

May 8, 2023

Senator Jerry Cirino Chair, Senate Workforce and Higher Education Committee Ohio Senate **One Capital Square** Columbus. OH 43215

Dear Senator Cirino:

At College Now Greater Cleveland, as you know so well, we assist Ohio residents – primarily high school students and adult learners – achieve their postsecondary educational objectives, be it a credential, two- or four-year degree. We work with over 31,000 individuals annually across Northeast Ohio and much of our work focuses on educating high school students on postsecondary pathways that lead to careers with family-sustaining wages in high demand sectors such as IT, finance, and manufacturing.

We are delighted by the continued good news about tech companies opening facilities in Ohio, of which Google is just the latest. But Ohio needs an educated workforce comprised of individuals who can fill the 18,000 wellpaying computing jobs across these sectors that are available each month in Ohio.

And this is why I am writing. Before College Now can guide students to postsecondary pathways that will ultimately lead to these jobs and secure Ohio's future workforce, Ohio students must be exposed to and have the benefit of taking computer science courses in high school and/or participating in after school programs and summer educational enrichment opportunities where computer science is offered or embedded.

The Governor's as-introduced operating budget for FY 24 & FY 25 included funding to support Teach Computer Science Grants, the Computer Science Promise, and the Computer Science Council. Unfortunately, this funding has been removed. The Senate, under your leadership of this Committee, now has the opportunity to restore \$24 million over the biennium to support computer science funding, which truly is an essential component to securing Ohio's workforce needs now and for the going forward.

We join code.org and the dozens of chambers and associations, community and four-year colleges, local and international businesses in their request to the Senate to restore this critical allocation. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Lee Friedman **Chief Executive Officer**

1500 West 3rd Street, Suite 125, Cleveland, OH 44113 p. 216.241.5587 f. 216.241.6184

www.collegenowgc.org

Enid Rosenberg

Mark Ross

Sean Stack

Sally Stewart

J.D. Sullivan, Jr.

Ingrid Tolentino

Board of Trustees Mike Cogan Gabe Bruno Chair Treasure Brian Barren

Secretary

Kristen Baird Adams Rita Andolsen Stephanie Antunez Joshua Bagshaw April Miller Boise Suzanne Aral-Boutros Brent M. Buckley

Harry Carlson Jitin Eidnani Shelly Cayette Judith Embrescia Tim Cosgrove Lauren Rich Fine Marisa Darden Rich Garcia Tom Dewey Ashley George Katinka Domotorffy Blaine Griffin Ward Dumm **Richard Gross**

James Geuther Veena Khanna Tonika Hammonds Alan S. Kopit Jessica Jung William R. Koehler Kevin Kelley Jimmy Malone Katie Kennedy Megan L. Mehalko Margaret A. Kennedv Joe Morford

Patrick S. Mullin A.D. Naik Elizabeth Newman **Richard Pohle** Sam Prentis Darnella Robertson Susan Tyler Deborah Vesy Andrew Watterson Christopher Williams Felicia Williams Adam Zelwin