Ind. 
Admin. Code 4-1-
2.1 and 4-1-3). 

Complete a 
certification exam 
in the category or 
categories in 
which 
certification is 
requested (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
217B.060(3); 302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 3). 

Complete a 
certification exam 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8311(3); 
Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 
285.636.4). 

Complete a core 
exam and a 
minimum of one 
exam in a 
pesticide-use 
category (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
111.36a; 7 Pa. 
Code 128.42 and 
128.43). 

Complete an 
exam in the use 
and handling of 
pesticides (W. Va. 
Code 19-16A-
12(d); W. Va. 
Code R. 61-12A-
3). 
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Commercial Pesticide Applicator License4 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Continuing 
education 

Every three years 
either retake the 
appropriate 
exams (see above) 
or complete at 
least five 
approved training 
hours, including at 
least one-half 
hour in training 
specific to each 
pesticide-use 
category (R.C. 
921.12(D), (E), 
and (F); O.A.C. 
901:5-11-
08(B)(1)). 

Every five years 
either retake the 
appropriate 
exams (see above) 
or a minimum 
number of 
continuing 
certification hours 
dependent on 
which pesticide-
use categories the 
individual is 
certified in (Ind. 
Code 15-16-5-
45(c); 355 Ind. 
Admin. Code 4-7-
2). 

Every three years 
attend at least 12 
continuing 
education units 
(302 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 27:050(3)). 

Complete 
training, an exam, 
or both, as 
required by the 
Michigan Director 
of Agriculture and 
Rural 
Development 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8312(6); 
Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 
285.636.7(4)). 

Every three years 
complete 
approved training 
in core and 
category-specific 
areas (3 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 111.36a(2); 
7 Pa. Code 
128.45). 

Every three years 
complete 20 
continuing 
education units 
(W. Va. Code 19-
16A-12(b); W. Va. 
Code R. 61-12A-
7). 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$35 (O.A.C. 901:5-
11-04(A)). 

$45 (Ind. Code 15-
16-5-52(a)). 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
217B.080). 

$75 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 
324.8317(1)(a)). 

$25 (3 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 111.35a(e) 
and 111.57a). 

$20 (W. Va. Code 
19-16A-12(a)(5); 
W. Va. Code R. 61-
12-4). 

License duration One year (O.A.C. 
901:5-11-04(B)). 

One year (Ind. 
Code 15-16-5-
52(e)). 

One year (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 217B.080). 

Three years 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8317(2); 
Mich. Admin. 
Code R. 
285.636.7(1)). 

One year (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
111.35a(i)). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code 19-16A-13). 



P a g e  | 435  Occupational Regulation 

Commercial Pesticide Applicator License4 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $35 (R.C. 
921.12(B); O.A.C. 
901:5-11-04(A)). 

$45 (Ind. Code 15-
16-5-52(e)(2)(B)). 

$25 (Ky. Rev. Stat. 
217B.080). 

$75 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 
324.8317(1)(a)). 

$25 (3 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 111.35a(e) 
and 111.57a). 

$20 (W. Va. Code 
19-16A-12(a)(5); 
W. Va. Code R. 61-
12-4). 

 

Private pesticide applicator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

The Private Pesticide Applicator license is for: 

 Any individual who uses or directly supervises the use of any restricted use pesticide for purposes of producing any agricultural 
commodity on property owned or rented by him or his employer. 

Relevant ORC Section: 921.11 

(A)(1) No individual shall apply restricted use pesticides unless the individual is one of the following: 

(a) Licensed under section 921.06 of the Revised Code; 

(b) Licensed under division (B) of this section; 

(c) A trained serviceperson who is acting under the direct supervision of a commercial applicator; 

(d) An immediate family member or a subordinate employee of a private applicator who is acting under the direct supervision of that private 
applicator. 

(2) No individual shall directly supervise the application of a restricted use pesticide unless the individual is one of the following: 

(a) Licensed under section 921.06 of the Revised Code; 

(b) Licensed under division (B) of this section. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.06
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.06
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Description 

(B) The director of agriculture shall adopt rules to establish standards and procedures for the licensure of private applicators. An individual 
shall apply for a private applicator license to the director, on forms prescribed by the director. The individual shall include in the application 
the pesticide-use category or categories of the license for which the individual is applying and any other information that the director 
determines is essential to the administration of this chapter. The fee for each license shall be established by rule. Licenses shall be issued for a 
period of time established by rule and shall be renewed in accordance with deadlines established by rule. If a license is not issued or renewed, 
the state shall retain any fee submitted as payment for reasonable expenses of processing the application. 

(C) An individual who is licensed under this section shall use or directly supervise the use of a restricted use pesticide only for the purpose of 
producing agricultural commodities on property that is owned or rented by the individual or the individual’s employer. 

(D) All money collected under this section shall be credited to the pesticide, fertilizer, and lime program fund created in section 921.22 of the 
Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually In 2021: 952 (new) 

Number renewed annually In 2021: 2,765 (renewed) 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-921.22
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

 

Education or training requirements Must pass core exam (general law) and pesticide category exams. 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Pesticide and Fertilizer inspectors proctor the examinations in the state. Exams are given at Ohio 
State Extension offices, govt. Facilities, and colleges. No fees are charged by ODA to take the 
examinations. Some onsite hosting facilities may require parking charges, but no proceeds go to 
ODA. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

3 hours of recert credit during a three-year recertification cycle. 1 hour must be in C-Core, ½ 
hour in each category on the applicator’s license, and the remaining hours to meet the 3-hour 
minimum can be in categories of the applicator’s choosing. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Initial fee $30 

Duration  Licensing period 4/1/year to 03/31/following three calendar years (3 year cycle). 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$30 (No Late Fee) 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Reciprocity is allowed with the following states currently: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, 
Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Texas, 
and West Virginia. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Only in association with Felonies/Crimes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

No 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Chapter 921 Pesticides – Ohio Revised Code 

Chapter 901:5-11 Pesticides – Ohio Administrative Code 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Annual revenue varies based on the 3-year renewal cycle. In FY22, there were approximately 5,000 new applicants and renewals for a total of 
$150,000 in revenue.  This revenue is used to support the Pesticide/Fertilizer Regulation Section and enforcement of the Pesticide Law 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

FIFRA (Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, & Rodenticide Act) applies to the occupation. Federal law does not require the state to regulate the 
occupation, but Federal primacy give Ohio the authority to regulate pesticide licensing, use, and distribution in the state. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Protect the public & environment from unreasonable adverse effects of pesticides. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Private Pesticide Applicator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
921.11). 

Certificate/permit
(Ind. Code 15-16-
5-54). 

Certificate (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
217B.050 and 
217B.060; 302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 7). 

Certificate (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
324.8317). 

Private applicator 
certificate; private 
applicator permit 
in fumigation (3 
P.S. 111.37b). 

License/certificate 
(W. Va. Code 19-
16A-12). 

Education or 
training 

Three hours, 
minimum of one 
hour of core 
training (R.C. 
921.11; O.A.C. 
901:5-11-
08(B)(2)).  

N/A Competence of a 
private applicator 
verified by a 
training program 
administered by 
county extension 
agents (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 7). 

Methods of 
certification must 
include one of the 
following: 

1. Self-study and 
examination; 

2. Classroom 
training and 
examination; 
or 

3. An oral fact-
finding 
interview 
administered 
by the 
Director of 
Agriculture’s 
authorized 
representa-
tive when a 
person is 

N/A  One year of 
education in a 
field such as, but 
not limited to, 
biology, 
chemistry, or 
forestry; one year 
of experience as a 
full-time 
registered 
technician; or a 
combination of 
one year of 
education and 
training specified 
above (W. Va. 
Code R. 61-12A-
3). 
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Private Pesticide Applicator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

unable to 
demonstrate 
competence 
by 
examination 
or classroom 
training. 

(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8311.) 

Experience N/A  N/A Must possess a 
practical 
knowledge of the 
pest problems 
and pest control 
practices (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 7).  

N/A  At least 16 years 
of age (7 Pa. Code 
128.62). 

Must show that 
they possess a 
practical 
knowledge of the 
pest problems 
and pest control 
practices 
associated with 
his or her 
agricultural 
operation (W. Va. 
Code 19-16A-12; 
W. Va. Code R. 61-
12A-3). 

Exam General core 
examination and 
additional exam 
for each 
applicable 

Yes, core and 
category of 
pesticide exams 
(Ind. Code 15-16-
5-44 and 15-16-5-

Self-administered 
quizzes; following 
completion of 
training, 
instructor signs 

70% or higher 
score on written 
exam or correct 
answering of oral 
questions 

Written 
examination that 
includes specified 
areas of 
knowledge and 

Examination 
approved by the 
Commissioner of 
Agriculture with a 
required score of 
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Private Pesticide Applicator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

pesticide-use 
category (R.C. 
921.12; O.A.C. 
901:5-11-08). 

45; 355 Ind. 
Admin. Code 4-1-
4)). 

certification 
competency 
statement 
containers (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 7). 

(number 
unspecified) 
during fact-finding 
interview (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
324.8314; Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
285.636.6). 

information on 
transportation, 
storage, security, 
and disposal (7 
Pa. Code 128.61). 

An applicant that 
wishes to receive 
an additional 
private applicator 
permit in 
fumigation must 
pass an additional 
written 
examination 
specifically 
relating to each 
type of fumigant 
the applicant 
intends to use 
(7 Pa. Code 
128.64). 

at least 70% (W. 
Va. Code R. 61-
12A-2, 61-12A-3, 
and 61-12A-6). 

Continuing 
education 

Three hours, 
minimum of one 
hour of core 
training (O.A.C. 
901:5-11-
08(B)(2)). 

Three class credits 
or passage of 
examination for 
initial certification 
(Ind. Code 15-16-
5-54; 355 Ind. 
Admin. Code 4-7-
5). 

12 continuing 
education units 
for agriculture-
related categories 
(nine general and 
three specific) or 
a total of 15 
continuing 

As determined by 
the Director, 
applicator may 
need additional 
training or re-
examination on 
changes in 
pesticide 

Update training 
credits, six core 
and six category 
credits relating to 
the proper and 
safe use of 
pesticides (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 

Must accrue ten 
continuing 
certification units 
(five hours) every 
three years (W. 
Va. Code 19-16A-
12; W. Va. Code R. 
61-12A-7). 
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Private Pesticide Applicator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

education units 
for structural 
licenses (Kentucky 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
Pesticide Training 
and Testing). 

application 
technology or use 
patterns (Mich. 
Admin. Code R. 
285.636.7). 

111.37b; 7 Pa. 
Code 128.63). 

For a private 
applicator permit 
in fumigation – at 
least two credits 
of category-
specific education 
relating to the 
appropriate area 
of fumigation in 
which the 
applicator is 
certified (7 Pa. 
Code 128.64). 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$30 (O.A.C. 901:5-
11-05). 

$20 (Ind. Code 15-
16-5-54). 

N/A $50 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8317). 

$10 for private 
applicator 
certification (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
111.37b). 

No fee for private 
applicator permit 
in fumigation (7 
Pa. Code 128.64). 

$20 (W. Va. Code 
R. 61-12A-3; 
Certified Training 
Institute, West 
Virginia Pesticide 
Applicator 
Requirements and 
FAQs). 

License duration Three years 
(O.A.C. 901:5-11-
05). 

Five years (Ind. 
Code 15-16-5-54; 
355 Ind. Admin. 

Three years (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
27:050, Section 7). 

Three years 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8317). 

Three years for 
both private 
applicator 
certification and 

Three years (W. 
Va. Code R. 61-
12A-7). 

https://www.kyagr.com/consumer/pesticide-training-and-testing.html#:~:text=For%20Private%20Applicator%20Licenses&text=Kentucky%20law%20requires%20you%20to,within%20a%203%2Dyear%20period.
https://www.kyagr.com/consumer/pesticide-training-and-testing.html#:~:text=For%20Private%20Applicator%20Licenses&text=Kentucky%20law%20requires%20you%20to,within%20a%203%2Dyear%20period.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
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Private Pesticide Applicator License 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Code 4-1-4 and 4-
7-5). 

private applicator 
permit in 
fumigation (3 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
111.37b; 7 Pa. 
Code 128.64). 

Renewal fee $30 (O.A.C. 901:5-
11-05). 

$20 (Ind. Code 15-
16-5-54). 

N/A $50 (Mich. Comp. 
Laws 324.8317). 

$10 (3 Pa. Cons. 
Stat. 111.37b; 7 
Pa. Code 128.3). 

$20 (W. Va. Code 
R. 61-12-3; 
Certified Training 
Institute, West 
Virginia Pesticide 
Applicator 
Requirements and 
FAQs).  

 

Grain commodity handler 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

Is a license issued to companies to handle agricultural commodities from depositors as defined. This license is issued primarily to companies. 
Depositors that deal with licensed commodity handlers can file claims against the agricultural commodity depositors fund in the event of a 
handler failure. 

 

https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
https://www.certifiedtraininginstitute.com/pesticide/west-virginia/faq/#:~:text=Private%20Applicators%20%E2%80%93&text=Contact%20WVDA%20to%20receive%20a,%2420%20license%20fee%20to%20WVDA.
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

This is a license known as an agricultural commodity handler license. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 360 

Number renewed annually 360 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $200.00 for the main location, $100.00 for each additional branch and an examination fee based 
off the bushel capacity of the facilities. 

Duration One year 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$200.00 for the main location, $100.00 for each additional branch and an examination fee based 
off the bushel capacity of the facilities. 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Federal licenses only cover one minor aspect and could not substitute for this license. The 
federal license is limited on the amount of coverage to depositors based on binding 
requirements. 



P a g e  | 448  Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, ODA can suspend, revoke, or refuse applications based on failure to comply with ORC 926. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

No 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

On site physical and perpetual grain inventory comparisons along with grain record audits. Each applicant also provides an annual financial 
statement prepared on a review or audit level used to prove financial compliance. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

License fees $51,558.33 in 2021. 

Exam fees $94,723.33 in 2021. 

The fees collected are used to administer the program including field auditing staff. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Depositors would have no recourse on the proceeds they are owed from licensed handlers in the event of a handler failure. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, since the inception of the program in 1983, the fund has paid out $19,404,043.92 in claims to 1,543 claimants from 41 failures. Not that 
we are aware of. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a grain commodity handler license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general 
policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 
4798.01.) 
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Grain commodity tester 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

A commodity tester certificate is issued to individuals who work for licensed handlers. These individuals pull samples from all loads of grain 
received and test the samples for applicable factors. Once the factors are determined applicable discounts are applied. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License known as a commodity tester certificate. 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Annual average 340 certificates issued 

Number renewed annually Estimated 80% 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements Successfully complete the written open book test to acquire the initial certificate. 3 hour training 
course or successful completion of the written test for renewal. 

Experience requirements No 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Open book 50 question test. Must get 40 out 50 or 80% correct to pass. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

No 

Initial fee $25.00  

Duration  Balance of the application year plus 3 years 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$25.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Official weigher and grader certificate issued by the federal government is similar but not a 
substitute. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes, a certificate can be refused or revoked for non-compliance with ORC 926. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The director may determine that retraining is necessary because of changes or amendments of the U.S. Grain Standards, or a complaint is 
received indicating a tester is not applying tests accurately according to the U.S. Grain Standards. A tester certificate can be suspended or 
revoked in accordance with 119 for failure or inability of a tester to apply the official grain standards when testing commodities. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

Approximately $8,500.00 per year. 

Used to administer the program. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Incorrect grading factors and discounts could be applied if the tester is not trained properly and certified. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

1) Yes 

2) No 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No  

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Grain Commodity Tester 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  Certificate (R.C. 
926.30). 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Grain Commodity Tester 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Exam Yes (R.C. 
926.30(A)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$25 (R.C. 
926.30(B); O.A.C. 
901:7-2-11(A)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

License duration Three years (R.C. 
926.30(B); O.A.C. 
901:7-2-11(A)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Renewal fee $25 (R.C. 
926.30(B); O.A.C. 
901:7-2-11(A)). 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Nursery dealer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

Required for any person who sells or distributes nursery stock in the state of Ohio. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 4647 

Number renewed annually ~4500 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No, the numbers have been very steady. 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $125.00 

Duration  1 year 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$125.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Yes 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

There is an exemption in place for operations that are non-profit and make no more than $2000 
per year. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Not upon initial application.  Yes, the Director can suspend or revoke a certification for violations 
of nursery stock laws and regulations. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Nursery Dealers must only purchase stock from growers who are licensed and have passed 
inspected.  

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(A) The director of agriculture or his authorized representative may prosecute any violation of sections 927.51 to 927.72, inclusive, of the 
Revised Code, in any court of competent jurisdiction. 

(B) Upon request of the director, the prosecuting attorney of the county, or the prosecuting officer of any other political subdivision, in which 
any such prosecution is pending, shall aid in any investigation, prosecution, hearing, or trial had under sections 927.51 to 927.73, inclusive, of 
the Revised Code, and shall institute and prosecute such actions or proceedings for the enforcement of such sections and the punishment of 
all violations thereof as the director may request. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.51
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.72
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.51
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.73
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Whoever violates sections 927.51 to 927.72 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree on a first offense; on each 
subsequent offense, the person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$580,875 – pays for personnel and expenses of specialists involved in the inspection of nursery stock, quarantine compliance assistance, and 
insect and disease monitoring, and associated administrative expenses throughout the state. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are federal quarantines in place that require inspection and certification of nursery stock to move from area to area in some cases i.e., 
quarantine for Gypsy Moth a.k.a. spongy moth.   

 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.51
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-927.72
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The regulation seeks to prevent the movement of plant pests and diseases on the wide range of horticultural species that are sold as 
ornamentals to prevent those pests from cause additional harm in a new area or on a different crop, such as a food crop or our natural 
resources like standing timber. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, registering and inspecting facilities that are involved in the movement of nursery stock allows the Department to both prevent and react 
to pest problems.  Our inspectors are a resource for these businesses in finding pest problems and giving them access to the latest 
information to control these problems. The program is not restrictive. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a nursery dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 
by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Garbage feeder 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

(A) No person shall feed on the person’s premises, or permit the feeding of, treated garbage to swine without a license to do so issued by the 
department of agriculture. 

(A) No person shall feed or permit the feeding of garbage to swine unless it is treated garbage and the person treating the garbage holds a 
valid license issued under section 942.02 of the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 0 

Number renewed annually 0 



P a g e  | 463  Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Decreases 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $100.00  

Duration  Annual  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$100.00  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$0.00 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

Swine Health Protection CFR Part 166. 

No. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

To protect the commerce of the United States and the health and welfare of the people of the United States by ensuring that food waste fed 
to swine does not contain active disease organisms that pose a risk to U. S. swine. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Regulation is effective. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a garbage feeder license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy enacted 
by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Livestock broker/dealer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

(A) No person shall act as a small dealer, dealer, or broker without first being licensed. No person shall be an employee of more than one 
small dealer, dealer, or broker. Except as provided in division (B) of this section, no person holding a license as a small dealer, dealer, or broker 
shall be an employee. No employee shall act for any small dealer, dealer, or broker unless the small dealer, dealer, or broker is licensed, and 
has designated the employee to act in the small dealer’s, dealer’s, or broker’s behalf and has notified the department of agriculture in the 
application for license or has given official notice in writing of the appointment of the employee. The small dealer, dealer, or broker shall be 
accountable and responsible for all contracts pertaining to the purchase, exchange, or sale of livestock made by the employee. The small 
dealer, dealer, or broker who terminates the services of an employee shall notify the department in writing of the employee’s termination. No 
person who is a licensed small dealer, dealer, or broker shall have livestock exempted pursuant to divisions (B)(1) to (6) of section 943.01 of 
the Revised Code. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 209 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 209 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No significant changes. 

Education or training requirements No requirements. 

Experience requirements No experience requirements 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No exam requirements. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

NO CE needed.  

Initial fee $25.00, $50.00, $125.00. $250.00 respectively. (Fee is determined by headage bought and sold) 

Duration  1 year. (Annually)  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Renewal is the same as initial fee. (Fee dependent upon the headage of animals bought and 
sold) 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Yes, registration through USDA Packers and Stockyards Administration. 

No, Packers and Stockyards Administration does not cover as many requirements at the State of 
Ohio.  

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Yes, individuals can buy and sell livestock in the state of Ohio but must meet the movement and 
ownership requirements.  

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes.  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$33,760.00 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

USDA Packers and Stockyards Act. 

No. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Financial Hardship, and prevent animal disease, and monitor traceability of animal diseases. Unfair trade practices. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. 

No. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a livestock broker/dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 
enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Small livestock dealer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

(D) “Small dealer” means any person found by the department buying, receiving, selling, slaughtering, with the exception of those persons 
designated by division (B)(1) of section 918.10 of the Revised Code, exchanging, negotiating, or soliciting the sale, resale, exchange, or transfer 
of any animals in an amount of two hundred fifty head or less of cattle, horses, or other equidae or five hundred head or less of sheep, goats, 
or other bovidae, swine or other suidae, poultry, alpacas, llamas, or monitored captive deer, captive deer with status, or captive deer with 
certified chronic wasting disease status during any one year. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 67 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 67 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

None 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $25.00 

Duration  1 Year/Annually  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same as above 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Individuals can buy and sell livestock but must maintain ownership for more than 30 days to not 
be considered a Livestock Dealer.  

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$1,675.00 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Prevention of animal disease and monitor traceability of animal diseases. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

No 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a small livestock dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 
enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Livestock weigher 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

A) Each person maintaining and operating any weighing facilities used for, in connection with, or incident to the purchase or sale of livestock 
at any auction market, concentration yard, stockyard, packing plant, or place for assembling livestock in the state, shall do both of the 
following: 

(1) Maintain and operate all the weighing facilities so as to ensure accurate weights. 

(2) Be licensed as a weigher or employ one or more weighers licensed by the department of agriculture, and require that all livestock handled 
for purchase, sale, or exchange be accurately weighed by the licensed weighers upon scales approved by the department and inspected, 
tested, maintained, and operated in accordance with this section. This section does not prevent such weighers from performing other duties 
not inconsistent with this section. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 500 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 500 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements No 

Experience requirements No 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $10.00 

Duration  Expire March 31st of the year. Annually.  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$10.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

A current scale test needs to be submitted for any scale that will be weighing livestock for 
commerce.  

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$5,000.00 

(F) All money collected under section 943.03 of the Revised Code and under this section shall be credited to the animal and consumer 
protection laboratory fund created in section 901.43 of the Revised Code. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

No weigher shall improperly weigh any livestock, or give any false certificate of weight, or accept directly or indirectly money or other 
consideration for any neglect or improper performance of duty, and no person shall wrongfully influence or interfere, or attempt to so 
influence or interfere, with any such weigher in the performance of his duty or attempt to do so 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

No 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a livestock broker/dealer license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 
enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Transporter of raw rendering material 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

(1) The license fee for a person applying for an annual license to pick up or collect raw rendering material and dispose of the material to a 
licensee or in accordance with divisions (B) and (C) of section 953.26 of the Revised Code, or to transport raw rendering material to a 
composting facility, is twenty-five dollars per conveyance that is used to pick up or collect and dispose of or to transport raw rendering 
material. A late fee of ten dollars per conveyance shall be charged for each application that is received after the thirtieth day of November 
each year. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually Approximately 100 Collectors with a total of 901 conveyances 

Number renewed annually Approximately 100 Collectors with a total of 901 conveyances.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

No 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $25.00 per conveyance  

Duration  1 Year/Annually  

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$25.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

Yes 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

None 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$22,520.00 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

None  

No 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Sanitary and proper disposal of inedible products. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

No 

No 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that the license for transporting raw rendering material is not an “occupational regulation” under the 
state’s general policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 
103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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High volume dog breeder 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

“High volume breeder” means an establishment that keeps, houses, and maintains six or more breeding dogs and does at least one of the 
following: 

(1) In return for a fee or other consideration, sells five or more adult dogs or puppies in any calendar year to dog brokers or pet stores; 

(2) In return for a fee or other consideration, sells forty or more puppies in any calendar year to the public; or 

(3) Keeps, houses, and maintains, at any given time in a calendar year, more than forty puppies that are under four months of age, that have 
been bred on the premises of the establishment, and that have been primarily kept, housed, and maintained from birth on the premises of 
the establishment. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

 5 or more to Broker/Pet Store 

 40 or more bred on premise 

 40 to 60 puppies 

 61 to 150 puppies 

 151 to 250 puppies 

 251 to 350 puppies 

 351 or more puppies 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 571 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 571 in 2021 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Significant increase annually in the last 6 years 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $150.00-$750.00 depending on license type 

Duration  Calendar Year 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$150.00-$750.00 depending on license type 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

Yes, if individuals have less than 6 breeding females and less than 40 dogs less than 4 months on 
the premise, they may still breed and sell dogs without a license 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

(A) The director of agriculture shall deny an application for a license that is submitted under 
section 956.04 or 956.05 of the Revised Code for either of the following reasons: 

(1) The applicant for the license has violated any provision of this chapter or a rule adopted 
under it if the violation materially threatens the health or welfare of a dog. 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a disqualifying offense as 
determined in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

(B) The director may suspend or revoke a license issued under this chapter for violation of any 
provision of this chapter or a rule adopted, or order issued under it if the violation materially 
threatens the health and welfare of a dog. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

BCI required on initial licensing, bond/insurance policy must be in place 

 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.04
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.05
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

At least once annually, the director of agriculture or the director’s authorized representative shall inspect a high volume breeder that is 
subject to licensure under this chapter and rules adopted under section 956.03 of the Revised Code to ensure compliance with this chapter 
and rules adopted under it, including the standards of care established in rules adopted under that section. 

The director of agriculture, after providing an opportunity for an adjudication hearing under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, may assess a 
civil penalty against a person who has violated or is violating division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.20 of the Revised Code or division (E) of 
section 956.21 of the Revised Code. 

(B) The person who is assessed a civil penalty under this section is liable for a civil penalty of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars 
for a first violation, not more than five thousand dollars for a second violation, and not more than ten thousand dollars for a third or 
subsequent violation. 

(C) Any person assessed a civil penalty under this section shall pay the amount prescribed to the department of agriculture. The department 
shall remit all money collected under this section to the treasurer of state for deposit in the pet store license fund created under 
section 956.181 of the Revised Code. 

Whoever violates division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.051 of the Revised Code, division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.20 of the Revised Code, 
or division (E) of section 956.21 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$149,480 (From this amount we refunded $30,835 in Kennel reimbursements to the counties and $7880.00 in BCI reimbursements) 

The director shall use the money in the fund for the purpose of administering sections 956.01 to 956.18 of the Revised Code and rules 
adopted under section 956.03 of the Revised Code that apply to those sections. 

 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.03
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.20
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.21
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.051
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.20
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.21
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.18
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.03
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Animal welfare issues with larger operations; consumer protection 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Give kennel registration back to the counties and remove the county kennel reimbursement regulation. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

High-Volume Dog Breeder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
956.04). 

Registration (345 
Ind. Code 13-1-
3(a)).5 

No clear 
equivalent.6 

Registration 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.336).7 

License (3 P.S. 
459-206).8 

Permit (W. Va. 
Code 19-20-26).9 

                                                      
5 A person must register as a commercial dog breeder if the person maintains more than 20 unaltered female dogs that are at least 12 months of 
age. 345 Ind. Code 13-1-3(a).  
6 There does not appear to be a state law regulating commercial dog breeders, but it appears that Kentucky counties may so regulate. For example, 
Henderson County, Kentucky requires a breeding permit to breed dogs. Henderson County, Kentucky, Article II, Licenses and Breeding Permits. 
7 A kennel must register as a large-scale dog breeding kennel if the kennel houses or keeps 15 female intact dogs over four months old. Mich. 
Comp. Laws 287.331. 
8 A kennel must apply for a commercial kennel license if the kennel breeds or whelps dogs and (1) sells or transfers any dog to a dealer or pet shop 
kennel or (2) sells or transfers more than 60 dogs per calendar year. 3 P.S. 459-102. 
9 Generally, a person must obtain a commercial dog breeder permit if the person (1) maintains 11 or more unsterilized dogs older than one year 
for the exclusive purpose of actively breeding and (2) is engaged in the business of breeding dogs as household pets for sale or exchange in return 
for consideration. W. Va. Code 19-20-26. 

https://ecode360.com/27534547
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High-Volume Dog Breeder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$150 to $750 
depending on the 
number of 
puppies annually 
sold to the public. 

If the numbers do 
not apply, $150 if 
a certain number 
of adult dogs are 
sold to a dog 
broker or pet 
store or the 
breeder maintains 
a certain number 
of puppies under 
specified 
circumstances. 
(R.C. 956.07(A).) 

$75 to $500 
depending on the 
number of 
unadultered 
female dogs 
maintained (345 
Ind. Code 13-1-3). 

N/A $500 (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
287.336). 

$75 to $750 
depending on the 
number of dogs of 
any age kept 
during a calendar 
year (3 P.S. 459-
206(a)). 

$250 to $500, as 
established by the 
county 
commission and 
depending on the 
number of dogs 
kept exclusively 
for breeding (W. 
Va. Code 19-20-
26(c)(1)). 
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High-Volume Dog Breeder 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration One year (R.C. 
956.04(D)). 

One year (345 Ind. 
Code 13-1-4). 

N/A One year (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
287.336). 

One year (3 P.S. 
459-206(a)). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code 19-20-26). 

Renewal fee Same as initial 
licensure 
application fees 
(R.C. 956.07(A)). 

Same as initial 
registration 
application fees 
(345 Ind. Code 13-
1-4). 

N/A Same as initial 
registration 
application fees 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 287.336). 

Same as initial 
licensure 
application fees (3 
P.S. 459-206(a)). 

Same as initial 
permit fees (W. 
Va. Code 19-20-
26). 

 

Dog broker 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

“Dog broker” means a person who buys, sells, or offers to sell dogs at wholesale for resale to another or who sells or gives one or more dogs 
to a pet store annually. “Dog broker” does not include an animal rescue for dogs, an animal shelter for dogs, a humane society, a medical 
kennel for dogs, a research kennel for dogs, a pet store, or a veterinarian. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 595 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 595 in 2021 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Significant increase annually in the last 6 years 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $500.00 

Duration  Calendar year 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$500.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

 The director of agriculture shall deny an application for a license that is submitted under 
section 956.04 or 956.05 of the Revised Code for either of the following reasons: 

(1) The applicant for the license has violated any provision of this chapter or a rule adopted 
under it if the violation materially threatens the health or welfare of a dog. 

(2) The applicant has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a disqualifying offense as 
determined in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

BCI required on initial licensing 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

At least once annually, the director of agriculture or the director’s authorized representative shall inspect a high volume breeder that is 
subject to licensure under this chapter and rules adopted under section 956.03 of the Revised Code to ensure compliance with this chapter 
and rules adopted under it, including the standards of care established in rules adopted under that section. 

The director of agriculture, after providing an opportunity for an adjudication hearing under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, may assess a 
civil penalty against a person who has violated or is violating division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.20 of the Revised Code or division (E) of 
section 956.21 of the Revised Code. 

(B) The person who is assessed a civil penalty under this section is liable for a civil penalty of not more than two thousand five hundred dollars 
for a first violation, not more than five thousand dollars for a second violation, and not more than ten thousand dollars for a third or 
subsequent violation. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.04
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.05
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.03
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.20
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.21
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(C) Any person assessed a civil penalty under this section shall pay the amount prescribed to the department of agriculture. The department 
shall remit all money collected under this section to the treasurer of state for deposit in the pet store license fund created under 
section 956.181 of the Revised Code. 

Whoever violates division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.051 of the Revised Code, division (A), (B), or (C) of section 956.20 of the Revised Code, 
or division (E) of section 956.21 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$297,500 (From this amount we refunded $15,996.00 in BCI reimbursements) 

The director shall use the money in the fund for the purpose of administering sections 956.01 to 956.18 of the Revised Code and rules 
adopted under section 956.03 of the Revised Code that apply to those sections 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.181
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.051
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.20
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.21
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.01
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.18
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-956.03
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Animal welfare issues with larger operations; consumer protection 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

N/A 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Dog Broker 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
956.05). 

Registration (345 
Ind. Code 13-1-2). 

No clear 
equivalent. 

No clear 
equivalent. 

License (3 P.S. 
459-209(A.1)). 

No clear 
equivalent. 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$500 (R.C. 
956.07(A)(2)). 

$1,000 (345 Ind. 
Code 13-1-2). 

N/A N/A $75 to $750 
depending on the 
number of dogs of 
any age kept 
during a calendar 
year (3 P.S. 459-
206(a) and 459-
209(A.1)). 

N/A 

License duration One year (R.C. 
956.07(A)). 

One year (345 Ind. 
Admin. Code 13-1-
4). 

N/A N/A One year (3 P.S. 
459-209(A.1)). 

N/A 
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Dog Broker 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Renewal fee $500 (R.C. 
956.07(A)(2)). 

$1,000 (345 Ind. 
Admin. Code 13-1-
2). 

N/A N/A $75 to $750 
depending on the 
number of dogs of 
any age kept 
during a calendar 
year (3 P.S. 459-
209(A.1)). 

N/A 

 

Animal rescue for dogs 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

“Animal rescue for dogs” means an individual or organization recognized by the director of agriculture that keeps, houses, and maintains dogs 
and that is dedicated to the welfare, health, safety, and protection of dogs, provided that the individual or organization does not operate for 
profit, does not sell dogs for a profit, does not breed dogs, does not sell dogs to a dog broker or pet store, and does not purchase more than 
nine dogs in any given calendar year unless the dogs are purchased from a dog warden appointed under Chapter 955. of the Revised Code, a 
humane society, or another animal rescue for dogs. “Animal rescue for dogs” includes an individual or organization that offers spayed or 
neutered dogs for adoption and charges reasonable adoption fees to cover the costs of the individual or organization, including, but not 
limited to, costs related to spaying or neutering dogs. 
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Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Registration  

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 378 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 378 in 2021 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Steady increase 

Education or training requirements N/A 

Experience requirements N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $0.00 

Duration  Calendar 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$0.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

N/A 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

N/A 

 



P a g e  | 505  Occupational Regulation 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$0.00 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

N/A 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

N/A 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that an animal rescue for dogs registration is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general 
policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 
4798.01.) 
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Concession operator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

ODA licenses “concessions” at county and independent agricultural fairs. A concession is defined as “any show, amusement other than an 
amusement ride as defined in section 993.01 of the Revised Code, game, or novelty stand operation at a fair or exposition, but does not 
include food or drink operations.” ODA issues a license in the name of the concessionaire – and – the name of the concession. One license 
does not cover all the concessionaire’s activities. ODA has specific rules on how these concessions are to be played to ensure fair play to the 
players. Classic examples of these concessions are Bust a Balloon, Milk Can Toss, and Ring the Bottle. ODA’s regulatory focus is on the 
concession itself. Most concessionaires have multiple licenses issued by ODA. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 2021 – 334; 2022 - 390 

Number renewed annually Approximately the same. 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

In 2020, many county and independent fairs only held livestock competitions and did not have 
rides or games at their fairs. Therefore, there was a significant decrease in concessions in 2020. 
ODA has seen a return to normal levels of licenses in 2021 and 2022. 

Education or training requirements N/A (ODA licenses the concession/game, not the operator). 

Experience requirements N/A (ODA licenses the concession/game, not the operator). 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A (ODA licenses the concession/game, not the operator). 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A (ODA licenses the concession/game, not the operator). 

Initial fee $70 

Duration  Expires on December 31st of each year. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$70 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

ODA only regulates these activities in the confines of county and independent agricultural 
societies. ODA does not have jurisdiction over games at local carnivals and festivals. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No. ORC 1711.11 requires that the concession be licensed by ODA. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ORC 1711.11 states that no person shall operate any concession at any fair or exposition conducted by a county or independent ag society 
without first obtaining from the director a license to do so. If the director finds that this section has been violated or that the licensee has 
been dishonest or has been fraudulent in dealings with the public, the director, in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code, shall 
revoke the licensee’s license or fine the licensee not more than one thousand dollars, or both. See ORC 1711.11(G). 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

In 2021, ODA generated $24,010 in revenue from concession licenses. In 2022, the number was $27,300. ODA uses these funds to employ 
Amusement Ride and Game Inspectors which inspect all the amusement rides and concessions throughout the state. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal regulations. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Pursuant to ORC Chapter 1711, it is the Department’s regulatory mission to protect the public from dishonest and fraudulent dealings with 
regards to concessions. To accomplish this mission, the Department has created a specific set of administrative code rules which outline the 
way each game shall be played, the way prizes are offered and displayed, and the signage requirements for each game. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

All concessions covered by the rules adopted by ODA are inspected and any complaints regarding unfair operations are investigated. The rules 
are judged as being successful when inspections find few violations, and when there is no increase in the number of complaint reports filed 
with the Department. ODA has received very few complaints over the last few years regarding concessions. This shows that the regulations 
are successful in preventing the harm identified above.  

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Not currently. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that a concession operator license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general policy 
enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 4798.01.) 
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Amusement ride operator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

ODA does not permit amusement ride operators. ODA inspects and permits amusement rides themselves. See ORC 993.04(A)(2), “For each 
amusement ride found to comply with the rules . . . the director shall issue an annual permit.” 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

Permit 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually  

Number renewed annually  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

In 2020, many county and independent fairs only held livestock competitions and did not have 
rides or games at their fairs. Therefore, there was a significant decrease in concessions in 2020. 
ODA has seen a return to normal levels of licenses in 2021 and 2022. 

Education or training requirements N/A (ODA permits the amusement ride itself, not the operator) 

Experience requirements N/A (ODA permits the amusement ride itself, not the operator) 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A (ODA permits the amusement ride itself, not the operator) 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A (ODA permits the amusement ride itself, not the operator) 

Initial fee Permit $225 

Inspection Fees: Kiddie rides $100; Roller coaster $1,200; Aerial lifts or bungee jumping facilities 
$450; Go karts, per kart  $5; Other rides $160; Inflatables $104. 

Duration  Hard rides (non-inflatables) expire on December 31st of each year. Inflatable devices expire 365 
from licensure. 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same as initial.  



P a g e  | 514  Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

ODA has the authority to issue penalties against individuals operating a permitted (or unpermitted) amusement ride in violations of Ohio’s 
laws and rules. Additionally, it has the authority to place a stop operation order on the ride which prohibits the operation of the ride until 
certain conditions are met. 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

2020: $769,452 (COVID) 

2021: $547,210 (COVID) 

2022: $1,083,167.  

ODA uses these funds to employ ride and game inspectors which inspect all amusement rides in the state of Ohio. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal regulations pertaining to amusement rides. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The purpose of these regulations is to ensure continued public safety on amusement rides by setting minimum safety standards for all 
amusement rides in the state. 
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Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

All amusement rides in the state of Ohio are inspected and any complaints regarding unsafe operations are investigated. The rules are judged 
as being successful when inspections find few violations and when there are few accidents related to mechanical or operational errors.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

No substantive changes currently. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

LSC staff determined that an amusement ride operator license is not an “occupational regulation” under the state’s general 
policy enacted by S.B. 255 of the 132nd General Assembly and is, therefore, beyond the scope of this report. (See, R.C. 103.27 and 
4798.01.) 
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Auctioneer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

“Auctioneer” means any person who engages, or who by advertising or otherwise holds the person out as being able to engage, in the calling 
for, recognition of, and the acceptance of, offers for the purchase of real or personal property, goods, or chattels at auction either directly or 
using other licensed auctioneers. 

“Auction” means a method of sale of real or personal property, goods, or chattels, at a predetermined date and time, by means of a verbal 
exchange, regular mail, telecommunications, the internet, an electronic transmission, or a physical gesture between an auctioneer and 
members of the audience or prospective purchasers, the exchanges and gestures consisting of a series of invitations for offers made by the 
auctioneer and offers by members of the audience or prospective purchasers, with the right to acceptance of offers with the auctioneer. 
“Auction” includes a sale of real or personal property, goods, or chattels in which there has been a solicitation or invitation by advertisement 
to the public for an advance in bidding using sealed bidding, provided that the bids are opened and there is a call for an advancement of the 
bids. 

“Auction services” means arranging, managing, and sponsoring a personal property auction. “Auction services” includes the taking and 
advertising of personal property on consignment to be sold at an online or live auction by a licensed auctioneer for a fee or other 
consideration. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually In 2021, there were 59 new auctioneer licenses issued. 

Number renewed annually Approx. 1200 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes, largely due to the number of baby boomers retiring and the shift to online auctions due to 
COVID. 

Education or training requirements In 2021, licensees were required to serve a twelve-month apprenticeship, act as a bid caller in 
twelve auctions, and attend an approved auction school prior to application for licensure. 

HB 321 (eff. 09/13/2022) eliminates the apprenticeship requirement and an individual can test 
for the auctioneer exam upon completion of an approved auction school. 

Experience requirements In 2021, licensees were required to serve a twelve-month apprenticeship and act as a bid caller 
in twelve auctions. 

HB 321 (eff. 09/13/2022) eliminates the apprenticeship requirement. 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

Written license exams administered by the Ohio Department of Agriculture, Auctioneer 
Program.  There is a bank of exam questions drafted and questions for the exam are pulled from 
the bank of questions.  $25.00 exam fee as permitted in statute.  The fees are deposited in the 
Auctioneer Operating Fund 5B80. 

The Verbal exam was administered by the Ohio Auctioneer Commissioners who are licensed 
auctioneers.  

§ 4707.08 Examinations. 

(A) The department of agriculture shall hold written examinations twelve times each year for 
obtaining a license under section 4707.07 of the Revised Code and for unlicensed auction 
firm managers as required under division (D) of section 4707.074 of the Revised Code. The 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

written examination shall be held at the department or at an alternative location 
determined by the department.  An examination shall not be required for the renewal of any 
license unless the license has been revoked, or allowed to expire without renewal, in which 
case the applicant shall take and pass the appropriate examinations examination offered by 
the department.  

An examination fee of twenty-five dollars shall be collected from each person taking 
the auctioneer examination and fifteen dollars from each person taking the auction firm 
manager examination to defray expenses of holding the examinations.  

(B) All applications and proofs shall be filed by each applicant before the scheduled date of 
examination and shall be accompanied by proof of financial responsibility and a license fee. 
In order to be seated for an examination held under this section, an applicant shall have a 
complete application on file with the department not later than fourteen days prior to the 
examination date.  

(C) If a court of competent jurisdiction or the department, at an administrative hearing, has 
found that an applicant conducted an auction, provided auction services, or acted as an 
auctioneer without a license issued under this chapter, the department may refuse to allow 
the applicant to take an examination under this section or may deny the issuance of a 
license to the applicant for a period of two years.  

(D)(1) If an applicant for a license fails to pass the examination, the applicant may take the 
examination on the next scheduled date for the examination. If an applicant fails to pass the 
examination on the second consecutive attempt, the applicant shall not take the 
examination on the next scheduled date for the examination.  

(2) If an applicant for a license fails to pass the examination on the third attempt, the 
applicant shall attend auction school a second time before the applicant may take the 
examination. If an applicant for a license fails to pass the examination on the fourth 
attempt, the applicant shall not take the examination for at least one year from the date 
of the last failed attempt.  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(3) If an individual who is taking the examination for an auction firm manager fails to pass 
the examination on the third attempt, the individual shall not take the examination for 
one year from the date of the last failed attempt. 

§ 4707.04 Organization of commission. 

[ *   *  *] 

(C) Members of the commission who are licensed auctioneers under this chapter shall 
administer the oral licensing examination required under section 4707.08 of the Revised 
Code. 

(D) Each commissioner shall receive the commissioner’s actual and necessary expenses incurred 
in the discharge of the commissioner’s duties. Each commissioner also shall receive a per 
diem salary from the auctioneers fund created in section 4707.05 of the Revised Code for 
each meeting attended. The director of agriculture shall adopt rules in accordance with 
Chapter 119. of the Revised Code establishing the per diem salary. 

HB 321 (eff. 09/13/2022) eliminates the verbal licensing exam and moves the test to monthly 
offerings. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

In 2021, there were no continuing education requirements.   

HB 321 (eff. 09/13/2022) creates 8 hours of continuing education for every two-year renewal 
period.  The criteria are established in the statute: 

§ 4707.101. Continuing Education. 

(A) A licensed auctioneer shall complete eight hours of continuing education in accordance with 
this section prior to renewal of the license under section 4707.10 of the Revised Code. The 
auction firm manager of a licensed auction firm shall complete eight hours of continuing 
education in accordance with this section prior to the renewal of the auction firm license 
under section 4707.10 of the Revised Code.  

(B)(1) Except as provided in division (B)(2) of this section, a licensed auctioneer and an auction 
firm manager shall complete the eight hours of continuing education as follows:  
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(a) Three of the hours shall include areas of instruction in any of the following areas: an 
overview of this chapter and rules adopted under it, including any recent 
amendments to that chapter or rules; contract law; the uniform commercial code; 
auction ethics; or trust or escrow accounts.  

(b) Five of the hours shall include areas of instruction in any of the following areas: 
advertising and marketing; business math and accounting; insurance and liability; 
federal firearms law; business management; motor vehicle auctions; real estate 
auctions; or personal property auctions.  

(2) If a licensed auctioneer has been issued a license with a period of validity of twelve 
months or less, the auctioneer shall complete four hours of continuing education as 
follows:  

(a) One hour in the areas of instruction described in division (B)(1)(a) of this section;  

(b) Three hours in the areas of instruction described in division (B)(1)(b) of this section.  

(C) A licensed auctioneer or an auction firm manager of a licensed auction firm may complete an 
area of instruction for continuing education hours in another state if both of the following 
apply:  

(1) The area of instruction has been approved by the appropriate state governing body in 
the other state.  

(2) The Ohio auctioneers commission approves the completion of the area of instruction by 
the auctioneer or an auction firm manager in the other state 

The Ohio Auctioneer Commission establishes the requirements and standards for continuing 
education providers.   

Initial fee $200.00 biennial license fee, $25.00 exam fee 

Duration  Two-year licenses July 1-June 30 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$200.00 renewal fee 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

Ohio has reciprocal agreements that waive the apprenticeship and testing requirements because 
the other states have similar licensing requirements with the following:  AL, AR, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, 
LA, MS, NC, PA, SC, TN, TX, VA, WI, and WV.  Auctioneers from reciprocal states still need to 
obtain an auctioneer license in Ohio and pay the appropriate fee.  We permit third party 
reciprocity which means the licensee does not have to live in the reciprocal state.   

For individuals who are not licensed in a reciprocal licensing state, a one-time license is 
available. 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

There are exemptions to the licensure requirement within Chapter 4707.02 of the Revised Code 

(A) No person shall act as an auction firm, auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or special 
auctioneer within this state without a license issued by the department of agriculture. No 
auction shall be conducted in this state except by an auctioneer licensed by the department. 

Except as provided in division (D) of this section, the department shall not issue or 
renew a license if the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a felony or crime involving 
fraud or theft in this or another state at any time during the ten years immediately preceding 
application or renewal. 

(B) Division (A) of this section does not apply to any of the following: 

(1) Sales at auction that either are required by law to be at auction, other than sales 
pursuant to a judicial order or decree, or are conducted by or under the direction of a public 
authority; 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(2) The owner of any real or personal property desiring to sell the property at auction, 
provided that the property was not acquired for the purpose of resale; 

(3) An auction mediation company; 

(4) An auction that is conducted in a course of study for auctioneers that is approved by 
the state auctioneers commission created under section 4707.03 of the Revised Code for 
purposes of student training and is supervised by a licensed auctioneer; 

(5)(a) An auction that is sponsored by a nonprofit or charitable organization that is 
registered in this state under Chapter 1702. or Chapter 1716. of the Revised Code, respectively, 
if the auction only involves the property of the members of the organization and the auction is 
part of a fair that is organized by an agricultural society under Chapter 1711. of the Revised Code 
or by the Ohio expositions commission under Chapter 991. of the Revised Code at which an 
auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter physically conducts the auction; 

(b) Sales at an auction sponsored by a charitable, religious, or civic organization that is 
tax exempt under subsection 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or by a public school, 
chartered nonpublic school, or community school, if no person in the business of organizing, 
arranging, or conducting an auction for compensation and no consignor of consigned items sold 
at the auction, except such organization or school, receives compensation from the proceeds of 
the auction. As used in division (B)(5)(b) of this section, “compensation” means money, a thing 
of value other than participation in a charitable event, or a financial benefit. 

(c) Sales at an auction sponsored by an organization that is tax exempt under subsection 
501(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code and that is a part of a national, regional, or state 
convention or conference that advances or promotes the auction profession in this state when 
the property to be sold is donated to or is the property of the organization and the proceeds 
remain within the organization or are donated to a charitable organization that is tax exempt 
under subsection 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

(6) A person licensed as a livestock dealer under Chapter 943. of the Revised Code who 
exclusively sells livestock and uses an auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter to conduct 
the auction; 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.03


P a g e  | 524  Occupational Regulation 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(7) A person licensed as a motor vehicle auction owner under Chapter 4517. of the 
Revised Code who exclusively sells motor vehicles to a person licensed under Chapter 4517. of 
the Revised Code and who uses an auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter to conduct the 
auction; 

(8) Sales of real or personal property conducted by means of the internet, provided that 
they are not conducted in conjunction with a live auction; 

(9) A bid calling contest that is approved by the commission and that is conducted for 
the purposes of the advancement or promotion of the auction profession in this state; 

(10) An auction at which the champion of a national or international bid calling contest 
appears, provided that both of the following apply: 

(a) The champion is not paid a commission. 

(b) The auction is conducted under the direct supervision of an auctioneer licensed 
under this chapter in order to ensure that the champion complies with this chapter and rules 
adopted under it. 

(C)(1) No person shall advertise or hold oneself out as an auction firm, auctioneer, 
apprentice auctioneer, or special auctioneer without a license issued by the department of 
agriculture. 

(2) Division (C)(1) of this section does not apply to an individual who is the subject of an 
advertisement regarding an auction conducted under division (B)(5)(b) of this section. 

(D) The department shall not refuse to issue a license to an applicant because of a 
criminal conviction unless the refusal is in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

(A) The department of agriculture may grant auctioneer’s licenses to those individuals 
who are determined to be qualified by the department. Each individual who applies for an 
auctioneer’s license shall furnish to the department, on forms provided by the department, 
satisfactory proof that the applicant: 

(1) Has attained the age of at least eighteen years; 

(2) Has done one of the following: 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(a) Met the apprenticeship requirements set forth in section 4707.09 of the Revised 
Code; 

(b) Met the requirements of section 4707.12 of the Revised Code. 

(3) Has a general knowledge of the following: 

(a) The requirements of the Revised Code relative to auctioneers; 

(b) The auction profession; 

(c) The principles involved in conducting an auction; 

(d) Any local and federal laws regarding the profession of auctioneering. 

(4) Has satisfied the financial responsibility requirements established under 
section 4707.11 of the Revised Code if applicable. 

(B) Auctioneers who served apprenticeships and who hold licenses issued before May 1, 
1991, and who seek renewal of their licenses, are not subject to the additional apprenticeship 
requirements imposed by section 4707.09 of the Revised Code. 

(C) A licensee may do business under more than one registered name, but not to exceed 
three registered names, provided that the names have been approved by the department. The 
department may reject the application of any person seeking licensure under this chapter if the 
name or names to be used by the applicant are likely to mislead the public, or if the name or 
names do not distinguish the applicant from the name or names of any existing person licensed 
under this chapter. If an applicant applies to the department to do business under three names, 
the department may charge a fee of ten dollars for the third name. 

(D) The department, in its discretion, may waive the schooling and apprenticeship 
requirements for a resident of this state, provided that the resident holds a valid auctioneer’s 
license that was issued by a state with which the department has entered into a reciprocal 
licensing agreement and the resident is in good standing with that state. The applicant shall 
provide proof that is satisfactory to the department that the applicant has had two years of 
experience as an auctioneer immediately preceding the date of application that includes at a 
minimum twelve auctions in which the applicant was a bid caller in the reciprocal state. 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.09
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.12
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.11
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.09
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Department of Agriculture has sole regulatory authority over auctions in the State of Ohio.  Disciplinary actions are in accordance with 
Chapter 119 of the Revised Code under Chapter 4707.15, 4707.19, and 4707.99 of the Ohio Revised Code.  The agency has testing authority to 
ensure minimum competence prior to licensure, and oversight over compliance with Ohio’s auction laws and rules through periodic 
inspection and complaint investigations. The department may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend, revoke, or impose civil penalties 
under Chapter 4707.19 of the Revised Code. The Department may also seek injunctive relief under R.C. 4707.16 and seek criminal action 
under ORC 4707.99. 

One of the Auctioneer program’s main objectives is voluntary compliance with Chapter 4707 of the Ohio Revised Code.  When 
compliance issues arise, the program will, depending on the severity of the violation(s), attempt to educate the licensee of the non-
compliance issue and give them the opportunity to the correct the problem before taking any future administrative action in the form of a 
civil penalty, suspension or revocation on future violations.   

§ 4707.15 Disciplinary actions. 

(A) The department of agriculture may deny, refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke the license of any auction firm or auctioneer for any of the 
following causes: 

(1) Obtaining a license through false or fraudulent representation; 

(2) Making any substantial misrepresentation in an application for a license; 

(3) A continued course of misrepresentation or for making false promises through agents, advertising, or otherwise; 

(4) Specifying that an auction is a reserve auction, absolute auction, multi-parcel auction, or estate auction, but not conducting the 
auction as specified; 

(5) Failing to account for or remit, within a reasonable time, any money or property belonging to others that comes into the licensee’s 
possession, and for commingling funds of others with the licensee’s own, or failing to keep funds of others in an escrow or trust 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

account, except that in the case of a transaction involving real estate, such funds shall be maintained in accordance with division 
(A)(26) of section 4735.18 of the Revised Code; 

(6) Paying valuable consideration to any person who has violated this chapter; 

(7) Except as provided in division (B) of this section, conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of this state or any other state of a 
criminal offense involving fraud, forgery, embezzlement, false pretenses, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or another similar offense 
or a felony; 

(8) Violation of this chapter or rules adopted under it; 

(9) Failure to furnish voluntarily at the time of execution, copies of all written instruments prepared by the auctioneer or auction firm; 

(10) Any conduct of a person that is licensed under this chapter that demonstrates bad faith, dishonesty, incompetency, or untruthfulness; 

(11) Any other conduct of a person that is licensed under this chapter that constitutes improper, fraudulent, or dishonest dealings; 

(12) Failing prior to the sale at public auction to enter into a written contract with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold, 
containing the terms and conditions upon which the licensee received the property for auction; 

(13) The use of any power of attorney to circumvent this chapter; 

(14) Failure to display either of the following: 

(a) The sign required under section 4707.22 of the Revised Code; or 

(b) A notice conspicuously at the clerk’s desk or on a bid card that clearly states the terms and conditions of the auction and, if 
applicable, an explanation of the multi-parcel auction process. 

(15) Failure to notify the department of any conviction of a felony or crime involving fraud within fifteen days of conviction; 

(16) Aiding an unlicensed person in the performance of services or acts that require a license under this chapter; 

(17) The suspension or revocation of a license to engage in auctioneering or other disciplinary action by the licensing authority of another 
state; 

(18) The refusal or disapproval by the licensing authority of another state of an application for a license to engage in auctioneering; 

(19) Failure of a licensee to notify the department of agriculture within fifteen days of a disciplinary action against the licensee by another 
state’s applicable governing authority; 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4735.18
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.22
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(20) Engaging in auctioneering or providing auction services without a license or during the suspension of a license; 

(21) Attempting to cheat or cheating on an auctioneer examination or aiding another to cheat on an examination. 

(B) The department shall not refuse to issue a license to an applicant because of a criminal conviction unless the refusal is in accordance with 
section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

§ 4707.16 Complaints. 

(A) The department of agriculture may, upon its own motion, and shall, upon the verified written complaint of any person, investigate the 
actions of any auction firm or auctioneer, any applicant for an auction firm’s, auctioneer’s license, or any person who assumes to act in 
that capacity, if the complaint, together with other evidence presented in connection with it, makes out a prima-facie case. If the 
department determines that any such applicant is not entitled to receive a license, a license shall not be granted to the applicant, and if 
the department determines that any licensee is guilty of a violation of section 4707.14 or 4707.15 of the Revised Code, the department 
may suspend or revoke the license. Any auction firm or auctioneer who has had the auction firm’s or auctioneer’s, license revoked shall 
not be issued another such license for a period of two years from the date of revocation. 

(B) The department may investigate complaints concerning the violation of sections 4707.02 and 4707.15 of the Revised Code and may 
subpoena witnesses in connection with such investigations as provided in this section. The department may make application to the 
court of common pleas for an order enjoining the violation of sections 4707.02 and 4707.15 of the Revised Code, and upon a showing by 
the department that any licensed auction firm or  auctioneer has violated or is about to violate section 4707.15 of the Revised Code, or 
any person has violated or is about to violate section 4707.02 of the Revised Code, an injunction, restraining order, or other order as may 
be appropriate shall be granted by the court. 

(C) The department may compel by subpoena the attendance of witnesses to testify in relation to any matter over which it has jurisdiction 
and that is the subject of inquiry and investigation by it, and require the production of any book, paper, or document pertaining to that 
matter. In case any person fails to file any statement or report, obey any subpoena, give testimony, or produce any books, records, or 
papers as required by such a subpoena, the court of common pleas of any county in the state, upon application made to it by the 
department, shall compel obedience by attachment proceedings for contempt, as in the case of disobedience of the requirements of a 
subpoena issued from that court, or a refusal to testify therein. 

(D) When the department determines that a person not licensed under this chapter is engaged in or is believed to be engaged in activities for 
which a license is required under this chapter, the department may issue an order to that person requiring the person to show cause as 
to why the person should not be subject to licensing under this chapter. If the department, after a hearing, determines that the activities 
in which the person is engaged are subject to licensing under this chapter, the department may issue a cease-and-desist order that shall 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79


P a g e  | 529  Occupational Regulation 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

describe the person and activities that are subject to the order. A cease-and-desist order issued under this section shall be enforceable in 
and may be appealed to the common pleas courts of this state under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(E) In addition to the remedies provided under this section and irrespective of whether an adequate remedy at law exists, the department 
may apply to a court of common pleas for a temporary or permanent injunction or other appropriate relief for continued violations of 
this chapter. For purposes of this division, the court of common pleas shall be the court of common pleas of Licking county or the court 
of common pleas of the county where the violation occurs. 

(F) For purposes of this section, investigative costs incurred by the department are recoverable either by the issuance of an administrative 
order of the department or by an order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

§ 4707.19 Administrative rules. 

(A) The director of agriculture may adopt reasonable rules necessary for the implementation of this chapter in accordance with Chapter 119. 
of the Revised Code. In addition, the director shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code that establish the 
portion of license fees collected under this chapter that are to be deposited into the auction recovery fund under section 4707.25 of the 
Revised Code. 

No person shall fail to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter. 

(B) The director shall adopt rules that establish a schedule of civil penalties for violations of this chapter, rules adopted under it, or orders 
issued under it. The rules shall provide that the civil penalty for the first violation of this chapter, rule, or order shall not exceed five 
thousand dollars and the civil penalty for each subsequent offense shall not exceed ten thousand dollars. In addition, the director, in 
establishing the schedule of civil penalties in the rules, shall consider past violations of this chapter and rules adopted under it, the 
severity of a violation, and the amount of actual or potential damage to the public or the auction profession. 

(C) The department of agriculture may hear testimony in matters relating to the duties imposed on it, and any person authorized by the 
director may administer oaths. The department may require other proof of the honesty and truthfulness of any person named in the 
application for an auction firm’s or auctioneer’s license before admitting the applicant to an examination or issuing a license. 

§ 4707.99 Penalty. 

(A) Whoever violates section 4707.02 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree on the first offense and a felony of the 
fifth degree on each subsequent offense. 

(B) Whoever violates this chapter or any rule adopted by the department of agriculture in the administration of this chapter, for the violation 
of which no penalty is provided, is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(C) Whoever violates section 4707.151 of the Revised Code is guilty of a felony of the fifth degree on the first offense and a felony of the 
fourth degree on each subsequent offense. 

(D) Notwithstanding section 1901.31, 1907.20, or 2335.37 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall transmit to the treasurer of state 
for deposit into the state treasury to the credit of the auction education fund created in section 4707.171 of the Revised Code fifty per 
cent of any fine imposed under this section. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

In 2021, the total revenue from all license types under Chapter 4707 was $264,977. 

The Auctioneer program is a self-funded program whose only source of funding are licensing fees.  Since 1991, the licensing fees have 
remained the same ($100.00 per year).  The auction recovery fund was created from the auctioneer program operating fund in 2003.  No GRF 
monies are utilized.  Any civil penalties that are collected are deposited into the auction education fund and the auction recovery fund to fund 
educational programs for the auctioneers and auction going public and to provide additional source of revenue for the recovery fund.   

The auction recovery fund was created in 2003 from monies in the operating fund for the auctioneers.  $500,000 was transferred into 
a rotary account that acts as an indemnity fund for the public who has had actual and direct financial loss because of a licensee’s violation of 
the Ohio Auction Law.  To assist the public in recouping their losses, they have two avenues for making a claim 1. Via the judicial system and 2. 
Via the administrative process.  Each licensee is covered for a maximum liability of $50,000.  There are mechanisms in place that if the fund 
would fall below $500,000 for the assessment of a fee to the licensees to bring the fund balance back to $500,000.  The fund has been in place 
since 2003 and there has never been the need for an assessment.  All payouts from the auction recovery fund must go before the controlling 
board for approval.  

$7.50 of every $100 license fee paid is deposited into the auction education fund which is overseen by the Ohio Auctioneer 
Commission.  Its statutory purpose is to underwrite education and research in the auction field for the benefit of those licensed under Chapter 
4707 and the auctioneering public.  The auction education fund provides free educational seminars several times throughout the year for 
licensees and the public.   

The State Auctioneer Commission serves to advise the Department on the auction profession, oversees the approval of auction 
schools and auction school curriculum, and oversees the auction education fund. The auction education fund was developed to provide for 
the education and promotion of the auction profession for the licensees and the auction going public.    
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Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There are no federal regulations to the occupation.  

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The Ohio Department of Agriculture’s chief mission is to protect consumers. The Department protects not only the buyers and sellers of goods 
at auction but also the public at large through the establishment of minimum requirements of auctioneer candidates and licensees and 
establishes a standard of professional conduct for all auctioneers. The Department’s Auctioneers Program ensures that all auctions are open 
to the public and free of bidding restrictions. Additionally, regulations prevent against fraud and abuses of power and ensures that the 
profession remains in good standing by ensuring that all auctioneers are experienced, educated, and bound to a code of ethics. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. The regulations are effective at preventing harm especially with the recent passage of HB 321, which removed barriers to licensure while 
still provide consumer protection to ensure that the auctions in Ohio are conducted in a fair and honest manner.  The program offers a 
recovery fund for those who are financially harmed by a licensee.  Each licensee is covered up to $50,000 under the auction recovery fund.  If 
a licensee violates Ohio law and it causes financial harm to an individual, they can make claim to the indemnity fund for their actual and direct 
losses.  The recovery fund is derived from monies transferred from the operating fund in 2003 and from 50% of all fines collected.  If the 
balance of the fund falls below a required balance, there is an assessment against all licensees to ensure viability of the fund.   
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Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

HB 321 provided for removal of barriers to entry into the profession.  The effective date of this bill is 09/13/2022. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
4707.02 and 
4707.07). 

License (Ind. Code 
25-6.1-3-2(a)). 

License (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 330.030(1)). 

No state licensing 
requirement. 

License (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
734.3(a)). 

License (W. Va. 
Code 19-2C-2). 

Education or 
training 

Must successfully 
complete a course 
of study in 
auctioneering at 
an institution 
approved by the 
State Auctioneers 
Commission (R.C. 
4707.07). 

Must successfully 
complete 80 
hours of course 
instruction from a 
course provider 
approved by the 
Indiana 
Auctioneer 
Commission (Ind. 
Code 25-6.1-3-
2(b)). 

Must successfully 
complete 80 
hours of 
classroom 
instruction 
approved by the 
Kentucky Board of 
Auctioneers (831 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
1:030, Section 
3(3)). 

N/A Must successfully 
complete 20 
hours of 
instruction in the 
following areas of 
study: 

1. Audience 
communica-
tions; 

2. Procurement 
of 
merchandise 
for auction; 

N/A 
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Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

3. Appraisal; 

4. Auction law; 

5. Preparation 
for auction; 
and 

6. Conducting an 
auction.  

(49 Pa. Code 1.11) 

Experience Must be at least 
18 and have a 
general 
knowledge of the 
following: 

1. The 
requirements 
of the Revised 
Code relative 
to 
auctioneers; 

2. The auction 
profession; 

3. The principles 
involved in 
conducting an 
auction; and 

Must be at least 
18 and have 
knowledge of the 
following:  

1. The value of 
real estate 
and of various 
goods 
commonly 
sold at an 
auction; 

2. Bid calling; 

3. Sale 
preparation, 
sale 
advertising, 
and sale 
summary; 

Must be an 
apprentice 
auctioneer, be at 
least 18, and 
show proof of a 
high school 
diploma or 
equivalent (may 
be waived by the 
Board if the 
applicant 
demonstrates 
sufficient life 
experience and 
competency) (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
330.060(1)(a) and 
(b) and 330.070). 

N/A Must do one of 
the following: 

1. Serve as a 
licensed 
apprentice 
auctioneer for 
at least two 
years and 
participate in 
at least 30 
auctions; 

2. Successfully 
complete a 
prescribed 
course of 
study in 
auctioneering 

Must be at least 
18, meet the 
apprenticeship 
requirements, if 
applicable, and 
have a general 
knowledge of the 
auctioneering 
profession and 
the principles 
involved in 
conducting an 
auction (W. Va. 
Code 19-2C-5; W. 
Va. Code R. 61-
11B-3). 
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Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

4. Any local and 
federal laws 
regarding the 
profession of 
auctioneering. 

(R.C. 4707.07.) 

4. Mathematics; 

5. The provisions 
of this article 
and the 
Commission’s 
rules; and 

6. Any other 
subject 
matter 
approved by 
the 
Commission.  

(Ind. Code 25-6.1-
3-2(c).) 

at a qualified 
school; 

3. Successfully 
complete a 
prescribed 
course of 
study in 
auctioneering 
at a qualified 
auction 
school and 
serve an 
apprentice-
ship for at 
least one year 
and 
participate in 
at least 15 
auctions; 

4. Be licensed in 
good standing 
by another 
state to 
engage in 
auctioneering 
for at least 
two years; or 

5. Demonstrate 
that the 
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Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

individual has 
conducted 
auctioneering 
for at least 
two years in a 
state that 
does not 
require a 
license. 

(63 Pa. Cons. Stat. 
734.3(d).) 

Exam Examination 
required (R.C. 
4707.08). 

Examination that 
covers subjects 
and topics of 
knowledge 
required to 
practice as an 
auctioneer, held 
as the 
Commission 
prescribes (Ind. 
Code 25-6.1-3-
2(h)). 

Examination 
required (Ky. Rev. 
Stat. 330.060(3)). 

N/A Examination 
required (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
734.5(c)). 

Written and oral 
examination (W. 
Va. Code 19-2C-
5a). 

Continuing 
education 

Eight hours every 
two years. Three 
hours in any of 
the following 
areas: 

16 hours every 
four years. At 
least six hours in 
one of the 

Six hours per 
license year on 
auctions and 
auction law and 
must attend the 

N/A N/A Six hours every 
year. Three hours 
from core 
subjects, which 
are: 



P a g e  | 536  Occupational Regulation 

Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

 Overview of 
the Ohio 
Auctioneer 
Law;  

 Contract law; 

 Uniform 
Commercial 
Code; 

 Auction 
ethics; or 

 Trust or 
escrow 
accounts. 

Five hours in any 
of the following 
areas: 

 Advertising 
and 
marketing; 

 Business math 
and 
accounting; 

 Insurance and 
liability; 

 Federal 
firearms law; 

following core 
subjects: 

 Indiana rules 
and statutes 
governing 
auctioneering; 

 Federal 
statutes 
governing 
auctioneering; 

 Auctioneering 
ethics; 

 Escrow and 
trust funds;  

 Contracts; or 

 Any other 
subject 
matter 
approved by 
the 
Commission. 

At least ten hours 
of courses in any 
of the following 
elective subjects: 

 Agency; 

Kentucky Auction 
Core Course at 
least once every 
four years if the 
person has been 
licensed for less 
than 25 
continuous years. 
(831 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 1:030, 
Section 4). 

 West Virginia 
statutes and 
rules 
governing 
auctioneering; 

 Federal 
statutes and 
rules 
governing 
auctioneering; 

 Auctioneering 
ethics; 

 Escrow, trust, 
and custodial 
accounts;   

 Advertising; 

 Contracts; 
and 

 Other 
subjects 
approved by 
the 
Commissioner 
of Agriculture 
of West 
Virginia.  
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Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

 Business 
management; 

 Motor vehicle 
auctions;  

 Real estate 
auctions; or 

 Personal 
property 
auctions.  

(R.C. 4707.10 and 
4707.101.) 

 Business 
courses 
related to 
auctioneering; 

 Auction 
management; 

 Bid calling; 

 Public 
speaking; 

 Advertising; 

 Specialty 
auction 
topics; or 

 Any other 
subject 
matter 
approved by 
the 
Commission 

(Ind. Code 25-6.1-
9-1) 

(W. Va. Code R. 
61-11B-6.) 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$200 (R.C. 
4707.10). 

$105 plus a 
surcharge if the 
Auctioneer 
Recovery Fund 
balance is less 

$125 (831 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:010(1)). 

N/A $50 plus $15 
verification fee 
(49 Pa. Code 
1.41). 

$150 (W. Va. Code 
R. 61-11B-16). 
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Auctioneer 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

than $360,000 
(Ind. Code 25-6.1-
3-5 and 25-6.1-8-
2; Indiana 
Professional 
Licensing Agency, 
Auctioneers 
Licensing 
Information). 

License duration Two years (R.C. 
4707.10). 

Four years (Ind. 
Code 25-6.1-3-
2(j)). 

Two years (Ky. 
Rev. Stat. 
330.070(6)(a)). 

N/A Two years (63 Pa. 
Cons. Stat. 
734.5(e)). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code 19-2C-3(d)). 

Renewal fee $200 plus an 
assessment if the 
Auction Recovery 
Fund balance is 
less than 
$400,000 (R.C. 
4707.091 and 
4707.25). 

$105 plus a 
surcharge if the 
Auctioneer 
Recovery Fund 
balance is less 
than $360,000 
(Ind. Code 25-6.1-
3-5 and 25-6.1-8-
2; Indiana 
Professional 
Licensing Agency, 
Auctioneers 
Licensing 
Information). 

$125 (831 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
1:010(2)). 

N/A $260 plus $15 
verification fee 
(49 Pa. Code 
1.41). 

$100 (W. Va. Code 
R. 61-11B-16). 

 

https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
https://www.in.gov/pla/professions/auctioneers-home/auctioneers-licensing-information/
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Apprentice auctioneer 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

As defined in ORC 4707.01: 

“Apprentice auctioneer” means any individual who is sponsored by an auctioneer to deal or engage in any activities mentioned in division (A) 
of this section. 

“Auction” means a method of sale of real or personal property, goods, or chattels, at a predetermined date and time, by means of a verbal 
exchange, regular mail, telecommunications, the internet, an electronic transmission, or a physical gesture between an auctioneer or 
apprentice auctioneer and members of the audience or prospective purchasers, the exchanges and gestures consisting of a series of 
invitations for offers made by the auctioneer and offers by members of the audience or prospective purchasers, with the right to acceptance 
of offers with the auctioneer or apprentice auctioneer. “Auction” includes a sale of real or personal property, goods, or chattels in which there 
has been a solicitation or invitation by advertisement to the public for an advance in bidding using sealed bidding, provided that the bids are 
opened and there is a call for an advancement of the bids. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 37 in 2021 

Number renewed annually 127 in 2021 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes, decreases due to the shift to online auctions with the onset of COVID. 

Education or training requirements In 2021, licensees were required to attend an approved auction school prior to application for 
licensure. 

HB 321 (eff. 09/13/2022) eliminates the apprenticeship requirement and an individual can test 
for the auctioneer exam upon completion of an approved auction school. 

Experience requirements  

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

The license exam is offered monthly at the Ohio Department of Agriculture by the Auctioneer 
Program.  The fee is $15.00.   

HB 321 eliminates the apprenticeship requirement, and the apprentice license is no longer 
available to new licensees. 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

None 

Initial fee $100.00 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Duration  Licensing year is July 1-June 30 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

$100.00 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

The Department has reciprocal agreements with several states in which we waive the auction 
school requirements and testing if they have an apprentice license issued from a reciprocal 
state.    

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

There is no federal regulation of the auction profession. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

(A) No person shall act as an auction firm, auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or special 
auctioneer within this state without a license issued by the department of agriculture. No 
auction shall be conducted in this state except by an auctioneer licensed by the department. 

Except as provided in division (D) of this section, the department shall not issue or 
renew a license if the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a felony or crime involving 
fraud or theft in this or another state at any time during the ten years immediately preceding 
application or renewal. 

(B) Division (A) of this section does not apply to any of the following: 

(1) Sales at auction that either are required by law to be at auction, other than sales 
pursuant to a judicial order or decree, or are conducted by or under the direction of a public 
authority; 

(2) The owner of any real or personal property desiring to sell the property at auction, 
provided that the property was not acquired for the purpose of resale; 

(3) An auction mediation company; 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(4) An auction that is conducted in a course of study for auctioneers that is approved by 
the state auctioneers commission created under section 4707.03 of the Revised Code for 
purposes of student training and is supervised by a licensed auctioneer; 

(5)(a) An auction that is sponsored by a nonprofit or charitable organization that is 
registered in this state under Chapter 1702. or Chapter 1716. of the Revised Code, respectively, 
if the auction only involves the property of the members of the organization and the auction is 
part of a fair that is organized by an agricultural society under Chapter 1711. of the Revised Code 
or by the Ohio expositions commission under Chapter 991. of the Revised Code at which an 
auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter physically conducts the auction; 

(b) Sales at an auction sponsored by a charitable, religious, or civic organization that is 
tax exempt under subsection 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, or by a public school, 
chartered nonpublic school, or community school, if no person in the business of organizing, 
arranging, or conducting an auction for compensation and no consignor of consigned items sold 
at the auction, except such organization or school, receives compensation from the proceeds of 
the auction. As used in division (B)(5)(b) of this section, “compensation” means money, a thing 
of value other than participation in a charitable event, or a financial benefit. 

(c) Sales at an auction sponsored by an organization that is tax exempt under subsection 
501(c)(6) of the Internal Revenue Code and that is a part of a national, regional, or state 
convention or conference that advances or promotes the auction profession in this state when 
the property to be sold is donated to or is the property of the organization and the proceeds 
remain within the organization or are donated to a charitable organization that is tax exempt 
under subsection 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

(6) A person licensed as a livestock dealer under Chapter 943. of the Revised Code who 
exclusively sells livestock and uses an auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter to conduct 
the auction; 

(7) A person licensed as a motor vehicle auction owner under Chapter 4517. of the 
Revised Code who exclusively sells motor vehicles to a person licensed under Chapter 4517. of 
the Revised Code and who uses an auctioneer who is licensed under this chapter to conduct the 
auction; 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.03
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(8) Sales of real or personal property conducted by means of the internet, provided that 
they are not conducted in conjunction with a live auction; 

(9) A bid calling contest that is approved by the commission and that is conducted for 
the purposes of the advancement or promotion of the auction profession in this state; 

(10) An auction at which the champion of a national or international bid calling contest 
appears, provided that both of the following apply: 

(a) The champion is not paid a commission. 

(b) The auction is conducted under the direct supervision of an auctioneer licensed 
under this chapter in order to ensure that the champion complies with this chapter and rules 
adopted under it. 

(C)(1) No person shall advertise or hold oneself out as an auction firm, auctioneer, 
apprentice auctioneer, or special auctioneer without a license issued by the department of 
agriculture. 

(2) Division (C)(1) of this section does not apply to an individual who is the subject of an 
advertisement regarding an auction conducted under division (B)(5)(b) of this section. 

(D) The department shall not refuse to issue a license to an applicant because of a 
criminal conviction unless the refusal is in accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

§ 4707.09 Apprentice auctioneer’s license qualifications. 

The department of agriculture may grant apprentice auctioneers’ licenses to those 
persons that are determined to be qualified by the department. Every applicant for an 
apprentice auctioneer’s license shall pass an examination relating to the skills, knowledge, and 
statutes and rules governing auctioneers. Every applicant for an apprentice auctioneer’s license 
shall furnish to the department, on forms provided by the department, satisfactory proof that 
the applicant: 

(A) Has attained the age of at least eighteen years; 

(B) Has obtained a written promise of a licensed auctioneer to sponsor the applicant 
during the applicant’s apprenticeship; 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

(C) Has satisfied the financial responsibility requirements established under 
section 4707.11 of the Revised Code if applicable; 

(D) Has successfully completed a course of study in auctioneering at an institution that is 
approved by the state auctioneers commission. 

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

This license type is no longer required after 09/13/2022 under HB 321. 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

The Department of Agriculture has sole regulatory authority over auctions in the State of Ohio.  Disciplinary actions are in accordance 
with Chapter 119 of the Revised Code under Chapter 4707.15, 4707.16, 4707.19, and 4707.99 of the Ohio Revised Code.  The agency has 
testing authority to ensure minimum competence prior to licensure, and oversight over compliance with Ohio’s auction laws and rules 
through periodic inspection and complaint investigations. The department may refuse to issue or renew, or may suspend, revoke, or impose 
civil penalties under Chapter 4707.19 of the Revised Code. The Department may also seek injunctive relief under R.C. 4707.16 and seek 
criminal action under ORC 4707.99. 

§ 4707.15 Disciplinary actions. 

(A) The department of agriculture may deny, refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke the license of any auction firm or auctioneer for any 
of the following causes: 

(1) Obtaining a license through false or fraudulent representation; 

(2) Making any substantial misrepresentation in an application for a license; 

(3) A continued course of misrepresentation or for making false promises through agents, advertising, or otherwise; 

(4) Specifying that an auction is a reserve auction, absolute auction, multi-parcel auction, or estate auction, but not conducting the 
auction as specified; 

(5) Failing to account for or remit, within a reasonable time, any money or property belonging to others that comes into the licensee’s 
possession, and for commingling funds of others with the licensee’s own, or failing to keep funds of others in an escrow or trust account, 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.11
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

except that in the case of a transaction involving real estate, such funds shall be maintained in accordance with division (A)(26) of 
section 4735.18 of the Revised Code; 

(6) Paying valuable consideration to any person who has violated this chapter; 

(7) Except as provided in division (B) of this section, conviction in a court of competent jurisdiction of this state or any other state of a 
criminal offense involving fraud, forgery, embezzlement, false pretenses, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or another similar offense or a 
felony; 

(8) Violation of this chapter or rules adopted under it; 

(9) Failure to furnish voluntarily at the time of execution, copies of all written instruments prepared by the auctioneer or auction firm; 

(10) Any conduct of a person that is licensed under this chapter that demonstrates bad faith, dishonesty, incompetency, or 
untruthfulness; 

(11) Any other conduct of a person that is licensed under this chapter that constitutes improper, fraudulent, or dishonest dealings; 

(12) Failing prior to the sale at public auction to enter into a written contract with the owner or consignee of any property to be sold, 
containing the terms and conditions upon which the licensee received the property for auction; 

(13) The use of any power of attorney to circumvent this chapter; 

(14) Failure to display either of the following: 

(a) The sign required under section 4707.22 of the Revised Code; or 

(b) A notice conspicuously at the clerk’s desk or on a bid card that clearly states the terms and conditions of the auction and, if 
applicable, an explanation of the multi-parcel auction process. 

(15) Failure to notify the department of any conviction of a felony or crime involving fraud within fifteen days of conviction; 

(16) Aiding an unlicensed person in the performance of services or acts that require a license under this chapter; 

(17) The suspension or revocation of a license to engage in auctioneering or other disciplinary action by the licensing authority of 
another state; 

(18) The refusal or disapproval by the licensing authority of another state of an application for a license to engage in auctioneering; 

(19) Failure of a licensee to notify the department of agriculture within fifteen days of a disciplinary action against the licensee by 
another state’s applicable governing authority; 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4735.18
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4707.22
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(20) Engaging in auctioneering or providing auction services without a license or during the suspension of a license; 

(21) Attempting to cheat or cheating on an auctioneer examination or aiding another to cheat on an examination. 

(B) The department shall not refuse to issue a license to an applicant because of a criminal conviction unless the refusal is in 
accordance with section 9.79 of the Revised Code. 

§ 4707.16 Complaints. 

(A) The department of agriculture may, upon its own motion, and shall, upon the verified written complaint of any person, investigate 
the actions of any auction firm or auctioneer, any applicant for an auction firm’s, auctioneer’s license, or any person who assumes to act in 
that capacity, if the complaint, together with other evidence presented in connection with it, makes out a prima-facie case. If the department 
determines that any such applicant is not entitled to receive a license, a license shall not be granted to the applicant, and if the department 
determines that any licensee is guilty of a violation of section 4707.14 or 4707.15 of the Revised Code, the department may suspend or revoke 
the license. Any auction firm or auctioneer who has had the auction firm’s or auctioneer’s, license revoked shall not be issued another such 
license for a period of two years from the date of revocation. 

(B) The department may investigate complaints concerning the violation of sections 4707.02 and 4707.15 of the Revised Code and 
may subpoena witnesses in connection with such investigations as provided in this section. The department may make application to the 
court of common pleas for an order enjoining the violation of sections 4707.02 and 4707.15 of the Revised Code, and upon a showing by the 
department that any licensed auction firm or  auctioneer has violated or is about to violate section 4707.15 of the Revised Code, or any 
person has violated or is about to violate section 4707.02 of the Revised Code, an injunction, restraining order, or other order as may be 
appropriate shall be granted by the court. 

(C) The department may compel by subpoena the attendance of witnesses to testify in relation to any matter over which it has 
jurisdiction and that is the subject of inquiry and investigation by it, and require the production of any book, paper, or document pertaining to 
that matter. In case any person fails to file any statement or report, obey any subpoena, give testimony, or produce any books, records, or 
papers as required by such a subpoena, the court of common pleas of any county in the state, upon application made to it by the department, 
shall compel obedience by attachment proceedings for contempt, as in the case of disobedience of the requirements of a subpoena issued 
from that court, or a refusal to testify therein. 

(D) When the department determines that a person not licensed under this chapter is engaged in or is believed to be engaged in 
activities for which a license is required under this chapter, the department may issue an order to that person requiring the person to show 
cause as to why the person should not be subject to licensing under this chapter. If the department, after a hearing, determines that the 
activities in which the person is engaged are subject to licensing under this chapter, the department may issue a cease-and-desist order that 

https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-9.79


P a g e  | 547  Occupational Regulation 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

shall describe the person and activities that are subject to the order. A cease-and-desist order issued under this section shall be enforceable in 
and may be appealed to the common pleas courts of this state under Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. 

(E) In addition to the remedies provided under this section and irrespective of whether an adequate remedy at law exists, the 
department may apply to a court of common pleas for a temporary or permanent injunction or other appropriate relief for continued 
violations of this chapter. For purposes of this division, the court of common pleas shall be the court of common pleas of Licking county or the 
court of common pleas of the county where the violation occurs. 

(F) For purposes of this section, investigative costs incurred by the department are recoverable either by the issuance of an 
administrative order of the department or by an order of a court of competent jurisdiction. 

§ 4707.19 Administrative rules. 

(A) The director of agriculture may adopt reasonable rules necessary for the implementation of this chapter in accordance with 
Chapter 119. of the Revised Code. In addition, the director shall adopt rules in accordance with Chapter 119. of the Revised Code that 
establish the portion of license fees collected under this chapter that are to be deposited into the auction recovery fund under 
section 4707.25 of the Revised Code. 

No person shall fail to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter. 

(B) The director shall adopt rules that establish a schedule of civil penalties for violations of this chapter, rules adopted under it, or 
orders issued under it. The rules shall provide that the civil penalty for the first violation of this chapter, rule, or order shall not exceed five 
thousand dollars and the civil penalty for each subsequent offense shall not exceed ten thousand dollars. In addition, the director, in 
establishing the schedule of civil penalties in the rules, shall consider past violations of this chapter and rules adopted under it, the severity of 
a violation, and the amount of actual or potential damage to the public or the auction profession. 

(C) The department of agriculture may hear testimony in matters relating to the duties imposed on it, and any person authorized by 
the director may administer oaths. The department may require other proof of the honesty and truthfulness of any person named in the 
application for an auction firm’s or auctioneer’s license before admitting the applicant to an examination or issuing a license. 

§ 4707.99 Penalty. 

(A) Whoever violates section 4707.02 of the Revised Code is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree on the first offense and a 
felony of the fifth degree on each subsequent offense. 

(B) Whoever violates this chapter or any rule adopted by the department of agriculture in the administration of this chapter, for the 
violation of which no penalty is provided, is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree. 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

(C) Whoever violates section 4707.151 of the Revised Code is guilty of a felony of the fifth degree on the first offense and a felony of 
the fourth degree on each subsequent offense. 

(D) Notwithstanding section 1901.31, 1907.20, or 2335.37 of the Revised Code, the clerk of the court shall transmit to the treasurer of 
state for deposit into the state treasury to the credit of the auction education fund created in section 4707.171 of the Revised Code fifty per 
cent of any fine imposed under this section. 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

All revenue for the auctioneer program is derived from initial license and renewal fees and civil penalties collected by the agency.  There are 
no GRF funds utilized.  2021, the total revenue from all license types under Chapter 4707 was $264,977. 

Most of the fees collected are deposited into the auctioneer operating fund which is used to fund the auctioneer program.  There are no GRF 
monies utilized by the agency for this program.  $ 15.00 from each $200.00 license fee is deposited into an auction education fund which is 
overseen by the Auctioneer Commission.  This fund is available to fund educational opportunities for licensees and the auction going public.  
Additionally, in 2003, monies were transferred from the operating fund to create the auction recovery fund which covers licensees up to 
$50,000 for actual and direct losses that they may cause the public during their business.  There has never been a fee assessed to the 
licensees to maintain the balance of the fund but there are provisions within statute if the fund balance would fall below the required 
threshold.  50% of the civil penalties that are assessed for violations of the statute are deposited into the recovery fund and the other 50% are 
deposited into the auction education fund.  There are also provisions within the statute that would allow the department to fund educational 
opportunities and research in the profession if the fund reaches a required threshold.   

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

There is no federal regulation of the auction profession. 
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What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The Ohio Department of Agriculture’s chief mission is to protect consumers. The Department protects not only the buyers and sellers of goods 
at auction but also the public at large through the establishment of minimum requirements of auctioneer candidates and licensees and 
establishes a standard of professional conduct for all auctioneers. The Department’s Auctioneers Program ensures that all auctions are open 
to the public and free of bidding restrictions. Additionally, regulations prevent against fraud and abuses of power and ensures that the 
profession remains in good standing by ensuring that all auctioneers are experienced, educated, and bound to a code of ethics. 

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes. The regulations are effective at preventing harm especially with the recent passage of HB 321, which removed barriers to licensure while 
still provide consumer protection to ensure that the auctions in Ohio are conducted in a fair and honest manner.  The program offers a 
recovery fund for those who are financially harmed by a licensee.  Each licensee is covered up to $50,000 under the auction recovery fund.  If 
a licensee violates Ohio law and it causes financial harm to an individual, they can make claim to the indemnity fund for their actual and direct 
losses.  The recovery fund is derived from monies transferred from the operating fund in 2003 and from 50% of all fines collected.  If the 
balance of the fund falls below a required balance, there is an assessment against all licensees to ensure viability of the fund.   

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

HB 321 provided for removal of barriers to entry into the profession and this license type is no longer required effective 09/13/2022.  

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

See Auctioneer, above. 
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Hemp cultivator 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

All entities wanting to grow hemp in Ohio are required to obtain a Hemp Cultivation License and register their growing locations.   License can 
be issued to individual or businesses. 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually License is a 3-year license but they are required to register growing locations annually.  In 2021, 
179 applicants registered growing locations and 65 of those were new licenses 

Number renewed annually N/A 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes, significant decreases each year.  195 in 2020, 179 in 2021 and 118 in 2022 

Education or training requirements None 

Experience requirements None 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

N/A 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

N/A 

Initial fee $100 every 3 years for the application fee plus $500 per growing location annually. 

Duration  3 years for the license, 1 year for the growing location registration 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

Currently Ohio regulates the cultivation of hemp via a State Approved Plan with USDA.  If Ohio 
wanted to turn the regulation of hemp cultivation over to USDA, then the cultivators would 
need to comply with the USDA licensing/registration requirements. 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No, it is a mandatory denial of licensure if the applicant has been convicted of a felony involving 
controlled substances in the previous 10 years  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 

Applicants must not have any Felony convictions concerning controlled substances in the 
previous 10 years 

 

Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Director can suspend or revoke licensure for violations of Chapter 901:14-1 of the Administrative Code and can seek criminal prosecution 
against anyone who recklessly violates section 928.04 of the Revised Code 
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How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$146,800 was generated in 2021. Revenue is used to partially fund 4.5 FTE’s for the program, pay for laboratory services and one vehicle for 
Inspections. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

USDA 2018 Farm Bill requires hemp cultivators to apply to and be licensed or authorized under its State’s authorized hemp program if the 
State has one.  If the State does not have an authorized program then the cultivators must apply for a USDA hemp production license. Ohio 
has an authorized program. 

 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

Production and distribution of a schedule 1 controlled substance 

 



P a g e  | 554  Occupational Regulation 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

Yes, the program is effective at preventing the harm.  

No there are no other less restrictive ways to prevent the harm. 

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Yes, the Department would like to see the rules updated to reflect changes in Federal Law and reduce the burden on licensees to file annual 
reports if they are not going to grow hemp. 

 

Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Hemp Cultivator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
928.04). 

License (Ind. Code 
15-15-13-7). 

License (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:021). 

Registration 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 286.846). 

General permit 
(Pennsylvania 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
General Permit 
Standards and 
Requirements for 
Hemp (PDF)). 

License (W. Va. 
Code 19-12E-5). 

https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
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Hemp Cultivator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A Applicants must 
complete a 
mandatory 
orientation course 
(302 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 50:021, 
Section 4(5)). 

N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A Must be at least 
18 years old (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 32 
(PDF)). 

Must be at least 
18 years old (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
50:021, Section 
2(4)). 

Must be at least 
18 years old 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 286.848). 

N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$100 for license 
application; $500 
annual fee for 
each growing 
location (O.A.C. 
901:14-1-04). 

$1,000 (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 
38(a) (PDF)). 

No application fee 
if submitted 
online; $200 if 
submitted on 
paper. Additional 
$400 annual fee 
for each growing 
location. (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:060, Section 1.) 

$100 (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.856). 

$150; additional 
fees may apply (3 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
1520). 

$100 application 
fee per location. 
Additional $100 
license fee plus 
$5.00 per acre 
included on the 
application if 
approved. (W. Va. 
Code R. 61-29-3 
(3.5 and 3.7).) 

http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
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Hemp Cultivator 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

License duration Three years (R.C. 
928.02(B); O.A.C. 
901:14-1-02(B)). 

One year (Ind. 
Code 15-15-13-
8(c)). 

One year (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:021, Section 7). 

One year (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.846). 

One year 
(Pennsylvania 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
General Permit 
Standards and 
Requirements for 
Hemp Art. II(c) 
(PDF)). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code 19-12E-
5(d)). 

Renewal fee $100 triennially; 
$500 annual 
growing location 
fee (R.C. 
928.02(B); O.A.C. 
901:14-1-02(B)). 

$1,000 (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 
38(a)) (PDF)). 

No application fee 
if submitted 
online; $200 if 
submitted on 
paper. Additional 
$400 annual fee 
for each growing 
location (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:060, Section 1). 

$100 grower 
registration (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.856). 

$50; additional 
fees may apply (3 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
1520). 

$100 application 
fee per location. 
Additional $100 
license fee plus 
$5.00 per acre 
included on the 
application if 
approved. (W. Va. 
Code R. 61-29-3 
(3.5 and 3.7).) 

 

https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
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Hemp processor 

Survey responses (AGR) 

Description 

License is required to make consumable products out of Hemp 

 

Type (License, specialty license for medical reimbursement, government certification, registration, bonding or insurance, inspection, or process 
regulation. See R.C. 4798.01 for relevant definitions.) 

License allows the production of hemp products and inspections by ODA Food Safety Program 

 

If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Number issued annually 49 

Number renewed annually 46 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Have there been significant increases or 
decreases in active registrations, 
certifications or licenses in the preceding 
six years? 

Yes, significant increases. This program is only in its 3rd year and the number of licenses doubled 
from 2020 to 2021 

Education or training requirements Yes, but only for a processor using hydrocarbon solvent-based or carbon dioxide extraction 
methods.  They must have an employee that has a bachelor’s degree in engineering or physical 
sciences from an accredited university, or at least three years of experience in the operation of 
the equipment being used 

Experience requirements No 

Examination requirements (Who 
administers the exam? How is the exam 
and administrator selected? What fees are 
charged? Does the Department receive any 
proceeds of those fees? If so, how are the 
proceeds used?)  

No 

Continuing education requirements 
(Including a description of the curriculum 
and the process of setting it.) 

No 

Initial fee $100 every 3 years for the application fee plus annual fees depending on the type of processing.  
Raw Flower and/or Extraction $3,000/ yr, Wholesale food/product $500/yr, Retail food/product 
$250/yr, Raw Hemp Grain $500/yr, Raw Hemp Fiber $500/yr 

Duration  3 years for the license, 1 year for the individual registrations 
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If the regulation is a registration, certification, or license requirement, please complete the following: 

Renewal fee (If different from initial fee, 
please explain why.) 

Same 

Does the Department recognize uniform 
licensure requirements or allow for 
reciprocity? 

No 

Are there any similar national 
registrations, certifications, or licenses? 
Could they be used as a substitute for the 
state regulation? 

No 

Are there any circumstances in which an 
individual may practice elements of the 
occupation without being regulated by 
the Department? 

No 

Is the Department permitted to exercise 
discretion in determining whether to 
register, certify, or license an individual? 

No, it is a mandatory denial of licensure if the applicant has been convicted of a felony involving 
controlled substances in the previous 10 years  

Other information (Significant attributes 
or prerequisites to licensure not addressed 
in this chart.) 
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Oversight and disciplinary authority of the Department respecting individuals engaged in the occupation. 

Director can suspend or revoke licensure for violations of Chapter 901:14-2 of the Administrative Code and can seek criminal prosecution 
against anyone who recklessly violates section 928.04 of the Revised Code 

 

How much revenue is derived from fees charged by the Department to individuals engaged in the occupation (such as license and renewal 
fees)? How is that revenue used? 

$82,050 was generated in 2021.  Fees were used to cover Food Safety Inspection costs and Hemp Program administration review. 

 

Describe any federal regulations that apply to the occupation. Does federal law require the state to regulate the occupation? 

N/A 

 



P a g e  | 561  Occupational Regulation 

What is the harm that the regulation seeks to prevent? (See, R.C. 4798.02(B).) 

The distribution of adulterated products  

 

Is the regulation effective at preventing the harm described above? Are there other, less restrictive ways to prevent the harm? 

The consumption of adulterated products  

 

Are there any changes the Department would like to see implemented? 

Yes, the Department would like to move these rules over to the authority of the Food Safety Program and switch the 3 year license to an 
annual registration with the Food Safety Program. 
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Surrounding state comparison (LSC) 

Hemp Processor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Type of regulation  License (R.C. 
928.04). 

License (Ind. Code 
15-15-13-7). 

License (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:031). 

License (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.847). 

General permit 
(Pennsylvania 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
General Permit 
Standards and 
Requirements for 
Hemp (PDF)). 

License (W. Va. 
Code R. 61-29-6). 

Education or 
training 

N/A N/A Applicants must 
complete a 
mandatory 
orientation course 
(302 Ky. Admin. 
Regs. 50:031, 
Section 4(5)). 

N/A N/A N/A 

Experience N/A Must be at least 
18 years old (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 32 
(PDF)). 

Must be at least 
18 years old (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
50:031, Section 
2(5)). 

Must be at least 
18 years old 
(Mich. Comp. 
Laws 286.848). 

N/A N/A 

Exam N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Continuing 
education 

N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
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Hemp Processor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

Initial licensure 
fee 

$100 license 
application fee; 
additional $500 or 
$250 annual fee 
depending on 
components 
processed (O.A.C. 
901:14-2-04). 

$1,000 (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 
38(a) (PDF)). 

No application fee 
if submitted 
online; $200 if 
submitted on 
paper. Additional 
annual fees apply 
depending on 
components 
processed. (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
50:060, Section 2.) 

$1,350 (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.856). 

$150; additional 
fees may apply (3 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
1520). 

$100 application 
fee per location. 
Additional $500 
license fee per 
processing facility 
if approved. (W. 
Va. Code R. 61-29-
6 (6.5 and 6.7).) 

License duration Three years (R.C. 
928.02(B); O.A.C 
901:14-2-02(B)). 

One year (Ind. 
Code 15-15-13-
8(c)). 

One year (302 Ky. 
Admin. Regs. 
50:031, Section 7). 

One year (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.847). 

One year 
(Pennsylvania 
Dept. of 
Agriculture, 
General Permit 
Standards and 
Requirements for 
Hemp Art. II(c) 
(PDF)). 

One year (W. Va. 
Code R. 61-29-6 
(6.8)). 

Renewal fee $100 license 
application fee; 
additional $500 or 
$250 annual fee 
depending on 
components 
processed (O.A.C. 
901:14-2-04). 

$1,000 (LSA 
Document #22-
68(E) Section 
38(a) (PDF)). 

No application fee 
if submitted 
online; $200 if 
submitted on 
paper. Additional 
annual fees apply 
depending on 
components 

$1,350 (Mich. 
Comp. Laws 
286.856). 

$50; additional 
fees may apply (3 
Pa. Cons. Stat. 
1520). 

$100 application 
fee plus $500 
license fee per 
processing facility 
(W. Va. Code R. 
61-29-6 (6.5 and 
6.7)). 

http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
https://www.agriculture.pa.gov/Plants_Land_Water/hemp/Documents/2021%20Hemp%20General%20Permit_3-23-21%20Final.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
http://iac.iga.in.gov/iac/20220309-IR-360220068ERA.xml.pdf
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Hemp Processor 

 Ohio Indiana Kentucky Michigan Pennsylvania West Virginia 

processed. (302 
Ky. Admin. Regs. 
50:031, Section 
7(4)) and 50:060, 
Section 2.) 

  


